About RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower

838 SW Park Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

A contemporary Northwest fish house with a modern accent. Expect the finest service as experienced servers guide you through the menu. The RingSide Fish House is the sibling of the Iconic RingSide SteakHouse and is honored to be chosen as one of Tom Horan's Top Ten Fish Houses in North America. The menu sources only the freshest seafood from local fish mongers and oysterman - but still has steaks and our "Famous Onion Rings"for those who want the classic RingSide experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Bar Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
SW Taylor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-3900

Website:
http://www.ringsidefishhouse.com/

Entertainment:
A perfect stop before the Theater, whether it be on the Big Screen or on the Stage. We have live music in the lounge on Friday and Saturday nights. Many diners find the ambiance of the restaurant overlooking Director Park as entertainment in itself.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Self-Parking is available in the Fox Tower Garage validated with the purchases of entrees. On-street parking is also available at posted rates.

Public Transit:
Located adjacent to the Pioneer Square MAX Station.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Gill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Seafood Platter
fish&chips
Maine Lobster Tail
Seared Dayboat Scallops
Sweet corn risotto
Steak Bites
French Dip Sandwich
Pan-Seared Steelhead On A Bed Of Gnocchi And Panchetta
Cupcake Trio
Cioppino
Sauteed Mediterranean Bronzino
Hog Island Kumamoto Oysters
Pommes Frittes With Truffle Hollandaise And Crab Meat
Wild Salmon Cake Slider
Oyster Happy Hour
Oysters, Clams And Shrimps
Wagyu Filet Mignon Steak
Dungeness Crab Melt With Truffled Fries
Cedar Plank-Grilled King Salmon
Grilled Wild King Salmon
Chocolate Mousse
Vietnamese Style Kalimari
Crab Frittes
Seared Ahi Tuna
Filet Mignon With Oscar Topping

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Park Avenue Room is a private room that can accommodate up to 32 guests for meetings, parties, receptions or a sit down lunch or dinner.

RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (88)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Romantic (50)
See All
Notable Wine List (48)
Good for Groups (36)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Scenic View (25)
Hot Spot (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service and attention from sta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and attention from staff members made our dinner date one to remember. The food is delicious, well presented and is on my top 5 of favorites in the country.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the Ringside when I visit Portla ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

I love the Ringside when I visit Portland. The Fish House just isn't at the same level as the downtown version. The shrimp salad I had as my lunch entree was quite small - I guess I expected something a bit grander for a salad named the 'Oregon Louie' and priced as a large salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Do not ever go to this restaurant. The w ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

Do not ever go to this restaurant. The waiter didn't show up for 35 minutes. The bread took another 20 minutes. The mail promised was never served we walked out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

As always greatfood and service. A yearl ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

As always greatfood and service. A yearly bithday celebration that never disappoints Thank you for a special with family

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took some great friends here for dinner, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Took some great friends here for dinner, and this was their first time at the Ringside Fish House. They loved it! The Poke was amazing as were the steamer clams. I was disappointed the frites were not on the menu anymore, but these other appetizers made up for that.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Halibut collar appetizer was scrumptious ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 7 days ago

Halibut collar appetizer was scrumptious. Risotto overwhelmed the lobster, however.

A good experience altogether--especially our very attentive waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was awesome. Service very deficien ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was awesome. Service very deficient, appetizer took 20 min to arrive , etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Excellent Service! Food neatly plated & ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent Service! Food neatly plated & delicious. Best for romantic dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and the food was fanta ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent service and the food was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We are longtime Ringside West customers. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We are longtime Ringside West customers. We were getting together as a family (10 of us) to celebrate our daughter leaving for college, and as a thanks to our parents for loaning us a car for a couple months. We had had quite a bit of steak recently, but we knew our daughter and my dad really wanted the ringside, so we thought we would try the fish house this time, since you can have steak and have more seafood options. The dinner was nice, and everyone seemed to enjoy their meals. We were disappointed that the onion rings were not the signature ones from the Ringside West though. Our service was great! Our server, Shannon, even brought out a desert with congrats written on it for our daughter which was really sweet of him.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated my wife's Birthday. Everyt ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We celebrated my wife's Birthday. Everything was excellent. the onion rings of course are always a favorite. the beet soup was outstanding. Both of the pre-theater menu entry selections (Salmon and Tenderloin/Shrimp) were very good and a good value. great variety of deserts along with a very good wine list. we live in the burbs and love to come downtown for the variety of seafood and steaks. validated parking next door really helps the overall experience. We'll be back!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the ringsider platter to share ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had the ringsider platter to share and it was phenomenal. Our server, Katie, was very professional and had great recommendations on wines and how to eat oysters. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice view of the plaza. Service is atten ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Nice view of the plaza. Service is attentive. Food is good. I like restaurants with cloth table cloths and napkins, which this restaurant has. Conveniently located to shopping, movie theater and other attractions like the art museum and concert hall. We have only eaten lunch there but have done so a number of times.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I just want to eat what appeals to me. I ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I just want to eat what appeals to me. I thought that this restaurant would be able to modify a menu item given the prices they charge. They had a salad with a ton of stuff including butternut lettuce. I asked them to hold the ton of stuff and just bring me some butternut lettuce with blue cheese crumbles. I got some dry chopped romaine with blue cheese crumbles but no vinaigrette (which I thought was intuitively obvious, so I did not specify to put vinaigrette on the salad). The lobster was delicious and everyone else thoroughly enjoyed their main courses. I thought it was quite overpriced. Almost $40 for a serving of salmon. Seriously? If you have never seen a wine list with a $10,000 bottle of wine, then check it out.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

