Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Restaurant R'evolution

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Lunch on Fridays Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Nightly 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Saturday 12:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday 5:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (144)
Creative Cuisine (131)
Good for Anniversaries (122)
See All
Fit for Foodies (122)
Romantic (116)
Good for a Date (116)
Notable Wine List (89)
Local Ingredients (70)
Business Meals (63)
Authentic (60)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Quiet Conversation (57)
Handcrafted Cocktails (50)
Worth the Drive (46)
Cozy (43)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Open Kitchen (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Hot Spot (31)
Bar Seating (30)
Fun (28)
Private Room (20)
Great for Brunch (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
People Watching (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Seasonal (14)
Historic (13)
Molecular Gastronomy (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Live Music (9)
Wood Oven (7)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Casual (5)
Spicy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great Beer (4)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Waterfront (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
3056 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic!!!!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

One of the best restaurants we have ever been to. An amazing experience. You will not leave hungry.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome place! The staff was beyond great and even the tour of the kitchen created an amazing dinning experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Food that was supposed to be hot was definitely not served hot - barely lukewarm. Furthermore, food was not that inspiring, even though recommended by wait staff. Disappointing based on others' recommendations.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Staff was amazing! Food was wonderful!! Definite recommend!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing meal! And the service was outstanding. Our waiter was attentive and entertaining.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Our first visit to this amazing restaurant. We enjoyed the turtle soup , cajun fried oyster salad , and. we split the blue crab tajarin pasta, the filet and red fish orleans were superb. The brussels spouts and truffle mashed potatoes were wonderful. The chocolate deborge cake with peanut butter ice cream was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

It was the best food and dinning experience that my wife and I ever had.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant's fine decor and cloying service could not compensate for the fact that its food portions were tiny, overpriced and, most unforgiveably, not very good. One of my companion's steak was served burnt, and although it was replaced, its taste could be generously described as "nothing special". My seafood gumbo was nearly non-existent and tasteless. Even my friend's brussel sprouts were burnt. Not even desserts, where most high end restaurant shine, were noteworthy, and again the portions were so miniscule one would think we were at a "fat camp". The only thing the restaurant excelled out was cloyingly ingratiating service, but that may be because so few customers were in the restaurant even around 7 pm on a Sunday night. In retrospect I'm not surprised.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

We are locals and chose R'evolution for our 56th anniversary dinner. The food was delicious and the restaurant went out of the way to make the occasion special. One peculiarity is that water is served without ice at room temperature. When I asked about it, I was told "that's the way we do it".

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I had a date tonight. Revolution was the perfect place to go. The food is outstanding and the waiters and waitresses are tremendous. We tipped them well because they are so fantastic. The bartender, Bryan., was very friendly and made us feel right at home.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place, delicios food, great waiter staff.
Hostess leave a lot to be desire, not welcoming, actually my were about to leave the restaurant after the very unpleasant hosts but our waiters were excellent and made us forget and start enjoining our diner

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and food

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 6 days ago

One of my favorites in the French Quarter. We love taking our out of town guest to dinner there. Great food and service!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Great location and the restaurant is beautiful. However, the service was not as expected. Mentioned to our waiter that it was our first time there and he didn't even offer to describe the dishes or make any recommendations. He came by and asked us several times if we were ready and said to let him know if he had questions but did not provide the service I was expecting from a restaurant with such great reviews and such steep prices.
If in the area again I would definitely give it another try but was overall not impressed by the service we received at all. Food was good but I feel like the overall experience was dampened by the lacking of great service. We went to several other restaurants in the French Quarter and the service was much better and in turn made the overall experience much more enjoyable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We were in New Orleans for business and stumbled upon Restaurant R'evolution after we had a dress code violation at an old established restaurant across the street. What a lucky break for us! Travis and Colin were our serving team and blew us away with their knowledge of the menu, preparation, and the extensive wine list.
We started with crab beignets, which were outstanding. For entrees, my son had short ribs and I had the Cajun Cioppino. Both were excellent.
We liked the food so much, we came back two nights later for another meal!
The second night, we had the sheeps milk gnocchi with lobster and Death by Gumbo. Both were excellent.

The highlight of our second meal was the toasted marshmallow ice cream. It took me back to campfires and Girl Scouts and days as a young girl. Food is amazing that is has that power sometimes.

