Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Rhubarb

Rhubarb serves seasonal, regional American fare, sourced from nearby farms and dairies. Acclaimed
chef John Fleer, formerly of Blackberry Farm, and his team craft a daily-changing menu including
wood-fired dishes, plates made for sharing, house-baked breads, and other rustic creations. A thoughtful wine list showcasing natural and biodynamic wines and a full bar round out the offerings.

7 SW Pack Square
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Farm-to-table, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Monday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Wednesday, Thursday 11:30AM- 9:30PM
Tuesday - Closed
Friday 11:30 AM-10:30 PM
Saturday 10:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Sunday 10:30 AM - 9:30 PM Dinner

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave and Patton Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 785-1503

Website:
http://rhubarbasheville.com/

Parking Details:
There are 5 parking garages located within close proximity to Rhubarb. Street parking is also available

Executive Chef:
John Fleer

Private Party Facilities:
We'd love to host your event! Our private event space seats up to 80, and is comfortable for standing receptions up to 125. For more information about our event space, visit rhubarbasheville.com/private-events, or email elizabeth@rhubarbasheville.com.

Private Party Contact:
Ellie Wigodsky: (866) 603-6751

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rhubarb Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (38)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Local Ingredients (33)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Authentic (16)
People Watching (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Casual (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Seasonal (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fun (13)
Healthy (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Organic (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Romantic (9)
Cozy (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Vegan (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Made our rez without realizing it was Sunday Supper night! We were offered the SS menu, even though we were not at the community table, and jumped at it. Chefs Choice meal of the freshest local ingredients: 4 appetizers, 5 mains and dessert. All served family style and the portions are entirely appropriate so you can enjoy it all. Kelsey, our server, was wonderful. She saw that we wanted to enjoy our meal more slowly and jumped in to make it happen. We were seated outside and lucky enough to have some of the best buskers in Asheville performing during our meal. (Abby the Spoon Lady and Chris Rodrigues - YouTube them for a treat.)
Fabulous evening and Rhubarb will be a must do when in Asheville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

First time in Asheville. Went to Rhubarb in a recommendation and no regrets. We had all small plates and appetizers because they all looked good. Food did not disappoint. All were great, bison tartare was my favorite.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding experience- food, service and location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful evening from entry to exit. Food was delicious, perfectly cooked and locally sourced. Service was excellent. It is obvious the people at Rhubarb are serious about their food, why they do it the way they do it, and they take time to share this with their customer family. Very well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Never disappointed. This is one of my go to restaurants here in Asheville.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 11, 2017

My husband and I shared three items. On the cure plate, the best item was the country pate with pickled radish slices. The salads/dips were OK. The pork belly was good - especially the glaze but 90% of it was fat. Mind you, very nice fat but I only expect that much fat if I'm ordering marrow. The duck confit was very good - especially with the glaze that was on the pork belly. It didn't have enough of it's own sauce to complement it. Maybe we were a little jaded after spending a week in New Orleans eating stellar food. Rhubarb is decidedly second tier for foodies, nothing to compare to August, GW Fins, Revolution or Antoine's. Coming from Blackberry Farm, I guess I expected a little better from this chef. The service, however, was superb.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Excellent food! Choices are interesting. Local foods make for interesting choices. Staff is very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2017

