About Rey's

1130 Buck Jones Road
Raleigh, NC 27606
View Larger Map

Rey's is an upscale restaurant featuring great food & exceptional service with a French Quarter flare. The comfortable ambience & affordable prices are sure to please.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 380-0122

Website:
http://www.reysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Rey's will customize & accommodate your catering needs. Please call (919) 380-0122 for details.

Parking Details:
Rey's offers a large private lot with over 100 parking spaces.

Executive Chef:
Jerry St. Andrews

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jumbo Lump Crabmeat Cocktail
  • Oscar Beef Torenados
Jumbo Lump Crabmeat Cocktail
Oscar Beef Torenados

Rey's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Ambiance
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Romantic
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
6 More
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Raleigh
Best Ambiance
Raleigh
Notable Wine List
Raleigh
Romantic
Raleigh
Special Occasion
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

special occasion (121)
romantic (94)
good for groups (54)
See All
notable wine list (49)
fit for foodies (43)
neighborhood gem (27)
vibrant bar scene (12)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1317 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an absolutely great experience.

Dined 3 days ago

Had an absolutely great experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual. Filet was superb and ba ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great as usual. Filet was superb and bananas foster a barn burner. Recommend both.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rey's may be my new favorite restaurant! ...

Dined 7 days ago

Rey's may be my new favorite restaurant! The service was impeccable and the food was perfect. My friend and I had filet mignon steaks, salad with berries and goat cheese, seared scallops, mixed vegetables, and flaming bananas foster for dessert. Except for the steaks, we tasted all of one another's dishes. That evening and even the next day, we couldn't stop raving about the restaurant. It was one of the best meals I can recall.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The salad could have had a zestier dress ...

Dined 7 days ago

The salad could have had a zestier dressing and lacked ricotta cheese. (Very little given) Good service and excellent steak.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been dining at Reys for over 8 y ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

We have been dining at Reys for over 8 years and have never had a bad meal or bad experience. The food is consistently great, the wait staff excels & Rey truly cares about his clientele. You cannot go wrong in selecting Reys for a fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we want a true dining experience, w ...

Dined 7 days ago

When we want a true dining experience, we go to Rey's, and are always satisfied, both with the food and also with the service. We like it that the pace is unhurried, and the wait people are always gracious. Our salads were chilled and crisp; our steaks sizzling, aromatic, and tender-- absolutely delicious, punctuating the total experience to our pre-meal cocktails. Altogether, a total YUM!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Not sure the turtle soup actually had an ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Not sure the turtle soup actually had any turtle in it. Entrees came out late. Lamb was four chops on a plate - poor presentation - and they were overcooked - medium instead of medium rare as ordered. Wine was overpriced.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food.

Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent service and food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rey's is elegant dining. We love to come ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Rey's is elegant dining. We love to come to Rey's for special occasions. We have been to Rey's many times. Our favorite dessert is the Banana's Foster (serves 2). Rey himself comes to your table and makes in there in front of you.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and outstanding service. ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Delicious food and outstanding service. The medallions with scallops and the grouper with crab meat were perfectly done and served. We each had a salad and they, too, were delicious. We look forward to returning.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, Service and Atmosphere were all wo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food, Service and Atmosphere were all wonderful. It's nice to go where all 3 are working well together.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome as always - food, service! Cele ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Awesome as always - food, service! Celebrating my daughter's HS graduation & Rey put us in a private room. He's is the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for Restaurant Week. It was very ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week. It was very crowded but the Restaurant managed the crowd well; service was timely and courteous,we didn't feel rushed yet the tables were turned very efficiently. food was very good--overall a very pleasant experience!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! Always good! Need I say more. ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Wonderful! Always good! Need I say more. I love Rey's. Every time I eat here the food an service is excellent. Please continue your wonderful traditions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited during Restaurant Week. Food an ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Visited during Restaurant Week. Food and service were great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined there several times and ha ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We have dined there several times and have been happy with every single experience. The food is fantastic and the service is on point. A great place for an intimate dinner. Always looking for a reason to go back.

