About Revel Kitchen & Bar

331 Hartz Ave
Danville, CA 94526
View Larger Map

From the owners of Esin Restaurant and Bar. Revel Kitchen & Bar is located in Historic Downtown Danville. Revel Kitchen & Bar is an uspcale, yet casual tavern offering local, sustainable & natural ingredients. Liquid refreshments feature Craft Beers on tap, Craft Cocktails and eclectic wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Su-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Diablo Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 208-1758

Website:
http://revelkitchenandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Additional public parking lot located directly behind restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Curtis deCarion

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join our email list locate at revelkitchenandbar.com to find out about upcoming events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Revel Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Danville ›

Fit for Foodies (57)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Vibrant Bar Scene (43)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Hot Spot (38)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for Groups (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Romantic (9)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
445 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

1st time at Revel and we were very impre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

1st time at Revel and we were very impressed! Daniel was our server and he was amazingly attentive without being in our space. We sampled 2 of the classic cocktails and they were amazing, as well Daniel recommended a glass of wine to accompany the entrees we had and it was a perfect match! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit, after a friend recommen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Our first visit, after a friend recommended. There was a decent variety of items (although for a non-nut eating vegetarian it was more limited). Service was very efficient. Fun to try some place new. I recommend!

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this restaurant. It's become a Danv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Love this restaurant. It's become a Danville favorite for many it seems. Was quite busy but still got great service. Food was delicious. It's a sister restaurant to Esin. More casual and slightly different menu. But worth trying

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Average food and service. Not worth the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Average food and service. Not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Excellent food, attentive staff. Will de ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food, attentive staff. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience. Attentive serv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great dining experience. Attentive service.The short ribs were amazing great with the polenta. Pork chop was hearty. Good portions. Bar is lively. Fun scene for drinks and appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a repeat visit for my wife and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was a repeat visit for my wife and I. The food is always excellent. The fried chicken sliders are simply great. Highly highly recommended for an y occasion.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place. A great add to the dow ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Love this place. A great add to the downtown area. The food is amazing. Our server is very attentive and very thoughtful. He noticed our frites looked a little dry and brought us more gravy. It's always the little things that make us feel special and well taken care of. One of our best date nights!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Great outdoor seating are ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great service. Great outdoor seating area. Food was just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Mussels dish with chorizo was delicious. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Mussels dish with chorizo was delicious. Other favorites are shrimp and grits and the fried chicken sliders.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome place, our new "Go To" place for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Awesome place, our new "Go To" place for date night. All of the food dishes are amazing as well as selection of draft beer and drinks. The burger, chicken wings, and tartare tuna are the best! Be sure you make reservations ahead of time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Shrimp and Grits, and I'm from ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Loved the Shrimp and Grits, and I'm from New Orleans!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Revel is more like a café--lots of windo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Revel is more like a café--lots of windows and light in the front, a patio onto the street. Food is good, accessible, and the bartenders and servers are attentive. A good, solid option for a casual meal in Danville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I'm so glad we decided to go to Revel to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I'm so glad we decided to go to Revel to celebrate our friends birthday. The food was outstanding and the staff top notch! We have been raving about all weekend. I forgot our waiters name but he was fab. Tell him Thank you from our gang!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very lively downtown Danville spot. Exc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very lively downtown Danville spot. Excellent food, good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Menu needs diversification. We are repea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Menu needs diversification. We are repeat customers from the hood. The menu needs updating and more spice variety.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The overall experience was excellent! an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The overall experience was excellent! and the food was outstanding, especially the Key Lime Tart dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Made reservation after receiving email t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Made reservation after receiving email they had a 4th of July special, but they were out of their "special" by 7:00. Left & dined elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We are pretty much regulars at Revel and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We are pretty much regulars at Revel and it is just delightful and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My only complaint is that I was facing t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My only complaint is that I was facing the wall with a photo of fish heads. Not pretty. Would not do that again. Other than that everything was great. Food was really good. We went early on Saturday night so it wasn't too crowded but even as the restaurant began to fill up we did not feel like we were sitting on top of the next table and we could still hear each other. And the parking is close.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always love this neighborhood hotspot ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We always love this neighborhood hotspot. The menu is great and servers are always attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great Danville hot spot. Thoroughly enjo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great Danville hot spot. Thoroughly enjoyed the shrimp n' grits as well as the tomato burrata small plates. Other guests loved the salmon dinner special. Only improvement would be from the bar - our cocktails were watered-down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was excellent! We decided to gra ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was excellent! We decided to gradually order different appetizers to split and everything we tried was great. I think our favorite was the fried chicken sliders. $120 for 3 cocktails, 1 glass of wine, 6 oysters, chicken wings, truffle fries, fried chicken sliders, and deviled eggs (with tax). Outside was perfect temperature!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit to Revel. Food is very goo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Second visit to Revel. Food is very good. Four of us - ordered a variety of different small plates and shared. Deviled eggs were great. Chicken sliders super tasty. Meatballs - very good. My little gems salad was very good-fresh-yum.

