Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.65mi
  2. Distance: 2.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.49mi
  4. Distance: 2.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.65mi
  2. Distance: 2.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.49mi
  4. Distance: 2.51mi

About The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge

Dining at The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is one of Blowing Rock's most elegant and relaxed experiences. The cuisine is a blend of fresh local ingredients artfully prepared by our award winning culinary team under the watchful eyes of Chef Hunter Womble. Dine Al-Fresco or in our intimate European styled dining room. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace, then dine, from a light evening meal to a special celebration. Appropriate for children over 12 with sophisticated palettes.

202 Gideon Ridge Rd
Blowing Rock, NC 28605
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary European, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6:00 - 9:00

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard

Phone Number:
(828) 295-3644

Website:
http://www.gideonridge.com/

Parking Details:
Private Lot and Valet available

Executive Chef:
Hunter Womble

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

5.0

value

4.6

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Romantic (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Cozy (18)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Authentic (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Seasonal (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

Best dining experience we had on our fall mountain trip.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Gideon restaurant and inn was suggested to us for our anniversary celebration and it was absolutely wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Waitstaff is excellent and attentive, Chef adds new items daily and the food is prepared from local fare. Scenic views of the mountains especially spectacular sunsets.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2017

This resturant is amazing. This is our third time dining and it amazes me each time.
It is a must when in Blowing Rock

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 31, 2017

AMAZING. Every bite. Delicious. Will be back. Wonderful service and 5 Star menu.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Wonderful, local, fresh ingredients, Great views - Worth the drive

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

As always Gideon Ridge Inn's restaurant did not disappoint! We brought friends who had not been there before, and they were very impressed, planning to bring their adult children along in the future. While it is a bit of a drive from Banner Elk, it was definitely worth it.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Beautiful Inn! Pretty view! Friendly staff.. food came out lukewarm and pork loin was lacking in flavor

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Gideon Ridge was absolutely phenomenal. From the inn itself to dinner, Gideon Ridge was hands down the highlight of our trip to Blowing Rock. The inn is quaint and comfortable, with a charming quality. Dinner was exquisite and one of the best meals I have ever had. The ambiance, the staff, and the chef himself are incredible. You must go if you ever find yourself in Blowing Rock.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambiance. We bought a gift certificate for good friends so the can enjoy.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Amazing food
Beautiful view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Exceptional on so many levels ....second time dining here in the last month and while one can not say it's cheap it is definitely value. The food was even better than our previous visit ...I only wish it was closer to home.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This is our absolute favorite restaurant in the Blowing Rock area. The beautiful setting is perfectly matched by carefully crafted dishes. And the service, which is beyond excellent, always makes us feel at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Never disappointing. Outstanding service & Food. The portions are a bit small, however the quality is very high. Tucked away on a Mountain top Ridge near Blowing Rock, with great views and some trails to explore. Best place for fine outdoor dining in the High Country Awesome Place.

Do not recommend for Children.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our favorite world class fine dining restaurant in the high country. View is spectacular and the food including service is as good as it gets. Expensive but well worth the money for those that appreciate fine dining at its best.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

I have enjoyed this great restaurant on 2 occasions food is excellent staff is attentive view is so nice. Parking is a little tight but all worth it. Chef came to out table each time and was very gracious. I will be back next trip to BR.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Wonderful. Outstanding service, and delicious dinner. Restaurant (and Inn) staff are gracious, friendly, and accommodating. Chef Hunter Womble has a real talent for marrying flavors and ingredients to create masterful offerings. Ambiance, setting, quality of food, and overall experience were exactly what we were looking for. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The total package, great setting with views, great service and the best food we have enjoyed in the area during our 10 week stay during the summer.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderful view, cool Inn. The food is exceptional. Look forward to returning.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Gideon Ridge is an excellent restaurant with a great staff and excellent views. The chef came out a couple of times to answer any questions we had, and of course receive our compliments on the excellent food! Several vegetarian options were available, and we were very satisfied with the entire experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

One of most outstanding restaurants in High Country as the views are spectacular and the food sensational. A not to be missed out of this world dining gem not just in North Carolina but also in US and rest of world!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This meal was one of the best I've ever experienced. The setting was lovely, cool and quiet during the hot summer. The food was fabulous. I had the lamb, and my husband had the steak. Both were perfect! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This was a delightful dining experience. Gideon Ridge Inn has beautiful mountains views, lovely setting in old home, and we enjoyed dining alfresco. Service was friendly and competent. Food was artfully presented and absolutely delicious. We enjoyed chanterelle bruscetta and melon, mint, cucumber salad and duck breast and salmon entrees - highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 6, 2017

First rate food and service. Delightful ambiance overlooking the mountains.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Wonderful food and ambiance. Marvelous for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Can't say enough about how much we love Gideon Ridge.We live not far away in the foothills and it's a favorite now for us.We like to arrive a little early and have a drink and enjoy the spectacular view.Always seated exactly at reservation time and from the Chef,to the servers and of couse the food could not be better.Already looking foward to our next visit.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 29, 2017

My first trip to this fabulous restaurant will hopefully not be my last.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We stayed 2 nights at the Inn eating both breakfast and dinner. The staff were warm and informative and the service was exceptional. Only one main course was not as tasty as everything else. I teach culinary arts so while we were celebrating our 44th wedding anniversary it was an additional treat for me to be served by well trained staff and explore different locally grown and unique combinations at each meal. We will return in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 22, 2017

This is our fourth trip to the restaurant. Food and service are both excellent. A great value in the experience. The scenery is gorgeous; wonderful to sit outside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We went to the restaurant at Gideon Ridge for my birthday. I saw mixed reviews and was hesitant but I am glad I made the trip! The food was creative and delicious from the appetizers to dessert, and we were not disappointed. The staff was friendly and attentive. The view of the mountains was absolutely beautiful! We will be eating there again!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Birthday dinner! Worth the 3 month reservation.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The best meal we had while staying in the area. I had the sea bass and my wife had the NY strip. Both of us were very pleased. Met the chef. He's a pro and very personable with the guests. My fish was pan seared, very light, juicy and well seasoned on a bed of vegetables. We had a bottle of wine and cocktails. The bill was $180 not including the tip. I will go back for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 13, 2017

In our opinion, Gideon Ridge is the best of High Country dining. The food is delicious and the service is friendly and helpful. Our waiter, Tyler, made our guests and us feel like he enjoyed his work and wanted us to enjoy our dining experience. Hunter, the chef, is creative and uses local ingredients to create culinary masterpieces. My husband's sea bass was extraordinary and the key lime pie and strawberry shortcakes were also 5 star! Reservations are a must! Book early if you are planning to be in Blowing Rock in the summer or fall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Every time we go here it is fabulous. I cannot say enough about the food and service, you will not be disappointed by either. Just a note it only costs a little more to go first class.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was excellent including the vegetarian options. The view sitting outside on the porch was outstanding. Service was excellent Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent fresh and creative cuisine. Beautiful setting with attentive service. Hunter and his staff are to be commended for creating an enjoyable dining experience every time we have dined at Gideon Ridge.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Consistently an excellent dining experience. This place rivals much more popular restaurants in big cities. It is that good. The head chef, Hunter, takes pride in what he does and he continues to surprise each time I go there.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This was our first time and a special occasion. The dinner was out of this world. Food presentation was a work of art. The wait staff was very pleasant and attentive. It's a small dinning room but there is seating on the porch. The view was most beaatiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great views of the mountains.
Great food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.