About Restaurant R'evolution

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Friday Lunch Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Monday - Thursday 6:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday - Sunday 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Sunday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Open during meal service, Saturdays from 12 p.m.

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Bread Pudding Crème brûlée
Oysters R'evolution
Short Rib
Triptych Of Quail
Bonjour Box
Seared Sea Scallops and Foie Gras
Scrambled Eggs With Crawfish & Caviar
Amouche Bouche
Bbq Gulf Shrimp And Grits
Ice Cream
Unsweet Tea
Diablo Pasta
seafood gumbo
Venison Carpaccio
Old Fasioned Cocktail
Roasted Bone Marrow
Paneed Veal Medallions
Salumi Solo Board
Black Eyed Peas Amuse Bouche
Sizzling Oysters R'evolution Style
Brick Oven Brussels Sprouts, Bacon
The Plate
Bread
Bread Selection
Fire Roasted Oysters R'evolution
Death by Gumbo
Butter Salted And Unsalted And Olive Oil
R'evolution Anniversary Special
Brick Brussel Sprouts With Bacon
Ramos Gin Fizz And Sazerac
Beef Tartare With Black Truffle
Lavash, Biscuit And Wheat Bun. Housemade
Lobster Gnocchi
Chilled Cucumber Mint Soup
Crab Beignet
Familia Charcuterie Board
Caprese Salad
Creole Tomato Grits
White Chocolate Bread Pudding Creme Brulee
Wild Mushroom Puff Pastry
Crawfish-Stuffed Flounder Napoleon
Flounder
Beet Salad
Short Ribs
Filet Mignon
Toasted Marshmallow Ice Cream
Pastry Lagniappe
Guanaja Chocolate Pudding & Coconut Cake
Artichoke-Miriton Au Gratin
Fazzoletti With Crawfish
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Duck
Turbodog Chocolate Cake
Smothered Greens
Brussels Sprouts
Blue Crab Grilled Cheese
Beer-battered Crab Beignets
Sweet Potato & Andouille Hash
Sheep Ricotta Gnocchi With Lobster
Breakfast RA' evolution
Corn And Crab Cappuccino
Veal Chop With Crabmeat Salad
Beef Tartare
Ile Flottante
Paneed Veal
Turtle Soup
House Salad
Goat Cheese Tortellini
Duck Liver Mousse
Quail Triptych
Whipped Blue Cheese Amuse Bouche
Treasure Box
Fire Roasted Oysters
Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes
Oysters On The Half Shell R'evolution Style
Turbodog Stout Chocolate Cake
Seafood Trio
Dessert
Fried Oyster Salad
Trout Muniere
charcuterie
Ribeye Steak
Burrata Cheese And Caviar
Chargrilled Oysters
Paneed Veal And Crab
Striped Bass
Crisp Sweetbreads
Crabmeat Stuffed Louisiana Frog Legs Nicoise
Foie Gras Gougeres
Filet With Mushrooms
Beef Tartare w/ Shaved Black Truffle
Oysters
Birdie in a Nest
El Macho
Chef's Small Bite
Pig Out Board
Duck In Molasses
Linguine With Manila Clams

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
New Orleans / Louisiana
Notable Wine List
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans / Louisiana
3 More
Best Ambiance
New Orleans
Notable Wine List
New Orleans
Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

special occasion (262)
fit for foodies (235)
romantic (194)
See All
notable wine list (178)
good for groups (81)
hot spot (76)
neighborhood gem (56)
vibrant bar scene (54)
great for brunch (32)
late-night find (14)
great for lunch (14)
scenic view (11)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2322 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

You have to try this place; from the foo ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 5 days ago

You have to try this place; from the food to the service everything was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I never come to the Quarter without eat ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

I never come to the Quarter without eating here. The food and service are exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, our meal was impeccable. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

As always, our meal was impeccable. The food is great, but what really made our meal was the service. Our server was perfect and his assistant was truly amazing. There are not many places that your phone can be sitting on the table, and the assistant see that the battery is low, so he brings a charger and plugs it in for you without ever saying a word. The small details truly put the service at R'Evolution on a higher plane. We have had our anniversary dinner at R'Evolution for the past three years, and will continue to do so every year! There are so many fantastic restaurants in New Orleans, but this is the only one for our special day!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good but seriously expensive!Our wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very good but seriously expensive!Our wait staff was friendly and helpful, not at all pretentious.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lufe, Kevin and Colin waited on us and e ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

