Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Restaurant R'evolution

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Lunch on Fridays Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Nightly 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Saturday 12:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday 5:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (133)
Creative Cuisine (124)
Good for Anniversaries (115)
See All
Romantic (111)
Fit for Foodies (111)
Good for a Date (105)
Notable Wine List (80)
Local Ingredients (68)
Authentic (59)
Business Meals (56)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Worth the Drive (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Open Kitchen (37)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Cozy (35)
Good for Groups (31)
Hot Spot (28)
Fun (26)
Private Room (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Historic (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Modern Decor (19)
Great for Brunch (19)
People Watching (18)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Molecular Gastronomy (12)
Seasonal (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Live Music (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Casual (5)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
2996 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

Highly enjoyed Sunday brunch. The service was very attentive, and the food was very good. The live jazz trio added a nice ambiance. And the bread pudding creme brulee is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful food, fantastic service and always consistent !

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was great. The Salumi for four was the best we ever had. Big issue however was the temperature of what was supposed to be hot food. The grilled oysters were prepared well but were cool when served. Entrees were the same. Hopefully they can correct this problem because obviously the food prep is excellent but there's a breakdown somewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Travis was the best waiter! We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Visiting town

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Way overrated. Third time eating there. Gone downhill in a big way. The amuse bouche wasn't interesting or tasty. The roasted oysters were undercooked (cheese not melted) and not brought out hot/warm. Salad was blah. Stuffed redfish was highlight of meal but still not better than average. The rib roast was just plain bad. Dessert and wine were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

First night in NOLA. Fabulous experience...and we've eaten in the best restaurants all over the world, and this is now in our top five. Food, service, ambiance were all outstanding. Go there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

40th Birthday!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

We had the California Foie, Beet Salad, Rabbit Natchez, Sea Scallops , Maple Creme Brule Bread Pudding, and Grapefruit Sorbet. All were not just good, but memorable! Service was excellent and designed to make our special occasion special-- and they succeeded. This was on the upper end of cost for us for a meal, but worth every penny.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful dinner here! The food was amazing as was the service! The whole experience was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner here. At our table of 6, 5 had different fish dishes and 1 had the Veal Chop. We all loved our meal, the service is impeccable and we will definitely return. It's a very special dining experience .

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Best meal I had in my 3 trips to New Orleans. A moderately expensive meal but absolutely worth it for any special occasion/vacation splurge. The staff were pure class and the food on point. I couldn't recommend it more.

Tags: Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Nice romantic atmosphere. Great place to get dressed up and enjoy a fabulous bottle of wine and great cuisine. Service was impeccable, Roary was a delight and very accommodating. Overall fantastic experience. Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent menu for brunch. Great service, great jazz band.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

One of the best meals I have had. Great service a real find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Service not good. Food overpriced. Food overpriced. Food overpriced. Ruined special occasion. Food overpriced. 50 characters is way too many for this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I dined here with friends as a thank you to them. It was an amazing meal with even better service. The captain paired wines expertly with our food, the cocktails were interesting and balanced and the food was delicious. This was a fantastic experience from start to finish.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This is more than dining ; it is a cuisine experience. A creative menu coupled with superb service makes this a special place. Our meal was delicious, the service outstanding and the ambiance delightful. Don't miss this restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Excellent Innovative cuisine with very attentive service

