Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Restaurant Le Continental

Total Enjoyment
In the gourmet world of Le Continental, traditional cuisine is classical. Enjoy the perfect service, the great flambéed dishes that pay tribute to the delicious French cuisine. The Continental's wine cellar is most impressive with its board of famous selection of French, Italian and American wines. It offers a choice of more than five thousand bottles, four hundred different varieties from Grands Crus classés to affordable prices.

26, rue St-Louis
Québec, QC G1R3Y9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Cross Street:
Des Jardins

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 694-9995

Website:
http://www.restaurantlecontinental.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at all times at no extra cost.

Executive Chef:
Marc-André Bernier

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms:
Le Grand Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 36 people.
Le Petit Salon: Private dining room for a maximum of 8 people.

Private Party Contact:
Mathieu Pettigrew: (418) 694-9995

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Le Continental Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (47)
Special Occasion (45)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
See All
Good for a Date (33)
Notable Wine List (27)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Cozy (16)
Authentic (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Business Meals (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
687 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Very classic dining, excellent food quality and combinations. What you would expect from a classic French restaurant but exceptionally great food and combinations! Veal medallions topped with seared foie gras was excellent! Sweetbread appetizer phenomenal. Will come back!

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Dined with my husband while on vacation in Quebec City. It was our first nite in the city. We found the restaurant to be very commercial and gimmicky. We ordered soups for appetizers although my minestrone was ok my husbands onion soup was totally bland. Next we decided on the sirloin steaks (we both knew they would not be as tender as filet mignon) however they both were very tough. We decided to forego dessert but I ordered a cappuccino- it was one of the worst cappuccinos I have ever had - watery and bitter. Obviously we weren't impressed, there are so many other good choices in this lovely city I would steer clear of this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent experience. Excellent food and excellent service. A must when in Quebec City.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

This is a must for Quebec City. Many flambé dishes and table-side presentations. We dined here two nights in a row it was so memorable. All staff are very professional and friendly. Dominic and Sebastian were responsible for our meals and I can't say enough about them. Sebastian prepared the dressing for our Caesar salad and it has spoiled me for ever. Crepes Suzette one night and cherry Jubilee the next, flambeéd, of course. Dover sole meunière wonderful as were the steak and lamb chop dinners. Don't miss if in Quebec City.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Celebrating our 40th anniversary. Everything from the service, food, and ambiance was exactly as we would have wanted. Will definitely will go back next time in Old Quebec.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Nous avons passé une soirée inoubliable. Un merci tout spécial à Michel pour ce repas divin et sa compagnie des plus agréable lorsqu'il préparait notre repas au guéridon. Nous retournerons, c'est garanti!
Anick & Mario

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 10, 2017

One of the finest meals I have ever had.....absolutely superior!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had. Impeccable service and a lovely, old-school romantic atmosphere. Our waiter was so charming and we especially enjoyed all of the tableside preparations going on at our table and nearby tables. Outstanding in every way.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It is was wonderful, the best Duck orange I have been eaten!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Impressed with the meal overall but onion soup lacked flavor. Escargot delicious, lobster bisque and shrimp lunch special along with steak were delicious. Service excellent!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 6, 2017

A classic in Québec. HOWEVER, while nearly every new diner orders the Chateaubriand, we found that it was very boring. Way too much meat, and the garnishes (the vegetables around the meat) were sad and sloppily arranged. It all seemed like a tourist meal. We have been at the restaurant several times before and had had much better food. Also, our waiter was unctuous and condescending. Won't go back on our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Outstanding special occasion venue. I had previously eaten at the sister restaurant, the more casual Café Conti, which was excellent, so was excited to try Le Continental. My husband and I both chose the fixed course meal with choices of salad, soup, entrée, and dessert. We added a bottle of Prosecco. The seasonal salads and soup were outstanding. I enjoyed the veal entrée and he enjoyed the pork. We were both extremely pleased. The desserts were also delicious. Although expensive, we felt it was worth the money, as the service was as excellent as the meal. I would make a point of eating here again, should I be in Quebec again. The only minute critique I would have was the frigid air conditioning. They could have raised the temperature a bit, as even my husband noticed. Make a reservation or you likely won't enjoy this restaurant. Plan ahead a few days and you won't regret it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Amazing experience! The table side Caesar Salad was exceptional. Definitely recommend getting the flambe option.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Traditional cuisine and old school service. A quiet atmosphere and relaxed, unhurried pace. The food was superb - the flambe steak, prepared tableside, was exquisite, and dessert was worth every calorie! Our server took care of us in a way that you seldom see anymore - attentive, unobtrusive, seeing to our every need. One of the best meals I've had in a long time, and very convenient - right in the heart of old Quebec City, just a few steps from the Fairmont Hotel.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Our food was prepared tableside with the waiter noting the ingredients being used as he worked. For appetizers we had bacon-wrapped scallops and cesar salad. The main dishes - chateaubriand for two and a shrimp -- were great portions and tasted marvelous. We were too full for dessert.

