About Restaurant EVOO

3426 Notre-Dame O
Montreal, QC H4C 1N9
View Larger Map

Saint-Henri occupies an important place in the rich history of Montreal. First rural, the landscape of this neighborhood changed with the pace of industrial growth, always attracting more workers to the region.

EVOO recognizes itself in the creativity and the ambition of the artisans who contributed to making this neighborhood what it is today.

The team of culinary artisans ensures that everything they prepare is made from scratch, in house, by hand. Committed to the quality of local products, they work closely with local farmers to create their menu and offer the neighborhood of Saint-Henri something to remember, without forgetting a daring selection of wine and cocktails.

EVOO promises discoveries and nostalgia with every bite!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary French, European, Irish

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Thursday - Saturday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Sunday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00 PM - 10:30 PM

HOLIDAYS HOURS: Closed from the 21st to the 26th of December
Brunch: December 27th to January 3rd from 10am to 3pm
Dinner: December 30th to January 2nd from 6pm to 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Atwater

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 846-3886

Website:
http://www.restaurantevoo.com/

Catering:
Lunch box : 12.95$
For information call 514-846-3886

Parking Details:
Ample street parking is available both in front of the restaurant and on the surrounding side streets. EVOO is located on the periphery of the downtown core and so benefits from comparatively inexpensive on street parking rates.

Public Transit:
Metro Lionel-Groulx is a 3 minute walk away. The 36, 191 STM bus.

Executive Chef:
Peter Saunders & Sophie Ouellet

Private Party Contact:
Claudie Harvey: 514-846-3886x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oven Baked Potato With Harissa Sweet Sauce And Poached Egg
Smoked Salmon and Apple Salad
Warm Citrus And Cointreau Cocktail
Pumpkin And Citrus Cheesecake
Brioche French Toast With Beer Foam And Maple Syrup
Cacao Ravioli
Foie Gras
Local Goat Cheese, Brussel Sprouts, Deliciousness
Full Irish Breakfast
Cosmo À La Claudie
Scone
Pulled Pork
Homemade Granola
Homemade Nutella
Carrot Popsicle
Banoffee Dulce De Leche
Granola
Cigar De Lapin
Pates Maison
Oeuf Croustillant
Smoked Fish, Apple Coleslaw, Scrambled Eggs
brioche french toast
Automate Du Quebec Popsicle
Spaghetti De Calmar
Amuse Bouche: Radish With Truffle Butter
Foie gras à la fleur de sel

Restaurant EVOO Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Montreal / Quebec
Contemporary French
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Montreal
Contemporary French
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Griffintown/St-Henri ›

Fit for Foodies (24)
Special Occasion (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Great for Brunch (13)
Romantic (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of my favorite places in town. Young ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of my favorite places in town. Young staff, unusual and good food. Wine list to be improved

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there on a Saturday, quite ambience ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went there on a Saturday, quite ambience. Despite the decor being casual and modest, the food was excellent. Accent is on venison meat but with choice of fish and vegan dishes. Menu is limited but quality is highlighted. Peter, the chef is young and eager to please. All in all it was a pleasant experience worth repeat in the very future. Location is in griffin town, an area picking up close attention by its quality restaurants spring up of lately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great quiet brunch place. No wait Good ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great quiet brunch place. No wait

Good food. Great service. Good for kids too

A must go in Montreal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came for the Father's Day brunch. It ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We came for the Father's Day brunch. It was a wonderful dining experience! Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

My roomate from college and I went here to do some catching up. I loved the attentive service and the food was excellent (if a but pricey, but I think fair for the quality and presentation). I would definitely come back for just that and have already recommended it to the foodies I know. However, it was disappointing for the place to be so empty on a Friday evening. We thought it would fill up during the course of the evening but it didn't and we left around 10:30pm. I am anxious to try their brunch on the weekend, heard great things.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

