Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Restaurant Le Continental

Total Enjoyment
In the gourmet world of Le Continental, traditional cuisine is classical. Enjoy the perfect service, the great flambéed dishes that pay tribute to the delicious French cuisine. The Continental's wine cellar is most impressive with its board of famous selection of French, Italian and American wines. It offers a choice of more than five thousand bottles, four hundred different varieties from Grands Crus classés to affordable prices.

26, rue St-Louis
Quebec, QC G1R3Y9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Cross Street:
Des Jardins

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 694-9995

Website:
http://www.restaurantlecontinental.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at all times at no extra cost.

Executive Chef:
Marc-André Bernier

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms:
Le Grand Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 36 people.
Le Petit Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 8 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mathieu Pettigrew: (418) 694-9995

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Le Continental Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (27)
Special Occasion (27)
Historic (22)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Authentic (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Cozy (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Business Meals (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Family Style (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
621 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food and service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Expérience parfaite!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Le Continental was the perfect spot for a Friday night date in the old city! The service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. We chose the prix fixe which was very reasonable $64 Canadian for four courses), had excellent options, and full portion sizes. I was expecting much smaller plates. Their extensive wine list was the icing on the cake. We plan to be back again next year when we are in town.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Une EXCELLENTE table ! L'une des meilleures dans la ville de Québec.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This was our second time at this restaurant. It is expensive but I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a special occasion meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

What a special dinner! We enjoyed every single bite and the table-side preparation was so incredibly unique and special! The wait staff did everything and prepared our food just perfectly! It was a fun experience! The caesar salad and the filet mignon were the favorites of the table! The service was outstanding and the food was just as wonderful! I can't wait to return! I would go to Quebec City just to dine here!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Tout est excellent. Il ne faut pas hésiter à y mettre le prix pour les plats flambes, la spécialité de la maison.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Always a very enjoyable dinner at the Continental - not inexpensive but well worth it

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

On a very busy night during Winter Carnival, our group was seated timely. Although our waiter was balancing multiple tables with flambé requests, he was able to keep up with our requests and was particularly personable when things slowed down to a more reasonable pace.

Everyone was very pleased with the variety of meals we had from shrimp scampi to filet. Watching the filet and crêpes suzette prepared flambé style at the table is a fantastic experience!

I appreciated the effort at preparing the filet mignon medium well. Je vous adresse mes plus vifs remerciements.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I were in Quebec City for 4 days and had great meals everywhere we went. Restaurant Le Continental was, however, the best. The ambiance hits you as you walk in as do the marvelous smells from the table side cooking. We had escargot and foils grois for appetizers followed by the filet and mustard sirloin for dinner. All were fantastic. The service is impeccable and we will return here on our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Tout est délicieux mais les bouteilles de vin sont un peu trop dispendieuses.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Nourriture excellente, ambiance remarquable, service excellent. Nous avons passé une excellente soirée.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Le Continental is just the best in classic dinning. Skilled waiters prepare dishes table side that are just incredible. The steak au poivre flamed in cognac is a gastronomic delight. The escargot was superb. It doesn't get any better than this.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were in Quebec to celebrate an anniversary and chose this restaurant to culminate the trip. The food and presentation was amazing but the service took it over the top. Our waiter asked about the reason for our visit and went out of his way to ensure the evening was wonderful. He made my wife feel extra special and even if everything else was bad, that would have made the evening. On top of the amazing food that we got, the evening was fantastic.

When we have the opportunity to return to Quebec, we will spend and evening here and hopefully get the same waiter.

If you want a special experience, this is the place to go.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 25, 2017

J'ai grandement apprécié mon repas au restaurant le Continental. Je compte bien renouer mon expérience très bientôt.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We love this restaurant and highly recommend it. We will most certainly return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Nous avons adoré notre soirée au Continental et la nourriture était excellente. Le seul bémol, je trouvais l'odeur de cuisson un peu intense vers la fin de la soirée (chateaubriand et steak cuit aux tables). Probablement parce que nous avions moins faim à ce moment !!!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Nous en étions à notre première visite au Continental qui est fonctionnel depuis 1956!. Ce fut une expérience inoubliable. De l'accueil au départ le personnel est toujours à l'affût de ses clients. Le service est impeccable et la nourriture cuite à point. La bisque de homard au cognac est sublime ainsi que les fruits de mer. La prochaine fois ce sera les grillades ( filet mignon,canard à l'orange, etc) cuites aux tables qui semble être très populaire à cet endroit. Réservation de mise. Service de valet pour votre voiture.
Pour une soirée inoubliable ou un repas entre amis vous ne regretterez pas votre choix.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

A classic restaurant comes through again! Outstanding service, excellent food. Meals prepared tableside an additional treat. An even better value given the exchange rate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were in Quebec City and the Continental had been recommended to us on a previous visit so we decided to visit this restaurant once again. We celebrated our granddaughter's Birthday and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent and the service outstanding. They were able to accommodate us when we were a little late. Many thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Elegant but warm atmosphere . Fantastic food .

