About Restaurant Le Continental

26, rue St-Louis
Quebec, QC G1R3Y9
View Larger Map

Total Enjoyment
In the gourmet world of Le Continental, traditional cuisine is classical. Enjoy the perfect service, the great flambéed dishes that pay tribute to the delicious French cuisine. The Continental's wine cellar is most impressive with its board of famous selection of French, Italian and American wines. It offers a choice of more than five thousand bottles, four hundred different varieties from Grands Crus classés to affordable prices.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Cross Street:
Des Jardins

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 694-9995

Website:
http://www.restaurantlecontinental.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at all times at no extra cost.

Executive Chef:
Marc-André Bernier

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms:
Le Grand Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 36 people.
Le Petit Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 8 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mathieu Pettigrew: 4186949995

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Le Continental Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Food
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
3 More
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
French
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked
Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Best Restaurants in Quebec City ›

special occasion (40)
romantic (37)
fit for foodies (36)
See All
notable wine list (24)
neighborhood gem (11)
hot spot (5)
good for groups (5)
great for lunch (3)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great dinning experience and good servic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great dinning experience and good service with friendly and attentive waitstaffs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Superb in every way. Flambé a must! And ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Superb in every way. Flambé a must! And plenty of tableside options. Try the Newburg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't have bread "sans gluten"

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Don't have bread "sans gluten"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A five Star experience in all ways.A bea ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

A five Star experience in all ways.A beautiful restaurant ,elegant in style and service.The food is classic local fresh and beautifully prepared and presented.All salads are prepared at the table ,some main courses are also prepared at the table.We ordered a daily special fish offering of cod provincial.It was outstanding.Paired with a wonderful wine choices, it was perfect.The dessert cart had a wide range of options, our choice was amazing.Each course was delivered with attentive professional service.A legend in Quebec that should not be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and outstanding service. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wonderful food and outstanding service. A memorable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food on the pricey side, but w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Delicious food on the pricey side, but well worth it for my giant grilled scallops. The vegetables were delicious and the presentation of both meals was lovely. The staff was friendly and helpful. Nice ambiance.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceeded our expectations Service wa ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Exceeded our expectations Service was excellent as well as the food we ordered.

Although on the expensive side we still considered great value for the dining experience.

Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The decor was very dated.. Carpet old wa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The decor was very dated.. Carpet old wall decor old. Bread brought to table was stale, not fresh. Steak was good, salmon good, scalloped potatoes poor and no flavor. Vegetables overlooked. Waiter not attentive. I would not return as felt my business was not appreciated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

A wonderful classic restaurant that neve ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A wonderful classic restaurant that never fails to live up to its reputation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Continental is a very special dining ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Le Continental is a very special dining experience. The service is impeccable and the food is a culinary delight. My first experience at Le Continental left me eager to visit again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Continental was the highlight of our ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Le Continental was the highlight of our 6 days in Quebec! I found the wines a bit over priced. I oped for a pedestrian wine and went all the way with the menu. Food was incredible and we where extremely satisfied with it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

a great restaurent...food is very good a ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

a great restaurent...food is very good and service is super.

always a pleasure to go there

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant. Very elegant good ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. Very elegant good food. Special occasion

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent French cuisine in the heart of ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent French cuisine in the heart of old Quebec City. The Canard Flambé is superb. Great selection of French wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For me, 2.5 hours is too long for dinner ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

For me, 2.5 hours is too long for dinner, especially when there are very imbalanced periods of time between courses.

Yes, the food was delicious with wonderful tableside presentations. But it is was readily apparent that the waiter was ill-equipped to handle the required number of tables. For at least 5 tables in our immediate area, our waiter also served as the tableside chief preparing each tables food, serving drinks and handling all other duties. For a high-end restaurant, how about some service - more staff? It was apparant that noone around us felt special.

There are wonderful places to eat in Quebec and we found so many - just not this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Second time to this QC gem. Impeccable s ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Second time to this QC gem. Impeccable service and exquisite food make it tough to beat. A throwback in terms of elegance. Very pricey, but we believe worthy of a return visit next time in QC...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was quite crowded but see ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The restaurant was quite crowded but seemed very organized. Drinks came promptly and so did appetizers. Salad looked a bit of a mess, thrown together . When they cook table-side it's a bit smokey but meals looked great. Waiter who did flambeau was way ahead of kitchen and waited quite a while for other meals.

Our meals came late as well but veal chop was delicious and cooked perfectly. My husbands veal tenderloin with grilled foie gras was superb.

Would definitely try this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great old world service with table side ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great old world service with table side preparation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After sorting out the mistaken booking b ...

