About Rhubarb

7 SW Pack Square
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Rhubarb, at the heart of Asheville on Pack Square, is a comfortable place for friends, families and strangers to simply lean in and enjoy the company-a place where food and drink is at its uncomplicated best. Chef John Fleer, a three time James Beard nominee for Best Chef Southeast has created a menu inspired by seasonal, local ingredients and pays homage to the bounty of regional and American cooking. A wood-fired oven and grill complement the rustic creations. Wine selections are entirely ecological and sustainable. The bar pays tribute to the early 20th century cocktail culture.

Sunday Supper, a three-course meal served at the Rhubarb family tables, is served each Sunday at 6:30. The Sunday Supper menu will be different from the regular restaurant menu and will reflect the bounty of the weekend markets presented family style. A local guest farmer will host our weekly convivial community tables. For Sunday Supper Reservations please call at 828-785-1503.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday 11:30AM- 9:30PM
Tuesday - Closed
Friday 11:30 AM-10:30 PM
Saturday 10:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Sunday 10:30 AM - 9:30 PM Dinner

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave and Patton Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 785-1503

Website:
http://www.rhubarbasheville.com/

Parking Details:
There are 5 parking garages located within close proximity to Rhubarb. Street parking is also available

Executive Chef:
John Fleer

Private Party Facilities:
Rhubarb is a place where you can simply lean in and enjoy the company. A place where food and drink are at their uncomplicated best - creating personal memories and shared experiences.

Private Party Contact:
Ellie Wigodsky: 8666036751

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rhubarb Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville
1 More
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

fit for foodies (226)
special occasion (123)
neighborhood gem (100)
See All
great for outdoor dining (98)
hot spot (76)
good for groups (71)
romantic (56)
notable wine list (47)
great for brunch (36)
great for lunch (35)
vibrant bar scene (28)
scenic view (15)
kid-friendly (13)
late-night find (13)
Sort By:
Newest
1080 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food! Service was a little la ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food! Service was a little lackluster, but that's OK.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Phenomenal food and service. A true Ashe ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

Phenomenal food and service. A true Asheville gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We get to Asheville a few times a year a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

We get to Asheville a few times a year and Rhubarb is now one of top choices for dining. Worth taking the time to make a reservation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for brunch, good but expected a lit ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Went for brunch, good but expected a little more. Entree came with bacon that had been cooked earlier in the day and had sat until it was hard and mealy. Not good. They did cook a fresh order for me, but had to explain it to the waitress who didn't seem to understand no kept questioning me. Other than that service was good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food and service at Rhubarb is consi ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service at Rhubarb is consistently a delight.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rhubarb has an excellent balance of int ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Rhubarb has an excellent balance of introducing new items while maintaining more classic food and wine. Service is always superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Unbelievably good! Everything about the ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Unbelievably good! Everything about the food selection, preparation, and taste was worth the price. Thankful for a restaurant like this in Asheville! Hopefully, we'll be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

What an experience! We started with coc ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

What an experience! We started with cocktails at the bar-- Spencer really knows his stuff. He was able to make something up based on what sounded good to me,and he makes a mean negroni, too. On to our meal-- we were seated near the kitchen, and watching the action add to our experience. We sampled a number of small plates; the Lyonnaise salad goes down as one of the best things I've ever eaten. The grilled peaches with Benton ham were also extraordinary. Everything else was fantastic, as well, all the way through coffee and dessert. We will make this a must-stop any time we are in Asheville.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only one Chardonnay on the wine list and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Only one Chardonnay on the wine list and it wasn't very good, so the small wine glass and pour didn't bother me, except for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had heard about this restaurant & the ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had heard about this restaurant & the chef, so on hubby's birthday, we drove 3.5 hrs to try it. Our server was fabulous and the food, overall, was great, but one dish was a bit too salty; ok, was notably oversalted-tasting (& we both don't mind salt!). I thought they'd resolve the issue in some manner, but it didn't happen. We tried several different appetizers to get a flavor of the menu. We would definitely recommend this gem of a restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Tasty food and an urban chic setting. Th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Tasty food and an urban chic setting. The vegetarian options were somewhat limited, but we were still able to have a delectable meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, fun wine/beer list, and must ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food, fun wine/beer list, and must try place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rhubarb is always reliable. I find the ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Rhubarb is always reliable. I find the small plates shared is a great way to dine there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Well recognized owner standing at the fr ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Well recognized owner standing at the front door in his whites greeting guest ... lovely.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants in Asheville ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Asheville. Consistent, innovative and great service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food seemed expensive. Only two offering ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food seemed expensive. Only two offerings on the menu for vegetarians. Seemed like a " yuppified" restaurant. Probably good for " foodies".

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Exceptional dining experience. Amazing c ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Exceptional dining experience. Amazing choices on the menu. The pork collar was to die for. Mussels were very good. Wine choices were diverse. Great location. I would definitely recommend this to anyone interested in haute cuisine.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although recommended by a local, it was ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Although recommended by a local, it was definitely not a place that I will revisit on my return trips to Asheville. Perhaps this restaurant is what the people of Asheville can afford and enjoy and I wish them well.

To start with, when seated I could not read the menu because of the dim lighting in the dining room and the noise level was so high (at 6:30 PM on a Monday) I could not hear my partner across the table. We asked for and were fortunate enough to get an outside table...otherwise we would have left at that time. Although hot and humid outside, at least were could share a nice conversation and were able to listen to a street vendor who played classical music on his guitar. Several others were also enjoying this added feature of the area. His classical pieces were a far cry from what we had just experienced inside the dinning room.

