About Restaurant Le Continental

26, rue St-Louis
Quebec, QC G1R3Y9
View Larger Map

Total Enjoyment
In the gourmet world of Le Continental, traditional cuisine is classical. Enjoy the perfect service, the great flambéed dishes that pay tribute to the delicious French cuisine. The Continental's wine cellar is most impressive with its board of famous selection of French, Italian and American wines. It offers a choice of more than five thousand bottles, four hundred different varieties from Grands Crus classés to affordable prices.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Cross Street:
Des Jardins

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 694-9995

Website:
http://www.restaurantlecontinental.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at all times at no extra cost.

Executive Chef:
Marc-André Bernier

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms:
Le Grand Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 36 people.
Le Petit Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 8 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mathieu Pettigrew: 4186949995

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Le Continental Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Food
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
4 More
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
Romantic
Montreal / Quebec
French
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked
Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Best Restaurants in Quebec City ›

Special Occasion (74)
Romantic (63)
Fit for Foodies (44)
See All
Notable Wine List (37)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Historic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Private Room (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
523 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service and food; probably the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and food; probably the best fine dining experience in Quebec City.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service!!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent French cuisine. Try one of the ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent French cuisine. Try one of the Flambé entrees prepared table side.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been in Quebec City for three days ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We've been in Quebec City for three days and this was the best meal we've had, hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely one of the best restaurants i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Definitely one of the best restaurants in Quebec. Old School, classic French cuisine that unfortunately is difficult to find in NYC. Great experience !

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire staff were so very profession ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The entire staff were so very professional and could not do enough for you. They were so attentive that they refilled your wine glasses continuously. They even brought a selection of reader glasses when one of us had left their eye glasses behind! That is what I call fantastic customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would not recommend. Food was OK but no ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Would not recommend. Food was OK but nothing fantastic. Spiral potatoes and overcooked veggies. Very "old school". Needs a menu update.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

A real "trip down Memory Lane." Waiters ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

A real "trip down Memory Lane." Waiters in white dinner jackets and bow ties. (But, friendly and accommodating.)

Delicious food, much of which is prepared table side. Quite a show!

Would highly recommend this nice, warmly appointed restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was THE restaurant , the servers a ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

This was THE restaurant , the servers and specially ours (Alain) were very great!! And the food was EXCELLENT we took 'canard à l'orange' wow!! Everything was just perfect! We will return...that 's for sure!! We had a very nice evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had previously been to thi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

My wife and I had previously been to this restaurant, separately, when we were in our teens, in the 1960's. The restaurant has been there since 1956. Our meal was the best meal I have ever had. This is an old style, french white glove service restaurant. A lot is prepared table side. We had Caesar salad, duck l'orange and Crepes Suzette, all prepared tableside. The restaurant is not cheap, but worth every penny.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service, the service, the service! ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The service, the service, the service! Love the attention to detail. Food was superb! Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My father was instrumental in helping th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

My father was instrumental in helping the original owner to start this business. I have been going there since I was a young child, and I am now soon to be 70 years old, so that has to tell you something. Still one of the best restaurant in Quebec City and they specialize in "flambes" and their "Canard a l'orange" is to die for... but please do stay alive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service. Excellent fl ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Excellent flambé at the table. Staff was courteous and always prompt. Highly recommended, great venue.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you've never 'splurged' on an extrava ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

If you've never 'splurged' on an extravagant dining experience and are nervous about doing so, Le Continental is perfect. A basic, traditional menu. Prepared and served by an excellent staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful. Authentic French cuisine. Ma ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderful. Authentic French cuisine. Many of the dishes are served by the table, which I happen to like a lot. Worth a detour when you visit Quebec City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent location, service and deliciou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent location, service and delicious food! Pierre , our waiter, was the best! Worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I went for our 30th anniv ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

My husband and I went for our 30th anniversary. We could not have been happier with our choice. The ambience was beautiful and the waitstaff could not do enough for us. They did not know it was a special occasion for us. The food was delicious , but a bit overpriced, and we come from New York, so that's saying a lot. All in all I highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was wonderful and attentive ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful and attentive also shared a list of fabulous restaurants to go to

But the duck la orange for 2 was way too. Sweet and the breast was tough .

