About Rhubarb

7 SW Pack Square
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Rhubarb, at the heart of Asheville on Pack Square, is a comfortable place for friends, families and strangers to simply lean in and enjoy the company-a place where food and drink is at its uncomplicated best. Chef John Fleer, a three time James Beard nominee for Best Chef Southeast has created a menu inspired by seasonal, local ingredients and pays homage to the bounty of regional and American cooking. A wood-fired oven and grill complement the rustic creations. Wine selections are entirely ecological and sustainable. The bar pays tribute to the early 20th century cocktail culture.

Sunday Supper, a three-course meal served at the Rhubarb family tables, is served each Sunday at 6:30. The Sunday Supper menu will be different from the regular restaurant menu and will reflect the bounty of the weekend markets presented family style. A local guest farmer will host our weekly convivial community tables. For Sunday Supper Reservations please call at 828-785-1503.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday 11:30AM- 9:30PM
Tuesday - Closed
Friday 11:30 AM-10:30 PM
Saturday 10:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Sunday 10:30 AM - 9:30 PM Dinner

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave and Patton Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 785-1503

Website:
http://www.rhubarbasheville.com/

Parking Details:
There are 5 parking garages located within close proximity to Rhubarb. Street parking is also available

Executive Chef:
John Fleer

Private Party Facilities:
Rhubarb is a place where you can simply lean in and enjoy the company. A place where food and drink are at their uncomplicated best - creating personal memories and shared experiences.

Private Party Contact:
Ellie Wigodsky: 8666036751

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rhubarb, Asheville, NC
Rhubarb, Asheville, NC
Rhubarb, Asheville, NC
Rhubarb, Asheville, NC
Rhubarb, Asheville, NC
Rhubarb, Asheville, NC
Rhubarb, Asheville, NC
Rhubarb, Asheville, NC
Rhubarb, Asheville, NC
Rhubarb, Asheville, NC
Rhubarb, Asheville, NC
Rhubarb, Asheville, NC
Rhubarb, Asheville, NC
Rhubarb, Asheville, NC
Rhubarb, Asheville, NC
Rhubarb, Asheville, NC
Rhubarb, Asheville, NC
Rhubarb, Asheville, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rhubarb Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Most Booked
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville
1 More
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Fit for Foodies (84)
Local Ingredients (61)
Creative Cuisine (56)
See All
Special Occasion (49)
Good for a Date (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Open Kitchen (34)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Casual (29)
Authentic (29)
Seasonal (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Hot Spot (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Organic (16)
Healthy (16)
Comfort Food (15)
People Watching (15)
Fun (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Cozy (14)
Wood Oven (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Business Meals (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Tapas (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great Beer (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Scenic View (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (2)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Poor service and we were charged $3.00 f ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Poor service and we were charged $3.00 for bread even though we were spending well over $100 on our meal. Food was subpar. I was looking forward to going there for months and was really disappointed overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

My wife and I went to Rhubarb for lunch. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

My wife and I went to Rhubarb for lunch. We both had the Trout. It was cooked perfectly. It was served with local root vegatables with a light tasty sauce. The open kitchen was great, the service was a little bit slow but attentive. The environment was understated but classy. Nice bar and nice selection of moderately priced wines. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was absolutely outstanding. I ...

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was absolutely outstanding. I love autumnal soups generally but the pumpkin soup was excellent and had a different flavoring from anywhere else. The sunburst trout was cooked perfectly, there were three other entrees I could have ordered from the very creative menu. Wine list had something for every budget and dessert also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very hip, cool vibe. The portion sizes ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Very hip, cool vibe. The portion sizes of appetizers and main course are very generous. We are paleo (not strict when dining out) and loved the protein and vegetable choices. Service was spot on. We didn't sit at the chefs bar but I would recommend, unless you want something more private.

Tags: Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've dined three times at Rhubarb which ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

I've dined three times at Rhubarb which has a central location at Pack Square and very pleasant ambiance and staff and a bar with a wide variety of scotch and bourbons. However, I have found uneven quality in their preparations and find it extremely overpriced compared to equivalent restaurants including a $20 corkage fee and even an annoying $3 charge for bread and butter. Even with a $50 OpenTable coupon and bringing my own wine, dinner for two with tip approached $100. Over my three meals I noted the following: While the grilled octopus was superb, the lamb ribs are served unimaginably in a Hoisin sauce right from the jar and the Market vegetable plate is more notable for its arrangement than its taste; very bland. The roast chicken is a generous portion but I found mine undercooked and tough and the wreckfish was not only a tiny portion but did not smell fresh and was decidedly rubbery in texture. I think its potential to be superb, but it is falling well short of being the dining destination it ought to be.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great local fare. Rhubarb is wonderful ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great local fare. Rhubarb is wonderful in their commitment to using great locally sourced products. The kitchen really shines here,and it is nice that it open and we can watch the chefs prepare our food. Highly recommended .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Exceptional food;kid friendly and person ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Exceptional food;kid friendly and personable staff. Will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cooking was excellent with a high re ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The cooking was excellent with a high regional focus. The waitress was excellent throughout the dinner. We joked that, while all four of us are very good cooks that cook outside the box, we were looking up ingredients on the internet. Guess we don't cook Appalachian food. Wine list was good and fairly priced. Will definitely go back but it wasn't one of those restaurant's that you say I have to come back soon.

