Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About Restaurant Iris

Born and raised in Southern Louisiana, Chef Kelly English fell in love with the culture and food of New Orleans. Equipped with his training from award-winning Chef John Besh, English presents a unique dining experience. Restaurant Iris specializes in French-Creole cuisine featuring local and seasonal ingredients. English infuses his endless creativity and passion for food into each dish. Whether indulging in his Oysters three ways, a "Knuckle Sandwich", or a dessert made just for you, one is sure to reap the benefits of English"s rich culinary background. We invite you to experience Restaurant Iris, simplicity at its most elegant.

Please note: Due to the limited capacity of our dining room, we offer limited online reservation availability. For more information regarding availability, please contact the restaurant directly.

2146 Monroe Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cooper

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 590-2828

Website:
http://www.restaurantiris.com/

Catering:
Please call 901-590-2828 or email specialevents@restaurantiris.com for more information.

Parking Details:
On-street parking and parking lot available.

Executive Chef:
Kelly English

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Iris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Romantic (56)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
See All
Good for a Date (54)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Cozy (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Worth the Drive (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Local Ingredients (21)
Tasting Menu (17)
Authentic (17)
Business Meals (12)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fun (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Tapas (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Casual (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 13 hours ago

The fiod is good, not great, and a little disappointing. Preparation and presentation are not well thought out. Service was nearly absent, slow and unwelcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding as usual... Never a dissapointed. Been there several time... Worth the money and time.. Nice quiet romantic spot away from the crowd

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Restaurant Iris always hits it out of the park. It is our favorite go to spot for very special occasions.

Tags: Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

It may have been an off night considering it was Monday Night and the Chef is normally off. My main dish was not good. My daughter's was excellent. Appetizers were good. I think my palate and the chef's don't match. I love scallops and could not eat them. I think they were a mistake too early and held. We come to Memphis on check ups. I liked another small restaurant much much better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

It had been quite a while since we had been to Iris, and our meal was just wonderful. We will be back much more frequently in the future !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We got the 5 course chefs choice with wine pairing. This actually turned out to be 10 dishes to our surprise because we each had 5 different ones. All of the courses and dishes were excellent and we got try a lot of the menu. Good value as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Its not the same as it once was. Honestly, I was embarrassed because it was my birthday and I built it up to my father as the nicest restaurant in town. The steak was easily as good as a buckleys steak but no where close to folks folly or ruths. It was not like this a few years ago. The steak was tough and needed the colligin and fat trimmed and it was completely overcooked. My wife's lamb was dry and forgetable also. Whats the deal with this place? I called around to some friends and they all said something to the effect of Kelly English has other restaurants and does not babysit this one like he used to. I doubt I'll be back untill I hear something good from someone I know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We came here for my beaus 28th birthday and the experience was phenomenal. They decorated the table for the celebration. The drinks were amazing. We split the Brussels sprout app. For the main course I got the scallops which were to die for. He did the daily catch which was a pan fried trout and he has been talking about it since then. At the end of the meal, the chef came around to make sure that all was well and it was. I would recommend this restaurant to any one going to memphis whether they are a foodie or not. Great work Kelly English and team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious! Our server was amazing. I cannot think of anything to criticize. Absolutely recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Had heard it was the best in Memphis. Couldn't agree more. Went for date night. Decided to be adventurous and both chose to do the 5 course option. Wines perfectly paired, cant wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 31, 2017

I was fortunate to be able to spend by birthday with my husband at Restaurant Iris. As a great, I went for the 5 course tasting menu (which I prepared for by skipping lunch). First up, a fois gras terrine with accompaniments. The fois was very rich, and was paired with a crisp white wine. Second, an heirloom tomato salad with lump crab meat and avocado with a chili vinaigrette. Probably my favorite dish of the night, paired with another white wine. Third, the marrow, served with a miso glaze, bao, and pickled vegetables. This was so creative, and eall the flavors blended well. Fourth and main course was a lamb chop with pearl couscous. The chop was seasoned and prepared perfectly, but was a little unwieldy to get off the bone (more likely due to my reticence to just pick it up). This was paired with a rose wine. Finally dessert was a pair of panna cotta: a vanilla bean and an orange (which tasted just like a dreamsicle! Delicious! ). Our server Mary Catherine was wonderful and engaging. Another memorable meal at Iris! We will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The BarBQue Shrimp
The Brussel Sprouts
The Fried Oysters Salad
The Lobster Knuckle Sandwich

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Wonderful food and Southern hospitality. The tasting menu is not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our server was great, she was knowledgeable about the menu and friendly. The valet was nice too, he seemed to be a really cool guy.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

This was our first time at Restaurant Iris. The food and service were excellent. Definitely try the Lobster "Knuckle Sandwich" for an appetizer. The Surf & Turf was also excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We have been wanting to try Restaurant Iris for quite some time, so I was excited to surprise my husband for his birthday. I called ahead after booking my reservation to let them know it was his birthday and they made it so special with ribbons, a rose, and a personalized menu! The only reason we gave the ambiance 4 stars instead of 5 was due to the temperature inside. It was so hot. The amazing waitress explained that it's an older house and harder to cool, and I also understand it was very hot outside that day, but sweating while you eat is rough. That being said, I'd do it again because everything else was perfect!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

