Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown

For more than 6 decades we have be offering guests the best steaks in town, providing impeccable service with an unmatched wine list. Our happy hour has a loyal late-night following.

With more than 65 years of continuous family ownership, RingSide Steakhouse Downtown is a legend in the world of steakhouses.

Start with RingSide's world famous onion rings...a recipe that is a closely held family secret. Select a steak from a menu offering USDA Prime & Certified Angus Beef NW Natural steaks dry-aged on-premise.

Choose a wine from more than 700 labels. WINE SPECTATOR has recognized RingSide Steakhouse yearly with its BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE SINCE 2001.

RingSide is a prime example of a award winning steakhouse; AMERICA'S TOP TEN STEAKHOUSE HALL OF FAME; GREAT STEAK HOUSES OF NORTH AMERICA; WINE SPECTATOR'S BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE AND THE DiRoNA AWARD

2165 W Burnside
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Prime Rib, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm,
Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
NW 22nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-1513

Website:
http://www.ringsidesteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
While there is no live entertainment, many diners praise the ambiance and how it is enhanced by background music from the American songbook of popular great standards.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary on-site valet parking. Street parking is available although limited

Public Transit:
Walking distance from/to PGE Park MAX Station (renamed Jeld-Wen Field).

Bus Routes: 15-Belmont/NW 23rd, 18-Hillside & 20-Burnside/Stark
Tri-met Stop ID 747 at W Burnside & NW King in Portland Westbound.
Tri-met Stop ID 749 W Burnside & SW 21st in Portland Eastbound

Executive Chef:
Beau Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Allow us to help you plan your event for family, friends, clients and colleagues. Our managers will assist you with the details of The Barrel Room, our private room.

RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (135)
Good for a Date (116)
Good for Anniversaries (112)
See All
Romantic (90)
Notable Wine List (85)
Good for Birthdays (84)
Historic (71)
Cozy (64)
Fireplace (63)
Business Meals (55)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Worth the Drive (47)
Authentic (45)
Handcrafted Cocktails (44)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Bar Seating (26)
Happy Hour (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Late-night Find (21)
Fun (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Private Room (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Casual (10)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
People Watching (8)
Seasonal (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Family Style (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
3053 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing ! Best steakhouse in Portland great service and great people! First Class All The Way!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

EVERYTHING WAS AS GOOD AS IT COULD HAVE BEEN. WE WENT TO THE RINGSIDE ON ON FIRST DATE 42 YEARS AGO... AND HAVE CELEBRATED THAT OCCASION AT THE RINGSIDE EVERY YEAR SINCE! WE ENJOY THIS RESTAURANT THROUGHOUT THE YEAR... BUT WE THANK YOU FOR MAKING #42 SO VERY SPECIAL!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Anniversary Dinner

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing steaks and annambiance you won't find anywhere else in the Portland/Vancouver area.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Romantic, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome food, awesome service. Pricey but you get what you pay for :)

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Despite reservation for a week, had to wait 30 minutes for table. This made us rush to make our next event. So dinner was under a cloud. Drinks at bar (waiting) were short pours and therefore over priced. Bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful feasting followed by [wonderful] leftovers! We went for our 27th Anniversary. Had never been (to either location) Ringside before. I wanted to do it right. Chose between websites of Ruth's Chris, El Gaucho's and Ringside (either), as I had always heard these were Portland's premier steak houses, before settling on Ringside Uptown. I chose right! They saw at once that we were out of our element, but treated us like a king and queen. I made a rough mental calculation of our bill, and was surprised when it showed up $35 different than my crude calculations. (Okay, this happens, but not on the down side?) That's right. The bill was $35 lighter than I was expecting. A glance at the itemized bill told me that I had been charged for everything we ordered. A few things were less than I had roughly calculated them to be; our "steak for two" dinner was actually less than the menu had said! No explanation. But this did not add up to anywhere near the $35 discrepancy. Anyway, I put the bill in my pocket, deciding to look into it later, as I like to solve mysteries. Would you believe it? After scrutinizing the bill, I found Ringside Uptown had given us a 15% Anniversary Discount!!

Irony: We agreed we would have left full and satisfied with just the appetizers we ordered!

Irony 2: This is one of three times I have dined in this price range. The other two were fine, but pretentious by Ringside standard: When we were stuffed, we carried out more than half of our meal to enjoy later!!

Go to Ringside!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

As always, the RingSide delivered. When my brother and sister-in-law visited from Houston, we took them to the RingSide to sample Portland's finest. They were dazzled by the menu and really happy with what they ordered -- a Manhattan, Rodney Strong Cabernet Sauvignon, onion rings, ribeyes, sirloins, lobster mashed potatoes and creme brulee. We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The space had a warm, candlelit feel but was quite packed, with an energetic crowd at the bar. The four of us were seated at a claustrophobic booth by the coat-rack with the wall behind us apparently shared with the kitchen on the other side. Despite this, we enjoyed our meal, largely because of the expert service, which was personable but not intrusive. We all enjoyed the onion rings, which were a great value for the huge portion -- don't miss the accompanying French dressing with these; garlicky and studded with blue cheese, it's nothing you'll find in a bottle. The lobster mashed potatoes could make an unforgettable meal on their own, they are so rich and delicious. The ribeye was the hit among our entrees, with the prime rib a close second. One lovely pots de creme was plenty for the four of us to share.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Exceptional meal to celebrate a family birthday. Ringside does old-school steakhouse with charismatic and attentive service. We had a delicious meal, and our server really added to the experience with her warmth and charm. She even made my 11-year-old feel special; not always the case in a fine dining restaurant. Great spot for a special occasion when you want to ensure they hit every note right.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Service was a little slow but very cheerful and helpful. Could use a little more lighting. Steak was less than perfect to my surprise. Dessert amazingly good

