About Restaurant R'evolution

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Friday Lunch (Wed.-Fri. in December) Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Holiday Lunch (throughout December 2016):
Wednesday - Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Nightly 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Saturday 12:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday 5:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (103)
Good for Anniversaries (88)
Romantic (84)
See All
Good for a Date (79)
Creative Cuisine (78)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Notable Wine List (68)
Business Meals (47)
Handcrafted Cocktails (43)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Local Ingredients (42)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Authentic (32)
Worth the Drive (27)
Good for Groups (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Hot Spot (23)
Cozy (22)
Open Kitchen (22)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Fun (17)
Private Room (16)
Historic (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Modern Decor (14)
People Watching (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Healthy (6)
Seasonal (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Live Music (5)
Casual (4)
Family Style (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2769 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 hours ago

Sensational ambiance and service. Definitely a top tier restaurant for any city, and the menu does the local cuisine a great service for the visiting foodie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

not up to par - shrimp were mushy-

No brunch selection - only lunch despite 11/39 reservation .Rolls uneventful. Cocktails good! In the midst of Mardi Gras - gotta cur them some slack !

Usually excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The best meal we had in New Orleans and that the Wednesday before Mardi Gras weekend! The place was busy, but you didnt notice as the service was impeccable. The food was absolutely wonderful - all five of us had something different and we were all raving.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 4 days ago

Went on first night of Carnival/Mardi Gras 2017. Excellent food and service. It is pricey so be prepared (I prefer a bottle of wine under $30), but well worth it. Of the three upscale restaurants we went to this visit this was my wife's favorite, for the variety of seafood and taste.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Restaurant R'evolution is a destination experience. As rated food, service, atmosphere was superb. I have eaten at the French Laundry and this is a very close second! It's a first if portion size is important. 😃

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our uber driver actually recommended this as a new hotspot while in NOLA. We are glad we listened to him! The drink menu was great and the food was outstanding. The waitstaff was incredibly knowledgeable and also sent a special dessert taster for us. Put it on your list!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Absolutely spectacular in every facet!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Spectacular food and hos0itality. Our tour of the wine room was an unexpected spectacular bonus!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Late-night Find, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent Food. Great ambiance.

Not so pleasant service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Outstanding, food was great. One of the number one restaurants in the country!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Restaurant R'evolution was highly recommended by friends and family as a restaurant not to be missed. They were so right. The service and food were outstanding. This is our new favorite place to dine while in New Orleans.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Hands down my new favorite restaurant in New Orleans. I can not say enough about the service, excellent in every way. The Beer Battered Crab Beignets were to die for, the crab meat pours out when you slice into in. We also ordered the Seafood Gumbo and it was very good, lots of seafood and more hearty than some Gumbos. The Lobster Gnocchi was what we came for and we were not disappointed, it had more of a lemon flare than I expected but was good. The dessert menu has a back light ... nice touch R'evoluion! The hand made marshmallow ice cream was amazing and the desert spread they bring you in the jewelry box was a lovely surprise. Highly recommend, we will be back soon!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was a huge disappoint. My wife's seafood did not taste fresh. My quail was just ok. The desserts were ok. Overrall, we were extremely disappointed and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Very good restaurant Edith extraordinary food

Good ambiance and full service

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were given a lovely private room for our party of eight. Food was great. Loved the jazz band, especially when they came to our table and took our request!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Private Room, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fabulous place! Excellent Service, absolutely tasty food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had oysters revolution style. Probably would have preferred the plain ones, as I wasn't that crazy about the toppings on the oysters, but the oysters themselves were great. Next we shared the Triptych of Quail with a side of truffle mashed potatoes. The quail was excellent and just right for two people. (The potatoes were good, not quite as good as the quail.) Next we shared three scoops of ice cream The toasted marshmallow flavor was outstanding. The chocolate coconut and cinnamon were okay. Last they brought us a complimentary dessert sampler. These were of varying quality, but we enjoyed trying them.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was very good, the service was outstanding, and great atmosphere. I won't lie, it was very pricey, way out of our range and if it were not for a gift card we would not have been able to go. Worth it for an anniversary or a really special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great setting. Professional, courteous service. Great food. Live Jazz music on Sunday lunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent food and service !! Scott and David were wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fabulous food and impeccable service. The music after dinner in the hotel lounge was some of the best The entire time in NOLA. Don't miss it.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food and the service were impeccable. We've eaten in the top restaurants in Manhattan (Eleven Madison, Le Bernardin, Daniel etc) and this was on par with the best. It was high quality local food with exquisite attention to detail. We would definitely go again, maybe even during this same trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our server, Rory, was fantastic!! He did a great job sharing his knowledge of the menu and provided a behind the scenes tour of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

A must do if going to New Orleans. Not all food is created equally. The food was really good.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Fantastic dining experience. Our waiter Brian was phenomenal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The entire experience was amazing. The food, ambiance and service was perfect. My favorite was the beer bettered crab beignets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We have been there several times and they were a little off their game this visit. Service was slow and the team was not as pulled together as we had seen on previous occasions. Hopefully just an off night in a very good restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Trying to be a five star but trying to hard. Service was slow even with a light late brunch crowd. Food was good but not particularly special. There is much better in New Orleans for a lower cost. It isn't a place we will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and service are superb! Everyone from the Hostess/Maitre'D to the Waitstaff and Management was inviting, knowledgeable and so personable. Each course was remarkable, and the French 75's were perfect! The maple bread pudding with creme brulee topping was to-die-for! What a special place for a perfect meal.

