About RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown

2165 W Burnside
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

For more than 6 decades we have be offering guests the best steaks in town, providing impeccable service with an unmatched wine list. Our happy hour has a loyal late-night following.

With more than 65 years of continuous family ownership, RingSide Steakhouse Downtown is a legend in the world of steakhouses.

Start with RingSide's world famous onion rings...a recipe that is a closely held family secret. Select a steak from a menu offering USDA Prime & Certified Angus Beef NW Natural steaks dry-aged on-premise.

Choose a wine from more than 700 labels. WINE SPECTATOR has recognized RingSide Steakhouse yearly with its BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE SINCE 2001.

RingSide is a prime example of a award winning steakhouse; AMERICA'S TOP TEN STEAKHOUSE HALL OF FAME; GREAT STEAK HOUSES OF NORTH AMERICA; WINE SPECTATOR'S BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE AND THE DiRoNA AWARD

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Prime Rib, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm,
Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
NW 22nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-1513

Website:
http://www.ringsidesteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
While there is no live entertainment, many diners praise the ambiance and how it is enhanced by background music from the American songbook of popular great standards.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary on-site valet parking. Street parking is available although limited

Public Transit:
Walking distance from/to PGE Park MAX Station (renamed Jeld-Wen Field).

Bus Routes: 15-Belmont/NW 23rd, 18-Hillside & 20-Burnside/Stark
Tri-met Stop ID 747 at W Burnside & NW King in Portland Westbound.
Tri-met Stop ID 749 W Burnside & SW 21st in Portland Eastbound

Executive Chef:
Beau Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Allow us to help you plan your event for family, friends, clients and colleagues. Our managers will assist you with the details of The Barrel Room, our private room.

RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Portland / Oregon
Best Service
Portland
Notable Wine List
Portland
1 More
Special Occasion
Portland
Best Restaurants in NW Portland ›

special occasion (237)
romantic (172)
notable wine list (150)
See All
fit for foodies (111)
neighborhood gem (62)
good for groups (54)
late-night find (32)
hot spot (20)
vibrant bar scene (17)
kid-friendly (7)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (5)
 (5)
 (4)
 (4)
 (2)
 (2)
scenic view (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food is fantastic! The prime rib is ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food is fantastic! The prime rib is the best in town! The French Onion soup is delicious. The service is the best!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

we sat at the bar and celebrated my birt ...

Dined 4 days ago

we sat at the bar and celebrated my birthday with aged rib eye, salad, and of course, onion rings. The bartender, Jim, was fantastic, professional, efficient and friendly. I will be back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined 4 days ago

Stellar on all points! My steak was perfection, the shrimp cocktail has the sweetest flavor and amazing sauces, and my cocktail was well-crafted. I also love the ambience. Great , old-school steak house space with delightful staff. I want all my special occasions to be at Ringside.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Took two well-traveled guests to the Rin ...

Dined 5 days ago

Took two well-traveled guests to the Ringside. They were extremely impressed. It was a fantastic experience.

food5
ambience4
service5

Love old school steak places, this one i ...

Dined 5 days ago

Love old school steak places, this one is right. Service impeccable and food so tasty to the end!

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great quality of meat

Dined 6 days ago

Both the lamb chops and the ribeye steak were very good cuts of meat--juicy and tender. I thought both could have benefitted from more imaginative seasoning. To be fair? The lamb chops did come with chutney, an accompaniment I never prefer. But I do love lamb, and as I said, this was very good quality. Service was fine, but we've had another waiter on a previous occasion whom we really enjoyed. We did enjoy their selection of music and wine! I'm sure we'll be back.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Steak Ever

Dined on May 23, 2016

We have been to Ringside many times and usually have the prime rib. Unfortunately, it was late Sunday and the prime rib was unavailable. However, I tried the prime rib eye steak and it was without a doubt the best steak I have ever had. The taste was wonderful and the preparation was perfect. Our server, Kelli, was very attentive and although we only come in a couple times a year, because we live in California, she remembered us from our last visit. Considering how many customers that she must see, it was amazing she remembered where we were from and our occupations. It was nice to see someone who enjoyed their job and obviously like working with people. We are already looking forward to our next Portland trip. Now the challenge will be prime rib or the rib eye!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Over the top excellent

