Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Restaurant R'evolution

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Lunch on Fridays Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Nightly 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Saturday 12:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday 5:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (133)
Creative Cuisine (123)
Good for Anniversaries (116)
See All
Romantic (111)
Fit for Foodies (109)
Good for a Date (106)
Notable Wine List (80)
Local Ingredients (70)
Authentic (59)
Business Meals (59)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Open Kitchen (41)
Handcrafted Cocktails (41)
Worth the Drive (38)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Cozy (34)
Good for Groups (32)
Fun (28)
Hot Spot (28)
Bar Seating (25)
Private Room (24)
Great for Brunch (21)
Historic (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
People Watching (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Tasting Menu (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Molecular Gastronomy (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Seasonal (11)
Wood Oven (9)
Live Music (9)
Outstanding Value (6)
Healthy (6)
Casual (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Spicy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
2982 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 17 hours ago

Nice romantic atmosphere. Great place to get dressed up and enjoy a fabulous bottle of wine and great cuisine. Service was impeccable, Roary was a delight and very accommodating. Overall fantastic experience. Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined a day ago

Excellent menu for brunch. Great service, great jazz band.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the best meals I have had. Great service a real find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Service not good. Food overpriced. Food overpriced. Food overpriced. Ruined special occasion. Food overpriced. 50 characters is way too many for this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

This is more than dining ; it is a cuisine experience. A creative menu coupled with superb service makes this a special place. Our meal was delicious, the service outstanding and the ambiance delightful. Don't miss this restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Excellent Innovative cuisine with very attentive service

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Was on vacation & stayed at the Royal Sonesta hotel , the restaurant is in this lovely charming hotel. The food & atmosphere was delightful & the service was grand! Even had a velvet still for our purses!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great food. Death by gumbo is to die for. Rabbit was wonderful. Never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Disappointed. I've been trying to get a reservation during my visits home to see family since the restaurant opened. Finally was able to come for an early dinner with my mom on Mother's Day When we walked in the host told us he'd be with us in a bit because he had to finish a text he was typing in his cell phone. What?!!! Drinks were good. Service was extremely casual, not what you'd expect of this type of restaurant. Our app of the beignets was flavorful but gummy because they weren't completely cooked. My entree, the poached fish in a bagel was awful. The "name" was nothing more than puréed green peas, the thickness of baby food but of a grainy mouthfeel. The manager was quite gracious in offering a replacement. The crab cakes my sister and mom had were tasty but nothing over the top. The bread pudding tasted old but the pina colada cake was heavenly! I'm glad I finally was able to dine here but am not so sure I'll be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our second time to have Mother's Day brunch at Restaurant Revolution and it was outstanding from the moment we walked into the door. Actually from before we walked in thanks to the convenient valet service directly at the door. Then once we stepped into the bar we immediately had a mimosa made with freshly squeezed orange juice while we waited for our table. Once seated, the staff went above and beyond to make sure we had a relaxed lunch. We had fun reviewing the extensive wine list as I gave my son an impromptu wine lesson. Then the food....I'm speechless. We started with the black truffle tartare which was oh so decadent. We each tried a soup next - death by gumbo and crawfish bisque.....delicious. I had the shrimp and grits tagine and my son had the lobster risotto.....again delicious. For desert, we were too stuffed to eat anything but we were treated with a behind the scenes tour of the restaurant. Definitely a Mother's Day to remember. Absolutely perfect!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Absolutely beautiful inside! Perfect for our special occasion; however, there are literally ZERO vegetarian options. We had to piecemeal sides and a pasta dish (that wasn't no what we wanted, but still delicious) to enjoy our meal. Keep that in mind if you are vegetarian!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is our second time eating at Restaurant Revolution. We love this place! Highly recommend the crab beignets, death by gumbo and ricotta lobster gnocchi. Service is fantastic. Will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The beer batter crab beneits and asparagus were amazeballs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a marvelous dinner to celebrate our daughter's graduation. Amazing food, amazing service, can't say enough amazing compliments.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Amazing! Travis Wayne is a badass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our primary server was both knowledgeable and courteous and her attention to detail was impeccable. The secondary server was very kind but he did not speak English very well and he did not know much about the menu. Our food was delicious and prompt.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Loved the Russian caviar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Stuffy atmosphere. Extremely, extremely loud. You almost had to yell to hear each other. The food was not great for the price. We read so many good reviews about the quail, but were very unimpressed. There are SO many other good, better priced restaurants nearby.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I had dinner at Restaurant R'evolution with 3 colleagues while in town on business. They were flexible and easily adjusted my reservation when I needed to change it. The server was outstanding - very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. I had a special request on my meal and the chef was able to make it happen. I would absolutely dine here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Jordan was our server. Made the experience exponentially better. Great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 9, 2017

White table cloth restaurants are a dying breed. Good to see this one carrying on the traditional dining setting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Had lamb chops, very fatty, ate only a portion of it. I complained about it. No reduction in the bill for it.

