Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.
See affiliated restaurants ›
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

The Market Place RestaurantThe Market Place Restaurant
(1171)
$$$$
American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 33 times today
Cucina 24Cucina 24
(1509)
$$$$
Italian | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 23 times today
TableTable
(1635)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 31 times today
Local ProvisionsLocal Provisions
(237)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 15 times today
ChiesaChiesa
(497)
$$$$
Italian | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 19 times today
The AdmiralThe Admiral
(2310)
$$$$
Comfort Food | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 28 times today
The Bull and BeggarThe Bull and Beggar
(614)
$$$$
French | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 27 times today
Edison - Omni Grove Park InnEdison - Omni Grove Park Inn
(605)
$$$$
Contemporary Southern | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 13 times today
Storm Rhum Bar and BistroStorm Rhum Bar and Bistro
(571)
$$$$
American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 5 times today
Brasilia Churrasco SteakhouseBrasilia Churrasco Steakhouse
(411)
$$$$
Brazilian Steakhouse | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 5 times today
Isa's BistroIsa's Bistro
(472)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 8 times today
Modesto TrattoriaModesto Trattoria
(395)
$$$$
Italian | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 7 times today
Vue 1913 - Omni Grove Park InnVue 1913 - Omni Grove Park Inn
(850)
$$$$
Contemporary French / American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 14 times today
Pack's TavernPack's Tavern
(258)
$$$$
American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 4 times today
Stable Cafe -Biltmore EstateStable Cafe -Biltmore Estate
(654)
$$$$
American | Asheville, Asheville
Booked 16 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Rhubarb

Rhubarb, at the heart of Asheville on Pack Square, is a comfortable place for friends, families and strangers to simply lean in and enjoy the company-a place where food and drink is at its uncomplicated best. Chef John Fleer, a three time James Beard nominee for Best Chef Southeast has created a menu inspired by seasonal, local ingredients and pays homage to the bounty of regional and American cooking. A wood-fired oven and grill complement the rustic creations. Wine selections are entirely ecological and sustainable. The bar pays tribute to the early 20th century cocktail culture.

Sunday Supper, a three-course meal served at the Rhubarb family tables, is served each Sunday at 6:30. The Sunday Supper menu will be different from the regular restaurant menu and will reflect the bounty of the weekend markets presented family style. A local guest farmer will host our weekly convivial community tables. For Sunday Supper Reservations please call at 828-785-1503.

7 SW Pack Square
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday 11:30AM- 9:30PM
Tuesday - Closed
Friday 11:30 AM-10:30 PM
Saturday 10:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Sunday 10:30 AM - 9:30 PM Dinner

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave and Patton Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 785-1503

Parking Details:
There are 5 parking garages located within close proximity to Rhubarb. Street parking is also available

Executive Chef:
John Fleer

Private Party Facilities:
Rhubarb is a place where you can simply lean in and enjoy the company. A place where food and drink are at their uncomplicated best - creating personal memories and shared experiences.

Private Party Contact:
Ellie Wigodsky: (866) 603-6751

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rhubarb Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Open Kitchen (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Healthy (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fun (8)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (6)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Romantic (5)
Authentic (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Organic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Vegan (3)
Wood Oven (3)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
1301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were here for restaurant week. It was clear the chef was overwhelmed. The first course was a shrimp dish which was ok. I had gnocchi for my main which was nothing great. My husband had a dish that was supposed to be chicken but was flavorless and looked awful. The chocolate dessert was alright and they brought us champagne because the wait for the food was extremely long. I would never go back because the food was awful. Great ambience though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Folks at Rhubarb do a fantastic job every time we go there. Great food, and great atmosphere

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Rhubarb Rocks!
Recently went to this highly reviewed restaurant in Asheville. Loved it!!!
Food fresh and expertly prepared with much care. Wait staff knowledgeable and very competent. Loved the farm to table---TRUE farm to table food. You can taste the difference.
Will definitely go back here on next trip to Asheville.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Healthy, Organic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Delicious farm to table food, great selection of food and drinks. I had a hard time deciding on what to get.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Everything about this restaurant is phenomenal. We had a house cocktail, an appetizer, dinner, and dessert and loved every bit of it. The atmosphere is very relaxing and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a special meal.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Well thought out flavor combinations. Fresh. And we loved the carrot cake desert too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Loved Rhubarb's - worth every dime! We have been here twice and find it wonderful every time. The staff is very good, friendly without being too involved in our conversation. The food is different and interesting - we always find a new flavor or something to experience, but also offers the comfort foods.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Made reservation for New Year's eve. Busy but seating was timely. Seating is crowded, but the food is excellent. Nice alternative to some of our Asheville favorits

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food, ambiance - highly recommend amongst the many Asheville spots

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food and service were amazing!!! Loved the ambiance as well! I highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was great service and the food was fantastic . I would highly recommend this spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Server was very knowledgeable wreckfish was chewy. Oyster Benton was over powered by cornbread, menu was very creative. Most expensive meal ever at $300 for 5 plus tip. That included apps, drinks bottle wine and 5 deserts. With all the restaurants in town would try another next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Every thing was excellent food service wine all outstanding

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Menu offered several attractive options. Food was delicious and service was friendly and attentive. A very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

