About Restaurant August

301 Tchoupitoulas Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Opened in October 2001 with native John Besh at the helm, Restaurant August is the only restaurant to be awarded a perfect "5 Bean" score from The Times-Picayune in the past two years. Food & Wine bestowed Besh with the honor of "Best New Chef" in 1998. Gourmet magazine's Guide to America's Best Restaurants listed August in its top five picks in New Orleans.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday Only, 11:00am - 2:00pm. Dinner: Monday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Gravier

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 299-9777

Website:
http://www.restaurantaugust.com/

Parking Details:
August has a parking lot across from the restaurant available for dinner only! There is also available street parking for free after 6 pm and on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Todd Pulsinelli, co-owner John Besh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room

Restaurant Photos

  • Restaurant August
  • Restaurant August
  • Restaurant August
  • Restaurant August
  • Egg Custard Amuse Bouche
Restaurant August
Restaurant August
Restaurant August
Restaurant August
Egg Custard Amuse Bouche

Promotions

Promotions

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Restaurant August, our Upstairs Private Dining Room can seat 100 or 120 for a reception style event. The Chef's Tasting Room can seat 12 and features a customized Chef's Tasting Menu. Wines can be paired by our sommelier for a more unique experience. Buyouts are also available for up to 300.

Restaurant August Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Food
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Service
New Orleans / Louisiana
10 More
Best Ambiance
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
New Orleans
Best Food
New Orleans
Best Service
New Orleans
Best Ambiance
New Orleans
Notable Wine List
New Orleans
Most Booked
New Orleans
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

Special Occasion (222)
Fit for Foodies (208)
Romantic (194)
See All
Notable Wine List (128)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Good for Groups (39)
Hot Spot (34)
Great for Lunch (23)
Great for Brunch (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4889 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing!! The food was delicious and the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing!! The food was delicious and the service was top notch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at August is an experience. The d ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Dinner at August is an experience. The dining area is very nice but very noisy with all hard surfaces that reflect noise.

The service staff is excellent and attentive but not hovering.

The menu is eclectic with unusual offerings, all of which are small. The tasting menu seems to drive the entire menu.

We ordered the Foie Gras Au Torchon which turned out to not be a favorite. It sounded interesting but a less exotic offering would have been more to my taste.

The Chop salad was good with an unusual mix of ingredients.

The lamb roast, loin, sausage from the tasting menu was good and the sausage was a different offering for lamb and the Snapper was also good.

For dessert we had the Key Lime Souffle Tart which was good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Exceptional dining experience from the w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

Exceptional dining experience from the waiters, food, decor--very classy

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal. Great service. Nice menu a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great meal. Great service. Nice menu and wine list. Really enjoyed the restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was not up to our expectations ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was not up to our expectations. I'm a cook and I could have done better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an incredible dining experience. ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had an incredible dining experience. Great food, great service, great ambiance.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to this location several times ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Have been to this location several times for other occasions, never disappointed. The Farm to table with wine pairing was fantastic. The service was informative and kept the pace as not to fast nor were we waiting. Makes for the time together at the table more memorable. Also recommend to stay at the Hotel across the street, The Windsor Court, so the libations are not a concern.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

absolutely awesome. the roasted peach a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

absolutely awesome. the roasted peach appetizer was beyond description.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I find the server often makes the experi ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I find the server often makes the experience and this was no exception. The food is always good but we had an unpleasant experience on a previous visit. Our server this time made up for this and did so in grand fashion. The entire evening was flawless and very enjoyable. August is a great pick for good food, a beautiful atmosphere and great service.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional meal at August for our anniv ...

 
 (Shreveport)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Exceptional meal at August for our anniversary. Wasn't our first time, and we had our rehearsal dinner at August, but the staff continues to deliver top notch service. In retrospect, I wish I'd requested a table in the main dining room - we were in the middle, wine room. This by no means took away from our night or our meal, but I just love the front, main dining room. Service is just outstanding, and the food was as amazing as ever. Well done, team!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best meals I've ever had. Exc ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had. Excellent cuisine and service without feeling pretentious. We'll definitely go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I've ever had. Fr ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had. Friendly and professional service- not pretentious at all which is refreshing for such a popular restaurant! Be sure to order the gnocchi with truffle sauce - unbelievable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful experience from the minute y ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A wonderful experience from the minute you enter the beautiful Chandeliers lit room to the last sip of coffee. Most exquisite food and first class service. This is a totally professional business that caters to its clients as the highest level.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding wine list. Wines served at t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Outstanding wine list. Wines served at the proper temperature, red and white. Wine service was first-rate. Seafood delicacies were artfully prepared with multiple small vegetables, herbs, and restrained quantities of complex sauces. Head server was outstanding. Definitely worth the non-trivial cost.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

So many of my restaurant reviews have be ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

