About Rey's

1130 Buck Jones Road
Raleigh, NC 27606
View Larger Map

Rey's is an upscale restaurant featuring great food & exceptional service with a French Quarter flare. The comfortable ambience & affordable prices are sure to please.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 380-0122

Website:
http://www.reysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Rey's will customize & accommodate your catering needs. Please call (919) 380-0122 for details.

Parking Details:
Rey's offers a large private lot with over 100 parking spaces.

Executive Chef:
Jerry St. Andrews

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jumbo Lump Crabmeat Cocktail
  • Oscar Beef Torenados
Jumbo Lump Crabmeat Cocktail
Oscar Beef Torenados

Rey's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Raleigh
5 More
Best Service
Raleigh
Best Ambiance
Raleigh
Notable Wine List
Raleigh
Romantic
Raleigh
Special Occasion
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

special occasion (130)
romantic (101)
good for groups (61)
See All
notable wine list (55)
fit for foodies (54)
neighborhood gem (31)
vibrant bar scene (17)
hot spot (16)
late-night find (9)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a fabulous meal and the evening w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a fabulous meal and the evening was really wonderful. We were seated in a nice corner and our service was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Rey's was good, we were seated ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 7 days ago

Dinner at Rey's was good, we were seated on time and the food delivery was well timed out. We had the Lobster bites appetizer which was good but a little overcooked. Next we had a lobster Bisque soap and a chopped salad. The soup was very good the salad a little heavy on the dressing. For our entree we each had filet, the filet was cooked to order, it was tender with decent texture it was a little flavorless which being a filet is not unheard of but this was a little more then normal.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Appetizer we ordered scallops, fried oys ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 7 days ago

Appetizer we ordered scallops, fried oyster and ahi tuna. All excellent. For entrée, Steak was great but grouper was bland and oily. For dessert, the banana foster was great. Drink wise, Whiskey based cocktails were good, Manhattan and old fashioned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The pan-seared scallops were absolutely ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 7 days ago

The pan-seared scallops were absolutely the best! We had them with the beef tournedos, which were also excellent. The Bananas Foster is always a special dessert. We decided that Rey's is our new favorite restaurant!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, a wonderful meal served by ou ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

As always, a wonderful meal served by our favorite waiter Jason. It's always a pleasure to dine at Reys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Meal, as Always. Food selection, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great Meal, as Always. Food selection, quality and staff made for a memorable night. Plenty to choose, steaks, seafood and chicken (and vegetarian too). Wife had turf and surf. The lobster was expertly prepared. Summer salad was a good choice from our regular wedge salad.

Overall, a great time.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointing! Food was great and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Never disappointing! Food was great and service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rey's is great; however, they had a larg ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Rey's is great; however, they had a large private party (radio station) who were very loud as they went back and forth. I know this was not the norm for Rey's. I will go back to Rey's as the food and service are great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our first time at Rey's and we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This was our first time at Rey's and we absolutely love it. I have been telling all my customers to try them. We can't wait to go back there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food & service were amazing as usua ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food & service were amazing as usual. Portions were perfect. thank you Rey!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alison is a fantastic waitress. She is a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Alison is a fantastic waitress. She is awesome - great service and dedication. Please make sure she stays working at Reys.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Steak was excellent

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Steak was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an absolutely great experience.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Had an absolutely great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food. Wait staff i ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent service and food. Wait staff is attentive and Rey makes a point to speak to each guest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as usual. Filet was superb and ba ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great as usual. Filet was superb and bananas foster a barn burner. Recommend both.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rey's may be my new favorite restaurant! ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Rey's may be my new favorite restaurant! The service was impeccable and the food was perfect. My friend and I had filet mignon steaks, salad with berries and goat cheese, seared scallops, mixed vegetables, and flaming bananas foster for dessert. Except for the steaks, we tasted all of one another's dishes. That evening and even the next day, we couldn't stop raving about the restaurant. It was one of the best meals I can recall.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salad could have had a zestier dress ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The salad could have had a zestier dressing and lacked ricotta cheese. (Very little given) Good service and excellent steak.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We have been dining at Reys for over 8 y ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been dining at Reys for over 8 years and have never had a bad meal or bad experience. The food is consistently great, the wait staff excels & Rey truly cares about his clientele. You cannot go wrong in selecting Reys for a fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we want a true dining experience, w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

When we want a true dining experience, we go to Rey's, and are always satisfied, both with the food and also with the service. We like it that the pace is unhurried, and the wait people are always gracious. Our salads were chilled and crisp; our steaks sizzling, aromatic, and tender-- absolutely delicious, punctuating the total experience to our pre-meal cocktails. Altogether, a total YUM!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure the turtle soup actually had an ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Not sure the turtle soup actually had any turtle in it. Entrees came out late. Lamb was four chops on a plate - poor presentation - and they were overcooked - medium instead of medium rare as ordered. Wine was overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent service and food.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rey's is elegant dining. We love to come ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Rey's is elegant dining. We love to come to Rey's for special occasions. We have been to Rey's many times. Our favorite dessert is the Banana's Foster (serves 2). Rey himself comes to your table and makes in there in front of you.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food and outstanding service. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Delicious food and outstanding service. The medallions with scallops and the grouper with crab meat were perfectly done and served. We each had a salad and they, too, were delicious. We look forward to returning.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, Service and Atmosphere were all wo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food, Service and Atmosphere were all wonderful. It's nice to go where all 3 are working well together.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always - food, service! Cele ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Awesome as always - food, service! Celebrating my daughter's HS graduation & Rey put us in a private room. He's is the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for Restaurant Week. It was very ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week. It was very crowded but the Restaurant managed the crowd well;

