About Rhubarb

7 SW Pack Square
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Rhubarb, at the heart of Asheville on Pack Square, is a comfortable place for friends, families and strangers to simply lean in and enjoy the company-a place where food and drink is at its uncomplicated best. Chef John Fleer, a three time James Beard nominee for Best Chef Southeast has created a menu inspired by seasonal, local ingredients and pays homage to the bounty of regional and American cooking. A wood-fired oven and grill complement the rustic creations. Wine selections are entirely ecological and sustainable. The bar pays tribute to the early 20th century cocktail culture.

Sunday Supper, a three-course meal served at the Rhubarb family tables, is served each Sunday at 6:30. The Sunday Supper menu will be different from the regular restaurant menu and will reflect the bounty of the weekend markets presented family style. A local guest farmer will host our weekly convivial community tables. For Sunday Supper Reservations please call at 828-785-1503.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday 11:30AM- 9:30PM
Tuesday - Closed
Friday 11:30 AM-10:30 PM
Saturday 10:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Sunday 10:30 AM - 9:30 PM Dinner

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave and Patton Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 785-1503

Website:
http://www.rhubarbasheville.com/

Parking Details:
There are 5 parking garages located within close proximity to Rhubarb. Street parking is also available

Executive Chef:
John Fleer

Private Party Facilities:
Rhubarb is a place where you can simply lean in and enjoy the company. A place where food and drink are at their uncomplicated best - creating personal memories and shared experiences.

Private Party Contact:
Ellie Wigodsky: 8666036751

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rhubarb Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Asheville / W. North Carolina
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Asheville
Outdoor Dining
Asheville
Contemporary American
Asheville
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Fit for Foodies (185)
Special Occasion (105)
Great for Outdoor Dining (93)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (69)
Hot Spot (60)
Good for Groups (51)
Romantic (41)
Notable Wine List (32)
Great for Lunch (29)
Local Ingredients (28)
Great for Brunch (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for a Date (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Kid-friendly (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Scenic View (12)
Authentic (12)
Seasonal (11)
Late-night Find (10)
People Watching (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Casual (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Healthy (7)
Organic (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (3)
Tapas (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Business Meals (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Music (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1153 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As someone who loves to cook and appreci ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

As someone who loves to cook and appreciates great food, this was my favorite restaurant in the 3 days we visited Asheville. The combination of ingredients in each dish from appetizer to entree to dessert was so complex and worked perfectly. Duck with green sweet garlic, muscadine grapes, blackberry coulis, walnuts, spinach and a sweet potato cake -- delish! And if you love caramel, the caramel rye cake is one of the best desserts I've ever tasted. Who would have thought a burnt cheddar ice cream would taste good? The dish sounded so unique that we had to try it. The crispy apples chips and salted caramel with the cake and then the cheddar ice cream...I will dream of this dessert. We also had the rabbit appetizer. Saw lots of those coming out of the kitchen. Yummy. When we visit again, we will eat here! Service was lovely.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for our first wedding anniversar ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 7 days ago

We went for our first wedding anniversary. Our waiter was excellent- very attentive, but not in our face. Started with the Cheese and Meat platters- and let them pick what they gave us. Very good selections! My husband got the Swordfish and I got the Duck. Amazing! Very relaxing, wonderful evening for our first anniversary. They even treated us to a dessert at the end of our meal!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

WE had 8 pm reservations and were seated ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

WE had 8 pm reservations and were seated at 8:30pm Not very apologetic and no offers of anything for our long wait. The food was exceptional. The noise level was unpleasant. Despite the quality of the meal I would not return.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Had a great table by the widow, so we co ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a great table by the widow, so we could watch Aheville go by. Wait staff was very attentive on orders and refreshing drinks. We had the trout and it was so fresh and flavorful! Would definitely recommend it. Manager also came around to say hello and make sure everything was perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was exceptional. Service made the e ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was exceptional. Service made the experience a complete disappointment. We won't be back. Chose to celebrate our anniversary here and could barely get the time of day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

