About Restaurant Iris

2146 Monroe Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Born and raised in Southern Louisiana, Chef Kelly English fell in love with the culture and food of New Orleans. Equipped with his training from award-winning Chef John Besh, English presents a unique dining experience. Restaurant Iris specializes in French-Creole cuisine featuring local and seasonal ingredients. English infuses his endless creativity and passion for food into each dish. Whether indulging in his Oysters three ways, a "Knuckle Sandwich", or a dessert made just for you, one is sure to reap the benefits of English"s rich culinary background. We invite you to experience Restaurant Iris, simplicity at its most elegant.

Please note: Due to the limited capacity of our dining room, we offer limited online reservation availability. For more information regarding availability, please contact the restaurant directly.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cooper

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 590-2828

Website:
http://www.restaurantiris.com/

Catering:
Please call 901-590-2828 or email specialevents@restaurantiris.com for more information.

Parking Details:
On-street parking and parking lot available.

Executive Chef:
Kelly English

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Restaurant Iris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
17 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Neighborhood Gem
Memphis
Notable Wine List
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Neighborhood Gem
Memphis
Notable Wine List
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Memphis ›

special occasion (101)
romantic (87)
fit for foodies (69)
See All
neighborhood gem (49)
notable wine list (44)
hot spot (19)
good for groups (11)
great for outdoor dining (7)
great for brunch (4)
 (3)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (2)
scenic view (2)
 (2)
 (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
968 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined 6 days ago

Once again, very nice experience for my wife's birthday! Thank you!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great from Start to Finish

Dined 7 days ago

As soon as my fiancee and I stepped into the restaurant, we were taken to the table we'd reserved. Our water glasses were already filled, and our place settings already laid. The service was quick and very friendly, and the server had intimate knowledge of the menu items. The amuse bouche that the chef sent out (free of charge) was a bite-sized flavor bomb--thin, crispy medallion of toast about the size of a silver dollar; sharp smear of cheese (goat, I think); basil-lemon pesto; a cube of crispy bacon and a fresh herb on top. Our starter was the roasted bone marrow--rich, buttery meat protein served right in the femur bone and topped with wonderful pickled onion and jalapeno to cut the richness of not just the marrow, but the brioche toast it was served with. My fiancee had the seared duck breast with shrimp jambalaya. The duck was cooked perfectly (medium), and the rice was spicy and well-seasoned--as was the shrimp. I had their "surf-n-turf," a play on the po'boy sandwich. There were three delicate, fried oysters, but instead of being in a bun, they were nestled in an entire NY Strip steak! It was topped with a beautiful, creamy hollandaise, and just the right amount of blue cheese within. The potato/bacon hash that came with it--I could have eaten a whole bowl of just that. Dessert--she had the lavender creme brulee served with earl grey shortbread cookies. Very light, and the lavender was a very delightful and unexpected flavor highlight in a dessert. I had the bread pudding with brown butter and pecans, topped with ice cream. Rich, buttery, and a perfect portion size--not too crazy big. The service throughout was very laid back, despite the high-end quality of the food. It is a fine-dining restaurant, but not full of itself. If you're looking for somewhere to celebrate a birthday, graduation, or whatever--or if you just want a memorable, unique night of dining, I would highly recommend Restaurant Iris.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

A really fabulous meal and very professi ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

A really fabulous meal and very professional yet genuine service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to try the Resturant because ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We decided to try the Resturant because of the reviews we read. All the kids were home so it was a perfect excuse to go all out. It was a wonderful dinner experience . The food was amazing , the staff couldn't have been more helpful and the ambiance was very relaxed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

If I could give it more than Five Stars ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

If I could give it more than Five Stars out of Five, I would. Outstanding in every respect.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and food has to be the b ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Amazing service and food has to be the best on Memphis fine dining...

food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Restaurant Iris for our anniv ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We went to Restaurant Iris for our anniversary. Everything was top notch especially the service and food. We will definitely return again!

food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Underwhelming Experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

A gift card and otherwise excellent reviews made my husband and I really excited about dining here. The restaurant itself is interesting, but they could take out a few tables; it is a little too "cozy" inside. I do not see how this can be deemed romantic. The service was excellent and waitress knowledgeable and friendly without being too obtrusive. We were underwhelmed by the food. No salad choices at all for dinner and we really wanted to try the Pumpkin seed salad. The Knuckle Roll was a bland disappointment, along with a flavorless grouper. I realize that seasoning can overtake food, but this really needed something! I tried the foie gras, which I really liked. The Surf-n-Turf was a major disappointment. And I am a carnivore. The creme brule was tasty and perfectly done. I think we made poor dinner choices, but with a restaurant of this caliber, shouldn't all menu items be (for the most part) wonderful? Maybe a better choice would be for lunch, but neither of us care to give this place a second chance, nor recommend it.