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food was very tasty and well prepared. I had the chateaubriand for two and it was delicious. The place is very up scale and pricey. It was well worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Top Notch. First Class. Iconic. Absolute Gem. One of a Kind. Stellar. Modest. Pure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Exceptional restaurant in all respects. This is a classic fine French restaurant, impeccable service and wonderful food. My wife and I both had seafood dishes which were excellent and the presentation was beautiful (e.g., caviar on top of seared scallops). Many dishes are prepared tableside: salads and dressings; flambé steaks, flambé desserts. This is a perfect special occasion place.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Meal was fantastic! Wish the server cooking our meal was more personable. He wasn't very friendly, all business instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went here for NYE. Food was good cept the blue cheese dish. Didn't like that we were in the upper floor where it wasn't as lively. Coat check woman almost lost my jacket. Overall was good. Nothing that really blows my mind

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a special dinner with our two teens. The waitstaff were wonderful, friendly and made us very comfortable. It is an elegant restaurant and still was comfortable - not stuffy or pretentious. Delicious food!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Je recommande déjà votre restaurant depuis longtemps. Chaque fois que je peux j'adore y retourner, c'est mon numéro 1 à Québec, merci

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 28, 2016

restaurant haute gamme, grande qualité des 4 repas, serveur attentionné

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was excellent) food was amassing! great lacation

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Le Continental is quite "traditional", with all the best connotations of that word. The dishes are classics, so well-prepared that one realizes why they have endured as favorites for so many years. The service is formal without being pretentious. The room is also of traditional decor, but very comfortable, with a warm feeling. This is a special place, preserving all that is best of old world fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The Spanish coffee was a great way to end the meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Recently ate at this restaurant while in Quebec for Christmas. It was highly recommended and rightfully so. The food was delicious and the staff was attentive and friendly. My only complaint was even though I'm a true believer of " you get what you pay for" I thought the prices were a bit steep. My wife's Dover Sole though delicious was a bit pricey being north of $60. I would recommend for a special occasion but you should know that you will be paying a premium.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Wonderful meal. Service was first class. Old style restaurant that is hard to find anymore. Food was beyond fantastic. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Cozy, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2016

My husband and I have been coming to Quebec City in December, for 13 years. Our holiday is not complete without going to Le Continental. The steak is outstanding, the table side preparation is spectacular. The rack of lamb is flavorful beyond belief. And the irish coffee, prepared at table side, is the perfect way to finish a perfect meal. Can't wait for next December. The staff is the best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Fabulous, classic French restaurant in the Old City of Quebec! We would highly recommend this restaurant, if you're looking for that classic French experience. Waiters in white coats preparing the meal at table-side. Foie gras, escargot, chateaubriand, and creme brulee were in the menu - and quite fabulous!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The duck l'orange was over cooked. One of the desserts (ST Honore) was below standards
The service was outstanding in everyway. The dining noise level is perfect for conversation. Actually the duck was too much food for two people. The sauce for the duck was good but its power flavor stayed with you. The appetizer was creative and delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

My wife and I were recently in Quebec and ate at Le Continental. We found the food and service to be outstanding. If we are ever back in Quebec, we would definitely return to this restaurant The "flambe" process was an added treat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Our usual server Guy was not present! Very big shoes to fill

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The Continental remains the premier restaurant in Quebec city. We make a reservation to dine there whenever we visit Quebec city and it always retains the highest standards that have made it famous for 60 years. This time we had the pleasure of introducing our daughter, son-in-law, and grandson to its cuisine. Sebastian, our waiter, was very knowledgeable about every dish and good wine pairings. He prepared a Caesar salad table side as well as Duckling a l'Orange and Filet Mignon. My son-in-law said he can never have filet mignon or Caesar salad anywhere else again. My grandson loved the escargots in the shell and I enjoyed an escargot appetizer in puff pastry. In addition we tried the fish of the day and a rack of lamb. All of our dessert choices were memorable. We are already looking forward to another visit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.