Lufe, Kevin and Colin waited on us and everything was spot on!! Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing dinner with a high quality of fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Amazing dinner with a high quality of food and an amazing wine list. Service was a bit lacking, while we had three separate servers working the table our wine order did not arrive until I had to ask for it after our salad was completed and then one of the sides with the main entree was not delivered until inquired about. It's the small details that separate the great from the top restaurants of the world. I'd definitely come back just for the quality of food alone, I just hope the servers don't need a friendly reminder in the future!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great anniversary dinner, my wife and I ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great anniversary dinner, my wife and I really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Starter of pate took 45 min to arrive. S ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Starter of pate took 45 min to arrive. Seafood dishes were competent to good but the lamb was not good. Service was well-intended but clumsy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Torn on this review as R'evolution has b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Torn on this review as R'evolution has been great to us in the past. We dined shortly after it's amazing opening and have been back again with great enjoyment. For some reason, this meal missed the mark as our server was out of place in an environment where service should be top notch. A rushed run through the specials led to a request to order- no drink requests, no wine list, nothing. I had to ask to order a drink. My wife's request for a bourbon rec. was met with a solid choice from the waiter who then proclaimed he did not know the bourbon he was recommending and said he would bring someone over. That person was Patrick (Beverage Manager? ) who took an incredible amount of time to explain the proprietary house bourbon being poured. He fixed a glitch (not their fault) in my drink preparation with all the skill of a delightful host. Dinner was very good (not great) and while the amazing dessert box helped end the meal, it just felt like R'evolution has stood a bit still after a fairly short time in NOLA

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The service was impeccable and the food ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was impeccable and the food was phenomenal

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

R'evolution was wonderful. The steaks w ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

R'evolution was wonderful. The steaks were amazing, and the fish dishes we wonderful. Service was great, and Troy the manager did an outstanding job of staying involved to make sure our experience was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had dinner at R'evolution ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at R'evolution for our 5th Anniversary and it was absolutely wonderful! You have to ask for the wait staff of Troy and Rory, they will make your night! The food was amazing and I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

38 the wedding anniversary and it was ov ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

38 the wedding anniversary and it was over the top! The staff made sure our experience was memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

R'evolution is AN EXCEPTIONAL restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

R'evolution is AN EXCEPTIONAL restaurant in every sense of the word. The ambiance is welcoming yet gives you the impression of a private club where your every need is recognized and catered to. The exquisitely prepared temptations that greet you are a delight for the eye, with layers and layers of flavor that tantalize the tongue and invite you to take another bite. The menu always calls us back with items that we haven't tried yet and others that we just can't wait to try again and again. Their wine list is extensive but not bewildering with an experienced and knowledgeable staff that can aptly walk you through their amazing selections. Unquestionably the best frog legs and the best duck I have ever tasted, the most unique and tantalizing Death by Gumbo....we returned for Sunday Brunch and began with Crab Beignets and fried quail biscuits...and it just got better and better...never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was amazing! I had the lobster gnocchi which was delicious. The desserts are great too. The chef adds little touches - like a special appetizer and homemade desserts - which makes it even more special. Loved this place. I will definitely go back next time I visit New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food quality and taste was not worth the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food quality and taste was not worth the money paid, at all. Need some type of jazz or contemporary music playing. Restaurant atmosphere was bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

The wine list is spectular. The stuffed ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The wine list is spectular. The stuffed beet was magnificent. It was

quiet a dining experience. Highly recommend to anyone. You will

not be disappointed!!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous service. They offered a privat ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fabulous service. They offered a private tour of kitchen and wine cellar which was a perfect closing touch to an amazing night!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend recommended this place and it w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A friend recommended this place and it was great on every level - food, service and ambiance. We had the crab beignets for appetizer. I had a seafood bouillabaisse kind of meal and forget what my guest had. We also had the red velvet beignets for dessert. They weren't quite beignets nor red velvet but yummy nonetheless and we ate them all. Were it not for a loud group next to us, it would've been awesome but that wasn't the restaurant's fault! I'd definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were very disappointed in the service ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were very disappointed in the service and food. I had been to this restaurant when it first opened and it was the wonderful, high-end dining establishment that it purports to be. However on my return visit over a year later, the service was slow and we were only checked on sporadically. The food was good but not the over the top delicious meal I had experienced before. At the end of the meal we decided to split desert and ordered the sorbet trio. The roasted lemon was just bitter like biting into the worst part of the rind, the chefs creation of lychee and rose had a heat at the end which was strange and off putting considering there was nothing in the description to explain it's appearance, and the raspberry was nothing to write home about.

