About Restaurant Pomme

115 S Main St
Gordonsville, VA 22942
View Larger Map

Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge, in downtown Gordonsville, Virginia, Restaurant Pomme provides an authentic classic French dining experience. The restaurant welcomes diners and guests to a warm and inviting recreation of the French country side-from food to decor. Whether on a day trip or gathering with friends and family, we wish to share our passion of food and wine with you. À votre santé et bon appétit.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm;

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm;

Brunch: Sunday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 832-0130

Website:
http://www.restaurant-pomme.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a private lot in the back of the restaurant. There is also a parking lot across the street that is free after 5pm

Executive Chef:
Gerard Gasparini

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have a private dining room that holds up to 30 seated and 60 standing. Great for small wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, bridal showers, business luncheon/dinner, and any other special occasion you can think of.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge, in downtown Gordonsville, Virginia, Restaurant Pomme provides an authentic classic French dining experience. The restaurant welcomes diners and guests to a warm and inviting recreation of the French country side-from food to decor.

Restaurant Pomme Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Virginia
Special Occasion
Virginia
Best Overall
Charlottesville
6 More
Best Food
Charlottesville
Best Ambiance
Charlottesville
Best Value
Charlottesville
Neighborhood Gem
Charlottesville
Romantic
Charlottesville
Special Occasion
Charlottesville
Best Restaurants in Gordonsville ›

Special Occasion (62)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Romantic (43)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Great for Lunch (38)
Notable Wine List (36)
Great for Brunch (28)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Business Meals (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
736 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dinner was delicious, proper temperature ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner was delicious, proper temperature and beautifully presented. However, they ran out of one entree, but offered another at the same price even though it would have been higher. They also comped a dessert for one of our guests who had to chose a different entree - my DP and I did not have dessert.

The noise level was quite high due to a table of five women sitting next to us who were incredibly loud; unfortunately this made conversation very difficult for us.

The staff were efficient and knowledgeable. Overall, the evening met our expectations and we shall return again!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pomme is a gem. The original chef has d ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Pomme is a gem. The original chef has died, but the kitchen maintains remarkable standards from bread to sweets. The comfort of French Bistro style cannot be overstated. The soups, the salads, the meat courses done with adherence to old recipes, gives plenty of choice even with the varied dietary requirements in vogue nowadays. Go for a relaxing weekday lunch, a luxurious weekend dinner, but please make the trip because it is worth it!

Tags: Authentic, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been stopping here for several years on ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Been stopping here for several years on our way to Virginia wine country. Wonderful country French in semi-rural Virginia.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was excellent. The potato ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The service was excellent. The potato leek soup was outstanding. The sole and veal entrees were good. The desserts were not good - I don't recommend any desserts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We started with a rich and flavorful Roa ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We started with a rich and flavorful Roasted Red Pepper Bisque and followed up with Coquille St Jacques for me and Crab Cakes with Boursin Cheese for my wife. Paired with a crisp dry chardonnay - it was an outstanding and memorable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pomme is a gem. Whether a special family ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Pomme is a gem. Whether a special family celebration or enjoying an evening with close friends, Pomme is a favorite. The food is excellent, always well served, and the wine choices are excellent. We had another wonderful evening and look forward to another.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well prepared and delicious.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Well prepared and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food, well cooked, well planne ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Very good food, well cooked, well planned. All parts were first rate.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Food here was fabulous. We had the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The Food here was fabulous. We had the Duck and the Crab Cake. The duck was cooked with an orange glaze and was the perfect temperature. The crake cake was unique and contained a nice cheese. We split a mouth watering lemon tart for dessert.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My Mother, wife and I had a lovely lunch ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

My Mother, wife and I had a lovely lunch at Restaurant Pomme. The service was attentive, the food excellent, and the bottle of wine delightful! We will be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was touted as excellent, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The restaurant was touted as excellent, but fell short on Food, Ambiance and Wine List. Looked like the Su Chef or less was in the kitchen. I would not go out of my way to stop there again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Superb luncheon, great service. Portion ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Superb luncheon, great service. Portion sizes perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went on 1/2 prince wine Wed which gav ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We went on 1/2 prince wine Wed which gave us an opportunity to experience a new expensive wine at great price, T hey we're out of several choices on a limited menu, I did have the scallop special which was outstanding, my husband has a filet which he felt was only ok given the price We did order a half bottle of a second wine we were not told half price bottles were not included in the 1/2 price so that was a surprise when settling the pill. The appetizer choice good, the deserts expensive and limited

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous - Scallops were perfect; sauce ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Fabulous - Scallops were perfect; sauce - delish!

Best wishes for continued success - sadly without Dad.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and wine list. we go eve ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very good food and wine list. we go every year and it is consistently excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful place to enjoy tasty appetizer ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wonderful place to enjoy tasty appetizers, delicious well-conceived creative entrees and sumptuous desserts with attentive staff with its country French ambiance. Thoroughly enjoyed our second trip to this treasure, and we look forward to identifying our next reason to go!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A fine restaurant. One that we will def ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

A fine restaurant. One that we will definitely revisit when we are in the area!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderful place. Great food, service, et ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wonderful place. Great food, service, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best French Onion soup anywhere and ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The best French Onion soup anywhere and out of this world Filet of Sole! This is one of our favorite restaurants in the US!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Late lunch at Pomme after visiting Montp ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Late lunch at Pomme after visiting Montpelier and driving in this beautiful area made for a memorable day. Food, service and decor at Pomme rounded off the day in style.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

This was my second visit to Pomme. The ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was my second visit to Pomme. The first time was for lunch & this time for dinner.

