Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower

A contemporary Northwest fish house with a modern accent. Expect the finest service as experienced servers guide you through the menu. The RingSide Fish House is the sibling of the Iconic RingSide SteakHouse and is honored to be chosen as one of Tom Horan's Top Ten Fish Houses in North America. The menu sources only the freshest seafood from local fish mongers and oysterman - but still has steaks and our "Famous Onion Rings"for those who want the classic RingSide experience.

838 SW Park Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Bar Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00am
Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00am
Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SW Taylor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-3900

Website:
http://www.ringsidefishhouse.com/

Entertainment:
A perfect stop before the Theater, whether it be on the Big Screen or on the Stage. We have live music in the lounge on Friday and Saturday nights. Many diners find the ambiance of the restaurant overlooking Director Park as entertainment in itself.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Self-Parking is available in the Fox Tower Garage validated with the purchases of entrees. On-street parking is also available at posted rates.

Public Transit:
Located adjacent to the Pioneer Square MAX Station.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Gill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Park Avenue Room is a private room that can accommodate up to 32 guests for meetings, parties, receptions or a sit down lunch or dinner.

RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (68)
Good for a Date (55)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
See All
Good for Birthdays (44)
Pre/post Theatre (43)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Romantic (32)
Notable Wine List (32)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Business Meals (29)
Happy Hour (28)
Great for Lunch (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Groups (19)
Modern Decor (19)
Bar Seating (15)
Healthy (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Casual (13)
Scenic View (13)
Cozy (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (10)
Fun (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
People Watching (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Seasonal (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Private Room (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Historic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1473 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 15 hours ago

Great table, very good service. Portland Dining Month menu was outstanding value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful service-- professional! Food beautifully presented.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

A group of us met here pre-concert. Our group included a diabetic and a vegetarian and everyone was able to choose from several options.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vegan, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have loved their bar and happy hour in the past and had dinner once before. This time we showed up an hour early for our reservation at 8:15pm. We were not seated until 8:30 and then it took a long time between courses such that we were there past 11. I get a dining experience but this was just comically slow. The charcutterie plate was mostly bad with small salty/ musty portions. We ordered the "taste of Portland" medallions of beef and added prawns which included soup and dessert. Soup was salty and greasy. Prawns were small and salty. The meat was well-prepared but salty. Theme: salty food. With a few drinks, over $150. Other than a drink in the bar, We won't return with the amazing dining choices in Portland. FYI, not that picky but just not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service stands out here. Someone will take your coat before you sit down, water glasses and bread baskets stay filled, and concerns get addressed promptly. They take their fish seriously-- I had a wonderful selection of fresh oysters to start. My girlfriend had fresh halibut which was cooked to perfection. I had lobster tail which I found to be somewhat underdone but it was served with an incredible squash risotto. I noted on the comment card that the lobster was underdone and the manager came to see me immediately to discuss. I offered that perhaps the chef simply had a different vision for lobster than what I am used to, and the manager suggested that perhaps they need to reconsider the recipe. While I probably won't order the lobster again, I would go back in heartbeat as the food and service is done with wonderful care.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The best place to go in Portland. Always happy with the food, service, and atmosphere.
Very enjoyable. Wait staff: Alicia, David, and Kel, and their assistants are top-notch!
They indicate an excellent management team overseeing the operation.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Very slow and disjointed service. Way to pricey for the quality

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great view of the shopping plaza below with attentive service. Portland Dining Month menu filled the stomach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

