About Rey's

1130 Buck Jones Road
Raleigh, NC 27606
View Larger Map

Rey's is an upscale restaurant featuring great food & exceptional service with a French Quarter flare. The comfortable ambience & affordable prices are sure to please.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 380-0122

Website:
http://www.reysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Rey's will customize & accommodate your catering needs. Please call (919) 380-0122 for details.

Parking Details:
Rey's offers a large private lot with over 100 parking spaces.

Executive Chef:
Jerry St. Andrews

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rey's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Raleigh
3 More
Best Ambiance
Raleigh
Romantic
Raleigh
Special Occasion
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

special occasion (126)
romantic (111)
good for groups (55)
See All
notable wine list (51)
fit for foodies (44)
neighborhood gem (32)
vibrant bar scene (13)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (3)
 (3)
great for brunch (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service! Wonderful pl ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and service! Wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary. Looking forward to returning soon!

food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Not a fan

Dined on May 21, 2016

This place has the potential to be a really great place. However, the food fell way short of my expectations for a steak house. We both had the ribeye steaks. Unfortunately the steaks were a very poor cut, somewhat tough, and tasted as if they were previously frozen and thawed in the microwave. Additionally the sides were somewhat blan particularly for a restaurant with a New Orleans theme. But the service was great and the bar drinks were fantastic. We will probably return for a seat at the bar and a cocktail or two, but not for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! 30th anniversary date night. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent! 30th anniversary date night. Filet "cut like butta ", asparagus and mashed potatoes where excellent and the chocolate raspberry truffle cake melted in your mouth! And we could hear each other without shouting over noise (getting more important at our "age" ;-))

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Server

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic server Alison. Great job and very friendly!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been regular customer's at Rey's ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We have been regular customer's at Rey's for several years now and they never disappoint. The food, atmosphere and service is excellent. You are made to feel welcome as soon as you walk in the door and on every occasion Rey has come and checked up on us personally. One of the things we like most about Rey's is the consistency in food and service quality. We have been there when they are very busy and we have been there when they were slow but our experience has always been the same. Excellent! Rey and his staff have truly mastered the art of hospitality, we tip our hats to you.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had heard of Rey's for many years but ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We had heard of Rey's for many years but never visited. We made a last minute reservation to celebrate our anniversary, taking our 2 adult and 1 teenaged children. The food did not disappoint. Everything was cooked wonderfully and it was all delicious. There was a wide enough variety on the menu so that there was something for everybody. It is pricey, but great quality. I had a steak and it wasn't the best steak I had ever had ( we have eaten at a lot of top steakhouses) but would be in my top five. I will say that the side dishes are all served family style and aren't as large as we expected. We ordered 3 different sides for our table and the waiter agreed with that quantity. While the actual quantity of food total was adequate, the sides are fairly small portions, so for 5 people to each have some of each is tough. Drinks were great, wine selection pretty good. We were there on a weeknight so it was somewhat empty and quiet, but the atmosphere isn't very romantic. The main dining room is fairly large and open. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been to Rey's on multiple occasi ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We have been to Rey's on multiple occasions and have always found the food and service to be exemplary. This was once again the case. I had previously noted to my wife that the entire experience reminded me of the best restaurants in New Orleans; she had the opportunity to go to NOLA with me earlier this year and now understands what I was talking about.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food ,excellent atmosphere ,good d ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food ,excellent atmosphere ,good drinks ,nice place if you want something special or you trying to make a good impression

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been twice now and they have not ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We have been twice now and they have not seen the last of us. Great place to eat and visit. You never feel harried. The staff is the best in giving great service. Can't wait to return even tho it is over an hour drive.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment you walked in the door i ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

From the moment you walked in the door it was absolutely fabulous. We dine here a few times a year and this experience was one of the best that we've ever had. We ordered multiple items on the menu the best thing by far I've ever had was the prime rib steak oh my God it's delicious. Will definitely be coming back as well as recommended this restaurants to our friends and family thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't Wait to Return

Dined on May 8, 2016

Thanks to Open Table I found this gem when looking for a special place for Mother's Day. We can't wait to go back and bring friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A classic, in the very best sense.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Hard to think of a restaurant that makes you feel more welcome. Outstanding service. Very pleasant and peaceful atmosphere. Ella Fitzgerald playing in the background. The seared tuna was exceptional. Everyone was very happy. Love Rey's!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular as always

