About Revolution Grille

5333 Monroe St.
Toledo, OH 43623
View Larger Map

At Revolution Grille, we offer anew take on American cuisine using local growers and natural products. Our extensive wine, craft cocktail and beer lists will enhance the flavor of your entrees and elevate your dining experience.

~Eat well and enjoy!

Trust your Chef. Our menu changes frequently, on Chef’s whim based on the seasonality and availability of our ingredients. Items listed may not be served.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Dining Bar

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Nantucket Rd (Hobby Lobby Plaza)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 841-0066

Website:
http://www.revolutiongrille.com/

Executive Chef:
Rob Campbell

Private Party Facilities:
The Chef's Table in our private room has seating for up to 16 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Rob Campbell: x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Revolution Grille
Crispy Fried Brussel Sprouts
Artichoke Caper Soup W/Goat Cheese
Squash Creme Brulee
Lamb Chops
Beetroot Falafel
Sea Scallops W/Purple Yams
Chicken Schnitzel A La Holstein
Coconut Cream Pie
Ribeye
Grilled Walleye Taco
dark chocolate

Revolution Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Toledo
Most Booked
Toledo
Best Restaurants in Sylvania ›

Fit for Foodies (32)
Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (16)
See All
Notable Wine List (14)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We loved our experience there. Great foo ...

vip
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We loved our experience there. Great food and service from Caroline.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My first visit. Tomato Bisque, Crab Cake ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My first visit. Tomato Bisque, Crab Cakes, Flat Bread Pizza. All super delicious! Staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. Ambiance is very nice though on a busy night, I imagine it gets a bit loud. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed with the service an ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were disappointed with the service and food on 8-12-16. This was our sixth dining experience at revolution and probably our last. We have always had great service and food but we were not impressed. The calamari was drenched in sauce and completely soggy. The coffee and s'more brownie took 45 mins to reach our table after we ordered it and it was quite dry. Our server was very sweet but less than attentive. We are also disappointed to hear you are no longer a part of main street ventures.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Nikki, our server, was very good! As us ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Nikki, our server, was very good! As usual, we really enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Server very helpful with recommendations ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Server very helpful with recommendations... All food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good,but several choices were u ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was good,but several choices were unavailable. Music too loud for 7 pm and easy conversation. Service was prompt and friendly. Food was not as good as previous visits,but would try again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Moved from foodie paradise of Chicago. ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Moved from foodie paradise of Chicago. Had not found a great independent non-chain restaurant of this caliber in Toledo until Revolution Grille. Every course was outstanding. Appetizers for us were salmon tartare and mushroom tacos. Both were outstanding. Entrees were grilled scallops and jumbo lump crab cakes. Every bite was delicious. The craft cocktails were amazing. Chef/owner Rob came to our table a couple times to check in. Outstanding experience and we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was just average, nothing special. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was just average, nothing special. Very loud as tables were close together, difficult to carry on a conversation.....I think I would go elsewhere, Mancy's Italian is close by and every bit as good. Probably won't go back for awhile if at all.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This was a great find. It's tucked away ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was a great find. It's tucked away in a strip shopping center. Although simple on the outside, the interior was decorated tastefully and modern, with a bar area and seating.

We started with drinks and they were fantastic. The octopus, deviled eggs and flat bread were perfect portions and very tasty for starters. We ordered the lamb, scallops, and salmon. All prepare properly and portion size was more than expected. The s'more brownie was shared and enjoyed by all at our table.

I recommend this restaurant for its mixed drink and wine selection, the appetizers, and main course choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Revolution with another coupl ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We went to Revolution with another couple on Saturday night. It wasn't too crowded or noisy. We had reservations and were seated immediately. Two of us ordered crab cakes. They were outstanding. Lots of crab and minimal filling. Just perfect. One person got fish and the other chicken schnitzel. Everyone was pleased with their choices.

