Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Restaurant R'evolution

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Lunch on Fridays Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Nightly 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Saturday 12:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday 5:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (87)
Good for a Date (80)
Good for Anniversaries (77)
See All
Romantic (76)
Creative Cuisine (71)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Notable Wine List (64)
Good for Birthdays (57)
Quiet Conversation (53)
Handcrafted Cocktails (45)
Local Ingredients (42)
Authentic (37)
Business Meals (32)
Cozy (27)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Tasting Menu (22)
Bar Seating (18)
Fun (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Brunch (8)
Casual (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (5)
Live Music (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Spicy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
3205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

service was outstanding, menu is very diversified from starters to entrees, food was excellent, one of the best dining experiences in New Orleans in over 30 years of visits.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Very disappointed in the dress code. My wife and I always follow the dress code and enjoy dressing up for nice restaurants. The restaurant called to confirm our reservation and reminded us of the "business casual" dress code. On this night we saw several people wearing jeans, tee shirts and even saw a guy in the dining room in shorts and other guy with a hoodie. This is a nice restaurant and I understand everyone needs the business, but the dress code should be enforced. Brad - New Orleans, La.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Excellent service combined with above average food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Wait staff was knowledgeable, friendly, engaging without being intrusive., and coordinated like a ballet.
Food was phenomenal.
Wine menu is vast and superb.
Atmosphere is lovely, inviting, feels private while being with community.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 6, 2017

It is impossible to decide which was better; the service or the food. The service was the best I have experienced in years. Attentive, informative, and friendly. The food was creative, eye catching, and very tasteful. I would recommend Restaurant R'evolution to everyone and cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Delicious cauliflower and hazelnut salad. My rabbit schnitzel was fun and fantastic with a cheese spatzle that the whole table loved. The scallops fois gras and truffle were rich and wonderful. A beautiful French chardonnay and we will definitely be back. Wonderful service as well. A great restaurant

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

We dined here on recommendatuon to try "death by gumbo"by a woman who we met in airport and lives part time in Oakland, CA and Mississippi.
I loved the ambience and service was top shelf! The food amazing and delicious! The dessert jewelry box with array of swewt delights a lovely way to end the meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We have eaten here several times while visiting New Orleans, great service and wonderful food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Was here visiting for my birthday with friends and family and chose this restaurant for one of our dinner spots. It was recommended by a friend, and was highly reviewed, plus was the restaurant at our hotel. The evening started bad by sitting me in a chair that had sunk in cushions. I rated it low for ambiance because it was absolutely freezing. The air was blowing right on us, and even though we asked them to turn it down, the just didn't, so we were uncomfortable. The food was sub par, so sub par that I honestly cannot even remember what I had. Plus we got there for a 9 o'clock and didn't leave until after 12, because they took so long to bring the food. We learned that the two kitchens were having some dispute between them that caused the delay. They just forgot about us. When we finally received our meal it was lukewarm. We were actually the last people to leave the dining room. The desserts were absolutely awful, and we each chose something different. Their attempts to be creative, failed with lack of flavor and bizarre presentations. They took forever to bring the coffee and tea, and did not bring it together, or with the desserts. All of this occurred even though we were being serviced by 3 staff. The only good thing was one of our waiters, whose name I unfortunately cannot remember. He was very helpful and attentive. Even after they said they would comp the meal, they had the nerve to bring us a bill for the desserts and appetizers. Ultimately, the whole meal was comped after we complained. This restaurant was definitely not worth the value, and I cannot believe people have rated the food so highly. We found nothing special about this place. Please spend your money elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2017

My experience was AMAZING. Kudos to my waiter Daniel an his staff.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Best service I’ve ever had, great location and amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Death by gumbo, rabbit entree and artichoke merliton au gratin side were phenomenal and a must get. Service was superb.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Some of the best food around and the service was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 29, 2017

There are so many outstanding restaurants in NO. R'evolution had positive recommendations on New Orleans Eats, great food, romantic, Death by Gumbo.... for $18.00! I made a lunch reservation to start our anniversary celebration. The red fish and dirty rice were tasty, but the fish portion was tiny. The clams and linguini was a better choice. I really wanted to like this restaurant but overall it was just OK and expensive for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Outstanding meal - we heard about this restaurant from a friend and were visiting from out of town so decided to try it. The food was excellent. We were treated like special guests by the staff, which was very nice. Our only complaint would be that there were so many different wait staff/others who were swarming around our table at different times that we were a little unsure whom was our actual waiter. I ordered a coffee which I never received, but other than that it was an excellent experience and we would recommend it to others!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2017

