About Restaurant Iris

2146 Monroe Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Born and raised in Southern Louisiana, Chef Kelly English fell in love with the culture and food of New Orleans. Equipped with his training from award-winning Chef John Besh, English presents a unique dining experience. Restaurant Iris specializes in French-Creole cuisine featuring local and seasonal ingredients. English infuses his endless creativity and passion for food into each dish. Whether indulging in his Oysters three ways, a "Knuckle Sandwich", or a dessert made just for you, one is sure to reap the benefits of English"s rich culinary background. We invite you to experience Restaurant Iris, simplicity at its most elegant.

Please note: Due to the limited capacity of our dining room, we offer limited online reservation availability. For more information regarding availability, please contact the restaurant directly.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cooper

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 590-2828

Website:
http://www.restaurantiris.com/

Catering:
Please call 901-590-2828 or email specialevents@restaurantiris.com for more information.

Parking Details:
On-street parking and parking lot available.

Executive Chef:
Kelly English

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Creme Brulee
Pan-seared Halibut
Lobster Knuckle Sandwich
Creole Crab Meat
Trout Amandine
Oysters Polo
Surf And Turf
Deep Fried Oysters
Cheesecake
Scallop
Fluke Crudo
Bone Marrow
Snitzel
Foie Gras
Sweetbreads & Gnocchi
Bread Pudd
Filet Mignon
BBQ Shrimp
Tempura Okra Salad W/Cucumber & Greek Yogurt
Sweet Corn Griddle Cakes
Braised Beef Short Rib Raviolo
Grilled Jack And Shrimp

Restaurant Iris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
13 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Memphis ›

special occasion (102)
romantic (84)
fit for foodies (74)
See All
neighborhood gem (41)
notable wine list (41)
hot spot (18)
good for groups (7)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for lunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1002 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food, great ambiance!! 1st vis ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 14 hours ago

Delicious food, great ambiance!!

1st visit for wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, beautiful restaurant, goo ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, beautiful restaurant, good variety, delicious food. Very glad to have went. Was a great experience. The five course tasting menu was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a perfect romantic dinner -- tu ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This was a perfect romantic dinner -- turning a Tuesday (only way to get reservations) into a very special night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit. While we were certainly ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My first visit. While we were certainly in no rush, our server did not come to our table for 15 minutes after we were seated. Appetizer was tasty, but unexpectedly tough. Entrees were terrific as was the wine. Check arrived abruptly after plates were cleared, without offer of desert. That was different.

Will I go back? Sure. Maybe an off night for the server. Ambiance is wonderful, with food quality to match. Was it work almost $200. Maybe.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Restaurant Iris never disappoints! We ar ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Restaurant Iris never disappoints! We are a loud family..we got a room in the back that was just perfect for us and for preserving the ambiance for the other diners. Food, service, decor always always stellar! go there and go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Iris four times, and I ha ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have been to Iris four times, and I have to admit, this was my most disappointment visit. For starters, we reserved a table over two months ago, but our table was literally the worst one in the house. It was wedged in a corner between the hostess station and the next dining room. As such, people kept brushing by us, and I could hear every conversation BUT my own.

The food was good but not as great as past visits. The lobster knuckle sandwich was kind of dry, but the heirloom tomato salad was perfectly delicious. My grouper was very good, but my husband's surf and turf, which he ordered medium rare, was WAY overcooked (as in well done on one side, medium on the other).

The meal also felt rushed--we had barely sipped our drinks before apps were out, then our food came out almost immediately after apps. Overall, we were there less than an hour!

Perhaps I'm being picky, but based on reputation, past experiences, and price, I just expect more than we got from Iris this time around.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

My wife and I celebrated our 7 year wedd ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 7 year wedding anniversary at Restaurant Iris. I've heard rave reviews from friends about Iris for years, but this was our first visit. I'll admit beforehand I was pretty excited, and I can honestly say Iris absolutely lived up to the hype. We had an emergency earlier in the day that delayed us, so we were running a couple minutes late to the reservation. Thankfully, the hostess and staff were completely understanding. The wait staff was terrific, and the food was truly amazing! We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If I ever go here again, will definitely ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

If I ever go here again, will definitely not get main course. Appetizers , wine, special drinks and salads are wonderful, but shrimp and grits was not good at all for me , and wife's Amberjack was way over cooked.

