About Rice Contemporary Asian Cuisine

228 East Plaza Street
Eagle, ID 83616
View Larger Map

Welcome to Rice! We offer an immense variety of contemporary Asian cuisine featuring flavors from the Far East created by our professional chefs from Asia, including Sushi made fresh & artistically presented. Our accolades include full bar, outdoor patio, beer & wine, Best Martini/Best Bloody Mary/Best Bartender 3 years in a row, Happy Hour 4-6p, monthly wine tasting the 1st Tuesday of every month, plus our Thirsty Thursday Buy 1 Get 1 FREE with live music every Thursday. Vegan and Gluten free dishes available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Asian, Sushi, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5-10p. Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday thru Saturday: 4-6pm (Special offer for drinks & appetizers)
Thursday Music Night: Buy 1 get one FREE from our regular drink menu 4pm - 6pm
CLOSED SUNDAY

Cross Street:
Eagle Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 939-2595

Website:
http://www.riceeagle.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday LIVE Music with 2 for 1 drinks from 6pm - 9pm

Catering:
Lunch boxes, buffet style, family style, formal catering of any special event or occasion.

Parking Details:
Parking lot self park

Private Party Facilities:
During good weather- covered outdoor patio Back of restaurant available all year round

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Daily 4-6p
Lunch Specials M-F 11a-4p
Wine Tasting 1st Tuesday of every month 6-8p

Rice Contemporary Asian Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Idaho
Neighborhood Gem
Idaho
Best Food
Boise
1 More
Fit for Foodies
Boise
Best Restaurants in Meridian ›

fit for foodies (13)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for outdoor dining (8)
See All
great for lunch (6)
kid-friendly (6)
romantic (5)
special occasion (5)
good for groups (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (1)
notable wine list (1)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
49 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

an Asian Delight

Dined 4 days ago

This was our 3rd visit, previously with friends but this time a date night for 2. Evert visit food and service has been great at an affordable price.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We don't go out much, but this was my wi ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We don't go out much, but this was my wife's birthday and we had a great time. We'll definitely be back. Great music and food. Fun time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had a relative in from out of town - H ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I had a relative in from out of town - He wasn't sure about Asian food - when we left he said it was worth the whole trip (it was only an overnight trip from Washington State) just for the good food. Thanks - Excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

The service is great, the entire staff i ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The service is great, the entire staff is friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about the menu. My family has eaten at Rice quite a few times over the past few years and the food is consistently delicious.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating my friends birthday.

Dined on April 25, 2016

We sat in the big comfy chairs at the window. It felt like we were very special. I was on a restricted diet at the time and Rice was very accommodating. I can't wait to go back and try some more of their wonderful food.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food with many choices

Dined on April 2, 2016

A friend suggested that I meet her for lunch, as I had never been there. I was impressed with the vast choices in their menus. The food was outstanding and the service was great. I have already recommended Rice to others at my office. I will go back again and often.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

I'll go back.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent food and great value, but took a while to get waited on for no obvious reason. After that, the service was fine. The Fried Rice Combo plate was one of the best rice dishes I've ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Always Yummy

Dined on March 27, 2016

For a tasty healthy dinner Rice is always a good choice. Good selection of drinks and Asian inspired dishes. Servers are always attentive too.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Double date night

Dined on February 28, 2016

His was the perfect place to meet up with friends and just enjoy some great food, friendly service and great company!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place! Great Valentine's Day din ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Awesome place! Great Valentine's Day dinner.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great selection and food. Like outdoor seating

Dined on February 6, 2016

Thursday night entertainment is great. Good for dinner with friends.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on January 8, 2016

Wife and I loved the wide variety of options. A ll family members found something they liked. Highly recommend the sushi rolls and curry meals. Drinks are reasonably priced. Local musicians add to the ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service4

Started with drinks. Cocktails were made ...

