Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Restaurant R'evolution

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Lunch on Fridays Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Nightly 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Saturday 12:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday 5:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (127)
Good for Anniversaries (114)
Creative Cuisine (109)
See All
Romantic (105)
Good for a Date (96)
Fit for Foodies (96)
Notable Wine List (73)
Local Ingredients (62)
Authentic (55)
Business Meals (52)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Open Kitchen (38)
Worth the Drive (38)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Good for Groups (33)
Cozy (32)
Hot Spot (25)
Historic (24)
Fun (24)
Private Room (24)
Bar Seating (22)
Modern Decor (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
People Watching (17)
Tasting Menu (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Molecular Gastronomy (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Seasonal (7)
Live Music (7)
Healthy (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Casual (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Vegan (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Spicy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
2921 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Was a very yummy meal!! Prefer the downstairs vibe but upstairs was great for a big group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Crowded on a Friday night but the gumbo and fresh drum were wonderful. Good service overall. A good meal but it's quite expensive for the full dining experience. A great choice.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful ambiance, attentive management . Wanted to order more, staff neglected to ask about first course. Main was tiny but tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The finest food and service we experienced in New Orleans!

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I have been to many outstanding restaurants in the United States and around the world... R'evolution offers a beautiful atmosphere leaving no stone unturned... A wonderful staff with product knowledge capable of answering any and all questions... The food was some of the best I have ever had... I would travel to New Orleans again, as long as there would be a table at R'evolution available for me... Thank you R'evolution, to you and your staff...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined 5 days ago

WOW! We had an AMAZING dinner at Revolution. Our server Brian was 1st class, the food was divine and we even got a fabulous tour of the restaurant by Luis after dinner. The wine list is also quite impressive. AND...I would estimate 5 people came and wished us a Happy Anniversary.
Who does that anymore??? Really impressed with everything. My husband and I were visiting NOLA for our 20th Anniversary and couldn't have been happier with our choice to celebrate at this wonderful place.

Highly recommend it to anyone who is a diehard foodie & wine lover. My husband had the Crawfish bisque and the Redfish/crawfish terrine in an oyster stew, while I had the Tuna Tartare with the Grouper in a pea & mint cream sauce with chanterelle mushrooms & spring onions. So, so good! We also shared a delicious chocolate layer cake with salted carmel for dessert.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Highly overrated. The dishes we ordered were either a hit or miss. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was very good. We split the Death by Gumbo. It was great. Shared the Cajun oyster salad which was good but not sure why they called it Cajun. Wasn't spicy at all. Fire roasted oysters were good but not as good as GWFINS. Dinner my husband had the rib eye. Be mindful of how they cook the temperature. Medium rare was very rare and too raw for my husband . However, it does explain how they cook it on the menu. He just missed it. He ordered it with the fois gras butter. Which they combined with the steak already had a red sauce on it. That was a bit strange. He also ordered the truffle mash potatoes which he did not like at all. It was just some shaved truffles in the mashed potatoes and really no truffle taste. Dessert box was just ok, nothing impressive. The crème brûlée bread pudding was very good with the soaked cherries. Cocktails were very expensive we did order special Vodka but paid half that at other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

This is one of the most amazing dining experiences I have ever had. The wine list, the food, the staff.... all impeccable! Spendy, but worth every dime

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 24, 2017

AmaZing dinner. Service was impeccable. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This high end restaurant was recommended by a friend. It did not disappoint.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent restaurant with excellent, attentive, first class service
A bit pricey, but we were on vacation, so ...
Only complaint was the shrimps had the heads on....no biggie, I took them off!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

A very special restaurant. The décor is very upscale and beautiful. The service is impeccable. The food is among the best upscale cuisine you will find anywhere. It is very pricy, but not more so than some other upscale NO fine dining restaurants. We were tourists so were able to walk there. Driving there may be a bit of a challenge as it is located in the French Quarter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Can't recommend this place. Service and food sub-par and twice as expensive as all of our other great meals in New Orleans. The back waiter could not have been ruder, the filet (?) was too tough to easily cut with a steak knife and was brought to the table covered in the Marchand du Vin sauce which was also served on the side. What were they hiding? Simply awful au gratin potatoes. The Brussels sprouts were passable. Got my partner's order completely wrong and had to do over. They did comp that entree. Wouldn't go back if it was all free!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great food served by knowledgable people in a great setting . I had a relative in from
California who is a big time food, The restaurant lived up to the advance billing I provided.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Restaurant & bar are beautiful but neither my husband or myself enjoyed the dinner. I had the lobster & gnocchi- the sauce was salty but the lobster was tasty. We went there because my husband loves quail but would have preferred it deep fried instead of batter fried. The venison carpaccio appetizer was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Hands down our favorite restaurant during our 4-day visit to NOLA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Awesome experience second year in a row, we had the crabmeat beignets with four sauces, outstanding. Our main course was lamb chops for my husband & fillet mignon for myself with a lobster bernaise sauce . Our sides were grilled white & green asparagus with hollandaise sauce on the side & truffle mashed potatoes, both were fabulous. They wait staff Brian & Justine were very attentive & knowledgeable. Will definitely return next year!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Went for a pre engagement dinner!!! Perfect for New Orleans

