About Restaurant e18hteen

18 York Street
Ottawa, ON K1N 5T5
View Larger Map

Restaurant e18hteen was named after its unique location in an 19th century heritage building in the By Ward Market Ottawa. Our adaptation of a Modern Steakhouse with a signature “Canadian Freestyle Cuisine” is a destination for local foodies, politicians, artists, celebrities and out of town visitors. E18hteen’s gourmet experience is perfect for the business professional, the socialite or romantic diner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 4:30pm - 10:30pm; Bar is open until 2:00am

Cross Street:
Sussex Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 244-1188

Website:
http://www.restaurant18.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in front of the restaurant or a heated underground public parking lot is located directly beside the restaurant

Public Transit:
Public Transit can be accessed from the Rideau Center

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Korecki

Private Party Facilities:
Our elegant open concept dining room, professional personnel with attention to detail and decadent culinary experience will make your event an affair to remember.
e18hteen also offers two private rooms. The large Wine Room private dining room seats up to 20 guests and the small dining room seats up to 10 guests. The panels dividing the rooms may be opened for a combined capacity of up to 30 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Heather O'Connell: 613-244-1188x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Restaurant e18hteen
  • Restaurant e18hteen
  • Restaurant e18hteen
  • Restaurant e18hteen
  • Restaurant e18hteen
  • Restaurant e18hteen
  • Restaurant e18hteen
  • Restaurant e18hteen
  • Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen
Restaurant e18hteen

Specials

Happy Hour

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Come unwind at Restaurant E18hteen after work for a seasonal bar menu and 6$ beverages!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy Hour is offered in the Lounge or on the Patio only. Special valid Aug 24, 2016 - Dec 23, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Restaurant e18hteen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Ottawa
Best Ambiance
Ottawa
Romantic
Ottawa
7 More
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Most Booked
Ottawa
Best Service
Ottawa
Best Ambiance
Ottawa
Romantic
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Most Booked
Ottawa

Special Occasion (49)
Romantic (43)
Fit for Foodies (33)
See All
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for Groups (14)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Hot Spot (7)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Casual (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Authentic (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
722 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a must visit restaurant when in ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This is a must visit restaurant when in Ottawa. The food is spectacular and the service is excellent. One of my favourites!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In general good, we had two visitors fro ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

In general good, we had two visitors from Belgium who know good food and they appeared to enjoy it. Two small critiques. One, the pace of delivery seemed a little on the slow side. Two, the decor while very nice seems somewhat out of fashion, it looks like it "used to be modern".

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was lovely. The steaks were ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service was lovely. The steaks were larger than we were expecting so we were quite stuffed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, good advice on wine, some bi ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food, good advice on wine, some bilingual staff members. Overall, a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food took a long time to arrive and when ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food took a long time to arrive and when it did, was undercooked and cold. Guests had to return to have it cooked and warm. One guest returned meat twice as it was not cooked to specification. When the food did come back for the second time, it was delicious. Server apologized and was extremely professional. Birthday dessert on the house was very much appreciated and a nice gesture. Was a little disappointed in the experience because my first time to the restaurant was amazing, with an amazing meal and ambience. I suppose I was expecting the same experience and that is why I suggested the restaurant to the group, for a birthday meal/celebration. I like the ambiance and fish selection but don't think I will rush back for a meal there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We were celebrating a special birthday a ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We were celebrating a special birthday and decided to go all out with the chef surprise and wine pairing. We were impressed and delighted with every aspect of the eventing. Great ambiance, friendly knowledgable staff, unique and delicious pairings. We would highly recommend to our friends and will definitely be back. Thank you to all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three long time friends had a wonderful ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Three long time friends had a wonderful meal in a lovely restaurant that did not require us to shout to have a conversation. The server was excellent and helped us with choosing several dishes that could be split between two or more of us. Gave us lots of variety. Thanks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good service, but food too salted a ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very good service, but food too salted and dessert very bad. The salad was excellent but the main dish was not good at all.

we indicated to the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

3 people dined. 2 had halibut, overcook ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

3 people dined. 2 had halibut, overcooked and dry and pieces were slightly different in size. 1 had pork, expected to have it presented on the bone. Deserts poor selection, and rice pudding was like rice soup.

I would not recommend this restaurant, very disappointed by food quality. I was so looking forward to a properly cooked piece of fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great food, great service. All around w ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food, great service. All around win. Perfect for a romantic night out with the wife while visiting Ottawa.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and the staff very at ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food was delicious and the staff very attentive and friendly. Without exception the four diners in our group enjoyed the tastes and flavors of everything ordered.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a bad gut feeling from the start ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a bad gut feeling from the start as tge place had perhaps 4 couples in it- not a good sign. We were visiting from Manitoba and thought it would be nice to have a special dinner out on our anniversery (we married in Ottawa 12 years ago). Everything grossly overpriced which is fine but then it better meet expecatations. My wifes casear had no taste of Anchovy, Garlic nor could you taste Parmesan cheese ( I could see that clearly on the salad so suspect it was either cheap stuff or past its prime). My lobster bisque had a couple of pathetic pieces of lobster in a luke warm broth. Our mains were equally lacking, overcooked and brings to mind the story of the Emperors new clothes. As a result, we ended up not eating our mains and left for another restaurant. Sorry but starting to believe review websites are mostly filled out by the staff from restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Meal and service was excellent.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Meal and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fabulous design, delicious fine cuisine ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fabulous design, delicious fine cuisine food, great quality wine list, great service and great location (By Market). Highly satisfied! :D

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We found the well-configured old bank bu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We found the well-configured old bank buildng a delightful environment. The meal was really excellent and downright interesting...but the real delight was the canadian cheese selection. Worth the trip to Ottawa! We would encourage anyone to make the trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you for the wonderful meal and hos ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Thank you for the wonderful meal and hospitality! The housemade mustard and pickles were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice location and ambience. Pity the foo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Nice location and ambience. Pity the food was average and the service quite slow.