Dined on January 8, 2016

Started with drinks. Cocktails were made by someone who obviously doesn't drink as a sip from the urinal may have been an improvement. The appetizers were fantastic and quickly devoured by my husband who was all to anxious to rid himself of his sazerac's lingering flavor. This menu is vast, so vast it's completely understandable why nothing tastes authentic. I've had better Thai from the frozen food section. The sushi tasted like it was covered in sugar to cover up the questionable fish. Another positive, our server was great from start to finish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on December 30, 2015

Great place, and had a variety of different foods. There was something for each of us. So glad we found this place. Do recommend calling or using the app to reserve a table. They filled up really fast.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great place to meet friends

Dined on August 1, 2015

The food is outstanding. Each of us made a different choice and everything was perfect. Wonderful way to spend a Friday night with friends. It can be noisy, but it all depends on what time you're dining.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service2

Poor Service Good Food

Dined on June 21, 2015

I love the food, but the services has been horrible every time. Being greeted by server is slow, being served beverages is slow, and drink refills are slow. As a server your tab and tip go up with drinks so I'm not sure why you wouldn't be attentive to your tables.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2

Best Thai in the Treasure Valley

Dined on June 20, 2015

Rice has the best Thai food in all of Boise. Everything I have had is amazing! The Panang curry and Pad Se Euw are my personal favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2015

We made reservations for the holiday and ordered the 3-course Valentine special. The entrée salad was exceptionally good - kale salad with diced apples and quinoa. The dressing was rich and sweet. The surf and turf (filet and crab) was very good, although the rub on the filet was a little too peppery for my taste but sipping the champagne I ordered helped temper the spiciness. The dessert was amazing - molten chocolate cake with a creamy dipping sauce and fresh berries. We were more than satisfied.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Great!

Dined on December 26, 2014

I've had lunch at Rice a number of times but this was my first experience with dinner. I took my son and his girlfriend there for Christmas dinner. I easily made a reservation through Open Table and it was immediately honored upon our arrival. Our server was attentive and accurate during this busy evening. The food was fantastic, beautifully presented and delicious. The atmosphere was festive and we enjoyed sharing it with the other diners. I've always had great experiences dining at Rice.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food.

Dined on December 25, 2014

Fast service with terrific food. Lots of menu options including vegetarian dishes. Affordable. Lots of fantastic drinks to try.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service2

Hire more waiters

Dined on December 25, 2014

The food was outstanding. We went Christmas Eve at 6pm. The location of our table was fine, it was in the bar area, but our waiter was also the only bar tender. We ordered our drinks and an appetizer. The drinks arrived but the appetizer was forgotten all together. To get another drink we had to go up to the bar and get it ourselves. The food was served by another person so it was hot and delicious. More wait staff should have been on duty. To expect the overworked bartender to also be a waiter was not only unfair to us but was also unfair to the bartender. The excellence of the food was great enough that we will try this restaurant again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent restaurant

Dined on December 14, 2014

Met friends here Saturday night. Didn't feel rushed, sat for several hours - practically closed the restaurant down. Food was delicious - I had the spicy tuna roll and the sweet momma, this is now my new favorite. My daughter had the general chicken - thank goodness because it is the best in town and I got to have a couple of bites of hers along with my sushi rolls. The other three at the table enjoyed their meals also. One of my pet peeves however is having to ask for my water to be refilled, especially when it's the only beverage I have. Had to ask several times throughout the dinner. Overall it was an excellent evening with great food and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service2

Surreal experience

Dined on November 16, 2014

First off, the restaurant did NOT have our 6:30 PM Open Table reservations recorded on their reservation list. Reservations were made on Friday for a Saturday evening dinner. Food was great. Service less than with soup coming to table after entrees, forgotten drink orders, having to request water on multiple occasions, etc. Restaurant was not crowded, although most diners arrived around 7 PM. Again good food, but must be have patience about service.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

An Eagle Gem

Dined on September 27, 2014

If you have never been to Rice you have missed one of the great dining experiences in the Treasure Valley. The food, the service and the setting (particularly the patio for warm weather dining) are a treat each and every time. The wonderful blend of Asian dishes with just some well placed subtle additions makes each bite a pleasure. Been there numerous times, for a variety of reasons and never been less than impressed with the entire evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great spot

Dined on August 17, 2014

Terrific Asian Fusion in an unexpected location. A real favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Not a good experience

Dined on August 16, 2014

The front desk told us they were not aware of our preference on OpenTable, and we noticed 2 tables reserved appeared the least desirable to sit...the entire staff was racing around like they could not keep up; very harried energy. I love very hot food and always request their hottest 5 stars. The food was good, but couldn't be even rated 1 star in my opinion... everyone moved around too fast for me to tell them I would have liked a change, so I ate my food because I was so hungry...I needed to put my empty glass on the edge of my table so that a passing rushed server could notice it...the check came in a flash and I felt as though they couldn't get us out of there fast enough. It will likely be a while before I think about visiting again.

food5
ambience4
service4

Love the atmosphere, but the acoustics b ...

