About The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge

202 Gideon Ridge Rd
Blowing Rock, NC 28605
View Larger Map

Dining at The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is one of Blowing Rock's most elegant and relaxed experiences. The cuisine is a blend of fresh local ingredients artfully prepared by our award winning culinary team under the watchful eyes of Chef Hunter Womble. Dine Al-Fresco or in our intimate European styled dining room. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace, then dine, from a light evening meal to a special celebration. Appropriate for children over 12 with sophisticated palettes.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary European, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6:00 - 9:00

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard

Phone Number:
(828) 295-3644

Website:
http://www.gideonridge.com/

Parking Details:
Private Lot and Valet available

Executive Chef:
Hunter Womble

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville / W. North Carolina
7 More
Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Value
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Scenic View
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / W. North Carolina
American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Blowing Rock
Best Restaurants in Blowing Rock ›

scenic view (40)
special occasion (39)
romantic (38)
See All
fit for foodies (33)
great for outdoor dining (14)
notable wine list (14)
neighborhood gem (13)
good for groups (2)
great for lunch (1)
late-night find (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very classy restaurant with wonderful ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

A very classy restaurant with wonderful, service, ambiance, views and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the Gideon ridge restau ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything about the Gideon ridge restaurant was terrific. The chef prepared an outstanding special for the day with local ingredients. Our server was attentive but not overly which allowed us to enjoy our time together. The overall experience was excellent and made a great memory. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner. Very special. Food w ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Anniversary dinner. Very special. Food was wonderful as was the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

I just had lunch with friends and the first thing I told them was about Gideon's Ridge. The staff makes you feel so welcome and appreciated. The food is outstanding. If offered, get the cheese plate as an appetizer. I will continue to recommend the restaurant to everyone I have the chance. We will be back again and again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Evening!!!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Took my wife hear as a surprise for our 32nd wedding anniversary. Couldn't have asked for a better evening. The food was wonderful and our server, David, took such good care of us. Even comped one of our desserts when he found out it was our wedding anniversary. Perfect evening out with my best girl! Would definitely go back again and ask for David!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was delish!

Dined on April 22, 2016

We are always please with our experience here. The food is prepared with artistry and is so tasteful. Hunter Womble, the executive chef works wonders with his offerings.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best of Blowing Rock!

Dined on April 20, 2016

From drinks on the varenda overlooking a perfect sunset view to a menu that changes weekly according to Chefs freshest possibilities, Gideon Ridge offers nothing but perfection. The wait staff are so knowledgable and can recommend dishes according to your individual taste as well as tell you the history of the recipe and where Chef Hunter discovered the dish? .....France....Italy? Wonderful surprises as well as local flavors delight your senses!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Beautiful presentation; superb staff; aw ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Beautiful presentation; superb staff; awesome food and incredible views!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

We arrived a few minutes early specifically to enjoy some back porch/huge views/comfy lounge chairs/warm-blanket-on-a-cool-evening time. A perfect beginning to our evening. Everything else fell right in line. The appetizer (pork belly - oh.my.word.), entrees, desserts, service, visit from the chef (which he does on a regular basis), were all perfect. One of my all-time favorite dining experiences at one of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent

Dined on April 6, 2016

The food and service was excellent but it is pricy. While I rate it highly there are other restaurants in Blowing Rock that are just as good and offer a better value

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome place!

Dined on April 1, 2016

We stayed at Gideons Ridge for the our third visit and love the restaurant! Great food!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Dining Experience!

Dined on March 25, 2016

We stayed at the Inn for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary, and could not have been treated any better by the entire dining staff. The setting, the service, and the food - ALL were perfect!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge

Dined on March 25, 2016

We were looking for gluten free options and the entree choices at Restaurant at Gideon Ridge has the flexibility for that. The food is fresh and flavorful, and allows them to make delicious substitutes for our requested choice. The duck dish was the best that I have had. It had a wonderful mix of sweet and salty, and a lot of other natural flavors. The staff is very knowledgeable and provided excellent service, the chef also went out of his way to talk to customers. The view is breathtaking and the ambience is great. I highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the Boone/Blowing Rock area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved it so much we went back 3 nights later

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

The restaurant had been recommended by friends that had stayed at the inn. So glad we finally got around to trying the restaurant. Food and service was wonderful. The view outstanding. One of our kids and spouse were visiting during the weekend and we took them to the restaurant 3 nights later. Again, we all enjoyed the meals, drinks and the view.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best of the Best in the High Country

