About Restaurant Iris

2146 Monroe Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Born and raised in Southern Louisiana, Chef Kelly English fell in love with the culture and food of New Orleans. Equipped with his training from award-winning Chef John Besh, English presents a unique dining experience. Restaurant Iris specializes in French-Creole cuisine featuring local and seasonal ingredients. English infuses his endless creativity and passion for food into each dish. Whether indulging in his Oysters three ways, a "Knuckle Sandwich", or a dessert made just for you, one is sure to reap the benefits of English"s rich culinary background. We invite you to experience Restaurant Iris, simplicity at its most elegant.

Please note: Due to the limited capacity of our dining room, we offer limited online reservation availability. For more information regarding availability, please contact the restaurant directly.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cooper

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 590-2828

Website:
http://www.restaurantiris.com/

Catering:
Please call 901-590-2828 or email specialevents@restaurantiris.com for more information.

Parking Details:
On-street parking and parking lot available.

Executive Chef:
Kelly English

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Lobster Knuckle Sandwich
Creole Crab Meat
Grilled Jack And Shrimp
Creme Brulee
Pan-seared Halibut
Trout Amandine
Oysters Polo
Surf And Turf
Deep Fried Oysters
Cheesecake
Scallop
Fluke Crudo
Bone Marrow
Snitzel
Foie Gras
Sweetbreads & Gnocchi
Bread Pudd
Filet Mignon
BBQ Shrimp
Tempura Okra Salad W/Cucumber & Greek Yogurt
Sweet Corn Griddle Cakes
Braised Beef Short Rib Raviolo

Restaurant Iris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
17 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Notable Wine List
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Notable Wine List
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Memphis ›

special occasion (94)
romantic (77)
fit for foodies (65)
See All
neighborhood gem (42)
notable wine list (38)
hot spot (20)
good for groups (9)
great for outdoor dining (6)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
great for lunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
984 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We found Iris on Open Table and were not ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We found Iris on Open Table and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and creatively prepared and presented. Beware: the bread was to die for!!! Actually saved a piece for dessert. The owner and chef came out and chatted with each table making all of the experience that much nicer. It was a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very good and waitress was exce ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was very good and waitress was exceptional. Not only did she know all of the specials without a "cheat sheet", but she actually had tried them all and made very good recommendations. One of the best dining experiences I've had in a long time.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time at Restaurant Iris was ex ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Our first time at Restaurant Iris was excellent. The food was superb as well as the wine and cocktails. Our server, Shelby, was outstanding and made the dining experience that much better. She was very informative and walked us through every plate and every glass of wine. Will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Very slow service- some food excellent, ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Very slow service- some food excellent, some not very good

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It is beautiful restaurant within a reno ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

It is beautiful restaurant within a renovated house. The food is creative and fresh. They made allowances or helped to steer you if you had food restrictions. The experience was excellent.

food1
ambience5
service3

I will preface this by saying that I hav ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I will preface this by saying that I have eaten here before, and that meal was outstanding- one of the best my wife and I have ever had. I'm not sure if this was an off-night for the kitchen, but everything that we had was over or under-cooked. The raviolo pasta was undercooked (pasta was hard but the insides were tasty), our "surf and "turf" was overcooked (asked for medium and was closer to medium well-well done), and the shrimp and grits were more spicy than usual. I'm usually not one to complain in the restaurant especially if things are adequate, but I just had to return our creme brûlée dessert because it was basically liquid soup underneath the top layer. I dared not get anything else for the fear it would fall short of expectations. My wife and I had our wedding anniversary and were very much looking forward to this meal, but the results were disappointing for such a expense. We will probably come back again sometime in the future, but not before making out rounds at other establishments in town.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Menu

Dined on June 10, 2016

It's a beautiful, special occasion place. Service is always wonderful. However, please reinstate the old menu a la New Orleans/seafood! Not everyone can run to the coast every weekend. I understand that the new menu is supposed to reflect some sort of "fusion," but really. If I want beans with fish, I can go to Dixie Cafe!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Find

Dined on June 10, 2016

Food and service outstanding. A lucky find as we were on a road trip and do not know the area. The dining highlight of our trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on June 9, 2016

This restaurant is has a wonderful atmosphere, great food, and excellent service

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable Service, Even Better Food!

Dined on June 7, 2016

My husband and I were excited to finally try Restaurant Iris as we celebrated our wedding anniversary. All the personal details shown by the staff made the experience so special for us. The food was as amazing as we expected, but we couldn't get over how personal, and friendly, the staff was starting with the hostess seating us and wishing us a happy anniversary. Then we opened our menu's to find a special happy anniversary note that we later received with a copy of the menu in a tied ribbon as a take away memento. The single red rose on the table also helped set the mood. Our server, Hillary, was exceptional. Beyond knowledgeable of the menu, but her personality, friendly demeanor, and casual conversation made us feel at ease when we weren't quite sure exactly what the best option to order would be. Her suggestions were on point, and I really appreciated she asked what we didn't like, in order to avoid suggesting something we would be disappointed in. It's also important to note Chef Kelly English stopped by not once, but twice, to check on our meal and service there so far. Finally, dessert was topped off with a "happy anniversary" note written in chocolate on the platter it was served with. In my opinion, you can find great food all over this city, but you don't always find friendly and quality service like we did here. Not to discredit the food by any means, but the extra personal touches really go a long way with us. We will absolutely be back, hope to have Hillary again (it was like we were old friends catching up, but we had never met!), and will continue recommending this quaint little gem to all of our friends and family!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch. Great value for a five star r ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Top notch. Great value for a five star restaurant. Excellent service

