About Restaurant e18hteen

18 York Street
Ottawa, ON K1N 5T5
View Larger Map

Restaurant e18hteen was named after its unique location in an 19th century heritage building in the By Ward Market Ottawa. Our adaptation of a Modern Steakhouse with a signature “Canadian Freestyle Cuisine” is a destination for local foodies, politicians, artists, celebrities and out of town visitors. E18hteen’s gourmet experience is perfect for the business professional, the socialite or romantic diner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 4:30pm - 10:30pm; Bar is open until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Sussex Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 244-1188

Website:
http://www.restaurant18.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in front of the restaurant or a heated underground public parking lot is located directly beside the restaurant

Public Transit:
Public Transit can be accessed from the Rideau Center

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Korecki

Private Party Facilities:
Our elegant open concept dining room, professional personnel with attention to detail and decadent culinary experience will make your event an affair to remember.
e18hteen also offers two private rooms. The large Wine Room private dining room seats up to 20 guests and the small dining room seats up to 10 guests. The panels dividing the rooms may be opened for a combined capacity of up to 30 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Heather O'Connell: 613-244-1188x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON
  • Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON
  • Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON
  • Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON
  • Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON
  • Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON
  • Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON
  • Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON
  • Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON
Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON
Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON
Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON
Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON
Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON
Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON
Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON
Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON
Eighteen - Restaurant e18hteen, Ottawa, ON

Specials

Happy Hour

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Come unwind at Restaurant E18hteen after work for a seasonal bar menu and 6$ beverages!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy Hour is offered in the Lounge or on the Patio only. Special valid Aug 24, 2016 - Dec 23, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Restaurant e18hteen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Best Ambiance
Ottawa
1 More
Special Occasion
Ottawa

Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (25)
Notable Wine List (19)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Business Meals (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Historic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fireplace (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
749 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent meal - we started with the cra ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent meal - we started with the crab cake, following up with the beef tenderloin for me and cod for my wife. Matching wines were perfect. A slight complaint with the service... not quite as responsive or attentive as we have experienced at similar restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

my experience was overall great and i wo ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

my experience was overall great and i would go back anytime.

there were a few setbackd however worth mentioning as constructive feedback.

tasting menu was fairly expensive. 95$ for 5 services and the items themselves were hit and miss in quality. would have liked to see more fresh veggies and less pickled veggies. im actually not sure we were served any fresh ones. also didnt feel crab cake was very elevated for the restaurant.

still in the tasting. wine costed 60$ for the equivalent of ~ half a bottle. that is on the expensive side. wine quality and variety was great though.

before main course we asked for a break and were assured it would take not more than 4 minutes to serve when we were ready. in reality. it took 20.

for the main course we were served duck. i am not highly knowledgeable about duck but it was a pretty tough meat. i struggled with a steak knife to cut it. same for my wife's duck.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The food wasn't what we expected for tha ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food wasn't what we expected for that price. It wasn't better that many restaurant I went for half the price. They restaurant was actually 1/4 full and they gave us a table to was against a wall while there was a lot of better tables. I couldn't even move my elbow so I asked for a better table which they gladly did. During the night there was a client the was extremely arrogant & loud that was waiting for his sex escort. When the escort arrived they made out & said disgusted things in front of everyone. That made us very uncomfortable and the staff didn't do anything about this. There is better place in Ottawa with better food for the same price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent service, great food, a really ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Excellent service, great food, a really nice place for any occasion, it never disappoints.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very excited to have a reservati ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were very excited to have a reservation. The decor and ambiance was amazing. We were served the bread - which was warm but no butter. We asked for some and by the time it arrived the bread was cold. The consistent comment about the appetizers was the presentation was very good, they were tasty but not hot enough - more troublesome for those who had the bisque. A comment was made to the server to ensure there would be no problem with the entree. Much to our surprise no one came to speak to us about it. Those who had the steak and the lamb enjoyed it. The chicken not so much. It was a very expensive night and regrettably we did not all come away saying wow but thought it was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

We were in Ottawa for the weekend atten ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We were in Ottawa for the weekend attending the Remembrance Day ceremonies. I had not been to E18hteen in quite few years but remembered it as having expertly prepared meals. This visit I can easily say it was a fantastic meal. Our waiter, Patrick, was very friendly and attentive and helped to make the evening a wonderful experience. I had the duo of lamb and it was honestly one of the best lamb dishes I have eaten in ages. When I am in Ottawa again I would definitely go back to E18hteen.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service. Staff was very knowl ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Wonderful service. Staff was very knowledgable. Food flavor was a bit overpowering. Maybe growing pains with a new menu?

