Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown

For more than 6 decades we have be offering guests the best steaks in town, providing impeccable service with an unmatched wine list. Our happy hour has a loyal late-night following.

With more than 65 years of continuous family ownership, RingSide Steakhouse Downtown is a legend in the world of steakhouses.

Start with RingSide's world famous onion rings...a recipe that is a closely held family secret. Select a steak from a menu offering USDA Prime & Certified Angus Beef NW Natural steaks dry-aged on-premise.

Choose a wine from more than 700 labels. WINE SPECTATOR has recognized RingSide Steakhouse yearly with its BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE SINCE 2001.

RingSide is a prime example of a award winning steakhouse; AMERICA'S TOP TEN STEAKHOUSE HALL OF FAME; GREAT STEAK HOUSES OF NORTH AMERICA; WINE SPECTATOR'S BEST OF AWARD OF EXCELLENCE AND THE DiRoNA AWARD

2165 W Burnside
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Prime Rib, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm,
Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am,
Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
NW 22nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-1513

Website:
http://www.ringsidesteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
While there is no live entertainment, many diners praise the ambiance and how it is enhanced by background music from the American songbook of popular great standards.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary on-site valet parking. Street parking is available although limited

Public Transit:
Walking distance from/to PGE Park MAX Station (renamed Jeld-Wen Field).

Bus Routes: 15-Belmont/NW 23rd, 18-Hillside & 20-Burnside/Stark
Tri-met Stop ID 747 at W Burnside & NW King in Portland Westbound.
Tri-met Stop ID 749 W Burnside & SW 21st in Portland Eastbound

Executive Chef:
Beau Carr

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Allow us to help you plan your event for family, friends, clients and colleagues. Our managers will assist you with the details of The Barrel Room, our private room.

RingSide Steakhouse - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (125)
Good for a Date (103)
Romantic (89)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (88)
Good for Birthdays (64)
Notable Wine List (63)
Worth the Drive (59)
Business Meals (54)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Cozy (43)
Authentic (43)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Happy Hour (25)
Comfort Food (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Fun (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Fireplace (18)
Historic (13)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Casual (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
People Watching (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Family Style (3)
Private Room (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (0)
Afternoon Tea (0)
Sort By:
S
3202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Very nice dinner and clean restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food. Good vibe. Onion rings were not as good as advertised.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Compared to the ambience of the former Eastside Ringside, the aura was a lot more distracting for a relaxing meal. The noise level was much higher than expected. I really didn't appreciate that.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Simply the best steak I have ever had the pleasure to eat, with outstanding service and amazing ambiance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Went with friends to celebrate our anniversaries. Started with the always-great onion rings -- small order was enough for 4 of us. Drinks were well-made with top-shelf liquor, up to Ringside's usual high standards. Wedge salad, Caesar salad and a seasonal tomato and watermelon salad were refreshing starts, as was the luscious corn soup. The beef was tender, juicy and flavorful -- we enjoyed prime grade ribeye steak, filet mignon and prime rib -- all with loaded baked potato or garlic mashed. We finished with crème brulee and apricot-ginger sorbet for dessert.
Our server Scott was exceptionally personable and fun, making the leisurely evening a total enjoyment. Thank you again Ringside for another memorable dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Younger people may view The Ringside as a bit dated. We, however, find it fittingly nostalgic while providing fresh, quality ingredients and the best steaks and prime rib around. Service from James and the busboy with a bun was impeccable. A great place to dine anytime but especially in honor of our 35th wedding anniversary. The baked spinach is decadently delicious. The steamed spinach needs some garlic or something to add flavor. Don't ignore this gem in Portland. It may not be "nouvelle cuisine" but quality is timeless.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter was very professional and very attentive . . . but also gave us the space we needed to enjoy our evening together.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious and our server (Chris) was great at making suggestions. It's on the spendy side but for a special occassion it is a must try; we'll definitely be back for our next anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Anyone who has been to Portland, or even Oregon for that matter, knows about the Ringside. It is a classic. The food NEVER disappoints, always so amazing. It is pricey so not the place like a "neighborhood bar" that you would go to multiple times in a week but it is so special it is worth every penny. It is really an Oregon gem. Make a reservation ... they are quite busy!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Service and dinner was fantastic. The staff was helpful and consistently made suggestions to make the experience better.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Karen was excellent waiter/ we never "wanted" anything. The filet mignon was superb and the atmosphere very romantic. A perfect date night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great food and good service,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This is my fourth time here and it was just as good as the first time. What happened to the Bananas Foster dessert? It's not on the menu. Please bring that back and perhaps some other old school favs like cherries jubilee or a baked Alaska. Any place can offer up creme brûlée- go back to your roots!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The waiter we had definitely was trying harder with the table next to us and we felt like an afterthought. Otherwise food and drink were phenomenal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food as always. We took our friends who had never been.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 5, 2017