Our waitress was attentive and charming. All in all, a perfect dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Third visit - my favorite restaurant. A ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Third visit - my favorite restaurant. A lively, creative place with good service. I wish they hadn't gotten rid of the "mocktail" alcohol-free cocktail - it was a masterpiece! Also, there are usually interesting vegetarian entrees on the web menu, but not on the regular menu when I visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food + customer service

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The food was excellent. Especially noteworthy were the salad appetizers, the seafood entrees, and the deserts. The restaurant provided customer service above and beyond expectations. When a communication mixup between my server and me led to my not being able to have my choice of entrees ( last one sold), I was provided another ( excellent) entree. I didn't complain but without my requesting it, the server comped my meal and provided free deserts to me and my dinner companions. We were out-of-towners and there is no prospect of a return in the immediate future. I was greatly impressed by their reaction to a communication misunderstanding. I think enterprises with that level of customer attentiveness and integrity should be supported - especially when the quality of food is so high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food is wonderful. Always unique, delici ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Food is wonderful. Always unique, delicious. Our server was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Revolution Grille was great dining experience!

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Very good food, service and drinks! The Hickory Manhattan was a nice change and very good. We had salmon and scallops, both were excellent. The cheese tray and Brussels sprout appetizers were excellent. I would highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service(especially Sara) wa ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food and service(especially Sara) was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get there now

 
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Chef Rob Campbell has the most unique menu in town. Cozy, upscale atmosphere, very reasonable prices for the quality and creativity in food and service you receive. Go all out with multiple courses and an ample wine list, or just relax with some craft cocktails and a flatbread. If you haven't checked out this small gem in Sylvania do it on your next night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Overwhelmed on a Saturday night , food , ...

vip
 (Toledo)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Overwhelmed on a Saturday night , food , bar service super slow, food okay but pretty favorless. We had been several times, but saw the operation decline, so probably won't return, mediocre at best...

A disappointment ..,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Good food in a nice setting. It is loca ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Good food in a nice setting. It is located in a strip-mall but the interior is a pleasant surprise.

Planned a dinner with friend and we enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Mothers Day

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I have dined at Revolution Grille multiple times and I always keep coming back. The service for the most part is average, everyone is very nice. I come from a fine dining background, so I am always biased. But the food is always amazing. The brunch on Mothers Day gave a nice set of options and after trying all three meals that we ordered, I liked the short rib grilled cheese the best. And even though I don't need it, I always come back for the smores dessert paired with the Neapolitan milk stout. After we were finished eating, we sat for a long time, even while they were switching over to dinner service, and it was much appreciated that we were not rushed out because we were having such great conversation. Mothers Day was probably the best service I had received there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful Mother's Day Brunch!

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful Mother's Day Brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time diners

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Good food, great service, not overly pricey. Caroline was a friendly and informative server. Short ribs were tasty but VERY fatty.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Go! It might not look like much being in ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Go! It might not look like much being in a strip mall but the food and overall experience are really great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Toledo Finest

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

OneofthebestrestaurantsinToledo. Beautifulfoodpresentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing. Went there two week ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Very disappointing. Went there two weeks ago and had a short rib which was very, very fatty, literally leaving a pile of fat on my plate....just not fit to eat. Management apologized, said it missed there "quality control" inspection, and voluntarily adjusted the bill. Decided to try it again last week....another disaster! Ordered the chicken and waffles - the chicken was completely overdone and I essentially had an expensive waffle dinner. My wife got the crab cakes - completely different than it was two weeks ago, and just not very tasty....lacking in crab, flavor, and presentation. Altogether two very bad experiences.....we won't be returning for a while, and have advised our friends to avoid it.........Chef Rob may think he's always right (according to his sign), but he's sure got some problems going on there now......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great place!

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Very modern menu and delicious appetizers. The service was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ate at Revolution recently and had anoth ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Ate at Revolution recently and had another quality meal. The restaurant was full, but we found seats at the bar. Lots of interesting drink and food choices. Chef Rob hits the mark again. I would highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic Experience

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Wife and I are Mancy's people for good meals out, but on a whim we decided to give Revolution Grille a chance. We couldn't have been more pleased. Nick, our waiter, was amazing...full of knowledge. The food was beyond what we expected. We did the Pepp/Magh flatbread and Crispy Brussel Sprouts for appetizers. My wife had the Sturgeon for an entree, and I went with the Chicken Schnitzel (and I have been craving it ever since). Had the zeppoles for dessert...and fell in love with the salted caramel dipping sauce. Highly, highly recommended dining experience...doesn't get much better in Toledo, Oh.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From stepping in the door to finishing d ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