The service was really good and the ambiance was nice. The food was good but not anything amazing but perhaps I ordered poorly (baked oysters, tuna, shrimp and grits). The gumbo was probably the best thing I had and that was really tasty. The specialty old fashioned was also really good and unique. It's centrally located as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I've dined at many fabulous restaurants around the world. Most impressed with every aspect of my experience. This restaurant is a gem and not to be missed for any occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Live Music, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We had a fabulous anniversary dinner! They gave us two free martinis and a slice of cake. Very classy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Wonderful meal attentive wait staff, cannot say enough good things about this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had! The restaurant is gorgeous with a fantastic atmosphere. The good is exquisitely presented and delicious! The service is outstanding and hands down THE best o have experienced in my life of frequent dining in New Orleans. Could not rate it any better and cannot wait to return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Good food. We got two free desserts and service was attentive but not intrusive. Ambiance was romantic anf good for a date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 19, 2017

I like to dine out at fine and eccentric restaurants, and I will say this is my all-time favorite! The menu and service were amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I have been hearing how great this restaurant is. I must have had my sights set too high because the food just didn't make me swoon. Death by gumbo is a creative form of gumbo with a stuffed quail. It was a stuffed quail with smooth gumbo gravy outed over it. The stuffing (rice) was minimal (less than a tablespoon total and was a bizarre smooth texture. It really was nothing like traditional gumbo, in structure. The mixed salad with crispy vegetables had a very tasty dressing and the veggies were all refreshingly fresh. The croutons were stale or just not crisped up enough, but I don't normally eat them anyways. Service was excellent and they treat you right. I think the food was just lacking at this price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Lives up to it's reputation. One of the top two or three restaurants in New Orleans!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Amazing. The wine list is special and every drop of food we ate was amazing. Some highlights: ciopino, bone in filet, crab beignets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amazing meal, decor & service. Highly recommend if you're visiting New Orleans!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This was our second trip to the restaurant. We went back because it was such an incredible experience the first time. In fact, my sweetheart popped the big question at the restaurant. The staff is so wonderful. They even remembered us a year later and gave us the same table where he proposed. The food is excellent. The scallops are a great and The rabbit perfectly cooked. The drinks are nice and stiff. I just can't say enough good things about the place. And, I can be a bit of a snob. Thank you everyone at Revolution. See you next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Outstanding restaurant. Very creative and comprehensive menu. Truly something for everyone. Expensive but worth the cost considering what is prepared. Nicely decorated and pleasant but not fussy ambiance. Service was attentive but not annoying. Worth a special visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 14, 2017

It was great, the staff and food were great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food very average. Not the best New Orleans dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Superb experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Amazing as always. 5 star.
It's near the top of my list for best food in New Orleans.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2017

One of, if not, the best dining experience I’ve ever had in a restaurant. Everything was fabulous. The Death by Gumbo was phenomenal. The Cioppino was very tasty. White Chocolate Bread Pudding Creme Brûlée was as decedent and rich as it sounds. Fire Roasted Oysters are delicious. Overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Everything was perfect. The food and the service were outstanding. The service had the southern hospitality charm and was very well informed about the menu selections. I highly recommend the Death by Gumbo, Shrimp and Grits and the Brussel Sprouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2017

There for Sunday Brunch. The food was very very very very very very very good and the service was also very very very very very very very very good. The boudin scotch egg was very very very very very very awesome! And the duck fat hash, forget about it, cause it was also very very very good. There's your 50 words open table!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Everything was awesome. Beautiful place located right in the heart of the French Quarter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Spectacular seafood dishes! Definitely recommend the Death by Gumbo and the Sheep Ricotta Gnocchi with Lobster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 9, 2017

What a place! We started with the gumbo, fantastic...the quail was perfectly cooked in the death by Gumbo and so tasty. My wife had the red fish Orleans and found it amazing, I had the Rabbit Natchez and was also very well done. We had no sides and were the better for it as we were stuffed at the end, however we did indeed share the creole cream cheese bread pudding, this was the weakest part of the meal but at that point we really didn't care because the rest was so damn good! The servers were also tremendous and had great enthusiasm and helpful in explaining the menu and dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Eclectic menu with some game dishes like rabbit. Good flavor and love the different selection of warm rolls/bread. Didn't get to try the 5 course meal but like to do it next time if we are in New Orleans.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our party of six greatly enjoyed our meal. The food was delicious!

Service was friendly and efficient, but for a fine dining establishment in New Orleans, surprisingly inexperienced and unprofessional (second bottle of wine was not offered for tasting and instead poured into the same glasses holding the remnants of the first bottle; a server drew attention to a butter knife dropped by one of my guests rather than discretely providing a fresh knife: a server did not have a white napkin available for a guest wearing white [the server offered to get one but he should have arrived at the table prepared], etc.).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.