About Restaurant R'evolution

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Lunch Wednesday - Friday Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Wednesday - Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Monday - Thursday 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday - Saturday 5:30 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Monday - Saturday from 5:00 pm
Sunday from 10:30 am

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans / Louisiana
5 More
Best Service
New Orleans
Best Ambiance
New Orleans
Notable Wine List
New Orleans
Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

special occasion (272)
fit for foodies (250)
romantic (197)
See All
notable wine list (188)
good for groups (89)
hot spot (83)
vibrant bar scene (63)
neighborhood gem (49)
great for brunch (44)
great for lunch (23)
scenic view (13)
late-night find (12)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (4)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food, impeccable service.

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Good food, impeccable service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant R'evolution in New Orleans

Dined 5 days ago

Just back from a week in New Orleans and the list of great restaurants included the likes of Commander's Palace, Gautreau's, Acme Oyster House, Drago's, Willie Mae's Scotch House, Parkway Bakery & Tavern, Central Grocery and not a bad meal in the lot. I must say we saved the best for last. Our last night we dined at Restaurant R'evolution and it was superb, service was spot on and the dediction to their food was evidenced by their dissatisfaction with an element of their foie gras that evenening so they pulled it rather than to serve anything that wasn't stellar. The steak tartare was like butter, the shrimp and grits were sublime with the addition of mascarpone cheese. Try any of the restaurants I have include above but don't miss a night at Restaurant R'evolution!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I think that we went on a off day.

Dined 7 days ago

We went for a Sunday brunch and it took 3 hours to be served. We were a party of 4 and 2 of the four did not receive their side dish with their entrée. Another wait. We even had to wait for our car that was valet parked, although the parking is independent from the restaurant, yet part of the Royal Sonesta. It was a birthday celebration and ultimately we were disappointed. I had heard wonderful things about the restaurant and was ready for a great experience. Unfortunately, that did not happen. Lots of gaps in between each course.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service

Dined on May 22, 2016

The whole experience was the best in the city!! I will return!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

This was my fourth visit to R'evolution, ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was my fourth visit to R'evolution, and I the food quality has declined considerably. I was also unimpressed by the waitstaff's guidance. They recommended very ordinary dishes and little wine advice. As you can see from their website, R'evolution is not cheap. The food and experience are simply not worth the money. That said, the restaurant is beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I never miss a chance when in New Olrean ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

I never miss a chance when in New Olreans to visit this restaurant. Menu-wise, its just wonderful, and the service is some of the best in the Quarter. I feel full and pampered and happy very time I leave.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food were GREAT and Moll ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

The service and food were GREAT and Molly the sommelier is a gem!

food5
ambience5
service5

Gumbo was fantastic. Loved the fish spec ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Gumbo was fantastic. Loved the fish special! Outstanding flavors! Crab beignets were out of this world!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Tomahawk steak for two was cooked to ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The Tomahawk steak for two was cooked to perfection. Try the raw salad, nicely prepared. Cocktails and wine excellent.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

A for ambience, A for service, A for aur ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

A for ambience, A for service, A for aural and body comfort, A for presentation, but B for food. My wife told the lady in charge of the service in our area of the dining room that the oysters weren't so good (as elsewhere in New Orleans) and when we praised a later dish, the lady replied "We try to achieve mediocre at best." That amazingly inappropriate sarcasm soured us on the rest of the meal. My "crisp" sweetbread wasn't crisp. Overall, great place with the fatal flaw of self-satisfaction.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food - wonderful wait staff - ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Wonderful food - wonderful wait staff - wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2

Second time here and I was so excited to ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Second time here and I was so excited to celebrate my anniversary. Our waiter ignored us, we had to flag other staff down to order and beg for the check. Food is mostly excellent here but the pheasant was awful and I couldn't palate it.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The restaurant was beautiful, great serv ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful, great service and the food missed the target. Shrimp had an iodine taste, snapper with hoisin in s salty broth that was overbearing even for the noodles. Sweetbreads great. Sent out s scallop in puff pastry tasted like ammonia. Crab beignets tasted like a crab cake with too much mayo. Bread could have been packaged. Wait staff and management were very concerned. Disappointing to all.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing all around. Best meal by ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Simply amazing all around. Best meal by far in New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Atmosphere and service were very good, f ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Atmosphere and service were very good, food was fine though not really special, however the wine prices are crazy high! With all the other great places to eat, not sure it is worth it, however we might try it again on a future trip - just not in a hurry to do so.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Several different dining rooms. Our tabl ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Several different dining rooms. Our table was right next to the kitchen; very noisy with lots of foot traffic. Food is very good but over priced; not good value.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We thought it was overpriced for lunch. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We thought it was overpriced for lunch. Pho soup broth salty and fish overcooked. Strawberry salad was really good and creme brulle bread pudding delicious! Virgin Bloody Mary (no liquor) and Pellagrino way over priced.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience!!! Five Stars all the ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Amazing experience!!! Five Stars all the way!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our new favorite restaurant in the Frenc ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Our new favorite restaurant in the French Quarter! By far the best meal we've had in NOLA, and we've eaten there a lot. Great bar, great ambiance in the restaurant, superb service, and a very memorable meal. We will return every time we are back in area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Favorite Location