Service was extremely poor. We had to ask several times for coffee and drinks.

Food was overpriced. We will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Service and food were awesome. Overall a fabulous dining experience. Our waiter also gave us a tour of the 10,000 bottle wine cellar.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation and the staff was wonderful. We enjoyed a couple of drinks at the bar while we waited. Drinks are made, well. If you love wine they have a wine list that is beyond extensive and impressive. For Dinner food was perfectly cooked brought out in a timely manner but not rushed. Food is absolutely amazing. The Gnocchi, Lobster was amazing and the steaks are cooked perfectly. I would highly recommend Revolution but make sure to make your reservation early.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 8, 2017

A wonderful experience. This restaurant was recommended to my wife and every word was true. A great meal, well presented, in a lovely dining room. We will recommend this place to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Aberdeen)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Awesome experience dining at R'evolution. From the food (frog legs fell of the bone -oysters were perfect and the desert magnificent) to the service it was 5 star. Second time there and cannot wait for our next trip to Nawlins to do it again

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great time. Beautiful restaurant. Fantastic food. We all had a great time celebrating a birthday and an anniversary, all after a perfect day at the Jazz Fest.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was outstanding. I think it is the Best restaurant in New Orleans.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Dining here is an experience not to be missed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Inventive, modern interpretations of classic cajun/creole cuisine served in an elegant atmosphere with (at least on our visit) a live jazz trio. The "Death by Gumbo" was one of the finest examples of the dish I have ever consumed. The "Quail and Waffle" riff on the classic chicken and waffles was plate-licking fare. Creme brulee bread pudding finished off the meal and left us thoroughly stuffed. The restaurant is beautiful and service was crisp without being stuffy. Highly recommended.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great place for a Sunday brunch! We had a great meal and enjoyed music.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is our fourth time eating at RR when visiting NOLA and the first time we were disappointed. The service staff was not up to the standard of a high end restaurant but the biggest disappointment was our entries were both excessively over salted. The waiter actually insulted my wife for not eating more of her steak and not asking for a doggy bag. Nevertheless, we'll definitely go back and consider this a one off.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service was rushed and we felt like they were trying so hard to "flip" our table. Disappointing!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I know you can't give six stars but R'evolution should be set apart from other restaurants. I couldn't afford to eat there all the time but it's worth the cost for a special meal.

The staff was enjoyable and everything from the wine, decor, food and dessert was perfect. It was an overall unforgettable experience. I hope to come back again.

The Triptych of Quail Southern-Fried, Boudin-Stuffed, Absinthe-Glazed was incredible as was my wife's Braised Boneless Short Ribs Rutabaga-Citrus Purée, Red Wine Sauce. The sauces, flavors and textures were a delicious adventure. The Gruyère Potato au Gratin side was really tasty.

The bill was more than other restaurants that we've eaten at in the French Quarter. For the two of us, it came to about $210 (after tipping). That was with a bottle of wine and a dessert. For a special occasion or an indulgent night out, I'd go here!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

While having drinks at the bar as we awaited our table we struck up a conversation with a wine rep who had dined there several times. He told us if we got the filet mignon and it was not the best steak we ever had to e-mail him. We had the filet and I will not be contacting him. The steak was fabulous with a light topping of bleu cheese and the demi-glaze sauce on the side. It was melt in your mouth tender and delicious. I know NOLA has a number of fine steakhouses but whenever I am there again and wanting steak, R'evolution will be my destination.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is our favorite birthday celebration spot. The caviar staircase is one of a kind and delicious. Everything on the menu shines. We love it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fantastic dining experience, gourmet takes on Southern cuisine, excellent wine list, great service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Dined here for my wife's birthday . Great experience. I wore a shirt with no collar and had to catch a cab back to the hotel because they wouldn't let us be seated . Wish when making the reservation they would of been more clear with semi casual . After speaking with a local friend she mentioned the resturant loan out business jackets . Maybe the jackets were all loaned out ! I hope this was the case. But no worries we had a great time.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 5, 2017

When we come to New Orleans
We try to come here for Death By Gumbo
This is to die for
The fire roasted oysters and the crawfish beignets are delicious too
The bar is really great
The restaurant is a bit stuffy
But worth the price
For 4 of us it was 380.00
We shared entrees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

My most favorite in all of NOLA! I come back whenever I'm in town and am never disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, People Watching, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.