About RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown

2165 W Burnside
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

For more than 6 decades we have be offering guests the best steaks in town, providing impeccable service with an unmatched wine list. Our happy hour has a loyal late-night following.

With more than 65 years of continuous family ownership, RingSide Steakhouse Downtown is a legend in the world of steakhouses.

Start with RingSide's world famous onion rings...a recipe that is a closely held family secret. Select a steak from a menu offering USDA Prime & Certified Angus Beef NW Natural steaks dry-aged on-premise.

Choose a wine from more than 700 labels. WINE SPECTATOR has recognized RingSide Steakhouse yearly with its BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE SINCE 2001.

RingSide is a prime example of a award winning steakhouse; AMERICA'S TOP TEN STEAKHOUSE HALL OF FAME; GREAT STEAK HOUSES OF NORTH AMERICA; WINE SPECTATOR'S BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE AND THE DiRoNA AWARD

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Prime Rib, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm,
Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
NW 22nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-1513

Website:
http://www.ringsidesteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
While there is no live entertainment, many diners praise the ambiance and how it is enhanced by background music from the American songbook of popular great standards.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary on-site valet parking. Street parking is available although limited

Public Transit:
Walking distance from/to PGE Park MAX Station (renamed Jeld-Wen Field).

Bus Routes: 15-Belmont/NW 23rd, 18-Hillside & 20-Burnside/Stark
Tri-met Stop ID 747 at W Burnside & NW King in Portland Westbound.
Tri-met Stop ID 749 W Burnside & SW 21st in Portland Eastbound

Executive Chef:
Beau Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Baked Onion Soup
Fried Calamari
Champagne Cocktail
Knife and Fork Ceasar Salad
Steak Bites
Onion Rings
Beef & Veggie Pot Pie
Steak Asada & Garlic Prawns Plate
Mixed Green Salad
Ribeye Steak
Bistro Steak Medallions
Lobster Bisque
Tasmanian Rib Eye & Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Filet Mignon And Baked Potato

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Allow us to help you plan your event for family, friends, clients and colleagues. Our managers will assist you with the details of The Barrel Room, our private room.

RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Portland / Oregon
Notable Wine List
Portland
Special Occasion
Portland
Best Restaurants in NW Portland ›

Special Occasion (185)
Romantic (110)
Notable Wine List (109)
See All
Fit for Foodies (69)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Good for Groups (42)
Good for a Date (22)
Historic (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Late-night Find (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Authentic (14)
Business Meals (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fireplace (9)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Private Room (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fun (5)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a wonderful experience - from the v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 2 days ago

What a wonderful experience - from the valet through to desert!! This was our first time and it definitely will not be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The very best in steaks, service, and at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 2 days ago

The very best in steaks, service, and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Typical old fashioned steak house with a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

Typical old fashioned steak house with all the expected amenities. Started with martinis and onion rings, both excellent. Accommodating service when two women wanted to share the prime rib. Very generous portions. Our waiter found us an excellent Oregon bottle of Pinot noir for a very fair price. He was outstanding and very helpful.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing food and great atmosphere. Would ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Amazing food and great atmosphere. Would come back in a heartbeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Before 6 pm value meal was only ok. Ther ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Before 6 pm value meal was only ok. There is better steak in town for the money.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We love the food and service at the Ring ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We love the food and service at the Ringside and that's why we decided to celebrate our anniversary dinner there. We've been many times and it's usually great, food is consistently good and servers are attentive and knowledgable. However, this was probably our worst experience due to the table we had. This was the first time we made reservations through open table instead of calling the Ringside directly and we ended up with the worst table in the restaurant. From the table you have a view of the kitchen, outside and were in two aisle's. To say it was distracting, noisy and drafty is an understatement. We will go to the Ringside again but will try and request a better table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

This is a classic steakhouse that never ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This is a classic steakhouse that never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was a little disappointed. We both had ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I was a little disappointed. We both had high expectations as we have never visited.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

EXCELLANT FOOD AND WAITER............... ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

EXCELLANT FOOD AND WAITER.......................................................

...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to celerbrate our 10th wedding anni ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Went to celerbrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Very poor service. Waited over 10min with an empty glass for a refill. Steak was very tough both mine and my husbands. Highly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Steve our waiter was excellent. Great se ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Steve our waiter was excellent. Great service. I had the 14 oz NY steak. Superb!

It was a great way to end our trip to Portland.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Steak was very over done despite being o ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Steak was very over done despite being ordered medium rare as a result it was quite dry and not tender at all despite being their highest grade of meat--- filet Mignon Very disappointed in the food quality overall. 😟

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

This was fine dining at its best. Our w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This was fine dining at its best. Our waiter was the best we have had in many years. She made an effort over the top to make it special. We will be back again for the next anniv and ask for her!

