Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Restaurant R'evolution

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Lunch on Fridays Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Nightly 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Saturday 12:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday 5:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (78)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Creative Cuisine (62)
See All
Good for a Date (60)
Romantic (57)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Notable Wine List (49)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Business Meals (41)
Local Ingredients (39)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Authentic (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Worth the Drive (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Bar Seating (18)
Cozy (17)
Fun (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Seasonal (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (4)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Music (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
3281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was impeccable. The food is an astoundingly delicious melange of flavors and textures; the ambience and decor are gorgeous yet comfortable with beautiful flower arrangements strategically placed throughout. This was truly a fine dining experience. Death by Gumbo - outstanding! The crab beignets are divine. Cheese gnocchi with lobster is superb!!! One of the best dining events we had in New Orleans!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 4 days ago

Great starters and desserts yet mains were average. Problem with loud obnoxious tables that ruin ambience
You can find better cuisine elsewhere in this city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food. Great service. Amazing caviar service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Took some first timers there. Had a wonderful meal.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Upscale dining just off Bourbon street. Death by Gumbo (gumbo roux poured over quail) was creative and delicious. Main courses were amazing, and they had a very good selection of craft cocktails. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was fantastic and the service was unbeatable! Thanks for making our anniversary special!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Went for supper, couldn’t get reservations until 9:30pm. Well worth the wait!! Would do it again. Highly recommend +++++

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Unbelievable meal, amazing service and memorable dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Great food with very attentive staff and even describing each dish. One of the best restaurants in New Orleans and we have eat a few.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Incredible food, amazing and attentive staff. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Wonderful experience, highly recommend. The service is fantastic, the staff clearly take pride and great attention to details. Interesting menu, extensive wine list.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2017

I was a little disappointed that the dress code of the guests was so poor. I’m not sure if there was a dress code per se but it brought down the level of dining to have such poorly dressed guests seated in the same area with guests in suits and nice dresses. I also missed having a table cloth. Saw this was not uniform throughout. Very good service and great place for the meal. Some missed opportunities with table maintenance and clearing. Overall one of the best meals we’ve had in New Orleans and we’re locals. Can be better though and I know you want to know this. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 2, 2017

My boyfriend and I went on our one year anniversary! I never been but he has. We loved the atmosphere, staff, drinks, and food. The waitstaff Scott, Isaac, and Deshawn were excellent! They were knowledgeable and professional made you feel at home. Our favorite was bone marrow app, bread and butter, scallops and foie’ Gras, oyster salad and soup and smoked tuna App. We will be back!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 2, 2017

This is Hands Down our favorite restaurant in New Orleans, a city we visit annually specifically to eat. This past weekend was our second time and it will always be first on our list each visit. Be sure to inquire about Ishmael when you go.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Fantastic food and service. Creative cocktails and great wines by the glass offered.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Great culinary experience in the heart of the French Quarter.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 27, 2017

we were promised the main dining room but they closed it. food was good and staff friendly. very expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 27, 2017

I had been looking forward to going to this restaurant for over a year .
What a disappointment !!
The Service was outstanding other then when I told captain that the fish was over cooked dry and fishy tasting. He offered nothing.
The fish was over cooked, fishy smelling , dry and I think the food had sat to long after being prepared. The bread pudding cheese cake had no flavor. The Quail was good but small. The Scallops were good but nothing special.
The atmosphere was plain other then being able to see the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Loved the ambiance and service but way to overpriced for the quality or the food and drinks. Sparkling rose: 18$ for one glass. Not the best food I’ve tasted in the New Orleans area.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

Simply an outstanding experience... from the well thought out and well executed menu to the love and pride the staff has in their resturant and town. While I wanted to try everything on the menu, I ordered the oysters r'evolution (so unique we went back two days later and ordered again), the crab beignets, Death by Gumbo, and pumpkin risotto. It was the best meal I had in a city of great meals. Special appreciation for Kevin, the knowledgeable dining room captian, who gave us tour of the restaurant after hours (and the staff who waoted on him to finish up) and discussed japanese whiskey at length. Cannot wait to come back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, People Watching, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Solid food and good to service, but felt like it could have been great service with some more attention to detail. It's a very good restaurant, I just feel like it could be great if the staff really did its homework. Kinda like the B student in school who you know if they'd apply themself they'd be getting straight A's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 25, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary in New Orleans. They sat us in a nice, romantic booth in the corner. The service was superb. Everything we ordered was amazing. The death by gumbo is a non traditional gumbo so if you’re into trying innovative dishes, you should give this a try. My favorite dish, however, was the wood oven bone marrow. I️ came for this dish and it did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

We had a reservation for 7:45 and we didn’t get seated until 8:30 .

