About Restaurant e18hteen

18 York Street
Ottawa, ON K1N 5T5
View Larger Map

Restaurant e18hteen was named after its unique location in an 19th century heritage building in the By Ward Market Ottawa. Our adaptation of a Modern Steakhouse with a signature “Canadian Freestyle Cuisine” is a destination for local foodies, politicians, artists, celebrities and out of town visitors. E18hteen’s gourmet experience is perfect for the business professional, the socialite or romantic diner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 4:30pm - 10:30pm; Bar is open until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Sussex Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 244-1188

Website:
http://www.restaurant18.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in front of the restaurant or a heated underground public parking lot is located directly beside the restaurant

Public Transit:
Public Transit can be accessed from the Rideau Center

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Korecki

Private Party Facilities:
Our elegant open concept dining room, professional personnel with attention to detail and decadent culinary experience will make your event an affair to remember.
e18hteen also offers two private rooms. The large Wine Room private dining room seats up to 20 guests and the small dining room seats up to 10 guests. The panels dividing the rooms may be opened for a combined capacity of up to 30 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Heather O'Connell: 613-244-1188x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant e18hteen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Ottawa
Best Service
Ottawa
Best Ambiance
Ottawa
9 More
Romantic
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Most Booked
Ottawa
Best Food
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Service
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Ambiance
Ottawa / Gatineau
Romantic
Ottawa / Gatineau
Special Occasion
Ottawa / Gatineau
Most Booked
Ottawa / Gatineau

special occasion (73)
romantic (63)
fit for foodies (49)
See All
notable wine list (44)
good for groups (15)
hot spot (14)
neighborhood gem (9)
late-night find (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
690 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome. Only small negative was noise ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Awesome. Only small negative was noise level for a business dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was impeccable. They were atten ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Service was impeccable. They were attentive to our allergies rather than making us feell like a nuisance. Lighting, table, music and ambiance in general was beautiful. Room to move and the tables were not jammed together as in many places. The food was tasty and the menu creative. The wine list was broad enough to suit all requests. Would highly recommend 18.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This Restaurant Has Lost Its Way !

Dined on April 30, 2016

Went there for a birthday dinner and overall were disappointed compared to previous years. Quality and presentation of food did not live up to previous visits. Appetizers~ Raviolli was tough and the serving size too small for the price point charged. The beef tartar was good but it's presentation on the plate lacked creativity. The fois gras seemed nothing more than simple duck pate that I could have bought at the grocery store. Overall the appetizers lacked imagination and culinary skill. Main courses- the rack of lamb serving size was too small for the price point charged although it was flavourful. The halibut, duck and scallops were good. The dessert menu was extremely limited and lacked culinary imagination. The service was basic and lacked skill and polish. Overall and at this price point, we felt that this restaurant was in coast mode with a basic menu and service that lacked culinary skill and imagination with little wow factor. We normally do not write these type of negative reviews but feel that it is warranted based on our observation. We hope that it is taken as a constructive assessment for improvement and not just a rant. Hope restaurant 18 regains its culinary mojo in the future.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner

Dined on April 23, 2016

There wasn't a single thing I tried there that I thought tasted even slightly off, already recommended this restaurant to a friend as a steak lover. Waiter was very knowledgeable and gave great wine pairings with the appetizers and main course.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing

Dined on April 21, 2016

From every aspect this is a spectacular restaurant. The service is wonderful. The food is unbelievable and the decor is absolutely phenomenal. Loved it. Absolutely loved it. Will certainly go every time we're in Ottawa.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great surprise

Dined on April 16, 2016

Best restaurant I have been to in Ottawa. Simply outstanding. Server Marc was exceptional.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and service, nice ambiance, b ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food and service, nice ambiance, but fairly expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Did not disappoint. Food and service wer ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Did not disappoint. Food and service were excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive but worth it. Excellent food a ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

Expensive but worth it. Excellent food and service.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great place, great food! Amazing find in ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Great place, great food! Amazing find in Ottawa, did not expect it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

