About Restaurant R'evolution

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Lunch Wednesday - Friday Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Wednesday - Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Monday - Thursday 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday - Saturday 5:30 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Monday - Saturday from 5:00 pm
Sunday from 10:30 am

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Bread Pudding Crème brûlée
Oysters R'evolution
Short Rib
Triptych Of Quail
Bonjour Box
Seared Sea Scallops and Foie Gras
Scrambled Eggs With Crawfish & Caviar
Amouche Bouche
Bbq Gulf Shrimp And Grits
Ice Cream
Unsweet Tea
Diablo Pasta
seafood gumbo
Venison Carpaccio
Old Fasioned Cocktail
Roasted Bone Marrow
Paneed Veal Medallions
Salumi Solo Board
Black Eyed Peas Amuse Bouche
Sizzling Oysters R'evolution Style
Brick Oven Brussels Sprouts, Bacon
The Plate
Bread
Bread Selection
Fire Roasted Oysters R'evolution
Death by Gumbo
Butter Salted And Unsalted And Olive Oil
R'evolution Anniversary Special
Brick Brussel Sprouts With Bacon
Ramos Gin Fizz And Sazerac
Beef Tartare With Black Truffle
Lavash, Biscuit And Wheat Bun. Housemade
Lobster Gnocchi
Chilled Cucumber Mint Soup
Crab Beignet
Familia Charcuterie Board
Caprese Salad
Creole Tomato Grits
White Chocolate Bread Pudding Creme Brulee
Wild Mushroom Puff Pastry
Crawfish-Stuffed Flounder Napoleon
Flounder
Beet Salad
Short Ribs
Filet Mignon
Toasted Marshmallow Ice Cream
Pastry Lagniappe
Guanaja Chocolate Pudding & Coconut Cake
Artichoke-Miriton Au Gratin
Fazzoletti With Crawfish
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Duck
Turbodog Chocolate Cake
Smothered Greens
Brussels Sprouts
Blue Crab Grilled Cheese
Beer-battered Crab Beignets
Sweet Potato & Andouille Hash
Sheep Ricotta Gnocchi With Lobster
Breakfast RA' evolution
Corn And Crab Cappuccino
Veal Chop With Crabmeat Salad
Beef Tartare
Ile Flottante
Paneed Veal
Turtle Soup
House Salad
Goat Cheese Tortellini
Duck Liver Mousse
Quail Triptych
Whipped Blue Cheese Amuse Bouche
Treasure Box
Fire Roasted Oysters
Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes
Oysters On The Half Shell R'evolution Style
Turbodog Stout Chocolate Cake
Seafood Trio
Dessert
Fried Oyster Salad
Trout Muniere
charcuterie
Ribeye Steak
Burrata Cheese And Caviar
Chargrilled Oysters
Paneed Veal And Crab
Striped Bass
Crisp Sweetbreads
Crabmeat Stuffed Louisiana Frog Legs Nicoise
Foie Gras Gougeres
Filet With Mushrooms
Beef Tartare w/ Shaved Black Truffle
Oysters
Birdie in a Nest
El Macho
Chef's Small Bite
Pig Out Board
Duck In Molasses
Linguine With Manila Clams

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
New Orleans / Louisiana
Notable Wine List
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans / Louisiana
3 More
Best Ambiance
New Orleans
Notable Wine List
New Orleans
Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

special occasion (275)
fit for foodies (247)
romantic (194)
See All
notable wine list (183)
good for groups (85)
hot spot (76)
vibrant bar scene (56)
neighborhood gem (55)
great for brunch (39)
great for lunch (19)
late-night find (12)
scenic view (11)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
Sort By:
Newest
2282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday brunch with my daughter who was l ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Sunday brunch with my daughter who was leaving that day. Highly recommended and did not disappoint ! Fried oyster salad was lovely as were the crab beignets , can't wait to go for dinner the next time I am in town!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful service and very good food. Th ...

Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful service and very good food. The appetizer was superb, and the service was equally impeccable. In particular, everyone worked together very well as a team. Coming from New York City, I had two concerns. First, the food was pricey, even by New York City standards and the quality of the entrees did not quite live up to that. Everything was very good but only 1 appetizer (out of two appetizers and 2 entrees) was excellent. And there are a wide range of restaurants consistently delivering very good food at one half to two thirds the price. My other concern is the wine list. I found it exhaustive and a bit pretentious. Yes, there are many wines there ranging in the thousands and even tens of thousands of dollars. However, I find it offensive that I really, really had to hunt for a bottle under $60. Either the mark-up is really high or the sommelier is sending the message that there are no reasonably priced wines anywhere that are acceptable. It is one thing to not find inexpensive wines from Bordeaux, but no wines from Australia under $80-90? Really? So, I am sorry but as someone who eats out often (including many restaurants in this range), I just found this snobby, sending the message that you need to order a $100-200 bottle of wine to try to impress someone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

R'evolution doesn't disspoint. Amazing f ...

Dined 6 days ago

R'evolution doesn't disspoint. Amazing food, outstanding staff, and an upscale atmosphere that doesn't feel stuffy, pretentious, or old. It is a true gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The kitchen, management and wait staff a ...

Dined 6 days ago

The kitchen, management and wait staff are first class! Best place in NOLA to eat, bar none! I've been to all of the "gotta try" restaurants in the city and r'evolution trumps all of them.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Restaurant R'evolution for o ...

Dined 6 days ago

We visited Restaurant R'evolution for our 17th wedding anniversary and we couldn't have ask for more... Food was 'New Orleans' excellent and the service was absolutely the best !!! My wife and I have traveled all over the world and all over the U.S and this could possibly be the best meal and best service that we have EVER had. FANTASTIC !!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional!

Dined 7 days ago

Exceptional!

food5
ambience5
service5

The best restaurant and a must visit if ...

Dined 7 days ago

The best restaurant and a must visit if your in NOLA their oysters were simply amazing had a mixed seafood soup don't quite recall the name but paired it with a Spanish red wine the experience was absolutely delightful a must try for all the food lovers

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was delicious and unique! The a ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was delicious and unique! The atmosphere feels very upscale, but the prices are pretty reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food with "old school" New Orle ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Fabulous food with "old school" New Orleans service. Decor is exquisite.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This meal was perfection. I believe it w ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

This meal was perfection. I believe it was the best meal I have ever had and I would consider myself a foodie. Everything about it was 5 star. (meal, service, menu, atmosphere) I will definitely return when I go back to New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We loved our dinner at R'Evolution. The ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We loved our dinner at R'Evolution. The restaurant was beautiful with three distinct dining areas. Unfortunately we were seated in a more casual "bistro" type room and I would have much preferred to sit in one of the other rooms. I should have said something when we were seated but didn't and regretted it for the rest of the evening. Otherwise the food and service were excellent and the menu had a lot of interesting choices. If I ever went there again I would insist that I be seated in one of the other rooms. I was wondering if I was seated there because I made my reservation through Open Table?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible!!!

Dined on June 20, 2016

Incredible!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated Father's Day with a repeat vi ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Celebrated Father's Day with a repeat visit to Restaurant Revolution. We weren't disappointed. From the excellent appetizers (including the Crab Beignets) to outstanding (& unusual) entrees (Pheasant & Soft Shell Crab) to great desserts, we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Thanks for a great dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second visit was as good as the firs ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Our second visit was as good as the first. Great service, great food. The chopped salad was simple but the addition of the crispy smoked prosciutto made it special and delicious. The crab beignets were a treat, light and lots of crab with four delicious sauces. I ordered the liver and grits since I seldom see it offered. I was not disappointed, I enjoyed it immensely. My companion loved the famous snapping turtle soup and the lobster gnocchi. The apple crisp topped of a home-run Father's Day brunch. The server was very knowledgeable and made us feel very welcome.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The general manager personally came to t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The general manager personally came to table to wish me and fiancé congratulations on our engagement .

