About Restaurant Le Continental

26, rue St-Louis
Quebec, QC G1R3Y9
View Larger Map

Total Enjoyment
In the gourmet world of Le Continental, traditional cuisine is classical. Enjoy the perfect service, the great flambéed dishes that pay tribute to the delicious French cuisine. The Continental's wine cellar is most impressive with its board of famous selection of French, Italian and American wines. It offers a choice of more than five thousand bottles, four hundred different varieties from Grands Crus classés to affordable prices.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Cross Street:
Des Jardins

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 694-9995

Website:
http://www.restaurantlecontinental.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at all times at no extra cost.

Executive Chef:
Marc-André Bernier

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms:
Le Grand Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 36 people.
Le Petit Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 8 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mathieu Pettigrew: 4186949995

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Le Continental Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
2 More
French
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked
Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Best Restaurants in Quebec City ›

special occasion (25)
romantic (21)
fit for foodies (21)
See All
notable wine list (13)
neighborhood gem (9)
hot spot (5)
great for lunch (3)
good for groups (3)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way! The food was b ...

Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding in every way! The food was beautifully prepared and delicious. Our servers were very attentive and knowledgeable about our food. They cook your steaks at your table. The snow crab dish was huge and fabulous. I would highly recommend this restaurant. We were in shorts after a long journey to get there and they told us that was fine and we should not worry about our attire. We were treated like kings and queens! Just wish we had this restaurant where we live...My new favorite restaurant of all time!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first visit to Restaurant Co ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was my first visit to Restaurant Continental; I had read a bunch of reviews and some suggested it was dated and stuffy and no longer earning its reputation. That was not our party's experience at all; we all thought it was terrific. Two of us split the tableside orange duck preparation, one had the tableside filet preparation, and one rack of venison. The rack of venison was just fine, but the tableside preparations were ranked by our party as among the best meals they had ever had. It takes some skill to cook a filet to a perfect medium rare over a tableside flame while attending to similar preparations at other tables, but our waiter did it and made it look easy. The duck is partially cooked before going into the tableside prep, but still with the sauce and served piping hot at the table it was outstanding. He also made an Irish coffee with a lot of pizzazz. Everyone was friendly and you could tell it is a place where people return time and again and the staff knows the regulars. The only downside on ambiance is that you have some tourists coming in in shorts and tshirts which just looks silly in a place where everyone on the staff is in a coat and tie. There are a lot of places that pretend to be classic but are just expensive; this place is expensive but in our experience it was definitely a classic.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A dining experience to rival the best of ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

A dining experience to rival the best of old style dining when dining out was elegant, exciting (extraordinary flambé), and service was thoughtful, personal, and professional. The best of the best in Quebec where only the exceptional survive! Whether speaking French or English the translation equals an experience unrivaled in any language.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

truly a great,old fashioned,french resta ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

truly a great,old fashioned,french restaurant.warm helpful waiter and staff.all of our group enjoyed our dinner..

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Quebec City and the res ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

We were visiting Quebec City and the restraunt was just across the street. What a lovely surprise! We had our 13 yr old granddaughter with us. They flambé d her dinner and she was enthralled. The food was excellent, the service, impeccable ! Would highly recommend this restraunt.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing atmosphere. Delicious food. Impe ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Amazing atmosphere. Delicious food. Impeccable service. Would recommend to everyone visiting Quebec and we will definitely come back on our next trip here.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice experience

Dined on May 29, 2016

Location - The location was conveniently close to our hotel (Le Chateau Frontenac) - a 5 minute walk. Food - The freshly made caesars salad and flambé peppered steak made table side were great. As was the rack of Lamb and Maple Creme Brûlée . Service - The service was great; it feels personalized. Please note: The table side service takes away from privacy and intimacy. We would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal, great service

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Great meal, great service

food5
ambience5
service5

A true dining experience. We were sat in ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

A true dining experience. We were sat in a lovely dining room and treated like royalty. We started with the Caesar salad that is prepared table side. It was delicious. We then split the duck, which is also prepared table side. Everything was top elegance from start to finish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High End Restaurant in Quebec City

Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I visited Quebec City for the first time recently. It's a beautiful city with a rich history. For our visit knowing it would be a busy weekend, I made reservations at a couple of restaurants in advance. Restaurant Le Continental was our choice for Saturday night. Restaurant Le Continental is a very nice restaurant with a diverse menu and excellent service. They also have a very nice selection of wines to choose from. There is a section of the menu that is prepared Flambe style - prepared and cooked at your table. I ordered a filet and my wife ordered a shrimp dish. We also enjoyed an appetizer as well as desert. Everything about our meal was fantastic. The restaurant is decorated in a more formal style - you can dress up for the night or dress more casually. If you're looking for a more formal dining environment with a high level of service, this is the restaurant for you. It's also a favorite with the local residents.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply Fabulous! This was so close to ou ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Simply Fabulous! This was so close to our hotel. Exceptional service and food. The Lobster Bisque is one of the best I have had. Would definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A real old world dining experience

Dined on April 28, 2016

A real old world dining experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best filet mignon!

