About Restaurant Iris

2146 Monroe Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104
View Larger Map

Born and raised in Southern Louisiana, Chef Kelly English fell in love with the culture and food of New Orleans. Equipped with his training from award-winning Chef John Besh, English presents a unique dining experience. Restaurant Iris specializes in French-Creole cuisine featuring local and seasonal ingredients. English infuses his endless creativity and passion for food into each dish. Whether indulging in his Oysters three ways, a "Knuckle Sandwich", or a dessert made just for you, one is sure to reap the benefits of English"s rich culinary background. We invite you to experience Restaurant Iris, simplicity at its most elegant.

Please note: Due to the limited capacity of our dining room, we offer limited online reservation availability. For more information regarding availability, please contact the restaurant directly.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cooper

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 590-2828

Website:
http://www.restaurantiris.com/

Catering:
Please call 901-590-2828 or email specialevents@restaurantiris.com for more information.

Parking Details:
On-street parking and parking lot available.

Executive Chef:
Kelly English

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Creme Brulee
Pan-seared Halibut
Lobster Knuckle Sandwich
Creole Crab Meat
Deep Fried Oysters
Surf And Turf
Trout Amandine
Oysters Polo
Bread Pudd
Cheesecake
Fluke Crudo
BBQ Shrimp
Foie Gras
Sweetbreads & Gnocchi
Snitzel
Filet Mignon
Scallop
Bone Marrow
Sweet Corn Griddle Cakes
Tempura Okra Salad W/Cucumber & Greek Yogurt
Braised Beef Short Rib Raviolo
Grilled Jack And Shrimp

Restaurant Iris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
13 More
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Memphis ›

Special Occasion (100)
Romantic (85)
Fit for Foodies (76)
See All
Notable Wine List (42)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Hot Spot (16)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Historic (1)
Cozy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1018 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had our 16th wedding anniversary dinn ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had our 16th wedding anniversary dinner and they made it so special - we even met the chef. Wonderful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience for both my boyfrie ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful experience for both my boyfriend and me. Our server was knowledgable with the menu and history of the restaurant. There was a great selection of wines. The food was delicious. The Art and restaurant scenery was beautiful. Compliments to the owner, staff and chef.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iris is a very good restaurant, but the ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Iris is a very good restaurant, but the problem with the hype of being the best dining in the state or top 50 in the country is that it is impossible to live up to such expectations. I enjoyed the patê and I had an excellent sazerac - that is definitely the best in town. I will not make a final decision on Iris without experiencing the tasting menu. The best thing that I ate all night was the amuse bouche - which was an amazing sample of the kitchen's ability. My company for the evening was a less adventurous eater, so I will definitely return to Iris to make a more informed decision. As of now, I can absolutely say that Iris is a very good dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Every time I go to Iris, it is a fantast ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Every time I go to Iris, it is a fantastic meal. The food is top notch, the service is just right, very cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!! Food was excellent and servi ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful!! Food was excellent and service was top-notch!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance was great, cool space, great se ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Ambiance was great, cool space, great service- HORRIBLE FOOD. I ordered chicken Marsala and when it arrived what was on my plate was a breaded piece of chicken with maybe a tablespoon of "sauce" that tasted like salt. Literally could not eat it. Despite that the manager did notice and offered to comp my meal without even having to ask. For that I will give this place 3 stars, but from one foodie to another do not be fooled, this is not quality food. I would ONLY come back if it was to sit at the bar and drink something from a bottle.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

We have been far and wide with high end ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We have been far and wide with high end restaurants and would say Iris held its own very well. The food was outstanding, service was outstanding, and the setting quite romantic. We did the tasting menu with wine parings. The wines were spot on matches with each entrée. I would highly recommend Iris to anyone that respects the craft of fine dining. Bravo!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food Restaurant Iris has to offer is ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food Restaurant Iris has to offer is excellent. Really recommend for a nice evening out in Memphis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food but the service really made ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Awesome food but the service really made it special!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed. Our main courses w ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were disappointed. Our main courses were very good, but we felt that service was inattentive and had to ask a couple of times for things that should have been obvious--wine, water, etc.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

all four of us did the five course chef' ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

