About Restaurant Iris

2146 Monroe Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Born and raised in Southern Louisiana, Chef Kelly English fell in love with the culture and food of New Orleans. Equipped with his training from award-winning Chef John Besh, English presents a unique dining experience. Restaurant Iris specializes in French-Creole cuisine featuring local and seasonal ingredients. English infuses his endless creativity and passion for food into each dish. Whether indulging in his Oysters three ways, a "Knuckle Sandwich", or a dessert made just for you, one is sure to reap the benefits of English"s rich culinary background. We invite you to experience Restaurant Iris, simplicity at its most elegant.

Please note: Due to the limited capacity of our dining room, we offer limited online reservation availability. For more information regarding availability, please contact the restaurant directly.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cooper

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 590-2828

Website:
http://www.restaurantiris.com/

Catering:
Please call 901-590-2828 or email specialevents@restaurantiris.com for more information.

Parking Details:
On-street parking and parking lot available.

Executive Chef:
Kelly English

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Creme Brulee - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Pan-seared Halibut - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Lobster Knuckle Sandwich - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Creole Crab Meat  - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Deep Fried Oysters - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Surf And Turf - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Trout Amandine - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Oysters Polo - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Bread Pudd - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Cheesecake - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Fluke Crudo - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
BBQ Shrimp - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Foie Gras - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Sweetbreads & Gnocchi - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Snitzel - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Filet Mignon - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Scallop - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Bone Marrow - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Sweet Corn Griddle Cakes - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Tempura Okra Salad W/Cucumber & Greek Yogurt - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Braised Beef Short Rib Raviolo - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Grilled Jack And Shrimp  - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN

Restaurant Iris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
11 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Memphis ›

Special Occasion (63)
Romantic (48)
Fit for Foodies (38)
See All
Good for a Date (37)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Cozy (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Worth the Drive (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Historic (11)
Authentic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Business Meals (6)
Seasonal (6)
Private Room (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fun (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1073 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our food was not as good as other restau ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 3 days ago

Our food was not as good as other restaurants at equal price points. An ingredient was substituted in the dish I ordered- peas instead of mushrooms. Dessert was way below expectations. Music was weird for atmosphere is food and restaurant atmosphere. Would not go back. Service staff was exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I am so glad we went to Iris. Our food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I am so glad we went to Iris. Our food was fantastic. I ate the duck confit. The duck and the beans were fabulous. My friend and I split two appetizers--the lobster knuckle sandwich and the foie gras, which I normally don't like. The foie gras is good that I almost ordered another one, and the lobster was great, too. Our waitress was wonderful. She made good suggestions but didn't hover. It was a great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated anniversary just a few days a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated anniversary just a few days ago. Couldn't have been better. Appetizers were outstanding:Lobster knuckle sandwich and Brussels sprout salad were delicious. Surf and turf was amazing. Service was impeccable. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spending a few days in Memphis & looking ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Spending a few days in Memphis & looking for a "nice" dinner. The menu was interesting. The experience was wonderful. The restaurant is lovely, quiet & comfortable. We opted for the paired tasting menu - food & wine. Each course had two options & we were able to share, doubling our tasting. Roasted Brussel sprouts with smoked bacon, marrow bone, steak with oysters and 2 sauces. Hillary, our server paired each course with an appropriate wine. I could go on but take our word wonderful barely covers it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I both got out of work a bit ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I both got out of work a bit early and made a last minute OT reservation at Iris. We could not have had a better experience. From start to finish the staff made sure we had a special evening. The service was spot on but not intrusive. We shared two appetizers that were very good. I had the surf and turf which was cooked perfectly. My wife had the grit gnocci with shrimp. I thought that was a chef using local ingredients( Hanna Farms Grits) to perfection in a unique way. Chef Kelly was also in house working the dining room. It is always impressive to see someone of his caliber with boots on the ground on a weekday. He has a special thing going and this visit blew us away. Thanks for a great meal and evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here. Atmosphere was amazing. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

First time here. Atmosphere was amazing. Great wine list and awesome bourbon pours! Had the steak stuffed with oysters and blue cheese. And desert is something we rarely order but had the bread pudding and it was equally amazing! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, service and ambience, we ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fabulous food, service and ambience, we had a wonderful overall experience at Iris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My hubby and I have been so busy, but we ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 23, 2016

