About RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower

838 SW Park Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

A contemporary Northwest fish house with a modern accent. Expect the finest service as experienced servers guide you through the menu. The RingSide Fish House is the sibling of the Iconic RingSide SteakHouse and is honored to be chosen as one of Tom Horan's Top Ten Fish Houses in North America. The menu sources only the freshest seafood from local fish mongers and oysterman - but still has steaks and our "Famous Onion Rings"for those who want the classic RingSide experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Bar Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
SW Taylor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-3900

Website:
http://www.ringsidefishhouse.com/

Entertainment:
A perfect stop before the Theater, whether it be on the Big Screen or on the Stage. We have live music in the lounge on Friday and Saturday nights. Many diners find the ambiance of the restaurant overlooking Director Park as entertainment in itself.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Self-Parking is available in the Fox Tower Garage validated with the purchases of entrees. On-street parking is also available at posted rates.

Public Transit:
Located adjacent to the Pioneer Square MAX Station.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Gill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Seafood Platter - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
fish&chips - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Maine Lobster Tail - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Seared Dayboat Scallops - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Sweet corn risotto - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Steak Bites - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
French Dip Sandwich - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Pan-Seared Steelhead On A Bed Of Gnocchi And Panchetta - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Cupcake Trio - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Cioppino - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Sauteed Mediterranean Bronzino - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Hog Island Kumamoto Oysters - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Pommes Frittes With Truffle Hollandaise And Crab Meat - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Wild Salmon Cake Slider - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Oyster Happy Hour - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Oysters, Clams And Shrimps - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Wagyu Filet Mignon Steak - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Dungeness Crab Melt With Truffled Fries - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Cedar Plank-Grilled King Salmon - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Grilled Wild King Salmon - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Chocolate Mousse - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Vietnamese Style Kalimari - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Crab Frittes - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Seared Ahi Tuna - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR
Filet Mignon With Oscar Topping - RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower, Portland, OR

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us for a romantic evening of dining at its finest. Chef Gill is preparing a Winter Chicory Salad and a beautiful Black Cod Bouillabaisse. We will have live music and gifts for all our Valentines ~ Make your reservation now, Friday 2/10 -Tuesday 2/14. Complimentary parking @ the Fox Tower.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Park Avenue Room is a private room that can accommodate up to 32 guests for meetings, parties, receptions or a sit down lunch or dinner.

RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for a Date (38)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Romantic (29)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Business Meals (24)
Local Ingredients (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Scenic View (11)
Cozy (11)
Healthy (9)
Fun (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Authentic (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Private Room (7)
Casual (7)
People Watching (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Music (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1399 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoy going to the Fish House. It is ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoy going to the Fish House. It is always good, from the onion rings, through the main course and to dessert. They were having a $35.00 special Surf 'n Turf. so we ordered it. The food was, as usual, prepared right and presented nicely. This is a go to place for us, and we are extremely rarely disappointed. In fact, I cannot remember the last time we were.

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The quality of the food was superior! A ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The quality of the food was superior! And our server was professional and accommodating. We were comfortable in a banquette, and the atmosphere was calm and conducive to conversation. But the food really is the reason we will return for special occasions. Ringside Fish House is now one of our favorite restaurants in Portland. Thank you for your high standards!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soup good but too salty. Ive had this ha ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Soup good but too salty. Ive had this happen before. 3 course prix fixe menu very nice. Beef shoulder cut a nice surprise, prawn good too The pot de creme was especially luscious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I took an out of state friend to Ringsid ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I took an out of state friend to Ringside Fish House before the symphony. The food was wonderful and the waiters were delightful. Their signature lobster soup was divine--next time I will order a bowl rather than a cup and just have a side of their delicious roasted Brussels sprouts.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ringside Fish House is our go-to when we ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Ringside Fish House is our go-to when we are going to a show at the Schnitz or Keller

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very noisy, over priced for amount of fo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very noisy, over priced for amount of food. Ordered scallops for dinner, received 4 scallops with 4 small half inch potatoes in cream sauce for $40 and nothing else. Had to ask for bread, when arrived it was cold and hard, had to tear it off, then tried to knall it through. steamer clams with green sauce that was salty and gritty. Food was beautifully presented but not much to eat. Water never refilled till bills arrived then she came by and said "didn't mean to leave you parched. " bill came to $100 for 2 people and left hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The service was impeccable. The food was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was impeccable. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, service and atmosphere! I'll ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere! I'll definitely come back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner here before th ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner here before the Symphony on New Year's Eve. Professional server Levy and the team took great care with speed and attention, and every dish was delicious and well presented. The onion rings and clams were fantastic, and we selected each of the pre-theater options. We will certainly return! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dinning experiences I ha ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of the best dinning experiences I have encountered in a long time....from the customer service to the AWESOME food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First off the food was excellent! We we ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First off the food was excellent!

