About Revel Kitchen & Bar

331 Hartz Ave
Danville, CA 94526
View Larger Map

From the owners of Esin Restaurant and Bar. Revel Kitchen & Bar is located in Historic Downtown Danville. Revel Kitchen & Bar is an uspcale, yet casual tavern offering local, sustainable & natural ingredients. Liquid refreshments feature Craft Beers on tap, Craft Cocktails and eclectic wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Su-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Diablo Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 208-1758

Website:
http://revelkitchenandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Additional public parking lot located directly behind restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Curtis deCarion

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join our email list locate at revelkitchenandbar.com to find out about upcoming events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Revel Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Danville ›

fit for foodies (60)
neighborhood gem (47)
vibrant bar scene (46)
See All
great for outdoor dining (44)
hot spot (35)
notable wine list (19)
good for groups (19)
special occasion (19)
romantic (9)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Revel is more like a café--lots of windo ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Revel is more like a café--lots of windows and light in the front, a patio onto the street. Food is good, accessible, and the bartenders and servers are attentive. A good, solid option for a casual meal in Danville.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I'm so glad we decided to go to Revel to ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I'm so glad we decided to go to Revel to celebrate our friends birthday. The food was outstanding and the staff top notch! We have been raving about all weekend. I forgot our waiters name but he was fab. Tell him Thank you from our gang!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very lively downtown Danville spot. Exc ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very lively downtown Danville spot. Excellent food, good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Menu needs diversification. We are repea ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Menu needs diversification. We are repeat customers from the hood. The menu needs updating and more spice variety.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The overall experience was excellent! an ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The overall experience was excellent! and the food was outstanding, especially the Key Lime Tart dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Made reservation after receiving email t ...

 
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Made reservation after receiving email they had a 4th of July special, but they were out of their "special" by 7:00. Left & dined elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We are pretty much regulars at Revel and ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We are pretty much regulars at Revel and it is just delightful and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My only complaint is that I was facing t ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My only complaint is that I was facing the wall with a photo of fish heads. Not pretty. Would not do that again. Other than that everything was great. Food was really good. We went early on Saturday night so it wasn't too crowded but even as the restaurant began to fill up we did not feel like we were sitting on top of the next table and we could still hear each other. And the parking is close.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always love this neighborhood hotspot ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We always love this neighborhood hotspot. The menu is great and servers are always attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great Danville hot spot. Thoroughly enjo ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great Danville hot spot. Thoroughly enjoyed the shrimp n' grits as well as the tomato burrata small plates. Other guests loved the salmon dinner special. Only improvement would be from the bar - our cocktails were watered-down.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was excellent! We decided to gra ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was excellent! We decided to gradually order different appetizers to split and everything we tried was great. I think our favorite was the fried chicken sliders. $120 for 3 cocktails, 1 glass of wine, 6 oysters, chicken wings, truffle fries, fried chicken sliders, and deviled eggs (with tax). Outside was perfect temperature!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit to Revel. Food is very goo ...

 
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Second visit to Revel. Food is very good. Four of us - ordered a variety of different small plates and shared. Deviled eggs were great. Chicken sliders super tasty. Meatballs - very good. My little gems salad was very good-fresh-yum.

The others ordered big plates as well as the mushroom soup - all were pleased with their choices.

Nice meal and great weather to sit outside in the evening. Our server was great - attentive and helpful. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Revel never lets us down. I love the me ...

 
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Revel never lets us down. I love the menu and can always find something that works, even with a limited diet. Atmosphere is always fun and lively, and service is fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was very nice outdoor seating and the ...

 
·Dined on June 13, 2016

It was very nice outdoor seating and the food was delicious. Many options to choose from, weekly specials too. Wine list was great, price was above average. Staff was courteous and kind, very prompt. They were also pet friendly which I personally enjoyed.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our 2nd time there. The first t ...

