About Restaurant Le Slang

5669 Ave de Monkland
Montreal, QC H4A 1E5
View Larger Map

Amazing International fusion cuisine.
New York's style atmosphere in the heart of Monkland village.
Inviting Vintage-industrial decor, casual, warm ambiance.
Montreal's top mixology bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Harvard and Oxford

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 600-1600

Website:
http://www.slanglab.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Le Slang Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Montreal / Quebec
Neighborhood Gem
Montreal / Quebec
Outdoor Dining
Montreal / Quebec
3 More
Hot Spot
Montreal
Neighborhood Gem
Montreal
Outdoor Dining
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Côte-des-Neiges/NDG ›

Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (5)
See All
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Romantic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dining like a local. Le Slang is a local ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Dining like a local. Le Slang is a local restaurant that was recommended to me by a Montreal friend. The food was terrific, casual but exquisitely prepared and presented. And the drinks are one of their sources of pride. The cocktails were perfect. And best hamburger EVER.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The General Tao Calamari was outstanding ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The General Tao Calamari was outstandingly delicious! A must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was very good, had the ribs and fri ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was very good, had the ribs and fries, but would have liked a small salad or some kind of vegatable as well! That would make the price worth it!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

special place

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We have dined at Le Slang on more than a dozen occasions. It is consistently very good, and some dishes are phenomenal. The kitchen pays attention to the details. On the last visit I ordered meatballs as a starter, they were very good. However under the meatballs was a "broccoli slaw" - this was phenomenal. My girlfriend absolutely loves the tuna tartare. We always eat well here, the food is well prepared. The service is always very friendly and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm commenting here on two of my visits ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

I'm commenting here on two of my visits to Slang/Sabbaba, once with one friend and next with with two. My first friend had the salmon and enjoyed it enormously, taking home leftovers. The second two friends-- a couple who dine out frequently -- both had the grilled chicken, and one commented that she had never tasted such delicious chicken in her many years of eating out! Her husband had a glass of white wine , and commented to the maitre d' that not only was it excellent but great value for the quantity. We shared 5 tasty appetizers to start --all delicious! We finished with a dessert platter with gluten free chocolate cake and 3 kinds of ice cream sprinkled with fresh berries.

The music was also toned down to a very pleasant level; that had been my only complaint the first two times that I visited this restaurant. (Perhaps they read and responded to my review?!) I'm definitely going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a girls nite out!! Medit ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great place for a girls nite out!!

Mediterranean flavor n creative combinations

A Monkland gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Was a great find!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

It was our first time at Le Slang and I have to say we were pleaseantly surprised.

The ambiance was great, and the service as well.

You must have the General Tao calamari it was awesome and the dips with warm pita to start outstanding!

We will defiantly be back sometime soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It's not the first time I went to this r ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

It's not the first time I went to this restaurant. I like the food, the ambiance, and the service is always friendly. But this last saturday, the volume of the music was so high that we couldnt speak normally, but shout to each other which increased the noise in the restaurant.

Easy to fix... and I'll return for sure

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was excellent. First went with a fr ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was excellent. First went with a friend (April 7/16) who ordered the Tuna Tartare. I ordered the Mediterranean Chicken and we shared an order of Lamb Chops. Both the chicken and lamb chops were mouth wateringly delicious. (I didn't taste the Tuna as I avoid raw fish, even in sushi. But my friend said it was excellent.) We shared the carrot cake for dessert but were so stuffed that we couldn't finish it. I found the pricing surprisingly reasonable given the quality (fine cuisine). Service was excellent, attentive, but not excessive, and very efficient. My one caveat is the music, which I found a bit too loud.

When I returned May 14, 2016 with another friend, we sat on the terrace which we both enjoyed because it is more conducive to conversation. Again the food was excellent: we had the Mediterranean Chicken which, again, was delicious with a very ample serving (I took half home). My friend had the market salad, as well as two side dishes, one of an eggplant salad confection and the other a walnut puree of which were scrumptious as well as ample. He took home leftovers as well. For dessert, we shared the chocolate fudge cake with ice cream and berries. My friend commented that he has rarely enjoyed chocolate cake as much as this one. Service was great throughout, our food came quickly, water glasses were filled in a timely fashion, etc. But it flagged a bit at the end, waiting for our dessert perhaps because we were the only ones sitting on the terrace. (It was quite cool that evening.) I plan to return again and try something different from the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very cool resto!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I've been to Le Slang many times and I LOVE it! The food is awesome and there's a dish for everyone. The staff is friendly (and funny!) and knows its menu. The best bloody Cesars EVER (actually all drinks are pretty great)! The atmosphere is both chill and lively. Go, you won't regret it!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good sea bass. calamari overcooked ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Very good sea bass. calamari overcooked and not very hot--sent them back. very good service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent supper! Ate delicious calamari ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent supper! Ate delicious calamari in General Tao sauce and yummy sticky ribs. Their bloody caesar is great and the service fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and cocktails; fun and quirky ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Good food and cocktails; fun and quirky waiter; good service. A little pricy though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A Monkland highlight

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

This was my third visit. The food is always interesting (hence the name Slang Lab) and the service is always good. My only complaint is that the music is just a bit too loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food and service, not to mention ambience.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We went for dinner at the Slang on Saturday night, and we couldn't have picked a better place, the food was great, the ribs were delicious, the tuna tatar and the calamari were phenominal the service was outstanding. We truly enjoyed our experience and will definitely be going back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food although the chefs changed ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Amazing food although the chefs changed so don't know if it's still the same

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good but watch the msg levels

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

I like Le Slang but I am MSG sensitive and I believe on or more dishes must have had pretty high levels of msg (I'm looking at you, general Tao calamari) so watch out for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Monkland village gem

