About Restaurant Le Continental

26, rue St-Louis
Quebec, QC G1R3Y9
View Larger Map

Total Enjoyment
In the gourmet world of Le Continental, traditional cuisine is classical. Enjoy the perfect service, the great flambéed dishes that pay tribute to the delicious French cuisine. The Continental's wine cellar is most impressive with its board of famous selection of French, Italian and American wines. It offers a choice of more than five thousand bottles, four hundred different varieties from Grands Crus classés to affordable prices.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Cross Street:
Des Jardins

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 694-9995

Website:
http://www.restaurantlecontinental.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at all times at no extra cost.

Executive Chef:
Marc-André Bernier

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms:
Le Grand Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 36 people.
Le Petit Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 8 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mathieu Pettigrew: 4186949995

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Le Continental Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
3 More
Romantic
Montreal / Quebec
French
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked
Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Best Restaurants in Quebec City ›

special occasion (31)
romantic (25)
fit for foodies (17)
See All
notable wine list (12)
neighborhood gem (8)
hot spot (5)
good for groups (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
445 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply Fabulous! This was so close to ou ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Simply Fabulous! This was so close to our hotel. Exceptional service and food. The Lobster Bisque is one of the best I have had. Would definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A real old world dining experience

Dined on April 28, 2016

A real old world dining experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best filet mignon!

Dined on April 23, 2016

It was our first visit to Quebec City and we heard great things about le continental. The fois gras was superb. Extensive wine list. Best filet mignon I've ever had in my life. Service was impeccable. Would recommend this wonderful spot to everyone and anyone!! Such a fantastic experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5

I was not impressed by the food in this ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

I was not impressed by the food in this restaurant. The fish was overcooked. The meat was good but not worth the price. The desserts were just ok. Nevertheless the restaurant is beautiful, the service is very professional and friendly. The restaurant is very close to Chauteau Frontenac.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Traditional French fare

Dined on March 20, 2016

The menu is very traditional as is the preparation. The service is outstanding as is the ambience. Prices are to match. I think $35 for cherries Jubilee for 2 is stretching it.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Felt like an extra in a Gangster movie

Dined on March 5, 2016

The food was decent, and the venue seemed to be a little dated. The service was great, but we likely would not return.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

An institution

Dined on March 5, 2016

Much like House of Prime Rib in San Francisco, Le Continental was clearly born in a different era of dining. The dishes are near impossible to find anymore (le filet minion en boite, and Dover sole, for examples) and the at-table preparation is fantastic. If you appreciate a different dining experience, and are willing to try a few new things, Le Continental cannot be recommended more highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on March 1, 2016

Great food and service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tops in Quebec City

Dined on February 24, 2016

One of the reasons we visit Quebec City is to have dinner at Le Continental. We go there each time we're in QC and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best experience

Dined on February 20, 2016

A great restaurant to experience real "Flambee" at each table. Service 5 Stars A place to go in the Old Quebec Don't miss it !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome and exquisite!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We visited Quebec last weekend for Valentine's Day. The meal was outstanding. Our waiter and flambe expert Hugo, was awesome! We had a wonderful experience and plan on dining here again when we return . I can't say enough good about this restaurant. We have dined in other restaurants but they do not compare. Romantic and the best for special occasions!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Flaming at the table

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food cooked at your table is outstanding, besides being fun to watch. Service is fast and the wait staff is able to recommend dishes and wines for every palate.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent upscale experience that was pe ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Excellent upscale experience that was perfect for a special occasion. Also, very reasonably priced all considered!

food5
ambience5
service5

This was a culinary experience. The flav ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was a culinary experience. The flavor of our entrees were amazing. Every bite we took was incredible. So glad we experienced this for my birthday. Our server knew exactly what we needed.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a first rate dining experience. T ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

We had a first rate dining experience. The tableside preparation of Peppercorn steak was amazing. Escargot was perfectly prepared, and presented in the shells. There is no doubt that we will return to this restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on February 12, 2016

A great experience. Excellent food. Very entertaining

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haute cuisine

Dined on February 8, 2016

Classical French cuisine at it's finest. Impeccable service, food and quality

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful ambience, incredible service, ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Beautiful ambience, incredible service, delicious food! So happy we dined at Restaurant Leslie Continental.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was excellent, this is the second tim ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

It was excellent, this is the second time me and my spouse dine at the Le Continental and we where not disappointed, we will go back next time we visit Quebec city. We just love it ( the food, the service, the ambiance ).

