Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
9:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 12 times today

Restaurant Iris

4.7
1408 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Romantic
Born and raised in Southern Louisiana, Chef Kelly English fell in love with the culture and food of New Orleans. Equipped with his training from award-winning Chef John Besh, English presents a unique dining experience. Restaurant Iris specializes in French-Creole cuisine featuring local and seasonal ingredients. English infuses his endless creativity and passion for food into each dish. Whether indulging in his Oysters three ways, a "Knuckle Sandwich", or a dessert made just for you, one is sure to reap the benefits of English"s rich culinary background. We invite you to experience Restaurant Iris, simplicity at its most elegant.

Please note: Due to the limited capacity of our dining room, we offer limited online reservation availability. For more information regarding availability, please contact the restaurant directly.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French, Creole
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(901) 590-2828
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Kelly English
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please call 901-590-2828 or email specialevents@restaurantiris.com for more information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Cooper
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
On-street parking and parking lot available.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine
What 1408 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Candace was a great server and Kelly English food is always perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

From start to finish, utter charm and delicious food and cocktails. It was my wedding anniversary and we found a lovely letter inside our menus. It was a nice touch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

The ambience, food and waitress was SPECTACULAR !!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Just a fantastic dinning event! Food was very well done and our service was exceptional

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

We had the opportunity to treat some friends to Iris for the first time, and were happy we could experience the original Iris one last time before it is re-imagined by Chef English and his team. We started off sharing the Oyster Trio and the Raviolo. I know we will still be able to get the fried oysters at Second Line, but the raviolo is a dish we will definitely miss. For entrees we shared the veal schnitzel, the redfish Ponchartrain, and the amberjack harissa. These all brought back wonderful memories. Desssert would not have been complete without the bread pudding, but we also treated ourselves to a strawberry gooey butter cake and chocolate silk pie. Service was impeccable as always. While will be sad to see some of our favorite dishes go, we are looking forward to the new Iris later this year!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Love valet parking. Seated immediately. Server - Mary Catherine was fantastic. The food was definitely a 10 out of 10.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Excellent menu selection. Exceptional food. Great staff.
This is an A-1 restaurant. Highly recommend it. Be sure to book in advance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Been several times. ...one of my favorite spots in Memphis...never disappointed

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Although the food is fine, we go to Iris more for the service and experience. We’ve always had incredible service and can recommend it based on past experiences but can’t if looking st tonight by itself . Our latest experience was poor. So poor, in fact, we were caught off guard. The waiter was surprisingly inattentive to the point we were frustrated most of the evening. We would have ordered dessert but were so unimpressed with the service that we left and got dessert somewhere else. We don’t drink alcohol and it was the first time at Iris we felt like the waiter was annoyed that we ordered soft drinks instead of cocktails. Some people don’t drink! We always leave a very generous tip even though our overall bill isn’t inflated with drinks. We understand there are only two nightly seatings so we make sure to compensate our waiter/waitress as if we had a bar tab. But this time we left 20% instead of upwards of 30% because the waiter made us feel very unimportant, almost as though he considered our tip a lost cause. Maybe he was having a bad night. But next special occasion we will go somewhere else.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Delicious food and we Loved it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We had high expectations coming from Chicago, and this restaurent exceeded them all. The lobster knuckle appetizer was beyond delicious and the surf and turf was rich and exqusite. Fabulous service...not to be missed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Great food and great service. Server was very knowledgeable of the ingredients, as my wife has a dairy allergy. Was able to make various suggestions. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

This was the BEST dining experience my wife and I have ever experienced. The food and service were absolutely stellar. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of. Chef Kelly English even made sure to wish us a Happy Anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Wonderful food and service experience all around great evening meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Lovely restaurant with creative and delicious food. Only comment is that the wine list should be more well rounded. It should offer some better wines for more reasonable prices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

The atmosphere was pleasant and quiet. You are close to other tables so conversing with others celebrating a birthday and anniversary was pleasant. The service was excellent and not rushed at all. If you want a dining experience when time is not a concern, this is the place to go. We did the 5 course which allowed for tasting of several dishes and it was more than enough food. The bread pudding a different take with pralines in it but well worth it, the taste of Nawlins without the travel!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Went for anniversary dinner- the setting is perfect for an intimate dinner. Hard to find a nice white table cloth restaurant now, which I still like for special occasions. I had the brussels sprouts and the duck - delicious! My husband had the steak and said it was good but had little too much gristle-very rich. We enjoyed the wine but expect to pay up for this! Service was excellent!! Overall, a good evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Our visit was for my birthday. The atmosphere was romantic. The food tasted great, and the staff were personable and professional. Definitely returning and referring.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The usual great experience- food and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We went for an anniversary dinner and were not disappointed. The food at Iris is always phenomenal. Our service was excellent. Even for a more expensive dinner I always feel like it is worth it. There is just something so special about Restaurant Iris.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Wonderful experience at Restaurant Iris. Food was exceptional. Service was fantastic. Ambience is perfect. I would highly recommend. On the expensive side, but worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We had dinner after a show at the Orpheum. We were promptly seated and our service was fantastic. The bar was a little low — my husband ordered a Blanton Bourbon, and they were out. They were also out of the wine we chose for dinner. This is understandable since they will soon close temporarily for remodeling, and it was a minor inconvenience that did not impact our dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Terrific lighting and quiet ambience. Food always superior but sometimes a bit too spicy.
I had a terrific large pork chop as an entree' but smothered in too much of the spicy (?New Orleans style) sauce. Service always good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Amazing food - we ordered off the menu but can’t wait to go back and get chefs choice 5 course meal - small, quaint with a great bar next door - since we added that it was our anniversary to our reserv we had a special note from chef & hearts on our table

