About Restaurant at the Getty Center

1200 Getty Center Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Featuring one of the best views in Los Angeles, The Restaurant at the Getty Center offers a fine dining menu in a simple and elegant setting. The Restaurant's Chef focuses on using the freshest local and regional ingredients and presenting them beautifully and tastefully. The Mediterranean-California inspired menu utilizes global influences to create an experience that is delicious, ambitious and creative. A distinctive wine list and full bar are also available.

The menu is market driven, using produce from local growers and the Santa Monica farmer's market. The Chefs have worked closely with local farmers to ensure the best possible product. Careful attention is given to sustainability with regards to seafood. The menu changes weekly to keep up with market changes as well as seasonal changes. Food service at the Getty Center is managed by the Bon Appétit Management Company.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Sepulveda Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 440-6810

Website:
http://www.getty.edu/visit/see_do/eat_shop.html

Parking Details:
There is a $15 parking charge per car in the Getty Center lot, $10.00 after 5:00pm. Guests must take a 5 minute tram ride from the lot to the Museum and the Restaurant. Please allow 30 minutes prior to your reservation to accommodate for parking and tram ride.

Public Transit:
Public Transit Stops - Getty Center Drive

Executive Chef:
Mayet Cristobal

Private Party Facilities:
As part of the regular extended Restaurant service, The Private Dining Room can be used by groups up to a maximum of 54 people. Extended Restaurant service is defined as taking place during the following Restaurant hours with choices made from the Restaurant pre-set menu.

LUNCH - Tuesday - Sunday - 11:00am - 3:00pm

BRUNCH – Sunday only - 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER – Friday (through 9/21/12) and Saturday - 5:00pm - 9:00pm


All requests must be approved prior to booking and are subject to room availability.


THE PRIVATE DINING ROOM CAN BE BOOKED UP TO A MAXIMUM OF 8 WEEKS IN ADVANCE OF YOUR DESIRED DATE.

Private Party Contact:
Ms. Erica Block Bon Appetit@getty.edu: (310)440-6213

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

Albacore Tataki
Grilled Octopus
shrimp salad
Dungeness Crab Cake
rabbit pate
Leticia Chardonnay
Pumpkin Pie
Bread Sticks And Crispy Kale
Miso Cod
Duck Confit Salad
Assorted Desserts
Short Rib With Bone Marrow
Cauliflower And Potato Soup
Seafood Boullaibaise
Mushroom Truffle Risotto
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Chicken With Mushrooms And Spinach
Prosecco
Meatloaf Sandwich
Roederer Estate Brut Champagne
Tuna
Green pea risotto
Tomato Soup
Coconut Panna Cotta
Burrata
Cauliflower Risotto
Boulliabaisse
Spotted Dick
Bread
Shepherd's Pie
Banana Cream Pie
Grilled Squid Stuffed With Chorizo
Roasted Chicken
Onion Soup
Apple Pie
Spinach Risotto
White Heart Pinot Noir
Chenin Blanc
Cabernet
Tea Sandwiches
Ahi Tataki
Kale Ceasar Salad
Dungeness Crab Cak
beef short ribs
Roast Chicken
Chicken Pot Pie
Beet Salad
Scallops
Cherry Pie
Banana Muse And Peanut Butter Cake
Muscles
Mushroom and Pea Risotto
Espresso
Cauliflower Risotto With Melted Leeks
Iced  Tea
Cobb Salad Wirh Chicken And Bleu Cheese
Wild Forest Mushroom Ragu with Asparagus And Pappardelle Pasta
Cream Of Corn Soup
Bread Pudding With Cinnamon Ice Cream & Caramel
Pork Shnitzel
Heirloom Tomato Risotto
Scones with Clotted Cream and Strawberry Jam
Milk And Honey
S'more Creme Brulee

Restaurant at the Getty Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Los Angeles
Best Ambiance
Westside
Scenic View
Westside
3 More
Special Occasion
Westside
Californian
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in West Los Angeles ›

Scenic View (222)
Great for Lunch (171)
Special Occasion (137)
See All
Fit for Foodies (114)
Great for Brunch (81)
Romantic (74)
Good for Groups (39)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Notable Wine List (25)
Hot Spot (11)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2941 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A perfect CA day to eat outdoors!! We r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A perfect CA day to eat outdoors!! We requested outdoors & our reservation wait time was at most, 10 min. Our food was amazing & our waiter, Louie was very attentive. A great place to eat & view the LA hills. Will definitely go againl

