Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge

4.9
371 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
Dining at The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is one of Blowing Rock's most elegant and relaxed experiences. The cuisine is a blend of fresh local ingredients artfully prepared by our award winning culinary team under the watchful eyes of Chef Hunter Womble. Dine Al-Fresco or in our intimate European styled dining room. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace, then dine, from a light evening meal to a special celebration. Appropriate for children over 12 with sophisticated palettes.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary European, Vegetarian / Vegan
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tuesday - Saturday 6:00 - 9:00
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(828) 295-3644
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Hunter Womble
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Private Lot and Valet available
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine
What 371 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.9based on recent ratings
4.9
food
4.9
service
4.9
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Chef is absolutely amazing. One of my favorite restaurants of all time. Lamb and Pork dishes so special! Lamb shank and Lamb sirloin to die for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I both had the softshell crab and lamb. Such amazing dishes. Chef Hunter has a personal approach to both the meal and customers that Is marvelous. One of the finest meals and dining experiences we've ever had. Wonderful service as well. The Gideon Ridge Inn Restaurant has few equals.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Amazing. This place continues to be exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

It's been awhile since our last visit but everything we love about Gideon Ridge is still there. The same wonderful selection of apps and entrees as well as the interesting wine list. To be sure, it's not that the menu doesn't change -- it does, fairly frequently -- but rather the quality selections and wide array of choices are always there. Also as usual, the service was outstanding and it was nice to have the opportunity to discuss some of the selections with Hunter, the executive chef, on several of his stops by our table. All in all it was a lovely experience that my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed. That's another thing that never changes about Gideon Ridge -- and that's what makes it consistently wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Wonderful dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

We were in town and it was highly recommended. Did not disappoint

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Beautiful venue, gorgeous place, wonderful food and exceptional service!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Outstanding. Food was freshly prepared and presentation lovely. We enjoyed a salad, which was extremely fresh and flavorful, as well as mushroom jalapeno soup. For entrees, I selected the Shrimp & Grits, a southern fare. Shrimp were firm and delicious! My husband opted for the fresh Tuna, seared to medium rare. Also fabulous. Drinks were generous as well. Ambiance is excellent. Stone building with views of Grandfather mountain. This is a gem. We will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Everything was excellent! Lovely setting with mountains as backdrop. Service and food were wonderful. A very romantic setting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Beautiful venue. Wide variety and excellent preparation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Superb from beginning to end....as always. Gideon is where we take our guests and where we always go for special occasions. Hunter and team NEVER disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Caught the sunset on the porch. Great food! Steaks were perfect with the fat already trimmed off. OUTSTANDING service! THIS Alexa is the best server ever!! No comparison to that "other" Alexa stuck in a speaker. This is the REAL deal in service at it's finest from the time you walk in the door!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 27, 2018

My wife and I are in our 80's and generally pleased with our dining experience. However, I don't think it rises to the highest level as to value. My food was good but not outstanding. My wife's was also good and perhaps better than mine. The amount of vegetables served, in my opinion, did not balance out well with the quantity of meat served. Our waitress was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

We have dined at Restaurant while staying at Gideon Ridge Inn for our anniversary for years and it's the most wonderful dining experience! The atmosphere, service, the selection and especially the food is just amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Valentine's Day provided the motivation to finally visit Gideon's Ridge. Our expectations were high, but the evening exceeded them. We enjoyed a cocktail and beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains sunset on the porch and one of the best dinners you could imagine. Even in February Chef Hunter stayed committed to local food sourcing and it lent itself to creative and delicious items. The clams were special; not the usual garlic, wine butter sauce but a subtle bacon flavored broth with edamame nuts. The clams got to stand out for themselves. The cauliflower soup was outstanding, and both our lamb and halibut entrees were memorable. Their pastries/desserts were on par with the meal. After all this raving, you may wonder how I could say that the service was even better. Our waiter Rob was charming, knowledgeable, helpful and engaged us at the perfect level of friendly and attentive but not intrusive. Chef Hunter must have visited our table at least twice (as he did to all the other guests). He was genuinely interested in our satisfaction, displayed his sense of humor and showed his pride in his work in the right way. All of this is in a quiet, cozy, beautifully rustic dining room. We will be headed back soon. If didn't already live in the area we would probably be planning to stay for a weekend this spring!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Wow, what an amazing meal. Some of the best food I’ve had. Loved talking to the chef and discussing why he chose certain menu items and how he puts flavors together. Amazing amazing view right at sunset. Totally loved everything about our evening here!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Just an amazing place. You will not be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

