About Restaurant Le Continental

26, rue St-Louis
Quebec, QC G1R3Y9
View Larger Map

Total Enjoyment
In the gourmet world of Le Continental, traditional cuisine is classical. Enjoy the perfect service, the great flambéed dishes that pay tribute to the delicious French cuisine. The Continental's wine cellar is most impressive with its board of famous selection of French, Italian and American wines. It offers a choice of more than five thousand bottles, four hundred different varieties from Grands Crus classés to affordable prices.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Cross Street:
Des Jardins

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 694-9995

Website:
http://www.restaurantlecontinental.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at all times at no extra cost.

Executive Chef:
Marc-André Bernier

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms:
Le Grand Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 36 people.
Le Petit Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 8 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mathieu Pettigrew: 4186949995

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Le Continental Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
Special Occasion
Montreal / Quebec
2 More
French
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked
Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Best Restaurants in Quebec City ›

Special Occasion (54)
Romantic (38)
Notable Wine List (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for a Date (24)
Historic (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Cozy (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Worth the Drive (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fun (9)
Business Meals (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I were recently in Quebec an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I were recently in Quebec and ate at Le Continental. We found the food and service to be outstanding. If we are ever back in Quebec, we would definitely return to this restaurant The "flambe" process was an added treat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our usual server Guy was not present! Ve ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Our usual server Guy was not present! Very big shoes to fill

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The Continental remains the premier rest ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The Continental remains the premier restaurant in Quebec city. We make a reservation to dine there whenever we visit Quebec city and it always retains the highest standards that have made it famous for 60 years. This time we had the pleasure of introducing our daughter, son-in-law, and grandson to its cuisine. Sebastian, our waiter, was very knowledgeable about every dish and good wine pairings. He prepared a Caesar salad table side as well as Duckling a l'Orange and Filet Mignon. My son-in-law said he can never have filet mignon or Caesar salad anywhere else again. My grandson loved the escargots in the shell and I enjoyed an escargot appetizer in puff pastry. In addition we tried the fish of the day and a rack of lamb. All of our dessert choices were memorable. We are already looking forward to another visit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upscale fine dining. Table side preparat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Upscale fine dining. Table side preparations are ok giving you a chance to interact with staff. Service generally good although some flaws

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely exquisite in every sense. I c ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Absolutely exquisite in every sense. I can't speak high enough of this fantastic place. From the moment you walk in you're treated like royalty, and though it's expensive it's worth every penny.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GreAt old school service. Steaks cooked ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

GreAt old school service. Steaks cooked table side. Great wine. Only complaint is that i told them we were there to celebrate our anniversary and they did not do anything to help celebrate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never have I been more disappointed. I w ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Never have I been more disappointed. I was very much looking forward to quiet romantic evening, to be served by professionals, have a great steak perfectly cooked table side with the elegance and flare of a flambé.

Sadly, we got treated poorly. The server(s) were quick to ignore us, and pay better attention to couples that looked rich. The crowd was 55+ so the fact that I am early 30's seemed to be a handicap. But they still took my money, the same as all the rest.

Authentic(out dated) decor, pared with wait staff in white tuxedos (cheap laundry service coats and a clip on bow tie) is the forward face of this famous restaurant. Beneath that is a poorly cooked filet mignon drowned in a lifeless browned butter sage gravy.

I ordered a steak rare, I got it blue. My girlfriend orders hers medium rare, and got it blue. All served with a side plate with cold, lumpy mashed potatoes squeezed from a piping bag. And some unseasoned vegetables. Everything tasted okay, it was just not great. The food and service are a let down.

We'd have complained, but the waiter was no where to be seen until we were ready for desert. Which was very good. Creme Brule and Chocolate Mousse.

Our starter was a lobster bisque. Full of lobster and very delicious.

The two high points were the starter and the desert. The low points were the service and the steak.

Bottom line, if you're over 60 with a gold watch and are more impressed by a sauce pan on fire than a properly seasoned and cooked steak, this place is for you.