Dined on May 7, 2016

Nothing better than Rey's for a wedding anniversary dinner. The food was excellent, as always, the service was the finest in the area (ask for David, you will not be disappointed!) The only "not superb" aspect was the place was packed (commencement and mother's day weekend); great for the restaurant, not so great for a romantic anniversary dinner. No complaints, Rey came around said hello, paid his respects to my wife and I, thanked us for coming in and congratulated us on our anniversary. The filet, one of the finest in town; the grouper, the finest in town; potatoes ala awesome, and of course the finest of finest creme bruleé money can buy; possibly the finest meal in town. Keep up the good work Rey's, you know how to make a memorable evening!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As always food and service were exceptio ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

As always food and service were exceptional. New lobster Mac side dish Lucky enough to have David again for our server. Feels like going home he is wonderful. Love when Rey Pop's over great to see him and chat. My Dad gets the rack of lamb and raves about it. Steak is always done perfectly. Great place to dine It is our go to place to celebrate

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great birthday venue

Dined on May 7, 2016

The whole family enjoyed the experience. Wonderful waiting staff, very considerate for special dietary needs and they are able to accommodate children pretty well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rey never disappoints.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Love the attentive service and consistent preparation of food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Not sure what happened.

Dined on April 29, 2016

We've been to Rey's 12-15 times over the last 4 years. Special occasions, date nights etc. It has consistently been terrific. I've told many friends and co-workers that this place has the best steak in Raleigh. Since our last visit about 6 months had passed. The apps I've never been crazy about. Heavy on the seafood and not much else. However, this is fine because the main course has always been tremendous. Went on a weekend night, during what would be a rush and the place was at about 20% capacity. That was a little puzzling. Drinks were on point to start with, Rey's Martini's are always top notch. My second and third (yes third it was a special occasion) contained well liquors and not top shelf as was originally ordered. I know this for a fact, without question. The taste was undeniable. I didn't bother mentioning this to the staff. The Salmon was good. Excellent even. The filet was a little undercooked (but I'm ok with that) and was missing that sizzle that was/is Rey's trademark... butter drenched over the cut on a plate that is about 150 degrees. That was a letdown. The sides were not good at all. The veggie medley appears to have been downgraded to a stirfry pre made mixture and the creamed spinach was similar. Bananas foster was incredible as always, so was our server. Overall, it was a little shady to me that the liquor was swapped out for cheap stuff, and the sub par sides really dampened the meal. Sending things back would have put even more of a dampening on the evening especially if we turn out to be that couple that is sending drinks and sides and steaks back all in one sitting. I guess its possible that all of those things were a coincidence though, but very unlikely.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Personalized dining.

Dined on April 25, 2016

If you are celebrating a special occasion, Rey's is the place to do it. We were celebrating our anniversary and Rey and his staff were very attentive made sure everything went smoothly.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3

Dinner was delicious until the end. Afte ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Dinner was delicious until the end. After proving our card to pay for the meal the server returned to let us know that they mistakenly charged another tables almost $400 meal to our card & let us know that they could not refund it because the swipe resulted in a bank hold. They then asked for another form of payment for our meal so my debit card had an almost $400 hold & I had to give another card to pay for the meal. I got an apology but that was it, no free dessert, no coupon for our next visit but we left with over $500 worth of holds on our cards for an $100 meal. Our meal was on a Saturday night & the funds were not returned to my bank account until Thursday. I understand mistakes happen but Rey's customer service really missed the mark on this one.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It's okay. Let me be completely honest...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Costly based on portion size, & the food was good but not fantastic. "Fantastic" is expected from us when we go to such pricey places. This is the first place that did not deliver when it comes to the food. They also don't have very many entree options. Service was reallyy greatttt though, but the place could use a bit of updating.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The ribeye I had was great and the salmo ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The ribeye I had was great and the salmon special my wife had was spectacular. The cherries jubilee was fun for desert.

food5
ambience5
service5

The comfortable ambiance was both relaxi ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

The comfortable ambiance was both relaxing and enjoyable. We enjoyed the top quality ingredients that were professionally prepared. Well done guys!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

