About Restaurant Orsay

3630 Park Street
Jacksonville, FL 32205
View Larger Map

Located slightly off the beaten path in the Avondale Historic District, Restaurant Orsay attracts regular locals and foodies from across the southeast by showcasing their French Cuisine in a warm, inviting atmosphere, without being pretentious or stuffy. Owner Jonathan Insetta, Managing Partner Jason Eddy, and Executive Chef Michael Mckinney, work to bring locally sourced ingredients together with genuine southern hospitality. Recognized as Jacksonville's best restaurant by locals in Folio Weekly, Restaurant Orsay is a premier dining destination on the First Coast. The establishment is accredited by AAA with four diamonds, has won numerous awards for food, service and wine, and is the only independent establishment in North Florida with Wine Spectator’s “Best of Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 7 days a week 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:30 pm
Late Night: Thursday - Saturday 10:00 pm - 12:00 am
Cocktail Hour: Sunday - Friday 4:00 pm- 7:00 pm, Saturday 11:00 am - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
Edgewood or Dancy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 381-0909

Website:
http://www.restaurantorsay.com/

Catering:
Restaurant Orsay understands that when we cater your event, we don’t just bring in our trained staff, and our delicious food–we bring a commitment to bringing your vision to life. Our talented staff will liaise with the florist, the musicians, and even the rental company to ensure that every detail is perfected. Our chefs will work with you to create a culinary event to be proud of, which also reflects your personality and any dietary considerations.
Because we know you aren’t just interested in dinner, you want an experience worth sharing.

Parking Details:
Additional parking is available at First Coast Cross Fit, located next door.

Public Transit:
Public Transit Stop Located At Park & Ingleside.

Executive Chef:
Michael Mckinney

Private Party Facilities:
The private dining room at Restaurant Orsay is the perfect balance between style and substance. Designed to evoke feelings of lush intimacy, the space is nonetheless perfect for meetings and conferences as well. State of the art audiovisual equipment is available as well as high-speed internet.

Private Party Contact:
Danielle Johnson: 9043810909x16

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Foie Gras
Blueberries And Cream
Beef Stroganoff
coq au vin
Charcuterie plate
Electric Candlelight
Dark Chocolate Cremeux
Creamsicle
Roasted Oysters
Caramel Wonut And Macarons
Oysters
Raspberry, Coconut, And Ruby Peach Sorbet
Steak & Eggs
Petite Plateaux
Sweet Tea Pork Belly With Uplandcress Salad, Anson Mills Grits, And A Poached Egg
Chocolate torte
steak tartare
Pastry War
Strawberry, Blackberry, And Raspberry Sorbet
Island Green
Salmon Tartare
Raspberry Macarons
French Pear Martini And Dark & Stormy
Raspberry Macrons And Chocolate Raspberry Torte
Creme Brulee
Dark & Stormy (Cocktail)
Eastbound & Down (Cocktail)
Steak Frites
Espresso
Blood Orange (Cocktail)
Shrimp And Grits With Roasted Corn, Jalapeno, And Bacon Relish
Lobster Mac & Cheese
Marinated Calamari
Mac N Cheese, Marinated Calamari, Harvest Mule
Cheese Plate
Olive Plate
Portobello, Crimini, And Shiitake Mushroom Omelette With Cheese
Banana Brioche Bread Pudding
Two Dollar Deviled Eggs
eclair
macrons
P.E.I. Mussels
Alaskan King Crab Risotto
Local Vegetable Ratatouille
Seasonal Sorbet - Regional Grapefruit And Tarragon
Sockeye Salmon Tartare
Chilled Heirloom Tomato Soup
Escargot
Bouillabaisse
Steak And Frites
Onion Soup
Pâté
Mussels
Lobster Pot Pie
Deviled Eggs
Croque Madame
Bourbon & Orange French Toast
Scallops
Meatloaf
strawberry shortcake
Frites
Housemade Pastries
Duck Breast
Pistachio Mousse Terrine
Black Truffle Mac & Cheese
Burger and frites
Peach Tart
Lemon Mirange Cake
Pistachio Ice Cream
Sea Scallop Tartare
Valrohna Chocolate Bouchon
Sea Scallops
Haricot Verte Salad
Pork Chop
Sangria
Steak & Frites
Eden Farms Berkshire Pork Chop
Pan Roasted Fish (Norwegian Halibut) On Top Of Roasted Cauliflower Puree
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Duck Confit Hash
Shrimp and Grits
Eggs A La Orsay
Quiche With Roasted Chicken And Mushrooms
Croque Madame With Pulled Pork
Carolina Trout With Green Beans And Fingerling Potatos
Lemon Buttermilk Scone
Bloody Mary 2.5
Grits
Shepard's Pie
Port 25 Year Twaney
Wild Sokeye Salmon Tar Tar
spinach and feta gratin
Seared Duck Breast With Lentils And Parsnip Puree And Duck Jus
Amaretto
Sweet Grass Dairy Green Hill Cheese
S'more (Dessert)
Espresso Torte
Macaroni and Cheese
French Toast
Pappardalle (Pasta) with Lamb Ragout