service was timely and courteous,we didn't feel rushed yet the tables were turned very efficiently. food was very good--overall a very pleasant experience!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful! Always good! Need I say more. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Wonderful! Always good! Need I say more. I love Rey's. Every time I eat here the food an service is excellent. Please continue your wonderful traditions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited during Restaurant Week. Food an ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Visited during Restaurant Week. Food and service were great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined there several times and ha ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We have dined there several times and have been happy with every single experience. The food is fantastic and the service is on point. A great place for an intimate dinner. Always looking for a reason to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing Service

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We went to Rey's during Triangle Week fixe price menu. While this is a great opportunity to try new restaurant, we decided to go back to Rey's because it's close to home. While the plates were hot, my salmon was look warm, closer to cold. Weeks before that same salmon was perfect. Then the service, we asked 3 times for bread, got a stupid excuse each time and never got it without any explanation. Is bread a problem at Rey's? The server had a fake smile and tried to make conversation as I was not getting what I want. We didn't not feel we got the same food and service during restaurant week. Rey's is much better than that. Sad. :(.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Amazing!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Went during Restaurant Week (for the first time) and expected the special menu would mean their portions would be smaller, but they were actually generous. All four of us had diffrent entrees, and the food exceeded our expectations. It was a quiet and elegant atmosphere. We can't wait to return to Rey's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent experience

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My friends and I visited for restaurant week.

For my three course meal, I ordered fields green salad, filet mignon with green beans, and raspberry chocolate truffles cake.

Salad was great, the steak was a little dry (I ordered medium rare and it was more of a medium), green beans were nothing special, and chocolate truffle cake was decent but too sweet for my liking.

Overall, the food was average. But what really made the whole experience was the phenomenal service. Our server, Jim, was extremely friendly and Rey actually came around twice and asked us how we were doing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food, service, and atmosphere!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

As always, Rey's provides wonderful food, excellent service, and quiet and romantic atmosphere. The best NY strip in the Triangle!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We went for restaurant week. It was the most tender filet I have ever had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful meal,

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We love going to Rey's for every special occasion - birthdays, anniversaries, etc. It was especially great this time to go for Restaurant Week and get all the same delicious food for a great price. It's a nice touch to have Rey himself stop by each nite to check on you as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Will be back!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I went to Rey's to take advantage of Triangle Restaurant Week. It was delicious. The staff was outstanding. The manager came out and personally greeted every table. The sweet tea was the best I have ever had. I can't wait to go back. I saw many other items on the menu that I can't wait to try.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd visit was a let down

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

So my boyfriend and I went to Rey's for our 2 year anniversary and to take advantage of the Triangle Restaurant Week pricing. We'd been once before and absolutely loved every aspect of our experience and I just HAD to go back! Unfortunately this time was a complete let down. Our server was subpar. We ordered the same items, aside from how we wanted our steaks cooked, but when the salads came out we each had a different one. We said "hmm honest mistake and we shrugged it off, no biggie!" Next up were the entrees and sides. Nope! That was messed up and we had to correct them on one of the side dishes. Finally it was dessert time and we were so excited to get our cheesecakes. Nope! Only one cheesecake came out with a creme brûlée, which we didn't order, so we had to send that back. Each time an error occurred our waiter wasn't there to see because other waiters brought them out so we couldn't inform him. For a $70+ tab good food AND good service is a must and this was just unacceptable! This really has soured our experience with Rey's.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Great meal, nice ambience, service spotty

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Our server forgot us after we asked for the bill, we had to wait 10-15 minutes to get it. But we didn't get it from him, we had to flag down another server and request it. Fortunately the other server, a young lady, was attentive to our needs. Our original server saw what was happening and finally came with a second copy of the bill, but it was too late by then. He never apologized for ignoring us and actually made light of it which wasn't appreciated. The food and atmosphere here were great, but our server's omission and inattentiveness put a damper on a nice dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Good night

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Took my lady here for her birthday dinner. Very friendly. Nice ambience. A little pricey. Food is pretty good. Hit and miss depending on your preferences on the sides but the meat was definitely well seasoned and cooked.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I love Rey's

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I'm so glad I found Rey's. They are a high-end steakhouse along the lines of Ruth's Chris, but with a family touch. The owner (Rey) is always there and always stops by to say hello and make sure everything is wonderful. The food is exquisite, and they can handle special requests like 'a bone-in ribeye done Pittsburgh style except make sure the steak is medium on the inside instead of a true Pittsburgh'. And at the end: bananas foster, prepared tableside, by Rey. Heaven.

We go several times a year.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.