About Rhubarb

7 SW Pack Square
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Rhubarb, at the heart of Asheville on Pack Square, is a comfortable place for friends, families and strangers to simply lean in and enjoy the company-a place where food and drink is at its uncomplicated best. Chef John Fleer, a three time James Beard nominee for Best Chef Southeast has created a menu inspired by seasonal, local ingredients and pays homage to the bounty of regional and American cooking. A wood-fired oven and grill complement the rustic creations. Wine selections are entirely ecological and sustainable. The bar pays tribute to the early 20th century cocktail culture.

Sunday Supper, a three-course meal served at the Rhubarb family tables, is served each Sunday at 6:30. The Sunday Supper menu will be different from the regular restaurant menu and will reflect the bounty of the weekend markets presented family style. A local guest farmer will host our weekly convivial community tables. For Sunday Supper Reservations please call at 828-785-1503.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday 11:30AM- 9:30PM
Tuesday - Closed
Friday 11:30 AM-10:30 PM
Saturday 10:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Sunday 10:30 AM - 9:30 PM Dinner

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave and Patton Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 785-1503

Website:
http://www.rhubarbasheville.com/

Parking Details:
There are 5 parking garages located within close proximity to Rhubarb. Street parking is also available

Executive Chef:
John Fleer

Private Party Facilities:
Rhubarb is a place where you can simply lean in and enjoy the company. A place where food and drink are at their uncomplicated best - creating personal memories and shared experiences.

Private Party Contact:
Ellie Wigodsky: 8666036751

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rhubarb Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Asheville
2 More
Contemporary American
Asheville
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

fit for foodies (207)
special occasion (114)
neighborhood gem (88)
See All
great for outdoor dining (77)
hot spot (70)
good for groups (66)
romantic (52)
notable wine list (51)
great for brunch (34)
great for lunch (29)
vibrant bar scene (25)
kid-friendly (14)
scenic view (14)
late-night find (12)
Sort By:
Newest
1032 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Sat outside. Lovely patio, live music, s ...

Dined 5 days ago

Sat outside. Lovely patio, live music, service a little slow but food was really good -- all but the s'mores dessert.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Second time I have been for Sunday brunc ...

Dined 5 days ago

Second time I have been for Sunday brunch. Great food and service. Outdoor seating is covered and get to people watch as you eat.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We enjoyed our meal but the noise level ...

Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed our meal but the noise level was LOUD. We had to yell at each other to hear the conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely incredible experience. The st ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely incredible experience. The staff was friendly, patient, and kind to my entire family, even the kids. Honestly, it was one of the best dining experiences of my life. Thank you, Rhubarb.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great dinner even though they brought me ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great dinner even though they brought me the wrong dish. The goat cheese app was very good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our dining experience at Rhubar ...

Dined 7 days ago

We loved our dining experience at Rhubarb. The food was outstanding and very delicious. Our waiter Shane was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable of the menu. My family and I would definitely eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was imaginative and well presented.

Dined 7 days ago

Food was imaginative and well presented.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second time to Rhubarb and i ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

This was my second time to Rhubarb and it didn't disappoint. It remains one of Asheville's best in terms of food quality, creativity, and service. It is not an inexpensive place, but it delivers the goods with the menu and service. We tasted several of the appetizers and I enjoyed most of them, including the rabbit dish. I've had the wreckfish before, which was excellent, but opted for the chicken this time. It didn't disappoint and was very tasty and moist. The desert choices were a bit underwhelming in portion, but were also very tasty. I'd certainly go back to Rhubarb again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

This place has seriously gone downhill. ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

This place has seriously gone downhill. The oyster appetizer was overcooked, very salty and I could not find the oyster. The scallops were greasy and also overcooked. We split a salad I swear it was so wilted and unappetizing, it must have been made the day before. The SC wreckfish main course was ok, but the piece of fish was very, very small. I can honestly say that there was not a single thing about that meal that we liked. Oh, and the service was unbelievably slow. We had a gift certificate which we presented to the server when we first sat down. After the meal, when he finally brought the check, he forgot about the certificate. 15 min later, he comes back with the bill which did not quite make it to the amount of the gift. He forgot to get a new certificate for the difference. 20 m (no kidding!), later, he comes back. We were completely amazed at the whole experience.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The style of Rhubarb is comfortable and ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

The style of Rhubarb is comfortable and the open kitchen is fun to see. The food was an outstanding blend of flavors and the presentation was excellent.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

John Fleer clearly loves food and coaxin ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

