About Restaurant Orsay

3630 Park Street
Jacksonville, FL 32205
View Larger Map

Located slightly off the beaten path in the Avondale Historic District, Restaurant Orsay attracts regular locals and foodies from across the southeast by showcasing their French Cuisine in a warm, inviting atmosphere, without being pretentious or stuffy. Owner Jonathan Insetta, Managing Partner Jason Eddy, and Executive Chef Michael Mckinney, work to bring locally sourced ingredients together with genuine southern hospitality. Recognized as Jacksonville's best restaurant by locals in Folio Weekly, Restaurant Orsay is a premier dining destination on the First Coast. The establishment is accredited by AAA with four diamonds, has won numerous awards for food, service and wine, and is the only independent establishment in North Florida with Wine Spectator’s “Best of Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 7 days a week 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 11:00 am - 3:30 pm
Late Night: Thursday - Saturday 10:00 pm - 12:00 am
Cocktail Hour: Sunday - Friday 4:00 pm- 7:00 pm, Saturday 11:00 am - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
Edgewood or Dancy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 381-0909

Website:
http://www.restaurantorsay.com/

Catering:
Restaurant Orsay understands that when we cater your event, we don’t just bring in our trained staff, and our delicious food–we bring a commitment to bringing your vision to life. Our talented staff will liaise with the florist, the musicians, and even the rental company to ensure that every detail is perfected. Our chefs will work with you to create a culinary event to be proud of, which also reflects your personality and any dietary considerations.
Because we know you aren’t just interested in dinner, you want an experience worth sharing.

Parking Details:
Additional parking is available at First Coast Cross Fit, located next door.

Public Transit:
Public Transit Stop Located At Park & Ingleside.

Executive Chef:
Michael Mckinney

Private Party Facilities:
The private dining room at Restaurant Orsay is the perfect balance between style and substance. Designed to evoke feelings of lush intimacy, the space is nonetheless perfect for meetings and conferences as well. State of the art audiovisual equipment is available as well as high-speed internet.

Private Party Contact:
Danielle Johnson: 9043810909x16

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Restaurant Orsay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Food
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
14 More
Best Value
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Notable Wine List
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Most Booked
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Jacksonville
Best Food
Jacksonville
Best Service
Jacksonville
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Best Value
Jacksonville
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville
Neighborhood Gem
Jacksonville
Romantic
Jacksonville
Special Occasion
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

special occasion (176)
fit for foodies (175)
neighborhood gem (125)
See All
romantic (124)
notable wine list (107)
great for brunch (68)
hot spot (66)
good for groups (58)
vibrant bar scene (53)
late-night find (20)
great for lunch (18)
great for outdoor dining (17)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1710 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Builder/homeowner

Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed our first dining experience at Orsay very much. The trout was awesome and a good size portion. Service was very attentive. The meal was not rushed, it was just the right pace. Look forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible!! Really good wine list, exce ...

Dined 3 days ago

Incredible!! Really good wine list, excellent appetizers, and overall enjoyable experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Splendid in every respect. Jacksonville ...

Dined 5 days ago

Splendid in every respect. Jacksonville's finest restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our 49th anniversary, and we were ...

Dined 5 days ago

It was our 49th anniversary, and we were treated remarkably well. I tipped accordingly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great I just couldn't hea ...

Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great I just couldn't hear the person sitting across from me because of the noise level.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

JC

Dined on May 16, 2016

Celebrated our first anniversary. Was pleasantly surprised to discover a nice happy hour menu with wine and appetizers. Food was delicious and service pleasant and knowledgeable. Have already discussed our experience with several friends. PS I'm in the restaurant businesses myself.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date Night done right

Dined on May 15, 2016

Best dinner I've had In Jacksonville in a long time. From start, Trois Foie Mousse, oysters to our dinners, Duck for me, Rack of lamb for my wife to dessert. Top notch fare. Can't miss dinner if you're in Jax

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Our server Tony is always great

