Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Tue, 5/22
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Rice Contemporary Asian Cuisine

4.2
98 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary Asian
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Happy Hour
  • Neighborhood Gem
Welcome to Rice! We offer an immense variety of contemporary Asian cuisine featuring flavors from the Far East created by our professional chefs from Asia, including Sushi made fresh & artistically presented. Our accolades include full bar, outdoor patio, beer & wine, Best Martini/Best Bloody Mary/Best Bartender 3 years in a row, Happy Hour 4-6p, monthly wine tasting the 1st Tuesday of every month, plus our Thirsty Thursday Buy 1 Get 1 FREE with live music every Thursday. Vegan and Gluten free dishes available.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary Asian, Sushi, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5-10p. Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday thru Saturday: 4-6pm (Special offer for drinks & appetizers)
Thursday Music Night: Buy 1 get one FREE from our regular drink menu 4pm - 6pm
CLOSED SUNDAY
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(208) 939-2595
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
During good weather- covered outdoor patio Back of restaurant available all year round
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Lunch boxes, buffet style, family style, formal catering of any special event or occasion.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Eagle Lane
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking lot self park
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Thursday LIVE Music with 2 for 1 drinks from 6pm - 9pm
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Happy Hour Daily 4-6p
Lunch Specials M-F 11a-4p
Wine Tasting 1st Tuesday of every month 6-8p
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 98 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.1
service
3.8
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Love Rice's Thursday Buy One Get One Drink Specials! And love their sushi and food menu. Delicious food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 20, 2018

2for1 drink on Thursday is a good deal. Foods are OK, depending on the dish. Not necessarily authentic, but it's all good enough, especially if you are mainly there for drinks. Decor is not to my taste (mixing all sort of Asian in one) but it probably makes many people feel like they are in Asia.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

A little loud

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The food was delicious! I had the generals chicken, and my husband had sushi. We were very happy with the food and the service.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 30, 2018

I can’t really give them a good review, because they didn’t accept my reservation. I’ve been to Rice once, and thought that food was great. I made a reservation for 6 people at 6:30 and showed up, only to be told “they don’t take any reservations before 7” and proceeded to say my reservation and email confirming my reservation, weren’t going to be accepted and that it would be an hour plus to get me in. I drove from downtown Boise to meet my sisters and I was not impressed with their management of their reservations and their attitudes when asked if there was anything they could do.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 30, 2018

As I emailed you customer service, when we arrived at the restaurant, we were told that they were severely double-booked as they didn’t receive the bookings from Open Table until 5 minutes before opening. We were shoved between three large groups onto a table too small for one. Needless to say, very poor experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Very good food, what I like best about Rice is that they will make sure they make the dish the way you like it . Good wine selection. The service is informative and friendly. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We love stopping by for a flavorful meal. Or happy hour for a glass of wine and appetizers.
You can count on the dish you enjoyed last visit, will be the same the next time you order.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Excellent with a very friendly host and attentive server. Noise level was a little high for normal conversation but bearable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Good food. Large menu. Great live music and 2 for 1 drinks on Thursday. Great place to meet with friends for dinner or drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Great drinks, wonderful Happy Hour specials, very delicious dishes and sushi. Really love the place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Food was wonderful. Drinks were excellent! Great place to go for large selection of specialty martinis .. and at a great price! Service was slow as the restaurant was packed. Took our table of 7 over an hour just to get our bills - after we were done with dinner. We were the first customers and the second to last to leave due to the lengthy delay of our checks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

I am new to Meridian and neighbors took me there twice so far.I have recommended it to friends because of the above average cuisine. will definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Family and friends gathering. Fabulous food, great choices. Everyone very pleased with their dining experience. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Our first time here and we weren't disappointed. The food was delicious and the portions were generous. Service was great! Definitely going back soon to try more items on the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 5, 2018

Wonderful time! Many of us had the lobster sushi and it was out of this world!! Toffee even gave our table two free mango sticky rices on the house!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

The service was great and the dinner was fantastic, my wife is a Vegan and the Mocky she had was the closest to meat I have tasted, I'm not a Vegan but I would order the Mocky the next time we we're their.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

