About Revel Kitchen & Bar

331 Hartz Ave
Danville, CA 94526
View Larger Map

From the owners of Esin Restaurant and Bar. Revel Kitchen & Bar is located in Historic Downtown Danville. Revel Kitchen & Bar is an uspcale, yet casual tavern offering local, sustainable & natural ingredients. Liquid refreshments feature Craft Beers on tap, Craft Cocktails and eclectic wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Su-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Diablo Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 208-1758

Website:
http://revelkitchenandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Additional public parking lot located directly behind restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Curtis deCarion

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join our email list locate at revelkitchenandbar.com to find out about upcoming events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Revel Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (32)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Comfort Food (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Casual (15)
Fun (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Tapas (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
People Watching (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Romantic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Business Meals (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Live Sports (4)
Authentic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Organic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
523 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I found the gentleman (maybe the manager ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

I found the gentleman (maybe the manager) at the hostess station a litte rude. Our server was fabulous (personably, knowledgeable & funny) and the food was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

First time here and was looking forward ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

First time here and was looking forward to the food as have been to Esin which I love. This place was so loud you could not hear your conversation. I asked for a booth in the back which helped but still loud. The food was great and we had good service. I might return in the summer for outside seating! A bit of a disappointment!

Tags: Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value4

Great, as always-even if our service was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Great, as always-even if our service was slightly under par this time around.

The quality of the happy hour red wine was unacceptable so I ordered from the wine list.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great ambiance though a bit loud at full ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Great ambiance though a bit loud at full capacity.

Wait staff was great

Food very good the avocado bruschetta was awesome

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, delicious hamburger and exce ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, delicious hamburger and excellent shrimp. High energy environment!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great! Food, atmosphere, lighting, servi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great! Food, atmosphere, lighting, service, all top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on a rainy Sunday night and place w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Went on a rainy Sunday night and place was less than half full though you usually need a reservation. The food was outstanding. Not gourmet fancy just really well done bistro type food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating a new job.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Celebrating a new job.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We made a meal of all the small plates a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We made a meal of all the small plates and then delicious desserts. It is my favorite way to eat and fun with a group of great friends. Shrimp and Grits and pork belly were my favorites. The butterscotch pudding is still the winner for dessert but the apple cake was a close second. Yummmm...

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

When we called 2 hours prior to our rese ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

When we called 2 hours prior to our reservation to ask for the restaurant to add 3 people to our "party of 2", we were told they couldn't. We would have to change our 5:30pm block to 9pm. When we arrived at the restaurant and began our meal there were several empty tables that seated more than two; and many did not get filled..even after we left the restaurant at 7:30pm. Very disappointed that they were unwilling to add 3 people. The hostess didn't apologize when we mentioned the disappointment, and rudely told the one seating us " Here, take them."

The food was average - nothing spectacular, however we ordered their pudding as we remembered it was rather good the 1st time...it was still just as good. No plans on returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Always enjoy the food. Service was good. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always enjoy the food. Service was good. But Sat 20 late and dont care for the tables by the bar.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was totally disappointed. My $12 cockt ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was totally disappointed. My $12 cocktail consisted mostly of a large ice cube with a lemon wedge. Ahi tartare lacked seasoning and we sent back our fries that came with the lamb sliders. If you can't serve decent shoe string fries, this does not bode well.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We have been to Revel a number of times ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been to Revel a number of times now and I don't recall having a bad meal or service deficiency when we were there.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

too rich...too much butter. salmon doesn ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

too rich...too much butter. salmon doesn't need butter

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We really enjoyed happy hour, had all of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We really enjoyed happy hour, had all of the new items on the menu.

the dollar oysters were extremely tiny, though. The tostadas were excellent,

ribs were delicious, but could be more tender. The slider burger was the only

item I would not order again, as the meat was good, but the bun was cold and

not very tasty. The red wine on the happy hour was pretty bad, I had to upgrade.

Still, all in all, a great value and we will go back again-we are regulars here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always great food. Our server Halie did ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Always great food. Our server Halie did a fantastic job which made our dining experience even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I could literally come here everyday and ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I could literally come here everyday and eat the steak and frites! Love the selection of oysters too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Revel is our frequently visited neighbor ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Revel is our frequently visited neighborhood place with excellent Bavette, the best fries, delicious butterscotch pudding and a good wine list. Friendly staff and familiar faces makes you feel at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A charming, casual yet upscale experienc ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

A charming, casual yet upscale experience. All staff were attentive and allowed a relaxing meal. Serving sizes were just right. Cocktails were delicious. Desserts were just the right amount of unique ad flavorful.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing service: reservation ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Very disappointing service: reservation at 8:30 but not seated until almost 9; watered down martini which we were charged for (despite sending it back - twice! - and being told we would not be); no silverware brought to the table with the main dishes and had to wait 5 minutes to have that rectified.

