About Restaurant Soleil - Westin Palo Alto

675 El Camino Real
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Located on the second floor of the Westin Palo Alto Hotel, Restaurant Soleil welcomes you to enjoy fresh seafood, steak, salads & pastas. Our daily Breakfast Buffet & a la carte menu makes Restaurant Soleil the place to start your day for a quick meeting with colleagues or leisurely breakfast with family & friends. Our Sunday Brunch, Special Holiday Buffets and Prix Fixe menus have been drawing people from all over the Bay for more than 10 years. This best kept secret in Palo Alto has a charming, warm atmosphere, & serves up a new, innovative menu item daily. The added convenience of complimentary valet & self parking, makes Restaurant Soleil a must try.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday- Saturday: 6:00am - 10:30am Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:30pm Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
University Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 321-4422

Website:
http://www.phmhotels.com/westinpa.html

Parking Details:
Valet parking and self parking available, both complimentary with validation when dining in Restaurant Soleil or using the Luna Lounge facilities.

Public Transit:
Adjacent to Cal Train Palo Alto Station and the Marguerite Stanford Shuttle.

Executive Chef:
Pierre Arce

Private Party Facilities:
The Westin Palo Alto provides an ideal location & setting for business conferences, corporate events, reunions, bar/bat mitzvahs or any special event. Our in-house AV staff can assist you with all your audio visual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: 6503214422

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Soleil - Westin Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.3

ambience

3.0

value

3.0

noise

Energetic

100% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Business Meals (1)
See All
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was excellent; service could have b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was excellent; service could have been better. My greatest disappointment was that even though I mentioned it in making the reservation & again when they called to confirm there was no table set up with a high chair for my 19 month old grandson. We had to wait and the table where they placed us was not great-table for two with a walkway which is where they placed the high chair.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

On our visit, the restaurant was empty. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2016

On our visit, the restaurant was empty. The service was superb as was the food. We were able to have a quiet conversation and a pleasant experience. Parking was below the hotel and plentiful and with the validation, free. Cost was comparable with local restaurants of similar quality of service and food.

I'll use this restaurant many times in the future.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant is not anywhere near what ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The restaurant is not anywhere near what one would expect in Palo Alto or even in a good hotel. The staff is friendly but very inexperienced. The food is average. I was asked what temperature I'd like my pork chop, a question often asked at high end restaurants. I said whatever temp it should be for med. the meat came totally over cooked.

I asked what's in the middle of the plate with olive oil. The server cannot answer the question and never came back with a response.

The server broke the cork when opening the wine. She took it to someone who removed the cork behind the kitchen and brought it to serve us. We rejected that bottle.

The restaurant is really sub standard for Palo Alto or for a Westin hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

food was good as I would expect form a W ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 14, 2016

food was good as I would expect form a Westin property. Cordial service and it was a quiet place for a good discussion where you are not yelling at your table makes to converse. That was the main benefit - good for conversation and actually paying attention and listening.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We have only dined at Soleil for the Sun ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2016

We have only dined at Soleil for the Sunday brunch and keep returning, never feeling the need to try any other place. It satisfies in all aspects and we shall continue coming. Great place.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Mother's Day brunch was a wonderful ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The Mother's Day brunch was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Looking for good food and quiet

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2016

Soleil is nearly always empty for dinners and brunches on weekends, which means it must stay afloat via its hotel-based meals. Take advantage of its good food, excellent service and wonderful quiet for long, meaningful conversations at an excellent price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Easter Brunch

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Restaurant Soleil stepped up its game on Easter Day. Not only was there more to choose from but the quality and taste seemed to be kicked up a notch as well. Succulent lamb at an Easter brunch? Yes and excellent taste. Plenty of vegetables, and seafood. The prices were higher but the enriched feast was worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Easter Brunch

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Overall their food was good, varieties in the cold appetizers and salads. Hot selection was okay & the carving meat section was also okay. I was a bit disappointed w/ the cheese selections & desserts sections. I believe they had more varieties during

their Mother's Day brunch last year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Easter Brunch

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 27, 2016

The restaurant ambiance for Easter Brunch was very conducive to a comfortable and nice meal. The food selection was superb and the added decorative touches and the Easter Bunny appearance were appreciated. Overall, a very nice start to the day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and excellent food wo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Excellent service and excellent food wonderful place to have dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We've had better experience at Left Bank ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2015

We've had better experience at Left Banks for Thanksgiving dinner and for less.

