About Restaurant Le Continental

26, rue St-Louis
Quebec, QC G1R3Y9
View Larger Map

Total Enjoyment
In the gourmet world of Le Continental, traditional cuisine is classical. Enjoy the perfect service, the great flambéed dishes that pay tribute to the delicious French cuisine. The Continental's wine cellar is most impressive with its board of famous selection of French, Italian and American wines. It offers a choice of more than five thousand bottles, four hundred different varieties from Grands Crus classés to affordable prices.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Cross Street:
Des Jardins

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 694-9995

Website:
http://www.restaurantlecontinental.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at all times at no extra cost.

Executive Chef:
Marc-André Bernier

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms:
Le Grand Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 36 people.
Le Petit Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 8 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mathieu Pettigrew: 4186949995

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Le Continental Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Food
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
4 More
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
French
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked
Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Best Restaurants in Quebec City ›

Special Occasion (62)
Romantic (54)
Fit for Foodies (41)
See All
Notable Wine List (30)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
500 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Attentive service, generous serving size ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Attentive service, generous serving sizes. Everything we tried was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite being very traditional cuisine, ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 5 days ago

Despite being very traditional cuisine, the food in this restaurant is outstanding. The waiters in white jackets cook the flambes for you at your table with care, and the entire experience is excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent. The food was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was excellent. The food was just okay. If you're looking for flambé, a historic house, and attentive waiters, this is your place. But if you're looking for top notch food, it falls short - not much creativity or flavor. Seems to be a safe and elegant tourist destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Food was great and staff was friendly. G ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was great and staff was friendly. Great place for an anniversary or other celebratory dinner. Large wine list. Order a Flambé dish. It's their specialty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

•If you love the rustic simplicity of fa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

•If you love the rustic simplicity of farm to table dining, on a barn board table with no table cloth, surrounded by tasteful modern art, while sipping obscure North American wine or craft beer and listening to the latest independent alternative folk music available from an obscure acoustic guitar ensemble, then this is NOT your restaurant. If you value contemporary hipster decor and the brand of the waiter's designer jeans, then please avoid this place. You will end up being one of the few to write an unfair negative review about this institution.

Le Continental is unrepentant about its old school and untrendy fine dining, and they pull it off exquisitely. I imagine the decor was already untrendy when they opened in 1956, but they have maintained it beautifully. In a good way, walking into Le Continental restaurant feels a bit like stepping back in time. I almost wish they made guests turn in their cell phones at the coat check.

A devoted professional in a white coat and black tie prepares much of your food table-side. The busers dressed in red coats are quick and attentive to bring items which must be prepared in the kitchen. Expect the patron in black tie to visit your table at least once to supervise and ask about your experience. The food is superb in preparation, taste, and temperature.

If I were not expecting this experience, I could see how the restaurant's atmosphere and the amount of butter used in preparing the food might throw me a bit off. The current culinary trend is to serve charred, relatively raw vegetables, so to some, steamed vegetables prepared the traditional way might seem over cooked. However, if you know what you're buying when you walk in, this restaurant can be an enjoyable once in a lifetime dining experience, so don't expect it to be a bargain.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very elegant restaurant in the heart of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very elegant restaurant in the heart of beautiful Quebec City. Le Continental could best be describes as a classic restaurant. A lovely dining room with white tablecloths and napkins as well as elegant place settings and crystal stemware. What really recalls dining in the past was virtually all service was conducted table side, from the wonderful salads to the flaming desserts. A memorable evening on our visit to Quebec.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal. Outstanding service. Beau ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fabulous meal. Outstanding service. Beautiful ambience. It was all we expected and more.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not just a meal. It is a dining experie ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Not just a meal. It is a dining experience. Also not inexpensive but worth it for sure. Try and order a meal prepared at your table... It is lots of fun. We had Caesar for two. Highly recommended. My wife had filet Mignon. Also recommended. End dinner with dessert and an Irish coffee. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was perfect from the very mo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The service was perfect from the very moment we arrived. The ambiance was formal but not stuffy. We had the 4- course dinner. The soup was fabulous. My husband liked his veal; my crab legs were average. The vegetables were creative and tasty. I was too full for dessert but my husband had a yummy sorbet. I wished I had chosen a different entree as the table-side preparations near us looked really good!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had not eaten at LE Continental in a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had not eaten at LE Continental in a long time, and we were not disappointed. We started with the Caesar salad for two made table side. That was great. My wife had delicious salmon. I chose to have a filet mignon cooked table side. It was scrumptious and could be cut with a fork. Our desserts we great too.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is our go to restaurant when visiting ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It is our go to restaurant when visiting Old Quebec City

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Le Continental has all the ba ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Restaurant Le Continental has all the bases covered if you are looking for a romantic atmosphere for a special occasion. Their variety of dishes prepared table-side is as impressive as the presentation of the entrées and deserts. Our waiter was very skilled and polished, and sensitive to our special occasion - our 50th wedding anniversary celebration. I don't think I've enjoyed a dining experience more that this one. It even tops what we experienced at the Jules Verne in the Eiffel Tower last year. I highly recommend this restaurant, but it is pricey.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Old school French-flavored steak house w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Old school French-flavored steak house with table side preparation. I haven't seen an at the table caesar salad prepared correctly in decades. The flambe steaks were prepared and cooked perfectly, with the appropriate amount of flame at the appropriate time. As far as value, obviously this is not a regular dining venue for the non-one percent, but for a special occasion it was worth every penny. Our waiter talked me out of spending $10 more and, instead recommended a superior bottle at the lower price. I appreciate counsel like that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my wife and daughters for my wife's ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Took my wife and daughters for my wife's 50th birthday. The staff were very attentive, friendly, and expert. The dinner was absolutely perfect. Atmosphere was everything you expect from an upscale restaurant.

Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is tasteless, a real rip-off, Dov ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food is tasteless, a real rip-off, Dover Sole for $62 and Crepes Suzetted for $35 ?!?!?!

Great alternatives with innovative food are available. The fact they flambé tasteless food does not warrant the prices.

NEVER AGAIN!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Love this place. Food and service is gre ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Love this place. Food and service is great. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

absolutely wonderful dining experience! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

absolutely wonderful dining experience! food, service, atmosphere fabulous!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately I don't remember our serve ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Unfortunately I don't remember our server's name, but, he was impeccable! The service was great without being intrusive, and, his preparation of the meal was perfect, and, at the same time entertaining!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dinner and our waiter was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner and our waiter was most attentive. Loved seeing the flambeing of other tables meat dishes...restaurant's specialty. We had salmon which was delicious.

Beautiful garden though no seating there..just a lovely view to look out on.

We would go again when in Quebec City.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was excellent, the service, t ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Everything was excellent, the service, the food, the ambiance !!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Québec City for the weekend. ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We were in Québec City for the weekend. Decided to try Le Continental. Found out after arriving that they have their own parking, which would have been helpful to know beforehand (I had looked at their website, did not see anything about parking), ended up paying $24 for parking. Service started well, but one of our appetizer never arrived. We ordered the flambé steak, which was done at the table. This was quite the experience, and the steak was fantastic. Although the food was enjoyable, it was priced quite high, and didn't feel like good value for the cost. Though it was a relatively good evening out, we would not recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

For sure the most memorable dining exper ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

For sure the most memorable dining experience i've had in a very long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have appreciated very much our dinner ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We have appreciated very much our dinner with food prepared at the gueridon. A wonderful night and excellent personal service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night, service and food excellent. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great night, service and food excellent. Always go there when we are in Quebec City

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great old-school dining - as it was 50 y ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great old-school dining - as it was 50 years ago. (That's a good thing.)

Attentive staff, great preparation.

Can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinning experience and good servic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great dinning experience and good service with friendly and attentive waitstaffs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Superb in every way. Flambé a must! And ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Superb in every way. Flambé a must! And plenty of tableside options. Try the Newburg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't have bread "sans gluten"

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Don't have bread "sans gluten"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A five Star experience in all ways.A bea ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

A five Star experience in all ways.A beautiful restaurant ,elegant in style and service.The food is classic local fresh and beautifully prepared and presented.All salads are prepared at the table ,some main courses are also prepared at the table.We ordered a daily special fish offering of cod provincial.It was outstanding.Paired with a wonderful wine choices, it was perfect.The dessert cart had a wide range of options, our choice was amazing.Each course was delivered with attentive professional service.A legend in Quebec that should not be missed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and outstanding service. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wonderful food and outstanding service. A memorable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food on the pricey side, but w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Delicious food on the pricey side, but well worth it for my giant grilled scallops. The vegetables were delicious and the presentation of both meals was lovely. The staff was friendly and helpful. Nice ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceeded our expectations Service wa ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Exceeded our expectations Service was excellent as well as the food we ordered.

Although on the expensive side we still considered great value for the dining experience.

Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The decor was very dated.. Carpet old wa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The decor was very dated.. Carpet old wall decor old. Bread brought to table was stale, not fresh. Steak was good, salmon good, scalloped potatoes poor and no flavor. Vegetables overlooked. Waiter not attentive. I would not return as felt my business was not appreciated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

A wonderful classic restaurant that neve ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A wonderful classic restaurant that never fails to live up to its reputation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Continental is a very special dining ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Le Continental is a very special dining experience. The service is impeccable and the food is a culinary delight. My first experience at Le Continental left me eager to visit again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Continental was the highlight of our ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Le Continental was the highlight of our 6 days in Quebec! I found the wines a bit over priced. I oped for a pedestrian wine and went all the way with the menu. Food was incredible and we where extremely satisfied with it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

a great restaurent...food is very good a ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

a great restaurent...food is very good and service is super.

always a pleasure to go there

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant. Very elegant good ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. Very elegant good food. Special occasion

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent French cuisine in the heart of ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent French cuisine in the heart of old Quebec City. The Canard Flambé is superb. Great selection of French wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For me, 2.5 hours is too long for dinner ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

For me, 2.5 hours is too long for dinner, especially when there are very imbalanced periods of time between courses.

Yes, the food was delicious with wonderful tableside presentations. But it is was readily apparent that the waiter was ill-equipped to handle the required number of tables. For at least 5 tables in our immediate area, our waiter also served as the tableside chief preparing each tables food, serving drinks and handling all other duties. For a high-end restaurant, how about some service - more staff? It was apparant that noone around us felt special.

There are wonderful places to eat in Quebec and we found so many - just not this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.