About Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine

28 Hendersonville Road
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Rezaz Restaurant and Wine Bar located in a historic turn of the century building where modern minimalist decor meets simple casual eloquence. The sophisticated menu emphasizes the fresh eclectic and traditional flavors of all Mediterranean countries. Chef Reza's eastern Mediterranean background and his travels within this region enables him to showcase the wealth of flavors by using spices, herbs and freshest seasonal local ingredients in all his menu offerings. Located in the heart of Biltmore Village, this warm and sleek establishment has mastered the rhythm of great food, superior wines, and excellent friendly service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Spanish

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday : 5:30pm to close, Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm to close

Deli: Monday-Saturday, 10:00am-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Lodge Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 277-1510

Website:
http://www.rezaz.com/

Catering:
An eclectic Mediterranean offering, using freshest local and regional ingredients with new Mediterranean cooking methods.

Parking Details:
Our small private lot fills quickly, but there is plenty of free, safe street parking available in Biltmore Village

Executive Chef:
Reza Setayesh

Private Party Facilities:
The Benedetto room, a private dinning option to accommodate up to 26 guests. The Benedetto room is a perfect place to celebrate the special occasion or a business function.

Private Party Contact:
Tucker McElroy: 8282771510x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Paella - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Mezze w. Baba Ghanoush, Potato Haro (Spicy Potato), Fatayer Spinach, Fatoush Salad, Hummus, Falafel and more, served w. pickles olives, tahina sauce & Lebanese bread - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Rezaz Mezez - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Duck Confit With Spinach, Potato Latke, Apple And A Cranberry Gastrique - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Seared Scallops With English Pea Risotto - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Brussels Sprouts Side - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Rezaz Bomb - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Spiced Pear Cake - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Shrimp & Calamari - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Roasted Beets And Goat Cheese - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Table Bread And Oil - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
2012 Malbec Reserve - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
The Green Fettush - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Grilled Ny Strip - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Veal Short Ribs - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Grilled Caesar Salad - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Banana Blueberry Roulade - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Filet Mignon Kabob, Fried Okra - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Chocolate Truffles - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Filet Mignon - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Pomme Frites With Truffle Oil - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Crusted Scallops  - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Carolina Mahi - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Filet Mignon Enchalatas - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Hot Smoked Duck Served With Gnochhi, Duck Confit, Kale & Leeks, And Raspberry Vincotto - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Duck - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Braised Lamb Shank W/ Cabernet Sauce & Spinach Mashed Potatoes - Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine

Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Fit for Foodies (109)
Special Occasion (92)
Neighborhood Gem (68)
See All
Romantic (47)
Great for Lunch (44)
Good for Groups (38)
Notable Wine List (36)
Hot Spot (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Authentic (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (7)
Casual (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Fun (5)
Business Meals (5)
Spicy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Historic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Staff so wonderful. Saved a quite corne ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 6 days ago

Staff so wonderful. Saved a quite corner table for my birthday dinner. We ate there during the Biltmore restaurant week so they had a special set menu. choices were great, price was good value. Fun and friendly staff. Décor reflected their name.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good bit give this place a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was good bit give this place a good review because we were mischarged. The menu said $35 for three course meal. We were charged an $16 for desert. When we asked to see the menu we were told to check online. So we checked after leaving and found that we were indeed mischarged. When we called em out they refunded us the $16 but no consideration to tax or tip value. In retrospect should of made them refund full amount and re-calculated the tip.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

We visited during "Biltmore Week" so the ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We visited during "Biltmore Week" so the menu was somewhat limited. However; the choices were varied and we found things we liked very much. The octopus salad was outstanding. The service was good, the ambiance was good. A very pleasant evening at one of our favorite spots.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

They explained that it was biltmore week ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

