About RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown

2165 W Burnside
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

For more than 6 decades we have be offering guests the best steaks in town, providing impeccable service with an unmatched wine list. Our happy hour has a loyal late-night following.

With more than 65 years of continuous family ownership, RingSide Steakhouse Downtown is a legend in the world of steakhouses.

Start with RingSide's world famous onion rings...a recipe that is a closely held family secret. Select a steak from a menu offering USDA Prime & Certified Angus Beef NW Natural steaks dry-aged on-premise.

Choose a wine from more than 700 labels. WINE SPECTATOR has recognized RingSide Steakhouse yearly with its BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE SINCE 2001.

RingSide is a prime example of a award winning steakhouse; AMERICA'S TOP TEN STEAKHOUSE HALL OF FAME; GREAT STEAK HOUSES OF NORTH AMERICA; WINE SPECTATOR'S BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE AND THE DiRoNA AWARD

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Prime Rib, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm,
Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
NW 22nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-1513

Website:
http://www.ringsidesteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
While there is no live entertainment, many diners praise the ambiance and how it is enhanced by background music from the American songbook of popular great standards.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary on-site valet parking. Street parking is available although limited

Public Transit:
Walking distance from/to PGE Park MAX Station (renamed Jeld-Wen Field).

Bus Routes: 15-Belmont/NW 23rd, 18-Hillside & 20-Burnside/Stark
Tri-met Stop ID 747 at W Burnside & NW King in Portland Westbound.
Tri-met Stop ID 749 W Burnside & SW 21st in Portland Eastbound

Executive Chef:
Beau Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Baked Onion Soup
Knife and Fork Ceasar Salad
Steak Bites
Champagne Cocktail
Fried Calamari
Beef & Veggie Pot Pie
Onion Rings
Mixed Green Salad
Steak Asada & Garlic Prawns Plate
Ribeye Steak
Lobster Bisque
Bistro Steak Medallions
Tasmanian Rib Eye & Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Filet Mignon And Baked Potato

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Allow us to help you plan your event for family, friends, clients and colleagues. Our managers will assist you with the details of The Barrel Room, our private room.

RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Portland / Oregon
Notable Wine List
Portland
Romantic
Portland
1 More
Special Occasion
Portland
Best Restaurants in NW Portland ›

special occasion (208)
romantic (127)
notable wine list (124)
See All
fit for foodies (82)
neighborhood gem (60)
good for groups (51)
late-night find (22)
hot spot (20)
vibrant bar scene (17)
great for brunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hands down, the BEST steakhouse I've eve ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Hands down, the BEST steakhouse I've ever eaten at! Onion rings are to die for! Ate here twice in the 6 days we were in Portland because it was THAT GOOD! BTW, Portland is a big restaurant town with so many amazing choices. Don't miss this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Ringside. We go every time my fam ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I love Ringside. We go every time my family comes town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated next to the in/out kitche ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We were seated next to the in/out kitchen door even though there were empty tables. Filet was lacking flaver. Fried chicken was dry and bland. garlic mashed potatoes were grainy/ tasteless. Wedge salad was not fresh tasting. Etc, Etc. It took a very long time for our meal to be served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We waited over 30 minutes for our table. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We waited over 30 minutes for our table. I should have requested a table in the original part of the restaurant because we were seated in the new section and I do not care for the 'mood' of that room. Dinner and service were excellent, as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Unfortunately there was a loud table in ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Unfortunately there was a loud table in the back, when they were "talking" /shouting we could barely hear ourselves think. Food and Service was great as always

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

This was an amazing experience. Service ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was an amazing experience. Service was excellent. High attention from staff but not to overwhelming. Food was delicious. We had the rib eye for main and oysters for starter. Both were super!

Will definitely visit if I travel to Portland again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Karen is the best server. We always ask ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Karen is the best server. We always ask to be seat d in her area!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Am generally a big fan of RingSide and i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Am generally a big fan of RingSide and it is my favorite steakhouse in Portland. I've eaten here around 10 times the past two years and have generally really enjoyed the steak, wine, and ambiance.

