Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Restaurant e18hteen

Restaurant e18hteen was named after its unique location in an 19th century heritage building in the By Ward Market Ottawa. Our adaptation of a Modern Steakhouse with a signature “Canadian Freestyle Cuisine” is a destination for local foodies, politicians, artists, celebrities and out of town visitors. E18hteen’s gourmet experience is perfect for the business professional, the socialite or romantic diner.

18 York Street
Ottawa, ON K1N 5T5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 4:30pm - 10:30pm; Bar open late.

Cross Street:
Sussex Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 244-1188

Website:
http://www.restaurant18.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in front of the restaurant or a heated underground public parking lot is located directly beside the restaurant

Public Transit:
Public Transit can be accessed from the Rideau Center

Executive Chef:
David Godsoe

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant 18 can be booked out exclusively or book one of our semi-private areas alone or in conjunction with another area.

Private Party Contact:
Heather O'Connell: (844) 245-4912

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Happy Hour

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

5$ Select wines and Beer! 2$ Oysters! 1/2 price bar snacks!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Monday-Friday from 5:00pm until 7:00pm. Available in the bar and lounge only. Special valid Jan 31, 2017 - May 31, 2017 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Restaurant e18hteen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (20)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Historic (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fireplace (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Business Meals (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Seasonal (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fun (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
826 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Beaucoup trop cher pour le niveau de qualité et de service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 4 days ago

First time eating here and had a wonderful dinner all around, food and service were both excellent. Will definitely return

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent server who was attentive to our needs during the meal. The friendly chef came to our table to greet us. We had met him at another venue where he was demonstrating his talents and he came over to chat with us. Delicious food and beautifully prepared. Complimentary sweet tasting to celebrate the occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary here this week. The food was excellent, service was suberb, and the atmosphere was very elegant. The steaks were delicious and the drinks were great. Our waitress was exceptional and was very attentive and showed my wife and I impeccable service on our special night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a great Mother's day brunch. Kids loved the chocolate fondue!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

For a special celebration, the quality of the meal, the wine and the service was excellent and the price was very reasonable, considering the quality. It was my first visit to Eighteen, and I will definitely return

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Not what we expected. Too many servers serving us. It was not the quality we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was good but I was sitting in a corner facing a wall. Bot as good as the Baccara.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Restaurant e18ghteen is one of my favourite restaurants in Ottawa. The food is always wonderful and the service friendly. On this occasion we went for Easter brunch with our 12 year old daughter. Although all three of us have very different tastes, the choices were plentiful and therefore all of us had a wonderful meal. A special treat for me was the profiterole: it was so fresh it just melted in your mouth.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Everything we ate was AMAZING! Very tasty and cooked perfectly. They were extremely short staff. We were sitting there for 25 mins before anyone came to the table to greet us. Maybe it was just an off night? I hope so because the food is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a great evening with family. The little bites offered before the meal are always a hit.
The wine we selected wasn't available so another was suggested and it was awsome.
As always the food was to perfection, the service was fantastic!
Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a great evening with excellent service. Had the 5 course taster with wine pairing. All was excellent, except the main course duck breast. Very tough and disappointing. But all else was excellent. However, for about $900.00 total for 4, everything should have been top rate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Have fresh fries... have some candies at the end of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This restaurant provides good service and great food. Interesting menu with a nice range of food options that will meet all tastes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Food was delicious. A great place for steak and they have other great items to choose from if you're looking for something different. Service was fantastic- staff is very attentive. Would definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Amazing food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The service was excellent. The food was delicious. Being close to the fireplace and beside a window was a perfect dinner setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was good but not great, the setting fantastic and very easy to have a conversation as it was quiet but the service was well below expectations for a fine dining restaurant.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have dined here before and have always come away feeling that we had a lovely evening; unfortunately in this case it was not to be.
This was for a combination birthday /anniversary dinner and when we arrived we found that the original table appeared to us to be cramped so we asked for another table and were very graciously shown to a larger table. This was obviously, in hindsight, a mistake since we were placed beside a large table of eight or so people celebrating (as we were) a special occasion -in their case,the appointment of a judgeship I believe. It was very easy to determine this since their conversations,given the close proximity, were pretty hard to block out.
Our waiter was charming but it became abundantly clear that the larger table was clearly the priority of the evening. Clearly, we should have picked a different evening or perhaps you were short-staffed that evening.The food was very good except the sautéed mushrooms were lukewarm at best.
Up until this evening, I would have had no hesitation in recommending 18 to friends ;now...not so sure.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

What a treasure! We drove 2.5 hours from Upstate NY to try this restaurant and it was completely worth it. Our party of six chose the 5 course blind tasting chefs menu and we're so glad that we did. Exquisite cuisine! Thank you to Chef David and our knowledgable waitress, Louree--we had a never-to-forget evening at Restaurant 18. Will definitely be back in the fall! Thanks!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent tasting menu and service. Great special occasion experience. Top 5 restaurants in Ottawa.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fireplace, Historic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I have always wanted to try your restaurant and I'm glad I finally did. The menu isn't everyday dining but it was lovely for a special occasion. The restaurant's interior is the most beautiful I've ever seen and it was a great touch to our evening. Our waiter and host were also fantastic. Very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had some issues that I communicated to Management, however they never got back to me so I will list them here.

