About RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown

For more than 6 decades we have be offering guests the best steaks in town, providing impeccable service with an unmatched wine list. Our happy hour has a loyal late-night following.

With more than 65 years of continuous family ownership, RingSide Steakhouse Downtown is a legend in the world of steakhouses.

Start with RingSide's world famous onion rings...a recipe that is a closely held family secret. Select a steak from a menu offering USDA Prime & Certified Angus Beef NW Natural steaks dry-aged on-premise.

Choose a wine from more than 700 labels. WINE SPECTATOR has recognized RingSide Steakhouse yearly with its BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE SINCE 2001.

RingSide is a prime example of a award winning steakhouse; AMERICA'S TOP TEN STEAKHOUSE HALL OF FAME; GREAT STEAK HOUSES OF NORTH AMERICA; WINE SPECTATOR'S BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE AND THE DiRoNA AWARD

2165 W Burnside
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Prime Rib, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm,
Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
NW 22nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-1513

Website:
http://www.ringsidesteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
While there is no live entertainment, many diners praise the ambiance and how it is enhanced by background music from the American songbook of popular great standards.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary on-site valet parking. Street parking is available although limited

Public Transit:
Walking distance from/to PGE Park MAX Station (renamed Jeld-Wen Field).

Bus Routes: 15-Belmont/NW 23rd, 18-Hillside & 20-Burnside/Stark
Tri-met Stop ID 747 at W Burnside & NW King in Portland Westbound.
Tri-met Stop ID 749 W Burnside & SW 21st in Portland Eastbound

Executive Chef:
Beau Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Allow us to help you plan your event for family, friends, clients and colleagues. Our managers will assist you with the details of The Barrel Room, our private room.

RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (98)
Good for Anniversaries (90)
Good for a Date (84)
See All
Notable Wine List (63)
Romantic (61)
Good for Birthdays (61)
Historic (57)
Cozy (50)
Business Meals (44)
Fireplace (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Authentic (36)
Worth the Drive (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for Groups (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Fun (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
People Watching (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Casual (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Private Room (5)
Seasonal (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2940 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Really great steaks and service. The fried chicken was a little dry. Everything else was excellently prepared. The ambience is upscale with linen tablecloths. The wait staff are in black tie.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been going to the Ringside for years, it never lets us down. Our son was in town for the weekend and this is a must on his list. The service is impeccable, the wine list is amazing and wide ranging , the specialty cocktails are amazing and you will not find better steaks.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We're from out of town and heard about RingSide Steakhouse from a friend, who raved about it. It lived up to the expectations and beyond. The lobster mashed potatoes were out of this world!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner at Ringside Steakhouse was most enjoyable, as the food was delicious and the service most attentive. The onion rings, Caesar salad, Wedge Bleu Cheese salad, filet mignon, and potatoes/rice/vegetables were cooked perfectly and delicious. The attendants frequently filled our water and wine glasses, and the manager visited to make sure everything was cooked to perfection.

Prices are a bit high, but Ringside Steakhouse is well worth the expense for a memorable dinner.

Tags: Fireplace, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Background music was a tad loud, otherwise a fantastic evening.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Had 7:45 reservations and was seated at 8:25! Unacceptable. They did give us a free onion ring appetizer, but didn't ask if we wanted it. Then they came back three times asking if they could remove it from the table. We joked about it, but really? I was told that OX is better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fantastic steak. Definitely the best in Portland IMO.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I think it was just an off-night. I have been to Ringside before and have always been pleased. On this night I tipped the matre'd with my request for a quiet location but was seated at a high traffic intersection of two dining areas, a bread plate was placed on our table with food dried on the top surface, the portion of rib-eye steak medallion included in the special was represented to be twice as large as it actually was (3 oz. rather than 6 oz.), the accompanying cut of steak was thin and rather tough (possibly reheated) this - on a $60 dinner special (note, the total of both portions may have been 6 oz.), the waiter didn't return as requested to take my wine order, and by the end of our meal it appeared some of the staff were anxious to leave for the evening.

As a recommendation to others, I'd stick to ordering the things Ringside does best, their excellent onion rings and dry-aged steaks.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My husband and I had dinner here for the first time, looking to enjoy some excellent steak and fabulous service. We definitely got great service, though we felt the food itself was not worth the $197 (including tip) that we paid, which included sharing the smaller order of onion rings, sharing a salad, two lackluster 8 oz filet mignons (one with the upsold lobster mash, which was a surprisingly extra $12!), one glass of wine (the cheapest on the menu at $11), and two cocktails. Didn't even order dessert! Yikes. That is the last time we will go to RingSide, unfortunately. We feel we can get excellent food at much better prices quite easily in Portland. We did appreciate the good service, however.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Everyone was very nice. I got the surf and turf which was good! I upgraded to the lobster mashed potatoes which were also good. My husband ordered a $75 steak (we enjoy a good cut of meat and are okay spending a decent amount of money on quality) we were sadly disappointed in his steak. It had so much fat on it, he has chunks he could spit out. It was awful. Overall was good experience but do not feel we got our monies worth with his steak. Very disappointed

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This restaurant is always wonderful: divine food, great wait-staff, terrific wine list.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time there, service and ambience was wonderful. The food is spectacular, loved the wedge salad and spinach. This is timeless Portland style!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our server and service was outstanding. The food was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Been here several times and they never disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