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Our server Tony is always great

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was my first time dining at this lo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was my first time dining at this location since it became Orsay. It used to be Crush, which was also very good. I liked their happy hour options, wines, specialty cocktails, and small plates. The French Pear drink is sweet and refreshing. The cheese plate and olives are delicious. We enjoyed our entrees (seafood) and had dessert (banana bread pudding). The wait staff were friendly, quick, and accommodating. My husband almost left our credit card and someone ran it out to us, which I cannot be thankful enough. So happy we went here and will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food as always and top notch ser ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing food as always and top notch service. The best restaurant in Jax by far.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait Staff

Dined on May 13, 2016

Mark was knowledgable and helpful with choosing our food. Support staff was Johnny on the spot in clearing the table and refilling beverages. Thank you for making my husband's 70th birthday memorable. We will be back often.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great restaurant. Best pork chop ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

What a great restaurant. Best pork chop I've ever had. Black truffle Mac and cheese is amazing also

food5
ambience5
service5

Always one of my favorite restaurants in ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Always one of my favorite restaurants in terms of food, service, and ambiance.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were looking for a good dinner in Jac ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We were looking for a good dinner in Jacksonville and found it at Orsay! Smaller than most, we found the experience to feel private and special. The food was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful space with simply delicious ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

A wonderful space with simply delicious meals from appetizers through to dessert. The duck cassoulet was brilliant and the banana bread pudding marvelously decadent. Service was attentive, honest and friendly.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. I had fun pairing a ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Food was excellent. I had fun pairing a good selection of beers with the excellent food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best night out

Dined on May 10, 2016

Our experience at Orsay has always been incredible, but this night was different. The food was impeccable as always but Patrick was the best server I've had in Jacksonville and maybe ever. His knowledge of food and especially wine was exquisite and the service he gave was respectful and personable. He is truly a great asset to this restaurant and I strongly encourage requesting him. I will always recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

A Faux French Restaurant

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Yes, there were some French items on the extensive menu, but Restaurant Orsay is not a typical French eatery. Visiting Jacksonville from DC, we relied on Open Table reviews for Mother's Day dinner. The food was tasty, gourmet sizes and pricey. The roasted oysters were good. The Caesar salad was ordered with no capers, but the chef chose to ignore the request or the waiter forgot. Also, the salad was very heavy on lemon zest. The entree scallops, only 3 average in size, were paired with pasty rice middlins (rice grits) plus one shaved asparagus and a few greens. At $30 it did not meet expectations. The Norwegian Halibut special was enjoyed. Nice wine offerings and desserts. The waitstaff is large and very busy. Noise level was very high. There was a long wait between courses, not timed well at all. For the price level we expected better.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

very poor kitchen service, waited 35 minutes for

Dined on May 8, 2016

Waitress & staff keep apologizing for slow food. Waited 35 minutes for entree. Been coming here since it was Crush & took over 1 hour for brunch. Wow.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

What a night! Brian took great care of u ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

What a night! Brian took great care of us. So helpful with drink selections and knowledge about wine and definitely the menu.The food was superb and all the service.We went through more glasses and silverware. I didn't elaborate about the craft cocktails OF we are still

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent at every opportunity!

Dined on May 7, 2016

I have been curious about the cuisine at Orsay for at least 2 years and have never had the opportunity to dine at the establishment... until this last weekend. The food is delicious. The wait staff knows the menu. The ambience is great. I thoroughly enjoyed eating at Orsay even with the high price of dining there. I cannot afford to dine there frequently, but I assure you that when I have the opportunity I will spend my hard earned dollars to enjoy dining at Orsay again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Greatfoodandservicenoisytoosmalltablesnoatmospher.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was very good and service was great. Atmosphere was not good - noisy, our table was against the kitchen wall and we could hear the chef ordering the meals. Our table was a 2 top and there was no place for glasses and plates. The windows were covered and so there was no place to look that was attractive. We are seniors (70's) so maybe our expectations are different.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Top of the food chain.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Orsay delivered a fantastic experience. Knowledgeable wait staff; from drinks to oysters to fish-they KNEW what was going on. The food was unique and quite tasty. From standards to the more eccentric dishes, they covered a wide range of tastes and wants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant was very fitting for the occasion!

