Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower

A contemporary Northwest fish house with a modern accent. Expect the finest service as experienced servers guide you through the menu. The RingSide Fish House is the sibling of the Iconic RingSide SteakHouse and is honored to be chosen as one of Tom Horan's Top Ten Fish Houses in North America. The menu sources only the freshest seafood from local fish mongers and oysterman - but still has steaks and our "Famous Onion Rings"for those who want the classic RingSide experience.

838 SW Park Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Mon- Sat: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Bar Hours:
Mon - Sat: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
SW Taylor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-3900

Website:
http://www.ringsidefishhouse.com/

Entertainment:
A perfect stop before the Theater, whether it be on the Big Screen or on the Stage. We have live music in the lounge on Friday and Saturday nights. Many diners find the ambiance of the restaurant overlooking Director Park as entertainment in itself.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Self-Parking is available in the Fox Tower Garage validated with the purchases of entrees. On-street parking is also available at posted rates.

Public Transit:
Located adjacent to the Pioneer Square MAX Station.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Gill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Park Avenue Room is a private room that can accommodate up to 32 guests for meetings, parties, receptions or a sit down lunch or dinner.

RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Business Meals (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Romantic (22)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Fun (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Casual (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Cozy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1621 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service were excellent. Presentation was done extremely well. Would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I have eaten at the Ringside downtown my whole life and never have been to the fish house until Sunday night. Which in my opinion is as good as the Orginal Ringside. Cannot get any better than these two restrarants

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Long wait for food. They offered free desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

I had friends visiting from out of town. They were extremely impressed by both the food and service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Old world service where the waiter is always there when you want them. Some dishes finished at table side. You can tell they love the art of giving find service and the foodwas fantastic. We got that large seafood platter and it is a great thing to share

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

This was our third visit to Ringside Fish House. We were celebrating a birthday, and this is a great spot for celebrations. Food was delicious, beautifully presented. Cocktails very special!!

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 11, 2017

It was everything every other review said. Perfection

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Wonderful as usual, great service, great food, beautiful restaurant! This is our new family "special" place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had great service and wonderful food. I like the fish house better than original Ringside because of the big windows and cheerful atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We met friends new to the Portland area for dinner at the Ringside Fish House. One of us had eaten lunch there and it had been very good. Our server was very attentive and provided great service. Two of us ordered the rockfish and two ordered the halibut. The rockfish was extremely salty which was very disappointing. The halibut was slightly overcooked. The best thing about the meal was the dessert. Probably won't go here again for dinner. It was too much money for what we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent meal from start to finish. Superb service. Everything was beautifully prepared and presented. Especially recommend the eggplant soup, scallops with corn risotto, and the dessert donuts with dulche de leche dipping sauce. Great location overlooking Director's Park.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Hotel suggested fish house. James Beard says best onion rings ever. They weren't! Wife's scallops were fishy, my halibut so so. Much better seafood on coast and north thru Washington to B.C. Nice place but that's not primary reason to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 9, 2017

thoroughly enjoyable evening assisted by excellent service and wonderful food for us all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Dishes were tasty and nicely prepared. Service could have been better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We were disappointed for several reasons. Our previous experience is the reason we chose to come back this time for a special occasion dinner. The most awkward issue was that we were given our menus but we were missing the pages of the regular selections and only given three pages. A page of chef's special meal selection , a page of appetizers, soup/salad and cocktails.
I mentioned to our server that there was a noticeable difference from the first to this visit of meal options he replied that the chef periodically changes the menu.
We ordered soup/salads ...all of us were looking forward to a seafood dinner.
We ordered a bottle of wine that was not brought to the table until we asked where it was.
We left unimpressed and most likely will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

