Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.65mi
  2. Distance: 2.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.49mi
  4. Distance: 2.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.65mi
  2. Distance: 2.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.49mi
  4. Distance: 2.51mi

About The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge

Dining at The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is one of Blowing Rock's most elegant and relaxed experiences. The cuisine is a blend of fresh local ingredients artfully prepared by our award winning culinary team under the watchful eyes of Chef Hunter Womble. Dine Al-Fresco or in our intimate European styled dining room. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace, then dine, from a light evening meal to a special celebration. Appropriate for children over 12 with sophisticated palettes.

202 Gideon Ridge Rd
Blowing Rock, NC 28605
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary European, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6:00 - 9:00

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard

Phone Number:
(828) 295-3644

Website:
http://www.gideonridge.com/

Parking Details:
Private Lot and Valet available

Executive Chef:
Hunter Womble

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (40)
Special Occasion (38)
Romantic (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for a Date (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Cozy (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Local Ingredients (17)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Authentic (11)
Healthy (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Fireplace (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

The total package, great setting with views, great service and the best food we have enjoyed in the area during our 10 week stay during the summer.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderful view, cool Inn. The food is exceptional. Look forward to returning.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Gideon Ridge is an excellent restaurant with a great staff and excellent views. The chef came out a couple of times to answer any questions we had, and of course receive our compliments on the excellent food! Several vegetarian options were available, and we were very satisfied with the entire experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

One of most outstanding restaurants in High Country as the views are spectacular and the food sensational. A not to be missed out of this world dining gem not just in North Carolina but also in US and rest of world!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This meal was one of the best I've ever experienced. The setting was lovely, cool and quiet during the hot summer. The food was fabulous. I had the lamb, and my husband had the steak. Both were perfect! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This was a delightful dining experience. Gideon Ridge Inn has beautiful mountains views, lovely setting in old home, and we enjoyed dining alfresco. Service was friendly and competent. Food was artfully presented and absolutely delicious. We enjoyed chanterelle bruscetta and melon, mint, cucumber salad and duck breast and salmon entrees - highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 6, 2017

First rate food and service. Delightful ambiance overlooking the mountains.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Wonderful food and ambiance. Marvelous for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Can't say enough about how much we love Gideon Ridge.We live not far away in the foothills and it's a favorite now for us.We like to arrive a little early and have a drink and enjoy the spectacular view.Always seated exactly at reservation time and from the Chef,to the servers and of couse the food could not be better.Already looking foward to our next visit.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 29, 2017

My first trip to this fabulous restaurant will hopefully not be my last.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We stayed 2 nights at the Inn eating both breakfast and dinner. The staff were warm and informative and the service was exceptional. Only one main course was not as tasty as everything else. I teach culinary arts so while we were celebrating our 44th wedding anniversary it was an additional treat for me to be served by well trained staff and explore different locally grown and unique combinations at each meal. We will return in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 22, 2017

This is our fourth trip to the restaurant. Food and service are both excellent. A great value in the experience. The scenery is gorgeous; wonderful to sit outside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We went to the restaurant at Gideon Ridge for my birthday. I saw mixed reviews and was hesitant but I am glad I made the trip! The food was creative and delicious from the appetizers to dessert, and we were not disappointed. The staff was friendly and attentive. The view of the mountains was absolutely beautiful! We will be eating there again!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Birthday dinner! Worth the 3 month reservation.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The best meal we had while staying in the area. I had the sea bass and my wife had the NY strip. Both of us were very pleased. Met the chef. He's a pro and very personable with the guests. My fish was pan seared, very light, juicy and well seasoned on a bed of vegetables. We had a bottle of wine and cocktails. The bill was $180 not including the tip. I will go back for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 13, 2017

In our opinion, Gideon Ridge is the best of High Country dining. The food is delicious and the service is friendly and helpful. Our waiter, Tyler, made our guests and us feel like he enjoyed his work and wanted us to enjoy our dining experience. Hunter, the chef, is creative and uses local ingredients to create culinary masterpieces. My husband's sea bass was extraordinary and the key lime pie and strawberry shortcakes were also 5 star! Reservations are a must! Book early if you are planning to be in Blowing Rock in the summer or fall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Every time we go here it is fabulous. I cannot say enough about the food and service, you will not be disappointed by either. Just a note it only costs a little more to go first class.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was excellent including the vegetarian options. The view sitting outside on the porch was outstanding. Service was excellent Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent fresh and creative cuisine. Beautiful setting with attentive service. Hunter and his staff are to be commended for creating an enjoyable dining experience every time we have dined at Gideon Ridge.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Consistently an excellent dining experience. This place rivals much more popular restaurants in big cities. It is that good. The head chef, Hunter, takes pride in what he does and he continues to surprise each time I go there.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This was our first time and a special occasion. The dinner was out of this world. Food presentation was a work of art. The wait staff was very pleasant and attentive. It's a small dinning room but there is seating on the porch. The view was most beaatiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great views of the mountains.
Great food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We stayed at the inn for the weekend and had a fantastic dinner with amazing views!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is in a beautiful setting. The food and the service are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Neat setting, all stone building. Absolutely incredible view. The appetizers (escargot and soft-shell crab) were fabulous. Soup (white gazpacho) and salad (farmers's) were excellent. The main courses (snapper & veggie tempeh) were let-downs after the the appetizers/salad courses. The vegetarian dish was very bland, and the snapper was overcooked and chewy. The dessert (mocha bread pudding) was so-so because the bread was dry. We didn't even finish it....for my wife and I to not finish anything chocolate says something. The normal exec chef was not cooking the night we were there, so maybe that is the reason the food was not up to the level we had been told to expect from friends who have been there a number of times.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Lovely place; creative chef; knowledgeable and attentive wait staff

