Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower

A contemporary Northwest fish house with a modern accent. Expect the finest service as experienced servers guide you through the menu. The RingSide Fish House is the sibling of the Iconic RingSide SteakHouse and is honored to be chosen as one of Tom Horan's Top Ten Fish Houses in North America. The menu sources only the freshest seafood from local fish mongers and oysterman - but still has steaks and our "Famous Onion Rings"for those who want the classic RingSide experience.

838 SW Park Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Bar Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00am
Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00am
Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SW Taylor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-3900

Website:
http://www.ringsidefishhouse.com/

Entertainment:
A perfect stop before the Theater, whether it be on the Big Screen or on the Stage. We have live music in the lounge on Friday and Saturday nights. Many diners find the ambiance of the restaurant overlooking Director Park as entertainment in itself.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Self-Parking is available in the Fox Tower Garage validated with the purchases of entrees. On-street parking is also available at posted rates.

Public Transit:
Located adjacent to the Pioneer Square MAX Station.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Gill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Park Avenue Room is a private room that can accommodate up to 32 guests for meetings, parties, receptions or a sit down lunch or dinner.

RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (77)
Good for a Date (60)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
See All
Good for Birthdays (50)
Pre/post Theatre (42)
Notable Wine List (40)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Business Meals (37)
Romantic (32)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Happy Hour (25)
Local Ingredients (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Modern Decor (22)
Scenic View (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Healthy (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Fun (13)
Cozy (13)
Authentic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
People Watching (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Casual (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Seasonal (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Private Room (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (3)
Historic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1505 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Had dinner to celebrate a birthday. The staff did an amazing job of making the evening special, from having a personalized hand written card at the table upon our arrival, to a complimentary birthday desert with a candle and birthday message. Ringside is top notch and will become a go to for us moving forward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

We had been to Ringside Fish House for happy hour, which is fun, but this was our first time in for a formal dinner. The service was impeccable. The cocktails are well-crafted, and there are some nice wines offered by the glass in addition to a very nice bottle list. The true test was the food, and they aced it! The dishes were very creative - the perfectly cooked seared scallops were served on a bed of rich, creamy carrot risotto with sugar snap peas and carrot top pesto - to die for! The roasted sole dish was served with a lovely chive broth, tiny rockfish dumplings, and roasted radishes and maitake mushrooms - light and fresh with clean, beautiful flavors. The generous entrees, along with the Pearl Bakery bread and butter, were the perfect amount of food. The dishes are spendy enough to keep this from being an everyday dining spot for us, but we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Another great experience at my favorite place in Portland. Just the best for dining, lunch or dinner.
Cheers to the wait staff and the management group who provide top-notch service on a continued basis.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Eastet dinner was awesome Katie our server was awesome.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 17, 2017

always one of our most favorite stops when we are in Portland. We continue to return. never disappointed.
The service is always incredibly terrific.
The food is always perfect.

We changed our reservation multiple times for Easter Sunday.
Dinner, and the staff was always most gracious and took care of us, with grace.

WE WILL BE BACK

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was great, except I ordered my King Salmon medium rare and it was served "well done" and as a result was dry. Ruined a good piece of King Salmon. I should have returned it but I wanted to eat with the rest of my party.

I would have rated everything as a five if it wasn't for my entre.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Meal served without a salad or vegetable side which was surprising consider meal price. Mashed potatoes very salty. Steak was excellent as was the service. Short poor on wine. Poor value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We visit this restaurant frequently and always have a great experience! It is a great seafood place and the atmosphere is beautiful but not stuffy. Service is always wonderful. We are regulars for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The service was excellent. We cannot say enough about how attentive the staff was to every detail of our meal. The appetizers were wonderful and the entrees were more than we expected in quality. Altogether a great restaurant. We will make this one of our regular haunts.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Had an exceptional experience here. The service, the food, and the surroundings were all above expectations. My friend and I wanted to take our time and linger over each course, Nick and his support staff were very accommodating. Attentive , but not hovering. All our needs and special requests were met with a smile. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We were completely surprised by how good our meals were. My rockfish was superbly prepared in a delicate broth with cloud like dumplings. The onion rings are of course fantastic. I was excited to see a Pegu Club on the cocktail menu - tasty, classic and reasonably priced. The menu was inventive and expertly delivered. The wine list had a few unusual bottles at reasonable prices - another pleasant surprise. This place moves to the top for pre-theater downtown dining. It's not at all what you'd expect from a downtown office tower. Go.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The entire staff was lovely and helpful. Our waiter was kind and helped us out since it was our first time dining at the Fox Tower. I personally loved the stake. The 28 dry rub New York was so tasty

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Everything was excellent. A bit pricy but wonderful food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Birthday! Great food service & desert

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Lobster was under cooked, meal was cold. Way to much salt was a big problem with the food. Service was slow and waiter forgot melted butter x2 and tried to sell his own wine to us. That made me feel uncomfortable. His nice attitude felt forced. It's not the ringside that I once remembered as one of my top five restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Met an out of town business associate for dinner here. Food was great and the waitress (Natalie) was friendly and attentive. Would definitely go back. The bar also looks like a great place for some pre-movie drinks and snacks.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Once we left the restaurant my family and I couldn't stop talking about our wonderful dining experience we had. Thank you Ringside Fish House!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Seasonal, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had a nice evening with attentive service Food was excellent. Ambience was above average.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Clay was wonderful! Had a wonderful dinner and celebration for our birthdays! 🍾🍷😄

