Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Restaurant Le Continental

Total Enjoyment
In the gourmet world of Le Continental, traditional cuisine is classical. Enjoy the perfect service, the great flambéed dishes that pay tribute to the delicious French cuisine. The Continental's wine cellar is most impressive with its board of famous selection of French, Italian and American wines. It offers a choice of more than five thousand bottles, four hundred different varieties from Grands Crus classés to affordable prices.

26, rue St-Louis
Québec, QC G1R3Y9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Cross Street:
Des Jardins

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 694-9995

Website:
http://www.restaurantlecontinental.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at all times at no extra cost.

Executive Chef:
Marc-André Bernier

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms:
Le Grand Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 36 people.
Le Petit Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 8 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mathieu Pettigrew: (418) 694-9995

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Le Continental Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Romantic (44)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Good for a Date (39)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Authentic (29)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Business Meals (20)
Cozy (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Casual (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
813 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

This is a great establishment in Quebec Cirt that you would not want to be missed. Don't forget to get Brazilian/Spanish/Irish coffee to finish off the meal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Great service and food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

What a great experience. Our waiter / chef was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Such a wonderful table side experience. Matthew is a pro and made our evening and first visit extra special. We will be back and I fully recommend that everyone go at least once for this dining experience that you can't find anywhere else. Everything is of the highest quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Always relaxing, excellent service amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Anniversary. Food was beyond expectations. We enjoyed the table de hotel menu. $64 each. A beautiful assortment of foods and an amazing value. Out thanks to Michael and everyone who made our day so special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 9, 2017

This was hands down the nicest resturant I have been to. The food was amazing and well as the service
Our server Michael prepared the food tableside. This is one to remember

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Amazing food and atmosphere. We felt quite at home and the staff welcomed us without being intrusive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Excellent food and wine selection. One of the best restaurantes lately. Old fashion dishes with out stand Ing ingredientes

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Very expensive for not so good food. However, the overall experience is nice, service is A1 and food cooking directly at the table is impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Just not what it used to be. Came here 7 years ago and loved the old school French service with table side preparation . Certainly has become super touristy and feels like they are just going through the motions. Le Canard à l’orange was still quite tasty but the Cesar salad was so super saturated with dressing that it was inedible. We like to dine later and had an 845pm res. They were really not interested in making us dessert or an after dinner drink and felt like they were forced when we ordered. If u want the old school preparation then still go but if you want truly good food then head to L’Initiale

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 28, 2017

A classic superb restaurant that is run expertly. Staff is highly trained, courteous and anxious to please. The food was flawless. The wine selection was first rate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2017

One of the best meals of my life! I’ll come back to Quebec just to eat here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Great Food but overpriced. $200 for two without drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 22, 2017

food and service is good, but not outstanding, they can do better. Maple cream brulee and tiramisu is must try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Great food and service!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2017

The food was fantastic! Recommend the peppercorn filet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Table side preparation and outstanding service made this a lovely and relaxing evening. The menu is diverse with a great many choices for every palate and steaks prepared table-side make the experience a little different from the norm. This is a definite recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2017

The chefs were very friendly and cooked the filet mignon right in front of the table which turned out to be one of the best I've ever tasted.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2017

One of the top 5 restaurants I have ever dined out. 5 stars plus.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellent dinner! Family coming from NY and CA for our first visit to Quebec City and Birthday and special Anniversary occasions. Everything about the restaurant was wonderful. Our waiter Matthieu was attentive and knowledgeable about menu and suggestions. Would certainly go back for a special evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Few restaurants live up to their reputation, but this one does. They know what they’re doing; your job is only to sit back and enjoy it. Everything we had was among the best I’ve ever eaten: best snails, best shrimp cocktail, best duck a l’orange for two, and the best creme brûlée you can get in Quebec City. For a truly French experience, dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 12, 2017

I had a wonderful time dining in the restaurant. Friends and I celebrated thanksgiving. Our meal was cooked in front of us. We had such a great time. Try this place when visiting Quebec. It's an experience to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 11, 2017

This would be a great place to go on an expense account, but my wife and I were disappointed in the wine list and service. Le Continental seemed to simultaneously take advantage of tourists with high wine prices and be tired of them with pretentious service.

While great servers make you feel that your time is the most important thing in the world, ours tried to make us feel that it was *his* time that was most dear. I know wine pairing, but don't know French wines, and when the typical wine in their cellar is $150 and up, I don't want to learn the expensive way. Our server was absolutely no help – even laughable. Thankfully, with help from Wikipedia, I could look up predominant varietals by region and make a good choice to pair with our venison.

