Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Restaurant R'evolution

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Lunch on Fridays Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Nightly 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Saturday 12:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday 5:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (125)
Good for Anniversaries (112)
Creative Cuisine (110)
See All
Romantic (108)
Fit for Foodies (99)
Good for a Date (95)
Notable Wine List (79)
Local Ingredients (63)
Authentic (53)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Business Meals (51)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Handcrafted Cocktails (44)
Worth the Drive (37)
Open Kitchen (36)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Good for Groups (33)
Cozy (32)
Hot Spot (27)
Bar Seating (24)
Fun (24)
Historic (23)
Private Room (23)
Great for Brunch (20)
Modern Decor (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
People Watching (18)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Comfort Food (12)
Molecular Gastronomy (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Healthy (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Casual (6)
Live Music (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Scenic View (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Spicy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vegan (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
2902 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food served by knowledgable people in a great setting . I had a relative in from
California who is a big time food, The restaurant lived up to the advance billing I provided.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Restaurant & bar are beautiful but neither my husband or myself enjoyed the dinner. I had the lobster & gnocchi- the sauce was salty but the lobster was tasty. We went there because my husband loves quail but would have preferred it deep fried instead of batter fried. The venison carpaccio appetizer was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Hands down our favorite restaurant during our 4-day visit to NOLA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome experience second year in a row, we had the crabmeat beignets with four sauces, outstanding. Our main course was lamb chops for my husband & fillet mignon for myself with a lobster bernaise sauce . Our sides were grilled white & green asparagus with hollandaise sauce on the side & truffle mashed potatoes, both were fabulous. They wait staff Brian & Justine were very attentive & knowledgeable. Will definitely return next year!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Went for a pre engagement dinner!!! Perfect for New Orleans

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

The cocktails, food and wine were top quality, as was the service from the waiting staff.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Easter brunch was perfect here. There are three different adjoining dining rooms with different decors, but all very elegant. A talented jazz combo moved from one place to the other throughout our stay, so no matter where you were seated, you could watch as well as hear them. The service was wonderful! The food was exquisite. My favorite dish was the snapping turtle soup with deviled quail eggs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Not like it used to be :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had an excellent experience. We love this place

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was very good and portions were a little smaller than expected but that's not a bad thing. The service was excellent and I only had a small problem with one thing. The waiter wanted to shake my hand and I just don't care for that in that situation but that's me. Overall a great experience. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing and the wait staff were incredibly accommodating - even gave us a tour of the restaurant and wine cellar which was unreal!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We try to go every time in NOLA. You have got to have the Death by Gumbo. But will say this time the roux was a little thin. We ate at 6 so maybe they had not fully cooked it down.

This trip we ordered the 44 oz tomahawk ribeye for two. Best steak I have ever had dining out, bar none. Unreal flavor.

I have had Ruth Chris, Smith and Wolensky, The Chop House, Doris Metropolitan, Dickie Brennans, Del Frisco's, you name it. Always slightly disappointed because we do such a good job at home. I'm just picky about steak. Lots of places think its ok to char/burn the outside as long as inside is right. If i wanted to eat charcoal, I would order a briquet.

So all that is to say: R' evolution served a perfect medium rare steak with unreal flavor ALL the way through.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This restaurant came highly recommended and it was everything we heard it to be. Can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

One of the best restaurants -- ever. The service, the food, the environment are all perfect. It's not an everyday dining place. It's quite expensive, but well worth it for a special meal. Our reason was merely that our whole family was all together in New Orleans, and it did not fail to bowl me over...for the second time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The all black caviar staircase was to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Maybe the best meal I've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We walked right around the corner from out hotel, Royal Sonesta to this delightful spot. Each room has a different theme, we were in the red and white room with the open kitchen view. Seeing the imported hams hanging in the chilled glass front coolers was interested. Seeing the chefs preparing the fresh sulami was even more impressive. The house special oysters on the half shell did not last long in front of us. Loved the entire experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Meal was very good. Excellent fish. Crab beignets. Amberjack light choice

