About The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge

202 Gideon Ridge Rd
Blowing Rock, NC 28605
View Larger Map

Dining at The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is one of Blowing Rock's most elegant and relaxed experiences. The cuisine is a blend of fresh local ingredients artfully prepared by our award winning culinary team under the watchful eyes of Chef Hunter Womble. Dine Al-Fresco or in our intimate European styled dining room. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace, then dine, from a light evening meal to a special celebration. Appropriate for children over 12 with sophisticated palettes.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary European, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6:00 - 9:00

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard

Phone Number:
(828) 295-3644

Website:
http://www.gideonridge.com/

Parking Details:
Private Lot and Valet available

Executive Chef:
Hunter Womble

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

5.0

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville / W. North Carolina
8 More
Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Value
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Outdoor Dining
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Scenic View
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / W. North Carolina
American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Blowing Rock
Best Restaurants in Blowing Rock ›

Scenic View (57)
Special Occasion (57)
Great for Outdoor Dining (56)
See All
Romantic (52)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Notable Wine List (10)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Historic (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
211 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our favorite place to have a date night ...

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our favorite place to have a date night in Blowing Rock! Go just before sunset and enjoy the changing colors of the sky as the sun goes down.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal at the restauran ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at the restaurant during our stay at the inn. Food was superb. Nice wine list. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely setting. Couldn't ask for better! ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Lovely setting. Couldn't ask for better! I highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and environment outstanding. Serve ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food and environment outstanding. Server David was excellent. Thx to Chef Hunter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best dining experiences we ha ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

One of the best dining experiences we have had in years. Great service and food in a lovely setting. Will always go back here when in Blowing Rock.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we arrived until we left ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

From the moment we arrived until we left everything was perfection- The ambience, service food and attention to detail were spot on-

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding menu selection using local i ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Outstanding menu selection using local ingredients and fresh seafood brought from the coast daily. Great presentation. Chef comes out to check on customer satisfaction.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply great. The food was fresh and we ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Simply great. The food was fresh and well prepared. Arguably the best restaurant in WNC and I've been in most of the choices. Chef Womble told us, during one of his two visits to our table, that he ordered my striped bass that morning and it was received at 4 pm. It was just outstanding in preparation, presentation, and taste. My wife had the lamb shank and loved it. Every course was top notch. Excellent wine list as well. Looking forward to a future visit to Blowing Rock and the Ridge.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect evening for patio dining to cele ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Perfect evening for patio dining to celebrate husband's birthday. Patio spot was ideal for quiet conversation and beautiful views on woodland garden. Wait staff was excellent. Menu was creative; prep and presentation followed the lead.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, professional service and ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent food, professional service and a beautiful view. One of our favorite restaurants in the high country. Would recommend it for anyone looking for a good meal in a beautiful setting.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting... Relaxed yet elegant ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Beautiful setting... Relaxed yet elegant dining. Enjoyed meeting the chef and our waiter (red hair) was very accommodating and friendly. Worth every penny!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff, beautiful, charming old ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Friendly staff, beautiful, charming old inn. The terrace was perfect and the food was amazing. Our favorite meal of the week that we had in NC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Limited menu. Cocktail ordered was "ove ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Limited menu. Cocktail ordered was "over vermouthed". Fish dish was excellent. Soup should have been described as "hungarian" as was full of paprika.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely great service and all dining ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Absolutely great service and all dining experience exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The porch makes you feel like your in a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The porch makes you feel like your in a tree house. Even tho it was raining, it was still an experience being out there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded expectations. Service, Staff, a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Exceeded expectations. Service, Staff, and food was exceptional. IT was a bit pricey so more suited for Special occasions as opposed to regular dinning. The facility and the view were also top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

GPS led us astray but we found it and it ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

GPS led us astray but we found it and it was so worth the drive. Beware of the road construction coming from Boone.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful outside seating options

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Beautiful outside seating options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I liked this spot so much that I'm almos ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I liked this spot so much that I'm almost hesitant to recommend it! Lovely view, outstanding food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view & ambiance was superb. We sat o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The view & ambiance was superb. We sat on an open patio overlooking the mountains. Our waitress was very friendly and informative. There was no rushing. Our table was ours for the night. The chef came out and visited each table.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife have been to this restaurant on ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My wife have been to this restaurant on just a dining night out as well as our last two anniversaries. There is not much more to say other then it is a Gem in the Mountains of North Carolina. Mountain ambiance , Great food well presented and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably the best restaurant overall in ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Probably the best restaurant overall in Blowing Rock.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner on the terrace on Saturday ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had dinner on the terrace on Saturday evening 7/16/16. A beautiful setting and an intriguing menu that had us debating the choices. Excellent, creative food and knowledgeable service, alerting us as to what was running low for the entrees.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Turn off of Hwy at the "The Blowing Rock ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Turn off of Hwy at the "The Blowing Rock" sign and then make a left on to Gideon's Ridge Lane. You'll soon find your at a spectacular viewing spot of the Blue Ridge Mountains at the restaurant site, and a few of the outdoor tables offer this view. Other outdoor tables have a beautiful view of the naturally landscaped backyard with Koi pond. Rabbits and deer can be seen passing by to graze in the evenings. The restaurant is inside a B&B and has a lot of old school charm. The service there will make you feel at home and the food is worth the $$. Be prepared to spend around $130 for 2 without ordering a bottle of wine. The menu offers chicken liver pate, unique and very fresh salads and the fish entree is always fresh caught that morning. A truly special place that's worth visiting! My date and I both had the grouper, and it was cooked perfectly. Try the german chocolate cake for dessert - it's special. Wine list is impressive, and they also offer good wines by the glass. I had a glass of the red blend and it's velvety smooth. They also have a nice offering of homemade mixed drinks. Loved that the chef even stopped by our table to be sure we were happy. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The total package; Ambiance, great food ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The total package; Ambiance, great food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely perfect with attention to eve ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Absolutely perfect with attention to every detail. I am gluten sensitive and the chef went out of his way to make sure it was as yummy as my non-digestively challenged husband’s meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic !!! Our best meal in Blowing R ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Fantastic !!! Our best meal in Blowing Rock !!!

