Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About Restaurant Iris

Born and raised in Southern Louisiana, Chef Kelly English fell in love with the culture and food of New Orleans. Equipped with his training from award-winning Chef John Besh, English presents a unique dining experience. Restaurant Iris specializes in French-Creole cuisine featuring local and seasonal ingredients. English infuses his endless creativity and passion for food into each dish. Whether indulging in his Oysters three ways, a "Knuckle Sandwich", or a dessert made just for you, one is sure to reap the benefits of English"s rich culinary background. We invite you to experience Restaurant Iris, simplicity at its most elegant.

Please note: Due to the limited capacity of our dining room, we offer limited online reservation availability. For more information regarding availability, please contact the restaurant directly.

2146 Monroe Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cooper

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 590-2828

Website:
http://www.restaurantiris.com/

Catering:
Please call 901-590-2828 or email specialevents@restaurantiris.com for more information.

Parking Details:
On-street parking and parking lot available.

Executive Chef:
Kelly English

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Iris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Romantic (56)
See All
Good for a Date (53)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Cozy (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Worth the Drive (26)
Notable Wine List (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Tasting Menu (17)
Authentic (17)
Business Meals (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Healthy (7)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tapas (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
1265 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We have been wanting to try Restaurant Iris for quite some time, so I was excited to surprise my husband for his birthday. I called ahead after booking my reservation to let them know it was his birthday and they made it so special with ribbons, a rose, and a personalized menu! The only reason we gave the ambiance 4 stars instead of 5 was due to the temperature inside. It was so hot. The amazing waitress explained that it's an older house and harder to cool, and I also understand it was very hot outside that day, but sweating while you eat is rough. That being said, I'd do it again because everything else was perfect!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service was outstanding. It's an old (small ) renovated house to the tables are somewhat close together but absolutely worth the experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

I have been to Iris several times and it never let's me down. Great ambience! Great food! Great deserts! Every time I've been Chef personally comes by every table. Great experience everytime!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

You know the evening will be special when you arrive and are warmly greeted by the Chef/ Owner Kelly English. We came with high expectations from previous reviews. Our experience at Iris that evening was superb. You can feel the level of engagement from everyone that served our table. They are a proud, committed team of people who care passionately about serving outstanding food. Chef English menu that evening was memorable. His signature shrimp in a dark creole sauce was a one of a kind dish. My pan seared Snapper was outstanding and my wife's Rack of lamb was perfect. Without a question Restaurant Iris is Memphis's best choice for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

They could not have made us feel more special! The food was exquisite. We have dined all over the world and this is among our top meals. Thank you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This restaurant is awesome. The food is spectacular and the service is wonderful. If your looking for a one of a kind experience this is the place. And to the Chef everything was delicious which is an understatement. We will be returning.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Iris never disappoints! Always fresh, seasonal & delicious. Just a very magical place!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Always a great experience. Top picks were the scallops, pork belly, and bread pudding

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Inventive food, fantastic service and lovely ambience make Iris a prime place for a special occasion. Standout selections were the mahi-mahi and Brussels sprout salad. And if they have the off-menu fried oyster salad, order it. Fantastic.
I had alerted Iris, via Open Table, that it was my mother's 90th birthday, and they did not disappoint. We were lead to a private back room of the house, table decorated with confetti curls, quiet enough for all or us to hear each other. Service was gracious and good humored.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Amazing. It was the best meal I can remember ever having. The tasting menu was definitely worth it.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Fun, Healthy, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Iris never disappoints. Great food, great service in a lovely old house.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was some of the best food and service I've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was divine and our waitress was very informative. People should realize that this restaurant's menu pricing is competitive with any restaurant for fine dining in the Memphis area.
My friend was from out of town and thoroughly enjoyed himself. I know he will be back again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My favorite resteraunt because the food is the best I've ever had. Service was a bit slow getting started after we were seated but was great after service actually began. I was disappointed there was no special in addition to the regular menu. Overall, Iris is still my favorite restaurant and consistently has the best food I've ever tasted. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My husband had a wonderful meal at Restaurant Iris, as usually. It never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Everything was wonderful, we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

It's something unexpected and wonderful every time; this visit my husband was in near tears of joy with the barbecue shrimp. My lamb and couscous was tender and perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Impeccable service! Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu. She was also very attentive. The chef and owner was welcoming guests. We were enjoying a date night with some of our best friends from college- perfect place. The Brussel sprouts are the best I have ever eaten. The surf and turf is a must! The bread pudding is heart warming and delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We were celebrating a very special occasion and the staff at Restaurant Iris went to the trouble of decorating our table and making a special menu to commemorate the evening.
The food and wine selection was spectacular and our server really helped make the evening enjoyable and memorable.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 30, 2017

