About Restaurant Iris

2146 Monroe Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Born and raised in Southern Louisiana, Chef Kelly English fell in love with the culture and food of New Orleans. Equipped with his training from award-winning Chef John Besh, English presents a unique dining experience. Restaurant Iris specializes in French-Creole cuisine featuring local and seasonal ingredients. English infuses his endless creativity and passion for food into each dish. Whether indulging in his Oysters three ways, a "Knuckle Sandwich", or a dessert made just for you, one is sure to reap the benefits of English"s rich culinary background. We invite you to experience Restaurant Iris, simplicity at its most elegant.

Please note: Due to the limited capacity of our dining room, we offer limited online reservation availability. For more information regarding availability, please contact the restaurant directly.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cooper

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 590-2828

Website:
http://www.restaurantiris.com/

Catering:
Please call 901-590-2828 or email specialevents@restaurantiris.com for more information.

Parking Details:
On-street parking and parking lot available.

Executive Chef:
Kelly English

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Iris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Romantic (37)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Cozy (20)
Worth the Drive (16)
Local Ingredients (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Authentic (12)
Business Meals (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Historic (8)
Seasonal (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Private Room (4)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've been trying to try this place for V ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

I've been trying to try this place for Valentines Day for years. This place is always booked. It was worth the wait. Food AND service was superb. The food is very seasoned differently but delicious. I will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were out of town in Memphis and our f ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

We were out of town in Memphis and our friend from home recommended that we try Iris. It was outstanding. Our server helped narrow down the choices (they all sounded great); and everything was delicious, fresh, complex flavors and sauces. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Iris did not disappoint. Grea ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

Restaurant Iris did not disappoint. Great food. Always get the BBQ shrimp (not on the menu but get it!!) and surf and turf. Excellent service and ambiance. Always look forward to our dates here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. Excellent food and se ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

Great atmosphere. Excellent food and service. Reasonable prices for the quality.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had heard so many great things about Iri ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

Had heard so many great things about Iris. It was good but not as special as I had thought.

No flowers on table. Server was nice but didn't wow us. Same thing with the food. Our party of 3 had different appetizers and entrees. They were good but nothing outstanding. Don't see us coming back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The BBQ shrimp was fantastic but my stea ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

The BBQ shrimp was fantastic but my steak was a little past medium which made it dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been there three times and will ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined 3 days ago

We have been there three times and will return whenever in Memphis (live 400 miles away). Great dining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We love Iris, but last time we were ther ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 4 days ago

We love Iris, but last time we were there was disappointing. Seems like everything was smaller and the original taste we kept coming back for just doesn't taste the same. It will be awhile before we make it back to Iris... :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We went to Restaurant Iris for an early ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We went to Restaurant Iris for an early Valentine's Day dinner and we were so thrilled by the entire experience. Our waitress was friendly and had some great recommendations for us, the cocktails were delightful, and the food was inventive and incredible. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This experience could not have been any ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This experience could not have been any better. The service was the best in Memphis and perhaps the best I have ever had. Before this night a local owned steak house was my all time local favorite - not anymore. Iris has moved to the front. Thanks Kelly English and family for offering this wonderful opportunity to Memphis.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were in a table of six. We ordered th ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We were in a table of six. We ordered the 5 course tasting menu with wine pairings. Highly recommend trying this. Our server made us feel very comfortable and mixed and matched dishes and wine all night. Fun to share bites with your neighbors. Of course, Mr. English lived up to his reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was very disappointed in this meal. I ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I was very disappointed in this meal. I have been there many times but this time was not good. The steak came out cold and the shrimp was so salty I could not eat it. The server took the shrimp off and another steak was prepared. It was the first time for my boyfriend and it was his birthday so it was important that it was spectacular. I know Kelly English's reputation and the meal was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

This is my go to restaurant for special ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 24, 2017

This is my go to restaurant for special occasions. My husband's meal was excellent. My meal was ok but the pasta was very al dente. I almost had to cut with a knife. I would still go back and not order the ravioli.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Resturant Iris always has superb service ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Resturant Iris always has superb service and food. It is one of my favorite places to eat in Memphis. I never know what I am going to there are always so many great choices

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent from the servic ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Everything was excellent from the service,food,and ambience. My husband is an adventurous eater and Restaurant Iris fit the bill!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out Standing customer service and just a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Out Standing customer service and just awesome tasting food !!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef English is doing great things here!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Chef English is doing great things here!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iris was very, very good. The service wa ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Iris was very, very good. The service was outstanding (thank you Hilary - you were very

helpful explaining the menu). We ordered the arugula salad and the knuckle sandwich for appetizers - both delicious. For the entree, we had the shrimp and the short ribs. The ribs

were excellent. The shrimp was a tad salty. The dish was laced with feta (I LOVE that cheese but

can be very salty at times and may be the reason my entree was overly salted). We did not

order dessert. But even the rolls and the butter was terrific! The beer selection was limited

but a restaurant of this caliber concentrates on fine wine - not brew. Our seating was early and possibly a slow night but it was indeed lovely, quiet, attentive and a fine dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went here as one stop on our honeymoo ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We went here as one stop on our honeymoon and the staff took great care of us! They even comped an appetizer for us as a honeymoon gift! Great atmosphere and friendly, knowledgeable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef English and Restaurant Iris are the ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Chef English and Restaurant Iris are the best. This is easily our favorite restaurant in the country. The Chef's dinner with wine pairing is impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delicious 5 course meal paired ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We had a delicious 5 course meal paired to perfection with an impressive wine selection. As always, wonderful service and cozy, intimate atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the first time ever I can only rate ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 9, 2017

