About Rey's

1130 Buck Jones Road
Raleigh, NC 27606
View Larger Map

Rey's is an upscale restaurant featuring great food & exceptional service with a French Quarter flare. The comfortable ambience & affordable prices are sure to please.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 380-0122

Website:
http://www.reysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Rey's will customize & accommodate your catering needs. Please call (919) 380-0122 for details.

Parking Details:
Rey's offers a large private lot with over 100 parking spaces.

Executive Chef:
Jerry St. Andrews

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rey's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (89)
Special Occasion (88)
Romantic (78)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Business Meals (54)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Worth the Drive (36)
Private Room (35)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Groups (25)
Cozy (23)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Authentic (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Casual (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Family Style (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Healthy (7)
Fun (7)
Fireplace (6)
Seasonal (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1562 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We went for a belated Valentine's with friends. As usual, impeccable service, delicious food, lovely atmosphere. Pricey - this is a nice place for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We love everything about Rey's! The food and the wait staff are superb, love the bar area.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Our party of 4 was extremely pleased with the food and service. Overall, I highly recommend Reyes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food and service similar to Ruth Chris but not quite as good. Ambiance ok, was touted as a "romantic" place...not really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We came to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary with friends, and we had a wonderful evening! Our waiter (Matt) was personable, engaging and very helpful with the wine list and menu. The food was exceptionally good and the chef was right on!

We are already planning our second celebration in March! Thanks for the opportunity to give feedback!

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Reliably great steaks and multiple options. Do yourself a favor and avoid the name brand steak houses, go to Rey's!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This place was included in OpenTable's list of top places to dine for Valentine's day and it didn't disappoint. I had the 16oz ribeye while my wife had the salmon. Service was very prompt and professional. The restaurant has a very high-end traditional feel and is a great place to have a romantic dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I took the wife here for Valentine's Day. Neither of us had been before and we both came away extremely impressed. Food was out fast, so quick that our waiter apologized for it coming out so quickly. Great place for dinner date or celebrate special occasion

Tags: Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely amazing experience and food! Would Highly recommend to my friends and family!

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We chose to spend Valentine's Day at Rey's. Though the menu was not the full menu, there were plenty of delicious meals from which to choose. We had a steak and the grouper and they were absolutely delicious. The service was well-timed and our server, Scott, was extremely helpful as we made our selections. We will definitely return for our next special event.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I chose Rey's for valentines day. The experience, the service, the quality of food was outstanding. I accepted the increase in price due to it being Valentines day. initially that was shocking. When my wife stated "this is nice, thank you ". I paid the check.. with a smile...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day everyone was friendly and welcoming. Food exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fabulous night out !!! Great food !!! Also the waiters are a very polite gracious well mannered .

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always reliable, always great food and service. Rey is one of the best restaurant owners I have ever worked with.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fun, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I both like Rey's as a restaurant to go when celebrating our birthdays, anniversary, and Valentine's day.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Rey's is our place to go for special occasions. This restaurant never disappoints!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This place is always spectacular. The food and the service are reliably great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My second time there, but the first for my fiancé. She was very impressed with the wait staff and the overall décor. We had excellent service from everyone involved. We were able to converse in a normal voice and overall had an excellent experience. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a special place to dine with a loved one.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in the area. Amazing food, great service, nice decor. Rey came by several times to check on how things were and actually made the Bananas Foster himself!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Private Room, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was great. Unfortunately the waiter was fairly slow . The service did not match what I would expect with an expensive meal .

Tags: Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I had a great time. The food was great and I recommend this restaurant to everyone I know. I will be going back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was wonderful and the service and ambiance was excellent. This was the second time eating there and I was very impressed both times. I will definitely be back again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We visited Rey's for a special occasion and the overall experience was exceptional. We were seated within 5 minutes of our reservation time and greeted by our server almost immediately. He was very friendly and professional and made recommendations for special items to try. The food was outstanding and the cocktails were delicious. Definitely worth visiting.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything I put in my mouth was absolutely perfect. I can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was GREAT! My wife ordered GREAT but not me. Didn't like the pork chops at all ( no flavor). The experience was Great though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our server was amazing and that was the best part of dinner. All of the food had zero flavor including the bread pudding for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our first time eating at Rey's. The service was excellent! The food was worth our two hour drive. It was a nice touch for the owner to come by and make sure our meals met our expectations. We will definitely dine at Rey's again!!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This place is amazing, the food is excellent and service is outstanding. The wine list is extensive and very good....