Dined on May 23, 2016

I took my husband to the Ringside for his birthday. I bet I haven't been in the restaurant in 10-15 years. It is now remodeled, but still elegant and classic. The onion rings and Gin&Tonic were both as excellent as the past. Fantastic understated service. The entrees are incredibly expensive ($45 to $70), probably double other restaurants in town. Our bill was around $200 (drinks, onion rings, two entrees, one bottle of wine, shared creme brulee dessert). For a special occasion, it was a perfect 10 for a destination landmark restaurant. I wish I could afford to go more than once every few years.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

New filter water

Dined on May 23, 2016

Water taste is bad but food is great. (prime rib )

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Dinner

Dined on May 22, 2016

I felt it was overpriced for what we got. An 8 ounce steak and a potato, some bread, no vegi, no salad. The steak was very good, the potato and bread was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time! Everything was lovely! I ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My first time! Everything was lovely! I grew up with upscale dinner houses in Los Angeles, and was totally impressed! Gotta get the Ringside rings! Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the wine list and the food. Certainly helped us decide on which Super Tuscan to accompany the BEAST!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was sub par. Wedge salad came w ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Service was sub par. Wedge salad came without the bacon. Been to this Ringside many times. Seems like the service has gotten worse each time we go.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special birthday

Dined on May 15, 2016

My sisters celebrated their birthdays together at the Ringside. The four of us had a fabulous time. We love this restaurant... Especially the early night specials.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great 30th birthday dinner at Ring ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Had a great 30th birthday dinner at Ringside. Thanks!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have had the pleasure of dining at Rin ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I have had the pleasure of dining at Ringside for many years. Always an excellent evening. Colin was terrific and helped make the evening go very smoothly.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never Disappoints

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

The Ringside has been around for many years and the here is a reason. First the food is very good, with ample portions and of course the onion rings are the best anywhere. Second, the service is classic. Well trained servers who always seem to be available when you need them, without being intrusive and who can anticipate your needs. I also like the formal service provided by the waitstaff. Something rarely experienced in the casual dining you mostly find in Portland.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Great service

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, Great!

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

We eat here 4-5 times a year. It's a wallet lightener but worth every cent. The food and service are A-1. I enjoy a good steak and am never disappointed with whatever cut I choose. Moreover, the best onion rings on the planet. The best news is that my wife loves the place, too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dependable in all ways.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We've been dining at the Ringside for years with the same couple who also appreciate good food and excellent service. Consistency of excellence means we'll continue to enjoy our getting together at our favorite restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Steak was over done.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Ordered my steak medium rare but it came out medium. Either the waitress did not hear what I said or the chef does not know how to cook a steak. The table next to us also did not have her meal prepared as ordered either because she sent it back. Maybe it was just a bad night. I won't be back to find out.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A Portland Gem!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic food, superb service and great ambience. We were celebrating a special occasion and The Ringside was naturally our first choice for a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great birthday venue

Dined on May 8, 2016

The ambiance was great; not too quiet, and just loud enough to make it seem like everyone was having a good time. The drinks were great (from a great selection), and the desserts were beautiful, not just in looks but in taste as well. Our server was very attentive, but not annoyingly so -he was always checking up on us, to make sure we were alright, and that everything was going well. The water servers were just as perfect with their timing. I have only two complaints, and they're rather nit-picky. First: our booth was small. It would have been great for two people, or three at most, but for four of us, it was a tight squeeze. I had to sit slightly diagonally, in order not to scrap my arm against the wall whenever I had to cut my steak. I would have preferred a table with chairs, for more elbow room, but since the place was packed with prom couples and Mother's Day diners, I'll let it pass. Second nit-pick: not enough bleu cheese on my steak medallion. It also tasted so heavily of the prosciutto-wrapped steak medallion that accompanied it that I couldn't even detect the bleu cheese. Still, the steaks were tender, and the baked potato and sauteed mushrooms were the perfect compliment. I would totally eat here again, in order to try out other items on the menu.

Tags: group bookings, special occasions, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Old school style steakhouse with a modern feel..

