About Restaurant Iris

2146 Monroe Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Born and raised in Southern Louisiana, Chef Kelly English fell in love with the culture and food of New Orleans. Equipped with his training from award-winning Chef John Besh, English presents a unique dining experience. Restaurant Iris specializes in French-Creole cuisine featuring local and seasonal ingredients. English infuses his endless creativity and passion for food into each dish. Whether indulging in his Oysters three ways, a "Knuckle Sandwich", or a dessert made just for you, one is sure to reap the benefits of English"s rich culinary background. We invite you to experience Restaurant Iris, simplicity at its most elegant.

Please note: Due to the limited capacity of our dining room, we offer limited online reservation availability. For more information regarding availability, please contact the restaurant directly.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cooper

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 590-2828

Website:
http://www.restaurantiris.com/

Catering:
Please call 901-590-2828 or email specialevents@restaurantiris.com for more information.

Parking Details:
On-street parking and parking lot available.

Executive Chef:
Kelly English

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Creme Brulee - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Pan-seared Halibut - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Lobster Knuckle Sandwich - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Creole Crab Meat  - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Deep Fried Oysters - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Surf And Turf - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Trout Amandine - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Oysters Polo - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Bread Pudd - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Cheesecake - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Fluke Crudo - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
BBQ Shrimp - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Foie Gras - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Sweetbreads & Gnocchi - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Snitzel - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Filet Mignon - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Scallop - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Bone Marrow - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Sweet Corn Griddle Cakes - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Tempura Okra Salad W/Cucumber & Greek Yogurt - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Braised Beef Short Rib Raviolo - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN
Grilled Jack And Shrimp  - Restaurant Iris, Memphis, TN

Restaurant Iris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Romantic (39)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Cozy (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Authentic (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Historic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Business Meals (8)
Private Room (6)
Seasonal (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fireplace (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fun (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chef English is doing great things here!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined a day ago

Chef English is doing great things here!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here as one stop on our honeymoo ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

We went here as one stop on our honeymoon and the staff took great care of us! They even comped an appetizer for us as a honeymoon gift! Great atmosphere and friendly, knowledgeable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delicious 5 course meal paired ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a delicious 5 course meal paired to perfection with an impressive wine selection. As always, wonderful service and cozy, intimate atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the first time ever I can only rate ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 9, 2017

For the first time ever I can only rate the dining on this particular night as fair. The brussel sprout salad was excellent but all the other main courses and appetizers were fair for all three in our party. Perhaps this was an off night as I have always had fabulous meals here.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Fabulous place for food and service. Unf ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fabulous place for food and service. Unfortunately we had a very loud, obnoxious table next to us that ruined the quiet evening we were hoping to have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, great service, good value. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food, great service, good value. My son, the foodie, said his meal was on each of the best ever. He had the surf and turf.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Iris is still excellent, stil ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Restaurant Iris is still excellent, still the best restaurant in Memphis.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my husband for his birthday dinner ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Took my husband for his birthday dinner and it was amazing. We have been trying to go for a while but they book up fast so plan in advance. It was worth the wait, food is out of this world. Super cute place and service was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular, carefully crafted superb fo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Spectacular, carefully crafted superb food. It's what a terrific restaurant aspires to be, friendly and warm. Creative.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional as ususal!!! Everytime we h ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Exceptional as ususal!!! Everytime we have dinner at Restaurant Iris, it is beyond amazing. It is at the top of our list of dining spots in Memphis .

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with a Southern touch to ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent food with a Southern touch to it. We will go back the next time we are in Memphis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner and atmosphere. Especi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful dinner and atmosphere. Especially enjoyed the raviolo appetizer. My snapper was delicious and my husband loved the ample portion of his New York Strip with blue cheese.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is good but this place takes a w ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service is good but this place takes a while so sit back enjoy each delicious bite and sip of wine. For my starter I had the brussel sprouts (wonderful!) sampled friend's starters too which were the BBQ shrimp (sauce & bread amazing!) Fried oysters (very good!). My entree was the surf and turf. It was amazing the flavors from the blue cheese cream sauce and bacon (I think) makes you want more! It was cooked just right medium rare; served with decadent tiny diced potato; the only dissapointment in the surf and turf was only having 2 oysters. However, I would order it again! Dessert was dissappointing, I had the bread pudding which was enough for two people. The pudding and the sauce was cold with a scoop of ice cream which would not begin to melt. Not my style of bread pudding and I've had the best at Nottoway in LA. The room we were in became drafty and cold (it's an old house). Overall, I would love to go back, just wouldn't order the bread pudding next time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved this place. The bread pudding is o ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Loved this place. The bread pudding is one of a kind. I didn't try anything that wasn't top shelf. I will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

