Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Restaurant e18hteen

Restaurant e18hteen was named after its unique location in an 19th century heritage building in the By Ward Market Ottawa. Our adaptation of a Modern Steakhouse with a signature “Canadian Freestyle Cuisine” is a destination for local foodies, politicians, artists, celebrities and out of town visitors. E18hteen’s gourmet experience is perfect for the business professional, the socialite or romantic diner.

18 York Street
Ottawa, ON K1N 5T5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 4:30pm - 10:30pm; Bar open late.

Cross Street:
Sussex Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 244-1188

Website:
http://www.restaurant18.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in front of the restaurant or a heated underground public parking lot is located directly beside the restaurant

Public Transit:
Public Transit can be accessed from the Rideau Center

Executive Chef:
David Godsoe

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant 18 can be booked out exclusively or book one of our semi-private areas alone or in conjunction with another area.

Private Party Contact:
Heather O'Connell: (844) 245-4912

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant e18hteen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Romantic (17)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Business Meals (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Healthy (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
People Watching (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
854 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Wait staff was attentive without being disruptive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 13, 2017

This was my second visit, and most enjoyable again.
The food is excellent. The service is absolutely second to none: courteous, attentive and personalized.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Disappointing : almost empty but could not get a suitable table. Long wait before being able to order. Strange way of serving wine. Food was good (except the fries)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

The service was very good, I had the duck and it was very tasty. My boyfriend had the steak which was good but nothing special. Good thing it was for a special occasion as it is quite pricey

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

What a pleasant evening!Everything was top notch!2 days after still remembering how good the food was!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

This is a spot to go to for a special occasion. The stone walls, high ceilings and decor give it a beautiful atmosphere. Food choices are very gourmet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We have dined here on a few occasions now. The decor is beautiful with the stone walls, and online reservation system is so convenient. Service has been good each time. In all honesty though, the food is never actually as great as I anticipate. It is always good, and the menu has things you don't get just anywhere, but for the cost and location, I expected better.
Also, an easy fix of something that brings your restaurant from a 5* experience to a 3* is the toilet paper!! Why do you cheap out on the toilet paper???! Please, if nothing else improve the quality of your TP for your customers who are paying a lot to dine with you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Mike was our sever and he was fantastic, I absolutely loved all his selections and recommendations. We really enjoyed all the food and the prompt service, I would for sure go back next time I'm in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 17, 2017

J'ai été agréablement surprise par l'originalité et l'excellente qualité des repas. On se serait cru quelque part en France.
Excellent service également, expérience à renouveler absolument !!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Pleasant experience in Ottawa. Staff was very attentive to my wife's dietary issues. Some might consider the menu a little pricey but the value and portion size were outstanding. Well worth the visit if you are in Ottawa

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We came to Ottawa for our second wedding anniversary and made a reservation without recommendation or reading much about the e18hteen. Great service, amazing food, very romantic and just a great overall experience. Restaurant is beautiful and the food was excellent. I have a background in culinary, vichyssoise was perfect. Can't say enough about this place.

They made our anniversary super special and had a surprise at the end of the meal for us as well!

Very very minor gripe, our corner table seemed to be the only table with light shining directly on over it...nonetheless amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Restaurant wasn't busy at all for a Friday night. We were the last table by 10pm . Food quality was average considering the price. Third time here and still feel the same about it. I ordered the duck and half of it was tough to chew. Great wine drink selection , quiet ambiance if you're looking for a low key night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The ribeye steak was better the last time we ate at Restaurant 18.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

This restaurant never disappoints. The service and food are top notch and I highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The sommelier, Sam, was very knowledgeable, personable and helpful. He made our dinner an exceptional experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

The restaurant was good, but the food and the price was a bit too high based on the portion.

