Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown

For more than 6 decades we have be offering guests the best steaks in town, providing impeccable service with an unmatched wine list. Our happy hour has a loyal late-night following.

With more than 65 years of continuous family ownership, RingSide Steakhouse Downtown is a legend in the world of steakhouses.

Start with RingSide's world famous onion rings...a recipe that is a closely held family secret. Select a steak from a menu offering USDA Prime & Certified Angus Beef NW Natural steaks dry-aged on-premise.

Choose a wine from more than 700 labels. WINE SPECTATOR has recognized RingSide Steakhouse yearly with its BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE SINCE 2001.

RingSide is a prime example of a award winning steakhouse; AMERICA'S TOP TEN STEAKHOUSE HALL OF FAME; GREAT STEAK HOUSES OF NORTH AMERICA; WINE SPECTATOR'S BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE AND THE DiRoNA AWARD

2165 W Burnside
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Prime Rib, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm,
Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
NW 22nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-1513

Website:
http://www.ringsidesteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
While there is no live entertainment, many diners praise the ambiance and how it is enhanced by background music from the American songbook of popular great standards.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary on-site valet parking. Street parking is available although limited

Public Transit:
Walking distance from/to PGE Park MAX Station (renamed Jeld-Wen Field).

Bus Routes: 15-Belmont/NW 23rd, 18-Hillside & 20-Burnside/Stark
Tri-met Stop ID 747 at W Burnside & NW King in Portland Westbound.
Tri-met Stop ID 749 W Burnside & SW 21st in Portland Eastbound

Executive Chef:
Beau Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Allow us to help you plan your event for family, friends, clients and colleagues. Our managers will assist you with the details of The Barrel Room, our private room.

RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (134)
Good for a Date (115)
Good for Anniversaries (104)
See All
Romantic (98)
Good for Birthdays (83)
Notable Wine List (80)
Business Meals (57)
Cozy (55)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Worth the Drive (48)
Authentic (48)
Fireplace (48)
Historic (43)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Good for Groups (30)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Bar Seating (30)
Happy Hour (29)
Comfort Food (25)
Fun (18)
Late-night Find (15)
Paleo Friendly (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Casual (12)
Private Room (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Healthy (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
Family Style (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great Beer (5)
People Watching (4)
Organic (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
3117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Great steak (bone in ribeye) & lobster mashed potatoes...Best in town! Love the marrow bones & the wedge salad! I really wish they would bring back their killer sundae. Their desserts are more on the eclectic side, wish they were more suited to a steak house...

PS love Mary, she is among the best! Always remembers us and what we order!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Great experience from start to finish! Our server was wonderful - so often servers are condescending in restaurants in this price range. Our server was friendly, helpful, and down to earth. The food was great. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Great Service and Setting. The food was great. Worth going to for special occasions that are worth celebrating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

paid top $$$$ for average steak. service is mediocre. Our waitress, Karen, didn't bother to check on us. Definitely my last visit to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

This is the place to have a great authentic aged cook to your perfection steak. You will really get pampered on their service. Just a little delayed from my scheduled appointment. Exelent place to be .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

in my opinion, Ringside has the best steaks in Portland.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This is definitely the place for steak aficionados. The dry aged bone in New York steak was tasty and perfectly prepared. The halibut was exquisite. They mix some tasty cocktails, too. Wayne, our waiter, was spot on with his recommendations and attention to detail. No need was unmet. Definitely start with the onion rings and end with dessert. Can be a bit loud due to the business meeting clientele, but not so noisy as to preclude casual conversation. Worth every one if the many pennies I spent there. Cozy, dark atmosphere reminiscent of the early 1960's. Don't let the simple exterior put you off; the entrance leads to a delightful dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We've been going here for 15 years and it's the one steakhouse where the steak is perfect every time.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great time for the out of town guests! Im sure they will want to go back again on their next trip.

Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I don't know why I waited so long to return. The impeccable service is reason enough to enjoy this wonderful piece of Portland. Scott was very attentive to our needs and has a great sense of humor!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great place. One of the most unique, tasty, and enjoyable places to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Surprisingly, the steaks were not very good. They were gristly. My wife had to send hers back. It's not our usual experience of the Ringside, but I can buy better steaks that are much more tender at Costco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Our dining experience was highly enjoyable! All the employees were extremely pleasant, patient, cordial, not hurried, and hospitable! Can't wait for the next visit and will easily recommend RingSide to everyone

