About Restaurant August

301 Tchoupitoulas Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Opened in October 2001 with native John Besh at the helm, Restaurant August is the only restaurant to be awarded a perfect "5 Bean" score from The Times-Picayune in the past two years. Food & Wine bestowed Besh with the honor of "Best New Chef" in 1998. Gourmet magazine's Guide to America's Best Restaurants listed August in its top five picks in New Orleans.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday Only, 11:00am - 2:00pm. Dinner: Monday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Gravier

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 299-9777

Website:
http://www.restaurantaugust.com/

Parking Details:
August has a parking lot across from the restaurant available for dinner only! There is also available street parking for free after 6 pm and on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Todd Pulsinelli, co-owner John Besh

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room

Restaurant Photos

  • Restaurant August
  • Restaurant August
  • Restaurant August
  • Restaurant August
  • Egg Custard Amuse Bouche
Restaurant August
Restaurant August
Restaurant August
Restaurant August
Egg Custard Amuse Bouche

Promotions

Promotions

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Restaurant August, our Upstairs Private Dining Room can seat 100 or 120 for a reception style event. The Chef's Tasting Room can seat 12 and features a customized Chef's Tasting Menu. Wines can be paired by our sommelier for a more unique experience. Buyouts are also available for up to 300.

Restaurant August Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Food
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Service
New Orleans / Louisiana
10 More
Best Ambiance
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
New Orleans
Best Food
New Orleans
Best Service
New Orleans
Best Ambiance
New Orleans
Best Value
New Orleans
Fit for Foodies
New Orleans
Notable Wine List
New Orleans
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

special occasion (281)
fit for foodies (276)
romantic (224)
See All
notable wine list (167)
neighborhood gem (60)
good for groups (45)
hot spot (41)
great for lunch (38)
great for brunch (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
scenic view (6)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
4805 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best dining experien ...

Dined 3 days ago

This was one of the best dining experiences we have had! As vegetarians, it can be hard to find veg dishes that are thoughtfully prepared as such and not just as sides to other mains. We did the vegetarian prix fixe and each of the 5 courses was flawless. Their wine list is an excellent compilation and we were able to easily find the perfect bottle for our meal. We did not see other vegetarian dishes on the a la carte menu, but I feel like they would be very accommodating. Great ambiance and service. Priced appropriately.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

August does not disappoint expectations. ...

Dined 3 days ago

August does not disappoint expectations. I booked dinner to celebrate a birthday and everyone in the party enjoyed the feel of the place which was relaxed but sophisticated. The food's presentation was exquisite, exceeded only by the taste. Everything ordered was completely consumed and we were pleasantly surprised by the extra appetizer sent to the birthday guest, in addition to the "special" dessert. All in all an excellent choice for the birthday celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is one of the finest in ...

Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant is one of the finest in a city full of great restaurants! The food is superb, the staff are all very knowledgeable on all aspects of the menu. Both the tasting menu and a la carte offer delicious selections. This is our favorite place to take folks in New Orleans and our spot for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here on a recommendation of a fr ...

Dined 5 days ago

We came here on a recommendation of a friend during our trip to New Orleans, and I can honestly say this was the best food my husband and I have had in years. We had gnoki for appetizer which were heavenly- strongly recommend!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating our anniversary with a long ...

Dined 5 days ago

Celebrating our anniversary with a long weekend in New Orleans. I booked Restaurant August based on OT reviews and it was fabulous. Beautiful restaurant with great food and service. My husband and I both had the chef's tasting menu with wine pairings which was wonderful. The chef easily adjusted one of the courses because I'm allergic to shrimp. Our servers Nick and Lucy described each course and wine pairing as they were served. We are making this a favorite for our next visit.

food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Very nice front dining area, however, we ...

Dined 6 days ago

Very nice front dining area, however, we were ushered to the back area that was not well thought out. It felt like an overflow area. The food was great however my wife thought the spices were too strong. Maybe a little more explanation of the spice in each dish is warranted.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant August continues to be one of ...

Dined on June 25, 2016

Restaurant August continues to be one of the finest dining experiences in New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I never knew vegetables could be so flav ...

vip
Dined on June 25, 2016

I never knew vegetables could be so flavorful. I had the vegetable degustation menu. I'll never look at carrots the same way again. Sublime use of flavored and textures.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome experience! Probably one of the ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Awesome experience! Probably one of the best dining I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are incomparable. ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

The food and service are incomparable. Truly wonderful meal.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

August is great. Lived up to the hype an ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

August is great. Lived up to the hype and reputation. Great food, great service, we will be back next time in NOLA.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Restaurant August did not disappoint. I ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Restaurant August did not disappoint. I did the tasting menu and my mom got one of the entrees. Everything was delicious, service as pleasant, and location is convenient to downtown. Overall the price while expensive was reasonable. I would not hesitate to return on a future trip to New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant! One of the best ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Outstanding restaurant! One of the best meals I've ever had. Service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I suprised my boyfriend with dinner here ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

I suprised my boyfriend with dinner here for his 30th birthday and we were both beyond impressed with the atmosphere and the quality of food. When we return to New Orleans, we will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great restaurant! Their cuisine w ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

What a great restaurant! Their cuisine was superb and can accommodate any food restriction. They have a spectacular wine selection with a sommelier (Erin), who can make very knowledgeable recommendations. The service was very attentive. The dessert menu and after dinner wines, cordials and spirits were wonderful. Clearly, this restaurant is a top tiered establishment and doing it right!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perhaps the best dining experience in Ne ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

Perhaps the best dining experience in New Orleans. Tight but excellent menu, attentive but informal service. I felt less like a guest than a member of the family - which is why I go every time I'm in New Orleans.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a better experience in New Orleans.