John Fleer clearly loves food and coaxing unbelievable flavor from every dish. My collard greens and pork dish was spectacular and the shrimp appetizer was as good a shrip dish as I can remember. If you love vegetables, Rhubard is a great place to savor them. We ate there three times in three days. My wife and I were were blown away. Now we have yet another reason to visit Asheville.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Rhubarb was amazing, as was ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The food at Rhubarb was amazing, as was the service. I had the Rhubarb Glazed Duck Confit and my wife had the Bavette Steak. Both entrées were cooked to perfection. We capped the evening with a delicious desert and a Sauternes desert wine. The atmosphere was amazing, with music provided by a street performer playing classical guitar pieces. This is a must go to place if you are in the Ashville area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food! Definitely fit for a foodie ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food! Definitely fit for a foodie. We had the lyonnaise salad, oysters, meatballs, chicken, and the duck. Everyone in our group loved their meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Another pleasurable lunch at Rhubarb! I ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Another pleasurable lunch at Rhubarb! I enjoyed the market plate which was beautifully presented and so very delicious. The service was excellent and seamless. The option to eat outside is always nice and we took advantage of the opportunity. There is rarely a dull moment in Asheville at Pack Square at this time of the year!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner. Service and food were ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent dinner. Service and food were excellent. Would be our top choice for dinner when we visit again.

food5
ambience5
service5

We are out in the patio. Our food was pe ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We are out in the patio. Our food was perfect and the service was flawless. We had a wonderful evening.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was subpar and overpriced. The beer ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was subpar and overpriced. The beer-bacon broth with the mussels was inedible. We mentioned to waiter that we were there to celebrate my wife's birthday. He didn't even acknowledge it. He just took our order and walked away. Loved the food and service when we came last year. This time we were really let down. Won't be coming back.

food4
ambience3
service4
value5

I go to Rhubarbs whenever I am in Ashevi ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I go to Rhubarbs whenever I am in Asheville. It is always fabulous! This is the first time I've had any criticism at all, but our experience sitting at chef's bar was disappointing. We like to sit there and watch the chefs at work and always before, they have been very engaging. On this evening, not a single one of them even looked up to greet us, much less engage. I can only think it was because chef Fleer was not there that evening, but it was really disappointing. It's always a bit warm sitting there in summer, given the proximity of the open ovens, but I wish we'd asked for a table on that evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good steak salad, well seasoned. N ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Very good steak salad, well seasoned. Nice day for outdoors.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was excellent mountain food. We ha ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This was excellent mountain food. We had more food than we could eat and it was all delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent night at Rhubarb

Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything was great - we were seated at a lovely table by the window. Although the service was a little slow, our server was excellent - friendly, knowledgeable, efficient - gave just the right amount of information to introduce a number of the dishes, but not so much to be overwhelming or annoying. We had a wonderful bottle of wine, and shared several dishes - all of them fresh, creative, and delicious. We'll definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special evening

Dined on June 10, 2016

The restaurant was excellent. Our original table was way to close to the people next to us but they were able to move us to a different one with more privacy. Server was very attentive and answered all our questions regarding the menu. Ended the evening with a complimentary dessert to celebrate our 45th anniversary. Sweet end to a wonderful dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Does not disappoint

Dined on June 10, 2016

When we go out to eat, we particularly enjoy going to restaurants that create unusual dishes with locally sourced food. RHUBARB does just this in an excellent way. All of us had different dishes: steak, fish, duck, pork. The steak, pork and fish seemed the biggest successes. The duck was a tad dry. For dessert, we tried the Smoked Pork ice cream (as I said, we like the unusual), but that was a little too weird, even for us. The other ice creams were excellent. We love going to RHUBARB when we are in town, and will continue to do so....and take friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful Place in Asheville! Interesti ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Wonderful Place in Asheville! Interesting combinations of food and proportions were good! Highly recommended!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Rhubarb makes a clear effort to create d ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Rhubarb makes a clear effort to create dishes with unexpected ingredients and unique flavor profiles. They use excellent locally sourced meats and vegetables and daily fresh seafoods. With an obvious attention to detail they succeed on a very high level. We had a broad sampling of their appetizers and entrees and with one exception the dishes were as good as described above. The duck confit was not as crispy on the outside and not as moist on the inside as one usually expects it to be. I doubt if they were trying to be "unique" by departing from this essential characteristic of duck confit. They need to figure out how to make it just right or they should take it off their menu. That aside, Rhubarb is definitely worth a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was only in Asheville for one night an ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

I was only in Asheville for one night and came here to have the cheese plate for dessert. I'm a total cheese snob from NYC, and was happy learn that NC has a lot of artisan cheese makers. I had the following: Stackhouse, Ridgeline, Chocolate Lab, Tomme, Shakerag Blue, and Saving Grace. All were excellent, particularly the Ridgeline, and paired well with the 20 Year Tawny Port. The dinner plates on other tables looked great and I would come back here if I were in Asheville again. Definitely save room for a cheese plate for dessert here!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Expected More

Dined on June 4, 2016

I went to Rhubarb recently with my daughter, and we both LOVED it. When I returned recently with my husband, I was still impressed but his grouper entrée was just so-so, nothing particularly special. My knudi, on the other hand, was excellent, the first time I'd had "gnocchi without the potato," as our waiter described it to us. We also ordered a chocolate dessert with blue cheese and figs and found the figs to be a bit overpowering. I guess when we order chocolate, we want to taste more chocolate! But it's not like we weren't told of the ingredients beforehand, so I chalk that up to personal taste. The major downside to Rhubarb is its location if you wish to eat outside. It's on "buskers' corner," and for me that detracts from the outside space. But since I have chosen to eat indoors, that has not been an issue.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Yum

