About Restaurant Iris

2146 Monroe Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Born and raised in Southern Louisiana, Chef Kelly English fell in love with the culture and food of New Orleans. Equipped with his training from award-winning Chef John Besh, English presents a unique dining experience. Restaurant Iris specializes in French-Creole cuisine featuring local and seasonal ingredients. English infuses his endless creativity and passion for food into each dish. Whether indulging in his Oysters three ways, a "Knuckle Sandwich", or a dessert made just for you, one is sure to reap the benefits of English"s rich culinary background. We invite you to experience Restaurant Iris, simplicity at its most elegant.

Please note: Due to the limited capacity of our dining room, we offer limited online reservation availability. For more information regarding availability, please contact the restaurant directly.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cooper

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 590-2828

Website:
http://www.restaurantiris.com/

Catering:
Please call 901-590-2828 or email specialevents@restaurantiris.com for more information.

Parking Details:
On-street parking and parking lot available.

Executive Chef:
Kelly English

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Creme Brulee
Pan-seared Halibut
Lobster Knuckle Sandwich
Creole Crab Meat
Deep Fried Oysters
Surf And Turf
Trout Amandine
Oysters Polo
Bread Pudd
Cheesecake
Fluke Crudo
BBQ Shrimp
Foie Gras
Sweetbreads & Gnocchi
Snitzel
Filet Mignon
Scallop
Bone Marrow
Sweet Corn Griddle Cakes
Tempura Okra Salad W/Cucumber & Greek Yogurt
Braised Beef Short Rib Raviolo
Grilled Jack And Shrimp

Restaurant Iris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
9 More
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Memphis ›

Special Occasion (95)
Romantic (80)
Fit for Foodies (74)
See All
Notable Wine List (39)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for a Date (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Cozy (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Historic (5)
Scenic View (4)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1028 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Birthday celebration for two. Very good ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Birthday celebration for two. Very good. Not excellent, but I may have had expectations set too high.

It's the best in Memphis, but compared to NYC, SF, Boston, New Orleans, Miami, and several other big cities it has some improving. Excellent in ambiance, service, noise level, and value. Food wasn't quite as good as hoping. Beef Ravioli was slightly bland.

Lobster knuckle sandwich was little tough and I thought over cooked, lamb wasn't as flavorful as hoped. Maybe on a week night when the place isn't as crowded and they are not pumping out as much food. Service rocked and they did a very good job of making us feel welcome and comfortable. Nice Romantic evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were visiting Memphis with our brothe ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were visiting Memphis with our brother in law and sister in law and wanted a nice meal out for our last evening. It was everything we read about and more. I would highly recommend reservations at Restaurant Iris.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fantastic meal. The lamb chops we ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a fantastic meal. The lamb chops were outstanding. Great place for a special occasion or just a night out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife had the signature stuffed rib-ey ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

My wife had the signature stuffed rib-eye and I had the amberjack.

The steak was good, but not great, it was cold, a bit dry and cooked beyond the requested medium rare. I am glad that we tried it since Chef Kelly English is famous for it... I would not order it again; don't see the value and the complicated preparation offers too much room for disappointment.

My fish was good, though a it over cooked and overly salty.

Our server was amazing; charming, delightful and present when we needed here without hovering. She was the highlight of our visit.

It may be time for the menu to be refreshed and the team to be re-inspired by Chef Kelly. The place seems to be resting on its laurels.

Beyond the control of the management was the fact that we had two very loud parties at the other tables in our room - just bad luck.

Glad we came; though I am not sure that Iris truly merits five stars.

Overall, it was overpriced and overrated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

As part of every vacation we always try ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

As part of every vacation we always try to have a fine dining experience. We were very pleased with our dinner and our break from other tourists. Great place to interact with the locals and enjoy unique food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for an early five year anni ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We went here for an early five year anniversary dinner and had a wonderful time. We did the five course tasting dinner with wine pairing. It was excellent and all the food and wine was paired very well. I especially enjoyed the lobster knuckle sandwich and the braised beef ravioli. Each course came with it's own paired wine, and five dishes with five wines was a lot and honestly too much for me, but still very enjoyable.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have lived in Memphis for almost four ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I have lived in Memphis for almost four years now and by far this has best restaurant experience I have had in this city. From the moment we were greeted to the time we got our check, this was an exquisite evening. We both are vegetarians so we let the restaurant know ahead of time and by the time we got there the server knew about our meal preference which made life so much easier. Superb.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited a month to get a Saturday even ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We waited a month to get a Saturday evening table for 3, and I appreciated that they had set the table festively especially for me. The chef sent out free starters, too. We ordered two starters, four glasses of wine, three entrees and two desserts to share. It took about an hour an a half-- we were seated and served promptly and enjoyed our meal very much. We took home leftovers in a boxes that were festively decorated. It was great, but it would have been out of my financial range if not for the gift certificate my family gave me.