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Not a better experience in New Orleans.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent! Tho ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The food and service were excellent! Thoroughly enjoyed all our selections and the little surprises along the way.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly the perfect dining experience. A ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Truly the perfect dining experience. Always the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect.... Food, service ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything was perfect.... Food, service, ambiance! We celebrated our 33 wedding anniversary and the staff at August made it a very special and memorable experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious, original dishes. A beautiful ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Delicious, original dishes. A beautiful place, too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If there were 7 or 8 stars I would give ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

If there were 7 or 8 stars I would give the restaurant that high a rating. The dinner was one of the best I have ever had. Chris our waiter was incredible. The entire staff was attentive thorough, and unobtrusive. They could not have been better or more in touch with our needs. The food was great, pacing perfect, and the choices offered broad and tasty. Restaurant August will be on my MUST dine list every time I am in New Orleans, and I will recommend it to everyone I know. Kudos to the staff, the kitchen and John Besh.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly one of the best restaurants in New ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Truly one of the best restaurants in New Orleans!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What can one say about this restaurant o ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

What can one say about this restaurant other than exceptional. We came with high expectations and were not disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food, great service, Must ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Outstanding food, great service, Must try, peach salad, roasted grouper and passion fruit desert

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were traveling between our Birmingham ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We were traveling between our Birmingham and Houston offices and decided to break the trip up with a stay in New Orleans. This is the second visit to August and I think it was even better the second time than the first. We started with a chop salad and gnocchi and decided we couldn't pass up the beet salad. Everything was incredible. The beet salad was perfection For our entrees, we have the beef and, off of the tasting menu, the tagliatelle and snapper courses. It was the perfect amount of food and I could have eaten 5 more of the tagliatelle.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely restaurant. Food was very good. ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Lovely restaurant. Food was very good. Portions a little small. Dishes varied from fabulous to nothing special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

August has always been my favorite fine ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

August has always been my favorite fine dining restaurant, and it still is.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We don't think we've ever experienced a ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We don't think we've ever experienced a vegetarian degustation this artful and flavorful. Better than certain European restaurants with Michelin stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place with great food. Fantastic ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Great place with great food. Fantastic environment

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience in beautiful ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Wonderful dining experience in beautiful old NO house convenient to downtown hotels. Great list of cocktails. Enjoyed beet salad with crab. Their interpretation of Asian shrimp wontons with etoufee sauce highly memorable. Fantastic desserts with Southern flare. You cannot go wrong with any of the choices here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was very good. Restaurant is ver ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was very good. Restaurant is very loud, difficult to carry on conversation at table. Was expecting more from word I had received about the food. Oyster appetizer was the only really good thing I had . Pompano was not very tasty. Also tried grouper which was ok but not anything special. Crawfish tartlet was not good at all.Iwhave never gotten less for the amount we spent.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. You can tell tho ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food and service. You can tell thought and care went into each of our dishes. Exactly what you would expect from one of the nicest restaurants in the city.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

An overall wonderful experience

Dined on June 10, 2016

We went here for dinner not sure what to expect but we were blown away by the beautiful dining rooms and atmosphere. The service was amazing and the food was delicious, unusual and tasty. We were not rushed which was a pleasant change in our New Orleans dining experiences. Would go back in a heartbeat, will never forget it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The duck was amazing!

Dined on June 8, 2016

The duck was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. Everything I tr ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Great food and service. Everything I tried was of high quality, but the fish entrees really shine here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Entry in My Top 5!

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

I'm going to have to decide which restaurant to kick out of my top 5 favorites now that August has joined that group. May I just say every morsel was perfection, delivered by an appropriately attentive and knowledgeable staff. I'll be back to NOLA just for August!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was both professional and we ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The service was both professional and welcoming. The food was incredible; probably one of the top three meals in my life.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Elegant restaurant, wonderful, thoughtful food

Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything we ate at August was delightful, as was our server. The atmosphere in the front room is wonderful, with big windows. We were tucked into a back room that was still charming, but not as nice. The portions are on the small size, as is to be expected with a restaurant of this caliber (worth noting since us Americans are so used to huge portions!) We ended up able to eat salads, an appetizer and two entrees with a side. It was wonderful, the highlight of our trip to New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted to go since Chef John Besch gives ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Wanted to go since Chef John Besch gives back to NOLA . It was a great dinner. Our friend is a food fanatic & thought his hangar steak dish beat all he's had in a long while.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.