About RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower

838 SW Park Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

A contemporary Northwest fish house with a modern accent. Expect the finest service as experienced servers guide you through the menu. The RingSide Fish House is the sibling of the Iconic RingSide SteakHouse and is honored to be chosen as one of Tom Horan's Top Ten Fish Houses in North America. The menu sources only the freshest seafood from local fish mongers and oysterman - but still has steaks and our "Famous Onion Rings"for those who want the classic RingSide experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Bar Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
SW Taylor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-3900

Website:
http://www.ringsidefishhouse.com/

Entertainment:
A perfect stop before the Theater, whether it be on the Big Screen or on the Stage. We have live music in the lounge on Friday and Saturday nights. Many diners find the ambiance of the restaurant overlooking Director Park as entertainment in itself.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Self-Parking is available in the Fox Tower Garage validated with the purchases of entrees. On-street parking is also available at posted rates.

Public Transit:
Located adjacent to the Pioneer Square MAX Station.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Gill

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Seafood Platter
fish&chips
Sweet corn risotto
Maine Lobster Tail
Seared Dayboat Scallops
Steak Bites
French Dip Sandwich
Cupcake Trio
Cioppino
Sauteed Mediterranean Bronzino
Pan-Seared Steelhead On A Bed Of Gnocchi And Panchetta
Hog Island Kumamoto Oysters
Pommes Frittes With Truffle Hollandaise And Crab Meat
Wild Salmon Cake Slider
Oysters, Clams And Shrimps
Oyster Happy Hour
Wagyu Filet Mignon Steak
Dungeness Crab Melt With Truffled Fries
Cedar Plank-Grilled King Salmon
Chocolate Mousse
Grilled Wild King Salmon
Crab Frittes
Seared Ahi Tuna
Filet Mignon With Oscar Topping
Vietnamese Style Kalimari

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Park Avenue Room is a private room that can accommodate up to 32 guests for meetings, parties, receptions or a sit down lunch or dinner.

RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (102)
fit for foodies (75)
notable wine list (53)
See All
romantic (51)
good for groups (40)
vibrant bar scene (32)
scenic view (27)
great for lunch (20)
neighborhood gem (16)
hot spot (16)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (5)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The server was very pleasant, attentive ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

The server was very pleasant, attentive and took our order quickly. The onion rings were fabulous and timely. The meal went south when the main course arrived. My husband's halibut was dry and over cooked. The filet mignon had a thick ribbon of fat going right thru the middle of the steak. It was so bad they took it back and brought out a new filet. By the time it was served the rest of the table had finished their meals. The wait staff apologized profusely, but did not offer up anything to compensate for the negative experience. This is an expensive restaurant where you would expect high quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

This was our second visit in the area an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our second visit in the area and we dined here a year ago. We had a great time so decided to go back. But was a disappointment with the service. Our sever had an attitude with our order and also charged us double on one of the meal. The halibut was not fresh. It took him to serve our food 45 min later and our wine order was 10 min later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

I came to dine alone. Unfortunately I wa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

I came to dine alone. Unfortunately I was seated near a celebrity of some sort and had to wait some time for the waiters to break away from fawning over the other table. I asked for bread with my meal which I had to ask for again after my meal came. I had read some review that the meals were reasonably priced. Well not at my pay level. It must have been a very wealthy person. $44 for prime rib. A dab of mashed potato and no salad no vegetable. Yikes.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Every now & then a restaurant's kitchen ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 7 days ago

Every now & then a restaurant's kitchen 'fails'. I'm a regular patron, but twice the ordered food was mediocre, bordering on tasteless. The special soft-shell crab fit that bill last week. There are two or three outstanding fish restaurants in PDX& Ringside can't afford the inattention in the kitchen - especially at the price. Service, as always, was flawless from greeting to wait staff. I love the ambience, & I'll give the Fish House another try, but tighten up kitchen/chef quality- especially when I'm entertaining friends from out of town who know excellence!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

We went early for happy hour drinks, and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We went early for happy hour drinks, and that was SO worth it - the staff there are top-rate, they offered options for transferring the bill over and were extremely knowledgeable about local ciders and beers. The meal itself was phenomenal, cooked to perfection and just the right portions! I got the three course meal and everything was top-notch. I will be going again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A bit disappointing. While there was no ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

A bit disappointing. While there was nothing really wrong, we were quite under-whelmed by the food and the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Absolutely wonderful and would recommend ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Absolutely wonderful and would recommend this restaurant in a heartbeat! Our waiter was terrific! We will return on our next visit to Portland.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were only in Portland for one day and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were only in Portland for one day and chose this restaurant based on reviews. We were not disappointed. The halibut appetizer was excellent, the local salmon was great, and the duck was expertly prepared. We definitely will come back next time we are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nancy was great, fun and friendly with j ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Nancy was great, fun and friendly with just the right amount of attention. The food and wine were fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were wonderful

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food and service were wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An important timing note: location is in ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

An important timing note: location is in downtown and there is no valet parking. Parking lot is located in Fox tower so allow added time to park and get to restaurant.

I think I had higher expectations, so not that there was anything bad, I just was under impressed.

Greeted well, restaurant ambience was very nice, all those who assisted us in our dining were very pleasant except our waiter was like a wet rag to us, sorry to say. And he wasn't that way to every table. He seemed to have a little more personality with another table and went in depth in explaining dishes but I think he was as impressed with us as we were with him. Too bad for that bc the food was excellent! Clams, delicious! Delicious sauce, succulent.

