Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.35mi
  3. Distance: 2.76mi
  4. Distance: 3.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.35mi
  3. Distance: 2.76mi
  4. Distance: 3.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.35mi
  3. Distance: 2.76mi
  4. Distance: 3.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.35mi
  3. Distance: 2.76mi
  4. Distance: 3.73mi

About Rice Contemporary Asian Cuisine

Welcome to Rice! We offer an immense variety of contemporary Asian cuisine featuring flavors from the Far East created by our professional chefs from Asia, including Sushi made fresh & artistically presented. Our accolades include full bar, outdoor patio, beer & wine, Best Martini/Best Bloody Mary/Best Bartender 3 years in a row, Happy Hour 4-6p, monthly wine tasting the 1st Tuesday of every month, plus our Thirsty Thursday Buy 1 Get 1 FREE with live music every Thursday. Vegan and Gluten free dishes available.

228 East Plaza Street
Eagle, ID 83616
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Asian, Sushi, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5-10p. Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday thru Saturday: 4-6pm (Special offer for drinks & appetizers)
Thursday Music Night: Buy 1 get one FREE from our regular drink menu 4pm - 6pm
CLOSED SUNDAY

Cross Street:
Eagle Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 939-2595

Website:
http://www.riceeagle.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday LIVE Music with 2 for 1 drinks from 6pm - 9pm

Catering:
Lunch boxes, buffet style, family style, formal catering of any special event or occasion.

Parking Details:
Parking lot self park

Private Party Facilities:
During good weather- covered outdoor patio Back of restaurant available all year round

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Daily 4-6p
Lunch Specials M-F 11a-4p
Wine Tasting 1st Tuesday of every month 6-8p

Rice Contemporary Asian Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (5)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Happy Hour (3)
See All
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
69 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Service was very slow, food was not the normal fresh taste. Very disappointed as we had purposely planned a wonderful evening to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary.

We will search for a new sushi location since this was our second time to be disappointed here.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The tandoori chicken was dry but the accompanying yoghurt and mango chutney were good. The Kung Pao chicken was not spicy and was ladened with peas and carrots. The chicken in that dish was steamed or boiled, had little flavor. Had high hopes but probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 29, 2017

General chicken was too salty for my taste. Other fod was was fine. Did not receive napkin and silverware for all diners until asked after food came. Never asked if I wanted my beverage renewed. Water was frequently checked.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Awesome service and Sherri B was by far the best waitress I've had in a very long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great fresh veggies as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our table was reserved. Great waitress. Our sushi rolls could have been spicier. Good value. A little noisy when full.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Loved that they take reservation online. Easy to navigate. Fabulous fresh meal choices. Great outdoor seating & kind/pleasant staff.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food and service ! Always an excellent meal and attentive staff. The best Bloody Marys in town !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Service was poor. drinks and meals were forgotten and the waiter didn't notice. timing was late on drinks. Style of delivery was poor. It felt like staff had zero training and little experience. Kitchen was slow - but we were after the rush and the restaurent was emptying out. Food was mixed - some good - some OK, nothing great..

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 16, 2016

First time to Rice, and it did not disappoint. Great food - from the appetizers to the sushi to the main entrees. Very good value for portions and quality. We really enjoyed the energy of the location. Service was also very good! Would highly recommend to others looking for modern Asian cuisine.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I used this service to make a reservation. When I showed on time, I was told there'd be a 10 min wait for my table. I was the only one waiting on a table, so I can only assume my reservation was only a suggestion to them. They had live music, and nice ambiance, ...but unfortunately I only saw enough as I was walked away from the restaurant area, back to THE BAR, past open tables that had "reserved" signs on them, to get a table under the TV playing sports... back at the bar. Worth mentioning twice.

Once seated, the waitress did an average job. Nothing special, nothing bad. She was present to take my order etc, but nothing to write home about. We did get the wrong drink order, which was no big deal, but it was just one more thing on the list of my "Why did I come here for a first date?" thoughts...

I would eat here again, just because of the unique food and location, but just to eat. I'm not bringing anyone here to impress...

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very pleased with service (server)...polite, attentive, professional....
Food was excellent (chicken curry)
Loved the ambiance
Atmosphere delightful

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Late-night Find, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food is very good, with lots of variety. It is very noisy inside.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 6, 2016

We were celebrating my last cancer treatment with family. The staff was very accommodating. They even served me a free dessert. The food is delicious!! Especially the Indian Chicken Tandoori.

