Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Restaurant Le Slang

4.1
109 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
International
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Hot Spot

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Restaurant Le Slang, in Montreal, crafts delectable contemporary cuisine with decidedly global influence, served in its relaxing and friendly eatery. The spicy General Tao calamari with lime, sesame crumble and sweet pepper drops and the hummus and Israeli salad made with cucumber, pickles, onions, parsley with a side of charred pita make enticing appetizer options. Some of Restaurant Le Slang's specialty entrée dishes include the sticky ribs sprinkled with garlic, ginger and Thai chili flakes, the striped bass in sweet soy vinaigrette with lemon jasmine rice and the lamb chops with smoked maple house mustard, all of which are superbly prepared and are perfect accompanied by a glass of wine.

For a sweet end to your dining experience at Restaurant Le Slang, enjoy the creamy New York-style cheesecake with sweet graham cracker crumble, topped with strawberry sauce and fresh strawberries

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
International, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(514) 600-1600
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between Harvard and Oxford
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine
What 109 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1based on all time ratings
4.1
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on July 7, 2016

Malgré un menu plutôt restreint, chacun des plats que nous avons commandés étaient délicieux!
J'avais réservé pour un groupe du travail (10 personnes) et le service a été excellent.
La sélection de cocktails est intéressante - c'est d'ailleurs venant de quelques expériences précédentes que j'ai choisi ce restaurant pour un 5@7.
Je préfère quand ils ont un DJ, ça met plus d'ambiance. Tout de même, l'endroit s'est remplie vers 19h et le décor industriel est #1.
Je suggère cet endroit pour une belle soirée entre amis ou à 2. :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 28, 2016

Dining like a local. Le Slang is a local restaurant that was recommended to me by a Montreal friend. The food was terrific, casual but exquisitely prepared and presented. And the drinks are one of their sources of pride. The cocktails were perfect. And best hamburger EVER.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 22, 2016

The General Tao Calamari was outstandingly delicious! A must try!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was very good, had the ribs and fries, but would have liked a small salad or some kind of vegatable as well! That would make the price worth it!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2016

We have dined at Le Slang on more than a dozen occasions. It is consistently very good, and some dishes are phenomenal. The kitchen pays attention to the details. On the last visit I ordered meatballs as a starter, they were very good. However under the meatballs was a "broccoli slaw" - this was phenomenal. My girlfriend absolutely loves the tuna tartare. We always eat well here, the food is well prepared. The service is always very friendly and efficient.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2016

I'm commenting here on two of my visits to Slang/Sabbaba, once with one friend and next with with two. My first friend had the salmon and enjoyed it enormously, taking home leftovers. The second two friends-- a couple who dine out frequently -- both had the grilled chicken, and one commented that she had never tasted such delicious chicken in her many years of eating out! Her husband had a glass of white wine , and commented to the maitre d' that not only was it excellent but great value for the quantity. We shared 5 tasty appetizers to start --all delicious! We finished with a dessert platter with gluten free chocolate cake and 3 kinds of ice cream sprinkled with fresh berries.

The music was also toned down to a very pleasant level; that had been my only complaint the first two times that I visited this restaurant. (Perhaps they read and responded to my review?!) I'm definitely going back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2016

Great place for a girls nite out!!
Mediterranean flavor n creative combinations
A Monkland gem

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2016

It was our first time at Le Slang and I have to say we were pleaseantly surprised.
The ambiance was great, and the service as well.
You must have the General Tao calamari it was awesome and the dips with warm pita to start outstanding!
We will defiantly be back sometime soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was excellent. First went with a friend (April 7/16) who ordered the Tuna Tartare. I ordered the Mediterranean Chicken and we shared an order of Lamb Chops. Both the chicken and lamb chops were mouth wateringly delicious. (I didn't taste the Tuna as I avoid raw fish, even in sushi. But my friend said it was excellent.) We shared the carrot cake for dessert but were so stuffed that we couldn't finish it. I found the pricing surprisingly reasonable given the quality (fine cuisine). Service was excellent, attentive, but not excessive, and very efficient. My one caveat is the music, which I found a bit too loud.

When I returned May 14, 2016 with another friend, we sat on the terrace which we both enjoyed because it is more conducive to conversation. Again the food was excellent: we had the Mediterranean Chicken which, again, was delicious with a very ample serving (I took half home). My friend had the market salad, as well as two side dishes, one of an eggplant salad confection and the other a walnut puree of which were scrumptious as well as ample. He took home leftovers as well. For dessert, we shared the chocolate fudge cake with ice cream and berries. My friend commented that he has rarely enjoyed chocolate cake as much as this one. Service was great throughout, our food came quickly, water glasses were filled in a timely fashion, etc. But it flagged a bit at the end, waiting for our dessert perhaps because we were the only ones sitting on the terrace. (It was quite cool that evening.) I plan to return again and try something different from the menu.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2016

It's not the first time I went to this restaurant. I like the food, the ambiance, and the service is always friendly. But this last saturday, the volume of the music was so high that we couldnt speak normally, but shout to each other which increased the noise in the restaurant.
Easy to fix... and I'll return for sure

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2016

I've been to Le Slang many times and I LOVE it! The food is awesome and there's a dish for everyone. The staff is friendly (and funny!) and knows its menu. The best bloody Cesars EVER (actually all drinks are pretty great)! The atmosphere is both chill and lively. Go, you won't regret it!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2016

Very good sea bass. calamari overcooked and not very hot--sent them back. very good service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent supper! Ate delicious calamari in General Tao sauce and yummy sticky ribs. Their bloody caesar is great and the service fabulous!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2016

Good food and cocktails; fun and quirky waiter; good service. A little pricy though.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2016