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Restaurant Orsay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Most Booked
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
8 More
Best Overall
Jacksonville
Best Food
Jacksonville
Best Service
Jacksonville
Best Value
Jacksonville
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville
Neighborhood Gem
Jacksonville
Romantic
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

fit for foodies (143)
special occasion (140)
neighborhood gem (103)
See All
romantic (97)
notable wine list (84)
great for brunch (53)
good for groups (50)
hot spot (49)
vibrant bar scene (39)
late-night find (17)
great for lunch (16)
great for outdoor dining (13)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1772 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is hands down my favorite restauran ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is hands down my favorite restaurant in JAX. I've never had a bad experience here regardless of event. From a birthday, to a date, to merely cocktails and appetizers during happy hours, I am continually greeted by waitstaff and hosts alike with smiles and an eagerness to give you a wonderful experience. The service is only slightly outdone by the decadent food that never leaves you wanting. Pick a genre and prepare to be amazed with each bite whether it is seafood, beef, duck, or just a charcuterie plate, and enjoy your experience. I can't recommend this restaurant enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovvvvvved it. Made a reservation for my ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Lovvvvvved it. Made a reservation for my two year anniversary with my girlfriend. The food and service was outstanding. Upon learning that it was our anniversary they presented us with complimentary champagne. #trill

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was extremely disappointed in this res ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I was extremely disappointed in this restaurant. It was my 1st X there after hearing about it for a long time. The Lyonnaise salad, which I know & like very much, was very poorly assembled. It had a colored hard boiled egg described as poached in red wine (why?), frisée greens, onion, duck bacon, a tasteless piece of toasted baguette,& hardly any dressing. Bad news. The appetizer of seared scallops was overly salty. The locale is really ghastly. The ONLY good thing was the service, which was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Food and service was great. Excellent. N ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food and service was great. Excellent. Noise level high. Recommend

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was flawless. Food amazing. Wa ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was flawless. Food amazing. Was lucky enough to try the rabbit stew special and it was amazing. We are fortunate to have a restaurant like this in Jacksonville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All the food was phenomenal, and the ser ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

All the food was phenomenal, and the service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is a French restaurant, so how can ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is a French restaurant, so how can you screw up Steak Frites? Fries were not hand cut, but of the frozen variety and greasy. The steak should be "hanger" and sliced thinly, not in chunks. A highly touted restaurant in Jacksonville, which is a big bust in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Tasty, interesting craft cocktails. The ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Tasty, interesting craft cocktails. The oysters were phenomenal. Both the mussels and the Filet were wonderful. Stroganoff was tremendously over-salted. Every wine we chose that was under $100 was out of stock. Meal for four was $320.00 which included one shared app and a salad/soup with entree for each. Wait staff were very patient with our ordering and very nice to bring the birthday girl dessert... creme brulee was perhaps some of the best in town.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome - as always!! Never disappointe ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Awesome - as always!! Never disappointed here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lots of prima donnas behind the bar, not ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Lots of prima donnas behind the bar, not good for guests to suffer through the attitudes. Lamb Belly was excellent, Lyonnaise salad very disappointing. Nothing authentic. Busy, popular spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The hostess Tiffany was very sweet and k ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The hostess Tiffany was very sweet and kind and got us the most private table available. Our waiter Griffin was pleasantly accommodating and took his time to explain the menu items. Surprisingly, we were greeted with a glass of champagne to begin our anniversary celebration. The sautéed calamari was absolutely delicious as well as our entrees of salmon and pan-fried snapper. We enjoyed the Chardonnay and topped off the evening with strawberry shortcake. This was our first time visiting Orsay and I must say it made our 28th anniversary very special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the food very much. The cockt ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We enjoyed the food very much. The cocktails were wonderful too. The waiter was knowledgable and service was good. However the air conditioning was very poor in the main room And it was uncomfortably hot so we decided to leave after dinner. I hope the restaurant fixes this soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food and service! Highly recom ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful food and service! Highly recommend it. Took the kids this time so we ate extremely early. Staff was great with the kids - our kids are adventurous eaters and well behaved in nice restaurants, so it was a place we'll return with them in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great experience.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had two issues: One we were seated ne ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had two issues:

One we were seated near the kitchen prep area and overheard one of the servers swear while I food order was incorrect.

Secondly, we saw another server wipe his nose with his bare hand and then handle plates without washing.

