About Restaurant Suntory

2233 Kalakaua Avenue, Suite 307
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Restaurant Suntory has served the ultimate in Japanese cuisine for over 34 years. With a variety ranging from Teppanyaki dining at the grill, Washoku dining(traditional Japanese cuisine) or the Sushi Bar, you can choose the right dining experience for you. The finest ingredients, skilled preparation, and friendly service are the keys to Restaurant Suntory quality.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Hibachi, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm; Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Royal Hawaiian Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 922-5511

Website:
http://www.restaurantsuntory.com/

Parking Details:
Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center parking garage offers validated parking.

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Suntory Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Fun (2)
See All
Cozy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
26 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

food is good :) traditional japanese cui ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

food is good :) traditional japanese cuisine, very fresh , cozy, my parents like that

One thing is : if you dont speak Japaenese, maybe it is little difficult to talk to the server but she is kind and helpful as well, just be patient

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

さほど美味しいとは思いませんでした。前回とはあまりの違いに驚きました。マグロが不 ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 23, 2016

さほど美味しいとは思いませんでした。前回とはあまりの違いに驚きました。マグロが不味い。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

日本から安心して予約できました。良い所しか見当たりませんでした。金額は、一人70 ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 18, 2016

日本から安心して予約できました。良い所しか見当たりませんでした。金額は、一人70ドル、場所を考えるとそのくらいかなと。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

ハワイに一週間いると、和食が食べたくなりますが、このお店はまるで日本で食事してい ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 12, 2016

ハワイに一週間いると、和食が食べたくなりますが、このお店はまるで日本で食事している気がします。料理はとても美味しいしです。ただ混んでいるので早めの予約が必要です。

Tags: 静かに会話を楽しめる, デート, 充実のワインリスト
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Really love eating here. The food, the s ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Really love eating here. The food, the service and the ambiance combine to make a great dinner experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just ordered drinks and a number of a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We just ordered drinks and a number of appetizers for our dinner. The variety and the tastes were superb, and the service quick and friendly. I would recommend it highly.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent best teppan and Japanese food ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Excellent best teppan and Japanese food in Waikiki.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good Japanease!!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Good Japanease!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I first dined here in the late 80's and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2016

I first dined here in the late 80's and on a return trip to Honolulu was hoping to dine here again. That Suntory is still alive and well in a competitive restaurant scene PLUS expanding is testimony to how wonderful it is. My husband is not a big fan of Japanese food, but Suntory's food changed his mind!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Restaurant Suntory is one of, if not, th ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Restaurant Suntory is one of, if not, the best dining venues in all of Hawaii. From the opening hostess greeting, incredible teppanyaki food quality, and outstanding service, this restaurant is first class and fine dining in every aspect. I look forward to many future visits when here in Oahu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant Suntory has been around for m ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Restaurant Suntory has been around for many years and as a local this was my first dining experience. I can sum things up by simply saying I do not know why I waited so long?! The service was great and the food awesome. Our party had three local couples that formed a dinner club, named "Club Din Din". We try different places every month, and we all have not been to the restaurant previously. We all agreed that Restaurant Suntory is a place we must frequent more often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great from start to finish! Staff was a ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great from start to finish! Staff was attentive and made sure we had what we needed. The chef was excellent...excellent flavor to our entire meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Taste and service is same as in Japan.No ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Taste and service is same as in Japan.No.1 Japanese restaurant in waikiki.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Beef

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Material of Teppanyaki was good ,namely soft and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Fantastic!!!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 27, 2016

Fantastic food, fantastic service.

We'll be back next year too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good tenpanyaki

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 10, 2016

They don't put on a show like Kobe but the food tasted better and the restaurant was a lot cleaner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

excellent restaurant

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 10, 2016

My servers, Peggy, and others were excellent, very attentive, polite, and always helpful regarding a special heart-healthy diet I am on. The Shabu Shabu was a perfect dish with ample vegetable portions of many varieties to eat. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Timing of supplying next cocked food.

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Taste and atmosphere was very good.

But I felt a little faster for supplying next cocked food.

As cocker supplyed next food a little faster and we would like to eat them at warm condition, we are forced to eat them earlier. I don't like to be rushed for eating.

Others was very good. I would like to re-use the restaurant suntory if i have a chance.

See you.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The best service and food quality in Wai ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 7, 2015

The best service and food quality in Waikiki. Always excellent and consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a Satisfaction

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 6, 2015

My family and I always have an enjoyable experience at this restaurant. The food and service is great! I have kids ages 6 & 8 and they too always find something good to eat from the menu.

It's a great place for a family gathering too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our first time to Suntory and it did not ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 23, 2015

Our first time to Suntory and it did not disappoint. Excellent Japanese seafood/sushi restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good find in Waikiki

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 24, 2014

Lots of options to choose from: sushi, teppanyaki, nabe, teishoku. Good quality and combo meals will definitely fill you up.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Awesome food

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2014

Suntory is very authentic Japnese cuisine. It is still the best in Honolulu for dinner with a chef who knows how to use his tools to prepare you an excellent meal table side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Good good and services!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 5, 2014

Food are fresh and delicious. We had the tepenyaki it's great. Well go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent for authentic Japanese food. ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 5, 2014

Excellent for authentic Japanese food. Service was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best Japanese restaurant

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 27, 2014

I always visit this restanrant when I visit Waikiki. I really enjoy best Japanese food at this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.