About Restaurant Soleil - Westin Palo Alto

675 El Camino Real
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Located on the second floor of the Westin Palo Alto Hotel, Restaurant Soleil welcomes you to enjoy fresh seafood, steak, salads & pastas. Our daily Breakfast Buffet & a la carte menu makes Restaurant Soleil the place to start your day for a quick meeting with colleagues or leisurely breakfast with family & friends. Our Sunday Brunch, Special Holiday Buffets and Prix Fixe menus have been drawing people from all over the Bay for more than 10 years. This best kept secret in Palo Alto has a charming, warm atmosphere, & serves up a new, innovative menu item daily. The added convenience of complimentary valet & self parking, makes Restaurant Soleil a must try.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday- Saturday: 6:00am - 10:30am Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:30pm Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
University Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 321-4422

Website:
http://www.phmhotels.com/westinpa.html

Parking Details:
Valet parking and self parking available, both complimentary with validation when dining in Restaurant Soleil or using the Luna Lounge facilities.

Public Transit:
Adjacent to Cal Train Palo Alto Station and the Marguerite Stanford Shuttle.

Executive Chef:
Pierre Arce

Private Party Facilities:
The Westin Palo Alto provides an ideal location & setting for business conferences, corporate events, reunions, bar/bat mitzvahs or any special event. Our in-house AV staff can assist you with all your audio visual needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: 6503214422

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Soleil - Westin Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (8)
great for brunch (8)
special occasion (7)
See All
kid-friendly (4)
fit for foodies (2)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
scenic view (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

food was good as I would expect form a W ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

food was good as I would expect form a Westin property. Cordial service and it was a quiet place for a good discussion where you are not yelling at your table makes to converse. That was the main benefit - good for conversation and actually paying attention and listening.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have only dined at Soleil for the Sun ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We have only dined at Soleil for the Sunday brunch and keep returning, never feeling the need to try any other place. It satisfies in all aspects and we shall continue coming. Great place.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Mother's Day brunch was a wonderful ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Mother's Day brunch was a wonderful experience.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Looking for good food and quiet

Dined on March 29, 2016

Soleil is nearly always empty for dinners and brunches on weekends, which means it must stay afloat via its hotel-based meals. Take advantage of its good food, excellent service and wonderful quiet for long, meaningful conversations at an excellent price.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Easter Brunch

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Restaurant Soleil stepped up its game on Easter Day. Not only was there more to choose from but the quality and taste seemed to be kicked up a notch as well. Succulent lamb at an Easter brunch? Yes and excellent taste. Plenty of vegetables, and seafood. The prices were higher but the enriched feast was worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Overall their food was good, varieties in the cold appetizers and salads. Hot selection was okay & the carving meat section was also okay. I was a bit disappointed w/ the cheese selections & desserts sections. I believe they had more varieties during their Mother's Day brunch last year.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

The restaurant ambiance for Easter Brunch was very conducive to a comfortable and nice meal. The food selection was superb and the added decorative touches and the Easter Bunny appearance were appreciated. Overall, a very nice start to the day.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service and excellent food wo ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Excellent service and excellent food wonderful place to have dinner

food3
ambience2
service2

We've had better experience at Left Bank ...

Dined on November 27, 2015

We've had better experience at Left Banks for Thanksgiving dinner and for less. Ambience: Our table of ten +1 highchair was crammed near the front where the hostess check in podium was and about 2' apart in front of another table. Wouldn't have been a big deal if we didn't have to get in and our seats to get to the buffets. The buffet setup wasn't very fluid. The carving station was on the opposite side of the restaurant in the lobby behind the dessert table. Would've missed it if we didn't see people coming from that side with turkey on their plates. Service: Our server was very attentive, but the staff supporting to bus the tables were not on par. We had our plates stacked on the table, since they weren't being cleared. We saw a few of them eye our plates, but would pass on by. It got to point where my brother had to practically stand up in front of them and asked "may I hand these to you". Sweet Tomatoes does a better job clearing plates than this restaurant. If you're required to pay an automatic gratuity and tip for a party of 10 does it mean you should expect less service? Final disappointment of the meal - cold coffee. Who doesn't love a warm cup of coffee with their dessert? We were all excited to have our warm beverage with our sweets only to find out the first sip was cold coffee that must have been sitting in the urn for sometime. We should have known something was off when we saw the half and half coagulating on top. Seems like the cream was out for awhile too. Would I be super picky about this experience? Nah, if it was Home Town Buffet, but from a Westin hotel restaurant? So yes I think it's fair to have certain expectations from Restaurant Soleil at a price of $55 + per person.

