Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Restaurant R'evolution

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Lunch on Fridays Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Nightly 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Saturday 12:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday 5:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (120)
Good for a Date (111)
Creative Cuisine (104)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (104)
Fit for Foodies (102)
Romantic (102)
Notable Wine List (84)
Quiet Conversation (61)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Handcrafted Cocktails (54)
Local Ingredients (52)
Business Meals (46)
Authentic (45)
Cozy (38)
Worth the Drive (35)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Groups (26)
Hot Spot (24)
Tasting Menu (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Fun (22)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Great for Brunch (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Seasonal (11)
People Watching (10)
Live Music (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Private Room (8)
Casual (7)
Great Beer (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Organic (3)
Historic (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
3141 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Birthday brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

The food and service was exceptional!! Collin was our waiter and he was one of the best waiters I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Always great experience. Large wine list but mixed drinks are good as well. Service one of the best in NOLA. Food innovating in presentation and tasty. Although it is located in FQ it is far from being a tourist trap comparing to some other restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

3 out of 4 people ate the scallopa. No one could eat more than 1 because they were TOO SALTY. In from south Louisiana and I couldn't eat that much salt. !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful service, delicious food and good servings ,excellently presented and overall experience 11/10 -way above average -a unique dinner of high standard

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I attended the Sunday jazz brunch around 1pm and the experience was just okay. I was not impressed. After some other wonderful experiences around NOLA, I was a bit disappointed with my experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was a fantastic experience. Service was incredible, on top of each part and yet not intrusive. Food was innovative and yet comfortable. Everything was right on point. Staff explained each and provided terrific guidance. Very engaging service staff. I had the triple quail and it was rich and tasty allowing the quail to be the star with the seasoning and sauce to enhance the flavor. My wife had the seafood gumbo which was rich and well seasoned but not too much. Now the show stopper was the crab Beignets. They were melt in your mouth with excellent flavor and servced with a dab of varied sauces to explode in your mouth. The best. Finally we got to the creole bread pudding and again it was a perfect blend of innovation and tradition to be just right.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This restaurant is a perfect spot for any celebration. It is on the pricey side but well worth it. The service is impeccable and so friendly. We had the mouthwatering tomahawk steak with seared fois gras and the asparagus dish was delicious too. It was our 33rd wedding anniversary and it was memorable!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Not very accommodating for a vegan. A lot of fine dining restaurants will have the chef create something for someone that doesn't eat meat or dairy. Not so much here. Was told I could have a dish they offered on the menu and they would leave out the dairy. Received a bowl of Farro and squash, covered in melted butter. Not what I expected for this type of restaurant and for $26.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We spent our 26th wedding anniversary at R'evolution. It was great. We had the stair stepped Caviar, bone in filet, redfish and a wine from Argentina. It was great. We had a wonderful evening with Kevin and his support group. We even got a tour of the wine cellar and the back room that is used for private parties. Thanks for a super evening.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 10, 2017

R'evolution was a revelation. The meal was superb! Excellent service: good humored and expert. The tasting menu is a great value and featured local ingredients creatively prepared, as well as some surprises. Amazing seafood, deep sauces, perfect portions. Super wine list including some American rarities. Will definitely return the next time we're in NOLA.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Everything we had was fantastic, the staff was friendly & accommodating, & the jewelry box with the little desserts at the end was a nice surprise. Overall, I would recommend Revolution to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I believe this is one of the top restaurants in New Orleans Would definitely recommend a favorite when I visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My friend and I went to brunch at R'evolution and ordered the COOLinary offering. The restaurant lost electricity after our first course, so we spent the remainder of our time there sitting in the dark, with an automated alarm sounding off, and the restaurant getting warm rather quickly (to be expected for New Orleans in August). The kitchen closed so we didn't receive the final course that came with our menu selection (which was the whole reason we ordered the COOLinary menu in the first place). We were one of two tables in the restaurant at the time, and the manager approached the other table (a party of 8, tourists) and comped that group's entire bill. My friend and I didn't so much as get our cocktails comped or receive a discount for the dessert we didn't receive. It was really disappointing considering we had the same dining experience as that other group. We in no way expected a free meal, but an apology, a kind gesture, or a situation handled with more finesse, would have been welcomed and appreciated, especially when we saw it extended to the only other table in the room. For such an expensive restaurant, this was hardly the fine dining experience we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We went for their Sunday morning jazz brunch and everything was perfect. The cocktails are amazing and the food is even better. Our servers were friendly and informative about the food and made excellent recommendations. We will be back next time we come to New Orleans.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

This was one of the best dining experiences I'd ever had! Chef Corey cooked every dish to perfection. The portions are appropriate; filling but not overwhelming. I came to New Orleans for one night and it was specifically to go to this restaurant. I was not disappointed! It was worth the trip and the rain! Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Sullen black waiter nearly mute about the interesting menu, and did notice other wait staff far more outgoing and informative. Swordfish had a distinct smell, despite the sauce(s), so if you like fresh fish, don't order that. Eye of ribeye, quite pricey, was covered with a sweet sauce which was not mentioned as I declined the other menu listed toppings preferring my meat without; and medium rare is indeed 'charred' on the outside though of acceptable redness inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Amazing! Staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Food is ridiculously good! One of my top 10 meals ever.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Being Italian, a could be foody choosy, and with reason. But, this place deserves my hommage.

