About Rey's

Rey's is an upscale restaurant featuring great food & exceptional service with a French Quarter flare. The comfortable ambience & affordable prices are sure to please. 5 Private rooms available.

1130 Buck Jones Road
Raleigh, NC 27606
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 380-0122

Website:
http://www.reysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Rey's will customize & accommodate your catering needs. Please call (919) 380-0122 for details.

Parking Details:
Rey's offers a large private lot with over 100 parking spaces.

Executive Chef:
Lupe Becerra

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rey's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (74)
Good for a Date (65)
Good for Anniversaries (61)
See All
Good for Birthdays (52)
Romantic (51)
Business Meals (42)
Notable Wine List (42)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Good for Groups (27)
Authentic (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Cozy (16)
Fun (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Casual (8)
Healthy (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Live Music (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1770 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

The bone in rib eye was one of the best steaks I have eaten
My wife loves the grouper Lafayette
Great Martini

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

We we very happy with our service. Look forward to going back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Many Raleigh area restaurants have promoted themselves as purveyors of New Orleans style cuisine. Few have lived up to their claims. Rey's lives up to their French Quarter claims in both food and decor. They are not Commander's Palace or Galatoire's, but they do come close. I would recommend Rey's with the disclaimer that they are a bit on the pricey side.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My colleges from Maryland very much enjoyed Rays. We have consistently gone to another local steak restaurant but will go to Rays going forward.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary and had a very enjoyable evening with a delicious meal and attentive service. The crab stuffed flounder and lobster macaroni and cheese were outstanding. We were provided a complimentary celebratory dessert along with a long stemmed rose. Would highly recommend the bananas foster as a delicious, special dessert made table side. Rey, the owner, actually prepared and server our bananas foster and made a point to stop by our table several times. Rey's will probably become our annual anniversary dinner spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Had an excellent dinner for my wife's birthday. Her steak was not quite as done as she requested. My 16 ounce ribeye had at least six ounces of fat. The banana foster was out of sight good. All staff were outstanding and the total experience was very good. We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Rey's service was impeccable! We arrived 30 minutes early hoping to be seated. They were able to accommodate us immediately, and our servers were very friendly and attentive. The meal was delicious and perfectly presented. I would recommend Rey's to everyone!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Drinks in the Voodoo Lounge were great, services was spectacular, food was real good, but I have had higher quality steak.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food was excellent and service amazing. Scott was a great assist to your restaurant. The food selection was great and we will definitely recommend and return here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We always enjoy Reys. This last dinner was for our anniversary, and I am always confident the staff will do an outstanding job.
AJF

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We went to Rey's for our Anniversary. The service, food, and atmosphere were all very good. Rey personally came by our table to congratulate us. Our server went out of her way to be friendly and helpful, but did not hover. I strongly recommend for all fine dining occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was wonderful. The owner came to our table and thanked us for dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Usually a great experience, but the severice tonight was spotty and food average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 22, 2017

As always, Rey's has wonderful food, excellent service, and a romantic atmosphere! The NY steak is THE best in the Triangle and the service is impeccable. Rey's is our pick for that special occasion!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

An excellent dining experience. Friendly, experienced and knowledgeable waitstaff. Everything from appetizers to dessert are experty prepared and presented.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We're always impressed with the service and quality of food when we make it to Rey's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very nice, wish we weren't on a time limit to pick the kids up, would have liked to have an after dinner drink or two in the Voodoo Lounge.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Exceeded my expectations the staff was friendly and prompt
the food came out in a very timely manner
the steaks were perfectly cooked

