About Rhubarb

7 SW Pack Square
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Rhubarb, at the heart of Asheville on Pack Square, is a comfortable place for friends, families and strangers to simply lean in and enjoy the company-a place where food and drink is at its uncomplicated best. Chef John Fleer, a three time James Beard nominee for Best Chef Southeast has created a menu inspired by seasonal, local ingredients and pays homage to the bounty of regional and American cooking. A wood-fired oven and grill complement the rustic creations. Wine selections are entirely ecological and sustainable. The bar pays tribute to the early 20th century cocktail culture.

Sunday Supper, a three-course meal served at the Rhubarb family tables, is served each Sunday at 6:30. The Sunday Supper menu will be different from the regular restaurant menu and will reflect the bounty of the weekend markets presented family style. A local guest farmer will host our weekly convivial community tables. For Sunday Supper Reservations please call at 828-785-1503.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday 11:30AM- 9:30PM
Tuesday - Closed
Friday 11:30 AM-10:30 PM
Saturday 10:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Sunday 10:30 AM - 9:30 PM Dinner

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave and Patton Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 785-1503

Website:
http://www.rhubarbasheville.com/

Parking Details:
There are 5 parking garages located within close proximity to Rhubarb. Street parking is also available

Executive Chef:
John Fleer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Rhubarb is a place where you can simply lean in and enjoy the company. A place where food and drink are at their uncomplicated best - creating personal memories and shared experiences.

Rhubarb Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville
1 More
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

fit for foodies (188)
special occasion (100)
neighborhood gem (72)
See All
hot spot (68)
great for outdoor dining (64)
good for groups (59)
romantic (51)
notable wine list (48)
great for brunch (38)
great for lunch (35)
vibrant bar scene (28)
scenic view (15)
kid-friendly (12)
late-night find (11)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
987 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food with a warm ambiance - ha ...

Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food with a warm ambiance - had a mix of small plates. The menu is seasonal so won't pick put any particular dishes other than to say enjoy the local cheese

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food, some of the best in Ashe ...

Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic food, some of the best in Asheville. What really stood out to us; however, was our service. Our server was incredibly well versed in the menu and offered pointed and individualized recommendations, which truly helped us have a top notch dinner. (Rep Sparkle City).

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food but menu seemed difficult to ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food but menu seemed difficult to understand. Maybe stretching creativity a bit far in naming the dishes...

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic date night on the road

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Hubs and I were on a road trip, and we happened to be overnighting at Aloft (2 blocks away). Ironically, I chose to dine at Rhubarb, because I wrote a paper on the plant while attending culinary school. We had a lovely 1.5 hour meal, complete with French-style service, appetizers, and local cheese plate for dessert. Lots of couples sharing bottles of wine. Lovely, simply lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We went there for a late dinner and were ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We went there for a late dinner and were very pleased with the light scallops and stuffed oysters. Followed by an asparagus salad with a poached egg. Unusual and delicious. The waiter was a wine groupie and recommended a Russian River blend that resembled a California Chardonnay, It was excellent. Our usual tab with tip is about $100 dollars and we did not disappoint our server.The noise level was tolerable and the patrons seemed to be having a good time . Would recommend for under forty crowd or a young a heart grandmother.Touche

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

While our server for our table of 4 was ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

While our server for our table of 4 was fantastic and very helpful with descriptions of the menu items, amd the food was good, I wouldn't recommend sitting on the patio if smoke or street activity bothers you. The patio is literally on the sidewalk where many pedestrians gather on park benches and their smoke was not pleasant for us non-smokers during our meal. Overall the lunch experience was decent, though

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal!

Dined on May 20, 2016

This was a return visit to Rhubarb on our one night stay in Asheville. The Wreckfish and Osso Buco were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Thought the food and service were great!

Dined on May 20, 2016

Thought the food and service were great!

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I've been here for dinner a couple of ti ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I've been here for dinner a couple of times - and I just thought the lunch service was poor. The restaurant wasn't super crowded and we had to wait a long time for our meal and drink refills. Maybe it was just a bad day. I won't give up on the place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TWICE AS NICE!

Dined on May 20, 2016

Had such a great biz lunch on Thursday that we came back again on Friday!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Varied menu options. We had a party of f ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Varied menu options. We had a party of four and each person ordered different items. Every item was well prepared and delicious. Nice wine list and a fun selection of deserts.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

rhubarb

Dined on May 16, 2016

Located right in the middle of downtown overlooking the town square this restaurant is in an excellent location. The food is wonderfully prepared. I had the most moist piece of chicken I've ever had. The server was excellent as was his support.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The end of Jen's girls weekend

Dined on May 15, 2016

GREAT Spot- would have LOVED to eat outside- it was just too breezy. Super friendly and knowledgeable server!! Will go back!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Especially recommend the tasty,creative,beautifully-presented small plates.Dessert was outstanding -unusual,creative combinations,beautiful to look at and SO good!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seating was outside on busy Saturday nig ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Seating was outside on busy Saturday night. Street players were great entertainment. Food was awesome but limited selection. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I took my Mom to Rhubarb to celebrate an ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I took my Mom to Rhubarb to celebrate an opening night of theater at NC Stage Company. It was absolutely fantastic. One of the best meals I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

every bite was wonderful.

Dined on May 14, 2016

staff was a bit confused. we dined outside, be for street people.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, atmosphere, and staff.

Dined on May 13, 2016

One of the best restaurant dinner experiences we've had. Excellent all around!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic!

