About Restaurant August

301 Tchoupitoulas Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Opened in October 2001 with native John Besh at the helm, Restaurant August is the only restaurant to be awarded a perfect "5 Bean" score from The Times-Picayune in the past two years. Food & Wine bestowed Besh with the honor of "Best New Chef" in 1998. Gourmet magazine's Guide to America's Best Restaurants listed August in its top five picks in New Orleans.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday Only, 11:00am - 2:00pm. Dinner: Monday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Gravier

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 299-9777

Website:
http://www.restaurantaugust.com/

Parking Details:
August has a parking lot across from the restaurant available for dinner only! There is also available street parking for free after 6 pm and on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Todd Pulsinelli, co-owner John Besh

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Promotions

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Restaurant August, our Upstairs Private Dining Room can seat 100 or 120 for a reception style event. The Chef's Tasting Room can seat 12 and features a customized Chef's Tasting Menu. Wines can be paired by our sommelier for a more unique experience. Buyouts are also available for up to 300.

Restaurant August Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Food
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Ambiance
New Orleans / Louisiana
7 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
New Orleans
Best Food
New Orleans
Best Service
New Orleans
Best Ambiance
New Orleans
Notable Wine List
New Orleans
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

fit for foodies (304)
special occasion (296)
romantic (227)
See All
notable wine list (180)
neighborhood gem (66)
good for groups (57)
hot spot (50)
great for lunch (47)
great for brunch (15)
vibrant bar scene (10)
scenic view (5)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4728 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome awesome awesome place. Intensity ...

Dined 7 hours ago

Awesome awesome awesome place. Intensity and diversity of tastes. Que bueno!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth a special trip

Dined 3 days ago

Restaurant August sets the standard for dining. The Menu is creative, fresh and delicious. The service is a role model that other restaurants should try to emulate. Having dined in many "starred" restaurants in France over the past 25 years, Restaurant August does more than compete, it, or rather the kitchen, Captains, and sommelier, all EXCEL!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best dining experiences in Ne ...

Dined 3 days ago

One of the best dining experiences in New Orleans. Both food and service were outstanding. The fried softshell crab was delicious, I would order it again.

food5
ambience5
service5

The most amazing experience with food th ...

Dined 4 days ago

The most amazing experience with food that is absolutely phenomenal!! Highly highly recommended!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Miss my Pate!

vip
Dined 4 days ago

They took the pate off of the lunch Prix Fix menu... That was by far my favorite menu item! Did not like the new bread as well. They increased the Friday lunch to $26 but it is still a great value...everything was delicious

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was honestly amazing. Food wa ...

Dined 4 days ago

Everything was honestly amazing. Food was a impeccable. Service was incredible. Chris and Ben were awesome. So knowledgeable and and skilled at their jobs.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we (me & my wife) go to New Orleans ...

Dined 4 days ago

When we (me & my wife) go to New Orleans, this is one of our favorite spots. The potato crisp fried oysters were a delicacy & we liked them so much, we even returned the following night without reservations to eat another 2 orders from the bar. Service was 5+ out of 5. Chris was our lead server, along with Ben & others & they worked well together. Slightly expensive, but not out of line for quality of food & service,

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best in NOLO

Dined 5 days ago

I carefully picked 5 fine eateries while in NOLA for a conference. As expected, I saved the best for last. Hands down, August remains, IMHO, the best overall restaurant in NOLA. Atmosphere is quiet enough for good convo but not too quiet, service top notch, and food phenomenal. Splurged for the chef's tasting menu and wine pairings with no regrets. Favorite items on the tasting menu: yellowtail cru - absolutely mouth watering and Domaine Saumaize-Michelin (2013) was exceptional and paired very well with the snapper. Will return every chance I get.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional food and service!

vip
Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I came here to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. As soon as we were seated, Mark, our fabulous waiter arrived with glasses of champagne and wished us happy anniversary. He knows the menu backwards and forwards and allowed me to sample a few wines before making a final decision. The gnocchi with truffle and bleu cheese is one of the best things I've ever eaten. The squash blossoms stuffed with smoked cream cheese came in a close second. Mark recommended an absolutely heavenly Sauternes to go with dessert. August is one of the best restaurants in New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fantastic! All the food is am ...

Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely fantastic! All the food is amazing but try to save space for dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5

Brilliant dinner with flavors engaging t ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Brilliant dinner with flavors engaging the palate. Flawless service. Where's the Michelin star for this gem?

food5
ambience5
service5

Vegetarian tasting menu with wine pairin ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Vegetarian tasting menu with wine pairings. Great job.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fine dining experience with terrific foo ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Fine dining experience with terrific food, service, and setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

August was a gem again! After having di ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

August was a gem again! After having dinner on a business trip back in early December, I was eager to return again. This time, I was able to have Sunday Brunch with my wife. Again, the food was all perfectly prepared and the service was fantastic. Although the brunch menu was not extensive, my wife and I were both ecstatic about our dishes. I will return again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food and great service once you pa ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food and great service once you pass the hostess. The hostess was horrible and unknowable. And when I asked a question about "how many bottles of wine do you have", I got nasty answer of "I'm not sure" and walking away... instead of a more pleasant, "I'm not sure but I will find out" ...

food5
ambience5
service5

The experience was incredible from start ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The experience was incredible from start to finish. The Yellowtail Cru is a must! The petite filet...perfection. The grouper, the pork and venison ragu were both delicious. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Delicious!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Definitely our best dining experience in NOLA! Service was impeccable and food was perfect. We dined on a Friday afternoon, so our table was able to order from a prix fixe menu. The portions were just right and we left fully satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We all loved it! Food was exceptional. T ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We all loved it! Food was exceptional. The 3 of us were able to taste quite a number of dishes. All Delicious! Service was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Our second visit to August. It has becom ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Our second visit to August. It has become a favorite place to bring friends due to great food, great service as well as the genuinely warm reception from Erika and the staff. I had seen scallops on the menu the night prior to our dining experience and they were not on the menu yet Robert asked Chef if he could accommodate our request which of course he did. Once again the team went above and beyond to make our daughter feel welcome and special. Best chicken fingers in the world according to an 8 year old expert on chicken fingers. There is a reason August is one of my very favorite places to dine with friends and family, As a Long time Chef myself I truly appreciate the care and love imparted into food. The culinary teams are rock solid, they create foods with a passion for excellence. The front of the house team is warm, vibrant, charming and professional, all with a certain New Orleans charm. Chef John Besh, you continue to excel when many others drop the ball. It takes what you do (every restaurant, seemingly everyday) teaching, inspiring and lending heart along with sheer willpower to insure that each guest is as happy as you are with any given item. We Chefs and F&B folks thank you for elevating your art, we are all the better for your talent and dedication.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and great innovative food. ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great service and great innovative food. Great ambiance. The deserts were good but could have been better the only minor flaw.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

John Besh does it again!

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Recently my husband and I dined at Restaurant August in celebration of our 22 year anniversary. We have been blessed to have dined all over the world at amazing restaurants and without a doubt, Restaurant August is in the top tier. Our waiters were fantastic and proved that they had deep knowledge of the menu items including the tasting menu (which we chose). The food was excellent from start to finish. I enjoyed the wine pairings with each dish. My husband does not drink alcohol and the bartender came up with a few inventive non-alcoholic stand-ins. The ambience is peaceful and comfortable, not at all stuffy. I believe in indulging like this once in a while. Give yourself permission to do so, too, and make reservations at Restaurant August.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic experience here on ou ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

We had a fantastic experience here on our first time dining at Restaurant August. We loved the many special touches, like the amuse bouche at the start, the complementary dessert treats at the end, the presentation and delivery of the plates, and the professionalism of the wait staff. We were celebrating college graduation, which I'd mentioned in passing when I booked months ago, but they made a note of it and brought out two beautiful full dessert plates with "Congratulations" written on them. We were blown away. We live in NY and this place is as good or better than any of the top restaurants there. A true foodie's delight and with servers that are knowledgeable, efficient and not intrusive. Food is best I've had in Nola.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food!

food4
ambience4
service5

Been to restaurants all over the US. Not ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Been to restaurants all over the US. Not quite up there with 11 Madison or French Laundry, but hovering. Everything was excellent, the wine pairings with degustation menu not good alone but stood nicely alongside the dishes. High quality food, prepared beautifully, one dish had a little too much salt and another too little. Would highly recommend and go again. Definitely best in NOLA.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had the 'Tasting of Farmers Market Vegetables' and it was spectacular! Everything was great; food, service, ambiance...everything! We will defiantly be back the next time we are in New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

It's not often that August is open outside of dinner hours, so it was a surprise when I saw a lunch time spot open for Mother's Day and immediately secured a reservation! It was absolutely delicious, as usual. The grillades and jalepeno cheese grits were divine and my husband's Eggs Florentine were perfectly prepared. I just wish I had ordered a dozen of those bacon cornbread loaves to go!!! Bacon in my cornbread?? Of course Besh's group would think of that combo. The food is exceptional, but only to be outdone by their service. The staff was friendly and welcoming, which is always my favorite part. It goes to show that even though it's a high end restaurant, warm and welcoming service is much nicer than waiters who are pretentious and snobby. Love August!! Can't wait until the next time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Phenomenal all the way around.

