The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge

4.9
394 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
Dining at The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is one of Blowing Rock's most elegant and relaxed experiences. The cuisine is a blend of fresh local ingredients artfully prepared by our award winning culinary team under the watchful eyes of Chef Hunter Womble. Dine Al-Fresco or in our intimate European styled dining room. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace, then dine, from a light evening meal to a special celebration. Appropriate for children over 12 with sophisticated palettes.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary European, Vegetarian / Vegan
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tuesday - Saturday 6:00 - 9:00
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(828) 295-3644
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Hunter Womble
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Private Lot and Valet available
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

First-class Inn and Restaurant! Dinner on the terrace at sunset with magnificent mountaintop views was stunning. Most of the menu is locally sourced, so varies with the season. We started with enhanced Fried Green Tomatoes, then Roasted Red Pepper bisque and finished with Duck Breast, which was the best I've ever had. Excellent Wine list and an incredible and most friendly staff topped off this wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Just an excellent restaurant in every respect. Food was good and the cocktails were well prepared.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

A very good early Father's Day dinner. Wonderful pate and mustard sauce with cherries; a beautiful seared scallop and a great farmhouse salad capped by a creme brulee made for a fine holiday meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Our group of four dined at Gideon Ridge for a birthday celebration. We asked to be seated outside if weather permitted, and we had a table on a lower patio overlooking beautiful gardens, with views of the smoky mountains in front of us and behind. Service, food, and ambience all exceeded our expectations. We would definitely return for a special occasion in the future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Will definitely come back. Kristin and Emily were great servers. Excellent food and wonderful view outside on patio.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Food was delicious, McKenzie was top notch as our server and the evening was beautiful. Coming back in September.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

we did a very nice review on trip adviser this place is outstanding great waiter[ rob] food excellent
never had tuna med raw it was excellent would go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Great food and service! Perfect for that special occasion! Something to consider while in the Blowing Rock area!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Chef was very friendly, staff hospitable and knowledgeable , overall great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

This was our second time at this beautiful restaurant and Inn. Food was wonderful; beautifully presented, perfectly seasoned and cooked to perfection. Wine list is a standout, well curated and the pricing is well below what one would expect to find at a restaurant of this caliber. Desserts are not to be missed. Staff was very friendly and professional. Even thought its a 2 hour drive, we'll be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the service with Rob our waiter was excellent. However, we were disappointed with the shishito pepper appetizer which only included a minimal amount of the named peppers and the other peppers had not been seeded. The escargot appetizer was delicious but one of the snails had small pebbles and we were lucky not to break a tooth. Nevertheless it was delicious and would order it again. Entrees were good, especially the pork loin. The Halibut dish was a tad overcooked but good nevertheless. The ambiance, setting, and service definitely offset the small flaws in the food. We would go again and recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

4th time to be here. Creative drinks, delicious food, nice enough wine by the glass list. We continue to think of this as the “go to “ special restaurant in Blowing Rock

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Great menu, exquisite view, romantic atmosphere....... What more could you ask for? A wonderful meal and evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

The food is always amazing. Just trust the chef. And the service is impeccable. Our waiter was superb - friendly, knowledgeable of the menu and made great recommendations. This is our favorite restaurant in NC and we’ve been around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Do not ever doubt the opportunity to get a reservation at this special GEM of the BEAUTIFUL NC mountains. Worth every dollar for every memorable mountain moment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Food was fantastic and the presentation was unique. Our waiter was well informed and helpful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Fabulous food!!! Friendly professional service. GREAT wines by the glass and lots of reasonably priced bottles of good wine available. Best meal I've had all year!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is an outstanding example of what a fine dining experience should be. It is a small, but accommadating dining room with great views. All of the staff were young, very friendly and professional. We felt welcomed and enjoyed a very pleasant evening. The dinner was unhurried, lasting about two hours. The first course was the highlight of the evening. The escargot were incredibly tender and the mushroom, cognac and cream sauce was beautiful. My fiancee had the pate offering. It was the finest that I have ever tasted. She barely allowed me a sampling. My duck breast arrived a little less-cooked than to my liking. The chef was in the room and made sure that it came back perfectly prepared. The monk fish was nicely fresh and cooked to perfection. It was accompanied by a lovely sauce. An in-between course was offered and consisted of a bisque or a salad. The fourth course was a gorgeous desert. The wine list included selections from many different price points. We are wine aficionados, ordered a modestly priced wine and were perfectly satisfied with the bottle. This restaurant came highly recommended and it lived up to its billing. What a great place for an evening meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

From start to finish, it was a pure treat to dine at The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge. The atmosphere is lovely, intimate, and comfortable. The service is the best mix of professional, warm, friendly and relaxed. Alex was kind, informed, and gave marvelous recommendations. Chef Hunter popped by our table to check on us and introduce himself; then, he served our entrees himself. I just love when the chef and /or members of management stop by your table to check in with you. That is a personal touch that demonstrates ownership and genuine care about their product. Our meals were exceptional...I had the lamb shank, and it was melt in your mouth goodness. My guest had the scallops and said they were delicate and delicious. It was a grand dining experience. I will make time to do it again...in the meantime, I will encourage others to book a reservation wit this gem. Thank you for a lovely evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