Tags: Vegan, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was really good and the portions were generous. We ordered with the intention of having enough for the following days lunch and we were not disappointed. The three items we ordered - curried fried rice, a filet dish and a pho, were all flavorful and well made. The curried dish did not indicate spicy (other than the word 'curry') but it was, tasted great though. The only disappointment was the dessert. Mine was the gf bread pudding but I think it had something in it that bothered me. It tasted good but not amazing (dessert should always be amazing or what is the point, eh) and my husband had what appeared to be cheesecake on the menu but was a frozen prepackaged cheesecake flavored fried pocket thing, not good at all. Every time I have eaten here the food was really good but I advise to skip dessert.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was our second time at Rice and thought it was just as good as the first. Sushi seems fresh and there is a good variety. My husband had a dish with some sliced ribeye steak, which was good except that his meat was not trimmed very well; too fatty. I also thought some of it was extremely rare. He likes it medium-rare or medium (pink), and this was kind of red. It was very tasty, though! I think, overall, I am pleased with the dishes I've had. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Spicy, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 1, 2016

We love the slection of food. Always something for us all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Love the Rice's Prawn Fried Rice dish; hard to try something else when I am there. Great appetizers and cooked food; sushi not as good. Raspberry cheesecake dessert amazing. Nice entertainment.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Perfect weather, perfect table on the patio. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Really good drinks & app. The entrées were meh- average. I've been to Rice before and have had a better experience. I will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The place is very dirty. The food did not have a lot of flavor. The service was super slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 27, 2016

This was our 3rd visit, previously with friends but this time a date night for 2.
Evert visit food and service has been great at an affordable price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 19, 2016

We don't go out much, but this was my wife's birthday and we had a great time. We'll definitely be back. Great music and food. Fun time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 10, 2016

I had a relative in from out of town - He wasn't sure about Asian food - when we left he said it was worth the whole trip (it was only an overnight trip from Washington State) just for the good food. Thanks - Excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on April 29, 2016

The service is great, the entire staff is friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about the menu. My family has eaten at Rice quite a few times over the past few years and the food is consistently delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 25, 2016

We sat in the big comfy chairs at the window. It felt like we were very special. I was on a restricted diet at the time and Rice was very accommodating. I can't wait to go back and try some more of their wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 2, 2016

A friend suggested that I meet her for lunch, as I had never been there. I was impressed with the vast choices in their menus. The food was outstanding and the service was great. I have already recommended Rice to others at my office. I will go back again and often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Excellent food and great value, but took a while to get waited on for no obvious reason. After that, the service was fine. The Fried Rice Combo plate was one of the best rice dishes I've ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2016

For a tasty healthy dinner Rice is always a good choice. Good selection of drinks and Asian inspired dishes. Servers are always attentive too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 27, 2016

His was the perfect place to meet up with friends and just enjoy some great food, friendly service and great company!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Awesome place! Great Valentine's Day dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 5, 2016

Thursday night entertainment is great. Good for dinner with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 7, 2016

Wife and I loved the wide variety of options. A ll family members found something they liked.
Highly recommend the sushi rolls and curry meals. Drinks are reasonably priced.
Local musicians add to the ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 7, 2016

Started with drinks. Cocktails were made by someone who obviously doesn't drink as a sip from the urinal may have been an improvement. The appetizers were fantastic and quickly devoured by my husband who was all to anxious to rid himself of his sazerac's lingering flavor. This menu is vast, so vast it's completely understandable why nothing tastes authentic. I've had better Thai from the frozen food section. The sushi tasted like it was covered in sugar to cover up the questionable fish. Another positive, our server was great from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 29, 2015

Great place, and had a variety of different foods. There was something for each of us. So glad we found this place. Do recommend calling or using the app to reserve a table. They filled up really fast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 31, 2015

The food is outstanding. Each of us made a different choice and everything was perfect. Wonderful way to spend a Friday night with friends. It can be noisy, but it all depends on what time you're dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 20, 2015

I love the food, but the services has been horrible every time. Being greeted by server is slow, being served beverages is slow, and drink refills are slow. As a server your tab and tip go up with drinks so I'm not sure why you wouldn't be attentive to your tables.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2015

Rice has the best Thai food in all of Boise. Everything I have had is amazing! The Panang curry and Pad Se Euw are my personal favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 14, 2015

We made reservations for the holiday and ordered the 3-course Valentine special. The entrée salad was exceptionally good - kale salad with diced apples and quinoa. The dressing was rich and sweet. The surf and turf (filet and crab) was very good, although the rub on the filet was a little too peppery for my taste but sipping the champagne I ordered helped temper the spiciness. The dessert was amazing - molten chocolate cake with a creamy dipping sauce and fresh berries. We were more than satisfied.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 25, 2014

I've had lunch at Rice a number of times but this was my first experience with dinner. I took my son and his girlfriend there for Christmas dinner. I easily made a reservation through Open Table and it was immediately honored upon our arrival. Our server was attentive and accurate during this busy evening. The food was fantastic, beautifully presented and delicious. The atmosphere was festive and we enjoyed sharing it with the other diners. I've always had great experiences dining at Rice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 25, 2014

Fast service with terrific food. Lots of menu options including vegetarian dishes. Affordable. Lots of fantastic drinks to try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.