About Rhubarb

7 SW Pack Square
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Rhubarb, at the heart of Asheville on Pack Square, is a comfortable place for friends, families and strangers to simply lean in and enjoy the company-a place where food and drink is at its uncomplicated best. Chef John Fleer, a three time James Beard nominee for Best Chef Southeast has created a menu inspired by seasonal, local ingredients and pays homage to the bounty of regional and American cooking. A wood-fired oven and grill complement the rustic creations. Wine selections are entirely ecological and sustainable. The bar pays tribute to the early 20th century cocktail culture.

Sunday Supper, a three-course meal served at the Rhubarb family tables, is served each Sunday at 6:30. The Sunday Supper menu will be different from the regular restaurant menu and will reflect the bounty of the weekend markets presented family style. A local guest farmer will host our weekly convivial community tables. For Sunday Supper Reservations please call at 828-785-1503.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday 11:30AM- 9:30PM
Tuesday - Closed
Friday 11:30 AM-10:30 PM
Saturday 10:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Sunday 10:30 AM - 9:30 PM Dinner

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave and Patton Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 785-1503

Website:
http://www.rhubarbasheville.com/

Parking Details:
There are 5 parking garages located within close proximity to Rhubarb. Street parking is also available

Executive Chef:
John Fleer

Private Party Facilities:
Rhubarb is a place where you can simply lean in and enjoy the company. A place where food and drink are at their uncomplicated best - creating personal memories and shared experiences.

Private Party Contact:
Ellie Wigodsky: 8666036751

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb
Rhubarb

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rhubarb Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville
1 More
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Fit for Foodies (198)
Special Occasion (110)
Great for Outdoor Dining (96)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (83)
Hot Spot (67)
Good for Groups (59)
Romantic (49)
Notable Wine List (41)
Great for Lunch (32)
Great for Brunch (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Kid-friendly (14)
Scenic View (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Organic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for brunch. Great food. Excellent s ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Went for brunch. Great food. Excellent staff. Kudos to the compassion and patience with our autistic son. We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place, food was very good. The onl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place, food was very good. The only downside was the temperature, it was very hot inside the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Scallops are wonderful!

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Scallops are wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful .. we are food snobs .. we've ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Wonderful .. we are food snobs .. we've eaten all over the world for the past 40 years ..

ALL OVER THE WORLD .. this place is a gem .. knowledgeable/friendly staff ..

Local food off the hook .. DON'T MISS THIS PLACE ..

And Asheville .. well it's all true ..

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Flat bread was de ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Service was excellent. Flat bread was delicious as was the gnudi.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals we enjoyed in Ashe ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

One of the best meals we enjoyed in Asheville. Wonderful restaurant! Great food, excellent service and nice ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was okay, not bad but not mind-blow ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was okay, not bad but not mind-blowing. Overpriced for what it really is.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Battender is a skilled mixologist. Serv ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Battender is a skilled mixologist.

Servers know what wines to pair with courses. The food is excellent.

Ariana Lance recommended it to us.

So happy we went. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, especially the octopus a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent food, especially the octopus and oysters. We ordered all small plates and enjoyed a wonderful variety! This is our third dining experience with Rhubarb and the food is always fresh and wonderful!

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

we read great reviews about Rhubarb befo ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

we read great reviews about Rhubarb before booking, and unfortunately we had a suboptimal experience. our waiter was not attentive and it felt as though he was at the end of his shift. moreover, we were all excited to try to campfire grille (their version of S'more's). this was, without a doubt, the worst desert any of us have tried. It is almost impossible to ruin a marshmallow, but the pastry chef managed to do just that! it tasted like butane (yes, butane). the chocolate was not tasty and we end up getting credits on our desserts because they were just not good. anyway. a lot of other places to go to in Ashville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Truly wonderful food, drink and service. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Truly wonderful food, drink and service. My husband, seven year-old son and I dined here while on vacation. The food was inventive enough for adults and still tasty and approachable for kids. We never needed to use the (happily offered) kid's menu! A great night from start to finish, we will return next time we are in Asheville.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Sunday dinner. Drinks were gre ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went for Sunday dinner. Drinks were great and so were the oysters.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love eating at Rhubarb! This was our ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We love eating at Rhubarb! This was our 3rd visit and when we are in Asheville visiting, eating here is a must. The best food and service. Hope to be back soon!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the third time I have dined at ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was the third time I have dined at Rhubarb, and I've been increasingly disappointed. The food is just not that good. The desserts we tried this time (s'mores & salted peanut butter ice cream) were actually inedible -- overly salty, rubbery chocolate, bitter burnt taste. You name it. The confit of duck is consistently good, else my marks for food would have been even lower. It makes me sad because the space and atmosphere are great, but I don't see eating here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We sat in the kitchen area which was a l ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We sat in the kitchen area which was a little warm, but watching the "show" in the kitchen made the heat tolerable. Our waiter was outstanding, and the food wonderful. A really well run restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing. We loved John Fleer at Bl ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Disappointing. We loved John Fleer at Blackberry Farm and were looking forward to another wonderful culinary experience. Rhubarb is noisy and the distressed look was depressing. The chicken was tasty but the vegetables were over salted. Scallops were ordinary. Oysters had too much breading. The bread was delicious but they charge $3 additional. The steak was good. Asheville's other restaurants were better overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Fantastic! We had an amazing meal-stunni ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fantastic! We had an amazing meal-stunning combinations of favors in every dish. What a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rhubarb was amazing! Our server was supe ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Rhubarb was amazing! Our server was super knowledgeable and she had only been there one month! The staff overall was exceptional and the food was fantastic! I will be coming back the next time I visit Asheville!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always! Great patio, great ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Delicious as always! Great patio, great service, amazing food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Asheville in the summer is a really hot ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Asheville in the summer is a really hot little city. The night we were at Rhubarb the air conditioning was not up to the task. When we complained we learned this is an on-going problem for the restaurant. Hot and LOUD did not make for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We celebrated my wife's birthday with a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday with a weekend in Asheville and Rhubarb was certainly part of the celebration! The service was friendly and easy, the food was out of this world - truly unique dishes, often featuring locally sourced ingredients. Oh and the drinks were amazing! We dined on the outdoor terrace and enjoyed live music nearby on the street as well.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Adorable decor and delicious food. The c ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Adorable decor and delicious food. The creme brûlée French toast is amazing! Very reasonably priced with friendly service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

