About Restaurant Suntory

Restaurant Suntory has served the ultimate in Japanese cuisine for over 34 years. With a variety ranging from Teppanyaki dining at the grill, Washoku dining(traditional Japanese cuisine) or the Sushi Bar, you can choose the right dining experience for you. The finest ingredients, skilled preparation, and friendly service are the keys to Restaurant Suntory quality.

2233 Kalakaua Avenue, Suite 307
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Hibachi, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm; Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Royal Hawaiian Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 922-5511

Website:
http://www.restaurantsuntory.com/

Parking Details:
Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center parking garage offers validated parking.

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Suntory Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Romantic (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
40 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

コストパフォーマンスが、とても良かった。
また機会があったら、行くと思います。
日本人率は6割位。
ローカルの方の特別な会食といったグループがいくつかありました。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Restaurant Suntory has been a stable and consistent and favorite restaurant for over 30 years. It has a lot of memories from family special occasions to first dates, to family gatherings and business dinners. Always of high quality and good value, Suntory is a wonderful dining experience that customers will enjoy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great food and the staff were very attentive. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 4, 2017

It's fun to sit at the teppanyaki grill and watch the chefs prepare the food. Everything is so fresh and tastes amazing. Great selection of sakes and you always meet interesting people around the table.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 4, 2017

初めてのハワイ旅行でどこで食事をしたら良いかわからずガイドブックやインターネットでいろいろ探したところSUNTORYさんに出会いました。インターネットで簡単に予約出来て3日前には直接日本に確認の電話を頂いたり、スタッフの方も日本語対応が出来るなどカスタマーサービスも充実しています。
料理は鉄板焼きを選びましたがシェフの方が目の前でステーキを焼いて頂くなどお肉も大変柔らかくておいしく、価格もそれほど高くなく安心して利用することが出来ました。
今度ハワイへ訪れる機会があれば必ず利用したいと思います。

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 11, 2017

ワイキキに滞在中は、必ずうかがいます。
久し振りに行きましたが、以前より入りやすい雰囲気?になってました。
もっと、高級感があった気がします。
鉄板焼コーナーでしたが、とても美味しくいただきました。

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Perfect place for any kind of celebration!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We recommend the sushi's bar. Because you can take a delicious sea food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Girlfriends Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (東京)·Dined on March 21, 2017

いつも美味しい料理を食べています。
安心してオーダーしております。しゃぶしゃぶは定番ですが、一品料理も格別です。変に拘りをもつよりも今の老舗店でお願いします

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have been there a few times before. The food is always good and the service is fabulous. It is a great place to take visiting friends and relatives. Maybe expansion on the bar selection would be nice. Bottom line...we will be back

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 16, 2017

ハワイでも純日本食が食べられる

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had wagu sugiyaki for three , the food is very good , beef very marble , lots of vegetable The waiter was ok. Kind of disappear later. The ambience is nice. Not too nosy. We had a nice table overlooking the courtyard where performance occurs. The menu offers other cooked traditional dishes. Cannot wait to try in future

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Better than some of the reviews on other sites, first time there and very pleased with the evening .

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

food is good :) traditional japanese cuisine, very fresh , cozy, my parents like that

One thing is : if you dont speak Japaenese, maybe it is little difficult to talk to the server but she is kind and helpful as well, just be patient

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 22, 2016

さほど美味しいとは思いませんでした。前回とはあまりの違いに驚きました。マグロが不味い。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 17, 2016

日本から安心して予約できました。良い所しか見当たりませんでした。金額は、一人70ドル、場所を考えるとそのくらいかなと。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2016

ハワイに一週間いると、和食が食べたくなりますが、このお店はまるで日本で食事している気がします。料理はとても美味しいしです。ただ混んでいるので早めの予約が必要です。

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Really love eating here. The food, the service and the ambiance combine to make a great dinner experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We just ordered drinks and a number of appetizers for our dinner. The variety and the tastes were superb, and the service quick and friendly. I would recommend it highly.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Excellent best teppan and Japanese food in Waikiki.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Good Japanease!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 12, 2016

I first dined here in the late 80's and on a return trip to Honolulu was hoping to dine here again. That Suntory is still alive and well in a competitive restaurant scene PLUS expanding is testimony to how wonderful it is. My husband is not a big fan of Japanese food, but Suntory's food changed his mind!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Restaurant Suntory is one of, if not, the best dining venues in all of Hawaii. From the opening hostess greeting, incredible teppanyaki food quality, and outstanding service, this restaurant is first class and fine dining in every aspect. I look forward to many future visits when here in Oahu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Restaurant Suntory has been around for many years and as a local this was my first dining experience. I can sum things up by simply saying I do not know why I waited so long?! The service was great and the food awesome. Our party had three local couples that formed a dinner club, named "Club Din Din". We try different places every month, and we all have not been to the restaurant previously. We all agreed that Restaurant Suntory is a place we must frequent more often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great from start to finish! Staff was attentive and made sure we had what we needed. The chef was excellent...excellent flavor to our entire meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Taste and service is same as in Japan.No.1 Japanese restaurant in waikiki.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Material of Teppanyaki was good ,namely soft and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 26, 2016

Fantastic food, fantastic service.
We'll be back next year too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 9, 2016

They don't put on a show like Kobe but the food tasted better and the restaurant was a lot cleaner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 9, 2016

My servers, Peggy, and others were excellent, very attentive, polite, and always helpful regarding a special heart-healthy diet I am on. The Shabu Shabu was a perfect dish with ample vegetable portions of many varieties to eat. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Taste and atmosphere was very good.
But I felt a little faster for supplying next cocked food.
As cocker supplyed next food a little faster and we would like to eat them at warm condition, we are forced to eat them earlier. I don't like to be rushed for eating.
Others was very good. I would like to re-use the restaurant suntory if i have a chance.
See you.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 6, 2015

The best service and food quality in Waikiki. Always excellent and consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 5, 2015

My family and I always have an enjoyable experience at this restaurant. The food and service is great! I have kids ages 6 & 8 and they too always find something good to eat from the menu.
It's a great place for a family gathering too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 22, 2015

Our first time to Suntory and it did not disappoint. Excellent Japanese seafood/sushi restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 23, 2014

Lots of options to choose from: sushi, teppanyaki, nabe, teishoku. Good quality and combo meals will definitely fill you up.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2014

Suntory is very authentic Japnese cuisine. It is still the best in Honolulu for dinner with a chef who knows how to use his tools to prepare you an excellent meal table side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 4, 2014

Food are fresh and delicious. We had the tepenyaki it's great. Well go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 4, 2014

Excellent for authentic Japanese food. Service was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 26, 2014

I always visit this restanrant when I visit Waikiki. I really enjoy best Japanese food at this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.