This was my third visit. The food is always interesting (hence the name Slang Lab) and the service is always good. My only complaint is that the music is just a bit too loud.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2016

Amazing food although the chefs changed so don't know if it's still the same

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2016

We went for dinner at the Slang on Saturday night, and we couldn't have picked a better place, the food was great, the ribs were delicious, the tuna tatar and the calamari were phenominal the service was outstanding. We truly enjoyed our experience and will definitely be going back soon.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 4, 2016

I like Le Slang but I am MSG sensitive and I believe on or more dishes must have had pretty high levels of msg (I'm looking at you, general Tao calamari) so watch out for that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2016

It was my first visit at Le Slang, but not my last: nice menu (interesting), great service, good ambiance. I had the General Tao fried calamari, which was very tasty and original. Will go back for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2016

Delicious General Tao calamari. Delicious drinks. Will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2016

Perfect evening with friends, great atmosphere, service and amazing food!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2016

Had the tuna and beef tartare with buratta entrees. Then the tiger shrimp, all excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 12, 2016

Great atmosphere, moodily lit. Our waitress was knowledgable and pleasant, our meals were tasty and timely. Really fun! Smaller portions than I've been used to, but as the food was so fresh and good, I didn't really mind.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2016

Enjoyable evening! Great service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2016

Wow, amazing little place. Delicious food. Great service. Highly recommended for date night

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 29, 2016

The food was excellent (tuna tartare FTW) but the drinks...woah. PHENOMENAL. The Horizon bourbon cocktail was amazing. The ambiance is great and the background music was Rolling Stones-tastic!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 20, 2016

The waiter was extremely rude, he brought my friend the wrong dish and did not apologize or offer to change it, he told her he would like the one he brought better. The food was mediocre, nothing fantastic.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 19, 2015

We always love eating at Slang - food is delicious. But this particular evening was soooo loud we couldn't hear each other. In fact we left without coffee and dessert and went over to Starbucks to escape the noise. We'll opt for week day evenings in the future - Saturday night is not the scene we're looking for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2015

Love this place! Hip but not pretentious. Great food. Great music and great bar. Never had a bad experience yet. I've taken a few people there for the first time and they also were impressed !

Tuna tartare was delicious. Burrata creamy and decadent!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 17, 2015

It was noisy, we wanted a nice dinner. But the place was rowdy with shouting from every corner. Being an interracial couple we noticed the black waiter was not friendly. He praticaly slammed our drinks on our table and hurried us to finish our food. We both look young for our age so it did not help us to get better service. The food was delicious! The other waitresses was nice but again she felt rushed and barely gave us time to finish sentence b4 she ran away. The food was awesome but if you are looking for a romantic dinner it is not the place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 4, 2015

The food was sublime. I had an eggplant parmesan appetizer that was so good I had to make my friend try it because she's Italian. Then I had a flank steak with mashed potatoes that was out of this world. The steak was a bit chewy, but the mash was perfect and the sauce it was served with was awesome. I tried my friend's seafood pappardelle because I had been tempted to order it myself. One taste and I was glad I didn't order it. It was just too spicy (and I like hot stuff) to appreciate the complexity of flavours and textures. Or maybe my tastebuds were still blissing out over my main course. We were too stuffed to consider ordering dessert, and that's saying something. Our waiter was a hoot and the other staff were very personable. The music is great, but it's a teensy bit too loud for a restaurant IMHO. This was my second visit and I would go back again. Definitely a restaurant I would recommend to others.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 4, 2015

Unique twists with great presentation. A good addition to the Monkland Village

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2015

The food was delicious and our waiter Billy was funny, nice and attentive. Would definitely recommend it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 21, 2015

We went for an all-girl's dinner and had a great time. Our waitress was awesome; attentive but not over-bearing. It felt like every time we took a sip of water, our glasses were refilled by a staff member. The food was very good - I had the beet salad to start (only 2 small goat cheese croquettes which is my only complaint) and the lamb chops as a main. Literally the best lamb chops ever! My friends also really enjoyed their meals. Not a cheap outing but with food that good, I wasn't upset when the bill came. With tip and tax, it came to just over $70 for 1 cocktail + starter + main. I'd definitely go again :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2015

Fantastique, super atmosphère et menu A1!
Rentrera dans ma routine...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 24, 2015

Being locals to the Monkland area we have been meaning to try Slang for a while, ideally back when the terrace was out in the summer but being busy we finally made it during the colder season.

The place was bigger than expected and interesting choices on the food menu, I'd say there was something for everyone, without there being too much choice.

Great place and will most likely come again but with a group of people, not really convinced it's for a couples night out.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 15, 2015

The celery root remoulade was a bit over dressed and too creamy (kind of swimming in the mayonnaise dressing) but other than that the food was good; service good but they take your food away way too quickly and sometimes a bit abruptly. Lamb chops were good but would have liked a little zing from some lemon or something. Nice, fresh oysters.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 9, 2015

Great atmosphere, food was delicious and staff was great. My water glass never had a change to get empty, as someone would refill it consistently throughout the evening... Which is such a rare thing! :)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 3, 2015

Perfect place for celebrate, the service was great and the food was amazing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 26, 2015

Delicious food and terrible service. We waited 1h15 for our table. When we asked if they would offer us some kind of complimentary drinks for the wait they said "even if I offer you something it won't change anything so no". The waiter was dancing instead of taking our order and making sure we had everything we need. The wine was warm as tea. They served us black burned bread with the burrata and finally the busboy took away our plates when there was still food in it and when we said we weren't done, his response was: relax. Even if the food was good, I wouldn’t recommend unless something changes.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3