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Initially my husband and I were seated at an uncomfortable table in a high traffic area. We asked to be reseated, and they politely obliged -- moving us to a lovely, quiet area near the kitchen. The ambiance was great. Our meals were fantastic, made even better by excellent service provided by our server Travis, as well as DeShawn and Kendal. We enjoyed the Crab Beignets and Crawfish Bisque to start, followed dinner: my husband had the Gnocchi with Lobster; unfortunately I can't remember my own entree (it was not a regular menu item), I can only recall it was amazing. We were too full for dessert, but did enjoy a few of the treats in the cute "treasure chest" provided to us at the end of our meal. It was a wonderful experience and we will absolutely return when we are in NOLA next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The cocktails, food and wine were top quality, as was the service from the waiting staff.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was perfect here. There are three different adjoining dining rooms with different decors, but all very elegant. A talented jazz combo moved from one place to the other throughout our stay, so no matter where you were seated, you could watch as well as hear them. The service was wonderful! The food was exquisite. My favorite dish was the snapping turtle soup with deviled quail eggs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Not like it used to be :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had an excellent experience. We love this place

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was very good and portions were a little smaller than expected but that's not a bad thing. The service was excellent and I only had a small problem with one thing. The waiter wanted to shake my hand and I just don't care for that in that situation but that's me. Overall a great experience. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing and the wait staff were incredibly accommodating - even gave us a tour of the restaurant and wine cellar which was unreal!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We try to go every time in NOLA. You have got to have the Death by Gumbo. But will say this time the roux was a little thin. We ate at 6 so maybe they had not fully cooked it down.

This trip we ordered the 44 oz tomahawk ribeye for two. Best steak I have ever had dining out, bar none. Unreal flavor.

I have had Ruth Chris, Smith and Wolensky, The Chop House, Doris Metropolitan, Dickie Brennans, Del Frisco's, you name it. Always slightly disappointed because we do such a good job at home. I'm just picky about steak. Lots of places think its ok to char/burn the outside as long as inside is right. If i wanted to eat charcoal, I would order a briquet.

So all that is to say: R' evolution served a perfect medium rare steak with unreal flavor ALL the way through.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This restaurant came highly recommended and it was everything we heard it to be. Can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

One of the best restaurants -- ever. The service, the food, the environment are all perfect. It's not an everyday dining place. It's quite expensive, but well worth it for a special meal. Our reason was merely that our whole family was all together in New Orleans, and it did not fail to bowl me over...for the second time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The all black caviar staircase was to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Maybe the best meal I've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We walked right around the corner from out hotel, Royal Sonesta to this delightful spot. Each room has a different theme, we were in the red and white room with the open kitchen view. Seeing the imported hams hanging in the chilled glass front coolers was interested. Seeing the chefs preparing the fresh sulami was even more impressive. The house special oysters on the half shell did not last long in front of us. Loved the entire experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Meal was very good. Excellent fish. Crab beignets. Amberjack light choice

Tags: Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

It was really a great restaurant and the food were really delicious! The wait staff were great. Very thoughtful when he brought out a dessert for our anniversary and a bubbly wine. It was fun looking at the different selection of food to choose from. We would definitely recommend this place. Hopefully we'll go back again. It's kind of pricey but worth it once for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Very disappointed. Service was good but food was not. Quail was over cooked and visiting fish was terrible. Will not return.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We had an amazing dinner. Kevin was our waiter and he totally rocked!! The caviar steps are out of this world! I'm still recovering today!! So yummy and worth the price!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Everything was outstanding! One of the finest in New Orleans & that is high praise. We especially loved the little touches like the stools for out pocketbooks. Food was amazing and service was top notch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Treat yourself!!! 5 star rating from us!!! Everything from top to bottom was perfection!! Favorite restaurant so far!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

In New Orleans for French Quarter Fest. First time eating at R'evolution. Wonderful service and exceptional food. Will go again and again. A t-shirt said "New Orleans is my favorite restaurant".

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Delicious food, excellent service, wonderful music and great hospitality.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.