Tags: Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great farm to table spot. The Rhu-burge ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great farm to table spot. The Rhu-burger is obviously the most popular item on the menu. Have eaten here a couple of times. Enjoyed the rabbit rillette and the country pate appetizers. Have had the Rhu-burger, the trout and the confit duck hash. I am normally a real carnivore but after Thanksgiving I was feeling the need to cut back a bit and had the seared jester squash entree. It was very tasty and quite filling. I sat overlooking the kitchen and while there they brought in a huge wreckfish that I was to be on that day's dinner menu. I think that this is a nice spot with well-prepared food. We will be back.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was fantastic. Had lamb ribs and be ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Food was fantastic. Had lamb ribs and beef belly appetizers. Duck, steak and pork collar dinners. All the sides were delicious as was the pork collar. Service was a bit intermittent and could have been more polished. All said, was a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

This was my first experience. After all ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

This was my first experience. After all of the rave reviews I've read, I was really looking forward to it. Unfortunately, it was a disappointing experience. Our waitress wasn't very friendly or engaging, and she didn't seem interested in interacting much with our table. We were seated promptly, and the bartender and hostess were both very friendly.

The food was very disappointing. I ordered the local lettuce salad. It was artfully arranged, but it was sopped in dressing, and it was incredibly salty - almost to the point of being inedible. My meal was the steak. It was cooked very well, but it was uninspired. The vegetables it was served with were bland/uninteresting. For dessert, I tried the Chocolate Cake. It was tasty, but the cake was very dry.

The ambiance was nice, but for the price of the food, I expected exceptional quality and exceptional service, neither of which I experienced.

I would not recommend this restaurant to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

This was our second time at Rhubarb. Ou ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This was our second time at Rhubarb. Our first experience was a wine dinner with a select menu paired with wines that was wonderful. We decided to enjoy a family birthday celebration at Rhubarb this time. The small plates were ideal for sharing. Our waitress was very attentive and the wine was delicious. Highly recommend. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rhubarb is a new favorite. Chef elevate ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Rhubarb is a new favorite. Chef elevates regional ingredients beautifully. and yet, the link to regional traditional dishes remains. Kind of clever. Kind of magical.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved everything about Rhubarb - grea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We loved everything about Rhubarb - great atmosphere, excellent service, and delicious food and drink. Definitely lived up to expectations. Highly recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience. Delicious food. Our se ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great experience. Delicious food. Our server could not have been more helpful really enjoyed the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We love Rhubarb. The food, service and a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We love Rhubarb. The food, service and ambiance is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great concept but the execution was a bi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great concept but the execution was a bit off. Temperature of foods a bit incongruous. Very large portion of trout. Lamb riblet appetizer was good enough to want more.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding farm to table restaurant. F ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Outstanding farm to table restaurant. Food was wonderful and our server could not have been more helpful or pleasant. A must visit for any trip to Asheville.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations the night before fo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We made reservations the night before for 7:30 pm on Saturday. We arrived a few minutes before 7:30 pm. We were seated approximately 20 min late. It took a long time for our waiter to even stop by. She did not even ask if we wanted drinks. When she finally arrived, I explained that we were there for cocktails and desert. It then look her another 5 to 10 minutes to even get us a dessert menu. We had to ask to order cocktails. We ordered a Chocolate Benne Flour Angel Cake and a Buck and the Bee. It took considerable time for the deserts to come to the table after they were ordered. The Chocolate Benne Flour Angel Cake was only fair while the Buck and the Bee was a considerable disappointment and a poor chess pie. It was quite bland. Both came with homemade ice cream that were flat and offered very little in terms of taste. Overall due to the poor service and very uninspiring desserts we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was delicious and extremely creativ ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was delicious and extremely creative (especially the desserts). Ambiance/setting/etc. was excellent. Waiter was one of the best waiters that we have had in a long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The market vegetable appetizer was incre ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The market vegetable appetizer was incredible. The duck was great too. My friend's steak didn't come out right and my chicken was just ok. I would return and have drinks and appetizers for sure, not sure about dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was our favorite place out of the h ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

This was our favorite place out of the hand full of restaurants where we ate during our visit to Asheville. The food was so flavorful and different. Would definitely recommend eating here.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful drinks, food and ambiance!