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Phenomenal all the way around.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent. That is the only word to des ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent. That is the only word to describe this place...any Besh restaurant will be of this quality. Although it states business casual...I would suggest a jacket. You will get some culinary surprises with your meal and the bottle service is impeccable. They had several salads...none of which had lettuce, which made the dish...the vegetables tasted so fresh it was almost surreal. Like I said....excellent.

food2
ambience2
service4
value1

At a recent Friday lunch, both the pork ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

At a recent Friday lunch, both the pork entree and the pompano were barely tepid and actually cool in spots when they should have been piping hot. The dessert, cornmeal chess pie, was awful. Even with a reservation and an empty front room, we were relegated to a sad back room. I can't imagine ever going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far one of the most amazing meals exp ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

By far one of the most amazing meals experience that I have had I NOLA ever and probably one of my top 5 foodie picks. Enjoyed this meal thoroughly and service suited the price and food quality. Excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

I started with a warm foie gras, it was ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

I started with a warm foie gras, it was not on the menu but they made it for me. It was excellent! Then I had the wagyu steak. It was pretty good, a bit peppery for my taste, but nonetheless well prepared. Since I am gluten free it had to be modified to have the pasta removed so I can't speak to that aspect, but they were quite accommodating with my dietary needs. I finished the meal with the coconut rice pudding, it was really good but the chili in the hot chocolate was slightly overwhelming, would've preferred a bit less of that. My mom had the vegetable tasting menu, she enjoyed it. Each dish was good, but small. Overall a great meal, we had a very pleasant wait staff, Lucy was so nice and helpful! Would definitely recommend and go back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and amazing serivce.

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Amazing food and amazing serivce.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great restaurant, excellent food and ser ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great restaurant, excellent food and service. Go for it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty amazing overall.

Dined on May 4, 2016

Pretty amazing overall.

food5
ambience5
service5

5 of 6 in our party had the tasting menu ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

5 of 6 in our party had the tasting menu with wine pairing. The restaurant was extremely flexible with substitutions which allowed some of us to replace a course that was not one of our favorites. Service, food and presentations were all top notch. Our server was a bit dry, but very attentive. The sommelier was very knowledgeable and her pairings made a great meal even better. She was available to expand on the details of each wine, but did not overwhelm us with too much information. At around $200/person we all felt that the meal was a good value for the food, wine and service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch food and service. Has a sligh ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Top notch food and service. Has a slight asian twist on nola cuisine so be aware.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent evening. I have a garlic aller ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent evening. I have a garlic allergy which several other prestigious NewOrleans restaurants found difficult to accommodate . August staff could not have been more understanding and the food and service were superb (and garlic free!)

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

"Best of the best" for fine dining in NOLA

Dined on April 29, 2016

In a town with many fine dining choices, August stands out as the best of the bunch. Truly superlative cuisine paired with exceptional presentation and attentive service. Extensive wine list with many excellent choices by the glass. Thanks for a lovely experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience at August

Dined on April 29, 2016

Had a excellent dining experience at August. Dining room was beautiful and service was outstanding. Our waiter was very kind and helpful with the wine selection. Food was outstanding for the most part. Dish by dish review: Bread - OK. A bit hard for my taste. Gnocchi - was one of our favorite dishes. Very much enjoyed. Squash blossoms - very good Amuse bouche - not our favorite. The texture and cauliflower personally didn't work for me. The waiter mentioned that the course did change from spinach to cauliflower recently and I can see the possibility of the spinach being more favorable Brussel Sprout Salad - excellent, we both very much enjoyed Roasted Heirloom Carrots - was very much looking forward to this course, but I was a bit disappointed. In my opinion a touch of salt/seasoning would have greatly improved the dish as the carrots were bland Hanger Steak - steak was cooked perfectly and accompaniments were all excellent (especially the mezzaluna). Quite possibly one of the best steak dishes I've ever had. Duck - Again, cooked perfectly. Very enjoyable Dessert, Coffee and Drinks/Wine were all great. For a restaurant of this caliber I thought the prices were reasonable. If I could give the food a 4.5 star review I would as aside from the couple items I noted it was almost perfect. By far best food we had during our visit to New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best!

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

My favorite restaurant in New Orleans! The food, ambiance and service are outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.