Dank food. Shane, great guy. Bartender w ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Dank food. Shane, great guy. Bartender was a bit of a chode.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent for lunch and in the past I ha ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent for lunch and in the past I have also had dinner which was excellent as well. Right in the middle of Asheville, so a great spot when walking around town. We had a very caring server and completely enjoyed our lunch. We were close to the open kitchen and it was great watching the talented folks in the kitchen. Love the local ingredients and the pickled options!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the food, which provided one ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We enjoyed the food, which provided one of the more creative brunch menus I've ever seen. Unfortunately some the dishes weren't executed properly (Over easy egg was cooked through and way too much garlic overpowered one of the dishes.) Our server never came over to check on the food and then took over 10 minutes to pick-up the check and never thanked us or said have a nice day.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

Exceptional food, no wonder they are win ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Exceptional food, no wonder they are winning awards! We're picky and we were very impressed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very fun, helpful server. Her suggestion ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very fun, helpful server. Her suggestions were excellent. Burrata appetizer was excellent! Apple something dessert with cheddar ice cream ((yes, I said cheddar) was weird.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The space is very cool. It was relaxed a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The space is very cool. It was relaxed and we never felt rushed. Our server had great suggestions and we really enjoyed the burrata, mussels and Bavette steak. It was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very cool spot in Asheville! We loved be ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Very cool spot in Asheville! We loved being able to sit near the open kitchen and witness all the goodness they were cooking up! Everything is fresh and they note on the menu where they get produce from. There were so many options - meatballs, burrata and duck confit were some of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and food service. Alcoholic b ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great food and food service.

Alcoholic beverages were extremely expensive for the quality of the product.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I come here often and have found that it ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I come here often and have found that it is either very good or very mediocre.

When it is good I feel happy to pay the price, when it is not I feel ripped off.

Along with other problems many of our dishes were over salted.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We ate 1:00 Sunday lunch at Rhubarb on a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We ate 1:00 Sunday lunch at Rhubarb on a lovely fall afternoon.

It was fun to watch Asheville's diverse crowd with musicians

Food was amazing. I had sweet potato duck conference...so delicious ; partner's salad too. Best biscuit in this world! Super wine choice!

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were promptly seated and greeted by o ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were promptly seated and greeted by our server. The restaurant was far from full- maybe 40-50% full at noon on a Sunday, so it was very quiet. When I had called about a reservation earlier in the week, I was told there were drink specials every day, but upon arrival was informed that there were none on Sundays. The drinks were pretty pricey- $8 for a mimosa, but the food wasn't too outrageous in terms of price. And I must say, the food was delicious. Overall, when I want brunch, I want to stay and relax a while, but with the drink prices and atmosphere, this was not a place where my group felt we could stay and hang out. Worth a quick stop for the unique, delicious food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

One of the best meals ever! Our hostess ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of the best meals ever! Our hostess was spot on with her recommendations.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Our trout was excellent! Like the open ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Our trout was excellent! Like the open kitchen concept. Service was good - slow but waitress kept us informed so it was aok.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We were very excited to eat at Rhubarb a ...

 
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We were very excited to eat at Rhubarb after reading about it in Garden and Gun and hearing that John Fleer was the man to get Blackberry Farms going. Our service was excellent, but my husband's steak was so salty it was almost not edible.. He didn't eat most of it. We should have sent it back to the kitchen but didn't. My meal was just ok. Sad because the atmosphere is top notch. Hope they iron it out - perhaps we caught them on a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Never disappoints we had a large group 6 ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Never disappoints we had a large group 6 adults 2 children - we were seated in a perfect alcove with a chalkboard wall for the kids ! The food was amazingly fresh and inventive - our server was attentive and personable - can't wait t go back !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was so excited to try Rhubarb during o ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I was so excited to try Rhubarb during our weekend visit to Asheville - however, I was pretty disappointed and didn't understand the hype after leaving. The service was sub-par - felt very rushed during our meal. They never asked if we wanted another drink, etc. The food was good, we had the salad and steak. Nothing that was too different than other places, but it was enjoyable to eat. I think we were there a total of 45 minutes for what we wanted to be a nice, sit-down dinner date. Probably would not return upon our next visit.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I had the gnudi which was very good, art ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I had the gnudi which was very good, artful presentation and 'new'. Husband had the wreck fish and it was quite 'fishy' tasting. He was not impressed.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food, short menu. Sad no alcohol.al ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Good food, short menu. Sad no alcohol.alas, Sunday! Duck Confit entree needed a small salad or fruit side. Best biscuit ever, should offer more options using the biscuit. Want to take a bath in the mint sauce!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Had a girl's weekend in Asheville and ma ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had a girl's weekend in Asheville and made reservations at Rhubarb for brunch. The food was very fresh and full of flavor. We loved the decor of the restaurant as well. When we visit Asheville again Rhubarb will be on our must eat places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere but very rushe ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food and atmosphere but very rushed. Food came out way too fast and was obviously not prepped to order. Service was good but quickly got curt when we didn't order dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Was a bit disappointed with dinner. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Was a bit disappointed with dinner. The lamb ribs were fantastic, but everything else was just okay. The half chicken was under seasoned and not very interesting.

