About Revolution Grille

5333 Monroe St.
Toledo, OH 43623
View Larger Map

At Revolution Grille, we offer a new take on American cuisine using local growers and natural products. Our extensive wine, craft cocktail and beer lists will enhance the flavor of your entrees and elevate your dining experience.

~Eat well and enjoy!

Trust your Chef. Our menu changes frequently, on Chef’s whim based on the seasonality and availability of our ingredients. Items listed may not be served.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Dining Bar

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Nantucket Rd (Hobby Lobby Plaza)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(419) 841-0066

Website:
http://www.revolutiongrille.com/

Executive Chef:
Rob Campbell

Private Party Facilities:
The Chef's Table in our private room has seating for up to 16 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Rob Campbell: x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Revolution Grille, Toledo, OH
Crispy Fried Brussel Sprouts - Revolution Grille, Toledo, OH
Artichoke Caper Soup W/Goat Cheese - Revolution Grille, Toledo, OH
Squash Creme Brulee - Revolution Grille, Toledo, OH
Lamb Chops - Revolution Grille, Toledo, OH
Beetroot Falafel - Revolution Grille, Toledo, OH
Sea Scallops W/Purple Yams - Revolution Grille, Toledo, OH
Chicken Schnitzel A La Holstein - Revolution Grille, Toledo, OH
Coconut Cream Pie - Revolution Grille, Toledo, OH
Ribeye - Revolution Grille, Toledo, OH
Grilled Walleye Taco - Revolution Grille, Toledo, OH
dark chocolate - Revolution Grille, Toledo, OH

Revolution Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Toledo
Most Booked
Toledo
Best Restaurants in Sylvania ›

Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Cozy (7)
Seasonal (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Romantic (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great Beer (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Business Meals (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
643 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love this place and will always return ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 6 days ago

I love this place and will always return. A ton of great dishes that you won't find anywhere else in town.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Calamari was excellent! The frog legs we ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Calamari was excellent! The frog legs were just ok. Waitress was very knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, and a great vibe! We had ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent food, and a great vibe! We had trouble deciding what to order for dinner, but not dessert! Do yourself a favor and order the Zeppelo!

Tags: Cozy, Vegan, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I was back in Sylvania visiting family f ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I was back in Sylvania visiting family for thanksgiving and decided to take advantage of "free babysitting" and took my wife out for dinner at Revolution Grille, which wasn't around last time I was in town.

I ordered the bbq beef cheek, which unfortunately was out for the night so I went with the duck instead. It was seared perfectly and had great flavor. My wife had the strip steak which was quite good and was a pretty serious portion.

My wife had the butternut curry soup, which was very rich and tasty.

I also had a "this is the end" drink, which was an interesting new mix that I might try to put together myself.

I marked paleo friendly because while everything isn't actually set up as paleo, it would be extremely easy to just ask for a different side that wasn't rice, for example, and to not eat the bread that comes with dinner.

Overall, it seems to be a really good "fancy" option in Sylvania/Toledo for dates and special occasions and the occasional splurge for dinner. With one drink, one soup, and two entrees, with tip out the door the cost was somthing like $90, which I think is pretty reasonable for the quality and preparation of the food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a wonderful experience. The food, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It was a wonderful experience. The food, the service, and the drinks were great. I will be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent night out with my wife! The fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent night out with my wife! The food and drinks were fantastic!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service was terrific! Rec ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great food and service was terrific! Recommend the calamari appetizer (spicy Korean style) and the kofta flatbread!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Found revolution Grill via open table as ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Found revolution Grill via open table as we were looking for someplace different for a get together for my Wife's birthday.

We had 8:00 PM reservations but were not seated until about 8:20 PM. We really din't mind this as we understand they don't have control of how long parties stay.

What they did have control over was poorly executed.

Cocktails taking 45 min. to be served is unacceptable.

