Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.65mi
  2. Distance: 2.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.49mi
  4. Distance: 2.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.65mi
  2. Distance: 2.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.49mi
  4. Distance: 2.51mi

About The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge

Dining at The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is one of Blowing Rock's most elegant and relaxed experiences. The cuisine is a blend of fresh local ingredients artfully prepared by our award winning culinary team under the watchful eyes of Chef Hunter Womble. Dine Al-Fresco or in our intimate European styled dining room. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace, then dine, from a light evening meal to a special celebration. Appropriate for children over 12 with sophisticated palettes.

202 Gideon Ridge Rd
Blowing Rock, NC 28605
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary European, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6:00 - 9:00

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard

Phone Number:
(828) 295-3644

Website:
http://www.gideonridge.com/

Parking Details:
Private Lot and Valet available

Executive Chef:
Hunter Womble

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (34)
Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (31)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Worth the Drive (22)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Cozy (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Authentic (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Healthy (9)
Fireplace (7)
Historic (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
276 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Gideon's ridge was by far one of the best meals from start to finish my husband and I have ever experienced. The customer service was spot on. The food was delicious. The chef came out and spoke to each guest genuinely and engagingly. Thank you for an unforgettable 6 year anniversary. We hope to be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love this restaurant. The food is amazing! There is not one bad option on the menu. The chef Hunter is the nicest most talented chef!!! He makes his diners feel so welcome and makes sure he speaks with all of them. His dishes are a work of art. He finds local produce and locally produced items to use in his dishes. The servers are all so very nice and make each diner feel so special. Emily was our server this time and she was so very helpful and nice. The servers are all very knowledgeable about all the dishes and will help you make a selection. This was my second time dining there and it was just as special as the first time when Hunter fit us in without a reservation and treated us like we were long time friends. This place is one of the best restaurants in the area. The young woman who checks guests into the inn was beyond helpful by finding us a very nice inn to spend the night during a very busy graduation weekend in that area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Loved everything about this place! The food was outstanding, the service on point, & the views breathtaking. We loved the small intimate dining room, and if the weather is nice you can dine out on the terrace overlooking the mountains.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Gideon Ridge Restaurant has a nice rustic feel with terrific mountain views. Their menu, while somewhat limited, has a nice variety, and the food innovation and quality are the best. Service was top notch. We were a little disappointed in the wine recommendation, although it was acceptable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 10, 2017

awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always a wonderful experience, warm and inviting people and the food was excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was so highly recommended that we had to try it out. Get your reservations way in advance, but the food is worth it. The weather was lousy, so I can't say for sure what the view is like or if you can eat outside, but we had a very nice dinner nonetheless. My husband had the tilefish over curry rice and he enjoyed it very much. (I'm not a fan of curry, but I did try the tilefish and it was tasty.) The NY strip was very tender and I would definitely get it again. For dessert, GET THE RISOTTO FRITTERS, unless you don't like crispy deliciousness with a hint of sweetness drizzled with caramel and adorned with raspberries. I cannot emphasize enough how good those were. We already have reservations for the next time we are in Blowing Rock.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

This was our first experience at Gideon. We were celebrating our 49th anniversary and could nor have chosen better. The service, atmosphere, food, and our waitress exceeded our expectations. Thanks for making our evening so memorable and special

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual, Historic, Healthy, Authentic, Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fantastic dinner at Gideon Ridge! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Fabulous food, beautiful view, friendly staff. Guaranteed to be a special evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Gideon is a very special dining experience. Chef Hunter and the wait staff are remarkable. The food and wine are exceptional. We go for special occasions and each becomes an extra special memory!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Gideon's Ridge is a fabulous find. Tucked away, on a quiet cut-de-sac, just off the busy 321 Hwy--this is a little piece of heaven. A small, intimate dinner spot (which is part of the Gideon Ridge Inn--although open to the public.) Service was friendly, personable yet impeccable. Menu offered something for everyone: my foodie husband and my own not-so-adventurous (mostly vegetarian) palate. The food was lovely to look at and delicious to taste. We enjoyed an appetizer each, an entree and shared a fabulous dessert. We also quite enjoyed a rather inexpensive (for a restaurant) bottle of Pinot Noir. The wait staff was superb: our water glasses never got low and we were checked on frequently. Due to the intimate nature of this place, the chef visited every table, several more than once--a nice touch! The VIEW here is superb; looking out over the Blue Ridge mountains. Outdoor dining is offered in warmer weather. We will return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

What a lovely place to have a great meal: wonderful food (creative, delicious, seasonal), quiet beautiful dining room with mountain views, capable and friendly wait staff, a chef who comes out to say hello. It's our favorite High Country restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We love eating a Gideon Ridge...it is a perfect dining experience...the food, the setting, the service and the mood are all outstanding. It is a delight we return to time after time....talking with the chef is an extra perk that we enjoy!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The setting is beautiful with views of mountain ranges. The restaurant is very small with about 10 tables indoors and another 10 or so on an outdoor patio. The best views are out on the patio, but the nights are chilly. It's in an Inn. Next time we'll stay at the Inn. The food is very good. The desert was underwhelming. We had 3 drinks, 2 appetizers, 1 salad, 2 entrees, 2 deserts and one coffee for $180. So, it's expensive. Very nice for a special occasion. Stay at the Inn if you can.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

