About RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown

2165 W Burnside
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

For more than 6 decades we have be offering guests the best steaks in town, providing impeccable service with an unmatched wine list. Our happy hour has a loyal late-night following.

With more than 65 years of continuous family ownership, RingSide Steakhouse Downtown is a legend in the world of steakhouses.

Start with RingSide's world famous onion rings...a recipe that is a closely held family secret. Select a steak from a menu offering USDA Prime & Certified Angus Beef NW Natural steaks dry-aged on-premise.

Choose a wine from more than 700 labels. WINE SPECTATOR has recognized RingSide Steakhouse yearly with its BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE SINCE 2001.

RingSide is a prime example of a award winning steakhouse; AMERICA'S TOP TEN STEAKHOUSE HALL OF FAME; GREAT STEAK HOUSES OF NORTH AMERICA; WINE SPECTATOR'S BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE AND THE DiRoNA AWARD

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Prime Rib, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm,
Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
NW 22nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-1513

Website:
http://www.ringsidesteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
While there is no live entertainment, many diners praise the ambiance and how it is enhanced by background music from the American songbook of popular great standards.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary on-site valet parking. Street parking is available although limited

Public Transit:
Walking distance from/to PGE Park MAX Station (renamed Jeld-Wen Field).

Bus Routes: 15-Belmont/NW 23rd, 18-Hillside & 20-Burnside/Stark
Tri-met Stop ID 747 at W Burnside & NW King in Portland Westbound.
Tri-met Stop ID 749 W Burnside & SW 21st in Portland Eastbound

Executive Chef:
Beau Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Baked Onion Soup - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Fried Calamari - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Champagne Cocktail - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Knife and Fork Ceasar Salad - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Steak Bites - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Onion Rings - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Beef & Veggie Pot Pie - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Steak Asada & Garlic Prawns Plate - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Mixed Green Salad - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Ribeye Steak - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Bistro Steak Medallions - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Lobster Bisque - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Tasmanian Rib Eye & Garlic Mashed Potatoes - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Filet Mignon And Baked Potato - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Allow us to help you plan your event for family, friends, clients and colleagues. Our managers will assist you with the details of The Barrel Room, our private room.

RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Special Occasion
Portland
1 More
Most Booked
Portland
Best Restaurants in NW Portland ›

Special Occasion (110)
Good for Anniversaries (77)
Good for a Date (76)
See All
Romantic (67)
Good for Birthdays (67)
Notable Wine List (65)
Historic (54)
Business Meals (48)
Cozy (45)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Authentic (34)
Fireplace (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Comfort Food (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Fun (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Private Room (15)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Casual (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (5)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
2693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a favorite, one of the best steak ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a favorite, one of the best steak places in the US - the best in Portland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliable, old school steak house.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Reliable, old school steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

After celebrating our wedding, including ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

After celebrating our wedding, including the "rehearsal dinner", 8 times at Cabernet Steakhouse in Alpharetta, GA we had to find a similar restaurant close to where we now live, the PDX area, for our 9th anniversary.

RingSide Steakhouse was the only restaurant I found that looked comparable and now having been there I can make the following observations:

  • menus are almost identical, although at Cabernet everything was a la carte

  • RingSide is definitely not as private/moderately quiet as Cabernet, but perhaps this depends on the seating arrangement

  • service was as good; we just need to some time to get to "know" the wait staff at RingSide like we did Cabernet's

  • steak was actually better at RingSide, something I thought was impossible, especially true if you order the prime filet mignon

  • wine list is amazing at both restaurants

  • RingSide is more expensive, but that makes sense being in downtown Portland and all

We will gladly go back to RingSide for subsequent anniversaries. One nice touch was that both the hostess and our waiter wished us a happy anniversary, which means the restaurant read the online reservation well.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Business Meals, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The Prime rib was not very good, the Fil ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

The Prime rib was not very good, the Filet Mignon was excellent but @ $65 you would expect it to be, the Prime Rib @ $47 was disappointing and the majority went to the dog at home. All in all I thought the Ringside was not as good as Mortons or Ruth's Chris ...