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was divine and the atmosphere w ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was divine and the atmosphere was very romantic. The wait staff suggested several different wine pairings, appetizers and entrees and everything was delicious. We look forward to going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I had made a brief mention during my boo ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I had made a brief mention during my booking that this was a special event for a close friend of mine. The staff went out of their way to make it a perfect evening for us, including giving us a private room that is normally the chef's office that oversees the kitchen. Amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in New Orleans

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Best restaurant in New Orleans

food3
ambience4
service3

Food was mediocre. Service was slow but ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was mediocre. Service was slow but polite. Beautiful room

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the best food we had in new orleans. Th ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

the best food we had in new orleans. The crab beinets and jumbo were especially good as well as the white chocolate bread pudding creme brulee (yeah, seriously)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went for our anniversary. ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

My wife and I went for our anniversary. The restaurant is gorgeous, the service staff incredibly attentive, and the food delicious. Couldn't ask for anything better. This is a restaurant you could easily spend a few hundred dollars at or keep things simple and have an appetizer, 2 entrees, and dessert for less than $100. We loved it and will definitely be back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

In New Orleans for my daughter's orienta ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

In New Orleans for my daughter's orientation to Tulane - looking for a solid restaurant and came across this one on Open Table. We were not disappointed. Staff was awesome and food was great!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

French service, very helpful. The food w ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

French service, very helpful. The food was delicious, the place quite and cozy. Price was fair.

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Bar, appetizers and service was excellen ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Bar, appetizers and service was excellent. The 4 different entrees ordered were cold, inadequate in size and nothing at all special. The was a vast difference from previous visits. Our reservations were for 7:30PM it was not very busy at that time, so I'm not sure what the problem could have been this trip. Of 4 adults who visit quality establishments regularly we were all disappointed with our meal.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very good and service and a ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was very good and service and ambiance was top notch. Our server, Sam, was very accommodating for our grandchild and made the whole experience a delight.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything from the moment we arrived to ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything from the moment we arrived to the moment we left was impeccable. The service, the food, and the overall experience cannot be beat. Truly a gem in New Orleans.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a wonderful restaurant. The entir ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant. The entire experience was so enjoyable, from the moment we arrived the staff was so professional, and our dinner was delicious. Will be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Good but expensive

Dined on June 10, 2016

My second time at Revolution. First was a couple years ago and was much better. The food is very good but it is the appetizers that really shine there, the entrees seem a bit off Mark. I had the paneed veal chop w/ crab. Good but over the top and it was $60 - special occasion so I went for it but that's the most expensive entree I've ordered and it was good, not great. Crab didn't come thru for whatever reason. I would rather go to Clancy's ......

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just perfect

Dined on June 5, 2016

It was all that we read and hoped for! Service and food was equal to anywhere and the price was very palatable

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Food was good. Lobster was tough and fis ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was good. Lobster was tough and fishy. In a town with such great options, would probably choose someplace else.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Celebration

Dined on June 3, 2016

We did the 5 course tasting meal at Restaurant R'Evolution. We had to ask for the tasting menu, but were glad we did. The meal was great and the service was even better. I'd had several tasting menu experiences and sometimes the service can be stuffy and uncomfortable. Restaurant R'Evolution managed to execute great service while incorporating the laid-back Southern Charm that made our meal relaxed and enjoyable. They have a 10,000 bottle wine cellar and display the extensive list on an iPad. It was fun to flip through and see all their offerings. After dinner, one of the waiters (we had 4!) offered to show us the cellar and tour the kitchen. Their general manager took us on the tour and happily answered all our questions. Highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant dining

