About RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown

2165 W Burnside
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

For more than 6 decades we have be offering guests the best steaks in town, providing impeccable service with an unmatched wine list. Our happy hour has a loyal late-night following.

With more than 65 years of continuous family ownership, RingSide Steakhouse Downtown is a legend in the world of steakhouses.

Start with RingSide's world famous onion rings...a recipe that is a closely held family secret. Select a steak from a menu offering USDA Prime & Certified Angus Beef NW Natural steaks dry-aged on-premise.

Choose a wine from more than 700 labels. WINE SPECTATOR has recognized RingSide Steakhouse yearly with its BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE SINCE 2001.

RingSide is a prime example of a award winning steakhouse; AMERICA'S TOP TEN STEAKHOUSE HALL OF FAME; GREAT STEAK HOUSES OF NORTH AMERICA; WINE SPECTATOR'S BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE AND THE DiRoNA AWARD

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Prime Rib, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm,
Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
NW 22nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-1513

Website:
http://www.ringsidesteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
While there is no live entertainment, many diners praise the ambiance and how it is enhanced by background music from the American songbook of popular great standards.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary on-site valet parking. Street parking is available although limited

Public Transit:
Walking distance from/to PGE Park MAX Station (renamed Jeld-Wen Field).

Bus Routes: 15-Belmont/NW 23rd, 18-Hillside & 20-Burnside/Stark
Tri-met Stop ID 747 at W Burnside & NW King in Portland Westbound.
Tri-met Stop ID 749 W Burnside & SW 21st in Portland Eastbound

Executive Chef:
Beau Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Baked Onion Soup - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Fried Calamari - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Champagne Cocktail - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Knife and Fork Ceasar Salad - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Steak Bites - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Onion Rings - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Beef & Veggie Pot Pie - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Steak Asada & Garlic Prawns Plate - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Mixed Green Salad - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Ribeye Steak - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Bistro Steak Medallions - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Lobster Bisque - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Tasmanian Rib Eye & Garlic Mashed Potatoes - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR
Filet Mignon And Baked Potato - RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown, Portland, OR

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

We will open our door at 4pm for your convenience.
The chef will have some specials for you to celebrate Valentine's with us ! Make sure to make a reservation.
Happy Valentine's Day

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Allow us to help you plan your event for family, friends, clients and colleagues. Our managers will assist you with the details of The Barrel Room, our private room.

RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (100)
Good for Anniversaries (87)
Good for a Date (82)
See All
Good for Birthdays (69)
Notable Wine List (62)
Romantic (59)
Historic (55)
Business Meals (52)
Cozy (49)
Authentic (37)
Fireplace (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Bar Seating (26)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Fun (14)
Hot Spot (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Private Room (9)
People Watching (8)
Casual (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Live Sports (2)
Live Music (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
2885 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic!

vip
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most expensive and worst steak I ever ha ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Most expensive and worst steak I ever had! My colleagues were equally disappointed.

When the spinach was the highlight of the meal for a $63 steak, something is wrong...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Great food, atmosphere and service. Cel ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, atmosphere and service. Celebrated a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite steak restaurant in Portland ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

My favorite steak restaurant in Portland, plus they have astounding onion rings. I had filet mignonette - absolutely perfect. My wife had lobster tail, and it was wonderful!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & service was excellent! Like that ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Food & service was excellent! Like that now you can see each other & your food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent food, service and ambiance. Co ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, service and ambiance. Consistent time after time. One of my favorite places for special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place! Great service, great ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

I love this place! Great service, great food and I always feel welcome. It's a neighborhood place for me and I love stopping in by myself and also taking out of town guests here. A wonderful iconic place w superb service and food.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There's a reason why this place is legen ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

There's a reason why this place is legendary. Please stay in business!

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most of our experience was excellent how ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Most of our experience was excellent however we had to send two steaks back because the were cooked wrong. My moms came Back wrong again but she didn't want to complain again so she just put it asside. That's a 50 dollar steak that she didn't end up eating so that sucked. Waitress was excellent and everyone had a good time. Minus my mom was upset.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful as always, next time will be a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Wonderful as always, next time will be a very cozy table for two!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Romantic, Bar Seating, Historic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall we enjoyed the visit. The wait s ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Overall we enjoyed the visit. The wait staff were very attentive but came back too frequently after asking for our orders. Very beautiful setting and loved the fireplace. Thank you. Will be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

It's just not as good as it used to be. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It's just not as good as it used to be. And why can't shellfish be cooked thoroughly anymore? It's a sad thing when your $75 lobster tail is better the Nextel day after being cooked thoroughly in the microwave! Seriously. The value is just not there.

Service is excellent though!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Although the entree choices are few and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Although the entree choices are few and seasonal, they are expertly prepared and presented; the aged beef is exceptional! The atmosphere before 7PM is normally pleasant quiet.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my girlfriend for her birthday dinn ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Took my girlfriend for her birthday dinner. Ahi was decent nothing to right home about. Onion soup was good but almost identical to a applebees soup. Her filet was cooked perfect, but my prime rib had a hint of rancidness. I did not complain to ruin her dinner. So for the money I prob won't go out of my way to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food, but don't order ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great service and food, but don't order a glass of Whistle Pig....$45 is ridiculous when a bottle is $90.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service and great food!