It was our date night, we went here after a long hot date and the cocktails were great and definitely cooled us off, the food was really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The service was very poor - after water placement, no server came by for 10-15 min later when I had to ask for. The king Salmon was little overdone and was drier for 48.00!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 29, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Portland. Every time we are in time we get there for the scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Just love this restaurant. The steamed clams (without pancetta for us) is my favorite dish! I went in to enjoy their last week of lunches. Boo hoo. I will still be able to get the dish as an appetizer for dinner (about $1 more) but I will miss the lunches. Friends have had other dishes as well, that look delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Excellent restaurant for a quiet delicious seafood meal. We always enjoy dining there and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Always a favorite. Our first date night since having our daughter. The waitress even brought us a free dessert to celebrate. Love this place!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Amazing food amazing service . Was for my wife's birthday . Waiting took care of desert. Very pleasant experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Special evening with a family friend made even more special because we were at the Ringside Fish House. Excellent cocktails and a nice setting. Fun to watch the people down below on the park block. Prices were a little high and the we had to keep raising our glass to the waiter to order more cocktails. Small blips in an otherwise perfect night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great place for dinner. We have been here many times and keep coming back. Great service and food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Fabulous cioppino. Salmon was perfect. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fish, fowl and beef all come together at this gem of Portland dining, easily reachable from the MAX. With one of the best wine lists in town and great bar tending and desserts, Ringside Fish House is a restaurant any could stand to emulate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Dinner was absolutely amazing. We came to town for our 15th wedding anniversary and they really went above and beyond to help make it special. There was a personalized handwritten note on the table when we arrived. Dinner was then beyond phenominal and afterward, we got a complimentary dessert. Although we were stuffed, it was also amazing. We are not from he area, but if ever we are back in Portland, we will definitely fine here again. We also watched the staff prepare for a large party, which was beyond impressive. They were meticulous as to making sure they added another leaf to the table to make the guests more comfortable during their visit. It was an honest hour of placement of napkins, silverware, even how the table cloths were laid. Those guest came and had no idea the amount of effort that went in to making their experience there an amazing in. Kudos to the staff for going above and beyond. Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We have attended for birthdays, anniversary and general get together with friends. Always have enjoyed the food and pleasant conversation with partners; although a bit noisy this last time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Dined on 3 course pre-theatre menu and it was delicious! The server was attentive and was aware that we had to leave by a certain time in order to get to the theatre for the Bryan Ferry concert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 16, 2017

First time there - so review based on one experience. Food was okay. There are many better restaurants in Portland and certainly better price points. Our view is dining out should always involve excellent food - diners show up for the professionals to work magic from simple to complex tastes - magic was not involved here. We felt this restaurant was overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service was very good and food was also very good with a couple minor exceptions. Onion rings were well cooked on the outside, but undercooked on the inside - onions very crunchy. Also, I asked for my steak to be done medium rare to medium, but it come out medium well. It was, however, an excellent cut of meat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Wow - outstanding food and service - celebrated my birthday here - was absolutely delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The grilled prawns with sweet corn polenta was to die for. I haven't swooned over a meal in a while. It was fabulous!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food and service was excellent - also to chat to one of the waiters who is also a winemaker very special.
I only have 1 negative comment - No coffee machine so only drip coffee available - Needs an espresso machine!!!!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We had a business dinner for 10 people. We were put in the back room by the window which was perfect. The noise level was low so we were able to hear everyone talk. The staff was very helpful, friendly, and professional. The service was quick and the food was excellent. The only negative was that two of us had the king salmon that was very overcooked. The server asked both of us if medium rare was okay and we agreed but the actual pieces of fish that we had were more like medium well. It was too awkward with business clients there to send the fish back. The flavor was good but it was rather dry.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

The food and the service were beyond expectation, even for a Portland venue.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Good menu choices - lots of fresh, flavorfull produce- great service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Onion rings a hit. My steak was not good. Came our rare and then came back well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our waiter was very nice. Always right there if we needed something. Excellent service!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Our first visit while traveling. Appreciate the hotel recommendation as the food, service and ambience were very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.