Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower

A contemporary Northwest fish house with a modern accent. Expect the finest service as experienced servers guide you through the menu. The RingSide Fish House is the sibling of the Iconic RingSide SteakHouse and is honored to be chosen as one of Tom Horan's Top Ten Fish Houses in North America. The menu sources only the freshest seafood from local fish mongers and oysterman - but still has steaks and our "Famous Onion Rings"for those who want the classic RingSide experience.

838 SW Park Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Bar Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00am
Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00am
Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SW Taylor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-3900

Website:
http://www.ringsidefishhouse.com/

Entertainment:
A perfect stop before the Theater, whether it be on the Big Screen or on the Stage. We have live music in the lounge on Friday and Saturday nights. Many diners find the ambiance of the restaurant overlooking Director Park as entertainment in itself.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Self-Parking is available in the Fox Tower Garage validated with the purchases of entrees. On-street parking is also available at posted rates.

Public Transit:
Located adjacent to the Pioneer Square MAX Station.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Gill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Park Avenue Room is a private room that can accommodate up to 32 guests for meetings, parties, receptions or a sit down lunch or dinner.

RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (81)
Good for a Date (67)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
See All
Good for Birthdays (52)
Pre/post Theatre (48)
Notable Wine List (46)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Business Meals (43)
Romantic (36)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Local Ingredients (31)
Happy Hour (28)
Modern Decor (27)
Great for Lunch (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Healthy (18)
Scenic View (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Authentic (13)
Fun (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
People Watching (12)
Seasonal (10)
Casual (10)
Cozy (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Private Room (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Historic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1539 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent dinner. Oysters were fresh, onion rings excellent (a must), and appetizers were abundant, tasty, and fresh. The main courses were creative but my scallops were a bit on the greasy side. The wines are good but on the expensive side.
The atmosphere was good but the room (fully occupied) a bit noisy. The service was excellent but a bit slow due to the full attendance.
This restaurant is well located in downtown Portland. You can park at the car Park and have your ticket validated by the restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding service - we waited for our food just a little longer than expected and a complimentary glass of wine appeared. The tuna poke appetizer was as good as anything I've had in Hawaii and the cioppino rivaled - well, I'd probably better not mention another outstanding restaurant's bouillabaise...

Very, very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

We had another great meal, but I want to thank our waiter, Ari. He did a great job the entire evening. We would recommend sitting in his section.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Good food, great windows, and excellent service. Very expensive, but worth it!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I enjoyed our first time visit to Ringside Fish House. The service was great. We had plenty of time to make our theater showtime. He had the salmon with spring vegetables and I had the halibut. Both were wonderful. We then had the Banana Foster Bar and the Park Avenue Bar for dessert. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This is our go to place when in Portland. This time I tried the chevie that was the best I have had in a very long time. My hat to the chef 👨‍🍳

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Overall, good experience. My steak was over done, but still acceptable. The king crab legs were much smaller than usual, but still tasty. The steamer clams were a bit more complex in flavor than originally imagined; thus, very few were consumed. Service was decent, nothing stellar but seemingly appropriate. Desserts were lack luster - no one raved about them. We have been there several times and this was our worst experience at the restaurant, but we will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Always a good choice. Attentive service, wonderfully prepared food, and a relatively quiet dining room.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Had a fantastic meal. David, our server, was very good, and both the Hostess, Dia, and mgr. Lola stopped by to make sure all was good. Can't say enough about how great this place is.
Super martini, also.
Will return very soon, as it is our favorite place in Portland.
Top notch!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Try the Cioppino. Best we've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service, good food and quiet ambiance!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful experience. Food was yummy. My scallops were perfectly cooked over a bed of risotto. Both halibut and salmon my friends ordered were also extremely good. And it's quiet enough for conversations. Services was also superb. Just enough attention but not overpowering. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My Mother's Day was delicious, thanks to this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a fabulous dinner!!!!! My husband ordered the Halibut on porcini cream and it was out of this world, best halibut he has ever had!!!! I had the swordfish appetizer special and it to was delicious!!! Our waiter was excellent. We had a great evening!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a wonderful time. We tried some new dishes and beverages. Our waiter was knowledgeable and fun to talk to. He gave guidance when asked. Actually all the staff were helpful. The front reception informed us of any changes and we're especially helpful to hold flowers we had brought and put them on the table. We all enjoyed our meal

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This is our second time there. Food was very good and service was excellent!! We were disappointed though because Mac and cheese no longer on the bar menu.
We will go there again for sure!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our dinner reservation was an hour and 45 minutes before a show at the Arlene Schnitzer concert hall (less than 5 minute walk from the restaurant) and even though we told them multiple times and they confirmed they knew, our entree's did not come out until 5 minutes to 7. We wolfed our food down, missed dessert entirely and were still late to our show. They cut our bill in half to make up for it, but it still made for a stressful and unpleasant situation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent service. Excellent recommendations from the waiter. My meal was exquisite - one of the best of my life.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We were there to celebrate administrative week with two of our support team, service was great food great and our guest enjoyed it very much

