Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 75 times today

Rhubarb

4.5
1587 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Local Ingredients
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Fit for Foodies
Rhubarb serves seasonal, regional American fare, sourced from nearby farms and dairies. Acclaimed chef John Fleer, formerly of Blackberry Farm, and his team craft a daily-changing menu including wood-fired dishes, plates made for sharing, house-baked breads, and other rustic creations. A thoughtful wine list showcasing natural and biodynamic wines and a full bar round out the offerings. Rhubarb asks that parties of 6 or more please contact the restaurant directly. We are closed every Tuesday.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Farm-to-table, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon 3:00 pm–9:30 pm
Wed, Thu 11:30 am–9:30 pm
Fri 11:30 am–10:30 pm
Sat 10:30 am–10:30 pm
Sun 10:30 am–9:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(828) 785-1503
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John Fleer
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We'd love to host your event! Our private event space seats up to 80, and is comfortable for standing receptions up to 125. For more information about our event space, visit rhubarbasheville.com/private-events, or email elizabeth@rhubarbasheville.com.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Elizabeth Westridge: (866) 603-6751
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Biltmore Ave and Patton Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There are 5 parking garages located within close proximity to Rhubarb. Street parking is also available.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1587 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Last minute dinner, and chose the supper menu. Lovely food, with wines to match. ONly one of the three starters was a bit bland - rest excellent. And main course and desert excellent. Great service. Would recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

It was fabulous! Finished our meal and didn’t feel any pressure to leave the table. The lemon bar ice cream is awesome!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

A little disappointed in the Trout. Very expensive with very little flavor. Would not recommend the trout here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

This place is great. We had reservations for four for 8:30 and one of us was running late. They accommodated us and moved the reservation for later and then when we can early they sat us. So They were very flexible with us for a Friday night and we appreciated that. The food was fantastic. It was late so we ordered tapas mostly. The salad was divine with super fresh local lettuce. The pork belly and the brisket was amazing. We also ordered the salted hot pecans and a cheese plate. Everything was to our liking and our server was attentive but not overly visible which is nice. He checked on us often and was patient with us. It’s was 420 after all. I did order one of the cocktails which was a gin martini that celebrated prince. It was outstanding. Tart, fresh with just a hint of sweetness. When I. Asheville, we will definitely be back. Thanks Rhubarb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. The

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great food and great service. Tile floor and hard walls reflect sound so the noise level inside is high.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Everything about our Rhubarb experience was perfect. The cocktails were phenomenal (and gorgeous), and I wanted to slowly savor every bite of every dish. The weather was nice enough to enjoy the outside seating which is uniquely positioned to take in some street performances while you dine. The wait staff was nice, accommodating, and prompt. I have Celiac, and they clearly marked the menu for me with gf options and where substitutions could be made, and were incredibly accommodating when I asked if a particular dessert could be made to be gf.

This is a must stop for anyone visiting the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter was exceptional! I liked the vegetarian options.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

We picked Rhubarb for dinner on a girls trip to Asheville as it as highly rated on TA. The place IS really, really cool - an old building with a cool ambiance AND the service was fantastic! The food was just average - we found most places in Asheville are trying to be "foodies" and "farm to table" and miss the boat on good food. Also, the wine list was VERY limited - as it is much more of a beer town.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Wonderful restaurant! great and unique food, service staff were wonderful. Indoor has lots of ambiance...patio would be great if the stinky transients didn't gather...but the cops come and make them move

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 16, 2018

This was our second visit, and we brought special out of town visitors for a dinner reunion. Service was very good and the decor is fun, but we had forgotten how limited the menu is, and how expensive. Salads and smaller plates did well, but the two entrees we shared (chicken and bass) were both underwhelming and high priced. Probably not going back any time soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

We had a great time sharing several of the “passing time” plates. The waiter did a great job of explaining the different options and helping us come up with a good grouping of different items. And everything was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Love everything about Ruhbarb, from the wooden floors, walls and the open kitchen. Great atmosphere, reasonably price. Would definitely recommend to a friend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Brunch burger is incredible.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Local farm to table menu with a variety of cocktails, wines, & beer. I had the cauliflower soup which was very tasty and we also tried the Korean spiced fish with kimchi. For dessert, we had the lemon parfait and Irish coffee. Irish coffee was lovely! We sat inside but they did have a lovely outdoor sitting area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

A fantastic taste of local flavors in the hands of master chefs. Our family had an amazing meal. Definitely leave room for dessert- they were stand outs! Asheville is full of top notch, creative restaurants & Rhubarb was one of our favorites!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

