About Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine

28 Hendersonville Road
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Rezaz Restaurant and Wine Bar located in a historic turn of the century building where modern minimalist decor meets simple casual eloquence. The sophisticated menu emphasizes the fresh eclectic and traditional flavors of all Mediterranean countries. Chef Reza's eastern Mediterranean background and his travels within this region enables him to showcase the wealth of flavors by using spices, herbs and freshest seasonal local ingredients in all his menu offerings. Located in the heart of Biltmore Village, this warm and sleek establishment has mastered the rhythm of great food, superior wines, and excellent friendly service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Spanish

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday : 5:30pm to close, Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm to close

Deli: Monday-Saturday, 10:00am-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Lodge Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 277-1510

Website:
http://www.rezaz.com/

Catering:
An eclectic Mediterranean offering, using freshest local and regional ingredients with new Mediterranean cooking methods.

Parking Details:
Our small private lot fills quickly, but there is plenty of free, safe street parking available in Biltmore Village

Executive Chef:
Reza Setayesh

Private Party Facilities:
The Benedetto room, a private dinning option to accommodate up to 26 guests. The Benedetto room is a perfect place to celebrate the special occasion or a business function.

Private Party Contact:
Tucker McElroy: 8282771510x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Paella
Mezze w. Baba Ghanoush, Potato Haro (Spicy Potato), Fatayer Spinach, Fatoush Salad, Hummus, Falafel and more, served w. pickles olives, tahina sauce & Lebanese bread
Rezaz Mezez
Duck Confit With Spinach, Potato Latke, Apple And A Cranberry Gastrique
Seared Scallops With English Pea Risotto
Spiced Pear Cake
Rezaz Bomb
Brussels Sprouts Side
Shrimp & Calamari
Table Bread And Oil
Roasted Beets And Goat Cheese
The Green Fettush
2012 Malbec Reserve
Grilled Ny Strip
Veal Short Ribs
Grilled Caesar Salad
Banana Blueberry Roulade
Filet Mignon Kabob, Fried Okra
Chocolate Truffles
Filet Mignon
Carolina Mahi
Crusted Scallops
Pomme Frites With Truffle Oil
Filet Mignon Enchalatas
Hot Smoked Duck Served With Gnochhi, Duck Confit, Kale & Leeks, And Raspberry Vincotto
Braised Lamb Shank W/ Cabernet Sauce & Spinach Mashed Potatoes
Duck

Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

fit for foodies (123)
special occasion (93)
neighborhood gem (67)
See All
great for lunch (49)
romantic (45)
good for groups (35)
notable wine list (35)
hot spot (17)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service2

We made a 9:00pm reservation on a Saturd ...

Dined 5 days ago

We made a 9:00pm reservation on a Saturday night, and were seated at that time. The waiter informed us when he took our drink order that we should order quickly because the kitchen was closing. The food came quickly, and he dropped off our check at 9:25 while we were still eating. I checked their web-site, and it says they close at 11:30pm.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Rezaz is one of my favorite restaurants ...

Dined 5 days ago

Rezaz is one of my favorite restaurants in Asheville. I like it for lunch and for a special occasion dinner. The service is always great and the room is beautiful. Wonderful food selection (always a fish special which I enjoy) and the wine is terrific. My sister was visiting and it was her birthday. I took her to Rezaz and we loved our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Good, unique food. Very knowledgeable w ...

Dined 5 days ago

Good, unique food. Very knowledgeable waitstaff. Scrumptious drinks and desserts.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was excellent and the waiters w ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent and the waiters were attentive. We celebrated a birthday and they placed a candle on the desert to make it special. Look forward to going back again.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

One of our favorites in Ashville. It is ...

Dined 6 days ago

One of our favorites in Ashville. It is across from the Biltmore Estate and in the heart of Biltmore Village. Food is always excellent. Parking is convenient, which can be an issue in the Village.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Killer food prep and presentation. Great ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Killer food prep and presentation. Great service at the table. Fun. We will go back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant offers a nice atmosphere ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

The restaurant offers a nice atmosphere in a great location (in Biltmore Village). The beef brisket was a delicious and sizable entree. We also enjoyed the kebab entree served with rice and roasted tomato along with a side of sauteed greens. The menu offered a wonderful selection of Mediterranean dishes and a nice range of prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and food! Very accommo ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Wonderful service and food! Very accommodating for the vegan in the group--will most definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants in Ashevi ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Asheville. I've participated in many group lunches here as well as business dinners. We celebrated Fathers Day with dad and our two grown sons on this latest visit. A great meal and service. Wish there had been a chicken dish on the menu - one of our sons cannot eat beef and is not a seafood fan.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite restaurant in Asheville. We ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Asheville. We take our friends here, we go for special occasions to celebrate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Top Flight Dining Experience. We had h ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

