Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower

A contemporary Northwest fish house with a modern accent. Expect the finest service as experienced servers guide you through the menu. The RingSide Fish House is the sibling of the Iconic RingSide SteakHouse and is honored to be chosen as one of Tom Horan's Top Ten Fish Houses in North America. The menu sources only the freshest seafood from local fish mongers and oysterman - but still has steaks and our "Famous Onion Rings"for those who want the classic RingSide experience.

838 SW Park Ave
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Bar Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00am
Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00am
Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SW Taylor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-3900

Website:
http://www.ringsidefishhouse.com/

Entertainment:
A perfect stop before the Theater, whether it be on the Big Screen or on the Stage. We have live music in the lounge on Friday and Saturday nights. Many diners find the ambiance of the restaurant overlooking Director Park as entertainment in itself.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Self-Parking is available in the Fox Tower Garage validated with the purchases of entrees. On-street parking is also available at posted rates.

Public Transit:
Located adjacent to the Pioneer Square MAX Station.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Gill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Park Avenue Room is a private room that can accommodate up to 32 guests for meetings, parties, receptions or a sit down lunch or dinner.

RingSide Fish House - Fox Tower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
See All
Business Meals (39)
Notable Wine List (39)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Romantic (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Local Ingredients (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Good for Groups (12)
People Watching (11)
Fun (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Seasonal (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Scenic View (8)
Cozy (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Casual (6)
Authentic (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1578 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, menu, service and ambiance.
The staff, from hostess to all wait people, are professional, knowledgable, pleasant and helpful.
My wife and I have eaten here a few times and every time we do we are delighted.
It is fairly high prices and, in this case, I believe you get your money's worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

My daughter and I had a delicious pre-opera dinner. The food was outstanding and the staff courteous and efficient.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Attractive space, quiet, great service, well prepared food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 17, 2017

It was our 40th Anniversary and we were going on to a concert. We ordered and things seemed a bit slow. Server was very attentive but when we finally got our entree the lobster was raw. Steep price for raw lobster.
No real apologies when we left and I had brought it to the servers attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Ringside is a very good seafood restaurant. Food was prepared perfectly and the service was very good. Great wine list and convient parking.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Loved it - as always! The food is fresh and SO DELICIOUSLY prepared. Great service and friendly atmosphere. Accommodating of my food allergies, and I am VERY appreciative of that helpfulness!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Casual, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was good but also very expensive. The wait time between courses was quit long and the waiter seemed to disappear a lot. My King salmon did not seem fresh. My wife's Pappardelle pasta that had prime rib in a demiglaze was very good by far better than any of the fish dishes. If I came back I would order the Pappardelle . WE were celibrating several birthdays and they did bring us fresh donuts that also were really good. All in all a pleasent time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Tried this place out for the first time prior to the Opera. The service was excellent. Waiter suggested we try a wine that compliments the oysters and gave us a try and glad we did. Food was excellent. We will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great service throughout the meal. The gazpacho was a great kick off to the meal as was the farro salad . We skipped the onion rings which looked amazing.
The halibut was cooked perfectly and they provided a nice dessert platter for special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We have eaten here several times now and have not been disappointed. Great food and excellent service. Halibut and rockfish was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I was in Portland on business travel and had had long day...and this was my first time dining at RingSide Fish House. From the front door to being seated, ordering and being served my delicious meal, the staff made me feel comfortable and welcome. It was just what I was seeking and I truely enjoyed the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Flavors were creative and fish was very fresh. Our waiter was very attentive and made a positive impression on us. At his suggestion, he decanted the wine which brought it to a new level. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Well, I was disappointed, overall. Service was slow, waiter was good but back up staff you could not find. Eye for detail was not there. My bread plate was gone for most of the meal until I flagged someone to give me one, otherwise my bread just sat on the table cloth. Food ok, the Octopus was over cooked and dry. Just didn't measure up. I would recommend in the future Jakes for guests wishing seafood. I wish them well though, for I just love and continue to love the standard of the Ringside on E. Burnside. Consistent for years and years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Ari & Max are the best servers you can get. Onion rings are a must for starters, wine or bubbly drink selection is hudge. Fish is fresh--cant ask for a better experience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I eat out quite frequently. Therefore, I'm not easily impressed. The food, the service, the entire experience of eating at this fine restaurant was outstanding. Great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Had excellent Prime Rib and shrimp cocktail. Old fashioned cocktail was fantastic. Comfortable seats too.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Seafood was great, people were friendly. I would certainly recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 27, 2017

One of the best service experiences I've had in a while! Knowledgeable and confident about options and specials without being pushy or arrogant. Cocktails were well balanced and fresh. Fish selection and preparation was on point. Would definitely come back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The food was excellent, our waiter, Miguel, was simply outstanding. The feel and look of the bar and restaraunt could be updated.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We never miss dinning at ring side fish when in town.

