About Restaurant e18hteen

18 York Street
Ottawa, ON K1N 5T5
View Larger Map

Restaurant e18hteen was named after its unique location in an 19th century heritage building in the By Ward Market Ottawa. Our adaptation of a Modern Steakhouse with a signature “Canadian Freestyle Cuisine” is a destination for local foodies, politicians, artists, celebrities and out of town visitors. E18hteen’s gourmet experience is perfect for the business professional, the socialite or romantic diner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 4:30pm - 10:30pm; Bar is open until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Sussex Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 244-1188

Website:
http://www.restaurant18.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in front of the restaurant or a heated underground public parking lot is located directly beside the restaurant

Public Transit:
Public Transit can be accessed from the Rideau Center

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Korecki

Private Party Facilities:
Our elegant open concept dining room, professional personnel with attention to detail and decadent culinary experience will make your event an affair to remember.
e18hteen also offers two private rooms. The large Wine Room private dining room seats up to 20 guests and the small dining room seats up to 10 guests. The panels dividing the rooms may be opened for a combined capacity of up to 30 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Heather O'Connell: 613-244-1188x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Restaurant e18hteen
  • Restaurant e18hteen
  • Restaurant e18hteen
  • Restaurant e18hteen
  • Restaurant e18hteen
  • Restaurant e18hteen
  • Restaurant e18hteen
  • Restaurant e18hteen
  • Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen

Restaurant e18hteen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ottawa
Best Service
Ottawa
Best Ambiance
Ottawa
10 More
Notable Wine List
Ottawa
Romantic
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Best Overall
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Service
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Ambiance
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Value
Ottawa / Gatineau
Notable Wine List
Ottawa / Gatineau
Romantic
Ottawa / Gatineau
Special Occasion
Ottawa / Gatineau

special occasion (60)
romantic (49)
fit for foodies (40)
See All
notable wine list (34)
good for groups (18)
hot spot (12)
neighborhood gem (10)
late-night find (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
702 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always great food. On the pricey side, b ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Always great food. On the pricey side, but never disappointed which is worth a premium.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our evening at Restaurant e18hteen was d ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our evening at Restaurant e18hteen was deligthful. Attentive service, delicious food. Creative combinations and each bite was filled with various pops of flavour. the steaks were so flavourful and cooked to perfection. My duck dish was tasty and deligthful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a fantastic restaurant with sup ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was a fantastic restaurant with superb food and a charming atmosphere. We each ordered a steak dinner with tasty sides and were impressed with the generous portions. It is well worth putting this destination at the top of your list of restaurants to try!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This supper was very deceiving , I had ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This supper was very deceiving , I had grilled octopus and black cod a meal that I had a few times before,well the octopus quality was low and was burned black not eatable, took instead the foils gras torchon which was good, the black cod was Ok but the way they prepare it before with the skin and a different taste much better. Me and my guests meal was not a WOW factor, our server came and told me that they didn't charge the octopus well no surprise their but I was surprised that I was not offered a free something.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Outstanding service. When the waiter rea ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Outstanding service. When the waiter realized we were francophone, he immediately spoke to us in French although this was not his first language. He was very attentive to the rhythm we ate so that our courses did not arrive too fast.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Eighteen was excellent. The food was ve ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Eighteen was excellent. The food was very good and the service was superb. A little on the expensive side but we were expecting that. Only one small comment. When we asked the waiter for a suggestion for an unoaked Chardonnay, he brought a sample of an oaked Chardonnay. Normally this would not have been an issue except that the person asking had an allergy. Again, this was not huge especially because the person in our party did not specifically mention the allergy. In summary we were very pleased with the experience overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Best restaurant in Ottawa! Food was spec ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Best restaurant in Ottawa! Food was spectacular, decor gorgeous, service impeccable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location, ambiance and service. W ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great location, ambiance and service. We had a lovely wine, all guests had fish, and we were permitted to sit and chat for hours!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for an anniversary dinner on a S ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We went for an anniversary dinner on a Sunday, so it was quieter than usual. Cool ambiance. We sat near the huge fireplace. Our server was excellent, and suggested wine pairings for our food that were delicious. I had a kale salad and the duck. Both excellent, duck cooked perfectly. My wife had a beet salad and the lobster and enjoyed both of them. Meal pace was perfect. They accounted for our food allergies, and even made us a special complimentary dessert that was lactose free (usually their complimentary dessert is creamy). They have an extensive wine list with bottles at every price point if you are into getting a bottle with a meal.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

