About Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine

28 Hendersonville Road
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Rezaz Restaurant and Wine Bar located in a historic turn of the century building where modern minimalist decor meets simple casual eloquence. The sophisticated menu emphasizes the fresh eclectic and traditional flavors of all Mediterranean countries. Chef Reza's eastern Mediterranean background and his travels within this region enables him to showcase the wealth of flavors by using spices, herbs and freshest seasonal local ingredients in all his menu offerings. Located in the heart of Biltmore Village, this warm and sleek establishment has mastered the rhythm of great food, superior wines, and excellent friendly service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Spanish

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday : 5:30pm to close, Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm to close

Deli: Monday-Saturday, 10:00am-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Lodge Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 277-1510

Catering:
An eclectic Mediterranean offering, using freshest local and regional ingredients with new Mediterranean cooking methods.

Parking Details:
Our small private lot fills quickly, but there is plenty of free, safe street parking available in Biltmore Village

Executive Chef:
Reza Setayesh

Private Party Facilities:
The Benedetto room, a private dinning option to accommodate up to 26 guests. The Benedetto room is a perfect place to celebrate the special occasion or a business function.

Private Party Contact:
Tucker McElroy: (828) 277-1510

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Paella - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Mezze w. Baba Ghanoush, Potato Haro (Spicy Potato), Fatayer Spinach, Fatoush Salad, Hummus, Falafel and more, served w. pickles olives, tahina sauce & Lebanese bread - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Rezaz Mezez - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Duck Confit With Spinach, Potato Latke, Apple And A Cranberry Gastrique - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Seared Scallops With English Pea Risotto - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Brussels Sprouts Side - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Rezaz Bomb - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Spiced Pear Cake - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Shrimp & Calamari - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Roasted Beets And Goat Cheese - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Table Bread And Oil - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
2012 Malbec Reserve - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
The Green Fettush - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Grilled Ny Strip - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Veal Short Ribs - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Grilled Caesar Salad - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Banana Blueberry Roulade - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Filet Mignon Kabob, Fried Okra - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Chocolate Truffles - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Filet Mignon - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Pomme Frites With Truffle Oil - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Crusted Scallops  - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Carolina Mahi - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Filet Mignon Enchalatas - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Hot Smoked Duck Served With Gnochhi, Duck Confit, Kale & Leeks, And Raspberry Vincotto - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Duck - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC
Braised Lamb Shank W/ Cabernet Sauce & Spinach Mashed Potatoes - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine, Asheville, NC

Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Creative Cuisine (42)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Authentic (27)
Romantic (27)
Local Ingredients (21)
Modern Decor (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Healthy (18)
Fun (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Cozy (17)
Casual (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Tapas (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Business Meals (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Spicy (4)
People Watching (4)
Historic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1792 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Perfect small restaurant atmosphere, kno ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect small restaurant atmosphere, knowledgeable service and incredible food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress insisted on "coursing our meal" ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Waitress insisted on "coursing our meal". It failed . We waited almost an hour for our meal after ordering. The paella was poorly executed with tiny bay shrimp, punched scallops, and five little pieces of andouille sausage sliced thinner than my credit card. The dish was served on a frying pan and the five small mussels were dried out. My wife's marinated skirt steak was good. No harissa humus, the smoked eggplant humus was inedible loaded with liquid smoke. The red pepper humus was good. Upon leaving the hostess was engrossed with her cell phone, no thank you nor goodnight. And they never mentioned our anniversary which was included on our Zooey Table reservation. Save your time and money and go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Having eaten at Rezazs many times in the ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Having eaten at Rezazs many times in the last 10 years, I was extremely disappointed in the recent changes in the food quality and overall experience.

Not only was the lobster bisque Thin and salty it was made much worse by being remarkably fishy. The osso bucco while tender was virtually flavorless and the desserts were remarkably poorly executed.

Throw in a few glasses of marginal quality wine and a couple of hundred dollar meal became quite disappointing.

