About Rice Contemporary Asian Cuisine

228 East Plaza Street
Eagle, ID 83616
View Larger Map

Welcome to Rice! We offer an immense variety of contemporary Asian cuisine featuring flavors from the Far East created by our professional chefs from Asia, including Sushi made fresh & artistically presented. Our accolades include full bar, outdoor patio, beer & wine, Best Martini/Best Bloody Mary/Best Bartender 3 years in a row, Happy Hour 4-6p, monthly wine tasting the 1st Tuesday of every month, plus our Thirsty Thursday Buy 1 Get 1 FREE with live music every Thursday. Vegan and Gluten free dishes available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Asian, Sushi, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5-10p. Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday thru Saturday: 4-6pm (Special offer for drinks & appetizers)
Thursday Music Night: Buy 1 get one FREE from our regular drink menu 4pm - 6pm
CLOSED SUNDAY

Cross Street:
Eagle Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 939-2595

Website:
http://www.riceeagle.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday LIVE Music with 2 for 1 drinks from 6pm - 9pm

Catering:
Lunch boxes, buffet style, family style, formal catering of any special event or occasion.

Parking Details:
Parking lot self park

Private Party Facilities:
During good weather- covered outdoor patio Back of restaurant available all year round

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Daily 4-6p
Lunch Specials M-F 11a-4p
Wine Tasting 1st Tuesday of every month 6-8p

Rice Contemporary Asian Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (7)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
See All
Healthy (3)
Casual (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Spicy (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Cozy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vegan (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Authentic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
59 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I used this service to make a reservatio ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I used this service to make a reservation. When I showed on time, I was told there'd be a 10 min wait for my table. I was the only one waiting on a table, so I can only assume my reservation was only a suggestion to them. They had live music, and nice ambiance, ...but unfortunately I only saw enough as I was walked away from the restaurant area, back to THE BAR, past open tables that had "reserved" signs on them, to get a table under the TV playing sports... back at the bar. Worth mentioning twice.

Once seated, the waitress did an average job. Nothing special, nothing bad. She was present to take my order etc, but nothing to write home about. We did get the wrong drink order, which was no big deal, but it was just one more thing on the list of my "Why did I come here for a first date?" thoughts...

I would eat here again, just because of the unique food and location, but just to eat. I'm not bringing anyone here to impress...

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Very pleased with service (server)...pol ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Very pleased with service (server)...polite, attentive, professional....

Food was excellent (chicken curry)

Loved the ambiance

Atmosphere delightful

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Healthy, Late-night Find, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is very good, with lots of vari ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food is very good, with lots of variety. It is very noisy inside.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were celebrating my last cancer treat ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We were celebrating my last cancer treatment with family. The staff was very accommodating. They even served me a free dessert. The food is delicious!! Especially the Indian Chicken Tandoori.

Tags: Vegan, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good and the portion ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was really good and the portions were generous. We ordered with the intention of having enough for the following days lunch and we were not disappointed. The three items we ordered - curried fried rice, a filet dish and a pho, were all flavorful and well made. The curried dish did not indicate spicy (other than the word 'curry') but it was, tasted great though. The only disappointment was the dessert. Mine was the gf bread pudding but I think it had something in it that bothered me. It tasted good but not amazing (dessert should always be amazing or what is the point, eh) and my husband had what appeared to be cheesecake on the menu but was a frozen prepackaged cheesecake flavored fried pocket thing, not good at all. Every time I have eaten here the food was really good but I advise to skip dessert.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our second time at Rice and tho ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was our second time at Rice and thought it was just as good as the first. Sushi seems fresh and there is a good variety. My husband had a dish with some sliced ribeye steak, which was good except that his meat was not trimmed very well; too fatty. I also thought some of it was extremely rare. He likes it medium-rare or medium (pink), and this was kind of red. It was very tasty, though! I think, overall, I am pleased with the dishes I've had. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Spicy, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love the slection of food. Always som ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 1, 2016

We love the slection of food. Always something for us all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the Rice's Prawn Fried Rice dish; h ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Love the Rice's Prawn Fried Rice dish; hard to try something else when I am there. Great appetizers and cooked food; sushi not as good. Raspberry cheesecake dessert amazing. Nice entertainment.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Perfect weather, perfect table on the pa ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Perfect weather, perfect table on the patio. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Really good drinks & app. The entrées were meh- average. I've been to Rice before and have had a better experience. I will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

The place is very dirty. The food did no ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The place is very dirty. The food did not have a lot of flavor. The service was super slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

an Asian Delight

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our 3rd visit, previously with friends but this time a date night for 2.