My hubby and I have been so busy, but we always make a point to support this outstanding restaurant. It's classy and the detail to quality is unmatched in Memphis. Keep doing what your doing. Thank you and see you next month.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster knuckle sandwich was fantastic! ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Lobster knuckle sandwich was fantastic! Surf and turf is a little too much on the taste side. Not a big fan of matching bleu cheese with steak and fried oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great place to go for a nice r ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This is a great place to go for a nice romantic date. It's expensive, but worth the money for the food and the experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I brought my daughter to Memphis for a f ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I brought my daughter to Memphis for a foodie weekend for her birthday. The dinner was all that I could have hoped for, creative delectable food that made us both so happy. I am remiss that I do not recall my servers name as she was wonderful! Her recommendations were spot on and she treated my 11 yr old daughter so sweetly yet maturely. Not only was she knowledgeable and kind, but chased us across the street for a forgotten menu to commemorate our evening. The ambience was perfect; intimate, quiet, warm and inviting. I am so pleased we were able to experience an amazing meal in such a lovely setting.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a special treat to eat here. Chef ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always a special treat to eat here. Chef English is so personable and even pulled up a chair upon a patrons request to visit for a bit. So gracious and generous. The food is something to look forward to and aspire to replicate although just better to go back again. Garden District cocktail is like a spa drink! Enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a wonderful evening. My wife and ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Truly a wonderful evening. My wife and I went to Iris, and selected the 5-course "degustation". I have to say, this was an awesome experience, but make sure you are hungry. You won't leave stuffed, but there is a lot to try. My wife and I really enjoyed getting to try so many dishes. The next time we go back, we will probably chose a simpler option, but it was awesome. Our waitress was very knowledgeable, and the wine pairings were excellent. I have to say, if you like food, and you like the best service, then Iris is a Memphis gastronomic gem that you need to check out!

We were very well attended to, and the courses were spaced out perfectly. The waitstaff worked as a well oiled machine to make sure of that. Overall a superb experience, that we look forward to repeating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and amazing food always!

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great service and amazing food always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful food! excellent service! per ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 8, 2016

wonderful food! excellent service! perfect for a special occasion! enjoyed the variety of tastes and smells from each course! A+++++++

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They stay booked up so a reservation is ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 6, 2016

They stay booked up so a reservation is a must. Plan on making the reservation a few weeks out. The food, the wine list, and the service are all equally great. It can feel crowded but if fellow diners keep their conversations within their own table, it’s forgiving.

Save room for dessert....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything we had was amazing. Wound up ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything we had was amazing. Wound up getting four appetizers and rotating them around the table - it was hard to pick a favorite!

My entree was the short ribs. I had trouble making conversation because the flavor was SO SUBLIME. You know when you're watching a romance movie, and there's a dance in the high school gym? And all of the sudden our characters' eyes meet, and all the other lights dim and time seems to slow down? That was me, eating those short ribs. Suddenly, nothing else mattered. I'm glad we came with a group of 4 or else my partner would've had nobody to talk to.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will go again. The BBQ shrimp is a mu ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We will go again. The BBQ shrimp is a must. A great restaurant in an up and coming Neighborhood.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Restaurant Iris! We always get t ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We love Restaurant Iris! We always get the lobster knuckle sandwich and the surf and turf. So tasty!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A very nice dinner out. Thank heavens t ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

A very nice dinner out. Thank heavens they have valet parking ($8) since parking would be difficult otherwise. The food was exceptional. The only downside was the music which, for the evening service, was suited more to a diner or much more casual place. Our wait person didn't rush us and knew the answers to all our dining questions.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hadn't been to Iris in quite a while and ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Hadn't been to Iris in quite a while and forgot how wonderful the food is. Will definitely be back sooner rather than later.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really great food, service, and perfect ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Really great food, service, and perfect for any occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had been to Iris over the years. The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had been to Iris over the years. The entrance and bar area was disorganized. The bar tender was very friendly but not sure about his skills. We wanted to sit at bar to have drink before being seated and only one stool. When asked about another stool- . sorry don't have one?. It almost seemed like the restaurant was running with no management. It used to be more of a special dining experience, but unfortunately it is now just another restaurant. I am real sorry to see the decline. The food was good. The experience was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Lovely evening. However, we were slightl ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Lovely evening. However, we were slightly disappointed in the food. There wasn't much of it! My sea scallops were 5 on a plate with no starch such as rice or quinoa to round it out. The shrimp was excellent - my husband had that. Also, we thought the bread pudding was a bit too sweet - but that is our taste.