Ambience: Our table of ten +1 highchair was crammed near the front where the hostess check in podium was and about 2' apart in front of another table. Wouldn't have been a big deal if we didn't have to get in and our seats to get to the buffets. The buffet setup wasn't very fluid. The carving station was on the opposite side of the restaurant in the lobby behind the dessert table. Would've missed it if we didn't see people coming from that side with turkey on their plates.

Service: Our server was very attentive, but the staff supporting to bus the tables were not on par. We had our plates stacked on the table, since they weren't being cleared. We saw a few of them eye our plates, but would pass on by. It got to point where my brother had to practically stand up in front of them and asked "may I hand these to you". Sweet Tomatoes does a better job clearing plates than this restaurant. If you're required to pay an automatic gratuity and tip for a party of 10 does it mean you should expect less service?

Final disappointment of the meal - cold coffee. Who doesn't love a warm cup of coffee with their dessert? We were all excited to have our warm beverage with our sweets only to find out the first sip was cold coffee that must have been sitting in the urn for sometime. We should have known something was off when we saw the half and half coagulating on top. Seems like the cream was out for awhile too.

Would I be super picky about this experience? Nah, if it was Home Town Buffet, but from a Westin hotel restaurant? So yes I think it's fair to have certain expectations from Restaurant Soleil at a price of $55 + per person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Horrible Food Experienve

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 27, 2015

Having researched my Thanksgiving meal choices I Palo Alto I choose this place only to be extremely disappointed with the subpar food quality. The turkey, mashed potatoes and stuffing was worthy of serving. They all lacked the minimal food quality standards. The service was extraordinary. Carlos and his staff were awesome. My recommendation is to review your food preparation and delivery model that would result in a positive customer experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

We dined on thanksgiving. It was the bes ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2015

We dined on thanksgiving. It was the best thanksgiving dinner I've ever had out. Our waiter Albert was the best, he was welcoming and attended to us impeccably. The buffet was excellent. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quiet clean with large hotel ambience.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2015

It is quiet but food was only so-so. My cornish game hen was dessicated. The panna cotta had too much gelatin added. The wine list was very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

The service is outstanding; the food is ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2015

The service is outstanding; the food is excellent. Restaurant Soleil is my first choice for lunch in Palo Alto.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Father's Day brunch was not really anyth ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2015

Father's Day brunch was not really anything special. The pasta was tough, the desert selection was minimal. We booked for noon, but they stopped replenishing the dishes, especially the desserts. We did not get what we paid for, so disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great brunch.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2015

Father's Day brunch. Fabulous! Attentive service, lavish presentation of the food selections, bottomless champagne glasses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lousy

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2015

Had eggs Benedict. the yolks were hard. The other people in our party had a variety of things all were mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Great experience!

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2015

I'm glad that I had this experience. My work took my to the Sheraton next door to the Westin and I wandered over after seeing high marks on Open Table. From the hostess, Patricia, the waiter, Chris, and the chef (sorry I forgot his name) it was a personal, fabulous experience. I was treated with friendliness, service excellence and the hanger steak was the best I've ever had. Congratulations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charles

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2015

. We were celebrating our 23 rd-wedding anniversary and our very attentive server noticed the card my wife had given me gave us very special attention as well a wonderful commentary dessert. Given that was a holiday weekend, the hotel dinning room was was not crowded and very quiet which enhanced our evening. We would definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice brunch

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Brunch food selection was very good, with a lot of choices. Service was timely and courteous. It was a great place to bringing elderly parents.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for a Valentine's dinner out.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Best roast salmon I've had in a long time. The wait staff attentive but not overbearing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Sorry, But Never Again

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2014

We made reservations for 5 pm on Thanksgiving Day, and we were on time. While we waited, we watched as wait staff scurried around, taking chairs from the lobby area. All the while, the line behind us kept getting longer. After a while, it was painfully obvious that Soleil had overbooked. Finally, at 5:20, we were taken to a tiny table that may have been made from cardboard boxes. When either of us touched the table, it moved like a teeter-totter. Had there been a drink on the table, one of us would surely have worn it home. We stopped a wait person and showed her the table. She frowned and left. We waited another 5 minutes then we left. On our way out the door, I told the lady at the check-in desk that we were leaving. She looked stunned but said nothing. We ended up walking across the parking lot to the Sheraton, where we had a nice, quiet meal.