We were however VERY disappointed in the seating. We were seated in a booth 4 feet from where they had a party of 7 waiting for a table. This is poor planning on the part of the seating arrangement, an although we asked the host if they had anyplace else for people to wait and they said no. This booth puts diners literally in the main throuhfare, and impossible to have a decent conversation.

We will be most careful when seated in the future, they did not even offer to move us.

It may well keep us cautious about returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value5

We like to eat here when downtown becaus ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We like to eat here when downtown because the food is good, and you can people watch if you have a window table. The restaurant is on the 2nd floor so you look down on the plaza/fountain area on 9th. It is fairly quiet so is a good place for conversation. The service staff are attentive, and the food is good. I am a fish & chips person, and the Ringside Fish House has the best that I have found.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting diverse menu, the best for S ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Interesting diverse menu, the best for Seafoods. Oysters, Clams and Fish are highlight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and fantastic service. Gr ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent food and fantastic service. Great wine list.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff was awesome and the food ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The wait staff was awesome and the food was incredible.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Worst ever!!!! We waited 1 hour for a sa ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Worst ever!!!!

We waited 1 hour for a salad and then they told us they were backed up in the kitchen and offered us a mango sorbet to cleanse our pallet - what? We didn't eat anything! Then we spoke to management and they apologized but our food was still 20 minutes later and over salted and too much cheese on everything - way way overpriced! Don't go !

So disappointing for Christmas Eve dinner. Management did take money off our bill but after 1:30 who cares!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Lovely restaurant. We were seated at a s ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Lovely restaurant. We were seated at a small booth for two right in the entry way. A bit busy for a night out, but other than that, everything was wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

What a wonderful dinner and the service ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

What a wonderful dinner and the service off the charts. We enjoyed the 3 course dinner, each prepared amazingly. Our waiter Nick was beyond excellent. We will be back and hopefully have a chance to have Nick to assist us with a GREAT dinner.

This restaurant is a 10!!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our son turned 16 and we wanted to take ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our son turned 16 and we wanted to take he and some of his friends to a special place for dinner. He was so over burgers and pizza, I truly wanted to go celebrate in style. When I asked him what kind of a restaurant you would like to go to for dinner he said some place with amazing food, Great service, A cool atmosphere, - a place I can come hang out with my friends. I researched for about a week and discovered Ringside Fish House. And you know the crazy part about it is we been in the Portland area for over 20 years and this is the first time we've ever come here. What the heck is wrong with us!? This place is owned by the Peterson family, third-generation owners of Ringside Steakhouse, which has been around many many years. So we all dressed up, and arrived at the restaurant around 6:30pm. We were seated promptly at lovely table overlooking the city. Our server was just a delight. The team they had assisting him was great as well. There was not a thing that we were needing or wanting – they were very attentive. We began our meal with delicious cocktails and appetizers. When you go to this place you have got to try their onion rings. They are famous for their onion rings. Seriously – you haven't had an onion ring until you have one of theirs. The grilled octopus with chard citrus vinaigrette and shaved fennel was spot on. It went well with the lemon drop martini I was enjoying.

The hits of the night- The classic seafood cocktail made with giant jumbo prawns. Delicious. The surf and turf was delicious and tender. The fish house Cioppino, he said was amazing.

The misses of the night- The grilled prawns and the butter lobster was overly salty. And I'm not sure what I was thinking when I ordered Kabocha Gnocchi. It was finished with bacon and maple syrup and tasted like a mushy pancake.