High quality food and service

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

My husband and I had our 16th wedding anniversary dinner at Rey's on April 15. My husband ordered the special bone-in ribeye, cooked Pittsburgh style, medium rare. It was excellent, but was more rare than medium rare. I had the rack of lamb. It was seasoned very well but had an awful lot of fat. Side dishes were the Lyonnaise Potatoes and Green Beans. Both were excellent. The service was also outstanding. Lots of people around us ordered flaming deserts which was very entertaining to watch. Atmosphere is very nice for romantic dinner: low lighting and quiet. They have at least two large private dining areas and I've been to Rey's twice before for large corporate functions in the French Quarter room. Outstanding!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night out

Dined on April 14, 2016

I go to Rey's several times per year and admittedly it is a favorite. I always have a good meal and a great time. I don't know what was different this trip but I believe the filet Oscar was the best steak I have ever had. The bananas Foster was awesome too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dining Experience

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

Superb food, professional, service and pleasing atmosphere attentive. A top five triangle restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Needs updating.

Dined on April 8, 2016

The food was excellent but the services was a little slow. The facilities are getting dated, especially the main dining room. Our booth seating was clean but in need of a cleaning to remove marks and stains. OK for a chain restaurant but this is an upscale restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Excellent Service

Dined on April 8, 2016

If you are looking for great food and excellent service, this is the place for you! Rey's never disappoints! We are greeted with smiling faces and treated like "royalty" every time we visit! The kind, courteous staff are exceptional and the food is extraordinary (haven't tasted anything yet that we haven't liked!) We do have to give a "shoutout" to our FAVORITE servicer Matthew!!!! Keep up the excellent work!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Service was fantastic

Dined on April 2, 2016

Allison was our waitress and was so much fun!! The atmosphere there is a bit dated, and dark. But Allison's wit and humor lightened it up! Food was outstanding.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service from start to ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Excellent food and service from start to finish

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 19, 2016

We chose Rey's since the food is always excellent and since they handle kids so well. We had a number of other high end options but the accommodation of kids was the big factor. We were celebrating a grandmother's birth, so not have the 2- and 7-year olds there was not acceptable. If I had one complaint it is that with a high end restaurant that is making great margin on wines, cocktails, etc. I would prefer a small side dish served with an entree rather than everything being ala carte.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Favorite place

Dined on March 12, 2016

I've been going to Rey's since it was opened and it's always been great! The food, service, ambiance are perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We will be back

Dined on March 12, 2016

Dined at Rey's for the first time 3-12-16 and really enjoyed it. Our reservation was for 6:30 pm but we arrived about 6:10 and got seated immediately. We definitely did not want to dine with small children close by and were informed they generally seat them in a certain area of the restaurant which we were no where close to. I am glad the restaurant realizes this about some patrons and seats the families with small children seperately if possible. My husband and I started off with the crab cake appetizer and they were very good 99% lump crab very minimal filler. I had the warm bacon and spinach salad which was good but not great. I would have liked a little more flavor in the dressing itself. My husband had the wedge and said the blue cheese was good but not great. Our main course was the 8 oz Filet Mignon, med-rare, with Au'Gratin potatoes. My husband had the 2-4 oz Tournedos, medium, and shrimp with wilted spinach and the Lobster Mac n' Cheese. My steak was cooked perfectly and was so very tasty! My husbands Tornedos were a bit over cooked but still very tasty. The sides were all really good but OMG the Lobster Mac'n Cheese was totally killer! I am not a mac'n cheese fan but this stuff is AMAZING! I love that they used Gemelli or Fusilli pasta and it really made a difference for me. The seasoning was perfect, I highly recommend this dish. For dessert we shared a Creme Brulee and French Press Coffee. The Brulee was probably the best I've ever had and that is saying a lot because I can be a Creme Brulee snob, just being honest. The one thing that would have made the end of the meal better was if they had Chantilly Cream to serve with the coffee, like they do at Flemming's. Other than that it was a really nice experience and we will go back. I have given a 4 because a 4.5 is not possible. With the Tournedos being a bit over cooked and not having Chantilly cream I did not give a 5. Oh! we ordered a beer and Martini and the total for the meal was $163 and change.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to have a nice meal. Best Ribeye!

