Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown

For more than 6 decades we have be offering guests the best steaks in town, providing impeccable service with an unmatched wine list. Our happy hour has a loyal late-night following.

With more than 65 years of continuous family ownership, RingSide Steakhouse Downtown is a legend in the world of steakhouses.

Start with RingSide's world famous onion rings...a recipe that is a closely held family secret. Select a steak from a menu offering USDA Prime & Certified Angus Beef NW Natural steaks dry-aged on-premise.

Choose a wine from more than 700 labels. WINE SPECTATOR has recognized RingSide Steakhouse yearly with its BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE SINCE 2001.

RingSide is a prime example of a award winning steakhouse; AMERICA'S TOP TEN STEAKHOUSE HALL OF FAME; GREAT STEAK HOUSES OF NORTH AMERICA; WINE SPECTATOR'S BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE AND THE DiRoNA AWARD

2165 W Burnside
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Prime Rib, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm,
Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
NW 22nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-1513

Website:
http://www.ringsidesteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
While there is no live entertainment, many diners praise the ambiance and how it is enhanced by background music from the American songbook of popular great standards.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary on-site valet parking. Street parking is available although limited

Public Transit:
Walking distance from/to PGE Park MAX Station (renamed Jeld-Wen Field).

Bus Routes: 15-Belmont/NW 23rd, 18-Hillside & 20-Burnside/Stark
Tri-met Stop ID 747 at W Burnside & NW King in Portland Westbound.
Tri-met Stop ID 749 W Burnside & SW 21st in Portland Eastbound

Executive Chef:
Beau Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Allow us to help you plan your event for family, friends, clients and colleagues. Our managers will assist you with the details of The Barrel Room, our private room.

RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (130)
Good for Anniversaries (98)
Good for a Date (96)
See All
Romantic (85)
Good for Birthdays (63)
Notable Wine List (62)
Business Meals (60)
Worth the Drive (50)
Cozy (42)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Authentic (40)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Fun (24)
Happy Hour (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Late-night Find (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Casual (8)
People Watching (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
3292 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Super awesome and knowledgeable waiter. The food was delicious. The best dry aged ribeye my wife and I have had. Actually came back again the next night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Always fabulous!!! Wait staff attentive, food cooked to perfection, especially the lobster mashed potatoes!!!! I could eat those with every meal....always love the steaks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing steak and french onion soup! The seating is a little cozy as the restaurant is quite noisy. The service was fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tapas, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

We loved Jessica our server. Very professional and sweet. We tend to linger in each stage of the dinning experience and Jessica never rushed us. We always feel well taken care of at Ringside Steakhouse and we highly recommend dinning here. We have sinned here for the past 8 years and food is perfect every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I have lived in Oregon for four years and I can honestly say this is the best meal I have had in that time!!!!! The lamb chops were out of this world!!!!! Wonderful dining experience for my wife's birthday. Would recommend to anyone!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

I know it's a Steakhouse but hands down, they have the best Crab Cakes in town!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edinburgh)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Ringside has become a tradition for my husbands birthday - great drinks, great steaks. Excellent service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

My wife and I went to Ringside for our anniversary, and we were very impressed. We booked our reservation online and noted that it was a special occasion.

We were a little put off when we arrived, simply because we didn't realize that they had valet parking, and neither my wife nor I had brought any cash to tip the valet later as we left. We had to put this out of our minds as we entered the restaurant and were seated immediately.

Chris was our server, and he handled his duties impeccably. He knew it was a special occasion and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. We truly felt that he would have done anything to make our time there special.

The pace of the meal was perfect. I can't remember the last time I have taken two hours to eat a meal simply because that is the way it should be experienced. We began with cocktails which were simply exquisite. The food was amazing, with two perfectly cooked steaks possibly being the crowning achievement, though there were so many highlights I feel I could scarcely list them all.

I would highly recommend Ringside to anyone who is celebrating a special occasion. The price was certainly in line with the high class experience (in case you hadn't guessed when I mentioned the valet parking) but well worth it, to be sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Mark up on wines was exorbitant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Love the retro vibe. Old music...old photos. Incredible Baked onion soup...service impeccable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Awesome! We celebrated our 8th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful meal and experience. The service was lovely.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Food is Fantastic, and the Service is the best in town. It's spendy but worth it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The staff really made this place amazing! Beautiful restaurant to visit in Portland.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We ordered the onion soup, which was lacking in liquid and instead was completely cheese.

Also, we ordered the rib eye, cooked to medium, and it was cooked all the way through.

