Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Restaurant Le Continental

Total Enjoyment
In the gourmet world of Le Continental, traditional cuisine is classical. Enjoy the perfect service, the great flambéed dishes that pay tribute to the delicious French cuisine. The Continental's wine cellar is most impressive with its board of famous selection of French, Italian and American wines. It offers a choice of more than five thousand bottles, four hundred different varieties from Grands Crus classés to affordable prices.

26, rue St-Louis
Quebec, QC G1R3Y9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Cross Street:
Des Jardins

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 694-9995

Website:
http://www.restaurantlecontinental.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at all times at no extra cost.

Executive Chef:
Marc-André Bernier

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms:
Le Grand Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 36 people.
Le Petit Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 8 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mathieu Pettigrew: (418) 694-9995

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Le Continental Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
See All
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Historic (10)
Authentic (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Cozy (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Casual (4)
Business Meals (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
635 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Best restaurant in Quebec!!! Special Tableside Cooking was unforgettable. Anothy Bourdain certified.

Tags: Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Very good for special occasion. Filet mignon was fantastic, it was cooked right in front of your table. Waiter Christian was very professional, funny and friendly. Will definitely visit this place again in near future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 9, 2017

J'ai célébré l'anniversaire de mon amoureuse au Contitental et nous avons profité d'une soirée mémorable, à tous points de vue. Notre serveur Guy nous a offert une expérience gastronomique hors du commun, son souci du détail, son humour et son grand professionnalisme sont remarquables. Nous reviendrons surement au Continental, pour une troisieme fois, tellement nous avons apprécié le service et la qualité de la nourriture. Merci à toute l'équipe et longue vie au Continental !

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Beautiful restaurant and very elegant. Service is perfect. Food was outstanding. I had the Dover Sole and my wife had crab legs. Looking forward to returning soon. This is a perfect restaurant for a special occasion. My favorite in Quebec City.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Le Continental est un de nos restaurants préférés, pour son ambiance, sa personnalité et surtout pour l'excellence de sa nourriture.

En bref, le Continental mérite sa réputation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Ce fût une très belle expérience. Le service, la nourriture et l'ambiance sont exemplaires. Après toutes ces années, on a toujours le même niveau de qualité.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Classic French food, elegant table setting and top notch wait staff. The restaurant is noted for table side food preparation and flambé dishes. I had their Filet Mignon Continental ($54) which was excellent. My wife had their Mixed Seafood Platter ($62). Prices are on the high side so be prepared.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Le filet mignon en boîte est un "must". Il fut préparé à la perfection par Sébastien qui fit de notre repas un événement mémorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Wonderful experience!
Table side Caesar Salad was done by our artist (waiter Michele). Fois Gras, Escargot, Grilled Salmon, Veal Medallions were all superb! Wait staff (especially Michele) was attentive. Great experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Nous allons au Continental chaque fois que nous avons une occasion spéciale. Nous aimons beaucoup le filet mignon en boîte (Flambée)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Maintenant nous comprenons pourquoi ce restaurant est ouvert depuis 40 ans, extrêmement satisfaits par le restaurant, le personnel et la bouffe

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 28, 2017

It's was just an amazing place overall, we love it and can't wait to go back there again

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Amazing food and service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Expérience parfaite!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Le Continental was the perfect spot for a Friday night date in the old city! The service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. We chose the prix fixe which was very reasonable $64 Canadian for four courses), had excellent options, and full portion sizes. I was expecting much smaller plates. Their extensive wine list was the icing on the cake. We plan to be back again next year when we are in town.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Une EXCELLENTE table ! L'une des meilleures dans la ville de Québec.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This was our second time at this restaurant. It is expensive but I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a special occasion meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

What a special dinner! We enjoyed every single bite and the table-side preparation was so incredibly unique and special! The wait staff did everything and prepared our food just perfectly! It was a fun experience! The caesar salad and the filet mignon were the favorites of the table! The service was outstanding and the food was just as wonderful! I can't wait to return! I would go to Quebec City just to dine here!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Tout est excellent. Il ne faut pas hésiter à y mettre le prix pour les plats flambes, la spécialité de la maison.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Always a very enjoyable dinner at the Continental - not inexpensive but well worth it

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

On a very busy night during Winter Carnival, our group was seated timely. Although our waiter was balancing multiple tables with flambé requests, he was able to keep up with our requests and was particularly personable when things slowed down to a more reasonable pace.