food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Disappointing Service

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We went to Rey's during Triangle Week fixe price menu. While this is a great opportunity to try new restaurant, we decided to go back to Rey's because it's close to home. While the plates were hot, my salmon was look warm, closer to cold. Weeks before that same salmon was perfect. Then the service, we asked 3 times for bread, got a stupid excuse each time and never got it without any explanation. Is bread a problem at Rey's? The server had a fake smile and tried to make conversation as I was not getting what I want. We didn't not feel we got the same food and service during restaurant week. Rey's is much better than that. Sad. :(.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Went during Restaurant Week (for the first time) and expected the special menu would mean their portions would be smaller, but they were actually generous. All four of us had diffrent entrees, and the food exceeded our expectations. It was a quiet and elegant atmosphere. We can't wait to return to Rey's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Decent experience

Dined on June 10, 2016

My friends and I visited for restaurant week. For my three course meal, I ordered fields green salad, filet mignon with green beans, and raspberry chocolate truffles cake. Salad was great, the steak was a little dry (I ordered medium rare and it was more of a medium), green beans were nothing special, and chocolate truffle cake was decent but too sweet for my liking. Overall, the food was average. But what really made the whole experience was the phenomenal service. Our server, Jim, was extremely friendly and Rey actually came around twice and asked us how we were doing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, service, and atmosphere!

Dined on June 10, 2016

As always, Rey's provides wonderful food, excellent service, and quiet and romantic atmosphere. The best NY strip in the Triangle!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great!

Dined on June 9, 2016

We went for restaurant week. It was the most tender filet I have ever had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful meal,

Dined on June 9, 2016

We love going to Rey's for every special occasion - birthdays, anniversaries, etc. It was especially great this time to go for Restaurant Week and get all the same delicious food for a great price. It's a nice touch to have Rey himself stop by each nite to check on you as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will be back!

Dined on June 9, 2016

I went to Rey's to take advantage of Triangle Restaurant Week. It was delicious. The staff was outstanding. The manager came out and personally greeted every table. The sweet tea was the best I have ever had. I can't wait to go back. I saw many other items on the menu that I can't wait to try.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

2nd visit was a let down

Dined on June 8, 2016

So my boyfriend and I went to Rey's for our 2 year anniversary and to take advantage of the Triangle Restaurant Week pricing. We'd been once before and absolutely loved every aspect of our experience and I just HAD to go back! Unfortunately this time was a complete let down. Our server was subpar. We ordered the same items, aside from how we wanted our steaks cooked, but when the salads came out we each had a different one. We said "hmm honest mistake and we shrugged it off, no biggie!" Next up were the entrees and sides. Nope! That was messed up and we had to correct them on one of the side dishes. Finally it was dessert time and we were so excited to get our cheesecakes. Nope! Only one cheesecake came out with a creme brûlée, which we didn't order, so we had to send that back. Each time an error occurred our waiter wasn't there to see because other waiters brought them out so we couldn't inform him. For a $70+ tab good food AND good service is a must and this was just unacceptable! This really has soured our experience with Rey's.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great meal, nice ambience, service spotty

Dined on June 7, 2016

Our server forgot us after we asked for the bill, we had to wait 10-15 minutes to get it. But we didn't get it from him, we had to flag down another server and request it. Fortunately the other server, a young lady, was attentive to our needs. Our original server saw what was happening and finally came with a second copy of the bill, but it was too late by then. He never apologized for ignoring us and actually made light of it which wasn't appreciated. The food and atmosphere here were great, but our server's omission and inattentiveness put a damper on a nice dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good night

Dined on June 5, 2016

Took my lady here for her birthday dinner. Very friendly. Nice ambience. A little pricey. Food is pretty good. Hit and miss depending on your preferences on the sides but the meat was definitely well seasoned and cooked.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Rey's

