About Restaurant Pomme

115 S Main St
Gordonsville, VA 22942
View Larger Map

Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge, in downtown Gordonsville, Virginia, Restaurant Pomme provides an authentic classic French dining experience. The restaurant welcomes diners and guests to a warm and inviting recreation of the French country side-from food to decor. Whether on a day trip or gathering with friends and family, we wish to share our passion of food and wine with you. À votre santé et bon appétit.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm;

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm;

Brunch: Sunday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 832-0130

Website:
http://www.restaurant-pomme.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a private lot in the back of the restaurant. There is also a parking lot across the street that is free after 5pm

Executive Chef:
Gerard Gasparini

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have a private dining room that holds up to 30 seated and 60 standing. Great for small wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, bridal showers, business luncheon/dinner, and any other special occasion you can think of.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge, in downtown Gordonsville, Virginia, Restaurant Pomme provides an authentic classic French dining experience. The restaurant welcomes diners and guests to a warm and inviting recreation of the French country side-from food to decor.

Restaurant Pomme Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Virginia
Best Overall
Charlottesville
Best Food
Charlottesville
5 More
Best Ambiance
Charlottesville
Best Value
Charlottesville
Neighborhood Gem
Charlottesville
Romantic
Charlottesville
Special Occasion
Charlottesville
Best Restaurants in Gordonsville ›

special occasion (68)
romantic (49)
great for lunch (45)
See All
fit for foodies (44)
neighborhood gem (40)
great for brunch (31)
notable wine list (30)
good for groups (9)
great for outdoor dining (5)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
664 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We have long considered La Pomme to be o ...

Dined 4 days ago

We have long considered La Pomme to be our "special" date.....but no more. Duck Confit was tasteless, stuffed veal tasted stale, service was erratic and uninspired. We are rethinking our whole "special date" plans. Must admit, we have had many fine meals at La Pomme.......but were stunned to be served so poorly.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

UVA Grad dinner

Dined 7 days ago

We truly enjoyed our dinner at Restaurant Pomme for our son's UVA graduation. The restaurant decor is lovely with lots of French character. The food was outstanding and beautifully presented. We especially enjoyed their short ribs which they were able to do gluten-free with no problem. Desserts were also spectacular. The only less than stellar aspect was some type of turf war going on between our servers as we were introduced to one tall gentleman as our server, and then another women introduced herself as our server and then quickly disappeared as the original server returned and then he abandoned us towards the end with no explanation... it was confusing and the service was a bit slow and the original server never asked if we wanted additional wine, drinks etc. so our glasses sat empty. Other than that, it was a lovely experience and we would definitely return and would highly recommend when you are out in the Cville area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food in a charming little town

Dined on May 21, 2016

Delicious French food in a lovely setting. Country decor, great service and you can actually have a conversation here as the noise level is quiet to moderate. Many choices which should please all in one's party. Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Restaurant for a Special Occasion!!

Dined on May 21, 2016

We started the homemade soups (French Onion and Cream of Broccoli) .. they were wonderful! My husband had the special chicken dish of the day which he savored to the last bite and I had the crab and apple entree which was light and refreshing! The atmosphere for lunch was exactly how we like it .... private and quiet and we were lucky to be seated at the window table!! We will be back to this exquisite, country French restaurant!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

La Pomme

Dined on May 19, 2016

La Pomme is a pleasant French restaurant in Gordonsville with wonderful food. Everything is delicious and though the menu is small it is very interesting and varied. The desserts were unique and much appreciated.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

We stopped for a weekday lunch. Beautifu ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

We stopped for a weekday lunch. Beautiful surroundings and attentive, formal service. Food was very good, but soup came out lukewarm and the salad was over dressed. Ingredients were delicious, but covered in what was too much of a tasty dressing. I usually ask for dressing on the side, but forgot. Lunch options and full entrees. Lunch for two without wine was $45.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I only have lunch there, with friends. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

I only have lunch there, with friends. My husband is a steak and potatoes man so when we go out in the evening it is not to a French restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always our dining experience at Resta ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

As always our dining experience at Restaurant Pomme was fantastic! Our guests all agreed that it is a great restaurant with lovely atmosphere and outstanding food! We always take our first-time visitors to Restaurant Pomme because it is such a gem, and we know we can tell our guests that everything on the menu is beyond delicious!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Atmosphere of the town, charming. ...T ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Atmosphere of the town, charming. ...The restaurant, quaint. Regardless of the excellence of the product, I am a firm believer that no great chef should be associated w miniscule or modest portions relative to price. Would revisit on special occasions only, and only to please my guests, as the modest portions can leave one impressed but hungry!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful French classic experience.