It was delicious.. ambiance was perfect... not too noisy... servers were impeccable. Meat was just yummy

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Impeccable food and outstanding service. Extensive wine list to match all dishes on the menu. Staff was very attentive without being over bearing. No complaints whatsoever. Will gladly come back next time we are in town from Toronto.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome. Only small negative was noise ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Awesome. Only small negative was noise level for a business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was impeccable. They were atten ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Service was impeccable. They were attentive to our allergies rather than making us feell like a nuisance. Lighting, table, music and ambiance in general was beautiful. Room to move and the tables were not jammed together as in many places. The food was tasty and the menu creative. The wine list was broad enough to suit all requests. Would highly recommend 18.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This Restaurant Has Lost Its Way !

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Went there for a birthday dinner and overall were disappointed compared to previous years. Quality and presentation of food did not live up to previous visits. Appetizers~ Raviolli was tough and the serving size too small for the price point charged. The beef tartar was good but it's presentation on the plate lacked creativity. The fois gras seemed nothing more than simple duck pate that I could have bought at the grocery store. Overall the appetizers lacked imagination and culinary skill. Main courses- the rack of lamb serving size was too small for the price point charged although it was flavourful. The halibut, duck and scallops were good. The dessert menu was extremely limited and lacked culinary imagination. The service was basic and lacked skill and polish. Overall and at this price point, we felt that this restaurant was in coast mode with a basic menu and service that lacked culinary skill and imagination with little wow factor. We normally do not write these type of negative reviews but feel that it is warranted based on our observation. We hope that it is taken as a constructive assessment for improvement and not just a rant. Hope restaurant 18 regains its culinary mojo in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great Dinner

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

There wasn't a single thing I tried there that I thought tasted even slightly off, already recommended this restaurant to a friend as a steak lover. Waiter was very knowledgeable and gave great wine pairings with the appetizers and main course.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

From every aspect this is a spectacular restaurant. The service is wonderful. The food is unbelievable and the decor is absolutely phenomenal.

Loved it. Absolutely loved it.

Will certainly go every time we're in Ottawa.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great surprise

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Best restaurant I have been to in Ottawa. Simply outstanding. Server Marc was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service, nice ambiance, b ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food and service, nice ambiance, but fairly expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Did not disappoint. Food and service wer ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Did not disappoint. Food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive but worth it. Excellent food a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Expensive but worth it. Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, great food! Amazing find in ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Great place, great food! Amazing find in Ottawa, did not expect it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

They really pulled out all the stops

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Maybe they do this for everyone. Catering the five course tasting menu to our preferences - so smart and so enjoyable. I would recommend this experience to any foodie!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

They all try hard

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The restaurant is right near the Byward Market and so an easy walk from the Chateau Laurier. Ambience is nice - stone walls, nice big fireplace.

We probably erred in having the tasting menu, as I suspect the chef does a fine job on the standard menu items. The tasting menu was fine - standard, nothing special. But definitely overpriced for the quality and creativity. Stick to the regular menu here. The service was efficient, the commentary a bit earnest and inexperienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything superb... except the menu

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

This is a classy, romantic restaurant to dine. The service is impeccable. Ambiance is exceptional.

But... the food is somewhat sub-par from an otherwise first class act. The menu is limited. Not much that interested me in appetizers (otherwise I would have ordered one) and the principal plates were limited by a lack of choice in vegetable and potato accompaniments.

Once the food arrived, it was presented exquisitely. But again, the taste just didn't meet the expectations of a restaurant of this caliber.

Management seriously needs to rethink its chef and kitchen.

Would I recommend this restaurant? Yes. It will be an enjoyable dining experience on the strength of the atmosphere and service. But it won't be the best plate you've had this year, this month, or this week for that matter. And it should be.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful 150 year old building.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Staff were attentive and the food was terrific. The martini's were perfect, and the wine suggestion hit the spot.The Kale salad was unbelievable, as was the Foie gras and steak tartare. The starters were so rich & filling we should have split a main course, so be careful. The blackened cod and scallops were amazing, but they had to roll us out of there, to full for a special coffee or dessert.