Food cooked and served without mistakes or even imperfections, service quick and accurate.

People knowing their business.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Restaurant Revolution is always a delight! Impeccable service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Restaurant R'evolution is upscale and the food is very good--good. I think it is pricey and probably overpriced for New Orleans in general. The wine, for eg, some of which is not so great, starts at $16 a glass and a bottle is at the minimum $45 and all the ones that taste good are $65 or more. There are very wow menu items like $10,000 wine and caviar that costs a mint.
There are a lot of waiters, like at Commander's Palace, and the service is careful, but the food is not wildly better than places that cost less and have more low-key service., which is really all you need. That said, I had fantastic quail gumbo and the appetizers, such as the beignets with various sauces were great. If you want to pay more for three waiters and a wine steward, this is your place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This will one day be a New Orleans iconic restaurant! The food is amazing and the service is impeccable. The ambience is wonderful for anything to date night, and special occasions to a less formal gathering place for family and friends. I have been here no less than 10 times and it is consistently a winner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Brunch was delightful and the live music was divine! Our party of four loved everything.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Other than accessing the French Quarter during construction, it was a wonderful evening. Do yourself a favor and don't try and drive down there. Revolution is an experience. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and kudos to the chef for creating my off the menu seared Foie Gras with peaches and blueberries on the fly. A very nice combination. Everyone in my group was very pleased with what they had. Personally, I would have preferred a larger Burgundy selection but what we had was great! Will be looking forward to returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Amazing food and service in a beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Perfect, perfect, perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Everything was delicious! The waitstaff was amazing and very helpful! We went celebrating my birthday and they helped us pick out a delicious bottle of Rose. We ordered some oysters- so yummy! I got a stuffed fish and my husband got the rabbit, I will have to say I actually enjoyed his more!! Great place to go- I would definitely go back!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

This was by far the most tasty. Best cocktails. Young chefs with crazy cooking skills. It's a must. Will now put this at the top of my NOLA list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Everything was delicious. The Wife had risotto made with farro and a delicious creamy sauce. I had a 9 oz. filet mignon crusted with bleu cheese. We split the potatoes au gratin with gruyere. Divine. I tried two different cocktails that were yummy and we were served an amuse bouche, prior to our meals. Service was excellent and attentive without seeming hovering.
Will definitely revisit.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 27, 2017

A very good restaurant for any occasion.
A very knowledgeable and attentive staff caters to every diners wants and needs.
Great meal choices to tickle even the most discriminating palate.
Drink selections bountiful with signature cocktails available from the bar.
Valet parking available for a nominal fee.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our experience at Restaurant Revolution surpassed dining at a top restaurant in NOLA where we had dined the previous night. Our service was seamless. Food was nothing less than heavenly ....perfection. However, If I could change anything, I would prefer tablecloths, subtle and romantic table lighting and a blossom. Still, I would not hesitate to return. Lovely evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Revolution is a shell of its former self. The ambience and the service were perfect. The food was lack luster at best. Gumbo was not warm, many shells in the crabcakes. Very disappointing. I hope this restaurant gets back on track. It was one of my favorite places to dine in the Quarter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2017

A great choice for a creative twist on NOLA food. It is beautifully decorated and just around the corner of Bourbon Street. It holds it's own with any top line other choice! The Big Easy is back and better then ever!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This is not just grabbing a meal. This place is an experience. New Orleans is a foodies heaven and this place is definitely one of its Shepherds! Although it was not perfect, we experienced a few kitchen fails. We had to send back one of our dishes for food being over cooked and A dessert order malfunction. All of this was remedied quickly and perfectly! The staff and service was amazing! I would recommend this to any of my highly critical friends... most of them are chefs! Lol

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent meal and outstanding service. We enjoyed everything about Revolution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I went to Restuarant R'volution for my birthday. The food was great. We had a grilled oyster appetizer to split between 2 people. We each had an appetizer salad with fried oysters as our entree. We also had some delicious ice creams and sorbets. Overall, it was a very nice experience. Since it was on the expensive side(for me), I would probably go again for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We had a great experience. The squash risotto was amazing. Plus the wine selection and service was outstanding. The southern hospitality was felt through the service and foods.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Amazing from start to finish! We were seated promptly. Crab beignets with 5 different sauces was incredible! I had the red fish and my husband the braised short ribs. Both were excellent. Dessert was good. The addition of the beautiful box of candies at the end was a wonderful ending to an exceptional meal! Wait staff was friendly and quick. We enjoyed every minute here.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We were in New Orlean for vacation and we were completely delighted with this restaurant. We would recommend that R'evolution be included on any trip we take back to NOLA and for anyone traveling to the French Quarter!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Everyone was wonderful to us except the bartender that ignored us when we stopped at the bar for a pre dinner drink. No reason either in my opinion. Over five minutes without so much as a "hello" or "be with you in a minute". But we were totally satisfied with all servers during our delightful dinner. The rabbit and the steak tartare was fantastic.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.