About Revel Kitchen & Bar

331 Hartz Ave
Danville, CA 94526
View Larger Map

From the owners of Esin Restaurant and Bar. Revel Kitchen & Bar is located in Historic Downtown Danville. Revel Kitchen & Bar is an uspcale, yet casual tavern offering local, sustainable & natural ingredients. Liquid refreshments feature Craft Beers on tap, Craft Cocktails and eclectic wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Su-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Diablo Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 208-1758

Website:
http://revelkitchenandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Additional public parking lot located directly behind restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Curtis deCarion

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join our email list locate at revelkitchenandbar.com to find out about upcoming events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Revel Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
East Bay
Contemporary American
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Danville ›

Fit for Foodies (52)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (38)
Hot Spot (36)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Groups (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for a Date (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Romantic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tapas (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Business Meals (3)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Live Sports (2)
People Watching (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is not my first visit to Revel, but ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is not my first visit to Revel, but the first time I took my partner. He's a fried chicken lover, so we went on a Monday (to great success, he loved it). Overall, meals were great, service was fine. My only complaint was the gin and tonic I ordered tasted like pure tonic water. I'm not sure if it was shaken (watered down), or just a weak pour, but when I wouldn't like order this specific cocktail again. I've had a martini here, it was fine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent all around experience, solid f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent all around experience, solid four star restaurant.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great cocktails, good options on the men ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great cocktails, good options on the menu, good service, modern decor and setup and good vibe overall. Went there for dinner with friends and it was perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Arzel was awesome! Also, two weeks ago K ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Arzel was awesome!

Also, two weeks ago Kyle was equally as awesome. We saw him this time and he gave us a great recommendation for dessert.

I was brought up in a wine household and your wine list is wonderful, that Spanish Priorat is a great find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food. Very good selection of dishe ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great food. Very good selection of dishes that can be shared. Nice atmosphere however can get a bit loud.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First time there and not only enjoyed th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

First time there and not only enjoyed the food but the waiter was friendly and helpful

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a Moms Night Out!!! Dads and kids ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Had a Moms Night Out!!! Dads and kids joined later. Food Amazing!!

Our waiter Zell super on top of everything!!

Great atmosphere. Super accommodating team at Revel!!!

Consistent yummy food every time. Revel is a favorite for sure!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bar service was good. Shrimp & Grits por ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Bar service was good. Shrimp & Grits portion was quite small & the Mary's 1/2 chicken was over done which was disappointing since it's 1 of their signature dishes.

This is a loud place with no sound dampening so it can be difficult to hold a conversation with friends.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Always fresh and delicious food. I am ne ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always fresh and delicious food. I am never disappointed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Revel several times and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have been to Revel several times and are never disappointed. This visit was no exception. Our server Katelyn (sp?) was exceptional. The perfect amount of attention without being intrusive. The support staff was great, too! We wanted for nothing the entire evening. Her recommendations were perfect.

And the food was equally outstanding. It was the perfect end of summer meal—smoked pork loin w/ fresh creamed corn, corn chowder, watermelon arugula salad and chicken slider with the best fried chicken I have ever had and I love fried chicken.

The cocktails and dessert are amazing , too. Can't wait for our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! We had a 40th dinner for a good ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Amazing! We had a 40th dinner for a good friend- shared amazing food. Sat outside, perfect evening

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant has always been very cons ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The restaurant has always been very consistent with both food and service.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good experience again at Revel. Easy to ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Good experience again at Revel. Easy to chat and the server was attentive but got the pace just right for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

1st time at Revel and we were very impre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

1st time at Revel and we were very impressed! Daniel was our server and he was amazingly attentive without being in our space. We sampled 2 of the classic cocktails and they were amazing, as well Daniel recommended a glass of wine to accompany the entrees we had and it was a perfect match! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit, after a friend recommen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Our first visit, after a friend recommended. There was a decent variety of items (although for a non-nut eating vegetarian it was more limited). Service was very efficient. Fun to try some place new. I recommend!

