About Restaurant R'evolution

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Friday Lunch Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Monday - Thursday 6:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday - Sunday 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Open during meal service.

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bread Pudding Crème brûlée
Oysters R'evolution
Short Rib
Triptych Of Quail
Bonjour Box
Seared Sea Scallops and Foie Gras
Scrambled Eggs With Crawfish & Caviar
Amouche Bouche
Bbq Gulf Shrimp And Grits
Ice Cream
Unsweet Tea
Diablo Pasta
seafood gumbo
Venison Carpaccio
Old Fasioned Cocktail
Roasted Bone Marrow
Paneed Veal Medallions
Salumi Solo Board
Black Eyed Peas Amuse Bouche
Sizzling Oysters R'evolution Style
Brick Oven Brussels Sprouts, Bacon
The Plate
Fire Roasted Oysters R'evolution
Bread
Bread Selection
Death by Gumbo
Butter Salted And Unsalted And Olive Oil
R'evolution Anniversary Special
Beef Tartare With Black Truffle
Brick Brussel Sprouts With Bacon
Ramos Gin Fizz And Sazerac
Lavash, Biscuit And Wheat Bun. Housemade
Lobster Gnocchi
Crab Beignet
Chilled Cucumber Mint Soup
Familia Charcuterie Board
Creole Tomato Grits
Caprese Salad
White Chocolate Bread Pudding Creme Brulee
Wild Mushroom Puff Pastry
Short Ribs
Crawfish-Stuffed Flounder Napoleon
Flounder
Beet Salad
Filet Mignon
Fazzoletti With Crawfish
Toasted Marshmallow Ice Cream
Artichoke-Miriton Au Gratin
Guanaja Chocolate Pudding & Coconut Cake
Pastry Lagniappe
Duck
Turbodog Chocolate Cake
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Smothered Greens
Brussels Sprouts
Blue Crab Grilled Cheese
Beer-battered Crab Beignets
Sheep Ricotta Gnocchi With Lobster
Sweet Potato & Andouille Hash
Corn And Crab Cappuccino
Breakfast RA' evolution
Veal Chop With Crabmeat Salad
Beef Tartare
Ile Flottante
Paneed Veal
Turtle Soup
House Salad
Goat Cheese Tortellini
Duck Liver Mousse
Treasure Box
Whipped Blue Cheese Amuse Bouche
Quail Triptych
Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes
Fire Roasted Oysters
Oysters On The Half Shell R'evolution Style
Turbodog Stout Chocolate Cake
Seafood Trio
Fried Oyster Salad
Dessert
Trout Muniere
Burrata Cheese And Caviar
Chargrilled Oysters
charcuterie
Ribeye Steak
Paneed Veal And Crab
Striped Bass
Crisp Sweetbreads
Crabmeat Stuffed Louisiana Frog Legs Nicoise
Foie Gras Gougeres
Filet With Mushrooms
Oysters
Beef Tartare w/ Shaved Black Truffle
Birdie in a Nest
Chef's Small Bite
El Macho
Pig Out Board
Linguine With Manila Clams
Duck In Molasses

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Ambiance
New Orleans
2 More
Notable Wine List
New Orleans
Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

Special Occasion (218)
Fit for Foodies (170)
Romantic (154)
See All
Notable Wine List (140)
Good for Groups (58)
Hot Spot (52)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Great for Brunch (25)
Scenic View (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2371 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

bass) is playing. We are seated, service ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 3 days ago

bass) is playing. We are seated, service is gracious, expert, immediate. Water, coffee/tea, menus all appear, we are offered menus and refreshments, with smiles. I choose the August "coolinary New Orleans" prix-fixe menu: eggs a la creme, shrimp-crusted fish and grits, with bread pudding creme brûlée for dessert. Husband gets six roasted oysters, then Duck Boudin Scotch egg (soft-boiled egg inside duck boudin sausage ball), with duck bacon and a frisée salad on the side. Each dish was heaven! Beautiful flavors and textures, all perfectly cooked and seasoned, all served at an unhurried but attentive pace. And throughout, the jazz trio was channeling the great musicians of New Orleans. I have just enjoyed one of the best meals of my life, and I'm not even a brunch fan.

To top it all off, the staff noticed our ecstatic faces, and enjoyment of everything, and invited us back to meet the chef and tour the kitchen. Also visited the hidden chef's table overlooking the kitchen, and the vast wine cooler/closet. Oh my!

Recommendation: a blissful experience awaits you here. Visit in August if you like to take advantage of special menus for smaller prices.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Frog leg appetizer was ki ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great service. Frog leg appetizer was killer. Entrees were outstanding. Got a tour of the kitchen and wine cellar. Cherry on top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service made the meal an experience not ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service made the meal an experience not just dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A very special restsuramt for very speci ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

A very special restsuramt for very special occasions. Don't miss the crab beignets the steak and the desserts

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This meal was our highlight of our week ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 7 days ago

This meal was our highlight of our week in New Orleans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

5th year in a row on our annual trip to ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

5th year in a row on our annual trip to New Orleans. 10 out of 10 as usual!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff is excellent. It is the servi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The staff is excellent. It is the service we always expect but rarely get.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Put half orders on the menu This is to a ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Put half orders on the menu

This is to add another several stars for food and service, it was all great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was hoping and expecting to like it more ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Was hoping and expecting to like it more than we did. The food was good but not as good as many meals we've had at other popular upscale establishments nor as good as less pricy venues we've frequented lately. We went for lunch and took advantage of the special coolinary menu but had to ask for the special rather than it being offered. The fish and the steak were both ok but nothing we would go back for. the crab beneighs were fantastic tho overpriced as the drinks were also. Expect to pay $16/drink. The service was good and attentive but border lines on too attentive where we felt hovered over. Also the atmosphere was one of a more reserved restaurant that we didn't feel we could talk at normal tones. I'd say a great place to take ones mom or grandmother for a special occasion but not really for a date unless you simply want to impress on the amount your willing to spend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was the best I have experien ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service was the best I have experienced in quite a while. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and anticipated our needs. Highly recommend for service alone, but the food is great too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dinner Experience in the Frenc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wonderful Dinner Experience in the French Quarter!

