About Restaurant Pomme

115 S Main St
Gordonsville, VA 22942
View Larger Map

Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge, in downtown Gordonsville, Virginia, Restaurant Pomme provides an authentic classic French dining experience. The restaurant welcomes diners and guests to a warm and inviting recreation of the French country side-from food to decor. Whether on a day trip or gathering with friends and family, we wish to share our passion of food and wine with you. À votre santé et bon appétit.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm;

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm;

Brunch: Sunday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 832-0130

Website:
http://www.restaurant-pomme.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a private lot in the back of the restaurant. There is also a parking lot across the street that is free after 5pm

Executive Chef:
Gerard Gasparini

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have a private dining room that holds up to 30 seated and 60 standing. Great for small wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, bridal showers, business luncheon/dinner, and any other special occasion you can think of.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge, in downtown Gordonsville, Virginia, Restaurant Pomme provides an authentic classic French dining experience. The restaurant welcomes diners and guests to a warm and inviting recreation of the French country side-from food to decor.

Restaurant Pomme Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Virginia
Great for Lunch
Virginia
Best Overall
Central Virginia / Piedmont
6 More
Best Food
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Best Ambiance
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Best Value
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Neighborhood Gem
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Romantic
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Special Occasion
Central Virginia / Piedmont
Best Restaurants in Gordonsville ›

special occasion (80)
fit for foodies (53)
great for lunch (52)
See All
romantic (50)
neighborhood gem (46)
great for brunch (36)
notable wine list (35)
good for groups (17)
great for outdoor dining (4)
kid-friendly (1)
hot spot (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
702 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our first time there, it was more than w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our first time there, it was more than we'd hoped. Will go back when we have something else special to celebrate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always excellent and the service ...

 
 (Oxford)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food is always excellent and the service is excellent and friendly. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming small town restaurant with soph ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Charming small town restaurant with sophisticated menu!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

On 2 previous visits, I reated Pomme foo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

On 2 previous visits, I reated Pomme food and service above expectatiions/excellent if not

perfect. I was shocked at my last visit for a friend's birthday on 7/17/2016. Initial service was slow and unattentive. The wine (rose) was returned since it lacked ANY taste. Server did take back and replace. Food lack the taste and presentation that was so remarkable in previouse

visit. Had the sole St Gemaine (bland and swamped in sauce which was watery), accompanied by a lump (right out of the paper cup) of rice with no taste once again. The spinach did have some zing/taste to it. Another dish, Veal marsala was equally unremarkable... the plate looked like a Denny's special. Desert was a HUGE disappointment unlike previous visits... bland... a lemon tart right out of the box in the freezer... tasteless 9almost returned that as well... wanted to ask for Tums instead! Heard latet that they have a new chef (abuot 2-3 weeks). Even THAT chef must have been off that day. Can't recommend unless they get a new chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We love this restaurant and the people w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We love this restaurant and the people who own it! Great food and great service! The chocolate mousse and sole is to die for!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit and, once agai ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our second visit and, once again, it did not disappoint. The caliber of food is equal to any fine restaurant in Big City, USA or France. I'll go back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two of the entrees( Triggerfish and Chic ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Two of the entrees( Triggerfish and Chicken with avocado) were very nice. However the Crab salad entree with Granny Smith apples did not deserve the name: it was 98% apples and at best, "crab flavored." It was a disappointment and not fairly described. If they were out of crab, they should have said so.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I love the food here, in addition to all ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I love the food here, in addition to all the good food, they make the best cold soups that I have had anywhere in the world. SO delicious I drive there weekly