The Onion rings were a hit, and they did comp the dessert for the Birthday boy...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The lamb chops were very good cooked to ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

The lamb chops were very good cooked to perfection

Restaurant was a little nosey aside from that was a very good experience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great customer service, my Steak was a l ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great customer service, my Steak was a little overcooked but they had taken care of it rather than made excuses. Been a customer for long time and still plan on coming back. The wait staff was great. Highly recommend this establishment.

Thanks

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is definitely a special occasion pl ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This is definitely a special occasion place as it is very expensive. The food and service are spectacular. We had a group of 8 to celebrate a birthday. They seated us at the prime table in front of the fireplace. It was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Oh my God, the food and the customer ser ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Oh my God, the food and the customer service were beyond. I can't wait to go back there. The staff is truly the best in town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite Portland restaurant. The be ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our favorite Portland restaurant. The best steak and onion rings in Portland

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Generally steaks are cooked just right b ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Generally steaks are cooked just right but this time two out of three medium rare were slightly overcooked. four of us ate in the bar. Waiter was pleasant and offered good wine choices but disappeared for good length of time and took longer than usual to get entree. Definitely over the years we have had better experiences at this classic Portland spot . Last two times were disappointing. Still have the best onion rings anywhere.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

It was our 25th anniversary and we enjoy ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was our 25th anniversary and we enjoyed our dinner specially the lobster mashed potatoes was amazing.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great 1st experience to Ringside Steakho ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great 1st experience to Ringside Steakhouse! Our food was amazing & our waiter Scott was outstanding, he was funny and provided the best customer sevice. We will definitely return and recommend to our friends! Thanks so much for a wonderful birthday celebration!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the service and food is i ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The quality of the service and food is impeccable. Autumn squash with duck sausage is brilliant although diners are advised to bring a magnifying lens in order to observe the minuscule portion.

Prime rib, always good, seemed to have improved further.

Desserts are always surprising, creative and tasty. Well worth finding extra room for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my husband birthday. When we ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We went for my husband birthday. When we got home he kept saying how much he loved the food at the Ringside. It was really heartfelt. We will be back soon,

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come to the RingSide one to two times ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We come to the RingSide one to two times a year when we are in Portland. We have never been let down. Food and service always on point and have often seen notable people or celebrities.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The crab cakes were very good, the steak ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The crab cakes were very good, the steak was perfect, the lobster potatoes were delicious. The only minor complaint is that the salmon was cooked a couple minutes longer than I had wanted as I had asked for medium rare and it came as medium.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

As always everything was great!! I enjoy ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

As always everything was great!! I enjoy taking new people to Portland there on a regular basis.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I went to Ringside to c ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to Ringside to celebrate our first year dating anniversary. The food, wine, and service were outstanding. We definitely will be back again, but probably once a year, as the price tag is, while worth it, large. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place, I eat here all the time ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Love this place, I eat here all the time....I brought my vegan lady here for a friends group dinner and they blew her and I away with the meal they put together for her...so accommodating! Thanks again for a great dining experience Ringside :)

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was wonderful and cooked medium ra ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Steak was wonderful and cooked medium rare. Lobster mashed potatoes tough and unappealing. Salad large and crisp and cold, but wet. Could use more dryingvtime in a linen towel to Apple crisp was very sweet, crumble tasted like cardboard, and not warmed Served with ice cream and asked for whipping cream. They have no whipping cream!

Had a nice 2002 Bordeaux. The setting is retro 50s and 60s. The food follows that scene. Not creative. Not for foodies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

the food is exceptional,as is the servic ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

the food is exceptional,as is the service worth every dollar

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Chefs are very good at what they do. Th ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Chefs are very good at what they do. That's what matters most when it comes to food taste. What also matters is service and I have always experienced great food and great service at Ringside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always enjoy dinners here. The prime r ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I always enjoy dinners here. The prime rib is the best around, they have an exceptional wine list, and desserts (which normally don't tempt me) are inventive and tasty. Our server was Steve, who was very professional but funny too. Lighting and fireplace make a very comfortable atmosphere. Great place for special occasions. I recommend dressing business casual or better; this is one of few restaurants in Portland where that is still expected.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing dinner at Ringside Steakhouse ce ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amazing dinner at Ringside Steakhouse celebrating our anniversary! Thanks so much for making it extra special!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like taking your buddy's girl friend sin ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Like taking your buddy's girl friend sinister to the prom: will be fine but not memorable.

