About Restaurant Pomme

115 S Main St
Gordonsville, VA 22942
View Larger Map

Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge, in downtown Gordonsville, Virginia, Restaurant Pomme provides an authentic classic French dining experience. The restaurant welcomes diners and guests to a warm and inviting recreation of the French country side-from food to decor. Whether on a day trip or gathering with friends and family, we wish to share our passion of food and wine with you. À votre santé et bon appétit.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm;

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm;

Brunch: Sunday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 832-0130

Website:
http://www.restaurant-pomme.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a private lot in the back of the restaurant. There is also a parking lot across the street that is free after 5pm

Executive Chef:
Gerard Gasparini

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have a private dining room that holds up to 30 seated and 60 standing. Great for small wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, bridal showers, business luncheon/dinner, and any other special occasion you can think of.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge, in downtown Gordonsville, Virginia, Restaurant Pomme provides an authentic classic French dining experience. The restaurant welcomes diners and guests to a warm and inviting recreation of the French country side-from food to decor.

Restaurant Pomme Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Virginia
Best Overall
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Best Food
Central Virginia / Piedmont
6 More
Best Service
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Best Ambiance
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Best Value
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Neighborhood Gem
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Romantic
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Special Occasion
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Best Restaurants in Gordonsville ›

special occasion (73)
great for lunch (51)
romantic (46)
See All
fit for foodies (46)
neighborhood gem (44)
great for brunch (35)
notable wine list (32)
good for groups (15)
great for outdoor dining (3)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
683 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The lunch menu sounded delicious. The de ...

Dined 5 days ago

The lunch menu sounded delicious. The decor was charming and the service was attentive. The salad special was skimpy for the price and I left hungry. I would go again for another try.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our table was ready when we arrived ( a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our table was ready when we arrived ( a later seating; 2:00PM). They were very busy with a full crowd and it took the wait staff a minutes to realize we were seated. But once we were in their care, the service was excellent. The food was outstanding. Best grilled swordfish I have ever had. It was an overall excellent dining experience and we will go back again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was very busy as it was F ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The restaurant was very busy as it was Father's Day. However, the staff made sure that guests were not rushed and were given all of the attention necessary for a wonderful occasion. The food was just superb.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to meet for Sunday brunch wi ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place to meet for Sunday brunch with friends. The service and food were excellent. Good variety of breakfast and lunch selections. Would definitely visit again. Enjoyed by all!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our Father's Day brunch was very good b ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our Father's Day brunch was very good but I was a bit disappointed that our choices were those of an " American" bistro rather than the French bistro I had anticipated. Will try again maybe for lunch or dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant in the C ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in the Charlottesville area. We have eaten here several times and have never been disappointed. The food is well-prepared and delicious. The wine list is outstanding and the wait staff are very knowledgeable and experienced.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice restaurant in a small town. The wai ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Nice restaurant in a small town. The wait staff needs better training. Not up to the standard set by the kitchen.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1

Food was subpar. Server not knowledgeabl ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was subpar. Server not knowledgeable about food. Two dishes had incorrect sides. Manager was condescending .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience! Plan to retu ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Always a great experience! Plan to return again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

All 4 of us from RIchmond, VA drove out ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

All 4 of us from RIchmond, VA drove out to lunch at Pomme and meander along the street to check out the shops!! Gordonsville is growing up nicely!! Pomme had been recommended by several Richmonders... didn't dissappoint! Geraldine our server and her daughter (itf that was possible) did a great job again (was there 6/6/16 with Naples, FLA friends) were welcoming, friendly, knowledgeable and attentive without hovering. Couldn't ask for much more. The crab salad, seared seafood salad and the quiche were all excellent. The hit of the day was, of course, the dessert.... the Basil Lemon Tart was delicious with just the right mix of tangy and smooth... that basil just adds something special as well. One process improvement, despite being sensitive to the "made to order" approach, the wait seems to be a bit more than "right" for me.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love love love!

Dined on June 5, 2016

My husband and I try to always stop at this gem of a restaurant every time we are on our way to the mountains. The food is unbelievable, and the staff are always very welcoming and do a great job! I wish we lived closer so we could go more often, but it makes it more special :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable!