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Hostess was friendly and welcoming. Waiter was great to interact with. We ordered the rockfish and the salmon. While the accompaniments for the salmon were excellent, the fish was cooked medium (or cooked rare and spent too much time under the heat lamps). The rockfish was excellent but the accompaniments were overly salty. Nothing worth talking about on the dessert menu and do not serve espresso. Disappointing considering the price charged.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Very nice. I would return. I thought the size of the prime rib was way to big. Could have been half or a third, even. But it was an extremely comfortable place. I liked it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Saefood Platter samall was enough for two people.The salad was very delicious. Fantastic wine list.
Cozy. Not so expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Lovely food and excellent service. The food is flavorful and beautiful. The service was attentive and appropriate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great pre-theater date night. Servers were attentive without being over bearing

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We came for our anniversary dinner. We sat for 20 minutes and then asked for a waiter. Our newly assigned waiter was great, but the fish was under cooked so my husband ate alone while I waited for my fish. The food was fair. We were expecting more with a "Ringside" title.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Celebrated a friend's trip for 3 weeks in Mexico and we had the BEST ever prime rib
and mashed potatoes, really old-fashioned
comfort food. It was delicious, cooked exactly to the degree of donesness requested, good red wine, and the service was excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We had a great time. Our waiter and crew were very timely and accommodated us
in a very professional manor. Its always a good time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Lovely "National Prime Rib Day" dinner.
But mandatory pairing with mashed potatoes (blah!). Upcharged $7.50 to substitute mashed potatoes with another different side dish.
Otherwise a lovely experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Food was exceptionally fresh and cooked to perfection. We like our fish a little under-done and the chef nailed it! Ed was an attentive server without being obtrusive. Thoroughly enjoyed the meal from beginning to end.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Absolutely horrible. Service was terrible, with the waiter bring the bread 45 minutes after he served the appetizers. The entry was very long delayed, and when it was served it was cold and overcooked. We asked for the manager and all he wanted to do was argue with us that the food was adequate, when it clearly was not. We finally left after not eating the entrees. Never ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The bar is better than the dining room. Prices are high and 2 people in our group left unsatisfied.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The RingSide name attracted us on this post-Symphony special occasion. We were also sure we could find the famous onion rings on the menu. Hadn't had these in years and loved every bite. Loved our entrees too. We will be recommending the RingSide Fish House to two different friends who have asked for our post--dining opinion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Had dinner to celebrate a birthday. The staff did an amazing job of making the evening special, from having a personalized hand written card at the table upon our arrival, to a complimentary birthday desert with a candle and birthday message. Ringside is top notch and will become a go to for us moving forward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We dined here in advance of a symphony concert at the Schnitz. It was very convenient so that we could park once and dine and attend the concert. Had we known, we could have parked in the same tower as the restaurant and they would have validated for the evening. Something for next time.

The restaurant is on the 2nd floor of the building so the large windows looked primarily at the streetside trees but the restaurant is well appointed. Service was outstanding, not just from our server but started with the hostess and the woman who seated us. Both were knowledgeable with the menu and informed us of our server. We had four different entrees, two appetizers and some oysters from the raw bar. All were excellent although I expected my copping to be a bit more savory. Our server was appropriately attentive and well informed on the menu and wine.

My wife is gluten intolerant. While items were not marked GF, many of the items were gluten free or could be prepared gluten free.

While certainly expensive, it was a wonderful experience. We did not visit the bar but, walking by, it appeared to be active and attractive.

We would certainly go back for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We had been to Ringside Fish House for happy hour, which is fun, but this was our first time in for a formal dinner. The service was impeccable. The cocktails are well-crafted, and there are some nice wines offered by the glass in addition to a very nice bottle list. The true test was the food, and they aced it! The dishes were very creative - the perfectly cooked seared scallops were served on a bed of rich, creamy carrot risotto with sugar snap peas and carrot top pesto - to die for! The roasted sole dish was served with a lovely chive broth, tiny rockfish dumplings, and roasted radishes and maitake mushrooms - light and fresh with clean, beautiful flavors. The generous entrees, along with the Pearl Bakery bread and butter, were the perfect amount of food. The dishes are spendy enough to keep this from being an everyday dining spot for us, but we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Another great experience at my favorite place in Portland. Just the best for dining, lunch or dinner.
Cheers to the wait staff and the management group who provide top-notch service on a continued basis.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Eastet dinner was awesome Katie our server was awesome.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 17, 2017

always one of our most favorite stops when we are in Portland. We continue to return. never disappointed.
The service is always incredibly terrific.
The food is always perfect.

We changed our reservation multiple times for Easter Sunday.
Dinner, and the staff was always most gracious and took care of us, with grace.

WE WILL BE BACK

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was great, except I ordered my King Salmon medium rare and it was served "well done" and as a result was dry. Ruined a good piece of King Salmon. I should have returned it but I wanted to eat with the rest of my party.

I would have rated everything as a five if it wasn't for my entre.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.