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Was on vacation & stayed at the Royal Sonesta hotel , the restaurant is in this lovely charming hotel. The food & atmosphere was delightful & the service was grand! Even had a velvet still for our purses!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great food. Death by gumbo is to die for. Rabbit was wonderful. Never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Disappointed. I've been trying to get a reservation during my visits home to see family since the restaurant opened. Finally was able to come for an early dinner with my mom on Mother's Day When we walked in the host told us he'd be with us in a bit because he had to finish a text he was typing in his cell phone. What?!!! Drinks were good. Service was extremely casual, not what you'd expect of this type of restaurant. Our app of the beignets was flavorful but gummy because they weren't completely cooked. My entree, the poached fish in a bagel was awful. The "name" was nothing more than puréed green peas, the thickness of baby food but of a grainy mouthfeel. The manager was quite gracious in offering a replacement. The crab cakes my sister and mom had were tasty but nothing over the top. The bread pudding tasted old but the pina colada cake was heavenly! I'm glad I finally was able to dine here but am not so sure I'll be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our second time to have Mother's Day brunch at Restaurant Revolution and it was outstanding from the moment we walked into the door. Actually from before we walked in thanks to the convenient valet service directly at the door. Then once we stepped into the bar we immediately had a mimosa made with freshly squeezed orange juice while we waited for our table. Once seated, the staff went above and beyond to make sure we had a relaxed lunch. We had fun reviewing the extensive wine list as I gave my son an impromptu wine lesson. Then the food....I'm speechless. We started with the black truffle tartare which was oh so decadent. We each tried a soup next - death by gumbo and crawfish bisque.....delicious. I had the shrimp and grits tagine and my son had the lobster risotto.....again delicious. For desert, we were too stuffed to eat anything but we were treated with a behind the scenes tour of the restaurant. Definitely a Mother's Day to remember. Absolutely perfect!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Absolutely beautiful inside! Perfect for our special occasion; however, there are literally ZERO vegetarian options. We had to piecemeal sides and a pasta dish (that wasn't no what we wanted, but still delicious) to enjoy our meal. Keep that in mind if you are vegetarian!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our party of 4 was initially seated at an awkward and unsuitable folding table in a doorway between two dining rooms. After expressing our dissatisfaction to the manager we were reseated. The menu offered an extensive array of options and the wait staff were knowledgeable and able to adequately answer questions and make recommendations about the menu and wine pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is our second time eating at Restaurant Revolution. We love this place! Highly recommend the crab beignets, death by gumbo and ricotta lobster gnocchi. Service is fantastic. Will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The beer batter crab beneits and asparagus were amazeballs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a marvelous dinner to celebrate our daughter's graduation. Amazing food, amazing service, can't say enough amazing compliments.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Amazing! Travis Wayne is a badass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our primary server was both knowledgeable and courteous and her attention to detail was impeccable. The secondary server was very kind but he did not speak English very well and he did not know much about the menu. Our food was delicious and prompt.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Loved the Russian caviar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Stuffy atmosphere. Extremely, extremely loud. You almost had to yell to hear each other. The food was not great for the price. We read so many good reviews about the quail, but were very unimpressed. There are SO many other good, better priced restaurants nearby.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I had dinner at Restaurant R'evolution with 3 colleagues while in town on business. They were flexible and easily adjusted my reservation when I needed to change it. The server was outstanding - very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. I had a special request on my meal and the chef was able to make it happen. I would absolutely dine here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Jordan was our server. Made the experience exponentially better. Great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 9, 2017

White table cloth restaurants are a dying breed. Good to see this one carrying on the traditional dining setting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Had lamb chops, very fatty, ate only a portion of it. I complained about it. No reduction in the bill for it.

Service was extremely poor. We had to ask several times for coffee and drinks.

Food was overpriced. We will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Service and food were awesome. Overall a fabulous dining experience. Our waiter also gave us a tour of the 10,000 bottle wine cellar.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation and the staff was wonderful. We enjoyed a couple of drinks at the bar while we waited. Drinks are made, well. If you love wine they have a wine list that is beyond extensive and impressive. For Dinner food was perfectly cooked brought out in a timely manner but not rushed. Food is absolutely amazing. The Gnocchi, Lobster was amazing and the steaks are cooked perfectly. I would highly recommend Revolution but make sure to make your reservation early.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 8, 2017

A wonderful experience. This restaurant was recommended to my wife and every word was true. A great meal, well presented, in a lovely dining room. We will recommend this place to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Aberdeen)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Awesome experience dining at R'evolution. From the food (frog legs fell of the bone -oysters were perfect and the desert magnificent) to the service it was 5 star. Second time there and cannot wait for our next trip to Nawlins to do it again

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.