Food quality was generally good, although the risotto was unusually sweet (may not be to everyone's taste).

I suppose it's understandable that sometimes tables don't turn over as quickly as they are expected to, so we were unfortunate in getting off to a bad start to the evening. But overall, the staff lacked follow-through in fixing our customer experience, and made it worse by continuing to make mistakes.

We have been occasional customers over the past year; based on this experience, we will not return.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

We had the Monday fried chicken - it was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had the Monday fried chicken - it was excellent!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service from our server and gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent service from our server and great food too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent with the fried ch ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food was excellent with the fried chicken Monday special well worth coming back for. The service was very good. The only thing that we noted was that whenever the main door was opened it blew the very cold air outside well into the restaurant as we were not close to the door. Overall though I would highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was fantastic as usual. Brought ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food was fantastic as usual. Brought some friends from out of town and they were more than happy with their meals.

Only thing I wasn't so happy with is that the margarita I ordered was in a tiny glass and seemed like a very short pour.

Tasted better in a tall glass, which I requested for the second round, but still no buzz after two drinks for a lightweight!! LOL

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great small plates. Not crowded on Satur ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great small plates. Not crowded on Saturdays and Sundays!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both the menu and the food were very dis ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Both the menu and the food were very disappointing. None of us finished our meals. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Reservation for 7, seated at ~7:20-7:25. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Reservation for 7, seated at ~7:20-7:25. Food OK, Chicken wings not so great, little meat and few drumettes. Waygu hamburger good, lentil soup just ok. Noisy

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and waitress was very nice lo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great food and waitress was very nice loved my cocktail overall really nice

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent food, excellent service, a ver ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service, a very hip spot. A little too much foot traffic by thr side booths near the rest rooms.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sat at the bar while waiting for our tab ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Sat at the bar while waiting for our table and ended up staying there and eating. The bartenders were terrific, wine was great, fresh, wonderful oysters. Just loved the food. Such a fun experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've always had great food at Revel. Ho ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I've always had great food at Revel. However, the short ribs were dry and not very tasty. Flat iron steak is excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The Sunday special was ribs, they were e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The Sunday special was ribs, they were excellent, in fact some of the best teasted. We shared the pork belly appetizer and that was a great cut and really well cooked and presented. Notable drinks list too. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing, don't skip the small p ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was amazing, don't skip the small plates - they are well worth it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service great night!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food great service great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Revel was a treat. It's mostly about sh ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Revel was a treat. It's mostly about sharing plates but when most of us got our plates the sharing was at a minimal. The kale sad was fresh and delightful. The short ribs, rich and amazing, the risotto was moist and delicious as a risotto should be. Prawns were good size and well prepared in both dishes, one grilled, the other with a coconut flair. Our waiter was fantastic!!! Would definitely return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Short ribs are amazing. Shrimp and grit ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Short ribs are amazing. Shrimp and grits is always prepared well. The butterscotch pudding and the chocolate bread pudding is something you can't leave without trying. It's Esin's signature dessert. So glad they've brought it over to Revel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is consistently good. Chicken ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food is consistently good. Chicken & Biscuits, Beignets. The cocktails are unique and the menu has something for everyone. In Giverny is my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were 15min late due to traffic and wh ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were 15min late due to traffic and when we arrived our table was given away. No call to ask if we are still coming or apologies about the situation. A 20 year old blond hostess acting like she owns the place, arrogant and disrespectful. No customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

We brought friends from out of town here ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We brought friends from out of town here for a meal. Everything was perfect. The service was terrific. The meatballs are spicy, didn't expect that. The short ribs were delicious, and so was the pork belly. I have no complaints. The restaurant is beautiful. Great ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed all of the food we tried. Devile ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Enjoyed all of the food we tried. Deviled eggs, lamb sliders, short ribs. Yum, yum, yum. Enjoyed the atmosphere and will definitely go back. Will also plan to tell friends about this place.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Cozy, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.