This very fine restaurant was right next ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This very fine restaurant was right next door to the Regal theater where I went to see a movie. I knew that their steakhouse in Portland, OR was renown and appears in magazines. This was the fish house version. I found the food to be very good. It was a little pricey for the amount of food, but taste made up for it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very classy and expensive, but unfortuna ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very classy and expensive, but unfortunately the food was really nothing special. We waited 20 minutes at the entry (having pre-booked) then an hour for the food. Salmon was dry and over cooked. Vegetables were over salted. Staff polite and apologetic. Cost high. This place simply isn't as special as it likes to pretend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great service and top notch seafood. Sta ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great service and top notch seafood. Staff very attentive and helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service was remarkable and the plate ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our service was remarkable and the plates arrived timely. We couldn't have asked for a better experience; unless of course if the entire meal was free. A+

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I am from the east coast and was hoping ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I am from the east coast and was hoping for some Pacific seafood while in town. I don't typically give reviews, but I thought this was worth reviewing since there are so many other options for great food in Portland. They had good crab cakes that were not all (but not lump crab meat), but the other items were lacking.

I eat my scallops correctly prepared - with a translucent center. These were flash browned on the outside but completely raw. They weren't even warmed through. I had to remind myself that I eat sushi so it was okay to eat them. For $40 for 4 scallops, I expect them to be cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

This was our fourth or fifth visit to Ri ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This was our fourth or fifth visit to Ringside Fish house and possibly our last. They have stopped valet parking so finding parking is a chore. The service was ok but not great. Long periods of waiting for drinks and desert. The quality of the food does not justify the high prices. Average cost of an entree is~ 50.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Excellent food & service. Quiet and comf ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent food & service. Quiet and comfortable place for business meetings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and outstanding presentati ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great service and outstanding presentation of food in dining room. The "happy hour" in the bar, however, was quite another story. Good service, but we were unimpressed by the $1 off well drinks during happy hour and the shelf vodka/gin was Seagrams . What a low class choice for such an upscale restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I highly recommend this restaurant for ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I highly recommend this restaurant for excellent food and attentive knowledgeable service. We liked it so much we went to the parent restaurant Ringside steakhouse two days later for another enjoyable experience.

Nick, our server , was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit and we were not ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was our first visit and we were not disappointed. The service was excellent and the food delicious. The macaroon dessert was superb.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a very nice lunch, the food was grea ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Had a very nice lunch, the food was great and the service from all the staff was excellent

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Our food was cold and came out late. We ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Our food was cold and came out late. We informed the staff we had a show we were attending and said it would be no problem. We had to take the rest of our meal to go as other tables were leaving because they didn't receive their food on time. My water was never filled and neither was my soda water. I asked twice and finally gave up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Everything about our dining experience w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was great except for one thing...one of us ordered the swordfish and it was beyond disappointing. It was NOT fresh, it was 2 thin "steaks" that were tough & flavorless. Not what we expected from a place that we assumed specialized in fresh fish. I'm always reluctant to complain when I'm dining out but it was obvious to the waitperson that I'd barely touched the swordfish & when asked I gave an honest, polite answer...it just wan't good. But, to their credit they took it off our bill without me asking for that courtesy and truly everything else about the evening was top notch. Our waiter Jeffrey was engaging & attentive while still giving us our privacy; service was timely and everything except the swordfish was nicely prepared.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The server was very pleasant, attentive ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The server was very pleasant, attentive and took our order quickly. The onion rings were fabulous and timely. The meal went south when the main course arrived. My husband's halibut was dry and over cooked. The filet mignon had a thick ribbon of fat going right thru the middle of the steak. It was so bad they took it back and brought out a new filet. By the time it was served the rest of the table had finished their meals. The wait staff apologized profusely, but did not offer up anything to compensate for the negative experience. This is an expensive restaurant where you would expect high quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Food was good, although prices were pret ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was good, although prices were pretty high. Also, very disappointed in dessert....expected more considering the price than a few, what appeared to be and tasted like store bought (size of a quarter) shortbread cookies, with a couple chunks of toffee set in a bowl.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