Tags: Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

It was really a great restaurant and the food were really delicious! The wait staff were great. Very thoughtful when he brought out a dessert for our anniversary and a bubbly wine. It was fun looking at the different selection of food to choose from. We would definitely recommend this place. Hopefully we'll go back again. It's kind of pricey but worth it once for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Very disappointed. Service was good but food was not. Quail was over cooked and visiting fish was terrible. Will not return.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We had an amazing dinner. Kevin was our waiter and he totally rocked!! The caviar steps are out of this world! I'm still recovering today!! So yummy and worth the price!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Treat yourself!!! 5 star rating from us!!! Everything from top to bottom was perfection!! Favorite restaurant so far!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

In New Orleans for French Quarter Fest. First time eating at R'evolution. Wonderful service and exceptional food. Will go again and again. A t-shirt said "New Orleans is my favorite restaurant".

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Delicious food, excellent service, wonderful music and great hospitality.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Dined there April 9th for our anniversary. We were seated at a romantic table. The food was excellent and the service by Travis and his helpers was outstanding. If you enjoy the theatre of great dining and service with a flair, then R'evolution is the place. There are many delicious, creative selections on the menu. My only complaint is the wine prices are high when compared with other top restaurants in New Orleans. But overall we were very happy !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 9, 2017

First time at this restaurant. Exceeded our expectations. Out of 5 nights out in a row for our annual Quarterfest NOLA visit -this was number one in both of our opinions! Definitely on our list for every time we visit New Orleans!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We walked into an elegant dining room luxuriously furnished. It was relatively quiet but our reservations were for 5:30.

We started off with very good house salad with haricot vert and other crispy vegetables. For the entree I enjoyed the crawfish-stuffed redfish Napoleon with
artichoke and oyster stew, with a fried crawfish boulette which melts in your mouth. My husband loved the petite filet mignon which was very nicely prepared with a nice red wine reduction and adequately spiced. We inhaled the delicious chocolate dessert which was rich but very light. The chef included a couple of complimentary items, a small tasting appetizer and a tasty selection of dainty cookies and truffles. Everything was beautifully presented and prepared creatively.

Expect a large bill since everything is a la carte but if we return to New Orleans I would definitely dine there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was amazing. We had the oysters to start and then the crab cakes and the steak for our main. The food was amazing, but even better was our server Kevin who was really attentive and a good source for information about the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was our second time to dine at Restaurant R'evolution. Our experience this year was just as wonderful as last year's. Our waiter, Jordan, was incredible. He was not only well-versed in all menu items and able to give great recommendations, he was also a wealth of knowledge about the restaurant: the different dining rooms, the wine cellar, the boardroom and even the kitchen. He also took us on a tour of the restaurant after our dinner. Our food was incredible: scallops, quail, and the visiting fish were the items we ordered (along with several appetizers). And the bread pudding for desert was fabulous. We will be back next year!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was incredible!!! Such a great experience!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! The best meal we had while in NOLA. First time Oyster Eaters...R'Evolution Style...loved them! Pig Out Board...oh my! Short ribs and Creole Bouillabaisse were lovely and the wine list exceeded expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The hardest part of our annual NO visits is selecting from the countless great restaurants. It is such fun to try new places that we rarely repeat however after 2 great dinners we will clearly not miss it next time. Elegant yet not stuffy. Service both polished and friendly. We have enjoyed sun brunch and dinner

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was excellent. Wine prices are absurd. A California Cabernet that would normally be sold for 70 - $100 priced at 180 to $300.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

An amazing experience with attentive staff! One our new favorites in New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The service was the best we had in New Orleans, but the flavors were not good. Two of the four dishes we ate I would consider bad. Poor flavor / ingredient combinations. GW Fins and Peche had much better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Service was unsurpassed. Answered all of our questions in great detail. This was really the best part of the experience although the food and cocktails were also completely amazing. Unqualified recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Brian and the wait staff were great!!! We don't have anything negative to say..... Loved it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Excellent service coupled to the equivalent in food preparation. Outstanding even for New Orleans where the bar is already set high. No problem recommending this restaurant for fine dining. One of the best by any standard.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Finally made it here! Was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.