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

$50 Steak overcooked, cold lobster mashe ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

$50 Steak overcooked, cold lobster mashed potatoes. Wine was good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Jim, is best in the bar he really knows ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Jim, is best in the bar he really knows how to do it wonderfully.😊

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, , Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I took our family (party ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I took our family (party of 8) to The Ringside for New Year's Eve. The food is always superb. The onion rings are the best. The steaks and prime rib are tender and perfect. The wait-staff is professional and skilled. Even though the place was filled to capacity, it was not noisy, as some restaurants can be. A lovely celebratory dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! All dishes were served perfec ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic! All dishes were served perfectly! Filet Mignon cooked exactly as wished! Chicken dishes were great. Appetizers quick and tasty and service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak was cooked perfectly...the win ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The steak was cooked perfectly...the wine was great. Wonderful ambience and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, but definitely n ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service, but definitely not a place for a person on a budget.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Reliable high quality old school Portlan ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Reliable high quality old school Portland steak house. Far better service and quality than the national steak chain locations.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mother inlaw is disabled and the staf ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My mother inlaw is disabled and the staff was wonderful. Made it easy to be seated. The front door should be by the car drop off though, really changes the experience. Overall we loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Once again, a great experience. The foo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Once again, a great experience. The food was fantastic, and we look forward to coming back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We started with cocktails, which were go ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We started with cocktails, which were good. Of course, the onion rings were fabulous. We all had wedge salads, which were very good. The entrees, steaks, fried shrimp and seafood platter were phenomenal. Our server was very pleasant and did a great job, plus the other staff providing water and delivering meals were excellent. We ate way too much to consider dessert. Maybe someday, I'll start with dessert.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We go to Ringside Uptown for consistent ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We go to Ringside Uptown for consistent delivery of excellent food, lovely service and classy, old school ambience.

Our annual Christmas Eve dinner out was perfect at Ringside. The current chicken dish was so delicious I didn't even ask for a bite of anyone's steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was the first time at this location ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was the first time at this location that the service was borderline. Previously Collin and David have been exemplary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

To my dismay the service was totally uns ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

To my dismay the service was totally unsatisfactory and the waitress – Monique, was less than enthusiastic to be waiting on our table. She had no personality and did not smile once. She did not even try to engage in any customer banter. Listening to the conversations at tables around ours, everyone was complaining about the service which added to our frustration. My whole family was tense and miserable, which made our Christmas Eve celebration a disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

I believe they were overbooked or just s ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I believe they were overbooked or just slammed. But our sever was always in a rush and not very personable. Food was great. Bourbon pricing might be the worst in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Always great!

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Normally we enjoy the food and atmospher ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Normally we enjoy the food and atmosphere at the Ringside. It just so happened that this night was not really their night. The server was good, not great as we've had in the past, but good. Our appetizer (marrow bones) was tasty. My husband's steak (prime filet) was tender and cooked as he ordered it. The lobster tail that I got to accompany my steak was juicy and flavorful (NOT overcooked and rubbery like you find some places). Then we get to my steak, the New York; I ordered it medium but one end was rare. It was strange that the outside of the steak was rare--not seared and not cooked as much as the center of the steak. The steak had an enormous vein of gristle running through it--making a good portion of it inedible. I got less than half of the steak--the rest I could not eat. I pointed this out to the server and he comped the steak; stating he could see the issues I was describing. Of course this makes things better and I was perfectly happy--but all in all--I felt the chef should not have sent this steak out of the kitchen. We all have off nights--I'm sure I'll go there again--but this visit was not what you want when the entree is over $80.00 (steak and lobster).

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A favorite spot for birthdays, anniversa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A favorite spot for birthdays, anniversaries, special occasions. The wait for our reservation table was longer than we had had for the last twelve years and our waiter was swamped, but food was still wonderful and the place is a Portland classic. Will always come back.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my 3 adult grandchildren to dinne ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I took my 3 adult grandchildren to dinner here and they were raving when it was over. Their famous onion rings, the fresh oysters on the halfshell, the perfectly crisp wedge salad with French Bleu cheese dressing and thick bacon bits, filet mignon cooked to perfection and the masked potatoes in lobster gravy.....oh lord, everyone was loving it! Wayne was our waiter and he and the staff were impeccable in service and timing. Wayne's clever humor and the other servers' attentiveness left us feeling special and spoiled. When you want a killer steak and time honored favorites, this is the best steak house in Portland hands down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food and our service were both excel ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our food and our service were both excellent. Don't miss the onion rings!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Have been here several times and always ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Have been here several times and always enjoy the experience. However, this last time, my friend's steak was not very hot and the Pinot Noir glass of wine was disappointing. The wine tasted as though the bottle had been open for a while.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful service and delicious food. Dr ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Wonderful service and delicious food. Dry aged New York steak is a must have paired with the lobster mashed potatoes and Brussels sprouts. Expensive but worth every dollar. Will definitely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a party of 10 on a very busy Sund ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We had a party of 10 on a very busy Sunday evening. There were many other large groups so the restaurant was crowded, and service was somewhat slow as a result. Our server and other staff did a great job navigating the room and getting the right meals to each person. The reason to eat at Ringside is, of course, the meat. Our table tried an array of dishes (prime rib, various steaks, and lamb), all of which were very tender and perfectly cooked. Hollandaise and Béarnaise sauces were excellent and very reasonably priced. The wine list is immense and covers a wide range of prices. We found two bottles on the "orphan list" on the last page of the wine list. These are wines with few bottles left and are sold at very reasonable prices for the quality involved. Ringside is a good special occasion traditional steakhouse.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food and service was fantastic, as a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food and service was fantastic, as always. We all had something different and all enjoyed our meals. We will be back very soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was terrific and somehow foun ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Our server was terrific and somehow found out it was our anniversary. He made it a special night.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.