Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About Restaurant Iris

Born and raised in Southern Louisiana, Chef Kelly English fell in love with the culture and food of New Orleans. Equipped with his training from award-winning Chef John Besh, English presents a unique dining experience. Restaurant Iris specializes in French-Creole cuisine featuring local and seasonal ingredients. English infuses his endless creativity and passion for food into each dish. Whether indulging in his Oysters three ways, a "Knuckle Sandwich", or a dessert made just for you, one is sure to reap the benefits of English"s rich culinary background. We invite you to experience Restaurant Iris, simplicity at its most elegant.

Please note: Due to the limited capacity of our dining room, we offer limited online reservation availability. For more information regarding availability, please contact the restaurant directly.

2146 Monroe Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cooper

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 590-2828

Website:
http://www.restaurantiris.com/

Catering:
Please call 901-590-2828 or email specialevents@restaurantiris.com for more information.

Parking Details:
On-street parking and parking lot available.

Executive Chef:
Kelly English

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Iris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Romantic (55)
See All
Good for a Date (52)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Cozy (26)
Worth the Drive (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Tasting Menu (15)
Authentic (13)
Business Meals (12)
Private Room (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Hot Spot (8)
Healthy (8)
Historic (7)
Fun (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tapas (4)
Fireplace (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Live Music (1)
Dancing (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1226 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding evening! Perfect location, outstanding service, unbelievable food, great ambiance. Would not change a thing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our anniversary dinner and I was very pleased with the food, atmosphere and service. We would definitely recommend this to our friends. It's a great night out for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was really good! Service was exceptional! Great variety!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had a wonderful evening at Iris. Excellent everything.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Kudos to us for making a reservation way in advance, as Iris is only open on Sundays for brunch on Easter, Mother's Day and Christmas Eve day. Wonderful food and great that chef came out to greet us and other patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our son is going to college in Memphis and we often go to Iris when we visit. The food is wonderful, the atmosphere relaxed. We'll keep coming back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Hidden Gem! Not a lot of tables maybe 15 and the service was very personal. By far one of the best restaurants Memphis has to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 5th anniversary here and we are glad we did! We ordered way too much food for want to try everything, and it was all great. Some things we had were the knuckle sandwich, raviolo, quail, and surf & turf. I usually try not to order the popular dishes, but we did this time and we couldn't have made a better choice! Next time I'll opt for outdoor dining rather than indoor, but that's all I would change.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a great time and the waitress was fabulous. The food was delicious. I had the New York Strip, i was expecting just a taste but this was a good size steak and also tender. My wife had the Stuffed Quail and she loved it. Desert was also good. A little pricie but well worth it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We ordered the shrimp appetizer special which was on the hot side. The arugula salad was delicious. My hangar steak was served cold and we had waited over 20 minutes for our entree. I told our server but by then, the experience was disappointing. We were told this was the best restaurant in Memphis. If this is the best, Memphis is hurting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Chef English never disappoints... and i am VERY happy to see his famous trout back on the menu!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Wonderful experience,thank you. Will certainly be back.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Romantic, People Watching, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Absolutely loved the evening! Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

It was lit 🔥🔥🔥💯💯💯🔑👻🍑. Recommend it highly 💪🏽

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Candace, our server was on point throughout our dinner. Food and drinks were fantastic as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We loved our food of shrimp and grits and stuffed pork loin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Excellently prepared food. Setting is over rated. Costly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Hard to get into but definitely worth it. Food and staff were on their A game

