Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.88mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.31mi
  4. Distance: 1.73mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Chef Warren'sChef Warren's
(431)
$$$$
Fusion / Eclectic | Southern Pines / Pinehurst, Pinehurst
Booked 9 times today
Ashten'sAshten's
(591)
$$$$
Global, International | Southern Pines / Pinehurst, Pinehurst
Booked 2 times today
Southern Prime SteakhouseSouthern Prime Steakhouse
(733)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Southern Pines / Pinehurst, Pinehurst
Booked 6 times today
Heartwood at LongleafHeartwood at Longleaf
(8)
$$$$
American | Southern Pines / Pinehurst, Pinehurst
Elliott's on LindenElliott's on Linden
(665)
$$$$
American | Southern Pines / Pinehurst, Pinehurst
Booked 6 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.88mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.31mi
  4. Distance: 1.73mi

About Permanently Closed - Rhett's Restaurant

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Rhett's Restaurant, Catering, and Personal Chef - Specializing in Southern Gourmet Cuisine. We offer an indoor bar area, dining room and outside courtyard. Please specify where you would like to sit.

132 W Pennsylvania Ave
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Vegetarian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday/Tuesday 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.; Wednesday thru Saturday 11:00 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.

Cross Street:
Between Broad and Bennett

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 695-3663

Website:
http://www.rhettsinc.com/

Entertainment:
Courtyard music on Friday and Saturday night, weather permitting.

Parking Details:
Downtown area, parking is on street.

Executive Chef:
Rhett Morris

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rhett's Restaurant - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on all time ratingsThis restaurant has not received enough recent ratings to display a current ratings snapshot
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (250)
Fit for Foodies (232)
Great for Outdoor Dining (173)
See All
Special Occasion (141)
Romantic (111)
Great for Lunch (104)
Good for Groups (88)
Notable Wine List (52)
Great for Brunch (26)
Hot Spot (21)
Kid-friendly (18)
Scenic View (17)
Good for a Date (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Authentic (5)
Casual (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great Beer (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vegan (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort by
S
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Lunch after golf

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had to move from our first seated table because the table wobbled. The waitress got my husband's order wrong. He ordered a bowl of soup and got a cup. The waitress also undercharged us, but overcharged the couple we were with.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Stopped in as it was available for lunch on OpenTable. What a great find! Service was great and the southern food was fabulous. Will be going back to enjoy the "feel of home!"

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed Rhett's and the friendly waiter who recommended specialty options. I tried the divine Red Pepper soup and the full size summer salad topped with a Vidalia Onion dressing that included greens and veggies from local gardeners. I appreciate that the vinaigrette came on the side so I could add as little or as much as I wanted. I could've done without the tortilla crisp that was served on the side of the soup as well as the salad. There's a lovely Broad Street Bakery & Cafe nearby that has freshly baked breads that would've complemented the dishes better. My partner who eats organic foods remarked about the noise level from some children at another table, but I never noticed them. He opted to eat an ample burger with fries and a side salad that looked as fresh as it tasted. Will definitely go back to Rhett's in the future.

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Organic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Terrific location for a special occasion or just a great meal. The food selections are good and lots of local sourcing. Great service.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food and ambiance was incredible and the chef came around each table several times. It was just perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Everyone at the table had a great meal. The food was delicious and it was a nice quiet evening.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 12, 2017

My aunt, uncle, and cousin were in Cary for a graduation. They drove down, and my parents drove up from Columbia for lunch. Rhett graciously met us at the door and handed us off to Sofia who took good care of us. Everyone was incredibly patient with the walker, cane, celiacs, vegetarians, hearing loss, and dementia our party brought to the table, and the food was superb. We had a room to ourselves which helped those with hearing issues. Just a great place with excellent people. Thank you all!

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Really surprising gem tucked off Pennsylvania !!! Food was delish and oh so southern. Staff was friendly and helpful!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Locally sourced great food. Fantastic service and original creations in a quaint courtyard setting. Even got to meet Rhett!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had high hopes for this restaurant. The restaurant seating was outside and the day couldn't have been more perfect. That said, the restaurant wasn't that busy as it was a holiday and everything was by reservation only. The service was extremely slow. Extended periods between courses. The whole experience took 2 hours for a set menu. We also brought our son to brunch and he's not quite 3. It was hard for us to sit there that long let alone expect a toddler to. Food was mediocre. Overall poor experience. The best part about the meal (except for finally getting the check) was the acoustic guitar player. He was great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

They were out of a lot on the menu and we got there pretty early for dinner. Food was good but not amazing. Would have tried dessert but they were out of what both of us wanted. Prices are extremely reasonable and portion size was fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Absolutely superb in every respect. Rhett is a fantastic host, and a fantastic chef. Servers were attentive; food was fresh, creative, and well prepared.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vegan, Good for a Date, Healthy, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great Southern charm. We dined outdoors on a beautiful evening. Chicken & waffles were good, pork sandwich was perhaps a little too smoky but good, loved the mac & cheese (who doesn't?). Great meal in a fun atmosphere.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I went to Rhett's on a Friday night with a couple of friends. The ambiance was very nice. We ate outdoors and enjoyed the sunset and quaint surroundings. The menu was varied with interesting offerings. And you could order 1/2 portions at reduced rates which I really appreciated. The food was thoughtfully prepared and presented, however, it was a bit bland for my taste. I got the shrimp & grits. My friends got the fish and felt the same about their meals. I wish I'd brought some seasoning with me. But I'll definitely go back to try some other options before bailing on this place because it's a charming environment in an ideal location. And the people were very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This really is the best restaurant in the area. Rhett uses local ingredients. He has the best of "southern" options on the menu. The new menu has most options in large or small plates. Save room for the banana pudding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Two of us had the trout and it was perfection. The food was delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Rhett's offers a new twist on some old Southern favorites. The food is good and the prices are reasonable. Nothing particularly extraordinary- just good food at a good price. Indoor dining has little to offer in the way of ambience which is why I scored ambience low; however, the outside dining courtyard is very lively. Save this place for when the weather calls for dining outside.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for New Year's Eve dinner - prix fixe menu with multiple choices for first, second, main, and dessert. EVERYTHING was thoughtfully prepared, flavorful, beautifully presented, and absolutely delicious. Because everything was chosen in advance and choices emailed in, the meal moved in a little faster than I would typically want for a multi course experience. But nothing arrived before we finished the prior course, and at no time did they seem to be pushing us; just all the servers moved about quickly and courses followed closely one upon the other.

