About Restaurant August

301 Tchoupitoulas Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Opened in October 2001 with native John Besh at the helm, Restaurant August is the only restaurant to be awarded a perfect "5 Bean" score from The Times-Picayune in the past two years. Food & Wine bestowed Besh with the honor of "Best New Chef" in 1998. Gourmet magazine's Guide to America's Best Restaurants listed August in its top five picks in New Orleans.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday Only, 11:00am - 2:00pm. Dinner: Monday - Sunday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Gravier

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 299-9777

Website:
http://www.restaurantaugust.com/

Parking Details:
August has a parking lot across from the restaurant available for dinner only! There is also available street parking for free after 6 pm and on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Todd Pulsinelli, co-owner John Besh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room

Restaurant Photos

  • Restaurant August
  • Restaurant August
  • Restaurant August
  • Restaurant August
  • Egg Custard Amuse Bouche
Restaurant August
Restaurant August
Restaurant August
Restaurant August
Egg Custard Amuse Bouche

Specials

Specials

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At Restaurant August, our Upstairs Private Dining Room can seat 100 or 120 for a reception style event. The Chef's Tasting Room can seat 12 and features a customized Chef's Tasting Menu. Wines can be paired by our sommelier for a more unique experience. Buyouts are also available for up to 300.

Restaurant August Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Food
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Service
New Orleans / Louisiana
12 More
Best Ambiance
New Orleans / Louisiana
Notable Wine List
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
New Orleans
Best Food
New Orleans
Best Service
New Orleans
Best Ambiance
New Orleans
Notable Wine List
New Orleans
Romantic
New Orleans
Most Booked
New Orleans
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

Special Occasion (179)
Romantic (162)
Fit for Foodies (156)
See All
Notable Wine List (114)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Good for Groups (30)
Good for a Date (30)
Hot Spot (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Local Ingredients (25)
Authentic (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Tasting Menu (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Business Meals (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Cozy (7)
Historic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Private Room (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Scenic View (2)
Vegan (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4938 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had an excellent experience. My colle ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had an excellent experience. My colleague and I were on a business trip, and enjoyed a lovely early dinner. The service was very good. All the servers that assisted us were very professional, friendly and helpful, answering all questions about the wonderful food, starting with an amazing amuse bouche of a brown butter custard, cauliflower mousse and cauliflower crispy topping--really delicious and beautiful, served in a brown egg shell. One of the servers showed us the gadget used to cut the eggshells. For an appetizer, I had the fois gras three ways as an appetizer, and my colleague had the beet salad. Everything was delicious and beautifully served. We wanted to save room for dessert, so we split the duck breast, which was wonderful. They served it beautifully on two plates, which we very much appreciated. Finally, I had the amazing banana pudding (made with homemade Nilla wafer ice cream), and my friend had the green tea and dark chocolate dessert. I highly recommended Restaurant August, and look forward to returning with my husband, who will love it . I've enjoyed seeing John Besh's cooking show on PBS, and am glad I tried his restaurant in New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We opted for the pairing menu. The port ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

We opted for the pairing menu. The portions were so small you could not even get a good taste of the food. The wine pairings were marginal at best. One of the courses was over cooked and not very good at all. I told the server, when he asked, that I did not like the course and he was less than responsive and acted offended. The final bill for the two of us with gratuity was over $400. Way over priced and not very good. I will be surprised if the restaurant lasts very long. We all know chefs that get a following from hype and not great consistent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

We went here for the Friday pre-fixe men ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

We went here for the Friday pre-fixe menu and loved the food and plating. Will go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If I could give restaurant August more t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 7 days ago

If I could give restaurant August more than 5 stars, I would. Sat at the bar before dinner, such good service. Dinner was wonderful and perfection. Service was also wonderful. A dinner to remember and the highlight of our NOLA visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love the food. We dined here two year ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