Chef visited the table several times.

Small place with excellent service....did I mention the views !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! First rate on all counts - se ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Delicious! First rate on all counts - service, food quality, ambiance. Loved it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been coming to Blowin ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My wife and I have been coming to Blowing Rock for many years. This year we decided to try Gideon Ridge for our anniversary dinner and were not disappointed. The service was outstanding, the drinks and wine were first class and the food was definitely some of the best we've ever had anywhere in the world. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This visit was our fourth visit. We hav ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This visit was our fourth visit. We have never been disappointed. This evening a bad wind storm struck just after we arrived. The staff had to make changes with the outside dining (which is wonderful when weather permits). The transition was very smooth...everyone working quietly and efficiently. We, thankfully, were seated in the first dining room. Another delightful evening at Gideon on the Ridge.. . love this place! Our waitress was wonderfully attentive. The Chef visited our table to make sure we were satisfied. Martha Bodie ..

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolute must if you are in the Blowi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

An absolute must if you are in the Blowing Rock area! This B&B has the entire package. Great location,views, indoor space, outdoor spaces both covered and open. Rooms are quaint and comfortable. The restaurant is superb in every way. The chef always has something interesting and perfectly prepared. Thanks again GR!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, food and views were awesome! Pr ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Service, food and views were awesome! Pricey but well worth it.

Our server were great. Chief Hunter came out and met us as he does routinely I understand. Probably the deserts were our least favorite. The entrees and appetizers were unbelievable.

Will certainly return when in Blowing Rock. The food was absolutely wonderful!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Gideon Ridge on at leas ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We have dined at Gideon Ridge on at least 3 or 4 occasions, usually as part of a road trip along the Blue Ridge Parkway and usually to celebrate either our anniversary or a birthday. It is a very intimate dining scene, especially outside on the covered terrace! This visit, as it poured down rain, we enjoyed our dinner immensely ... as always! The menu is somewhat limited but so varied that we have never had a problem making a choice. The food preparations are beautiful and everything is delicious!! Portions are good-sized, to the point where this time, we finally ordered a single entree to share and had more than enough to eat! The Artisian Cheese plate is always a delight, and the soups or salads are always interesting, and utilize fresh local produce as well as some unusual additions that have been delightful. The chef comes out to check on your dinner, and is so nice to talk to!! The wait staff is always attentive. We stay at the Inn as a special treat to ourselves, and the dinners we have had there make our stay just that much more of a special treat

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was superb - from the food to ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Everything was superb - from the food to the service! Our waiter, Dave, was outstanding. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, and look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef's visit to the table, the eloqu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The chef's visit to the table, the eloquent presentation of food, the quality of the food, the lovely setting, the friendly wait staff were superb! I only missed a bit of bread and mire frequent attention to filling water glasses. I thought the sorghum cake was absolutely the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The menu...so fresh and creative, was wo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The menu...so fresh and creative, was wonderful to just read!

We had lamb shank and a summer succotash.

The tuna tartare was the best I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was a best pick! The out ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This restaurant was a best pick! The outdoor seating and the grounds are beautiful and offer an amazing view. Our server was very attentive and friendly. It is a very small dining area so reservations are highly recommended. We started with the escargot which was simply out of this world! My husband had the lamb shank which was fall off the bone and delicious! I ordered the pan seared salmon with a very light sauce. It was cooked to perfection! The chef comes out and goes to each table, which makes you feel very welcome. Gideon Ridge is truly a special dining option!! We will definitely return! Thank you for a beautiful evening!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is the go ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is the go to place for my wife and I for special occasions and celebrations. The food and service are second to none.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blowing Rock is busy and hectic with tou ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Blowing Rock is busy and hectic with tourists. Gideon Ridge takes you away from that.

We enjoyed sitting outside on the porch; it was very pleasant and relaxing. Everyone treated us as if we were guests in their home. Food was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wow! We almost cancelled our reservation ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Wow! We almost cancelled our reservation because we didn't want to go to someplace that was stuffy and it turns out we had the best meal and nicest servers of our stay. The escargot was out of this world, nice to find them springy and earthy tasting. The squid was delicious, as well as the homemade pasta. The bone marrow appetizer was a great surprise to find on the menu and so well prepared. And the lamb shank was prepared perfectly, fall off the bone and moist. The wait staff was very friendly and well trained. This place is a gem. Oh and the view!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.