Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.65mi
  2. Distance: 2.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.49mi
  4. Distance: 2.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.65mi
  2. Distance: 2.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.49mi
  4. Distance: 2.51mi

About The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge

Dining at The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is one of Blowing Rock's most elegant and relaxed experiences. The cuisine is a blend of fresh local ingredients artfully prepared by our award winning culinary team under the watchful eyes of Chef Hunter Womble. Dine Al-Fresco or in our intimate European styled dining room. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace, then dine, from a light evening meal to a special celebration. Appropriate for children over 12 with sophisticated palettes.

202 Gideon Ridge Rd
Blowing Rock, NC 28605
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary European, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6:00 - 9:00

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard

Phone Number:
(828) 295-3644

Website:
http://www.gideonridge.com/

Parking Details:
Private Lot and Valet available

Executive Chef:
Hunter Womble

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Cozy (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Authentic (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Seasonal (7)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Healthy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
334 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

simply fabulous. could not ask for better food, service and ambience.
A stunning, intimate dining experience and would recommend to stay in the inn.
The staff cater to your every need to make it a stress free, enjoyable, memorable visit!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2017

I have lived in Blowing Rock for more than 27 years. I was extremely pleased with food, ambiance, and service at the Gideon Ridge! This restaurant is now on my annual dining schedule.

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Food and Service was great.

Great view!

real nice setting.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Food and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Very attractive dining room. Very private tables in a cozy setting. Excellent service, stunning sunset views, and superb food. It’s a real special and unique dining experience. Very talented chef and staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Our 4th visit to Blowing Rock with a dinner dining reservation on each occasion. Wonderful for our anniversary weekend. We’ll return again on our next visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 27, 2017

A beautiful space, with an elegant yet comfortable feel. The views are incredible. Service was attentive but not intrusive. And the meal was amazing. Pumpkin farro risotto with pork tenderloin was stunningly flavorful. Roasted duck with goat cheese polenta and onion braised kale was equally delicious. We were not bowled over by the dessert (chocolate torte), but honestly, it would be tough to have impressed us more than the entrees. We visit the area often and will be adding this to our “must go” list for all future trips.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Took friends for a b'day celebration cause this restaurant NEVER disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 20, 2017

The restaurant did not disappoint. We go to Blowing Rock frequently and had never tried Gideon Ridge but had read the great reviews. So we decided to give it a try. Outstanding!! The food was "melt in your mouth" delicious, service was wonderful, and the view is breathtaking. We will return again soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

an outstanding dining experience! spectacular view of surrounding mtns. Food very good---sauces great!!! We were not rushed through our meal but were given time to enjoy the food and each other's company. Would recommend Gideon Ridge to anyone. We were treated like royalty from our arrival to our departure. You won't regret making this your dining choice, especially if the weather is good and you can sit outside prior to and for your actual meal.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 4, 2017

This is an absolute must when visiting the mountains. The ambiance inside and outside is magnificent. The food and service are excellent. Always a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 30, 2017

A hidden gem: Gideon's Ridge Restaurant
Small, charming atmosphere. If you can dine outside--do it! A most fabulous view.
Menu is divided into First, Second and Third courses. You can order any one thing (or more!) from each or one of the categories.

Great wine list: good value and good wine, too. Service is fabulous; you are never left waiting to order, to ask for something or have your water glass replenished. The chef came out twice to our table. He was gracious and happy with our response to his dishes. Presentation of each dish was lovely. NOT a "stuffy" place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This is the greatest restaurant in Blowing Rock!
Get a reservation and don't miss it!
Get the Lamb. Go early or late the view is incredible!
Don't tell your friends because it will become too crowded!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had dinner there to celebrate our one year anniversary. We had an excellent experience. Food and service outstanding. The chef came out to say hello and ask how everything was. Beautiful setting.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Best dining experience we had on our fall mountain trip.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Gideon restaurant and inn was suggested to us for our anniversary celebration and it was absolutely wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Waitstaff is excellent and attentive, Chef adds new items daily and the food is prepared from local fare. Scenic views of the mountains especially spectacular sunsets.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2017

This resturant is amazing. This is our third time dining and it amazes me each time.
It is a must when in Blowing Rock

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 31, 2017

AMAZING. Every bite. Delicious. Will be back. Wonderful service and 5 Star menu.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Wonderful, local, fresh ingredients, Great views - Worth the drive

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

As always Gideon Ridge Inn's restaurant did not disappoint! We brought friends who had not been there before, and they were very impressed, planning to bring their adult children along in the future. While it is a bit of a drive from Banner Elk, it was definitely worth it.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Beautiful Inn! Pretty view! Friendly staff.. food came out lukewarm and pork loin was lacking in flavor

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Gideon Ridge was absolutely phenomenal. From the inn itself to dinner, Gideon Ridge was hands down the highlight of our trip to Blowing Rock. The inn is quaint and comfortable, with a charming quality. Dinner was exquisite and one of the best meals I have ever had. The ambiance, the staff, and the chef himself are incredible. You must go if you ever find yourself in Blowing Rock.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambiance. We bought a gift certificate for good friends so the can enjoy.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Amazing food
Beautiful view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Exceptional on so many levels ....second time dining here in the last month and while one can not say it's cheap it is definitely value. The food was even better than our previous visit ...I only wish it was closer to home.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This is our absolute favorite restaurant in the Blowing Rock area. The beautiful setting is perfectly matched by carefully crafted dishes. And the service, which is beyond excellent, always makes us feel at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Never disappointing. Outstanding service & Food. The portions are a bit small, however the quality is very high. Tucked away on a Mountain top Ridge near Blowing Rock, with great views and some trails to explore. Best place for fine outdoor dining in the High Country Awesome Place.

Do not recommend for Children.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our favorite world class fine dining restaurant in the high country. View is spectacular and the food including service is as good as it gets. Expensive but well worth the money for those that appreciate fine dining at its best.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

I have enjoyed this great restaurant on 2 occasions food is excellent staff is attentive view is so nice. Parking is a little tight but all worth it. Chef came to out table each time and was very gracious. I will be back next trip to BR.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Wonderful. Outstanding service, and delicious dinner. Restaurant (and Inn) staff are gracious, friendly, and accommodating. Chef Hunter Womble has a real talent for marrying flavors and ingredients to create masterful offerings. Ambiance, setting, quality of food, and overall experience were exactly what we were looking for. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The total package, great setting with views, great service and the best food we have enjoyed in the area during our 10 week stay during the summer.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderful view, cool Inn. The food is exceptional. Look forward to returning.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Gideon Ridge is an excellent restaurant with a great staff and excellent views. The chef came out a couple of times to answer any questions we had, and of course receive our compliments on the excellent food! Several vegetarian options were available, and we were very satisfied with the entire experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

One of most outstanding restaurants in High Country as the views are spectacular and the food sensational. A not to be missed out of this world dining gem not just in North Carolina but also in US and rest of world!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This meal was one of the best I've ever experienced. The setting was lovely, cool and quiet during the hot summer. The food was fabulous. I had the lamb, and my husband had the steak. Both were perfect! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This was a delightful dining experience. Gideon Ridge Inn has beautiful mountains views, lovely setting in old home, and we enjoyed dining alfresco. Service was friendly and competent. Food was artfully presented and absolutely delicious. We enjoyed chanterelle bruscetta and melon, mint, cucumber salad and duck breast and salmon entrees - highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 6, 2017

First rate food and service. Delightful ambiance overlooking the mountains.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Wonderful food and ambiance. Marvelous for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.