About The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge

202 Gideon Ridge Rd
Blowing Rock, NC 28605
View Larger Map

Dining at The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is one of Blowing Rock's most elegant and relaxed experiences. The cuisine is a blend of fresh local ingredients artfully prepared by our award winning culinary team under the watchful eyes of Chef Hunter Womble. Dine Al-Fresco or in our intimate European styled dining room. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace, then dine, from a light evening meal to a special celebration. Appropriate for children over 12 with sophisticated palettes.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary European, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6:00 - 9:00

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard

Phone Number:
(828) 295-3644

Website:
http://www.gideonridge.com/

Parking Details:
Private Lot and Valet available

Executive Chef:
Hunter Womble

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (24)
Scenic View (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Local Ingredients (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Cozy (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Authentic (8)
Historic (8)
Fireplace (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Seasonal (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (2)
Organic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food, service, view, and wine ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent food, service, view, and wine list. Will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal was a 6 course set menu on New ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The meal was a 6 course set menu on New Year's Eve. The first two courses were outstanding.

The salad was iffy with a large piece of squash anchoring it. The fourth course was again outstanding. The main course was not as beautifully presented and seemed a bit heavy with beef and a thick risotto, some veggies thrown over it. The dessert was quite good and different--a stuffed cupcake with wonderful frosting.

Since it was New Year's Eve they included a glass of prosecco. Also since it was New Year's you plate was whisked away as soon as you put your fork down.

One other problem, the parking lot had a circular driveway. When we arrived the owner had parked his truck in such a way as to block the driveway and we had to back out past a stone wall and other cars to find a parking place. Evidently he was just going to be there a short while to fix something, but, really, on New Year's Eve, you block the driveway?

For what it cost it was a little disappointing, but, we live in Durham and we are spoiled with our great restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Restaurant G as we know it is a High Co ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Restaurant G as we know it is a High Country Gem. We try to go monthly for a wonderful setting and outstanding food. The house is historic and has breath-taking views of the mountains around Blowing Rock. Drinks in the living room by the fireplace is always a favorite before dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best restaurant in the area.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Best restaurant in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and ambiance. A little h ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. A little hard to find in the dark but well worth the effort.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Duck and sorghum cake excellent. Oyster ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Duck and sorghum cake excellent. Oyster stew interesting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This cozy dining area attached to the Gi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This cozy dining area attached to the Gideon Ridge Inn is an intimate place for an exquisite meal in the mountains.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our favorite up scale restaurant ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This is our favorite up scale restaurant. We consider this a 5 star place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, service and atmosphere. Ev ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Amazing food, service and atmosphere. Everything was perfect. We will be back... soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I travel all over the us and like to try ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I travel all over the us and like to try nice restaurants and this place is my favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dining experience!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Amazing dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best meal I have had in quite some t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The best meal I have had in quite some time. Everything was prepared near perfectly. I was thoroughly impressed and will definitely be dining there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have know of this restaurant and its f ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I have know of this restaurant and its fine reputation for many years but just now ate there. All the good things I had heard about it are true, it was a wonderful dinning experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ambiance is charming. Very small with 10 ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Ambiance is charming. Very small with 10 tables and lovely mt. views. Food was good, appetizers and desserts GREAT

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Historic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We decided to try dishes we had never ha ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We decided to try dishes we had never had before. Lamb for me, duck for my husband. Both were absolutely delicious. For a special night out, prices were very reasonable. Gideon Ridge is a favorite of ours.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want fantastic food, great servic ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

If you want fantastic food, great service and a view that's second to none there is no other option for many many miles. This is the best place to eat in Blowing Rock and it's not even close. Is it pricey? Yep. Our total meal with 2 cocktails, 4 courses and tip was exactly $200. But, I'd go right back and pay again tonight. It's that good and they treat you well. Honestly 2 people can eat here for about 100 bucks and be happy, but we pushed it about as far as you can without dipping into the wine list. This is the best scenery we've enjoyed since our trip in Spain. Couldn't possibly have been happier.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to a lot of restaurants in a l ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I've been to a lot of restaurants in a lot of towns but this is by far the best I have ever had the pleasure to experience. Everything from the fact that they called me to advise me that I should come early if I wanted to see the sunset. Which was breathtaking. The hospitality of the staff. The food. The wine. All excellent. We did not care for our dessert. But it was free since it was my wife's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the best restaurant within 100 m ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This is the best restaurant within 100 miles of Blowing Rock and Boone NC. The food is always wonderful and the room is quiet elegance. This is a very small restaurant and you must make reservations at least a week in advance and probably two weeks during the summer. It only seats about 30 people at one time. It has a wonderful porch which over looks the Blue Ridge Mountains and enjoying a drink before dinner to see the view there is a must. There are always little twists with the daily menu and even things you usually don't like are presented well and have a flavor you did not expect. If you are in the area you must try this restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice evening,,,this is the number o ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 25, 2016

very nice evening,,,this is the number one spot in this area,,a very special evening ,,nothing over the top,,yet very nice quality dining experience