Two of the same dinners, Duck, which looked nothing alike. One was done properly but the skin needed to be more crisp. The second was cooked completely through, no pink at all, and also needed the skin to be more crisp. The second should not have been served, in my opinion, and especially should not have been served to the same table with a more properly prepared meal.

With the wild variations in the same meal and lengthy waits we found the overall experience to be much less than we paid for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Pricey...portions very very small especi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Pricey...portions very very small especially for the price!

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

The food was great. I like the digital m ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was great. I like the digital menu where you can see the prepared dish before you order it. Service was attentive and knowledgeable. Chef Rob does a great job interacting with guest and make many table touches. The food had a great value to it without being too small on the portions. Highlight for the night was the Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Dulce de leche meringue paired with Richter Riesling. This was a great finish. Would highly recommend that you stop in and enjoy this gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I dined here recently, and g ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My wife and I dined here recently, and got another quality meal from Chef Rob and his staff. Generous portions with fresh ingredients, with a nice wine/cocktail program make for an enjoyable evening. Love the zeppoles for dessert.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love it, the chef's table is the best ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We love it, the chef's table is the best!! We took friends that have never been there, we had a great time.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have nothing negative to say about Rev ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I have nothing negative to say about Revolution Grille. We enjoyed every moment from making the reservation online (super fast and convenient) to being seated right away when we got there and the amazing service and food throughout the night. We will be back often!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on Saturday night at 6pm so the ...

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went on Saturday night at 6pm so the restaurant was not crowded. Everyone was pleased with their main course. However one person ordered the Lobster Bisque and it was a big disappointment. When the waiter heard that the customer was unhappy he took it off the check. Our waiter was exceptionally attentive with a very pleasant manner. My husband and I shared the beet and squash salad. Everyone wanted a taste! It was unusual and delicious. We have eaten at Revolution Grille previously. In my opinion, they keep improving.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is delicious and the wait staff ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food is delicious and the wait staff VERY attentive!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server, Adam, was outstanding! He de ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our server, Adam, was outstanding! He described the dishes so well that our mouths were watering. He also coordinated with the chef to accommodate a food allergy and allow us to have our first choice of entree. Seasonal items and a great wine list mean this has just become our go-to for a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A little over priced for the meal I purc ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 1, 2016

A little over priced for the meal I purchased. I had the braised beef which was very tender with good flavor but it was basically sitting in a sauce that was primarily fat. Plus I would recommend some type a bread as you wait for your meal. I sure could of used it for all that fat in the sauce. The wait staff was overall nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

There online menu does not match the in ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 25, 2016

There online menu does not match the in house menu. One example "happy Hour" times both on line and in house state same times but NO where does it say bar only. Prices different on line to in house.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

There wasn't any vegetarian options on T ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 22, 2016

There wasn't any vegetarian options on Thursday. Please have one or two on all days

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The wine service was impeccable. We had ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The wine service was impeccable. We had a wonderful dry Riesling that was chilled and opened table side. Our server was on point with her suggestions from the appetizer (fried brussel sprouts) to dessert. Our only criticism (and a small one at that) would be that the entrees were nkt as stellar as the appetizers, salads and desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Very good C ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent food and service. Very good Chef interface with patrons. A favorite for repeat visits.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Took 20 minutes to get our first drink o ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Took 20 minutes to get our first drink order. Our waiter, a young black man with an accent, never checked on us. I had to go to the bar to order our second drink. Food was delicious, but service was atrocious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

First time here, excellent, we will defi ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 26, 2016

First time here, excellent, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our experience there. Great foo ...

