About Rhett's Restaurant

132 W Pennsylvania Ave
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Rhett's Restaurant, Catering, and Personal Chef - Specializing in Southern Gourmet Cuisine. We offer an indoor bar area, dining room and outside courtyard. Please specify where you would like to sit.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Vegetarian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm. We offer a limited courtyard menu and happy hour drink specials from 2:30 to 4:30 daily. Regular lunch and dinner menu, dinner "Just a Taste" small plate menu.

Cross Street:
Between Broad and Bennett

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 695-3663

Website:
http://www.rhettsinc.com/

Entertainment:
Courtyard music on Friday and Saturday night, weather permitting.

Parking Details:
Downtown area, parking is on street.

Executive Chef:
Rhett Morris

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rhett's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Pinehurst
Most Booked
Pinehurst
Best Restaurants in Southern Pines / Pinehurst ›

neighborhood gem (11)
great for outdoor dining (10)
fit for foodies (9)
See All
romantic (5)
special occasion (5)
great for lunch (5)
good for groups (2)
great for brunch (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4

Very accommodating chef. Good selection ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Very accommodating chef. Good selection of vegetarian and gluten free dishes. Very good service. Great food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh, delicious, fun

Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a fabulous dinner at Rhetts and will be back soon! Service was great, menus (there are many) are interesting and seasonal, outside dining was fun with live music, and the food was superb. I had shrimp and grits, my husband had steak, and we each had fabulous salads, good wine, and fresh homemade cookies for dessert. We met and chatted with Rhett, a personable and talented chef, who runs the restaurant and also does catering. Highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday lunch

Dined on June 3, 2016

5 of us came down from Fort Bragg for a birthday lunch and we loved Rhetts! The birthday girl said she had the best shrimp and grits ever! Thanks for helping us make her smile!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service, unbelievable local food!

Dined on June 2, 2016

We had great service, and the chef checked on us several times throughout our meal. All staff members were super friendly and the food was absolutely delicious. We chose to eat outside by the water fountain but the fans kept us cool, even though it is June in North Carolina!!! We recommend the house made cake- different flavor everyday but we've never been disappointed!! My favorite is their strawberry cake with basil-lemon icing. YUM!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Do Not Miss This One!

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

After a few disappointing meals at places that were recommended, we just happened to pick this one by chance. What a pleasant surprise when we were served the best meal we had the entire trip! This is a must do if you are in the Pinehurst area!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and a pleasant atmosphere ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic food and a pleasant atmosphere. My wife and I loved eating outside as the sun set.

food5
ambience5
service3

We had a great time at Rhett's. They see ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a great time at Rhett's. They seemed to be having a staffing issue so service was a bit slow but they were utilizing everybody to try to keep the customers happy. We really didn't mind the slow service as we were outside and enjoying the great weather and ambiance ! Looking forward to going there again!

food2
ambience2
service1

3 ring circus run by high schoolers. Dr ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

3 ring circus run by high schoolers. Dreadful.

food4
ambience5
service1

Fried green tomatoes and pork dish were ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Fried green tomatoes and pork dish were outstanding. The pea salad served with the mahi mahi was bland though the mahi itself was delicious. Restaurant is very cute and outside seating was perfect. They had live music that was just right, just loud enough so conversation was still possible.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great Find

Dined on April 22, 2016

My fiance and I were looking for somewhere to meet with our minister to discuss our upcoming wedding. This place was something we stumbled upon as neither us or the minister are from this area. We got there for an early meal (5 PM) and we were promptly seated. The restaurant is in a unique location within Southern Pines, and it made for a unique venue for the meal and meeting. The food was very well prepared, and the menu consisted of great locally connected food items. Our waitress was new, and it showed, but it did not take away from the evening. Food was fairly priced for what we got and the presentation. Overall we enjoyed it, and would come back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food & wonderful family night out

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Great food & wonderful family night out

food5
ambience5
service5

You can not beat Rhett's roasted red pep ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