The food was outstanding and service was great. We came here to relax after our wedding and this was the perfect dinner choice. We will be coming back next time we are in town. Thank you!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We ate at Rhubarb this past Saturday night. Excellent creative menu, we all enjoyed our meals and cocktails. Cool atmosphere, it became a little louder around 9 pm( our reservation was at 7).
Our only negative comment was regarding the wait staff. Our server, Michelle, was kind but spoke very fast ( this coming from a fast talker) and seemed rushed . The menu is complex with some culinary foods that need some description. When we inquired about something she rushed through her answer and then asked if we needed more time. We all felt we were bothering her by asking questions. This is frustrating when you are out for a nice meal. As a mom of 2 young kids, we don’t get this opportunity often. Our bill for 4 adults between some apps/cocktails/wine/entrees and desert was over 300.00. This should warrant excellent table service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was good. Everyone was hustling but it took a long time to get the food, and one person had to wait a good five minutes for the waitress to come filet his fish which obviously lets it cool. Granted she was busy, but seems like they should have someone else available to do it if needed.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was okay, but not anything that sets it apart from any other modern southern restaurant that we have eaten at. We had high hopes for one dish in particular, a wood roasted chicken of the woods, which was an unfortunate flop. The mushroom had no flavor, and could have been executed so much better. Vegetarian food can taste just as good, if you know how to prepare it properly.
We might have stayed to order more food, but we left a little hungry due to the fact that we sat in a windowed alcove where the temperature was an uncomfortable 76 degrees. We made this situation known to our server, who tried to remedy the situation (she was great, and did everything she could). It was such an uncomfortable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The quality of the food was amazing, some of the best cooking I have ever had. The farm to table emphasis on freshness and quality leads to dishes that are so flavorful and the chef is very good. We went at lunch time and the prices were quite reasonable particularly considering the quality of the food. The atmosphere was casual and pleasant. We will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Terrible experience, do not recommend. It took us almost two hours to get our entrees, which were small and, in the case of the trout, not very interesting or good. The waiter was competent but overwhelmed, and I had to go find the manager before we got our food. Server comped our dessert after I got sassy. Dessert was another miss - the brownie was average and the panna cotta tasted like fussy fig newton. We left hungry after a long evening in a very loud restaurant. On our way out, the server apologized and then shrugged, stating "what are you going to do, its a Friday night in October!" Be warned - this level of service is apparently not unusual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Delicious food, great wait staff, unrushed, very nice!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Maybe if I was younger, hipper, into "different" food experiences, our party would have liked it more. But, if you're a "foodie", try it, you may love it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Just rather disappointed on all levels, actually. (And then it may not have helped that there was a group of homeless men RIGHT outside the fencing of the restaurant. One got rather excited and began kicking the fencing. A bit distracting to say the least.) The server brought a couple of tastes of wine--one sample was actually bad. He didn't seem too terribly happy to be there, and sadly that transmitted to his enthusiasm in serving us. The beet salad was okay; it seemed as if the beets might be a bit old. The fish that my daughter and I shared was very good though. Just wasn't really bowled over at all.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Excellent dinners, beautifully plated and delicious. The sangria was a really good and a pleasant surprise

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Restaurant was highly recommended. I was not overly impressed by anything we ordered. The steak was a cheap cut of meat and the chicken came in an obnoxious casserole dish. Both meals lacked flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 3, 2017

The food was excellent! The homeless people cursing at each other, setting up drug deals, and drinking right next to our outdoor table ruined the evening. Many diners around us seemed to be equally disturbed as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Michelle was a delightful server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Had an 8:00 reservation-got to the bar at 7:00 and checked in with the hostess. Checked with the her again at 8:00, 8:15 and 8:30 about our table. Finally seated outdoors because our indoor table was still not available--we'd had the reservation for 3 weeks. Think we were forgotten at the bar and our table was give to someone else! They should be able to do better!

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Delicious food. Unfortunately I was sitting right under an air conditioning vent and was cold- next time I'll bring a sweater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent. Definatley worth the wait. Great atmosphere, excellent service, and a true gem in Asheville.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Everything about Rhubarb is Fantastic. The line cooks are amazing and the wait staff are all great. John has put together such a great team and a wonderful place to dine. It is the best restaurant in Asheville.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Casual, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Overall the meal was very good, but we had a few small issues. First, although our reservations were for 7:30, we weren't seated until 8. I'm okay with waiting for a few minutes, but this really seems like poor management by the restaurant. Second, I had called ahead of time to try and order a dessert- we were celebrating both a birthday and an upcoming wedding. The restaurant assured me they would make a note and take care of it. Great, except they didn't. We even mentioned the special occasions to our server directly after being seated. So overall a good experience, but a few service missteps that were a little disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 29, 2017

