Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About Restaurant Iris

Born and raised in Southern Louisiana, Chef Kelly English fell in love with the culture and food of New Orleans. Equipped with his training from award-winning Chef John Besh, English presents a unique dining experience. Restaurant Iris specializes in French-Creole cuisine featuring local and seasonal ingredients. English infuses his endless creativity and passion for food into each dish. Whether indulging in his Oysters three ways, a "Knuckle Sandwich", or a dessert made just for you, one is sure to reap the benefits of English"s rich culinary background. We invite you to experience Restaurant Iris, simplicity at its most elegant.

Please note: Due to the limited capacity of our dining room, we offer limited online reservation availability. For more information regarding availability, please contact the restaurant directly.

2146 Monroe Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cooper

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 590-2828

Website:
http://www.restaurantiris.com/

Catering:
Please call 901-590-2828 or email specialevents@restaurantiris.com for more information.

Parking Details:
On-street parking and parking lot available.

Executive Chef:
Kelly English

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Iris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (45)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
See All
Romantic (43)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Cozy (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Local Ingredients (14)
Business Meals (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Authentic (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Private Room (9)
Historic (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Fun (4)
Fireplace (4)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Tapas (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

We loved restaurant iris! I am originally from south Louisiana, so the food reminded me of an upscale restaurant in south Louisiana. The ambience was great, and the wait staff was very helpful and engaging. Thoroughly enjoyed our experience! It was also my wife's birthday, and the restaurant treated my wife wonderfully! We'll be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

What a wonderful restaurant! Granted, it's crazy expensive but the food is beautiful and delicious and the menu is not crazy big but has great options that didn't take forever to decide. The staff were knowledgeable and encouraging and we were treated like stars. Kelly English even came out to see how everyone was doing and didn't introduce himself or flaunt. Thank you for making our 8th wedding anniversary special!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food. Great service. Would definitely go back when in Memphis.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

Iris is always amazing. We have celebrated my birthday there for years, and I was just as pleased this year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Whenever I come to Memphis, I like to visit Restaurant Iris. The tasting menu is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

It's not very often we have found someone serving Seared foie gras with a flair. Their foie gras was amazing. we both had it. Our server was very knowledgable and attentive to my wife's description of the type of wine she wanted and offered her a few samples. She arrived at a chardonnay by the glass she liked very much. The duck was perfectly prepared. My wife's mahi mahi special over risotto. It was a very nice dish. We didn't want to leave without trying desert and their bread pudding didn't disappoint. The selection of cheeses was a bit pedestrian but still very good. I would highly recommend Iris to anyone. Not our favorite in town but a close runner up.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was my second dining experience at Restaurant Iris, and it by far exceeded my first visit based on food selection alone. On my first trip, I tried the bone marrow to start and the shrimp and grits as my entree. I was not a fan of the bone marrow, and I've had better shrimp and grits elsewhere in Memphis. The best thing I had was the sample steak tartare with a dollop of butter and bacon. This time, however, our table opted for the lobster knuckle sandwich to start, and we had the duck breast and surf and turf as our entrees. We were also given a sample of squash salsa. Everything was excellent. The lobster meat was ample and incredibly fresh. The duck breast was the most well-flavored and well-cooked duck I've yet to have; it practically melted in my mouth. And the blue cheese and fried oyster stuffed steak over a bed of potato hash with bacon was just as decadent and delicious as it sounds. Together, this was the best meal and dining experience I've had-- I just wish I would have saved room for dessert! The flavor combinations and textures that Chef Kelly English is able to incorporate into a dish are something that everyone needs to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Nevada waitress

Tags: Live Music, Quick Bite, People Watching, Live Sports, Gluten Free Options, Dancing, Paleo Friendly, Wood Oven, Afternoon Coffee, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Spicy, Scenic View, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We make sure to come to Restaurant Iris a few times a year. The food is always amazing. Great service and atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Excellent food, exquisite atmosphere and courteous, prompt service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Took my wife to celebrate her "Birthday Month". Restaurant Iris has been on our Memphis list for several years. We had been to and enjoyed, Second Line next door.

Parking isn't one of their highlights, though we were able to find a legal spot on the street not too far. However, the neighborhood portion of the sidewalk is in shambles. That's not the restaurant's fault, but something to note. Perhaps Iris could invest in repaving it as a gesture to the community?

The service was spot on. Everything we needed or wanted was pleasantly and promptly taken care of. We did have to reserve an 8:15 as the earlier spots weren't available, but when were seated, all four tables in our room were empty, and we walked past several other empty tables. Perhaps the earlier guests finished earlier than expected.

The food was delicious, and unlike many comparably priced places, the portions were more than satisfying. We ordered the toasted oysters as an app and they were light and crispy with great seasoning. She ordered the Braised Lamb Shank. She did have to add a touch of salt and pepper to it. We both really enjoyed the flavor, however, it wasn't really the right dish for her to have ordered. The pasta was fresh, but she doesn't typically eat carb-heavy foods. We should have paid closer attention to the description on the menu. I ordered their signature surf-n-turf, which is a 14 oz. NYStrip with the toasted oysters on a bed of hash browns with two sauces, hollandaise and tangy. I subbed the oysters for shrimp, since we had those oysters for the app, but that was probably a mistake. I can imagine the dish being perfect as it was listed. For dessert, we shared a caramel cheesecake which was uneventful, even though they were thoughtful enough to include a birthday candle. It tasted house-made, but was dry and not very caramel-y. The crust has an oddly wet texture for a graham crust.