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely restaurant at the Getty - wish we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Lovely restaurant at the Getty - wish we had been offered a place on the terrace where there seemed to be empty tables. Found the whole experience a tad pricy for brunch...bill came to over $80.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Nothing special food wise, in fact very ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Nothing special food wise, in fact very disappointing. We had a reservation but had to wait. When we got into the restaurant there were lots and lots and lots of free tables. Wouldn't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

The online menu was different from what ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The online menu was different from what the menu was once we arrived which was a problem if you're vegetarian. The restaurant offers sea food (my party is not pescetarian), and the smell fills the entire restaurant, waiting area and lingers outside. The strong fishy odor was overwhelming gross, so we canceled our reservation and made the trip to the Stinking Rose 🌹. Totally worth the trip.

Even if my party wasn't vegetarian we would have left do to the odor.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We've eaten at the restaurant at the Get ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We've eaten at the restaurant at the Getty many times over the years and have always had a good experience. We are unabashed "foodies", so our expectations are high. Service is always cordial and professional. The food is inventive, well presented and well prepared. I highly recommend this restaurant for lunch, and as a great way to round out your entire Getty experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff was fabulous! The bathroo ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The wait staff was fabulous! The bathrooms were beautiful . The food was creatively plated, and delicious. The food was not your ordinary cuisine , but delightful tastes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I felt the menu was limited and a bit pr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I felt the menu was limited and a bit pricey. The experience was unique in food presentation, and delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to the Getty for bday celebrations ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We go to the Getty for bday celebrations. Usually the food is great, as well as the ambiance and views. This last time I was disappointed in the service as it took almost 2 hours for lunch which was too long. And we had to remind the waiter for our requests. Generally the busboy will fill in when the waiter can't. This time, the teamwork wasn't there. Just a word of warning not to be in a hurry for lunch or you really need to be clear about expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

As usual, we had a great time at the Res ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

As usual, we had a great time at the Restaurant at the Getty Center. We sat in our favorite waiter's section, and he made it all the more enjoyable with his fun personality and great attention to every detail of our meal. The food was delicious, the champagne sparkling, and our time there made a day of appreciating fine art complete.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was wonderful. I took my granddaughte ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It was wonderful. I took my granddaughter and they accommodated her tastes. My lunch was deli ious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent overall. There were four of us ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Excellent overall. There were four of us and reservations were 2 months out and there were no glitches. We visited the Getty from Northern California, and the restaurant matched the Getty experience in every way...seating times, waiter

attentiveness, menu, and finally the food. Great in every way, and we've been to a lot of good places. Highly recommend, but make the reservations early!

GeorgeAndrassy

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at the restaurant was del ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our experience at the restaurant was delightful. We sat outside on the patio and the service was excellent. I took a group of family members and they were amazed at the excellent food. I have been here several times and it never disappoints.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit of a limited menu, but everything ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A bit of a limited menu, but everything tasted great. Out of the wine I ordered off the list, but they accidentally charged me for it anyway. No apology or imp. Glad I caught it. Would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful setting, very pleasant ambienc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful setting, very pleasant ambience and excellent food and wine

Tags: Romance, Special Occasions, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I generally recommend this place highly, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I generally recommend this place highly, but this visit was marred by flavorless salmon and a waiter named Ben who pays less attention to his tables than to himself--this being LA, I was tempted to ask him "Couldn't you ACT like a good waiter?" He only had four to five tables at the most, and food-runners and bussers--it would not have killed him to pay as much attention to his tables as he apparently does to his glasses and hair.

The pacing of the meal was terrible, alternatingly rushed and dragged out, the sort of thing that leads me to wonder whether blow is involved. The adjacent table was as annoyed as we were. Neither Ben nor the busser appeared to notice that we both had left barely touched filets of salmon on otherwise clean plates. The MOD, a young Frenchman, was defensive and unhelpful.