The shrimp Louie salad, crisp, fresh and very tasty.

Prime rib, was more lean than I'm used to so not as melt in your mouth as a more fatty piece but perfectly done to our order and very tasty. Salmon, delicious; cooked pink in the center as explained but a little too rare in the center bc it was a very thick piece. Best salmon skin preparation I have ever had, though, excellent! Dessert menu did not intrigue me and waiter didn't really seem to care if we ordered dessert or not so we didn't, paid out bill and left.

It was our anniversary and we made that note in our reservation with the restaurant, but they made no effort to greet us any differently. Not that that's expected but since it was asked if we were celebrating anything special, I would think they would make that acknowledgment or not even ask.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Awesome as always !! Our waiter, Jeffre ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Awesome as always !! Our waiter, Jeffrey ... we will request him next time we dine with you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Great food and ser ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent experience. Great food and service. Servers worked together. Good teamwork, Manager even cleaned used plates.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was cooked to perfection. The serv ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was cooked to perfection.

The service was perfect.

The ambience was excellent.

We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was fantastic! I wish I recal ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our server was fantastic! I wish I recalled her name!! Really went the extra mile to ensure we had a great meal. Even checked several times with others about local wines we were considering to ensure they would meet our tastes. That said, we were surprised there was no sommelier. Food was mixed- some very small portions- but overall excellent. The lobster soup and entrée were standouts and the clams were quite tasty though a little sandy. They offered to replace them but I declined. They did bring us two desserts on the house. Our party of 4 left very full and happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Very good food amd wine. Seafood excelle ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very good food amd wine. Seafood excellent and very nice service

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The atmosphere and food were very nice b ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The atmosphere and food were very nice but the service was inattentive and slow. They were apologetic but it didn't improve much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We have eaten lunch here twice now and c ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We have eaten lunch here twice now and consider it one of our favorite restaurants. We were so happy with our first visit to Ringside that we returned on our following trip to downtown Portland. The food and beverages are outstanding and the service is superior.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was perfectly prepared, the experie ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was perfectly prepared, the experience was equally enjoyed. Will definitely be back next time to Portland!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server helped us with the wine list, ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our server helped us with the wine list, resulting in us finding two new great favorites!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent but service slow. Wa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was excellent but service slow. Wait staff good, food took forever then came out wrong and took forever again to get it corrected.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was great but it was expensive for ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was great but it was expensive for what was served. I say this with experience dinning in expensive fine dining restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was one of the best meals we have e ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was one of the best meals we have ever had in Portland ! (and we are long time diner-outers) The service and food were fantastic.. although we have had happy hour in the bar several times we have never eaten in the restaurant and were surprised how superb it was., We will be back! Thanks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We chose the location because of conveni ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We chose the location because of convenience to Concert Hall.

Curry vegetable soup was too oily with pepper oil. Server kindly provided serving without the oil, which improved it, but wouldn't order it again.

Entrees were FABULOUS! I had scallops with carrot puree, she had surf and turf (beef great but shrimp a little overdone) Beautiful presentation.

Pot o creme was nice but dark chocolate vs milk chocolate could improve it!

GREAT Moscow mules :)

Thanks - we will come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Dinner was a disappointment. Service was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Dinner was a disappointment. Service was mediocre, and the food was not as good as we had hoped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Superior selection of food, excellent ra ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Superior selection of food, excellent raw oysters, quiet location, wait staff was attentive...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Anniversary dinner was special. We will ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Anniversary dinner was special. We will return for happy hour.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was good, service was very poor ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was good, service was very poor. I overall this was a disappointing dinner experience, especially as it was our 10th wedding anniversary celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Service and ambiance were great, lovely ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service and ambiance were great, lovely view out the window. Food was not as tasty as I would expect for the price. Salad was a little dry and steak for the price didn't cut it for me and I would not order it again. Shrimp was quite tasty, and I would order this again. Frankly the best part of the meal was the onion rings. I would eat here again as it is rated so high, maybe they were having an off night in the kitchen.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We were a 4-top. Everything your staff a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were a 4-top. Everything your staff and kitchen did to make our evening special was greatly appreciated. Thanks to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We truly enjoyed our dinner. Nick was a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We truly enjoyed our dinner. Nick was an excellent server, knew Oregon wines and made very helpful comments about our travel to the Dundee Hills wine area. The food was fresh and well-prepared, including the rhubarb crumble for dessert. We were not rushed and felt we were treated as returning, long-time guests. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, as always, was great and nicely pr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food, as always, was great and nicely presented. Only issue was the service from the waitress, the rest of the staff were very nice and professional. The waitress was very rude and condescending - I really didn't need her to point out which fork is my salad fork or to snap at my husband when he talked with her about waiting for our guest to show up before ordering drinks (they arrived within 5 minuets of us sitting down).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Good food nice workers can't wait to com ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Good food nice workers can't wait to comeback to have good food

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice experience. Our waiter, Arti p ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Very nice experience. Our waiter, Arti provided a service pace that was memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been here twice and will not go ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We have been here twice and will not go back. The famous onion rings are only half as good as the ones on Burnside. Too many Portland spots are far better to have it on our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Lovely restaurant with the best fish and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Lovely restaurant with the best fish and chips ever!

Very friendly receptionist and servers.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood tower was outstanding

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Seafood tower was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service , very attentive and profe ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great service , very attentive and professional ....and wonderful food!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very attentive staff and excellent food. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Very attentive staff and excellent food. We enjoyed the seafood platter and some other sides and appetizers and left very satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.