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Free Corkage was a very nice treat - thanks!
Our dinner was a very fun experience, but the steaks weren't as flavorful as we had remembered. My husband went all the way and ordered the Prime Filet, while I had the Choice filet. The texture of his was very soft - melt in your mouth - but the flavor was not better than my Choice filet, and not as mouth-watering as in the past. Service by William was very attentive. We enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Always our favorite neighborhood spot. Impeccable service and perfectly cooked steaks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Outstanding restaurant if you're looking for a memorable dining experience. The food is amazing and the service is unbeatable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was outstanding, but the service was poor. They started cleaning our table before we even finished our food and it took forever to have my water glass refilled. I think the waitress didn't pay much attention to us because we did not order alcohol. Recommend the bone in rib eye for two!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food was average therefore overpriced, our server Mary was slow to get to our table seemed disinterested and made two mistakes in our order. The support staff was attentive and corrected the servers mistakes immediately..
I ordered the Prime Rib it was cooked perfectly but was run of the mill quality at a premium price. Ordered the small onion rings the amount was enough for 4 people, they were oversized but not special. My wife ordered the filet and was pleased with it. Sour dough bread was brought with the meal after we requested it from the support staff. Our server said she was bringing it earlier in the meal but never did. All in all decent meal at a premium price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Very knowledgeable and attentive waitstaff. Excellent food. Excellent drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Went to the Ringside for the first time for our anniversary. Everything from the food to the service was very good. We will probably start making this a regular place to go.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We went for my parents 60th anniversary and the service and food were fantastic! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Anniversary dinner went very well. Seated promptly. Never had an empty cup or any questions that weren't thoroughly answered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We were celebrating our 20th Anniversary and could not have chosen a more beautiful restaurant setting and dining experience. Though we live fairly close, we specifically wanted to dine here for the ambiance and menu. We enjoyed an exceptional meal (Prime Rib for me) and savored every last drop (actually took home a few leftovers for a great second meal too!) with the service from our waiter really superior. A truly lovely memory captured and reminder to visit a lot more often with family and friends in tow. This is beyond a 5-star recommendation, ENJOY!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great staff. Consistent with the quality, always know what to expect and ringside delivers every time. I've been 4 times now and each time is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Incredible! Read about this place in a magazine for America's best steakhouses and am so very happy I went! I loved it and it exceeded my expectations of a best steakhouse in America!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Another good meal. My wife and I save Ringside for our special occasions. Food was great (although I asked for my steak to be medium plus, it didn't quite make it), and the service was excellent at usual. We will certainly return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My wife and I love steak and had heard that the Ringside was very good. I have to say my 14 OZ NY Strip was outstanding, perfectly cooked and well presented. Waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly, not over bearing at all. The Barrel room (the are we dined in) is very nicely done and the tables are nicely spaced. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent dining experience! All eight of us were very happy with dinner and service.
$$$$ but worth it!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Amazing food and Fantastic service. This is why we return to Ringside for our Anniversary every year.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The steaks are marvelous. Wine list is profound. Ask about the history, very rustic, hand made. A bit loud if sitting under a speaker

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Excellent service. Attentive, helpful, and knowledgeable waiter. Not pretentious. High quality meat; tender with good flavor. The only "real" steakhouse in the Portland area. I intend to return as often as I can.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 24, 2017

They gave us a special experience for a birthday! Thank you for the amazing service!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2017

My husband and I went on our anniversary. Our server was wonderfully attentive and knowledgeable! The menu had all of my favorites and the atmosphere was just right!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Keli was our server and was very accommodating to my food allergies. When each dish was delivered, they made a point to point out that is was gluten free. I suffered no I'll effect. The first bite of my meal was as amazing as the last, the same goes for my husband's meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Our server Karen was great! Nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had a wonderful experience, as always at Ringside. The only 'problem' was our waiter told us the dessert would be on the house for our anniversary, only for the bill to show up with a line for "special occasion" that charged us $10. I didn't mention anything because we would have ordered that anyway, but it took the service down a notch from what we've come to expect.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had an excellent meal. The steaks were cooked to perfection. The lobster mashed potatoes were decadent and delicious. Our server Wayne was outstanding. We couldn't have been happier.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Always amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Ringside Restaurant on Burnside is a family tradition. When special events occur and friends arrive from afar, we choose Ringside to celebrate. Best onion rings, salads and desserts. Steaks of superior quality. Best cocktails and wine selection. Only missing an espresso machine which we trust will be an addition soon. Opened in 1944, Ringside and I are the same age. Always a treat to dine here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 18, 2017

It was absolutely a wonderful experience from the staff to the food and drinks we ordered, everything was exceptional. Definitely going back and is perfect for celebrating wedding anniversaries! Our waitress was Susan and she could not have been more knowledgeable about the menus nor a nicer person. Will definitely be back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.