About RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower

838 SW Park Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

A contemporary Northwest fish house with a modern accent.It has been said that "nature writes the menu" and this adage guides the approach of our culinary path from the seasons of fresh fish to the harvest of the produce. We are fortunate to be close to the ocean and walking distance to a premier farmer's market.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Bar Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
SW Taylor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-3900

Website:
http://www.ringsidefishhouse.com/

Entertainment:
A perfect stop before the Theater, whether it be on the Big Screen or on the Stage. While there is no live entertainment, many diners praise the ambiance of the restaurant overlooking Director Park.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Self-Parking is available in the Fox Tower Garage validated with the purchases of entrees. On-street parking is also available at posted rates.

Public Transit:
Located adjacent to the Pioneer Square MAX Station.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Gill

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Seafood Platter
fish&chips
Sweet corn risotto
Maine Lobster Tail
Seared Dayboat Scallops
Steak Bites
French Dip Sandwich
Cupcake Trio
Cioppino
Sauteed Mediterranean Bronzino
Pan-Seared Steelhead On A Bed Of Gnocchi And Panchetta
Hog Island Kumamoto Oysters
Pommes Frittes With Truffle Hollandaise And Crab Meat
Wild Salmon Cake Slider
Oysters, Clams And Shrimps
Oyster Happy Hour
Wagyu Filet Mignon Steak
Dungeness Crab Melt With Truffled Fries
Cedar Plank-Grilled King Salmon
Chocolate Mousse
Grilled Wild King Salmon
Crab Frittes
Seared Ahi Tuna
Filet Mignon With Oscar Topping
Vietnamese Style Kalimari

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Park Avenue Room is a private room that can accommodate up to 32 guests for meetings, parties, receptions or a sit down lunch or dinner.

RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (129)
fit for foodies (91)
romantic (70)
See All
notable wine list (68)
good for groups (47)
vibrant bar scene (43)
scenic view (35)
great for lunch (21)
hot spot (19)
neighborhood gem (19)
late-night find (12)
great for brunch (5)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was perfectly prepared, the experie ...

Dined 3 days ago

Food was perfectly prepared, the experience was equally enjoyed. Will definitely be back next time to Portland!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server helped us with the wine list, ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our server helped us with the wine list, resulting in us finding two new great favorites!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was excellent but service slow. Wa ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food was excellent but service slow. Wait staff good, food took forever then came out wrong and took forever again to get it corrected.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was great but it was expensive for ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was great but it was expensive for what was served. I say this with experience dinning in expensive fine dining restaurants.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was one of the best meals we have e ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was one of the best meals we have ever had in Portland ! (and we are long time diner-outers) The service and food were fantastic.. although we have had happy hour in the bar several times we have never eaten in the restaurant and were surprised how superb it was., We will be back! Thanks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

We chose the location because of conveni ...

Dined 6 days ago

We chose the location because of convenience to Concert Hall. Curry vegetable soup was too oily with pepper oil. Server kindly provided serving without the oil, which improved it, but wouldn't order it again. Entrees were FABULOUS! I had scallops with carrot puree, she had surf and turf (beef great but shrimp a little overdone) Beautiful presentation. Pot o creme was nice but dark chocolate vs milk chocolate could improve it! GREAT Moscow mules :) Thanks - we will come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Dinner was a disappointment. Service was ...

Dined 7 days ago

Dinner was a disappointment. Service was mediocre, and the food was not as good as we had hoped.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Superior selection of food, excellent ra ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Superior selection of food, excellent raw oysters, quiet location, wait staff was attentive...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Anniversary dinner was special. We will ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Anniversary dinner was special. We will return for happy hour.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1

The food was good, service was very poor ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was good, service was very poor. I overall this was a disappointing dinner experience, especially as it was our 10th wedding anniversary celebration.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and ambiance were great, lovely ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Service and ambiance were great, lovely view out the window. Food was not as tasty as I would expect for the price. Salad was a little dry and steak for the price didn't cut it for me and I would not order it again. Shrimp was quite tasty, and I would order this again. Frankly the best part of the meal was the onion rings. I would eat here again as it is rated so high, maybe they were having an off night in the kitchen.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a 4-top. Everything your staff a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We were a 4-top. Everything your staff and kitchen did to make our evening special was greatly appreciated. Thanks to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Food, as always, was great and nicely pr ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food, as always, was great and nicely presented. Only issue was the service from the waitress, the rest of the staff were very nice and professional. The waitress was very rude and condescending - I really didn't need her to point out which fork is my salad fork or to snap at my husband when he talked with her about waiting for our guest to show up before ordering drinks (they arrived within 5 minuets of us sitting down).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food nice workers can't wait to com ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Good food nice workers can't wait to comeback to have good food

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice experience. Our waiter, Arti p ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Very nice experience. Our waiter, Arti provided a service pace that was memorable.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We have been here twice and will not go ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

We have been here twice and will not go back. The famous onion rings are only half as good as the ones on Burnside. Too many Portland spots are far better to have it on our list.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant with the best fish and ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Lovely restaurant with the best fish and chips ever! Very friendly receptionist and servers.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Seafood tower was outstanding

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Seafood tower was outstanding

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food!

