About Revolution Grille

5333 Monroe St.
Toledo, OH 43623
View Larger Map

At Revolution Grille, we offer a new take on American cuisine using local growers and natural products. Our extensive wine, craft cocktail and beer lists will enhance the flavor of your entrees and elevate your dining experience.

~Eat well and enjoy!

Trust your Chef. Our menu changes frequently, on Chef’s whim based on the seasonality and availability of our ingredients. Items listed may not be served.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Dining Bar

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Nantucket Rd (Hobby Lobby Plaza)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 841-0066

Website:
http://www.revolutiongrille.com/

Executive Chef:
Rob Campbell

Private Party Facilities:
The Chef's Table in our private room has seating for up to 16 guests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Revolution Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Cozy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Romantic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Authentic (6)
Seasonal (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great Beer (5)
Casual (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fireplace (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
691 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was it bad? No. Are there better place ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 2 days ago

Was it bad? No. Are there better places in Toledo for the same money and same or better quality? Yes. I like the unique menu items but mixing some simpler items within the menu would be nice.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Went on a recommendation from a colleagu ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 5 days ago

Went on a recommendation from a colleague. Was impressed with the beer menu. Looked like an extensive wine menu as well, except I don't drink wine so wouldn't know a good one from a bad one. But the list was quite long. I liked the ambiance, a little dark but my 55 year old eyes were able to read the menu since they were on tablets which worked with the overall theme.

I really enjoyed the cheese platter. I could've ordered two (or three) and made a meal out of it. A good variety of choices for the main course. Had an Angus burger for my main meal instead of the salmon and can't complain. One of the best burgers I've ever had. Can't remember what my fiancee had, only that she let me taste and it was good. And the price wasn't too bad either. Very reasonable for the quality meal we had. Would've been a lot lower if it wasn't for the drinks. Not complaining, just an observation.

Suggest you make a reservation. We made ours for Tuesday night; a night not known for crowded restaurants, and it was packed! Walk-ins are welcome, but you may be waiting for a while. The menu changes and i look forward to seeing what pops up next. We will return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food. Great preparation and pr ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic food. Great preparation and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Revolution Grille is a cozy restaurant w ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 5 days ago

Revolution Grille is a cozy restaurant with an eclectic menu. Overall good food, albeit a bit more expensive than may be justified. I'm not in a big rush to return, as many other places provide a comparable experience with less expense.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food, Service and ambience were great. O ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 5 days ago

Food, Service and ambience were great. Only wish we weren't seated in the bar. The area is a little chilly and noisy. The food was wonderful, the desserts were outstanding. I would recommend this place to anyone. Our server was cheerful and answered our questions. She had great knowledge of all the items on the menu.

Tags: Fireplace, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The best food in Toledo! We had the duck ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 5 days ago

The best food in Toledo! We had the duck and scallops and it was the best we've ever had! Highly recommend Revolution Grille!

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This time we were surprised by a seasona ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This time we were surprised by a seasonal menu change but we were not disappointed with any of the options and actually elected to add another course just to try some of the other offerings.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place and highly recommend it. ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Love this place and highly recommend it. Great interesting food choices

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

the veggie tacos were delicious, but nex ...

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 29, 2017

the veggie tacos were delicious, but next time I would omit the jalipeno peppers. And the Brussels sprouts were amazing as well

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is amazing! Food is outs ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 24, 2017

This restaurant is amazing! Food is outstanding, enjoyed the brussel sprout appetizer, portabella and squash tacos, and coconut cream pie for dessert! Stellar service as well! Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for my wife's Bday dinner. Service ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went for my wife's Bday dinner. Service was excellent and the food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing as always. The Sea ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was amazing as always. The Sea Bass is fantastic! Great wine and atmosphere. The roasted vegetable flatbread was unique and tasty. Everything served was perfectly paired and prepared.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best coconut creme pie north of Flor ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The best coconut creme pie north of Florida!

The savory food is good too! Nice neighborhood gem, that is just the right size to be cozy and fun.

Chef Rob has the creative freedom to add new/seasonal menu items that keeps his menu fresh.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Had reservations for early evening, 5pm, ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Had reservations for early evening, 5pm, and were seated immediately. By the time we left at 7pm it was getting quite crowded. Had the chicken schnitzel and the wife had a salad entree. Only complaint would be that the menu on their website did match the offerings at the restaurant. Wife had her heart set on the pork chop but it was not on the menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Outstanding meal with excellent service. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Outstanding meal with excellent service. The Brussels sprout appetites was incredibly good. Get it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good food and service. Cocktails ar ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very good food and service. Cocktails are a bit pricey comparatively. A good alternative to our regular haunts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

This is one of our favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. Even though we have moved away, we make it a point to drop in when we visit Toledo.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Seasonal, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was very patient and helpful with ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Waiter was very patient and helpful with menu choices

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We wound up sitting at the bar because t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We wound up sitting at the bar because they were so backed up with their reservations. The service at the bar was very good, once we were able to get a seat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great as usual. Waited 20 minut ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was great as usual. Waited 20 minutes for our reservation & ended up sitting at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Enjoyed casual evening dining with frien ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Enjoyed casual evening dining with friends. The server was very accommodating ,good suggestions,pleasant gal....Morgan

Food was very good with a good variety of appetizers,as well as entrée'sMost pleasant evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Haven't been here since Chef Rob returne ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Haven't been here since Chef Rob returned - happy to find the place as remembered.

It's a good idea to make a reservation. We came at 6, and the place filled up rapidly.