Still, I'll take that over long waits, messed up orders, running out of key dishes, and all the other snafus we've experienced over the years at a variety of restaurants in a plethora of states.

Thanks, Rhett, for a memorable meal and a great start to 2017!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Perfectly prepared food and full of flavor, atmosphere is wonderful and allows for good conversation. Top notch service with table visits by the chef (Rhett). Dining can be casual or more formal if you like, definitely a place for people who appreciate well prepared and presented cuisine. We will return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Off Night for patronage, could have been too soon after Christmas. Great food, excellent chef.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 28, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants near Southern Pines.....we've never been let down. Fantastic, creative, locally sourced food with incredible flavor and a kind, courteous staff to go with it. Win!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our server was great, she was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. The atmosphere was awkward with an outside door coming into the dining area we were seated in and diners coming in thinking it was the front door. I would have enjoyed my meal more if the pork wasn't so dry and the Brussel sprouts to tough. This was my second visit and although I would try again, I would definitely warn friends not to set their expectations too high.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Have been to Rhett's several times when visiting my daughter who lives in the area. They have southern based dishes that are tasty and nicely prepared. Corn bread fried oysters and fried green tomatoes for appetizers, pecan fried trout and shrimp and grits for entrees are our favorites. Good, friendly service.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We were visiting Souther Pines for a few days and had a fabulous dinner when we were in town. My husband and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary. Our waiter Sam was AWESOME!!!
so friendly and personable. The food was outstanding HIGHLY recommended you try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was good but the service was bumbling and slow.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I went on to open table to make a reservation they were very accommodating when I had to change the appointment. When we arrived they set us at the bar the restaurant was in the back with limited amount of tables approximately 10 total and you had to make very early reservations to sit in the back. Had we known we would have called and suggested to have our reservation for the back area. Open table is not the best way of making reservations it would be better to call.

The food was really good the staff was extremely helpful the service was excellent the ambience was not what we had expected. While sitting at the bar area when the door opened, the cold air would come in so it was really cold sitting in that area.

My suggestion would be to call while making a reservation and let them know you want to sit in the back area versus sitting in the bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Rhett continues to impress with local ingredients fused into creative specials in a friendly atmosphere. And I don't think anyone expected the Key Lime pie to be that good.

Tags: Organic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The fried green tomatoes were amazing! The goat cheese on my spinach strawberry salad was the best I've ever tasted, so creamy and Rhett said it's made locally. Dessert was delicious, macaroni again the best I've had. We were a party of 5 and everyone loved their meal. It's nice that Rhett walks around chatting with the guests. Sitting outside was the perfect atmosphere. This is our third time eating at Rhett's and have loved everything. I highly recommend this quaint restaurant.

Tags: Healthy, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fantastic meal. The Lobster Bisque was outstanding, the Lamb Chop appetizer was very good, but the MVP was the best Shrimp & Grits I've ever had. Put that all together in an outside seating with great live music and this meal was the best I've had in the Pinehurst/Southern Pines area. We will absolutely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very nice! Enjoy outdoor dining with live music, or more quiet and intimate indoor dining. Food was amazing!! Upscale casual.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I enjoyed every morsel of my meal. I had trout, green beans and mac and cheese. Service is outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Everything was great. We especially liked the way the owner engages with his guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Very accommodating chef. Good selection of vegetarian and gluten free dishes. Very good service. Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a fabulous dinner at Rhetts and will be back soon! Service was great, menus (there are many) are interesting and seasonal, outside dining was fun with live music, and the food was superb. I had shrimp and grits, my husband had steak, and we each had fabulous salads, good wine, and fresh homemade cookies for dessert. We met and chatted with Rhett, a personable and talented chef, who runs the restaurant and also does catering. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2016

5 of us came down from Fort Bragg for a birthday lunch and we loved Rhetts! The birthday girl said she had the best shrimp and grits ever! Thanks for helping us make her smile!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 2, 2016

We had great service, and the chef checked on us several times throughout our meal. All staff members were super friendly and the food was absolutely delicious. We chose to eat outside by the water fountain but the fans kept us cool, even though it is June in North Carolina!!! We recommend the house made cake- different flavor everyday but we've never been disappointed!! My favorite is their strawberry cake with basil-lemon icing. YUM!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 27, 2016

After a few disappointing meals at places that were recommended, we just happened to pick this one by chance. What a pleasant surprise when we were served the best meal we had the entire trip! This is a must do if you are in the Pinehurst area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic food and a pleasant atmosphere. My wife and I loved eating outside as the sun set.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a great time at Rhett's. They seemed to be having a staffing issue so service was a bit slow but they were utilizing everybody to try to keep the customers happy. We really didn't mind the slow service as we were outside and enjoying the great weather and ambiance ! Looking forward to going there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.