About Rey's

1130 Buck Jones Road
Raleigh, NC 27606
View Larger Map

Rey's is an upscale restaurant featuring great food & exceptional service with a French Quarter flare. The comfortable ambience & affordable prices are sure to please.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 380-0122

Website:
http://www.reysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Rey's will customize & accommodate your catering needs. Please call (919) 380-0122 for details.

Parking Details:
Rey's offers a large private lot with over 100 parking spaces.

Executive Chef:
Jerry St. Andrews

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jumbo Lump Crabmeat Cocktail
  • Oscar Beef Torenados
Jumbo Lump Crabmeat Cocktail
Oscar Beef Torenados

Rey's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Romantic
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
9 More
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Raleigh
Best Food
Raleigh
Best Service
Raleigh
Best Ambiance
Raleigh
Best Value
Raleigh
Notable Wine List
Raleigh
Romantic
Raleigh
Special Occasion
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Special Occasion (100)
Romantic (85)
Notable Wine List (49)
See All
Good for Groups (44)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Late-night Find (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Business Meals (6)
Authentic (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Private Room (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fireplace (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Cozy (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were a bit disappointed with the serv ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were a bit disappointed with the service. Our waiter kept referring to us as "you guys" and had 2 pens stuck in his shirt between the buttons. For the price of the food you would also expect not to have to ask for bread. It took a long time for water to come to the table and when it did, it was spilled on two different occasions. It was my husband's birthday so we thought we would go somewhere fancy. The food was very good, but I would rather go to Ruth's Criss or Second Empire for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The host large parties and we were seate ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

The host large parties and we were seated next to one of those rooms and the doors stayed open and was a little annoying but over all it was good I would go back. I'm very picky with food quality and service. The service is what you would except. The quality was good and flavorful. Overall I would recommend going at least once. it was very nice and Rey himself check on you through out your meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and customer service was excellent, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food and customer service was excellent, highly recommend!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is a regular favorite for me ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

This place is a regular favorite for me and is a great place to "impress" someone you take to dinner. Always consistent!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rey's is a family favorite for special o ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Rey's is a family favorite for special occasions. The owner and wait staff are very accommodating. The New Orleans style food is great. We've never had a meal we didn't love.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Late-night Find, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was wonderful. We enjoyed ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The experience was wonderful. We enjoyed our evening. The food and wine were very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Alison is the greatest server!!! Keep ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Alison is the greatest server!!! Keep her- don't ever let her go!!!!! Fantastic food!!!! but a bit pricey!!!!! We go there because of Bill Stonehouse - great music and dancing as well.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Dancing, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The staff was very friendly and welcomin ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The staff was very friendly and welcoming. We went because the steaks had been highly recommended by a friend. My steak was OK but nothing special and my wife felt the same about her veal Marsala. Our appetizers were very good but our sides were underwhelming. All in all, we were not that impressed and will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Really good food, prepared correctly and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Really good food, prepared correctly and delivered sooner than we expected. This was a special ocassion for us so I saved a while to be able to afford it, certainly glad I did.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food is very good. It's not the best ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food is very good. It's not the best, foodies will be disappointed. It's very good. But the service cannot be beat. Every visit you will find the best service in town. Top knotch servers. Date or large group, the service is the best you can find. Go there, enjoy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food were excellent. Came ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Service and food were excellent. Came to celebrate birthdays, were very pleased all evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, excellent service -- a s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very good food, excellent service -- a special place for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for 38 wedding anniversary food was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Went for 38 wedding anniversary food was great! Service was great. Will be back. Highly recommend .

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing service and food as usual. They ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Amazing service and food as usual. They never miss a beat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Private Room, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding and food was pre ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service was outstanding and food was prepared to perfection.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our waiter (David) was very helpful, kn ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our waiter (David) was very helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. A big plus to our dining experience. Food was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our new favorite Cary pla ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is one of our new favorite Cary places, particularly because my husband loves their veal dishes, which are priced quite reasonably. The steak is also excellent, and they make a mean martini, shaken at the table and poured into a frosty glass. What's not to like?!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I did not add the gratuity in the bill ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I did not add the gratuity in the bill as I put in much more than needed, and didn't think it would be fair to show such a high cost.

Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING was wonderful. This is TRUE dining. I haven't found another place that I felt comfortable going to eat but it was fancy enough to really feel like you were out for dining!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely not worth the cost. We were c ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Absolutely not worth the cost. We were celebrating our wedding Anniversary and was looking forward to a great steak. My wife asked for medium well and the first time are steak was medium rare. She asked to send it back and this time it came out Well done. The waiter didn't want to stick around to see if my wife was satisfied; instead he walks away. I couldn't find the lobster in the lobster mac & cheese. There must have been a piece somewhere in the mix. Rey's is off our list of priority dining and especially for a special occasion. God we should have gone to Rith's Chris for almost the same price.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

We absolutely love this place!! The food ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We absolutely love this place!! The food is so delicious and always excellent service.

Always looking for a reason to go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rey's has outstanding food, service and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Rey's has outstanding food, service and atmosphere

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. My husband had veal M ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was great. My husband had veal Marsala he loved it. We shared their flourless chocolate raspberry cake Devine. My filet was not very good I'm hoping it was a fluke, but my fault for not sending it back. I did eat it. But was not the best.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We eat at Rey's 3-5 times per year for s ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We eat at Rey's 3-5 times per year for special occasions and the food is exceptional as is the service. Side portions are large enough to share and the Banana Foster is incredible.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous meal and the evening w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a fabulous meal and the evening was really wonderful. We were seated in a nice corner and our service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Rey's was good, we were seated ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Dinner at Rey's was good, we were seated on time and the food delivery was well timed out. We had the Lobster bites appetizer which was good but a little overcooked. Next we had a lobster Bisque soap and a chopped salad. The soup was very good the salad a little heavy on the dressing. For our entree we each had filet, the filet was cooked to order, it was tender with decent texture it was a little flavorless which being a filet is not unheard of but this was a little more then normal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Appetizer we ordered scallops, fried oys ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Appetizer we ordered scallops, fried oyster and ahi tuna. All excellent. For entrée, Steak was great but grouper was bland and oily. For dessert, the banana foster was great. Drink wise, Whiskey based cocktails were good, Manhattan and old fashioned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The pan-seared scallops were absolutely ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The pan-seared scallops were absolutely the best! We had them with the beef tournedos, which were also excellent. The Bananas Foster is always a special dessert. We decided that Rey's is our new favorite restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, a wonderful meal served by ou ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

As always, a wonderful meal served by our favorite waiter Jason. It's always a pleasure to dine at Reys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Meal, as Always. Food selection, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great Meal, as Always. Food selection, quality and staff made for a memorable night. Plenty to choose, steaks, seafood and chicken (and vegetarian too). Wife had turf and surf. The lobster was expertly prepared. Summer salad was a good choice from our regular wedge salad.

Overall, a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointing! Food was great and ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Never disappointing! Food was great and service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rey's is great; however, they had a larg ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Rey's is great; however, they had a large private party (radio station) who were very loud as they went back and forth. I know this was not the norm for Rey's. I will go back to Rey's as the food and service are great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our first time at Rey's and we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This was our first time at Rey's and we absolutely love it. I have been telling all my customers to try them. We can't wait to go back there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food & service were amazing as usua ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food & service were amazing as usual. Portions were perfect. thank you Rey!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alison is a fantastic waitress. She is a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Alison is a fantastic waitress. She is awesome - great service and dedication. Please make sure she stays working at Reys.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Steak was excellent

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Steak was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an absolutely great experience.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Had an absolutely great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food. Wait staff i ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent service and food. Wait staff is attentive and Rey makes a point to speak to each guest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as usual. Filet was superb and ba ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great as usual. Filet was superb and bananas foster a barn burner. Recommend both.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rey's may be my new favorite restaurant! ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Rey's may be my new favorite restaurant! The service was impeccable and the food was perfect. My friend and I had filet mignon steaks, salad with berries and goat cheese, seared scallops, mixed vegetables, and flaming bananas foster for dessert. Except for the steaks, we tasted all of one another's dishes. That evening and even the next day, we couldn't stop raving about the restaurant. It was one of the best meals I can recall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salad could have had a zestier dress ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The salad could have had a zestier dressing and lacked ricotta cheese. (Very little given) Good service and excellent steak.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.