About RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower

838 SW Park Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

A contemporary Northwest fish house with a modern accent. Expect the finest service as experienced servers guide you through the menu. The RingSide Fish House is the sibling of the Iconic RingSide SteakHouse and is honored to be chosen as one of Tom Horan's Top Ten Fish Houses in North America. The menu sources only the freshest seafood from local fish mongers and oysterman - but still has steaks and our "Famous Onion Rings"for those who want the classic RingSide experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Bar Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
SW Taylor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-3900

Website:
http://www.ringsidefishhouse.com/

Entertainment:
A perfect stop before the Theater, whether it be on the Big Screen or on the Stage. We have live music in the lounge on Friday and Saturday nights. Many diners find the ambiance of the restaurant overlooking Director Park as entertainment in itself.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Self-Parking is available in the Fox Tower Garage validated with the purchases of entrees. On-street parking is also available at posted rates.

Public Transit:
Located adjacent to the Pioneer Square MAX Station.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Gill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Seafood Platter - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
fish&chips - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Maine Lobster Tail - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Seared Dayboat Scallops - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Sweet corn risotto - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Steak Bites - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
French Dip Sandwich - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Pan-Seared Steelhead On A Bed Of Gnocchi And Panchetta - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Cupcake Trio - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Cioppino - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Sauteed Mediterranean Bronzino - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Hog Island Kumamoto Oysters - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Pommes Frittes With Truffle Hollandaise And Crab Meat - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Wild Salmon Cake Slider - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Oyster Happy Hour - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Oysters, Clams And Shrimps - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Wagyu Filet Mignon Steak - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Dungeness Crab Melt With Truffled Fries - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Cedar Plank-Grilled King Salmon - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Grilled Wild King Salmon - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Chocolate Mousse - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Vietnamese Style Kalimari - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Crab Frittes - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Seared Ahi Tuna - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower
Filet Mignon With Oscar Topping - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Park Avenue Room is a private room that can accommodate up to 32 guests for meetings, parties, receptions or a sit down lunch or dinner.

RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (78)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Romantic (39)
See All
Notable Wine List (39)
Good for Groups (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Scenic View (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Business Meals (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Cozy (3)
Private Room (3)
Casual (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cedar Plank Salmon was delicious.

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Cedar Plank Salmon was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Traditional, if fish is what you want. ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Traditional, if fish is what you want. Excellent Ciopino. They also steal secrets from their mothership a great steakhouse.

On the first presidential debate night, it was very quiet--something we enjoyed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best service, food, view and comfy booth ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Best service, food, view and comfy booth I have had all at one restaurant in a long time. We will be back! Thank you for making our special occasion one we will never forget!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience! The service was superb ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great experience! The service was superb, much better than the typical Portland service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

fine dining at its best. Excellent servi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

fine dining at its best. Excellent service with attention to traditional details of service and quality presentation. Every selection from the salmon cheeks to the chocolate mousse and coffee was superior eating pleasure. The place for fresh fish creatively and deliciously prepared. Choose this place for all your special nights out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Seasonal, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An Exceptional dining experience. Servi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

An Exceptional dining experience. Service was excellent with insightful recommendations for local specialties and wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The martini tasted like very low quality ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The martini tasted like very low quality vodka. I asked what brand it was curious as to if I needed to upgrade but they told me it was a high quality.

The tenderloin pasta was extremely salty.

The surf and turf was way too small.

I've been to the ringside steak houses and have always been content. You get a filling, good quality steak for the money.

The fish house however left us still hungry and very disappointed.

I think our waitress picked up on our dissatisfaction and 3 other gentlemen continued to check in on us. After being interrupted the first 2 times, the 3rd and 4th time made us angry. We do not recommend and will not return.

Open table did great on our reservation as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Top notch service and nice touches for o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Top notch service and nice touches for our anniversary: Sparkling wine and surprise Benet dessert . Thanks!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food and excellant staff. Our ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Wonderful food and excellant staff. Our server was excellant. We started the meal out with a fresh heirloom tomato salad. Then I selected halibut and my husband had the cod. Both were wonderful. Dessert we choose white peach sorbet and a chocolate mouse both were good but nothing amazing. The evening was great until they seated 3 large groups around our table. All professional dinner meetings, one was playing a get to know you game and they became quite loud which I turn caused all others to get louder to hear their group. A wonderful dinner ruined. Keep groups separate from small tables. All could enjoy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food is wonderful, and great service ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food is wonderful, and great service. The only thing we miss is valet parking, I hope they would bring it back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, great service, wonderful a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Amazing food, great service, wonderful atmosphere! Went here our first night in Portland of a girls weekend trip and we were very pleased. The cocktails and food were amazing!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent. The food was ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The service was excellent. The food was not. Flavor of everything was simply "salt".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Everything about our dinner was excellen ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Everything about our dinner was excellent. We arrived earlier than our reservations and enjoyed a cocktail in the lively bar. The professional bartenders took good care of us. Our meal was delicious and the service was the very best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This visit to RingSide Fish was an annua ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This visit to RingSide Fish was an annual get together of six couples. With the exception of the delay in getting our table ready (20 minutes or so), the dinner was excellent in all respects, wine, food, service and noise level. Even though we were 12 people seated around a long table, we were able to speak to anyone and be heard.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a perfect evening. Delicious food ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Always a perfect evening. Delicious food and great service in a beautiful space.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The very best Halibut I have ever had... ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The very best Halibut I have ever had...worth traveling for and wish I was nearer to do it all over again!

