About Rey's

1130 Buck Jones Road
Raleigh, NC 27606
View Larger Map

Rey's is an upscale restaurant featuring great food & exceptional service with a French Quarter flare. The comfortable ambience & affordable prices are sure to please.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 380-0122

Website:
http://www.reysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Rey's will customize & accommodate your catering needs. Please call (919) 380-0122 for details.

Parking Details:
Rey's offers a large private lot with over 100 parking spaces.

Executive Chef:
Jerry St. Andrews

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jumbo Lump Crabmeat Cocktail - Rey's, Raleigh, NC
  • Oscar Beef Torenados - Rey's, Raleigh, NC

Report a photo problem

Jumbo Lump Crabmeat Cocktail - Rey's, Raleigh, NC
Oscar Beef Torenados - Rey's, Raleigh, NC

Rey's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for a Date (54)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
See All
Romantic (43)
Business Meals (41)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Private Room (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Cozy (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Casual (11)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Seasonal (6)
Fun (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Family Style (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Fireplace (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Music (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Dancing (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1490 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always OUTSTANDING AND VERY FRIENDLY FOL ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Always OUTSTANDING AND VERY FRIENDLY FOLKS. Love the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Great food. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful dining experience. Great food. Great service. Can't miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my wife here for our anniversary. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I took my wife here for our anniversary. The food was great and Mr. Rey was always walking around interacting with the customers. Not many restaurant owners do that. He even made the banana's foster for the table next to us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our first time at Rey's. The ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We enjoyed our first time at Rey's. The drinks, service , and food were all very good. Nice place for the occasional upscale dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant decor is dated. Our stea ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The restaurant decor is dated. Our steaks were over cooked. I'd much rather pay a little more and go to Ruth's Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Wonderful atmosphere, attentive service, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, attentive service, good food!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food for a special occasion. Was d ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food for a special occasion. Was disappointed that they did not put any attention to my wife's birthday (the special occasion) . maybe they were to busy since it was also New Years Eve,

All in all a bit pricey for what we got.

8 out of 10.

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Reyes never disappoints my wife and i. T ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Reyes never disappoints my wife and i. The food is well presented, and the menu is diverse. We always ask for Jim as our server. He is the best

Tags: , Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've gone to the typical higher end ste ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We've gone to the typical higher end steak/American food places in Raleigh (Angus Barn, Ruths C, Second Empire, and decided to try Rey's last night for New Years. To summarize , it was a great meal...super service, quiet dining room, excellent food and everything on time. It's easy to tell that service is of key importance at Rey's. There's a constant flow of wait staff observing (but not interrupting) the progress of the meal at all times. Very impressive.

The only reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 for food, is that my Med Filet Mignon was actually medium rare to rare. Given the disruption that returning an item has on a meal for two, I went with it, but it was certainly not my order.

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the evening, and will certainly be back... both for an evening out as well as for business guests.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal!! We had the bone-in ribeye, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great meal!! We had the bone-in ribeye, lobster mac and cheese, sautéed mushrooms and cream corn and loved all of it! Had the bread pudding for dessert which was just ok (will try different dessert next time). Service was also great and was impressed that owner Rey was visible and very involved including seating, greeting diners and preparing the occasional table side dessert.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance at Rey's is wonderful. Tha ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The ambiance at Rey's is wonderful. That being said, I felt our New Year's dinner was good, but the brusque manner of our server was off-putting, the food is delicious, but the presentation on the small plates needs an update. With the prices, ($27.00 for about a 5 0z. serving of salmon, which was served with nothing, other than the sauce) I feel it would seem behoove Rey's to figure out a way to make this look a little more appealing. That being said, the sides are shareable and do allow you to customize your dinner. It also allows Rey's to charge $8.00 for a bit of sauteed spinach.

However, had our service been as gracious as one would hope, I would not complain. But this is our second visit where our server has been not of the caliber one would expect at such a lovely restaurant. The young man who waited on us this time was extremely brusque to the point of rudeness. I only knew there were Chef's special features, after overhearing another waiter offer them at the next table, after we had ordered. It is possible that it was just his speech pattern, but it was pretty disconcerting to be spoken to in such a rapid, abrupt manner during any interaction.

We really love the ambiance at Rey's, but I believe this will be our last time there.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

This was second and last time dining at ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was second and last time dining at Rey's. The food was average at most. The few things that were turn offs were the horrible bread that is the obligatory "bread basket", and wasn't more than a large crouton. The broccoli side was nothing more than over steamed florets with zero seasoning. While cooked properly, the last lamb was underwhelming and nothing special. The service attempt was admirable, but there is a huge disconnect between the server and kitchen as all three menu modifications were missed. On a positive note: my husband's steak was deliscious and the wines by the glass are pretty good. Rey's needs to step it up considering the quality of steakhouses that are close by. We were very disappointed in our casual stop in, for a $200 meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Great food and service. We go to Rey's o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service. We go to Rey's on special occasions, like our 44th wedding anniversary which we were celebrating. They gave us complementary steamed pudding which was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were in town visiting family and want ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were in town visiting family and wanted a good place for a conversation and good food. The variety on the menu allowed us all to get something we wanted and the gumbo helped fulfill my taste for something a little spicy and it was very good. Everything think we ordered was great and the service was great too.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Rey's to celebrate our 25th a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We went to Rey's to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We both were very pleased with the setting, ambiance, food, service -- everything was great! I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a very nice restaurant. Great f ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is a very nice restaurant. Great for special occasions. You will be treated like royalty. Service is great, food is delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, as usual. When I want great stea ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great, as usual. When I want great steak, this is where I come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Service was Impeccable, and Food was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The Service was Impeccable, and Food was Excellent! It was a great place to eat for my birthday. Try the Chocolate Martini. :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Private Room, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Service was great. Woul ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent food. Service was great. Would return. Little pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