food5
ambience3
service4

Brussels sprout salad with bacon was mar ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Brussels sprout salad with bacon was marvelous! The halibut entree was excellent as well, perfectly prepared. Our server, while very informative, never hit a comma! She chattered incessantly to the point of being rather annoying to me and my friend. The old house space was charming but a bit cramped. If they knocked out some walls and opened the space it would be more inviting. I'll go back for the food definitely!

food5
ambience5
service5

This place was Ah-mazing!! The food was ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

This place was Ah-mazing!! The food was spectacular -- you must get the lobster knuckle appetizer and the shrimp grits and/or surf and turf entrees (perfectly cooked meat stuffed with blue cheese and fried oysters). The staff was super nice and accommodating. We had to wait 20 or so minutes for our reservation and received numerous apologies, plus a free round of drinks, app and dessert. If I'm back in Memphis, I will definitely go back!! Highly highly recommend!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in a small room with a romantic ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

We were in a small room with a romantic ambiance. There was another room across the hall that had larger and louder tables so it was nice to be in a quiet room. The surf and turf was huge!! The steak only needed a fork it wa so tender. I don't like Brussels sprouts but these were amazing with the bacon on them. The waitress was very helpful in describing every dish. After her colorful explaination we wanted to try everything!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointing

Dined on April 27, 2016

I was very excited to eat at Restaurant Iris. Was in town for business and did my research. With English's background and accolades, I had high expectations. I felt the food was underwhelming and lacked creativity. The plating was flat. Food pacing was too dragged out. Desserts and wine recommendations, on the other hand, were excellent. Wait staff was friendly and the ambiance was nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal and service in Memphis. Love t ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Best meal and service in Memphis. Love this restaurant

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Genteel surrpundings

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

We were visiting Memphis and happened to find Iris in a lovely old neighborhood. The food was well presented and delicious, the service attentive and prompt. Definitely a find.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Iris

Dined on April 15, 2016

Restaurant Iris is a great restaurant located in a house. The different rooms of the are different dinning areas. It is like a big house party diner. Food is excellent, southern-creole-french. I can't say much about the wine list because I just let the staff pair things up for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date Night

Dined on April 2, 2016

This is the perfect choice for an extra special date. There is enough adventurous stuff on the menu for me with a few safe options for picky eaters.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Jamie truly makes our experience at rest ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Jamie truly makes our experience at restaurant Iris outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

Now I know why I go to a great restaurant occasionally. I think that I am a great cook and 90% of the time when eating out, I say, I could have done better at home. Not here. It was fabulous. 10x what I can do.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

While it has been some time since we were able to dine at Iris, all of the good things we remember about our previous visits were present - excellent cocktails, appetizers, entrees, wines, guidance and service. Iris remains a great place to celebrate a good meal or a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

an awakening to my taste bud

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious exploding with flavor and arousing my taste buds, my only regret was not having a bigger stomach to eat more , the presentation of the food was as stunning as it was tasty

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on March 19, 2016

The best in Memphis. Creative, attentive, eager to please.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed our meal and the ambiance is nice.

Dined on March 16, 2016

There was a group of 20 men in the room next to where we were seated. They were drinking and very loud. But they were celebrating something and they were happy. The restaurant is small, so there was no way to muffle their party. Food was very pretty - and good quality. One note -- any restaurant at this price level is going to have a very chef selective menu. It was all great, but if people are looking for meat and potatoes or even a typical meal -- they need to look elsewhere. It is an expensive restaurant and the food is fancy cuisine. We eat out at restaurants in New York - this food was comparable. But it is not for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily one of the best restaurants in the country!

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

I have been a regular at Iris practically since it opened. The owner, Kelly English, runs a tight ship. His entire staff has been there since he opened and they are all true professionals, The food? Consistently VERY GOOD. I am a big fan of the short rib ravioli appetizer. Very meaty with an awesome sauce that begs you to dip the french bread in it. You could split this easily between two people. I had the duck breast for dinner and it was superb. The reality is that EVERYTHING on the menu is a gastronomic delight. The ambiance of iris is that of a quaint little farmhouse, decorated in washed out colors that remind me of summers in Nantucket on the beach. Impeccable art on the walls. A classy restaurant in the dressed down New Orleans style. Jamie is possibly the best waiter in the world. She knows the menu inside and out and will steer you to what might suit you best. Just tell her what you might like on the menu and she will expound on it like Pavarotti singing opera.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could not have been better...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Thank you again for an excellent dining experience. The drinks and food were tasty and fresh and the service and atmosphere were right up there as well. I am so thankful for this restaurant and will continue coming here for years to come. These folks understand the importance of local food and, better yet, how to cook it in a way most of us cannot. Keep up the wonderful work!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iris Always Shines