Evert visit food and service has been great at an affordable price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We don't go out much, but this was my wi ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 20, 2016

We don't go out much, but this was my wife's birthday and we had a great time. We'll definitely be back. Great music and food. Fun time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I had a relative in from out of town - H ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 11, 2016

I had a relative in from out of town - He wasn't sure about Asian food - when we left he said it was worth the whole trip (it was only an overnight trip from Washington State) just for the good food. Thanks - Excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service is great, the entire staff i ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on April 30, 2016

The service is great, the entire staff is friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about the menu. My family has eaten at Rice quite a few times over the past few years and the food is consistently delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating my friends birthday.

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 25, 2016

We sat in the big comfy chairs at the window. It felt like we were very special. I was on a restricted diet at the time and Rice was very accommodating. I can't wait to go back and try some more of their wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food with many choices

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 2, 2016

A friend suggested that I meet her for lunch, as I had never been there. I was impressed with the vast choices in their menus. The food was outstanding and the service was great. I have already recommended Rice to others at my office. I will go back again and often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I'll go back.

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent food and great value, but took a while to get waited on for no obvious reason. After that, the service was fine. The Fried Rice Combo plate was one of the best rice dishes I've ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Always Yummy

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2016

For a tasty healthy dinner Rice is always a good choice. Good selection of drinks and Asian inspired dishes. Servers are always attentive too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Double date night

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 28, 2016

His was the perfect place to meet up with friends and just enjoy some great food, friendly service and great company!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place! Great Valentine's Day din ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Awesome place! Great Valentine's Day dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great selection and food. Like outdoor seating

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Thursday night entertainment is great. Good for dinner with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 8, 2016

Wife and I loved the wide variety of options. A ll family members found something they liked.

Highly recommend the sushi rolls and curry meals. Drinks are reasonably priced.

Local musicians add to the ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Started with drinks. Cocktails were made ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 8, 2016

Started with drinks. Cocktails were made by someone who obviously doesn't drink as a sip from the urinal may have been an improvement. The appetizers were fantastic and quickly devoured by my husband who was all to anxious to rid himself of his sazerac's lingering flavor. This menu is vast, so vast it's completely understandable why nothing tastes authentic. I've had better Thai from the frozen food section. The sushi tasted like it was covered in sugar to cover up the questionable fish. Another positive, our server was great from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Great place

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 30, 2015

Great place, and had a variety of different foods. There was something for each of us. So glad we found this place. Do recommend calling or using the app to reserve a table. They filled up really fast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to meet friends

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 1, 2015

The food is outstanding. Each of us made a different choice and everything was perfect. Wonderful way to spend a Friday night with friends. It can be noisy, but it all depends on what time you're dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Poor Service Good Food

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 21, 2015

I love the food, but the services has been horrible every time. Being greeted by server is slow, being served beverages is slow, and drink refills are slow. As a server your tab and tip go up with drinks so I'm not sure why you wouldn't be attentive to your tables.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Best Thai in the Treasure Valley

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2015

Rice has the best Thai food in all of Boise. Everything I have had is amazing! The Panang curry and Pad Se Euw are my personal favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Valentine's Day

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2015

We made reservations for the holiday and ordered the 3-course Valentine special. The entrée salad was exceptionally good - kale salad with diced apples and quinoa. The dressing was rich and sweet. The surf and turf (filet and crab) was very good, although the rub on the filet was a little too peppery for my taste but sipping the champagne I ordered helped temper the spiciness. The dessert was amazing - molten chocolate cake with a creamy dipping sauce and fresh berries. We were more than satisfied.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always Great!

