About Restaurant August

301 Tchoupitoulas Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Opened in October 2001 with native John Besh at the helm, Restaurant August is the only restaurant to be awarded a perfect "5 Bean" score from The Times-Picayune in the past two years. Food & Wine bestowed Besh with the honor of "Best New Chef" in 1998. Gourmet magazine's Guide to America's Best Restaurants listed August in its top five picks in New Orleans.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday Only, 11:00am - 2:00pm. Dinner: Monday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Gravier

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 299-9777

Website:
http://www.restaurantaugust.com/

Parking Details:
August has a parking lot across from the restaurant available for dinner only! There is also available street parking for free after 7 pm and on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Todd Pulsinelli, co-owner John Besh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Restaurant August, New Orleans, LA
  • Restaurant August, New Orleans, LA
  • Restaurant August, New Orleans, LA
  • Restaurant August, New Orleans, LA
  • Egg Custard Amuse Bouche - Restaurant August, New Orleans, LA

Report a photo problem

Egg Custard Amuse Bouche - Restaurant August, New Orleans, LA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Restaurant August, our Upstairs Private Dining Room can seat 100 or 120 for a reception style event. The Chef's Tasting Room can seat 12 and features a customized Chef's Tasting Menu. Wines can be paired by our sommelier for a more unique experience. Buyouts are also available for up to 300.

Restaurant August Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (100)
Fit for Foodies (87)
Creative Cuisine (82)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (79)
Romantic (79)
Notable Wine List (75)
Good for a Date (75)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Local Ingredients (51)
Tasting Menu (48)
Quiet Conversation (47)
Authentic (42)
Business Meals (38)
Worth the Drive (38)
Historic (35)
Cozy (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Groups (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Private Room (14)
Fun (14)
Hot Spot (12)
People Watching (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Seasonal (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Organic (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Scenic View (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
5254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I chose Augustus for my birthday dinner ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined a day ago

I chose Augustus for my birthday dinner and was the not disappointed. The food was amazing, and so was the service.

We were seated immediately, as we had a reservation, but it was also a bit of a slow day time. Water was quickly served and our orders were taken. All the staff we dealt with kind and very accommodating.

The meal started with an amazing cauliflower mousse amuse bouche and a generous helping of bread with whipped butter.

We ordered the froie gras three ways and the beet salad to start and liked both. We weren't totally sold on all three of the froie gras preparations but it was generally good and the salad was delicious.

My mother ordered the duck breast and I the wagyu beef strip. Both tastes amazing although if I had to comment I'd say that the sweet potato and rapini paired with it was a bit in the salty side.

To finish our meal I ordered the key lime soufflé and was not at all disappointed.

Overall I had a fantastic time and would definitely go back to august again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful Anniversary dinner at ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful Anniversary dinner at August. The food was amazing! The Sommelier was lovely and helpful, and the wine was delicious. The Manager, Wait Staff, and everyone who interacted with us seemed intent on making our night special, and special it was!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

August is my all time favorite Nola dini ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

August is my all time favorite Nola dining experience. Our server was passionate about the cuisine. His suggestions were magificent(as was the food). Their attention to detail in each course was perfect. I can't wait to return to experience the vegetarian tasting.

I revealed to our server, I didn't any longer have a stomach and wished I could eat more. He brought me a "taste" of the oysters I didn't order.

Over the top care, from the best restaurant in Nola. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way. The vegetarian ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding in every way. The vegetarian tasting menu was creative and delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fun, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a birthday dinner...unfortunate ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

This was a birthday dinner...unfortunately we had an obnoxious large party beside us...the staff moved us to the bar area we could not hear each other!! When making a reservation ask for main dining room...you feel like an afterthought in the back room.