If I am spending $150 for dinner I should not be subject to obscenities or disgusting behaviors by the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Glad we had reservations-the place was p ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Glad we had reservations-the place was packed at 7pm. Yes, loud, even on a Wednesday night, but looking around there were a lot of folks really enjoying themselves. If I lived in the Jacksonville area I would return frequently to sample some additional interesting things on the menu. My braised short rib with cornbread was terrific and my wife's PEI mussels were darned good. House Bordeaux and chardonnay are good choices. Wait staff was efficient, friendly and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything we had was delicious. If I ha ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everything we had was delicious. If I had deeper pockets and a bigger appetite, I would have ordered much more food and drinks. The drinks were very smooth and the food very rich. I'm disappointed that I just now found this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing. Just amazing. Will definitely c ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Amazing. Just amazing. Will definitely come back!great food, great wine, great waitor.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have Celiac and Orsay was wonderful in ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I have Celiac and Orsay was wonderful in providing alternatives. And the staff is wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place ! Always our "Go To" ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We love this place ! Always our "Go To" place for special and romantic occasions !

I'm almost sure we have had Mark as our waiter before and he is super. We will miss him!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Orsay is always great! They always do so ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Orsay is always great! They always do something special abs have excellent service & food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent, went for a rom ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything was excellent, went for a romantic dinner. Our table was near the bar, and thenoise level was higher then I liked it to be.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had been putting off dinin ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My wife and I had been putting off dining at Orsay for far too long (we live 30 minutes away). We had heard and read excellent reviews. Sadly on this occasion, my wife's Birthday, we were disappointed. We anticipated white table clothes and received wooden tables and metal (unpadded) chairs. The food and service were quite good but the restaurant temperature was too to hot to enjoy our meal. We may revisit again but in wintertime and a more casual meal.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Really nice restaurant with very good fo ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Really nice restaurant with very good food.

Our waiter was Tony who was excellent - great knowledge on the menu and where the food came from. Also good attention to detail and didn't tend to hover uncomfortably. The cheese & charcuterie plate was a highlight. I really liked how they made my pregnant wife a mocktail based on her cocktail 'profile'. Nice place.

Tags: romance, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our mea ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Orsay. From the special drinks on the cocktail menu, through the very unique appetizer selections to the entree menu, everything was well prepared and presented, flavorful and more than enough for an appetite. We usually order desert but were both too full. It's not cheap but I think it's a very good value for those who can appreciate a flavorful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server, Patrick was amazing! Knowle ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our server, Patrick was amazing! Knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My third trip to Orsay! Excellent tasti ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My third trip to Orsay! Excellent tasting food as always. Chris our waiter was excellent as always also. However, their AC unit was out and they did not call us ahead of time or tell us until after we were seated and it was hot and uncomfortable in the back dining room. I wish they had called me and told me ahead of time and given me the option of going somewhere else that night - that would have been the outstanding thing to do -so they did disappoint me in that arena.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Boulibasse was over powering with scent ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Boulibasse was over powering with scent of Pernod, calamari was rubbery, only two small pieces of fish, two under cooked scallops, and five small mussels. Not very memorable. Lobster pot pie biscuit was raw internally and too much of herb in dough. Service by Mark very good and especially enjoyed complimentary champagne for anniversary.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Anniversary dinner and first time at Ors ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Anniversary dinner and first time at Orsay. Food was good but overall didn't have a great experience... Wife is 8 months pregnant, we have 2 other children and were looking forward to a nice relaxing dinner and we were underwhelmed. It was roughly 85 degrees in the back dinning room, almost unbearable. Lastly, for a place with such a good reputation and price point, I wouldn't expect to find a hair in my $40 filet plate.

Not sure we would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The experience wasn't what I expected. O ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The experience wasn't what I expected. Our food was quite salty and it wasn't fulfilling.

I was highly disappointed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful experience, I would highly rec ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Wonderful experience, I would highly recommend it. From the wine, to the tapas, to the dinner, to the port - it was excellent! Brian was a very friendly and knowledgeable waiter. It is not cheap, but it is worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for brunch, had the steak and eggs. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Went for brunch, had the steak and eggs. It was delicious! Best brunch I've ever had. A+ for food and service. The place is super nice too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant Orsay never disappoints! We c ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Restaurant Orsay never disappoints! We celebrated my mother's retirement after 43 years. I'm sad that I've moved to Nashville because Orsay hits the spot unlike any other restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and restaurant staff was incr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and restaurant staff was incredible as always. Only downside to experience was the fact it was quite warm inside. I was actually sweating at the table. It did cool down slightly but still was bothersome.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food is very well prepared. Some of ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food is very well prepared. Some of the flavor choices were better than others (the bouillabaisse was nice but the fish in it was flavorless and overdone). I'm not sure Restaurant Orsay is a good value overall. The prices are so high that it's difficult to eat much without a big bill, so it's difficult to say that the experience leaves a good feeling or a desire to return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Tuna tartare appetizer special was outst ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Tuna tartare appetizer special was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service, professionalism of the staff wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Service, professionalism of the staff was top notch, never had to ask for anything. The food was delicious and innovative. Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, wonderful, courteous and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent food, wonderful, courteous and thoughtful service. If I lived closer I'd be there once a week!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Specialty Drinks, service ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great Food and Specialty Drinks, service was top notch also.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice birthday celebration.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We have been going to Orsay since they opened. Not a lot, but a few times per year. It is always great with tasty food and fine service. It remains at the top of our local dinner spots.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.