I still recommend this restaurant, we have had some wonderful experiences there, but if your waiter introduces himself as "Ben," request to be moved to a table in a different station. And if any of your food is inedible, ask for the manager--the busser doesn't care.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

Lovely restaurant, excellent in every ca ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Lovely restaurant, excellent in every category. The service has been stellar on every visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service in a lovely s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food and service in a lovely setting. And you can combine a fine meal with a visit to the museum. The Getty Center is spectacular location for a restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoy the view and the many museum optio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Enjoy the view and the many museum options at the Getty Center.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Oh, Dear. We had excellent service and o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Oh, Dear. We had excellent service and our waiter tried, but this place is not vegetarian friendly, the food is astronomically over-priced (maybe not too bad, when you count that the admission to the Center is free) and everything was very slow. The restaurant ate up most of our museum time, and was not worth the money. The waiter obligingly served me a cheese and charcuterie board without the meat and with generous portions of cheese, but it still had the meat condiments (mustard, ketchup, etc.) on the board. My appetizer salad was strange. Not my kind of place at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Absolutely the best location with a view ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Absolutely the best location with a view over LA from the ocean to the mountains.

The food was excellent, and it was difficult not to fill up on the bread.

Service was maybe a little slow, but that was a small issue at best.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

One of THE best experiences in Los Angel ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

One of THE best experiences in Los Angeles I've had in years. Heather, our server, was fantastic. The food was flawless. Great view. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Do try it out! Lovely food and perfect s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Do try it out! Lovely food and perfect setting. Strongly suggest reservations.

Perfect!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great, the bussers and other st ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was great, the bussers and other staff were great but our waitress was very rude.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The restaurant is fantastic!!! If you ca ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The restaurant is fantastic!!! If you can spoil yourself this restaurant is a perfect place to have lunch or dinner, for me is a must when I visit the Getty museum

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have eaten here several times, but th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have eaten here several times, but this time we found the food and service to be lacking, there must have been a change of management the

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Relaxed atmosphere with a lovely view. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Relaxed atmosphere with a lovely view. Superb service with excellent food. My husband and I shared a Cobb salad and eggs Benedict with the pork belly. Both entrees had fresh and interesting combinations of ingredients. What a great start or ending to viewing exhibits or walking the grounds of the museum.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They gave my mother a WONDERFUL bday exp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

They gave my mother a WONDERFUL bday experience. Held our table even though we were late and they were very busy, waiter was charming and professional, he even sang my mother a short birthday song, and he & the kitchen gave her an extra profiterole with her dessert. Food was delicious, view was great. Come here for a lovely brunch and great art after the fact.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always had great food and service ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I have always had great food and service at The Getty Center restaurant, and I highlyrecommend it!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here many times. Normally e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have been here many times. Normally everything we have eaten here is fabulous. One of us had the halibut which they found to be a little dry. BUT I am sure that was an exception

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I live in Los Angeles and had a Parisian ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I live in Los Angeles and had a Parisian friend visiting, so we spent the day at The Getty with the intention of having lunch, unfortunately not realizing they close at 2:30. No problem, as we reserved first seating for dinner, 5:00 pm, which granted us "the best table in the restaurant"! A fine time ensued including a first class sunset❤️

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Really sloow. Appetizers took 4o minut ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Really sloow. Appetizers took 4o minutes to come out. Long wait for main course too. One was a sad and one was the special. Took so long it interferes with seeing the Getty. Not really a nice time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Everything is excellent. Not filling up ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything is excellent. Not filling up on the delicious bread is the only "drawback".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful way to begin my short v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

What a wonderful way to begin my short visit to Los Angeles. I anticipated a "museum restaurant" and experienced an amazing meal. Spectacular selection, delicious food, gorgeous ambiance and fantastic service. I highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, servers nice, great ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was very good, servers nice, great ambience, they helped celebrate birthday lunch with personalized dessert plate. however slow. Wanted to get back to galleries kept having to get our servers attention.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The service was quick and responsive. T ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The service was quick and responsive. The view was great. The atmosphere was relaxing for the first half hour of lunch and then it got a bit noisy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding. We always come here for lu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Outstanding. We always come here for lunch every time we visit the Getty Center.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For prices this high, the food should be ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

For prices this high, the food should be much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Presented as a high-end venue, the ambia ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Presented as a high-end venue, the ambiance and service filled the bill, but the details that make a good experience were lacking, including cold, out-of-a-Ralph's-packet rolls, and an unmemorable, grit-filled mains course of mussels. Maybe I just picked he wrong dish. Menu reads better than my single experience suggested is the real case. Disappointing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Waited 30 mins to get seated. Besides t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Waited 30 mins to get seated. Besides that, service was great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

I have had dinner here before but the la ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I have had dinner here before but the last 2

Times the meals were not as good and the

Portions were smaller and for the price

It was not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.