You can not beat Rhett's roasted red pepper soup and rosemary pork rinds. Always very impressed with the food and our dining experience. This is always our favorite spot when we are in town!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine Dinner was Amazing!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a fabulous time at Rhett's wine dinner. The wine was fantastic, the food was savory and cooked to perfection, and the atmosphere was very romantic for Valentine's day. They had a rose at every table, and our names on the menu which was so sweet. The ribs were incredible, I am so glad I got those, and the cheese plate was our favorite! We love this restaurant, it has such quality local grown food, and Rhett, the owner himself explained every dish to us. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant never disappoints. I bro ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. I brought friends tonight who had not yet experienced the restaurant before and they all loved it. From our charming and knowledgeable waiter to the amazing food, this restaurant is one you don't want to miss. The garlic and rosemary pork rinds call your name with a snap, crackle and pop. They are SO good, you will not stop talking about them. Make sure you share because the bowl is huge!! This is our FAVORITE spot when we are in town... Can't wait for our next visit!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great little place

Dined on January 16, 2016

Went there for lunch with my wife amd 10 month old. We were greeted by Rhett himself. Very cute place and food was great. Would definitely eat there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food. Hiwever, hamburger buns were ...

Dined on December 29, 2015

Great food. Hiwever, hamburger buns were a little hard. Maybe they were toasted?

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Glad we tried this place!

Dined on December 27, 2015

The food was amazing! We noticed that a lot of the ingredients were locally grown and everything tasted so fresh! Our waitress was eager to help us find the perfect dish for each of us and was very informative. We will definitely be going back! Delectable food!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We LOVE Rhett's and are always amazed at ...

Dined on November 6, 2015

We LOVE Rhett's and are always amazed at the menu selection and preparation. Service and attention to detail are top notch. Chef/owner often greets customers and makes guests feel very welcome. Although I always try to order something new each time, I always have to start with the garlic and rosemary pork rinds! Pure heaven!! This is a MUST stop whenever we are in town

food4
ambience4
service5

Sat outside and enjoyed our dinner. Our ...

Dined on November 5, 2015

Sat outside and enjoyed our dinner. Our waitress was super friendly and made our last minute relaxing evening just perfect. Thank you.

food5
ambience5
service5

SUPER!!

Dined on October 30, 2015

Rhett never disappoints. Fine service. Great ambience. And the meal is consistently excellent. Lunch and dinner. Really enjoy the outside dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

We were greeted by a friendly staff pers ...

Dined on August 13, 2015

We were greeted by a friendly staff person, we were seated promptly at our reservation time. The waitress was knowledgeable about the items on the menu & cheerfully answered our questions. The food was very delicious and the fruit that was a side, was fresh and quite delicious as well. I will go to Rhett's again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorites

Dined on July 3, 2015

Notable chef prepares fresh ingredients for a special night out

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

Excellent lunch

Dined on June 22, 2015

Birthday lunch for our 86 years young Mother was a success. Unfortunately it was too hot for her to eat by the fountain outside. The pulled pork sandwich, fried green tomato sandwich, gouda mac and cheese, and the sweet potato fries were all hits!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

A lovely evening

Dined on June 6, 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed our meal this past Saturday evening. The server was also excellent! We appreciated Rhett coming to our table to see how everything was! We will definitely be back! The music of Tom Bernett added to our lovely evening out

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Better than we had heard...(We heard it was great)

Dined on May 15, 2015

12 on a 10-scale. Food, decent wine list and well priced. Awesome venue and service. Rhett was right there among his team and that left us with a great impression. Will go back again and again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great experience

Dined on May 7, 2015

Nice casual courtyard dinning, excellent food dishes, polite and helpful services. Would highly recommend this to anyone.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5

Outside dining a plus!!

Dined on April 17, 2015

All seven of us appreciated the use of pictures via a handheld tablet. Unique and great to see exactly what we ordered. One of the favorites at our table was the lobster bisque. So flavorful. All of our dishes were a little on the cool side and some felt they lacked some spice. I had the delicious soft shelled crab appetizer. It was a little on the cool side. A perfect portion after gathering for drinks before dinner at a friend's home. The setting was delightful. Loved the music played by Tom. Made us all want to dance. Question is could you handle 14 at one time? Our group meets on each Friday evening and it is hard to find a restaurant that can handle that many at once. We are tired of the chains and was wonderful to dine at a locally owned established. All in all we will be back to try some more of Rhett's dishes.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

50

Dined on April 15, 2015

01010101010101010101010101010101010101010101010102lunch

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal, as always. Great live music ...