We all had different entree's and all were excellent. I had the General's Chicken with both Jasmine and Brown rice. The chicken, rice and vegetables were perfect. My husband had the sushi and my son had the soup. All of it was really good. I would recommend this place to anyone who likes quality food at a reasonable price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Christmas Day Brunch was delicious. Great variety of food for an all-you-can=eat brunch. Staff was very friendly. Only negative: we were seated near the outside patio door and it was very chilly as staff frequently went outside for more chairs.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 25, 2017

The prime was too rare. The restaurant temp too cold. The table was deep in restaurant, therefore server did not check on refills as often as I would have liked. Gluten free mash was cold and rigid. Not a large selection of choices for the price. Sushi was good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 24, 2017

Some what disappointed with the food this time. Shrimp and scallops were over cooked.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 21, 2017

Had great service and food. Will continue you enjoy lunch and dinner. Fantastic drinks as well. Perfect

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2017

Always consistent. The menu is extensive, they have a great happy hour, and the service is very friendly. If you want to enhance your dish , just tell them and they probably would be able to accommodate.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 31, 2017

Best PHO I've found in Boise area.
Dusty awesome server!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 16, 2017

Love the place😊

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Very good, best meal I have had in a long time. My husband loves his food spicy and they hit the mark with their Thai options. I had a lovey scallop and shrimp dish and the vegetables were almost better than the seafood and the seafood was perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2017

Wonderful fun evening! Dover roll yum!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 18, 2017

We attend Rice often and enjoy it everytime. Great happy hour!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Service is consistently great. We ordered sushi and the papaya salad, everything was amazing!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 19, 2017

Service was very slow, food was not the normal fresh taste. Very disappointed as we had purposely planned a wonderful evening to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary.

We will search for a new sushi location since this was our second time to be disappointed here.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2017

The tandoori chicken was dry but the accompanying yoghurt and mango chutney were good. The Kung Pao chicken was not spicy and was ladened with peas and carrots. The chicken in that dish was steamed or boiled, had little flavor. Had high hopes but probably won't be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2017

General chicken was too salty for my taste. Other fod was was fine. Did not receive napkin and silverware for all diners until asked after food came. Never asked if I wanted my beverage renewed. Water was frequently checked.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2017

Awesome service and Sherri B was by far the best waitress I've had in a very long time

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2017

Great fresh veggies as usual.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2017

Our table was reserved. Great waitress. Our sushi rolls could have been spicier. Good value. A little noisy when full.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2017

Loved that they take reservation online. Easy to navigate. Fabulous fresh meal choices. Great outdoor seating & kind/pleasant staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food and service ! Always an excellent meal and attentive staff. The best Bloody Marys in town !

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 25, 2017

Service was poor. drinks and meals were forgotten and the waiter didn't notice. timing was late on drinks. Style of delivery was poor. It felt like staff had zero training and little experience. Kitchen was slow - but we were after the rush and the restaurent was emptying out. Food was mixed - some good - some OK, nothing great..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2016

First time to Rice, and it did not disappoint. Great food - from the appetizers to the sushi to the main entrees. Very good value for portions and quality. We really enjoyed the energy of the location. Service was also very good! Would highly recommend to others looking for modern Asian cuisine.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 26, 2016

I used this service to make a reservation. When I showed on time, I was told there'd be a 10 min wait for my table. I was the only one waiting on a table, so I can only assume my reservation was only a suggestion to them. They had live music, and nice ambiance, ...but unfortunately I only saw enough as I was walked away from the restaurant area, back to THE BAR, past open tables that had "reserved" signs on them, to get a table under the TV playing sports... back at the bar. Worth mentioning twice.

Once seated, the waitress did an average job. Nothing special, nothing bad. She was present to take my order etc, but nothing to write home about. We did get the wrong drink order, which was no big deal, but it was just one more thing on the list of my "Why did I come here for a first date?" thoughts...

I would eat here again, just because of the unique food and location, but just to eat. I'm not bringing anyone here to impress...

Report
Helpful
1
2
3