The specialty at Le Continental is flambé. We opted instead for duck foie gras and shared a venison entree, which were both superb. Our Saint-Émilion wine was very good, but at $135 CAD was marked up about 400% above retail, where most higher end restaurants in Montreal and Quebec are more likely to only double the retail price. There were only a token number of wines less than $100 CAD available, typically one from each wine region.

Rather than have dessert or a cocktail at Le Continental, we instead had an excellent cocktail (and bartender) at Conti, which shares a corridor with Le Continental and may be part of the same establishment. They may possibly use the same kitchen. The atmosphere at Conti was much more comfortable and relaxed.

For little more than half the cost of our $250 USD dinner (with gratuity) at Le Continental we had similarly great food and far better service only a block away. And, for that lower cost, we each ordered an entree (and saved some of the food for a picnic overlooking the river the following day).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

My wife and I came to this restaurant to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. I definitely made the right choice! The food was sumptuous, perfectly prepared, served with style, and the best meal we have had in a long time. The wine list is quite extensive and we chose an Italian wine that was simply perfect and the price was more than reasonable! Next, the food. The Escargot in the appetizer were huge and after eating them I devoured the rest of the sauce with the bread as it was better than delicious - the word spectacular comes to mind. Next we ordered Chateaubriand for two. Delivered to the table on a huge tray with potatoes and vegetables. The server placed the tray on a small copper stove to stay hot. He placed the steak on a cutting board and sliced it - of course it was prepared exactly as requested - medium-rare. The meat was shared between our two plates. Next, the vegetables (still on the tray staying hot) were shared between our plates and we were served. Wow! The presentation was only surpassed by the taste of this absolutely delicious meal. Now the dessert. We ordered the Pernod Pears. Our server used the copper stove and a copper pan to prepare the pears right in front of us. Again, the presentation was superb only to be eclipsed by the taste of this wonderful dessert. This restaurant is the best place to eat in Quebec City. We ate here twice and both times were magnificent! Everyone including the Maitre d' Matthew and our servers Hugo and Umberto were friendly, accommodating, and professional. It is rare to find such a wonderful French Style restaurant that adheres to the finest french style cooking and serving. Whatever you choose to eat, you will not be disappointed here!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The location - in the Old Town right across from Frontenac - was perfect. We walked a few miles that day so were ready for a great experience. Our waiter was also the chef !! because of the food selections we made. Great service and excellent ambiance

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Parfait du début à la fin du repas. Un endroit de classe ou le client est tres bien accueilli et respecte. Merci pour cet excellent repas

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Outstanding steaks prepared table side. Great atmosphere for a special occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Our last night in Quebec City. It was definitely well worth the experience. Our waiter and all staff were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

We were seated at a very small table requiring the server to reach across my face with each interaction. He made no effort to place our cutlery properly, basically throwing it in the right direction. My fish was over cooked, presentation was dull, uninspired, white and washed out orange with two green beans. Tasteless. Expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Memorable dining experience -- lovely decor, quiet, delicious food, and superb service/staff. Not cheap, but well worth it for a special night!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Good Service, Good food. All staff in the restaurant are kind.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed each portion of our meal with the service and tastes that we would have expected in Paris at a elegant fine restaurant! We were so impressed by our meals Saturday night, we cancelled our reservations the next night at another restaurant and returned to the Le Continental for our last meal before leaving Quebec City

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Wonderful restaurant with an incredible staff. Loved the escargot and chateaubriand!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2017

"Alter Schuppen" mit großem Charme, da passt das plüschige Ambiente genau so wie die Kellner im weißen Dinnerjacket. Klassische französische Küche auf qualitativ hohem Niveau. Der Abend hat einfach Spaß gemacht.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Incredible food and service. If you want a memorable meal and experience in Quebec City, this is certainly the place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Fantastic! A must for anyone wanting to eat excellent French cuisine in Quebec City. Tableside preparation a must (main course or dessert) to get the full ambience of the restaurant! Ang, our waiter, was perfect, always prompt with the next service but never pushy. Extensive menu, $$$ but fair pricing. Excellent wine list ranging from $ to $$$. My wife and I will plan another trip to QC just to eat at Le Continental again!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 28, 2017

This was our last night in Quebec and we wanted to go someplace special. This was totally the right place to go. Everything was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Le Continental is a top rated restaurant in the French style. Food is refined and excellent. The service is very attentive but not obtrusive. The ambiance is warm and welcoming. The food is pricy but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Absolutely one of the best dinners we have ever had, our waiter Michel cooked filet en boite table side to perfection, then made crapes table side as well...Best restaurant in Quebec city

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.