very good food and creative. good servic ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

very good food and creative. good service. Would return

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was off

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Hands down one of the best restaurants I ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Hands down one of the best restaurants I have ever visited. Food was delicious, atmosphere great, staff was excellent and friendly!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service. Our waitress ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Our waitress Laura was extremely knowledgeable, efficient.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Highly rated ...didn't disappoint. Very ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Highly rated ...didn't disappoint. Very interesting menu...food was outstanding. Service impeccable. We sat inside but at the closest table to the patio - quick a busy scene on a Friday night in Asheville. The best of both worlds ~ the nice cool air conditioned dining with the feel of the energetic Friday night buzz in Asheville. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Creative and delicious from beginning to ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Creative and delicious from beginning to dessert.

The best steak I've had in many years. Will surely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great farm to table. Trout is fantastic ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great farm to table. Trout is fantastic as well as the rhubarb sorbet

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food but the service tends to ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent food but the service tends to wander when it gets busy. Both couples this night each shared a Goat Cheese Buratta plate, and good thing - the rich delicious cheese was two pieces each the size of a baseball - accompanied by wonderfully picked seasonal fruit and beets. The Bavette steak was tender and flavorful, and scallops and oysters a hit. They forgot our side of chanterelles until the steak was devoured, so we refused them. The open kitchen and large room gets quite frenetic as it gets busier late in the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

A visit to Rhubarb is always one of the ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

A visit to Rhubarb is always one of the highlights of our visits to Asheville. We are never disappointed. John Fleer’s creative layering of flavors and the use of seasonal ingredients take the dishes to a new level. The restaurant’s atmosphere is casual and relaxed; the wait staff friendly and knowledgeable. Can’t wait to make reservations again soon.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh, local food

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fresh, local food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. The duck and tro ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was excellent. The duck and trout were exceptional. Good choices in wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were disappointed in the sorbet. It ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were disappointed in the sorbet. It was very salty. We had reservations, but still had to wait about twenty minutes for our table. Our entre, wreck fish, was delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our second time here. First time was a c ...

vip
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our second time here. First time was a couple of years ago for brunch and we were not impressed. However, decided to try dinner and we were not disappointed. Food was delicious, service great. I am glad we were not in the main dining room which was very loud. We were inside but around corner from large dining room which was quiet and cool. Every course was amazing, such a lovely mix of flavors, cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had one night in Ashville and my daug ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had one night in Ashville and my daughter found the restaurant. We picked it for the name (my mother-in-law was with us and is the only person I know who loves rubarb) and the good reviews. We really enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service. The cheese plate was a terrific start and the duck was really a "wow". Highly recommend if you are in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A memorable evening of appetizers and co ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

A memorable evening of appetizers and cocktails, followed by an inspired dinner and desserts. We will return on our next trip to Asheville !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was well versed on everythi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our waitress was well versed on everything on the menu. They change there menu frequently as they use items local sourced and in season. Everything we had was outstanding. We shared a 5 Cheese course, then the lightest Buckwheat flatbread and pickled vegetables, and last shared a main course of gnudi which was outstanding. Wish we lived closer to be able to go more frequently.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food! Service was a little la ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Delicious food! Service was a little lackluster, but that's OK.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Phenomenal food and service. A true Ashe ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Phenomenal food and service. A true Asheville gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.