Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About Restaurant Iris

Born and raised in Southern Louisiana, Chef Kelly English fell in love with the culture and food of New Orleans. Equipped with his training from award-winning Chef John Besh, English presents a unique dining experience. Restaurant Iris specializes in French-Creole cuisine featuring local and seasonal ingredients. English infuses his endless creativity and passion for food into each dish. Whether indulging in his Oysters three ways, a "Knuckle Sandwich", or a dessert made just for you, one is sure to reap the benefits of English"s rich culinary background. We invite you to experience Restaurant Iris, simplicity at its most elegant.

Please note: Due to the limited capacity of our dining room, we offer limited online reservation availability. For more information regarding availability, please contact the restaurant directly.

2146 Monroe Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cooper

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 590-2828

Website:
http://www.restaurantiris.com/

Catering:
Please call 901-590-2828 or email specialevents@restaurantiris.com for more information.

Parking Details:
On-street parking and parking lot available.

Executive Chef:
Kelly English

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Iris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Good for a Date (53)
See All
Romantic (50)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Cozy (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Notable Wine List (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Authentic (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Private Room (11)
Business Meals (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Historic (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Fun (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Healthy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fireplace (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tapas (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Dancing (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1206 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was excellent. The service was outstanding. Will go again for a special occasion or just dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food, service and ambiance!!!! Really enjoyed it!!! Also the sister restaurant next door is also great for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was excellent and the food Devine. The chef even sent out a complimentary appetizer bite that was delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Everything about our experience was excellent! Highly recommend Iris. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and we went through the entire menu. We shared the NOLA barbecue shrimp appetizer, perfectly cooked shrimp and a sauce that makes you ask for more bread to sop it up. We then tried salads, the kale and arugula salads. Delicious combinations of textures and flavors. Main course include the scallops and the grilled mahi-mahi. Both seafood dishes were expertly cooked to perfection, presentation was excellent, and wonderful food. Completed the experience with bread pudding and cheesecake. Wonderful meal, thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Will definitely dine their again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Just celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary....and could not have picked a more fabulous place to do it. Restaurant Iris is beautiful and comfortable. Our server was so kind and funny. The staff took extra care to make our anniversary special--printed menus with a sweet message and a rose and confetti on the table. Our meal was scrumptious...my husband had the lobster knuckle sandwich and surf and turf...he loved both! I'm a vegetarian, and they knocked me off my feet by whipping up a yummy dish of veggies and some type of rice with cranberries. (I was so busy attacking it, I forgot to ask exactly what all was in the dish!). We had a wonderful time and can't wait to get back. :-)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The meal, the service all excellent. We had a beautiful night out. It was a welcomed change! Look forward to going again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food and service were great! The staff was very accommodating and assisted us when the number of people in my group increased by one. They set a table outside and the weather was perfect that evening. The specials for the day were great but I do wish there was a menu (not a sample menu) online. I would definitely plan another group outing at this restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our service was amazing. My wife had the mahi and said it was delicious. The Ravioli appetizer was delicious as well. I was disappointed with the scallops. They were overcooked and tasted frozen and chewy. I know this isn't the coast, but I've had better all over Memphis. Also, our dessert (chocolate torte pie) was frozen when it came to the table. We could barely cut it with our fork and it didn't have much flavor. Other than that it was great (especially the service) and I would go again. Just not my first pick.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We celebrated our 37th wedding anniversary here and had a wonderful experience. Everything was perfect! Since we had never dined here before, we didn't know what to expect. We will definitely return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

