About Restaurant506 at The Sanford House

506 N. Center St
Arlington, TX 76011
View Larger Map

The Sanford House Inn & Spa is the location of restaurant506. Contemporary dining fare is presented in an exquisite atmosphere. The menu is "Inspired American" cuisine and features dishes made with only the freshest ingredients and are hand-prepared by our culinary team led by Executive Chef John Klein.

The menu changes seasonally and includes a delicious variety of the finest meat, seafood, fish, game, and poultry with fresh wholesome vegetables nestled in lively sauces. Classical methods of cooking are combined with healthy food preparation to create new taste impressions.

Join us for a drink in the Van Gogh Lounge which is also located inside the Manor House of the hotel. It is a perfect spot to savor our classic cocktails prior to dining or simply to meet friends and sample some delicious appetizers. Whether you stay at our Inn as a guest, or come for a meal, you will immerse your senses in a luxurious memory.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday 6:00pm - 9:00pm
Closed Monday and Tuesday

Cross Street:
Sanford St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 861-2129

Website:
http://www.restaurant506.com/

Entertainment:
Located in Downtown Arlington, The Sanford House is steps away from both Cowboys and Rangers Stadiums. If you need any help planning your tailgate party, please let us know! We can create custom packages that include transportation for you and your friends on the day of the big game!

We are also just down the street from popular Arlington destinations such as Arlington Music Hall, the Levitt Pavilion, Theatre Arlington and the Arlington Art Museum. We can offer special dining times for you if you are looking to attend a concert or a show at any of these great venues.

Parking Details:
There is parking available on site at The Sanford House. However, if our lot becomes full, there is additional parking available at our Spa & Salon across the street.

For events with over 75 guests, we can arrange for valet parking.

Executive Chef:
John Klein

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Sanford House Inn & Spa has several options for any events that you may be planning. Our experienced Event Coordinator can help you with any special details that you need and our Culinary Team is exceptional at developing custom menus that are sure to be a hit with your guests.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 5:30PM - 9:00PM

Private Dining

The Sanford House Inn & Spa has four indoor rooms available for private parties up to 50 people and a large outdoor Courtyard for parties up to 200 people.

Restaurant506 at The Sanford House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Dallas - Fort Worth
Great for Brunch
Dallas - Fort Worth
Contemporary American
Dallas - Fort Worth
6 More
Best Overall
Mid Cities
Best Food
Mid Cities
Best Service
Mid Cities
Best Ambiance
Mid Cities
Best Value
Mid Cities
Special Occasion
Mid Cities
Best Restaurants in Arlington ›

special occasion (53)
neighborhood gem (49)
great for brunch (44)
See All
romantic (43)
fit for foodies (31)
great for lunch (26)
good for groups (18)
great for outdoor dining (9)
notable wine list (5)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
423 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wine list was short. Wines I knew were ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wine list was short. Wines I knew were marked up more than many restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Restaurant 506 at Sanford House is i ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Restaurant 506 at Sanford House is indeed a gem! My guests and I were especially happy with the atmosphere as we could actually socialize and converse without loud, blaring music or screaming children!! The server's manners and service training was excellent - no butting in our conversation, serving food on the correct side, was friendly and helpful without trying to be our 'buddy'. The food was completely outstanding. The prime rib melted in my mouth. The salmon was very flavorful and moist. Both prime rib and salmon were cooked to perfection. The wine list is extensive and pairs nicely with the entrees. The desert selection was good and coffee was rich and mellow. The interior décor was beautiful and the scenery looking out the window at our table was also beautiful and calming. We had an outstanding time with excellent food, service, décor, and atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding . The service w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was outstanding . The service was terrific. Our waiter James was on top of everything and fun. I am so excited to make a return visit. We were a large group and they handled it great. I felt the prices were such a good deal.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Chef has taken the restaurant to the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Chef has taken the restaurant to the next level.

With themed dinners and Prime rib Fridays--this is one to visit in Arlington.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were very accommodating. My guest c ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

They were very accommodating. My guest could not find the restaurant obtained instructions from the staff and finally arrived 30 minutes late. the staff was very patient. I was not pressured to order while I awaited my guest's arrival. We were also allowed to finish our business after closing time. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We love the brunch here. Everything is d ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We love the brunch here. Everything is delicious and has a unique spin. Considering the ambience and the quality the prices are amazing. We'll be back again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was great. My client r ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food and service was great. My client really enjoyed our business lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I live in Dallas and my friend lives in ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I live in Dallas and my friend lives in Ft Worth and this is a perfect meeting place because it is convenient for both of us. We have a leisurely lunch and the food is great. I think it would be nice to try the spa some time. I know that we will return many times

