About Restaurant August

301 Tchoupitoulas Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Opened in October 2001 with native John Besh at the helm, Restaurant August is the only restaurant to be awarded a perfect "5 Bean" score from The Times-Picayune in the past two years. Food & Wine bestowed Besh with the honor of "Best New Chef" in 1998. Gourmet magazine's Guide to America's Best Restaurants listed August in its top five picks in New Orleans.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday Only, 11:00am - 2:00pm. Dinner: Monday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Gravier

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 299-9777

Website:
http://www.restaurantaugust.com/

Parking Details:
August has a parking lot across from the restaurant available for dinner only! There is also available street parking for free after 6 pm and on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Todd Pulsinelli, co-owner John Besh

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room

Restaurant Photos

  • Restaurant August
  • Restaurant August
  • Restaurant August
  • Restaurant August
  • Egg Custard Amuse Bouche
Restaurant August
Restaurant August
Restaurant August
Restaurant August
Egg Custard Amuse Bouche

Promotions

Promotions

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Restaurant August, our Upstairs Private Dining Room can seat 100 or 120 for a reception style event. The Chef's Tasting Room can seat 12 and features a customized Chef's Tasting Menu. Wines can be paired by our sommelier for a more unique experience. Buyouts are also available for up to 300.

Restaurant August Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Food
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Service
New Orleans / Louisiana
10 More
Best Ambiance
New Orleans / Louisiana
Fit for Foodies
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
New Orleans
Best Food
New Orleans
Best Service
New Orleans
Best Ambiance
New Orleans
Fit for Foodies
New Orleans
Notable Wine List
New Orleans
Most Booked
New Orleans
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

special occasion (272)
fit for foodies (258)
romantic (225)
See All
notable wine list (162)
neighborhood gem (64)
hot spot (44)
good for groups (43)
great for lunch (35)
great for brunch (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
4846 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The experience at this restaurant is alw ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined a day ago

The experience at this restaurant is always fantastic! From the food to the service to the ambience, this is the best lunch value in town, and a perfect place to dine at night if you want fabulous atmosphere and sublime cuisine!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance and value were quite enjoyable. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Ambiance and value were quite enjoyable. The food and service was perfect. I recommend this restaurant for couples and groups (adults) for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Comfortable, elegant atmosphere with exc ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Comfortable, elegant atmosphere with exceptional food. We're "foodies" and appreciate quality over quantity. You won't be taking food home with you but will savor every bite while you're there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved everything about August. The f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 7 days ago

We loved everything about August. The food was excellent, the service perfect, the ambiance with its quietness was most welcome. We could actually have a conversation in quiet voices. It was wonderful. The food was quite good -- well cooked, and served imaginatively. The wait staff was always watchful, but never intrusive. In a city full of great restaurants, this stands out as one of the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really loved the surroundings and the wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Really loved the surroundings and the waitstaff was VERY friendly n helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply outstanding!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Simply outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing, flavors were wonderful ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was amazing, flavors were wonderful. Menu was creative. Server was below expectation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food but tje service is not so frie ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Good food but tje service is not so friendly

Very arrogant even

I asked for a bottle of white with my starters and a red one for my entree

They opened everything together

Very quick service

Too quick

The faster you were finished the better

This restaurant must be slowfood !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

This is an exceptional restaurant. You ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is an exceptional restaurant. You can expect a fabulous meal and the service is so good it looks effortless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfection, as always. Au ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Everything was perfection, as always. August never disappoints and it feels reliably a 'treat' restaurant while never feeling stuffy or over important. Our favorite hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had heard some positives things about ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I had heard some positives things about this Restaurant and was looking forward to our dining experience. since we were in New Orleans I assumed this would be another wonderful place to dine. Wrong!!!! It was not good at all. In fact, my husband sent his entree back and mine left much to be desired. We both are "foodies" and have eaten in some fabulous restaurants, not only in New Orleans but in our travels domestic and international. This was by far one of the most disappointing. I would not return nor recommend to anyone. Overrated and over priced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

I love this restaurant! The food is the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I love this restaurant! The food is the best in the city

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was absolutely fantastic. Th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was absolutely fantastic. The waiters were extremely knowledgeable about the menu and enjoyed answering questions in detail. They were attentive and patient at the same time. A superb dining experience

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We choose August for special occasion ca ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We choose August for special occasion catching up with an overseas friend from five years. Robert and the wine adviser were excellent and the food was to die for. l was most impressed with the entire evening and wish I lived in New Orleans so that I could return to this restaurant for any and all special events. Living in Perth, Western Australia where we have many very good restaurants I would rate the August Restaurant among the very best and the service superior to all the others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience here was wonderful. The ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our experience here was wonderful. The dishes served were the exceptional in flavor and presentation. The staff was superb.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Restaurant August was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our experience at Restaurant August was amazing! We decided to do the Degustation Menu with suggested wine pairings. It was DELICIOUS and the wine pairings were excellent. The restaurant is well decorated and has a great ambiance. The service was amazing. Zeke and Ben were a wonderful team and ensured we had a great experience. I cannot recommend this restaurant enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

To Mr Besh: Wow!! We had a fantastic eve ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