It is a bit of on pricy side, but good services and comfortable environment make you feel it is worth it. We tend to order a bottle, but not here. It is too pricy that we cannot afford it. food was great and everyone enjoyed it. We will come back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Good time and great service, quiet enough for six people to have a conversation. My Sturgeon was super, my SO ordered Lobster and was disappointed it wasn't served on a half shell. Timing of service was good allowing plenty of time to talk to our friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This was our first dining experience at Ringside Fish House and we will return. The food was delicious and the service impeccable, but we frequent other places where the cooking is more "creative." In all fairness, to base a review on one experience requires at least another return or two to provide a fuller basis for the critique.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Always fun and good food. The service at the Fishhouse is the best for attention and food and wine suggestions. I am partial to the view, just one story above the street where I can observe what's going on outside. In the warm months when the trees are leafy, diners can feel as though they are in a treehouse. This time we had fish and chips. The cod was fresh, never frozen, and was cooked to perfection, moist inside and crusty on the outside. Of course the onion rings must always be ordered -best in the world. A decent slaw was served on the side as well as French fries. The milk chocolate pot de creme served with dark cherries, was smooth as silk and delicious.
One of my favorite places to eat.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good experience, staff top notch!! The menu for the dining month was poor. Squid ? Squid is the least seafood item people want. But i would come again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything was superb except my lobster. It was cooked with the Sous Vide method and resulted in a very mushy texture that I did not enjoy. I would have preferred a traditional cooking method but it was not offered when I mentioned it to the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Ate at Ringside Fish House as part of Portland Dining Month. The menu selection was varied and great. Our server was very attentive and did a great job recommending wine selections. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Was not impressed. We came for the Portland March Dining promotion and was selecting from the prix fixe menu. Salad choice was good, squid noodle entree was unimpressive. Sounded good on the menu description, but was not worth the money. Dessert was great! Hard to go wrong with chocolate pot de cream with sour cherries and Chantilly cream. Overall, too expensive for what you get. The waiter was snippy. The other wait staff was friendly and attentive. I will not be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great Place. Great lunches and dinners.
The best place to take out-of-town friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 7, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the oysters ($1 each on Mondays!), the salad and the dessert. The steak medallions were good, although could have used more seasoning. They were also a little dry. Overall still very good, but I've had better steak.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The service at Ringside restaurants is amongst the best in the city--professional and understated. The quality of the food is outstanding, and we especially enjoy the fresh oysters, cioppino, and warm cinnamon doughnuts. This restaurant overlooks a downtown park with lively activity, and is centrally located. Altogether wonderful, and a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were celebrating our 22nd Wedding Anniversary and the staff, food and company were amazing. The food was incredible, and the donuts were amazing!! Our waitress was very attentive and made the evening a joy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wonderful food and atmosphere. When making a reservation be sure to request a window seat. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was delicious and service impeccable. Waiter was sensitive to the fact that we had a show to get to. Also, very accommodating for a 3yr and infant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service was excellent. The soup was the best and so were the prawns. The prime rib was mouth watering.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Good food, nick was great, made for a great evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance. Perfect for a midday business meeting.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Service, food, ambiance, it was all there! We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at Ringside fish house. Natalie our server was outstanding, her knowledge of the menu was great, and her service and attendance to our table was 5 star! Already looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

This was a delightful surprise... We are from Louisiana and visiting Portland OR and not familiar with the area at all... A local recommended this restaurant along with Ringside steak house but it was further away from our hotel... and the waiter was wonderful... A definite one we would go back to when in the area again..

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wonderful dinner. My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here. Food was delicious! Service was wonderful. Crab cakes are to die for! 10/10

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed coming out for dinner. You can't beat the seafood selection and wonderful wine pairing. To boot, you get a romantic ambiance that is not overly stated.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The Ringside Fish House offers a beautiful, open bar and restaurant. The Happy Hour is exceptional . The ambience and decor makes for a great experience and the selection of food in the restaurant was better than expected. We were celebrating a birthday, and we enjoyed our evening very much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy, Historic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Long a favorite, but seems to be slipping. Smaller menu but younger, very attentive staff. Must be trying to attract younger diners - which is good so long as their standards don't slip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Didn't have main dishes so can't comment on those, but the salad and bisque were excellent. The only downside is that they -- and the rest of the menu, including wine -- are very expensive. As long as you're prepared for that, it's a fine place to eat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Your doormen were very friendly and helpful. We have been at your place a number of times and they were consistently a Ten. We liked your food and the fish collars. The service staff were excellent'

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Everything was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Delicious food, great service, (Kel), and, even better, great value! Chowder is the best in town; Fish & Chips yummy. Nice ambience, with good jazzy music. What more could we ask for?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was fantastic. Had to wait 20 minutes for a table even though we had reservations. That was the only down side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food, either meat or seafood, really well prepared. My pork chop was perfect, as was my wife's scallops. Our server was friendly and very attentive. Extensive wine list, although few moderately priced options. One of our favorite fine dining places.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Healthy, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We made reservations (approximately 3 weeks ahead of time) for a party of 12 at 6:45 pm. We arrived shortly thereafter (maybe 10 minutes late) but had called, out of courtesy, to let them know that we were on our way and had hit some traffic. When we arrived they said that our table wasn't quite ready so they had us wait over near the bar area. Long story short we were not seated until well after 8:00 pm and this event was for our Mother's 85th birthday so being seated after 8:00 pm was very maddening considering her age. We kept wondering why they hadn't at least offered us a round of cocktails or something as the time kept getting later and later. When they were finally walking us to the table, after 8:00 pm, the hostess apologized for the lateness and said that they would offer us some appetizers on the house. We of course appreciated the gesture. After we sat down we expected that our server would let us know what they were offering. We of course expected that it might be a couple of the seafood platters (which we eventually ended up ordering and paying for at around $40 each) but the server said absolutely nothing until we informed her that the hostess had offered some appetizers on the house. The server then let us know that they were offering us an order of ONION RINGS. Our party's bill ended up at just under $900 (not counting the tip) and they offered us an order of onion rings at $11.75 for being more than an hour late, on a very special occasion!! I'm not making this stuff up. If we wanted onion rings we could have gone to Burger King for way less than $900!! We will NEVER return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful restaurant for a special occasion
Great service and food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent service & the food was wonderful! We celebrated Randy's 60th Birthday. The staff was very accommodating. There was a hand written card on the table. After dinner they served a special dessert with a candle. I recommend coming here for your special occasion. 👍

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.