About Restaurant R'evolution

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Friday Lunch (Wed.-Fri. in December) Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Holiday Lunch (throughout December 2016):
Wednesday - Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Nightly 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Saturday 12:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday 5:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (105)
Good for Anniversaries (86)
Good for a Date (82)
See All
Romantic (79)
Creative Cuisine (77)
Notable Wine List (71)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Handcrafted Cocktails (46)
Business Meals (42)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Local Ingredients (41)
Worth the Drive (32)
Open Kitchen (28)
Hot Spot (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Authentic (25)
Bar Seating (23)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Cozy (19)
Historic (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Private Room (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Fun (14)
People Watching (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Live Music (7)
Seasonal (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Healthy (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Casual (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2719 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is our 4th time to visit this resta ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

This is our 4th time to visit this restaurant and they remembered our preferences for which room we liked to sit in and even called us the week before we were to dine there to see if it was a special occasion or any new food allergies. The Market Room is a great room to sit in if you like to see the happenings behind the kitchen! The quality of the food was just as spectacular as the other times we dined there and we will continue to have dinner there each time we are in the New Orleans area. Make sure you get an advanced reservations as it still fills up quickly during the 7-8 PM timeframe due to its popularity!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife and best friend's birthdays.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Wife and best friend's birthdays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food, wine, service and ambi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding food, wine, service and ambiance. This is one of the very best kitchens in the French Quarter along with being at the top of all "must dine" at lists in NOLA. The place is architecturally stunning and begins with a pre-dinner cocktail in the bar which stocks a vast collection of anything containing ETOH. All-in-all, a fabulous experience resulting in a longing to return once again very soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I know NOLA has a lot of restaurants to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

I know NOLA has a lot of restaurants to choose from so I really did my homework to find this one. It was rated highly among critics and prior guests so I was very excited to dine there. Unfortunately I was quite disappointed. Our reservation was on a Thursday night at 9:00 pm so I expected to be seated on time. We arrived 15 minutes early but had to wait 30 minutes to be seated. Then after being seated, it was another 8-10 minutes before a server first approached our table. My friend and I decided to order 4 appetizers and split them assuming that would be a lot to eat for 2 ladies. The bread was served yet there was no silverware or napkins on the table so I had to ask for them. Rather than apologizing, our server said "we don't set the tables with silverware until we serve our first course". That is fine, however, napkins? The bread was very crusty and a napkin over my nice dress would have been nice. The appetizers, while tasty, were barely enough for one bite each but each item was $16+. We left hungry and won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Excellent food and service. Perfect sele ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service. Perfect selection of New Orleans classics and traditional cuisine. Staff are very attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, , Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wait staff was outstand and the food was ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Wait staff was outstand and the food was equally as good. I would recommend this to everyone I know

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the Sunday jazz brunch. The ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went for the Sunday jazz brunch. The atmosphere was excellent! The service was much better than the food. My food was too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We were there for Sunday brunch. The foo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were there for Sunday brunch. The food and service were both excellent. The jazz combo playing throughout the restaurant made this the perfect "Nawlins" experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really one of the best brunches we've ev ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Really one of the best brunches we've ever had, but have to say that it's definitely not a bargain in any way! I'm one to spend on food, so no stranger to a large check, but this was pricey for brunch even by my standards. Was really delicious, though - just come prepared to pay!

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely an amazing experience loved e ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Absolutely an amazing experience loved everything about it!!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good, but I didn't dream about it ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was good, but I didn't dream about it that night. Service was awesome, great wine, decent oysters. Entrees were good, but just not amazing. Food was very rich and heavy. Maybe just my not my style.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants in the Frenc ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

One of the best restaurants in the French Quarter! We loved it and will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It does not get any better than this est ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It does not get any better than this establishment

The service is 6 star

And cuisine to match

Travis and his team were amazing and the sommelier Drew frosted the cake

This is dining at its finest

A diamond for sure

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food is delicious, homemade ice cream.. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food is delicious, homemade ice cream...yum! Pass on the cookie box as it's taken table to table and everyone's fingers have touch each cookie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Absolutely delicious cuisine and wonderf ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Absolutely delicious cuisine and wonderful ambiance. Highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting New Orleans.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, , Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a great time at Revolution and en ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We had a great time at Revolution and enjoyed every bite! Wait staff was awesome and made it a super fun and very enjoyable experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant R'Volution's name suggests th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Restaurant R'Volution's name suggests they are attempting to set a culinary breakthrough for menu, preparation, and staff in a town that prides itself on innovative, exceptional food. Instead, like many real revolutions, the restaurant was haphazard and almost chaotically ill-prepared on the night my husband and I dined there. The menu which touts itself as inventive creole tips much more to standard new American. My husband had the veal chop which was overbreaded and bland. I had the duck which was horribly overcooked and grisly. In both cases, the ingredients in the dishes were put on the plate with little regard for how they actually come together. Instead, the motto seems to be--we will throw a lot of culinary darts at the board and see if any stick. On the night my husband and I visited, we were ignored by multiple members of the wait staff team as though there was no one managing the floor and this was a week night when the restaurant was not exceptionally busy. All of this makes us wonder why the restaurant typically gets such good reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

I enjoyed the overall dining experience, ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I enjoyed the overall dining experience, the staff was very attentive, well trained.

