About Rey's

1130 Buck Jones Road
Raleigh, NC 27606
View Larger Map

Rey's is an upscale restaurant featuring great food & exceptional service with a French Quarter flare. The comfortable ambience & affordable prices are sure to please.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 380-0122

Website:
http://www.reysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Rey's will customize & accommodate your catering needs. Please call (919) 380-0122 for details.

Parking Details:
Rey's offers a large private lot with over 100 parking spaces.

Executive Chef:
Jerry St. Andrews

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jumbo Lump Crabmeat Cocktail - Rey's, Raleigh, NC
  • Oscar Beef Torenados - Rey's, Raleigh, NC
Jumbo Lump Crabmeat Cocktail - Rey's, Raleigh, NC
Oscar Beef Torenados - Rey's, Raleigh, NC

Rey's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Romantic
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
5 More
Best Overall
Raleigh
Best Service
Raleigh
Best Ambiance
Raleigh
Romantic
Raleigh
Special Occasion
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Special Occasion (50)
Romantic (41)
Good for a Date (41)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Business Meals (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Groups (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Private Room (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Authentic (11)
Cozy (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Casual (6)
Fun (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Family Style (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Live Music (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fireplace (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Dancing (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The setting was amazing and the service ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

The setting was amazing and the service was second to none. We were celebrating my wife's birthday and everything was great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Best kept secret in the Triangle! Beaut ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Best kept secret in the Triangle! Beautiful decor, romantic ambiance, excellent wait staff and food that rivals any restaurant around. Our new favorite place for that special date or occasion! Highly Recommended !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife did an appreciation dinner for m ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My wife did an appreciation dinner for me and it was great! The food was great and the waiter Adam suggested some things to us that turned out great also! Overall we had a great experience and will be back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined Thanksgiving night, an overpriced ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Dined Thanksgiving night, an overpriced turkey/ham meal. Not impressed. Other restaurants I'd rather spend the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Outstanding service and food! It was my ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Outstanding service and food! It was my first time there and I cannot wait to go back. Loved everything about it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed our Thanksgiving dinner a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Really enjoyed our Thanksgiving dinner at Rey's! Very happy with our seats and our waiter, Jason was fantastic!!! It was a great experience. We will be back!!! Thank you so much!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rey never disappoints. Food was excellen ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Rey never disappoints. Food was excellent combined with several off menu requests. Steaks were prepared perfectly. The lobster and shrimp bisque is wonderful. I can't say enough about the staff. They are obviously very seasoned professionals. The service is attentive and friendly. Very relaxing we never feel rushed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Rey's 5-6 times a year for spec ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We go to Rey's 5-6 times a year for special occasions and are never disappointed. The food and service is always exceptional. This trip was for my daughters wedding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was so delicious and the service wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Meal was so delicious and the service was exceptional...personable warm and friendly. And Rey was visible and present for his guests. What a wonderful special evening we had.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flawless. I'm so happy to now have a go ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Flawless. I'm so happy to now have a go to place for a great meal or special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Same FINE DINING experience as every sin ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Same FINE DINING experience as every single time - AWESOME food, service, atmosphere. Simply the BEST filet in NC!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the staff and food.

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Love the staff and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food, excellent service, Premium p ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great Food, excellent service, Premium pricing for sure. Nice for a very special occasion

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent as always, phenomenal steaks, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Excellent as always, phenomenal steaks, mushrooms, potatoes and shrimp cocktail! This was a business dinner with colleagues from France and they absolutely loved every minute of the meal as well. Thank you for being sensitive to our allergies as well. Well done and we'll be back, soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Rey's to celebrate my birthda ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We went to Rey's to celebrate my birthday. The atmosphere was fine dining, but not in an uncomfortable way. Our server was excellent, very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious and the prices are good. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and professional. I would recommend Rey's for any special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fabulous food, exquisite service, and Re ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fabulous food, exquisite service, and Rey made our Banana's Foster at our table!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best food I have EVER had... ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Some of the best food I have EVER had...and the service was magnificent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place for elegant dining. Grea ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Wonderful place for elegant dining. Great food and service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Entree was excellent, potatoes as gratin ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Entree was excellent, potatoes as gratin were a bit of a joke (chunks of potato with orange cheese melted on top), but not only did they offer me another side, they comped me TWO free desserts. That is excellent service, I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service from Alison. She is very d ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great service from Alison. She is very dedicated and knowledgeable..