Nice brunch

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Came with a friend for Easter brunch - had a delicious raspberry lemonade, an equally delicious hot cross bun, and a very nice variation on a shrimp/lobster roll.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food with a little extra

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Fresh tasty food that puts local products up front. We will cetainly go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it here! Relaxed atmosphere, not t ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Loved it here! Relaxed atmosphere, not too noisy, great service. Food was fantastic and their Chai Lattes are to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Atmosphere and very Good Service

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

The atmosphere is very good and the waiter is awesome. The only problem we had is that the food was not enough for us. My husband take the meat enrolled with some salad, I took the ravioli plate. And we took the desserts (the salty one with the cheese and the ananas cake)

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

A Farmhouse Style Gem

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

My boyfriend and I booked an evening reservation at EVOO on New Years Eve during our trip to Montreal. I chose to order the pre fixe three course menu that consisted of root vegetable soup, ravioli, and chocolate cake with olive oil ice cream for dessert. My boyfriend, a picky eater, ordered the bison, and was pleasantly surprised as how much he enjoyed it.

The waitstaff at EVOO was outstanding, explaining each course carefully to us as they were presented. We were even given pallet cleansing lemon pops in between our appetizers and entrees. In addition to the farm style decor, the atmosphere was relaxed yet full of energy with every table full in the small restaurant. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beyond my expectations--love this restauarnt

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

A wonderful restaurant with exceptionally fine cooking and little pretension. I rarely leave a restaurant as satisfied with everything from food to attitude as I did this one. I'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time as good as the first. Reason ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

Second time as good as the first. Reasonable prices and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was great, had a wonderful time wit ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

Food was great, had a wonderful time with a couple friends. Enjoyed the food, ambiance, people - overall very good experience, just can't say was outstanding. The salad i had tasted good, but a little too much cheese to my taste and not enough salad - was kind of heavy in the end. Raviolis were very good, but we all assumed it was the vegetarian version out of the 3 options (we did not know what "chevreau" was), but we should have confirmed. Dessert was very good as well, I had the flan, which could have had a little more salted caramel flavouring. Ice cream was very good. Found the chocolates to be a little out of place in that dessert, but overall, still good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great find

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 5, 2015

I tried this place during MTL a Table. I am so happy I did. Every dish was wonderful. I found the place a little bit noisy though (it was fully booked, and we were in the middle of the room). I will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good, could be better

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

The onion soup lacked flavour. The bison rib was tasty but got tiresome after awhile without more toothsome sides. The banoffee wa good but could have been better with more caramelized bananas and less foam. Service was very nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Just a bit above average

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Everything was just fine, though we were a bit disappointed by the food and service. Maybe we had too high expectations!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Will return

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

Very thought out but limited menu, 5apps, 5 mains & 3 desserts (which were very good !)

Alot of work Into & onto each dish, just need to be mindfull of the tate also.

(just cause it looks gr8, the taste should/must match)

Nice decor & polite service !

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing service... Amazing food. Great a ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

Amazing service... Amazing food. Great ambiance. Little pricey but worth every bite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is about as close to Michelin Star ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

This is about as close to Michelin Star cuisine as one can find in Montreal. The location is not on the beaten path, but this fantastic restaurant may be beating a new path!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

EVOO, a dining experience

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 16, 2015

First time at this restaurant. Tables not too close together. Tables are also a nice size. Noise level was also decent. Could have a normal conversation without yelling. Food was great. Different and interesting. Always willing to try new things and flavours. We enjoyed it immensely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nos étions un groupe de 10 pax. Le servi ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Nos étions un groupe de 10 pax. Le service fût bien coordonné. Nourriture et saveurs impeccables. Le pain sans gluten (fait maison) était moelleux et m'a rempli de joie. Nous retournerons certainement...pour l'exquise cuisine, mais aussi pour l'accueil rayonnant de Claudie !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Un beau moment

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 3, 2015

Deuxième visite...encore une fois, ce fut un agréable moment. Excellente nouriture, bon service, tout pour passer un bon moment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 18, 2015