As my husband so succinctly put it " At the end of the evening it's just like any other hotel restaurant in any other city." Which is a real shame compared to what it had been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

This restaurant was everything I imagine ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This restaurant was everything I imagined and more. My group of ladies thoroughly enjoyed their dining experience. The food was wonderful. Our extra dessert was having Chef Folson take a picture with us. Can you imagine?!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurant experiences w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

One of the best restaurant experiences we've ever had. Menu is authentic, fresh and original. A must visit when in New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment I walked into the restau ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

From the moment I walked into the restaurant, I found myself completely cared for. As I made my way to the table, it was apparent every server was involved and would be assisting me throughout my time spent at the restaurant. Throughout dinner, I inquired about the food and cocktails, and was given good suggestions. I was more pleased with the cocktail choices than the food choices, however, the food was still good. Perhaps if I was more specific about what I was looking for that evening, I would have been more pleased with the flavors of my food. I would happily recommend this restaurant to those visiting New Orleans, as the ambiance was pleasing and my experience is one I will remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was fabulous and the staff exce ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our food was fabulous and the staff exceptional. It was our 15th anniversary and they helped to make it very special. We look forward to dining again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant meal Enjoyed the tour

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Elegant meal

Enjoyed the tour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

There was no other place we wanted to go ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

There was no other place we wanted to go than R'evolution to celebrate our 15th anniversary. This was one of the highlights of our staycation downtown. Molly was exceptionally attentive with our champagne and wine. Everyone was great from the hostess, bartender, server, sommelier, table captain, and of course the chef. We always have a fantastic time and we cannot wait until we go there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous! Had the tasting menu with wine ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Fabulous! Had the tasting menu with wine pairing. Excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal and service was top not ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Had a great meal and service was top notch. Special shoutout to Luke, one of our servers!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Revolution has the best service I have e ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Revolution has the best service I have ever had in New Orleans. I live here and have eaten at many restaurants in the city over the past several years and never had gotten around to Revolution. I didn't know what I was missing! Everything from the cocktails to the desserts is above average. I would recommend Revolution to visitors as well New Orleanians.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food. Service was a bit slow but at ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good food. Service was a bit slow but attentive. Wine list was nice but overall too expensive. Average bottle price was about $300. One $50 bottle, one $65 bottle. Several at $115. Up to $5,000.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Restaurant R'evolution provided an excep ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Restaurant R'evolution provided an exceptional fine dining experience. From the moment we walked in we were awed by the attention to detail and level of service. The food and drinks were fantastic, both in presentation and flavor. The atmosphere was quiet and romantic without feeling stuffy or forced. I will certainly recommend restaurant to friends and family.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went with my family! We all had a fabu ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I went with my family! We all had a fabulous time! The food was great! Don Vappie's music was so pleasant to hear! We'd love to see him again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant R'evolution was great food, a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Restaurant R'evolution was great food, and even BETTER service! The wait staff was incredible, and went above and beyond to attend to me and my parents, whom I took to New Orleans for a quick weekend trip.

They were able to identify our issues/needs with an almost telepathic ability without at all coming off as overbearing (I'm a true Northerner who does not appreciate hovering by wait staff). I will definitely be back for dinners on similar trips!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was incredible, service amazing ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was incredible, service amazing and the tour of the kitchen made our night perfect. Thank you for such a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Absolutely amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent all the way around, food was c ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent all the way around, food was cooked to perfection and service was top notch. Entrees are a little pricey but worth it

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greatest overall disappointment in New O ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Greatest overall disappointment in New Orleans. Not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Sunday brunch with my daughter who was l ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Sunday brunch with my daughter who was leaving that day. Highly recommended and did not disappoint ! Fried oyster salad was lovely as were the crab beignets , can't wait to go for dinner the next time I am in town!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service and very good food. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful service and very good food. The appetizer was superb, and the service was equally impeccable. In particular, everyone worked together very well as a team.

Coming from New York City, I had two concerns. First, the food was pricey, even by New York City standards and the quality of the entrees did not quite live up to that. Everything was very good but only 1 appetizer (out of two appetizers and 2 entrees) was excellent. And there are a wide range of restaurants consistently delivering very good food at one half to two thirds the price.

My other concern is the wine list. I found it exhaustive and a bit pretentious. Yes, there are many wines there ranging in the thousands and even tens of thousands of dollars. However, I find it offensive that I really, really had to hunt for a bottle under $60. Either the mark-up is really high or the sommelier is sending the message that there are no reasonably priced wines anywhere that are acceptable. It is one thing to not find inexpensive wines from Bordeaux, but no wines from Australia under $80-90? Really? So, I am sorry but as someone who eats out often (including many restaurants in this range), I just found this snobby, sending the message that you need to order a $100-200 bottle of wine to try to impress someone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.