Awesome service, and prices are in line with the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went for our one year anni ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My wife and I went for our one year anniversary. We chose the five course tasting option, gave the waitress our preferences, and let her choose our options. She chose perfectly! The food was amazing and Chef Kelly English came through to check on us personally. The only dislike that we experienced was with a fellow diner who was particularly loud. The restaurant is a former home that has been renovated. We sat in a room that included four other tables. While everyone else spoke at a level that was appropriate, said diner did not. In this semi-enclosed seating arrangement, it clearly affected everyone in the room. Other than this, we had an amazing meal and a wonderful time. Definitely recommend this restaurant and staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Restaurant in Memphis! The atmosph ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best Restaurant in Memphis! The atmosphere is perfect for special occasions or a romantic dinner and the food is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we were seated at our table it was ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

When we were seated at our table it was decorated with ribbons and a rose. We also had special menus with a note from Chef English that we got to take home to commemorate our anniversary. The server was attentive without being too intrusive, she was wonderful. I had done my homework and had already studied the menu so I pretty much knew what I was going to order. For starters, I had the foie gras and my husband had the lobster knuckle... both were excellent. For dinner I had the duck...yummy and cooked to perfection, and the husband had Surf and Turf. He said it was the best he has ever had. For dessert, we were torn between the creme brulee or bread pudding...both favorite desserts of mine. Our server recommended the bread pudding as it is their signature dish and since we were sharing, it was a larger portion. She didn't disappoint as it was wonderful. Chef English spent a lot of time visiting with guests and stopped by our table a couple of times. Very nice touch. We had a wonderful experience and understand why Iris is a gem in Memphis!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant! The food here is amaz ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great restaurant! The food here is amazing and the wait staff provides excellent service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Chef Camron Razavi is a go ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing food! Chef Camron Razavi is a god among boys. Very enjoyable experience overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's was okay. I had heard so many amazi ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

It's was okay. I had heard so many amazing things about this place that I think my expectations were too high...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great food. Great service. Duck was in ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great food. Great service. Duck was incredible, I eat beef once a year so I made it the flank steak, awesome. Nothing compares to the bread pudding. I don't think LL Cool J was talking about this when he said "I'm the type of guy who says pudding is delicious" but I am.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid experience and the atmosphere is a ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Solid experience and the atmosphere is always enjoyable. Veal Chop was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I chose this for our anniversary because ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I chose this for our anniversary because it had great reviews. I ignored the few lesser reviews and decided to try it. The food was okay but the restaurant was very uncomfortably warm. We asked about it and the waitress said that when the sun goes down that it will be cooler. Sun was down when we left and we won't be returning. At 350.00 for a table for 4, one would expect air conditioning to be part of the deal. Not so....and I carried my jacket just in case!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We found Iris on Open Table and were not ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We found Iris on Open Table and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and creatively prepared and presented. Beware: the bread was to die for!!! Actually saved a piece for dessert. The owner and chef came out and chatted with each table making all of the experience that much nicer. It was a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good and waitress was exce ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was very good and waitress was exceptional. Not only did she know all of the specials without a "cheat sheet", but she actually had tried them all and made very good recommendations. One of the best dining experiences I've had in a long time.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our first time at Restaurant Iris was ex ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Our first time at Restaurant Iris was excellent. The food was superb as well as the wine and cocktails. Our server, Shelby, was outstanding and made the dining experience that much better. She was very informative and walked us through every plate and every glass of wine. Will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Iris is always awesome 😊 My ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Restaurant Iris is always awesome 😊 My go to dinner-date night favorite in Memphis. I see Chef Kelly roams around the restaurant but never at my table... Hmmm...🙄 but it's all good... Still love the food😋😜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Very slow service- some food excellent, ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Very slow service- some food excellent, some not very good

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

It is beautiful restaurant within a reno ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It is beautiful restaurant within a renovated house. The food is creative and fresh. They made allowances or helped to steer you if you had food restrictions. The experience was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I will preface this by saying that I hav ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I will preface this by saying that I have eaten here before, and that meal was outstanding- one of the best my wife and I have ever had. I'm not sure if this was an off-night for the kitchen, but everything that we had was over or under-cooked. The raviolo pasta was undercooked (pasta was hard but the insides were tasty), our "surf and "turf" was overcooked (asked for medium and was closer to medium well-well done), and the shrimp and grits were more spicy than usual. I'm usually not one to complain in the restaurant especially if things are adequate, but I just had to return our creme brûlée dessert because it was basically liquid soup underneath the top layer. I dared not get anything else for the fear it would fall short of expectations. My wife and I had our wedding anniversary and were very much looking forward to this meal, but the results were disappointing for such a expense. We will probably come back again sometime in the future, but not before making out rounds at other establishments in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Menu

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

It's a beautiful, special occasion place. Service is always wonderful. However, please reinstate the old menu a la New Orleans/seafood! Not everyone can run to the coast every weekend. I understand that the new menu is supposed to reflect some sort of "fusion," but really. If I want beans with fish, I can go to Dixie Cafe!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A Find

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food and service outstanding. A lucky find as we were on a road trip and do not know the area. The dining highlight of our trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This restaurant is has a wonderful atmosphere, great food, and excellent service

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable Service, Even Better Food!

