Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Restaurant R'evolution

Serving Dinner daily, Sunday Jazz Brunch and Lunch on Fridays Restaurant R’evolution is the first joint venture of award-winning chefs John Folse and Rick Tramonto, offering modern, imaginative reinterpretations of classic Cajun and Creole cuisine. Steeped in the diverse historic and cultural influences of Louisiana, the menu features not only the chef’s interpretations of New Orleans classics such as gumbo, po’ boys, and beignets, but also new creations highlighting ingredients from what Chef Folse refers to as “the swamp floor pantry.” Table-side service components play an important role in the dining experience, promoting guest engagement about the history and evolution of the food they are enjoying. Soups such as Creole Louisiana Snapping Turtle Soup and Death by Gumbo play on unusual presentations of these traditional dishes that date back centuries. Desserts showcase classical New Orleans sweets done in a new and contemporary way.

777 Bienville St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Creole, Cajun

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Friday 11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

JAZZ BRUNCH
Sunday 10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

DINNER
Nightly 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

BAR R'EVOLUTION
Saturday 12:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday 5:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 553-2277

Website:
http://revolutionnola.com/

Catering:
Five dining rooms within the restaurant can be privatized to accommodate groups from 6 to 30. Larger groups can be accommodated in the adjoining Fleur de Lis Suite to include custom designed R'evolution menus for groups up to 160.

Parking Details:
$12 for 3 Hours of Valet Parking or Self Parking is available in the Royal Sonesta Hotel garage with entrances on both Bienville and Conti Streets

Public Transit:
Canal at Bourbon Street

Executive Chef:
John Folse and Rick Tramonto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant R'evolution Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (121)
Good for Anniversaries (107)
Creative Cuisine (102)
See All
Romantic (98)
Good for a Date (87)
Fit for Foodies (85)
Notable Wine List (79)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Local Ingredients (53)
Business Meals (50)
Authentic (47)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Handcrafted Cocktails (43)
Worth the Drive (39)
Open Kitchen (32)
Cozy (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Hot Spot (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Bar Seating (22)
Private Room (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Fun (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Historic (19)
Modern Decor (17)
People Watching (16)
Tasting Menu (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Seasonal (9)
Healthy (9)
Live Music (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Casual (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Family Style (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Spicy (3)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
2846 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Spectacular service. 10 stars to the staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous food and very friendly staff. Their charcuterie is some of the best around. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

yes the restaurant is very nice and the food was really good we have an apt in the French qrt and we like going there for brunch during the year

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

A truly excellent restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

We were traveling through NOLA on our move from the East Coast to the West Coast. Our last night in Tampa before leaving we ate at a Flemings, and our waiter told us that he had been to New Orleans last year, ate at R'evolution, and that it was a memorable experience. When we got to town, we wanted to reserve a brunch date for the following day, a Sunday. I did a quick search using the "Best Brunch near me" and R'evolution came up, so we booked it.

All we can say is WOW! The competency of the service, the casual elegance and the food was simply outstanding. We shared one meal and several sides, and every one was a showstopper. Delicious, elegant and comfortable. We'll make it a point to return to town from out west just to do this again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was just ok. Service was ok. Nothing great about this place. Our steaks were lukewarm and very rare. They made it kind of an awkward situation when we asked if they had a dessert menu. They said they didn't and we asked for our check and then they brought two spoons out and said they were bringing us something which never came and then we got our check. It didn't make a lot of since so we just left. Not impressed and wish we didn't celebrate a birthday here. GW Finns is a much better place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 4 days ago

From the first bite of the crab beignets, we knew we'd made the right choice in coming here. Ricotta gnocchi with lobster and braised pork cheek were both phenomenal. Sommelier suggested the perfect wines to accompany our food. Dessert was beautifully presented and delicious, but not so huge as to put us over the edge after a very fine meal indeed. Service was outstanding: attentive but not intrusive. Most highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Service,atmosphere and dinner was great-we will recommend to friends

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Brought our 12 and 16 year old children to NOLA, and this was our first dinner in town. Food was fabulous across the board. Service was perfect balance between solicitous and patient. Wine list was as advertised - had a delightful wine from Montefalco, where my wife and I had celebrated our anniversary several years ago. Definitely would recommend and would love to eat there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

Exceptional food and service. A wonderful fine dining experience in NOLA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome food and experience. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Especially enjoyed the pho snapper plate - may have been seasonal - so ask if you don't see it on the menu. Will be my first choice in NOLA if I'm looking to impress someone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

This was one of the best restaurants I've ever eaten at. The service was wonderful and very professional. Our waiter was very honest with us, regarding his favorite and least favorite menu items, which was very helpful. The portions were sort of on the smaller side, but my family didn't really want to eat too much anyways because we'd spent the entire day eating the amazing food of New Orleans. Anyways, I'd recommend this place to anyone who enjoys fine dining and nothing but amazing food and service. Also they give this cute box filled with little chocolates and cookies at the end of the meal which was pretty good. (The crab beignets were the best, as well as the peanut butter ice cream).