food1
ambience3
service5

Horrible Food Experienve

Dined on November 27, 2015

Having researched my Thanksgiving meal choices I Palo Alto I choose this place only to be extremely disappointed with the subpar food quality. The turkey, mashed potatoes and stuffing was worthy of serving. They all lacked the minimal food quality standards. The service was extraordinary. Carlos and his staff were awesome. My recommendation is to review your food preparation and delivery model that would result in a positive customer experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

We dined on thanksgiving. It was the bes ...

vip
Dined on November 26, 2015

We dined on thanksgiving. It was the best thanksgiving dinner I've ever had out. Our waiter Albert was the best, he was welcoming and attended to us impeccably. The buffet was excellent. I highly recommend it.

food3
ambience3
service5

Quiet clean with large hotel ambience.

Dined on November 1, 2015

It is quiet but food was only so-so. My cornish game hen was dessicated. The panna cotta had too much gelatin added. The wine list was very limited.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service is outstanding; the food is ...

vip
Dined on August 27, 2015

The service is outstanding; the food is excellent. Restaurant Soleil is my first choice for lunch in Palo Alto.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3

Father's Day brunch was not really anyth ...

Dined on June 21, 2015

Father's Day brunch was not really anything special. The pasta was tough, the desert selection was minimal. We booked for noon, but they stopped replenishing the dishes, especially the desserts. We did not get what we paid for, so disappointing!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch.

Dined on June 21, 2015

Father's Day brunch. Fabulous! Attentive service, lavish presentation of the food selections, bottomless champagne glasses.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food1
ambience2
service4

Lousy

Dined on June 21, 2015

Had eggs Benedict. the yolks were hard. The other people in our party had a variety of things all were mediocre.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!

vip
Dined on June 17, 2015

I'm glad that I had this experience. My work took my to the Sheraton next door to the Westin and I wandered over after seeing high marks on Open Table. From the hostess, Patricia, the waiter, Chris, and the chef (sorry I forgot his name) it was a personal, fabulous experience. I was treated with friendliness, service excellence and the hanger steak was the best I've ever had. Congratulations!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Charles

Dined on May 24, 2015

. We were celebrating our 23 rd-wedding anniversary and our very attentive server noticed the card my wife had given me gave us very special attention as well a wonderful commentary dessert. Given that was a holiday weekend, the hotel dinning room was was not crowded and very quiet which enhanced our evening. We would definitely return.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice brunch

Dined on May 10, 2015

Brunch food selection was very good, with a lot of choices. Service was timely and courteous. It was a great place to bringing elderly parents.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

Perfect for a Valentine's dinner out.

Dined on February 15, 2015

Best roast salmon I've had in a long time. The wait staff attentive but not overbearing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

Sorry, But Never Again

Dined on November 28, 2014

We made reservations for 5 pm on Thanksgiving Day, and we were on time. While we waited, we watched as wait staff scurried around, taking chairs from the lobby area. All the while, the line behind us kept getting longer. After a while, it was painfully obvious that Soleil had overbooked. Finally, at 5:20, we were taken to a tiny table that may have been made from cardboard boxes. When either of us touched the table, it moved like a teeter-totter. Had there been a drink on the table, one of us would surely have worn it home. We stopped a wait person and showed her the table. She frowned and left. We waited another 5 minutes then we left. On our way out the door, I told the lady at the check-in desk that we were leaving. She looked stunned but said nothing. We ended up walking across the parking lot to the Sheraton, where we had a nice, quiet meal. This is the Bay Area, and a lot of people here don't have relatives close by to celebrate holidays. Consequently, a lot of us plan to eat at a nice restaurant on those days. I don't understand why some restaurants don't plan for that.

food4
ambience4
service5

Thanksgiving brunch was very good.

