About Rey's

Rey's is an upscale restaurant featuring great food & exceptional service with a French Quarter flare. The comfortable ambience & affordable prices are sure to please. 5 Private rooms available.

1130 Buck Jones Road
Raleigh, NC 27606
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 380-0122

Website:
http://www.reysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Rey's will customize & accommodate your catering needs. Please call (919) 380-0122 for details.

Parking Details:
Rey's offers a large private lot with over 100 parking spaces.

Executive Chef:
Lupe Becerra

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rey's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (80)
Romantic (68)
Good for a Date (67)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (67)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Business Meals (46)
Good for Groups (37)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Worth the Drive (33)
Notable Wine List (32)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Cozy (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Authentic (17)
Private Room (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Happy Hour (12)
Fun (10)
Casual (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Family Style (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Live Music (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Dancing (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1685 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

We had not dined at Rey's in quite some time and, boy, that is our loss. Both the food and service were top shelf. There may be some local restaurants that are trendier but Rey's is hard to equal, let alone e surpass. Highest recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was excellent and the food was delicious!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Promising exceptional service, with multiple people coming by to assure us we were being taken care of, we expected a lot better. Once the order was placed, the waitress forgot all about the glass of wine I had ordered, perhaps because I waited to order it at the same time as my food. The fish recommended was OK, the crabmeat on the side only lukewarm despite having been warned their plates were super hot. The bread was very tasty, and we would have asked for more if we had caught her attention once we started our meal. Our waitress was very pleasant but shared a couple of personal stories (to illustrate how good certain dishes were) that were just plain silly. When we chose a desert to share, she gracefully put it on the house!
So all in all a pleasant experience, but not exceptional.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Two ordered chicken piccata and loved it. I had the crab cake appetizer and a salad. The crab cakes were 4 tiny bites--not what I'd expected. The salad was good, though. Jason, our waiter, provided fine service. We generally like the food here and will come back again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great meal and service. Jason went above and beyond . Tahnks so much

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner and service were perfect as usual. We had 10 once filets with potatoes lyonaise and a bottle of Stars Leap. Perfect!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Rey's never disappoints, the food is consistently high quality and the service is almost alwys excellent (we had one server *once* who did not do well). The food is New Orleans style, we always request a lighter touch with the butter and it works well for us that way.

If Jeremy is at the bar that night it will be a lively one! :)

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Celebrated our anniversary there and the food, service, and the friendliness of the staff was commendable. The bartender was great and we also enjoyed the desert of our choice on the house! Great spot for an intimate celebration or a group outing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

While very good, the service was a bit less attentive than last time.
The bread basket is superb as is the asparagus side dish.
Wine by the glass is more expensive than most other upscale restaurants.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food; great atmosphere; great wait staff. An overall wonderful experience whether it's your first date or 25th anniversary.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was father's day and Rey's made it beyond special. The food is amaxing. I highly recommrnd!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Love Rey's. Always a great experience. Food was delicious. The lobster bites and the tomato and mozzarella salad were fabulous. Our waiter was super friendly and knowledgable as always. This was a Father's Day dinner celebration and it was perfect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We enjoyed the food and the service was excellent. Negative is it's size. Too big and noisy since they sit a lot of large parties. Felt like I was eating in a barn. No atmosphere

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

As always, Rey's was a great experience. Food was well prepared and the service was prompt without hovering.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