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Blind tasting menu with wine pairings. T ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Blind tasting menu with wine pairings. The service was attentive, friendly, very knowledgeable and sensitive to one of our guests that had a fish allergy. The food was visually appealing and every course was delicious. The wines matched with each course were expertly paired. It was a "home run". In a city that has so many restaurants and dining options, this one is worth making a return visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My food was reasonably good, though my c ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My food was reasonably good, though my crab bisque was less than stellar (overpowered by the rather unpleasant (and unnecessary) pork belly addition. My black cod main was pretty good, though slightly undercooked and on the bland side. My companion's Ontario lamb was lukewarm at best when it arrived at our table. The cool temperature wrecked what otherwise could have been a delicious main.

My main problem was with the service. A few easy tips from Waitering 101:

  1. Keep your guests' water glasses full at all times. Ours were empty for most of the evening.

  2. When a bottle of wine is ordered, keep your guests' wine glasses full. After the initial pour, our waiter never once returned to refill our glasses. Such bad form -- it really left a bad taste in my mouth. We might have ordered a second bottle, but opted to go elsewhere after our meal for further drinks, as the service at e18hteen simply didn't warrant it.

  3. When freshly-baked rolls are offered upon seating your guests, be certain that you follow through. We were told this, but no rolls ever arrived. When I asked halfway through the meal, our waiter apologized and said he would follow up. He did not, and nothing ever arrived. The dish of butter at our table slowly melted as the evening went on, as the dining room was uncomfortably hot, and remained so until the ceiling fans were turned on (or at least turned up) toward the end of the evening.

  4. Dirty dishes should be cleared promptly. They were not.

All told, we spent nearly $300 on dinner and drinks. We might have spent more, but declined to. Still, I would assume that $300 would entitle a client of e18hteen to a reasonable level of service that was not forthcoming. Busyness cannot have played a factor, as we did not arrive until just after 9pm, at which point the dinner rush was well behind us. Overall, my expectations were not really met. I think some staff refresher training may be in order. Nice decor, but overall, a mediocre experience.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

For price value I don't think it was the ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

For price value I don't think it was there. Service from the staff was missing - twice they served food with no utensils and they were no where to be seen so we got up and took from the empty table beside us.

Talking about the seemed rushed -

When taking the tasting menu with the optional wine pairing would expect a lot more interaction and knowledge from the service staff. Comparing to others who provide the same the service staff have work to do at Eighteen.

Food however was very good overall.

One issue again was the service staff asked if there were foods that you didn't like, then when one of the tastings came out that food was included so one person at the table was unable to enjoy that part of the tasting...not sure if it was service staff not advising kitchen or kitchen not listening.

Would not do the tasting again due to service in general and often missing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

I had heard about 18 for about two years ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I had heard about 18 for about two years but just hadn't gotten back to Ottawa to try it. Needless to say, it was disappointing. The service was great but the food was NOT worth the wait. The place was all but empty (us and three other tables). The have a good thing going at their sister restaurant The Sidedoor (see my review). This place is not what is used to be.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Nice spot. Took care of us during dinner ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Nice spot. Took care of us during dinner. Was hard to get the bill at the end when a rush came on unfortunately. Staff was covering for bar.

Tags: Historic, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

A great experience from service, atmosph ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A great experience from service, atmosphere and décor!

Will definitely be back!

Tags: Healthy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great lamb and steak. But BYOW corkage ...

vip
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great lamb and steak. But BYOW corkage fee at $30 is $10 more than most other restaurants in Ottawa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

After booking our 30 th anniversary the ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 18, 2016

After booking our 30 th anniversary the service was good put food came out cold and was given replacement but sides were just warm at best There was Cobb webs all over the laps and walls above my wife's head I told the staff after she went to the ladies room the said well that happens as I looked around they were in several places

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The waiter was knowledgeable and persona ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The waiter was knowledgeable and personable. The food was superb.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a fantantic night and an interesting ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Was a fantantic night and an interesting experience. Good combinations and perfect service. O hope return Canada an for sure return eighteen restaurant.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious with a very appe ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was delicious with a very appetizing presentation . Service was very attentive all be it a little slower than our preference, allowed plenty of time for conversation. The ambiance of the restaurant allowed for a very pleasant dining experience, moderately priced . We would definitely return for another dining treat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

An exceptional restaurant. We did the t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

An exceptional restaurant. We did the tasting menu with the wine pairing and both the food and the service was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal and wonderful service. ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Outstanding meal and wonderful service. A memorable evening in lovely surroundings with a caring, informed and attentive staff.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had our 27th wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We had our 27th wedding anniversary and were treated like king/queen! Great service by all (main waiter Nick) and well appreciated. Of course it is pricey but well worth it! Thank you 18th

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a dinner for my family in celeb ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 27, 2016

This was a dinner for my family in celebration of my wife's birthday. The food was flavourful and my 14 year old son enjoyed all parts of the tasting menu as we did. A great amount of the food items were created with local products which were fresh and excellent. Products brought in from more distant areas were also fresh and of excellent quality. All the wine pairing were perfect with each coarse and ranged from Ontario wines to more distant wines of New Zealand, South America, Europe and the US. Overall, it was an occasion I would repeat.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nous apprécions toujours l'effort qui es ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Nous apprécions toujours l'effort qui est fait pour nous servir en français.