Overall, I highly recommend this restaurant! I will be back on my next visit to the area, and maybe I will go for three meals in a row that time!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Outstanding experience, from service, to environmenter, to the outstanding food. Waiter given latitude to select a flight of food did great job. I even got a kitchen tour on request. Never hurts to ask.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Anthony is an absolute rock star. He made our evening just terrific. His knowledge is a parent as well as appreciate it. Will go back just to make sure we can get seated in Anthony's area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great time, Great food, and service is 6 Stars!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This restaurant exceed our expectations! The service and food was outstanding! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Organic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

One of the fantastic gems in New Orleans from the drinks to food to service this one is s new fave now

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

5 year anniversary dinner and everything was perfect!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The atmosphere is always sophisticated bib not stuffy. The crab beignets are a must and the short ribs fall apart-no knife needed! Presentation is elegant.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Revolution offers gourmet dining in the busy Royal Sonesta Hotel atmosphere . The presentation and service is excellent . The menu selection was exotic cuisine selections include stuffed frog legs, rabbit, quail, pheasant, and shortbreads. Very expensive . The Death by Gumbo is wonderful as was the wine selection. The dessert cabinet was a real treat. Overall I could have ordered Gumbo and dessert .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Fantastic cocktails, charcuterie, quail, tourenados, rabbit pasta and wine.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My daughter and I celebrated my birthday there! The staff made the experience wonderful. I truly felt special!!! Would definitely go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Absolutely fabulous service and attention. The food was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2017

My mom and I finished up our weeklong trip with dinner here. Definitely on the pricey side but for the dining experience its expected. After a small seared tuna amuse bouche, we shared "death by gumbo" since we didn't want to miss out on the gumbo experience, and it was really good. Watch out for little bones from the stuffed quail leg. My mom's filet mignon was perfectly cooked, my seafood cioppino was delicious. For dessert we had some crème brûlée cheesecake I think... it was good but I didn't think it was anything as amazing as some people's reviews had said. A nice treat at the end was a box with little drawers revealing various cookie/candy surprises. I regret not asking for a tour of the wine cellar- after having dined there, a bartender we spoke to at our hotel asked us if we had seen the cellar- I think over 10,000 bottles of wine including bottles valued at $25,000...? wow. I wonder if they bring in a parade to celebrate, when you order that!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Exquisito el trío de codorniz y las ostras gratinadas. Ambiente relajado y elegante. Excelente atención.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Food and service was exceptional. Our server Rory was the highlight of the evening. His familiarity with the menu, the history behind each meal, restaurant details, and all drawn up with an authentic New Orleans zest. Amazing how an elevated dining experience can still leave you feeling like you were the only one dining in the room. Nothing disappoints, not from your appetizer to your final course. We will be back real soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This was out first time for Sunday brunch and the food was amazing! We had the fried quail and waffle, bbq oysters, crab cakes and the boudin scotch egg. Delish!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food is beyond fabulous. Our service team was the best. Can't wait to go back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our meal was fabulous. The wine stewardess helped us select a very excellent and avoidable wine. Chef John Folse stopped by our table and visited about his TV show in Baton Rouge (we are from there) which was very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very upscale dining room. Wait staff excellent. However food was oddly tasteless. Needed seasoning. Though website listed Beef Wellington it was not available. Filet came with wine sauce, even though I had ordered bernaise, it came on the side. Cold at the table but cooked perfectly MR. Seafood gumbo had very little taste. Turtle soup had off putting Anise flavor. We were treated to a special dessert for our anniversary, after we had ordered dessert.
Overall beautiful restaurant but food was a letdown.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was good but nothing outstanding. Service was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Best dinner I've had in several years! Elegant, subtle, and food was second to none. Service was too notch without being intrusive, and we got to tour the kitchen. Amazing...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We went over the weekend to celebrate my husband's birthday with my daughter and a very good friend from Nashville and San Francisco. It is a favorite of ours and it did not disappoint. The ladies arrived early and enjoyed a new drink at the bar and loved them. Our table was perfect and the noise level was moderate, but we never had trouble talking and hearing on another. We of course had the crab beignets because they are a must have. The quail and the chioppino were new I think and were divine. The foie gras butter is amazing but be prepared - it must be 2000 calories to taste that good!! Wine list excellent and extensive. Desserts are yummy and light enough to enjoy after a meal. Would recommend sharing the appetizer or salad if you plan on dessert. At the end when you think you are through eating, you get a nice little treasure chest of homemade treats that you just can't resist so keep that in mind. Then they brought my husband a Birthday Dessert!! So yes, maybe we overindulged with the food just a little!! This really is all around probably our favorite place to spend an evening in New Orleans. The staff is attentitive, knowledable and never intrusive. We love that we see the same people time and time again!! Our daughter and her friend were still talking about it the next day!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Kevin is awesome. A really great experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 5, 2017

One of our faclvorite restaurants in New Orleans. The wine list is excellent. The service is impeccable! Always a must for us!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Love this place. It's all about the details.
Always return here when I'm visiting New Orleans. The potions are generous.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.