 
 (Kent)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

After sorting out the mistaken booking by OpenTable at the Cafe Conti next door (not what we had requested at all) and the relief that the Continental could take us - we had a wonderful dinner with Flambé duck at our table - great fun with excellent staff and delicious wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The table side flambe presentation was u ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The table side flambe presentation was unforgettable and the food was outstanding. Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way! The food was b ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Outstanding in every way! The food was beautifully prepared and delicious. Our servers were very attentive and knowledgeable about our food. They cook your steaks at your table. The snow crab dish was huge and fabulous. I would highly recommend this restaurant. We were in shorts after a long journey to get there and they told us that was fine and we should not worry about our attire. We were treated like kings and queens! Just wish we had this restaurant where we live...My new favorite restaurant of all time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit to Restaurant Co ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was my first visit to Restaurant Continental; I had read a bunch of reviews and some suggested it was dated and stuffy and no longer earning its reputation. That was not our party's experience at all; we all thought it was terrific. Two of us split the tableside orange duck preparation, one had the tableside filet preparation, and one rack of venison. The rack of venison was just fine, but the tableside preparations were ranked by our party as among the best meals they had ever had. It takes some skill to cook a filet to a perfect medium rare over a tableside flame while attending to similar preparations at other tables, but our waiter did it and made it look easy. The duck is partially cooked before going into the tableside prep, but still with the sauce and served piping hot at the table it was outstanding. He also made an Irish coffee with a lot of pizzazz. Everyone was friendly and you could tell it is a place where people return time and again and the staff knows the regulars. The only downside on ambiance is that you have some tourists coming in in shorts and tshirts which just looks silly in a place where everyone on the staff is in a coat and tie. There are a lot of places that pretend to be classic but are just expensive; this place is expensive but in our experience it was definitely a classic.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A dining experience to rival the best of ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

A dining experience to rival the best of old style dining when dining out was elegant, exciting (extraordinary flambé), and service was thoughtful, personal, and professional.

The best of the best in Quebec where only the exceptional survive! Whether speaking French or English the translation equals an experience unrivaled in any language.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

truly a great,old fashioned,french resta ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

truly a great,old fashioned,french restaurant.warm helpful waiter and staff.all of our group enjoyed our dinner..

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Quebec City and the res ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We were visiting Quebec City and the restraunt was just across the street. What a lovely surprise! We had our 13 yr old granddaughter with us. They flambé d her dinner and she was enthralled. The food was excellent, the service, impeccable ! Would highly recommend this restraunt.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing atmosphere. Delicious food. Impe ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Amazing atmosphere. Delicious food. Impeccable service. Would recommend to everyone visiting Quebec and we will definitely come back on our next trip here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Location - The location was conveniently close to our hotel (Le Chateau Frontenac) - a 5 minute walk.

Food - The freshly made caesars salad and flambé peppered steak made table side were great. As was the rack of Lamb and Maple Creme Brûlée .

Service - The service was great; it feels personalized.

Please note: The table side service takes away from privacy and intimacy.

We would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal, great service

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Great meal, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A true dining experience. We were sat in ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

A true dining experience. We were sat in a lovely dining room and treated like royalty. We started with the Caesar salad that is prepared table side. It was delicious. We then split the duck, which is also prepared table side. Everything was top elegance from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High End Restaurant in Quebec City

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I visited Quebec City for the first time recently. It's a beautiful city with a rich history. For our visit knowing it would be a busy weekend, I made reservations at a couple of restaurants in advance. Restaurant Le Continental was our choice for Saturday night. Restaurant Le Continental is a very nice restaurant with a diverse menu and excellent service. They also have a very nice selection of wines to choose from. There is a section of the menu that is prepared Flambe style - prepared and cooked at your table. I ordered a filet and my wife ordered a shrimp dish. We also enjoyed an appetizer as well as desert. Everything about our meal was fantastic. The restaurant is decorated in a more formal style - you can dress up for the night or dress more casually. If you're looking for a more formal dining environment with a high level of service, this is the restaurant for you. It's also a favorite with the local residents.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Fabulous! This was so close to ou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Simply Fabulous! This was so close to our hotel. Exceptional service and food. The Lobster Bisque is one of the best I have had. Would definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A real old world dining experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

A real old world dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best filet mignon!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

It was our first visit to Quebec City and we heard great things about le continental. The fois gras was superb. Extensive wine list. Best filet mignon I've ever had in my life. Service was impeccable. Would recommend this wonderful spot to everyone and anyone!! Such a fantastic experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was not impressed by the food in this ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

I was not impressed by the food in this restaurant. The fish was overcooked. The meat was good but not worth the price. The desserts were just ok. Nevertheless the restaurant is beautiful, the service is very professional and friendly. The restaurant is very close to Chauteau Frontenac.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Traditional French fare

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The menu is very traditional as is the preparation. The service is outstanding as is the ambience. Prices are to match. I think $35 for cherries Jubilee for 2 is stretching it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Felt like an extra in a Gangster movie

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The food was decent, and the venue seemed to be a little dated. The service was great, but we likely would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

An institution

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Much like House of Prime Rib in San Francisco, Le Continental was clearly born in a different era of dining. The dishes are near impossible to find anymore (le filet minion en boite, and Dover sole, for examples) and the at-table preparation is fantastic.

If you appreciate a different dining experience, and are willing to try a few new things, Le Continental cannot be recommended more highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tops in Quebec City

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

One of the reasons we visit Quebec City is to have dinner at Le Continental. We go there each time we're in QC and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best experience

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

A great restaurant to experience real "Flambee" at each table.

Service 5 Stars

A place to go in the Old Quebec

Don't miss it !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.