About RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown

2165 W Burnside
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

For more than 6 decades we have be offering guests the best steaks in town, providing impeccable service with an unmatched wine list. Our happy hour has a loyal late-night following.

With more than 65 years of continuous family ownership, RingSide Steakhouse Downtown is a legend in the world of steakhouses.

Start with RingSide's world famous onion rings...a recipe that is a closely held family secret. Select a steak from a menu offering USDA Prime & Certified Angus Beef NW Natural steaks dry-aged on-premise.

Choose a wine from more than 700 labels. WINE SPECTATOR has recognized RingSide Steakhouse yearly with its BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE SINCE 2001.

RingSide is a prime example of a award winning steakhouse; AMERICA'S TOP TEN STEAKHOUSE HALL OF FAME; GREAT STEAK HOUSES OF NORTH AMERICA; WINE SPECTATOR'S BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE AND THE DiRoNA AWARD

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Prime Rib, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm,
Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
NW 22nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-1513

Website:
http://www.ringsidesteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
While there is no live entertainment, many diners praise the ambiance and how it is enhanced by background music from the American songbook of popular great standards.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary on-site valet parking. Street parking is available although limited

Public Transit:
Walking distance from/to PGE Park MAX Station (renamed Jeld-Wen Field).

Bus Routes: 15-Belmont/NW 23rd, 18-Hillside & 20-Burnside/Stark
Tri-met Stop ID 747 at W Burnside & NW King in Portland Westbound.
Tri-met Stop ID 749 W Burnside & SW 21st in Portland Eastbound

Executive Chef:
Beau Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Baked Onion Soup
Knife and Fork Ceasar Salad
Steak Bites
Champagne Cocktail
Fried Calamari
Beef & Veggie Pot Pie
Onion Rings
Mixed Green Salad
Steak Asada & Garlic Prawns Plate
Ribeye Steak
Lobster Bisque
Bistro Steak Medallions
Tasmanian Rib Eye & Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Filet Mignon And Baked Potato

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Allow us to help you plan your event for family, friends, clients and colleagues. Our managers will assist you with the details of The Barrel Room, our private room.

RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Portland / Oregon
Notable Wine List
Portland
Special Occasion
Portland
Best Restaurants in NW Portland ›

special occasion (239)
romantic (159)
notable wine list (144)
See All
fit for foodies (105)
good for groups (62)
neighborhood gem (62)
late-night find (32)
hot spot (22)
vibrant bar scene (21)
kid-friendly (8)
great for brunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for lunch (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2477 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ringside was a very nice dining experien ...

Dined 3 days ago

Ringside was a very nice dining experience. Our waiter, Dave, was terrific. The first table at which we were seated was in a small room off to the side of the main restaurant. It was REALLY loud due to a large family seated next to us. The staff graciously relocated us upon request. The food and wine were terrific...very pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came to the ringside because our son ...

Dined 3 days ago

We came to the ringside because our son asked for a special night out for his birthday. We enjoyed the dinner leisurely and with steak that met our expectations

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience as always

Dined 3 days ago

Great dining experience as always

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

No check backs Sizzling steak grease sp ...

Dined 4 days ago

No check backs Sizzling steak grease splattered over white dress shirt Server was very nice- overall good experience

food5
ambience5
service5

William was wonderful! Great service and ...

Dined 4 days ago

William was wonderful! Great service and food. We will definitely be back

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just found it interesting and frustratin ...

Dined 4 days ago

Just found it interesting and frustrating that our coupon for free onion rings and a coupon for 15% off the meal couldn't be used with each other. We got them at the same time and only come to Ring Side about twice a year so one of the coupons would have been expired should we have held it for future use.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ringside is the only place for steak. As ...

Dined 6 days ago

Ringside is the only place for steak. Ask for Scott and he will make the experience all the much better!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive but worth every penny! The onl ...