They took our coats upon arrival and promptly took our drink order while we waited for our table in the "library". We met a wonderful couple while waiting and enjoying our beverages. The eating area was quaint, intimate and romantic. It is a small place, but we did not feel like we were too close to anyone. The food was terrific. We shared the meat and cheese board, the pate' and the lamb shank. The chef came out to greet the table and told us a little about the food. Definitely worth it and we look forward to coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Wonderful spot. Food, service and space...first class! Intimate and personal attention to detail from pre dining drinks before the fire through perfect food pairings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Excellent setting and service. Lamb shank was awesome. Would recommend without hesitation

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Chef Hunter and his staff are amazing. Undoubtedly one of the best meals ever. This is our favorite restaurant and I have NEVER had anything I wasn’t satisfied with. Love this restaurant and lodging!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Wonderful dinner and service!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Lovely as always. Chef Hunter visted the tables and chatted with everyone. View is spectacular. Can't wait to go in summer to sit outside. Presentation is excellent. Grouper was perfectly cooked and easy to chew. Steak was cooked to perfection. Great blend of flavors.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

The food was perfectly prepared and delicious! Great service and try to get a table near the windows, what a view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 23, 2018

Excellent food and service with an unmatched atmosphere! Highly recommended!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

....as always, the food was superb and the service was outstanding. Worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

We eat here every time we are in Blowing Rock. The meals are always incredible!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Great atmosphere. Great service. Amazing food!! Wine was great toon! I plan to go again very soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2017

One of the best restaurants and dining experiences I've ever enjoyed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

Food was fantastic! Service was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Brilliant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Found this on Open Table and it sure was a gem!! All the reviews were right --- quaint, small restaurant with unbelievable food. Great service from the servers and the chef visited our table several times to explain how food was prepared and after we received it. Great little Inn that is very old and warm. It is a real find. Menu is specific and has around 10 appetizers, 3 salads and 5-6 entrees. We sampled several main courses and a couple of different salads and appetizers. All were excellent, but the lamb chops were incredible. I had the pork tenderloin and that was awesome too. I'll find an excuse to go to Blowing Rock to eat at this place again!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2017

was a wonderful evening. have been there several times and each time is special and unique

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Classy place. Somewhat pricey as portions are rather small and you will likely need an app and or salad. The tuna was excellent. Hunter the chef is great and comes out checking on guests. Deserts are very small and next visit I'll skip that. A great place for a special quiet evening. Beautifully decorated. The entrees are wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2017

What an amazing place! The restaurant is part of a bed and breakfast (which itself is amazing). It's small, quaint and cozy -- maybe 10 tables although in nice weather they do have patio seating. The view of the mountains is breath-taking. The staff was very attentive, and even the chef came out to check on us. What really stands out about this place is the food. Even though we were staying at the inn, we were hesitant to eat at the restaurant because the menu just didn't sound that good. We're so glad we gave it a chance. It was probably the best meal each of us have ever had. We started with the artisan cheese plate, which had some fantastic pickled vegetables included -- and we don't even like pickled vegetables). I had the pork loin with farro risotto, roasted squash, carrots, and green beans with a bourbon maple glaze -- tender, flavorful, and a beautiful presentation. My wife (vegetarian) had the basil tomato soup and brussel sprout salad with pickled onions (those pickled veggies again) and balsamic reduction. She liked it so much she wanted to order it again! We split a dessert that was great too. Earlier in the afternoon we had also enjoyed some wine on the outside deck. (They have an afternoon tea with some on-site made baked goods. We timed our wine to take advantage of those baked goods.) Overall - great place. Great food. Great service. We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2017

Food, ambiance, service at Gideon Ridge was absolutely AWESOME! We have traveled and dined internationally and not been treated as well as at Gideon Ridge!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 15, 2017

simply fabulous. could not ask for better food, service and ambience.
A stunning, intimate dining experience and would recommend to stay in the inn.
The staff cater to your every need to make it a stress free, enjoyable, memorable visit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 14, 2017

I have lived in Blowing Rock for more than 27 years. I was extremely pleased with food, ambiance, and service at the Gideon Ridge! This restaurant is now on my annual dining schedule.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 9, 2017

Food and Service was great.

Great view!

real nice setting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 7, 2017

Food and service were excellent!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10