Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Restaurant R'evolution

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Lunch on Fridays Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Nightly 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Saturday 12:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday 5:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (95)
Good for Anniversaries (82)
Good for a Date (73)
See All
Romantic (72)
Creative Cuisine (69)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Notable Wine List (56)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Authentic (38)
Business Meals (38)
Local Ingredients (37)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Worth the Drive (29)
Hot Spot (28)
Good for Groups (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Fun (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Seasonal (13)
Cozy (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
People Watching (12)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Casual (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Live Music (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
3359 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 2 days ago

Really good & tasty... an exceptional experience.

Daniel & Zack gave us an excellent service and their recommendations were ordered and perfectly served. We had four appetizers and two entrees plus a dessert... all were so delicious.

Highly recommended!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and excellent service. It was a jazz brunch and the music was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

I would rate this restaurant as top five in New Orleans. Food, wine selection, and service were spectacular. I will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined 4 days ago

The best culinary experience in New Orleans. Truly a must unbelievably good and the service is perfect, extremely attentive and accommodating absolutely perfect!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Seemed a bit formal/old school for what’s supposed to be a contemporary restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 9, 2018

Wonderful restaurant! I would highly recommend for personal or business. I went with two colleagues, we were looking for a place to host a business dinner. R'evolution is number one on our list. The service was impeccable, unique food dishes that were excellently prepared and plated. We will be back with our larger group!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2018

This is one of the most professionally run restaurants we have ever been to. The team in the front of the house nailed it from beginning to end- we felt like VIPs the entire time. The food was also impeccably prepared and absolutely delicious. This was our second visit... we normally only return somewhere that really impressed (which results in disappointment more often than not). Restaurant R'evolution might have been even better the second time around, which is really saying something!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2018

We chose to dine in the bar for brunch. We could here the live jazz band and enjoy a cozy atmosphere. The service was excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Fantastic, creative, food. The death by gumbo was fantastic.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Once again never disappoints, food was fantastic, service was excellent, other than the annoyance of the french quarter congestion to get there we had a fantastic experience as always.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 7, 2018

Food and service was fantastic. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Good value at this price point, but there is much better food within a short walk. Beautiful room, nice lighting, so it's romantic.

We did feel a bit rushed out the door.... We ordered an appetizer, which came with the salads... Then the mains appeared before the salads we're finished....well, it WAS late, and cold, so maybe everyone just wanted to go home.

In their defense, this is pretty good for a restaurant that's part of a hotel, as opposed to a separate establishment that has to stand on its own two feet.

Not bad, but with attention to detail, could be a lot better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Just Meh.....Not going to go back again it is expensive and not up to par with the other restaurants in New Orleans. The biggest negative was the food. The sweetbreads, gumbo, and venison carppaccio were all just ok. Nothing exciting and the sweetbreads were overcooked. My wife ordered the scallops and foie gras, I ordered the lemonfish. Her dish was the only one of the night that was up to the standard of a restaurant in the price range and quality. The meal as a whole was disappointing, neither the service nor the food was remarkable or even memorable. This restaurant is a complete pass, with so many to try in NOLA, try another one

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Rory made my friends’ birthdays unforgettable!! Wonderful evening!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 5, 2018

For me personally...not all that impressed. Obviously a lot of other people like it though, because it gets good ratings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Excellent food. We enjoyed our waiter for the beginning of the meal but felt a bit abandoned after the appetizers were served...all in all great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Loved it. Great food, awesome service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2018

No. Just no. This is a silly restaurant. All flair, no substance. Food was fine at best. But totally disjointed experience. Lots of carrying on and pretense, but ordinary cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2018

Quiet Tuesday night. Beautiful place, amazing menu, great friendly service , food exceeded expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 2, 2018

The food is always good here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2018

My husband, friends and I had the most amazing dining experience celebrating my husband Ryan’s Birthday. Thank you so much to your staff for everything we loved it :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 2, 2018