Creme brûlée was not so creamy

The carpaccio was fabulous and the foie Grau was to die for but very disappointing when your appetizer is delicious and then you loose it with the main dish

We would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

We dined here last Saturday night, and t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We dined here last Saturday night, and the experience was a good one overall, with a few caveats. You should expect a very traditional old school French bistro experience, and all flambees and preparation tableside means the atmosphere is pretty load and a bit chaotic. Personally, I don't need to see my food being prepared, so this entertainment aspect was lost on me. We ordered the lobster bisque (rich and flavorful, not the best I've ever had but enjoyable), my husband had the sirloin streak (very good, but not aged beef as you'd get in the States), and I had the lamb chops (good, prepared simply). For the value, I think there are other place in QC that can deliver more creative food at better prices, but this place certainly fills a special niche in that it delivers that old school bistro experience with a show. It's enjoyable, as long as you know what to expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Total class act. Excellent and knowledge ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Total class act. Excellent and knowledgeable staff. I could not imagine wanting to go to any other restaurant when in Quebec City.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a disappointment. Came in expec ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Overall a disappointment. Came in expectations too high. Food was OK--like you'd find at a good men's club back in the 1970s and 80s. Meat plus potato, a baby zucchini, and a baby carrot. Told French onion soup was a must-have classic. It was fine, but tasted quite institutional. Nothing special there. Escargot were better. Table side steak always fun, but quality of meat was only fair. Kitchen did not cook elk--"rack of elk" special that night but just one run chop--to requested temperature-- all agreed it was "blue" when order medium. Reheated but left spouse eating alone for several minutes. Waiter was mildly apologetic. Nothing more from anyone else. For such a high end establishment should have been cooked right to order and shown better response. Decided not to tempt dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Attentive service, generous serving size ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Attentive service, generous serving sizes. Everything we tried was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite being very traditional cuisine, ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Despite being very traditional cuisine, the food in this restaurant is outstanding. The waiters in white jackets cook the flambes for you at your table with care, and the entire experience is excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent. The food was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The service was excellent. The food was just okay. If you're looking for flambé, a historic house, and attentive waiters, this is your place. But if you're looking for top notch food, it falls short - not much creativity or flavor. Seems to be a safe and elegant tourist destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Food was great and staff was friendly. G ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was great and staff was friendly. Great place for an anniversary or other celebratory dinner. Large wine list. Order a Flambé dish. It's their specialty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

•If you love the rustic simplicity of fa ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

•If you love the rustic simplicity of farm to table dining, on a barn board table with no table cloth, surrounded by tasteful modern art, while sipping obscure North American wine or craft beer and listening to the latest independent alternative folk music available from an obscure acoustic guitar ensemble, then this is NOT your restaurant. If you value contemporary hipster decor and the brand of the waiter's designer jeans, then please avoid this place. You will end up being one of the few to write an unfair negative review about this institution.

Le Continental is unrepentant about its old school and untrendy fine dining, and they pull it off exquisitely. I imagine the decor was already untrendy when they opened in 1956, but they have maintained it beautifully. In a good way, walking into Le Continental restaurant feels a bit like stepping back in time. I almost wish they made guests turn in their cell phones at the coat check.

A devoted professional in a white coat and black tie prepares much of your food table-side. The busers dressed in red coats are quick and attentive to bring items which must be prepared in the kitchen. Expect the patron in black tie to visit your table at least once to supervise and ask about your experience. The food is superb in preparation, taste, and temperature.