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very good food. Excellent service. Loved that they do Cherries Jubilee and Bananas Foster. We had steaks and lobster....I'd give them 4 out of 5 stars. I have had better Bananas Foster....a 3.5 star out of 5.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Polished, attentive service starting from the host desk through final good-byes. We were celebrating a special occasion, and our meal was coursed perfectly. Never rushed, allowing us to relax and enjoy at our own pace. Atmosphere was elegant but comfortable. Solid dining experience. Will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Good food, good service, good price. We k ow what we're getting when we go to Rey's.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great Service and food. Formal waiter attire makes you feel pampered and special for the night. Crab cakes, asparagus, homemade blue cheese on the wedge and crab stuffed filet were the best. Yes, we like crab.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I had a hankering for lamb chops with mint jelly. A google search lead me to Rey's website and I had recently heard a radio commercial referencing several local accolades the restaurant has received. Boy were they right, I cannot believe I had not heard of this place before! Food was outstanding, Rey himself frequently checked on our table (just my wife and I) and he even makes the table side Banana's Foster dessert!! Wait staff was very attentive and definitely know their wines, our waiter recommended a fabulous Pinot Noir which was very reasonably priced when he could have only suggested really expensive ones instead. It's definitely not a cheap place but somewhere you have got to try, maybe for a special occasion or date night when you have a sitter. We've been in Raleigh for two years and tried all of the big name spots, this was by far the best we have experienced!!

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Rey's is one of the premier restaurants in the area. Their specialty, steaks, are amazing and their chops, chicken and other selections are outstanding, too. The side dishes are as much of an attraction as the main dishes. The service is always impeccable. If you want a true fine dining experience from start to finish, to to Rey's.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Wonderful birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Everything about this restaurant is outstanding; the food, service and ambiance. They make you feel special. The owner is usually in the dining room engaging with customers. To me, that shows the special care he takes for his customers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant for dinner, and then more frequently I have gone the more I have enjoyed it. The staff and service or top-notch. And the food is ample and especially good. Rey stops by most evenings to be sure things are going well. I wouldn't Reckitt mended for small kids, but for any adult who wants a good time and good food, this is your place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great food and awesome service what more can I say!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great experience for a birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

This is my favorite upscale restaurant in this area. The staff is phenomenal in taking care of every need and any special requests. The food is superb. I have eaten many different items and everything is cooked perfectly and is delicious. Rey is almost always at the restaurant always comes around to greet his guests and truly makes you feel like a friend, not just a customer. Make sure to save room for desert, because they are unbelievable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

If you haven't been lately you'll be happy with the new décor. Everything from paint to upholstery has given the restaurant a fresh feel. Of course the food and service is always consistently good. Although it was very busy last Saturday night, the food nor the service was compromised. Rey, Christina and staff did an amazing job!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I ordered the 10oz fillet mignon medium rare, which was brought to the table only warm, with little to no char and unremarkable flavor. Only the part in contact with the plate was hot. Rey, the owner, offered in a somewhat snarky manner to "char it in the oven" for me, but no good could have come of that if this is his normal cooking style. The bleu cheese lettuce wedge had a slightly "off" taste. The creme brulee seemed like it was premade and pulled from the fridge--cold and dense, not light with a fresh, warm caramelized top as it should be. Not up to par with Sullivan's or Ruth's Chris other than their pricing. Last visit was 10 years ago and not much has changed--I doubt I'll be back a third time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Absolutely amazing. My mom enjoyed every second. Thank you so much

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Overall food was delicious, the wine was great, cocktails were handcrafted and very tasty. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was nice. A little noisy but understandable for a busy Friday night.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We love Rey's. The food is delicious, and they aren't happy unless they get it right for you. This is our restaurant of choice now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

For our first time there we were pleasantly surprised! Decor was lovely and our server Jason was amazing! He was knowledgeable, personable and seemed to go the extra mile. Rey was walking around making Bananas Foster and Cherries jubilee. He even stopped by our table to say hello and make sure we were good to go! I can't wait to come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food was wonderful but the family style asparagus only had six spears. There should be more than that for 7.00 and family style.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We made reservations at Rey's for our anniversary at the recommendation of a friend. The eye pleasing presentation of the food and the unexpected blend of flavors made our experience delightful. The wait staff was knowledgeable and very attentive. We have already recommended this restaurant to friends and look forward to dining there again very soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent experience.. Rey comes to every table to c that you are satisfied!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent food and service! Great for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.