all four of us did the five course chef's selection. that was a fun thing to do and was an excellent choice. you tell them what you do NOT like, then , they go from there. the server's narrative on each dish was informative and interesting. at this price point you are looking for a unique experience and Iris delivers. well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The dinner was excellent. Besides the fa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The dinner was excellent. Besides the fact that the food tasted very good, the presentation was great too. Each wine paring was perfect for each course. I would highly recommend this restaurant for all foodies or a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Appetizers were very good. We had Brusse ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Appetizers were very good. We had Brussel sproit salad, grilled haloumi and knuckle sandwich. The entrees weren't as good. Redfish was very salty on a very small amount of puréed corn with hominy. The duck breast was a little dry. Bread pudding for dessert was very good. Excellent cocktails.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The wife and I have been here a few time ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The wife and I have been here a few times but we took our son and his girlfriend since he was heading off to college soon. He couldn't stop talking about how good everything was and that it was probably the best meal he had ever eaten!! Everything was cooked perfectly as usual and some the new menu items we tried were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, ambience is very quaint ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was great, ambience is very quaint and our server was excellent. The ravioli appetizer is excellent. Ordered their signature dish for entrees the surf and turf and it was excellent. Dessert was just okay. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, great ambiance!! 1st vis ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Delicious food, great ambiance!!

1st visit for wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, beautiful restaurant, goo ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great service, beautiful restaurant, good variety, delicious food. Very glad to have went. Was a great experience. The five course tasting menu was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a perfect romantic dinner -- tu ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This was a perfect romantic dinner -- turning a Tuesday (only way to get reservations) into a very special night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit. While we were certainly ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My first visit. While we were certainly in no rush, our server did not come to our table for 15 minutes after we were seated. Appetizer was tasty, but unexpectedly tough. Entrees were terrific as was the wine. Check arrived abruptly after plates were cleared, without offer of desert. That was different.

Will I go back? Sure. Maybe an off night for the server. Ambiance is wonderful, with food quality to match. Was it work almost $200. Maybe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Restaurant Iris never disappoints! We ar ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Restaurant Iris never disappoints! We are a loud family..we got a room in the back that was just perfect for us and for preserving the ambiance for the other diners. Food, service, decor always always stellar! go there and go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Iris four times, and I ha ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have been to Iris four times, and I have to admit, this was my most disappointment visit. For starters, we reserved a table over two months ago, but our table was literally the worst one in the house. It was wedged in a corner between the hostess station and the next dining room. As such, people kept brushing by us, and I could hear every conversation BUT my own.

The food was good but not as great as past visits. The lobster knuckle sandwich was kind of dry, but the heirloom tomato salad was perfectly delicious. My grouper was very good, but my husband's surf and turf, which he ordered medium rare, was WAY overcooked (as in well done on one side, medium on the other).

The meal also felt rushed--we had barely sipped our drinks before apps were out, then our food came out almost immediately after apps. Overall, we were there less than an hour!

Perhaps I'm being picky, but based on reputation, past experiences, and price, I just expect more than we got from Iris this time around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

My wife and I celebrated our 7 year wedd ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 7 year wedding anniversary at Restaurant Iris. I've heard rave reviews from friends about Iris for years, but this was our first visit. I'll admit beforehand I was pretty excited, and I can honestly say Iris absolutely lived up to the hype. We had an emergency earlier in the day that delayed us, so we were running a couple minutes late to the reservation. Thankfully, the hostess and staff were completely understanding. The wait staff was terrific, and the food was truly amazing! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If I ever go here again, will definitely ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

If I ever go here again, will definitely not get main course. Appetizers , wine, special drinks and salads are wonderful, but shrimp and grits was not good at all for me , and wife's Amberjack was way over cooked.

Awesome service, and prices are in line with the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went for our one year anni ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My wife and I went for our one year anniversary. We chose the five course tasting option, gave the waitress our preferences, and let her choose our options. She chose perfectly! The food was amazing and Chef Kelly English came through to check on us personally. The only dislike that we experienced was with a fellow diner who was particularly loud. The restaurant is a former home that has been renovated. We sat in a room that included four other tables. While everyone else spoke at a level that was appropriate, said diner did not. In this semi-enclosed seating arrangement, it clearly affected everyone in the room. Other than this, we had an amazing meal and a wonderful time. Definitely recommend this restaurant and staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Restaurant in Memphis! The atmosph ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best Restaurant in Memphis! The atmosphere is perfect for special occasions or a romantic dinner and the food is amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we were seated at our table it was ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

