Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.88mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.31mi
  4. Distance: 1.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.88mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.31mi
  4. Distance: 1.73mi

About Rhett's Restaurant

Rhett's Restaurant, Catering, and Personal Chef - Specializing in Southern Gourmet Cuisine. We offer an indoor bar area, dining room and outside courtyard. Please specify where you would like to sit.

132 W Pennsylvania Ave
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Vegetarian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday/Tuesday 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.; Wednesday thru Saturday 11:00 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Between Broad and Bennett

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 695-3663

Website:
http://www.rhettsinc.com/

Entertainment:
Courtyard music on Friday and Saturday night, weather permitting.

Parking Details:
Downtown area, parking is on street.

Executive Chef:
Rhett Morris

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rhett's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (5)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Business Meals (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Romantic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Historic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Two of us had the trout and it was perfection. The food was delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Rhett's offers a new twist on some old Southern favorites. The food is good and the prices are reasonable. Nothing particularly extraordinary- just good food at a good price. Indoor dining has little to offer in the way of ambience which is why I scored ambience low; however, the outside dining courtyard is very lively. Save this place for when the weather calls for dining outside.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Year's Eve dinner - prix fixe menu with multiple choices for first, second, main, and dessert. EVERYTHING was thoughtfully prepared, flavorful, beautifully presented, and absolutely delicious. Because everything was chosen in advance and choices emailed in, the meal moved in a little faster than I would typically want for a multi course experience. But nothing arrived before we finished the prior course, and at no time did they seem to be pushing us; just all the servers moved about quickly and courses followed closely one upon the other.

Still, I'll take that over long waits, messed up orders, running out of key dishes, and all the other snafus we've experienced over the years at a variety of restaurants in a plethora of states.

Thanks, Rhett, for a memorable meal and a great start to 2017!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Perfectly prepared food and full of flavor, atmosphere is wonderful and allows for good conversation. Top notch service with table visits by the chef (Rhett). Dining can be casual or more formal if you like, definitely a place for people who appreciate well prepared and presented cuisine. We will return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Off Night for patronage, could have been too soon after Christmas. Great food, excellent chef.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Cozy, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 28, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants near Southern Pines.....we've never been let down. Fantastic, creative, locally sourced food with incredible flavor and a kind, courteous staff to go with it. Win!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our server was great, she was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. The atmosphere was awkward with an outside door coming into the dining area we were seated in and diners coming in thinking it was the front door. I would have enjoyed my meal more if the pork wasn't so dry and the Brussel sprouts to tough. This was my second visit and although I would try again, I would definitely warn friends not to set their expectations too high.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Have been to Rhett's several times when visiting my daughter who lives in the area. They have southern based dishes that are tasty and nicely prepared. Corn bread fried oysters and fried green tomatoes for appetizers, pecan fried trout and shrimp and grits for entrees are our favorites. Good, friendly service.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We were visiting Souther Pines for a few days and had a fabulous dinner when we were in town. My husband and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary. Our waiter Sam was AWESOME!!!
so friendly and personable. The food was outstanding HIGHLY recommended you try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was good but the service was bumbling and slow.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I went on to open table to make a reservation they were very accommodating when I had to change the appointment. When we arrived they set us at the bar the restaurant was in the back with limited amount of tables approximately 10 total and you had to make very early reservations to sit in the back. Had we known we would have called and suggested to have our reservation for the back area. Open table is not the best way of making reservations it would be better to call.

The food was really good the staff was extremely helpful the service was excellent the ambience was not what we had expected. While sitting at the bar area when the door opened, the cold air would come in so it was really cold sitting in that area.

My suggestion would be to call while making a reservation and let them know you want to sit in the back area versus sitting in the bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Rhett continues to impress with local ingredients fused into creative specials in a friendly atmosphere. And I don't think anyone expected the Key Lime pie to be that good.

Tags: Organic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The fried green tomatoes were amazing! The goat cheese on my spinach strawberry salad was the best I've ever tasted, so creamy and Rhett said it's made locally. Dessert was delicious, macaroni again the best I've had. We were a party of 5 and everyone loved their meal. It's nice that Rhett walks around chatting with the guests. Sitting outside was the perfect atmosphere. This is our third time eating at Rhett's and have loved everything. I highly recommend this quaint restaurant.