This particular visit, which was personal in nature, was very subpar due to poor and condescending service. Although this is obviously not expected to be a super kid-friendly destination, I was taken aback with the poor attitude toward my family during our 5:30pm weekend dinner. What was supposed to be a special night out for our family turned into a very poor experience.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

One of the best meals I've had and we ea ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

One of the best meals I've had and we eat out often. I love steak but don't eat it as often as I used to. Excellent with the wild rice pilaf, creamed spinach with of course the onion rings. My wife had halibut, excellent. Pricey but great for special occasion. Was in town for the Davis Cup tennis tournament. To bad the USA lost.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I have been to the Ringside ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My wife and I have been to the Ringside on several occasions, this time celebrating an anniversary. We have never been disappointed with our meals and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous, and the serving s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was fabulous, and the serving staff was excellent

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great choice if you are looking ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Always a great choice if you are looking for an amazing steak! They have a great wine list too! We love going here and the Black Stallion wine is awesome! The peppercorn crusted filet is my favorite along with the garlic mashed potatoes! Highly recommend the steamed spinach as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steakhouse in Portland. I dine her ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Best steakhouse in Portland. I dine here regularly and always take my guests to RingSide when I have visitors.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meat was flavorless. (Shoulder tende ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The meat was flavorless. (Shoulder tender). Extremely dissapointing after touting Ringside to our visiting friends. 15 years since I ate at Ringside ona visit to Portland. A superb sirloin on that occasion. Ringside was also wonderful long ago when I lived in Portland 1973-1977.

I'm guessing new owner, new management, different chef, etc.

Very sad.

Hope you bring back better times and exceptional food again.

R Duke Jennings, MD

I'm

(Did specialty training up the road at

St. Vincent hospital.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Service was excellent. Overall experienc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Service was excellent. Overall experience was very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We arrived 15 minutes early and were sea ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We arrived 15 minutes early and were seated within 2 mins of arrival. Service was excellent and server provided complimentary sparkling wine (without our asking) when the cocktails were delayed by a overloaded bar. Food was great and meat was done to perfection. She had filet on bone and it was beautiful, I had 12oz prime rib and it was a little gristly but great flavor. I will have that beautiful filet next time. Definitely recommend the famous onion rings.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The Ringside has always been one of our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The Ringside has always been one of our favorite steak places. Excellent service, great ambiance and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We used to joke that the Ringside was th ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We used to joke that the Ringside was the only place where you could get a hamburger served to you by a waiter in a tuxedo. Now you can only get the hamburger in the bar, but the Ringside is still the same. My son (a student at PSU) and I were driving along and I asked him, do you want to go to dinner? We talked about several options and I said "what about the Ringside?"

Bingo! We went on line (thank you Open Table) and made the reservation. Perfect steaks and great onion rings.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good service, food was very good, h ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Very good service, food was very good, however there were 3 of us. We each ordered steaks-filet mignon, one medium rare, one medium, and 1 medium well, and they all appeared to be medium rare. They tasted really good so we didn't say anything. The service was impeccable

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Service, meal, setting could not be bett ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Service, meal, setting could not be better. Made our Anniversary the special night we hoped for.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's our 1st trip to Portland and we wer ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It's our 1st trip to Portland and we were celebrating 10 years of being a couple. The restaurant really reminded us of a favorite place in Sausalito called the Buckeye. We had a wonderful romantic time. We also really enjoyed getting to use Apple Pay. It was really quick and easy. Great feature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was extremely slow. And unfri ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The waiter was extremely slow. And unfriendly. We usually sit in the bar with jimmy. Had are younger son so we couldn't. Will never sit in dining area again. Next time we will try somewhere else when dining with someone under 21.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

My wife and I hadn't been to Ringside fo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My wife and I hadn't been to Ringside for awhile and had seen the July 4th weekend,$29.99 prime rib special, so decided to try it. For that price we got 10 oz of absolutely delicious prime rib and potatoes. Also ordered the tuna tartare appetizer, which was generous and delicious, so it was a great dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Robert, our server, was phenomenal. He ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Robert, our server, was phenomenal. He was engaging and helpful with tips about the menu and our selections. The food was great with only a few minor complaints (the wedge salad had just a little too much dressing on it for my taste and the seafood agnoletti was a little too al dente for my husband's tastes). But the beef and other meals were fantastic. We have eaten here previously and will continue to come back for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server, William, was excellent! Th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our server, William, was excellent! Thank you for a great experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but the place was very da ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food was good but the place was very dark. When I can't see my food I tend to think the restaurant is hiding something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