EXCELLENT - ALWAYS. BEST place in Blowing Rock. Staff and food are excellent. Ambiance is extraordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We were guests at the Inn so decided to eat there too. Food was fresh and local and delicious. Wait staff attentive but respected our privacy too. Beautiful view of the mountains. Best part was I ordered dessert but waited about an hour to pick it up and was able to eat it in our lovely room. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 22, 2017

One of the best restaurants we have had the pleasure of dining at - My husband and I love to find small, privately owned, unique spots and chose Gideon Ridge Inn based on that. To our pleasant surprise this has been our favorite thus far and we've ate at dozens all across the Southeast. The Chef, Hunter, took the time to come to our table to discuss the menu and then returned to make sure that everything was top notch. The waiter, Rob, was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. Most importantly, the food was absolutely delectable. I had the Salmon and my husband had the Duck and I cannot rave enough about the taste. The chef has a wonderful way of pairing flavors that everyone must try! To top it all off, the view is stunning. The restaurant itself has a very calming aura and to dine while looking out over the mountains is an experience. We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Gideon Ridge is exceptional for fine dining. Very quiet atmosphere and great views. Also, the waitstaff is extremely attentive.
Thank You for the use of your sitting room! The fire place made a great back drop to ask my girlfriend to marry me. Thanks!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Historic, Fireplace, Scenic View, Casual, Local Ingredients, Organic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food and service was amazing!!
my wife and I loved the atmosphere including the room we stayed in.
The staff was as wonderful as the view

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Historic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Seasonal, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Terrific meal as always. Hunter, the Chef, is great. Very creative menu that changes daily.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Have been here on several occasions. First time was excellent. Last two were mediocre at best. With a meal total in excess of $200 for three diners (with no alcohol), GR is extraordinarily priced for meager portions, above average cuisine and polite service. They're off our list now in Blowing Rock. Many other fine dining opptys from which to choose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Amazing food! The chef could not have done better! The duck was cooked to perfection. We loved the atmosphere and the staff were very attentive!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Enjoy this our first visit and we will be back. We had heard about it and glad we could make rsvp via OpenTable. Great service and food and as we have not been during daylight we can only imagine the view atop the mountain there.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Casual, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Historic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Essex)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My wife and I loved the meal, the service, food and it's presentation was outstanding. My only criticism was if we didn't ask the waitress to slow down the gap in between courses we would of finished in about 30 minutes. A restaurant of the quality of Gideon Ridge we would expect no to be in out the same as a fast food restaurant, however, we loved the meal and will return without hesitation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food, lovely setting, friendly attentive staff, great chef, who is very personable, and a cozy setting. This restaurant lacks nothing. Gideon Ridge is our favorite restaurant in Blowing Rock.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We couldn't have had a better time having dinner at Gideon Ridge! We were greeted by friendly and solicitous folks, served drinks in the library and spent some time on the porch watching the sunset. We were offered to sit at the chef's table which meant walking through the kitchen to get there. I love seeing a chef's working kitchen. The menu was delightful, hard to choose. The chef came in to explain how he prepares the dishes. We ordered 4 appetizers and then ordered our last course. I had the duck and it was spectacular. My friends all had the sirloin and they all loved it too. Needless to say, we were too full for dessert but next time we will plan ahead for that. I hope it will be soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was not great for the price. Not many choices. Wait staff looked unclean. The decor was not uniform. They tried to do fine dinning but failed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Outstanding . Will definitely add to our list of "favorites".

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Fantastic experience!
Will make this a special occasion regular. Need to go next get drinks and appetizers and sit out on terrace.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

G's is ALWAYS fantastic. Chef Womble and staff are incredible, decor is lovely, food is creative and fabulous. Worth the drive, if you don't live in Blowing Rock - worth the time if you live in Blowing Rock. A GEM in the town.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was absolutely wonderful and the service impeccable. There was some confusion over the temperature of my steak order, but it was promptly fixed and re-plated. The server then gave me an after dinner cocktail on the house for the mix up. Highly recommended!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Creative cuisine in warm and relaxed atmosphere. Beautiful location with a panoramic view of Appalachian mountains. Limited menu, prepared with care. The pate had been made that day, the soup was creative, the entree was good, the Sorghum cake with carmelized gelato was awesome, and the service was attentive without being intrusive or stuffy. Nice place for special occasions. Small dining area so reservations needed.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent food, service, view, and wine list. Will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The meal was a 6 course set menu on New Year's Eve. The first two courses were outstanding.
The salad was iffy with a large piece of squash anchoring it. The fourth course was again outstanding. The main course was not as beautifully presented and seemed a bit heavy with beef and a thick risotto, some veggies thrown over it. The dessert was quite good and different--a stuffed cupcake with wonderful frosting.
Since it was New Year's Eve they included a glass of prosecco. Also since it was New Year's you plate was whisked away as soon as you put your fork down.
One other problem, the parking lot had a circular driveway. When we arrived the owner had parked his truck in such a way as to block the driveway and we had to back out past a stone wall and other cars to find a parking place. Evidently he was just going to be there a short while to fix something, but, really, on New Year's Eve, you block the driveway?
For what it cost it was a little disappointing, but, we live in Durham and we are spoiled with our great restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

an amazing neighborhood gem, this is an example of how big things come in small
packages, only 10 tables , cozy feeling always great food

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Restaurant G as we know it is a High Country Gem. We try to go monthly for a wonderful setting and outstanding food. The house is historic and has breath-taking views of the mountains around Blowing Rock. Drinks in the living room by the fireplace is always a favorite before dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Best restaurant in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. A little hard to find in the dark but well worth the effort.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Duck and sorghum cake excellent. Oyster stew interesting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.