Dined on May 8, 2016

The servers wear tuxedos. Bussers wear suit style jackets. The ambiance is very dark, too dark. The wine list is extremely long, an actual book. The prices are typical high end for a formal steakhouse. Our cocktails were excellent..lemon drop and an old fashion. We (3 of us) all ordered the 3 course dinner-surf and turf. The steak was cooked as requested, garlic mash were great. The fried prawns were perfectly crunchy. I substituted the mixed greens for the wedge salad. It had the usual blue cheese crumbles but also a tangy thousand island dressing. The portion was huge. My sister had the onion soup, served in a charming copper bowl smothered in layers of melted cheese. For dessert was the creme brulee. The top sugar crust was slightly burnt in the middle, but over all very good. Reservations are recommended. We dined on a Saturday night. It filled up quickly. We had reservations for 5pm and were seated right away. This is a great place for a special occasion or romantic evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, perfect for a date.

Dined on May 7, 2016

The service was excellent and the staff are always friendly. Would highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Another excellent dining experience with ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Another excellent dining experience with crew at Ringside. Is and always will be my "go to" steak place!!!

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food, fantastic service

Dined on May 6, 2016

The steaks are good, the baked potato is good, the wine is good. I can duplicate the food quality and preparation quality at home. You have a great wine list, which I can't duplicate at home. The service is the best in Portland. THE BEST! The servers are attentive, very professional and are genuine in their desire to make sure we're taken care of. That's really the reason we come here 3-4 times a year, and the fact that we want someone to cook for us once in a while. I recommend Ringside to friends and acquaintances, because it's a special/historic place, and the food is good. "Get the onion rings!". But I also tell them it's an 'event' restaurant. It's expensive, $150 - $200 a couple.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Ringside was AMAZING! My girlfriend and I were in Portland while on a West Coast roadtrip and wanted to have a nice steak supper one of the nights. Could not have picked a better place. Hands down the best steak I have had. I had the NY Strip and she had the Filet Mignon. We split the mushrooms and the asparagus, both of which were absolutely perfect. For an appetizer we order the famous onion rings and it is easy to tell why they are so famous! I would definitely recommend going here. And if you can ask for your own waitress I recommend Chris. She was really great and recommended some things without being snoody like other servers at nice restaurants.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

too loud

Dined on May 4, 2016

Food and service are always good but noise level was too much for our group and was too hard to have a conversation. We changed our next meal to a quieter venue so we could converse with our customers.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Steaks were great. Appetizers were great ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Steaks were great. Appetizers were great. Desert was so so.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Steak Like Butter

Dined on May 1, 2016

A cozy steak house for a special occasion and/or romantic dinner. The lights are somewhat dimmed and sat in a room with a fireplace-nice. All that we ordered was wonderful and excellently prepared to our requests. An expansive wine list that should suit everyone's taste. The only cons were the desserts: nice, but not excellent. The room became quite hot to the majority of us who were dining. Perhaps it was the fireplace, although a distance away? or just not enough AC being circulated. It continually went on & off. Would recommend, however.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

We celebrated our son's college graduati ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We celebrated our son's college graduation and had a fabulous meal. We will be back the next time we're in Portland.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for any celebration

Dined on April 30, 2016

Perfect for any celebration

food5
ambience5
service5

Ringside is our neighborhood hangout and ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Ringside is our neighborhood hangout and a classic old time Portland steakhouse. Leave the chains aside and make the trip uptown for an authentic experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great high class service and excellent food!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Ringside never fails. The service is excellent and the food is awesome! The lobster tail was enormous and cooked perfectly, and the prime rib was too! Even the baked potato was spot on.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SO MUCH FUN

Dined on April 25, 2016

We had Karen as our server and she remembered us from last December. Great time, great food, great fun. very impressive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Steven was great. I asked about an item ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Steven was great. I asked about an item that was no longer listed on the menu, chicken livers, and he was able to get them for me. Thank you Steven and kitchen staff. Our meal was awesome!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on April 24, 2016

Ringside never disappoints. The onion rings are super yummy and the wedge salad is too. Then, the steak and sides are delicious. Everything is good. I wish I could afford to go more often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A fantastic meal! it was my husband's bi ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

A fantastic meal! it was my husband's birthday and another couple joined us. We all thought it was great. Unfortunately, my halibut was lukewarm when it came out, but it was handled very well. a new entrée was prepared, and the server brought me some jumbo prawns to nibble on while I waited for my halibut. The manager comped it, and my husband's birthday dessert. It was handled very well, and we were all impressed. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Only thing that was average was vegetable medley.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Outstanding 40th birthday dinner for our son. Waiter Scott was excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Steak was top notch as always. I recommend trying the beet salad it is amazing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.