Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Rhubarb

Rhubarb serves seasonal, regional American fare, sourced from nearby farms and dairies. Acclaimed
chef John Fleer, formerly of Blackberry Farm, and his team craft a daily-changing menu including
wood-fired dishes, plates made for sharing, house-baked breads, and other rustic creations. A thoughtful wine list showcasing natural and biodynamic wines and a full bar round out the offerings. For parties of 7 or more please contact the restaurant directly.

7 SW Pack Square
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Farm-to-table, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Monday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Wednesday, Thursday 11:30AM- 9:30PM
Tuesday - Closed
Friday 11:30 AM-10:30 PM
Saturday 10:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Sunday 10:30 AM - 9:30 PM Dinner

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave and Patton Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 785-1503

Website:
http://rhubarbasheville.com/

Parking Details:
There are 5 parking garages located within close proximity to Rhubarb. Street parking is also available

Executive Chef:
John Fleer

Private Party Facilities:
We'd love to host your event! Our private event space seats up to 80, and is comfortable for standing receptions up to 125. For more information about our event space, visit rhubarbasheville.com/private-events, or email elizabeth@rhubarbasheville.com.

Private Party Contact:
Elizabeth Westridge: (866) 603-6751

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rhubarb Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (69)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Local Ingredients (65)
See All
Good for a Date (44)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Authentic (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Hot Spot (29)
Casual (27)
Seasonal (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Healthy (23)
People Watching (23)
Fun (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Romantic (20)
Organic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Cozy (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Tapas (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great Beer (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Vegan (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort by
S
1423 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Chef Fleer and his team are some of the best in the business! Excellent meal from start to finish!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Locally sourced food and great atmosphere make this a great addition to the Asheville foodie scene. Highly recommend the cheese tray and pickles. We had 2 vegetarian and 1 vegan meal which were very good. Biscuits were so yummy! I would definitely recommend for anyone. Service was great and the homemade soda was wonderful.

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

My experience was outstanding from the hostess stand to the way out the door.
One picky eater, Vegetarian and lactose intolerant guests and we all left thinking is was one of the best meals we have had in a long time. I will go back soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall, I would recommend this restaurant, but our experience was a little weird. Great location downtown with a nice interior. Food was pretty good, but my entree should have been hotter (see comment about service). Our server was nice and professional, but appeared to be completely stressed out. I suspect he was having to take care of too many tables that night. The ordering process was confusing. My wife and I commented to each other that we hoped we actually received what we ordered (we did). The bottle of wine we ordered arrived at the table after the main plates arrived which I suspect had sat a little longer than they should before being served. Then they sat untouched while he served the wine (which took a while since the cork broke off in the bottle). Thus the less than hot food. The bill was wrong since he forgot to charge us for the bottle of wine. He said it was his error and not to worry about it he would take care of it. I know enough about the restaurant business to know that meant he would have to cover it out of his pocket. We weren't willing to let that happen so we left enough money to cover the wine plus a normal gratuity, even though we were never presented with a correct bill. The service was more amusing than anything else and would not have left me with a negative impression of the restaurant. However what did bother us was when the cooks brought out a tray of raw chickens and proceed to butcher them in the same area where food was being prepared and plated. Although I am sure that it was all sanitary, it is just not what I want to watch while eating a fairly expensive meal. Nor am I crazy about the proximity to the finished food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 5, 2017

This was our first trip to Rhubarb. We have eaten at a number of restaurants around the US that feature local ingredients and open fire cooking. Rhubarb was very disappointing. They have taken the open fire trend a little too far. While the ingredients appeared to be of good quality almost everything was over charred and extremely bitter in many cases. And for the few things that were not over charred the seasoning was uninspired.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on December 4, 2017

Everything was perfect for our anniversary dinner. Our waiter (Tucker) was very personable and took great care of us!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Loved the food, the space and the staff...great experience...recommend.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Order several plates to share! I’m a local that will always go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Rhubarb truly has unique food for Asheville. Located in the center of Asheville makes it special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 2, 2017

The Brussel sprouts were amazing. Good food and good atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Perhaps I ordered the wrong things on the menu but my favorite thing (and only thing I truly enjoyed) was the soup. They had many creative dishes and I shared a few of the ones recommended by the server with my friend. We just weren’t that happy with the dishes. Hopefully your experience will be better.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Really enjoyed the Sunday brunch. Great glass of bubbly to celebrate wife's birthday.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Creative, great food. Farm-to -table local ingresients. Some dishes a bit salt heavy, but overall delicious!