Dined on August 15, 2014

Love the atmosphere, but the acoustics being poor doesn't make for easy conversation. The waitresses couldn't seem to agree on who was waiting on our table. Got a little confusing now and again, but we didn't lack for service or our meal. Food was very good. Second time there - will return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and the service was great ...

Dined on July 13, 2014

Excellent food and the service was great. Very accomodating and fast! thank you

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

For not being busy, service was quite sl ...

Dined on July 12, 2014

For not being busy, service was quite slow. Skateboarders were kind of a pain.

food5
ambience2
service1

I Almost Wanted to Help...

Dined on July 5, 2014

For a b-day dinner I decided to check this place out. I love Asian fusion food typically, and the food here was outstanding; even getting the food out to us was incredibly quick once our server was able to get to us. It was the 5th of July, the place was filling up quickly around 5:30p and there was 1 hostess, 3 servers and nobody else to be found. I guesstimate that there were about 20-30 tables and by the time we left at 7 they had been full for quite some time. Our server was a nice young man who for all intensive purposes, however the poor kid was spread throughout the entire restaurant. There was no organization, no front of the house management, and everyone was running around like poor chickens with their heads cut off.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!

Dined on June 28, 2014

I really enjoy the atmosphere, and the food and service are great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific

Dined on June 22, 2014

An area gem! Menu is a fantastic blend of Pacific Rim, service is great and the taste is remarkable. We enjoy returning time and time again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner at RICE!!

Dined on June 18, 2014

Our waitress was great! The fruit martinis were excellent and the dinner entrees were enjoyed by all 5 of us. A wonderful evening on a quiet Tuesday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3

susan in Boise

Dined on June 6, 2014

Love the food--love the amibence...can't think of 50 characters for a review...I would think any review that's good would be okay?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service2

Not sure what is so great

Dined on May 25, 2014

I wanted to try something different for dinner so we went to RICE thinking it was some trendy upscale place to eat. When we got there, we noticed it was at the end of a strip mall.. we were taken to a table right along side the sushi bar. The seat were actually parlor chairs that you sank into as you sat. The table was practically up to my chin. After about 10 minutes someone finally came and got our drink order, but that wasn't our server. When our server finally did come to the table, we asked to move to a booth.. much better. When the food came it was mediocre at best. Not really hot. Compared to a place like Ling and Louis.. this was bad and over priced for the taste and quality. I wouldn't eat here again.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great Mother's Day lunch

Dined on May 11, 2014

We went on mother's day, and they accommodated our 10 person group plus a baby very well. Our server was super friendly and got all orders correct, they were busy, so it was a bit slow (but to be expected on the 2nd busiest restaurant day of the year). We were all impressed with the atmosphere, loved the fun light fixtures, and the outdoor patio looked amazing - hope to go back to try out the patio. Everyone loved the dishes, and we loved the variety and large selection to choose from. We will certainly go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience3
service5

Hidden Gem

Dined on April 18, 2014

We like to try a new restaurant each month. In April we selected RICE in Eagle, ID. The website map showed the location in a small non-descript strip mall. What we encountered inside was delightful. The menu was huge. So many choices that all sounded amazing. We ordered the RICE fried rice with prawns and the talapia salad. Both entrees were delicious with very generous portions. The service was fast and friendly. It was a Thursday night, but the place filled up pretty quickly. There was even live music. However, we were seated a couple of tables away from the music, and when the duo was playing it was too loud to carry on a conversation. Next time we will ask for a table near the back and enjoy this neighborhood gem again!

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3

Dinner out with friends

Dined on April 5, 2014

The spot that was reserved for four was on the edge of the path that the wait staff use and for the person sitting right in the path-not comfortable-constant shifting. It was very noisy with tables very close. Difficult to have a conversation with our friends. The food was pretty good but tables small to serve the 4 dishes family style. I would probably try again-perhaps not on a Friday night.

Tags: hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3

Good food not gluten free

Dined on March 30, 2014

Our food was good, especially the green curry. My wife ordered the pineapple salmon which was also good. She is celiac so cannot have gluten. We know its always a risk even when something says gluten free. However she got some breading in her dish and didn't realize it until she had taken a bite, and then unfortunately had a strong reaction later. Our server was very nice and helpful but did forget to ask if we wanted drink refills. Overall it was decent, they just need some polishing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner

Dined on March 23, 2014

Had and amazing dinner at Rice for a busy Saturday night the good and service was outstanding

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.