First time to eat here. Excellent servic ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

First time to eat here. Excellent service. Excellent food. The kitchen even whipped up a vegetarian dish off menu for me. Noche, veggies,and creamy sauce. Delicious! Reccomended!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

DH and I dined at Iris before going to a ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

DH and I dined at Iris before going to a play in Overton Square. This was an early Christmas present to ourselves, and it was memorable. Our server, Hillary, has very knowledgeable about the menu and incredibly attentive thruout the evening. The amuse bouche that evening was a jambalaya croquette, which as a single bite was one of the more delicious things I've every eaten. It would never have occured to me to fry jamabalya, but it worked, and is a testament to the creativity of the chefs at Iris. We started with their new crab dip, which is full of rich and decadent crab meat, well seasoned, and more than enough for two people. I would recommend this for a table of 4-6 to share. Next, I had the kale caesar with anchovies (a nice refresher after that rich appetizer). DH had the raviolo. Normally we use our bread to sop up the sauce from the raviolo, but the rolls this evening (while tasty!) were on the small side and we didn't want to be THAT table that keeps asking for more bread. Plus, the mains were yet to come. DH had the snapper over israeli couscous - which redeemed snapper in his eyes after having had a bad experience last week. I had the lamb. I cannot recommend this dish highly enough. Tender lamb shank off the bone, served in a ragu with pappardelle pasta, peas, mushrooms and broccolini. I took half of this enormous portion home (filled up on crab). It was even better for lunch the next day! Dessert was a brandy alexander for DH and the trio of ice cream and cookies for me. Ice creams were made in house, included lime (which I swear must have had coconut), blackberry, and a brandy which was my favorite. We appreciated Chef English coming to greet as at the table and speaking with him about the menu. As always, we look forward to our next great meal at Iris!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere with wonderful serv ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very nice atmosphere with wonderful service and food. I highly recommend the surf and turf. It was actually a little less expensive than I expected for a restaurant if this caliber. (<$150 for two entrees, one salad, one appetizer, two cocktails, one dessert and coffee)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very pleasant intimate old-fashioned h ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 6, 2016

A very pleasant intimate old-fashioned homey atmosphere. A good variety of interestingly flavored foods with a definite New Orleans slant. Our sever, Candace, was excellent. Well-priced for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant! We had a great t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My favorite restaurant! We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was not as good as other restau ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our food was not as good as other restaurants at equal price points. An ingredient was substituted in the dish I ordered- peas instead of mushrooms. Dessert was way below expectations. Music was weird for atmosphere is food and restaurant atmosphere. Would not go back. Service staff was exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I am so glad we went to Iris. Our food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I am so glad we went to Iris. Our food was fantastic. I ate the duck confit. The duck and the beans were fabulous. My friend and I split two appetizers--the lobster knuckle sandwich and the foie gras, which I normally don't like. The foie gras is good that I almost ordered another one, and the lobster was great, too. Our waitress was wonderful. She made good suggestions but didn't hover. It was a great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated anniversary just a few days a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Celebrated anniversary just a few days ago. Couldn't have been better. Appetizers were outstanding:Lobster knuckle sandwich and Brussels sprout salad were delicious. Surf and turf was amazing. Service was impeccable. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spending a few days in Memphis & looking ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Spending a few days in Memphis & looking for a "nice" dinner. The menu was interesting. The experience was wonderful. The restaurant is lovely, quiet & comfortable. We opted for the paired tasting menu - food & wine. Each course had two options & we were able to share, doubling our tasting. Roasted Brussel sprouts with smoked bacon, marrow bone, steak with oysters and 2 sauces. Hillary, our server paired each course with an appropriate wine. I could go on but take our word wonderful barely covers it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I both got out of work a bit ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 1, 2016

My wife and I both got out of work a bit early and made a last minute OT reservation at Iris. We could not have had a better experience. From start to finish the staff made sure we had a special evening. The service was spot on but not intrusive. We shared two appetizers that were very good. I had the surf and turf which was cooked perfectly. My wife had the grit gnocci with shrimp. I thought that was a chef using local ingredients( Hanna Farms Grits) to perfection in a unique way. Chef Kelly was also in house working the dining room. It is always impressive to see someone of his caliber with boots on the ground on a weekday. He has a special thing going and this visit blew us away. Thanks for a great meal and evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here. Atmosphere was amazing. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 1, 2016

