About Restaurant August

301 Tchoupitoulas Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Opened in October 2001 with native John Besh at the helm, Restaurant August is the only restaurant to be awarded a perfect "5 Bean" score from The Times-Picayune in the past two years. Food & Wine bestowed Besh with the honor of "Best New Chef" in 1998. Gourmet magazine's Guide to America's Best Restaurants listed August in its top five picks in New Orleans.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday Only, 11:00am - 2:00pm. Dinner: Monday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Gravier

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 299-9777

Website:
http://www.restaurantaugust.com/

Parking Details:
August has a parking lot across from the restaurant available for dinner only! There is also available street parking for free after 7 pm and on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Todd Pulsinelli, co-owner John Besh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Restaurant August, New Orleans, LA
  • Restaurant August, New Orleans, LA
  • Restaurant August, New Orleans, LA
  • Restaurant August, New Orleans, LA
  • Egg Custard Amuse Bouche - Restaurant August, New Orleans, LA
Restaurant August, New Orleans, LA
Restaurant August, New Orleans, LA
Restaurant August, New Orleans, LA
Restaurant August, New Orleans, LA
Egg Custard Amuse Bouche - Restaurant August, New Orleans, LA

Specials

Specials

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Restaurant August, our Upstairs Private Dining Room can seat 100 or 120 for a reception style event. The Chef's Tasting Room can seat 12 and features a customized Chef's Tasting Menu. Wines can be paired by our sommelier for a more unique experience. Buyouts are also available for up to 300.

Restaurant August Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Orleans / Louisiana
Romantic
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans / Louisiana
4 More
Best Overall
New Orleans
Best Ambiance
New Orleans
Romantic
New Orleans
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

Special Occasion (95)
Romantic (90)
Fit for Foodies (86)
See All
Notable Wine List (77)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Good for a Date (69)
Creative Cuisine (69)
Local Ingredients (56)
Authentic (46)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Tasting Menu (44)
Business Meals (38)
Historic (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Cozy (24)
Good for Groups (18)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Private Room (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Fun (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Healthy (7)
Bar Seating (7)
People Watching (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Seasonal (7)
Late-night Find (4)
Organic (4)
Casual (3)
Vegan (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
5049 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Incredible. The flavor combinations were ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Incredible. The flavor combinations were amazing. Every bite was better than the last!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great prix fixed lunch value. Added a h ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Great prix fixed lunch value. Added a house cocktail and an espresso to finish.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

High quality service and outstanding foo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

High quality service and outstanding food nice ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Restaurant August did not disappoint. O ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Restaurant August did not disappoint. Of course, it is a John Besh Restaurant so I would expect no less. The Tasting Menus offered were extremely tempting. Instead we chose the gnocchi, fried oysters, appetizer shrimp etoufee and the breaded flounder. Finished off the evening with the key lime soufflé and the dark chocolate ganache. The wine selections were extensive. Service was fantastic. The food was sublime. We will definitely add this to our regular rotation when visiting home.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food geniuses!

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Food geniuses!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With the reputation they have, they must ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

With the reputation they have, they must have had an off night. Service was decent, but not impressive. Appetizers were excellent, but waited too long for entrees. Once they showed they were cold. Steak was ordered medium rare, but showed up mid well for sure. Again, I'm sure they had an off night, but probably won't go back to see them at their best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Make sure you are on an expense account ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Make sure you are on an expense account to dine at August. The food was good, not great and the prices would make your wallet hurt if it wasn't on your corporate credit card!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

An achievement on par with the space pro ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

An achievement on par with the space program.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Food was really g ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was really good although a few dishes very on the salty side, otherwise an excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service & amazing food! So glad ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Amazing service & amazing food! So glad I checked this place out! I will definitely be coming back! One of the best restaurants I've ever eaten at and I've eaten at a lot of 5 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to this restaurant several t ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I have been to this restaurant several times and never been disappointed before this time. The soup that was a part of the vegetarian selection would have been memorable except that it was too salty as was the fish entrée that I ordered. I could've forgiven a slip up in the kitchen but I found our server to be pompous. One of the best qualities of this restaurant is the extraordinary service from the hostess to the waitstaff and management. It has always been my favorite restaurant when I am in town but not this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We used to love this place and are fans ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We used to love this place and are fans of Besh. It is clear that the team at August is "phoning it in". Our fish was over cooked - my wife had the vegetarian dish - it was partially cold - they did not heat the plate or let it stand too long. overall, they should be way better than they were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

We had a special thanksgiving meal/ wine ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had a special thanksgiving meal/ wine pairing. It was fabulous! Well thought out and executed. Exactly what I was hoping for for a unique and delicious thanksgiving dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always. The food was beauti ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent as always. The food was beautifully and tastefully presented. The service was impeccable. We will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent interesting cuisine, excellent ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent interesting cuisine, excellent service and beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is now my favorite restaurant. You ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is now my favorite restaurant. You owe it to yourself to get here and try the degustation menu with wine pairings. It's worth the extra $$$.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our top 3 restaurants worldwide. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

