About Rey's

Rey's is an upscale restaurant featuring great food & exceptional service with a French Quarter flare. The comfortable ambience & affordable prices are sure to please. 5 Private rooms available.

1130 Buck Jones Road
Raleigh, NC 27606
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 380-0122

Website:
http://www.reysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Rey's will customize & accommodate your catering needs. Please call (919) 380-0122 for details.

Parking Details:
Rey's offers a large private lot with over 100 parking spaces.

Executive Chef:
Lupe Becerra

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rey's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (93)
Good for a Date (73)
Good for Anniversaries (72)
See All
Romantic (62)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Business Meals (51)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Good for Groups (35)
Notable Wine List (34)
Worth the Drive (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Authentic (22)
Cozy (21)
Bar Seating (15)
Fun (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Casual (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Private Room (7)
Live Music (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1725 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I went to Rey's to celebrate our 17th anniversary and we couldn't have made a better choice. I chose Rey's based on a recommendation from friends and they were right:) The food was excellent and the service was top notch.....ask for Marcus or Ryan:) The bananas foster is out of this world. Certainly will not be our last visit to Rey's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Favorite steak house in Raleigh / Cary. We go here for special occasions or just when we want a fantastic meal, with excellent service, and nice wine selection. Reasonably priced when considering the quality of the food and service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Roasted lamb with mint jelly and green beans with almonds, baked grouper with spinach seasoned and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Catherine had a Birthday and the food was great and we enjoyed meeting everyone and the dessert was delicious--the waitstaff was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Excellent service and food. Friendly staff and quiet ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Side dishes were not hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Enjoyed specialty martinis and then had steaks for dinner. Sides were the lobster mac and cheese and sautéed spinach. Then French press coffee and crime brûlée for desert. Great service!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The ambience and service were excellent. Also, the food was excellent, except the hollandaise sauce was not very authentic. But the red wine was not very good and extremely overpriced. This is the third time we have been to Rey's, and I'm afraid our enthusiasm about the restaurant has lessened.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 27, 2017

This was my first visit to Reys. We really enjoyed it. My husband loved his filet. For me the lobster Mac and cheese and chopped salad were wonderful. Our waiter was phenomenal and understanding of us bringing a small child to dinner. We would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Very personable and the service was outstanding! Our waiter was very friendly and immediately learned our names. On return visits, he would address us by name. The food was delicious and prepared just as ordered. The peach flambé was excellent!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Impeccable service and excellent steaks. Quickly became our favorite steakhouse in the Raleigh area after moving from the NY City area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food was excellent as usual and so was the service. Adam and Jim were our servers and did an excellent job. We were a party of four for my wife's birthday and my wife and son in law had the Filet Mignon and daughter had a strip, all were prepared perfectly, I usually have a strip but tried the stuffed flounder and would definitely do that again. We had planned on having the Bananas Foster but Peach Foster was a special and it was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

One of our all time fav spots to dine when we want something special. Their steaks are prime and the seafood select, fresh. We have enjoyed this restaurant for over 20 years. The food is always superb and the service is excellent.And, if you order the cherries jubilee or bananas foster, Rey makes it himself tableside. Try it, you'll like it

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Alison was a fantastic waiter. Live music was excellent - the very best.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food is Amazing but the best part is Rey.
I always feel as if I am having dinner at his home. Thanks Rey!!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The summer salad, butter beans and peach flambe were really good. Our waiter was great (63 team server). I was disappointed that our steaks were dry. Did not send back to the kitchen since a restaurant can't change a dry steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

First time at Rey's and we will be back. Steaks are amazing along with their side dishes. Martinis are great. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 17, 2017

excellent ambiance....very professional and kind staff......food is delicious....it's nice having Rey check on all the tables....one of our favorite places in the Triangle.....we don't mind driving from North Raleigh to get such a great meal and experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Incredible food, drinks, and service. I will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

services was great and the food was out of this world great.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

A special night for me and my partner as we were celebrating our 2nd anniversary. Jason was our head server and he did a great job. Rey even stopped by to say hello. We really enjoyed this experience. The ambiance was very comfortable and even though the place was very busy, we never felt rushed and lacked for anything during dinner. The food was good - my only criticism would be that most everything was not seasoned enough for my taste. But, that is my taste. When I dashed a little S&P on it, the flavors were awesome. I think we will try Rey's again for a future special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Rey's is one of my favorite restaurants! The food is spectacular! I have never had a complaint. Rey is usually in the restaurant and generally comes by each table and speaks briefly with the diners.