Dined on May 7, 2016

We have enjoyed Restaurant Pomme many times since our discovering it while driving through Gordensville several years ago. The menu is varied but never disappointing. A great place for a special celebration with friends, a Sunday Brunch, or a private romantic dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great restaurant with tasty food

Dined on April 29, 2016

Ambiance great. Service professional, helpful and not overbearing. Food delightful and well plated. Desserts yummy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always

Dined on April 24, 2016

Had dinner here again while visiting central Virginia, a wonderful dining experience as always. Great food, wine, and service, makes an excellent dining destination.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well worth the trip to Gordonsville, VA

Dined on April 23, 2016

We are frequent diners at the Pomme and list it as one of the very best restaurants in Virginia. While it is quite out of the way, Gordonsville is a quaint town that the Pomme makes well worth visiting. We have never been disappointed by the food, the service, and atmosphere at the Pomme and usually only go there for Saturday lunch. The staff is most professional and attentive. Strongly recommend you make reservations as it stays full all the time and open seating is hard to come by. Try the Sole - absolutely fantastic! Don't try the crème brulee though - leave it ALL for me! Laugh here. Take the trip to the Virginia countryside and visit Gordonsville and the Pomme. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wedding anniversary celebration

Dined on April 21, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely wedding anniversary celebration dinner at Pomme.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Downer

Dined on April 19, 2016

A casual lunch with a friend was ruined by lousy crab salad. Restaurant Pomme does not stand up to its good reputation. Service was OK, but food was poor and cost high.

food5
ambience3
service4
value5

"Authentic" Bistro Fare in a Lovely Setting

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

We're frequent visitors to this country gem and have never been disappointed. The food is reliably excellent and the bistro French menu offers something for everyone -- all prepared with obvious care. You can't go wrong.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on April 9, 2016

We have been eating here for years! Such a wonderful restaurant in a quaint little town. Food is always excellent and the staff is very warm and friendly! Highly recommend for an intimate dinner or a wonderful brunch. It's my mothers favorite place to be taken on her birthday, Valentine's Day, etc.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the Pomme. It remains my favorite.

Dined on April 5, 2016

The food and service are five star, as far as I am concerned. You cannot do better. Also the town of Gorduonsville is a find with interesting shops and houses, and the drive in from the north is spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Pomme never disappoints. All of our meal ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Pomme never disappoints. All of our meals were excellent and service was prompt, gracious and smooth. Filet of sole, filet mignon and seared tuna were all cooked perfectly. Lobster bisque was rich and flavorful, and gazpacho was refreshing with an unusual touch of balsamic drizzled on top.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Meal at Restaurant Pomme

Dined on March 30, 2016

We had a wonderful veal entrees with delicious French wine (2005 Merlot-Cab Blend from Burgundy) at our recent dinner at Restaurant Pomme. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. We have dined there previously when we stayed at the Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast in Orange, VA, and we will definitely be back on our next visit!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

good food

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

the food was very tasty however the amount of food for the price is rather high

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Went for brunch on Easter. So worth the ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Went for brunch on Easter. So worth the drive (which is beautiful) from Charlottesville. Can't wait to go again.

food2
ambience4
service3

Had indicated it was a birthday celebrat ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Had indicated it was a birthday celebration on the reservation under special occaisions. No recognition by the restaurant

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent French Country Inn type, food, service.

Dined on March 23, 2016

Went on a Wed. night fairly early and it was not busy, but soon other people showed up. Not many. However, we were able to sit by the window, the service was very attentive and everything was delicious. The only thing I was disappointed in was the onion soup. It was not traditional, had a tomato base I think. However, my dining partner loved it. I would have preferred the traditional. It is a little pricy but we go there for special occasions and certainly enjoy it.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey but worth it

Dined on March 20, 2016

The food and the atmosphere are both great. We have had both brunch and dinner here and it has always been wonderful. The ambiance is country French and laid back. Great place to spend an afternoon or evening. We will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the restaurant, service and food ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Enjoyed the restaurant, service and food was very good. Recommended by a friend will return in the future.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb!!