This is the Bay Area, and a lot of people here don't have relatives close by to celebrate holidays. Consequently, a lot of us plan to eat at a nice restaurant on those days. I don't understand why some restaurants don't plan for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Thanksgiving brunch was very good.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2014

The selection of items for the Thanksgiving brunch was excellent. We especially enjoyed the scallop ceviche, the beet salad and the flank steak (amazingly tender and flavorful). The weakest item was the Brussels sprouts dish which was quite bland. The coffee was excellent. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Tasty

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2014

Great holiday buffet. The food is amazing. We go every year for thanksgiving and Christmas

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My favorite spot for lunch. Food and se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2014

My favorite spot for lunch. Food and service are extraordinary.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for a business meal

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2014

The food, ambiance and service were very good, and the noise level is very low which was important to us during a business dinner. I would recommend it to anyone who is hard of hearing, for business meals or any occasion where communicating and hearing each other is more important to you than being in a hip in-place full of energy but impossible to hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

great service

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 11, 2014

great service. Nice selection. Perfect eggs. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

THE FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING. A VERY CLEAN R ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2014

THE FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING. A VERY CLEAN RESTAURANT.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely Brunch

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2014

Restaurant Soleil in the Westin Palo Alto hotel serves a lovely Sunday brunch. Complete with made to order omelets, a carving station with beef and turkey, sushi, and even a chocolate fountain, this meal has something for everyone. They also serve the usual brunch fare of meats, pancakes, french toast, and salads.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food and service are outstanding. T ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2014

The food and service are outstanding. The atmosphere is quiet and intimate.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

elegant

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2014

Love the brunch. Service is fantastic. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Father's Day Brunch

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2014

This is a nice place for a group gathering. Nothing over the top, but definitely better than average. It was crowded on Father's Day (as expected), but not crazy. The kids loved the chocolate dessert fountain. Too bad they ran out of Macarons early. This is a great place to bring growing boys since there is a lot of meat like ribs, prime rib, etc.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We have only dined there for brunch so c ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 15, 2014

We have only dined there for brunch so cannot comment on other aspects. We were there on Father's Day, and Stanford's graduation, so the place was really busy, but our service was consistently good, as always, and the food memorable. They give a senior discount, which is also nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The decor was lovely and anyone over the ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 15, 2014

The decor was lovely and anyone over the age of twenty will appreciate the quiet atmosphere. The food was excellent and the service perfect. We will go again and invite friends to join us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. good service.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2014

Not recommended if you have active kids. But if your children are oddly quiet and well- behaved, this is a great place to go for brunch. Staff is friendly and tentative, but the atmosphere is a tad on the stiff side.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2014

This was our first time at the Restaurant Soleil. We treated our 90 year old aunt to the wonderful Mother's Day Brunch. The food was FABULOUS! A lot of variety, artistically displayed and plenty of it! The service was 5 star. From the complimentary valet parking, red roses presented to all mothers, helpfulness of the staff and very nice seating for us, including my aunt who was in a wheelchair. The spacing of the buffet set up was spacious, allowing me to wheel my aunt through the set up without any difficulty, giving her more of a sense of independence, being able to select her choice of food was a real treat! We will definitely return and recommend the restaurant to others.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I didnt find this place very good at all ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2014

I didnt find this place very good at all. The table was a make shift one right where everyone passes by. It had a bar on each side so you had to sit sideways. very uncomfortable. I would not go back.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Nice Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 11, 2014

Very efficient and pleasant seating experience. Good food selection and variety.

Most enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.