I am not from the area so i found the food very interesting, i just thought some dishes were a little salty, however i cook with very little salt, so please take that into consideration.

The wine list was on the pricey side, but the selection was very large.

Very nice place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Besides being a great regular menu I had ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Besides being a great regular menu I had a vegan in my group and the chef came up with a wonderful meal for her that wasn't just a bunch of side dishes and salad! Went for the Jazz Brunch ...treated us GREAT.

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was awesome! Food and service ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This place was awesome! Food and service were excellent!!!! Would definitely go back again🙂

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I recently spent the weekend ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My wife and I recently spent the weekend in NOLA and had brunch at one of our favourites. We arrived early and were promptly seated in the dining room by the open kitchen. Very cool design with the arches, subway tiles, and view of the chefs working.

I started off with a bowl of seafood gumbo. Light roux, great presentation, and tasty. My wife had the Crab Beignets. WOW! outstanding!! My wife went were her Scottish roots and had the Boudin Scotch Egg. Outstanding as well! I have never had duck bacon before, but it is duck AND bacon. Most excellent! I opted for the crab cakes. They were small but all crab, no bread crumb filler here. Tasty and filling. Service was prompt, friendly, but not overbearing. The waitstaff are very professional and we were properly served by all. We know Chef John Folse personally and know his attention to detail.

Restaurant Revolution is the NEW, old New Orleans. It ranks up there with the classic New Orleans restaurants like Galatoire's, Arnauld's, or Commander's. It always meets and exceeds our expectations. An awesome meal and experience!!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun brunch, good drinks.

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fun brunch, good drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect brunch! Good atmosphere, very fr ...

vip
 (Berlin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Perfect brunch! Good atmosphere, very friendly, good food and very nice live Jazz music!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an amazing experience. The ser ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was an amazing experience. The service was amazing and I've never felt so appreciated as a customer. The food took our taste buds on an adventure. We loved it all down to the last bite. I've been to New Orleans a countless amount of times but this was my first time dining at this restaurant. I will definitely go for another experience! HIGHLY recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was excellent! I t has dif ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This place was excellent! I t has different types of dining rooms which adds to the totality of the experience options. The food was great and we had to add no seasoning. The appetizers were great and generous. It was an outstanding experience and our wives went on a tour of the kitchen which they loved.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is outstanding! The crab beig ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This place is outstanding! The crab beignets are excellent! Drinks are amazing! Service is great! I had the black drum fish and it was perfect. I came here for my anniversary. I spend the weekend in New Orleans ate at several restaurant and this place was the best restaurant! Restaurant R'evolution will remain an outstanding food memory for me and my husband!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. Many interesting dishes and e ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Excellent. Many interesting dishes and everything was well prepared. The service was top notch.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff were very attentive and the fo ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The staff were very attentive and the food was excellent. They went out of their way to make the meal a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was ok but the communication ...

 
 (México)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Everything was ok but the communication when we arrived could have been better ; they didn't ask us if we wanted to wait in the bar or hola to the table other than that it was ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Perfect way to celebrate our anniversary ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Perfect way to celebrate our anniversary. Made us feel like royalty and the food was very tasty. Made this trip to NOLA memorable.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Death by Gumbo was amazing with a st ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Death by Gumbo was amazing with a stuffed quail breast with a roux broth poured over it. The linguini and clams from the lunch menu was delicious. We went at Brunch but would have liked to try a few things off the actual lunch menu and they were not available. But over all the place was one of my favorites while visiting New Orleans. The Jazz brunch was fun and I loved the quaint rooms.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

No one greeted us or seemed very concern ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

No one greeted us or seemed very concerned upon entering, but that's literally the only negative I have. Everything else was superb. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New Years , Staff was excellent , food ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years , Staff was excellent , food amazing , this was our first experience in New Orleans and we loved everything ! Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael was absolutely fantastic. We had ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Michael was absolutely fantastic. We had NYE dinner here and it was nothing short of amazing. The menu was totally different than I expected because I had not seen a NYE special menu and usually that would have stressed me out or ruined dinner but he made fantastic suggestions and it was a spectacular meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special NYE dinner; everything was outst ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Special NYE dinner; everything was outstanding from being seated early, to the unique adult beverages, and the very tasty and generously portioned entrees. Most special was the delicious and surprising (not on posted menu) Chocolate Buche de Noel dessert. This was truly a once in generation meal. Five stars in all categories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was amazing. Everything cooked ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The meal was amazing. Everything cooked to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Poor menu selection. Small portions. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Poor menu selection. Small portions. High priced. Not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

We went for my husband's birthday and it ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went for my husband's birthday and it was absolutely amazing. They made us feel so special and the food was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service.

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful old home. A very memorable pla ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Beautiful old home. A very memorable place to spend our 30th!

Outstanding food but small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.