Dined on May 13, 2016

We took our son here for his college graduation dinner and had a fantastic experience. Loved the atmosphere and decor. The service was excellent and the food was phenomenal - especially the goat cheese burrata with roasted strawberries and rhubarb. Really everything was outstanding and we will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best duck confit I've had.

Dined on May 13, 2016

Best duck confit I've had.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Third time in two weeks

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

When I find a restaurant I like, I give it two more tries. I then decide whether to go back. I will be back. Hopefully many times. I sat at the kitchen with my sister and shared 5 dishes. Each was great. A shout out to the house charcuterie. The curried cauliflower soup. Just the right heat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

wonderful flavors

Dined on May 12, 2016

Excellent combination of flavors. very interesting.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful. My husband was ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Everything was wonderful. My husband was sitting in a metal chair when all of a sudden the leg broke and he fell on the floor. Thankfully he was not hurt and the staff was very attentive. He is a normal size guy so we know this was a freak accident.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed the meal and the great service. ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Enjoyed the meal and the great service. My first time in Asheville and a great dinner to top it off.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Weird Host

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and service, however when we walked in the host didn't greet us and we had to ask what we needed to do or where to stand it was really awkward. He told us to wait (we were 30 minutes early for our reservations) which was fine until he sat a group that walked in after us that were 45 minutes early for their reservation. We just felt like the other group got priority over us even though we had arrived early and requested an outdoor table before them (the other party got the last available outdoor table) so that was pretty disappointing. Luckily our server was nice and the food was great but the front of house team made us feel pretty second class.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very enjoyable meal. Excellent service.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Enjoyed our meal at Rhubarb. Excellent, knowlegable waitress, who knew the menu in detail and could make suggestions as requested. My only negative would be that both appetizers were overly salted(scallops, lamb) Food was otherwise very tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! a true chef driven experience

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Fantastic! I will return every chance I get. The food is expertly prepared and served right out of the kitchen. A real treat. Creative and out of the ordinary

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and good value

Dined on May 5, 2016

The service and food were great. The amount of food served makes it a good value. The tables are small and noise level is moderate but overall this is terrific restaurant and I would recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good but expected a little more

Dined on May 4, 2016

Came to this place based on some recommendations of locals. I had the half chicken plate which could feed half an army. It was good but not amazing. Apps were good. Maybe expectations were too high after hearing about this place but would consider it again in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

Disappointed

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Negative: Décor - not welcoming, very harsh. Limited menu. Food and wine over priced. Positive: Excellent service. Sweet Potato soup was really tasty. Wished it had been more bisque-like, though. Gourmet presentation of the food.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Rhubarb in Asheville, NC

Dined on May 2, 2016

Comfortable, casual and friendly environment. Our server was enthusiastic about EVERY dish which was not helpful. An incorrect appetizer resulted in a lengthy process to correct. The mussels, ramps, cauliflower steak and trout were perfectly cooked but underflavored. All in all, a decent but disappointing experience.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Second time

Dined on May 1, 2016

This was our second visit to rhubarb . Th first was was for lunch and I wasn't wowed but dinner was over the top. I would rate it one of the best meals I have ever had in Asheville. That night, I thought it was better than the admiral. The grunde, like a gnocchi , was soft, tender, with beautiful spring peas, mushrooms and a light sauce that pulled it together. Incredible texture in all their foods. Service was wonderful and they respected the pace we wanted to dine. So fun to watch the kitchen and it was clean with a neat work station. Menu changes daily and the quality showed . We kept passing plates around and I can't tell you everything I sampled. Desserts were inventive and good. Easy to share . My only complaint was the noise level. Tables are close and the building dose not lend itself to quiet acoustics. We will be back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This was my second visit and enjoyed bot ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was my second visit and enjoyed both evenings at Rhubarb...it was just a little too noisy the night we were there and difficult to carry on a conversation!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

excellent service, sat outside on a beautiful Asheville night. serenaded by buskers, enjoyed seeing all the people. Can't say enough about how marvelous the food was to our palate. Left completely satisfied. Can't wait to go back. Well diversified wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Delicious

Dined on April 27, 2016

We were traveling and our inn recommended Rhubarb. We were mightily impressed by the food. The BBQ Mongolian lamb ribs app and the gnudi vegetarian entrée were sensational. The service was attentive but the kitchen was backed up and we waited a very long time for our meals. It was, however, worth the wait.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kitchen view

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

My favorite place to dine is in the kitchen. Where I can see the line. Each station. This time I was seated in at that special place. Chef warmly greeted me. The line cooks answered my onslaught of questions. My notes on my menu are shared recipes and techniques. Graciously given. And the food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was good. Service was OK.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Waiter seemed like he had no interest in really serving us. Maybe just an individual thing not the entire restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was Excellent and lives up to the chef's reputation. Our waiter was professional, knew his menu and wine and attended to us without hovering. There are many great restaurants in Ashville, and this one of them. Some times it's hard to choose. I definitely recommend Rhubarb!! I had the duck, my husband scallops, also, osso buco. Everything was perfect!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner at Rhubarb

Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent drinks, delicious Moscow mules. Some interesting food, some very good while some overly salty. We were a party of four and shared multiple small plates. The Goat Cheese Bourassa was fantastic as were the scallops which were cooked perfectly. One dish grilled asparagus with soft egg never made it to the table. The desserts were also quite good. However, we had about another 5 dishes maybe 6, all overly salty. Work out a few kinks and Rhubarb would be a fun and yummy place to dine.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on April 22, 2016

Who ever orders chicken & also say it's outstanding? Well, it was. It was the most succulent chicken I have ever had & the portion size could feed two. The service was just as good. I highly recommend. I wish we could have scored reservations the next night too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.