Value for money not too good from the 5 of us eating in this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

It was a beautifully appointed, and very ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It was a beautifully appointed, and very friendly spot - we had made a special request for an Anniversary, made on-line and the server had been told, as we received a special dessert with congratulations.....very impressive!

Lovely meal, lovely atmosphere, and exceptional service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have regularly celebrated special occ ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We have regularly celebrated special occasions like our wedding anniversary at Restaurant Eighteen. Each time, we come away totally satisfied with the food, the service and the value for money. A great place for fine dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very impressed with staff their knowledg ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very impressed with staff their knowledge of food, wine and they even made me a cocktail off the menu. Merci

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food. On the pricey side, b ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Always great food. On the pricey side, but never disappointed which is worth a premium.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our evening at Restaurant e18hteen was d ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our evening at Restaurant e18hteen was deligthful. Attentive service, delicious food. Creative combinations and each bite was filled with various pops of flavour. the steaks were so flavourful and cooked to perfection. My duck dish was tasty and deligthful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a fantastic restaurant with sup ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was a fantastic restaurant with superb food and a charming atmosphere. We each ordered a steak dinner with tasty sides and were impressed with the generous portions. It is well worth putting this destination at the top of your list of restaurants to try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This supper was very deceiving , I had ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This supper was very deceiving , I had grilled octopus and black cod a meal that I had a few times before,well the octopus quality was low and was burned black not eatable, took instead the foils gras torchon which was good, the black cod was Ok but the way they prepare it before with the skin and a different taste much better. Me and my guests meal was not a WOW factor, our server came and told me that they didn't charge the octopus well no surprise their but I was surprised that I was not offered a free something.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Outstanding service. When the waiter rea ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Outstanding service. When the waiter realized we were francophone, he immediately spoke to us in French although this was not his first language. He was very attentive to the rhythm we ate so that our courses did not arrive too fast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Eighteen was excellent. The food was ve ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Eighteen was excellent. The food was very good and the service was superb. A little on the expensive side but we were expecting that. Only one small comment. When we asked the waiter for a suggestion for an unoaked Chardonnay, he brought a sample of an oaked Chardonnay. Normally this would not have been an issue except that the person asking had an allergy. Again, this was not huge especially because the person in our party did not specifically mention the allergy. In summary we were very pleased with the experience overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Best restaurant in Ottawa! Food was spec ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Best restaurant in Ottawa! Food was spectacular, decor gorgeous, service impeccable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location, ambiance and service. W ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great location, ambiance and service. We had a lovely wine, all guests had fish, and we were permitted to sit and chat for hours!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for an anniversary dinner on a S ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We went for an anniversary dinner on a Sunday, so it was quieter than usual. Cool ambiance. We sat near the huge fireplace. Our server was excellent, and suggested wine pairings for our food that were delicious. I had a kale salad and the duck. Both excellent, duck cooked perfectly. My wife had a beet salad and the lobster and enjoyed both of them. Meal pace was perfect. They accounted for our food allergies, and even made us a special complimentary dessert that was lactose free (usually their complimentary dessert is creamy). They have an extensive wine list with bottles at every price point if you are into getting a bottle with a meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

It was delicious.. ambiance was perfect... not too noisy... servers were impeccable. Meat was just yummy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Impeccable food and outstanding service. Extensive wine list to match all dishes on the menu. Staff was very attentive without being over bearing. No complaints whatsoever. Will gladly come back next time we are in town from Toronto.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome. Only small negative was noise ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Awesome. Only small negative was noise level for a business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was impeccable. They were atten ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Service was impeccable. They were attentive to our allergies rather than making us feell like a nuisance. Lighting, table, music and ambiance in general was beautiful. Room to move and the tables were not jammed together as in many places. The food was tasty and the menu creative. The wine list was broad enough to suit all requests. Would highly recommend 18.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This Restaurant Has Lost Its Way !

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Went there for a birthday dinner and overall were disappointed compared to previous years. Quality and presentation of food did not live up to previous visits. Appetizers~ Raviolli was tough and the serving size too small for the price point charged. The beef tartar was good but it's presentation on the plate lacked creativity. The fois gras seemed nothing more than simple duck pate that I could have bought at the grocery store. Overall the appetizers lacked imagination and culinary skill. Main courses- the rack of lamb serving size was too small for the price point charged although it was flavourful. The halibut, duck and scallops were good. The dessert menu was extremely limited and lacked culinary imagination. The service was basic and lacked skill and polish. Overall and at this price point, we felt that this restaurant was in coast mode with a basic menu and service that lacked culinary skill and imagination with little wow factor. We normally do not write these type of negative reviews but feel that it is warranted based on our observation. We hope that it is taken as a constructive assessment for improvement and not just a rant. Hope restaurant 18 regains its culinary mojo in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great Dinner

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

There wasn't a single thing I tried there that I thought tasted even slightly off, already recommended this restaurant to a friend as a steak lover. Waiter was very knowledgeable and gave great wine pairings with the appetizers and main course.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

From every aspect this is a spectacular restaurant. The service is wonderful. The food is unbelievable and the decor is absolutely phenomenal.

Loved it. Absolutely loved it.

Will certainly go every time we're in Ottawa.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great surprise

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Best restaurant I have been to in Ottawa. Simply outstanding. Server Marc was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service, nice ambiance, b ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food and service, nice ambiance, but fairly expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Did not disappoint. Food and service wer ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Did not disappoint. Food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive but worth it. Excellent food a ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Expensive but worth it. Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.