About Revel Kitchen & Bar

331 Hartz Ave
Danville, CA 94526
View Larger Map

From the owners of Esin Restaurant and Bar. Revel Kitchen & Bar is located in Historic Downtown Danville. Revel Kitchen & Bar is an uspcale, yet casual tavern offering local, sustainable & natural ingredients. Liquid refreshments feature Craft Beers on tap, Craft Cocktails and eclectic wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Su-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Diablo Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 208-1758

Website:
http://revelkitchenandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Additional public parking lot located directly behind restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Curtis deCarion

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join our email list locate at revelkitchenandbar.com to find out about upcoming events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Revel Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Danville ›

Fit for Foodies (33)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Good for a Date (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Bar Seating (13)
Fun (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Casual (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tapas (7)
People Watching (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Romantic (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Seasonal (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great Beer (5)
Cozy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Live Sports (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Authentic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
486 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was amazing, don't skip the small p ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was amazing, don't skip the small plates - they are well worth it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service great night!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food great service great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were 15min late due to traffic and wh ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were 15min late due to traffic and when we arrived our table was given away. No call to ask if we are still coming or apologies about the situation. A 20 year old blond hostess acting like she owns the place, arrogant and disrespectful. No customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

We brought friends from out of town here ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We brought friends from out of town here for a meal. Everything was perfect. The service was terrific. The meatballs are spicy, didn't expect that. The short ribs were delicious, and so was the pork belly. I have no complaints. The restaurant is beautiful. Great ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed all of the food we tried. Devile ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Enjoyed all of the food we tried. Deviled eggs, lamb sliders, short ribs. Yum, yum, yum. Enjoyed the atmosphere and will definitely go back. Will also plan to tell friends about this place.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Cozy, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A weekly staple. Can't beat the Bavette ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 8, 2016

A weekly staple. Can't beat the Bavette steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I choose this restaurant as a first date ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I choose this restaurant as a first date and I was not disappointed! The staff, service and food was fantastic! Sitting on the outdoor porch in the back was really great as well!

Would definitely go back here again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service. Dinner took over two h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Terrible service. Dinner took over two hours. Too much waiting in between for the waiter to take order, or bring food. May be understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Revel is always perfect in every way . . ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Revel is always perfect in every way . . .

Food is outstanding!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food & wine, great atmosphere ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Delicious food & wine, great atmosphere and outstanding service! Definitely my new favorite restaurant!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and menu items are excellent! "Fun, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food and menu items are excellent! "Fun, Fast and First Class"

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The portions were on the small side but ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The portions were on the small side but the food was good. We ordered the Faro plate for two but there was hardly enough for one. Also ordered the Short Ribs and they were very tasty. Do not go here if you are vegan. No real options besides having the salads with boring oil and vinegar dressing or the Faro plate.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first time there, a friend recommend ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our first time there, a friend recommended this restaurant. We enjoyed the food and the service was good also, our only thing was we tried the oyster and we thought they where just ok to sub par.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We are locals and revel is one of our fa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We are locals and revel is one of our favorite go to places. Good food and great service that is friendly but professional . The fried chicken on Monday is one of our favorites .

Tags: Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

great spot, but its busy. Be sure to res ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

great spot, but its busy. Be sure to reserve well in advance. They do their best with walk in but during prime evening times, expect a good 45min wait if you don't reserve.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! Everything about Revel is top notch ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Wow! Everything about Revel is top notch- but the service far exceeds any other area restaurant. Great menu for sharing and tastings. Revel has done a great job with ambiance and great use of space. And their people...fabulous!

Tags: Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fried Chicken is awesome! Only available ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Fried Chicken is awesome! Only available on Monday's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food and service. We went e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Fantastic food and service.

We went early Sunday (reservation at 430p), and with my elderly mother, and the noise level was OK. Couldn't do this with my mom at peak hours -- would be way too noisy.

Highly recommend it with that only caveat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We were a few minutes late but they were ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were a few minutes late but they were accommodating even though it was very busy. Amazing salmon perfectly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got last minute reservations not real ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We got last minute reservations not really knowing much about it. But Revel was truly fantastic! We had a booth towards the back so we were not too close to the bar . Everything we ordered was delicious. The portion sizes were just enough. We will definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The truffle fries to die for. Everythin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The truffle fries to die for. Everything was fresh and ingredients are excellent

The deviled eggs are the best thing we ever ate, We had to get two orders they were so good.