Dined on June 3, 2016

Lacking is ambiance but food, favors, and service are excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not what we hoped; maybe because it wa ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Not what we hoped; maybe because it was a weeknight , but our meal was hit and miss, and generally not really worthy of either the stellar chef or the prices. The misses: Oysters Benton was basically flavorless and cornbread crumbs soggy; the whole wood-fired fish should have had some smokiness/fire flavor but didn't, and texture was on mushy side. The accompaniments/condiments/sauces were delicious as expected but generally too skimpy as were a few of the dishes in general. The hits: my grouper (subbed for the snapper that night) was tasty and the accompaniments/sauces were as well, if limited. Octopus appetizer was good, and the goat cheese burrata appetizer was creamy and delicious with contrasting sweet touch in rhubarb/berry sauce. The unusual and creative beer and barley beignet dessert was almost a hit, but the beignets were on the tough side, though the flavors were a standout. The "Pretty Colleen" cocktail, recommended by our helpful waitress Stephanie was wonderfully complex. Overall, it was pleasant but lackluster and not what I would expect from this caliber of restaurant and chef. We are fans though and will try again on a weekend!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressive

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

While on vacation in Asheville, we tried out several different restaurants. Rhubarb really delivered. Our waiter was very entertaining and the food was superb. We had a vegetarian who declared her meal the best she had in Asheville. I am not a vegetarian, but the cauliflower steak I ordered was amazing! And, the desserts were a culinary delight. The pork ice cream (really) had a sweet smoky flavor unlike anything I have tried. We are coming back next summer and Rhubarb will be a repeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Asheville gem

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

This restaurant served fantastic, inventive food. It is located right on Pack Square, so it's right in the middle of everything. The decor is modern and attractive. The food is top notch. Dessert was a smoked pork ice cream that hit every note! I had a side of lady peas that was so wonderful I got an order to go. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Try another place

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

The food was good but, being familiar with just about every restaurant in Downtown Asheville and a member of several Foodie groups, we found it to be at least 30% higher priced than other restaurants (shown of Curate' which is also overpriced). There are many phenominal restaurants in Dntn AVL with much lower prices. Rhubarb is too proud of their food and should lower their prices to the norm for the area. They do not offer the best food of local restaurants but charge much more for it.

food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and service. One thing t ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Excellent food and service. One thing to avoid...I do not recommend sitting at the chef's bar...very up close view, however the heat from the kitchen makes dining unbearable.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

First time for us

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

This was the first time we had been to Rhubarb, and we enjoyed the experience. Everything was good, but I would not say spectacular.

food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken I had was out of this world! ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The chicken I had was out of this world! I will definitely go back for that!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rhubarb, Save us a seat! We'll be back!

Dined on May 29, 2016

We were promptly seated for dinner. They had a kids menu. The waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu and directed me toward the GF choices. The drinks were great. The food was delicious. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastoc

Dined on May 28, 2016

It was exceptional and reasonably priced. Oysters left something to be desired but we were in the mountains after all. Truly wonderful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food with great service! We w ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Wonderful food with great service! We will be back next time we are on in town.

food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Great flavors, but came away hungry.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Went to Rhubarb on Saturday night. Very busy in Asheville, so the place was packed, but no problem with getting reservations 4 days ahead of time. Our server was extremely professional, with excellent knowledge of cocktails. We had the mussels and lamb ribs as a starter, which were both delicious. For the main courses we had duck confit, wreckfish, and sun trout. The wreckfish was excellent, and the Carolina gold rice was a great accompaniment. The sun trout was a generous sized filet, but could have done with a larger faro portion and a sauce of some kind. The duck confit was a great disappointment. $28 dollars for a single duck leg quarter with a small portion of sweet potato Anna (which was soggy and not at all crispy as a pommes Anna should be) and braised spinach (which actually was very delicious) is far too high a price. The walnuts mentioned in the description of the duck confit entree were almost entirely absent, being but a whisper upon the palette and serving no purpose whatsoever. Overall, the serving size of the entrees was entirely too small for the price. If Rhubarb offered a la carte sides, that would go someway towards remedying the after-dinner hunger pangs, but they don't. The desserts on offer were rather avant garde, and their flavors did not pair well with the main courses. We had what could charitably be described as a deconstructed bananas Foster and a dish described as "Beer and Barley". Neither were remarkable, with the most offensive element being a chili-flavored popcorn in "Beer and Barley" that scarcely belongs in a non-chocolate dessert. Why the menu could not have had a chocolate cake or cheesecake on it is beyond me, as either one would have been a welcome filling finish to an otherwise undersized meal. The check was nearly $200 for 3 people ( not including tip) an amount that should have been sufficient to fill us full, but sadly wasn't. I recommend dining elsewhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4

The best grilled octopus ever. And that ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The best grilled octopus ever. And that's the good news. As a main course the trout was nothing special at all. Our other appetizers were ok ,shrimp, lamb ribs a cheese board. The portions were really small even the main courses. Like a duck leg for the whole entree . This was our second time , the first time I was really impressed , not so this time .

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.