Steaks in particular are fabulous. There are a good variety of sides available. They have a very good wine selection, as well as, a full bar with top shelf spirits. They specialize in martinis.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Best Steakhouse around this area. Top shelf service and atmosphere and the food is delicious. 5 star all the way. I highly recommend Rey's for any occasion.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We love Rey's - our go-to place for any celebration. Great steaks!! Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Exceptional meal, exceptional service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Our dinner was on a slow weeknight and our waiter visited too often, we wished to have a conversation alone because we have four little boys and we can't talk unless we pay to go somewhere else to talk :-) but whoever was tasked with refills did a wonderful job. The food was great, meal was paced very well and took two hours. Its not a quick in-and-out place. Moral between staff seemed very high and that extends to guests sense of comfort.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Healthy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Always a five star experience. I wanted fish and our server recommended the grouper without hesitation. It was the best I've every had -- even in Florida. My wife had the chicken piccata and loved it. There was enough to take home for a light supper the next day. For dessert the chocolate truffle & raspberries was spectacular accompanied by a French Press coffee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent dinner and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Another great night at Rey's! This is one of our favorite restaurants. This time, we dined with another couple and had a fabulous meal. It was the couple wife's first time there and she loved it. Sure, we could've gone to Ruth's Chris... but we have discovered that Rey's has the same quality of food with friendlier staff and a better atmosphere. It's not as stuffy. And the thing that sets Rey's apart from the Ruth's Chris's of the world is… Rey. It's so rare to dine at a restaurant where the owner makes a point of hitting every table and expressing his appreciation for your presence. He makes you feel like a million bucks. And that's nice… because it's not cheap to dine at a steakhouse. Rey let's you know that you're appreciated for spending your hard-earned money at his restaurant. Even if you're not in the mood or don't have the funds for a full sitdown dinner in the dining room, you can chill out in their bar area, split an entree and let Jeremy, the bartender, entertain you. And you can't beat Rey's cocktails – someone else said it best: there's drunk, and there's Rey's drunk. So prepare yourself!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Delicious, great waitress..(kelly). Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The food here is excellently prepared and if was not when arriving to your table, the waiter without even flinching will take it back to the chef to have it remade to perfection and when he returns with it, he will have a smile on his face.

The personnel here really go out of their way to only please each and every guest.

I would highly recommend this dine-in restaurant to anyone that needs to be pampered a bit and wants to enjoy food cooked to perfection!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had not dined at Rey's in quite some time, and boy, that is our loss. Both the food and service were top shelf. There may be some local restaurants that are trendier but Rey's is hard to equal, let alone e surpass. Highest recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The service was excellent and the food was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Promising exceptional service, with multiple people coming by to assure us we were being taken care of, we expected a lot better. Once the order was placed, the waitress forgot all about the glass of wine I had ordered, perhaps because I waited to order it at the same time as my food. The fish recommended was OK, the crabmeat on the side only lukewarm despite having been warned their plates were super hot. The bread was very tasty, and we would have asked for more if we had caught her attention once we started our meal. Our waitress was very pleasant but shared a couple of personal stories (to illustrate how good certain dishes were) that were just plain silly. When we chose a desert to share, she gracefully put it on the house!
So all in all a pleasant experience, but not exceptional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This was the first time that we have been to Rey's, it was for my birthday dinner. It has three different delivery options, there is a bar, the vodoo lounge, the restaurant, and then a number of private rooms where there were private parties taking place. It is a mix of new orleans and a steakhouse, where the food is hot and all served a-la-carte. We had the turtle soup, the lamp chops, and the pork chops. All were very well prepared. For desert we had the bread pudding, which was really yummy and warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Two ordered chicken piccata and loved it. I had the crab cake appetizer and a salad. The crab cakes were 4 tiny bites--not what I'd expected. The salad was good, though. Jason, our waiter, provided fine service. We generally like the food here and will come back again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Always a great meal and service. Jason went above and beyond . Tahnks so much

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Dinner and service were perfect as usual. We had 10 once filets with potatoes lyonaise and a bottle of Stars Leap. Perfect!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Rey's never disappoints, the food is consistently high quality and the service is almost alwys excellent (we had one server *once* who did not do well). The food is New Orleans style, we always request a lighter touch with the butter and it works well for us that way.

If Jeremy is at the bar that night it will be a lively one! :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.