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We loved our experience there. Great food and service from Caroline.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My first visit. Tomato Bisque, Crab Cake ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 14, 2016

My first visit. Tomato Bisque, Crab Cakes, Flat Bread Pizza. All super delicious! Staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. Ambiance is very nice though on a busy night, I imagine it gets a bit loud. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed with the service an ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were disappointed with the service and food on 8-12-16. This was our sixth dining experience at revolution and probably our last. We have always had great service and food but we were not impressed. The calamari was drenched in sauce and completely soggy. The coffee and s'more brownie took 45 mins to reach our table after we ordered it and it was quite dry. Our server was very sweet but less than attentive. We are also disappointed to hear you are no longer a part of main street ventures.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Nikki, our server, was very good! As us ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Nikki, our server, was very good! As usual, we really enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Server very helpful with recommendations ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Server very helpful with recommendations... All food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good,but several choices were u ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was good,but several choices were unavailable. Music too loud for 7 pm and easy conversation. Service was prompt and friendly. Food was not as good as previous visits,but would try again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Moved from foodie paradise of Chicago. ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Moved from foodie paradise of Chicago. Had not found a great independent non-chain restaurant of this caliber in Toledo until Revolution Grille. Every course was outstanding. Appetizers for us were salmon tartare and mushroom tacos. Both were outstanding. Entrees were grilled scallops and jumbo lump crab cakes. Every bite was delicious. The craft cocktails were amazing. Chef/owner Rob came to our table a couple times to check in. Outstanding experience and we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was just average, nothing special. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was just average, nothing special. Very loud as tables were close together, difficult to carry on a conversation.....I think I would go elsewhere, Mancy's Italian is close by and every bit as good. Probably won't go back for awhile if at all.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This was a great find. It's tucked away ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was a great find. It's tucked away in a strip shopping center. Although simple on the outside, the interior was decorated tastefully and modern, with a bar area and seating.

We started with drinks and they were fantastic. The octopus, deviled eggs and flat bread were perfect portions and very tasty for starters. We ordered the lamb, scallops, and salmon. All prepare properly and portion size was more than expected. The s'more brownie was shared and enjoyed by all at our table.

I recommend this restaurant for its mixed drink and wine selection, the appetizers, and main course choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There are many people who love this rest ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 22, 2016

There are many people who love this restaurant but I have to say the food is very middle of the road. Do not order the steak there. Have done this twice and it was not very good. Great dessert coconut cream pie. Do order it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We went to Revolution with another coupl ...

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We went to Revolution with another couple on Saturday night. It wasn't too crowded or noisy. We had reservations and were seated immediately. Two of us ordered crab cakes. They were outstanding. Lots of crab and minimal filling. Just perfect. One person got fish and the other chicken schnitzel. Everyone was pleased with their choices.

Our waitress was attentive and charming. All in all, a perfect dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Third visit - my favorite restaurant. A ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Third visit - my favorite restaurant. A lively, creative place with good service. I wish they hadn't gotten rid of the "mocktail" alcohol-free cocktail - it was a masterpiece! Also, there are usually interesting vegetarian entrees on the web menu, but not on the regular menu when I visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food + customer service

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 9, 2016

The food was excellent. Especially noteworthy were the salad appetizers, the seafood entrees, and the deserts. The restaurant provided customer service above and beyond expectations. When a communication mixup between my server and me led to my not being able to have my choice of entrees ( last one sold), I was provided another ( excellent) entree. I didn't complain but without my requesting it, the server comped my meal and provided free deserts to me and my dinner companions. We were out-of-towners and there is no prospect of a return in the immediate future. I was greatly impressed by their reaction to a communication misunderstanding. I think enterprises with that level of customer attentiveness and integrity should be supported - especially when the quality of food is so high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food is wonderful. Always unique, delici ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Food is wonderful. Always unique, delicious. Our server was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Revolution Grille was great dining experience!

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on June 1, 2016

Very good food, service and drinks! The Hickory Manhattan was a nice change and very good. We had salmon and scallops, both were excellent. The cheese tray and Brussels sprout appetizers were excellent. I would highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service(especially Sara) wa ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food and service(especially Sara) was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get there now

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Chef Rob Campbell has the most unique menu in town. Cozy, upscale atmosphere, very reasonable prices for the quality and creativity in food and service you receive. Go all out with multiple courses and an ample wine list, or just relax with some craft cocktails and a flatbread. If you haven't checked out this small gem in Sylvania do it on your next night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.