Dined on March 10, 2016

The food and service was superb! We celebrated our anniversary there and everything was perfect. We will definitely go back and highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently a quality special restaurant.

Dined on March 9, 2016

The Pomme consistently delivers high quality food and service. Dining here is always a great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful Lunch

Dined on March 5, 2016

Our lunch was delicious and the service was excellent. The blackened salmon over salad and the Italian-inspired quiche were melt in your mouth scrumptious! It is a little out of our way but well worth the drive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Sunday Brunch at La Pomme was unique.

Dined on February 28, 2016

The restaurant is a charming one on a block with some quaint stores. The food was very good, but the portions were way too small for the price and our family ate more bread to fill us up. We also asked that it be noted that one of the 4 of us was celebrating a (belated) birthday. They never did anything about it and we didn't ask again. It is very good and expensive food cooked in a French way for the most part. It just wasn't filling because of the tiny portions which surprised us!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Lovely setting, flavorful food, but tiny servings

Dined on February 28, 2016

We went to La Pomme for Sunday brunch. The setting was lovely (A+), the service was fine, the food was flavorful -- but the serving sizes were tiny. I had the trout, and I am a light eater - I usually eat only half a serving, but the trout was more like a small appetizer than a meal (even though the sauce was delicious). My husband had Eggs Chesapeake; he has had that dish in over a dozen restaurants; he said this was the first time it was served with just one egg -- everywhere else it is two eggs. At an adjacent table, friends of ours also were discomfited by the small serving sizes. The serving sizes were unacceptable for the prices charged, despite the quality of food.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a wonderful French restaurant on ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

This is a wonderful French restaurant on a quaint street in Gordonsville. It is a real gem. The chef is first rate in all respects and they have a truly great wine selection. Service can be spotty. My sense is they have an issue sometimes keeping dependable servers. They were down a server when we went there this week and the one we had a few weeks ago seemed disoriented and on something; but he was not there when we returned so hopefully he has moved on. The server we had this week who covered half the restaurant was outstanding.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was excellent -- service was terrible but they did apologize they were 3 people short that night. When I made the reservation I listed that we were celebrating our Anniversary -- they never even acknowledge it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my wife's birthday with a group of 8.

Dined on February 27, 2016

Fantastic food! Will definitely dine there again. Small and quaint. Very friendly staff!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent Cuisine

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was excellent, the atmosphere was, well a bit too close for comfort and pretentious. You couldn't have a quiet, private conversation due to the proximity of the other diners. I do not recommend bringing children to this establishment. We didn't see any and I had the impression that it would have been frowned upon. I also did see anything child-friendly on the menu.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome restaurant

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

I love food and the first consideration in any restaurant should be how good the food is and the food at Pomme is mind-bogglingly good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointed by the service

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We dined here on Valentine's Day. The food was good but the waiter was not very attentive at all. He brought the wrong meal and never asked me if I wanted more to drink. For such a pricey meal one expects better service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Pleasant French Restaurant

Dined on February 14, 2016

A nice restaurant. Service is efficient and welcoming. The food was nicely prepared although the sides were uninspiring. The deserts were excellent. The featured soup was also very good. They have a sophisticated wine selection. It is a better restaurant than what you would expect to find in a small town if not quite up to the level of some we have visited in Richmond and DC.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We've dined at Pomme on a number of occasions and it is always a wonderful experience. The food is second to none and the atmosphere created by the owner/family make dining there a joyful memory.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always GREAT

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

One again, Restaurant Pomme did not disappoint. We arrived before a concert for an early Valentine's dinner, and we were seated promptly. David, our server was very friendly & efficient even though they were a bit short-staffed....all was well. We started with the onion tart with salad for my wife, and the cream of mushroom soup for me -- both were fantastic. Our entrees were the trout and the coq au vin -- EXCELLENT!!! My wife commented that this was the best coq she'd ever eaten, and she's eaten plenty of it over the years. Dessert was simply sorbet. There is no wonder that this is our favorite go-to place for special occasions and simple getaways....it can't be beat. We have never been disappointed, and we never miss a chance to recommend Pomme to others.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.