The downtown location is perfect.

Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and his service was supreme.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Nancy was absolutely amazing!! We stopped here for dining shortly after arriving in Portland, boy, are we are glad we did!! She listened to what we had in mind for dinner and made realistic recommendations for us. Food was delicious, it's pricey, but you get what you pay for! Quality, fresh seafood! We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

crispy salad, tasty cioppino, ... I wish they served espresso, too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Outstanding service and food. Had anniversary dinner there recently. They took care of every detail superbly. Our server Natalie was awesome. Food and wine selection was top notch. One of the very best Portland has to offer.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Had a tremendous Father's Day dinner with my family. Perfectly executed cocktails and food -- we were raving about each and every drink and dish; from our initial oysters on the half shell through the appetizers to the mains and dessert. Flawless service too. So very looking forward to our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Close to our hotel. We started with some Washington oysters and they were excellent. For our entrees wehad the lobster and gnocchi. It was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Very fresh and tasty oysters. Great service and very little wait for food. Only complaint was the Pisco Sour. It was a special request but it should not be served in a tall glass with a straw. Hard to taste the egg whites that way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Best lunch ever!! Had the special of salmon tacos, which were the best I have ever had anywhere! Friend had the fish and chips which are alway great, but those tacos: wow! Unbelievable!! The 'Glass' martini was super as well. The only place I will have one.
We go to Ringside Fish House weekly, because it is consistent in quality of food, service, and a very welcoming hostess. Management is always on the floor making sure everyone is happy. Couldn't ask for a better place to eat, dine, and drink. Will try Happy Hour again soon, as it is always great any day of the week.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 12, 2017

A great place for lunch. An imaginative menu in a quiet setting. Food was flavorfully prepared with timely service. Really a nice place to dine.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This was our first time dining at the Ringside Fish House, and we had a wonderful time. It's actually hard to find a great place downtown that you can recommend to visitors, but this one now has made the top of our list. Wonderful food, excellent service, and an amazing location. We look forward to our next visit there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We enjoyed our dining experience at Ringside Fish House. We viewed both the pre theater menu and also the regular menu, and as we thought that we had allowed plenty of time for dining, we decided to go with the regular menu and our food was very good. Service was excellent. We have decided that the next time we dine there, we will allow extra time so that we might enjoy dessert also. O

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Poor service for a fine dining establishment. Felt judged for dressing casually and age. Felt out of place as we aren't Caucasian. Hard to have a romantic dinner with hearing everyone else's conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Service is impeccable! Food delicious. Dinner at 5 PM means a quiet dining room and easy conversation.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 1, 2017

This is a fine fish restaurant located in a very attractive downtown location. We were generally pleased with all of our dishes although the salmon (described as medium rare by the waiter) arrived well done. The waiter immediately took it back to the kitchen with apologies and returned within a couple of minutes with a perfectly cooked piece of fish. We were very happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

After ordering my salmon medium well, the "chef" decided that he would cook it the way he wanted ... not as the customer ordered. The salmon was rare, basically inedible for a customer who likes his fish cooked through. The lobster soup was great. My wife's dinner was great. The dessert was great. But when a customer orders fish cooked through, then cook the damn thing through!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Took my wife out to a very nice meal to the Ring Side Fish House. Everything was excellent; food, staff, great wine selection. We had the park avenue bar for desert... our new favorite.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Excellent dinner. Oysters were fresh, onion rings excellent (a must), and appetizers were abundant, tasty, and fresh. The main courses were creative but my scallops were a bit on the greasy side. The wines are good but on the expensive side.
The atmosphere was good but the room (fully occupied) a bit noisy. The service was excellent but a bit slow due to the full attendance.
This restaurant is well located in downtown Portland. You can park at the car Park and have your ticket validated by the restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Outstanding service - we waited for our food just a little longer than expected and a complimentary glass of wine appeared. The tuna poke appetizer was as good as anything I've had in Hawaii and the cioppino rivaled - well, I'd probably better not mention another outstanding restaurant's bouillabaise...

Very, very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had another great meal, but I want to thank our waiter, Ari. He did a great job the entire evening. We would recommend sitting in his section.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was a little hit and miss but I love sitting by the window and people watching while we dine. Service is good and location is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.