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great restaurant. The food was fabulous and our server was awesome!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful seafood. I had the halibut and it was to die for. My wife loved the salmon. We'll go back next time we're in Portland

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Our first impression of RingSide Fish House was the wave of noise that washed over us as we stepped from the elevator. Under other circumstances we would have gotten back into the elevator and left, but it was my husband's birthday and I'd promised him Maine lobster tail. At $50, the lobster with gnocchi was quite good and not especially over-priced. I had the Portland Dining Month special 3 course. To give the restaurant credit, there was no skimping on portions, as has been reported at other places. The soup d'jour (creamed squash) was a little on the spicy side but beautifully prepared and presented. The Medallions of Beef, on the other hand, ordered medium rare, ranged from medium well to very well done and was unexpectedly chewy. I chose the options of added prawns for $9 and was not disappointed as all three were fine. The primary problem was that there was absolutely nothing out of the ordinary about any of the flavors, preparations, or presentation of the dish. My overall evaluation is that for the prices on the menu, there are quite a number of alternative dining choices where better food can be had for similar or better prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

No longer have valet parking. Wished they had advised us when we made the reservation. I wouldn't have taken my car if I knew that.
Very loud noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Excellent food and service. Menu claimed 'half pound of clams' appetizer but was really a full pound and is was very good. Excellent wine list

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Very classy establishment right down town. Very good place for Pacific Northwest Seafood. I took some important Japanese customers to dinner and they enjoyed the ambiance and meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We were looking for a place for fish and the hotel recommended Ringside. The food was good but the salmon one of us ordered was not as fresh as we would have wanted. It was a little early in the season for fresh salmon so a different choice would have been better. All the other food was good. Miguel was our waiter and he has very friendly. The service was good.

Tags: Disabled Access, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great food especially the appetizers. Good value for happy hour. Try any of the fish items. Always fresh. Steak is excellent. Great wine list by the glass

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Waiter was very inattentive - had to ask other wait staff for assistance and hunt down check. -

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Lunch is always a treat at Ringside Fish House. Service is outstanding, and David, our server yesterday, made sure our menu choices were on the spot. Their menu has a lot of great choices, which means it's worth a repeat visit just to sample other items. The Hostess and the Manager both stopped by to say hello and to make sure all was well. That's 'caring about the customer to the nth degree'!
Can hardly wait to return. I love their steamers, fish and chips, onion rings, and grilled salmon to name a few.
Top spot in downtown Portland!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We came from a matinee at the Keller and had 5 pm reservations. Were seated promptly and were one of only two tables occupied at that time. We had noted in our reservation that we had one gluten intolerant diner but our waiter was not able to answer any questions about the menu and had to keep running back to the chef for answers. No notations on menu or gf menu were available. We spent about 15 mins waiting for all gf questions to be answered and ordered our soup. By the time we got the soup the rest of the tables were filling up. Our soup came fairly promptly, but by 6:25 we still had not been served our entree. Note: we had been seated since 5 pm! Every table had been served way before we got ours and they had all come in after we had! Food was pretty good but the wait was way too long. Glad we were coming in after the play and not before because it would have been pretty stressful not knowing if we would be out in time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great table, very good service. Portland Dining Month menu was outstanding value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We took the Max from our home in the West Hills downtown and walked a few steps to Ringside for a delicious, relaxed dinner before our evening lecture at Newmark Theatre!

Perfect!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wonderful service-- professional! Food beautifully presented.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

A group of us met here pre-concert. Our group included a diabetic and a vegetarian and everyone was able to choose from several options.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vegan, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have loved their bar and happy hour in the past and had dinner once before. This time we showed up an hour early for our reservation at 8:15pm. We were not seated until 8:30 and then it took a long time between courses such that we were there past 11. I get a dining experience but this was just comically slow. The charcutterie plate was mostly bad with small salty/ musty portions. We ordered the "taste of Portland" medallions of beef and added prawns which included soup and dessert. Soup was salty and greasy. Prawns were small and salty. The meat was well-prepared but salty. Theme: salty food. With a few drinks, over $150. Other than a drink in the bar, We won't return with the amazing dining choices in Portland. FYI, not that picky but just not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service stands out here. Someone will take your coat before you sit down, water glasses and bread baskets stay filled, and concerns get addressed promptly. They take their fish seriously-- I had a wonderful selection of fresh oysters to start. My girlfriend had fresh halibut which was cooked to perfection. I had lobster tail which I found to be somewhat underdone but it was served with an incredible squash risotto. I noted on the comment card that the lobster was underdone and the manager came to see me immediately to discuss. I offered that perhaps the chef simply had a different vision for lobster than what I am used to, and the manager suggested that perhaps they need to reconsider the recipe. While I probably won't order the lobster again, I would go back in heartbeat as the food and service is done with wonderful care.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The best place to go in Portland. Always happy with the food, service, and atmosphere.
Very enjoyable. Wait staff: Alicia, David, and Kel, and their assistants are top-notch!
They indicate an excellent management team overseeing the operation.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Very slow and disjointed service. Way to pricey for the quality

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great view of the shopping plaza below with attentive service. Portland Dining Month menu filled the stomach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.