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Healthy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2017

We ate there early on a Saturday evening, having made reservations. The decor and location are very good, very hip and fit the Asheville scene. The service was attentive and polite. We each ordered a glass of way-overpriced red wine ($12 per small pour). The menu has lots of very expensive vegetables offered a la carte, and 4 or 5 entrees, priced $27 - $32. We ordered brussels sprouts and squash soup for appetizers. Sprouts were very good, although skimpy quantity for the $. The soup was ok, nothing special. For entrees, we ordered grouper and duck. Both were adequate, but not at all what one expects for that price. No bread was offered and, of course, no salad comes with the dinner. We skipped coffee and dessert and the tab was $130, including tip. We can afford it, but this is WAY too much for a fairly skimpy, mediocre-quality meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Despite a confirmed reservation, we waited 30 minutes for our table, after being told it would only be “a couple of minutes” wait. The food was not bad, just nothing special. The restaurant seemed very popular, maybe we just caught them on an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2017

We went to Rhubarb for date night without the kids. Everything was spot on – local and fresh. Great wine list too. Service was fabulous.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Rhubarb never disappoints, local seasonal ingredients prepared simply - yet sophisticated. The Sunburst Trout preparation is always excellent, as are the local cheese selections.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Fantastic. One of the best meals I have had the past year. 5 dishes - 4 were A+. Excellent service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Great service. Amazing food! Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Great meal every time. Combinations of flavors remarkable. Staff impeccable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Seasonal, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 14, 2017

One of the best meals that I have had in years. Chef Fleer and his team know how to use local, seasonal ingredients to create a culinary experience that is unparalleled in Western NC.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We enjoyed several small plates and loved each one of them. Cornbread soup was delicious. Pork meatballs were awesome, but for $11, seems like you should get more than two meatballs. The mushroom bean cassoulet was wonderful, albeit a little over-oiled.

The atmosphere was inviting, but we sat in a cove next to a very large glass window and it was much colder than the rest of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great service. The food is delicious. Mostly local seasonal items on the menu. Very enjoyable experience. Truly a gem in Asheville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Service was okay. Ate here for brunch. Buttermilk Cornbread Soup was interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

We had the ru burger without knowing there was bacon in it. We found out afterwards. My friend does not believe in eating pork so she is deeply offended. I didn’t recheck the menu to see if it’s pointed out. If it’s not it should be. This is a big deal for a lot of reasons.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Absolutely delicious was the verdict of our group of four and we all had different entrees. So the food certainly lived up to the hype. But our main course selections were a long time coming! This did not matter to us as we were in no hurry, but several groups of diners nearby who arrived after us were served before us, and several had the same entrees! Made us wonder if they got our orders??

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 8, 2017

We had a great time at Rhubarb. Adam was our server and he was just great. We started with the toasted almonds which were delicious. I ordered the Wreckfish and my wife ordered the Tilefish which was a tad better. Overall a great place with a fantastic chef.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2017

All I can say is AMAZING!!! Great service, wonderful cocktails, appetizers were fantastic, entrees were to die for and we had four different ones and tasted them all!, dessert was amazing! Please make reservations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Vegan, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Good food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Service was slow. I asked for a quiet corner because it was my wife’s birthday and the sat us at the table next to the servers entrance to the kitchen, the busiest place in the restaurant . Other than that it was good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fun, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Prices in this restaurant would’ve been justified with tableclothes inside on the tables. It was vibrant and noisy but expected because we were at a table near the kitchen. Quality of the ingredients and the creativity of the dishes was amazing from app to dessert.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

We've eaten at Rhubarb twice and have been underwhelmed with the food both times. While the ambiance, presentation of food and service are excellent, the food flavors are underwhelming. The meats are over cooked and the main flavoring is butter or bacon grease. For the price, we expect flavors to pop and the food to be exciting both on the plate and in the belly. Sad to not be going back as we're locals who love supporting our community.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2017

I’ve been 3 or 4 times and have always been very happy.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Great food in comfortable atmosphere.
Unique and eclectic.
Good and friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Organic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

Excellent food service & atmosphere. Great place! Fabulous find.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Sat down and left within about 10 min. It was very loud. We were seated right next to kitchen so lots of noise and heat coming from there. Couldn't even hear the waiter and he couldn't speak up loud enough for us to hear him. Decided to cut our losses at that point and left. Too bad bc we had heard good things about it. The menu did have a lot of unique items, maybe even a bit unusual. I really only saw a couple of things that looked good. Not enough options for a vegetarian either. Prices seemed a bit high. I would recommend that others look at menu before deciding to go there. I should have looked at it more carefully.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Amazing cuisine... service less appealing! My husband and I visit Asheville for a week every year around Fall, and we are kind of foodies that love the laid back service oriented atmosphere. When we arrived WITH reservations it was clearly the "you need us, we don't need you" feel. I did appreciate that the portions were very small and very high-quality and I don't mind paying any amount for food that is good for your health; but THE STAFF assessment... awful and put out. I am frequently patronizing new restaurant scenes in many states and if you are simply "over it" upon arrival of people wanting to relax and be cared for, not a good taste! Side note: the bartender was GREAT!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Not really sure what the fuss is about. Service and location are good, but the food and drinks were definitely mediocre. Will not be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Shane was an amazing server! His recommendations were spot on. We loved everything! We will definitely return to Rhubarb when we come to Asheville again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Service was too fast. Waiter was rushing around and we didn't have time to ask questions before he walked away to take care of something else. There is a balance between good customer service and being efficient . This waiter did not understand that concept.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.