food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful restaurant! They were able to ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! They were able to accommodate a lass minute addition of a guest for a total of three of us. We all ordered the chefs tasting menu and the waitress asked all of three of us about our likes and dislikes in terms of food. The menu was five courses and for each course we received a different dish. Fifteen completely different dishes. Some were the staple menu items while others were more on the adventurous side. All were delicious and we each tried all of them. We did order it with the additional paired wine. While all of the wine was good, we each received the same wine for each course, even though the food we received varied widely in flavor. So. The wine definitely paired better with some dishes than others. But the food was spot on all around. Would definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dinner on 6/4/16

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our dinner was exceptional. We had the grouper and the surf & turf, and the food was delicious. Rikki(?) was a tremendous server, and took excellent care of us. We booked another reservation while there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great choices, great service.

Dined on June 3, 2016

Service was great, the variety in the menu made it hard to choose. Server was exceptionally knowledgeable and made sure to inform us of items available but not in the menu. Wine / Cocktail selection was nice. Very pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5

Maybe it was an "off" night but the food ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Maybe it was an "off" night but the food was uninspiring and lacking in taste.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on May 24, 2016

Once again, very nice experience for my wife's birthday! Thank you!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great from Start to Finish

Dined on May 23, 2016

As soon as my fiancee and I stepped into the restaurant, we were taken to the table we'd reserved. Our water glasses were already filled, and our place settings already laid. The service was quick and very friendly, and the server had intimate knowledge of the menu items. The amuse bouche that the chef sent out (free of charge) was a bite-sized flavor bomb--thin, crispy medallion of toast about the size of a silver dollar; sharp smear of cheese (goat, I think); basil-lemon pesto; a cube of crispy bacon and a fresh herb on top. Our starter was the roasted bone marrow--rich, buttery meat protein served right in the femur bone and topped with wonderful pickled onion and jalapeno to cut the richness of not just the marrow, but the brioche toast it was served with. My fiancee had the seared duck breast with shrimp jambalaya. The duck was cooked perfectly (medium), and the rice was spicy and well-seasoned--as was the shrimp. I had their "surf-n-turf," a play on the po'boy sandwich. There were three delicate, fried oysters, but instead of being in a bun, they were nestled in an entire NY Strip steak! It was topped with a beautiful, creamy hollandaise, and just the right amount of blue cheese within. The potato/bacon hash that came with it--I could have eaten a whole bowl of just that. Dessert--she had the lavender creme brulee served with earl grey shortbread cookies. Very light, and the lavender was a very delightful and unexpected flavor highlight in a dessert. I had the bread pudding with brown butter and pecans, topped with ice cream. Rich, buttery, and a perfect portion size--not too crazy big. The service throughout was very laid back, despite the high-end quality of the food. It is a fine-dining restaurant, but not full of itself. If you're looking for somewhere to celebrate a birthday, graduation, or whatever--or if you just want a memorable, unique night of dining, I would highly recommend Restaurant Iris.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

A really fabulous meal and very professi ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

A really fabulous meal and very professional yet genuine service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to try the Resturant because ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We decided to try the Resturant because of the reviews we read. All the kids were home so it was a perfect excuse to go all out. It was a wonderful dinner experience . The food was amazing , the staff couldn't have been more helpful and the ambiance was very relaxed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

If I could give it more than Five Stars ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

If I could give it more than Five Stars out of Five, I would. Outstanding in every respect.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and food has to be the b ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Amazing service and food has to be the best on Memphis fine dining...

food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Restaurant Iris for our anniv ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We went to Restaurant Iris for our anniversary. Everything was top notch especially the service and food. We will definitely return again!

food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Underwhelming Experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

A gift card and otherwise excellent reviews made my husband and I really excited about dining here. The restaurant itself is interesting, but they could take out a few tables; it is a little too "cozy" inside. I do not see how this can be deemed romantic. The service was excellent and waitress knowledgeable and friendly without being too obtrusive. We were underwhelmed by the food. No salad choices at all for dinner and we really wanted to try the Pumpkin seed salad. The Knuckle Roll was a bland disappointment, along with a flavorless grouper. I realize that seasoning can overtake food, but this really needed something! I tried the foie gras, which I really liked. The Surf-n-Turf was a major disappointment. And I am a carnivore. The creme brule was tasty and perfectly done. I think we made poor dinner choices, but with a restaurant of this caliber, shouldn't all menu items be (for the most part) wonderful? Maybe a better choice would be for lunch, but neither of us care to give this place a second chance, nor recommend it.