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 26, 2014

I've had lunch at Rice a number of times but this was my first experience with dinner. I took my son and his girlfriend there for Christmas dinner. I easily made a reservation through Open Table and it was immediately honored upon our arrival. Our server was attentive and accurate during this busy evening. The food was fantastic, beautifully presented and delicious. The atmosphere was festive and we enjoyed sharing it with the other diners. I've always had great experiences dining at Rice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food.

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 25, 2014

Fast service with terrific food. Lots of menu options including vegetarian dishes. Affordable. Lots of fantastic drinks to try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hire more waiters

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 25, 2014

The food was outstanding. We went Christmas Eve at 6pm. The location of our table was fine, it was in the bar area, but our waiter was also the only bar tender. We ordered our drinks and an appetizer. The drinks arrived but the appetizer was forgotten all together. To get another drink we had to go up to the bar and get it ourselves. The food was served by another person so it was hot and delicious.

More wait staff should have been on duty. To expect the overworked bartender to also be a waiter was not only unfair to us but was also unfair to the bartender. The excellence of the food was great enough that we will try this restaurant again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Excellent restaurant

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 14, 2014

Met friends here Saturday night. Didn't feel rushed, sat for several hours - practically closed the restaurant down. Food was delicious - I had the spicy tuna roll and the sweet momma, this is now my new favorite. My daughter had the general chicken - thank goodness because it is the best in town and I got to have a couple of bites of hers along with my sushi rolls. The other three at the table enjoyed their meals also.

One of my pet peeves however is having to ask for my water to be refilled, especially when it's the only beverage I have. Had to ask several times throughout the dinner.

Overall it was an excellent evening with great food and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Surreal experience

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 16, 2014

First off, the restaurant did NOT have our 6:30 PM Open Table reservations recorded on their reservation list. Reservations were made on Friday for a Saturday evening dinner. Food was great. Service less than with soup coming to table after entrees, forgotten drink orders, having to request water on multiple occasions, etc. Restaurant was not crowded, although most diners arrived around 7 PM. Again good food, but must be have patience about service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

An Eagle Gem

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 27, 2014

If you have never been to Rice you have missed one of the great dining experiences in the Treasure Valley. The food, the service and the setting (particularly the patio for warm weather dining) are a treat each and every time. The wonderful blend of Asian dishes with just some well placed subtle additions makes each bite a pleasure. Been there numerous times, for a variety of reasons and never been less than impressed with the entire evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great spot

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 17, 2014

Terrific Asian Fusion in an unexpected location. A real favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not a good experience

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 16, 2014

The front desk told us they were not aware of our preference on OpenTable, and we noticed 2 tables reserved appeared the least desirable to sit...the entire staff was racing around like they could not keep up; very harried energy. I love very hot food and always request their hottest 5 stars. The food was good, but couldn't be even rated 1 star in my opinion... everyone moved around too fast for me to tell them I would have liked a change, so I ate my food because I was so hungry...I needed to put my empty glass on the edge of my table so that a passing rushed server could notice it...the check came in a flash and I felt as though they couldn't get us out of there fast enough.

It will likely be a while before I think about visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Love the atmosphere, but the acoustics b ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 15, 2014

Love the atmosphere, but the acoustics being poor doesn't make for easy conversation.

The waitresses couldn't seem to agree on who was waiting on our table. Got a little confusing

now and again, but we didn't lack for service or our meal.

Food was very good.

Second time there - will return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and the service was great ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 13, 2014

Excellent food and the service was great.

Very accomodating and fast!

thank you

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

For not being busy, service was quite sl ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 12, 2014

For not being busy, service was quite slow. Skateboarders were kind of a pain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I Almost Wanted to Help...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 5, 2014

For a b-day dinner I decided to check this place out. I love Asian fusion food typically, and the food here was outstanding; even getting the food out to us was incredibly quick once our server was able to get to us. It was the 5th of July, the place was filling up quickly around 5:30p and there was 1 hostess, 3 servers and nobody else to be found. I guesstimate that there were about 20-30 tables and by the time we left at 7 they had been full for quite some time. Our server was a nice young man who for all intensive purposes, however the poor kid was spread throughout the entire restaurant. There was no organization, no front of the house management, and everyone was running around like poor chickens with their heads cut off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.