Our server was perfect and the ambience was excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely evening of good conversation, coc ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Lovely evening of good conversation, cocktails, and a sumptuous meal all elegantly served.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyone in our party of four raved abou ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Everyone in our party of four raved about the food. My husband stated that in his life time this was one out of 5 meals that he has had that was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! I would reco ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Excellent food and service! I would recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

3rd or 4th time going great as always. F ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 27, 2016

3rd or 4th time going great as always. Food and drinks are wonderful and great service. Chef Kelly has a great place .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Expected more based on the reviews. Woul ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Expected more based on the reviews. Would be an average place in every other city I assume but Memphis doesn't offer really alternatives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

All round outstanding, lovely small res ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

All round outstanding, lovely small restaurant set in a house in the suburbs. Hostess asked specifically asked about choices for one guest who is lactose intolerant. This was the only case that this happened on our recent trip to Memphis though all restaurants booked through Open Table had been advised. Can we request that restaurants please take lactose intolerance SERIOUSLY!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The experience was wonderful as my wife ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The experience was wonderful as my wife and I celebrated our 3 year anniversary. It so happened there were 3 other couples celebrating their anniversaries in the same room! The service was great, the wine was great and the food was incredible. All served timely with great passion and detail around the dishes. We'll be back and hope to visit more often.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We tried this restaurant for the first t ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We tried this restaurant for the first time the other night. We had heard amazing things about Iris but hadn't had the opportunity to dine there. The ambiance was amazing and the staff was super friendly as well as knowledgeable about the menu and specials. The food, however, was even better! That was the best meal that we have had in a really long time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surf and turf beef way over cooked. Over ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Surf and turf beef way over cooked. Overall above average food, but over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This review may be tainted based on the ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This review may be tainted based on the very high expectations we had going into this visit but have to say was not blown away by this experience. The place of course is a wonderful, cozy old house with each room having its own ambiance and flavor. Our waitress was very earnest and extremely knowledgeable about the food and menu but at times it was overbearing and a lot of information! (was there a test, was I supposed to be taking notes?) Ordered a bottle of wine and she appeared in a flash with an open bottle (guess she thought we said glasses?) Since this was a rare night out we wanted to take our time and enjoy the experience but start to finish they had us out of there in an hour! Way too fast with the food and pacing and at times felt pressured to order etc. Again top notch service but felt mechanical. Food was of course creatively done except my duck was way over salted and the sauce was as well and made for a less than perfect meal. (Lobster knuckle and shrimp with 7 spices were excellent)

Again the reputation of IRIS may have tarnished this experience but overall have to say this was just GOOD.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food is outstanding, service is pro ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food is outstanding, service is professional, wine was delicious. It feels like in a fine restaurant in Paris, We enjoyed the dinner enormously.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere all the servers we ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very nice atmosphere all the servers were nice and helpful. We will be back soon. Thanks

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found Restaurant Iris accidentally wh ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We found Restaurant Iris accidentally when we dined the previous night at "The Second Line" next door in mid-town Memphis. Both are good, but Restaurant Iris is very, very good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent service lacked the lu ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food was excellent service lacked the luster of a 5 star establishment. Called and left message 2 days b4 and had to make a different reservation with #OpenTable. On top of that we told our server 3 times it was our 8 Year anniversary and she still brought out my wife's dessert with "Happy Birthday" On the plate and forgot to give her the gift I had given to b brought out with said dessert:( Making me look real smooth:(

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Outstanding! Wonderful food and great s ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Outstanding! Wonderful food and great service! We had a short wait with our reservations. The wait staff was so concerned, apologetic and very accommodating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I decided to visit Memphi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

My husband and I decided to visit Memphis and consulted Opentable for a recommendation. Restaurant Iris was just wonderful! The Victorian Home is beautiful, the intimate dining rooms cozy, food and drinks perfection! The wait staff could not do enough for us.

Our only slight disappointment was the valet parking cost $18.00.

Sincerely,

Pat C.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.