DH and I celebrated our 1 year wedding anniversary at Iris. We were welcomed at the door by the manager and escorted to our table, decorated for the occasion. DH was THRILLED to see the trout amandine back on the menu after FAR TOO LONG an absence, so that of course was his choice for entree. I couldn't tell you how it was because he ate it all by himself. BUt I'm getting ahead of myself. The amuse bouche was a little bruschetta with peppers, which DH absolutely does not eat, so they went back into the kitchen and made one with prosciutto just for him. He loved it. For appetizers we had the Brussels Sprouts with Bacon, and the Besh's barbecue shrimp, tow classice which were as good as always. My entree was the rabbit: A leg and a loin, served over a grit cake and stewed greens with pot liquor. The rabbit was perfectly cooked, fall off the bone tender, and made me feel like I was dining at a little bistro in Savannah. For dessert DH had a duo of house made ice cream and a rosewater cookie. I had the classic bread pudding, but I was so full I couldn't finish it. Thank you again to the folks at Iris for another magical meal. We will be back soon!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing from every angle!! Need to make reservations 3 months in advance!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great service, ambiance and amazing food ! Our waitress was delightful. She was knowledgeable about the menu and was able to recommend entrées with wine. We were celebrating a birthday and they had little ribbons on the table and a specialized welcome greeting in the menu .. Thoughtful and sweet. It was a pleasant and a wonderful night for us !! Thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

From the drinks to desert, a wonderful experience. The chocolate tart, with a cognac perhaps, is a must. Loved it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great service and an amazing meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Restaurant is meant to be small-intimate but noise level was loud. Complained to staff and told that it is a known problem. Food uninteresting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We were originally seated in the room in the back where there were tables of six next to us. We were offered another table for a quieter experience, which made a huge difference. We love going to Iris for special occasions, so the attention we received was very welcomed last evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My friends and I had a lovely evening there. Server was very helpful and welcoming. Food was excellent, we were all very pleased with what we ordered.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We love this place! Great food in an intimate setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This restaurant is a gem hidden in a lovely house away from downtown where we are staying. It is well worth the drive! Our server, Mary Katharine was wonderful and the food was absolutely divine. I had the lobster knuckle sandwich which was poached in tarragon butter and melted in your mouth follow by trout amandine on a bed of cauliflower purée and ending with a tarte tat in that was as good as the best one I have ever eaten in Paris!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We loved restaurant iris! I am originally from south Louisiana, so the food reminded me of an upscale restaurant in south Louisiana. The ambience was great, and the wait staff was very helpful and engaging. Thoroughly enjoyed our experience! It was also my wife's birthday, and the restaurant treated my wife wonderfully! We'll be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 23, 2017

What a wonderful restaurant! Granted, it's crazy expensive but the food is beautiful and delicious and the menu is not crazy big but has great options that didn't take forever to decide. The staff were knowledgeable and encouraging and we were treated like stars. Kelly English even came out to see how everyone was doing and didn't introduce himself or flaunt. Thank you for making our 8th wedding anniversary special!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food. Great service. Would definitely go back when in Memphis.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Iris is always amazing. We have celebrated my birthday there for years, and I was just as pleased this year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Whenever I come to Memphis, I like to visit Restaurant Iris. The tasting menu is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

It's not very often we have found someone serving Seared foie gras with a flair. Their foie gras was amazing. we both had it. Our server was very knowledgable and attentive to my wife's description of the type of wine she wanted and offered her a few samples. She arrived at a chardonnay by the glass she liked very much. The duck was perfectly prepared. My wife's mahi mahi special over risotto. It was a very nice dish. We didn't want to leave without trying desert and their bread pudding didn't disappoint. The selection of cheeses was a bit pedestrian but still very good. I would highly recommend Iris to anyone. Not our favorite in town but a close runner up.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I had the short ribs and they cut with a fork. The paprika sauce was great. My husband had the lamb shank. He loved that too. Service was great and the atmosphere was peaceful and elegant. Iris is still my favorite Memphis restaurant.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was my second dining experience at Restaurant Iris, and it by far exceeded my first visit based on food selection alone. On my first trip, I tried the bone marrow to start and the shrimp and grits as my entree. I was not a fan of the bone marrow, and I've had better shrimp and grits elsewhere in Memphis. The best thing I had was the sample steak tartare with a dollop of butter and bacon. This time, however, our table opted for the lobster knuckle sandwich to start, and we had the duck breast and surf and turf as our entrees. We were also given a sample of squash salsa. Everything was excellent. The lobster meat was ample and incredibly fresh. The duck breast was the most well-flavored and well-cooked duck I've yet to have; it practically melted in my mouth. And the blue cheese and fried oyster stuffed steak over a bed of potato hash with bacon was just as decadent and delicious as it sounds. Together, this was the best meal and dining experience I've had-- I just wish I would have saved room for dessert! The flavor combinations and textures that Chef Kelly English is able to incorporate into a dish are something that everyone needs to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Nevada waitress