Tags: Fireplace, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good, people were nice. Always ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food was good, people were nice.

Always an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a wonder dinner. wait staff was a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We had a wonder dinner. wait staff was attentive and the Lobster Knuckle appetizer was the best

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had our 16th wedding anniversary dinn ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had our 16th wedding anniversary dinner and they made it so special - we even met the chef. Wonderful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience for both my boyfrie ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wonderful experience for both my boyfriend and me. Our server was knowledgable with the menu and history of the restaurant. There was a great selection of wines. The food was delicious. The Art and restaurant scenery was beautiful. Compliments to the owner, staff and chef.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iris is a very good restaurant, but the ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Iris is a very good restaurant, but the problem with the hype of being the best dining in the state or top 50 in the country is that it is impossible to live up to such expectations. I enjoyed the patê and I had an excellent sazerac - that is definitely the best in town. I will not make a final decision on Iris without experiencing the tasting menu. The best thing that I ate all night was the amuse bouche - which was an amazing sample of the kitchen's ability. My company for the evening was a less adventurous eater, so I will definitely return to Iris to make a more informed decision. As of now, I can absolutely say that Iris is a very good dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Every time I go to Iris, it is a fantast ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Every time I go to Iris, it is a fantastic meal. The food is top notch, the service is just right, very cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!! Food was excellent and servi ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful!! Food was excellent and service was top-notch!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been far and wide with high end ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We have been far and wide with high end restaurants and would say Iris held its own very well. The food was outstanding, service was outstanding, and the setting quite romantic. We did the tasting menu with wine parings. The wines were spot on matches with each entrée. I would highly recommend Iris to anyone that respects the craft of fine dining. Bravo!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food Restaurant Iris has to offer is ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food Restaurant Iris has to offer is excellent. Really recommend for a nice evening out in Memphis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food but the service really made ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Awesome food but the service really made it special!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed. Our main courses w ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were disappointed. Our main courses were very good, but we felt that service was inattentive and had to ask a couple of times for things that should have been obvious--wine, water, etc.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

all four of us did the five course chef' ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

all four of us did the five course chef's selection. that was a fun thing to do and was an excellent choice. you tell them what you do NOT like, then , they go from there. the server's narrative on each dish was informative and interesting. at this price point you are looking for a unique experience and Iris delivers. well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The dinner was excellent. Besides the fa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The dinner was excellent. Besides the fact that the food tasted very good, the presentation was great too. Each wine paring was perfect for each course. I would highly recommend this restaurant for all foodies or a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Appetizers were very good. We had Brusse ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Appetizers were very good. We had Brussel sproit salad, grilled haloumi and knuckle sandwich. The entrees weren't as good. Redfish was very salty on a very small amount of puréed corn with hominy. The duck breast was a little dry. Bread pudding for dessert was very good. Excellent cocktails.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The wife and I have been here a few time ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The wife and I have been here a few times but we took our son and his girlfriend since he was heading off to college soon. He couldn't stop talking about how good everything was and that it was probably the best meal he had ever eaten!! Everything was cooked perfectly as usual and some the new menu items we tried were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, ambience is very quaint ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was great, ambience is very quaint and our server was excellent. The ravioli appetizer is excellent. Ordered their signature dish for entrees the surf and turf and it was excellent. Dessert was just okay. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, great ambiance!! 1st vis ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Delicious food, great ambiance!!

1st visit for wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, beautiful restaurant, goo ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great service, beautiful restaurant, good variety, delicious food. Very glad to have went. Was a great experience. The five course tasting menu was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a perfect romantic dinner -- tu ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This was a perfect romantic dinner -- turning a Tuesday (only way to get reservations) into a very special night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit. While we were certainly ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My first visit. While we were certainly in no rush, our server did not come to our table for 15 minutes after we were seated. Appetizer was tasty, but unexpectedly tough. Entrees were terrific as was the wine. Check arrived abruptly after plates were cleared, without offer of desert. That was different.