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food surpassed our expec ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The service and food surpassed our expectations. The menu changes often depending on the season and availability of local items. Try the brussel spout salad and wild mushroom bruschetta if it is on the menu. The view was amazing as well. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. The chef, ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Outstanding food and service. The chef, Hunter, makes it feel as if he is cooking for you personally. Best meal I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend the brussel sprout sala ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Highly recommend the brussel sprout salad. Lamb shank and grouper was delicious. In fact, from the appetizer to dessert, the meal was well worth the price. Service was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time here for our anniver ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a great time here for our anniversary. Everything we had was very good, from appetizer to entree. Service was great and the atmosphere was definitely good for a quiet date night. We will definitely go again and will recommend it to friends.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere and the service is ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and the service is impeccable.

It was a wonderful experience from beginning to end.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had some trouble getting there, cons ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We had some trouble getting there, construcion had traffic backed up both ways...however, once there, the experience was well worth the effort...5 stars in every catagory...

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have always had wonderful meals at t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We have always had wonderful meals at the restaurant at Gideon's Ridge. This dinner was excellent, enough so to make us book in again the next evening! The mushroom bruschetta was divine, the fruits de mer appetizer was delicious (use your spoon to get every drop of the yummy broth!) , and both of our entrees were outstanding. The duck breast was crisped on the outside, tender and tasty. The grouper was fresh, tasty, and a nice thickness. All of the accompanying sides were also delicious. The pomegranate cheesecake was the perfect finish. Service was attentive, and we enjoyed a visit from the chef. An outstanding meal; we will be back!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second time eating at the Gi ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is our second time eating at the Gideon Ridge Inn. The chef and food are amazing! The location and view is intimate and breathtaking. Our only minus this trip is that we felt somewhat abandoned by our server. Felt like we got more attention from the chef who comes out to visit and check on everyone (nice touch!), that we did our wait staff. Once the food was delivered to the table we didn't see her again until we had to flag her down to get the check. Perhaps they were understaffed that night . . . but it still wouldn't stop us from coming back on our next trip to Blowing Rock!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent as always ! Already booked for ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Excellent as always ! Already booked for next year for our visit. Hunter has a way with food

That looks as wonderful as it tastes! Can't wait for next time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience in a spect ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Outstanding dining experience in a spectacular setting.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty much a wonderful dining experienc ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Pretty much a wonderful dining experience this evening. Attentive yet not overbearing service, truly top-notch food and cocktails, and excellent desserts to top everything off. Do not miss the mushroom bruschetta appetizer! Not inexpensive but certainly worth the investment. We live 5 hours away but we shall return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food in a breathtaking setting ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Delicious food in a breathtaking setting. We both had the lamb shanks, a seasonal favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite place to have a date night ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our favorite place to have a date night in Blowing Rock! Go just before sunset and enjoy the changing colors of the sky as the sun goes down.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal at the restauran ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at the restaurant during our stay at the inn. Food was superb. Nice wine list. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely setting. Couldn't ask for better! ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Lovely setting. Couldn't ask for better! I highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and environment outstanding. Serve ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food and environment outstanding. Server David was excellent. Thx to Chef Hunter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best dining experiences we ha ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 2, 2016

One of the best dining experiences we have had in years. Great service and food in a lovely setting. Will always go back here when in Blowing Rock.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we arrived until we left ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2016

From the moment we arrived until we left everything was perfection- The ambience, service food and attention to detail were spot on-

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding menu selection using local i ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Outstanding menu selection using local ingredients and fresh seafood brought from the coast daily. Great presentation. Chef comes out to check on customer satisfaction.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply great. The food was fresh and we ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Simply great. The food was fresh and well prepared. Arguably the best restaurant in WNC and I've been in most of the choices. Chef Womble told us, during one of his two visits to our table, that he ordered my striped bass that morning and it was received at 4 pm. It was just outstanding in preparation, presentation, and taste. My wife had the lamb shank and loved it. Every course was top notch. Excellent wine list as well. Looking forward to a future visit to Blowing Rock and the Ridge.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect evening for patio dining to cele ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Perfect evening for patio dining to celebrate husband's birthday. Patio spot was ideal for quiet conversation and beautiful views on woodland garden. Wait staff was excellent. Menu was creative; prep and presentation followed the lead.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.