Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Restaurant Le Continental

Total Enjoyment
In the gourmet world of Le Continental, traditional cuisine is classical. Enjoy the perfect service, the great flambéed dishes that pay tribute to the delicious French cuisine. The Continental's wine cellar is most impressive with its board of famous selection of French, Italian and American wines. It offers a choice of more than five thousand bottles, four hundred different varieties from Grands Crus classés to affordable prices.

26, rue St-Louis
Québec, QC G1R3Y9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Cross Street:
Des Jardins

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 694-9995

Website:
http://www.restaurantlecontinental.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at all times at no extra cost.

Executive Chef:
Marc-André Bernier

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms:
Le Grand Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 36 people.
Le Petit Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 8 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mathieu Pettigrew: (418) 694-9995

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Le Continental Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (72)
Romantic (68)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
See All
Good for a Date (51)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Notable Wine List (33)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Authentic (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Business Meals (26)
Cozy (25)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Worth the Drive (16)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
People Watching (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
764 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Just go and enjoy. Old school service, where tableside preparations are executed flawlessly. A meal to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice restaurant for fine dinning, for casual also.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food cooked at your table. Best Caesar sale ever. We had chateaubrian for 2 and it was great as well. Very pricey

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Michael, our waiter, was professional, knowledgeable and friendly. My husband and I had the escargot and tuna tartare apps, Caesar salad and duckling for 2, which was elegantly prepared and duck served flambé style at table-side. Our first dining experience in Old Quebec City was a success all around. Bit pricey, but well worth the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This restaurant was highly regarded and we wanted to try it during our three day visit to the City of Quebec. When we were seated, the restaurant was quite busy and there were several flambe' orders underway. The room at the start was extremely smoky, and this seemed to attract the attention of the wait staff. Worried us a bit but it was apparently a "slightly" out of control dinner offering. That settled down and the fiery shows continued. We ordered both dinners prepared the same way, a shrimp and beef. After some time of extended waiting after our appetizer was served and consumed, we were told that there were no available cooking dishes for our meal and we would get them when they were available next. This whole process took more than 45 minutes more, before our dinner process began. The food resulting was excellent. We chose to skip dessert as we had already been there over two hours and had started at nearly 9pm. Too late for weary travelers like us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Fabulous food, service and enjoyed ourselves immensely - we will be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food. Very expensive. Staff was great. You could hear some staff correcting/arguing with each other. Also, trays of food were carried over customers heads which was a little scary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We are repeat customers, and as always, the food and service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food was excellent and service was perfect. Started with oysters rockefeller and beef carpaccio. Both were excellent. I had veal with foie gras and my friend had beef tenderloin prepared tableside. The beef was fork tender and full of flavor. Veal was moist and foie gras was delicious! Even the creme brûlée was some of the best ever.

A very special meal and heads above other restaurants in Quebec.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Everything was perfect as usual !
A place to try at least once in a lifetime

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I thought the food was average and, as such, overpriced. It is not in the same league as some of the other Quebec City, restaurants, which were much more creative and had more interesting menus. They do offer selections cooked at the table over gas flames but that struck me as more of a gimmick (and susceptible to less consistency) than cooking the same dish in the kitchen. Other than that, I couldn't say there were any other really distinguishing characteristics of the food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent service. Delicious food. Pricey, but worth it for a special occasion. Ordered a cosmo, which was just okay -- lacking any hint of vodka. Generous wine pours. The house Syrah red was DELICIOUS!!! Two at our table ordered steaks cooked at the table. That was cool. One was the filet mignon (a bit too much rosemary, but delicious) and steak au poive with a cocnac sauce -- PERFECT! Both were perfectly cooked. We had a wonderful young server named Matthew.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Table service for the best Caesar salad & steak .. nit too many restaurants do thus anymore. Attentive waiters

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2017

While the service was flawless and the ambiance was classic and elegant, the meal was disappointing. The appetizer and dessert were exceptional - innovative, unusual ingredients, tasteful, and beautifully plated, the main course was the opposite. We had 2 different veal dishes; the tenderloin and the saltimbocca were good. But, what was served on the rest of the plate looked and tasted like it came from a church supper. BOTH meals had the exact same sides: a mound of bland mashed potatoes, equally tasteless pureed carrots, and 4 pieces of steamed, unseasoned vegetables. Did the chef not notice how mediocre this was? Did he not notice that it was far inferior for a restaurant that charged $54 for that entree? Did he think it was the same calibre as the appetizer and dessert? All the attention getting flamed meals tableside can't make up for this poor showing and the utter lack of creativity. Foodies - stay away.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 7, 2017

シーザーサラダとかステーキを席で作って見せるパフォーマンスが売り…
味も観光地としてはBestでしょう‼️

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

My father, Paul Audet was instrumental in assisting Luigi(and I can't remember his name...) set-up his business many years ago, whenever Le Continental began. I now live in Ontario, but I always make it a point to have dinner there at least once every visit to Quebec City, my home town. My dinner was fabulous and my server was outstanding, and a good cook at that...

