Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 48 times today

Restaurant R'evolution

4.7
3630 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Creole / Cajun / Southern
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Fit for Foodies
Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Lunch on Fridays Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
LUNCH
Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Nightly 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Saturday 12:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday 5:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(504) 553-2277
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Jacket Preferred
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John Folse and Rick Tramonto
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Bourbon Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Canal at Bourbon Street
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 3630 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

Pricey but worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Awesome meal and experience. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

It was my Mother's 85th birthday; the folks at R'evolution could not have been more wonderful. They turned the Preakness on in the bar (had to lower the TVs from the ceiling) at our request. Then sat us at a lovely, quiet table. The meal finished with complimentary champagne and dessert. Throughout the service was attentive but not hovering. The corn bisque was fantastic. The crab beignets delightful.The swordfish was a little dry, although the accompanying vegetables quite good. It was a lovely evening and I am very grateful to the staff for making it so special for my Mother.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful experience! Great food, amazing service. Couldn’t recommend highly enough

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Everthing perfect from the atmosphere to the service but especially the food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Amazing, food, service, and ambiance. Delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Food was great. Service was average. We are at the chefs table and they acted as though it was a chore.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

The best in New Orleans....
Excellent restaurant with classy ambiance. The service was exceptional and the server and manager accommodated our every need. They even prepared a special dish catered to lactose intolerance which included freshly prepared lobster tails with garlic and olive oil linguine.

We sampled a number of top rated restaurants in New Orleans and this was definitely the best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Food was terrific but the service was off the charts! We had a party of 5 and the staff, in particular Travis, made the evening spectacular.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

R'Evolution is a fantastic restaurant! For the majority of our special occasions (Mother's Day, Easter, anniversaries, birthdays) we patronize R'Evolution. We have consistently excellent experiences, which extends from the kitchen through the service and all aspects of the restaurant's operations. The classic dishes are phenomenal; the ones that rotate seasonally are the same. I recommend it highly and without reservation!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I really wanted to love this restaurant after hearing so much about it but after arriving we waited 35 minutes for our 9:45 PM reservation. Once sitting we continued to wait for getting drinks, water, etc...totally understand that it was late in the day on a Saturday but the restaurant was half empty. The food was ok but not great ( but that maybe due to my order, my wife really enjoyed her fish ).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent service and great wine recommendations.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The ambiance at R'evolution is very posh and manicured. The service is very attentive without being overbearing and we were treated grandly by everyone from the hostess staff to the table servers. The food was on par with Commanders Palace, which is to say it was okay and all perfectly suitable for what you are paying. I loved that we got little lagniappe items with the amuse and after dinner sweets, but nothing that we had for dinner was "outstanding" as far as flavors or inventiveness and for that reason I am unable to give a full 5 stars. We had the fried oyster salad and foie gras for appetizers. Both were adequate. The foie gras was served with strawberries, bits of lemongrass and a cornbread muffin parted in two which was actually too overly sweet. The complimentary bread service was a slice each of focaccia and a seeded bun with a trio of butter, steens butter, and olive oil. The steens butter was tasy, but tougher to spread. The focaccia was a little TOO spongy and soft, but very good taste-wise. I had the redfish that was served with an artichoke heart topped with shrimp dressing, and a crabmeat calas (croquette) that was underwhelming. The amuse we were given with red rice, the rice was still all dente, so I nibbled at the small bits of seafood that were on top of the spoon of rice. My partner had the venison in grits, which was like a play on grits and grillades, it tasted good, but was very very rich. The best part of my meal was my non-alcholic mocktail which was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Everything was Amazing! I would highly recommend to anyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Love this place, hidden gem. Fave in Nola.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Our dinner was one of the most fantastic we have ever had!!!! From the unique gumbo to our delicious entrees we were so pleased. The amazing service just put it all over the top. We were there for our anniversary and they made us feel so special.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Service was indifferent. Food was good but not up to expectations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Wonderful from start to finish
Loved the small box at the end of the meal full of surprises

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Had to wait 30 mins for a booked table .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

One word. WOW!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Amazing brunch experience! The Bread Pudding Creme Brulee was to die for. Food and drinks were incredible. Live jazz music adds a nice touch without overpowering your dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great dinner! Death by gumbo, stuffed frog legs, lemon fish, and red fish Orleans. Great food and professional service. First time here but it is on the list for next Jazz Fest.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The food and service was impeccable!!! Love this place!! The Death by Gumbo is a must try!! The wine list was very extensive! You can’t go wrong with whatever you order. Take a large party so you can try everything or just keep going back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Wonderful experience to celebrate our anniversary.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 4, 2018