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Wonderful drinks, food and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rhubarb is a very cool place to go have ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Rhubarb is a very cool place to go have a meal in Asheville. The food was good, just not great. I would try it again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

2nd Time Was Not the Charm We couldn't ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

2nd Time Was Not the Charm

We couldn't wait to return to Rhubarb during our annual visit to Asheville. While over all things were fine there were some noticeable differences.

The dining experience last time- was outstanding and placed this restaurant on our must return list and it joined our list one of favorites in the states.

Good food for a well exposed and experience diner is just not good enough today. It has to be outstanding in some way to be memorable and to be above the "good average" dining experience overall.

1-10 scale 10 being outstanding

Our Meal

Local Wreck Fish 7, Duck Confit 8, Pork Collar 6

The flavor of the sauce and surrounding beans a 9.5 . The meat was a 6 as it was tough and although braised not succulent as it should have been.(Last time it was our absolute favorite at 9.5)

Our Desserts

Buttermilk & Berry Sorbet 6

Chocolate Cake Ice Cream 9

Specifics

We were a party of 3. We divided up our meals into 3s in a "tasting" mode. Unfortunately that meant that I did not feel comfortable to turn back my pork meal but I left my portion on my plate to example the disappointment and to report the this to our waiter. The waiter had a conference with the chef of the evening and we were charged in full for the entree which in our book was not the right decision.

We turned back our sorbet and were not charge the $6 .However,

only after repeated questions as to WHY we didn't care for the taste.

While Rhubarb is a decent good dining establishment it has lost its star in our dining sky .

Something has changed and it was the consensus of all of us dining the other night . The thrill was gone and the food reflected just that.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My wife and I came in on Monday evening ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 8, 2016

My wife and I came in on Monday evening for dinner to celebrate our wedding, and had an absolutely fabulous time. Everyone was incredibly kind & generous, and the food was spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had three starters and all were deliciou ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Had three starters and all were delicious -- shrimp, Mongolian lamb ribs and especially the bison carpaccio. Celery dessert was interesting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

amazing dining experience! Knowledgeable ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 7, 2016

amazing dining experience! Knowledgeable and friendly server, really loved the interesting market platter appetizer

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'll give the food a B+ and the service ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I'll give the food a B+ and the service a C. Our waiter may have been having a bad day.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Our food was delicious. Our server was g ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our food was delicious. Our server was genuinely disinterested in our presence

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We had reservations and given the option ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had reservations and given the option of inside at the chefs viewing area or outside. We chose the chefs viewing area. It was the right choice. Stephanie was our waitress. She was attentive, informative & didn't rush us. She was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. We enjoyed the oysters and cheese plate. My husband had the pork collar and I had the goat cheese gnudi. Both were amazing. The flavors were unique and paired nicely.

It was fun watching the chefs prep all of the meals. This was a great evening while visiting Asheville. Thanks team @ Rhubarb and Stephanie for making our night great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

AMAZING! Hands down one of the best rest ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 6, 2016

AMAZING! Hands down one of the best restaurants in Asheville!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience at Rhubarb. T ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always a great experience at Rhubarb. The place has a friendly buzz, the food is farm to table DELICIOUS, and the service good. You can eat outside and hear buskers, watch people, enjoy the weather or inside for less of the sidewalk noise. Enjoyable from the handcrafted cocktails to the great after dinner coffee. One of our "go to" restaurants in Asheville.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a reservation, and were seated pu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a reservation, and were seated punctually. The waiter was helpful and energetic. The food was excellent. I had 1/2 dozen excellent oysters and a wonderful baked 1/2 chicken dish, and my wife had a wonderful fish soup.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal!! I would ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal!! I would highly recommend Rhubarb and look forward to our next visit to Asheville.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful dining experience starting wit ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Wonderful dining experience starting with friendly hostess. Friendly and knowledgeable helped us select great wine. Bavette steak and duck confit were expertly prepared. Enjoyed sitting outside and listening to local music.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a date. We were in from ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Great place for a date. We were in from out of town and had a recommendation to dine at rhubarb. Wonderful experience, kind and attentive server, delicious food. All around good experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner! Our waiter was knowle ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Wonderful dinner! Our waiter was knowledgeable about the menu, and gave us great suggestions. Wine list was good, and thoroughly enjoyed the recommended wine. Will absolutely return!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a bit too adventuresome for us. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was a bit too adventuresome for us. Lots of off flavor combos but no real delights. No bread is served and no effort made in helping us celebrate a birthday. Not inexpensive.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Rhubarb is an absolutely fantastic resta ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Rhubarb is an absolutely fantastic restaurant! The brunch in particular is amazing!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.