Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Restaurant R'evolution

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Lunch on Fridays Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Nightly 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Saturday 12:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday 5:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (99)
Good for a Date (97)
Romantic (92)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (91)
Creative Cuisine (90)
Fit for Foodies (81)
Notable Wine List (79)
Quiet Conversation (64)
Good for Birthdays (60)
Handcrafted Cocktails (55)
Local Ingredients (46)
Authentic (41)
Business Meals (41)
Worth the Drive (35)
Cozy (34)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Tasting Menu (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Hot Spot (21)
Fun (19)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Live Music (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Casual (6)
Great Beer (6)
Seasonal (6)
Happy Hour (4)
Organic (4)
People Watching (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

I've dined at many fabulous restaurants around the world. Most impressed with every aspect of my experience. This restaurant is a gem and not to be missed for any occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Live Music, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a fabulous anniversary dinner! They gave us two free martinis and a slice of cake. Very classy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful meal attentive wait staff, cannot say enough good things about this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best meals I have ever had! The restaurant is gorgeous with a fantastic atmosphere. The good is exquisitely presented and delicious! The service is outstanding and hands down THE best o have experienced in my life of frequent dining in New Orleans. Could not rate it any better and cannot wait to return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Good food. We got two free desserts and service was attentive but not intrusive. Ambiance was romantic anf good for a date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 19, 2017

I like to dine out at fine and eccentric restaurants, and I will say this is my all-time favorite! The menu and service were amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I have been hearing how great this restaurant is. I must have had my sights set too high because the food just didn't make me swoon. Death by gumbo is a creative form of gumbo with a stuffed quail. It was a stuffed quail with smooth gumbo gravy outed over it. The stuffing (rice) was minimal (less than a tablespoon total and was a bizarre smooth texture. It really was nothing like traditional gumbo, in structure. The mixed salad with crispy vegetables had a very tasty dressing and the veggies were all refreshingly fresh. The croutons were stale or just not crisped up enough, but I don't normally eat them anyways. Service was excellent and they treat you right. I think the food was just lacking at this price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Lives up to it's reputation. One of the top two or three restaurants in New Orleans!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Amazing. The wine list is special and every drop of food we ate was amazing. Some highlights: ciopino, bone in filet, crab beignets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amazing meal, decor & service. Highly recommend if you're visiting New Orleans!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This was our second trip to the restaurant. We went back because it was such an incredible experience the first time. In fact, my sweetheart popped the big question at the restaurant. The staff is so wonderful. They even remembered us a year later and gave us the same table where he proposed. The food is excellent. The scallops are a great and The rabbit perfectly cooked. The drinks are nice and stiff. I just can't say enough good things about the place. And, I can be a bit of a snob. Thank you everyone at Revolution. See you next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Outstanding restaurant. Very creative and comprehensive menu. Truly something for everyone. Expensive but worth the cost considering what is prepared. Nicely decorated and pleasant but not fussy ambiance. Service was attentive but not annoying. Worth a special visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 14, 2017

It was great, the staff and food were great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food very average. Not the best New Orleans dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Superb experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Amazing as always. 5 star.
It's near the top of my list for best food in New Orleans.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Everything was perfect. The food and the service were outstanding. The service had the southern hospitality charm and was very well informed about the menu selections. I highly recommend the Death by Gumbo, Shrimp and Grits and the Brussel Sprouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2017

There for Sunday Brunch. The food was very very very very very very very good and the service was also very very very very very very very very good. The boudin scotch egg was very very very very very very awesome! And the duck fat hash, forget about it, cause it was also very very very good. There's your 50 words open table!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Everything was awesome. Beautiful place located right in the heart of the French Quarter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Spectacular seafood dishes! Definitely recommend the Death by Gumbo and the Sheep Ricotta Gnocchi with Lobster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 9, 2017

What a place! We started with the gumbo, fantastic...the quail was perfectly cooked in the death by Gumbo and so tasty. My wife had the red fish Orleans and found it amazing, I had the Rabbit Natchez and was also very well done. We had no sides and were the better for it as we were stuffed at the end, however we did indeed share the creole cream cheese bread pudding, this was the weakest part of the meal but at that point we really didn't care because the rest was so damn good! The servers were also tremendous and had great enthusiasm and helpful in explaining the menu and dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Eclectic menu with some game dishes like rabbit. Good flavor and love the different selection of warm rolls/bread. Didn't get to try the 5 course meal but like to do it next time if we are in New Orleans.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our party of six greatly enjoyed our meal. The food was delicious!