D

I can not put my finger on exactly what made the evening pedantic or unexciting but it just did match up to a 70 dollar steak.

Maybe they should seat the tee-shirted ragged jeans bunch in the side room and give those of us on an evening out an area where we can feel special

Maybe I am a Goucho type after all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, food and service was excellen ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

As always, food and service was excellent. Our server, Monique was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was ok. Overpriced and re ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The experience was ok. Overpriced and resting on their old reputation. Ribeye was not very flavorful. Price tag was very spicy.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Absolutely impeccable service. The food ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Absolutely impeccable service. The food is wonderful. If you are looking for the best steakhouse in Portland, look no further. My wife and I have been twice, once for our 30th anniversary and then for my birthday. We were made to feel very special on both occasions and I highly recommend this restaurant on every level.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and accommodating waiter and i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent and accommodating waiter and incredibly tender prime rib. Cold seafood platter appetizer (the small one) was generous for two people.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steak in town, I would definitely t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Best steak in town, I would definitely try the horseradish. And the house salad dressing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our overall experience was good and outs ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our overall experience was good and outstanding service from our server (Karen) We have been going to Ringside for our anniversary for several years and have always experienced excellent service and great food. This time we ordered a Prime top sirloin steak to share along with our customary onion rings and salad.(more than enough) This time however our steak was not tender and to us very tough. We brought it to our server's attention and she brought someone over to see us. He explained that the top sirloin come from a part of the beef that is not as tender as other cuts of beef. I agree but I have bought top sirloin for years and have had Choice cuts that were far better than the Prime we were served. They offered another cut of steak but we declined. Our first disappointment with the Ringside in 49 years.

Thank you,

Jim Leineweber\

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and service was incredible from the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Food and service was incredible from the first to last bite.

The lighting was low but nothing too dim and we quickly adjusted.

Seating in the dinning hall was compact, borderline cramped, but uses the space effectively.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From our first contact with the valet pa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 8, 2016

From our first contact with the valet parking attendant to our departure, the evening was lovely. Service was friendly and attentive, and the food was delicious. Because of the price Ringside is not a place I would go very often, but it is a good choice for a special occasion.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was visiting Portland for a wedding an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 7, 2016

I was visiting Portland for a wedding and needed a nice restaurant for me and my girlfriend to dine in. Ringside is highly recommended not only by locals, but by entertainment media also. On the weekends you will most likely need a reservation. We chose to eat around 9PM and found the restaurant to be full but winding down. I tried the onion rings which were said to be a must try and they were great. A small order is more than enough. We got the Ribeye bone in for two and it was more than enough. It was cooked to the proper temperature. Just be aware that steak do cook as they sit there while you eat them. It had a nice crust on the outside and was medium inside, just like we ordered. The wait staff was courteous and professional as was the valet outside. If I am ever back in Portland I would definitely go again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service in an old well established ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great service in an old well established Portland landmark. The steaks could be a bit higher quality, but the ambiance partially makes up for it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was wonderful food, service and atm ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

This was wonderful food, service and atmosphere. Our food was delicious, the staff was extremely helpful and treated our anniversary as if it was there's.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of our party of 4 my dinner was cold ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Out of our party of 4 my dinner was cold and had to be sent back. The rest of the party

was good. Would recommend having a main dish on the sizzling plates to keep it warm.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a great experience. Very attentiv ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always a great experience. Very attentive staff . Enjoyed every bite!

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good as always but the service ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was good as always but the service was awful. We started to think our waiter had gone on break. My Hubby finally went to the bar to get us another drink as our waiter had disappeared. You expect good service when you pay over $200 for dinner

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Our first visit after the remodel and we ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our first visit after the remodel and we loved it. Only negative, not Ringside's fault, is people bring their young kids. Get a babysitter and come enjoy an adult night out or take your kid to McDonalds or Chucky Cheese. I am fighting a losing battle I know.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Historic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.