As you would expect in a restaurant of this calibre, Kelly English visited with every table during the seating to make sure we were all happy. How could we not be happy? The food was outstanding from the palate warm-up to the mouth-watering dessert. I'd be embarrassed to order the 'surf and turf' in another restaurant. Not here. Innovative pairing on the strip steak stuffed with fried oysters, bleu cheese and tasty tiny bites of pan-fried potatoes. The scallops were perfectly done and aimed at the lighter fare diner. As such, my surf and turf ended up being a shared experience with my wife. The wine list was simple yet of high quality. Our server was personable and helpful without being over-bearing - just the right amount of visits to keep the table cleared of unwanted items without us feeling rushed or pushed toward the door. One of the best meals and dining experiences I've had in Memphis. Half bottle of wine, starters, meals, shared desert - at around $200. Not often you can call that a value and not regret signing the check. If I knew Kelly better, I'd give him a platonic hug. As it is, the brief review will have to suffice. Get on the reservations list - it's worth the wait.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service, priced on the high end - but you certainly get what you pay for. Highly recommend for special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I really enjoyed celebrating my birthday here. Love the uniqueness of the restaurant and the mood and staff were excellent, we will definitely dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent experience, just as our first visit roughly 6 months ago. Food and service are excellent. I recommend either the foie gras or bone marrow appetizers. Surf and turf has been my choice of entree both visits, and it likely will be again for any future dining with Iris. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Our visit to Memphis was highlighted by our meal at Restaurant Iris. We chose this restaurant out of a list of recommended places and we were thrilled to hit the jackpot. This quaint spot serves some of the best food we have had in a long time. From bone marrow to rack of lamb and hanger steak, every dish was delectable. Although we were stuffed, we opted for a few bites of dessert and ordered the bread pudding. That was THE BEST bread pudding we have ever had. Do not leave the restaurant without ordering it! We will be back next time we are in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Excellent food from the appetizers through the entire meal. The food was creative and extraordinarily tasty. I recommended the restaurant to a couple friends immediately after leaving. The service was perfect, no hovering, thoughtful descriptions, courteous... I would recommend Iris to anyone looking for exquisite food and a great dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Restaurant Iris is a romantic place with excellent food and outstanding service.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Absolutely amazing on every level. My wife had the chef's 5 course with win pairing. 5 for 5 on everything. I tried several types of meat that I've not liked in the past but at this place they were outstanding. Never thought I would not only like but love duck? Bone marrow? Amazing! The Chef came by twice to the whole place to ensure everyone was having a good time and food was great. Service was fantastic as well. Use the valet parking though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

First time visiting the establishment and was not disappointed from the reviews of others. Delicious meal with the right ambiance for two, generous portions that was cooked to the liking. The menu is variable enough to cover just about any taste, but not overwhelming with too many choices. Great attention to detail all around and thoughtful of the restaurant to treat the occasion with such attention. Would recommend if you haven't been before.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My husband and I ate every bite on every plate served to us. SO delicious with great service and beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Leicestershire)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at the Iris restaurant , the service was first rate and our waiter extremely knowledgable , the head chef came to our table and asked how the meal was. They even went as far as to recommend restaurants on the next leg of our journey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Let them know about anniversary, they had colorful ribbons on the table, flowers, personalized menu. Food was excellent, drinks yummy, service was perfect. Server was local, recommended authentic places for music, food (bar-b-cue, biscuits,) drinks away from the tourist places. Overall a great choice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 6, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here for our 19th anniversary. Some of the best food we've ever had. Thanks for a great evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Best Restaurant in Memphis. Probably the best restaurant in the mid-South. I asked for a vegetarian option and they did not disappoint. Kelly's kitchen created one of the best vegetarian meals I have ever tasted.... grilled cauliflower on top of a mushroom ragout. My wife's meal (halibut) was equally spectacular. Great job as always!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Restaurant Iris and could not have been more pleased with everything!! Delicious food, wonderful atmosphere, and the service was exceptional! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The lobster knuckle sandwich was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The best Restaurant in Memphis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

From the curled ribbon on our table, to the special flowers, and finally the special menu letter commemorating our wedding anniversary, the team at Restaurant Iris thought of every little detail to make our dining experience incredibly special. The food and wine pairings were incredible of course as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Outstanding evening! Perfect location, outstanding service, unbelievable food, great ambiance. Would not change a thing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was really good! Service was exceptional! Great variety!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This was our anniversary dinner and I was very pleased with the food, atmosphere and service. We would definitely recommend this to our friends. It's a great night out for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.