Dined on April 23, 2016

It was our first visit to Quebec City and we heard great things about le continental. The fois gras was superb. Extensive wine list. Best filet mignon I've ever had in my life. Service was impeccable. Would recommend this wonderful spot to everyone and anyone!! Such a fantastic experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5

I was not impressed by the food in this ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

I was not impressed by the food in this restaurant. The fish was overcooked. The meat was good but not worth the price. The desserts were just ok. Nevertheless the restaurant is beautiful, the service is very professional and friendly. The restaurant is very close to Chauteau Frontenac.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Traditional French fare

Dined on March 20, 2016

The menu is very traditional as is the preparation. The service is outstanding as is the ambience. Prices are to match. I think $35 for cherries Jubilee for 2 is stretching it.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Felt like an extra in a Gangster movie

Dined on March 5, 2016

The food was decent, and the venue seemed to be a little dated. The service was great, but we likely would not return.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

An institution

Dined on March 5, 2016

Much like House of Prime Rib in San Francisco, Le Continental was clearly born in a different era of dining. The dishes are near impossible to find anymore (le filet minion en boite, and Dover sole, for examples) and the at-table preparation is fantastic. If you appreciate a different dining experience, and are willing to try a few new things, Le Continental cannot be recommended more highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on March 1, 2016

Great food and service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tops in Quebec City

Dined on February 24, 2016

One of the reasons we visit Quebec City is to have dinner at Le Continental. We go there each time we're in QC and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best experience

Dined on February 20, 2016

A great restaurant to experience real "Flambee" at each table. Service 5 Stars A place to go in the Old Quebec Don't miss it !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome and exquisite!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We visited Quebec last weekend for Valentine's Day. The meal was outstanding. Our waiter and flambe expert Hugo, was awesome! We had a wonderful experience and plan on dining here again when we return . I can't say enough good about this restaurant. We have dined in other restaurants but they do not compare. Romantic and the best for special occasions!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Flaming at the table

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food cooked at your table is outstanding, besides being fun to watch. Service is fast and the wait staff is able to recommend dishes and wines for every palate.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent upscale experience that was pe ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Excellent upscale experience that was perfect for a special occasion. Also, very reasonably priced all considered!

food5
ambience5
service5

This was a culinary experience. The flav ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was a culinary experience. The flavor of our entrees were amazing. Every bite we took was incredible. So glad we experienced this for my birthday. Our server knew exactly what we needed.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a first rate dining experience. T ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

We had a first rate dining experience. The tableside preparation of Peppercorn steak was amazing. Escargot was perfectly prepared, and presented in the shells. There is no doubt that we will return to this restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on February 12, 2016

A great experience. Excellent food. Very entertaining

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haute cuisine

Dined on February 8, 2016

Classical French cuisine at it's finest. Impeccable service, food and quality

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful ambience, incredible service, ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Beautiful ambience, incredible service, delicious food! So happy we dined at Restaurant Leslie Continental.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was excellent, this is the second tim ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

It was excellent, this is the second time me and my spouse dine at the Le Continental and we where not disappointed, we will go back next time we visit Quebec city. We just love it ( the food, the service, the ambiance ).

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out

Dined on January 23, 2016

We were visiting from NH and decided to dine here after searching high and low. The service was top notch and food was very good. We dined at our hotel testy ran the night before and we were lessed than impressed and spent far more. We loved this place and enjoyed our meal very much. I had the veal medallions (I think that's what it was called) and my husband had the veal chop and both were amazing. Our waiter was very good, always there when you need something and never let our water or wine get below half a glass. Would definetly recommend this place

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Classic French Resturants

Dined on January 18, 2016

This is a romantic french restaurant with fantastic food and an even better wine list. Our waited for amazing and helped us with any questions we had. I highly recommend anything off of the Flambe portion of the menu - wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent choice for a great experience

Dined on January 9, 2016

While the atmosphere feels a little 70's, I wouldn't change a thing. The service is unparalleled and the food quality is absolute top notch. Drinks were great, dessert was great. This is not a restaurant if you're on a budget. However, if the price is not an issue, it's a highly predictable, enjoyable experience. The table side cooking adds another dimension..

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional in all Respects

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

Exceptional restaurant. Food is perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. Service is polished and professional. If you are looking for a special place to dine in Quebec City - this is one of the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

A fancy affair

Dined on January 2, 2016

Exceptional wine list. Whole experience was superb with one major exception: They didn't cook my steak properly. Expensive meal, but service is top notch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Quebec Citys best old style, traditional ...

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Quebec Citys best old style, traditional restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would recommend this restaurant to any ...

Dined on December 28, 2015

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys french cuisine at the finest level. It is a charming and elegant restaurant and would go back in a heart beat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Dining Experience Ever!

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Having food made for you and in front of you is taken to a new, classy level that I've never seen before. Definitely go here! Especially if you're traveling! My fiance and I stopped here for the first night on our trip and treated ourselves. It was very delicious, very romantic, and the perfect start!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic on every level, food is delici ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

Fantastic on every level, food is delicious and well prepared, service is great. Continental is a must in Quebec City.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great for a special occassion

Dined on December 25, 2015

Great place for a special occasion It is about the presentation here with lots of flambees Expensive but good food with good wine list They should do something about the outside signage as it is a much higher quality than it looks

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve

Dined on December 25, 2015

Perfect Christmas Eve in old Quebec . Great service wonderful ambience . Staff attentive and funny . Was beautiful evening

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.