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out

Dined on January 23, 2016

We were visiting from NH and decided to dine here after searching high and low. The service was top notch and food was very good. We dined at our hotel testy ran the night before and we were lessed than impressed and spent far more. We loved this place and enjoyed our meal very much. I had the veal medallions (I think that's what it was called) and my husband had the veal chop and both were amazing. Our waiter was very good, always there when you need something and never let our water or wine get below half a glass. Would definetly recommend this place

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Classic French Resturants

Dined on January 18, 2016

This is a romantic french restaurant with fantastic food and an even better wine list. Our waited for amazing and helped us with any questions we had. I highly recommend anything off of the Flambe portion of the menu - wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent choice for a great experience

Dined on January 9, 2016

While the atmosphere feels a little 70's, I wouldn't change a thing. The service is unparalleled and the food quality is absolute top notch. Drinks were great, dessert was great. This is not a restaurant if you're on a budget. However, if the price is not an issue, it's a highly predictable, enjoyable experience. The table side cooking adds another dimension..

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional in all Respects

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

Exceptional restaurant. Food is perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. Service is polished and professional. If you are looking for a special place to dine in Quebec City - this is one of the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

A fancy affair

Dined on January 2, 2016

Exceptional wine list. Whole experience was superb with one major exception: They didn't cook my steak properly. Expensive meal, but service is top notch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Quebec Citys best old style, traditional ...

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Quebec Citys best old style, traditional restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would recommend this restaurant to any ...

Dined on December 28, 2015

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys french cuisine at the finest level. It is a charming and elegant restaurant and would go back in a heart beat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Dining Experience Ever!

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Having food made for you and in front of you is taken to a new, classy level that I've never seen before. Definitely go here! Especially if you're traveling! My fiance and I stopped here for the first night on our trip and treated ourselves. It was very delicious, very romantic, and the perfect start!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic on every level, food is delici ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

Fantastic on every level, food is delicious and well prepared, service is great. Continental is a must in Quebec City.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great for a special occassion

Dined on December 25, 2015

Great place for a special occasion It is about the presentation here with lots of flambees Expensive but good food with good wine list They should do something about the outside signage as it is a much higher quality than it looks

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve

Dined on December 25, 2015

Perfect Christmas Eve in old Quebec . Great service wonderful ambience . Staff attentive and funny . Was beautiful evening

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

A wonderful unique experience. Some fant ...

Dined on December 21, 2015

A wonderful unique experience. Some fantastic classic dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding in every way. Our favorite r ...

Dined on November 26, 2015

Outstanding in every way. Our favorite restaurant in Quebec if not the world!

food5
ambience5
service5

Over the top

vip
Dined on November 25, 2015

We celebrated our 49th anniversary at Le Continental, our favorite special occasion dining spot. Everything was perfect, just as expected. Very classy; they know what they are doing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Evening

Dined on November 20, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this evening and would highly recommend dining here. The service was excellent and the food exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great for Couples!

Dined on November 15, 2015

Visited Restaurant Le Continental to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. Table side flambe was a first for both of us, and the experience did not disappoint! The wait staff were extraordinarily knowledgeable and attentive, but not overbearing. Food was terrific! Wine list was amazing. If I ever return to Quebec City as a millionaire, I will have to be more adventurous. This time around, I went with with one of the MANY French wines priced under 60$C. Overall this was a wonderful, intimate experience. Prices were much more reasonable than I had anticipated.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantasmic food

Dined on November 14, 2015

The food was fantastic. The restaurant was upscale, but not snobbish. The service was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Flambéd main course specials, and Caesar ...

Dined on November 12, 2015

Flambéd main course specials, and Caesar Salad prepared at your table. Truly a gastronomic experience from days past. The servers are expert in what they do and they are always there to cater to your needs. It is so interesting to watch the servers cook the meals at the various tables. You'll find many diners more interested in what the staff is cooking at each table than their dining partners! Of course all this comes at a cost which proves that you get what you pay for. If you are on a moderate income, I would save up for just one meal here. It's that special. I just can't figure out why they don't use olive oil in their salad. :)

food5
ambience5
service5

World Class

Dined on November 7, 2015

This is a very special spot in every regard. The operation is professional to the minutest detail. Service table-side, done magician-like with flames, great aromas and delectable flavors -- just not findable elsewhere. Don't even think about passing Le Continental by! The truest test of the extraordinary quality is to observe the clientele, a large proportion of whom are clearly up-scale local residents. The couple next to us, American tourists, were back for the second night in a row of their weekend stay, bypassing other great dining opportunities close by. The last couple we sent to Le Continental did the same thing! Go figure.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

They take good service to another level! ...

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

They take good service to another level! Food was very good but a touch overpriced. The restaurant has a great ambiance with classy decor and good piano music playing in the background. Free valet parking was a positive as well. Overall a great experience!

food2
ambience4
service3

Overpriced

Dined on October 31, 2015

Dinner on Oct 30. Nice venue and ambience. There was nothing wrong with the food (apart from being a little cold), but it was overpriced and uninspiring. The ambience made up for the culinary disappointment, and we had a nice evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.