If I were not expecting this experience, I could see how the restaurant's atmosphere and the amount of butter used in preparing the food might throw me a bit off. The current culinary trend is to serve charred, relatively raw vegetables, so to some, steamed vegetables prepared the traditional way might seem over cooked. However, if you know what you're buying when you walk in, this restaurant can be an enjoyable once in a lifetime dining experience, so don't expect it to be a bargain.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very elegant restaurant in the heart of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very elegant restaurant in the heart of beautiful Quebec City. Le Continental could best be describes as a classic restaurant. A lovely dining room with white tablecloths and napkins as well as elegant place settings and crystal stemware. What really recalls dining in the past was virtually all service was conducted table side, from the wonderful salads to the flaming desserts. A memorable evening on our visit to Quebec.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal. Outstanding service. Beau ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fabulous meal. Outstanding service. Beautiful ambience. It was all we expected and more.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not just a meal. It is a dining experie ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Not just a meal. It is a dining experience. Also not inexpensive but worth it for sure. Try and order a meal prepared at your table... It is lots of fun. We had Caesar for two. Highly recommended. My wife had filet Mignon. Also recommended. End dinner with dessert and an Irish coffee. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was perfect from the very mo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The service was perfect from the very moment we arrived. The ambiance was formal but not stuffy. We had the 4- course dinner. The soup was fabulous. My husband liked his veal; my crab legs were average. The vegetables were creative and tasty. I was too full for dessert but my husband had a yummy sorbet. I wished I had chosen a different entree as the table-side preparations near us looked really good!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had not eaten at LE Continental in a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had not eaten at LE Continental in a long time, and we were not disappointed. We started with the Caesar salad for two made table side. That was great. My wife had delicious salmon. I chose to have a filet mignon cooked table side. It was scrumptious and could be cut with a fork. Our desserts we great too.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is our go to restaurant when visiting ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It is our go to restaurant when visiting Old Quebec City

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Le Continental has all the ba ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Restaurant Le Continental has all the bases covered if you are looking for a romantic atmosphere for a special occasion. Their variety of dishes prepared table-side is as impressive as the presentation of the entrées and deserts. Our waiter was very skilled and polished, and sensitive to our special occasion - our 50th wedding anniversary celebration. I don't think I've enjoyed a dining experience more that this one. It even tops what we experienced at the Jules Verne in the Eiffel Tower last year. I highly recommend this restaurant, but it is pricey.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Old school French-flavored steak house w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Old school French-flavored steak house with table side preparation. I haven't seen an at the table caesar salad prepared correctly in decades. The flambe steaks were prepared and cooked perfectly, with the appropriate amount of flame at the appropriate time. As far as value, obviously this is not a regular dining venue for the non-one percent, but for a special occasion it was worth every penny. Our waiter talked me out of spending $10 more and, instead recommended a superior bottle at the lower price. I appreciate counsel like that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my wife and daughters for my wife's ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Took my wife and daughters for my wife's 50th birthday. The staff were very attentive, friendly, and expert. The dinner was absolutely perfect. Atmosphere was everything you expect from an upscale restaurant.

Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is tasteless, a real rip-off, Dov ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food is tasteless, a real rip-off, Dover Sole for $62 and Crepes Suzetted for $35 ?!?!?!

Great alternatives with innovative food are available. The fact they flambé tasteless food does not warrant the prices.

NEVER AGAIN!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Love this place. Food and service is gre ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Love this place. Food and service is great. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

absolutely wonderful dining experience! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

absolutely wonderful dining experience! food, service, atmosphere fabulous!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately I don't remember our serve ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Unfortunately I don't remember our server's name, but, he was impeccable! The service was great without being intrusive, and, his preparation of the meal was perfect, and, at the same time entertaining!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dinner and our waiter was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner and our waiter was most attentive. Loved seeing the flambeing of other tables meat dishes...restaurant's specialty. We had salmon which was delicious.

Beautiful garden though no seating there..just a lovely view to look out on.

We would go again when in Quebec City.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.