If you are a person who loves an elegant, well mannered place to make you a wonderful dinner and make you feel like the service justified the price tag, the good news is Old Quebec City is full of them. But Le Continental is not it. Every other door on that street is a fancy restaurant trying to entice you in to separate you from your money, they may not all be better than Le Continental, but none of the are worse.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Absolutely wonderful experience. The ven ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Absolutely wonderful experience. The venison was prepared exquisitely and the filet mignon was huge and flambéd right at the table. Our waiter was attentive and very skilled, managing to prepare dishes at several tables flawlessly. The decor is elegant and the location in Old Quebec city was convenient as it was a short walk from the Chateau Frontenac where we were staying. A truly memorable dining experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat to dine here when we come ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Always a treat to dine here when we come to Quebec!! You feel very special and the food is first class.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dennis is a legend!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Dennis is a legend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pierre was fantastic!! We were on our h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Pierre was fantastic!! We were on our honeymoon and first time in Quebec City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening! Highlight of our trip ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Wonderful evening! Highlight of our trip. Caesar salad and flambé table side made a truly memorable experience. Our waiter worked very hard preparing several meals through the evening. Makes you wonder what the chef does??😊 Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose this restaurant because it was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We chose this restaurant because it was close to our hotel and the staff had recommended it to us. So happy we went. Although our first impression was that it might be a bit stuffy, we were pleasantly surprised by the fun we had with the servers. There was a large selection of wines by the glass, necesary when everyone is ordering different entrees! I had the Dover Sole and it was fantastic! One of the best I've eaten. There are many patrons ordering tableside-prepared meals and they usually involve a flambe method of cooking. Very fun to watch. The servers here sure earn their tips! Although there was a large selection of desserts, we were too full from the delicious dinner. A great, warm, cozy place not to be missed in Quebec!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Fun, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely 'old world' restaurant. Classic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Lovely 'old world' restaurant. Classic French cuisine. Excellent service. Would highly recommend .

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely one of the most elegant resta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Absolutely one of the most elegant restaurants in Quebec City. This is our third time visiting this restaurant and is my favorite. I love the flambe filet mignon and the dover sole. Wonderful wine list. The service is perfect. Expect a perfect evening and you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting for an overnight on cru ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We were visiting for an overnight on cruise ship. A friend recommended. It was absolutely the best dining experience! Can't remember the last time we enjoyed a meal so much. Super food, great service, in beautiful Old Town Quebec. Old style, they cooked the food by your table. Nothing bad about it. Our waiter/chef was Sebastian and he was fantastic! For 4 ppl it was about

$500 U.S. We drank wine, ate the best food, had a wonderful experience...worth EVERY penny!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't do much better. Great classic ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

You can't do much better. Great classic food. Great service. Beautiful room. If you can, go for the various flambé dishes. The Poire Pernod is unusual and delicious. Understandably pricey, but definitely worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Très bon service, très bon repas et bonn ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Très bon service, très bon repas et bonne ambiance. Un must à Québec!

Tags: Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique and fabulously skilled table-side ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Unique and fabulously skilled table-side service. Highly recommended!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Table side cooking and old world charm m ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Table side cooking and old world charm make this restaurant a unique and fun experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went here on our last night in Quebec. I ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Went here on our last night in Quebec. It was a block from the apartment we rented, so it was just a quick walk. The food was amazing! I don't review many places, but I had to for this place. I ordered the Filet and it was cooked perfectly and so delicious! Also tried the whiskey shrimp, also very good. But the best part was dessert. We order the St Honoré (pie/cake?). Best dessert we had the whole trip! I need to find a bakery here in Chicago because it was just so good! If I find myself in Quebec again I will definitely be stopping back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We waited very long for our entrée -The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We waited very long for our entrée -The wait staff and manager were indifferent to our queries. The waiter appeared too occupied preparing meals at the tables of other guests to pay attention to us, and, frankly, he was rather snooty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We had a lovely dinner there, food was e ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We had a lovely dinner there, food was excellent and service even better. I had the shrimp and my wife a filet. Both cooked at the table and were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We so enjoyed our dinner at Restaurant L ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We so enjoyed our dinner at Restaurant Le Continental. The service could not have been more attentive and the food was excellent. It was a special celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary, and it was just a perfect evening. Thank you! Next time we are in Quebec, we will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely, hands down one of the best d ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Absolutely, hands down one of the best dining experiences we've ever had! Over the top wonderful!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal here starting with w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We had a great meal here starting with warm foie gras with roasted figs and port sauce.