So many of my restaurant reviews have been less than kind - I like to be as honest as possible! Note that I can find nothing at all unkind to say about Restaurant August! In fact, it is a fabulous venue (lighting that is dim and romantic, signifying an earlier historical period; comfortable seating; gorgeous chandeliers; a fabulous centerpiece that dominates the main dining room; small dining rooms off to the side that enhance the romantic mood; etc.); with first-rate service; and finally, artful but not fussy food that stimulates multiple senses but mostly tastes delicious! I highly recommend Restaurant August. It is a great value in all respects.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could've just been an off night. Started ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Could've just been an off night. Started with the most nauseating amuse bouche. Friend's steak was underseasoned and undercooked. Fish had proportionally way too much foam. It was like every dish had one ingredient too many that destroyed the flavor profile of the dish. The attempts at molecular gastronomy seemed relegated to the couple of tricks the chef knew but with tastes that suggests a lack of understanding. Had expected much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We have been to Restaurant August severa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We have been to Restaurant August several times and have never been disappointed. The food was excellent and the service was the best in the city.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

RA was featuring a Prix fixe menu on Fri ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

RA was featuring a Prix fixe menu on Fridays during the summer. We took advantage by taking our son and daughter-in-law for a special lunch. The food was excellent as was the service. The restaurant is known justifiably as one of the best restaurants in New Orleans. The only complaint was that we had to use OpenTable for the reservation, which gave us a more limited choice of times. The Restaurant said that they were having some trouble with their phone system.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is outstanding. The dishes are crea ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food is outstanding. The dishes are creative, inventive, locally sourced, locally flavoured, prepared to perfection. Robert, our server was fantastic! He has perfect recommendations; he knows his stuff and will find out from the kitchen if he doesn't, (we asked questions about some ingredients). The room is beautiful with lighting that makes everyone look beautiful.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Great service. Cannot re ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent food. Great service. Cannot recommend this place highly enough. We also ate at Commanders Palace and August wins hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It is a beautiful place! Food is great ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

It is a beautiful place! Food is great and the service is very personal. It is a favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed the atmosphere and food very ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We enjoyed the atmosphere and food very much. This was a birthday dinner for my friend "August", who picked out the restaurant.

We would love to thank the wait staff for taking good care of us and making suggestions about the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there for 15 year anniversary. Dinn ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went there for 15 year anniversary. Dinner was amazing and service was impeccable. Highly recommend to anyone looking for memorable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sensational food here. Had a loud guy at ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Sensational food here. Had a loud guy at the next table. A few of us asked he be talked to. He left shortly thereafter. Still, the best food in New Orleans.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service and food were fabulous. I w ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service and food were fabulous. I wish more places put so much thought into service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Wow. John Besh does incredible combinati ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wow. John Besh does incredible combinations of fresh flavors. Presentation was spectacular. Prepare to splurge and enjoy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding. Innovative, cutting-edge ha ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding. Innovative, cutting-edge haute cuisine. Absolutely everything was exceptional. Service is second to none. Wine list on the pricy side. Good value considering the quality of the food. Wow!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a lovely lunch with my dad at Re ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Enjoyed a lovely lunch with my dad at Restaurant August. The service was impeccable, and the food nothing short of fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always wanted to try a John Besh restaur ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always wanted to try a John Besh restaurant. This was a fun evening. Tried a new wine. Delicious and unusual starters and salads as well as entrees.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am sorry to say I was disappointed. It ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I am sorry to say I was disappointed. It wasn't the small portions so much that bothered me as I have eaten in many fine restaurants around the world with high prices and small plates. If the food is wonderful you don't need a lot of it. What bothered me was the over salting on most of our dishes. Plus the Rose was under chilled. Perhaps it was just an off night. I had looked so forward to our meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I chose August for my husband's 60th bir ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I chose August for my husband's 60th birthday dinner and he was amazed by the service, ambience and cuisine! We were treated well by the attentive staff and he was treated to a special dessert for his birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The gnocchi with crab and shaved truffle ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The gnocchi with crab and shaved truffles was to die for. So were the complimentary pralines that came with the check. Best pralines I ever had. The sommelier was extremely knowledgeable and entirely reasonable when we sent back the first bottle of wine she recommended. All in all, an evening of food and service that is hard to beat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic We started at the bar, which w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fantastic

We started at the bar, which was really fun. Our waiter and assist entrant were great, put up with our questions, and provided perfect service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and incredible service... ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent food and incredible service... A world class restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best place I dined in NOLA

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The best place I dined in NOLA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good but not the best I've ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was very good but not the best I've ever had. Service was superb. A little noisy but I would recommend and return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We just love "August"! It's our "go-to" ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We just love "August"! It's our "go-to" place for our anniversary every year! The food is not just fabulous but it's an experience! It's magic what they do with food there! Can't say enough good things! The staff is very professional and courteous. They don't act "snooty" either, you feel like you can ask all the questions you like and not feel stupid. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was just awful.. It sounded great.. P ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was just awful.. It sounded great.. Peach, goat cheese pistachio salad...My salad looked like they put it in a blender... I needed a gerber baby spoon to eat it... Saw no goat cheese.. It was a mushy mess. Then got the snapper.. It was the size of a cracker, okra was a strip the size of a small matchstick.

Overpriced... Go to Mothers & get a fried shrimp poboy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

All the appetizers hot and cold were the ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

All the appetizers hot and cold were the standouts in my opinion. And we ordered all but one. Inventive with local flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The experience at this restaurant is alw ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The experience at this restaurant is always fantastic! From the food to the service to the ambience, this is the best lunch value in town, and a perfect place to dine at night if you want fabulous atmosphere and sublime cuisine!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.