Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About Restaurant Iris

Born and raised in Southern Louisiana, Chef Kelly English fell in love with the culture and food of New Orleans. Equipped with his training from award-winning Chef John Besh, English presents a unique dining experience. Restaurant Iris specializes in French-Creole cuisine featuring local and seasonal ingredients. English infuses his endless creativity and passion for food into each dish. Whether indulging in his Oysters three ways, a "Knuckle Sandwich", or a dessert made just for you, one is sure to reap the benefits of English"s rich culinary background. We invite you to experience Restaurant Iris, simplicity at its most elegant.

Please note: Due to the limited capacity of our dining room, we offer limited online reservation availability. For more information regarding availability, please contact the restaurant directly.

2146 Monroe Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cooper

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 590-2828

Website:
http://www.restaurantiris.com/

Catering:
Please call 901-590-2828 or email specialevents@restaurantiris.com for more information.

Parking Details:
On-street parking and parking lot available.

Executive Chef:
Kelly English

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Iris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Romantic (58)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
See All
Good for a Date (53)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Cozy (26)
Notable Wine List (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Tasting Menu (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Authentic (15)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Business Meals (12)
Private Room (10)
Healthy (8)
Fun (7)
Historic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Tapas (4)
Seasonal (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
People Watching (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fireplace (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Restaurant Iris is a romantic place with excellent food and outstanding service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Absolutely amazing on every level. My wife had the chef's 5 course with win pairing. 5 for 5 on everything. I tried several types of meat that I've not liked in the past but at this place they were outstanding. Never thought I would not only like but love duck? Bone marrow? Amazing! The Chef came by twice to the whole place to ensure everyone was having a good time and food was great. Service was fantastic as well. Use the valet parking though.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

First time visiting the establishment and was not disappointed from the reviews of others. Delicious meal with the right ambiance for two, generous portions that was cooked to the liking. The menu is variable enough to cover just about any taste, but not overwhelming with too many choices. Great attention to detail all around and thoughtful of the restaurant to treat the occasion with such attention. Would recommend if you haven't been before.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My husband and I ate every bite on every plate served to us. SO delicious with great service and beautiful surroundings.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Leicestershire)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at the Iris restaurant , the service was first rate and our waiter extremely knowledgable , the head chef came to our table and asked how the meal was. They even went as far as to recommend restaurants on the next leg of our journey.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here for our 19th anniversary. Some of the best food we've ever had. Thanks for a great evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Best Restaurant in Memphis. Probably the best restaurant in the mid-South. I asked for a vegetarian option and they did not disappoint. Kelly's kitchen created one of the best vegetarian meals I have ever tasted.... grilled cauliflower on top of a mushroom ragout. My wife's meal (halibut) was equally spectacular. Great job as always!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Restaurant Iris and could not have been more pleased with everything!! Delicious food, wonderful atmosphere, and the service was exceptional! We will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The lobster knuckle sandwich was amazing!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The best Restaurant in Memphis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Outstanding evening! Perfect location, outstanding service, unbelievable food, great ambiance. Would not change a thing.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This was our anniversary dinner and I was very pleased with the food, atmosphere and service. We would definitely recommend this to our friends. It's a great night out for a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was really good! Service was exceptional! Great variety!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had a wonderful evening at Iris. Excellent everything.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Kudos to us for making a reservation way in advance, as Iris is only open on Sundays for brunch on Easter, Mother's Day and Christmas Eve day. Wonderful food and great that chef came out to greet us and other patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our son is going to college in Memphis and we often go to Iris when we visit. The food is wonderful, the atmosphere relaxed. We'll keep coming back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Hidden Gem! Not a lot of tables maybe 15 and the service was very personal. By far one of the best restaurants Memphis has to offer.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 5th anniversary here and we are glad we did! We ordered way too much food for want to try everything, and it was all great. Some things we had were the knuckle sandwich, raviolo, quail, and surf & turf. I usually try not to order the popular dishes, but we did this time and we couldn't have made a better choice! Next time I'll opt for outdoor dining rather than indoor, but that's all I would change.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a great time and the waitress was fabulous. The food was delicious. I had the New York Strip, i was expecting just a taste but this was a good size steak and also tender. My wife had the Stuffed Quail and she loved it. Desert was also good. A little pricie but well worth it

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We ordered the shrimp appetizer special which was on the hot side. The arugula salad was delicious. My hangar steak was served cold and we had waited over 20 minutes for our entree. I told our server but by then, the experience was disappointing. We were told this was the best restaurant in Memphis. If this is the best, Memphis is hurting.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Chef English never disappoints... and i am VERY happy to see his famous trout back on the menu!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Wonderful experience,thank you. Will certainly be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Romantic, People Watching, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Absolutely loved the evening! Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

It was lit 🔥🔥🔥💯💯💯🔑👻🍑. Recommend it highly 💪🏽

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Candace, our server was on point throughout our dinner. Food and drinks were fantastic as well

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We loved our food of shrimp and grits and stuffed pork loin.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Excellently prepared food. Setting is over rated. Costly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Hard to get into but definitely worth it. Food and staff were on their A game

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal!! Pricey but worth it. I've never remembered a chefs name before but chef kelly english is so good you can't forget it. I got Sea bass and how they keep it on the menu it was the best meal I've ever had. As a reference, I've been to expensive resteraunts in northern California and las Vegas but this one tops them.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was excellent. The service was outstanding. Will go again for a special occasion or just dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Wonderful food, service and ambiance!!!! Really enjoyed it!!! Also the sister restaurant next door is also great for lunch.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food and service were both amazing. Iris exceeded expectations, which were high. I look forward to many future visits.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was excellent and the food Devine. The chef even sent out a complimentary appetizer bite that was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Everything about our experience was excellent! Highly recommend Iris. We'll be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and we went through the entire menu. We shared the NOLA barbecue shrimp appetizer, perfectly cooked shrimp and a sauce that makes you ask for more bread to sop it up. We then tried salads, the kale and arugula salads. Delicious combinations of textures and flavors. Main course include the scallops and the grilled mahi-mahi. Both seafood dishes were expertly cooked to perfection, presentation was excellent, and wonderful food. Completed the experience with bread pudding and cheesecake. Wonderful meal, thank you.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Will definitely dine their again!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Just celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary....and could not have picked a more fabulous place to do it. Restaurant Iris is beautiful and comfortable. Our server was so kind and funny. The staff took extra care to make our anniversary special--printed menus with a sweet message and a rose and confetti on the table. Our meal was scrumptious...my husband had the lobster knuckle sandwich and surf and turf...he loved both! I'm a vegetarian, and they knocked me off my feet by whipping up a yummy dish of veggies and some type of rice with cranberries. (I was so busy attacking it, I forgot to ask exactly what all was in the dish!). We had a wonderful time and can't wait to get back. :-)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The meal, the service all excellent. We had a beautiful night out. It was a welcomed change! Look forward to going again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food and service were great! The staff was very accommodating and assisted us when the number of people in my group increased by one. They set a table outside and the weather was perfect that evening. The specials for the day were great but I do wish there was a menu (not a sample menu) online. I would definitely plan another group outing at this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our service was amazing. My wife had the mahi and said it was delicious. The Ravioli appetizer was delicious as well. I was disappointed with the scallops. They were overcooked and tasted frozen and chewy. I know this isn't the coast, but I've had better all over Memphis. Also, our dessert (chocolate torte pie) was frozen when it came to the table. We could barely cut it with our fork and it didn't have much flavor. Other than that it was great (especially the service) and I would go again. Just not my first pick.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.