About RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown

2165 W Burnside
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

For more than 6 decades we have be offering guests the best steaks in town, providing impeccable service with an unmatched wine list. Our happy hour has a loyal late-night following.

With more than 65 years of continuous family ownership, RingSide Steakhouse Downtown is a legend in the world of steakhouses.

Start with RingSide's world famous onion rings...a recipe that is a closely held family secret. Select a steak from a menu offering USDA Prime & Certified Angus Beef NW Natural steaks dry-aged on-premise.

Choose a wine from more than 700 labels. WINE SPECTATOR has recognized RingSide Steakhouse yearly with its BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE SINCE 2001.

RingSide is a prime example of a award winning steakhouse; AMERICA'S TOP TEN STEAKHOUSE HALL OF FAME; GREAT STEAK HOUSES OF NORTH AMERICA; WINE SPECTATOR'S BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE AND THE DiRoNA AWARD

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Prime Rib, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm,
Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
NW 22nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-1513

Website:
http://www.ringsidesteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
While there is no live entertainment, many diners praise the ambiance and how it is enhanced by background music from the American songbook of popular great standards.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary on-site valet parking. Street parking is available although limited

Public Transit:
Walking distance from/to PGE Park MAX Station (renamed Jeld-Wen Field).

Bus Routes: 15-Belmont/NW 23rd, 18-Hillside & 20-Burnside/Stark
Tri-met Stop ID 747 at W Burnside & NW King in Portland Westbound.
Tri-met Stop ID 749 W Burnside & SW 21st in Portland Eastbound

Executive Chef:
Beau Carr

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Baked Onion Soup
Fried Calamari
Champagne Cocktail
Knife and Fork Ceasar Salad
Steak Bites
Onion Rings
Beef & Veggie Pot Pie
Steak Asada & Garlic Prawns Plate
Mixed Green Salad
Ribeye Steak
Bistro Steak Medallions
Lobster Bisque
Tasmanian Rib Eye & Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Filet Mignon And Baked Potato

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Allow us to help you plan your event for family, friends, clients and colleagues. Our managers will assist you with the details of The Barrel Room, our private room.

RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Portland / Oregon
Notable Wine List
Portland
Special Occasion
Portland
Best Restaurants in NW Portland ›

Special Occasion (204)
Notable Wine List (126)
Romantic (121)
See All
Fit for Foodies (77)
Neighborhood Gem (63)
Good for Groups (45)
Late-night Find (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Hot Spot (19)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Ringside knocked out of the park fo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The Ringside knocked out of the park for me this time. My husband and I have always thought of it as our favorite, but now I have a condition that I must be extremely careful about what I eat and this makes it difficult for wait-people and chefs; because of that, and because I did not have a good experience the last two visits, the Ringside sent us a gift card (we would have gone back anyway, we weren't looking for that, but what good customer service!!!!). Anywayyyyy, my meal was prepared beautifully, my salmon was perfectly cooked - not easily accomplished with my parameters. I was surprised that the Ringside does not offer a gluten free pasta alternative - almost everyone does these days. THAT REALLY would have made my day (just sayin').

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a treat to celebrate a special oc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Always a treat to celebrate a special occasion at the Ringside. Service and food are always excellent, and they give you the space you need to relax and dine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ringside has been an all time Portland f ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Ringside has been an all time Portland favorite for years! It's a wonderful atmosphere, fabulous food and a real treat to dine at this great spot.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What can I say? This place is amazing. O ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

What can I say? This place is amazing. Onion rings are the best! Lobster mashed potatoes is to die for! Crème Brûlée is ridiculous!! So good.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing as always!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite Steakhouse in Portland ! Gr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My favorite Steakhouse in Portland !

Great Food and Outstanding Service, a winning combo.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

fantastic service....again. Had Dave as ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

fantastic service....again. Had Dave as tour waiter......again! had a great table and restaurant was nice and quiet even though it was full. great apps (ahi and crab cakes). wo orders 'off the menu' weren't as good as past but dry aged NY steak was a HIT.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

With SUSAN taking care of your table you ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

With SUSAN taking care of your table you are in the best of hands while all the service attendants have been fantastic. It is our favorite place. Linn

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ringside is my favorite place in Portlan ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Ringside is my favorite place in Portland to eat. I'm greeted with hugs when I walk in the door. Kris and William usually take care of me and are fantastic wait staff. Ringside never dissapoints. Oh yea the steaks are some of the best I've ever eaten.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening!!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great evening!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, environment and service!! ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Fabulous food, environment and service!!! Excellent but definitely expensive.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome steak venue. My go-to meetup res ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Awesome steak venue. My go-to meetup restaurant. A little pricy but consistency of quality product is worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Ringside never disappoints. Steeped ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The Ringside never disappoints. Steeped in history, the restaurant continues to serve spectacularly prepared food in an elegant atmosphere.