This was our second visit to Restaurant R’evolution and once again it didn’t disappoint. You’ll pay for it by the food and service was well worth the experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Everything was great for New Years however our waiter rushed us through our meal because he wanted to get out to celebrate New Years. Fo r me personally, his passive aggressive behavior severely affected my enjoyment. I’m all for celebrating New Years but at those prices I did not appreciate wait staff taking dishes off the table before we were finished eating, etc.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Beautiful meal! The best we had in New Orleans!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Great food and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful brunch that offered a very unique menu of food & drinks. The service was excellent and the Death By Gumbo was excellent. A live jazz band that wandered around the dining area added to a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Was disappointed in the food. Not worth the price. $18 glass of house wine. Duck entree was cold. Just better food around for the money and I don't mind paying that price for food, but it should have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 29, 2017

My sister lives in Baton Rouge and recommended it to me after attending the opening and it did not disappoint. This was my husband's first time in the city and our experience tops any restaurant in the country! The food was excellent and the service was on point. I'll visit again for sure. The wine list was amazing! One of the best meals I've ever had! The 'Death By Gumbo; Frog Legs, smoked tuna were amazing appetizers and the Red Fish was amazing too! Great job!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2017

We were visitors to New Orleans. We wanted a fine dining experience and we found it at Restaurant R’evolution. There were three for dinner. The room was elegant. The service was great. We each enjoyed a special cocktail. We started with a 5 selection cheese tray. There was more than enough for the three of us. I would still get the 5 cheese version because the alternatives were all awesome. Dinner was also excellent. I had a filet mignon which was cooked to perfection. My daughter had the braised short ribs which she loved. We ordered a side dish size risotto. Very tasty. All in all this was a great experience. I would gladly go again and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great meal experience In the French Quarter.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2017

One of the best service experiences we have ever encountered
Super high end service but not pretentious
Extremely knowledgeable and attentive waitstaff
The food was over the top!
Prepared perfectly
Sweetbreads were delicious
House cured meats were also delicious
Overall fantastic experience
Make sure you ask for a kitchen tour at the end of the meal

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2017

The food and ambiance were amazing for my wife’s BD celebration. She’s from Louisiana and declared the Death by Gumbo as the best gumbo she’s ever had. The Fried Oysters Bleu Cheese & Bacon Salad and the Rabbit Schnitzel were also recommend by our very knowledgeable head waiter. Both were delicious with incredible combinations of flavors and textures. The Rabbit Schnitzel was hands down amazing. The only recommendation from our waiter that was not 5-star was the Redfish which we both thought was good but not extraordinary. The only reason we didn’t rate this fabulous dining experience 5-star across the board was the spotty service we received and poorly timed presentation of courses. I believe this was an anomaly partially due to Kitchen issues and our particular waiter. The head waiters and support staff attending to other tables appeared to be first class as one would expect from a restaurant of this class. The restaurant manager sincerely apologized for failing to meet our expectations. Despite this misstep we’d love to come back and give them another try. We’ve added R’evolution to our list of favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Service by Rory, D’Shawn and Robert was top notch. The food was delightful and the whole evening was a great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Very good dinner. Our waiter Rory assisted us very successfully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2017

We wanted this to be our premier dinner and dining experience. That it was not not - our table was in a wind tunnel, like a walk way and our attempts to have he door kept closed were ignored. The service started out 5 star,but deteriorated quickly, we did not receive menu descriptions as other tables did or a breakdown of our charcuterie platter as other tables did, and our courses were too spread out. By the time desert came, our waiter served me a lemon wedge( not the peel) with my espresso - yikes - and why? So sad. I will not recommend this place ☹️

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2017

It's an experience. Take your time with the generous appetizers and leave room for the amazing desserts. The selection of Digestive drinks is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

my favorite NOLA restaurant...always creative menu in a beautiful environment. R'evolution is a world class restaurant. Can be difficult to secure a table as are all the best restaurants.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Food quality unsurpassed, service all encompassing and abundantly helpful. A venu to always return to on every trip to NOLA.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2017

everything from begining till the end was great highly recomend

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Great dinner ! Amazing flavors! Wonderful service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.