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

It was my first visit at Le Slang, but not my last: nice menu (interesting), great service, good ambiance. I had the General Tao fried calamari, which was very tasty and original. Will go back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious General Tao calamari. Deliciou ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Delicious General Tao calamari. Delicious drinks. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect evening with friends, great atmo ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Perfect evening with friends, great atmosphere, service and amazing food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent resto!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Had the tuna and beef tartare with buratta entrees. Then the tiger shrimp, all excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant, fun dining

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great atmosphere, moodily lit. Our waitress was knowledgable and pleasant, our meals were tasty and timely. Really fun! Smaller portions than I've been used to, but as the food was so fresh and good, I didn't really mind.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable evening! Great service

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Enjoyable evening! Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Date night!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Wow, amazing little place. Delicious food. Great service. Highly recommended for date night

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent (tuna tartare FTW ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

The food was excellent (tuna tartare FTW) but the drinks...woah. PHENOMENAL. The Horizon bourbon cocktail was amazing. The ambiance is great and the background music was Rolling Stones-tastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Rude service

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

The waiter was extremely rude, he brought my friend the wrong dish and did not apologize or offer to change it, he told her he would like the one he brought better. The food was mediocre, nothing fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We always love eating at Slang - food is ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

We always love eating at Slang - food is delicious. But this particular evening was soooo loud we couldn't hear each other. In fact we left without coffee and dessert and went over to Starbucks to escape the noise. We'll opt for week day evenings in the future - Saturday night is not the scene we're looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Love this place! Hip but not pretentious ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Love this place! Hip but not pretentious. Great food. Great music and great bar. Never had a bad experience yet. I've taken a few people there for the first time and they also were impressed !

Tuna tartare was delicious. Burrata creamy and decadent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food , but noisy and service could be better

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

It was noisy, we wanted a nice dinner. But the place was rowdy with shouting from every corner. Being an interracial couple we noticed the black waiter was not friendly. He praticaly slammed our drinks on our table and hurried us to finish our food. We both look young for our age so it did not help us to get better service. The food was delicious! The other waitresses was nice but again she felt rushed and barely gave us time to finish sentence b4 she ran away. The food was awesome but if you are looking for a romantic dinner it is not the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

Muah! (kisses fingertips)

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

The food was sublime. I had an eggplant parmesan appetizer that was so good I had to make my friend try it because she's Italian. Then I had a flank steak with mashed potatoes that was out of this world. The steak was a bit chewy, but the mash was perfect and the sauce it was served with was awesome. I tried my friend's seafood pappardelle because I had been tempted to order it myself. One taste and I was glad I didn't order it. It was just too spicy (and I like hot stuff) to appreciate the complexity of flavours and textures. Or maybe my tastebuds were still blissing out over my main course. We were too stuffed to consider ordering dessert, and that's saying something. Our waiter was a hoot and the other staff were very personable. The music is great, but it's a teensy bit too loud for a restaurant IMHO. This was my second visit and I would go back again. Definitely a restaurant I would recommend to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

REFRESHING

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

Unique twists with great presentation. A good addition to the Monkland Village

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Loved it!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 24, 2015

The food was delicious and our waiter Billy was funny, nice and attentive. Would definitely recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, this place is awesome

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

We went for an all-girl's dinner and had a great time. Our waitress was awesome; attentive but not over-bearing. It felt like every time we took a sip of water, our glasses were refilled by a staff member. The food was very good - I had the beet salad to start (only 2 small goat cheese croquettes which is my only complaint) and the lamb chops as a main. Literally the best lamb chops ever! My friends also really enjoyed their meals. Not a cheap outing but with food that good, I wasn't upset when the bill came. With tip and tax, it came to just over $70 for 1 cocktail + starter + main. I'd definitely go again :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Date night in a high energy restaurant

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Being locals to the Monkland area we have been meaning to try Slang for a while, ideally back when the terrace was out in the summer but being busy we finally made it during the colder season.

The place was bigger than expected and interesting choices on the food menu, I'd say there was something for everyone, without there being too much choice.

Great place and will most likely come again but with a group of people, not really convinced it's for a couples night out.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Good service, good food. Fun bar.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 15, 2015

The celery root remoulade was a bit over dressed and too creamy (kind of swimming in the mayonnaise dressing) but other than that the food was good; service good but they take your food away way too quickly and sometimes a bit abruptly. Lamb chops were good but would have liked a little zing from some lemon or something. Nice, fresh oysters.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great atmosphere, food was delicious and ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Great atmosphere, food was delicious and staff was great. My water glass never had a change to get empty, as someone would refill it consistently throughout the evening... Which is such a rare thing! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice moment

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Perfect place for celebrate, the service was great and the food was amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Disasters after disasters

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

Delicious food and terrible service. We waited 1h15 for our table. When we asked if they would offer us some kind of complimentary drinks for the wait they said "even if I offer you something it won't change anything so no". The waiter was dancing instead of taking our order and making sure we had everything we need. The wine was warm as tea. They served us black burned bread with the burrata and finally the busboy took away our plates when there was still food in it and when we said we weren't done, his response was: relax. Even if the food was good, I wouldn’t recommend unless something changes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Ok, but expensive for what you get

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

A trendy place - trendy staff, trendy menu. Terrace was great. Food arrived before the drinks, wine list was late, and food was good, but for the price we expected great. Wouldn't go back, unless they put more effort to raise the level of the food, or adjusted their prices

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Pleasantly surprised !

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

Pleasantly surprised. Service was outstanding and the food was delicious. A little pricey but well worth the extra money. Unfortunately, my slang burger was undercooked which left me waiting for a new one. The waitress apologized and spoke to the chef who made me a new one. Even with the mishap, Will definitely come back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.