A Top Flight Dining Experience. We had heard from friends about Rezaz, with both the previous and the new (nice transition) owners, but did not get around to going there until recently. The place looks nondescript from the outside, but the inside is open, airy, vibrant. The staff is well trained, motivated, and friendly - we were thanked no less than 4 times on our way out. The menu is unique, but also has some old standbys, all executed exceptionally well. Top ratings go to the watermelon and Harissa salad an the paella. Very solid wine list. Overall, great experience, fine value.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our meal--delicious fo ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal--delicious food and a very pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding. Our server, C ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was outstanding. Our server, Chloe, was friendly and service was excellent! Great place for an excellent dinner in a nice environment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Disappointed...the food and service at R ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Disappointed...the food and service at Rezaz have gone downhill. We go to Rezaz whenever we visit Asheville, usually once or twice a year, and have always loved it. But this time the service was borderline rude - our waiter slammed dishes and wine glasses onto the table and was very abrupt with us. And the food simply wasn't as good - tasty, but not outstanding as it has been in past visits. We had the Rezaz Mezza platter, a Moroccan salad, lamb shanks, and creme brulee. The lamb shanks were the most disappointing - not nearly as tender and flavorful as they should have been. The dessert was probably the best. Not sure we will return...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a Wonderful find for us. Rezaz ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

This was a Wonderful find for us. Rezaz was fabulous. We had the best waiter ever. They were so attentive and friendly. Food was outstanding. If you ever in Asheville, go to Rezaz for lunch or dinner. The desserts are over the top!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was good but not amazing. Other re ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Food was good but not amazing. Other restaurants at a similar price point that I would return to before this one.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating an out of town guest ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We were celebrating an out of town guests birthday and had a wonderful time at Rezaz. The food was outstanding, the service was terrific and the ambience was casual yet upscale. I am not a huge Mediterranean food connoisseur but I am now. The food was creative and the flavor was off the charts. This is my new favorite place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our dinner was outstanding. The service ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Our dinner was outstanding. The service was spot on and the SC snapper special they had that night was terrific. A bit pricey for going there often, but I sure would like to.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent. Lentil soup was amazing. Ma ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent. Lentil soup was amazing. Main course was cooked well and very flavorful.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have not managed to dine at Rezaz, ho ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We have not managed to dine at Rezaz, however, since it was sold by its original Chef de Cuisine and owner a couple years ago. The return visit for our 50th anniversary was, to say the least, a disappointment. The ambiance is still elegant and seemed somewhat quieter than we recalled. The service, Frank this time, was proper and had the edge that Rezaz servers normally exhibit, not a bad thing. Starting with the Fried Manchego and Crispy Calamari, all seemed right. The Manchego was had a lovely crispiness and an excellent jam accompaniment. The Calamari was nicely presented, but a bit more greens and a bit fewer calamari than might have been expected. The occasional shrimp was a nice touch. We accepted the offered bread “basket” which is no longer the wire basket of old but a plate with small pieces of nice ciabatta or foccacia. (This is the second commentary on a nice restaurant in which I feel compelled to comment on the bread. Has flour become so expensive that even nice restaurants have to skimp on the bread???) My wife's choice, the local trout, nicely pan-seared but overloaded with the accompanying garnishments, was, in her opinion, very good but not up to the standards of the old Rezaz. My Tajine of Cornish Game Hen and Rabbit was close to a disaster. The couscous was cold and barely flavored. The rabbit leg was well done and moist, the rack was drier than the Sahara. Also, for the Cornish Hen, the leg was well done and moist, the breast was better than the rabbit but still on the dry and stringy side. On the positive side, the roasted root vegetables were properly hot and nicely seasoned. Incidentally, the tajine vessel itself was cold. It is hard to make such negative comments about Rezaz. Perhaps it was just an off night, but it was a Saturday and one would have expected the A team to be in the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Noise level very high. Food good. Wait s ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Noise level very high. Food good. Wait staff always seemed to be running right past our table. They should expand beer selection beyond IPAs and pale ales.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Eats!