The wine list need to have more red wine selections between $36 $46...
the Bread was great, however, you shouldn’t be charged for it when you order btl $50 plus on wine regardless if it is homemade. Not very customer service oriented I understand we are in the South & people abuse on it but as I said when you spend money.... judgment call/common sense should take place.
It isn’t about pricing but principal. As you well know 95% or more don’t charge for bread.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Creative combinations adjusted daily from local ingredients—well done!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Outstanding! Unpretentious. Sublime. World class. The best in town. Ingredients with integrity. Imaginative, creative and refined cooking - yet casual and true to itself and the the area. The food, service and ambience know no equal. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 9, 2018

The food was excellent. The server did not ask about saving our leftovers, which was very surprising. I had planned on the leftovers for another meal. When I inquired, she said they had been tossed & there was no offer to replace. My meal was the cassoulet so it was not like I wanted them to replace an expensive cut of meat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Amazing food and experience. Definitely recommend it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Very good food and ambiance. Service was excellent. Pimiento pups and half chicken were by far our favorites. Lamb ribs, oysters and pork meatballs were right behind those. Pork belly was mostly fat, hardly any substance to it, but very good if you can get over the pure fat melting in your mouth. I could but my wife could not. Duck confit was disappointing based on the portion size. I got a small leg and thigh, very tasty, just not a lot there. Great atmosphere and the cocktails were very good. Left wanting more but unfortunately still wanted more! So we walked across the street and got dessert!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The gluten-free bread at Rhubarb is the best I've ever had. The Goat Cheese appetizer was AMAZING and everything else we ate was equally as good. Our server was awesome - she was very attentive and kind. What a wonderful experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Amazing! World class. Could proudly sit amongst the finest restaurants in any major city around the globe! Asheville’s best!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The pickles were too vinegar based. The sweet potato kale bowl was tasty but not worth $12. The soup was too salty. I wouldn't come here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Always a great experience. Welcoming staff and friendly service, followed by fantastic food and great ambiance. We enjoyed everything. The food is always bursting with flavors, fresh and local. Our wine was right on point, thanks to our servers recommendation. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

The tables are way too close to each other. Despite not being a full night we were seated at a table in the corner. The tight seating really detracted from the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Very creative menu. Unusual flavors. Excellent. Mice ambiance. Great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Great farm to table food. Wonderful wine list with interesting wines. Server was very knowledgeable and gave perfect service. Would recommend to friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Excellent meal, enjoyed sitting at the chef’s table, best pork loin and lamb ribs we’ve ever eaten. Duck confit and oysters were very good, but not best ever. Would absolutely go back next time we visit Asheville.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Nice dining room but the food looked much better than it tasted. There was a forty-five minute wait between courses, much too long in my opinion. The waitstaff grabbed dishes and glasses (still containing wine) off the table abruptly as they walked by and without asking first. The waiter who served us was very good though. No plans to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Best food I had in a long long time...What a great experience! The menu is original, the flavors are exploding and the restaurant has a great vibe. I wish I could take the restaurant back home with me. Loved the goat burrata with bread and onions and jam, loved the mackerel (not fishy at all, really well prepared), loved the walnut cake dessert. Jade our waiter was great as well, attentive and enthusiastic about the food. Only downside was the rest of the staff (not very friendly, when they sat us down and when we asked for another half glass of wine because there were residues from the bottle- yes, we know it's normal and you should straight away offer to replace it). But the overall experience was a success and the food just won all the stars. Thank you Chef.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great atmosphere and very nice, eclectic fare. Prices were very reasonable and the service excellent. I would come back in a minute!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Visited Rhubarb for Easter brunch. The hostess was very friendly and sat us early. The food and environment was a positive one! Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We had Easter brunch on the patio. Our server was delightful and didn’t rush us. She answered all our questions. The food arrived almost too fast. Everyone loved their meal. The hearty beans with confit meats, the sweet potato brioche French toast were all enjoyed. The ragout of mushrooms on flageolets was very good but just too salty for my taste. We are planning on going again for the Sunday family dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Our first time here. we we were there for brunch. We enjoyed the space, and the food very much. We felt it was good value as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The table for 2 was very small, stuck in a very small spot by the front that I normally wouldn’t accept at a restaurant of this caliber. In fact others had turned it down. We had made the reservation a week earlier., and I expected better.

But the food was excellent, and our server was friendly and knowledgeable. The atmosphere wasn’t stuffy, and the overall scene was enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Food was tasty, but way too salty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Interesting sort of "high end rustic" decor with eclectic menu. Lots of space between tables, rare in Asheville. Food is innovative and enjoyable. The house specialty half chicken is some of the best I have ever had. Also whole trout is great. Both cooked in the wood fired oven. Appetizers are also good although some are on the small side. Outstanding service too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

The food was delish and the service great!! We loved everything ... the Burrata cheese was my favorite. Needed to order extra bread. Oh, so good!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
40