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming, quaint restaurant that will no ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Charming, quaint restaurant that will not disappoint! We had a fantastic dinner and highly recommend!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had dinner at Restauran ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My husband and I had dinner at Restaurant506 on 7/1/16. We shared the lobster bisque and signature salad and thought both were very good. The wine list is limited but my husband enjoyed the Liberty School Cabernet and I had a glass of the Tormaresca Chardonnay which was light and refreshing. He chose the prime rib special and said that it was just okay. I opted for the blackened trout and it was delicious. We decided to split the bread pudding which we enjoyed but would probably not order again since we have had better. We both thought the ambiance was perfect and James, our server, was very attentive and personable. We will definitely return and look forward to trying other items on the menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant 506 at The Sanford House is t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Restaurant 506 at The Sanford House is the perfect place for a quiet and delicious business lunch. We had 6 people in our party and everyone was very pleased with their food, the service, and the location. This was my 3rd visit this past year and we would definitely come back again. Thanks!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

been to Sanford House several times. It ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

been to Sanford House several times. It's always a good place to take a friend or two . Very consistent, which is great knowing that your friends will enjoy and relax with you

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lamb lollipops are the best I've ever ha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Lamb lollipops are the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Three of went shared the lamb lollipops ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Three of went shared the lamb lollipops and lobster ravioli they were both delicious. I had the New York strip big steakhouse good. My wife had the salmon very good and our friend had a veal dish he raved about

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an awesome experience with my best f ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had an awesome experience with my best friend from out of town ...the brunch was delicious and the mimosas were great!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole experience was better than I c ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The whole experience was better than I could have imagined.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time dining here. My ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was our second time dining here. My wife ordered the prime rib since it was "prime rib Friday". Unfortunately, while being more than ample in size, it's toughness made it practically inedible. It did have good flavor but apparently came from a muscle bound steer. My salmon dish on the other hand was delicious. For dessert we had the bread pudding. Very little sauce, no raisins, and mostly bland tasting. At these prices we don't care for "hit or miss" food. The service was outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrated our 32nd wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We celebrated our 32nd wedding anniversary at Restaurant506. You won't find a better menu, service, and ambiance anywhere in Arlington. We live in Arlington we prefer not to drive to Dallas or Fort Worth to spend our dining dollars. For this occasion we wanted someplace special that was a non-chain, non-child geared option. The wine list was not overly long, but packed with excellent choices. I ordered the wine I sampled and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our waiter was well versed in wine selections based on menu choice. The food was excellent and service was non-intrusive and leisurely. We will go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was memorable; we have ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food and service was memorable; we have shared our experience with friends too. The Friday prime rib night is not to missed. This is the best prime rib we have had in the metroplex!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a fun time at a very nice place ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This was a fun time at a very nice place. We really enjoyed celebrating my wife's birthday.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

What a local gem Restaurant506 at the Sa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

What a local gem Restaurant506 at the Sanford House must be! I found it by chance on an Open Table e-mail, I think under the 'best bang for the buck' category. And it proved itself not only reasonably priced, but top-shelf service and food quality.

I started by sending an e-mail to make sure they had vegetarian options for my girlfriend. Within short order, Camille, the Maitre D', responded that they had a signature dish and the chef was open to suggestions if my girlfriend had a favorite dish. With that knowledge in hand, we made a convenient reservation on Saturday evening.

Fairly easy to find with ample parking either on-site or across the street at another property. From entrance to leaving, the staff made everyone feel welcome and special. Our waiter, Dominique, was awesome and accommodating.

My girlfriend did go for the signature vegetarian dish, roasted red pepper couscous with vegetable mix, and is still raving about it. I went for the lobster bisque as an appetizer and, frankly, it was the best I've ever had - full bodied without being heavy and a nice prawn resting in the middle. Following that with beef medallions and shrimp was an awesome way to fill those hunger pangs and still have a taste that won't easily be matched. We finished up with a shared slice of cheesecake that was a perfect ending to a great experience.

Best bang for the buck might be a perfect description of the meal value, but then the service factor puts this place high on our list to revisit as the 'meat menu' is much more extensive and deserves additional visits for taste testing. Well done!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating Neighbors' Anniversary

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

First time visit for our neighbors who were celebrating their 66th anniversary. They loved it. Each of us had a different entree (salmon, trout, lamb, and veal), and each entree was exquisite both in taste and presentation. Service was impeccable, as usual. Although not on the menu, a request for sorbet for dessert was graciously fulfilled. Restaurant506 has never failed to impress.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in Arlington

