About The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge

202 Gideon Ridge Rd
Blowing Rock, NC 28605
View Larger Map

Dining at The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is one of Blowing Rock's most elegant and relaxed experiences. The cuisine is a blend of fresh local ingredients artfully prepared by our award winning culinary team under the watchful eyes of Chef Hunter Womble. Dine Al-Fresco or in our intimate European styled dining room. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace, then dine, from a light evening meal to a special celebration. Appropriate for children over 12 with sophisticated palettes.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary European, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6:00 - 9:00

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard

Phone Number:
(828) 295-3644

Website:
http://www.gideonridge.com/

Parking Details:
Private Lot and Valet available

Executive Chef:
Hunter Womble

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

5.0

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville / W. North Carolina
9 More
Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Value
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Outdoor Dining
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Scenic View
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / W. North Carolina
American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Blowing Rock
Best Restaurants in Blowing Rock ›

scenic view (65)
special occasion (63)
romantic (59)
See All
fit for foodies (51)
great for outdoor dining (46)
neighborhood gem (21)
notable wine list (15)
good for groups (3)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The view & ambiance was superb. We sat o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

The view & ambiance was superb. We sat on an open patio overlooking the mountains. Our waitress was very friendly and informative. There was no rushing. Our table was ours for the night. The chef came out and visited each table.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife have been to this restaurant on ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 7 days ago

My wife have been to this restaurant on just a dining night out as well as our last two anniversaries. There is not much more to say other then it is a Gem in the Mountains of North Carolina. Mountain ambiance , Great food well presented and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably the best restaurant overall in ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Probably the best restaurant overall in Blowing Rock.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner on the terrace on Saturday ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had dinner on the terrace on Saturday evening 7/16/16. A beautiful setting and an intriguing menu that had us debating the choices. Excellent, creative food and knowledgeable service, alerting us as to what was running low for the entrees.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Turn off of Hwy at the "The Blowing Rock ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Turn off of Hwy at the "The Blowing Rock" sign and then make a left on to Gideon's Ridge Lane. You'll soon find your at a spectacular viewing spot of the Blue Ridge Mountains at the restaurant site, and a few of the outdoor tables offer this view. Other outdoor tables have a beautiful view of the naturally landscaped backyard with Koi pond. Rabbits and deer can be seen passing by to graze in the evenings. The restaurant is inside a B&B and has a lot of old school charm. The service there will make you feel at home and the food is worth the $$. Be prepared to spend around $130 for 2 without ordering a bottle of wine. The menu offers chicken liver pate, unique and very fresh salads and the fish entree is always fresh caught that morning. A truly special place that's worth visiting! My date and I both had the grouper, and it was cooked perfectly. Try the german chocolate cake for dessert - it's special. Wine list is impressive, and they also offer good wines by the glass. I had a glass of the red blend and it's velvety smooth. They also have a nice offering of homemade mixed drinks. Loved that the chef even stopped by our table to be sure we were happy. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The total package; Ambiance, great food ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The total package; Ambiance, great food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely perfect with attention to eve ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Absolutely perfect with attention to every detail. I am gluten sensitive and the chef went out of his way to make sure it was as yummy as my non-digestively challenged husband’s meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic !!! Our best meal in Blowing R ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Fantastic !!! Our best meal in Blowing Rock !!!

Chef visited the table several times.

Small place with excellent service....did I mention the views !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! First rate on all counts - se ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Delicious! First rate on all counts - service, food quality, ambiance. Loved it!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been coming to Blowin ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My wife and I have been coming to Blowing Rock for many years. This year we decided to try Gideon Ridge for our anniversary dinner and were not disappointed. The service was outstanding, the drinks and wine were first class and the food was definitely some of the best we've ever had anywhere in the world. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This visit was our fourth visit. We hav ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This visit was our fourth visit. We have never been disappointed. This evening a bad wind storm struck just after we arrived. The staff had to make changes with the outside dining (which is wonderful when weather permits). The transition was very smooth...everyone working quietly and efficiently. We, thankfully, were seated in the first dining room. Another delightful evening at Gideon on the Ridge.. . love this place! Our waitress was wonderfully attentive. The Chef visited our table to make sure we were satisfied. Martha Bodie ..

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolute must if you are in the Blowi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

An absolute must if you are in the Blowing Rock area! This B&B has the entire package. Great location,views, indoor space, outdoor spaces both covered and open. Rooms are quaint and comfortable. The restaurant is superb in every way. The chef always has something interesting and perfectly prepared. Thanks again GR!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, food and views were awesome! Pr ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Service, food and views were awesome! Pricey but well worth it.

Our server were great. Chief Hunter came out and met us as he does routinely I understand. Probably the deserts were our least favorite. The entrees and appetizers were unbelievable.

Will certainly return when in Blowing Rock. The food was absolutely wonderful!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Gideon Ridge on at leas ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We have dined at Gideon Ridge on at least 3 or 4 occasions, usually as part of a road trip along the Blue Ridge Parkway and usually to celebrate either our anniversary or a birthday. It is a very intimate dining scene, especially outside on the covered terrace! This visit, as it poured down rain, we enjoyed our dinner immensely ... as always! The menu is somewhat limited but so varied that we have never had a problem making a choice. The food preparations are beautiful and everything is delicious!! Portions are good-sized, to the point where this time, we finally ordered a single entree to share and had more than enough to eat! The Artisian Cheese plate is always a delight, and the soups or salads are always interesting, and utilize fresh local produce as well as some unusual additions that have been delightful. The chef comes out to check on your dinner, and is so nice to talk to!! The wait staff is always attentive. We stay at the Inn as a special treat to ourselves, and the dinners we have had there make our stay just that much more of a special treat

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was superb - from the food to ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Everything was superb - from the food to the service! Our waiter, Dave, was outstanding. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, and look forward to our next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef's visit to the table, the eloqu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The chef's visit to the table, the eloquent presentation of food, the quality of the food, the lovely setting, the friendly wait staff were superb! I only missed a bit of bread and mire frequent attention to filling water glasses. I thought the sorghum cake was absolutely the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The menu...so fresh and creative, was wo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The menu...so fresh and creative, was wonderful to just read!

