About Restaurant Orsay

3630 Park Street
Jacksonville, FL 32205
View Larger Map

Located slightly off the beaten path in the Avondale Historic District, Restaurant Orsay attracts regular locals and foodies from across the southeast by showcasing their French Cuisine in a warm, inviting atmosphere, without being pretentious or stuffy. Owner Jonathan Insetta, Managing Partner Jason Eddy, and Executive Chef Michael Mckinney, work to bring locally sourced ingredients together with genuine southern hospitality. Recognized as Jacksonville's best restaurant by locals in Folio Weekly, Restaurant Orsay is a premier dining destination on the First Coast. The establishment is accredited by AAA with four diamonds, has won numerous awards for food, service and wine, and is the only independent establishment in North Florida with Wine Spectator’s “Best of Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 7 days a week 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:30 pm
Late Night: Thursday - Saturday 10:00 pm - 12:00 am
Cocktail Hour: Sunday - Friday 4:00 pm- 7:00 pm, Saturday 11:00 am - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
Edgewood or Dancy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 381-0909

Website:
http://www.restaurantorsay.com/

Catering:
Restaurant Orsay understands that when we cater your event, we don’t just bring in our trained staff, and our delicious food–we bring a commitment to bringing your vision to life. Our talented staff will liaise with the florist, the musicians, and even the rental company to ensure that every detail is perfected. Our chefs will work with you to create a culinary event to be proud of, which also reflects your personality and any dietary considerations.
Because we know you aren’t just interested in dinner, you want an experience worth sharing.

Parking Details:
Additional parking is available at First Coast Cross Fit, located next door.

Public Transit:
Public Transit Stop Located At Park & Ingleside.

Executive Chef:
Michael Mckinney

Private Party Facilities:
The private dining room at Restaurant Orsay is the perfect balance between style and substance. Designed to evoke feelings of lush intimacy, the space is nonetheless perfect for meetings and conferences as well. State of the art audiovisual equipment is available as well as high-speed internet.

Private Party Contact:
Danielle Johnson: 9043810909x16

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Foie Gras
Blueberries And Cream
Beef Stroganoff
coq au vin
Charcuterie plate
Electric Candlelight
Dark Chocolate Cremeux
Creamsicle
Roasted Oysters
Oysters
Caramel Wonut And Macarons
steak tartare
Raspberry, Coconut, And Ruby Peach Sorbet
Steak & Eggs
Petite Plateaux
Sweet Tea Pork Belly With Uplandcress Salad, Anson Mills Grits, And A Poached Egg
Chocolate torte
Pastry War
Strawberry, Blackberry, And Raspberry Sorbet
Island Green
Salmon Tartare
Raspberry Macarons
French Pear Martini And Dark & Stormy
Raspberry Macrons And Chocolate Raspberry Torte
Creme Brulee
Shrimp And Grits With Roasted Corn, Jalapeno, And Bacon Relish
Lobster Mac & Cheese
Marinated Calamari
Dark & Stormy (Cocktail)
Eastbound & Down (Cocktail)
Steak Frites
Espresso
Blood Orange (Cocktail)
Mac N Cheese, Marinated Calamari, Harvest Mule
Cheese Plate
Olive Plate
Banana Brioche Bread Pudding
Portobello, Crimini, And Shiitake Mushroom Omelette With Cheese
Two Dollar Deviled Eggs
eclair
macrons
P.E.I. Mussels
Alaskan King Crab Risotto
Local Vegetable Ratatouille
Seasonal Sorbet - Regional Grapefruit And Tarragon
Sockeye Salmon Tartare
Chilled Heirloom Tomato Soup
Escargot
Eggs A La Orsay
Sangria
Bouillabaisse
Cantaloupe, Pineapple, And Honey Dew Sorbet
Bread With Made From Scratch Peach Jam
Deviled Eggs With Maine Lobster, Raw Asparagus And Black Truffle Vinegarette
Champignons Et Gruyere (Mushroom And Cheese Omelette)
Coconut Sorbet
Chocolate Guinness Mousse Cake
Steak And Frites
Onion Soup
Pâté
Mussels
Lobster Pot Pie
Deviled Eggs
Croque Madame
Bourbon & Orange French Toast
Scallops
Meatloaf
strawberry shortcake
Frites
Housemade Pastries
Duck Breast
Pistachio Mousse Terrine
Black Truffle Mac & Cheese
Burger and frites
Peach Tart
Lemon Mirange Cake
Pistachio Ice Cream
Sea Scallop Tartare
Valrohna Chocolate Bouchon
Sea Scallops
Haricot Verte Salad
Pork Chop
Steak & Frites
Eden Farms Berkshire Pork Chop
Pan Roasted Fish (Norwegian Halibut) On Top Of Roasted Cauliflower Puree
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Duck Confit Hash
Shrimp and Grits
Quiche With Roasted Chicken And Mushrooms
Croque Madame With Pulled Pork
Carolina Trout With Green Beans And Fingerling Potatos
Lemon Buttermilk Scone
Bloody Mary 2.5
Grits
Shepard's Pie
Port 25 Year Twaney
Wild Sokeye Salmon Tar Tar
spinach and feta gratin
Seared Duck Breast With Lentils And Parsnip Puree And Duck Jus
Amaretto