As usual, Jason provided outstanding ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

As usual, Jason provided outstanding service. He is worth whatever he is paid and one of the many reason we return. The food was outstanding especially the chicken picatta which received great reviews from our first time guest. Finally, the banana's fosters even without Rey preparing continues to be the highlight for my wife.

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Cozy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

A GREAT 54th anniversary. Rey's is perf ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A GREAT 54th anniversary. Rey's is perfect for any "special" occasion. Thank you all!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing experience... steak was se ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Disappointing experience... steak was sent back to kitchen two times because it was overcooked, well-done when ordered rare. I was hoping for a nice dinner with my wife. Instead we both ate at our dinners at opposite times. Only two other tables with guests in the restaurant. Excellent waitress, but an overpriced meal that did not meet or exceed expectations. Next time I plan to head directly to Bin 54!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

I just love this place! Great food - gr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I just love this place! Great food - great service - the staff is awesome - always eager to assist and ready with the next drink or offer whatever - great customer service - never leaving you waving for waiter or bartender - Will continue to come back with clients, friends and family.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, , Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and outstanding service. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent food and outstanding service. We will certainly come back again soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant - Impeccable in service ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great restaurant - Impeccable in service and food. Noise level was a tad loud but was resaturant was busy. Would definitely recommend this for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints!! Wait staff is wonde ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Never disappoints!! Wait staff is wonderful, extremely professional (particularly Jim). Just great!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment you walk in you feel lik ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

From the moment you walk in you feel like a movie star. The door is open for you, your coats are put in the coat room, there is a group of waiter/waitresses to help you. Very knowledgeable about the menu, the owner Me Rey hues to every table and is very interested in everything you want to say. We were not rushed every course of the meal was set perfectly and will wait for you to be fine. The good was exquisite. We were there for almost three hours enjoying every second. Ohhh the valet was very thoughtful made sure the care inside was warm. It was a very cold night in the high 20s. It is expensive but is worth it. We already made plans to go back next month.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & service always good. Nice touch ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food & service always good. Nice touch when Rey (owner) stops by the table to say hello.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always, Rey's has never di ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent as always, Rey's has never disappointed .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Private Room, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service, menu, atmosphere, and most ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The service, menu, atmosphere, and most of all, the choices and spectacular food and preperation. One of the Best Dining Experiences I have enjoyed in my 67 years.

Well Done,

Rey and his Staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Were seated 50 minutes after our reserva ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Were seated 50 minutes after our reservation. They also seated 3 tables minutes apart on our waiter so it took awhile to get drinks. Waiter was good and knew we were tired and hungry. Food was good and server quickly, but it was 9.45.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome place to eat. Everything was gre ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Awesome place to eat. Everything was great. I recommended your place to some friends and they absolutely loved it. Staff was excellent. My favorite place to eat.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my our anniversary we were well t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It was my our anniversary we were well taking care of by the wait staff and food was delicious! Great experience and we will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service is impeccable. The food is ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The service is impeccable. The food is phenomenal. The entire experience is fantastic. I highly recommend Rey's for any occasion!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT AS ALWAYS. REY ADDS A PERSONA ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 6, 2016

EXCELLENT AS ALWAYS. REY ADDS A PERSONAL TOUCH TO EVERY VISIT. HE STAFF IS PROFESSIONAL ATTENTIVR AND ENGAGING. YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, , Fireplace, Bar Seating, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time and it was great. I will visi ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

First time and it was great. I will visit again. The Grouper with Crab was very delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first; but certainly not las ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This was my first; but certainly not last, visit to Rey's. I made reservation and upon arrival was immediately ushered to my table. Jason; our waiter, was one of the highlights and blessings of the evenings, followed by a array of food that was extremely satisfying.

It was the best birthday dining experience that I've had since moving to the area in August 2005 and I will be making it my prime choice for fine dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The setting was amazing and the service ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The setting was amazing and the service was second to none. We were celebrating my wife's birthday and everything was great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Best kept secret in the Triangle! Beaut ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Best kept secret in the Triangle! Beautiful decor, romantic ambiance, excellent wait staff and food that rivals any restaurant around. Our new favorite place for that special date or occasion! Highly Recommended !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife did an appreciation dinner for m ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My wife did an appreciation dinner for me and it was great! The food was great and the waiter Adam suggested some things to us that turned out great also! Overall we had a great experience and will be back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.