Dined on March 8, 2016

We don't do this price range very often, maybe a handful of times a year, and we used to make a point to try new places whenever we did. However, over the last couple of years we've found ourselves going with what we know will be great - Iris. The food, service and atmosphere are all top notch, and it's nice to see that even after 8+ years, Chef Kelly still comes to each table to make sure everything was satisfactory. We do a pretty good job of changing up our meal choices each time we go and we've never been disappointed. Good selection of meat and fish dishes. I'm not huge on deserts in general, but the one constant for me at Iris is the bread pudding - you should try it...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the Best

Dined on March 5, 2016

Every time I go to Iris it gets even better. There truly is no where like this in Memphis, or in the entire South. From Dr Richy's Cocktail, to the Lobster Knucke appetizer, to the Surf and Turf, to the outstanding desserts nowhere else comes close.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellence

Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent appetizers -- fantastic jumbo BBQ shrimp. Excellent surf and turf -- NY Strip cooked perfectly.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very Pleased

Dined on March 2, 2016

First time I have taken my wife to such a nice restaurant! She prides herself on food prep knowledge and was quite pleased with the attention and care given each item we devoured! We ordered the "Tasting Menu" selection, and while the meal was pricey for a couple, we were still quite pleased. The chef's choices for us were amazing and the waitress was completely knowledgeable about the prep of each item delivered to the table and was superbly attentive to us throughout the hour long feeding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Too much hype

Dined on March 1, 2016

We wanted to celebrate our son's leap year birthday with finesse. I found the food was just plain, un-savory, nothing captivated my taste. My wife felt exactly the same way. I personally think that well connected restauranteurs create a big hype around their eateries particularly through social media, so people over-react and over rate these kind of places. Nothing extraordinary even in the place's ambience. Coming back? Definitely, not.

food5
ambience5
service5

A terrific dining experience, as always.

Dined on March 1, 2016

A terrific dining experience, as always.

food5
ambience5
service5

The server was very pleasant! The food w ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

The server was very pleasant! The food was Threw the roof delicious!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food and presentation

Dined on February 23, 2016

One of the best meals in recent memory. Presentation was excellent as well. The oyster appetizer was over the top.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great place to dine out

Dined on February 19, 2016

Amazing service, great menu and of course great food. Very different, with everything being very tasty. Ideal for a special occasion or doing something different. Book a table today

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Anniversary

Dined on February 18, 2016

DH and I went to Restaurant Iris for our anniversary this past Wednesday. There are some new choices on the menu which made the evening even more special. DH started with the BBQ shrimp, which were good as always. We always need extra bread to sop up that sauce! I had the sweetbreads, which were delicately fired, served with gnocchi, mushrooms and a chicken jus that was almost thick enough to be gravy. I'd never had sweetbreads with that flavor combination before, and it was a real discovery. I hope to try that starter again. For the main course, I had the duck, which was perfectly prepared, served with a jambalaya and 3 large shrimp. DH had the special which was a filet. He said it was the best steak he had ever had, and that is high praise! For dessert we split a buttermilk cake with honey ice cream over a berry coulis. While I would have preferred a few more fresh berries to go with the dessert, the honey ice cream was a perfect compliment to the warm and delicate buttermilk cake. Our server was very attentive without being intrusive, and we thanked him for a wonderful evening. Looking forward to our next trip to Iris soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Late Valentines Day dinner, our first vi ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Late Valentines Day dinner, our first visit. It was drafted and noisy not very romantic. The five course meal was good until we got to the rib dish. Both mine and my Husband's were very fatty which made it less enjoyable. The knuckle sandwich and the scallops were the great. For desert we had bread pudding and the brownies. They were both amazing. I would try it again hopefully it will be less noisy and a different menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very nice meal.

Dined on February 16, 2016

Enjoyed dinner at Iris. Went with a girlfriend and had a nice time. Heard about the reputation and decided to check it out. Worth checking out once a year or on a big occasion. It's expensive, but worth the price for the special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

perfect

vip
Dined on February 8, 2016

absolutely perfect. Hilary is a great server and very knowledge and enthusiatic about the entire experience. 100% perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on February 7, 2016

Restaurant Iris was a great place for my husband and I to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. The price was reasonable for such an awarded restaurant. My husband and I discussed about coming back for any occasion not just special occasion to try out all the different items on the menu. Our server was knowledgeable about the food and make great recommendations while suggesting alternatives to things on the menu. He was attentive but not too attentive which left plenty of time for my husband and I to celebrate our occasion. Overall the meal and the restaurant was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iris a Memphis Must

Dined on February 6, 2016

In a city whose restaurants too often rely on frying every conceivable food item (vegetables, desserts) the meal was innovative, relying on excellent ingredients. Nothing gimmicky, just top notch cooking in a lovely environment with a most welcoming staff. Plan ahead though because reservations are hard to come by!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and service was great ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Food was excellent and service was great. Especially liked the separate dining areas. Our server was very attentive and friendly. The atmosphere was ideal for a dinner date.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.