My wife and I started with a Martini and an old-fashioned, along with the Ringside's signature onion rings. Then, we split a beefsteak tomato salad that included grilled peaches, melon, goat cheese and Spanish Marcona almonds.

For entrees, my wife had the filet mignon and lobster mashed potatoes accompanied by a glass of cabernet sauvignon. I had the ribeye steak with a baked potato, along with a Nebbiolo.

For dessert, we split a Meyer lemon tart.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The aged bone in rib eye and lobster tai ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The aged bone in rib eye and lobster tails are Amazing! Amongst the table, we also had two bottles of wine, the French onion soup, salad, corn, filet and a NY. I have only been to Portland twice in my life (once last year and once this year) and the best decision I made was to visit Ringside last year during my first visit. This restaurant is hands down on the "must do" list for me every time I come to visit. Our server Dave and our table assistants were fantastic! Friendly, funny, knowledgeable and the service was on point! The valet staff outside were very friendly as well and helped us get to where we were going quickly! The restaurant is very pricey but you only have a birthday once per year. Ringside is a great place to celebrate a special occasion and splurge!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My Boyfriend and I went to celebrate his ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

My Boyfriend and I went to celebrate his birthday. Dinner was amazing and the wine selection was outstanding!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall the food was good, the service w ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Overall the food was good, the service was excellent. The only complaint that I had was that I had ordered the bone-in NY Strip and they delivered me a bone-in Rib-eye steak. The steak itself was cooked to perfection and no I did not return it. I like both steaks, but it was just the fact that I was not exactly looking for that particular cut of meat that evening. I did bring it to the servers attention and was a bit surprised that they did not offer to compensate for their (the server's) mistake or lack of attention to detail.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Another memorable meal at Ringside....th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Another memorable meal at Ringside....this time for our anniversary. Service is impeccable with great attention to detail. The steaks were done to perfection and the wine selection was extensive. For a special occasion, there's no better spot in Portland!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our anniversary dinner was very nice and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our anniversary dinner was very nice and they made it special. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful interior and fantastic service ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful interior and fantastic service. Our meal was delicious and we'll be back. A must try is their house salad dressing - Russian dressing with blue cheese crumbles!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

in our party of 5, food was late and 2 s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

in our party of 5, food was late and 2 steaks were undercooked

waitress was (blond women) was too busy and not attentive to our table

For a bill of $650.00 before tip, I would not come back again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food and definitely the most dress ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and definitely the most dressed up place we saw in Portland. Service was very attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My son had the filet mignon, it was fant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My son had the filet mignon, it was fantastic. I had the ribeye and it was ok, overpriced in my opinion. The waiter seemed spread a bit thin between tables.

I realize this place is a landmark but we likely wont be back a 2nd time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

This restaurant was steps from our hotel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This restaurant was steps from our hotel and was a wonderful find. Although its exterior is unimpressive, its interior is warm and inviting and the tables are comfortably situated. This service was outstanding as was the food. Plus, our group of seven had one vegetarian and his dietary needs were beautifully accommodated. Although the restaurant has an extensive wine selection, we had brought one of our special bottles to share. Again, no problem from the restaurant. We will go out of our way when we're back in Portland to visit this restaurant. Five stars from every one of the seven members of our group.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They need to flame broil the steaks and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

They need to flame broil the steaks and not pan sear them. No flavor at all except for the over powering sauce, which was not good. The fried shrimp was also very greasy with a sub par taste. I would not recommend this place.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Just excellent. Best steaks ever!! Bea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Just excellent. Best steaks ever!! Beautiful interior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Absolutely superb service, food, and amb ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Absolutely superb service, food, and ambiance. Starting with the free valet parking and friendly greeting. Smartly decorated, seems dark at first but your eyes adjust and there's a lamp at the table. I had requested to be seated in a quiet area - done. Karen, our server for the evening, assisted by several staff, was wonderful. What we especially appreciated was that she described the ingredients in certain dishes as they were served - and for many of the elaborate appetizers and desserts we needed this. Her descriptions enhanced our enjoyment of the food. Drinks, appetizers and dessert were terrific. My only criticism is that one of the steaks which we ordered medium-rare was a bit overdone on the outside pieces. Overall though - a superb dining experience, made all the better by Karen, and a place we'll definitely patronize for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing onion rings, tender steak and gr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Amazing onion rings, tender steak and great service. You'll feel like a badass bringing your woman here. Have money, it ain't cheep!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of town guests who always come here ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Out of town guests who always come here when in town. I don't know how much the bill was as I was treated for them staying at our home. Thinking it was $300+ for food

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We always love the dark, romantic atmosp ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We always love the dark, romantic atmosphere. The food was fantastic! Watermelon, tomato, peach salad was to die for. The Ringside always comes through.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

My family took me to Ringside for my bir ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