In summary, it was a wonderful evening with nearly all of the mishaps not accredited to Iris.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We were old friends gathering during an Alumni Meeting. It happened to be one included special 70th Birthday......food was outstanding, atmosphere perfect and truly enjoyed by all.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 3, 2017

The best in Memphis. Hands down. Nothing else need be said.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I have been to Iris before and was very excited to bring my mother and father in law to "experience" the surf and turf. Unfortunately, the surf and turf was sold out -which in this instance was a very big let down. After finding alternative entrees the kitchen took awhile to deliver our food -which was mostly fish (2 scallop, 1 shrimp, & pork chop) and should have been quick to cook. The time was acknowledged by our waitress and our coffees and a glass of wine was waived from the ticket. In the end, we weren't upset just left with an experience that was lack luster. The highlights were the amuse bouche and the crab knuckle sandwich appetizers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Dessert was excellent and the highlight of the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

First time we had been to Iris. Met another couple there, and before we knew it, 3 hours had passed. Great place to talk over dinner. Very quiet with semi-private rooms in a quaint, 80+ year-old house.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fireplace, Private Room, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Thank you so much for a wonderful evening. I have lived in Memphis for nearly 10 years and always wanted to try Iris. We visited Iris for our 11th wedding anniversary on the 24th of Feb. In addition to wonderful service and fantastic food, the menu had a custom insert page printed wishing us a happy 11th anniversary and our table had a rose and a little festive confetti. Thank you Iris for making our dinner a hit!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Although I would like to give 5 stars to the chef and staff who are wonderful, we had to endure two loud patrons who made the evening intolerable. Rather than keep their conversation reasonable and to their tablet like the rest of us, they made sure that the whole room heard them discuss their various views about several subjects. This destroyed the otherwise potential wonderful experience. This is not an inexpensive meal. We would expect this behavior would not be acceptable in a high quality restaurant. I am sorry to have to give such a low review to such an otherwise wonderful restaurant with extremely great potential but would expect control of such behavior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great food & excellent service in a beautiful Victorian house. Efficient valet parking too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Had a great dinner with my fiance. The food was great. We were able to share most if not all the food family style as to try as much of the menu as possible. The only downside is once we ordered we ran out of table space quickly. Not a bad problem to have when the food is that good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I've been trying to try this place for Valentines Day for years. This place is always booked. It was worth the wait. Food AND service was superb. The food is very seasoned differently but delicious. I will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were out of town in Memphis and our friend from home recommended that we try Iris. It was outstanding. Our server helped narrow down the choices (they all sounded great); and everything was delicious, fresh, complex flavors and sauces. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Restaurant Iris did not disappoint. Great food. Always get the BBQ shrimp (not on the menu but get it!!) and surf and turf. Excellent service and ambiance. Always look forward to our dates here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great atmosphere. Excellent food and service. Reasonable prices for the quality.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had heard so many great things about Iris. It was good but not as special as I had thought.
No flowers on table. Server was nice but didn't wow us. Same thing with the food. Our party of 3 had different appetizers and entrees. They were good but nothing outstanding. Don't see us coming back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The BBQ shrimp was fantastic but my steak was a little past medium which made it dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have been there three times and will return whenever in Memphis (live 400 miles away). Great dining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Inside an old home, makes the rooms small and quaint. Noice levels were low.
The staff was amazing and very attentive. We felt like VIPs with out it being annoying. Just the right amount of attention.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We love Iris, but last time we were there was disappointing. Seems like everything was smaller and the original taste we kept coming back for just doesn't taste the same. It will be awhile before we make it back to Iris... :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We went to Restaurant Iris for an early Valentine's Day dinner and we were so thrilled by the entire experience. Our waitress was friendly and had some great recommendations for us, the cocktails were delightful, and the food was inventive and incredible. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We have had a great experience in the past but was not as happy this time. The surf and turf was average this time. Appetizers and dessert was fine but for $50+ for the entree it should be amazing. Unfortunately, it was not. Chef English was not there that night and I know because he was leaving as we were coming in. Maybe that had something to do with it. The other two times we have been there he's cooked our meals and came out of the kitchen to say hello. However, I understand he can't be there every night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This experience could not have been any better. The service was the best in Memphis and perhaps the best I have ever had. Before this night a local owned steak house was my all time local favorite - not anymore. Iris has moved to the front. Thanks Kelly English and family for offering this wonderful opportunity to Memphis.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We were in a table of six. We ordered the 5 course tasting menu with wine pairings. Highly recommend trying this. Our server made us feel very comfortable and mixed and matched dishes and wine all night. Fun to share bites with your neighbors. Of course, Mr. English lived up to his reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I was very disappointed in this meal. I have been there many times but this time was not good. The steak came out cold and the shrimp was so salty I could not eat it. The server took the shrimp off and another steak was prepared. It was the first time for my boyfriend and it was his birthday so it was important that it was spectacular. I know Kelly English's reputation and the meal was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 24, 2017

This is my go to restaurant for special occasions. My husband's meal was excellent. My meal was ok but the pasta was very al dente. I almost had to cut with a knife. I would still go back and not order the ravioli.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Resturant Iris always has superb service and food. It is one of my favorite places to eat in Memphis. I never know what I am going to there are always so many great choices

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Everything was excellent from the service,food,and ambience. My husband is an adventurous eater and Restaurant Iris fit the bill!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Out Standing customer service and just awesome tasting food !!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Chef English is doing great things here!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.