My Shrimp and Mascarpone Grits were phenomenal, as was my husband's Ribeye. The wine list is extensive, but we had trouble finding a bottle under $100. However, we told our server John what we were looking for, and he recommended the White Rock Cab which turned out to be fantastic. The pièce de résistance of the meal was the Maple Bread Pudding Crème Brûlée, which John described as, "...imagine if bread pudding and crème brûlée had a baby..." He was exactly right, and it was amazing! The food was great, but the service was second to none! We were even treated to a tour of the kitchen and wine room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best dining experiences I've ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

One of the best dining experiences I've had in my entire life!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a last night together special t ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This was a last night together special treat for my boyfriend & me. I have a SEVERE nut allergy which was noted on the reservation and discussed with the server. So imagine my shock when the dessert was garnished with cashews, the nut that will kill me! The server said "oh I forgot to talk to the pastry chef". A sorry was not sufficient in my opinion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

This was our first visit. Very attentive ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was our first visit. Very attentive wait staff. The food was up to my expectation. If there's a special occasion then I would return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was impeccable! The noise level ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was impeccable! The noise level was high due to the band playing for lunch but it was very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, atmosphere and service. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food, atmosphere and service. The best dining experience I have had in New Orleans.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was awesome and the food was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was awesome and the food was incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food and service. One of the be ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing food and service. One of the best restaurants in NOLA.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant. Great wine list, but ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great restaurant. Great wine list, but a little bit pricy. Very good service and superb food. The triptych is wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food. Loved everything but the ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent food. Loved everything but the lobster in vanilla sauce. Way too sweet for a lobster dish. Excellent waiters. Very friendly and fun, but not overbearing. They made the meal even more enjoyable. Loved the surprise "jewel" box at the end of the meal. Our 19 year old daughter lit up when she saw this box. We would definitely recommend this restaurant. Loved the ambience of the bar and the room that had a view of the open area of the kitchen. Felt the first dining room that one entered off the bar seemed a bit stuffy. We were originally seated there but asked to move to the next dining room with the beams and open kitchen view. A thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Truly a fine dining experience. Everyth ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Truly a fine dining experience. Everything was first class; the food was over the top, the drinks were perfect, and the service was impeccable. We will return again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a delicious meal with wonderful s ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We had a delicious meal with wonderful service in a lovely setting. We are looking forward to a return visit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best food I have ever had. Even tho ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The best food I have ever had. Even though the price is high, it is one time I can say that it was worth it. Great anniversary or special occasion spot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were first timers here and we're blow ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were first timers here and we're blown away which isn't easy to do for the two of us foodies.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant experience was absolutel ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This restaurant experience was absolutely amazing!!! My fiancé doesn't eat ANYTHING, but I got him to try $230 worth of good food!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing drinks, food and service! Love t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Amazing drinks, food and service! Love that we have discovered this place!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic! Took my wife there ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Absolutely fantastic! Took my wife there for our anniversary and it could not have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! Loved every minute of my dining exp ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wow! Loved every minute of my dining experience. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food; unique flavor combinations; ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food; unique flavor combinations; texture was as much a component of the overall flavor as the taste. Very nice ambiance; old world style with contemporary flair.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I went here as part of ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My boyfriend and I went here as part of New Orleans' Coolinary month. The service and food were just as outstanding as I remember from my visit last year. The Southern Rose is my new favorite cocktail!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every single way. Death b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Outstanding in every single way. Death by gumbo was one of the best dishes we've had. Superb cocktails, superb service, superb everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was beyond anything I e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food and service was beyond anything I ever experienced. We had the best waiter, Travis, gave great recommendations. I would return to New Orleans just to go there!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Do not visit NOLA without experiencing t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Do not visit NOLA without experiencing the best dining experience to be had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Great food. One of our ve ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great service. Great food. One of our very favorite restaurants anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service too quick. Food good, nothing sp ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service too quick. Food good, nothing special. We had to wait at the bar for a table in an empty restaurant. Then we had to pay at the bar - they would not put drink charges on food bill. Annoying as bar was busy & one member in our party had to wait at the bar until bartender settled payment - almost ten minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Me and my partner, Brenden were celebrat ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Me and my partner, Brenden were celebrating our one year celebration. The staff that included Craig and Rory and another member were absolutely the finest and congratulated us on our marriage. The food was just incredible!! We will most definitely consider eating there again for future anniversaries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I found the food very good. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My wife and I found the food very good. We really believe the food is a bit over priced, but that is likely because of the location. The service is excellent and the entire staff is first rate. There is really nothing negative we can say.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing dining experience! One of the be ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing dining experience! One of the best places I've eaten! Food was phenomenal, ambiance was outstanding, and Troy our waiter went above and beyond all our expectations! Truly wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals in Nola! The staff ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

One of the best meals in Nola! The staff and service were impeccable! The grits and death by gumbo were the best I have ever had. The veal was also incredible. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ask for Kevin Rich. Please have a sense ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Ask for Kevin Rich. Please have a sense of humor though. If so, he will make the experience enjoyable. Everything was incredible. Not a bad choice on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.