As usual, great food and great ambiance. But most exceptional was the attentive but not intrusive service. Kelly is her name.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. Rey circulated among the patrons and even prepared the banana fosters on the dining room floor.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Food was great, but the service is second to none. They care they give should be the goal of other restaurants to try to achieve.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We went to celebrate Father's Day. The ambience was perfect. The service was impeccable. The food was dependably wonderful. It is not possible to ask for more in an experience. Thanks.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Amazing!! Food and staff!! We celebrated our Anniversary by going to Rey's. It was our first time there and we will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Reys steak house is one of my favorite restaurants in town. The service is outstanding and the steaks are the best in the Raleigh and Cary area. I would recommend that everyone whether you are a steak lover or not give this place a try.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Visited on Saturday night during restaurant week. Overcrowded. Noisy. A private party ongoing with very loud hip-hop music pounding (enough to sing along). Absolutely no substitutions, even to upgrade steak. And the best part of the night, a couple next to us both ordered a bowl of ketchup with the Filet and we enjoyed watching each morsel of meat being engulfed in the red velvety sauce before being chewed into their gullets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food! Great service! Great cocktails! Enjoyed an anniversary dinner here. Would do so again every year!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Made reservations for our 33rd anniversary on Open Table, asked for "a quiet, private as possible table because it is our anniversary". After over 30 minutes wait we were seated basically in the bar, loud and nothing private about it. We asked for a better table since we had asked for that on Open Table but was told you have to call in for that kind of service. Our waiter was very nice and the food was good but not the experience we were looking for. Very disappointed! Not a good place for a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Went for Triangle Restaurant Week. Filet was absolutely delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Owner is "hands on." I was there for a work function and recently returned for my mom's b-day. A great local find!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Not as good as past visits. Paid $15.00 to upgrade to Oscar style and the bernaise was broken and I received a steak on a plate of oil. I cannot imagine chef was around. He would not have allowed that plate to leave his kitchen! Moved plate of food to a bread plated to get off the plate of oil. Asked for new bernaise and what came out was a thick glop of something with tarragon stirred in. Also, steak was ordered medium and came out medium well. Service was good as it normally is but food was subpar.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Rey's is always special for us. The food is predictably great. Rey personally makes the bananas jubilee at your table (or a nearby table) and it always a show.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great pork chops and Creme Brule. Ceasar salad was disappointing.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We went as part of restaurant week and found every part of the experience above expectations. Attentive waiters (Jim) but not intrusive and French press coffees came with carafe so we could warm up at the table. We will go back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Dinner there with friends was great. Food was five star, service was five star and quietly attentive.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Upon arrival, my date and I were not greeted when we walked in the door and saw three people standing in the hostess station. We were stared at while they had a conversation. I attempted to say hello, and the older lady put her finger up and walked off. I found that very rude as a "welcome! I will be right with you" is more appropriate than a finger.
The lighting was very bright in the dining room. It was very busy and every staff member seemed rushed. The water boys were very accommodating, however I was very thirsty that night and by the end of the night I mainly had ice in my glass as it never had time to melt and I got ice with every refill. The mashed potatoes seemed so well blended they almost tasted fake or too processed.
It was very loud in the restaurant, also due to the level of business. I believe the man to be the owner ran into regulars he knew at the table right behind ours and they proceeded to have a loud conversation with lots of laughing together for about 10 minutes.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Rey's offers consistently great food and service. The filet is simply amazing. We love going for special occasions. Rey is almost always there and will check in.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Rey's CONSTANTLY delivers on Food/Service each time we visit. It is special after all of these years to continue to enjoy a place where they take great joy in seeing people enjoy a special dining night out

Thanks Rey's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 6, 2017

It was our anniversary and also Triangle Restaurant Week. Great timing. Since we had never been here, we decided to try it out. Great price for a great meal. Four course meal for fixed price of $35. Portions were decent, not overwhelming. We look forward to visiting soon and trying their regular menu. Only reason I didn't give more stars is that the check arrived BEFORE our dessert. Oops!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We visited during "Restaurant Week" which happens to coincide with our anniversary. The special menu choices were outstanding (I had the salmon and my husband had the filet). Angelo, our server was very attentive and friendly, and he made suggestions that were helpful. Rey himself came over to greet us, which was so nice!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Will never go to Sullivan's again

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Outdated ambience. This place is more appealing to an over 60 year-old crowd and is quite pricey ($250 including tip for 2 people), so if that's your vibe, go for it. We tried it on a recommendation. The restaurant was dead by 9 pm on a Friday night. Food was good. Server was great. But honestly, we won't be back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 24, 2017

A very nice evening. Rey's is one of our "Special Occasion" restaurants -- it was our Anniversary. Food & drinks were well prepared & enjoyable. Our waiter, Justin, added to the evening with his professional service and easy manner. There were 2 business dinners in progress, but were adequately separated from the main dining area. Rey stopped by, as always, to welcome us back. It's pricey and everything is ala carte but enjoyable with items on the menu which are hard to find elsewhere...turtle soup, French Press coffee, tableside Bananas Foster & Cherries Jubilee. Well done.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Rey's is an incredible dining experience that I can't recommend highly enough. The food is amazing, the staff are warm and attentive, and Rey personally speaks with every guest.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.