Dined on May 9, 2016

Restaurant Revolution is one of our favorite dinner spots in New Orleans. The atmosphere is enjoyable, the wine list is good and the food is excellent. Our service is also top notch, I appreciate everyone's professionalism.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rightfully the Hot Spot for gourmet dini ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Rightfully the Hot Spot for gourmet dining in the Quarter. Great food, presentation, service, and prices on par with other excellent choices in town.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Death by Gumbo - always a treat! Crab Be ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Death by Gumbo - always a treat! Crab Beignets and Fire Roasted Oysters to start. And, the Paneed Veal Chop was the Centerpiece. Definitely a unique treat in the crowded N'awlins French Quarter food scene!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our first experience at Revolution and it was memorable. Kevin, our server, was awesome. He had a great personality and sense of humor...and excellent knowledge of the cuisine and history of the restaurant. All of the food was well prepared and presented. I won't bore people with description of everything we had. I have a feeling that everything on the menu is terrific. I will come to Revolution again when I visit New Orleans.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Disappointed.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were a group of 4 traveling for a long weekend and grabbed an early evening reservation on Mother's Day Sunday for dinner. Our service started out amazing, appetizers were perfect, and the restaurant itself is lovely. However, 3 of our 4 appetizers were fair to bad quality and we had to send 2 back. These were the Death by Gumbo and 2 orders of the Cracklin’ Crusted Shrimp N’ Grits. However, my order of the Braised Boneless Short Ribs couldn't be better. The grits were cold on the plate and the shrimp were overcooked. The quail in the death by gumbo just tasted off. Although it seemed we had up to 4 servers taking care of us, once the entrees were delivered, there was rarely an appearance. We had to ask for butter for the bread (never came-bread was cleared), request more drinks, request more water, etc. They were extremely kind regarding the dishes that we sent back and the re-delivered plates were great, but at this price point, it was disappointing. While waiting for the 2 dishes to be remade, never was an attempt made to bring a drink or bread while waiting. Based on the number of great reviews, our guess is that they must have had a wave of new hires and we happened to get an off night. We skipped dessert and went elsewhere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner! Service was top notch, a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing dinner! Service was top notch, and they were very accommodating to our little one. The Death by Gumbo and fried quail biscuit were my favorite apps, and the creme brûlée bread pudding was delicious. Totally worth the trip to the Quarter.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

LOVE IT

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing service and great food. Death by Gumbo is a must!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. We arrived a li ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and service. We arrived a little early for our reservation and were promptly seated. Even though we didn't order dessert, we were presented with a multi-drawer cabinet of little sweet treats that were yummy and a nice end to a lovely meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Our table was in the first dining area o ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Our table was in the first dining area off the entrance/bar section. It was to the right as you faced the wait staff area at the entrance to the lovely dining room with pastoral wallpaper. It was a very busy location from my seat which faced all the commotion. At times there were three to five wait staff moving behind my husband, not to mention intermittent parades of guests being seated in the dining room behind us. I have been in 1950's diners which were less frenetic. This was a constant distraction to the exceptional service and cuisine. If offered this table, I would suggest you might enjoy coming back another time. There were some lovely touches to the evening. The amuse bouche was delightful and the "Happy Anniversary" plate with its three miniature pastries was perfection. We loved the seared scallop appetizer which should not be shared it is so special. (Well, it could be shared, but you will wish you had the whole thing to yourself.)The crab beignets were good, but if I had to choose just one appetizer it would be the former. For mynmain coirse, the triptych of quail was interesting, but lacked a zing factor. I think a watermelon pickle square (or minced) would perk up the fried section. The boudin section was nicely flavored, but could have had a cranberry or two for color and flavor. The riced section I would put in the middle between the other two. Then staff should recommend a green side, perhaps asparagus, to break the monotony of meat and starch. Or two sprigs of asparagus grilled could be added instead of so much rice. My husband had the beef tornados which were done to perfection. For dessert, the bread pudding was the best we have ever had. It is definitely worth every calorie! The presentation was also exceptional, so it really should be a part of your experience. It is so good, you may not even notice the commotion surrounding a less than ideal table placement.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service