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent service and food!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service , very attentive and profe ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great service , very attentive and professional ....and wonderful food!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service4

Very attentive staff and excellent food. ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Very attentive staff and excellent food. We enjoyed the seafood platter and some other sides and appetizers and left very satisfied.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch, location, service and food

Dined on June 6, 2016

Great spot for a downtown lunch, very neat and clean, good variety, good service

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My server and food were exceptional.

Dined on June 5, 2016

My server and food were exceptional.

food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Disappointment!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Service was good. Waiter friendly and attentive to our needs. Very disappointed in the food. I had taken my wife there on her birthday, hoping to treat her to the best lobster tail in Portland. We were expecting the same quality of meals as we have received at the Ringside Steakhouse. There was no comparison. Would not return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the "Insider" prime rib special on S ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Had the "Insider" prime rib special on Saturday night over the Memorial Day weekend. Mine was well done, as requested and my wifes was med rate as requested. There were no leftovers. We did think that a veggie in addition to the mashed potatoes would have been in order. But they were very generous cuts of meat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Portland fine dining

Dined on May 26, 2016

My three daughters and I ate dinner here recently, while visiting this beautiful city. The staff were welcoming and friendly, while being professional and efficient. Our waiter explained about different menu items, and recommended some he thought we would enjoy. He did an excellent job, and everything we ordered was wonderful! The salmon was some of the best I have eaten. I would recommend, and will return if we return to Portland.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Glad we made reservations in advance - t ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Glad we made reservations in advance - they were slammed. But service was very attentive and accommodating. Food was excellent. Cocktails creative. Wines equally impressive and well paired by our waiter. Be sure to save room for dessert - beautiful and delicious, and surprisingly light feeling. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

We enjoyed the food; the interior is pr ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We enjoyed the food; the interior is pretty; our servers were very pleasant and professional. The prices were okay. The clientele in the dining room would prevent us from returning; the other diners were stodgy old people who acknowledged no one else, displayed no enjoyment and could barely walk in and out. The rest were corporate types meeting for closing business deals. Because we were lively and having fun, we stood out. We'll have to go elsewhere where it's move lively.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Not for Celiacs

Dined on May 22, 2016

Even after telling the waiter and sending a dish back to the kitchen, my entree came with a slice of bread on top. They need to be better trained in the kitchen.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Six young adults and one slightly older ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Six young adults and one slightly older adult. Pricey but delicious and the service was wonderful. Would come back in a heart beat.

food5
ambience4
service5

Our server Ari was exceptional. Good was ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Our server Ari was exceptional. Good was great. Will definitely recommend.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great attention to detail

Dined on May 18, 2016

We needed to get to the the theater and had a child with us. They were very mindful of our time limits and accommodating to my grand daughter.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great seafood, very good service. Will g ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great seafood, very good service. Will go again next time I am inPortland.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's hard to say something new about one ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It's hard to say something new about one of my favorite (and most visited restaurant), so how about I say it's time you tried it. Check the online menu, and decide whether it is for you. I can attest that the kitchen gets it right every time. If you like wine, put your trust in their selections, one of Portland's best. And Ciopino done right.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience !

Dined on May 15, 2016

Wonderful experience !

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

As mentioned the food was good, not grea ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

As mentioned the food was good, not great. Service and ambiance was great however. Small portions which was OK, however it was overpriced. Probably won't return as there are better seafood options in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

The RingSide Fish House is always consis ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The RingSide Fish House is always consistent with the food they prepare and serve from the atmosphere to the personal attention they go above and beyond...

food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Awful

Dined on May 9, 2016

I will Never return. This was my birthday dinner and service, food et all were terrible

food5
ambience5
service5

Service was awesome food was spectacular

Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was awesome food was spectacular

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was only fair. Both server and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was only fair. Both server and manager were aware, and we were given free desserts. However, was disappointing overall.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.