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was our 2nd time there. The first time the food was excellent, but this time it wasn't as good. Not as flavored.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great dining experience, food and service

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Something for everyone - soups, salads, appetizers, small plates (hot & cold), full entrees, along with special cocktails, a lovely wine menu and great beer selections. SAVE ROOM FOR DESSERT! Indoor and outdoor dining, booths, tables and community tables. Excellent service from the receptionist to bartenders and servers.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always reliable

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Dinner at Revel is always very good. The food is particularly good, the wine selection by the glass is good, and the ambience is upbeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall, wonderful experience

 
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Really great place. The food we ordered was a little underseasoned (soup and short ribs), but everything else was wonderful. Wine, food selection, service, ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great first time experience

 
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was wonderful. We had oysters from Marin, fresh and flavorful. The deviled eggs were favorites. Cocktails were inventive. We were really happy to see the COPA America soccer game displayed at the bar - thank you Revel! Service was excellent, attentive and not overbearing. Recommend the homemade pasta and the cassoulet.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

first bad experience

 
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I come here often, tonight the restaurant was slow, service was poor and the food was sub par at best. We took friends from out of town and were embarrassed by the recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Superb food. Excellent service. Relaxed, ...

 
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Superb food. Excellent service. Relaxed, friendly ambiance. I like the booths. Love the music selection. It can get a little loud and you can't hear the music and it's difficult to hear your dinner partner. All in all, one of my favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lively place

 
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Came here on a Sunday for dinner. Sundays are when ribs are available and of course we tried those -- good but not fall off the bone tender. The menu options were appealing and were pretty good. We will come again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service has gotten much better. ...

 
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food and service has gotten much better. Food is much more focused and clean and flavorful! Pasta was fresh and tasty! Burgers were cooked to perfection! Salads crisp and not overdressed. Best mules!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always outstanding, music is ter ...

 
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Food is always outstanding, music is terrible and too loud. Hard to carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Best birthday dinner

 
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Nichole was our server and she was fantastic. She easily toured us through the menu, selecting popular items for us to enjoy. Nichole also had everything come out in a spaced time so we could enjoy each food at a time. We started with the hummus, which was fantastic. Followed by the avacado bruschetta, that I am still having dreams about! Next was their famous Monday night special the fried chicken sliders, mmmmmmm mmmm! So good! Lastly, we had their fried chicken dinner and shrimp and grits! Delicious! She was very intuitive on when to refill our wine glasses and open our next bottle! Since it was a birthdays celebration she was gracious enough to take a few photos of us. Finally for bday dessert we shared the beinets and butterscotch pudding! My advice, dip those beinets into the pudding! Wowza! I was a happy bday girl!

Overall, we had a fantastic time. Happy and full as we left. Nichole was the perfect host to our experience! Thank you, we will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit pricy but this is Danville. Happy ...

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A bit pricy but this is Danville. Happy servers here. My friend ordered the pork chop. She said it was dry and tasteless. The next week I go back with another friend who ordered the chop, she loved it. I have had three visits with Revel, I haven't been disappointed. I ordered a club soda with a splash of cranberry juice. I get a glass of club soda and a glass of cranberry juice. I'm guessing they're not use to serving non alcohol drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good food but service not so

 
·Dined on April 24, 2016

A group of four for a friends Birthday celebration. The small plates were large portions and very tasty, and the main courses (three of us had the special Salmon) were very good - cooked to perfection. The wine selection was good too. Unfortunately we were let down by the server who seemed to be covering way too many tables and gave us little attention (and had a poor attitude) although we were clearly happy to part with our hard earned cash. Good food but there are alternatives that provide better service.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

In Danville? Don't miss this location!

 
·Dined on April 24, 2016

A very good overall experience! The food was fresh and flavorful. Recommend the raw oysters from well-known locations. The lamb sliders were seasoned and cooked to perfection. You cannot leave without trying the short ribs, which I would call the signature dish. Had the shrimp and grits which were passable and a little to heavy for my taste. The only disappointment is the noise level in the restaurant. At 7 pm on a Saturday night, you must shout to communicate with the participants at your table. Not much they can do about that, other than a retrofit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Greeted and sat instantly, which is alwa ...

