Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About Restaurant Iris

Born and raised in Southern Louisiana, Chef Kelly English fell in love with the culture and food of New Orleans. Equipped with his training from award-winning Chef John Besh, English presents a unique dining experience. Restaurant Iris specializes in French-Creole cuisine featuring local and seasonal ingredients. English infuses his endless creativity and passion for food into each dish. Whether indulging in his Oysters three ways, a "Knuckle Sandwich", or a dessert made just for you, one is sure to reap the benefits of English"s rich culinary background. We invite you to experience Restaurant Iris, simplicity at its most elegant.

Please note: Due to the limited capacity of our dining room, we offer limited online reservation availability. For more information regarding availability, please contact the restaurant directly.

2146 Monroe Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cooper

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 590-2828

Website:
http://www.restaurantiris.com/

Catering:
Please call 901-590-2828 or email specialevents@restaurantiris.com for more information.

Parking Details:
On-street parking and parking lot available.

Executive Chef:
Kelly English

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Iris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Good for a Date (44)
See All
Romantic (43)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Worth the Drive (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Authentic (21)
Cozy (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Business Meals (9)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Seasonal (6)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

One of the best meals I every had!! Visited Memphis on business !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic dining experience. Was lucky to get a table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

Iris was the best possible place to celebrate a new job. They had amazing service and incredible food. I couldn’t have asked for anything more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

An excellent high-end Restaurant. Iris is located in a renovated house and has two small rooms with small-mid sized tables, making for a very intimate feel to the atmosphere. There is valet service, and the Overton Square parking lot is right across the street. The wine list is impressive, and though it focuses mostly on Domestic wines (from various parts of the US), these will not be your typical run-of-the-mill wines you'll find most anywhere else. Expect a bit more depth and character. There is also a fine selection of featured cocktails (and presumably beer too, though we stuck with the wine).

The food is french-creole influenced, and so you can find exotic items, like Bone Marrow or foie gras, on the Menu, which we were given the impression changes quite regularly. Of course, there were plenty of non-exotic items, involving beef, lamb, fish, etc., as well. We took advantage of a special 5-course tasting menu, offered on week-nights, which consisted of a salad (this will not be an iceberg lettuce and cucumber affair), two appetizers, a main course, and dessert. The menu is not set, and the waitress will ask about your particular likes and allergies to tailor the menu items to you individual taste. They always brought out different options for each course, meaning we could swap plates if we discovered one of us preferred the dish initially given to the other. The food was all exceptionally well prepared, with plenty of attention paid to the fine details, and the pace of the evening very relaxed but never delayed. An all-around amazing restaurant. Just keep in mind, the price matches the quality, so you may need to reserve this restaurant for special occasions, and be sure to reserve a week or more in advance, as they fill up even on a weeknight.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

One my favorite places to eat in town. Look forward to returning......

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food.
Service was even better.
Ms. H. took care of us - very pleasant , knowledgeable & very professional - with a great smile!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Scallops were life-changing! Lobster knuckle sandwich appetizer and shrimp & grits were memorable. Great wine list. My new favorite place to dine in Memphis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food was a solid OK. Service was pretty good. Staff was friendly-ish. Hoped for more based on the long term buzz around this restaurant. Has something changed???

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

It was my first time eating at Restaurant Iris. My mom was visiting me and I took her as a belated birthday dinner. We both chose the tasting menu and every course was absolutely fabulous. I can't recommend this place enough.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Perfect. Shelby and the staff made my lady friend's birthday very special. If you have the chance, eat here, you will not regret it.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

It's always great. It's pricy but parr on cost with others like it. 24th anniversary. Thank you Iris.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Our dining experience at Restaurant Iris was a unique one. The cuisine was unforgettable along with the wine pairings. Chef Kelly came out to the guest which was very unexpected! Again, best dining experience to date!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Truly a delightful evening. This date night for my wife and I turned out to be quite special. The food, wait staff, parking valet, softly played/largely Memphis-based music soundtrack and total in-house ambience added to an experience that will be remembered for a long time. We recommend a visit to Restaurant Iris to anyone living in or traveling to the Memphis area.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 23, 2017

A local recommended we try Iris the next we were in town so we did and we were not disappointed. The food, service and atmosphere were all wonderful. We look forward to dining here again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 22, 2017

First time visit, chose it from online reviews and was not disappointed. Food was excellent, unique items and presented well. I enjoyed the quail and they presented my dessert complete with birthday candle and no singing, thanks, appreciate that. The table had ribbons and a rose on it. Nevada, our server was personable and attentive. We would dine again when in the area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Surf and turf was outstanding--NY strip stuffed with fried oysters with secret sauce. Red snapper also fantastic. Service top notch. Very small dining area in old house converted to restaurant. Only thirteen tables--a little crowded in two small rooms, but still okay. Recommend valet parking otherwise you'll have to walk across busy street. Outside of restaurant may not give best impression, but inside and food excellent. Driving from downtown not best neighborhood, we were having second thoughts about going, but turn out wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 19, 2017