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was impeccable and wonderfully pres ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was impeccable and wonderfully presented. Service needs a little attention and I expected better from such a fine establishment. Some utilized silverware was not cleared at the appropriate time, my steak was served sans steak knife and beverages could have garnered more attention. Sales were lost on additional beverages because of the lag time. The primary server was very kind.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Pomme is a gem! And it is so well place ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Pomme is a gem! And it is so well placed in a small town where there's plenty of parking and great places to visit -- the Exchange Hotel, James Madison's Montpelier, Monroe's Highland, and Monticello. If we didn't live so far away in NC, we'd go there for every special occasion, and even make up some. C'est manifique!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thought the entire dining experience ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We thought the entire dining experience lived up to our previous dining at Pomme.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant ambience. Food was very g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very pleasant ambience. Food was very good but needed to go up "one more notch" for my taste. Restaurant ran out of a favorite dessert of mine, which I thought was unfortunate given this was a Saturday when most are wont to eat out and you would expect the restaurant to be ready with all menu items. However, my husband and I had a very enjoyable evening and dinner and I am hoping to visit Pomme again. Great to have a good French restaurant to go to nearby.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine restaurant, though a bit pricey. Go ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Fine restaurant, though a bit pricey. Good wine list. Charming French country house decor.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pomme is a wonderful restaurant. I have ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Pomme is a wonderful restaurant. I have been there a number of times for lunch and dinner. Each meal seems better than the last , if that is possible.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely the best French food in centr ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Absolutely the best French food in central VA. Drove from Richmond (which has many excellent restaurants) for a birthday brunch. Everything was delicious. The service and ambience, superb! Merci, merci!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good service and the food was exc ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very good service and the food was excellent. We had the escargot and the duck. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I felt like I was in France. Loved the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I felt like I was in France. Loved the restaurant. Absolutely the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was presented beautifully. 3 of ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was presented beautifully. 3 of our 4 meals were delicious. The last meal was delicious but was requested to be cooked medium well and arrived at the table as medium rare. The waiter messed up and changed the wrong order and the chef rushed the steak even after we asked him to take his time to prepare it correctly. Then when the Waiter was told that it was not medium rare, the chef stared at us with an evil eye for 10 minutes x2 because we made a comment on the lack of doneness to the filet mignon. We did not order any desert as the fiasco with the steak and chef turned us off from wanting anything more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

It is often the bread which hallmarks an ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

It is often the bread which hallmarks an outstanding restaurant and from the fresh baked sourdough baguette through a featherlight smoked salmon to an equally amazing apple gateau with hazelnut ice cream this was one of the best lunches I have had in years. Every wine on the short but cleverly chosen wine list is available by the glass, even the Billecart Salmon champagne and where else would you find ten sweet wines listed from different areas ?

On top of this the bill is as light as the cooking .

Definitely worth the detour.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The lunch menu sounded delicious. The de ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The lunch menu sounded delicious. The decor was charming and the service was attentive. The salad special was skimpy for the price and I left hungry. I would go again for another try.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Our table was ready when we arrived ( a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our table was ready when we arrived ( a later seating; 2:00PM). They were very busy with a full crowd and it took the wait staff a minutes to realize we were seated. But once we were in their care, the service was excellent. The food was outstanding. Best grilled swordfish I have ever had. It was an overall excellent dining experience and we will go back again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The restaurant was very busy as it was F ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The restaurant was very busy as it was Father's Day. However, the staff made sure that guests were not rushed and were given all of the attention necessary for a wonderful occasion. The food was just superb.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to meet for Sunday brunch wi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place to meet for Sunday brunch with friends. The service and food were excellent. Good variety of breakfast and lunch selections. Would definitely visit again. Enjoyed by all!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our Father's Day brunch was very good b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our Father's Day brunch was very good but I was a bit disappointed that our choices were those of an " American" bistro rather than the French bistro I had anticipated. Will try again maybe for lunch or dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our favorite restaurant in the C ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in the Charlottesville area. We have eaten here several times and have never been disappointed. The food is well-prepared and delicious. The wine list is outstanding and the wait staff are very knowledgeable and experienced.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant in a small town. The wai ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Nice restaurant in a small town. The wait staff needs better training. Not up to the standard set by the kitchen.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was subpar. Server not knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was subpar. Server not knowledgeable about food. Two dishes had incorrect sides. Manager was condescending .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Always a great experience! Plan to retu ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Always a great experience! Plan to return again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All 4 of us from RIchmond, VA drove out ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

All 4 of us from RIchmond, VA drove out to lunch at Pomme and meander along the street to check out the shops!! Gordonsville is growing up nicely!!

Pomme had been recommended by several Richmonders... didn't dissappoint!

Geraldine our server and her daughter (itf that was possible) did a great job again (was there 6/6/16 with Naples, FLA friends) were welcoming, friendly, knowledgeable and attentive without hovering. Couldn't ask for much more.

The crab salad, seared seafood salad and the quiche were all excellent. The hit of the day was, of course, the dessert.... the Basil Lemon Tart was delicious with just the right mix of tangy and smooth... that basil just adds something special as well.