We love the food. We dined here two years ago. Made a 5:45pm reservation (next available time was for 8pm ?). Arrived a tad late and were seated in the last table in the last room in restaurant which was next to table where we were seated two years ago! Go figure as the restaurant was pretty empty when we arrived. Food is great. Servers are attentive but what's with the seating deal. I guess I tell them we want to be seated with the regular customers next time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Perfect in every way. What a great meal ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Perfect in every way. What a great meal and fabulous atmosphere. Our appetizers, entrees and desserts were all amazing and the service to a tee perfection. Love

Love Lovelace this place.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were excited to try John Besh's NOLA ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We were excited to try John Besh's NOLA restaurant and were not disappointed. We loved everything about it - the atmosphere, service and food. The only minor improvement would be that the fish was a bit overcooked and dry....otherwise spectacular in all ways.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time for our 40th ann ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time for our 40th anniversary. Staff and service was excellent.

Next time in the Big Easy, we will drop in again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for wife's 50th. Party of 7. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Went there for wife's 50th. Party of 7. Food was great, everyone had something different and all the food came out hot and fresh. 2 people did the digestion menu (wine with each course) and loved it. Staff was polite and attentive. Would recommend probably for any meal, if your price point is $30 - $50 meal and you want the atmosphere and service that is the same level.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent!!! Service was quick. ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was excellent!!! Service was quick.

Our servers Chris and Nick were fabulous!

I love how they served as a welcome appetizer and a closing dessert bites to go!

Will definitely come back!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Of all the restaurants I've visited in N ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Of all the restaurants I've visited in New Orleans over the years, August is hands down the finest of them all. The food is spectacularly delicious. The chef devises intricate tastes that bring BIG flavor yet stay light on the palate. Eating dinner at August makes you feel like you've rewarded yourself for something...probably for being smart enough to make the reservation!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

wonderful for my birthday celebration... ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

wonderful for my birthday celebration...everything was lovely.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The Friday prix-fixe lunch is a great wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The Friday prix-fixe lunch is a great way to experience one of the city's finest restaurants without taking out a second mortgage. Flawless, attentive service and perfectly conceived and executed cooking in a stunning space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far the best dinning experience in NO ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

By far the best dinning experience in NOLA. Fine dinning at it's best. Attentive and knowledgable staff, great presentation, scrumptious food. This is a MUST for all that enjoy fine dinning , and appreciate greatest food.

Kudos to the Chef and his Team.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the 3 course menu prepared for Re ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We had the 3 course menu prepared for Restaurant Week and it was ok. It was certainly a culinary experience but I do not think I will be back. Very stuffy atmosphere.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Always wonderful. The freshest ingredie ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Always wonderful. The freshest ingredients combined in the most unique ways.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, though small portions. Serv ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great food, though small portions. Service fantastic, décor beautiful. Price paid for amount of meal not so much. Wine list exquisite, but not going to spend 550 bucks on wine. Provide entry level food and wine prices, then perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

What a treat. Lovely setting, nice ambia ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

What a treat. Lovely setting, nice ambiance, proper service. All of my 4 guests and I exclaimed their appetizers a success. One ate his softshell crab so fast and happily that the rest of us didn't get a chance for a bite! My fried oysters were the best Ive had in years--crispy on the outside and not overcooked inside. My dinner of pork three ways had crisped rice with fermented tomato that was a surprise to taste - perfect blend of crispy and the acidic, savory bite of the tomatoes. Others had the smaller portions from the tasting menu that they liked noting this worked well because they wanted a smaller portion. Great of the restaurant to offer them off the full menu. My dessert tart had a crust that was too tough--the kind you try to cut and part of it ends up off the plate--but the lemon filling was delicious. The wine list is extensive with very few lower priced options. One small service blip--the table was not set for 5 altho I had confirmed with the restaurant. They made us stand in the waiting area while it was reset. I understand the desire to have it perfect when we sat down but I dont think standing around waiting adds up to the graciousness they were looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding dining experience! One of ou ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Outstanding dining experience! One of our favorites. Amazing service. Very detail oriented and personal. The dishes are complex and layered in subtle flavor combinations. Seasonal fare at its finest. Portions are not generous yet they are appropriate and satisfying. The atmosphere is completely elegant. We always enjoy Restaurant August!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beyond expectations once again. Don't k ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Beyond expectations once again.