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Dinner was outstanding !!!! On the pricey side but worth it !!!! Will definitely go back !!!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Birthday , anniversaries, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wow. In a city known for its food, this may be the best I've had. Bring your wallet because it won't be inexpensive, but it's a real treat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My husband and I had the pleasure of dining here on our vacation to New Orleans last week. The atmosphere was very romantic and yet approachable. Our waiter, Kevin, was friendly and knowledgeable and helped guide us through the menu's adventurous options. The food was amazing! Well done everyone at Revolution!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Amazing restaurant, food, wonderful wine list, they make you feel special when you dine there. If you have a group, ask about the wine cellar room .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Stellar meal, service, and menu. It was our first time but won't be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had dinner at Restaurant R'evolution while visiting NoLA. The oysters are quite possibly the best we have ever had. We also had espresso beef carpaccio and steak tartare. For dinner my husband had beef Wellington and I had scallops and foie gras. Everything was really really good. I would recommend everyone to get the oysters and beef tartare. They also gave us a tour of the kitchen, dining rooms and wine cellar which was nice. I would go back when in town next.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Expect an explosion of flavor in all dishes. Truly on of the best dining experiences you will ever have. The best of the best!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Came with wife for our Anniversary all the way from Wa. Our two sons joined us for a great dinner experience. Tartar, head cheese and gumbo out of this world. Entrees a winner also!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food was divine! Service excellent! Wine list extensive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We were in town for a business convention and the only thing we had on our list as an absolute MUST is to eat again at R'evolution. We have only done brunch (this visit and one about 3 years ago) and both times were unequivocally amazing. The atmosphere, the service, the menu, and the food quality are top tier. Not to be missed. Great for any occasion. We will be back on our next visit, that I can promise.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was our first visit and the food and service were great. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had a table for four Jan 21 2017. chose for proximity to the Monteleone hotel where we were staying. It really is an excellent restaurant. Very good service, and an extensive menu. Good wine list. the meal was expensive, but to be expected from such a fine restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is our 4th time to visit this restaurant and they remembered our preferences for which room we liked to sit in and even called us the week before we were to dine there to see if it was a special occasion or any new food allergies. The Market Room is a great room to sit in if you like to see the happenings behind the kitchen! The quality of the food was just as spectacular as the other times we dined there and we will continue to have dinner there each time we are in the New Orleans area. Make sure you get an advanced reservations as it still fills up quickly during the 7-8 PM timeframe due to its popularity!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wife and best friend's birthdays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Outstanding food, wine, service and ambiance. This is one of the very best kitchens in the French Quarter along with being at the top of all "must dine" at lists in NOLA. The place is architecturally stunning and begins with a pre-dinner cocktail in the bar which stocks a vast collection of anything containing ETOH. All-in-all, a fabulous experience resulting in a longing to return once again very soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I know NOLA has a lot of restaurants to choose from so I really did my homework to find this one. It was rated highly among critics and prior guests so I was very excited to dine there. Unfortunately I was quite disappointed. Our reservation was on a Thursday night at 9:00 pm so I expected to be seated on time. We arrived 15 minutes early but had to wait 30 minutes to be seated. Then after being seated, it was another 8-10 minutes before a server first approached our table. My friend and I decided to order 4 appetizers and split them assuming that would be a lot to eat for 2 ladies. The bread was served yet there was no silverware or napkins on the table so I had to ask for them. Rather than apologizing, our server said "we don't set the tables with silverware until we serve our first course". That is fine, however, napkins? The bread was very crusty and a napkin over my nice dress would have been nice. The appetizers, while tasty, were barely enough for one bite each but each item was $16+. We left hungry and won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Excellent food and service. Perfect selection of New Orleans classics and traditional cuisine. Staff are very attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This is a first class restaurant. Everything about it is exceptional. Yes, it is expensive and you get what you pay for, a memorable dining experience. Well worth the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Wait staff was outstand and the food was equally as good. I would recommend this to everyone I know

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We didn't originally intend to go to this restaurant, but we're sure glad we wound up there! Their Old Fashioned was outstanding and the service was incredible, too. We started talking with the floor manager and he arranged a private tour of the restaurant and wine cellar. We felt like long-time customers even though it was our first visit. The food was some of the best I've ever had. It is a bit too pricey for a weekly trip, but it is so worth the experience. Highly recommended!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.