In addition, the waiter answered our questions about the restaurant and its history. All in all, it was a great experience. We had visited a year ago on an earlier trip to Quebec City and couldn't wait to return again this year.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Le Continental is a first class place - we both ordered flambeed dinner entrees (filet mignon and scampi). Both were excellent. Cherries jubilee for dessert. Our waiter was very attentive. Nice and quiet. Highly recommend for those looking for "old school" - classy restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This restaurant was recommended by our driver on the way into Quebec City from the airport . We were a daily with an 8 year old and food choices were extensive and all of us enjoyed the food. A lot of the food is prepared at the table so a nice touch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 30, 2017

For people of a certain age this is a 'throwback' to fine dining where the waiter makes your food at the table...authentic caesar, steak au poivre, cherries jubilee.
I took my son who is 43 and he had never dined in a restaurant with this kind of service. It is not your everyday restaurant but it is a must at least once in a lifetime.
I totally enjoyed it and Sebastien our waiter was charming and delightful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 28, 2017

A classic French restaurant which can be summarized as "impeccable ". An experience to add to a bucket list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Truly an amazing experience! Beautiful restaurant!! Food and presentation tops!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Very good traditional classic French food and attentive service. The flambé dishes were amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Perfect restaurant, amazing food, service... everything! Best restaurant in Quebec!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The salad was prepared by our table with dressing made while we watched - outstanding. Our steaks were cooked and flambed at our table and were exceptional. Perfectly cooked, perfectly seasoned, delicious sauce - and much cheaper than a typical steakhouse. Excellent service too

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Absolutely A+. Oh, my.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Le Continental has been on the local food scene for many years. While restaurants may "come & go", it has remained to offer excellent food in an elegant atmosphere served by professional staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Table side dining experience was first rate. Our waiter Mathieu was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It was a remarkable dinner. My wife and I each ordered filet mignon. It was prepared perfectly tableside. We spent five days in Montreal and Quebec City. This was our best meal of the trip.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 22, 2017

My wife and I had duck a l'orange prepared table side. Fabulous presentation and delicious meal. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 18, 2017

J'adore ce resto.. C'est un de mes favori à Québec... Le canard à l'orange et le filet mignon excellents.....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2017

High end. While we enjoy fine dining experiences, this was nothing special. Caesar made tableside was just okay. For the price, I expect more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This place is classic and is a must stop location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I really enjoyed food and waiter however booked in advance told them it was my anniversary and please give special table they tried to put us in between 2 loud terribly hot tables with the restaurant half empty after my daughter had a talk about it being our anniversary and I was so upset they moved us to a quiet beautiful table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Très bon repas avec un service hors de l'ordinaire

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Impeccable table side service by friendly and attentive staff. A special seat was requested for our honeymoon dinner and as a result we were seated centered on the garden view and whole of the restaurant. All parts of our meal, from the caesar salad, to filet mignon "medium well", to crepe suzette, were executed to perfection. Room for improvement? Not possible. This was perfection. If you enjoy special occasion dining in a formal atmosphere with casual flare, this restaurant is the one!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Truly great experience. Even adjusting score to restaurant's higher end premise, the execution was excellent. Lovely table cooking and engaging staff. Definitely a place for couples and some celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We loved this restaurant....the personnel were wonderful....we went back the nest day!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 2, 2017

A fine old stand-by has maintained high standards. Classic cuisine, well prepared with good ingredients. Well chosen wine list. Friendly staff. Attentive service. We'll return.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Delightful place. Charming staff. Superb decor. Wonderful food and menu. Staff is at top of their game. Their dress (tux& white dinner jackets) shows respect for the customer. The male customer should reciprocate and wear a jacket ( tie not necessary). Ladies get-it without being told.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Nous avons adoré notre première expérience à ce restaurant. L'entrecôte flambée à la moutarde de meaux et le carré d'agneau étaient excellents. Notre serveur, Guy, nous a offert un excellent service personnalisé. Belle carte des vins. À renouveler!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We spent 6 days in Montreal and Quebec, and this was easily the best meal. It did not start off well as they attempted to seat us at a table right by the door, but at our request we were moved to a table by the window. The rest was superb. We had the caesar salad, steak tartare and filet mignon, all prepared tableside. The salad and steak tartare were excellent but the filet was perfect. Our waiter Denis was able to juggle 2 or 3 flambee dishes at once, while also being pleasant and spending time at each table. The steak was cooked perfectly. We were too full to have the crepes suzette, but did have a cake for dessert (forget the name) which was like a chocolate eclair on steroids. We would certainly return if we are ever in Quebec again, and will recommend it to all our friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.