They explained that it was biltmore week, thus a limited menu. I'm of greek heritage and am quite familiar with the cuisine. I ordered their chicken dish, my escort the brisket. The chicken

dish was a very small portion, quite greasy, and far from what I would consider good value. The brisket was tough. No I would not go back for the meal that they served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Since discovering this place on our firs ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Since discovering this place on our first visit to Asheville, we have returned on every visit. The food and service have been great. It keeps us from discovering other eating establishments in the area. Unfortunately, on this trip, we had a bad experience with the server. If he was new, he should have had a mentor taking him through the evening. Errors were so bad that, if the food wasn't so magnificent, we would not return. Note that on five previous visits, the service and servers were great. We will continue to be patrons and cheerleaders of this establishment.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

Our favorite special occasion restaurant ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our favorite special occasion restaurant for years slipped a couple of notches tonight. Romaine salad full of grit like it was not properly washed. Chewy brisket; I've had better in a good deli sandwich. Forgettable baklava dessert. Overly solicitous server who was so loud, we stopped our conversation each time he recited tonight's specials to nearby tables. Our tablemates wrote a terse review of disappointment on their credit card receipt. Restaurants have off nights (half-empty on a Saturday night - uh oh), so we'll give them another chance in the future. But, not anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The food could have been great but wasn' ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food could have been great but wasn't. My wife had what we assumed would be a light ravioli in a mascarpone. I was swimming in liquid. It was just heavy handed. The right idea but I think they thought more is better.

I had lamb shank that was a little dry. It tasted like the end of the night, and it was. I still think food should be as edible at the end of the evening as it is at the start.

All said I'd still go again to see if it was a one time deal. I liked the place and the food was made with the right ingredients. The execution was a miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We recommended Rezaz’s to our business a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We recommended Rezaz’s to our business associate and he decided to accept our advice. Not only did he come but he invited another couple. The evening was splendid. Everything from greetingin, table service all the way to dessert was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New ownership same fabulous food with sm ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

New ownership same fabulous food with small tweets . Always great for lunch or dinner . Excellent wine to pair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was excellent. My ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food and service was excellent. My only concern was although the waiter was very good he did not come across as totally sincere.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always fun to eat at Rezaz! Loved the l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Always fun to eat at Rezaz! Loved the lamb appetizer built for two and found the trout to be very good-and I rarely order trout. Solid, dependable and run well, this one never disappoints. The effort made in the kitchen carries over to very fresh, flavorful food.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Rezaz's did it again. But I have come to ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Rezaz's did it again. But I have come to expect no less. We have been coming to this restaurant for years. Always outstanding. Know it has changed hands - but experience was flawless. Food is simply delicious and inventive. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb as was the service. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was superb as was the service. The menu choices were many and very interesting. The desserts were wonderful. Portion size was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting Asheville for the weekend and d ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Visiting Asheville for the weekend and decided to not eat at the "big inn" where we were staying and try something in town. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food preparations and the overall atmosphere.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at Rezaz - the staff truly made it such a wonderful night! The meal, service, & ambiance were perfect! I HIGHLY recommend!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really lovely Mediterranean restaurant i ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Really lovely Mediterranean restaurant in the heart of historic Hendersonville. Great meal and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing meal-We decided to eat tapas sty ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Amazing meal-We decided to eat tapas style so we could try more dishes. For appetizers we tried the lamb plater, octopus, rezaz meza plater and a special of heirloom tomatoes with a burrata cheese. The octopus was so amazing we ordered a second plate. All the dishes were beautifully presented and delicious. We also tried a side of roasted mushroom that were superb, and a kale fettosh salad that was very good. In addition we split a special of cod that was complex and perfectly presented as well as the trout. We had a lovely bottle of Cote Rhone and felt that we had dined at a 5 star French restaurant serving mediterranean food. Service was superb. No room for desert as we relished the last bite of this feast. The price was very fair for the complexity and abundance of food.