Dined on June 2, 2016

Our experience at R'evolution was as expected-- fantastic! Elegance, great and unique food, and impeccable service characterize our night. We started with the fried crab beignets and shared the quail gumbo. Foolishly, we both ordered entrees when we easily could've split either one. We got the pan fried veal chop (which was huge!) topped with warm crabmeat salad, and a 3-fish dish. We skipped dessert because we were stuffed, but they brought out a cute little box with truffles and other delights to nosh on. The wine list was HUGE (and on an ipad). We ordered Hendricks gin (one was a tonic, the other martini). Service was impeccable and perfect. Highly recommend when in New Orleans for a special night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Needs Analytcal Consult & Improvement

Dined on June 1, 2016

An overwhelming number of dark-suited/necktied waiters (captains?) greeted us. A team of tw of those plus female assist were our "staff," and it is beyond our Understanding how she was hired (never smiled; spoke in rapid-fire, and when asked, repeated again, unintelligibly). Main course fish dishes were both overcooked; dry -- even when soaked in the dish's broth. All courses were beautifully plated. In our experience, R'evolution should be critically rethought in some areas.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

favorite New Orleans Restaurant

Dined on June 1, 2016

this was our second time at R'evolution. it really is our favorite dining in New Orleans. all their dishes are so creative and delicious. the staff are very knowledgeable about the dishes as well. We had 3 small plates because we couldn't decide on just two. Make your reservations and enjoy a wonderful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

From start to finish the restaurant and ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

From start to finish the restaurant and food and staff were absolutely superb! They were so thoughtful and accommodating in every manner. The kitchen tour was fun.

food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was simply amazing! The ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

This restaurant was simply amazing! The exquisite and private dining experience was truly a sanctuary from the brash Bourbon Street foil. I want to emphasize that the service and staff went above and beyond our expectations; there was at any given moment, 3-4 members waiting on our table in different capacities. The food...WOW!!! I started with the beet salad, which was a delicate and balanced Garden of eden! Others had the grilled stuffed oysters and the seafood gumbo of which both were said to be outstandingly delicious! The main course selections were incredible...two of us ordered the veal chop, this tender and juicy piece of meat cut like butter! The Brussel sprouts added a complimentary flavor to the veal chop...this savory dish is highly recommended for meat lovers! PS: the other side dish was the French fries....not to be underestimated whatsoever! These lightly fried potatoes were a piece of heaven! Now, I must redirect your attention to the last entree, which I insisted on tasting..EGGPLANT LASAGNAETTE....this is the dish to have whether as an appetizer, side or main course! I have never enjoyed the flavor of eggplant like this before. The hint of tarragon was surprisingly yummy! Please try this dish as part of your dining experience.!! We now move onto the dessert....save room!! I'm so thrilled that I ordered the Vanilla Bread Pudding- a double wow! So light you can definitely fit this one in, you will be so glad you did! Others at the table described their chocolate molten soufflé as decadent and the vanilla icecream as creamy and yummy. Overall, one of the most memorable and delicious dining experiences ever! A Special thanks to John for the private tour, what a thoughtful touch!! Grazie milli!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and great service!

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Amazing food and great service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch in the French Quarter

Dined on May 29, 2016

If you are looking for a Jazz Brunch with live music, excellent food, and no buffet line, this is the place. The decor was modern but cozy, the food was excellent, and the service was flawless. The Strawberry Pain Perdu (French toast) with berries was creamy and delicious. The R'evolution Breakfast was amazing with perfectly poached eggs and a wonderful Sriracha Hollandaise sauce. The Sweet Potato-Andouille Hash was a great accompaniment. The live trio were very talented; we enjoyed the music very much. Highly recommended for brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really delicious modern creole dishes an ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Really delicious modern creole dishes and some fantastic cocktails as well. The service was wonderful and the service was great. Wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly amazing experience, exactly what I ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Truly amazing experience, exactly what I would have expected from a John Folse Resturant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.