We have been to the Ringside before, but will not return. Sadly, the food was terrible- especially in relation to the price paid for the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had another great dinner at The Ringside last weekend for a special celebration. Our server (Willy) was exceptional. We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 8, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 8 year anniversary at Ringside this year and the evening was glorious from beginning to end. The food was impeccable, service unmatched, and ambiance was incredible. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The onion rings are delicious. The salmon was perfectly cooked. The steaks are fantastic. The crime brûlée is really amazing too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

I have nothing but good to say for The Ringside. It was totally enjoyable. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I got interrupted in my post...was talking about the slower service. My wife's steak was burnt black. I think they just forgot us. It took so long we had to take the replacement steak to go so we could make it to our concert. Not going to write them off for this one poor experience over so many great memories. Hope for their sake they figure this out.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Excellent food. Only complaint is that is was very noisy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Food and experience was exactly like we expected and just like every time we've been there. Scott Long is a great server and helped make our evening enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

The food is excellent, the people watching is fun, the onion rings are the best in Portland and the Lobster Mash Potatoes are a must have.
We have gone at least two times a year just for ourselves and we bring friends from out of town for a good time and great Portland Oregon experience.
The bar is well stocked and wine list is very good, as a rule the staff is professional and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

We went to Ringside to celebrate my mother's 75th birthday. We had the best service with the most attentive waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Best steak and wedge salad ever!! We love going to Ringside and the food they serve. Susie was just the best server ever.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 3, 2017

The Ringside Steakhouse has consistently won rave reviews and we are delighted to join the chorus! From the moment that we pulled into the parking lot we were treated exceptionally well. Our waiter, Steven, was attentive, very helpful, and set the atmosphere for an evening of fine dining. We never felt rushed but he was always there when we needed him for a wine suggestion or to make sure that everything was to our liking, and it was! We started with the onion rings (of course) and the small order came with enough to feed four people. They were the best onion rings that I have ever tasted. I ordered the Caesar salad and my wife ordered the tomato An di compressed watermelon. Mine was very good...hers was extraordinary. My New York steak was cooked to perfection as was my wife’s halibut, simply grilled at her request. The dessert menu was VERY tempting but the onion rings starter made any thought of dessert impossible. So now we have something to look forward to next time and there’s will definitely be a next time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

This is our late go to Sunday spot. They can modify, the meat temperatures are spot on and all service has been friendly and impeccable. I will take this moment to do a shout out for our favorite server and all around lovely person. Like I mentioned, service is stellar, but if you get the chance, Steve Partridge is so amazing. We love when he can be our friend and our server. It's like chatting with a close relative we never met! Kudos! We always ask that he could be at our table. ♥️👍

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Excellent meal, spectacular service. Great atmosphere

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We have been to the Ringside many times. It's a classic steakhouse.. great ambiance, service and (of course) steaks. The onion rings are world class. The wine list extensive but very spendy. Hard to find a good wine in the $60-$100 range.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 1, 2017

As usual, the food was excellent. But I could also talk about the super-cozy atmosphere, top-notch service, easy valet parking, or any number of other areas where Ringside completely kills it, but isn't it really about the food? Yup, it's the food that counts. And you just can't do any better than Ringside. There are many, many places in town with more creative menus filled with flowery northwest culinary creations that are outstanding in their own right. Nothing at all wrong with that. In fact, I go out of my way to dine at as many of Portland's mind-blowing restaurants as possible (we're really lucky here, you know). But I always seem to come back to Ringside. Because it's excellent. Plain and simple. My usual Oscar-style Prime filet was perfect. But it's always perfect, and that's why I love this place. Thanks, Ringside, for doing what you're doing. Same as always, and still my favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

If you go to this restaurant ask for James, he was absolutely amazing. He made my fiancé birthday dinner incredible, if we are every in that area again we will be going back and asking for James

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Perfection in a restaurant is something I haven't experienced in my young life, but dining at RingSide was perhaps the greatest dining experience ever. Even more so than my favorite restaurant. We were greeted and almost as quickly, seated. Perfect that I had the reservation, because business at the door was starting to pick up. The staff was oh so amazing and wonderful! If there was ever a lull in our meal a staff or waiter would come up and ask if everything was exceptional or if he could do anything.

I am simply amazing that such a restaurant exists and provides the excellent service it does. I do plan on visiting again because I can now adequately state I've found my new favorite restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 29, 2017

This is an old-fashioned high-end steakhouse- dark and comfortable. The steak and prime rib are wonderful, but beware of ordering too many rich starters and sides. Fish is also prepped skillfully. The wine list is extensive and interesting, with reasonable markups. Great place to try wines from around the world, as there is an long list of wines by the glass. Service was excellent- attentive but not obtrusive. My 17-month-old grandson was accomodated cheerfully (I called ahead to see if kids were OK).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Ringside was recommended to us by our hotel desk staff as the best steakhouse in Portland. It did not disappoint. Delicious melt-in-your-mouth filet and prime rib. Amazing onion rings. Really appreciated the complimentary valet parking. Would definitely return next time we are in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Excellent as always- Ringside never fails. The lobster mashed potatoes are a food that should be sainted,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 26, 2017

A long time favorite for special occasions, like anniversaries. Excellent service, terrific food. Staff made our event special with a quiet recognition.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Filet mignon was amazing, waitress was very attentive and professional. Great place to have a special night with great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Great food, great service, seated on time. All staff - including valet staff friendly and welcoming.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2017

As always, we had an amazing dinner. The steaks are excellent and you could not ask for a better staff or ambience! Thank you

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Beautiful interior. Nice valet, host & server. Very slow service, even though we specified a time frame. We felt abandoned for long stretches of time - no water, dirty plates on table, etc.
Prime rib was awesome. Salmon was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Everything about this restaurant is perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.