We ordered sides of greens that we too salty and unetable . Our sweet photo soufflé was dried out .

My pork chop was very tasty and cooked perfectly.

Menu was very limited as it was Thanksgiving

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2017

This place was beautiful, very fancy. Our sommelier was highly entertaining. The food was good, except we were very full, and my partner didn’t love his meal. He choose poorly, but would be willing to give it another chance, as I enjoyed my food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 23, 2017

We went for Thanksgiving , There are no words for how exceptional the experience was. Food superior by any standard. Service casually formal. Special but not fussy/ I own a restaurant in the FQ, this was one of the better dining experiences I have had . The Thanksgiving pris fixe at $60 was great value for money. The food was superb, generous and grand. Best celebratory restaurant in the city, puts Commanders and Brennans to shame. highly recommended !!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 23, 2017

The meal was a little disappointing. The turtle soup had no flavor. But the fish was great. It was Thanksgiving so they had a special menu.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Excellent food and service as expected. Table next to door was uncomfortably cold due to outside door letting in cold blasts! Otherwise a great experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 22, 2017

This was probably as an "Over the Top" experience as I have had lately. Great service in a nice atmosphere with good and interesting choices of food.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Nice evening out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Phenomenal food and outstanding service
All courses were outstanding
Excellent selection of wines by the glass
The tables in the open kitchen section featured a continuous view of a soda fountain and boxes stacked on the floor as the doors swung open repeatedly
Ask to be in the front rooms unless you enjoy this type of distraction
Otherwise a great dining experience

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Always knew you were great for dinner, now we know you are equally exceptional for Sunday brunch!!
The noise issue wasn't under your control---it was a crying child which was somewhat disruptive to the mood.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Wonderful service and food. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Great place, food amazing made our anniversary very special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Outstanding food, staff and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Pheasant rubbery side dish poor desserts good way over rated and way too costly

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 18, 2017

We dined here for our 10 year wedding anniversary. Everything was wonderful. Wine list extensive and amazing wines. Crab beignets app amazing. The death by gumbo was highly recommended and good, but not as great as I’d hoped. Salad delicious. Scallops entree is amazing. Highly recommend he bread pudding & creme brule dessert. Whoa. Service impeccable. Bread delicious. Loved our corner booth and the feel of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Really great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2017

The last time I was in New Orleans, R’evolution was the hot restaurant and I was unable to get a reservation, so I was looking forward to my meal. What a disappointment! I had packed my suit anticipating an early morning departure and came in jeans. Nice wine by the glass list. I ordered (more on that later). I received an amuse bouche on a tablespoon. Later I saw patrons around me being served an elaborate amuse bouche. I asked what they were and was told so. Disrespect. Upon ordering, the waiter recommended the crab beignets. I specifically asked if they were mostly breading or had significant crabmeat and was assured they did. They did not. I had fish the 2 previous nights and oysters for lunch so I ordered rabbit schnitzel, again on the waiter’s recommendation. It came paper thin, nearly flavorless, with mustard artfully arranged around the perimeter, but not enough for even the small portion of schnitzel. A dollop of cabbage. The small, but adequate amount of spaetzle was good. When the waiter and later the manager asked how things were I answered as above. To their credit, they did subtract a portion of the bill. Still, I would not return and suggest you save your $ for some of the other fine New Orleans restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 13, 2017

This is the second time I've eaten at R'Evolution. The food and service is off the charts good. It is expensive but worth it. It isn't "typical" New Orleans fare and is right down in the quarter near Bourbon Street. The service was as good as the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Everything was great. Food, service, ambience, noise level was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.