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Restaurant Orsay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Food
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
12 More
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Notable Wine List
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Most Booked
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Jacksonville
Best Food
Jacksonville
Best Service
Jacksonville
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Best Value
Jacksonville
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville
Romantic
Jacksonville
Special Occasion
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

fit for foodies (158)
special occasion (156)
neighborhood gem (116)
See All
romantic (106)
notable wine list (94)
great for brunch (62)
good for groups (56)
hot spot (53)
vibrant bar scene (45)
late-night find (19)
great for outdoor dining (16)
great for lunch (16)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1742 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience, I would highly rec ...

Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful experience, I would highly recommend it. From the wine, to the tapas, to the dinner, to the port - it was excellent! Brian was a very friendly and knowledgeable waiter. It is not cheap, but it is worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch, had the steak and eggs. ...

Dined 6 days ago

Went for brunch, had the steak and eggs. It was delicious! Best brunch I've ever had. A+ for food and service. The place is super nice too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Orsay never disappoints! We c ...

Dined 7 days ago

Restaurant Orsay never disappoints! We celebrated my mother's retirement after 43 years. I'm sad that I've moved to Nashville because Orsay hits the spot unlike any other restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and restaurant staff was incr ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and restaurant staff was incredible as always. Only downside to experience was the fact it was quite warm inside. I was actually sweating at the table. It did cool down slightly but still was bothersome.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

The food is very well prepared. Some of ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food is very well prepared. Some of the flavor choices were better than others (the bouillabaisse was nice but the fish in it was flavorless and overdone). I'm not sure Restaurant Orsay is a good value overall. The prices are so high that it's difficult to eat much without a big bill, so it's difficult to say that the experience leaves a good feeling or a desire to return soon.

food5
ambience5
service5

Tuna tartare appetizer special was outst ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Tuna tartare appetizer special was outstanding!

food5
ambience4
service5

Service, professionalism of the staff wa ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Service, professionalism of the staff was top notch, never had to ask for anything. The food was delicious and innovative. Will definitely be back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, wonderful, courteous and ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent food, wonderful, courteous and thoughtful service. If I lived closer I'd be there once a week!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food and Specialty Drinks, service ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great Food and Specialty Drinks, service was top notch also.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice birthday celebration.

Dined on June 8, 2016

We have been going to Orsay since they opened. Not a lot, but a few times per year. It is always great with tasty food and fine service. It remains at the top of our local dinner spots.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service, terrific food - well pre ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Great service, terrific food - well prepared and nice presentation, couldn't ask for more.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'll be back!