With FISH HOUSE on the door...fish shou ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

With FISH HOUSE on the door...fish should be cooked perfectly, it was way over cooked for 3 of us. Nice presentation, service good, table too much sun on a very hot day (even with shade drawn.) Though packed early (business was booming) the noise level was good. Not a bad experience, but can get better food elsewhere for a better price. Gave a better review on comment card at restaurant, but changed my mind.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

This was our second visit in the area an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was our second visit in the area and we dined here a year ago. We had a great time so decided to go back. But was a disappointment with the service. Our sever had an attitude with our order and also charged us double on one of the meal. The halibut was not fresh. It took him to serve our food 45 min later and our wine order was 10 min later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

I came to dine alone. Unfortunately I wa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I came to dine alone. Unfortunately I was seated near a celebrity of some sort and had to wait some time for the waiters to break away from fawning over the other table. I asked for bread with my meal which I had to ask for again after my meal came. I had read some review that the meals were reasonably priced. Well not at my pay level. It must have been a very wealthy person. $44 for prime rib. A dab of mashed potato and no salad no vegetable. Yikes.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Every now & then a restaurant's kitchen ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Every now & then a restaurant's kitchen 'fails'. I'm a regular patron, but twice the ordered food was mediocre, bordering on tasteless. The special soft-shell crab fit that bill last week. There are two or three outstanding fish restaurants in PDX& Ringside can't afford the inattention in the kitchen - especially at the price. Service, as always, was flawless from greeting to wait staff. I love the ambience, & I'll give the Fish House another try, but tighten up kitchen/chef quality- especially when I'm entertaining friends from out of town who know excellence!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

We went early for happy hour drinks, and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We went early for happy hour drinks, and that was SO worth it - the staff there are top-rate, they offered options for transferring the bill over and were extremely knowledgeable about local ciders and beers. The meal itself was phenomenal, cooked to perfection and just the right portions! I got the three course meal and everything was top-notch. I will be going again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A bit disappointing. While there was no ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

A bit disappointing. While there was nothing really wrong, we were quite under-whelmed by the food and the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Absolutely wonderful and would recommend ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Absolutely wonderful and would recommend this restaurant in a heartbeat! Our waiter was terrific! We will return on our next visit to Portland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were only in Portland for one day and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were only in Portland for one day and chose this restaurant based on reviews. We were not disappointed. The halibut appetizer was excellent, the local salmon was great, and the duck was expertly prepared. We definitely will come back next time we are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nancy was great, fun and friendly with j ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Nancy was great, fun and friendly with just the right amount of attention. The food and wine were fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were wonderful

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food and service were wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An important timing note: location is in ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

An important timing note: location is in downtown and there is no valet parking. Parking lot is located in Fox tower so allow added time to park and get to restaurant.

I think I had higher expectations, so not that there was anything bad, I just was under impressed.

Greeted well, restaurant ambience was very nice, all those who assisted us in our dining were very pleasant except our waiter was like a wet rag to us, sorry to say. And he wasn't that way to every table. He seemed to have a little more personality with another table and went in depth in explaining dishes but I think he was as impressed with us as we were with him. Too bad for that bc the food was excellent! Clams, delicious! Delicious sauce, succulent.

The shrimp Louie salad, crisp, fresh and very tasty.

Prime rib, was more lean than I'm used to so not as melt in your mouth as a more fatty piece but perfectly done to our order and very tasty. Salmon, delicious; cooked pink in the center as explained but a little too rare in the center bc it was a very thick piece. Best salmon skin preparation I have ever had, though, excellent! Dessert menu did not intrigue me and waiter didn't really seem to care if we ordered dessert or not so we didn't, paid out bill and left.

It was our anniversary and we made that note in our reservation with the restaurant, but they made no effort to greet us any differently. Not that that's expected but since it was asked if we were celebrating anything special, I would think they would make that acknowledgment or not even ask.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.