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

DH and and I have been dining at Iris since they opened in April of 2018, and we were happy to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary on their 10th anniversary. We were greeted at the door and promptly seated at our table. Mary Catherine was our server, and as usual did an excellent job. The amuse bouche was a crostini with strawberry marscopone, champagne soaked apple, and a grape. It was light, not too sweet, and a great palate cleanser for the rich meal to come. I started with the baby spinach salad, which came with blue cheese, tasso ham, and grilled pears, not to heavy, but I shared DH's appetizer of barbecue shrimp (also available at Second Line, FYI). We used the italian bread to sop up as much of the sauce as our stomachs would allow. For entrees, DH had the trout amandine, an Iris classic, every bit as good that night as it was on our first visit. I had the duck breast over vegetable risotto. The duck was cooked perfectly, and the risotto had duck confit mixed into it, making it rich and creamy. For dessert we split a lemon meringue pie, which again had the right balance of tartness and sweetness that we started the meal with. Chef English came by our table to let us know the restaurant would be closing soon for renovations and would reopen with a new menu and larger bar. We are looking forward to seeing what Chef English and his team create next, but if you want to give classic Iris a send off, do it soon! Thanks again for making our anniversary special. See y'all soon!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

My wife and I went for my birthday. The food was good but we expected a lot more for the price we were paying. I ordered the surf & turf medium rare and received it medium well. The bone marrow app was not for me. My wife ordered the scallops which came with an odd sweet sauce which my wife didn’t expect or enjoy. The “silk” pie was far from silky smooth. All in all we may just have ordered all the wrong things. The ambiance and service was good but we expected excellence all for a $200 meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Over priced for what you got and for some reason my husband had an upset stomach all night. So he felt it had to have been from the food. And the dessert was awful for the price you pay. Being it was my birthday they could had given the dessert as complimentary. And my daughter is a vegan and they fixed her a small plate of vegetables and charged us $22.00! Won’t be going back any time soon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Obviously a Memphis legend with a star chef. This time, it fell short. Our server was doing her best, but she had a particularly demanding table that ran her ragged and we, unfortunately, paid the price too. Food was way rich. Yes, New orleans style we love, but just killed my appetite after a few bites. I'd still go back- still a wonderful setting-- just hope they don't rest on their laurels.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

The food was wonderful and the service was great! I highly recommend doing the chef tasting dinner with wine pairing. They choose dishes from the menu. It makes the experience exciting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter brunch was wonderful! This was our first time to have brunch at Iris, but it won’t be our last.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

This was my first time at Iris and it will not be my last. This was a guy's night dinner and it was amazing. The service was fantastic and the food was delicious. We had the bone marrow, shrimp, ravioli, and mussels to start and then the surf and turf, duck breast, and lamb for dinner. It was so very good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

I have been to Iris before and it was wonderful. This time, it was a very disappointing experience. The food was extremely salty. We were seated right by the front door, so the ambiance was lacking. There was a child at the next table as well that was noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Excellent as always!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Just as expected in each area - food, service and ambiance. Perfect place to celebrate a special birthday. Parking is a bit of a challenge, but nearby public facility is acceptable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Iris and its owner Kelly are both gems for the city. The restaurant has wonderful character and Kelly takes such pride in his food, it presentation and creativity and especially his wait staff. He also is a wonderful example of standing up for the right thing, even if it may not be popular at the time. It has long been one of my favorite 2 restaurants in Memphis.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 15, 2018

MUsic too loud for small room, decor outdated. Food average

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

My son’s birthday was a wonderful occasion. Cocktails, dinner & wine all sublime. Our server, Mary Catherine was so friendly and helpful with our choices. Good to see Julie, too & you always feel like a VIP when Chef English stops by your table! My most favorite restaurant in town for special occasiona

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Wonderful, as always. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and made suggestions that were exactly what we wanted. We had a great anniversary date night and will definitely be back after the remodel!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

After 8 years in Memphis, finally went to Iris as a birthday surprise dinner for my husband's 65th birthday. Our waitress Montana (or Heidi as my husband called her - long story) was terrific. She was very helpful and checked on us at just the right time. The food was outstanding. Great place to go for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
36

Tweets by Restaurant Iris