Dined on April 11, 2015

Great meal, as always. Great live music on outdoor patio. Very dog friendly!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Friday night dinner

Dined on March 20, 2015

Delicious food, with some healthy choices. Pleasant, efficient staff. I've been to Rhett's several times and always had a great experience. Looking forward to the next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Rhetts, always a pleasant dining experience.

Dined on March 13, 2015

Rhetts has an interesting, diverse menu comprised of a few carefully selected appetizers, soups, salads, entrees. -- which is refreshing. The specials, also carefully selected, are presented by wait staff from an ipad, allowing guests to see the items -- a nice touch. Courses arrived artfully arranged on each plate. The entrees were tasty, the house salads, all with homemade dressings, were particularly good. Serving size is just right.

food5
ambience5
service5

This place was amazing! Rhett himself ca ...

Dined on March 1, 2015

This place was amazing! Rhett himself came out to make sure everything was prepared perfectly! Craft beers from all over North Carolina, and excellent bourbon list. The menu is small but well diverse and of the highest quality! You must make this a date night place with that special someone! Prices were fair and will definitely visit again! Can't wait for the warmer weather so I can take advantage of the courtyard seating. Wine tastings are every Thursday starting in April! I would go back tomorrow but they are closed on Sundays, lol.

food3
ambience3
service4

Nice restaurant and the food was reasona ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2015

Nice restaurant and the food was reasonably good but not sophisticated enough for a foodie.

food5
ambience5
service5

Rhetts was Fantastic!!

Dined on February 15, 2015

It is hard to phrase in few words the delight I found dining at Rhett's. I took my wife there for Valentine Day. I found as we approached the entrance of Rhett's an inviting atmosphere. The wine dinner was a five course meal with different wines for each entree. We had our reservation at 7:00 p.m. I found when we were seated at a romantic table with a rose left at the table for my wife, nice touch Rhett! made points with my wife! Rhett came personally out during each course of the meal and explain his process with what he prepared from his all local farm to table selection. All of the wines selected complimented each course to a tee! What a delight in finding Rhett's, I would recommend this as the the top place to go when in Southern Pines NC.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

First visit to Rhett's

Dined on January 24, 2015

I recently moved to Pinehurst from New England. Saturday evening was my first visit to Rhett's . I had a friend visiting from New Hampshire as my guest. We decided to try small plates and to order " local flavor". Our meal was outstanding and the wait staff attentive. You know a meal is delightful when you are still discussing it the next day! I look forward to dining at Rhett's when the patio is open and will most certainly share my experience with others. As a "newcomer" it is great to find a great local restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience at Rhett's...a real treat!

Dined on January 1, 2015

We enjoyed New Years Eve at Rhett's and we were happy with our decision! Having been there a couple of times over the years we knew we would be treated well and experience some great food! Highly recommend a visit to Rhett's whenever your travels bring you to the Pinehurst/Southern Pines area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Impressive

Dined on October 17, 2014

Great food and service at reasonable prices and the chef comes out to get your thoughts on both.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

Yum

vip
Dined on October 13, 2014

Good food, great service, all around a nice lunchtime experience

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find

Dined on October 10, 2014

Really enjoyed a night out at this great place! Awesome atmosphere, service, food and fun!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3

First Time Rhett's

Dined on September 19, 2014

First I have to say, the ambiance at Rhett's was wonderful. We had a nice spot outside in the courtyard area and there was a guitarist playing quietly throughout the evening. I couldn't have asked for better ambiance. The food wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. I think part of the issue was that the food was warm at best and quickly cooled since it did not come out hot. We had the vegetarian lasagna and the chicken cordon bleu. Both of which were ok, but not quite what I had expected. I will say the ingredients seemed very fresh, it just seemed to lack a little something. I would certainly go back and give it another shot. As mentioned, the ambiance (and my company) made up for any other shortcomings. :)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.