Dined 6 days ago

Expensive but worth every penny! The only place to ever eat ONION RINGS 😋 and they come With Gorgonzola/Russian dressing. Fabulous steaks and prime rib, of course! Baked potatoes are amazing - I mean, a potato is a potato, right - but theirs just taste better! Excellent other entrees, but who can pass up the prime meats? Sides are also excellent. Then there's the bar! Don't miss out on a Manhattan made by Jimmy who is welcoming and cheerful and the most skilled bartender in Portland. It's fun just to watch his techniques. He is just the one of the highly skilled staff who add to your experience. The history and ambience are unique, and I am very grateful to the family for keeping things just right even through a renovation. I first enjoyed this treasured restaurant in 1953 when poor college students went for $1.75 prime rib sandwiches. Be sure to call a few days ahead for a reservation if dining in main room or just wait for a spot in the cozy bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and always great service. De ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great food and always great service. Derek was our server and did an outstanding job.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been coming to the Ringside since m ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

I've been coming to the Ringside since moving to Portland over 20 years ago and have always enjoyed the food and service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had dry aged prime New York steaks th ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had dry aged prime New York steaks that were outstanding in flavor and cooked to perfection. Our waitress was attentive and informative and did everything just right.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

When we first arrived we had our server' ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

When we first arrived we had our server's immediate attention. We were not rushed. The onion rings were spectacular. Our dinners were perfect. Then it all fell apart. We sat with our finished dinner plates with no server in sight. We sat and sat and sat. Finally the plates were removed by our server's asst. We wanted dessert to celebrate my birthday. But no one came to ask about dessert. We sat and sat again. Finally the server returned to ask about dessert. We all had dogs at home and it was too late. So we passed on dessert. A real disappointment!

food3
ambience4
service4

This place is great. I had the prime rib ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This place is great. I had the prime rib and it was ok, kind of lukewarm and dry as was the garlic mashed potatoes. Everyone else who order filets raved over their order. I will go that way in the future.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My absolute favorite restaurant in the w ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My absolute favorite restaurant in the whole world ( I have traveled it I was a Flight Attendant for Pan American ) The Onion Rings, The wine list, The house dressing, The Filet and the Baker are the best on the planet. I like that its quiet (intimate) and has no windows so you can talk with no distractions. Every bite of my steak was as good as the first! We had a Washington Cabernet for about $32.00 which was fantastic! Don't ever change what you are doing....... Vern Mason, Vancouver ,WA

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Pros - Great Service. A Starch included ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Pros - Great Service. A Starch included with your entree. Cons - Prime Rib over priced ($52) for size. Limited wine by the glass menu. Desserts small, Style over Substance. First, put us in a back room that looked like a Denny's meeting room.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Been visiting Ringside for over 50 years ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Been visiting Ringside for over 50 years. As a child coming in with my parents and reacquainting in the 90's with business groups as I returned to the Portland Area for company expansion potentials

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ringside is amazing the price is high bu ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Ringside is amazing the price is high but the food quality, service and ambiance is spectacular.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Expect the best and you get the best. Oh ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Expect the best and you get the best. Ohh... the steak is out if this world too.

food5
ambience5
service5

Simply outstanding in every way!

Dined on June 13, 2016

Simply outstanding in every way!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed the experience, the service and the meal.

Dined on June 9, 2016

Continues to exceed expectation for a high quality meal and maintain its place as one of the top locations in the greater PDX area. We had a mixture of steak and seafood entree's at our table, and our client we brought was from the East Coast. Thru the accent, he noted that the crab cakes and halibut were exceptional, and he raved about both. Coming from an East Coaster that is pretty high praise, as they are very "territorial" with their praise as well as their accents... Hard to elicit praise from a "right" coaster for anything on the "left" coast, so it was high praise indeed for this meal and dining experience. I personally can vouch for the French Onion Soup, the best in PDX by far. Our service was outstanding, and the waiter was not only extremely attentive and professional, but the verbal interaction with our group on a casual conversation level was appreciated and noted. For special occasions or high end business meals, tough to beat. Just a quality dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Rude

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was poor, I cook better steak at home. The server seemed rude when we didn't want anything extra to eat. The vallet parking was rude. And replied with "you're welcome" when I left. Like I should be thanking him for being rude to me

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Old school steak house with the great st ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Old school steak house with the great steak to back it up! The French onion soup was the best I've had! Family owned and great history behind it! Love supporting local and family businesses!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superbly Done