My husband and I have eaten at Rhubarb many times before when visiting Asheville and enjoyed the fresh choices of meat and veggies on the menu. On this visit there where several things that happened to make it less enjoyable. We arrived on time for an early dinner reservation. We were seated near the hostess station at an 8 top table split into two four tops adjacent to the kitchen traffic. The bustling traffic from the servers and loud conversations from our table partners were a definite distraction from the food experience. Our server was attentive and efficient, but I felt like I was being rushed to make decisions on my food and drinks the entire time. We had cocktails and two appetizers which were good followed by our main dishes. I chose the pork tenderloin served over peas for my entre. The pork had been brined overly much and the sauce meant to complement the meat was too sweet. Rhubarb on this recent night was a less than stellar dining experience. Despite the issues I would give it another try if visiting Asheville again. Advance reservations are highly recommended for night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The overall experience was spectacular. From the friendly service to the food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent cocktails, nice small plates. Cheerful service on a very busy night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Lovely restaurant located in downtown Ashville amidst a vibrant area. Excellent and well informed server.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

First the good news: This is a classic Asheville fine dining location, with an eclectic menu, a slightly Bohemian vibe and the food is excellent. The trout was actually the whole fish, you don't see that much anymore. The duck was falling off the bone and meaty. Great white wine selection. Unfortunately, the wait staff was overwhelmed by the large crowd and our wine bottle disappeared for a time. Now, I don't like to jump to conclusions, but we paid cash for the meal and our change was short by $20.00. The reaction of the wait person and the way she seemed to know exactly how much it was short led me to believe this may not have been an accident. So if you pay cash here, count your change.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 27, 2016

4 appetizers and a cheese board was enough to fill me and my boyfriend while visiting Asheville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good food with creative spin on local food. We loved sharing small plate dishes among the four of us. One of us had an entree of Wreck Fish that was outstanding. Service was inattentive at times but adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delicious, seasonal ingredients are expertly and thoughtfully prepared here. This is farm-to-table dining at its best, and the knowledgeable staff rounded out an excellent experience that was, in short, a foodie's paradise. The impressive variety of local cheeses was a great starter, and the pastry chef offered up some exquisite seasonal delights as well. We hope to return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Delicious farm to table food. Creative selections. Great service, helpful with food selections.highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our new favorite in Asheville. Great food, restyled classics, healthy and tasty! Wonderful service, just right portions, lots of variety.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Organic, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, People Watching, Historic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went here as guests to the city, and picked it based on reviews.

The ambience was so cute. Could be good for cocktails!

Our server was wonderful, she was patient with us and gave great advice. She was very sweet to my parents.

Speed of food from order to the table was great, too. We appreciated that.

The bad part was the food itself. Three of us ordered the trout - I love trout! - but it was incredibly salty. One person got the pork collar, and she recommends that if you're up for it!

We all got dessert to try to remedy the trout, but that was lackluster as well. The apple dessert was underwhelming and bland. So bland. It was a huge disappointment.

Again, I'd love to come back for a cocktail! I'll just be sure to eat beforehand.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The octopus appetizer was best dish of our evening

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Amazing menu, ambiance, smaller portions, but what I would consider appropriate for the price. Everything we ordered was unique and delicious!! Will definitely be a staple on our future Asheville trips!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Very disappointing. Food was not good and service was poor. They pretend to be better than they are. Will not go there again

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

John Fleer has one of the best restaurants in the country. If you go to Asheville you can't misss it. The food is fantastic!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Probably the best service I'v ever had. Food options were great and everything was unique and very good. The noise level was perfect, quite enough to have a conversation at a normal volume but loud for other to not hear your conversation (if that makes sense). I would certainly recommend trying this place if want unique high quality food and great service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was good but overly priced in our opinion...almost $30 for a half chicken?!!

I will say however the carrot cake was amazing with roasted carrot ice cream (creative)...would return for desert and coffee in the future.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had the chicken dish. Meat was decent, but didn't like sauce or sides. Friend had the steak that was covered in an overbearing seasoning. Service was not great at the table. Bar service was good. Overall, I was not impressed. Posana stays at the top of my Asheville list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Absolutely fabulous birthday dinner.
The food was amazing!
I would definitely go back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great dinner, service was spot on food fantastic. Yes, it's pretty pricey - dinner for 2 with 2 glasses of wine each will be over $100. Worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My mother could not stop raving about the sword fish. It's been almost 5 days since we've eaten here and she still keeps bringing it up! And our waiter was so nice and helpful! Already planning my next trip to Rhubarb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My friend and I were celebrating my recent graduation from graduate school, and a late birthday for me as well. I've recently moved to Seattle, WA, and this was my first time back in Asheville since the move. We selected Rhubarb for brunch on this particular day, because we wanted somewhere the two of us hadn't yet been together in Asheville. The service was great, our food was great, and we really enjoyed our experience. I know she'll definitely eat there again in future visits to Asheville, and I hope to be back to try some of the other delicious sounding items in the future as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I loved Rhubarb! It was by far the best dinner we had while we were in Asheville! I HIGHLY recommend it. We got all kinds of the small plates to share between two people so we could try all different things. I felt that was a great way to taste a lot of what Rhubarb has to offer since so much of their menu looks impeccable. Their cocktails were amazing also! Everything was so well done and attention to detail was very apparent and I really appreciated that!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our server was very knowledgeable and made wonderful recommendations. My husband ordered the bison tartar and the onion rings that came with it were the best either of us have ever had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I prefer the Sunday family style meal as opposed to just ordering off the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch. Service was friendly and efficient. Best biscuit I've ever had! And I'm a southern boy who's had a lot of biscuits!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.