The others ordered big plates as well as the mushroom soup - all were pleased with their choices.

Nice meal and great weather to sit outside in the evening. Our server was great - attentive and helpful. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Revel never lets us down. I love the me ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Revel never lets us down. I love the menu and can always find something that works, even with a limited diet. Atmosphere is always fun and lively, and service is fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was very nice outdoor seating and the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

It was very nice outdoor seating and the food was delicious. Many options to choose from, weekly specials too. Wine list was great, price was above average. Staff was courteous and kind, very prompt. They were also pet friendly which I personally enjoyed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our 2nd time there. The first t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was our 2nd time there. The first time the food was excellent, but this time it wasn't as good. Not as flavored.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great dining experience, food and service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Something for everyone - soups, salads, appetizers, small plates (hot & cold), full entrees, along with special cocktails, a lovely wine menu and great beer selections. SAVE ROOM FOR DESSERT! Indoor and outdoor dining, booths, tables and community tables. Excellent service from the receptionist to bartenders and servers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always reliable

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Dinner at Revel is always very good. The food is particularly good, the wine selection by the glass is good, and the ambience is upbeat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall, wonderful experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Really great place. The food we ordered was a little underseasoned (soup and short ribs), but everything else was wonderful. Wine, food selection, service, ambiance.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great first time experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was wonderful. We had oysters from Marin, fresh and flavorful. The deviled eggs were favorites. Cocktails were inventive. We were really happy to see the COPA America soccer game displayed at the bar - thank you Revel! Service was excellent, attentive and not overbearing. Recommend the homemade pasta and the cassoulet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

first bad experience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I come here often, tonight the restaurant was slow, service was poor and the food was sub par at best. We took friends from out of town and were embarrassed by the recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Superb food. Excellent service. Relaxed, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Superb food. Excellent service. Relaxed, friendly ambiance. I like the booths. Love the music selection. It can get a little loud and you can't hear the music and it's difficult to hear your dinner partner. All in all, one of my favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lively place

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Came here on a Sunday for dinner. Sundays are when ribs are available and of course we tried those -- good but not fall off the bone tender. The menu options were appealing and were pretty good. We will come again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service has gotten much better. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food and service has gotten much better. Food is much more focused and clean and flavorful! Pasta was fresh and tasty! Burgers were cooked to perfection! Salads crisp and not overdressed. Best mules!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always outstanding, music is ter ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Food is always outstanding, music is terrible and too loud. Hard to carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Best birthday dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Nichole was our server and she was fantastic. She easily toured us through the menu, selecting popular items for us to enjoy. Nichole also had everything come out in a spaced time so we could enjoy each food at a time. We started with the hummus, which was fantastic. Followed by the avacado bruschetta, that I am still having dreams about! Next was their famous Monday night special the fried chicken sliders, mmmmmmm mmmm! So good! Lastly, we had their fried chicken dinner and shrimp and grits! Delicious! She was very intuitive on when to refill our wine glasses and open our next bottle! Since it was a birthdays celebration she was gracious enough to take a few photos of us. Finally for bday dessert we shared the beinets and butterscotch pudding! My advice, dip those beinets into the pudding! Wowza! I was a happy bday girl!

Overall, we had a fantastic time. Happy and full as we left. Nichole was the perfect host to our experience! Thank you, we will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit pricy but this is Danville. Happy ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A bit pricy but this is Danville. Happy servers here. My friend ordered the pork chop. She said it was dry and tasteless. The next week I go back with another friend who ordered the chop, she loved it. I have had three visits with Revel, I haven't been disappointed. I ordered a club soda with a splash of cranberry juice. I get a glass of club soda and a glass of cranberry juice. I'm guessing they're not use to serving non alcohol drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good food but service not so

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

A group of four for a friends Birthday celebration. The small plates were large portions and very tasty, and the main courses (three of us had the special Salmon) were very good - cooked to perfection. The wine selection was good too. Unfortunately we were let down by the server who seemed to be covering way too many tables and gave us little attention (and had a poor attitude) although we were clearly happy to part with our hard earned cash. Good food but there are alternatives that provide better service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

In Danville? Don't miss this location!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

A very good overall experience! The food was fresh and flavorful. Recommend the raw oysters from well-known locations. The lamb sliders were seasoned and cooked to perfection. You cannot leave without trying the short ribs, which I would call the signature dish. Had the shrimp and grits which were passable and a little to heavy for my taste. The only disappointment is the noise level in the restaurant. At 7 pm on a Saturday night, you must shout to communicate with the participants at your table. Not much they can do about that, other than a retrofit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.