Dined on May 4, 2016

The Restaurant Orsay was an awesome experience. Along the food, the service was A+. I'd recommend this place to anyone interested in expanding their French restaurant experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic meal

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food and wine list--the raw bar selections are fantastic. One of the 2 or 3 best restaurants in Jacksonville.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Something for everyone

Dined on May 1, 2016

Ooh la la! The variety of foods and creative, delicious combinations added to the attentiveness of the wait staff made this a clear choice for a return trip. We arrived at 6 and discovered that there was a happy hour that went until 7 so we tried a bunch of appetizers and cocktails - yum! Everything was fresh and I was surprised that the entrees were generous portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites

Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent food, relaxed atmosphere, informative and attentive server. Wife had pork croque madame ( loved it) I had fried pork chop (loved it more) son had oysters.....fresh and delicious. Great choice in town! !

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Brunch in Town

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Best brunch in town. Start with one of the excellent cocktails. Move onto any number of great main dishes. But most of all save room for a petit four after your meal. The pastry kitchen puts out a steady stream of moni desserts, all with rotating flavors. The wonut cannot be beat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best French Food in Florida !

Dined on May 1, 2016

Found this restaurant in Google, and my wife and i where impressed. Food was excellent, Drinks great !. Had the Lobster Pot Pie. I have travelled the world, and this place is top notch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place for a date!

Dined on April 30, 2016

A little noisy, and the meal took a bit longer than I hoped, but everything was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Date night

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food, ambience, and service. Only complaint was had a 6:30 reservation but had to wait until 7:00 to be seated.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the food

Dined on April 30, 2016

Love the food

food5
ambience5
service5

Just the best place to eat in Jax servic ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Just the best place to eat in Jax service is absolutely the best and the food is always phenomenal!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

crowded yet great service and food

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

we usually do not come on a Saturday yet we were seated promptly in a quieter section of the restaurant and had great service.Communication amongst the staff helped make this so and they were ALL friendly and knowledgable. Food was ,as usual,great and for oyster lovers this is the place to be in Jacksonville (fresh from Washington state.But the rest of what I would call upscale Bistro food was also exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The place was outstanding. The service w ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The place was outstanding. The service was second to none and the food was out of this world.

food1
ambience2
service4
value1

decline of quality since last visit 2 years ago

Dined on April 28, 2016

small beef tenderloin filet...not a solid piece; not cooked evenly, not tasty rack of lamb...too small burnt onion soup with mushy onions...tasted like "kitchen bouquet" added. burnt brussel sprouts with "Kitchen Bouquet" taste. french bread tasted massed produced rather than from a made to order bakery. wine over priced. kitchen unnecessarily noisy. entrance to dining is through a noisy bar...this promotes a negative experience

food5
ambience5
service5

I loved the roasted oysters they were de ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

I loved the roasted oysters they were delicious and not to big. Also the waiter was fabulous I'm never disappointed when dining here.

food5
ambience5
service5

All was fantastic!

Dined on April 23, 2016

All was fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our new favorite restaurant!!

Dined on April 23, 2016

The dinner was superb! We had steak tartare and shrimp cocktail for our appetizers. They were fresh, cold, and delicious! The Caesar salad was seasoned perfectly. Our dinners of bouillabaisse and rack of lamb were sensational. The service was exceptional. Our waiter, Patrick, was attentive, personal, and made relevant suggestions to enhance our orders. The dessert of bread pudding was beyond description. We are planning to go again for Mother's Day!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Holy Moly

Dined on April 23, 2016

Restaurant Orsay had the best brunch in the history of ever,and the service was fantastic,too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.