First time here. Atmosphere was amazing. Great wine list and awesome bourbon pours! Had the steak stuffed with oysters and blue cheese. And desert is something we rarely order but had the bread pudding and it was equally amazing! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, service and ambience, we ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fabulous food, service and ambience, we had a wonderful overall experience at Iris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My hubby and I have been so busy, but we ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 23, 2016

My hubby and I have been so busy, but we always make a point to support this outstanding restaurant. It's classy and the detail to quality is unmatched in Memphis. Keep doing what your doing. Thank you and see you next month.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster knuckle sandwich was fantastic! ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Lobster knuckle sandwich was fantastic! Surf and turf is a little too much on the taste side. Not a big fan of matching bleu cheese with steak and fried oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great place to go for a nice r ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This is a great place to go for a nice romantic date. It's expensive, but worth the money for the food and the experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I brought my daughter to Memphis for a f ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I brought my daughter to Memphis for a foodie weekend for her birthday. The dinner was all that I could have hoped for, creative delectable food that made us both so happy. I am remiss that I do not recall my servers name as she was wonderful! Her recommendations were spot on and she treated my 11 yr old daughter so sweetly yet maturely. Not only was she knowledgeable and kind, but chased us across the street for a forgotten menu to commemorate our evening. The ambience was perfect; intimate, quiet, warm and inviting. I am so pleased we were able to experience an amazing meal in such a lovely setting.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a special treat to eat here. Chef ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always a special treat to eat here. Chef English is so personable and even pulled up a chair upon a patrons request to visit for a bit. So gracious and generous. The food is something to look forward to and aspire to replicate although just better to go back again. Garden District cocktail is like a spa drink! Enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a wonderful evening. My wife and ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Truly a wonderful evening. My wife and I went to Iris, and selected the 5-course "degustation". I have to say, this was an awesome experience, but make sure you are hungry. You won't leave stuffed, but there is a lot to try. My wife and I really enjoyed getting to try so many dishes. The next time we go back, we will probably chose a simpler option, but it was awesome. Our waitress was very knowledgeable, and the wine pairings were excellent. I have to say, if you like food, and you like the best service, then Iris is a Memphis gastronomic gem that you need to check out!

We were very well attended to, and the courses were spaced out perfectly. The waitstaff worked as a well oiled machine to make sure of that. Overall a superb experience, that we look forward to repeating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and amazing food always!

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great service and amazing food always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful food! excellent service! per ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 8, 2016

wonderful food! excellent service! perfect for a special occasion! enjoyed the variety of tastes and smells from each course! A+++++++

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They stay booked up so a reservation is ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 6, 2016

They stay booked up so a reservation is a must. Plan on making the reservation a few weeks out. The food, the wine list, and the service are all equally great. It can feel crowded but if fellow diners keep their conversations within their own table, it’s forgiving.

Save room for dessert....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything we had was amazing. Wound up ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything we had was amazing. Wound up getting four appetizers and rotating them around the table - it was hard to pick a favorite!

My entree was the short ribs. I had trouble making conversation because the flavor was SO SUBLIME. You know when you're watching a romance movie, and there's a dance in the high school gym? And all of the sudden our characters' eyes meet, and all the other lights dim and time seems to slow down? That was me, eating those short ribs. Suddenly, nothing else mattered. I'm glad we came with a group of 4 or else my partner would've had nobody to talk to.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will go again. The BBQ shrimp is a mu ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We will go again. The BBQ shrimp is a must. A great restaurant in an up and coming Neighborhood.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Restaurant Iris! We always get t ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We love Restaurant Iris! We always get the lobster knuckle sandwich and the surf and turf. So tasty!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A very nice dinner out. Thank heavens t ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

A very nice dinner out. Thank heavens they have valet parking ($8) since parking would be difficult otherwise. The food was exceptional. The only downside was the music which, for the evening service, was suited more to a diner or much more casual place. Our wait person didn't rush us and knew the answers to all our dining questions.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hadn't been to Iris in quite a while and ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Hadn't been to Iris in quite a while and forgot how wonderful the food is. Will definitely be back sooner rather than later.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.