food5
ambience3
service4

Brussels sprout salad with bacon was mar ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Brussels sprout salad with bacon was marvelous! The halibut entree was excellent as well, perfectly prepared. Our server, while very informative, never hit a comma! She chattered incessantly to the point of being rather annoying to me and my friend. The old house space was charming but a bit cramped. If they knocked out some walls and opened the space it would be more inviting. I'll go back for the food definitely!

food5
ambience5
service5

This place was Ah-mazing!! The food was ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

This place was Ah-mazing!! The food was spectacular -- you must get the lobster knuckle appetizer and the shrimp grits and/or surf and turf entrees (perfectly cooked meat stuffed with blue cheese and fried oysters). The staff was super nice and accommodating. We had to wait 20 or so minutes for our reservation and received numerous apologies, plus a free round of drinks, app and dessert. If I'm back in Memphis, I will definitely go back!! Highly highly recommend!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in a small room with a romantic ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

We were in a small room with a romantic ambiance. There was another room across the hall that had larger and louder tables so it was nice to be in a quiet room. The surf and turf was huge!! The steak only needed a fork it wa so tender. I don't like Brussels sprouts but these were amazing with the bacon on them. The waitress was very helpful in describing every dish. After her colorful explaination we wanted to try everything!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointing

Dined on April 27, 2016

I was very excited to eat at Restaurant Iris. Was in town for business and did my research. With English's background and accolades, I had high expectations. I felt the food was underwhelming and lacked creativity. The plating was flat. Food pacing was too dragged out. Desserts and wine recommendations, on the other hand, were excellent. Wait staff was friendly and the ambiance was nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal and service in Memphis. Love t ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Best meal and service in Memphis. Love this restaurant

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Genteel surrpundings

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

We were visiting Memphis and happened to find Iris in a lovely old neighborhood. The food was well presented and delicious, the service attentive and prompt. Definitely a find.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Iris

Dined on April 15, 2016

Restaurant Iris is a great restaurant located in a house. The different rooms of the are different dinning areas. It is like a big house party diner. Food is excellent, southern-creole-french. I can't say much about the wine list because I just let the staff pair things up for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date Night

Dined on April 2, 2016

This is the perfect choice for an extra special date. There is enough adventurous stuff on the menu for me with a few safe options for picky eaters.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Jamie truly makes our experience at rest ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Jamie truly makes our experience at restaurant Iris outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

Now I know why I go to a great restaurant occasionally. I think that I am a great cook and 90% of the time when eating out, I say, I could have done better at home. Not here. It was fabulous. 10x what I can do.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

While it has been some time since we were able to dine at Iris, all of the good things we remember about our previous visits were present - excellent cocktails, appetizers, entrees, wines, guidance and service. Iris remains a great place to celebrate a good meal or a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

an awakening to my taste bud

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious exploding with flavor and arousing my taste buds, my only regret was not having a bigger stomach to eat more , the presentation of the food was as stunning as it was tasty

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on March 19, 2016

The best in Memphis. Creative, attentive, eager to please.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed our meal and the ambiance is nice.

Dined on March 16, 2016

There was a group of 20 men in the room next to where we were seated. They were drinking and very loud. But they were celebrating something and they were happy. The restaurant is small, so there was no way to muffle their party. Food was very pretty - and good quality. One note -- any restaurant at this price level is going to have a very chef selective menu. It was all great, but if people are looking for meat and potatoes or even a typical meal -- they need to look elsewhere. It is an expensive restaurant and the food is fancy cuisine. We eat out at restaurants in New York - this food was comparable. But it is not for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily one of the best restaurants in the country!

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

I have been a regular at Iris practically since it opened. The owner, Kelly English, runs a tight ship. His entire staff has been there since he opened and they are all true professionals, The food? Consistently VERY GOOD. I am a big fan of the short rib ravioli appetizer. Very meaty with an awesome sauce that begs you to dip the french bread in it. You could split this easily between two people. I had the duck breast for dinner and it was superb. The reality is that EVERYTHING on the menu is a gastronomic delight. The ambiance of iris is that of a quaint little farmhouse, decorated in washed out colors that remind me of summers in Nantucket on the beach. Impeccable art on the walls. A classy restaurant in the dressed down New Orleans style. Jamie is possibly the best waiter in the world. She knows the menu inside and out and will steer you to what might suit you best. Just tell her what you might like on the menu and she will expound on it like Pavarotti singing opera.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could not have been better...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Thank you again for an excellent dining experience. The drinks and food were tasty and fresh and the service and atmosphere were right up there as well. I am so thankful for this restaurant and will continue coming here for years to come. These folks understand the importance of local food and, better yet, how to cook it in a way most of us cannot. Keep up the wonderful work!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iris Always Shines

Dined on March 8, 2016

We don't do this price range very often, maybe a handful of times a year, and we used to make a point to try new places whenever we did. However, over the last couple of years we've found ourselves going with what we know will be great - Iris. The food, service and atmosphere are all top notch, and it's nice to see that even after 8+ years, Chef Kelly still comes to each table to make sure everything was satisfactory. We do a pretty good job of changing up our meal choices each time we go and we've never been disappointed. Good selection of meat and fish dishes. I'm not huge on deserts in general, but the one constant for me at Iris is the bread pudding - you should try it...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.