the onion rings lived up to the reputation. Steak was very tasty. The service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Phenomenal steak house, certainly the best in Portland. The 60 day dry aged NY strip is incredible and the service and atmosphere were the closest thing to a Texas steak house I've experienced since leaving Texas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Scott was an amazing waiter. Very professional. Attentive yet not intrusive. Very helpful and made for a nice evening. The food was delicious and is my go to place for steak. Nothing else in town beats their steaks. Thank you!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Service was really slow and the steak was overcooked. I still love the onion rings and ambiance but I can find better value elsewhere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Ringside is our go-to restaurant for all occasions. Superb service and high -quality food make this a perfect choice for fine dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Good food and very nice atmosphere. Staff are very attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Everything was very nice, and the staff was very accommodating. Food was excellent and just how I remembered it from years ago. I didn't, however, realize how pricey it had gotten. Special occasions only, for us !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Birthday. We had the family Birthday celebration and the food and service was wonderful. Definitely would return again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here to celebrate out anniversary, food was great , service was amazing. Price was a bit high , but I think that is the new normal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Crab cake appetizer was superb; the steaks were prepared to our individual preferences; the wine we chose, a Chateauneuf Du Pape, was spot on and our server, Jessica, was top notch.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Love the ambiance and great service!! The food is wonderful and a night cap at the bar makes for a lovely evening!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

We arrived late, but the staff made us feel welcome and took great care of us. We were celebrating a special event and our waiter, William, was provided just the right amount of attentiveness. Our meals were excellent, the surf and turf, part of the three-course special. The beef was tender and cooked just as we ordered it and the shrimp were huge. We had a salad, too, that was very generous with the vegetables. To top it off, we had a dessert of creme brulee, the best I've had.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Outstanding as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

We have been dining at ringside uptown for over 50 years and have always found it a great time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

If money is no object, this is the place for you. We had 2 gift cards ($200) for a birthday, so with those and a little money, my husband had a steak with potatos and I had a medium lobster tail with potatos. Crazy. My husband said I season my tenderloin at home better. I tasted it, and he was right. He ordered middle of the road tenderloin cut. They made a mistake and gave him the best one. Very tender but not flavorful. Go here for a very special occassion one time in your life for the experience and ambiance. Otherwise, a good steak made at home wins hands down unless you are lazy, can't cook, and have money falling out of your pockets. LOL

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Small town family finds what it means to enjoy fine dining and impeccable service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Very slow service. Wedge salad had same dressing as onion rings- needed to be different. Ordered aged steak and It was not seasoned/flavorless. Were charged for Béarnaise sauce. Desserts were overly sweet. Overall, very expensive for type of food experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

My wife and I had a great time at the Ringside restaurant, our waiter Wayne was excellent. We will return .

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Always a great experience. The lobster mash is to die for.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2017

My first visit to Ringside Steakhouse was exceptional. This, my second, was not as good. My Prime quality filet mignon was gristly and chewy. The cooked portion had a strange mealy texture. (See photo of leftovers.) We did not receive the side dish we ordered and by the time the server checked on us, we just cancelled it. We were uncomfortable with his wanting to shake hands with each of us at the end of the meal.

We'll try it again, based on our first visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Start by asking to be seated in Scott's section. Listen attentively to the evening specials, ours was petite filet mignons with lobster. Starch and asparagus were also on the plate. This is an old line steak house, so quality and service is upmost with matching cost.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The Ring Side delivers every time. Always a favorite when the kids come back home and for all occasions.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The table next to us had about 10 people who were extremely noisy, like pizza parlor noisy. Wish management had quieted them down. Server in his late 40's, dark hair, and goatee was rude. Other server must have noticed because he didn't come back after the first time. Prawns was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We had the most amazing experience! We were celebrating two family birthdays, and Mary decorated our table for us with confetti and masks. The food was phenomenal. Thank you for everything, Mary.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Dinner was in a word SPECTACULAR . Staff is most professional I've ever seen, including my days in food service. We wanted for nothing. Beautiful ending to treat weekend for husband. Thank you!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.