The oyster poivre sauce is sublime..as was the foie gras three ways...gnocchi outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Spectacular easily describes August. Fiv ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Spectacular easily describes August. Five stars is inadequate for the level of service they provided. The kitchen delivered excellent results on every dish that was served. Combinations were excellent and very tasty. The building is spectacular as well as everything else. During our time in New Orleans we ate at 8 major restaurants. The Besh group restaurant's were rated the top three.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious, and terrific servi ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely delicious, and terrific service from the start. The staff was very welcoming, we were never rushed, and the food was as advertised: delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As we arrived we were greeted by friendl ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

As we arrived we were greeted by friendly faces. We were taken to a smaller area and seated. Then, the manager came for us and mentioned a better table for us. I didn't know what that meant but, it was an incredible dining experience. From Mark the head server to his assistant Ben who kept the evening moving smoothly. The plates were delivered beautifully and each course was better than the first. I kept looking around the architecture in amazement of what they had done with the space. Will recommend this restaurant to all my clients in Texas.

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Friday only lunch menu is a great va ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

The Friday only lunch menu is a great value for the quality of food you get

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The overall experience, Phenomenal!

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

The overall experience, Phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was artful but perhaps a few to ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was artful but perhaps a few too many items in the mix of each dish we ordered. Let the fish and the vegetables shine through rather than making the number of items included in the serving so numerous that the flavors compete. The server was excellent. It is a pricey place for a lunch but is fun for a special occasion. The flower arrangements were lovely.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoyed he restaurant. It has a great ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

I enjoyed he restaurant. It has a great reputation and constantly earns 5 stars. I thought it was a little below that. The food was very good, but it did not quite meet the tremendous reputation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was very good, the flavor wa ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was very good, the flavor was good but the portions are ridiculous small, I dont mind spending money but i dislike paying and ending hungry. Would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous! I have never had a better meal ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous! I have never had a better meal ... and I work in the food Industry. Outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant, delicious well pre ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, delicious well presented dishes, but the service was slow and uninterested.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Amazing food and service! Well worth the ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Amazing food and service! Well worth the price!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was heaven from start to finish ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The meal was heaven from start to finish. Great wine list, fresh creative cuisine, gorgeous desserts, impeccable service. All

of Besh's restaurants are great, but this one tops them all in my opinion. It's my favorite restaurant in NOLA.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply prepared and excellently done. W ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Simply prepared and excellently done. Well spaced tables for conversation. Alternative vegetarian and gluten free choices.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening at August. S ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We had a wonderful evening at August. Service was very professional and attentive. They called the sommelier on her night off to inquire about our wine, as our original selection was not available. Food was consistently excellent. Highly recommend the gnocchi and crab appetizers, the tripletail main course, and the key lime souffle tart. Setting is lovely. Felt like a special evening while we were visiting New Orleans.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food, the experience, the waitstaff ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food, the experience, the waitstaff were all great! Highly recommend! Definitely try the fried oysters, they are the best in NOLA (and yes, I'm from here and know that is a bold claim)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal I've ever had.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Best meal I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolute perfection! From the incentive ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Absolute perfection!

From the incentive and delicious food to the waitstaff - delightful from beginning to end!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

August is a nice upscale but I expected ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

August is a nice upscale but I expected more. Not a Besh best, in my mind. The vegetarian tasting menu started out with some real winners. A whimsical amuse bouche made with cauliflower, a wonderful leek and turnip soup, and a killer brussel sprout and cauliflower salad were all five star. The field green pasta dish was interesting, but the pasta was gummy. My major issue was the last non-dessert course. Vegetarian tastings are tough since you need a real crescendo dish to end the meal. A big hunk of fennel just lands the meal with a thud and this piece of fennel overpowered the truffle and mushrooms on the plate. I don't think it worked at all.

The poached pear dessert really picked up the meal though, which was an absolutely perfect dessert.

In addition, the wine pairings were superb and I plan to purchase some bottles of the wine on the menu. The sommelier must have an superb palate.