Will I go back? Sure. Maybe an off night for the server. Ambiance is wonderful, with food quality to match. Was it work almost $200. Maybe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Restaurant Iris never disappoints! We ar ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Restaurant Iris never disappoints! We are a loud family..we got a room in the back that was just perfect for us and for preserving the ambiance for the other diners. Food, service, decor always always stellar! go there and go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Iris four times, and I ha ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have been to Iris four times, and I have to admit, this was my most disappointment visit. For starters, we reserved a table over two months ago, but our table was literally the worst one in the house. It was wedged in a corner between the hostess station and the next dining room. As such, people kept brushing by us, and I could hear every conversation BUT my own.

The food was good but not as great as past visits. The lobster knuckle sandwich was kind of dry, but the heirloom tomato salad was perfectly delicious. My grouper was very good, but my husband's surf and turf, which he ordered medium rare, was WAY overcooked (as in well done on one side, medium on the other).

The meal also felt rushed--we had barely sipped our drinks before apps were out, then our food came out almost immediately after apps. Overall, we were there less than an hour!

Perhaps I'm being picky, but based on reputation, past experiences, and price, I just expect more than we got from Iris this time around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

My wife and I celebrated our 7 year wedd ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 7 year wedding anniversary at Restaurant Iris. I've heard rave reviews from friends about Iris for years, but this was our first visit. I'll admit beforehand I was pretty excited, and I can honestly say Iris absolutely lived up to the hype. We had an emergency earlier in the day that delayed us, so we were running a couple minutes late to the reservation. Thankfully, the hostess and staff were completely understanding. The wait staff was terrific, and the food was truly amazing! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If I ever go here again, will definitely ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

If I ever go here again, will definitely not get main course. Appetizers , wine, special drinks and salads are wonderful, but shrimp and grits was not good at all for me , and wife's Amberjack was way over cooked.

Awesome service, and prices are in line with the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went for our one year anni ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My wife and I went for our one year anniversary. We chose the five course tasting option, gave the waitress our preferences, and let her choose our options. She chose perfectly! The food was amazing and Chef Kelly English came through to check on us personally. The only dislike that we experienced was with a fellow diner who was particularly loud. The restaurant is a former home that has been renovated. We sat in a room that included four other tables. While everyone else spoke at a level that was appropriate, said diner did not. In this semi-enclosed seating arrangement, it clearly affected everyone in the room. Other than this, we had an amazing meal and a wonderful time. Definitely recommend this restaurant and staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Restaurant in Memphis! The atmosph ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best Restaurant in Memphis! The atmosphere is perfect for special occasions or a romantic dinner and the food is amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we were seated at our table it was ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

When we were seated at our table it was decorated with ribbons and a rose. We also had special menus with a note from Chef English that we got to take home to commemorate our anniversary. The server was attentive without being too intrusive, she was wonderful. I had done my homework and had already studied the menu so I pretty much knew what I was going to order. For starters, I had the foie gras and my husband had the lobster knuckle... both were excellent. For dinner I had the duck...yummy and cooked to perfection, and the husband had Surf and Turf. He said it was the best he has ever had. For dessert, we were torn between the creme brulee or bread pudding...both favorite desserts of mine. Our server recommended the bread pudding as it is their signature dish and since we were sharing, it was a larger portion. She didn't disappoint as it was wonderful. Chef English spent a lot of time visiting with guests and stopped by our table a couple of times. Very nice touch. We had a wonderful experience and understand why Iris is a gem in Memphis!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant! The food here is amaz ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great restaurant! The food here is amazing and the wait staff provides excellent service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Chef Camron Razavi is a go ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing food! Chef Camron Razavi is a god among boys. Very enjoyable experience overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's was okay. I had heard so many amazi ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

It's was okay. I had heard so many amazing things about this place that I think my expectations were too high...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great food. Great service. Duck was in ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great food. Great service. Duck was incredible, I eat beef once a year so I made it the flank steak, awesome. Nothing compares to the bread pudding. I don't think LL Cool J was talking about this when he said "I'm the type of guy who says pudding is delicious" but I am.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid experience and the atmosphere is a ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Solid experience and the atmosphere is always enjoyable. Veal Chop was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.