Tags: Live Music, Quick Bite, People Watching, Live Sports, Gluten Free Options, Dancing, Paleo Friendly, Wood Oven, Afternoon Coffee, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Spicy, Scenic View, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We make sure to come to Restaurant Iris a few times a year. The food is always amazing. Great service and atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Excellent food, exquisite atmosphere and courteous, prompt service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Took my wife to celebrate her "Birthday Month". Restaurant Iris has been on our Memphis list for several years. We had been to and enjoyed, Second Line next door.

Parking isn't one of their highlights, though we were able to find a legal spot on the street not too far. However, the neighborhood portion of the sidewalk is in shambles. That's not the restaurant's fault, but something to note. Perhaps Iris could invest in repaving it as a gesture to the community?

The service was spot on. Everything we needed or wanted was pleasantly and promptly taken care of. We did have to reserve an 8:15 as the earlier spots weren't available, but when were seated, all four tables in our room were empty, and we walked past several other empty tables. Perhaps the earlier guests finished earlier than expected.

The food was delicious, and unlike many comparably priced places, the portions were more than satisfying. We ordered the toasted oysters as an app and they were light and crispy with great seasoning. She ordered the Braised Lamb Shank. She did have to add a touch of salt and pepper to it. We both really enjoyed the flavor, however, it wasn't really the right dish for her to have ordered. The pasta was fresh, but she doesn't typically eat carb-heavy foods. We should have paid closer attention to the description on the menu. I ordered their signature surf-n-turf, which is a 14 oz. NYStrip with the toasted oysters on a bed of hash browns with two sauces, hollandaise and tangy. I subbed the oysters for shrimp, since we had those oysters for the app, but that was probably a mistake. I can imagine the dish being perfect as it was listed. For dessert, we shared a caramel cheesecake which was uneventful, even though they were thoughtful enough to include a birthday candle. It tasted house-made, but was dry and not very caramel-y. The crust has an oddly wet texture for a graham crust.

In summary, it was a wonderful evening with nearly all of the mishaps not accredited to Iris.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We were old friends gathering during an Alumni Meeting. It happened to be one included special 70th Birthday......food was outstanding, atmosphere perfect and truly enjoyed by all.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 3, 2017

The best in Memphis. Hands down. Nothing else need be said.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I have been to Iris before and was very excited to bring my mother and father in law to "experience" the surf and turf. Unfortunately, the surf and turf was sold out -which in this instance was a very big let down. After finding alternative entrees the kitchen took awhile to deliver our food -which was mostly fish (2 scallop, 1 shrimp, & pork chop) and should have been quick to cook. The time was acknowledged by our waitress and our coffees and a glass of wine was waived from the ticket. In the end, we weren't upset just left with an experience that was lack luster. The highlights were the amuse bouche and the crab knuckle sandwich appetizers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Dessert was excellent and the highlight of the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

First time we had been to Iris. Met another couple there, and before we knew it, 3 hours had passed. Great place to talk over dinner. Very quiet with semi-private rooms in a quaint, 80+ year-old house.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fireplace, Private Room, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Thank you so much for a wonderful evening. I have lived in Memphis for nearly 10 years and always wanted to try Iris. We visited Iris for our 11th wedding anniversary on the 24th of Feb. In addition to wonderful service and fantastic food, the menu had a custom insert page printed wishing us a happy 11th anniversary and our table had a rose and a little festive confetti. Thank you Iris for making our dinner a hit!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Although I would like to give 5 stars to the chef and staff who are wonderful, we had to endure two loud patrons who made the evening intolerable. Rather than keep their conversation reasonable and to their tablet like the rest of us, they made sure that the whole room heard them discuss their various views about several subjects. This destroyed the otherwise potential wonderful experience. This is not an inexpensive meal. We would expect this behavior would not be acceptable in a high quality restaurant. I am sorry to have to give such a low review to such an otherwise wonderful restaurant with extremely great potential but would expect control of such behavior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.