Service was friendly and efficient, but for a fine dining establishment in New Orleans, surprisingly inexperienced and unprofessional (second bottle of wine was not offered for tasting and instead poured into the same glasses holding the remnants of the first bottle; a server drew attention to a butter knife dropped by one of my guests rather than discretely providing a fresh knife: a server did not have a white napkin available for a guest wearing white [the server offered to get one but he should have arrived at the table prepared], etc.).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Food was great, they accommodated a last minute change from 7 to 8 people, good service. All-around a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 7, 2017

This is the best dining experience in New Orleans. From the moment you walk through the front door you know that you are about to experience truly special experience. Start with a craft cocktail, the likes of which you can't experience anywhere else. The staff is just the right amount of attentive, never intrusive, but there when you need them. The food is simply perfect. From the amuse bouche to the surprise at the end of the meal you will end your evening knowing you have enjoyed the best this City has to offer. A special shout out to Kevin, Luke and Isaac, you took such excellent care of me. It is not always comfortable dining alone, but I had a terrific evening. Thank you.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Hands-down one of the if not "THE BEST" restaurant in New Orleans. From Luis the front manager to Brooke the Beverage Manager and Alex P (captain) to all the staff are well versed on the menu, service and food. Everyone here makes your experience OUTSTANDING>> Crab Beneits are to die for as is the Fried Oyster Salad is a true delight! I had the blacken filet-cooked to perfection with side bone marrow added a true delight to my meal. Husband had the Cajun Cioppino filled with Shrimp, Clams, Mussels, Crawfish, Blue Crab Lollipop in Spicy Fish Stew-OUTSTANDING... Third visit this time and each time is PERFECTION! Love the pressed coffee and homemade ice creams

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

I wanted to order everything.. so good. The service was great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We sat at the bar on a Sunday afternoon for brunch. The service was lacking, but the food was great. We both had the grillades and grits and it was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was impeccable. What a treat. Ambiance was quite and comfortable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Restaurant R'evolution is a perfect place to celebrate that special event, have a romantic dinner, or dine with friends. The service is exceptional and the cuisine first rate!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fantastic service and attention to our tables needs! So accommodating and engaging. The food was beautiful and delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 2, 2017

2 years!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

DaShawn was our favorite!!! Hopefully I spelled it correctly. But EVERYTHING was SUPERB! It was our anniversary and we will DEFINITELY be back!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Wait staff was almost condescending and over attentive. I changed my reservations via open table app arrived with no reservation request. Hostess was very accommodating and reassurance with seating. Enjoy good fortune to return to Revolution 4 visit look forward to visiting many more years

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The atmosphere was very professional but comfortable. The waiter was extremely helpful with selection and knew the menu well.
The food was rich and stunningly presented. It was nice and quiet. Very fine dining.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I was disappointed that the Coolinary offering did not include dessert or choices. More importantly, I was disappointed in the service. The food was delicious, especially the shrimp and the french fries. The ice cream was scrumptious. But that is what I expect from a restaurant with the reputation this one has.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Wonderful restaurant with terrific extensive menu & wine list with professional, gracious service served in an elegant environment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The squash risotto was so salty I could not eat it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Crab beignets were so light and tasty!
Was disappointed with the scallops entree with the celery salad which didn't go together. Scallops were very salty too.
Nothing special with Brussels sprouts/bacon.
Great selection of sorbets and ice creams.
Enjoyed the special plate of candies and cookies at the conclusion of the dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Amazing service paired with amazing food equals an amazing evening. Highly recommend this place!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.