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food here is fabulous! A small intimate space with very quaint decor. A brother-sister team run the front with one server and their service is wonderful! The food is fresh, local, and delicious. Fresh, crusty bread, beautiful eye appeal to the plates, delicious sauces, and excellent sides. Their meat is well prepared and flavorful! Desserts are homemade and amazing. Nice variety of after dinner drinks, coffee, expressing, and cappuccino. We had a picky eater with us and even she was pleased with her meal. My husband and I go here every time we are in Gordonsville and I was pleased to shared this jewel with my friends!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Worth the Drive from RIC

Dined on June 3, 2016

My first visit to Pomme, although I've heard good things from several friends in RIC. I was not dissappointed and thought the overal experience was above... way above expectation. The wait staff could not have been more friendly, knowledgeable about food/wine, attention to just the right level and appeared proud to work at Pomme. I had guests from Naples, FLa with me and they were very impressed as well. One had fried oysters (delicious) along with a sparkling wine the server suggested. The soft shell crab was sauteed just right... lots of flavor, minimum oil/grease, no batter... perfect! The third in our party had the quiche... nice size portion, fresh tasting, hot, tasty and presentation was enticing. Best experience in a long time..... coming back next Tues with a new group .. enjoyed it!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The cocktails tasted watered down althou ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The cocktails tasted watered down although we ordered very dry vodka martinis and they were incredibly small even by DC standards. We had to request more bread with the meal rather than being offered any. And they should really start telling you the price of the specials rather than making one ask. Have been there many times over the years. Always liked it before and may go again but if another experience like this, that will probably be it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant Pomme is a true gem! The food ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Restaurant Pomme is a true gem! The food is always absolutely fresh, perfectly prepared and bursting with flavor. The wait staff is attentive, but not smothering.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small Town Gem, Plays With the Big Dogs

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Who would think to find this delightful dining experience smack in the middle of small-town America! The room is gorgeous...relaxing, inviting and quite French. The service was smooth, professional and friendly without being patronizing. The food was delightful: we started with the special app of the day being a lobster/mango plate that was bright and playful and quite tasty. Mor my entree I ordered another special - the young calves liver which I never order except maybe at a local diner. This was a thin, pink slice of liver perfectly seared and totally devoid of the metallic after taste one often finds with liver. My wife ordered another special - the blackened amber jack which was perfectly prepared and very flavorful. The veggies that night were snap peas and truthfully, they came out overdone but the flavor was spot on. We indulged in desserts - a chocolate truffle of some sort with ice cream and a lemon tart. Both were tasty and presented nicely but not worth the calories. All in all, Pomme was on par with the top restaurants in Northern Virginia and DC and we certainly will be back as soon as possible. Be sure to get a reservation on weekends as the place was packed by 7 PM.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

As Excellent As Always

Dined on May 26, 2016

Pomme is a true gem tucked away in Gordonsville. We always stop there if we are near Charlottesville. It is well worth short detour. Food exceptional as always. Waiter took awhile to warm up and I think they were short staffed but service was prompt and waiter warmed up as evening progressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We have long considered La Pomme to be o ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

We have long considered La Pomme to be our "special" date.....but no more. Duck Confit was tasteless, stuffed veal tasted stale, service was erratic and uninspired. We are rethinking our whole "special date" plans. Must admit, we have had many fine meals at La Pomme.......but were stunned to be served so poorly.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Superbly prepared food! Wine list nic ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Superbly prepared food! Wine list nicely compliments menu. This visit was for Sunday brunch. We are repeat customers.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

UVA Grad dinner

Dined on May 21, 2016

We truly enjoyed our dinner at Restaurant Pomme for our son's UVA graduation. The restaurant decor is lovely with lots of French character. The food was outstanding and beautifully presented. We especially enjoyed their short ribs which they were able to do gluten-free with no problem. Desserts were also spectacular. The only less than stellar aspect was some type of turf war going on between our servers as we were introduced to one tall gentleman as our server, and then another women introduced herself as our server and then quickly disappeared as the original server returned and then he abandoned us towards the end with no explanation... it was confusing and the service was a bit slow and the original server never asked if we wanted additional wine, drinks etc. so our glasses sat empty. Other than that, it was a lovely experience and we would definitely return and would highly recommend when you are out in the Cville area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food in a charming little town

Dined on May 21, 2016

Delicious French food in a lovely setting. Country decor, great service and you can actually have a conversation here as the noise level is quiet to moderate. Many choices which should please all in one's party. Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Restaurant for a Special Occasion!!