We dropped over $800 plus a tip for a party of eight - The service alone was worth it. 👍👍👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A month ago I had a really great lunch a ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

A month ago I had a really great lunch at the Ringside I thought I'd try it for dinner, but for some reason it was just OK. I had to send back my scallops back to be reheated and when they returned they were still barely warm. Maybe I'll just stick to lunch there!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful place! Great food & cocktails ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Wonderful place! Great food & cocktails! Impeccable service though I think earlier in the meal our waiter checked on us more than he needed to!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was pretty slow - took about 50m ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Service was pretty slow - took about 50m to get our main course meaning we had to bolt it down prior to a movie date.

Has the salt and pepper calamari to start and it was I recognizable as calamari - just fried stuff that was a bit chewy and cold.

Main course was good.

Nice ambiance but the slow service took the fun out of it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Great menu. I would give the food outsta ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great menu. I would give the food outstanding, but my filet mignon was overcooked (asked for medium rare and it came out medium, close to well done). The made up for it by comping me a dessert which was very good. The service was outstanding and I'd ask for Gabriel as my serve next time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Natalie was a great waitress. Very atten ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Natalie was a great waitress. Very attentive and made a great suggestion to spilt our salad and entree. Which turned out to be perfect, other wise we would have had a lot of leftovers. Loved our service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, , Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food, quiet environment. Really en ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Good food, quiet environment. Really enjoyed the onion ring appetizer.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, but there was a breez ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food was good, but there was a breeze and so I was not real comfortable with the chill

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

An overall lovely evening but our entree ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

An overall lovely evening but our entrees were not to the outstanding level we expected. Squash salad was crunchy, and sole entree bland and disappointing. Cioppino was delicious but with nontraditional thickened broth. Service and ambiance were outstanding!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Impeccable service, excellent food and s ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Impeccable service, excellent food and selection and knowledgeable wait staff. We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of my favorite restaurants a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants and it did not let me down. The food was fabulous, the service even better and it was a great start to our night. We made it to the Schnitz on time and happy!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent, as was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food and service were excellent, as was the ambiance.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love coming here for lunch. Our party ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I love coming here for lunch. Our party has special dietary needs and they are wonderful about accommodating them. The food is delicious, creatively prepared, always with wonderful sauces. The desserts are amazing. The staff is warm, welcoming and attentive without being intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best seafood in Portland and our wai ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The best seafood in Portland and our waiter Derek was one of our all-time favs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After multiple near-perfect visits to th ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 7, 2016

After multiple near-perfect visits to the Ringside Fish House, we had a really bad night there. The following is information I shared with management in a review card with my contact information, but no one responded. We ordered two "28 day dry aged New York" steaks, one medium rare, one with "no pink." The medium rare steak was properly prepared but was utterly tasteless and dry. The "no pink" came back with a lot of pink so we sent it back. It came back with no pink the second time, but was completely dry and chewy. One of the steaks was refunded, which we appreciated (I believe they were $53 each). But the overall evening was not good and we're terribly disappointed. The only reason I'm giving this restaurant two stars overall is because the service we received was excellent (plus, I have fond memories of this place). I don't know if we'll go back, especially seeing how management did not respond to my comments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Comfortable seating, warm service, great ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Comfortable seating, warm service, great food! Never disappointed here.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a night out with mom and everything ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Was a night out with mom and everything was great. Love it!!! Our server was awesome.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the city view and the cuisine ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We enjoyed the city view and the cuisine. Excellent.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ringside Fish House is a great "date nig ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Ringside Fish House is a great "date night" (movie & dinner downtown) place for dinner. The perfect booth for two just inside the dining room entrance makes for a cozy, romantic way to complete a night on the town. Fish preparation is some of the best in town and my cedar plank steelhead and my husband's surf & turf was no exception. Service has always been excellent, but this time is seemed even more special because of our server, Lucinda who was in training.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and service. You cannot ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent food and service. You cannot find a better more interesting desert menu anywhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group of 6 came in for dinner Thursd ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our group of 6 came in for dinner Thursday night before Amy Schumer and we were so glad we did! Our team of servers made sure that we got our food out quickly, everyone was having a great time, and we all felt well taken care of.

Its a comfortable restaurant and great for groups before an event, movie (being the theater is right next door), or even just an impromptu get together.

Thank you and we will see you again soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, People Watching, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent and the food g ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The service was excellent and the food good. We were seated at the window which was great, but we also were privileged to watch the homeless being fed. :-(

The food was good, but I thought a tad over priced for what we got. That's downtown PDX.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.