Wonderful meal!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My evening at Eighteen

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

it was my girlfriends birthday and we wanted somwhere special to eat and we where not dissappointed! great meal, good presentation. I found it a little too expensive for my budget but was happy I went

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Unfortunately, the service was not parti ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Unfortunately, the service was not particularly strong, which makes it challenging to recommend this restaurant. There are other restaurants in the city that offer more interesting and equally high-quality food while still providing more attentive service (at a less expensive rate). At its current prices, this is not a worthwhile dining experience. (Which is a shame, because it used to be!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Awesome evening

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Eighteen is an elegant, modern and intimate place for a romantic dinner. Our anniversary dinner there was perfect. We had a lovely table and an attentive yet discreet waiter. The decor is modern but warm and cozy with thick curtain walls that can close off a space and they also muffle the sound of other diners. The food was fantastic, the black cod was a new taste sensation and the foie gras was wonderful. Everything was lovely and we even received anniversary chocolates at the end of the meal. A gem in the Market.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not happy!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

It was very cold and I caught a cold :( also we were sitting very close to another couple which was very disappointing..

Also one of the plates was not well done and they didn't ask if we want it well done or not!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Valentine's Menu

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Valentine's day dinner + wine pairing was superb. Plates were well portioned and each incredible in their own right. The wine and champagne served were all wonderful, too. I normally eat quickly but the food was so delicious I had to slow down and savor every bite.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food is great - but to be expected for the price. EXCELLENT service though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful restaurant, great food and service.

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Firstly the good points, blackened cod is to die for! Our waiter was extremely good, first class knowledge, he really added to the experience. It's a beautiful space, and interior is nicely done, appart from the art wich resembled more ikea poster than gallery art. Also the music was not appropriate for the dining experience unless you are into 1980's pop music! Overall I would give the experience the thumbs up, the art is just my personal taste but the music needs to be changed and would be my only negative. I once again can't rate our waiter highly enough and food was delicious and would hold its own we'll in the fine dining international standard. Best meal I have had in Ottawa, and will be back to check out some more of the menu soon hopefully.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, service not so much

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I was not pleased to find out that there was a set menu for the evening. Nobody informed me of this when I made my reservation. Also our server was not very friendly initially. She warmed up later on but I was disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

wonderful staff. superb wine pairings.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

wonderful staff. superb wine pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Valentine food menu with the wine pa ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The Valentine food menu with the wine pairing was exquisite! My girlfriend and I were amazed of the great service we received with Fraser and the knowledge that he had of the wine. He was very helpful and paid attention all evening. It is a night to remember. The atmosphere was awesome! Thanks again for the great evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great, only compliant was that ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was great, only compliant was that we were seated close to the door and due to the cold weather it made for an unenjoyable experience as it was VERY cold thoughtout the entire meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Good food but...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went here on FEBRUARY 13th for dinner. We were given the prefix Valentine's Day menu along with a drink menu. Looking at the options we didn't really like what we saw. We asked the server if this was the only menu for the night and he said "absolutely" and nothing else.. We didn't know what to do but going to another restaurant didn't seem like a good idea. So after a while we decided to go for it. The food was good. Not great. Would have enjoyed eating of their regular menu better I think. Each person was $75 and the bill was high. I think the second most I've ever paid for a place before. Seemed really strange to have the Valentine's Day menu on the day before. Would have been funny to see what menu they had for a child. I wouldn't be paying $75 for any child to have this menu. Service and concept wasn't too good at this restaurant but food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent Meal!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

One of the greatest meals I have had the pleasure of experiencing. Service was absolutely perfect, wine list went on for days, and the food was superb. Go here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely ambience

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Lovely heritage location. Service was friendly and staff was well versed on the wine list and menu offerings. Value fell a little short, but the menu was interesting and tasty, although neither our apps or our mains were delivered hot, luke warm at best, which took away from the meal itself. The music choice was out of place for a romantic, century old heritage location (disco mostly on the night we were there).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved everything about this place!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We found this place by coincidence and are so VERY happy we did. Would highly recommend it. We will be back when we return to Ottawa.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.