One process improvement, despite being sensitive to the "made to order" approach, the wait seems to be a bit more than "right" for me.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

love love love!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My husband and I try to always stop at this gem of a restaurant every time we are on our way to the mountains. The food is unbelievable, and the staff are always very welcoming and do a great job! I wish we lived closer so we could go more often, but it makes it more special :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food here is fabulous! A small intimate space with very quaint decor. A brother-sister team run the front with one server and their service is wonderful! The food is fresh, local, and delicious. Fresh, crusty bread, beautiful eye appeal to the plates, delicious sauces, and excellent sides. Their meat is well prepared and flavorful! Desserts are homemade and amazing. Nice variety of after dinner drinks, coffee, expressing, and cappuccino. We had a picky eater with us and even she was pleased with her meal. My husband and I go here every time we are in Gordonsville and I was pleased to shared this jewel with my friends!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the Drive from RIC

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My first visit to Pomme, although I've heard good things from several friends in RIC. I was not dissappointed and thought the overal experience was above... way above expectation.

The wait staff could not have been more friendly, knowledgeable about food/wine, attention to just the right level and appeared proud to work at Pomme.

I had guests from Naples, FLa with me and they were very impressed as well. One had fried oysters (delicious) along with a sparkling wine the server suggested. The soft shell crab was sauteed just right... lots of flavor, minimum oil/grease, no batter... perfect! The third in our party had the quiche... nice size portion, fresh tasting, hot, tasty and presentation was enticing.

Best experience in a long time..... coming back next Tues with a new group .. enjoyed it!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The cocktails tasted watered down althou ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The cocktails tasted watered down although we ordered very dry vodka martinis and they were incredibly small even by DC standards. We had to request more bread with the meal rather than being offered any. And they should really start telling you the price of the specials rather than making one ask. Have been there many times over the years. Always liked it before and may go again but if another experience like this, that will probably be it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Restaurant Pomme is a true gem! The food ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Restaurant Pomme is a true gem! The food is always absolutely fresh, perfectly prepared and bursting with flavor. The wait staff is attentive, but not smothering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small Town Gem, Plays With the Big Dogs

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Who would think to find this delightful dining experience smack in the middle of small-town America! The room is gorgeous...relaxing, inviting and quite French. The service was smooth, professional and friendly without being patronizing. The food was delightful: we started with the special app of the day being a lobster/mango plate that was bright and playful and quite tasty. Mor my entree I ordered another special - the young calves liver which I never order except maybe at a local diner. This was a thin, pink slice of liver perfectly seared and totally devoid of the metallic after taste one often finds with liver. My wife ordered another special - the blackened amber jack which was perfectly prepared and very flavorful. The veggies that night were snap peas and truthfully, they came out overdone but the flavor was spot on. We indulged in desserts - a chocolate truffle of some sort with ice cream and a lemon tart. Both were tasty and presented nicely but not worth the calories. All in all, Pomme was on par with the top restaurants in Northern Virginia and DC and we certainly will be back as soon as possible. Be sure to get a reservation on weekends as the place was packed by 7 PM.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Excellent As Always

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Pomme is a true gem tucked away in Gordonsville. We always stop there if we are near Charlottesville. It is well worth short detour. Food exceptional as always. Waiter took awhile to warm up and I think they were short staffed but service was prompt and waiter warmed up as evening progressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have long considered La Pomme to be o ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We have long considered La Pomme to be our "special" date.....but no more.

Duck Confit was tasteless, stuffed veal tasted stale, service was erratic and uninspired.

We are rethinking our whole "special date" plans.

Must admit, we have had many fine meals at La Pomme.......but were stunned to be served so poorly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Superbly prepared food! Wine list nic ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Superbly prepared food! Wine list nicely compliments menu. This visit was for Sunday brunch. We are repeat customers.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

UVA Grad dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We truly enjoyed our dinner at Restaurant Pomme for our son's UVA graduation. The restaurant decor is lovely with lots of French character. The food was outstanding and beautifully presented. We especially enjoyed their short ribs which they were able to do gluten-free with no problem. Desserts were also spectacular. The only less than stellar aspect was some type of turf war going on between our servers as we were introduced to one tall gentleman as our server, and then another women introduced herself as our server and then quickly disappeared as the original server returned and then he abandoned us towards the end with no explanation... it was confusing and the service was a bit slow and the original server never asked if we wanted additional wine, drinks etc. so our glasses sat empty. Other than that, it was a lovely experience and we would definitely return and would highly recommend when you are out in the Cville area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Fabulous food in a charming little town

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Delicious French food in a lovely setting. Country decor, great service and you can actually have a conversation here as the noise level is quiet to moderate. Many choices which should please all in one's party. Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.