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Gideon's ridge was by far one of the best meals from start to finish my husband and I have ever experienced. The customer service was spot on. The food was delicious. The chef came out and spoke to each guest genuinely and engagingly. Thank you for an unforgettable 6 year anniversary. We hope to be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love this restaurant. The food is amazing! There is not one bad option on the menu. The chef Hunter is the nicest most talented chef!!! He makes his diners feel so welcome and makes sure he speaks with all of them. His dishes are a work of art. He finds local produce and locally produced items to use in his dishes. The servers are all so very nice and make each diner feel so special. Emily was our server this time and she was so very helpful and nice. The servers are all very knowledgeable about all the dishes and will help you make a selection. This was my second time dining there and it was just as special as the first time when Hunter fit us in without a reservation and treated us like we were long time friends. This place is one of the best restaurants in the area. The young woman who checks guests into the inn was beyond helpful by finding us a very nice inn to spend the night during a very busy graduation weekend in that area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Loved everything about this place! The food was outstanding, the service on point, & the views breathtaking. We loved the small intimate dining room, and if the weather is nice you can dine out on the terrace overlooking the mountains.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Gideon Ridge Restaurant has a nice rustic feel with terrific mountain views. Their menu, while somewhat limited, has a nice variety, and the food innovation and quality are the best. Service was top notch. We were a little disappointed in the wine recommendation, although it was acceptable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 10, 2017

awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always a wonderful experience, warm and inviting people and the food was excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was so highly recommended that we had to try it out. Get your reservations way in advance, but the food is worth it. The weather was lousy, so I can't say for sure what the view is like or if you can eat outside, but we had a very nice dinner nonetheless. My husband had the tilefish over curry rice and he enjoyed it very much. (I'm not a fan of curry, but I did try the tilefish and it was tasty.) The NY strip was very tender and I would definitely get it again. For dessert, GET THE RISOTTO FRITTERS, unless you don't like crispy deliciousness with a hint of sweetness drizzled with caramel and adorned with raspberries. I cannot emphasize enough how good those were. We already have reservations for the next time we are in Blowing Rock.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

This was our first experience at Gideon. We were celebrating our 49th anniversary and could nor have chosen better. The service, atmosphere, food, and our waitress exceeded our expectations. Thanks for making our evening so memorable and special

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fantastic dinner at Gideon Ridge! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Fabulous food, beautiful view, friendly staff. Guaranteed to be a special evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Gideon is a very special dining experience. Chef Hunter and the wait staff are remarkable. The food and wine are exceptional. We go for special occasions and each becomes an extra special memory!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Gideon's Ridge is a fabulous find. Tucked away, on a quiet cut-de-sac, just off the busy 321 Hwy--this is a little piece of heaven. A small, intimate dinner spot (which is part of the Gideon Ridge Inn--although open to the public.) Service was friendly, personable yet impeccable. Menu offered something for everyone: my foodie husband and my own not-so-adventurous (mostly vegetarian) palate. The food was lovely to look at and delicious to taste. We enjoyed an appetizer each, an entree and shared a fabulous dessert. We also quite enjoyed a rather inexpensive (for a restaurant) bottle of Pinot Noir. The wait staff was superb: our water glasses never got low and we were checked on frequently. Due to the intimate nature of this place, the chef visited every table, several more than once--a nice touch! The VIEW here is superb; looking out over the Blue Ridge mountains. Outdoor dining is offered in warmer weather. We will return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

What a lovely place to have a great meal: wonderful food (creative, delicious, seasonal), quiet beautiful dining room with mountain views, capable and friendly wait staff, a chef who comes out to say hello. It's our favorite High Country restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We love eating a Gideon Ridge...it is a perfect dining experience...the food, the setting, the service and the mood are all outstanding. It is a delight we return to time after time....talking with the chef is an extra perk that we enjoy!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.