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Both of our most recent visits have been wonderful, we just happened to get the same server both times, she was amazing and the food was also amazing. Great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were looking for a special place to open a 12-yr old, 100-rated bottle of wine. Ringside proved to be the perfect location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The meal was absolutely amazing! I had roasted bone marrow for the 1st time and it was delicious! All of our steaks were perfection and 4 of us all had something different. We had an amazing bottle of wine as well. We shared creme brulee that was decadent! Yes, it is pricy but it truly was an amazing experience. We will go back for sure!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

as per my review above- the evening was amazing, the food was great and the service was excellent.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Server was awesome... attentive when we had questions and inconspicuous when we didn't. He proactively plated a shared dish seperately and recommended a moderately priced wine without making me feel cheap for not splurging more. Food was outsyanding... havent enjoyed a steakhouse this much in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent food and service to match. I had the aged rib steak and lobster mashed potatoes. James was great as our waiter. It was our anniversary and we will be back for another.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Perfect in every way...every time...
They can't be nicer or more attentive...
The drinks are great, the food spot on..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Whenever I am in Portland I make it a point to visit the RingSide. They have great food and an impressive wine list. We also enjoy the late night happy hour. They have reasonable prices during the happy hour with impressive choices

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent service, beautiful/original decor . Don't have to dress up...casual

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My wife and I recently stayed in Portland for 5 days and, being food lovers, tried out a few of the 'top' restaurants in town. Considering its reputation as a foodie city, we were very disappointed by all of them except for two places (Ringside and Imperial). We visited Ringside on our last night and absolutely loved the style and atmosphere as soon as we entered - I'm a sucker for these old-school places. I had a nice local beer (think it was Breakside but not sure) at the cosy bar before dinner. Service was fantastic with friendly and attentive staff. The food was good traditional steakhouse fare. Both steaks (a filet and ribeye) were a cooked a little more that we'd asked for but still enjoyable. Given the choice, I didn't think it necessary to serve the steaks on a sizzling hot plate. We'd definitely recommend to friends and return ourselves the next time we're in town. It's easy to see how they have been in business for so long!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Historic, Business Meals, Romantic, Great Beer, Cozy, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Their steaks are amazing. The Lobster mashed potatoes are as well. If you like steak, go here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The meal was fantastic, one of the best I've ever had. Staff is unassuming so they don't make you feel like you don't belong if you just saved your coins for awhile for a nice meal

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent evening. RingSide never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great steaks and French onion soup, awesome wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Birthday celebration for my husband. Service and food exceptional for our party of six. A true Portland institution. Never disappoints.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We have been to Ringside a few times. The staff is always professional and the food excellent. This is, however, the second time in a row that a renowned steak place, had to redo a steak that was not cooked to ordered. If it is medium, it should not be cold centered and bloody. They did a great job and got a much better cooked steak returned to us. They offered to buy a dessert for us...which they were already doing as we were celebrating a birthday. I like it there, but is is enormously expensive for there to be any mistakes...let a long two in a row.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Birthday dinner. Food and service were as good as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food! Great service! Really enjoyed our dinner there - it is slightly pricey, so would only go for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Birthday and plus we love this place wait staff and servers are great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The best service in town to go along with some of the best quality food. Portions are perfect, not too much to feel over-stuffed, and not too little to feel hungry.... like after Chinese food. Ha !
And, I must not forget the valet parking attendants. 100% service from arrival to dessert.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Except the quality and taste of the meat everything from the 3 course menu was mediocre.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Fantastic! Service was perfect, the meal and drinks were dynamite. The steak butter on anything is the way to go. We visit for special occasions and it's worth it every time. Valet was super friendly and speedy too. Effortless night out to celebrate any occasion. Ringside does it right!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our waiter, Collin, made this such a memorable evening for my husband an I. I will ask for his area from now on.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The RingSide is usually above our price point, but the March deal of a three-course meal for $30 was a steal and really, really delicious. I'll be back again next March!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Ringside always delivers amazing beef and excellent service. Old school comfort an class without being stuffy or pretentious. Mortons and Ruth's Cris are good, but Ringside is LOCAL and ON PAR with those chain establishments. The remodel kept the charm while upgrading the infrastructure.... love it

Tags: Business Meals, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We went to the Ringside on East Burnside during Portland Dining Month. Our waiter, Collin, was excellent--friendly and knowledgeable. We added the legendary onion rings to our meal. Do not miss them; you'll never have any better than these--crisp, non-greasy, and a huge portion. Every dish we had was of the highest quality, plentiful, and beautifully prepared. This was a specially-priced 3-course meal for Portland Dining Month, and we certainly got our money's worth!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

As usual, great food and superlative service. Nice ambience, lively, but not so noisy that you can't converse with your party. Classic steakhouse done exceedingly well. Be sure you have the onion rings they are something special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We had friends in town from Maine that wanted to visit this spot and we were not disappointed!

Every course was epic and impeccable service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.