Loved it.. Chef came out and introduced the food, how made it and , from whom he purchased it. They make dietary amendments and gluten free bread that is so delicious!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A gem!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 22, 2015

Very special place, unobtrusive, exceptional food and presentation. Impeccable service. Reasonably priced. Deserves being rated #1 on TripAdvisor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

It is a very original menu and my experience started really well with a special berry and basilic drink which was soooo delicious! Then I had en entree of fish (Doré) which was delicious almost melting in my mouth. I also had fish for main course which was good too but didn't beat the entree. The dessert was a cake in small pieces with home-made maple syrup cotton-candy and home made ice cream which was a little taste of heaven. The employees were all very friendly and they explained a lot about the food choices and it was very instructive. They also served us a special treat: homemade strawberries frozen lollypops !

We were a big group so I was expecting a slow service but everything went smoothly and my friends and I enjoyed every minute of it!

I will definitely pay them a visit again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent all around!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

My mother found a review of the restaurant in a newspaper so we decided to give it a try while she was visiting. We had a group of several adults and one toddler. They were very accommodating and even provided a high chair on request. Not all restaurants have them! The food was excellent - fresh ingredients, good rich flavours without being heavy and overwhelming, and nicely presented. The mimosas were a great touch for a Sunday brunch with family! I would definitely go back and would recommend it to my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service impeccable, plats délicieux!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 23, 2015

TreS belle soirée, service impeccable, entrée de foie gras délicieuse, et repas principal ( cerf et topinsmbour) tout simplement à se lécher les doigts! Ambiance tranquille pour un jeudi soir, mais parfaite pour un repas romantique! Excellente suggestion pour le vin. Nous reviendrons!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Restaurant

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 11, 2015

The food here is excellent: carefully chosen ingredients very intelligently combined and carefully prepared. The service is also excellent: one of the owners is the maître d'hôtel. She provides information and advice about both the food and the wine (much of which is privately imported). One of the chefs delivers the food to your table and gives a brief explanation of what each dish contains and how it was prepared. Really everything a food-lover's restaurant should be, and a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

That place you should tell all your friends about!

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on November 27, 2014

We went for a night out here and was more than pleasantly surprised with the food, service and the venue itself. The chef's brought us small samples to try between our meals which was fantastic, however I would not expect this if the restaurant was busier.

We already made reservations for brunch and a group of friends.

Check this place out if you haven't already!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

EXCELLENT FOOD AND SERVICE FOR GOURMET CLIENT

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 21, 2014

yES, IT WAS AN EXCITING GOURMET EXPERIENCE - WE WERE VERY SURPRISED BY THE CREATIVITY, TASTE AND HARMONY OF THE GOOD INGREDIENT USED TO MAKE SOME OUTSTANDING PLATES: ENTREE - MAIN COURSE AND DELICIOUS DESERT.

THE WINE LIST GOES WITH THE QUALITY OF THE FOOD, BUT THE PRICE IS A LITTLE BIT HIGH.

THE SERVICE IS DEDICATED AND PROFESIONNAL.

UNFORTUNATELY THE LOCATION IS NOTE APPROPRIATE WITH THE QUALITY OF THE FOOD, SO THE PEOPLE WHO ENJOY THE GOURMET FOOD SHOULD OVERCOME THIS ASPECT.

WE DEFINITELY WILL GO BACK AND RECOMMEND HIGHLY FOR A TREAT.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Disappointed - Montreal a table

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 7, 2014

Somewhat rushed, pleasant but non-engaged service. One person takes the order, then a series of others "delivers" the food. One dish was very fatty pork, making at least one third inedible. The server who removed the plate never noticed or commented. No one asked how we enjoyed (or not) the main dish. Appetizers were wonderful, creative flavor combinations. Desserts were interesting deconstructions but lacking in the right meld. Pretty restaurant, but loud enough to render conversation strained. All in all, we were disappointed ad Evoo did not measure up to the rave reviews we had read. Perhaps they took on too much for restaurant week,but that's sad as we use the occasion to scout out places we haven't yet tried. Too bad...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

They describe themselves as "cuisine soi ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

They describe themselves as "cuisine soignee"...I agree.