Dined on November 27, 2014

The selection of items for the Thanksgiving brunch was excellent. We especially enjoyed the scallop ceviche, the beet salad and the flank steak (amazingly tender and flavorful). The weakest item was the Brussels sprouts dish which was quite bland. The coffee was excellent. The service was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Tasty

vip
Dined on November 27, 2014

Great holiday buffet. The food is amazing. We go every year for thanksgiving and Christmas

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite spot for lunch. Food and se ...

vip
Dined on November 12, 2014

My favorite spot for lunch. Food and service are extraordinary.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for a business meal

Dined on November 4, 2014

The food, ambiance and service were very good, and the noise level is very low which was important to us during a business dinner. I would recommend it to anyone who is hard of hearing, for business meals or any occasion where communicating and hearing each other is more important to you than being in a hip in-place full of energy but impossible to hear each other.

food5
ambience5
service5

great service

vip
Dined on October 11, 2014

great service. Nice selection. Perfect eggs. We will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

THE FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING. A VERY CLEAN R ...

Dined on September 14, 2014

THE FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING. A VERY CLEAN RESTAURANT.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely Brunch

vip
Dined on August 3, 2014

Restaurant Soleil in the Westin Palo Alto hotel serves a lovely Sunday brunch. Complete with made to order omelets, a carving station with beef and turkey, sushi, and even a chocolate fountain, this meal has something for everyone. They also serve the usual brunch fare of meats, pancakes, french toast, and salads.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service are outstanding. T ...

vip
Dined on June 30, 2014

The food and service are outstanding. The atmosphere is quiet and intimate.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

elegant

vip
Dined on June 29, 2014

Love the brunch. Service is fantastic. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience2
service3

Father's Day Brunch

vip
Dined on June 15, 2014

This is a nice place for a group gathering. Nothing over the top, but definitely better than average. It was crowded on Father's Day (as expected), but not crazy. The kids loved the chocolate dessert fountain. Too bad they ran out of Macarons early. This is a great place to bring growing boys since there is a lot of meat like ribs, prime rib, etc.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4

We have only dined there for brunch so c ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2014

We have only dined there for brunch so cannot comment on other aspects. We were there on Father's Day, and Stanford's graduation, so the place was really busy, but our service was consistently good, as always, and the food memorable. They give a senior discount, which is also nice.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The decor was lovely and anyone over the ...

Dined on June 15, 2014

The decor was lovely and anyone over the age of twenty will appreciate the quiet atmosphere. The food was excellent and the service perfect. We will go again and invite friends to join us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Good food. good service.

Dined on June 14, 2014

Not recommended if you have active kids. But if your children are oddly quiet and well- behaved, this is a great place to go for brunch. Staff is friendly and tentative, but the atmosphere is a tad on the stiff side.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 11, 2014

This was our first time at the Restaurant Soleil. We treated our 90 year old aunt to the wonderful Mother's Day Brunch. The food was FABULOUS! A lot of variety, artistically displayed and plenty of it! The service was 5 star. From the complimentary valet parking, red roses presented to all mothers, helpfulness of the staff and very nice seating for us, including my aunt who was in a wheelchair. The spacing of the buffet set up was spacious, allowing me to wheel my aunt through the set up without any difficulty, giving her more of a sense of independence, being able to select her choice of food was a real treat! We will definitely return and recommend the restaurant to others.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service2

I didnt find this place very good at all ...

Dined on May 11, 2014

I didnt find this place very good at all. The table was a make shift one right where everyone passes by. It had a bar on each side so you had to sit sideways. very uncomfortable. I would not go back.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service4

Nice Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 11, 2014

Very efficient and pleasant seating experience. Good food selection and variety. Most enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Easter Brunch. I was impressed by the se ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2014

Easter Brunch. I was impressed by the service and attention to detail. The food was very solid, especially for a buffet.

food5
ambience4
service5

Easter Brunch

vip
Dined on April 20, 2014

Service to arrange for Easter Brunch was outstanding. What a team to seat us all! The food was delicious and the staff attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service,

vip
Dined on April 2, 2014

Great food, great service, and quiet enough to enjoy conversation.

Tags: great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.