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I decided to do a staycation in the DFW area for our anniversary. We decided to stay at the Sanford House because it was close to a lot of activities (the ballpark, Cowboy stadium, Six Flags) but private enough to be really romantic. Restaurant506 is attached to the Sanford House and is a great restaurant. I ordered a steak with shrimp and my husband ordered short rib with lobster risotto. Both were delicious and the restaurant was very accommodating with my lactose intolerance. I only wish we had time to try their desserts! But sadly we had to run to a show. Anyway, two thumbs up. The only downside is the restaurant closes rather early (9pm or so) but it is Arlington so most restaurants close early. That's what you get from a "small town" where things are laid back. Thanks Restaurant506 (and Sanford House) for a fun weekend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best little gem in the metroplex

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Service was top shelf. Food was excellent I recommend the shrimp and scallops. Also the crab cakes and slaw were awesome

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful anniversary celebration!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Wonderful anniversary celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quite dinner

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Nice quite dinning experience with great service, excellent food and no presure to clear out. Relax!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous manor. Service excellent. Food ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Gorgeous manor. Service excellent. Food incredible. Surf and Turf and the Chocolate Destruction were hits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant dining in a historic house type setting

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Brought my mother here for her birthday. Neither one of us was terribly hungry so we both order the scallop appetizer. They were delicious, perfectly cooked and lightly crusted with pecans. For dessert we shared the Chocolate Destruction, a very unique presentation. Wine list is small but adequate, service was excellent. Brunch the next day was also outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The entire dining experience was lovely. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The entire dining experience was lovely. The menu was varied and the food was delicious. The ambiance of the restaurant was restful and the furnishings were tasteful. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. Parking at the restaurant itself is limited, however, there is ample parking at the spa just across the street.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Saturday Brunch

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Had an afternoon in Arlington. Decided to have brunch at 506. It was a little busy but food and service were great. Will go again as soon as possible

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfortable dining

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Dining at 506 is like having a meal at home. The atmosphere is attractive and comfortable.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is Arlington's Best Kept Secret! I' ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

This is Arlington's Best Kept Secret! I've lived in the DFW area for 30 years and never heard of the place! Lovely restaurant with wonderful food! Came for lunch with girlfriends and will be back again for dinner with my husband soon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a local, best restaurant in Arlingto ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I'm a local, best restaurant in Arlington!!! Love the food and the atmosphere! Great service, great food. If I was from out of town I'd stay at one of the bungalows and have dinner and brunch here. Great spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An Oasis in the middle of an old Univers ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

An Oasis in the middle of an old University of Texas Arlington neighborhood. Driving there for the first time one thinks that it must be the wrong address. And there it is. This small restaurant is a gem. It's not a "renovated" victorean house as much as it is a created/built house in the style of the Victorean ara. And it is beautifully appointed, quiet, serene and absolutely delightful. We have chosen to dine inside - Texas gets a bit toasty in summer, but their patio is wonderful. Service is immaculate, warm and friendly. We love this place. A bit far for us, but worth the trip.

Start with a nice Pomegranate or regular mimosa. Then dig into Pecan crusted crab cakes, or for brunch: Fried Chicken with Waffles with a nice bourbon-maple syrup. And you'll love their burgers.

It's not 3 Star Michelin food. It's very good food in a wonderful venue, with wonderful service. Try it. You'll love it too. (P.S. - It has a spa and bead and breakfast also)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A hidden gem.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at the Sanford House, and what a wonderful choice it was! We stayed overnight in the inn and had dinner there. The lovely decor was elegant and tasteful. We started our evening in the Van Gogh bar before being seated in an intimate alcove for two. Service was attentive and well timed. I don't know why there aren't lines of diners every night with cuisine like this. The chef is innovative, offering an amuse bouche before dinner and a sorbet between courses, both delicious. My first course, heirloom tomatoes with a topping of soft burrata cheese, was perfect. My husband ordered a first course off the menu, which was delivered as requested, a very nice touch. My husband enjoyed his filet mignon/grilled shrimp dinner with horseradish mashed potatoes and colorful pattypan squashes. I had the veal T-bone topped with crabmeat in a Bearnaise sauce, roasted red paper mashed potatoes, and the same tiny squashes. The meats were done exactly as ordered. We intend to return to the Sanford House soon for dinner, and also to enjoy another stay in one of the lovely rooms. Not to be missed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only one complaint

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great dining experience. The only complaint is that they were all out of pickles. A burger without pickles wasn't as much fun. But, food was great. Waitstaff & atmosphere were amazing. Will definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Sodium content

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The menu is for vegetarians. The soup and pasta were laden with salt rendering them uneatable to health conscious eaters.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful brunch

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We sat on the porch on a beautiful Sunday morning and enjoyed the most delicious brunch. The biscuits and andouille sausage gravy were out of-this-world flavorful. We also savored the chicken and waffles and bagel and salmon. Fabulous meal, fabulous ambiance, and prices are right in line for the quality of the food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable and the food ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The service was impeccable and the food was extraordinary. I had a chicken dish prepared with thinly sliced plums that was beyond fresh tasting. Do not miss the chocolate melting dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.