To Mr Besh: Wow!! We had a fantastic evening at August on Monday. From the first minute to last -- it was an exceptional experience! Every element was superb: the perfect balance in the description of the food, the passion of the ENTIRE staff, the unique flavor profiles and delicious food, the attention to detail, and the overall dining experience. We had 4 courses and each was delicious... but most importantly.... unique. Ann Marie was exceptional; her love and pride for August shined at every turn. Lucy put an instant smile on our faces.. her love of August and cuisine was magnetic. And then..... Chef Todd coming to our table!! To be able to tell Chef Todd directly how much we loved the food was fantastic. We have dined at many notable restaurants...but as we sit here 2 days later...we can't stop talking about August. Thank you Ann Marie, Lucy, Chef Todd and entire staff. We can't wait to come back!! You made an already good evening GREAT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance is great and the wait staff ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The ambiance is great and the wait staff was very attentive. The wine list is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Delightful menu, beautiful restaurant. S ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Delightful menu, beautiful restaurant. Service is top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a great meal. The foo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My wife and I had a great meal. The food was perfect. We were seated in the center (small) room which has an upstairs wine cellar area. The room was slightly musty, but not impossible so we did not ask to be moved. The simple menu with only fresh ingredients was easy to navigate and make selections from. The fairly-priced wine list was extensive, and the wines by the glass were very nice. i had the fish special. It was a fantastic dish. My wife had the steak. She loved it. Starters were farm salad and a crayfish shrimp dish. Very fresh ingredients were beautifully plated. Every plate was a work of art. The food tasted even better than it looked! We always try to make a reservation at August's to have a wonderful meal of local fare. This is consistently one of our NOLA favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I took my husband for his birthday. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I took my husband for his birthday. The service and food were outstanding. He loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an amazing experience. The best m ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

It was an amazing experience. The best meal in NOLA! Thank you to the passionate chefs and the gracious staff. What a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service! The best m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent food and service! The best meal we had in NOLA....and we ate at a number of different restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fabulous and the staff coul ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was fabulous and the staff could not be more friendly! Will certainly be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in New Orlea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of the best restaurants in New Orleans! Food was exceptional and Chef Todd even made an appearance at our table for us. Each course of the Degustation menu complimented each other perfectly along with the wine each course was paired with. Well done. I will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb all around meal. Wine list well t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Superb all around meal. Wine list well thought out. In out opinion this is the best high end restaurant n NOLA. Expensive and worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing time at August for our 10th anni ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Amazing time at August for our 10th anniversary during our weekend get away.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first night out in New Orlean ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It was our first night out in New Orleans and it was one of the best meals I've ever had, and I've been everywhere! I'd never had baked oysters before because I love them raw so much but they were amazing. A wonderful evening in a beautiful, chandelier-lit room.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Enjoyable evening my wife at an excellen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Enjoyable evening my wife at an excellent restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Absolute Indulgence! There was not one ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Absolute Indulgence! There was not one flavour or service point left unturned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The #1 innovative restaurant in New Orle ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The #1 innovative restaurant in New Orleans. It should be a requirement for everyone visiting New Orleans; you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Without a doubt one of the best meals I' ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Without a doubt one of the best meals I've ever had. The service was perfect. The food was absolutely to die for. The highlight of our New Orleans trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service elevated the fine meal ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent service elevated the fine meal. Fish course was the low point of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Just a great restaurant. Have been goin ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Just a great restaurant. Have been going there since it opened and never disappointed. Menu is always full a great surprises. They keep it interesting!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love August and try to go every time t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I love August and try to go every time that we are in town. The food is always perfect. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of the best dining experien ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This was one of the best dining experiences we have had! As vegetarians, it can be hard to find veg dishes that are thoughtfully prepared as such and not just as sides to other mains. We did the vegetarian prix fixe and each of the 5 courses was flawless. Their wine list is an excellent compilation and we were able to easily find the perfect bottle for our meal. We did not see other vegetarian dishes on the a la carte menu, but I feel like they would be very accommodating. Great ambiance and service. Priced appropriately.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

August continues to impress with exquisi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

August continues to impress with exquisitely prepared dishes, gracious staff, beautiful dining rooms and a cozy bar. The soft-shell crab was the best I've ever had - a meaty crab with no crunchy shell at all, in a delicious, perfectly seasoned preparation. Fresh, local ingredients star in every course. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

August does not disappoint expectations. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

August does not disappoint expectations. I booked dinner to celebrate a birthday and everyone in the party enjoyed the feel of the place which was relaxed but sophisticated. The food's presentation was exquisite, exceeded only by the taste. Everything ordered was completely consumed and we were pleasantly surprised by the extra appetizer sent to the birthday guest, in addition to the "special" dessert. All in all an excellent choice for the birthday celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is one of the finest in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

This restaurant is one of the finest in a city full of great restaurants! The food is superb, the staff are all very knowledgeable on all aspects of the menu. Both the tasting menu and a la carte offer delicious selections. This is our favorite place to take folks in New Orleans and our spot for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a tasting menu out of the appeti ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We made a tasting menu out of the appetizer list. Every items was simply delicious. The foie gras prepared three ways and the crawfish tartlet were both memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.