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The only issue was 18.00 for a glass of Chardonnay? The kitcheny area was bright and didn't fit with the overall type of restaurant. Being seated in the kitcheny area while being dressed to the nines and early and RClub Not good

Tags: Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 21, 2017

My husband and I had an excellent dinner. I had the lobster gnocchi and he hand the fish with asian flavors-both were great. They also made a tasty martini! The services was attentive and the ambiance was very nice. This is a great place for a date night or a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food was excellent but I was surprised by the poor service at a restaurant of this caliber. We were kept waiting 15 minutes for our reservation on a Monday night with no apology. When we were seated there was a dead flea on my daughter's plate. When we pointed this out to the waitress she made no apologies, she said that those dishes are just for decoration anyway. Every time she filled our water glasses she spilled water across the tablecloth. It was very chilly in the room, when we asked about adjusting the temperature she just said the restaurant had no control over it. But the worst thing was that when we left we were standing directly outside the entrance when we were accosted by a homeless drunk man. He started to get very aggressive and we were scared so went back inside to wait for our Uber. Our waitress and the hostess had witnessed the confrontation and were standing there laughing at us rather than trying to help or maybe call the police. This was not the level of service I expect from such a highly rated restaurant! We were celebrating my daughter's birthday and the night was not as special as it should have been.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Had a wonderful time. The staff is attentive but not obtrusive. Food was great and the wine was better.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We had a very enjoyable experience. Food was excellent. Service great. Great overall experience.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Outstanding food. Unfortunately, service was very disappointing. Our server was distracted, disorganized (we ordered the tasting menu with wine pairings, and at one point he served us the wine for the following course, before the prior course had even been served), and in some ways unacceptable (he gave us our check immediately as the desert was served, without even asking us about coffee or after dinner drinks). While the food was great, this was a VERY expensive dinner, and the service strongly detracted from the experience. As such, I would not recommend this restaurant based on our recent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was my fourth time visiting Restaurant R'evolution. The service was amazing, as usual, but I left feeling underwhelmed by all of the dishes I tried. At this price point I expect outstanding flavor combinations, but I found the food to be just okay this time around. The gnocchi with lobster (my usual favorite) lacked depth and the lobster was extremely overcooked - normally I can finish the entire thing, but I barely ate half! There are so many other great options in the area at a much lower price point that I would've rather enjoyed especially since it was a special occasion. I truly hope that my next visit will prove me wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent service and food!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 19, 2017

While the food is delicious, the service was not the best. It started out quite lovely and attentive. However, an hour went by and we only got through the appetizer. This was even after expressing we had to be somewhere by a certain time for work. We asked one of the servers to wrap up our meals to go and bring the bill. Our main server came by 10 minutes later and seemed surprised and confused when I stated we had to go and still had not gotten our bill or our food. It was disheartening to spend that kind of money to eat out of takeout containers and plastic ware, without the ability to take in the ambience... among other disappointments. I still give it 3 stars because the food is truly delicious and the restaurant is beautiful. If only we had been able to enjoy it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Travis was incredible .. made our experience awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I own a restaurant and Revolution is par excellence. Impeccable.

Tags: Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

service outstanding with personal visit by chef Folse
The corking fee 50.00$!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I have dined at this restaurant several times during business trips. This time I was fortunate to have my wife with me who has severe food allergies. The chef came out and talked with her and prepared a special meal just for her. She has never been treated so well. Five Stars!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Private Room, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Absolutely incredible meal. Probably the best restaurant in New Orleans, bar none. It is a bit pricey, but the meal was worth every penny. Service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food is absolutely outstanding!! Its all about the flavor. We got the crab beignets which comes with four different dipping sauces and "death" by gumbo (quail, Andouille and oysters); then I got the roasted baby beet salad (with goat cheese and molasses-candied pecans) and my husband got the fried oyster salad (with bacon and blue cheese dressing); then for entrees, I got the citrus tuna (with roasted vegetable) and my husband got the seafood cioppino. We were too full for dessert, but next time I will start with that!! Every course was a treat; it was plated beautifully surpassed only by the smells, flavor and taste. We loved the experience so much that before we left we made reservations for the next time we are in town!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I would absolutely recommend this restaurant to any and all my friends. If you're looking for an enjoyable upscale dining experience, this is the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I thought this place was cool but very overpriced for the quality of food

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was one of the most exceptional dining experiences I've ever had. The service was attentive without being intrusive. I had the beet salad and crab Beignets for appetizers, and both were prepared and presented beautifully. For entree, my party sampled from the Sea Scallops, Lobster Gnocchi, and Beef Tagliatelle. The gnocchi stood out with subtle vanilla and lavender undertones. For dessert, we had the bread pudding along with complimentary truffles and cookies the chef was nice enough to send to us. Everything about the meal was memorable and look forward to dining with you again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The entrees were a bit salty for us, but my husband and I had a wonderful experience here. The service was exceptional!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

An authentic New Orleans experience. Excellent service, broad wine list with an equally deep menu. Great location in the heart of the quarter. Not inexpensive - but a good value for the quality of food and service.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Refined dining. Beautiful setting, attentive wait staff, wonderfully prepared dishes - made for a very special evening.

We were made to feel welcome - though I believe we were a bit underdressed...oops!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Birthday. Food was the best we eaten in New Orleans. The finest culinary kitchen, might be out done by their wine list.... Nope the food was spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Incredible food, personal top notch service, my favorite place in NOLA. Worth every penny. Can't wait to return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Most excellent food and service. Can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Restaurant R'evolution offered a good fine dinning experience. Professional and cordial service. Attractive but not exceptional ambiance. Crab beignets were exceptional and seafood gumbo was good. Bavarian chicken was unusual but tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 15, 2017

R'evolution is a fantastic restaurant in the French Quarter. The Crab Beinets make a perfect starter. The wait staff is very attentive and knowledgeable. It's pricey but worth every penny.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We will not go back. There are too many other better restaurants in New Orleans. It is overpriced and I was told by a local later that is probably the most expensive restaurant in the city. My $56 veal chop was ordinary at best. The items the waiter described as "best on the menu" to us were different from the items he pushed to the table next to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Got a last minute reservation for a group of coworkers looking for something special on our one free night during work convention. Everything was fabulous. The service was spot on, and the pace of everything was just right. The servers even took the time to go through each item that was gluten free on the menu for one person in our group. The food was superb, and the atmosphere was lovely. I would definitely recommend this to anyone going to New Orleans.

Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.