There appeared to be one waiter for the outside area and we had to get his attention if we needed anything. The food was good however the portions were too small for the price. The duck confit was very good but a few more bites would have made it more enjoyable. I had not planned to spend over $130.00 for two entries and 3 glasses of wine in Asheville NC while on vacation.

I am sure there must be other restaurants in Asheville that I can discover on my next visit and I will need to make more inquiries before calling for reservations. As mentioned above, Perhaps this restaurant is what the people of Asheville can afford and enjoy and I wish them well.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

The slow-cooked duck was succulent. All ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The slow-cooked duck was succulent. All three of us had it and enjoyed it. Great street scene just outside the restaurant, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent! Very creative, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was excellent! Very creative, with flavor combinations I haven't seen before. Our only negative here was the experience on the patio in the evening. There was a group of homeless individuals who were loud and obnoxious to those passing by. Even harassing a few of them.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

We ate outside and enjoyed teh street mu ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We ate outside and enjoyed teh street musicians playing. The meal was great. My wife is a vegan and the chef accommodated her requests, creating a wonderful entree. I had the duck confit which was delicious. The wine by the glass options were lovely.

We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great brunch spot in Asheville. Started ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great brunch spot in Asheville. Started w the Pate, is was very flavorful and a great starter. Ask for a bit more mustard.

The salt top biscuit was a hit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Came to Rhubarb with a group of girlfrie ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Came to Rhubarb with a group of girlfriends from college, loved the atmosphere. Be prepared for noise on a Saturday night, my order was wrong but they fixed it pretty quickly although I think they could have been more apologetic about the mistake. Menu was creative and tasty, would go back.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

This restaurant is over-rated. Not wort ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This restaurant is over-rated. Not worth the hype. The service was lackluster and the food was only mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Poor value for the food you get for your ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Poor value for the food you get for your money. Waitress got my dessert order wrong and forgot my after-dinner drink. However, I didn't tell her. Fish was over cooked and salty. Desserts were not very good. Salad, however, was great, and servers were friendly on the positive side.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We split an entree in order to fully enj ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We split an entree in order to fully enjoy appetizers and dessert.

The skirt steak was wonderful. Also enjoyed fried oysters and a fresh mozzarella cheese appetizer and dessert was zucchini cake.

Beautiful presentation on all dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Right on Pack Square, I sat outside and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Right on Pack Square, I sat outside and was graced by the perennial Asheville buskers show just outside the dining area. It's a wonderful collision of all that makes Asheville what it is. I had the whole roasted local trout which was amazing. The street musician was playing an acoustic guitar and gave an outstanding performance of Bohemian Rhapsody. Sit inside for an upscale refined dining experience, or outside, for the same wonderful food and service, and a chance to be up close and personal with the bohemian scene on Pack Square.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner. Great, friendly servic ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Wonderful dinner. Great, friendly service. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting menu attentive staff. In vib ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Interesting menu attentive staff. In vibrant center of downtown Asheville parking can be an issue

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The kids chicken fingers were terrible t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The kids chicken fingers were terrible tasting

Fries were burnt

Fish was good

The chicken dinner was okay - not much flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

We enjoyed the duck confite hash and the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We enjoyed the duck confite hash and the rabbit rillette. The selection of local cheeses was nice. When sitting outside be aware that there are public benches in front of the restaurant that attract young travelers.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Yum, yum and yum! Went on busy 4th of J ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Yum, yum and yum! Went on busy 4th of July evening and the AC was out, and I still wouldn't have traded it for the world! Food was outstanding and unique, and the atmosphere was fun. Even our wait time at the bar playing Connect Four had a whimsical feel to it. Thanks for a wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I think this is probably an excellent re ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I think this is probably an excellent restaurant, but we happened to go at a time when their air conditioning was not working.

The hostess apologized for the temperature when she seated us and explained the a/c problem.

We were seated in a little area that had no air flow, so during the one of the hottest days in Asheville, we were in what I think was the hottest area of the restaurant.

The restaurant was full or we would have asked to be moved.

As for the food and service, they were both excellent. My wife had the pork tenderloin and I had the half chicken. Both were outstanding.

On another night, I probably would have given all 5's to Rhubarb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We love Rhubarb better than the ratings ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We love Rhubarb better than the ratings here, our recent visit was marred by the AC being out on a hot summer day, 4th of July. The staff did what they could with fans and were constantly apologetic, and the service did not suffer though the servers likely did. Chalk this off to a bad day, this place is great for their unique treats and great people.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Solid dinner pick for foodies. Rustic at ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Solid dinner pick for foodies. Rustic atmosphere. Open kitchen. Has sidewalk dining. Small plates to share or you can do entree. Nice selection & most with innovation. The A/C was broken so we didn't want to hang around after the meal. Tasty lamb ribs and generous mussels bowl had a superb broth, but not served with enough bread.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Rhubarb was fantastic! The rhubarb and s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Rhubarb was fantastic! The rhubarb and strawberry house made soda cocktail was unreal. The goat cheese gnudi was the stand out dish. Go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Great service! Really enjoye ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great food! Great service! Really enjoyed the outdoor dining with live guitar music.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, interesting, well put togeth ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great food, interesting, well put together. Dog friendly patio!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best meal of the year by far! Great farm ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Best meal of the year by far! Great farm to table freshness.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, great service. There were se ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good food, great service. There were several firsts during our visit to Rhubarb. The seating was close, the ambience was nice and the decor bit rustic. Will recommend to friends visiting Asheville.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.