This restaurant was very disappointing. My only reason for returning would be location and not wanting to go out of the hotel. Food was adequate only. Some of the service was good but some was poor. The wine sterward was not very knowledgeable. Our table was in the middle of two rooms so we had loud noise from both sides. I would definitely not recommend this restaurant to someone I liked.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Staff was very attentive, but not over bearing. They knew the menu and and would give great detail on any question asked.
We really enjoyed our meal, and talking with our waiter Sam.
Since it was our 27th anniversary, we wanted to enjoy a bottle of wine, having the greatest husband, he wanted to find a wine similar to one we had in 1998 that we tried to find in Germany in 2003, only to discover that it was a small private vineyard, not open to the public..... Remember this is pre-Google! Well, the sommelier did not disappoint! Normally most sommeliers are pretty snobby (which they have every right to be considering what it takes to become one), but he was not. He actually loved white wine from this particular region in Germany. We described what I liked and we started from there. We tried the first wine, it was quite nice, but did not have that sweetness that would stay when the wine got a little warmer. They discussed other years of wines and he asked if I liked the “light yellow with a more crisp flavor or the darker yellow with a more moldy flavor. Since I know I don’t like the moldy flavor as it intensifies as it gets warmer, we decided on a 2011 bottle of Joh. Jos. Prum Wehlener Sonnenuhr Auslese. It truly was a fantastic bottle of wine.
We started with the “Pig Out and 3 cheese board - think of the most amazing and fantastic charcuterie board you have ever had and expand on it - most of the meats, pate and potted meats were house made. This was quite the spread for 2 people, so for the main course, I had the sweet corn bisque and asparagus accompanied with the an amazing whipped parmigiano sauce. My husband ordered the seared scallops with fois gras and loved it.
To finish we shared the bread pudding, now think of this bread pudding and add a “cheesecake sauce layer on the bottom” and add a creme brûlée top and be prepared to be blown away!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Excellent! Travis the best waiter / mâitre ever!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Excellent from drinks to desert, a true gem in the French quarter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Great food the best in NOLA

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2018

R'evolution is a go-to restaurant in Nola. Downside, its very expensive. This especially goes for the wine list which is greatly overpriced. Upside, the food. It is certainly delicious. The recommended "death by gumbo" is solid, but the beer-battered crab beignets and crab stuffed frogs legs are delicious. The sweet potato gnudi was outstanding! The ricotto gnocchi with lobster wasn't far behind. The rissoto and short ribs were tasty, if not the best items on the menu. Service was polite though not overly engaging.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 2, 2018

This is advertised as a premier New Orleans restaurant. The decor is sumptuous. The service staff are very good. The food quality and presentation is unremarkable and vastly over priced. There are so many other better options. Save your money and try those.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Outstanding!! The food, the service. We will be back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

The service is king here. It elevates very good Cajun fusion food to something more. Despite the wine list being unique and extensive, it could use a few lower end wines. The entry level Pinot Noir should not be $72 a bottle. This place is trendy and expensive with regard to the food you receive, but not for the service. I guess it comes close to balancing out in the end.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 1, 2018

This is by no means my first visit to this restaurant. However, it will likely be my last. The service experience that my party of five endured was nothing short of terrible. We had a confirmed reservation. We were promptly seated, greeted by waitstaff, placed our wine order and proceeded to wait. We then placed our appetizer and meal order; and patiently waited again. 50 minutes after being seated, we were finally able to get the attention of someone who flippantly stated they would get our waiter. Over an hour after being seated, we finally were served our first wine course!!! Unfortunately, the night did not improve from there. Staff poured 2/3 of our first bottle of wine and then it "disappeared". Our table was presented with our cooked 40oz ribeye, prior to it being sliced. 30 minutes it arrives back at the table. The service was beyond unacceptable. It was disastrous.

However, this kitchen has never disappointed. All meals were very good (albeit generally cold"ish" from waiting for table service).

Revolution, please do not let this experience become a norm for the remainder of current/former patrons.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Amazing!
Was a bit noisy. Funny that open table calls that energetic. I call it not having anything to absorb sound.
The restaurant was lovely, nice waitstaff, amazing food!
Open table should categorize its restaurant ratings.
There is no way to compare Restaurant R’evolution to a chain or casual dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Great food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Anthony Huff was awesome! Love sitting at the expo table. Staff was excellent as well as the service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

We had a wonderful experience. The service was exceptional and personal. We were made to feel really special. The food was outstanding. Thanks to everyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

This restaurant met all our expectations and then some. Service was impeccable and informative. The food was creatively prepared and presented. We were fortunate to be seated at a corner table in the center dining room, giving us less of the "crowd noise" of the busy restaurant. Would definitely recommend this as a dining destination.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Our dinner was awesome! The fried oyster salad was delicious as well as the red fish that I ordered. The service was amazing too! Highly recommend them for a great meal and dining experience!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
91

Tweets by Restaurant R'evolution