The fried brussels sprouts appetizer, always a favorite, are different, and equally -or even more - delicious. Now they are less deep-fried, and more like a sautéed salad, with a scrumptious sauce - balsamic and soy?? Wonderful, anyway. I had the duck breast and it was delicious.

I wasn't sure I'd like it as pink as it was pictured. Our waiter was very pleasant and helpful all through the meal. He assured me that if it was too rare he would be able to get it cooked a little more. Fortunately, it was outstanding the way the Chef prepared it - very moist and delicious, and the accompaniments went perfectly with the duck. My friend had the crab cakes and said they were the best he's had in town. The coconut pie is slightly different than I remembered it, but still fabulous - a huge slice, with lots of whipped cream and a delicious crust. I took half of it home and had it for breakfast.

We enjoyed watching the groups of people come in to dine. There were some groups of friends, and some business groups, and there was a festive buzz in the air - not too loud and intrusive, but just enough to feel that everyone was having a good time.

We are planning to go back soon with some other friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place and will always return ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I love this place and will always return. A ton of great dishes that you won't find anywhere else in town.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Calamari was excellent! The frog legs we ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Calamari was excellent! The frog legs were just ok. Waitress was very knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, and a great vibe! We had ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent food, and a great vibe! We had trouble deciding what to order for dinner, but not dessert! Do yourself a favor and order the Zeppelo!

Tags: Cozy, Vegan, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I was back in Sylvania visiting family f ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I was back in Sylvania visiting family for thanksgiving and decided to take advantage of "free babysitting" and took my wife out for dinner at Revolution Grille, which wasn't around last time I was in town.

I ordered the bbq beef cheek, which unfortunately was out for the night so I went with the duck instead. It was seared perfectly and had great flavor. My wife had the strip steak which was quite good and was a pretty serious portion.

My wife had the butternut curry soup, which was very rich and tasty.

I also had a "this is the end" drink, which was an interesting new mix that I might try to put together myself.

I marked paleo friendly because while everything isn't actually set up as paleo, it would be extremely easy to just ask for a different side that wasn't rice, for example, and to not eat the bread that comes with dinner.

Overall, it seems to be a really good "fancy" option in Sylvania/Toledo for dates and special occasions and the occasional splurge for dinner. With one drink, one soup, and two entrees, with tip out the door the cost was somthing like $90, which I think is pretty reasonable for the quality and preparation of the food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a wonderful experience. The food, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It was a wonderful experience. The food, the service, and the drinks were great. I will be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent night out with my wife! The fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent night out with my wife! The food and drinks were fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service was terrific! Rec ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great food and service was terrific! Recommend the calamari appetizer (spicy Korean style) and the kofta flatbread!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Found revolution Grill via open table as ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Found revolution Grill via open table as we were looking for someplace different for a get together for my Wife's birthday.

We had 8:00 PM reservations but were not seated until about 8:20 PM. We really din't mind this as we understand they don't have control of how long parties stay.

What they did have control over was poorly executed.

Cocktails taking 45 min. to be served is unacceptable.

Two of the same dinners, Duck, which looked nothing alike. One was done properly but the skin needed to be more crisp. The second was cooked completely through, no pink at all, and also needed the skin to be more crisp. The second should not have been served, in my opinion, and especially should not have been served to the same table with a more properly prepared meal.

With the wild variations in the same meal and lengthy waits we found the overall experience to be much less than we paid for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Pricey...portions very very small especi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Pricey...portions very very small especially for the price!

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

The food was great. I like the digital m ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was great. I like the digital menu where you can see the prepared dish before you order it. Service was attentive and knowledgeable. Chef Rob does a great job interacting with guest and make many table touches. The food had a great value to it without being too small on the portions. Highlight for the night was the Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Dulce de leche meringue paired with Richter Riesling. This was a great finish. Would highly recommend that you stop in and enjoy this gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I dined here recently, and g ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My wife and I dined here recently, and got another quality meal from Chef Rob and his staff. Generous portions with fresh ingredients, with a nice wine/cocktail program make for an enjoyable evening. Love the zeppoles for dessert.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love it, the chef's table is the best ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We love it, the chef's table is the best!! We took friends that have never been there, we had a great time.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have nothing negative to say about Rev ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I have nothing negative to say about Revolution Grille. We enjoyed every moment from making the reservation online (super fast and convenient) to being seated right away when we got there and the amazing service and food throughout the night. We will be back often!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on Saturday night at 6pm so the ...

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went on Saturday night at 6pm so the restaurant was not crowded. Everyone was pleased with their main course. However one person ordered the Lobster Bisque and it was a big disappointment. When the waiter heard that the customer was unhappy he took it off the check. Our waiter was exceptionally attentive with a very pleasant manner. My husband and I shared the beet and squash salad. Everyone wanted a taste! It was unusual and delicious. We have eaten at Revolution Grille previously. In my opinion, they keep improving.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is delicious and the wait staff ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food is delicious and the wait staff VERY attentive!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server, Adam, was outstanding! He de ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our server, Adam, was outstanding! He described the dishes so well that our mouths were watering. He also coordinated with the chef to accommodate a food allergy and allow us to have our first choice of entree. Seasonal items and a great wine list mean this has just become our go-to for a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A little over priced for the meal I purc ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 1, 2016

A little over priced for the meal I purchased. I had the braised beef which was very tender with good flavor but it was basically sitting in a sauce that was primarily fat. Plus I would recommend some type a bread as you wait for your meal. I sure could of used it for all that fat in the sauce. The wait staff was overall nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

There online menu does not match the in ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 25, 2016

There online menu does not match the in house menu. One example "happy Hour" times both on line and in house state same times but NO where does it say bar only. Prices different on line to in house.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.