My husband and his guest was from Charlston loved Restaurant Iris. They were both pleased that Kelly English came out to visit. My husband brought home bread pudding for me, which is my favorite. I can't wait to try the lobster knuckle sandwich.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food was so excellent and restaurant was quaint but nice. Chef/owner even came and checked on us and said hi, which I though was very cool!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent food and enjoyable atmosphere. Service was also excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was delicious, but server was lackluster. When I dine at a fine dining restaurant, I expect the server to be passionate about the food, and that just wasn't the case. I specifically asked about specials not featured on the menu, and was told there was nothing else but what was on the menu. I then heard the server next to us (who was clearly more passionate about the food) discuss 2 dishes which were not listed on the menu. To be quite honest, this ruined the rest of the evening for me

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Pre-theater dinner on a visit to Memphis was an outstanding experience. Food was creative, tasty and well-prepared. Lovely old house was a perfect setting. Hillary was an incredible server--unfortunately, all future servers will be measured against her! We dine out at some of the best restaurants in Chicago, and this was easily a match for most of them. Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great great great. Wife loved it, which means I loved it. My apple infused cold beverage was outstanding! Our food was superb... Our service was phenomenal with a knowledgeable, friendly, and charismatic server! Deserts were to die for....!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This was by-far the best dining experience I've had in Memphis! And if you know anything about Memphis dining, that's saying a lot! From the host desk, to the wait staff, and down the hall to the chef, it seemed like everyone took pride and great joy in their work. Restaurant Iris is for food lovers and life lovers! Their tasting menu served us fascinating variety of kitchen favorites and those soon-to-be! We hope to 'comeback' and have many more wonderful experiences!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The fiod is good, not great, and a little disappointing. Preparation and presentation are not well thought out. Service was nearly absent, slow and unwelcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Outstanding as usual... Never a dissapointed. Been there several time... Worth the money and time.. Nice quiet romantic spot away from the crowd

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Restaurant Iris always hits it out of the park. It is our favorite go to spot for very special occasions.

Tags: Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

It may have been an off night considering it was Monday Night and the Chef is normally off. My main dish was not good. My daughter's was excellent. Appetizers were good. I think my palate and the chef's don't match. I love scallops and could not eat them. I think they were a mistake too early and held. We come to Memphis on check ups. I liked another small restaurant much much better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

It had been quite a while since we had been to Iris, and our meal was just wonderful. We will be back much more frequently in the future !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We got the 5 course chefs choice with wine pairing. This actually turned out to be 10 dishes to our surprise because we each had 5 different ones. All of the courses and dishes were excellent and we got try a lot of the menu. Good value as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Its not the same as it once was. Honestly, I was embarrassed because it was my birthday and I built it up to my father as the nicest restaurant in town. The steak was easily as good as a buckleys steak but no where close to folks folly or ruths. It was not like this a few years ago. The steak was tough and needed the colligin and fat trimmed and it was completely overcooked. My wife's lamb was dry and forgetable also. Whats the deal with this place? I called around to some friends and they all said something to the effect of Kelly English has other restaurants and does not babysit this one like he used to. I doubt I'll be back untill I hear something good from someone I know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We came here for my beaus 28th birthday and the experience was phenomenal. They decorated the table for the celebration. The drinks were amazing. We split the Brussels sprout app. For the main course I got the scallops which were to die for. He did the daily catch which was a pan fried trout and he has been talking about it since then. At the end of the meal, the chef came around to make sure that all was well and it was. I would recommend this restaurant to any one going to memphis whether they are a foodie or not. Great work Kelly English and team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious! Our server was amazing. I cannot think of anything to criticize. Absolutely recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Had heard it was the best in Memphis. Couldn't agree more. Went for date night. Decided to be adventurous and both chose to do the 5 course option. Wines perfectly paired, cant wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 31, 2017

I was fortunate to be able to spend by birthday with my husband at Restaurant Iris. As a great, I went for the 5 course tasting menu (which I prepared for by skipping lunch). First up, a fois gras terrine with accompaniments. The fois was very rich, and was paired with a crisp white wine. Second, an heirloom tomato salad with lump crab meat and avocado with a chili vinaigrette. Probably my favorite dish of the night, paired with another white wine. Third, the marrow, served with a miso glaze, bao, and pickled vegetables. This was so creative, and eall the flavors blended well. Fourth and main course was a lamb chop with pearl couscous. The chop was seasoned and prepared perfectly, but was a little unwieldy to get off the bone (more likely due to my reticence to just pick it up). This was paired with a rose wine. Finally dessert was a pair of panna cotta: a vanilla bean and an orange (which tasted just like a dreamsicle! Delicious! ). Our server Mary Catherine was wonderful and engaging. Another memorable meal at Iris! We will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The BarBQue Shrimp
The Brussel Sprouts
The Fried Oysters Salad
The Lobster Knuckle Sandwich

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Wonderful food and Southern hospitality. The tasting menu is not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our server was great, she was knowledgeable about the menu and friendly. The valet was nice too, he seemed to be a really cool guy.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

This was our first time at Restaurant Iris. The food and service were excellent. Definitely try the Lobster "Knuckle Sandwich" for an appetizer. The Surf & Turf was also excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We have been wanting to try Restaurant Iris for quite some time, so I was excited to surprise my husband for his birthday. I called ahead after booking my reservation to let them know it was his birthday and they made it so special with ribbons, a rose, and a personalized menu! The only reason we gave the ambiance 4 stars instead of 5 was due to the temperature inside. It was so hot. The amazing waitress explained that it's an older house and harder to cool, and I also understand it was very hot outside that day, but sweating while you eat is rough. That being said, I'd do it again because everything else was perfect!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.