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Dancing, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best "fine dining" location ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This is the best "fine dining" location in Wake county, bar none!

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time patron. It portends to be a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

First time patron. It portends to be a taste of New Orleans but, frankly, there wasn't a lot of that on the menu or atmosphere. The piped in music was an odd assortment of rock and even a little country. Nothing that brought Louisiana to mind. Similarly, the decor's primary feature was dark-wood club-like. Attentive and friendly service. Plentiful wedge salad with ample, tasty dressing. Flounder with crab was fresh and simply prepared with butter & lemon which I liked. Grouper also fresh and broiled to perfection. Overall, a fine restaurant and no complaint about the food or service but if you're expecting a bit of Cajun flavor or French Quarter experience, you'll likely be disappointed.

Tags: Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

WOW! First time dining here. Outstanding ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

WOW! First time dining here. Outstanding from start to finish. Great and friendly service, chopped salad to die for, entree's prepared to perfection. Recommended for any occasion.reasonable pricing for fine dining.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful experience every time! Really ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Wonderful experience every time! Really enjoyed the superior service and quality of food.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rey's is one of the best restaurants in ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Rey's is one of the best restaurants in Cary. The food is excellent, service is impeccable and the ambience is wonderful. I have been here many times and each time is a treat. Thank you Rey!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So many years living in the area and we ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

So many years living in the area and we finally visited the restaurant, wish we had done it sooner. Great food and service, we will definitely make this a regular visit for us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great variety on the menu. Good food and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great variety on the menu. Good food and good atmosphere, Pricey and everything is a la carte.

Got noisey at times.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is everything you expect for $100 p ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food is everything you expect for $100 per person when it's all tallied. Atmosphere matches with widely spaced tables like restaurants did 30 years ago, linens, carpet that reduces noise even more (rare these days) and soft, ambient lighting. Other reviews are right - the bar pours real drinks and the bartenders know what they're doing. Two disappointments: 1) The live entertainment was a no-show on a Saturday night so the bar was dead after dinner 2) It took 75 minutes after ordering before our food began arriving and we got varied excuses from different servers/the owner. We drove 45 minutes from Wake Forest to make a night of it. Started awesome, then gradually unraveled as the night progressed (in a bad way). Can't fault the food or attempted recovery at the service screw up but it was too little too late.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and excellent service. Great ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food and excellent service. Great for a date!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was perfect the fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The entire experience was perfect the food, the setting, the service and well worth the time and the price. I cannot say enough about Jason our server, he made the dining experience perfect and the evening perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not impressed. Over-rated.

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Not impressed. Over-rated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Both the scallops and the bananas foster ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Both the scallops and the bananas foster were excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and food was phenomenal !!Ou ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The service and food was phenomenal !!Our server,Jason,was knowledgeable of menu items and we followed several of his suggestions!He was on point !!I

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was divine and the s ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 29, 2016

As always, the food was divine and the service outstanding!

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place. We try to go at least twic ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Great place. We try to go at least twice a month.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dishes were very, very good! It was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The dishes were very, very good! It was an overall great experience, it is a place I would recommend and will return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Was very crowded on a Friday night. Wai ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Was very crowded on a Friday night. Waitstaff brought my wife's salad and forgot to order mine. My steak was supposed to be medium; it arrived rare. Normally Rey's is an excellent experience. Just caught a bad night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We were a bit disappointed with the serv ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We were a bit disappointed with the service. Our waiter kept referring to us as "you guys" and had 2 pens stuck in his shirt between the buttons. For the price of the food you would also expect not to have to ask for bread. It took a long time for water to come to the table and when it did, it was spilled on two different occasions. It was my husband's birthday so we thought we would go somewhere fancy. The food was very good, but I would rather go to Ruth's Criss or Second Empire for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The host large parties and we were seate ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The host large parties and we were seated next to one of those rooms and the doors stayed open and was a little annoying but over all it was good I would go back. I'm very picky with food quality and service. The service is what you would except. The quality was good and flavorful. Overall I would recommend going at least once. it was very nice and Rey himself check on you through out your meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.