Dined on June 7, 2016

We were going to be in Jacksonville for a Tuesday afternoon appointment and decided to try a top rated restaurant while there. We saw great reviews on Orsay and booked an early 6:15 pm reservation. We arrived early and had no problem getting a table. However it did fill up later, so you may want to book ahead. We received bread which was good but not warm (I prefer it a little warm). My boyfriend had the marinated calamari and loved it. We also ordered the olive oil marinated olives. These were also good but we had so much other food to try that we took them home. The golden beet terrine was incredible. I would order it every time. My boyfriend had the Caesar salad and really liked it too. For entrees, I had the Pan Roasted Fish, I recall it being snapper. It was super. The grits and corn were creamy and delicious. The fish was cooker perfectly. My boyfriend had the filet mignon. Which again was outstanding and cooked perfectly. We loved this place and can't wait to go back and try some of the other items. Worth the 2 hour drive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food is the star of the show. The service and ambiance were great but the food was impeccable. This was our first visit but we will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Surprised

Dined on June 4, 2016

Trendy atmosphere with a high end culinary taste. It wasn't the quiet romantic atmosphere we were looking for but once the food came out, we didn't care anymore. Some of the best food in Jacksonville!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Ordered cassoulet and the duck was prepa ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Ordered cassoulet and the duck was prepared perfectly. The dish and bread pudding dessert were delicious.

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Dissapointed in the service and the cocktails

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

We normally love Orsay, however, this time the service was sub-par for an upscale restaurant. Our martinis were not up to standard. Even had a French Pear Martini and it tasted mostly like juice. When we inquired if they've changed anything, we were told that they had not. We've ordered the pomme frites as one of our appetizers as we always do and they looked a little pale and tasted like French fries. We've asked if they've changed their recipe and we were told they did not. So basically, the food is not staying up to their normally high standards. Our waiter messed up my order. I've ordered the pork chops and they brought me Bouillabaisse, does those even remotely sound the same? When they came I thought maybe somebody else had ordered them and when nobody else had and they messed up my order they said they can make me pork chops...well, I didn't exactly have 20 minutes to wait while everybody else ate so I accepted the messed up order. The whole experience seemed more Olive Garden than a trendy upscale restaurant. We've dinned at Orsay so many times and this was rather an embarrassment as we were celebrating a friend's birthday and that friend has never been to Orsay.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service is always excellent and the ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

The service is always excellent and the food is absolutely terrific. We have dined here several times and have been served by several members of the staff. The staff is very knowledgable and passionate. Management is visible and engaged with the clientele. They all hold themselves to a higher standard than any other restaurant I have experienced. It is quite refreshing and this is our favorite. You cannot go wrong at Orsay.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Jacksonville must !

Dined on June 3, 2016

Loved everything about it, from the friendliness and attention of the staff to the goodness of every bite of food I took ! Hands down one of my favorite date night restaurants in Jax .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good, but didn't live up to the hype.

Dined on May 29, 2016

First time dining here and had heard for a long time from several sources that this is the best restaurant in Jacksonville. It was very good and we will definitely go back, but my wife and I both prefer Ruth's Chris which, quite frankly, is very hard to beat. My wife had the Sea Bass on the server's recommendation and I had the Braised Beef Short Rib. Both were very good, but I can't walk out of there saying that was the best meal I've ever had in Jacksonville.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful night out with family

Dined on May 29, 2016

The dinner, cocktails and dessert were out of this world. We really enjoyed the dessert tower.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent and so was the foo ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Service was excellent and so was the food. Perfectly seasoned, appropriate flavor just money. If you have not been you are missing one of the best restaurants in the south!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cooking with a French twist

Dined on May 29, 2016

Interesting food combinations and fusions with a French twist. Hearty flavors without one seasoning or spice overshadowing the others. Had brunch there and will go back to try dinner. Food was of excellent quality and taste and presentation. Service was vary good and made for a memorable experience.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect dinner, food and service

Dined on May 28, 2016

Can't say enough good things about Orsay. Phenomenal menu, food was fantastic , service was impeccable. Can't wait to go back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was fabulous! Dinner and wine selec ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was fabulous! Dinner and wine selection was one of best in Jax