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful time. Great service a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Always a wonderful time. Great service and the best crabcakes. Keeps me wanting more!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience, food, and service. W ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Amazing experience, food, and service. Will be coming back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I wanted to "splurge" at The ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

My wife and I wanted to "splurge" at The Ringside to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. The service was friendly and prompt, the meat courses (filet mignon & prime rib) were the utmost in flavor and tenderness. I would highly recommend those looking to spend a little for the superb, dry-aged quality of the meat courses at The Ringside.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When I made the reservation I did not me ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

When I made the reservation I did not mention this was a wedding anniversary however when I communicated with the restaurant directly about another matter they linked that e-mail communication with the reservation and took care of us with extra special care as it was our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, on par with east coa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food was excellent, on par with east coast top end steak houses if not better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite places in Portland. T ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of my favorite places in Portland. They accommodate me asking for lobster mashed potatoes even when its not on the menu. And the steak is always perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A Portland experience

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

A Portland experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Ringside is still Portland's best st ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The Ringside is still Portland's best steakhouse in my opinion. But, I have been coming here for decades.

Tags: Historic, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Too dark. Not airy enough. Waiter too lo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Too dark. Not airy enough. Waiter too loud. $62 filet so-so, certainly not fork tender. Not again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Service was outstanding and food was exc ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Service was outstanding and food was excellent. We enjoyed our special night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall an extremely nice dinner. I have ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Overall an extremely nice dinner. I have been to RingSide Steakhouse several times and it has become one of my favorite Portland restaurants. This last visit was no exception and I will look forward to my next visit. The wait staff are very friendly, the food is outstanding and delicious (every bite is a treat).

The only minor suggestion I will provide based on my last visit is two things:

1. My partner ordered a drink just has her meal was served and was nearly finished with her meal before it finally arrived. It would have been nice for her to enjoy during her meal.

2. Bread was served however after our salads were already finished (bread would have been nice during salad course)

These are minor points but in the spirit to help RingSide maintain exceptional service I am pointing them out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I have been dining at this restaurant fo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I have been dining at this restaurant for 60+ years. Had my first Shirley Temple there. Our family has enjoyed many memorable occasions there. It is the go-to place for steak in Portland. The service and wait staff are beyond exceptional. Congratulations to the Peterson family for maintaining their fine reputation since they first opened their doors.

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic American steakhouse. Always exc ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Classic American steakhouse. Always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Date night with my wife. Our biggest com ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Date night with my wife. Our biggest complaint was the lighting, we literally could not see to read the menu! Another waiter, not ours, gave my wife a very small flashlight so she could read the menu! My night vision is not that bad but this was ridiculous and considering this building was remodeled a year or so ago, you would think some attention would be paid to LIGHTING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

The Ringside Steakhouse is always consi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Ringside Steakhouse is always consistently good. The prices are a bit spendy but worth it for a special occasion. The restaurant is reminiscent of an older era when service and attentiveness excelled along with the food. You cannot get better quality meat than what The Ringside serves although they also feature seafood and chicken. Their battered onion rings are definitely worth the stellar reputation they have received for over 70 years! You cannot find a more quality dining experience in the Portland, Oregon area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Mary Winans was excellent! Sh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our server Mary Winans was excellent! She could not have done a better job.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I have ever had!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Best steak I have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat to be able to dine at Rin ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always a treat to be able to dine at Ringside. The onion rings are the best and so is the service. :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was flavorless and the cocktails w ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Steak was flavorless and the cocktails were week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The food was superb and the service was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The food was superb and the service was fantastic. The atmosphere was incredibly noisy and we had to nearly shout to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Food was excellent prices high service s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food was excellent prices high service started strong and regressed. Lots of wines to choose from they have too many tables and the seating is cramped. Overall good experience for our out of town guests

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Everything is always great at RingSide. ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Everything is always great at RingSide. Another waiter seemed to have a (super loud) voice, but our waiter and staff was top notch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The bone-in ribeye was the absolute best ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The bone-in ribeye was the absolute best steak I have ever had in my life, hands down. The service was amazing and everything was perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not visited Portland for 34 years bu ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Had not visited Portland for 34 years but the Ringside did not fail us! Great ambience, impeccable service, but most of all fantastic food. A wonderful restaurant for any occasion. If in Portland and you enjoy finest dining, this is the place to dine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter, Colin, handled our table extreme ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Waiter, Colin, handled our table extremely well . Food and wine list was outstanding

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been looking forward to checking ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We have been looking forward to checking this place off our'new to portland' list for some time now, with hopes of making it a good go-to steakhouse. The food was fine, but far from impressive. My $60 filet was flavourless and was not aged. The apps, salads, and dessert were all pretty good, but not up to national steakhouse standards.

Overall, it was disappointing as the decor was old rather than 'classic', the flatware was flimsy, and main courses were average. This is far from terrible, it just doesn't deserve to be rated more than three stars.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

I have been to the RingSide approximatel ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I have been to the RingSide approximately 20 times and it is usually great. The onion rings and the service were good as usual. The bread seemed to be covered with salt and the garlic mashed potatoes were salty. It just seemed to ruin the 8 ounce filet. I was quite disappointed this night. I probably won't be in any hurry to return or to take someone else there on their birthday again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.