Don't know if food or service deserves highest praise.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time we dined here a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

This was the second time we dined here and it is such a lovely place. Not being a big eater, I regretfully skipped an appetizer as I was hoping to have dessert. My pork dish was heavenly: tenderloin, pork belly, Creole sausage and shreds of pork, with a green tomato kimchi that I need to figure out how to make. My husband had the hanger steak, which was also delicious. We shared a key lime mousse tart, still warm. Worth the splurge.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

From the time we walk in to the time we ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

From the time we walk in to the time we left, we were treated as special guest by a wonderful group of ladies and gentlemen.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent but value is terrible ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food was excellent but value is terrible! Tasty upper end dishes inspired by local cuisine. Service was just OK. Expensive for quantity delivered. Example being a delicious a stuffed blue crab, about 2 oz of filling for $16. Only one crab. The plates appear desperate. Enjoyed fully on taste but for value vs quality it will likely be my last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

we felt somewhat rushed other then that ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

we felt somewhat rushed other then that everything was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! Very delicious

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fantastic! Very delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had an excellent time at Restaurant A ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had an excellent time at Restaurant August. Every bite was to die for! It was like a religious experience! I wish I could eat here daily!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, with outstanding food ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great restaurant, with outstanding food and service!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thought the Service was exceptional.. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We thought the Service was exceptional....not stuffy ... Welcoming and helpful.

The Food was so well prepared ... We were actually amazed at the quality. Thank You.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful and delicious. This place is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Delightful and delicious. This place is top notch in service and food. Every course was offered with thoughtful detail. Wait staff was friendly and service was impeccable. Topped off by the best dessert ever. Panna Côte never to be out done! Shout out to Patty!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We travel extensively and as we do we s ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We travel extensively and as we do we search for fine dining opportunities, August is a favorite

We are never disappointed

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fancy dining where the staff know everyt ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Fancy dining where the staff know everything about the food and drinks they serve. All in all a great reorient and would recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved it! Had the degustation menu and t ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Loved it! Had the degustation menu and the Lavender Ford Yummmm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flawless service, superb food! One memb ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Flawless service, superb food! One member of our party is vegan. The wait staff was knowledgeable about the options and the chef created a lovely dinner. The more traditional eaters at the table all thoroughly enjoyed their dinners, in particular the house special gnocchi, the shrimp "etouffee"and the chopped salad. The wine list is a little pricey, but very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the vegetarian tasting menu and it w ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had the vegetarian tasting menu and it was wonderfully tasty and creative. The attention to detail was meticulous. It is rare to enjoy so many vegetarian options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful dinner at August! As i ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Another wonderful dinner at August! As in the past, we enjoyed another fantastic meal and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us got together. Only one comme ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Four of us got together. Only one commented that the meal was "ok." The other three, including me, thought the food was excellent. Innovative. A little over priced. Great service. Notable was the vegetarian tasting option especially the cold cucumber soup and the spong cake which at first looked like they forgot the cake. Wine just ok. Great scotch. Peach salad-wow. Grouper fish just right. Snapper just ok. Gnocchi pushed on us as best ever. Well maybe the day after we were there it was. Still very tasty. Fun evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service. Will ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great food and excellent service. Will definitely return to August.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was looking forward to this restau ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I was looking forward to this restaurant for a birthday treat it was okay I would not say this is one of the best restaurants I have been to by a long way the service is good the food good is good but it is over hyped as a top restaurant their are better restaurants in New Orleans Brenans being 1 of them I would not say do not go but I would not go again

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server, Mark, was outstanding. He ma ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Our server, Mark, was outstanding. He made some excellent recommendations and really took care of us in every way. I definitely recommend the gnocchi--they stole the show for sure!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The appetizers were wonderful but snappe ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The appetizers were wonderful but snapper and soft shell crab entrees fell short. The shrimp with the fish were either undercooked or not fresh snd crab overbreaded. The beef entree was excellent. We expected excellence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.