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Another great meal at Rezaz! Kale salad, octopus, grouper special, mussels and clam special, veal sweet bread special! In our party of six, every one was pleased save one and let's just say, this particular person is a bit hard to please! Rezaz is consistently good and we will definitely dine there again soon! Specials are indeed, special, but the regular menu excels too!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Asheville gem

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

A wonderful atmosphere along with a lovely dinner. We all had one salad or another . The grilled romaine was my fav. Cheese ravioli ( not the Italian kind) was delicious. We shared the best chocolate dessert anywhere. The service was perfect . This restaurant is a perfect combination of all good things rolled into a bag beautiful bag of goodies

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Average

Dined on June 3, 2016

It is a beautiful restaurant but the food was just okay or fine. I am a huge fan of mediteranean food but they missed the mark for me. The traditional dips were disappointing and the entrees were fine, nothing to feel compelled to tell a friend about. It was not bad but not delicious. The welcoming host was a fine initial representation for the restaurant and did a good job. Our server was not sterling and this type of job is probably not his calling. Next time I crave BabaGanoush or Hummus it won't be here. The deli side of the restaurant looked more promising. The new girl running this side was outstanding in customer service and impelled us to try the coconut lemon curd cake which was very good!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the same great food

Dined on June 3, 2016

I hadn't been back to Rezaz since the chef bought the restaurant from the original owner, and I was happy to discover that the food is as delicious and well presented as ever. The atmosphere is also very special, and the service is very attentive without being pushy. I'm so glad I live nearby, but it's worth a drive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Knowledgable and helpful

Dined on May 29, 2016

The server and chef were very helpful in accommodating my need for a meal without dairy, gluten, and soy. The resulting meal was delicious, as was the one for my companion, who had no dietary restrictions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, as always

Dined on May 29, 2016

Rezaz never disappoints. The food is always tasty and memorable. The fried calamari appetizer was amazing, and our main courses were first rate. Service was attentive and helpful. One of our favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food in town!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Best food in town!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pistachio Soup? OH My!!!

Dined on May 28, 2016

For our women's evening out we could not have chosen a better place, finer food or another server better than Frank. Fresh snapper, perfect scallops, and again - FANTASTIC Pistachio Bisque - y'all should go and enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful meal with great service.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Wonderful meal with great service.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Appetizers will knock your sox off! Ent ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Appetizers will knock your sox off! Entrees were heavy with too much oil and balsamic....should be simpler too. My pasta obviously had been taken from the cooler (or freezer) and was not cooked through......al dente on steroids!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We fell upon this restaurant while we we ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We fell upon this restaurant while we were in the area. The food and wine ended up being terrific! The service was on point as well. I would go back!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Don't judge the restaurant by it's forge ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Don't judge the restaurant by it's forgettable street view. Very contemporary and warm inside. Fabulous food and friendly staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3

In general, Their new menu is too "busy" ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

In general, Their new menu is too "busy". Each entree is smothered in extraneous vegetables and pasta or rice. However the octopus appetizer was supreme. Pls bring back the focused delicious entrees of the past. This evening's offerings were more like a casserole 😢

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

From beginning to end, this was a specia ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

From beginning to end, this was a special evening. We were celebrating my birthday, the waitress knew it, and no one sang to me (absolutely how I wanted it!!!). From the wine list to the appetizers to the main entre to the deserts, this meal and memory will be with us forever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second visit. There will certainly be mo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Second visit. There will certainly be more! My wife and I enjoy the Biltmore Village area and Rezaz is a wonderful restaurant for an evening out down there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday celebration

Dined on May 10, 2016

A bit pricey for our usual dining out budget but worth it for a special occasion. Our server was excellent as was the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delightful neighborhood restaurant with ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Delightful neighborhood restaurant with tasty, interesting menu. Menu was varied and well thought out.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

A Meal to Remember

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We came for Mother's Day upon the recommendation of my sister. She said it was her favorite restaurant in Asheville. After dining there I would have to agree. The meal was beyond outstanding. My only regret was that I could not eat everything. Our server was Bruce and the service was excellent. He really knew the menu and his suggestions were on point. But the food was superb. First came the bread basket with some bread and scones which were wonderful. Everything is baked on site. We had the octopus appetizer and it was the best octopus we have ever eaten. The hummus appetizer was also excellent. There were 3 different dips served with pita. I cannot remember the name but the red pepper dip was wonderful. I was actually full at that point. My husband ordered the brisket entree which he enjoyed very much. The meat was tender. I ordered a kale salad which I highly recommend. I ate it for lunch the next day. Because we had to save room for dessert. Desserts are awesome and quite large. We were eating those the next day as well. Next time I am in Asheville, I will definitely go back there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved it

Dined on May 8, 2016

We loved this place and will be back. While, I wouldn't call this place kid-friendly (no kids menu), it wasn't UNfriendly and we found plenty of menu items that our daughter could eat. We had a nice time!

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.