When we were seated at our table it was decorated with ribbons and a rose. We also had special menus with a note from Chef English that we got to take home to commemorate our anniversary. The server was attentive without being too intrusive, she was wonderful. I had done my homework and had already studied the menu so I pretty much knew what I was going to order. For starters, I had the foie gras and my husband had the lobster knuckle... both were excellent. For dinner I had the duck...yummy and cooked to perfection, and the husband had Surf and Turf. He said it was the best he has ever had. For dessert, we were torn between the creme brulee or bread pudding...both favorite desserts of mine. Our server recommended the bread pudding as it is their signature dish and since we were sharing, it was a larger portion. She didn't disappoint as it was wonderful. Chef English spent a lot of time visiting with guests and stopped by our table a couple of times. Very nice touch. We had a wonderful experience and understand why Iris is a gem in Memphis!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant! The food here is amaz ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great restaurant! The food here is amazing and the wait staff provides excellent service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Chef Camron Razavi is a go ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing food! Chef Camron Razavi is a god among boys. Very enjoyable experience overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's was okay. I had heard so many amazi ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

It's was okay. I had heard so many amazing things about this place that I think my expectations were too high...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great food. Great service. Duck was in ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great food. Great service. Duck was incredible, I eat beef once a year so I made it the flank steak, awesome. Nothing compares to the bread pudding. I don't think LL Cool J was talking about this when he said "I'm the type of guy who says pudding is delicious" but I am.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid experience and the atmosphere is a ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Solid experience and the atmosphere is always enjoyable. Veal Chop was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I chose this for our anniversary because ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I chose this for our anniversary because it had great reviews. I ignored the few lesser reviews and decided to try it. The food was okay but the restaurant was very uncomfortably warm. We asked about it and the waitress said that when the sun goes down that it will be cooler. Sun was down when we left and we won't be returning. At 350.00 for a table for 4, one would expect air conditioning to be part of the deal. Not so....and I carried my jacket just in case!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We found Iris on Open Table and were not ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We found Iris on Open Table and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and creatively prepared and presented. Beware: the bread was to die for!!! Actually saved a piece for dessert. The owner and chef came out and chatted with each table making all of the experience that much nicer. It was a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good and waitress was exce ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was very good and waitress was exceptional. Not only did she know all of the specials without a "cheat sheet", but she actually had tried them all and made very good recommendations. One of the best dining experiences I've had in a long time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our first time at Restaurant Iris was ex ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Our first time at Restaurant Iris was excellent. The food was superb as well as the wine and cocktails. Our server, Shelby, was outstanding and made the dining experience that much better. She was very informative and walked us through every plate and every glass of wine. Will be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Iris is always awesome 😊 My ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Restaurant Iris is always awesome 😊 My go to dinner-date night favorite in Memphis. I see Chef Kelly roams around the restaurant but never at my table... Hmmm...🙄 but it's all good... Still love the food😋😜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Very slow service- some food excellent, ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Very slow service- some food excellent, some not very good

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

It is beautiful restaurant within a reno ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It is beautiful restaurant within a renovated house. The food is creative and fresh. They made allowances or helped to steer you if you had food restrictions. The experience was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I will preface this by saying that I hav ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I will preface this by saying that I have eaten here before, and that meal was outstanding- one of the best my wife and I have ever had. I'm not sure if this was an off-night for the kitchen, but everything that we had was over or under-cooked. The raviolo pasta was undercooked (pasta was hard but the insides were tasty), our "surf and "turf" was overcooked (asked for medium and was closer to medium well-well done), and the shrimp and grits were more spicy than usual. I'm usually not one to complain in the restaurant especially if things are adequate, but I just had to return our creme brûlée dessert because it was basically liquid soup underneath the top layer. I dared not get anything else for the fear it would fall short of expectations. My wife and I had our wedding anniversary and were very much looking forward to this meal, but the results were disappointing for such a expense. We will probably come back again sometime in the future, but not before making out rounds at other establishments in town.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Menu

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

It's a beautiful, special occasion place. Service is always wonderful. However, please reinstate the old menu a la New Orleans/seafood! Not everyone can run to the coast every weekend. I understand that the new menu is supposed to reflect some sort of "fusion," but really. If I want beans with fish, I can go to Dixie Cafe!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.