It was exceptionally "lively" because the Giants were playing and the bar was packed.

Its a bit of a conflict of a restaurant, because the food is the quality of fine dining, but the bar felt like a noisy sports bar.

If you are looking for a quiet restaurant, this is not it, but if you want amazing food, then you are at the right place.

I ordered a $10 drink that didn't feel very strong, and the waitress explained that all drinks are exactly 1 1/2 ounces. I thought the price was high for the size of the drink. It was tasty though, and I got a second, which tasted completely different...I guess different bartenders make the same drink with their own spin. It should be identical.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food. Unique cocktails. Friend ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent food. Unique cocktails. Friendly service. Delicious desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious creative cuisine and very atte ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Delicious creative cuisine and very attentive service. The beef shortribs were incredibly tender and flavorful in a red wine sauce. The bar is very popular with the Danville crowd, so it can get quite noisy on weekends. We like going there on a Wed or Thurs night. Perfect for our date night, enjoying drinks and excellent food.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been here twice and have ordered th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2016

I've been here twice and have ordered the chicken and biscuits both times! They are AMAZING. And I highly recommend replacing the chips with truffle fries. They are delicious. Our waitress was also awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks and small plates. The Girveny sp ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Drinks and small plates. The Girveny specialty drink and fried chicken sliders to die for.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, People Watching, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is not my first visit to Revel, but ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 27, 2016

This is not my first visit to Revel, but the first time I took my partner. He's a fried chicken lover, so we went on a Monday (to great success, he loved it). Overall, meals were great, service was fine. My only complaint was the gin and tonic I ordered tasted like pure tonic water. I'm not sure if it was shaken (watered down), or just a weak pour, but when I wouldn't like order this specific cocktail again. I've had a martini here, it was fine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent all around experience, solid f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Excellent all around experience, solid four star restaurant.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great cocktails, good options on the men ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great cocktails, good options on the menu, good service, modern decor and setup and good vibe overall. Went there for dinner with friends and it was perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Arzel was awesome! Also, two weeks ago K ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Arzel was awesome!

Also, two weeks ago Kyle was equally as awesome. We saw him this time and he gave us a great recommendation for dessert.

I was brought up in a wine household and your wine list is wonderful, that Spanish Priorat is a great find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food. Very good selection of dishe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great food. Very good selection of dishes that can be shared. Nice atmosphere however can get a bit loud.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First time there and not only enjoyed th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

First time there and not only enjoyed the food but the waiter was friendly and helpful

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a Moms Night Out!!! Dads and kids ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Had a Moms Night Out!!! Dads and kids joined later. Food Amazing!!

Our waiter Zell super on top of everything!!

Great atmosphere. Super accommodating team at Revel!!!

Consistent yummy food every time. Revel is a favorite for sure!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bar service was good. Shrimp & Grits por ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Bar service was good. Shrimp & Grits portion was quite small & the Mary's 1/2 chicken was over done which was disappointing since it's 1 of their signature dishes.

This is a loud place with no sound dampening so it can be difficult to hold a conversation with friends.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Always fresh and delicious food. I am ne ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always fresh and delicious food. I am never disappointed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Revel several times and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have been to Revel several times and are never disappointed. This visit was no exception. Our server Katelyn (sp?) was exceptional. The perfect amount of attention without being intrusive. The support staff was great, too! We wanted for nothing the entire evening. Her recommendations were perfect.

And the food was equally outstanding. It was the perfect end of summer meal—smoked pork loin w/ fresh creamed corn, corn chowder, watermelon arugula salad and chicken slider with the best fried chicken I have ever had and I love fried chicken.

The cocktails and dessert are amazing , too. Can't wait for our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! We had a 40th dinner for a good ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Amazing! We had a 40th dinner for a good friend- shared amazing food. Sat outside, perfect evening

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant has always been very cons ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The restaurant has always been very consistent with both food and service.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good experience again at Revel. Easy to ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Good experience again at Revel. Easy to chat and the server was attentive but got the pace just right for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

1st time at Revel and we were very impre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2016

1st time at Revel and we were very impressed! Daniel was our server and he was amazingly attentive without being in our space. We sampled 2 of the classic cocktails and they were amazing, as well Daniel recommended a glass of wine to accompany the entrees we had and it was a perfect match! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit, after a friend recommen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Our first visit, after a friend recommended. There was a decent variety of items (although for a non-nut eating vegetarian it was more limited). Service was very efficient. Fun to try some place new. I recommend!

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.