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this restaurant. It's become a Danv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Love this restaurant. It's become a Danville favorite for many it seems. Was quite busy but still got great service. Food was delicious. It's a sister restaurant to Esin. More casual and slightly different menu. But worth trying

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Average food and service. Not worth the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Average food and service. Not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Excellent food, attentive staff. Will de ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food, attentive staff. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience. Attentive serv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great dining experience. Attentive service.The short ribs were amazing great with the polenta. Pork chop was hearty. Good portions. Bar is lively. Fun scene for drinks and appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a repeat visit for my wife and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was a repeat visit for my wife and I. The food is always excellent. The fried chicken sliders are simply great. Highly highly recommended for an y occasion.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place. A great add to the dow ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Love this place. A great add to the downtown area. The food is amazing. Our server is very attentive and very thoughtful. He noticed our frites looked a little dry and brought us more gravy. It's always the little things that make us feel special and well taken care of. One of our best date nights!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Great outdoor seating are ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great service. Great outdoor seating area. Food was just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Mussels dish with chorizo was delicious. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Mussels dish with chorizo was delicious. Other favorites are shrimp and grits and the fried chicken sliders.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome place, our new "Go To" place for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Awesome place, our new "Go To" place for date night. All of the food dishes are amazing as well as selection of draft beer and drinks. The burger, chicken wings, and tartare tuna are the best! Be sure you make reservations ahead of time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Shrimp and Grits, and I'm from ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Loved the Shrimp and Grits, and I'm from New Orleans!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Revel is more like a café--lots of windo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Revel is more like a café--lots of windows and light in the front, a patio onto the street. Food is good, accessible, and the bartenders and servers are attentive. A good, solid option for a casual meal in Danville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I'm so glad we decided to go to Revel to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I'm so glad we decided to go to Revel to celebrate our friends birthday. The food was outstanding and the staff top notch! We have been raving about all weekend. I forgot our waiters name but he was fab. Tell him Thank you from our gang!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very lively downtown Danville spot. Exc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very lively downtown Danville spot. Excellent food, good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Menu needs diversification. We are repea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Menu needs diversification. We are repeat customers from the hood. The menu needs updating and more spice variety.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The overall experience was excellent! an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The overall experience was excellent! and the food was outstanding, especially the Key Lime Tart dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Made reservation after receiving email t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Made reservation after receiving email they had a 4th of July special, but they were out of their "special" by 7:00. Left & dined elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We are pretty much regulars at Revel and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We are pretty much regulars at Revel and it is just delightful and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My only complaint is that I was facing t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My only complaint is that I was facing the wall with a photo of fish heads. Not pretty. Would not do that again. Other than that everything was great. Food was really good. We went early on Saturday night so it wasn't too crowded but even as the restaurant began to fill up we did not feel like we were sitting on top of the next table and we could still hear each other. And the parking is close.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not a fan. The staff seemed distracted.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Not a fan. The staff seemed distracted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We always love this neighborhood hotspot ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We always love this neighborhood hotspot. The menu is great and servers are always attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great Danville hot spot. Thoroughly enjo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great Danville hot spot. Thoroughly enjoyed the shrimp n' grits as well as the tomato burrata small plates. Other guests loved the salmon dinner special. Only improvement would be from the bar - our cocktails were watered-down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was excellent! We decided to gra ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was excellent! We decided to gradually order different appetizers to split and everything we tried was great. I think our favorite was the fried chicken sliders. $120 for 3 cocktails, 1 glass of wine, 6 oysters, chicken wings, truffle fries, fried chicken sliders, and deviled eggs (with tax). Outside was perfect temperature!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit to Revel. Food is very goo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Second visit to Revel. Food is very good. Four of us - ordered a variety of different small plates and shared. Deviled eggs were great. Chicken sliders super tasty. Meatballs - very good. My little gems salad was very good-fresh-yum.

The others ordered big plates as well as the mushroom soup - all were pleased with their choices.

Nice meal and great weather to sit outside in the evening. Our server was great - attentive and helpful. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Revel never lets us down. I love the me ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Revel never lets us down. I love the menu and can always find something that works, even with a limited diet. Atmosphere is always fun and lively, and service is fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was very nice outdoor seating and the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

It was very nice outdoor seating and the food was delicious. Many options to choose from, weekly specials too. Wine list was great, price was above average. Staff was courteous and kind, very prompt. They were also pet friendly which I personally enjoyed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.