About Rey's

Rey's is an upscale restaurant featuring great food & exceptional service with a French Quarter flare. The comfortable ambience & affordable prices are sure to please.

1130 Buck Jones Road
Raleigh, NC 27606
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 380-0122

Website:
http://www.reysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Rey's will customize & accommodate your catering needs. Please call (919) 380-0122 for details.

Parking Details:
Rey's offers a large private lot with over 100 parking spaces.

Executive Chef:
Jerry St. Andrews

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rey's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (85)
Good for a Date (84)
Special Occasion (80)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (71)
Business Meals (47)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Worth the Drive (33)
Private Room (30)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Groups (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Authentic (17)
Cozy (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Casual (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Fun (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Healthy (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Family Style (7)
Fireplace (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Live Music (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dancing (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (0)
Sort By:
S
1606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Enjoyed our dining experience at Rey's. The food and service was exceptional. A little pricey though.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of the best places that I've eaten, in the 15+ years I've lived in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was impeccable. My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and felt that the experience was well-worth the fairly high cost of the dinner. Among the highlights were the filet, the sautéed spinach, the french press coffee, and the bread pudding dessert. A lovely meal and we'll be back again in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This was our first visit and we will definitely be back. We loved the ambiance and the food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food and service was absolutely wonderful. The noise level was quite high at one point. Dine at Rey's monthly.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My husband and I wanted to try something new for my birthday. He heard about Rey's on the radio. We usually go to another steak place for special occasions . We were pleasantly surprised! I'm sure on our anniversary coming up this is the place we will go! The service and food were incredible!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Didn't quite meet expectations. Food was quite good, but not excellent. Decor was nice, but dated. Service was good, but the waiters looked uncomfortable in tuxes. All in all, it was very good, but with so many other great options these days, I expected more for the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

One of (if not the) best steaks I've eaten in the Raleigh-Durham area. Decor and vibe of the establishment were underwhelming, but that was quickly overlooked due to the exquisite service and delectable cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Rey's never disappoints! Outstanding food, fantastic service, and a wonderful ambiance. Amazing scallops and fried oysters! Steaks are top notch! Overall, you can't go wrong with Rey's. You will also be greeted by Rey himself and if you are lucky, Rey will be tableside preparing his amazing banana foster dessert. Best salad in the world is the Jackson Square salad...heart of palm, olives, gorganza cheese...yum!!

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Thought we'd try someplace new for a birthday dinner. Definitely worth the trip...wonderful service, food and ambiance.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We always have a great time when we go to Rey's. Rey always makes sure to greet all the customers and makes you feel very welcomed. The food and drinks are always fabulous.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food , good service , personalized attention fun evening with friends

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Truly exceptional evening, service could not have been better and the food was absolutely terrific. Everyone in our group had a wonderful evening. The servers were warm and friendly, offering to take pictures etc. We even had 2 nice visits to our table from Rey the owner to make sure everything was to our liking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was delicious. Bar tenders know how to make a great cocktail. Great place to enjoy a special evening

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our steaks were overcooked the first time around, our server noticed without us even mentioning it and brought us fresh ones along with fresh sides. Also gave us bananas Foster's on the house, delicious!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Went here for our anniversary. We were really impressed. Similar quality of service and food to Ruth's chris and Sullivan's. Steaks were great. Sides were excellent. Service top notch. New Orleans style so solid options outside of the steaks. We will return. It is a bit pricey though so be prepared to pay for your top notch meal

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Fantastic!! It was our first time, and we definitely will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We chose this place for our anniversary because we had tried it during restaurant week and everything was so delicious. The atmosphere is very nice and the food is cooked perfectly. The mashed garlic potatoes are to die for.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 27, 2017

A fine restaurant with very friendly and accomodating staff. The food is very good, but the Ruth's Chris approach, entre and extra cost, table sized side dishes, should be banished.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wonderful service and fantastic food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

As always fantastic food. Great music and singing, although this time a little too loud. Needs to reduce volume in the bar because of vibrations in a small space.

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Dancing, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

First time there. First-class service. Outstanding cuisine. Great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent place to eat. Great food and service. Took my wife for her birthday and they knocked out of the park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Reyes never disappoints. Good is always good, service is great, atmosphere wonderful.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

David took excellent care of us! Most enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Meat was not prepared like I asked but was still very tasty. Waiter did not bring my dessert but was attentive during the main course.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Good value. Many costumers dressedl to causal for price range and decor

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent meal with business associates. Seated us in private room - which was unexpected but greatly appreciated.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Very good food and Jason was an excellent server. Rey himself popped in to check on us. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything was perfect. The cocktails were well crafted, The eight ounce filet was perfectly cooked as ordered, the veal dish was delicious and the one side that we shared was enjoyable. We started with fried oysters, and I highly recommend them. David, our waiter did a terrific job with his recommendations and and his service added to our dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Friend had the salmon, husband had filet, and I had eggplant. We all had fried mushrooms. Everyone was happy with their food and, as always, with the chocolate raspberry torte. Rey's is consistently good. Service--from David--was outstanding!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Nice dinner. Lobster bite appetizer that was very good. Pork chop entree was average.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Overall a good experience however we weren't asked about the quality of our meals until we were halfway through eating. My steak had a gristle streak through it and, if I had been asked sooner, I would have probably returned the steak for a replacement.

I had commented on my Open Table reservation that it was a celebration for my wife's birthday - no one acknowledged the fact except there was a 'birthday cake' given to us to bring home (again, no wish/acknowledgment of her birthday per se).

I'm sure that we will return to Rey's however it appears that we will need to be more verbose in the what's and why's we are there, both for celebration and service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We liked the team approach. Husband did not like the Veal presentation but dish was good. Staff were very attentive and generous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Again the Food, Service, Quality, Quanity, and Atmosphere was 5 Star. Job Well Done.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service at the bar is impeccable. Wait staff is very attentive, food is good. Clientele can be all over the board. .. really dressed up to people in baseball hats and Tshirts. Could be more stringent on enforcing the dress code. This would deter those people who do not know how to conduct themselves in a restaurant like this.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Phenomenal food and service. Be sure to save room for table side bananas foster!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Fantastic meal and service. Expensive cocktails but the pour was worth it!

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We're regulars and for a very good reason. Food, service and consistency are the primary reasons. Rey has done a great job in assembling some of the best servers in the area. Friendly and familiar faces serving consistently great food. Kitchen did a great job! Everything was timed perfectly so that we could enjoy each course without feeling rushed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Private Room, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We celebrated our 40th anniversary at Rey's. The food was fantastic and the service was outstanding. Our waiter(Scott) was extremely attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.