For the first time ever I can only rate the dining on this particular night as fair. The brussel sprout salad was excellent but all the other main courses and appetizers were fair for all three in our party. Perhaps this was an off night as I have always had fabulous meals here.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Fabulous place for food and service. Unf ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fabulous place for food and service. Unfortunately we had a very loud, obnoxious table next to us that ruined the quiet evening we were hoping to have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, great service, good value. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food, great service, good value. My son, the foodie, said his meal was on each of the best ever. He had the surf and turf.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Iris is still excellent, stil ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Restaurant Iris is still excellent, still the best restaurant in Memphis.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my husband for his birthday dinner ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Took my husband for his birthday dinner and it was amazing. We have been trying to go for a while but they book up fast so plan in advance. It was worth the wait, food is out of this world. Super cute place and service was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular, carefully crafted superb fo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Spectacular, carefully crafted superb food. It's what a terrific restaurant aspires to be, friendly and warm. Creative.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional as ususal!!! Everytime we h ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Exceptional as ususal!!! Everytime we have dinner at Restaurant Iris, it is beyond amazing. It is at the top of our list of dining spots in Memphis .

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with a Southern touch to ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent food with a Southern touch to it. We will go back the next time we are in Memphis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner and atmosphere. Especi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful dinner and atmosphere. Especially enjoyed the raviolo appetizer. My snapper was delicious and my husband loved the ample portion of his New York Strip with blue cheese.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is good but this place takes a w ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service is good but this place takes a while so sit back enjoy each delicious bite and sip of wine. For my starter I had the brussel sprouts (wonderful!) sampled friend's starters too which were the BBQ shrimp (sauce & bread amazing!) Fried oysters (very good!). My entree was the surf and turf. It was amazing the flavors from the blue cheese cream sauce and bacon (I think) makes you want more! It was cooked just right medium rare; served with decadent tiny diced potato; the only dissapointment in the surf and turf was only having 2 oysters. However, I would order it again! Dessert was dissappointing, I had the bread pudding which was enough for two people. The pudding and the sauce was cold with a scoop of ice cream which would not begin to melt. Not my style of bread pudding and I've had the best at Nottoway in LA. The room we were in became drafty and cold (it's an old house). Overall, I would love to go back, just wouldn't order the bread pudding next time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved this place. The bread pudding is o ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Loved this place. The bread pudding is one of a kind. I didn't try anything that wasn't top shelf. I will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

First time to eat here. Excellent servic ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

First time to eat here. Excellent service. Excellent food. The kitchen even whipped up a vegetarian dish off menu for me. Noche, veggies,and creamy sauce. Delicious! Reccomended!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

DH and I dined at Iris before going to a ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

DH and I dined at Iris before going to a play in Overton Square. This was an early Christmas present to ourselves, and it was memorable. Our server, Hillary, has very knowledgeable about the menu and incredibly attentive thruout the evening. The amuse bouche that evening was a jambalaya croquette, which as a single bite was one of the more delicious things I've every eaten. It would never have occured to me to fry jamabalya, but it worked, and is a testament to the creativity of the chefs at Iris. We started with their new crab dip, which is full of rich and decadent crab meat, well seasoned, and more than enough for two people. I would recommend this for a table of 4-6 to share. Next, I had the kale caesar with anchovies (a nice refresher after that rich appetizer). DH had the raviolo. Normally we use our bread to sop up the sauce from the raviolo, but the rolls this evening (while tasty!) were on the small side and we didn't want to be THAT table that keeps asking for more bread. Plus, the mains were yet to come. DH had the snapper over israeli couscous - which redeemed snapper in his eyes after having had a bad experience last week. I had the lamb. I cannot recommend this dish highly enough. Tender lamb shank off the bone, served in a ragu with pappardelle pasta, peas, mushrooms and broccolini. I took half of this enormous portion home (filled up on crab). It was even better for lunch the next day! Dessert was a brandy alexander for DH and the trio of ice cream and cookies for me. Ice creams were made in house, included lime (which I swear must have had coconut), blackberry, and a brandy which was my favorite. We appreciated Chef English coming to greet as at the table and speaking with him about the menu. As always, we look forward to our next great meal at Iris!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere with wonderful serv ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very nice atmosphere with wonderful service and food. I highly recommend the surf and turf. It was actually a little less expensive than I expected for a restaurant if this caliber. (<$150 for two entrees, one salad, one appetizer, two cocktails, one dessert and coffee)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very pleasant intimate old-fashioned h ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 6, 2016

A very pleasant intimate old-fashioned homey atmosphere. A good variety of interestingly flavored foods with a definite New Orleans slant. Our sever, Candace, was excellent. Well-priced for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant! We had a great t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My favorite restaurant! We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was not as good as other restau ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our food was not as good as other restaurants at equal price points. An ingredient was substituted in the dish I ordered- peas instead of mushrooms. Dessert was way below expectations. Music was weird for atmosphere is food and restaurant atmosphere. Would not go back. Service staff was exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I am so glad we went to Iris. Our food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I am so glad we went to Iris. Our food was fantastic. I ate the duck confit. The duck and the beans were fabulous. My friend and I split two appetizers--the lobster knuckle sandwich and the foie gras, which I normally don't like. The foie gras is good that I almost ordered another one, and the lobster was great, too. Our waitress was wonderful. She made good suggestions but didn't hover. It was a great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated anniversary just a few days a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Celebrated anniversary just a few days ago. Couldn't have been better. Appetizers were outstanding:Lobster knuckle sandwich and Brussels sprout salad were delicious. Surf and turf was amazing. Service was impeccable. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.