In my opinion this is the best restauran ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

In my opinion this is the best restaurant in the city. It is pricy, but the service is not equaled anywhere. You get what you pay for. The atmosphere is dark and romantic. We will certainly be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Ringside was a very nice dining experien ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Ringside was a very nice dining experience. Our waiter, Dave, was terrific.

The first table at which we were seated was in a small room off to the side of the main restaurant. It was REALLY loud due to a large family seated next to us. The staff graciously relocated us upon request.

The food and wine were terrific...very pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We came to the ringside because our son ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We came to the ringside because our son asked for a special night out for his birthday. We enjoyed the dinner leisurely and with steak that met our expectations

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience as always

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great dining experience as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No check backs Sizzling steak grease sp ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

No check backs

Sizzling steak grease splattered over white dress shirt

Server was very nice- overall good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

William was wonderful! Great service and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

William was wonderful! Great service and food. We will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just found it interesting and frustratin ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Just found it interesting and frustrating that our coupon for free onion rings and a coupon for 15% off the meal couldn't be used with each other. We got them at the same time and only come to Ring Side about twice a year so one of the coupons would have been expired should we have held it for future use.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to the best steakhouses around ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I've been to the best steakhouses around the world, so when I saw Ringside on the top 10 list and we were in Portland, it was worth giving it a try. WOW. I realize being on that list was likely a marketing expense, but no question Ringside belonged on the list. One of THE best steaks I've ever had around the world. It is also very hard to find a good non-desert or spicy sweet red wine, and Ringside delivered. We normally don't eat onion rings but their coating and sauce was unlike anything we've experienced. The sauce for the asparagus was likewise unique and delicious. Service was outstanding, using our first names frequently and staying on top of details. The bone in ribeye wasn't as strong as a KOBE but had a rich flavor that even my wife (who isn't much of a steak lover) thought was exceptional. At least 50% of the time I have to send steaks back for being undercooked - not this time - cooked exactly how I wanted. I was told the best dining option in town was El Goucho and no question - it was a great steakhouse. I have to say, however, Ringside was not only the best in Portland, but very arguably the best in the world I have eaten at yet.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty basic steakhouse decor and servic ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Pretty basic steakhouse decor and service. I did not have a steak but others I was with said there was nothing that sets the steak apart. I had the fried chicken which tasted like it was fried with fish which I can not stand. When I let the waiter know he basically shrugged and brushed me off. No complaints but nothing to rave about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Ringside is the only place for steak. As ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Ringside is the only place for steak. Ask for Scott and he will make the experience all the much better!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive but worth every penny! The onl ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Expensive but worth every penny! The only place to ever eat ONION RINGS 😋 and they come With Gorgonzola/Russian dressing. Fabulous steaks and prime rib, of course! Baked potatoes are amazing - I mean, a potato is a potato, right - but theirs just taste better! Excellent other entrees, but who can pass up the prime meats? Sides are also excellent. Then there's the bar! Don't miss out on a Manhattan made by Jimmy who is welcoming and cheerful and the most skilled bartender in Portland. It's fun just to watch his techniques. He is just the one of the highly skilled staff who add to your experience. The history and ambience are unique, and I am very grateful to the family for keeping things just right even through a renovation. I first enjoyed this treasured restaurant in 1953 when poor college students went for $1.75 prime rib sandwiches. Be sure to call a few days ahead for a reservation if dining in main room or just wait for a spot in the cozy bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and always great service. De ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great food and always great service. Derek was our server and did an outstanding job.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been coming to the Ringside since m ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I've been coming to the Ringside since moving to Portland over 20 years ago and have always enjoyed the food and service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dry aged prime New York steaks th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had dry aged prime New York steaks that were outstanding in flavor and cooked to perfection. Our waitress was attentive and informative and did everything just right.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.