After speaking with one of the waiters it appears as if there is new ownership in place and somehow some bad decisions must of been made with food quality, staff, wine list, etc. I hope they find their way as this was once one of the best restaurants in Asheville .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Lovely dinner on New Years Eve with grea ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lovely dinner on New Years Eve with great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had dinner at Rezaz on New Year's Eve ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had dinner at Rezaz on New Year's Eve and loved it! The service was excellent, very professional and fun at the same time. The food was excellent. We had a wonderful time and highly recommend this restaurant. We will be back!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!! Will definitely go back!!

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food!! Will definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us were dining. Menus were pres ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Four of us were dining. Menus were presented as well as specials. Two of us wanted Lamb Chops and then waiter came back to tell us they were out of them. Probably need to make waiters more aware of what is available before they describe something that the kitchen knows is not available. Lamb shank as substitute was pretty good. Wine list is good and reasonably priced. Two others both got the fish special and they like it very much. The appetizer rezza mezza was very enjoyable and is enough for 4 so long as they bring you extra pita. Overall a very enjoyable dinner and one of the better restaurants in Asheville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second time there and it wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was our second time there and it was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our dinner at Rezaz! ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Rezaz! We love Mediterranean food, and Rezaz did not disappoint. We had the olive starter, lamb platter, and Green Fettoush salad. We also had the brussels which were some of the best I've ever had! SO good!!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family loved Rezaz. The food was fres ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My family loved Rezaz. The food was fresh and authentic and spiced well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rezaz is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Rezaz is one of our favorite restaurants. The food is excellent and well presented. The service Is also good. It is a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great authentic food at great prices! We ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great authentic food at great prices! Went for

Birthday lunch and would do so again.

Thanks for a tasty meal.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch experience! Server was wonde ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great lunch experience! Server was wonderful but was overworked. She had too many tables. Food and atmosphere was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

always a favorite. I never go there tha ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

always a favorite. I never go there that i don't order the calamari and shrimp appetizer. A little spicy, a little sweet, a little crunchy with the napa cabbage - just a great combo. All dishes are great, have never had a bad meal. I would say that the bone marrow needs a touch of seasoning and perhaps a slower roast to develop the flavors a bit more. Nonetheless, still always a great bet!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had not been to Rezaz's since the own ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had not been to Rezaz's since the owner sold it to his employees. We were very very happy that the quality and overall experience were just as amazing as when we had visited in the past.Our server (Jonathan K) was great, and very helpful. I had the sea scallops which were cooked to perfection, and my husband had lamb shank, which he devoured. Since it was my birthday, we each were served an amuse buche of a succulent shrimp on a horseradish based sauce...to die for! Then, afterwards, we each got a handmade truffle. A truly delightful Birthday celebration!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a last minute guest that the hostess ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Had a last minute guest that the hostess gladly accommodated. Andrea our server was outstanding and went out of her way to make my son's birthday special, attentive but didn't hover. Food and wine were all excellent. Among all the great restaurants in Asheville, Rezaz continues to excel, bringing a broad array of Mediterranean dishes that are both creative and cooked to perfection. The lamb shank was especially tasty.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Authentic, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious--As Always: Rezaz never, ever ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Delicious--As Always: Rezaz never, ever fails to please. Consistently excellent food. and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Rezazz is consistently one of the best r ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Rezazz is consistently one of the best restaurants in asheville. Our friend had the mussels which were excellent. I had the brisket which was excellent except that is could have been hotter. I had it a week earlier and it was just right. The atmosphere is very warm and inviting. We always have excellent service. We recommend Rezazz to our friends often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, great environment, quiet y ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Awesome food, great environment, quiet yet social scene, impeccable service and quality!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, , Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening, great food and outsta ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Wonderful evening, great food and outstanding service!!