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

We shared a simple salad to start and had some excellent cocktails. For entrees, we had the fried shrimp and the dry aged strip steak. We ate everything, including the baked potato and mashed potatoes and fresh asparagus. For dessert, we had the chocolate toffee, as a perfect way to finish the meal. As always, the service was truly excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Wonderful service!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely dinner

Dined on May 29, 2016

I took my friend here to celebrate his birthday. We've been coming to the Ringside for many years and are grateful it's still around--it's one of the classics! He really enjoyed his fried chicken and my halibut was very good. Service was great too--just enough, not "in your face" all the time. I would definitely return for another meal, special occasion or not.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food is fantastic! The prime rib is ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food is fantastic! The prime rib is the best in town! The French Onion soup is delicious. The service is the best!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

we sat at the bar and celebrated my birt ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

we sat at the bar and celebrated my birthday with aged rib eye, salad, and of course, onion rings. The bartender, Jim, was fantastic, professional, efficient and friendly. I will be back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined on May 28, 2016

Stellar on all points! My steak was perfection, the shrimp cocktail has the sweetest flavor and amazing sauces, and my cocktail was well-crafted. I also love the ambience. Great , old-school steak house space with delightful staff. I want all my special occasions to be at Ringside.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Took two well-traveled guests to the Rin ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Took two well-traveled guests to the Ringside. They were extremely impressed. It was a fantastic experience.

food5
ambience4
service5

Love old school steak places, this one i ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Love old school steak places, this one is right. Service impeccable and food so tasty to the end!

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great quality of meat

Dined on May 26, 2016

Both the lamb chops and the ribeye steak were very good cuts of meat--juicy and tender. I thought both could have benefitted from more imaginative seasoning. To be fair? The lamb chops did come with chutney, an accompaniment I never prefer. But I do love lamb, and as I said, this was very good quality. Service was fine, but we've had another waiter on a previous occasion whom we really enjoyed. We did enjoy their selection of music and wine! I'm sure we'll be back.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Steak Ever

Dined on May 23, 2016

We have been to Ringside many times and usually have the prime rib. Unfortunately, it was late Sunday and the prime rib was unavailable. However, I tried the prime rib eye steak and it was without a doubt the best steak I have ever had. The taste was wonderful and the preparation was perfect. Our server, Kelli, was very attentive and although we only come in a couple times a year, because we live in California, she remembered us from our last visit. Considering how many customers that she must see, it was amazing she remembered where we were from and our occupations. It was nice to see someone who enjoyed their job and obviously like working with people. We are already looking forward to our next Portland trip. Now the challenge will be prime rib or the rib eye!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Over the top excellent

Dined on May 23, 2016

I took my husband to the Ringside for his birthday. I bet I haven't been in the restaurant in 10-15 years. It is now remodeled, but still elegant and classic. The onion rings and Gin&Tonic were both as excellent as the past. Fantastic understated service. The entrees are incredibly expensive ($45 to $70), probably double other restaurants in town. Our bill was around $200 (drinks, onion rings, two entrees, one bottle of wine, shared creme brulee dessert). For a special occasion, it was a perfect 10 for a destination landmark restaurant. I wish I could afford to go more than once every few years.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

New filter water

Dined on May 23, 2016

Water taste is bad but food is great. (prime rib )

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Dinner

Dined on May 22, 2016

I felt it was overpriced for what we got. An 8 ounce steak and a potato, some bread, no vegi, no salad. The steak was very good, the potato and bread was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time! Everything was lovely! I ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My first time! Everything was lovely! I grew up with upscale dinner houses in Los Angeles, and was totally impressed! Gotta get the Ringside rings! Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the wine list and the food. Certainly helped us decide on which Super Tuscan to accompany the BEAST!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was sub par. Wedge salad came w ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Service was sub par. Wedge salad came without the bacon. Been to this Ringside many times. Seems like the service has gotten worse each time we go.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special birthday

Dined on May 15, 2016

My sisters celebrated their birthdays together at the Ringside. The four of us had a fabulous time. We love this restaurant... Especially the early night specials.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great 30th birthday dinner at Ring ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Had a great 30th birthday dinner at Ringside. Thanks!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have had the pleasure of dining at Rin ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I have had the pleasure of dining at Ringside for many years. Always an excellent evening. Colin was terrific and helped make the evening go very smoothly.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.