Dined on May 21, 2016

We started the homemade soups (French Onion and Cream of Broccoli) .. they were wonderful! My husband had the special chicken dish of the day which he savored to the last bite and I had the crab and apple entree which was light and refreshing! The atmosphere for lunch was exactly how we like it .... private and quiet and we were lucky to be seated at the window table!! We will be back to this exquisite, country French restaurant!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

La Pomme

Dined on May 19, 2016

La Pomme is a pleasant French restaurant in Gordonsville with wonderful food. Everything is delicious and though the menu is small it is very interesting and varied. The desserts were unique and much appreciated.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

We stopped for a weekday lunch. Beautifu ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

We stopped for a weekday lunch. Beautiful surroundings and attentive, formal service. Food was very good, but soup came out lukewarm and the salad was over dressed. Ingredients were delicious, but covered in what was too much of a tasty dressing. I usually ask for dressing on the side, but forgot. Lunch options and full entrees. Lunch for two without wine was $45.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I only have lunch there, with friends. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

I only have lunch there, with friends. My husband is a steak and potatoes man so when we go out in the evening it is not to a French restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always our dining experience at Resta ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

As always our dining experience at Restaurant Pomme was fantastic! Our guests all agreed that it is a great restaurant with lovely atmosphere and outstanding food! We always take our first-time visitors to Restaurant Pomme because it is such a gem, and we know we can tell our guests that everything on the menu is beyond delicious!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Atmosphere of the town, charming. ...T ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Atmosphere of the town, charming. ...The restaurant, quaint. Regardless of the excellence of the product, I am a firm believer that no great chef should be associated w miniscule or modest portions relative to price. Would revisit on special occasions only, and only to please my guests, as the modest portions can leave one impressed but hungry!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful French classic experience.

Dined on May 7, 2016

We have enjoyed Restaurant Pomme many times since our discovering it while driving through Gordensville several years ago. The menu is varied but never disappointing. A great place for a special celebration with friends, a Sunday Brunch, or a private romantic dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great restaurant with tasty food

Dined on April 29, 2016

Ambiance great. Service professional, helpful and not overbearing. Food delightful and well plated. Desserts yummy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always

Dined on April 24, 2016

Had dinner here again while visiting central Virginia, a wonderful dining experience as always. Great food, wine, and service, makes an excellent dining destination.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well worth the trip to Gordonsville, VA

Dined on April 23, 2016

We are frequent diners at the Pomme and list it as one of the very best restaurants in Virginia. While it is quite out of the way, Gordonsville is a quaint town that the Pomme makes well worth visiting. We have never been disappointed by the food, the service, and atmosphere at the Pomme and usually only go there for Saturday lunch. The staff is most professional and attentive. Strongly recommend you make reservations as it stays full all the time and open seating is hard to come by. Try the Sole - absolutely fantastic! Don't try the crème brulee though - leave it ALL for me! Laugh here. Take the trip to the Virginia countryside and visit Gordonsville and the Pomme. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wedding anniversary celebration

Dined on April 21, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely wedding anniversary celebration dinner at Pomme.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Downer

Dined on April 19, 2016

A casual lunch with a friend was ruined by lousy crab salad. Restaurant Pomme does not stand up to its good reputation. Service was OK, but food was poor and cost high.

food5
ambience3
service4
value5

"Authentic" Bistro Fare in a Lovely Setting

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

We're frequent visitors to this country gem and have never been disappointed. The food is reliably excellent and the bistro French menu offers something for everyone -- all prepared with obvious care. You can't go wrong.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on April 9, 2016

We have been eating here for years! Such a wonderful restaurant in a quaint little town. Food is always excellent and the staff is very warm and friendly! Highly recommend for an intimate dinner or a wonderful brunch. It's my mothers favorite place to be taken on her birthday, Valentine's Day, etc.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the Pomme. It remains my favorite.

Dined on April 5, 2016

The food and service are five star, as far as I am concerned. You cannot do better. Also the town of Gorduonsville is a find with interesting shops and houses, and the drive in from the north is spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Pomme never disappoints. All of our meal ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Pomme never disappoints. All of our meals were excellent and service was prompt, gracious and smooth. Filet of sole, filet mignon and seared tuna were all cooked perfectly. Lobster bisque was rich and flavorful, and gazpacho was refreshing with an unusual touch of balsamic drizzled on top.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Meal at Restaurant Pomme

Dined on March 30, 2016

We had a wonderful veal entrees with delicious French wine (2005 Merlot-Cab Blend from Burgundy) at our recent dinner at Restaurant Pomme. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. We have dined there previously when we stayed at the Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast in Orange, VA, and we will definitely be back on our next visit!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

good food

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

the food was very tasty however the amount of food for the price is rather high

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Went for brunch on Easter. So worth the ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Went for brunch on Easter. So worth the drive (which is beautiful) from Charlottesville. Can't wait to go again.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.