 
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Greeted and sat instantly, which is always nice. Kyle was our server again, and he is always outstanding! Makes great recommendations on wine and food, without being pushy or over whelming like servers can be sometimes. Steven, the manager, came by and checked on us and man is he awesome!! Very friendly, funny, and just put you in a good mood and made us really enjoy our experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Revel is our neighborhood gem for sure . . .

 
·Dined on April 21, 2016

When you are in Danville . . .you must dine at Reval.

Wonderful in every way!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Revel is always a delight!

 
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My kids (ages 7 & 5) often make requests to dine at Revel. The kids menu is right on the money. My husband and I enjoy Vespers and oysters each time. This night they rushed the grilled asparagus and it was NOT good. Each spear tasted like propane. The server apologized and did not charge us for them. We were surprised because everything else was amazing. The lamb sliders were delicious. The short ribs never disappoint. It was ALL good! The service staff is always attentive and genuinely nice to my kids!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious & Fun

 
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Staff was very attentive. Heather (our server) and Max (manager) gave great service and were very helpful in assuring that we enjoyed our drinks and meal. We enjoyed the lamb pâté which was new on the menu, and the butterscotch dessert was scrumptious!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Fantastic food and service! Revel is al ...

 
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Fantastic food and service! Revel is always consistent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Danville Delight

 
·Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife had been to the restaurant for lunch on a couple of prior occasions but we had never gone there for dinner. I was able to secure a reservation for a Friday evening and was very pleased with the experience. One of the signature cocktails--the Harry Belafonte--was a pleasant surprise. The fish of the day--Salmon with small potatoes and asparagus--was excellent. The deviled eggs were appropriately but not overly spicy. My wife's burger was likewise well prepared and I had the other half of it for lunch the following day. The dessert menu looked promising but we passed. Service was prompt. Not inexpensive (just over $80 for two drinks, one appetizer and two entrees) but not out of line either. We will certainly return.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, good vibe.

 
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Had an excellent meal with a very competent waitress and staff. Good menu choices, with small and large plates. Fried chicken biscuit sliders were awesome, and the pot roast was melt-in-your mouth good. Bar scene was fun to watch from our table. Outdoor seating available, but it was a little chilly the night we went. Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Monday night chicken is awesome!

 
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Had another great meal with wonderful drinks, great service and food. The special Fried Chciken is outstanding and servers are terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants in Danville

 
·Dined on March 29, 2016

We love going to Revel's for dinner. The service is always fantastic, servers are very friendly and make you feel at home. The food never disappoints and their Monday night Fried Chicken special cannot be beat... best we've had anywhere. The noise level inside the restaurant can be extremely loud when the restaurant/bar area is full. Highly recommend this restaurant if you are in the Danville area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A little disappointed

 
·Dined on March 28, 2016

The first thing we noted was the noise level loud very loud . Hostess was friendly and seated us promptly even though we were early waitress very friendly we ordered drinks they were out of a few whiskeys. Appetizers the tuna Tatar was a little to fishy tasting for my taste . Salad was good . Two of us had the special which was salmon we thought it was good the other two people ordered small plates chicken sliders were good chicken wings awful dessert butterscotch pudding yummy we shared wish it came in a bigger portion

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service

 
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Our server, Jennifer was excellent. She suggested wines and food to match that were outstanding pairings and added to the experience. She was timely, but not intrusive.

She also was friendly, but professional. We will be requesting her for a server in future visits.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always delicious

 
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Revel is consistently good, though our server on this visit was not as good as the usual excellent service we receive. Our only complaint is not enough variety. We have ordered everything on the menu so many times that we can't frequent the restaurant as much as we'd like to.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.