My family took me to Ringside for my birthday. From the moment we arrived, we were reared like VIPs. They gladly switched our table to sit by the fireplace. The service was incredible... so attentive and generous with their time! I asked for wine suggestions and Collin, our server, invited me to sample some before making my decision. The food was phenomenal! The estimate prime rib I've ever had. Try he lobster mashed potatoes ... amazing! And they make the best onion rings in town. A member of our party mentioned my birthday. Collin brought me a delicious creme brule with a birthday candle. There were no obnoxious, embarrassing songs to ruin the beautiful atmosphere. If you love Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, and Ella Fitzgerald style music, you will be in heaven. In all, this is the best restaurant ever!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday night might not be the best nig ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Saturday night might not be the best night to eat at the Ringside. The steak was not cooked. The waiter never came back so we didn't send it back to have it cooked. Not impressed with the service. I have been there before and it's been great though, so I will be back. This is just not somewhere you want to go on a busy night and expect the same great food and service that you get on a weeknight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We have been going to the Ringside for o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have been going to the Ringside for over 40 years. We have always loved everything about the restaurant. On our visit this time, from the greeting at the front to our waiter James the service was excellent.

Of course we had the onion rings, great as usual. We split the Caesar salad and the kitchen put it on two plates, nice. I had the the porterhouse lamb chops (3). They were cooked perfectly to my rare specs and came with my rice pilaf and veggies. My husband had the 6oz fillet with fries. It was fine but he was a little disappointed in the price for what you get. Was not as good as he remembered.

We will be back. We love the ambience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was good. My medium-rare steak was overdone, but they redid it to perfection and provided a complimentary side dish.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Probably the worst prime rib I've ever h ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Probably the worst prime rib I've ever had! Server was apparently overworked because we waited for everything. It took 20 minutes to take our order, another 20 minutes to receive our salad, and about 30 minutes after finishing the salad before we got our entree. When I questioned the quality of the prime rib the server asked me if I had ever had prime rib before. That should have been my clue to complain to the manager, but not wanting to cause a fuss on our special occasion dinner, I elected to overlook it. I will never return. This is not the Ringside of old!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We both ordered the Prime Rib dinner. T ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We both ordered the Prime Rib dinner. The meat was tough and grisly - hard to cut with a knife. The garlic mashed potatoes were also tepid temperature. The waitress did bring out some more garlic mashed potatoes that were warmer. Last year my spouse ordered the Prime Rib and he was very happy with that selection. Last year I ordered the Filet Mignon and I was also very happy.

But this year both of our Prime Rib orders were difficult to cut and there was only a small amount of good meat in each of our cuts. We should have sent back our orders and order something else, but we did not do that.

We had such a wonderful experience last year and we recommended The Ringside to our friends. But after the recent dinner for our anniversary, we're too disappointed to do so.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

We have been going to this restaurant fo ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We have been going to this restaurant for 45 years, it's that good! The service is fantastic; staff is very friendly and always makes our visit enjoyable. They are never stuffy! The food is the best! We hoped to keep going here for the the next 45 years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Ringside is acknowledged to be the b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Ringside is acknowledged to be the best steakhouse in PDX, and it still holds the title. It's not cheap, but the ambiance with its dark interior (I had to use my iPhone's flashlight to read the menu) and great service reeks of a classy joint.

My first trip to the Ringside years ago was a wonderful night and great meal with an old friend and fraternity brother, so I was anxious for my wife to experience the Ringside, even though I knew it would mean dropping some big bucks. I talked it up for weeks.

The Ringside's ambiance was everything I remembered, however for some reason, instead of ordering a steak which could have been cooked to my preference (still mooing), I ordered prime rib, as rare as they had it. BIG mis-steak. At 8:30 as rare as they had it was an over-cooked, fatty end piece. I didn't even try to finish it.

I have always thought people who send meals back are pretentious, but I came close to doing that. At $54 next time I will. It really was the worst prime rib I have had in my life. (It did fare slightly better two days later cold after it had chilled in our mini-bar 'fridge at the Benson and I was hungry Sunday morning, but only slightly.) Our waiter should have reported there was not rare prime rib left instead of foisting that dry carcass.

The Ringside still holds the title for best steakhouse in PDX, but if you like your meat rare, my recommendation is avoid the prime rib. There are places known for prime rib, such as the Pioneer Saloon in Ketchum, Idaho, where Hemingway took his last meal. The Ringside is not among them. Stick with the beef you can have cooked to order.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Hands down, the BEST steakhouse I've eve ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Hands down, the BEST steakhouse I've ever eaten at! Onion rings are to die for! Ate here twice in the 6 days we were in Portland because it was THAT GOOD! BTW, Portland is a big restaurant town with so many amazing choices. Don't miss this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Ringside. We go every time my fam ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I love Ringside. We go every time my family comes town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated next to the in/out kitche ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We were seated next to the in/out kitchen door even though there were empty tables. Filet was lacking flaver. Fried chicken was dry and bland. garlic mashed potatoes were grainy/ tasteless. Wedge salad was not fresh tasting. Etc, Etc. It took a very long time for our meal to be served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.