Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

Restaurant e18hteen

4.4
943 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
Restaurant e18hteen was named after its unique location in a 19th century heritage building in the By Ward Market Ottawa. Our adaptation of a Modern Steakhouse with a signature “Canadian Freestyle Cuisine” is a destination for local foodies, politicians, artists, celebrities and out of town visitors. E18hteen’s gourmet experience is perfect for the business professional, the socialite or romantic diner.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Nightly: 4:30pm - 10:30pm; Bar open late.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(613) 244-1188
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
David Godsoe
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Restaurant 18 can be booked out exclusively or book one of our semi-private areas alone or in conjunction with another area.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Kimberly Ryan: (844) 245-4912
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Sussex Drive
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Metered parking is available in front of the restaurant or a heated underground public parking lot is located directly beside the restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Public Transit can be accessed from the Rideau Center, a 5 minute walk through the Byward Market.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We host regular wine dinners, welcoming wine makers and exclusive wines from across Canada and the world. Follow along on social media or ask to be added to our e-mail list.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine
What 943 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Because of a function being held in the restaurant at the tim of our visit, the service was somewhat slower than it has been in the past. Those serving us apologized but...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent. The service was slow and not as attentive as it should have been for the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Amazing services and fantastic food. The duck was delicious.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We have eaten here before but it was not busy our first visit and we had great service.
This time the restaurant was busier but not full. The service was awful.
The only thing that came out fast was thd wine and we waited over an hour for our mains .

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Great food and cocktails. The service was friendly but very slow. It took 3.5 hours to get through dinner and the restaurant was not at all busy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Excellent food/ wine pairing with tasting menu, amazing staff really helpful explaining each course. would happily return next time in Ottawa

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

A great evening with friends. This is a lovely place for special occasions. Ambiance, food and service are always welcoming and sophisticated. A special dessert was a surprise at the end of our anniversary dinner. Lemon tart was fabulous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

High end, excellent food and welcoming atmosphere. Would highly recommend this restaurant, particularly for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

It was wonderful in every way

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

It is a very beautiful and classic restaurant within the Ottawa scenery. Unfortunately, we were for lunch, but on Sundays they only have brunch, which is basically a buffet. I was there to try some dishes from the main menu, but had to settle with the brunch instead. That is why I am giving a conservative score, since I couldn't taste the restaurant at its best. Needed to say, though, that the waiters were very attentive, and tried to do the most of the occasion after knowing that we were anticipating a very fine meal, which buffets usually aren't. If I ever go back to Ottawa, I will definitely would go for dinner and try that lobster and truffles that got my attention from their website.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We have reservation at 8:30pm. But we wait for another half hour to have our table. That’s the only thing that bother us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

I liked that they were very cautious with the food preparation i.e allergies. Great ambiance, beautiful venue but the food seemed a bit over priced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The Service was great and the staff was very accommodating. This place is definitely worth a visit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Celebrating the U-Grad of a special friend.
The ambience, service and fare were prefect for the occasion. We were seated in cozy stone-walled corner adjacent to the lovely fireplace and a window with a view of the Byward Market; wow!
Champagne, aperitifs, wonderful entrees and mains, digestifs, the server surprised my guest with a special dessert commemorating her graduation, specialty coffees... all YUMMY!
It's difficult to imagine how the evening could have been better.
Beaucoup d'thanks to e18hteen!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Great food and ambiance. Staff attentive but a little stiff. Would go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Food was amazing. We had the duck (two ways), and the lamb (two ways).
The bread was also light and crispy. Normally, I'm not to take interest in the bread basket, but the baguette was light and crispy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Had an incredible meal this past weekend. Service was excellent and atmosphere and ambiance was fabulous. Gorgeous building.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The food just didn’t live up to the price. Beautiful place and good service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Serving staff were accommodating and friendly. The hostess was somewhat frosty upon arrival, not very welcoming. Caesar salad had zero flavour, almost as if an ingredient had been omitted - could not finish. Oysters were bland and salty. The lobster served with the pasta entree was tough, chewy, hard to cut and the filling in pasta was cold. Crab cake appetizer was tasty but not heated all the way through, either. Extremely disappointed overall. Highly overrated. We were offered complimentary dessert but chose to forego and instead ordered room service back at our hotel. The restaurant was also very cold temperature-wise but could have been our specific seating. Nice decor and ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Eating at 18 was an excellent experience. The food quality and quantity was a great value and the staff were incredible helpful. Food presentation was exceptional. It was our anniversary and they presented us with a special dessert. Well done.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

We live out of country. Loved it so much in the past, we brought another couple with us for dinner this time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Service was impeccable, as well as the food. Was there for a birthday dinner, and was treated to a birthday dessert which was so nice. It was very quiet (we were the only table in there) from 5pm-7pm which was a little awkward, so i'd recommend going for a later time. It was designed really well, we were comfortable at our table. Would go again for sure.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Everything was great.
Our steaks were not warm enough but the rest was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The service was amazing, great flexibility with food allergies, creative on how to present each course. Last but not least the food was excellent! Overall very nice experience and will go back for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

The food and service were both amazing. Would definitely recommend this restaurant. Premium pricing but it delivers on quality and experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

2nd time here took my parents for their 50th. The food was good, I love that all plates showed up to the table at the same time. Great service as well.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Visite 3 jours à Ottawa avons décider de découvrir ce restaurant qui semblait très chaleureux de l’extérieur mais le service nous a bien refroidis très faible comme service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Wonderful Easter Brunch great cheese truffle Brie and great restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Excellent meal with ample time to get to the theatre. The waitress (Hannah) was well versed on everything from wine pairing to ingredients in the meal. She was terrific.
I was a little surprised I didn't notice a poultry option on the menu, but I had the cod and it was outstanding. My husband had the lamb, and he was very impressed

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Repas entre amoureux

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Food was sophisticated but poorly plated. Some parts were overlooked temperatures were all different on the ingredients on the plate. Poor quality control in a very nice restaurant!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

The food and ambiance, simply sensational! Classy, attentive and knowledgeable staff

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Beautiful evening and fantastic food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

I do not have one complaint. From the minute my friend and I walked through the door everything was spot on.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Had a great meal meeting up with old friends. Restaurant has a great ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Duck Duo, crab cakes and Caesar salad were fantastic. Cozy and classy atmosphere. Loved it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We had a fabulous server. The food was excellent. Wine is very good if a little overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Our second time at Eighteen. The ambiance is warm and elegant, the food superb, and the service is excellent -- professional but friendly, and ...happy!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Enjoyed my meal with my daughter. The food was over-priced, but delicious. Service was attentive and very pleasant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

My family enjoyed another great evening at 18. The food is superb. We are all critical diners and we all found our dishes exceptional. The atmosphere is classy without being stuffy. The staff is all so professional, knowledgable and fun. I had the Ling Cod which was pure heaven. If you want a memorable and relaxing evening, this is a great place to go.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
24