The food and service was outstanding. It's an old (small ) renovated house to the tables are somewhat close together but absolutely worth the experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I have been to Iris several times and it never let's me down. Great ambience! Great food! Great deserts! Every time I've been Chef personally comes by every table. Great experience everytime!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

You know the evening will be special when you arrive and are warmly greeted by the Chef/ Owner Kelly English. We came with high expectations from previous reviews. Our experience at Iris that evening was superb. You can feel the level of engagement from everyone that served our table. They are a proud, committed team of people who care passionately about serving outstanding food. Chef English menu that evening was memorable. His signature shrimp in a dark creole sauce was a one of a kind dish. My pan seared Snapper was outstanding and my wife's Rack of lamb was perfect. Without a question Restaurant Iris is Memphis's best choice for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 18, 2017

They could not have made us feel more special! The food was exquisite. We have dined all over the world and this is among our top meals. Thank you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This restaurant is awesome. The food is spectacular and the service is wonderful. If your looking for a one of a kind experience this is the place. And to the Chef everything was delicious which is an understatement. We will be returning.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Iris never disappoints! Always fresh, seasonal & delicious. Just a very magical place!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Always a great experience. Top picks were the scallops, pork belly, and bread pudding

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Inventive food, fantastic service and lovely ambience make Iris a prime place for a special occasion. Standout selections were the mahi-mahi and Brussels sprout salad. And if they have the off-menu fried oyster salad, order it. Fantastic.
I had alerted Iris, via Open Table, that it was my mother's 90th birthday, and they did not disappoint. We were lead to a private back room of the house, table decorated with confetti curls, quiet enough for all or us to hear each other. Service was gracious and good humored.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Amazing. It was the best meal I can remember ever having. The tasting menu was definitely worth it.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Fun, Healthy, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Iris never disappoints. Great food, great service in a lovely old house.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was some of the best food and service I've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was divine and our waitress was very informative. People should realize that this restaurant's menu pricing is competitive with any restaurant for fine dining in the Memphis area.
My friend was from out of town and thoroughly enjoyed himself. I know he will be back again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My favorite resteraunt because the food is the best I've ever had. Service was a bit slow getting started after we were seated but was great after service actually began. I was disappointed there was no special in addition to the regular menu. Overall, Iris is still my favorite restaurant and consistently has the best food I've ever tasted. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My husband had a wonderful meal at Restaurant Iris, as usually. It never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Everything was wonderful, we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

It's something unexpected and wonderful every time; this visit my husband was in near tears of joy with the barbecue shrimp. My lamb and couscous was tender and perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Impeccable service! Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu. She was also very attentive. The chef and owner was welcoming guests. We were enjoying a date night with some of our best friends from college- perfect place. The Brussel sprouts are the best I have ever eaten. The surf and turf is a must! The bread pudding is heart warming and delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We were celebrating a very special occasion and the staff at Restaurant Iris went to the trouble of decorating our table and making a special menu to commemorate the evening.
The food and wine selection was spectacular and our server really helped make the evening enjoyable and memorable.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 30, 2017

As you would expect in a restaurant of this calibre, Kelly English visited with every table during the seating to make sure we were all happy. How could we not be happy? The food was outstanding from the palate warm-up to the mouth-watering dessert. I'd be embarrassed to order the 'surf and turf' in another restaurant. Not here. Innovative pairing on the strip steak stuffed with fried oysters, bleu cheese and tasty tiny bites of pan-fried potatoes. The scallops were perfectly done and aimed at the lighter fare diner. As such, my surf and turf ended up being a shared experience with my wife. The wine list was simple yet of high quality. Our server was personable and helpful without being over-bearing - just the right amount of visits to keep the table cleared of unwanted items without us feeling rushed or pushed toward the door. One of the best meals and dining experiences I've had in Memphis. Half bottle of wine, starters, meals, shared desert - at around $200. Not often you can call that a value and not regret signing the check. If I knew Kelly better, I'd give him a platonic hug. As it is, the brief review will have to suffice. Get on the reservations list - it's worth the wait.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service, priced on the high end - but you certainly get what you pay for. Highly recommend for special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I really enjoyed celebrating my birthday here. Love the uniqueness of the restaurant and the mood and staff were excellent, we will definitely dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent experience, just as our first visit roughly 6 months ago. Food and service are excellent. I recommend either the foie gras or bone marrow appetizers. Surf and turf has been my choice of entree both visits, and it likely will be again for any future dining with Iris. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Our visit to Memphis was highlighted by our meal at Restaurant Iris. We chose this restaurant out of a list of recommended places and we were thrilled to hit the jackpot. This quaint spot serves some of the best food we have had in a long time. From bone marrow to rack of lamb and hanger steak, every dish was delectable. Although we were stuffed, we opted for a few bites of dessert and ordered the bread pudding. That was THE BEST bread pudding we have ever had. Do not leave the restaurant without ordering it! We will be back next time we are in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Excellent food from the appetizers through the entire meal. The food was creative and extraordinarily tasty. I recommended the restaurant to a couple friends immediately after leaving. The service was perfect, no hovering, thoughtful descriptions, courteous... I would recommend Iris to anyone looking for exquisite food and a great dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.