However, we did go back for brunch and felt like the brunch experience was much more consistent and pleasant than dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good & reasonably priced for As ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was good & reasonably priced for Asheville. While our server was very warm, personable, & attentive, the host and another server were quite rude. We had a reservation, and inquired about a table outside -- the host seemed quite put out to be asked for any effort from him at all (only rolling his eyes & not even verbally responding). After we were sat outside, a musician on the sidewalk began playing/singing with an amplifier and it was unbearably loud, so (before we had even seen a server) we (apologetically!) asked to go back inside -- well, at this point we were treated as the most unreasonable guests, ever. My friend was walking in from outside and a server behind her apparently found her to be too slow -- rudely asking her to step aside (an employee! asking a guest to get out of the way!).

Contrast with the previous night, at Curaté -- where every employee we came in contact with was friendly & accommodating. Having a friendly staff is a top-down effort -- as a past server I know that emphasis on this comes from management. If Rhubarb chooses a can't-be-bothered attitude over good service, my next meal in the city will be elsewhere, and I'll recommend the same to traveling friends.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Tough to decide on just a couple restaur ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Tough to decide on just a couple restaurants while in town for the weekend. Honestly wish we'd gone with a different choice for our nicer more expensive meal. The food was okay, but we left Unsatisfied for what we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The atmosphere and overall experience wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The atmosphere and overall experience was amazing. Sat outside and listened to the local musicians under the lights on the patio. Service was impeccable, and food was delicious, but portions were miniature. No more than 10 mussels in the appetizer, and the duck entree was the size of a chicken wing! Very tasty, just not enough food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is wonderful, if a bit pricey. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food is wonderful, if a bit pricey. We stuck to splitting a few of the appetizers. The serving sizes were great, the food was amazing, and it was a great way to try a variety of foods without spending a lot of money. Good service and the outdoor porch is fun for people watching in Asheville, but it can get noisy out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food on the expensive side. Dessert ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Good food on the expensive side. Dessert not worth it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

great food, great service! (but don't s ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

great food, great service! (but don't sit too close to the kitchen!)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Local Fare with fresh ingredients. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great Local Fare with fresh ingredients. The service is wonderful and it's always an enjoyable meal with a few interesting, surprising items on the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for brunch. Great food. Excellent s ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Went for brunch. Great food. Excellent staff. Kudos to the compassion and patience with our autistic son. We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place, food was very good. The onl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great place, food was very good. The only downside was the temperature, it was very hot inside the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Scallops are wonderful!

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Scallops are wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful .. we are food snobs .. we've ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Wonderful .. we are food snobs .. we've eaten all over the world for the past 40 years ..

ALL OVER THE WORLD .. this place is a gem .. knowledgeable/friendly staff ..

Local food off the hook .. DON'T MISS THIS PLACE ..

And Asheville .. well it's all true ..

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Flat bread was de ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Service was excellent. Flat bread was delicious as was the gnudi.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals we enjoyed in Ashe ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

One of the best meals we enjoyed in Asheville. Wonderful restaurant! Great food, excellent service and nice ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was okay, not bad but not mind-blow ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was okay, not bad but not mind-blowing. Overpriced for what it really is.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.