We had lamb shank and a summer succotash.

The tuna tartare was the best I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was a best pick! The out ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This restaurant was a best pick! The outdoor seating and the grounds are beautiful and offer an amazing view. Our server was very attentive and friendly. It is a very small dining area so reservations are highly recommended. We started with the escargot which was simply out of this world! My husband had the lamb shank which was fall off the bone and delicious! I ordered the pan seared salmon with a very light sauce. It was cooked to perfection! The chef comes out and goes to each table, which makes you feel very welcome. Gideon Ridge is truly a special dining option!! We will definitely return! Thank you for a beautiful evening!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is the go ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is the go to place for my wife and I for special occasions and celebrations. The food and service are second to none.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blowing Rock is busy and hectic with tou ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Blowing Rock is busy and hectic with tourists. Gideon Ridge takes you away from that.

We enjoyed sitting outside on the porch; it was very pleasant and relaxing. Everyone treated us as if we were guests in their home. Food was very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wow! We almost cancelled our reservation ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Wow! We almost cancelled our reservation because we didn't want to go to someplace that was stuffy and it turns out we had the best meal and nicest servers of our stay. The escargot was out of this world, nice to find them springy and earthy tasting. The squid was delicious, as well as the homemade pasta. The bone marrow appetizer was a great surprise to find on the menu and so well prepared. And the lamb shank was prepared perfectly, fall off the bone and moist. The wait staff was very friendly and well trained. This place is a gem. Oh and the view!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal for several courses. O ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Outstanding meal for several courses. One item was only available later than we arrived which I wished I had known but an excellent lamb tenderloin was substituted for the later preparation of lamb shanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful ambience! If the weather coop ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Wonderful ambience! If the weather cooperates, patio seating (covered) is outstanding! The menu is somewhat limited in choice but all items that we've had have been excellent. The personal service, even the visit by the chef, is warming. This is a great spot to celebrate a romantic special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to dinner four times @GR wi ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We have been to dinner four times @GR with friends and just my wife and I. Simply stated, each time has been simply superb; satisfying the most sophisticated palet. The succulent creations prepared by Chef Hunter and staff just cannot be surpassed!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and view. Our serve ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food, service and view. Our server was delightful and attentive. Would highly recommend Gideon Ridge as one of top 3 restaurants in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a beautiful spot. The back porch ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a beautiful spot. The back porch is idyllic for a drink, and probably dinner when it is a bit warmer. We generally enjoyed the dinner. We were the only table booked at 8 and by the end of the meal furniture was being rearranged around us! Since it was only 9.30 we did feel we could have been given a few minutes to finish our wine in peace!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Perfect place for a special occasion

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The view was amazing, the food superb. I would recommend this to anyone heading to Blowing Rock and looking to celebrate something special.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Farm to table food with great setting. R ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Farm to table food with great setting. Recommend sitting outside if weather permits.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We will return

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We had a fine waiter, but our entrée was very disappointing. We had planned to order the lamb shank, mentioned on the online menu. We had pork that was hard to cut and hard to chew. For the price is was not a good meal. The coffee and dessert on the porch was special. Our waiter was very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

A very classy restaurant with wonderful ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

A very classy restaurant with wonderful, service, ambiance, views and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the Gideon ridge restau ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything about the Gideon ridge restaurant was terrific.

The chef prepared an outstanding special for the day with local ingredients.

Our server was attentive but not overly which allowed us to enjoy our time together.

The overall experience was excellent and made a great memory. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner. Very special. Food w ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Anniversary dinner. Very special. Food was wonderful as was the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I just had lunch with friends and the first thing I told them was about Gideon's Ridge. The staff makes you feel so welcome and appreciated. The food is outstanding. If offered, get the cheese plate as an appetizer. I will continue to recommend the restaurant to everyone I have the chance. We will be back again and again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect Evening!!!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Took my wife hear as a surprise for our 32nd wedding anniversary. Couldn't have asked for a better evening. The food was wonderful and our server, David, took such good care of us. Even comped one of our desserts when he found out it was our wedding anniversary. Perfect evening out with my best girl! Would definitely go back again and ask for David!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was delish!

 
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We are always please with our experience here. The food is prepared with artistry and is so tasteful. Hunter Womble, the executive chef works wonders with his offerings.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of Blowing Rock!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

From drinks on the varenda overlooking a perfect sunset view to a menu that changes weekly according to Chefs freshest possibilities, Gideon Ridge offers nothing but perfection. The wait staff are so knowledgable and can recommend dishes according to your individual taste as well as tell you the history of the recipe and where Chef Hunter discovered the dish? .....France....Italy? Wonderful surprises as well as local flavors delight your senses!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful presentation; superb staff; aw ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Beautiful presentation; superb staff; awesome food and incredible views!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

We arrived a few minutes early specifically to enjoy some back porch/huge views/comfy lounge chairs/warm-blanket-on-a-cool-evening time. A perfect beginning to our evening. Everything else fell right in line. The appetizer (pork belly - oh.my.word.), entrees, desserts, service, visit from the chef (which he does on a regular basis), were all perfect. One of my all-time favorite dining experiences at one of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

The food and service was excellent but it is pricy. While I rate it highly there are other restaurants in Blowing Rock that are just as good and offer a better value

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome place!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We stayed at Gideons Ridge for the our third visit and love the restaurant! Great food!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.