Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown

For more than 6 decades we have be offering guests the best steaks in town, providing impeccable service with an unmatched wine list. Our happy hour has a loyal late-night following.

With more than 65 years of continuous family ownership, RingSide Steakhouse Downtown is a legend in the world of steakhouses.

Start with RingSide's world famous onion rings...a recipe that is a closely held family secret. Select a steak from a menu offering USDA Prime & Certified Angus Beef NW Natural steaks dry-aged on-premise.

Choose a wine from more than 700 labels. WINE SPECTATOR has recognized RingSide Steakhouse yearly with its BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE SINCE 2001.

RingSide is a prime example of a award winning steakhouse; AMERICA'S TOP TEN STEAKHOUSE HALL OF FAME; GREAT STEAK HOUSES OF NORTH AMERICA; WINE SPECTATOR'S BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE AND THE DiRoNA AWARD

2165 W Burnside
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Prime Rib, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm,
Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
NW 22nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-1513

Website:
http://www.ringsidesteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
While there is no live entertainment, many diners praise the ambiance and how it is enhanced by background music from the American songbook of popular great standards.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary on-site valet parking. Street parking is available although limited

Public Transit:
Walking distance from/to PGE Park MAX Station (renamed Jeld-Wen Field).

Bus Routes: 15-Belmont/NW 23rd, 18-Hillside & 20-Burnside/Stark
Tri-met Stop ID 747 at W Burnside & NW King in Portland Westbound.
Tri-met Stop ID 749 W Burnside & SW 21st in Portland Eastbound

Executive Chef:
Beau Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Allow us to help you plan your event for family, friends, clients and colleagues. Our managers will assist you with the details of The Barrel Room, our private room.

RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (109)
Good for Anniversaries (99)
Good for a Date (89)
See All
Good for Birthdays (72)
Romantic (71)
Notable Wine List (70)
Historic (64)
Business Meals (51)
Cozy (48)
Fireplace (45)
Authentic (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Worth the Drive (34)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Comfort Food (20)
Fun (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Late-night Find (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Casual (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Private Room (7)
People Watching (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Seasonal (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2991 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a great experience at RingSide Steakhouse. Collin, our waiter, was excellent. He was thorough with food descriptions and made appropriate suggestions. He also chatted with us with humor and knew the history of the restaurant for us new-to-Portlanders. Our steaks were done to perfection and the garlic mashed potatoes were nice and creamy. Only negative was it was so dark, it was difficult to read the menu -- ambiance is one thing, but the dim light was a bit much...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter was the best that we have even had here in the 40 years of dining here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Did not miss a beat! Went with my friend to celebrate her 80th birthday. We ordered the Portland Dining Month special. It was an incredible value for $29: exceptional onion soup, tender steak and a delightful creme brûlée. Their onion rings looked fabulous. Happy Hour is on Sunday from opening (around 5 pm) and every evening after 9. Burnside is a good solid restaurant for people who have a discerning palate and want a well prepared traditional meal.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

I went to Ringside Steakhouse for a business dinner on Monday March 22, 2017. This was the first time I've been there, and had always heard great things about it. I'll start out with the best part, our server was incredible. He must have been watching us like a hawk because anything that we could possibly need. This gentleman seemed to almost anticipate our thoughts and know what we needed before we could ask. Unfortunately I was unable to catch his name as our table was a bit noisy, but I wish I could mention him because he was incredible and deserves to be recognized.

The restaurant was a bit dark for my taste, but I understand some people prefer that type of ambience. The bone in ribeye was a bit of a disappointment to me as I was always told their steaks were incredible. It was kind of flavorless, I'm not sure if it was improperly aged or just a poor cut. A good comparison would be if you were to season a normal steak from the grocery store, sprinkled some pepper on each side and grilled it. I did enjoy the garlic mashed potatoes and the baked spinach was very tasty. Overall it was a decent dining experience but for the price I'm not sure it was worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

My famly has gone to this restaurant for over 30 years for many special occasions-always with the expectation of excellent food and service. For some reason, this particular evening was not up to the Ringside's usual standard. I enjoy a relaxed dinner,and the food was excellent, but this dinner took almost 2- 1/2 hours.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

We got seated in the table across from the kitchen doors so it was noisier than we had expected. They also sat 5 adults in a table made for 4. The food was great as it always is.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing, served carefully by attentive wait staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food and service. Love the atmosphere. Onion rings are the best

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Family Style, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Fun, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Great menu for March madness, now CEO portions, excellent service, no rushing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Another excellent dining experience at the Ringside. The 29.00 3 course meal is a real value. Top notch service from David. Onion rings are still the best.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Ringside is always an excellent choice for dining. We live in California and come to Portland, two or three times per year and always have at least one dinner at Ringside. The food is delicious and the service always pleasant and attentive. March is Portland Dining Month with several restaurants around the city featuring three course meals for $29. Ringside had a great deal with either soup or salad, steak medallions with vegetables and a choice of rice or potatoes, and dessert of creme brulee as their featured meal. It was wonderful and a great value. We look forward to coming back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