No question the best restaurant in Portland. Everything great. Our go to restaurant for special occasions and especially for Steak!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Business Meals, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent food and service. Waiter Steve was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Extremely great food with incredible service with a fun loving server. They work really well as a team with fun loving attitudes. The atmosphere is fantastic with cool pictures and relaxing music. Great place to take your date out for some great food.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is a steak house and steaks are what they do best. They have great wine and drinks, an array of terrific appetizers and side dishes to comeplete the dining experience. The service staff is competent and friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Perfection! The Ringside is the complete package - outstanding service, delicious food, an amazing wine list and atmosphere that will make you come back again and again. It goes without saying that the onion rings are a "must" along with the famous house dressing. Make reservations well in advance to guarantee you get a table!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Another great night and meal at the ringside!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

One of my best experiences dining out. Every plate meet or exceeded our expectations. The excellent service and interaction with everyone at The Ringside is what really put our experience over the top. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Portland Gem. Excellent wait staff - our waiter has been with Ringside for 20 years and he is very attentive and polite without being annoying. Knows what you need and gave very good recommendations for our special birthday occasion. Expensive but we knew it would be.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Two of four people had very good steaks. The other two in our party had prime rib. Each was unhappy with it; one returned it to the kitchen (and was not charged for it). Disappointing because we were celebrating two special birthdays.

We have known the Ringside to be better...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Service was a bit slow took 2 hrs to eat without dessert

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Prime rib and fillet were selected and prepared very well as usual. Typical attentive service. A high class restaurant with attention to predictable quality and menu choices.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I started going to the Ringside back in 1973. Over the years I've noticed prices going up - understandably but quality going down. Example: I order the "Prime" Filet. Took 3 tries to get it cooked correctly (we had different opions on what Medium is". The meat was tough, stringy and not very favorable. I've got better steaks at Outback...

I'm sad about having to write a bad review - but really the quality has gone done.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our favorite Portland steak house for over 30 years! Always perfect from the valet parking to always seating us in our favorite section to the great food and the first-class service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our evening was very nice. The food is excellent as always! the noise level was a bit higher than we are used to that evening. Server was very attentive and courteous. Wine list is extensive and has excellent selection in all categories and regions. Overall, an evening at Ringside is still a wonderful night out! It's just a bit expensive, overall

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Scott made the dining experience wonderful and the meal was better than ever. We will be back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Absolutely a wonderful experience. I would recommend this plave highly. Will definitely go back. I would like to thank all of the staff for making it a great experience

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Historic, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Outstanding!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Always a pleasure to hit this spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

First impression is everything. Thanks Ringside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We loved our server and the food was amazing. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

appointments were easy to make and follow up remind call was very nice. waiter was very polite and professional and explained the special menu in good detail. foods were delivered on time as waiter suggested time frame. steak was cooked as instructed and perfect. wine selection were very broad. we did bring our own wine and cork fee of $20 was very very reasonable. overall experience of dining was as expected and the whole dinning was very nice.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Outstanding we had a fantastic meal and the service was excellent

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always fabulous. Order the onion rings and steaks are the best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wonderful staff and meal!!! Our waiter couldn't have been more pleasant.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

It always a good chance you're going to get a great meal. Been coming here 1-3 times every year for over 20 years and have never been disappointed. Although this last visit they didn't bring out bread after being seated not a deal breaker but wondering if they forgot or did away with it?

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We found the food fabulous!! The steak was made perfectly. We had the lobster mashed potatoes again. I swear it got better!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Ringside is our favorite steakhouse in Portland. The food is consistently high quality and the service is always superb. It is the perfect place to go for a nice, traditional steak dinner with fantastic sides and marvelous desserts. The ambiance can be romantic or friendly and you can't beat the fireside seating. It's no wonder the restaurant has been in business for half a century.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

BEST top sirloin I've ever had! Noise level was high, but the gentleman at next table were celebrating (bachelor party) so it was a happy noise and OK. My dinner companions' meals were also wonderful!

Highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We had a reservation in the dining room but decided to sit in the bar after we arrived. We wanted a good a casual spot to have a cocktail, the world' best onion rings, and a fat juicy hamburger with Gorgonzola. We achieved all. A wonderful place for a world class steak dinner or a hamburger in the bar.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Unquestionably the best filet mignon that I've had in the Portland area, and I've tried all the finer establishments in town. The service was attentive and friendly without being bothersome. The wine selections are copious and focus on quality. I recommend the uptown Ringside without reservation (although I recommend making a reservation)! Wishing you kind regards and fine dining always. DeanW 1/20/2017

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Most expensive and worst steak I ever had! My colleagues were equally disappointed.

When the spinach was the highlight of the meal for a $63 steak, something is wrong...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 17, 2017

A superb NY steak house located in Portland, with 2 other equally competent, rewarding locations.

We bit on their advertised 3 courses for $35, and everything was very nearly perfect: salad, steak bits, crème brulee.

Our only reservation is cost, or we'd eat here every night. This fixed-price menu was excellent value for $.

Unlike most contemporary restaurants, Ringside has attended to noise levels, and quiet conversation is easy. Go, talk, eat!

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great food, atmosphere and service. Celebrated a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 17, 2017

My favorite steak restaurant in Portland, plus they have astounding onion rings. I had filet mignonette - absolutely perfect. My wife had lobster tail, and it was wonderful!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food & service was excellent! Like that now you can see each other & your food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.