Love the quaint & small restaurant with beautiful touches of French & Italian flairs.

It is so nice to be able to have a conversation at the table without having to talk loudly like other restaurants. The waiter, Kim was so friendly and very attentive all night.

Our meal tab of $148 for two people included, a bottle of wine, appetizers, entree & dessert.

Will definitely go back for another enjoyable meal. This place is a gem for Gordonsville.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at Pomme. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our first time dining at Pomme. The service, atmosphere and food were excellent! The servings were quite generous. I highly recommend this restaurant and we plan to return in the near future!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely experience. We love Pomme! Ma ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A lovely experience. We love Pomme! Many thanks for the continued excellence in fine dining.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate outside under the pergola, beauti ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We ate outside under the pergola, beautiful day for brunch. Excellent drinks (BMs) and the menu selection of Entrees' was outstanding. The bread a special treat! Long time customer and on this occasion brought out of town family for their first visit. They were very impressed!

A must destination for dining !

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The meal was very good. I started with a ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The meal was very good. I started with a glass of wine as did my wife. We both had a glass of the Riesling which was very nice. My wife started her meal with a salad that was excellent and I had the escargot, also excellent. We followed with the filet and béarnaise and the filet of sole in brown butter. Both cooked very well but the sole was out of site! With dinner I had a glass of Alsatian white and my wife had a glass of the Pinot Noir, again both excellent. For desert we shared the warm apple cake and brown sugar ice cream. Once again, the plate was excellent. Very satisfied with the meal as a whole and would recommend the restaurant to anyone. We will be back.

Thank you Pomme!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Was disappointed with the food, not anyw ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Was disappointed with the food, not anywhere near as good as on past visits. The place was not full as it usually is at lunch time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Restaurant was nice, not very busy. Food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Restaurant was nice, not very busy. Food was very good, appealing & properly prepared. Waiter was not very helpful and seemed that he was not very interested in our table. 8/04/16

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great as usual! My parents had the scall ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great as usual! My parents had the scallops and duck. I had the crab salad and shrimp cocktail! Always a pleasure!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommended by a local hotel - everythin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Recommended by a local hotel - everything was fantastic!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion celebration lunch. Att ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Special occasion celebration lunch. Attractive and comfortable dining room with a slightly formal feel. It was hard to choose an entrée because so many sounded wonderful. Chose the Sole and it was delicious. Companions chose Veal Cordon Rouge and Salad Macedoine and they were great choices as well. The warm apple cake was flavorful and dense and the lemon tart was the best I've ever tasted. Extensive wine list. Service was friendly and attentive. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our table was ready, The server was frie ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our table was ready, The server was friendly and competent. The food was hot and had a nice presentation. Will go back, but it is a one hour drive, so you don't just drop in. It needs to be a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! I highly re ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent food and service! I highly recommend this restaurant!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fortunate to find such an authentic Fren ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Fortunate to find such an authentic French bistro in a small Virginia town. Great menu, good food--perfect place to get together with friends for a glass of wine and dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We have been to Pomme several times, for ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We have been to Pomme several times, for lunch or Brunch, and have never been disappointed. The foo and service have been uniformly outstanding each time, and very reasonably priced for a fine dining experience. Excellent wine list. A real gem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time there, it was more than w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our first time there, it was more than we'd hoped. Will go back when we have something else special to celebrate.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always excellent and the service ...

 
 (Oxford)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food is always excellent and the service is excellent and friendly. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming small town restaurant with soph ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Charming small town restaurant with sophisticated menu!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

On 2 previous visits, I reated Pomme foo ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

On 2 previous visits, I reated Pomme food and service above expectatiions/excellent if not

perfect. I was shocked at my last visit for a friend's birthday on 7/17/2016. Initial service was slow and unattentive. The wine (rose) was returned since it lacked ANY taste. Server did take back and replace. Food lack the taste and presentation that was so remarkable in previouse

visit. Had the sole St Gemaine (bland and swamped in sauce which was watery), accompanied by a lump (right out of the paper cup) of rice with no taste once again. The spinach did have some zing/taste to it. Another dish, Veal marsala was equally unremarkable... the plate looked like a Denny's special. Desert was a HUGE disappointment unlike previous visits... bland... a lemon tart right out of the box in the freezer... tasteless 9almost returned that as well... wanted to ask for Tums instead! Heard latet that they have a new chef (abuot 2-3 weeks). Even THAT chef must have been off that day. Can't recommend unless they get a new chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We love this restaurant and the people w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We love this restaurant and the people who own it! Great food and great service! The chocolate mousse and sole is to die for!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit and, once agai ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our second visit and, once again, it did not disappoint. The caliber of food is equal to any fine restaurant in Big City, USA or France. I'll go back again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.