This was for Valentine's Day, so we made sure to make reservations way in advance. Their menu looked great and the prices were very fair.

I get a call a couple weeks before the event, notifying me that there would be a special Valentine's menu, which wasn't a surprise to me as every nice restaurant does this and was expected. The menu looked very nice, but it was very expensive and there were a couple dishes I did not want to eat, but I didn't think much of it because I already knew what I wanted from the regular menu.

Cut to the actual day when we get seated and the staff inform me that the Valentine's menu was the only choice, and there would be no option for anything on the regular menu. So my options were to leave and try to find a restaurant with no reservation, or just accept the special menu and its high cost ($80 per person + tax and tip).

We got seated right next to the entrance so it was extremely cold, and the decor wasn't anything special where we were seated. Just a big fire alarm on the wall, and some industrial piping, whereas every other table in the room had a very nice decor.

The food that I did eat was very good, but not $200 for two people good. In the future I really hope they inform people that the special menu is the only choice, so people can budget their event adequately.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Dinner with friends, cosy seating in back, excellent food presentation and quality. Good wine pairing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Delicious food, amazing service a bit pricey though. Probably won't go back because dinnner for 1 person was like $80-$90 with dessert.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I had a wonderful evening. The food was amazing and the service was good. I felt the servers looked a little to relaxed in their look for the style of restaurant. Messy hair and the green shirts didn't fit the decor of the place. Also the bathrooms left me underwhelmed. The tile on the floor and wall reminded me of an elementary school. And there was no luck on my stall. I feel they could really camp up that space to reflect the restaurant and it would make a world of difference. We sat by the window and it was lovely and the food was so good so although I'm not overlooking these misgivings I would still come back for another meal!

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Portions are very generous

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was an extremely pleasant evening, from the greeting, the ambience, the architecture (modern in a 19th century building), the menu choices, the sever was pleasant and knowledgeable, service was efficient, and the food up to all the previous reviews that we read in choosing this restaurant. The three entrees chosen and the black cod were superb. It was a brief walk from the convention center and many hotels and HomeAway rental locations!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was mediocre. The building was beautiful. The service was terrible.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Was at this restaurant for a birthday celebration, and loved it. Great ambience, with lights dim but not dark, and a fireplace. Comfortable, nice seats and tables, as well as temperature. Stunning interior, with a beautiful entranceway to the building. Food was creative, albeit a little expensive. However, this dining is worth an experience. I am glad I chose restaurant e18hteen!

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food and service was excellent. I had the Miso Cod. The fish was perfectly done. The portion was generous. I also had the tuna appetizer. It was excellent as well. Our server was attentive, but not intrusive and displayed a high degree of professionalism. Every one in our party remarked on the quality of food and preparation. This was an exceptional dining experience, we will be bac!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Booked for a business dinner. Great restaurant, location and ambience. Food was excellent as was the service. Good wine list. Not overly pricey.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 11, 2017

An absolutely top notch dining experience. Great food, great ambiance, great service. One the very best Ottawa has to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Nice and quiet environment but we waited almost an hour for just our appetizers and the restaurant was not busy at all. There was probably only 5 other tables there that evening. Our waiter and waitress would ask if we wanted a water refill then come back 15 minutes later, only to forget about our water...twice! For the portion, price, and service; it probably won't be at the top of my "go to" restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Très bonne nourriture. Par contre certains plats étaient très salés, (sauce, légumes, etc) Très bon service! On pourrait mettre plus d'effort dans le choix de la musique. On va y retourner mais seulement pour occasion très spéciale car c'est très dispendieux...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Lamb was excellent; steak also was perfect rare , both very tender

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Can't really review as after 40 minutes being completely ignored we walked out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Dans mon top 5. Très bon service et amical. Dommage que je suis de Repentigny.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Beautiful restaurant! The black cod was amazing!!! We are definitely going back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 28, 2016

J'adore ce restaurant que je fréquente depuis plusieurs années!💞

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.