From stepping in the door to finishing dessert this place is terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Did not know what to expect of this restaurant that was found using TripAdvisor. We were out of towners looking for dinner on a Friday night. Specialty cocktails, fantastic appetizers (must try the brusell sprouts) and well prepared fish (Lent) were all home runs. This restaurant hit all ofthe high notes all meal long. If you enjoy well prepared, inventive american cuisine, dew drop in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Meal

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

My brother and I ate here for Restaurant Week and were very impressed. We were able to try 5 different dishes and loved them all. The flavors of the dishes were so unique and the portions for restaurant week were perfect. Our favorites were the scallops, chicken and waffles, and halibut, but honestly, everything was great. I can't wait to come back and bring my husband.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Disappointing service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

We always enjoy the food, but the service took a long time!! It took 49 minutes to get our first drinks!! I do love the balsamic Brussel sprouts and the desserts are awesome, especially the donuts in the bag!!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

my wifes 70th birthday

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Restaurant not busy at 6:30 pm but our drinks took in excess of 20 minutes. Our server made dinner suggestions that were good and arrived in a timely manner. We ordered dessert and coffee. The coffee was brewed and quite good. After 25 minutes we still had no dessert and after being there for 1 hour and 50 minutes we just asked for the check. It was not a particularly good experience for a 70th birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Our first time dining here in a few year ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Our first time dining here in a few years. Brussels sprouts were a fantastic starter, the kale and quinoa salad was even better, and the burger was cooked perfectly with pickled onions and fig. My date and I always share our servings and we couldn't eat everything. Maybe next time we back off on one of the items above. Our server was also excellent. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding Birthday Dinner

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I wanted to take my daughter, a UT student, somewhere nice for her 22nd birthday, so not being from Toledo, I googled "Top Restaurants in Toldeo" and Revolution Grille was listed. I picked a few and asked her to pick one. What a great choice. This was easily one of the top dining experiences of my life. Our Server, Stephanie was awesome. She answered all of our questions regarding the food, wine and history of the restaurant. You can tell she is proud to be part of Chef Rob's team. The Ribeye was out of this world. The mushroom based sauce that came with it was good, but I didn't use much of it because I didn't want to alter the flavor of the steak. My daughter and her boyfriend are still raving about their meals. We will definitely be back before she graduates. Thank you for an outstanding dining experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly Recommend

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This was the first time we had dined here. The menu was everything that had been touted and more. The food was spectacular from start to finish. We had the sweetbread appetizer and ribeye entree. We topped it off with the s'mores dessert and the zeppoli. The desserts were definitely a shareable size, but we couldn't decide so had to try both! This is a very intimate setting. The dining room was small with an open kitchen. Since it was a Saturday night, the place was packed. There was standing room only in the (very tiny) lobby. We did have to wait about 15 minutes past our reservation time, but that wouldn't deter us from going again. This is going on our Tops in Toledo restaurant list!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of my favorite restaurants ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This was one of my favorite restaurants until this last meal there. We were a table of four and could not believe how awful the food was, from their once delicious brussel sprouts to the inedible short rib dish, greasy chicken schnitzel and weak coffee that looked like tea. Unfortunately the four of us won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

35 minutes late seating with a reservati ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

35 minutes late seating with a reservation. No place to wait - everyone falls all over each other by the door. I won't go back on the weekend (have been there 3 times but this was the worst).

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Food was amazing!! So happy that the ori ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was amazing!! So happy that the original chef is back! It's a small restaurant, but they make it work and it's such a great atmosphere. Love it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly Recommend!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Wow! So much better since the "new" owner/chef is back! The crispy brussel sprouts, the hubbard squash flatbread & the Kale/Quinoa salad - are outstanding! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Early start

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We did go on a friends recommendation. They are having some learning growing pains. A young busser, walked about with a scowl and didn't help even fill water, had hands in pockets and clearly didn't want to be there. The chef / owner was great. He came to the table, talked to our us and showed class. They were short on the tablet menus, and we had to share. Most of the foods was very tasty, the chicken schnitzel was super, the beat salad was super...the salmon had a fishy taste. Over all...we are going to give them another try, we believe they can be awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.