Dined on March 11, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful meal at Rey's. I had a Ribeye steak that was perfect. The meat melted in my mouth like butter. I can cook a pretty good steak on my own, but the Ribeye from Rey's was out of this world. The service was fantastic. We really enjoyed our Waitress and felt like the quality of the service matched the quality of the food. Definitely come here for your nice dinners, your date nights or anything where celebrating is in order.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointment

Dined on March 5, 2016

onion soup was average...veal marsala had no taste of marsala at all....poor showing for the money

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first visit

Dined on March 1, 2016

It was nice and quiet at first but then other customers came in and they tended to sit everyone on the same corner of the restaurant so it became loud. Hearing many conversations going on was not my idea of a nice quiet dinner. The food was good and the service was nice as well. The desserts were wonderful, and we ate too much. A different server did come to bring us our check but then rang our bill up for another tables bill. Honest mistake but never gave us a receipt showing the charges were cancelled. As of today it's still showing pending on our credit card statement. The restaurant was nice although a bit dated inside but I would try them again because the steaks were wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Second Review ... Different Experience

Dined on February 28, 2016

Recently I wrote a rave review of Rey's that indicated it reminded me of 5-stars in Charleston (which it totally did--I think our server was Scotty? TOTALLY 5-star!). Last Saturday, my husband and I hosted 2 international co-workers of his, and instead of a booth in the main dining area, we were at a table in the smaller room between the bar and the main dining room, mostly, there was no Scotty (if that was indeed his name). -The food was as phenomenal as the first time -The small room was VERY loud--if you're going with someone who HATES that make a reservation in the main dining room -Our waitress was very sweet but spoke VERY softly and did not enunciate or speak up at all in the loud room, even after we indicated our guests were international -When we ordered our first bottle of wine ... she struggled and ripped and tore and dug around the foil for what was a very uncomfortable and awkward amount of time. When she finally accessed the cork, that was bad too-- she finally walked right up to the table, placed the wine bottle on it, and used the table for leverage to insert the wine key. It was everything I could do to remain seated and not take the wine away from her to do it myself. The "pop" from the cork was equally uncontrolled. Again, she was VERY sweet, but IMHO there's no reason for that level of inability to open wine in a restaurant that basically has all the makings of a 5-star and has a FANTASTIC (and not absurdly marked up) wine list ... we happened to be drinking very inexpensive wine (our guests wanted wine but were not enthusiasts) but if I had ordered a bottle of Jordan or Silver Oak, or Stag's Leap I would have headed straight for the owner, who seems every present to address such issues ... training should ensure wait staff have reasonable facility with wine bottles ... and until they do, someone who can handle it should take care of that at the table. Still love the restaurant ... just a little less enthusiastically now.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Disappointed

Dined on February 26, 2016

We had considered for a while to go to Rey's and finally decided our Anniversary would be a good time. Somewhat disappointed overall. We were expecting more of a Creole flavor but really saw none. On the negative side the asparagus was cold and the beef medallions were luke warm. On the positive side the potatoes au graten were excellent and the grouper was excellent as well as the bread pudding. The wine selection is superb and the beer selection was OK. We may go back at some point but not in the near future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rey's is outstanding

Dined on February 21, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at Rey's twice and both times were great experiences. The food is superb. We've had seafood and steaks and both have been outstanding. The steaks in particular are excellent cuts, seasoned and prepared perfectly. The Bananas Foster is a real treat. The service has been excellent - very friendly and extremely attentive. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Birthday Dinner!

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Amazing Filet! Dessert and after dinner rey's coffee and ports were great! Fantastic service!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

At Least I liked the wine...

Dined on February 19, 2016

We chose to go here last week because a friend recommended it and we live 3 minutes away. The food was just "ok." I ordered the 8 oz filet (which looked more like 4) and my husband ordered the grouper Lafayette. We had creamed spinach and creamed corn as sides, and we had the bread pudding for dessert. The highlight of my night was my wine. I love Moscato, and theirs didn't disappoint. It was exceptional. My husband enjoyed his meal, while mine was just...meh. My steak was overdone on the outside and under done on the inside (I ordered it medium- well.) We ended up spending over $130 (including tip) on that night. But I was completely offended by the owner going from table to table greeting guests and asking them how their meal was and ours was skipped. I try not to attribute everything to race, but couldn't fathom any other reason he wasn't interested in OUR dining experience. Overall, I would not recommend and would not return. We will stick to Sullivan's and Ruth's Chris for fine dining where we are appreciated.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.