Dined on May 6, 2016

Outstanding food and service

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

One of the best meals that I have EVER had. Everything. SO GOOD.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Dining Revolution

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

The atmosphere was beautiful. It evoked the warmth of a private home. The flavors and preparation of the food made for an amazing meal. The menu was so varied and creative that it made the selection process quite difficult. We wanted to sample it all. The wait staff were knowledgeable and friendly. Overall, a memorable dining experience. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice Evening at Revolution

Dined on May 5, 2016

Good restaurant with good service and food but the wine prices for some reason are excessive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food I have had here beside Brennan ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Best food I have had here beside Brennan's and the turtle soup is amazing I will be a regular at this restaurant!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stunning!

Dined on May 2, 2016

I thoroughly enjoy food just as a general rule, but this place was amazing! This is the first time in memory where a chef has managed to surprise me with every bite. Unique flavor pairings created a truly memorable flavor experience. You know you are tasting something special when you can only giggle as you savor the bite. When you can't believe how fantastic it is...you can only laugh. The service was exceptional! I have an extensive history with the service industry and I was completely impressed. This restaurant exceeded my expectations on every level, and I can't wait for the opportunity to visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food, pretty good service, a little cheesy

Dined on May 2, 2016

We had a nice group dinner at Restaurant R'Evolution on Jazzfest weekend. They were really patient with our post-Jazzfest group, although some of the staff were nicer than others. Definitely a little over the top with their iPad wine list, which I think detracted from the dinner rather than augmenting it. And the sommelier definitely upsold us on some wine because I couldn't navigate to more reasonably priced wines. In the end, the wines were acceptable, but really the food was excellent. I had a modern take on pho, and every detail was spectacular. The death by gumbo was nice too, although the sheep ricotta gnocchi was a little too rich for my taste. All in all, a nice experience, if a bit cheesy with the iPads, sliding doors to the kitchen, and dessert in a box.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't wait to go back

Dined on May 2, 2016

Everything about Restaurant L'Revolution was fantastic. The rooms are beautiful, the food is fabulous, our server and Anthony (not sure what his actual job is, but he was great at describing the food, and took us on a kitchen tour when we were done), the ambiance (not stuffy at all) - we loved everything about it. I could nitpick exactly one thing - my friend said the mussels in the bouillabaisse were a tad dry. We had the petit filet, bouillabaisse, tuna, lobster gnocchi, potato gratin, sautéed mushrooms, crab beignets, fire-roasted oysters for a party of four. Unfortunately, we had no time for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Creative, delicious food

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was outstanding - creative and delicious. It had a New Orleans twist, but with a modern flair. The atmosphere was more formal than I prefer, verging on stuffy. It was very quiet. In terms of mood, I prefer something a bit livelier. The food was incredible, so I was very happy with our dinner there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Still an above average restaurant

Dined on May 1, 2016

Special occasion restaurant for my family. Service was impeccable, as always. Menu fantastic. Our table had the following meal. Started off with salumi board, the proscuitto was some of the best I have ever eaten. Loved the mixed jams with the bread. Oysters on the half shell were perfect. Seafood gumbo was very good. Death by gumbo was good, but the meat did not fall off the bones of the quail like it has had in the past. Salad with fried oysters was tasty. Grouper entree, triple quail, steak, and lobster and ricotta gnocchi was all very good. Only miss, and it was a big miss, was the bouillabaisse. I like salty food, and I think the bouillabaisse should have a briny, salty flavor. Unfortunately it was so over salted I could not eat it. The waitress offered to bring me another, but at that point I was full, so I declined. They graciously took it off of the bill. Again, it was a great dining experience, bit disappointed with the bouillabaisse, but rest of meal very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as always. Lobster Gnocchi alw ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderful as always. Lobster Gnocchi always my favorite. The steak was like butter!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

This place is fantastic- a little expens ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

This place is fantastic- a little expensive for what you get regarding the amount of food, but overall great! I would call it a special occasion restaurant. I would also recommend a dress code as it's that type of place. I will definitely go back!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.