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

My husband and I were excited to finally try Restaurant Iris as we celebrated our wedding anniversary. All the personal details shown by the staff made the experience so special for us. The food was as amazing as we expected, but we couldn't get over how personal, and friendly, the staff was starting with the hostess seating us and wishing us a happy anniversary. Then we opened our menu's to find a special happy anniversary note that we later received with a copy of the menu in a tied ribbon as a take away memento. The single red rose on the table also helped set the mood. Our server, Hillary, was exceptional. Beyond knowledgeable of the menu, but her personality, friendly demeanor, and casual conversation made us feel at ease when we weren't quite sure exactly what the best option to order would be. Her suggestions were on point, and I really appreciated she asked what we didn't like, in order to avoid suggesting something we would be disappointed in. It's also important to note Chef Kelly English stopped by not once, but twice, to check on our meal and service there so far. Finally, dessert was topped off with a "happy anniversary" note written in chocolate on the platter it was served with. In my opinion, you can find great food all over this city, but you don't always find friendly and quality service like we did here. Not to discredit the food by any means, but the extra personal touches really go a long way with us. We will absolutely be back, hope to have Hillary again (it was like we were old friends catching up, but we had never met!), and will continue recommending this quaint little gem to all of our friends and family!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch. Great value for a five star r ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Top notch. Great value for a five star restaurant. Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant! They were able to ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! They were able to accommodate a lass minute addition of a guest for a total of three of us. We all ordered the chefs tasting menu and the waitress asked all of three of us about our likes and dislikes in terms of food. The menu was five courses and for each course we received a different dish. Fifteen completely different dishes. Some were the staple menu items while others were more on the adventurous side. All were delicious and we each tried all of them. We did order it with the additional paired wine. While all of the wine was good, we each received the same wine for each course, even though the food we received varied widely in flavor. So. The wine definitely paired better with some dishes than others. But the food was spot on all around. Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

dinner on 6/4/16

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our dinner was exceptional. We had the grouper and the surf & turf, and the food was delicious. Rikki(?) was a tremendous server, and took excellent care of us. We booked another reservation while there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great choices, great service.

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Service was great, the variety in the menu made it hard to choose. Server was exceptionally knowledgeable and made sure to inform us of items available but not in the menu. Wine / Cocktail selection was nice. Very pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Maybe it was an "off" night but the food ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Maybe it was an "off" night but the food was uninspiring and lacking in taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Great experience

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Once again, very nice experience for my wife's birthday! Thank you!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great from Start to Finish

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

As soon as my fiancee and I stepped into the restaurant, we were taken to the table we'd reserved. Our water glasses were already filled, and our place settings already laid. The service was quick and very friendly, and the server had intimate knowledge of the menu items. The amuse bouche that the chef sent out (free of charge) was a bite-sized flavor bomb--thin, crispy medallion of toast about the size of a silver dollar; sharp smear of cheese (goat, I think); basil-lemon pesto; a cube of crispy bacon and a fresh herb on top.

Our starter was the roasted bone marrow--rich, buttery meat protein served right in the femur bone and topped with wonderful pickled onion and jalapeno to cut the richness of not just the marrow, but the brioche toast it was served with.

My fiancee had the seared duck breast with shrimp jambalaya. The duck was cooked perfectly (medium), and the rice was spicy and well-seasoned--as was the shrimp. I had their "surf-n-turf," a play on the po'boy sandwich. There were three delicate, fried oysters, but instead of being in a bun, they were nestled in an entire NY Strip steak! It was topped with a beautiful, creamy hollandaise, and just the right amount of blue cheese within. The potato/bacon hash that came with it--I could have eaten a whole bowl of just that.

Dessert--she had the lavender creme brulee served with earl grey shortbread cookies. Very light, and the lavender was a very delightful and unexpected flavor highlight in a dessert. I had the bread pudding with brown butter and pecans, topped with ice cream. Rich, buttery, and a perfect portion size--not too crazy big. The service throughout was very laid back, despite the high-end quality of the food. It is a fine-dining restaurant, but not full of itself. If you're looking for somewhere to celebrate a birthday, graduation, or whatever--or if you just want a memorable, unique night of dining, I would highly recommend Restaurant Iris.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A really fabulous meal and very professi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

A really fabulous meal and very professional yet genuine service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We decided to try the Resturant because ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We decided to try the Resturant because of the reviews we read. All the kids were home so it was a perfect excuse to go all out. It was a wonderful dinner experience . The food was amazing , the staff couldn't have been more helpful and the ambiance was very relaxed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If I could give it more than Five Stars ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

If I could give it more than Five Stars out of Five, I would. Outstanding in every respect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and food has to be the b ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Amazing service and food has to be the best on Memphis fine dining...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Restaurant Iris for our anniv ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We went to Restaurant Iris for our anniversary. Everything was top notch especially the service and food. We will definitely return again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.