Tags: Healthy, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fantastic meal. The Lobster Bisque was outstanding, the Lamb Chop appetizer was very good, but the MVP was the best Shrimp & Grits I've ever had. Put that all together in an outside seating with great live music and this meal was the best I've had in the Pinehurst/Southern Pines area. We will absolutely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very nice! Enjoy outdoor dining with live music, or more quiet and intimate indoor dining. Food was amazing!! Upscale casual.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I enjoyed every morsel of my meal. I had trout, green beans and mac and cheese. Service is outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Everything was great. We especially liked the way the owner engages with his guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Very accommodating chef. Good selection of vegetarian and gluten free dishes. Very good service. Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a fabulous dinner at Rhetts and will be back soon! Service was great, menus (there are many) are interesting and seasonal, outside dining was fun with live music, and the food was superb. I had shrimp and grits, my husband had steak, and we each had fabulous salads, good wine, and fresh homemade cookies for dessert. We met and chatted with Rhett, a personable and talented chef, who runs the restaurant and also does catering. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2016

5 of us came down from Fort Bragg for a birthday lunch and we loved Rhetts! The birthday girl said she had the best shrimp and grits ever! Thanks for helping us make her smile!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 2, 2016

We had great service, and the chef checked on us several times throughout our meal. All staff members were super friendly and the food was absolutely delicious. We chose to eat outside by the water fountain but the fans kept us cool, even though it is June in North Carolina!!! We recommend the house made cake- different flavor everyday but we've never been disappointed!! My favorite is their strawberry cake with basil-lemon icing. YUM!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 27, 2016

After a few disappointing meals at places that were recommended, we just happened to pick this one by chance. What a pleasant surprise when we were served the best meal we had the entire trip! This is a must do if you are in the Pinehurst area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic food and a pleasant atmosphere. My wife and I loved eating outside as the sun set.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a great time at Rhett's. They seemed to be having a staffing issue so service was a bit slow but they were utilizing everybody to try to keep the customers happy. We really didn't mind the slow service as we were outside and enjoying the great weather and ambiance ! Looking forward to going there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2016

3 ring circus run by high schoolers. Dreadful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Fried green tomatoes and pork dish were outstanding. The pea salad served with the mahi mahi was bland though the mahi itself was delicious. Restaurant is very cute and outside seating was perfect. They had live music that was just right, just loud enough so conversation was still possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2016

My fiance and I were looking for somewhere to meet with our minister to discuss our upcoming wedding. This place was something we stumbled upon as neither us or the minister are from this area. We got there for an early meal (5 PM) and we were promptly seated. The restaurant is in a unique location within Southern Pines, and it made for a unique venue for the meal and meeting. The food was very well prepared, and the menu consisted of great locally connected food items. Our waitress was new, and it showed, but it did not take away from the evening. Food was fairly priced for what we got and the presentation. Overall we enjoyed it, and would come back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great food & wonderful family night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 16, 2016

You can not beat Rhett's roasted red pepper soup and rosemary pork rinds. Always very impressed with the food and our dining experience. This is always our favorite spot when we are in town!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a fabulous time at Rhett's wine dinner. The wine was fantastic, the food was savory and cooked to perfection, and the atmosphere was very romantic for Valentine's day. They had a rose at every table, and our names on the menu which was so sweet. The ribs were incredible, I am so glad I got those, and the cheese plate was our favorite! We love this restaurant, it has such quality local grown food, and Rhett, the owner himself explained every dish to us. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 21, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. I brought friends tonight who had not yet experienced the restaurant before and they all loved it.
From our charming and knowledgeable waiter to the amazing food, this restaurant is one you don't want to miss.
The garlic and rosemary pork rinds call your name with a snap, crackle and pop. They are SO good, you will not stop talking about them. Make sure you share because the bowl is huge!!
This is our FAVORITE spot when we are in town... Can't wait for our next visit!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 16, 2016

Went there for lunch with my wife amd 10 month old. We were greeted by Rhett himself. Very cute place and food was great. Would definitely eat there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 29, 2015

Great food. Hiwever, hamburger buns were a little hard. Maybe they were toasted?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 27, 2015

The food was amazing! We noticed that a lot of the ingredients were locally grown and everything tasted so fresh! Our waitress was eager to help us find the perfect dish for each of us and was very informative. We will definitely be going back! Delectable food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 6, 2015

We LOVE Rhett's and are always amazed at the menu selection and preparation. Service and attention to detail are top notch. Chef/owner often greets customers and makes guests feel very welcome.
Although I always try to order something new each time, I always have to start with the garlic and rosemary pork rinds! Pure heaven!!
This is a MUST stop whenever we are in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2015

Sat outside and enjoyed our dinner. Our waitress was super friendly and made our last minute relaxing evening just perfect. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2015

Rhett never disappoints. Fine service. Great ambience. And the meal is consistently excellent. Lunch and dinner. Really enjoy the outside dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 13, 2015

We were greeted by a friendly staff person, we were seated promptly at our reservation time. The waitress was knowledgeable about the items on the menu & cheerfully answered our questions. The food was very delicious and the fruit that was a side, was fresh and quite delicious as well. I will go to Rhett's again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2015

Notable chef prepares fresh ingredients for a special night out

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 22, 2015

Birthday lunch for our 86 years young Mother was a success. Unfortunately it was too hot for her to eat by the fountain outside.
The pulled pork sandwich, fried green tomato sandwich, gouda mac and cheese, and the sweet potato fries were all hits!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.