They really pulled out all the stops

Dined on March 18, 2016

Maybe they do this for everyone. Catering the five course tasting menu to our preferences - so smart and so enjoyable. I would recommend this experience to any foodie!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

They all try hard

Dined on March 12, 2016

The restaurant is right near the Byward Market and so an easy walk from the Chateau Laurier. Ambience is nice - stone walls, nice big fireplace. We probably erred in having the tasting menu, as I suspect the chef does a fine job on the standard menu items. The tasting menu was fine - standard, nothing special. But definitely overpriced for the quality and creativity. Stick to the regular menu here. The service was efficient, the commentary a bit earnest and inexperienced.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything superb... except the menu

Dined on March 12, 2016

This is a classy, romantic restaurant to dine. The service is impeccable. Ambiance is exceptional. But... the food is somewhat sub-par from an otherwise first class act. The menu is limited. Not much that interested me in appetizers (otherwise I would have ordered one) and the principal plates were limited by a lack of choice in vegetable and potato accompaniments. Once the food arrived, it was presented exquisitely. But again, the taste just didn't meet the expectations of a restaurant of this caliber. Management seriously needs to rethink its chef and kitchen. Would I recommend this restaurant? Yes. It will be an enjoyable dining experience on the strength of the atmosphere and service. But it won't be the best plate you've had this year, this month, or this week for that matter. And it should be.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful 150 year old building.

Dined on March 5, 2016

Staff were attentive and the food was terrific. The martini's were perfect, and the wine suggestion hit the spot.The Kale salad was unbelievable, as was the Foie gras and steak tartare. The starters were so rich & filling we should have split a main course, so be careful. The blackened cod and scallops were amazing, but they had to roll us out of there, to full for a special coffee or dessert. Wonderful meal!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My evening at Eighteen

Dined on March 4, 2016

it was my girlfriends birthday and we wanted somwhere special to eat and we where not dissappointed! great meal, good presentation. I found it a little too expensive for my budget but was happy I went

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Unfortunately, the service was not parti ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Unfortunately, the service was not particularly strong, which makes it challenging to recommend this restaurant. There are other restaurants in the city that offer more interesting and equally high-quality food while still providing more attentive service (at a less expensive rate). At its current prices, this is not a worthwhile dining experience. (Which is a shame, because it used to be!)

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome evening

Dined on February 20, 2016

Eighteen is an elegant, modern and intimate place for a romantic dinner. Our anniversary dinner there was perfect. We had a lovely table and an attentive yet discreet waiter. The decor is modern but warm and cozy with thick curtain walls that can close off a space and they also muffle the sound of other diners. The food was fantastic, the black cod was a new taste sensation and the foie gras was wonderful. Everything was lovely and we even received anniversary chocolates at the end of the meal. A gem in the Market.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Not happy!

Dined on February 15, 2016

It was very cold and I caught a cold :( also we were sitting very close to another couple which was very disappointing.. Also one of the plates was not well done and they didn't ask if we want it well done or not!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Valentine's Menu

Dined on February 14, 2016

Valentine's day dinner + wine pairing was superb. Plates were well portioned and each incredible in their own right. The wine and champagne served were all wonderful, too. I normally eat quickly but the food was so delicious I had to slow down and savor every bite.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food is great - but to be expected for the price. EXCELLENT service though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant, great food and service.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Firstly the good points, blackened cod is to die for! Our waiter was extremely good, first class knowledge, he really added to the experience. It's a beautiful space, and interior is nicely done, appart from the art wich resembled more ikea poster than gallery art. Also the music was not appropriate for the dining experience unless you are into 1980's pop music! Overall I would give the experience the thumbs up, the art is just my personal taste but the music needs to be changed and would be my only negative. I once again can't rate our waiter highly enough and food was delicious and would hold its own we'll in the fine dining international standard. Best meal I have had in Ottawa, and will be back to check out some more of the menu soon hopefully.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Good food, service not so much

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

I was not pleased to find out that there was a set menu for the evening. Nobody informed me of this when I made my reservation. Also our server was not very friendly initially. She warmed up later on but I was disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

wonderful staff. superb wine pairings.