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Gideon Ridge is the best local restaurant in Blowing Rock and the High Country. Most recently we enjoyed both the lamb and the steak. Both were delicious and presented beautifully. We also enjoyed the home made ice cream cookie as well as the chocolate peanut butter cake with banana ice cream. Both were fabulous. The staff is always focused on providing excellent service and Jackson does a fabulous job. One of the things I love about GR is that each course is served to all guests at the table at once. No one has to wait while other dishes come slowly from the kitchen. The view is spectacular and the warm, small setting offers fine dining at its best. Parking is on the premises and reservations are a must! Cheers and enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A super anniversary supper at Gideon Ridge

Dined on March 19, 2016

Recently, my wife and I celebrated our 46th anniversary with dinner at The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge in Blowing Rock. We were delighted with the entire evening. The view, the service, and the food were all outstanding! We definitely will be back and we highly recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Hidden Gem

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

My parents, husband and self came up to stay at the Inn for my mother's 60th birthday. We decided to eat at the Restaurant at Gideon Ridge because of other wonderful reviews we read. I have to say that I am truly impressed. The food was amazing as well as the presentation of it. It is a quaint and quiet spot for dinner, perfect for special occasions and romantic evenings! Especially with the mountain views. The servings are perfect, not to small and not to large, so as to enjoy their offerings for salads, soups and appetizers as well as for their wonderful entrees. The Seared Ahi Tuna was one of the best that I have ordered, as well as their Steak entree. Whenever we visit Blowing Rock, we will most definitely come back here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Culinary

Dined on February 27, 2016

Jackson ,our waiter was outstanding and hands down -Hunter's food amazing !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

We will go again. The food was wonderfu ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We will go again. The food was wonderful and the setting was beautiful. It was a great place to take my wife for Valentines dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience.

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food is amazing, the service is top notch, and the cozy atmosphere all make this a truly outstanding dining experience. I highly recommend this wonderful restaurant! Top notch in every way!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Didn't see the view but A-1 service

Dined on February 12, 2016

The food!!!! All of the of the food was mouthwatering! That is the only way to describe it! The staff was very nice! Very very world class professional experience! And So romantic! A bed and breakfast in the mountains far away from my home in West Palm Beach is whatmy wife and I needed! You have to do this once before you live this earth, I recommend that you go during the day so you can see the view I made my reservation in the evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful evening at Gideon Ridge

Dined on February 11, 2016

My wife and I took a short trip to Blowing Rock and we're lucky enough to receive a recommendation about Gideon Ridge. Needless to say, we were not disappointed and will now recommend this restaurant to all of our friends visiting the Blowing Rock/Boone area! The service is attentive, but not overbearing and the food is simply delicious. The ever changing menu highlights local fare and everything that we tasted was incredibly fresh with bright flavors and thoughtful accents and garnishes. The wine list and drink menu are not extensive, but, like the food, are well thought out and complimentary to the main dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great fine dinning in the High Country

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

My wife and I ate at the restaurant at Gideon Ridge this past weekend and it did not disappoint. We have eaten there several times before and it continues to be a very good experience. The menu is creative and well thought out. The wine list is very good and extremely reasonably priced. The cooking is executed well. Simply put, there is a reason it is the highest rated restaurant in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent ALWAYS

vip
Dined on January 14, 2016

This restaurant is the GEM of the mountains. It is romantic and always absolutely perfect in every way. Chef Womble cannot be beat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Place for aCouples Dinner

Dined on December 27, 2015

We always try to have one dinner at Gideon Ridge whenever we are in Blowing Rock. This time it was our Wedding Anniversary and it was a great decision. The food is superb and the service is truly five star!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding visit

Dined on December 16, 2015

My wife and I spent our 37th anniversary at Gideon Ridge. The service, food, and accomodations were all top notch. There were great selections on the menu that chef Hunter changed daily. We have stayed in the high country several times and have dined there many times. We rate Gideon Ridge tops. Views from the dining room and patio were breathtaking. The only problem we had was with the gas log fireplaces in the room and bath. Otherwise, everything was top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary celebration

vip
Dined on December 2, 2015

We love the Resturant at GR. As residents of Blowing Rock, we dine here as much as we can and are NEVER disappointed. The staff, including Jackson and Chef Hunter are the best. We celebrated out 47th anniversary and had fabulous food and wonderful ambience. The small restaurant offers the best food in the High Country . The food is creative, well prepared, and locally sourced when possible. We enjoy the strip steak, the pork chop, the beet salad, any of the soups, and all of the desserts with the spice cake being a winter favorite. Most recently I had the Brussels sprouts and chicken pie which were both rich, flavorful, and delicious. We are always made to feel that the staff is glad we are dining with them. We especially like their wine selection with a Patz and Hall pinot noir being one of our favorites. Living in a small town we are so appreciative to have a premier restaurant located in our little village. Reservations are a must. In fair weather, the view is spectacular! Cheers!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great all-around