One of our top 3 restaurants worldwide. Still dreaming of my roasted venison dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have dined in restaurants ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My wife and I have dined in restaurants across the globe. This place definitely ranks among the finest. John Besh and his chef knock it out of the park! Special kudos to Mr. Gruntz for making our experience very personal and special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were fantastic! The dé ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food and service were fantastic! The décor was very charming too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, the food was above expectations

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Amazing, the food was above expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was as good as the last time we din ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food was as good as the last time we dined there. Our favorite restaurant in New Orleans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining at its very best. Exquisite ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fine dining at its very best. Exquisite preparation and presentation. Unique offerings, with a native New Orleans emphasis. Excellent wine selection. Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous top chef John Besh gourmet rest ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fabulous top chef John Besh gourmet restaurant. Service is awesome, atmosphere in the front dining room is beautiful and food is wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to this restaurant because my wi ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We went to this restaurant because my wife is a huge fan of John Besh so I wanted to take her here for our anniversary. Personally the restaurant is a little too fancy for what I'm used too, but that's ok I wasn't treated any different. Some of the dishes were beyond what I can comprehend, but hey I'm a meat and potatoes kind of guy. I gave everything a chance that we ordered even if it was something I never heard of. Let me tell you, everything was amazing. I was completely blown away. Not only was every thing I ate the most amazing, the service was outstanding. Every person who came to our table explained everything in great detail and answered all our questions.

The food though was so good. The best steak I ever had was at Bern's Steakhouse in Tampa, but that was until I went to Restaurant August and had their Louisiana Wagyu Beef. It was the best thing I have ever eaten in my life. The price was what you would expect for a restaurant of this caliber and it was worth EVERY penny. Please go here even if it's for a special occasion. I guarantee you will not regret your decision.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived in New Orleans post cruise an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We arrived in New Orleans post cruise and had reservations for Friday lunch. We selected their tasting menu and added some additional appetizer's. Both the food and service were outstanding with some excellent wine pairing suggestions. As would be expected they were very busy and the noise level is on the high side, but the overall quality of the experience more than made up for any noise issues. Reservations are a must - so glad we planned ahead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food & great menu with excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Amazing food & great menu with excellent service! I Definitely highly recommend! Yum! (You can also purchase signed copies of John Besh's cookbooks!)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the meal here at August. Prepare t ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Loved the meal here at August. Prepare to enjoy a long, slow meal, as this is not a fast-paced meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was so delicious! Wait staff ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Everything was so delicious! Wait staff was beyond phenomenal. Amazing gorgeous building, incredibly romantic. Would go there again in a heartbeat.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come from out of town to dine at Augu ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We come from out of town to dine at August at least once a year. We decided this time to make it twice a year. We are never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and superb service. I have ea ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great food and superb service. I have eaten here twice and both times was impressed with the entire experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nous avons beaucoup aimé notre expérienc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Nous avons beaucoup aimé notre expérience. Nous avons essayé le menu dégustation végétarien avec l'acccord des vins. Les portions étaient petites et tant mieux. Une facture très élevée.... 300 dollar$ US dont un espresso à 6$ US.

Tags: Cuisine végétalienne, Idéal pour les fêtes, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Cocktails artisanaux, Menu dégustation, Une occasion spéciale, Ingrédients locaux, Cuisine créative, Une valeur sans pareille, De bonnes options pour les végétariens, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Historique, Romantique, Une carte des vins remarquable
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

One of those dining experiences where th ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 7, 2016

One of those dining experiences where the pieces all fall in place to rate a restaurant as one of the very best. Food is creatively delicious and the service impeccable. An outing that demands a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were early for our reservation so we ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were early for our reservation so we sat in the bar for a drink and foie gras...and ended up enjoying our entire dinner sitting at the bar. The service was outstanding from the bartendresses, the food servers and the backwaiters. Food was fabulous. We have enjoyed August the times we have been there and are thrilled to learn that we don't necessarily have to wait forever for a reservation - the food and service at the bar are as superb as the dining room.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful. Best meal we had while in NOL ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful. Best meal we had while in NOLA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

August was great ... They really set the ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

August was great ... They really set the bar high for the rest of our trip! I would have gone again if we had the time! The food and wine was top notch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

August is always our last dinner when we ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 3, 2016

August is always our last dinner when we visit New Orleans. It is always the perfect way to cap off a vacation. Wonderful ambience and flat out amazing food. We have never had less than an A+ meal here. Service is excellent. We have traveled the world and eaten at many fine restaurants, including Chef Paul Bocuse's flagship restaurant in France &, honestly, this is our favorite place anywhere. If in town, this is a must and, if not in town, get there & get a meal at August!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

August is among the top 3 restaurants in ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 3, 2016

August is among the top 3 restaurants in the country. Innovative food, local ingredients, outstanding service and an ambiance that is the essence of the deep south. I highly recommend this restaurant anytime you're anywhere near New Orleans.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Historic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, amazing service, not to be ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Amazing food, amazing service, not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prepare to be amazed. There is a quiet ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Prepare to be amazed. There is a quiet confidence at work here. Every staff person that visited our table during the meal made an impression of dedication and love of what they do. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.