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal!! Pricey but worth it. I've never remembered a chefs name before but chef kelly english is so good you can't forget it. I got Sea bass and how they keep it on the menu it was the best meal I've ever had. As a reference, I've been to expensive resteraunts in northern California and las Vegas but this one tops them.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was excellent. The service was outstanding. Will go again for a special occasion or just dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Wonderful food, service and ambiance!!!! Really enjoyed it!!! Also the sister restaurant next door is also great for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food and service were both amazing. Iris exceeded expectations, which were high. I look forward to many future visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was excellent and the food Devine. The chef even sent out a complimentary appetizer bite that was delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Everything about our experience was excellent! Highly recommend Iris. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and we went through the entire menu. We shared the NOLA barbecue shrimp appetizer, perfectly cooked shrimp and a sauce that makes you ask for more bread to sop it up. We then tried salads, the kale and arugula salads. Delicious combinations of textures and flavors. Main course include the scallops and the grilled mahi-mahi. Both seafood dishes were expertly cooked to perfection, presentation was excellent, and wonderful food. Completed the experience with bread pudding and cheesecake. Wonderful meal, thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Will definitely dine their again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Just celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary....and could not have picked a more fabulous place to do it. Restaurant Iris is beautiful and comfortable. Our server was so kind and funny. The staff took extra care to make our anniversary special--printed menus with a sweet message and a rose and confetti on the table. Our meal was scrumptious...my husband had the lobster knuckle sandwich and surf and turf...he loved both! I'm a vegetarian, and they knocked me off my feet by whipping up a yummy dish of veggies and some type of rice with cranberries. (I was so busy attacking it, I forgot to ask exactly what all was in the dish!). We had a wonderful time and can't wait to get back. :-)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The meal, the service all excellent. We had a beautiful night out. It was a welcomed change! Look forward to going again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food and service were great! The staff was very accommodating and assisted us when the number of people in my group increased by one. They set a table outside and the weather was perfect that evening. The specials for the day were great but I do wish there was a menu (not a sample menu) online. I would definitely plan another group outing at this restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our service was amazing. My wife had the mahi and said it was delicious. The Ravioli appetizer was delicious as well. I was disappointed with the scallops. They were overcooked and tasted frozen and chewy. I know this isn't the coast, but I've had better all over Memphis. Also, our dessert (chocolate torte pie) was frozen when it came to the table. We could barely cut it with our fork and it didn't have much flavor. Other than that it was great (especially the service) and I would go again. Just not my first pick.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We celebrated our 37th wedding anniversary here and had a wonderful experience. Everything was perfect! Since we had never dined here before, we didn't know what to expect. We will definitely return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

DH and I celebrated our 1 year wedding anniversary at Iris. We were welcomed at the door by the manager and escorted to our table, decorated for the occasion. DH was THRILLED to see the trout amandine back on the menu after FAR TOO LONG an absence, so that of course was his choice for entree. I couldn't tell you how it was because he ate it all by himself. BUt I'm getting ahead of myself. The amuse bouche was a little bruschetta with peppers, which DH absolutely does not eat, so they went back into the kitchen and made one with prosciutto just for him. He loved it. For appetizers we had the Brussels Sprouts with Bacon, and the Besh's barbecue shrimp, tow classice which were as good as always. My entree was the rabbit: A leg and a loin, served over a grit cake and stewed greens with pot liquor. The rabbit was perfectly cooked, fall off the bone tender, and made me feel like I was dining at a little bistro in Savannah. For dessert DH had a duo of house made ice cream and a rosewater cookie. I had the classic bread pudding, but I was so full I couldn't finish it. Thank you again to the folks at Iris for another magical meal. We will be back soon!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing from every angle!! Need to make reservations 3 months in advance!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great service, ambiance and amazing food ! Our waitress was delightful. She was knowledgeable about the menu and was able to recommend entrées with wine. We were celebrating a birthday and they had little ribbons on the table and a specialized welcome greeting in the menu .. Thoughtful and sweet. It was a pleasant and a wonderful night for us !! Thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

From the drinks to desert, a wonderful experience. The chocolate tart, with a cognac perhaps, is a must. Loved it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great service and an amazing meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Restaurant is meant to be small-intimate but noise level was loud. Complained to staff and told that it is a known problem. Food uninteresting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We were originally seated in the room in the back where there were tables of six next to us. We were offered another table for a quieter experience, which made a huge difference. We love going to Iris for special occasions, so the attention we received was very welcomed last evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My friends and I had a lovely evening there. Server was very helpful and welcoming. Food was excellent, we were all very pleased with what we ordered.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We love this place! Great food in an intimate setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.