Dined on June 4, 2016

I'm so glad I found Rey's. They are a high-end steakhouse along the lines of Ruth's Chris, but with a family touch. The owner (Rey) is always there and always stops by to say hello and make sure everything is wonderful. The food is exquisite, and they can handle special requests like 'a bone-in ribeye done Pittsburgh style except make sure the steak is medium on the inside instead of a true Pittsburgh'. And at the end: bananas foster, prepared tableside, by Rey. Heaven. We go several times a year.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rey's

Dined on May 28, 2016

Rey's never disappoints. Great service & great food. Nice wine list.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Must do if you like great food & impecca ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Must do if you like great food & impeccable service! Wine list to dessert list..5-stars top to bottom Thanks Rey!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service! Wonderful pl ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Excellent food and service! Wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary. Looking forward to returning soon!

food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Not a fan

Dined on May 21, 2016

This place has the potential to be a really great place. However, the food fell way short of my expectations for a steak house. We both had the ribeye steaks. Unfortunately the steaks were a very poor cut, somewhat tough, and tasted as if they were previously frozen and thawed in the microwave. Additionally the sides were somewhat blan particularly for a restaurant with a New Orleans theme. But the service was great and the bar drinks were fantastic. We will probably return for a seat at the bar and a cocktail or two, but not for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! 30th anniversary date night. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent! 30th anniversary date night. Filet "cut like butta ", asparagus and mashed potatoes where excellent and the chocolate raspberry truffle cake melted in your mouth! And we could hear each other without shouting over noise (getting more important at our "age" ;-))

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Server

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic server Alison. Great job and very friendly!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been regular customer's at Rey's ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We have been regular customer's at Rey's for several years now and they never disappoint. The food, atmosphere and service is excellent. You are made to feel welcome as soon as you walk in the door and on every occasion Rey has come and checked up on us personally. One of the things we like most about Rey's is the consistency in food and service quality. We have been there when they are very busy and we have been there when they were slow but our experience has always been the same. Excellent! Rey and his staff have truly mastered the art of hospitality, we tip our hats to you.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had heard of Rey's for many years but ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We had heard of Rey's for many years but never visited. We made a last minute reservation to celebrate our anniversary, taking our 2 adult and 1 teenaged children. The food did not disappoint. Everything was cooked wonderfully and it was all delicious. There was a wide enough variety on the menu so that there was something for everybody. It is pricey, but great quality. I had a steak and it wasn't the best steak I had ever had ( we have eaten at a lot of top steakhouses) but would be in my top five. I will say that the side dishes are all served family style and aren't as large as we expected. We ordered 3 different sides for our table and the waiter agreed with that quantity. While the actual quantity of food total was adequate, the sides are fairly small portions, so for 5 people to each have some of each is tough. Drinks were great, wine selection pretty good. We were there on a weeknight so it was somewhat empty and quiet, but the atmosphere isn't very romantic. The main dining room is fairly large and open. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been to Rey's on multiple occasi ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We have been to Rey's on multiple occasions and have always found the food and service to be exemplary. This was once again the case. I had previously noted to my wife that the entire experience reminded me of the best restaurants in New Orleans; she had the opportunity to go to NOLA with me earlier this year and now understands what I was talking about.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food ,excellent atmosphere ,good d ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food ,excellent atmosphere ,good drinks ,nice place if you want something special or you trying to make a good impression

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been twice now and they have not ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We have been twice now and they have not seen the last of us. Great place to eat and visit. You never feel harried. The staff is the best in giving great service. Can't wait to return even tho it is over an hour drive.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment you walked in the door i ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

From the moment you walked in the door it was absolutely fabulous. We dine here a few times a year and this experience was one of the best that we've ever had. We ordered multiple items on the menu the best thing by far I've ever had was the prime rib steak oh my God it's delicious. Will definitely be coming back as well as recommended this restaurants to our friends and family thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't Wait to Return

Dined on May 8, 2016

Thanks to Open Table I found this gem when looking for a special place for Mother's Day. We can't wait to go back and bring friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.