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at Rezaz and couldn't have be ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

First time at Rezaz and couldn't have been happier with our choice. Perfect portions, amazing menu & service top notch. Found a new gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food. Brussels sprouts were to d ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Amazing food. Brussels sprouts were to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service, food and wine were exceptional. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Service, food and wine were exceptional. We had an amazing time- we'll definitely come again.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband had the special - Snapper on ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

My husband had the special - Snapper on a bed of risotto with large shrimp. It was both beautifully played and delicious. I chose the smoked duck breast with broccoli I and a potato latkes. I love duck but never had tried it smoked. Interesting twist. The sauce was delicious, wish there had been a tad more. The latkes was too thick and too dense.

Texas has been a favorite of ours for years. The updated decor is welcome and comfortable and the staff is always tip top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food,ambience,and service Would hi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great food,ambience,and service

Would highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rezaz always leaves such a great impress ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Rezaz always leaves such a great impression! This was a dinner with a friend, but I've taken many out of towners here and they have all raved about the food, ambiance and service. Laura and Brian, the owners, do an outstanding job of weaving contemporary cuisine with traditional Mediterranean dishes. From start to finish, it's a lovely meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Cozy, Happy Hour, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are visiting Asheville and only e ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 5, 2016

If you are visiting Asheville and only eat at one restaurant, PLEASE consider Rezaz to be it! The food is outstanding, always varied and always unique.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, , Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a girls' luncheon there and every ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We had a girls' luncheon there and everyone of us really enjoyed the creative food, just the right amount for lunch. It was great!

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding restaurant with great servic ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Outstanding restaurant with great service and excellent food. If we lived in the area, we would frequent the restaurant monthly.

Tags: , Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for a special place for ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We were looking for a special place for our family from out of town to celebrate the holidays and we were all very pleased with the menu, the ambiance, the quality and uniqueness of the food served and the service.

Thank you for providing a lovely place to dine.

Tags: Late-night Find, Wood Oven, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a celiac, I am required to eat only g ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

As a celiac, I am required to eat only gluten free foods. This restaurant is very friendly and accommodating for anyone wanting gluten free foods. We were in a bit of a hurry since we were heading over to the Biltmore House for the evening Christmas display, and the staff really worked with us to assure that we were served quickly enough to enjoy the meal and get out on time. I had some of the best paella I have ever had - I highly recommend this item.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never disappointed. Excellent service, ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Never disappointed. Excellent service, exceptional food quality, ample serving size, appropriately priced, diverse and interesting menus options. Still our favorite go to. Parking is far easier than going downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A group of friends gathered for lunch, a ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 28, 2016

A group of friends gathered for lunch, and we were all very pleased with the food. My wife ordered the salmon Israeli bento box and I ordered the roasted vegetable Israeli bento box. The bento boxes provide an impressive array of exquisite flavors and textures. Rezaz is now our current lunch favorite in Asheville, which is a high endorsement, considering the choices available in our food-conscious town! We are looking forward to returning for lunch and dinner. Thank you, Rezaz, for the exceptional food, ambience, and friendly service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was lousy.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The service was lousy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

This restaurant is one of our favorites. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This restaurant is one of our favorites. Great food and a beautiful atmosphere. It's always a pleasure to eat at Rezaz.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch offerings. Rezaz bases its m ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great lunch offerings. Rezaz bases its menu on Middle Eastern fare, but adds its own twists to the dishes. I spent 25 years in Israel, and my wife and kids were born there. We felt like we had flown home for a visit, while still being 7 minutes from our Asheville home. The lunch menu has very reasonable prices, especially for the portion size and great ingredients.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Incredible service! We were celebrating ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Incredible service! We were celebrating our 2nd anniversary. I notated this in my reservation and they sat us at the table we had our first date and said "this table may look familiar". It was an incredible gesture of just how much they care about their guests. The food was amazing just as it always is and our server was so incredibly attentive. This place will always have such an important part of our story and we will always keep coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The curry chicken salad was fabulous!

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The curry chicken salad was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a recommendation of a friend, ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We went on a recommendation of a friend, and could not have been happier with the suggestion. The service was great, the food was delicious and we will definitely make a point to dine here again when we are in Asheville!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.