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great! Exceptional servic ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Everything was great! Exceptional service and unique flavor combinations! You must leave room for dessert! The pastry chef / co-owner is a genius! If the Belgian pot de crème is on the menu, GET IT! We even ordered two to go a few nights later after dining at a restaurant with limited dessert options.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Modern Decor, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent authentic Middle-Eastern food. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Excellent authentic Middle-Eastern food. New owners are doing a wonderful job of blending ingredients and spices (not hot) to produce unique flavors and textures in the dishes. Began with a special combining southern and the Middle East - Spiced and Cornmeal Crusted fried whole okra with a yogurt based remolaude. Outstanding. The service is always professional, friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service and food at Rezaz are a cut ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The service and food at Rezaz are a cut above the rest of Asheville. Quiet, refined ambiance coupled with impeccable taste.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere but food was below avera ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Nice atmosphere but food was below average. Definitely would not go back. This restaurant was recommended to us by a person that has not been there in 7 years. We talked with some locals the following day and they informed us that restaurant has went down hill over the years. Oh well, we gave it try!! Our server was below average which did not help with the lousy food. Too many good restaurants in Asheville, so we do not recommend Rezaz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

The beef brisket was dry and tough. Had ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The beef brisket was dry and tough.

Had a hard time choosing an entree. The only fish was pond raised.

Good price on the wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Super evening. Our guests loved the good ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Super evening.

Our guests loved the good good and special wine.

We will be back for sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Arrived 1/2 hour early and spent the tim ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Arrived 1/2 hour early and spent the time conversing with the bartender while enjoying the wine and beer he recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I was treated to lunch by my son's SO an ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I was treated to lunch by my son's SO and it was delightful. The bento box lunch was delicious and we had excellent service. The salmon was moist, tender, and perfectly seasoned. The chocolate torte was melted in our mouths and the cherry sorbet was divine. Couldn't ask for a better lunch date.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner at Rezaz with frie ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had a great dinner at Rezaz with friends visiting Asheville for the first time.

Our waitress was the key to helping us successfully select a series of plates to share

and pacing their arrival perfectly.

We especially enjoyed the Calamari & Shrimp, the Lamb and the grilled Roman Caesar

Salad.

Per my request in booking on Open Table, we were seated in a private alcove where

we could enjoy a conversation.

Revaz is my first choice for lunch or dinner whenever we visit Asheville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waiter. As usual the food was grea ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great waiter. As usual the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. nicely appointed service was ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Good food. nicely appointed service was good

a bit pricey but fine

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to a lot of good Mediterrane ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I have been to a lot of good Mediterranean restaurants in the U.S. and Europe. Rezaz stands out in upscale decor at reasonable prices, very good service, and interesting and inventive menu, and great ambience. I was very pleasantly surprised.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tucker, Chef and the entire staff are re ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Tucker, Chef and the entire staff are really great. They all strive to add to the meaning of hospitality. They made a special occasion extra special!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & service.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great food & service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rezaz consistently serves gourmet food i ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Rezaz consistently serves gourmet food in a sophisticated environment. Our waiter was knowledgeable and efficient. The mixed drinks were not watered down and the duck my wife ordered and the scallops I ordered were cooked to perfection. A very good restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the snapper special!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Loved the snapper special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always creative and deliciou ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food is always creative and delicious. Staff was very helpful. My husband was one handed due to being bitten by a copperhead snake the week before. Go, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Calamari/Shrimp appetizer was incred ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The Calamari/Shrimp appetizer was incredible, and the Lamb dish was to die for!!! Topped it off with the Peach Bread Pudding dessert - Out of the park!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The octopus app was really good (I'm not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The octopus app was really good (I'm not a huge creamy slaw fan, but I just ate around it). Hubby had the smoked duck and it was great. I had Paella, and loved it. Wine was a good price and great. We had great service from Doc (or its was Joe/George depending when we asked lol). Overall great food, great service, great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rezaz has such wonderful service and foo ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Rezaz has such wonderful service and food. I am never disappointed by this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This and has been our favorite Asheville ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This and has been our favorite Asheville restaurant for 6 years. Always consistently good.

Nights and during the season reservations a must. Good on site parking and very few in ASHEVILLE have parking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing cuisine/outstanding staff. One ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing cuisine/outstanding staff. One of the best restaurants in A-ville

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.