This is my second time at Rhubarb. Lamb appetizer was wonderful. The entrees were delicious.
I suggest skipping the desserts. The chef is making complicated desserts that are tasteless. We ordered a variety of desserts for the table and not one person was delighted.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 29, 2017

overall friendly environment with happy waitstaff and always engaging owner. chicken with vegetables was delicious and pork collar was tasty though a small portion - think about ways to fill the plate a bit more while retaining the display. chard wasn't quite cleaned and too al dente. Trigger fish was good too but, again, too small a portion for the price. table salad for 4 was inadequate in volume and taste for $27. the Hogue Cabernet Savignon was nice for the pallet but at $72/bottle it was pricey. Overall, though, we'd go back because we always expect something good and better from Chef and Owner John Fleer!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 29, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed dinner at Rhubarb for our first wedding anniversary. The ambiance was perfect - loved the craft cocktails and farm to table dishes. The service was excellent, too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Vegan, Organic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Had the best time sitting at the chef's table! Great food- a great place to share dishes and try everything!

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

Wonderful and fun atmosphere. Fish was outstanding as was my husbands steak so good for any appetite!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Excellent brunch. Menu is not huge but everything we had was incredible. Biscuits, homemade jam and fresh butter were absolutely fantastic. Good coffee as well which is key if you have eggs!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I have eaten at Rhubarb several times - the food is good, the service is spotty - sometimes great, sometimes not so great. But one constant is a badly managed bar.
This visit was a birthday party with family coming to Asheville from San Diego to Brooklyn and in between. So it was embarrassing that we had a very grumpy server and a very slow bar - our appetizers came before our drinks and our drinks were not complicated. Really not acceptable.
We had to ask for the birthday platter - and then it looked like someone threw a bunch of leftover bits of dessert on a board with a very small sad candle -
Rhubarb should do better and now I'm not sure that I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food was good and flavors were well balanced. The service was great. Appetizers were good but the Pimento fritters were a little over done. Fish (trout and trigger fish) were cooked perfectly.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Our experience was disappointing. Our dinner reservation was early (6:15) to allow us time to get to an event afterward. They seemed behind from the get-go, which isn't what you expect that early on a Friday.
10 minutes for someone to take first drink order. Almost as long to receive first drink order.
Appetizers were better than main dishes. Server was inattentive at best and appeared to spend more time helping at the kitchen counter than helping guests. He was even impossible to flag as he made he way through to deliver food to other tables. We eventually had to go to the bar to get our own drinks because he was gone so long. When he finally came back and saw that we had drinks, he was clearly confused but didn't ask how we got them or offer any apology - he just looked annoyed. Didn't come back at all once food was served. Bizarre.
There are so many great restaurants in Asheville that we'll take this one off the list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at Rhubarb on a recent visit to Asheville. We had the burrata, triggerfish and duck confit and all were excellent. They even have a kids menu which made our daughter happy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Vacationing in Asheville. Rhubarb was a suggestion by staff at the B&B where we were staying. We were impressed with uniqueness of the menu. Our entree was very tasty with a number of warm and cold sides. Our server was attentive and made a great wine selection for us. Would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Past experiences 4/5 always recommend, but this experience was a 2/5, the food was undercooked and bloody, restaurant changed the beet salad ( no taste, smaller portion). Had to chew on the beef for 5 minutes before swallowing because it was so chewy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Outstanding place to dine. Excellent food & service. Never felt rushed to finish eating. Highly recommend. Can't wait to dine at Rhubarb's again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We really enjoyed a late evening dinner last Friday night! The weather was perfect so we opted for outdoor seating where we could enjoy the fun Asheville street performers. We also decided to share a long table with another couple whom we did not know and had fun conversation (as well as benefitting from their dining experience). In order to try the most items from the very interesting menu, we opted for a series of small plates and were not disappointed by any of them! Very friendly and knowledgable servers. We will definitely recommend Rhubarb to friends!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great food in Asheville! Recommended by Adam, one of the fabulous waiters at Rhubarb. Trigger Fish was amazing! Flank steak was excellent! Overall food and service were best we've had in Asheville! You've got to try ! p.s ...get one of the desserts👌

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.