Merci au personnel

Tags: Menu dégustation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a must visit restaurant when in ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 5, 2016

This is a must visit restaurant when in Ottawa. The food is spectacular and the service is excellent. One of my favourites!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In general good, we had two visitors fro ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 30, 2016

In general good, we had two visitors from Belgium who know good food and they appeared to enjoy it. Two small critiques. One, the pace of delivery seemed a little on the slow side. Two, the decor while very nice seems somewhat out of fashion, it looks like it "used to be modern".

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was lovely. The steaks were ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service was lovely. The steaks were larger than we were expecting so we were quite stuffed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, good advice on wine, some bi ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food, good advice on wine, some bilingual staff members. Overall, a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food took a long time to arrive and when ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food took a long time to arrive and when it did, was undercooked and cold. Guests had to return to have it cooked and warm. One guest returned meat twice as it was not cooked to specification. When the food did come back for the second time, it was delicious. Server apologized and was extremely professional. Birthday dessert on the house was very much appreciated and a nice gesture. Was a little disappointed in the experience because my first time to the restaurant was amazing, with an amazing meal and ambience. I suppose I was expecting the same experience and that is why I suggested the restaurant to the group, for a birthday meal/celebration. I like the ambiance and fish selection but don't think I will rush back for a meal there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We were celebrating a special birthday a ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 24, 2016

We were celebrating a special birthday and decided to go all out with the chef surprise and wine pairing. We were impressed and delighted with every aspect of the eventing. Great ambiance, friendly knowledgable staff, unique and delicious pairings. We would highly recommend to our friends and will definitely be back. Thank you to all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three long time friends had a wonderful ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Three long time friends had a wonderful meal in a lovely restaurant that did not require us to shout to have a conversation. The server was excellent and helped us with choosing several dishes that could be split between two or more of us. Gave us lots of variety. Thanks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good service, but food too salted a ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very good service, but food too salted and dessert very bad. The salad was excellent but the main dish was not good at all.

we indicated to the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

3 people dined. 2 had halibut, overcook ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 17, 2016

3 people dined. 2 had halibut, overcooked and dry and pieces were slightly different in size. 1 had pork, expected to have it presented on the bone. Deserts poor selection, and rice pudding was like rice soup.

I would not recommend this restaurant, very disappointed by food quality. I was so looking forward to a properly cooked piece of fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great food, great service. All around w ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food, great service. All around win. Perfect for a romantic night out with the wife while visiting Ottawa.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and the staff very at ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food was delicious and the staff very attentive and friendly. Without exception the four diners in our group enjoyed the tastes and flavors of everything ordered.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a bad gut feeling from the start ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a bad gut feeling from the start as tge place had perhaps 4 couples in it- not a good sign. We were visiting from Manitoba and thought it would be nice to have a special dinner out on our anniversery (we married in Ottawa 12 years ago). Everything grossly overpriced which is fine but then it better meet expecatations. My wifes casear had no taste of Anchovy, Garlic nor could you taste Parmesan cheese ( I could see that clearly on the salad so suspect it was either cheap stuff or past its prime). My lobster bisque had a couple of pathetic pieces of lobster in a luke warm broth. Our mains were equally lacking, overcooked and brings to mind the story of the Emperors new clothes. As a result, we ended up not eating our mains and left for another restaurant. Sorry but starting to believe review websites are mostly filled out by the staff from restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Meal and service was excellent.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Meal and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fabulous design, delicious fine cuisine ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fabulous design, delicious fine cuisine food, great quality wine list, great service and great location (By Market). Highly satisfied! :D

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We found the well-configured old bank bu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We found the well-configured old bank buildng a delightful environment. The meal was really excellent and downright interesting...but the real delight was the canadian cheese selection. Worth the trip to Ottawa! We would encourage anyone to make the trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you for the wonderful meal and hos ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Thank you for the wonderful meal and hospitality! The housemade mustard and pickles were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice location and ambience. Pity the foo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Nice location and ambience. Pity the food was average and the service quite slow.

Value for money not too good from the 5 of us eating in this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.