Beautifully presented dishes, quality ingredients and preparation.

Very attentive service that is so subtle you almost don't notice.

Worth a special trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and Ambience

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

Food was very good. Had the special Taste Montreal menu. Main course arrived a little late and not hot. It was a bust night. Liked the food a lot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I was extremely excited to dine at EVOO. ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 31, 2014

I was extremely excited to dine at EVOO. The menu looked great and my husband and I have been wanting to go there for a while. We had the fixed menu. I had the beet salad, which was no more than a 'beet salad'. Husband had the squash, ricotta, dry duck dish (where is the dry duck?). For main dishes, I had the pork one, which it was nice and tender, but a bit too fatty for my taste and missing flavor (I could taste the fat); and my husband had the beef (and I am really sorry to say that it tasted like the pulled pork I buy from Costco). The best part of the night was the dulce de leche desert (extra $7) and the wine list was very nice too. Service was great! We will go back to try the a la carte menu. I haven't gave up yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

BEST MEAL EVER!

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 30, 2014

We took the opportunity of the Montreal a Table week of restaurant promotions to try some new downtown restaurants. This one was the best! They accommodate gluten-free menu requests. Every single dish was a unique combination of fresh and seasonal foods, creatively assembled - attractive and delicious! The first dish I tried was homemade ricotta with dried shaved duck and some caramelized shallots, etc. Fantastic! My main was a beef chuck roast sliced with smoked tomato puree and sautéed cabbage. Delicious! Even the dessert surpassed our expectations...a light airy chocolate crisp. I started off with their berry and basil lemony cocktail. The whole experience including service was excellent. We left in a food coma...YUM!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved this restaurant. We received more ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on October 10, 2014

Loved this restaurant. We received more than we expected with a nice amuse bouche (salmon tartare on a beet chip) and a palate cleanser (plum sorbet with a sparkling larch power.) My spouse started with the tomato soup, topped with lemon, cucumber and crisped capers. Very nice. We both had the ox tail in cocoa ravioli. The chocolate pasta worked well with the braised meat and very flavorful broth/sauce. For dessert, we shared the warm chocolate cake served with a tarragon emulsion. I would happily have a second or third meal here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Beautiful food without pretence

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 19, 2014

Great little gem in the rough of Notre Dame. Beautifully presented and imaginative delicious food using locally sourced ingredients in a friendly unpretentious atmosphere. From the fresh house cocktails to the little touches in between courses the meal was memorable from start to finish, Care and love cooked into every dish. The melt in your mouth house smoked Deer is a must try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Best kept secret!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 18, 2014

Une expérience culinaire incroyable... Il faut essayer! Notre restaurant favori sans doute!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent (court) menu !

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2014

La qualité du repas est irréprochable, tout est frais et originale. Le service souriant et très agréable.

Malheureusement, dans un quartier en transformation et le soir ou je suis allé, nous étions 8 personnes en deux tables. Très - trop - tranquille pour un samedi soir. On nous a dit que pour les brunch c'était plus rempli et donc que l'ambiance était mieux.

Peu de choix, mais nos quatre sélections étaient excellentes. Avec le vin, un dessert partagé et un espresso, on s'en est tiré à $160, avant pourboire. C'est très honnête et ça en vaut le coût.

On retournera, mais en plus grand groupe, style petit party de bureau.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Great friday night dinner

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 12, 2014

Went to EVOO for extended family dinner. They were attentive and very accommodating to the 2 year old at the table, and was great for large group. Food was excellent, the complimentary amuse bouche and palate cleansers were a nice touch. Nice ambiance, overall great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.