Ambiance and service was great! We got the chefs 5 course meal but we expected it to be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Food was very good, service was great, menu was limited.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The Chef and waiter were extremely accommodating. They went out of their way to make an item that was not available for that day, available to us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The service was very good but was out shined by the quality, presentation and taste of the food.
A very relaxing and enjoyable meal. I recommend trying this Restaurant if you haven't been before. While a little on the pricey side it was good value for what was offered.
Will be back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We dined on a night that there happened to be two giant parties there, so I'm wondering if that was why for a large portion of the evening we were ignored. Waiting 40 minutes to get the smallest and most expensive dessert I've ever had the misfortune of ordering is ridiculous and amazingly pretentious. The black cod was the best part of the entire experience. Adding to the frustration was the children running around and being seated by the restroom. The restaurant was not full except for a scattering of a few other couples and the two large parties. A lot of expense for not a lot of food (albeit very good and high quality) and inattentive service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our first time at 18 and it was "Ok". Most dishes had potential but lacked seasoning. Steak was over cooked so consider asking one less doneness. Fish (Cod) was very well cooked, probably sous-vide and pan finished but lacked salt. Even the pork dashi, which should have been over seasoned, was very bland. Frisée salade with fried sweetbread was my favourite dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The food was exceptional and the service was top notch. Our waiter made three recommendations, that were very good, including the wine and appetizer pairings. It was a very nice evening and we plan to come back for the next special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The food is perfect, services are good. Overall is really good experience. Recommended for all event.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The staff was very friendly and at tentative, good at paring wine with your meal. The food was good and presentation nice but for an appitiezer I ordered Scallops and for $19.00 there were 2 (TWO) scallops on the plate.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Awesome expérience!. Besides excellent food and wine, waiter checked if allergies!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We go often to this restaurant and we're never disappointed. Very good food, very good service..we like the atmosphere and the creative menu

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We went to celebrate a one year anniversary, and everything was great. I booked with OpenTable, and commented that was the occasion. They greeted us with congratulations, and went the extra mile to bring out a special dessert with "happy anniversary" in chocolate. Eighteen really made our night special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The ambience was odd, higher end restaurant with dance music. Service was very good but food was very expensive and portions were tiny. I've been to some amazing restaurants worldwide with tiny portions, but the combination here did not work. It definitely was not worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Beaucoup trop cher pour le niveau de qualité et de service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 21, 2017

First time eating here and had a wonderful dinner all around, food and service were both excellent. Will definitely return

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent server who was attentive to our needs during the meal. The friendly chef came to our table to greet us. We had met him at another venue where he was demonstrating his talents and he came over to chat with us. Delicious food and beautifully prepared. Complimentary sweet tasting to celebrate the occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary here this week. The food was excellent, service was suberb, and the atmosphere was very elegant. The steaks were delicious and the drinks were great. Our waitress was exceptional and was very attentive and showed my wife and I impeccable service on our special night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a great Mother's day brunch. Kids loved the chocolate fondue!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

For a special celebration, the quality of the meal, the wine and the service was excellent and the price was very reasonable, considering the quality. It was my first visit to Eighteen, and I will definitely return

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Not what we expected. Too many servers serving us. It was not the quality we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was good but I was sitting in a corner facing a wall. Bot as good as the Baccara.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Restaurant e18ghteen is one of my favourite restaurants in Ottawa. The food is always wonderful and the service friendly. On this occasion we went for Easter brunch with our 12 year old daughter. Although all three of us have very different tastes, the choices were plentiful and therefore all of us had a wonderful meal. A special treat for me was the profiterole: it was so fresh it just melted in your mouth.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Everything we ate was AMAZING! Very tasty and cooked perfectly. They were extremely short staff. We were sitting there for 25 mins before anyone came to the table to greet us. Maybe it was just an off night? I hope so because the food is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a great evening with family. The little bites offered before the meal are always a hit.
The wine we selected wasn't available so another was suggested and it was awsome.
As always the food was to perfection, the service was fantastic!
Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a great evening with excellent service. Had the 5 course taster with wine pairing. All was excellent, except the main course duck breast. Very tough and disappointing. But all else was excellent. However, for about $900.00 total for 4, everything should have been top rate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.