Dined on December 1, 2015

4 of us dined for dinner the last evening of our vacation to the mountains. Everyone enjoyed the creative take on all our dishes... salads, entrees and desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

great food and service

Dined on November 22, 2015

The food was wonderful and service impressive. I enjoyed the shrimp and grits. The only down sides were difficult to find and parking.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Quiet, cozy, romantic dining atmosphere ...

Dined on November 4, 2015

Quiet, cozy, romantic dining atmosphere in a relaxed mountain inn....lovely!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5

HIDDEN GEM

vip
Dined on October 29, 2015

THIS IS ONE GREAT RESTAURANT. WHAT AN UNEXPECTED FIND. CHEF HUNTER IS VERY CREATIVE WITH DIFFERENT INGREDIENTS HE SOURCES TO TURN OUT SOME WONDERFUL DELICIOUS FOOD. THIS HARD TO FIND PLACE IS A MUST FOR ANYONE WANTING TO ENJOY ONE OF THE BEST MEALS THEY HAVE HAD IN A LONG TIME. THE CHEF ALSO MAKES AN EFFORT TO COME OUT AND THANK HIS GUEST FOR DINING AT THE RESTAURANT.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Good but Not Great

Dined on October 27, 2015

My wife had a very good pork dish which was very tender and flavorable. I had a black tiger shrimp dish which was okay but very bland and nothing special.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun on the mountain

Dined on October 23, 2015

This was my first visit to Gideon Ridge. Had friends in from out of town. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meal and loved the ambiance. We were there for dinner after dark so couldn't enjoy the views, but expect they would be spectacular on a clear day.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in the mountains

Dined on October 22, 2015

Have dined here many times over the last 10 years. The food just keeps getting better.Thanks to Hunter the chef. Everything about this place is wonderful. The entire staff including our server Kelsey were a delite. Don't miss an opportunity to experience this noteable restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience

Dined on October 22, 2015

Had a wonderful dinner. Food was not only delicious, but beautifully presented. Each dish was a masterpiece. Staff was friendly and our server was very helpful and knowledgeable about discussing special dishes and also recommending some choices. The ambiance was great, view spectacular and service triple A. Plan to visit the restaurant again when I we are in that location again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food and staff.

Dined on October 20, 2015

We elected to sit out doors on the patio even though the weather was cool. The waiter brought me a throw and moved the heater closer to us. The food was the best we had on our trip and this included three very nice restaurants in Ashville, NC. The waiter was attentive but not overly so. The view was spectacular, looking over the Blue Ridge Mountains. I wish we could have stayed longer at this lovely Inn and restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

WOW!

vip
Dined on October 20, 2015

We felt like we were having dinner at a friends house. The views are incredible. Having a drink on the patio looking over the mountains, a chill in the air, given a blanket to keep warm and drink in hand is about as good as it gets. Dinner was very special, like it has been cooked just for you which it has. Duck, steak, rabbit liver, outstanding. Our server knew all the preparation steps and had actually made one of the desserts himself. The chef came by to talk. Very special evening. Quiet comfortable dining. Nothing could have been better.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The best dining experience ever!!

Dined on October 20, 2015

The Chef is Awesome!! Best dining experience ever and I have had some great dining

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Superb Dining

Dined on October 19, 2015

My wife and I were staying at the Inn and had chosen to dine at the Inn rather than driving back to town. We made the right decision. Both our meals, the duck and pork tenderloin, were excellent. We had dined the previous evening at an excellent restaurant in Asheville and were reluctant to even have dinner that night. That would have been a mistake as our dinner was one of the best we had. We shared a dessert that was just as superb as our main course. If you are in Blowing Rock we would highly recommend you dine at the Gideon Ridge Inn.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were exceptional!

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

The food and service were exceptional!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.