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was my first time to Rey's and it was fantastic! For starters we had the ahi tuna and it was perfect. Delish!! For our entrees, I had the surf and turf (lobster and filet) and my husband had the strip. Both were cooked just right but that lobster was...To...Die...For!! So good and not rubbery at all and seasoned to perfection-Not overdone but brought out the true flavor of the lobster and the lemon and melted butter topped it right off. Now, for dessert I chose the creme brulee and my husband had the bread pudding. (I don't share dessert 😬) That brulee had me wanting to lick the bowl! So good! So simple and elegant and a perfect way to end our meal. The husband was not a huge fan of the bread pudding ( once you've had Emeril's bread pudding in NOLA it is hard to beat). The lighting could have been a little less bright, it was a little too cold for my liking in the dining room, and our Waiter did not have the absolute best personality but everything else made up for it. Would go again!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Rey's has an old school feel to it. The dining room is a bit dated, but the tables are well spaced and you aren't sitting on top of your neighbors like in many modern restaurants. The food was very good overall. The fried oysters were delicious but had too much aioli on them. Our first steaks were cooked poorly. One (ordered medium rare) was well done. The other (ordered medium) was very rare. But the saving grace of this restaurant is the service. The steaks were taken back and we received perfectly cooked steaks a few minutes later. Both our server and Rey himself could not have been more helpful or gracious. We will most definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The turtle soup and grouper were exceptionally good. Veal Marsala was good but not the best choice. Service was very good and Ray makes you feel very welcome. The old wood ambiance is elegant. It was a little difficult to locate but worth the search. Pricing was moderate to high depending on your selections.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was a beautiful place to eat. The wait staff very good. My food was not. The sides where great but my steak... oh my steak was not. I order a 22 oz bone in Ribeye. Now there is no way you can convince me that that steak had been aged. I have truly had a select grade steak that was better than the one served. I ordered my steak medium well it came more like medium rare to rare. I was asked how my steak was and I finally gave in and told the staff I was not happy. They were great at trying to fix my issue. I ended up eating a butterflied piece of steak which was quite tasty and tender. A smaller portion of beef. Now I have friends that will swear by the fact that Rey's makes a great steak described as tender enough to cut with a fork and I believe them so I must go back to Rey's and try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Early Valentine's Day

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Just a great meal and great experience! You all have a great menu and great ambiance. Thank you for providing a first rate time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good food, good service but it needs more of an atmosphere and domething more creative to draw people in. I was excited about how well the website looked when I found it but was slightly disappointed when we got inside. It was underwhelming and didnt look much like the photos off the website . I would also suggest a live jazzband; something smooth and low key. I would have a better and a more creative craft cocktail list. The names of all the rainders is tacky and weird, maybe use that idea for something on the kids menu-obviously with no alcohol :)

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 7, 2017

As always, great food and outstanding service. A great place for this special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 7, 2017

As always, the wait staff are wonderful. The food is always hot and good.

Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Rey's was an amazing restaurant. We enjoyed the New Orleans theme on the walls, and the food was fantastic. It was a special occasion so we took our adult children. Everyone loved their food! The lobster bites, sea scallops and crabmeat all tied for top appetizer. The french onion soup was good, but the others were great. The grouper won best supper, although the filet was the big winner with those who do not like seafood. The cheesecake was alright, but I probably would not get it again. The flan, and the bananas foster....I would definitely recommend them! My husband and I are planning on going back for drinks and desserts at the bar with some friends later this week. Nice bar, especially if you can get a couch in front of the fire. The bartender, Jeremy, was very knowledgeable and the drinks were on point.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

So glad that we tried Reys. Very nice place. Staff was extremely friendly and the prices were reasonable. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I was disappointed the service was good, but the food was not what I expected from this type of restaurant. My guest ordered a beer that was warm, the sides are not as described. In my opinion for theses prices Mortons Steak House or Ruth Chris are a better choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

For the high price we expected perfection and it fell short in several ways. Even though we made it clear the reservation was for a combined birthd And anniversary that day, the hostess wanted to seat us at a table wedged between the kitchen door and waiter drink station. The turtle soup, rack of lamb, and bread pudding were excellent. The filet and au gratin potatoes were average. Our waitress was excellent, but the waiter for the adjacent tables was was to load and boisterous which made it less than romantic. Then the temperature kept plunging and my wife had to put on her wrap. The conclusion was a desert that was good, but they didn't offer for free or put a candle in. Even though there were obviously regulars there, we are not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Pricey; no alcohol or dessert and the dinner for two was $98

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Rey's is the finest restaurant in Raleigh. Period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was our first visit to Rey's, and one we won't soon forget. As far as dining goes; IMHO, this is as good as it gets!

The service was exemplary; the wine list and recommendations were great, and the food was spectacular. Four in our group had Filet Mignon, and I had Scottish Salmon. Everyone raved about the food well into the following evening.

Well done, Rey's!!!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A lovely meal during restaurant week. Everyone was very attentive, and food wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We always enjoy Rey's. It is where we usually head for special occasions. The Bananas Foster is to die for. And, so are the scallops!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Amazing food and amazing service. I've wanted to turn Rey's for awhile but never think of it early enough to get a reservation. It lived up to all the hype! Amazing steak, cooked perfectly and SO delicious. Sides were delicious and the dessert (bread pudding) was amazing. The service was top notch. Our server took great care of us but was intrusive. Excellent experience!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The dinner was amazing, we came during restaurant week to try it. The meal was so good and the service the best we've seen in the Raleigh area. This would be a special occasion dinning for us, and we'd be pleased to go back. It's a gen for a romantic night out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.