On a service note, the staff was very attentive and they knew their craft. I must remark that I did wonder why our party of two, with a reservation made months in advance, and confirmed the day before, was led to a fully set table for six ( in the back of the restaurant). When we were shown the table and I told the hostess there were just two of us she replied she knew and she had the staff clear the extra four place settings. Honestly, I felt d-listed, and since I was being taken to dinner I did not speak up about how I felt. I did not think this was courteous southern hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Awesome service.. a little different typ ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Awesome service.. a little different type of food then your normal dining.. but great can not say a bad thing about this restaurant.. it's a must dine!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It puts many other New Orleans restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It puts many other New Orleans restaurants to shame. Don't miss it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This John Besh restaurant is still first ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This John Besh restaurant is still first class. Delicious and interesting food and a great wine list. My only complaint, as with too many restaurants, is the noise level. We were seated in a smaller room with all wood where voices bounce back off the walls making conversation difficult at times.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It had been a few years since we had eat ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It had been a few years since we had eaten at Restaurant August and we were excited to return. Food and service were excellent. Plan to return when we travel to New Orleans again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal service, even better food.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Phenomenal service, even better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best dining experiences over ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

One of the best dining experiences over ever had. The service, food and drinks were impeccable

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I read the reviews (both here and on Tri ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I read the reviews (both here and on Trip Advisor) and there seemed to be such strong pros and cons by people who loved August and those that hated it. I wish I had listened to those that disliked it. Yes, the staff is not as warm and fuzzy as could be expected but we're from NYC and don't expect anyone to be gracious. I was surprised that 1) no special NYE menu (even though I had emailed the restaurant weeks in advance and was told one would be forthcoming, and 2) restaurant was more than half empty for NYE. First and foremost, food was barely warm - sorry guys gnocchi in a cream sauce should NEVER be delivered that cold. And the fried oyster starter tasted like what we refer to as "fried/fried," a salty fried something but no taste of oysters. I ordered the "breaded" flounder which was oversalted but edible had it not been drenched in some sort of weird orange cream sauce. The shrimp placed on top of the dish? I've picked up better frozen shrimp that I've cooked myself from Trader Joe's. Husband had sliced duck breast with what looked like a chemical experiment gone bad (it was covered with foam). I argued with him not to order it because I knew the duck would be tough and salty and one bite proved I was right and he was wrong. We skipped dessert. Spend your $ elsewhere and watch out for the wines by the glass - read the wine list and order a bottle it will be cheaper in the longer run. Did I mention the salt???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Had a fabulous NYE dinner at the restaur ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had a fabulous NYE dinner at the restaurant with my mother and partner. Would recommend this restaurant to fellow travellers !!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I have zero criticisms about our meal. W ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have zero criticisms about our meal. We ordered the tasting menu with wine pairings, and recommend doing so. The menu tended on the richer side, but the wines balanced it out well. Turtle soup was definitely the standout dish. The service was also excellent - very attentive and welcoming.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Based on what we had heard and read, we ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Based on what we had heard and read, we had high expectations. The service was excellent the food wasn't. We tried the Chef's special menu. One dish was very good, the Turtle Soup. My wife substituted for the Louisiana Stuffed Blue Crab. Also very good. Most dishes were a big disappointment, like the Fois Gras.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had such a great experience! The ser ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had such a great experience! The service was delightful and the food was phenomenal! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the garlic-crab soup is by far the best ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

the garlic-crab soup is by far the best soup I have ever eaten. It is even the best I have eaten at Restaurant August ! The short rib was so tender and flavorful. The small piece of fat tasted more like bone marrow. Fabulous! The service, as always, was impeccable. This continues to be my favorite restaurant in the world.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at August is excellent. The Wi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food at August is excellent. The Winter truffle risotto was superb. We enjoyed all the food served and the wait personnel was friendly and attentive. They brought us bread and butter several times and kept our water glasses filled. Cleaned used dishes and silverware quickly and were very good about answering menu questions. Very nice decor. We would definitely eat there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was unbelievable. One of the ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Everything was unbelievable. One of the best meals I have ever eaten. The service was perfect.

Tags: Private Room, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

always perfect in every respect ! wine p ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2016

always perfect in every respect !

wine pairings delicious!!

just ask for advise & it is accomplished.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best meal we are in New Orleans!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Best meal we are in New Orleans!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.