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our anniversary here and e ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary here and enjoyed the dinner very much. I can highly recommend the tuna poke appetizer and the lobster risotto. Our server brought us a complimentary dessert of donuts with caramel sauce to help us celebrate -- a very nice touch. If only their wine list wasn't so overpriced...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server seemed preoccupied. Our arugu ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our server seemed preoccupied. Our arugula salad was not good. I believe all of our entrees were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We love the Ringside. If you want a pre ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We love the Ringside. If you want a premium steak it is the place to go. The Fish House also has great seafood.

Service is fantastic, ambiance is great.

It isn't cheap, so it is more of an event for us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose this restaurant because of it's ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We chose this restaurant because of it's convenient location to The Heathman and for the great reviews we read online. We certainly were not disappointed. The food was amazing (Lobster & Steak), wine spectacular and the service was above and beyond our expectations. Thank you to Levy for making our evening so enjoyable! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu options. The "before 6pm" 3 c ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great menu options. The "before 6pm" 3 course for $40 is a steal. Service and reception was impeccable. Perfect for a movie night.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for fine dining. Quiet enoug ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great spot for fine dining. Quiet enough for table conversation and decent space between tables. The food is very good and service is terrific. I find the atmosphere to be very friendly. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Katie was absolutely excellent with serv ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Katie was absolutely excellent with service and warm personality...great in all aspects

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was really tasty, ambience is nice. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Food was really tasty, ambience is nice. What was really bad was they water in broken glass which could be dangerous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The RingSide Fish House is a little diff ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The RingSide Fish House is a little difficult to find, being tucked away on the second floor of an office building. We entered on the wrong street so needed to navigate in and out of several doors to arrive at the restaurant.

Our greeting upon our arrival was very friendly. We were seated in nice booth with a view of the adjacent square. Our server was very nice if a little too much of a cheer leader.

We ordered what we thought would be regional specialties, i.e., fish; oysters. All (and I mean all) of the dishes were overly complicated and reaching for some critic's palate. What should have been local produce and fish, got lost in the preparation.

For what we received, the meal was not a great value.

Let the wonderful local produce and fish speak for itself. Stop trying so hard.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellence in seafood! Have been to Rin ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellence in seafood! Have been to Ringside Fish House previously and will most certainly return. We did note that they seem to have reduced the number of different types of fresh fish available on their menu and that portion sizes were smaller than in the past. Both of these are disturbing trends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We made a really good decision to celebr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We made a really good decision to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary here. From start to finish it was 5-star! The service was top notch. They made us feel real special. One of the best restaurants we've been to. Must try!! Must go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time there but will not be the las ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

First time there but will not be the last! Excellent service and food!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish House prices are high, but the qual ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Fish House prices are high, but the quality of food is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and attention from sta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Excellent service and attention from staff members made our dinner date one to remember. The food is delicious, well presented and is on my top 5 of favorites in the country.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the Ringside when I visit Portla ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I love the Ringside when I visit Portland. The Fish House just isn't at the same level as the downtown version. The shrimp salad I had as my lunch entree was quite small - I guess I expected something a bit grander for a salad named the 'Oregon Louie' and priced as a large salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Do not ever go to this restaurant. The w ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Do not ever go to this restaurant. The waiter didn't show up for 35 minutes. The bread took another 20 minutes. The mail promised was never served we walked out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

As always greatfood and service. A yearl ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

As always greatfood and service. A yearly bithday celebration that never disappoints Thank you for a special with family

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took some great friends here for dinner, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Took some great friends here for dinner, and this was their first time at the Ringside Fish House. They loved it! The Poke was amazing as were the steamer clams. I was disappointed the frites were not on the menu anymore, but these other appetizers made up for that.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Halibut collar appetizer was scrumptious ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Halibut collar appetizer was scrumptious. Risotto overwhelmed the lobster, however.

A good experience altogether--especially our very attentive waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was awesome. Service very deficien ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was awesome. Service very deficient, appetizer took 20 min to arrive , etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Excellent Service! Food neatly plated & ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent Service! Food neatly plated & delicious. Best for romantic dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and the food was fanta ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent service and the food was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We are longtime Ringside West customers. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We are longtime Ringside West customers. We were getting together as a family (10 of us) to celebrate our daughter leaving for college, and as a thanks to our parents for loaning us a car for a couple months. We had had quite a bit of steak recently, but we knew our daughter and my dad really wanted the ringside, so we thought we would try the fish house this time, since you can have steak and have more seafood options. The dinner was nice, and everyone seemed to enjoy their meals. We were disappointed that the onion rings were not the signature ones from the Ringside West though. Our service was great! Our server, Shannon, even brought out a desert with congrats written on it for our daughter which was really sweet of him.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated my wife's Birthday. Everyt ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We celebrated my wife's Birthday. Everything was excellent. the onion rings of course are always a favorite. the beet soup was outstanding. Both of the pre-theater menu entry selections (Salmon and Tenderloin/Shrimp) were very good and a good value. great variety of deserts along with a very good wine list. we live in the burbs and love to come downtown for the variety of seafood and steaks. validated parking next door really helps the overall experience. We'll be back!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.