The service was outstanding both in the bar and the restaurant. The venue was very busy but we were never rushed. Our every need was met. We were treated with kindness and respect by every single person, and there were at least 10 people with whom we interacted. It was a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

It was a great meal. There was a little confusion when we arrived. They thought we were a party of 2 when we were a party of 5. They were able to quickly remedy the problem and we had a nice table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

We got seated in a back room corner that was so close to our neighboring table that we had a hard time having our own conversation. We had to make it an early dinner because of work meetings -- but the atmosphere definitely fell flat this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

As always, the food is the best in town as well as the service. This goes for the wait-staff, bartender and bus-help. The valet attendants are superb too.

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We had a surprise birthday party with 11 friends. The waiter was the best that night. He put together separate checks for our group which made it so much easier. He was very attentive, but you hardly knew he was there. The food is always great as usual!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We love steak and frequently dine at Laurelhurst Market, Capital Grill, etc. Service was very friendly but spotty - we had delays in service. My prime rib, which I've ordered at several other steak houses, was nice and lean but had a thick rock hard shell - my husband said it was like beef jerky. Not worth the price.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food was top notch and the wait staff was exceptional. I am ready to have dinner there again!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

You can always count on The Ringside for a great traditional steakhouse experience. The onion rings are amazing. We had the Portland Restaurant Month $29 menu and it was both delicious and a great value. Our out of town guest loved it!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We came in for Portland Dining month and had a great time! The food was spot on and our server was great. We brought our 10 month old and they were very accommodating and kind to him as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Pricy but very good!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Portland's premier steakhouse. Onion ring appetizer is must have.
the ambiance is perfect for romantic date night or special occasion.
Service is friendly, attentive and responsive.
The Prime Rib cut melts in your mouth and pairs exceptionally well with the lobster mashed potatoes.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was a great time for us. Wifes 50th birthday. Well worth the time and money. But, our waiter Scott made it a very happy event. He is truly a class act"

Wes Ferguson.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We were treated graciously by everyone we came in contact with, starting with the parking attendant. All the food was amazing. The food was taking a bit long (their words, we didn't think so) so they gave us complimentary shrimp appetizer before the main course. It was excellent. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Loved our night at aringside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Awesome but my god heavy. Amazing service. Unparalleled. 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The Ringside is my favorite restaurant in Portland. We had a great meal- lobster mash was on the docket and can't be passed up. Steaks were phenomenal- Wine fantastic- onion rings classic. We hit all the traditional offerings and had a great time.
Made a reservation for the next night with another group of clients and did it all over again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Four of us dined here celebrating my husband's birthday. The service, food and ambience was wonderful. All of us enjoyed it tremendously!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We really like the new addition that they put on where were seated. We celebrated our 1st anniversary in October 2015 and this was the first time we've had an opportunity to dine there.
We had the $29 March dining value. It was really good and the portions are large. She really liked her whiskey sour drink, garlic mashed potatoes and steak. It is very romantic setting and I would recommend it for any occasion. We even had snow when we went home at Barnes Road back to Beaverton!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

This was our first visit and certainly won't be the last. I enjoyed the 29.00 dining month special. The French onion soup was excellent, main course Steak tips, potato, and veggies were yummy too. Ended the meal with cream brûlée. My husband ordered the lamb chops, delicious. We will be back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great environment and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our server was Daniel and he was absolutely perfect! Of course, so was the gentleman who brought us water and served her plates to us. Service was quick, courteous and delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Amazing service and food, very attentive. Definitely try the baked onion soup, the onion rings. All the steaks are on point and cooked perfect. We will be back

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Delicious and memorable evening and celebration, can't wait to visit again!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

All of it! Waiters in tuxedos, servers in black suits, busboys in red jackets. Excellent in every way. Our meal was very well done, hot food, wonderful sauces. Always at the top of the list and shouldnot be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great 3 couse special. Great server and staff.. Always a good experience.

Tags: Fireplace, Fun, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Wonderful. First time there for the wife and I, and we've lived in the area for 20 years. Great dining experience! Had the bone in NY with mushrooms as a side. Yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great food great service. A perfect evening and experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I had steelhead, which was pretty good, didn't care for the sauce. Husband and boys had steak, which they enjoyed. Server seemed rushed and kept inching away when I was asking questions about the menu, forgot my butter, sour cream, bacon and chives when bringing my (dry) baked potato, forgot my wine, took a long time to get our bill...not impressed with service, and as expensive as it was, should have been much better service

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 27, 2017

been going for 30 years still good food & wonderful service

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.