The best foie gras dish ever, even better than Hotel Crillion, Paris

Followed by duck l'orange Flambe...delicious!!

The waiter was engaging and knowledgeable and fun.

All in all a great place to DINE!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Superb in all ways. Classic fine dining ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Superb in all ways. Classic fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was our first time there for all 3 of us ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Was our first time there for all 3 of us. Waiter seemed impatient with us whe we asked questions. We ordered salad which we did not receive until after the entree came when we reminded him that we had ordered the salad. Waiter was unfriendly . Food was good but not fabulous which we expected for the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Flambé was great. Had amazing bottle of ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Flambé was great. Had amazing bottle of wine. Service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had high expectations for this restau ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We had high expectations for this restaurant and it disappointed. The onion soup was average in taste as was the shrimp Newberg. We make better at home! The salad with goat cheese was very good. The maple sugar pie was outstanding. Service was spotty. It started out as good but our waiter disappeared near the end of the meal. We waited at least 10 minutes for the deliverance of our check. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great location ,food and services Highl ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great location ,food and services

Highly recommended

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On the event of both a birthday and a 10 ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2016

On the event of both a birthday and a 10th anniversary, this classic French, while in the busy and somewhat "touristy" part of Quebec City, filled the bill very nicely for a special occasion. Dressing up is still fun, and this is one restaurant where it is not yet out of place. The atmosphere, very congenial French/English waiter and staff, excellent table- side food preparation, both tasty and to order, were all well set. As far as price, a bit pricey perhaps, but a good value not necessarily found at some of its trendy "New Canadien" competitors...

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was perfect. We really enjoye ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Everything was perfect. We really enjoyed the traditional tableside service. I was very impressed by our server Alain who was able to cook our steaks perfectly tableside and serve other tables. The restaurant has wonderful ambiance and is a must when visiting Quèbec. It is worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food; probably the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Excellent service and food; probably the best fine dining experience in Quebec City.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service!!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Excellent food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent French cuisine. Try one of the ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Excellent French cuisine. Try one of the Flambé entrees prepared table side.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been in Quebec City for three days ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2016

We've been in Quebec City for three days and this was the best meal we've had, hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nous avons eu l’avantage de connaître Le ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Nous avons eu l’avantage de connaître Le Continental lors de ses débuts sur la scène des excellentes tables de la ville de Québec et la superbe expérience de chaque visite ne s'est jamais estompée depuis. De la véritable antichambre du Palais (de justice) qu'il fut à une autre époque à l’incontournable de la table qu'il est toujours demeuré, cet établissement du savoir-faire continue de faire honneur à la grande tradition des classiques de la restauration haut de gamme, toujours valide et sans reproche. Le tout, dans un décor qui respire confort et qualité, où l'accueil est chaleureux, le service attentif, la qualité des mets remarquable et le talent, tant en cuisine qu'au guéridon, aussi agréable à constater et observer que ce qui en résulte se déguste avec joie et satisfaction. Par surcroît, les attentions que le personnel nous prodigue sont telles que chaque convive pourrait s'en croire l'unique objet. Le Continental mérite que sa longue vie se prolonge toujours et nos vœux les mieux sentis l'accompagnent à l'occasion de son soixantième anniversaire.

Tags: Historique, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Une occasion spéciale, Lieu huppé, Authentique, Une carte des vins remarquable, Il en vaut le détour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Definitely one of the best restaurants i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Definitely one of the best restaurants in Quebec. Old School, classic French cuisine that unfortunately is difficult to find in NYC. Great experience !

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire staff were so very profession ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The entire staff were so very professional and could not do enough for you. They were so attentive that they refilled your wine glasses continuously. They even brought a selection of reader glasses when one of us had left their eye glasses behind! That is what I call fantastic customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.