Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Restaurant R'evolution

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Lunch on Fridays Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Nightly 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Saturday 12:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday 5:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (133)
Good for a Date (120)
Creative Cuisine (118)
See All
Fit for Foodies (115)
Good for Anniversaries (114)
Romantic (109)
Notable Wine List (83)
Local Ingredients (59)
Quiet Conversation (57)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Business Meals (54)
Handcrafted Cocktails (51)
Authentic (48)
Worth the Drive (39)
Cozy (38)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Bar Seating (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Fun (29)
Hot Spot (25)
Tasting Menu (22)
Open Kitchen (22)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Great for Brunch (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Comfort Food (14)
People Watching (12)
Private Room (12)
Seasonal (10)
Historic (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Casual (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Live Music (7)
Great Beer (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
3104 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

A great choice for a creative twist on NOLA food. It is beautifully decorated and just around the corner of Bourbon Street. It holds it's own with any top line other choice! The Big Easy is back and better then ever!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

This is not just grabbing a meal. This place is an experience. New Orleans is a foodies heaven and this place is definitely one of its Shepherds! Although it was not perfect, we experienced a few kitchen fails. We had to send back one of our dishes for food being over cooked and A dessert order malfunction. All of this was remedied quickly and perfectly! The staff and service was amazing! I would recommend this to any of my highly critical friends... most of them are chefs! Lol

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent meal and outstanding service. We enjoyed everything about Revolution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

I went to Restuarant R'volution for my birthday. The food was great. We had a grilled oyster appetizer to split between 2 people. We each had an appetizer salad with fried oysters as our entree. We also had some delicious ice creams and sorbets. Overall, it was a very nice experience. Since it was on the expensive side(for me), I would probably go again for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great experience. The squash risotto was amazing. Plus the wine selection and service was outstanding. The southern hospitality was felt through the service and foods.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Amazing from start to finish! We were seated promptly. Crab beignets with 5 different sauces was incredible! I had the red fish and my husband the braised short ribs. Both were excellent. Dessert was good. The addition of the beautiful box of candies at the end was a wonderful ending to an exceptional meal! Wait staff was friendly and quick. We enjoyed every minute here.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Everyone was wonderful to us except the bartender that ignored us when we stopped at the bar for a pre dinner drink. No reason either in my opinion. Over five minutes without so much as a "hello" or "be with you in a minute". But we were totally satisfied with all servers during our delightful dinner. The rabbit and the steak tartare was fantastic.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

OUTSTANDING! Ate there twice in one week. Out of this world.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our meal from start to finish was excellent. I love their attention to detail and their service is amazing! We will be back! I also recommend sitting in the chefs kitchen. I especially recommend the artichoke mirliton appetizer, the veal chopped topped with truffle crabmeat, and the white chocolate bread pudding creme brûlée.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had a great time! The food was amazing, but that's not uncommon in new orleans. What was remarkable was the service! They went above an beyond to be accommodating to my food allergy and made our anniversary dinner spectacular.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Amazing food! One of the best dinners we have had in a long time.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Service and attention to detail were superb. Homemade pastas, steak, and oysters were excellent. We went for a family celebratory dinner, and the staff went out of their way to make it a memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Amazing cuisine and the menu changes with the seasons. Make it a must when in New Orleans.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Went there last night having friends in from out of town. It was our 4th time dining and maybe the best. The wine list is spectacular and we enjoyed 2 very nice bottles of Rose Champagne. Had not ever tried the caviar and decided it was time to try and had the Russian Osetra wonderful! Next we moved on to Foie Gras and Truffle Mousse also most wonderful. As the girls mainly wanted to graze we then shared the sweetbreads also recommend . As to mains the men moved on to Filet and the other Rabbit , both out of this world. as a side we had the Artichoke-Mirliton au Gratin which was good also. As to dessert we shared the Creole Cream Cheese Bread Pudding Creme Brulee, lets just say it was the end to a perfect meal. The service is outstanding and could not have been more attentive. It was a pricey meal but one that will be remembered for a long time to come. Will be back to enjoy another outstanding meal!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The restaurant was beautiful, especially the windows, doors, and courtyard. The service was warm and friendly, yet formal. The food was almost too wonderful to describe. We each ordered different items from the menu to compare. My fish and its accompaniments were perfectly cooked. The vegetables and other parts of the meal tasted fresh and clean. I was almost too full for dessert, but am so glad I added the lemon sorbet! The little chest with sweets was pretty and the contents delicious!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. The food is so delicious and special. The service is exceptionally good. We were treated like royalty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 11, 2017

