About Rey's

Rey's is an upscale restaurant featuring great food & exceptional service with a French Quarter flare. The comfortable ambience & affordable prices are sure to please.

1130 Buck Jones Road
Raleigh, NC 27606
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 380-0122

Website:
http://www.reysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Rey's will customize & accommodate your catering needs. Please call (919) 380-0122 for details.

Parking Details:
Rey's offers a large private lot with over 100 parking spaces.

Executive Chef:
Jerry St. Andrews

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rey's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (93)
Good for a Date (93)
Romantic (87)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (79)
Business Meals (53)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Private Room (39)
Worth the Drive (36)
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for Groups (25)
Cozy (25)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Authentic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Casual (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Fun (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Family Style (7)
Seasonal (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Healthy (6)
Fireplace (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Live Music (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1582 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Reyes never disappoints. Good is always good, service is great, atmosphere wonderful.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

David took excellent care of us! Most enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Meat was not prepared like I asked but was still very tasty. Waiter did not bring my dessert but was attentive during the main course.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Good value. Many costumers dressedl to causal for price range and decor

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent meal with business associates. Seated us in private room - which was unexpected but greatly appreciated.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Very good food and Jason was an excellent server. Rey himself popped in to check on us. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything was perfect. The cocktails were well crafted, The eight ounce filet was perfectly cooked as ordered, the veal dish was delicious and the one side that we shared was enjoyable. We started with fried oysters, and I highly recommend them. David, our waiter did a terrific job with his recommendations and and his service added to our dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Friend had the salmon, husband had filet, and I had eggplant. We all had fried mushrooms. Everyone was happy with their food and, as always, with the chocolate raspberry torte. Rey's is consistently good. Service--from David--was outstanding!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Nice dinner. Lobster bite appetizer that was very good. Pork chop entree was average.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Overall a good experience however we weren't asked about the quality of our meals until we were halfway through eating. My steak had a gristle streak through it and, if I had been asked sooner, I would have probably returned the steak for a replacement.

I had commented on my Open Table reservation that it was a celebration for my wife's birthday - no one acknowledged the fact except there was a 'birthday cake' given to us to bring home (again, no wish/acknowledgment of her birthday per se).

I'm sure that we will return to Rey's however it appears that we will need to be more verbose in the what's and why's we are there, both for celebration and service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We liked the team approach. Husband did not like the Veal presentation but dish was good. Staff were very attentive and generous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Again the Food, Service, Quality, Quanity, and Atmosphere was 5 Star. Job Well Done.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service at the bar is impeccable. Wait staff is very attentive, food is good. Clientele can be all over the board. .. really dressed up to people in baseball hats and Tshirts. Could be more stringent on enforcing the dress code. This would deter those people who do not know how to conduct themselves in a restaurant like this.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Phenomenal food and service. Be sure to save room for table side bananas foster!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Fantastic meal and service. Expensive cocktails but the pour was worth it!

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We're regulars and for a very good reason. Food, service and consistency are the primary reasons. Rey has done a great job in assembling some of the best servers in the area. Friendly and familiar faces serving consistently great food. Kitchen did a great job! Everything was timed perfectly so that we could enjoy each course without feeling rushed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Private Room, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We celebrated our 40th anniversary at Rey's. The food was fantastic and the service was outstanding. Our waiter(Scott) was extremely attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My wife and I came to Rey's for a date. It was our first time going but will not be our last. Some of our friends had told us about Rey's and how good it was so we decided to go there. The ambiance was nice going there, the music did not seem to quite match the ambiance of the restaurant though. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and was able to give excellent opinions on the different menu items. The food was fantastic and so were the drinks. Over an excellent experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is our "go to" fine dining restaurant with a Louisiana flare. Incredible staff, fabulous menu and a wonderful bar to support any evenings festivities. This is an upscale experience and the food and service meet that kind of experience every time. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We went for a belated Valentine's with friends. As usual, impeccable service, delicious food, lovely atmosphere. Pricey - this is a nice place for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We love everything about Rey's! The food and the wait staff are superb, love the bar area.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Our party of 4 was extremely pleased with the food and service. Overall, I highly recommend Reyes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food and service similar to Ruth Chris but not quite as good. Ambiance ok, was touted as a "romantic" place...not really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We came to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary with friends, and we had a wonderful evening! Our waiter (Matt) was personable, engaging and very helpful with the wine list and menu. The food was exceptionally good and the chef was right on!
We are already planning our second celebration in March! Thanks for the opportunity to give feedback!

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Reliably great steaks and multiple options. Do yourself a favor and avoid the name brand steak houses, go to Rey's!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This place was included in OpenTable's list of top places to dine for Valentine's day and it didn't disappoint. I had the 16oz ribeye while my wife had the salmon. Service was very prompt and professional. The restaurant has a very high-end traditional feel and is a great place to have a romantic dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I took the wife here for Valentine's Day. Neither of us had been before and we both came away extremely impressed. Food was out fast, so quick that our waiter apologized for it coming out so quickly. Great place for dinner date or celebrate special occasion

Tags: Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely amazing experience and food! Would Highly recommend to my friends and family!

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We chose to spend Valentine's Day at Rey's. Though the menu was not the full menu, there were plenty of delicious meals from which to choose. We had a steak and the grouper and they were absolutely delicious. The service was well-timed and our server, Scott, was extremely helpful as we made our selections. We will definitely return for our next special event.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I chose Rey's for valentines day. The experience, the service, the quality of food was outstanding. I accepted the increase in price due to it being Valentines day. initially that was shocking. When my wife stated "this is nice, thank you ". I paid the check.. with a smile...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day everyone was friendly and welcoming. Food exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fabulous night out !!! Great food !!! Also the waiters are a very polite gracious well mannered .

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always reliable, always great food and service. Rey is one of the best restaurant owners I have ever worked with.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fun, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I both like Rey's as a restaurant to go when celebrating our birthdays, anniversary, and Valentine's day.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Rey's is our place to go for special occasions. This restaurant never disappoints!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This place is always spectacular. The food and the service are reliably great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My second time there, but the first for my fiancé. She was very impressed with the wait staff and the overall décor. We had excellent service from everyone involved. We were able to converse in a normal voice and overall had an excellent experience. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a special place to dine with a loved one.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in the area. Amazing food, great service, nice decor. Rey came by several times to check on how things were and actually made the Bananas Foster himself!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Private Room, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was great. Unfortunately the waiter was fairly slow . The service did not match what I would expect with an expensive meal .

Tags: Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.