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Best sweet breads in Quebec
..very small portion of foie gras

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in the city. In the middle of the Tenderloin it is filled with great history, amazing food, and fantastic service. I love this place and cannot wait for another special occasion to go back.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Le Continental is an experience one should have when visiting Quebec. Very upscale in service and price. But the food, especially meat dishes are excellent. The appetizers are good and plentiful. And the cherries jubilee for desert is a must. Not too many restaurants offer flambeau service any more. Great to experience one with old school charm and presentation. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (München)·Dined on September 5, 2017

This was probably our favorite dinner of the four we had during our extended weekend visit, in a city where the low end begins quite high. The menu is broad, and much of it is prepared table side with deserved drama. The wine list is extensive. It isn't hard to find decent bargains in it (just ask), but for those feeling flush, there are bottles well into the thousands. Overall this is very much an old school classic in service and clubby décor, and it's a pity that so many diners don't care about stylish dressing any more.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The waiter was rude. One member of our party was a senior citizen who needs more time, and the waiter was very impatient with her even thought it was her birthday! The food was good, but nothing exceptional compared to the other restaurants in Quebec. The average age of patrons in this restaurant was over 60 --- probably over 70 --- so it seems bizarre to me that the waiter would be so impatient with a 79 year old lady who needs more time to do things (like sit, eat, stand up, etc.) Unfortunately, the service ruined our experience at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 4, 2017

A touch of Paris on Old Quebec!
We had a fun-filled evening with a thoroughly enjoyable tableside-prepared Flambe dinner.
Our steaks were cooked to perfection; tender and juicy.
Our server was friendly and outgoing; kept us informed of each step and timetable along with the way.
Definitely would go back next time in Quebec.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

great restaurant with table side cooking .. wonderful vegetarian options provided

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was one of the best restaurants we have ever dined at worldwide. Service was impeccable. Culinary team extraordinary. We absolutely loved the steak and salad made tableside. The attention to service was remarkable. A big highlight of our trip to Quebec. A must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 2, 2017

It's amazing restaurant, food is unbelievable great, service is excellent . Great experience over all . Next time in Quebec it will be my first choice again. Thank you to the CHEF.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I would not dream of visiting Quebec City without eating dinner here. The food is outstanding! Expect to pay top dollar for food and beverages but on occasion it is truly worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Outstanding meal with great food, service and ambiance. My husband and I ate here with our daughter during our trip to Quebec City. We were staying at the Chateau Frontenac, so it was an easy walk to the restaurant. The waiter was so friendly, professional and seamlessly multitasked a number of meals throughout the evening. They were also great at accommodating our daughter and made pasta with cheese sauce and chicken for her (even that was incredible!). Highly recommend making plans for a nice dinner here while you are in Quebec City!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great proximity to the Chateau Frontenac but sadly did not live up to expectations. Steak was overdone and veal was slightly tough. No recognition of 40th Anniversary such as small desert or even recognition by staff, even though it was in the booking. Too many different people serving the table, no consistency with drink orders, etc. The noise level was mostly staff moving about and discussing cleaning tables, should be quiet and seamless. Could be lovely but needs some serious attention to detail and service which is expected in this price range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2017

This restaurant does Old School French dining really well. Salads dressed at your table. Entrecote and sauce prepared in front of you. It's not just show. Everything came out perfect. Waiters are old school as well. Not overly friendly but precisely competent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

This was our fav in Quebec City...in fact, we went for a second meal. Everything was perfect and delicious!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

super, un incontournable, un repas succulent, un service hors pair, c'est parfait !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Greeting was neither warm nor friendly. Shown to a bad table even though there were others available. Service was condescending. Food marginal. If they have to put salt & pepper on the table and then ask you if you want ground pepper, then either your chef doesn't season properly or your clientele doesn't trust the chef. I would not recommend this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Thanks to the maitre d' for changing my table when we arrived. This made our dining experience much more enjoyable for me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Impeccable environment, really liked the place. To anyone who interests, they have valet parking, just give then your keys they will do the rest. Strongly recommand their fillet mignon, especially If you into steaks!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent service, personnel chaleureux et accueillant! Nous y sommes allés vendredi soir et y sommes retournés le lundi! Excellente cuisine et très bon menu et choix de vin! Nous le recommandons et nous y retournerons éventuellement! ❤️😊

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We wanted to visit a classic French restaurant during our stay in Quebec City. We were not disappointed with Le Continental. We started with the Caesar Salad for two made table side. It was the best Caesar of my life. We both followed with the lobster bisque, which was deliciously flavored, rich, with tender lobster meat; and then we shared the snails - which were to die for!!!
For our main courses, I enjoyed the crab legs and they were incredible. The meat was so tender and fresh. My husband had the veal, and he said it was a delicious cut and cooked to perfection. For dessert I had the creme brulee, which was beautifully cooked and delicately flavored. For drinks, we started with the gimlet and an old fashioned. The gimlet was perfection! With dinner we had a Chateau Margeaux and finished with the 20 year old Tawny Port. It was an excellent dining experience, and I would be so pleased to get to go there again in the future. I will always remember my evening there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Delicious. We had caesar salad, which was made table side and which was delicious, salmon, which was done perfectly, and steak, which was flamed. The entire meal was truly wonderful and tasty. Our chef was terrific. But the Saint Honore for dessert was unbelievable and outstanding--a true french dessert and it did not disappoint. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The most overrated meal I have experienced. This is the epitome of a tourist trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Deliciosa experiencia, con personal altamente calificado que proporcionan sabores inolvidables ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Amazing dinner experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.