Dined on February 14, 2016

wonderful staff. superb wine pairings.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Valentine food menu with the wine pa ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The Valentine food menu with the wine pairing was exquisite! My girlfriend and I were amazed of the great service we received with Fraser and the knowledge that he had of the wine. He was very helpful and paid attention all evening. It is a night to remember. The atmosphere was awesome! Thanks again for the great evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Food was great, only compliant was that ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was great, only compliant was that we were seated close to the door and due to the cold weather it made for an unenjoyable experience as it was VERY cold thoughtout the entire meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food but...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Went here on FEBRUARY 13th for dinner. We were given the prefix Valentine's Day menu along with a drink menu. Looking at the options we didn't really like what we saw. We asked the server if this was the only menu for the night and he said "absolutely" and nothing else.. We didn't know what to do but going to another restaurant didn't seem like a good idea. So after a while we decided to go for it. The food was good. Not great. Would have enjoyed eating of their regular menu better I think. Each person was $75 and the bill was high. I think the second most I've ever paid for a place before. Seemed really strange to have the Valentine's Day menu on the day before. Would have been funny to see what menu they had for a child. I wouldn't be paying $75 for any child to have this menu. Service and concept wasn't too good at this restaurant but food was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Meal!

Dined on February 13, 2016

One of the greatest meals I have had the pleasure of experiencing. Service was absolutely perfect, wine list went on for days, and the food was superb. Go here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely ambience

Dined on February 13, 2016

Lovely heritage location. Service was friendly and staff was well versed on the wine list and menu offerings. Value fell a little short, but the menu was interesting and tasty, although neither our apps or our mains were delivered hot, luke warm at best, which took away from the meal itself. The music choice was out of place for a romantic, century old heritage location (disco mostly on the night we were there).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything about this place!

Dined on February 6, 2016

We found this place by coincidence and are so VERY happy we did. Would highly recommend it. We will be back when we return to Ottawa.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Really good

Dined on February 5, 2016

We've dined here before and always found it good but not exciting. I can't quite put my finger on it, but this time the food had that something special. The atmosphere, as always, is very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was impressed with our servers knowled ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

I was impressed with our servers knowledge of the wine list

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

review

Dined on January 24, 2016

a very enjoyable experience. A little of a longer wait then a normal between apps and main meal. Even though the wine glasses are large, i didn't feel the amount warranted the price. a little more in the glass would have been justifiable for the price.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Main courses were delicious, however des ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

Main courses were delicious, however desserts could use some improvement. Service was excellent. Definitely would go back, for food and service.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice atmosphere for a Friday night date

Dined on January 8, 2016

I enjoyed my first visit to e18hteen restaurant. We had an early reservation on a Friday evening, it was quiet and the service wa good. My partner was disappointed in his corn chowder appetizer but my creme brûlée was the best I've ever tasted. Would like to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Kale salad was fantastic, and the lamb w ...

Dined on January 6, 2016

Kale salad was fantastic, and the lamb was to die for!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome meal

Dined on January 1, 2016

Ottawa high class establishment with a great menu and great wine accompaniments. Excellent service and always a good place for a romantic meal or high end corporate event.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Request

Dined on January 1, 2016

Thank you for ensuring that the meal met our special allergy request. Much appreciated.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food.

Dined on January 1, 2016

I was surprised that we we're given a 4 course meal for New Year's Eve when the website advertised 5 courses - though In the detailed posted menu on their website it did only show 4 courses, of which the first was very small (an amuse Bouche). That said the food was very good, service was good, and we left full and satisfied.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service5

Impeccable service and a lovely meal.

Dined on December 23, 2015

Impeccable service and a lovely meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eighteen items on the menu😎All outstand ...

Dined on December 23, 2015

Eighteen items on the menu😎All outstanding if our samples were any measure. Waiter was superb-perhaps as his mother was at the next table. My wife's Birthday was one of her best she says. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.