Everyone was very pleased with the variety of meals we had from shrimp scampi to filet. Watching the filet and crêpes suzette prepared flambé style at the table is a fantastic experience!

I appreciated the effort at preparing the filet mignon medium well. Je vous adresse mes plus vifs remerciements.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I were in Quebec City for 4 days and had great meals everywhere we went. Restaurant Le Continental was, however, the best. The ambiance hits you as you walk in as do the marvelous smells from the table side cooking. We had escargot and foils grois for appetizers followed by the filet and mustard sirloin for dinner. All were fantastic. The service is impeccable and we will return here on our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Tout est délicieux mais les bouteilles de vin sont un peu trop dispendieuses.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Nourriture excellente, ambiance remarquable, service excellent. Nous avons passé une excellente soirée.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Le Continental is just the best in classic dinning. Skilled waiters prepare dishes table side that are just incredible. The steak au poivre flamed in cognac is a gastronomic delight. The escargot was superb. It doesn't get any better than this.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were in Quebec to celebrate an anniversary and chose this restaurant to culminate the trip. The food and presentation was amazing but the service took it over the top. Our waiter asked about the reason for our visit and went out of his way to ensure the evening was wonderful. He made my wife feel extra special and even if everything else was bad, that would have made the evening. On top of the amazing food that we got, the evening was fantastic.

When we have the opportunity to return to Quebec, we will spend and evening here and hopefully get the same waiter.

If you want a special experience, this is the place to go.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 25, 2017

J'ai grandement apprécié mon repas au restaurant le Continental. Je compte bien renouer mon expérience très bientôt.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We love this restaurant and highly recommend it. We will most certainly return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Nous avons adoré notre soirée au Continental et la nourriture était excellente. Le seul bémol, je trouvais l'odeur de cuisson un peu intense vers la fin de la soirée (chateaubriand et steak cuit aux tables). Probablement parce que nous avions moins faim à ce moment !!!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Nous en étions à notre première visite au Continental qui est fonctionnel depuis 1956!. Ce fut une expérience inoubliable. De l'accueil au départ le personnel est toujours à l'affût de ses clients. Le service est impeccable et la nourriture cuite à point. La bisque de homard au cognac est sublime ainsi que les fruits de mer. La prochaine fois ce sera les grillades ( filet mignon,canard à l'orange, etc) cuites aux tables qui semble être très populaire à cet endroit. Réservation de mise. Service de valet pour votre voiture.
Pour une soirée inoubliable ou un repas entre amis vous ne regretterez pas votre choix.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

A classic restaurant comes through again! Outstanding service, excellent food. Meals prepared tableside an additional treat. An even better value given the exchange rate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were in Quebec City and the Continental had been recommended to us on a previous visit so we decided to visit this restaurant once again. We celebrated our granddaughter's Birthday and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent and the service outstanding. They were able to accommodate us when we were a little late. Many thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Elegant but warm atmosphere . Fantastic food .

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food was very tasty and well prepared. I had the chateaubriand for two and it was delicious. The place is very up scale and pricey. It was well worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Top Notch. First Class. Iconic. Absolute Gem. One of a Kind. Stellar. Modest. Pure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Exceptional restaurant in all respects. This is a classic fine French restaurant, impeccable service and wonderful food. My wife and I both had seafood dishes which were excellent and the presentation was beautiful (e.g., caviar on top of seared scallops). Many dishes are prepared tableside: salads and dressings; flambé steaks, flambé desserts. This is a perfect special occasion place.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Meal was fantastic! Wish the server cooking our meal was more personable. He wasn't very friendly, all business instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went here for NYE. Food was good cept the blue cheese dish. Didn't like that we were in the upper floor where it wasn't as lively. Coat check woman almost lost my jacket. Overall was good. Nothing that really blows my mind

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a special dinner with our two teens. The waitstaff were wonderful, friendly and made us very comfortable. It is an elegant restaurant and still was comfortable - not stuffy or pretentious. Delicious food!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful experience with great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.