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on May 27, 2016

The food and staff were amazing. Great, fast service with friendly staff. The food was delicious and well paired, extensive menu options, and well prepared food. You will not be disappointed if you decide to dine here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

service top notch, food so so

Dined on May 25, 2016

I had heard about Restaurant Orsay from so many folks I was prepared to have a food memory that would carry me for awhile. While this was my first visit I was treated exceptionally well by the waitstaff and was fully informed about the early dining menu which was a great idea. If only the reputation for great food had been met I would have been soaring. It was so so. The presentation was beautiful but the flavors weren't there. Sorry Orsay I won't be going back anytime soon.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a 5

Dined on May 25, 2016

Sweet breads yum. Escargot the best in town. Pan roasted red snapper with anson grits has to be the best fish dish in Jax. Excellent all the way around. Well done as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were so impressed with the selection ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

We were so impressed with the selection and the quality of food. I love the idea of supporting local farmers as well as eating "REAL" food. It was a little pricey but well worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Builder/homeowner

Dined on May 22, 2016

We enjoyed our first dining experience at Orsay very much. The trout was awesome and a good size portion. Service was very attentive. The meal was not rushed, it was just the right pace. Look forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible!! Really good wine list, exce ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Incredible!! Really good wine list, excellent appetizers, and overall enjoyable experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed Sunday Brunch. We made our reservation with Open Table and were seated promptly. Our servers were courteous and efficient. Our food was delicious. I had the quiche special which featured short ribs and caramelized onions. The side salad was a good balance to the plate. The presentation was simple, but lovely. We chose small samplers for dessert, which were the perfect touch to finish the meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

We have given Orsay two opportunities to ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We have given Orsay two opportunities to impress is in recent years, and both have been failures. This particular visit began with our arriving 15 before our 5:45 pm reservation time and being asked to wait while they finished setting the table. No problem. A nice cocktail from the happy hour menu arrived quickly enough. Then our reservation time came and went. Other parties entered and were seated immediately. Finally I went back to the desk at 6 pm and the dumbfounded hipster teenager looked around a few times, apologized, and said they were ready - only to lead us to a table that had been sitting empty and set since we arrived. In a corner. In the bar. Our server disappeared for long stretches. We didn't receive our bread until 6:30. By this point we were starving and not pleased with the situation. The bacon and onion flatbread appetizer was wonderful and a highlight of the evening. My wife had a filet, but the sauce was overpowering to the dish. I had a nice black grouper special of the evening which was very well prepared and enjoyable. The food itself was good. The service, as with out last visit, was inexcusable for a "high end" dining establishment, even in Jacksonville. We will not be back. There are plenty of other places in town in the same price and quality range with far superior service and setting.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Splendid in every respect. Jacksonville ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Splendid in every respect. Jacksonville's finest restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our 49th anniversary, and we were ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

It was our 49th anniversary, and we were treated remarkably well. I tipped accordingly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great I just couldn't hea ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Everything was great I just couldn't hear the person sitting across from me because of the noise level.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

JC

Dined on May 16, 2016

Celebrated our first anniversary. Was pleasantly surprised to discover a nice happy hour menu with wine and appetizers. Food was delicious and service pleasant and knowledgeable. Have already discussed our experience with several friends. PS I'm in the restaurant businesses myself.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date Night done right

Dined on May 15, 2016

Best dinner I've had In Jacksonville in a long time. From start, Trois Foie Mousse, oysters to our dinners, Duck for me, Rack of lamb for my wife to dessert. Top notch fare. Can't miss dinner if you're in Jax

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Our server Tony is always great

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Our server Tony is always great

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was my first time dining at this lo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was my first time dining at this location since it became Orsay. It used to be Crush, which was also very good. I liked their happy hour options, wines, specialty cocktails, and small plates. The French Pear drink is sweet and refreshing. The cheese plate and olives are delicious. We enjoyed our entrees (seafood) and had dessert (banana bread pudding). The wait staff were friendly, quick, and accommodating. My husband almost left our credit card and someone ran it out to us, which I cannot be thankful enough. So happy we went here and will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food as always and top notch ser ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing food as always and top notch service. The best restaurant in Jax by far.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.