There are too many good restaurants in New Orleans with good service and good food to waste my time at R'evolution. The food was amazing, but sadly the service was terrible. I have had better service at Olive garden.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The food was excellent for our business dinner. Unlike many spots in the French Quarter, this was restaurant was quiet, elegant and delicious. I highly recommend the Braised Boneless Short Ribs which melted in my mouth.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Our food was delicious and the service was amazing. Tina was our waitress and she took us in a tour of the kitchen and wine room it was so cool. Amazing food and fantastic value for the level of cuisine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The team service was pretty much impeccable. The food was delicious. You must try the Quail and the seared sea scallops and foie gras.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The best restaurant I have been to in the World, and I am a very well traveled. Nothing but great things to say about this place. Will be back in the future for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Have eaten here before and is one of our favorites. Menu rarely disappoints; however, this time one of our favorite items was removed (red velvet beignets). Service was not up to the usual consistency of our previous visits. There were several open tables, yet we were probably placed at the most undesireable of the restaurant near the service station. Even though we indicated on the reservation that it was a special Occiason, our table configuration for party of two made it difficult for conversation. Our head waiter was noticeably absent at times and forgot our coffee with dessert. We couldn't even get his attention to tell him that then pen that accompanied the check was out of ink. We felt rushed rather than the courses paced out. Disappointed that they knew it was a special event, yet these things happened. Will return hoping this was a one time mishap.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I honestly cannot think of one thing that can be improved on. We were seated quickly, the staff was charming and informative, and the food was some of the best I've ever tasted. I highly recommend Restaurant R'evolution!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, attentive staff, superb food. A must if you want ambience and great cuisine in nola.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food and service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Superb as always! Among my top favorite restaurants worldwide. Absolutely excellent in every way.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Wonderful dinner, again. We've been here many times and loved each time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Everything was delicious. Service was excellent. We had the shrimp and grits, redfish, fire roasted oysters and steak tartare. We also had the homemade ice cream which we loved. Came here on a recommendation from our food tour guide Ben. Thank you Ben!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 3, 2017

My husband and I loved our dinner at Restaurant Revolution. We started in the bar and my husband had an Old Fashioned. After, we were seated in the dining room. The ambiance, food, service, and experience was a full delight. I was slightly limited on what I could consume as I am currently pregnant, but I will be back in the future to get the full experience. My husband had the steak tartare and he said it was delicious; this was the whole reason I chose this restaurant as Steak Tartare is his favorite. We were not disappointed. We will be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The food and service were fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Everything was great, the mussels were not fresh but everything else was great, good service. I would recommend.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Delightful. We had brunch here and I can definitely say Crab Beignets were amazing, as were the "breakfast r'evolution" that was a play on an eggs Benedict, which included foie grass and black truffles (enough that you could really taste them) and the crab cakes, that were barely cakes at all as much as just clusters of perfectly done crab meat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The selection of inventive menu items was impressive. We could have returned for another meal and not have exhausted items that we would like to experience. We enjoyed each of our choices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Fantastic experience. Delicious food. Romantic ambience. Beautiful interior.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This was one of the best meals iced ever had. The Death by Gumbo was exquisite!!!!! The presentation of the food and attention to detail are unparalleled. Everything was done to perfection!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Superb 5 star service. Excellent food. Excellent ambiance. Great for special occasions

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This dinner was a surprise birthday dinner for my father while he was vacationing in NOLA. I love that they allowed me to pay via phone so that he can have a carefree pre fixe menu with no costs. Him and his guests loved the 5 course meal and stated that the staff and service was exceptional. He was awed by the way every detail was taken care of for his special day.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great service and the food was delicious. Came for my girlfriend's birthday dinner and was amazed by everything and their hospitality to create such a great birthday experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Fantastic dining experience at Revolution! We were impressed with the quality, presentation, creativity and service. All excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Consistently superior food and service. Another perfect meal! Took our own wine and they did a beautiful job decanting for us.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.