When your server (Alexa) remembers the wine you had several months back.....you know you found a gem! Love this restaurant and the service is just as good as the food.....which is AMAZING!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

excellent as always..great prices on excellent wines

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

The food was excellent , the atmosphere better and our server did a great job also. If possible try to eat outdoors. It has beautiful views but was to chilly this time. We will go back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Chef is absolutely amazing. One of my favorite restaurants of all time. Lamb and Pork dishes so special! Lamb shank and Lamb sirloin to die for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

My wife and I both had the softshell crab and lamb. Such amazing dishes. Chef Hunter has a personal approach to both the meal and customers that Is marvelous. One of the finest meals and dining experiences we've ever had. Wonderful service as well. The Gideon Ridge Inn Restaurant has few equals.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Amazing. This place continues to be exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

It's been awhile since our last visit but everything we love about Gideon Ridge is still there. The same wonderful selection of apps and entrees as well as the interesting wine list. To be sure, it's not that the menu doesn't change -- it does, fairly frequently -- but rather the quality selections and wide array of choices are always there. Also as usual, the service was outstanding and it was nice to have the opportunity to discuss some of the selections with Hunter, the executive chef, on several of his stops by our table. All in all it was a lovely experience that my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed. That's another thing that never changes about Gideon Ridge -- and that's what makes it consistently wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Wonderful dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

We were in town and it was highly recommended. Did not disappoint

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Beautiful venue, gorgeous place, wonderful food and exceptional service!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Outstanding. Food was freshly prepared and presentation lovely. We enjoyed a salad, which was extremely fresh and flavorful, as well as mushroom jalapeno soup. For entrees, I selected the Shrimp & Grits, a southern fare. Shrimp were firm and delicious! My husband opted for the fresh Tuna, seared to medium rare. Also fabulous. Drinks were generous as well. Ambiance is excellent. Stone building with views of Grandfather mountain. This is a gem. We will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Everything was excellent! Lovely setting with mountains as backdrop. Service and food were wonderful. A very romantic setting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Beautiful venue. Wide variety and excellent preparation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Superb from beginning to end....as always. Gideon is where we take our guests and where we always go for special occasions. Hunter and team NEVER disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Caught the sunset on the porch. Great food! Steaks were perfect with the fat already trimmed off. OUTSTANDING service! THIS Alexa is the best server ever!! No comparison to that "other" Alexa stuck in a speaker. This is the REAL deal in service at it's finest from the time you walk in the door!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 27, 2018

My wife and I are in our 80's and generally pleased with our dining experience. However, I don't think it rises to the highest level as to value. My food was good but not outstanding. My wife's was also good and perhaps better than mine. The amount of vegetables served, in my opinion, did not balance out well with the quantity of meat served. Our waitress was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

We have dined at Restaurant while staying at Gideon Ridge Inn for our anniversary for years and it's the most wonderful dining experience! The atmosphere, service, the selection and especially the food is just amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Valentine's Day provided the motivation to finally visit Gideon's Ridge. Our expectations were high, but the evening exceeded them. We enjoyed a cocktail and beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains sunset on the porch and one of the best dinners you could imagine. Even in February Chef Hunter stayed committed to local food sourcing and it lent itself to creative and delicious items. The clams were special; not the usual garlic, wine butter sauce but a subtle bacon flavored broth with edamame nuts. The clams got to stand out for themselves. The cauliflower soup was outstanding, and both our lamb and halibut entrees were memorable. Their pastries/desserts were on par with the meal. After all this raving, you may wonder how I could say that the service was even better. Our waiter Rob was charming, knowledgeable, helpful and engaged us at the perfect level of friendly and attentive but not intrusive. Chef Hunter must have visited our table at least twice (as he did to all the other guests). He was genuinely interested in our satisfaction, displayed his sense of humor and showed his pride in his work in the right way. All of this is in a quiet, cozy, beautifully rustic dining room. We will be headed back soon. If didn't already live in the area we would probably be planning to stay for a weekend this spring!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Wow, what an amazing meal. Some of the best food I’ve had. Loved talking to the chef and discussing why he chose certain menu items and how he puts flavors together. Amazing amazing view right at sunset. Totally loved everything about our evening here!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Just an amazing place. You will not be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

They took our coats upon arrival and promptly took our drink order while we waited for our table in the "library". We met a wonderful couple while waiting and enjoying our beverages. The eating area was quaint, intimate and romantic. It is a small place, but we did not feel like we were too close to anyone. The food was terrific. We shared the meat and cheese board, the pate' and the lamb shank. The chef came out to greet the table and told us a little about the food. Definitely worth it and we look forward to coming back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10