About Restaurant at the Getty Center

Featuring one of the best views in Los Angeles, The Restaurant at the Getty Center offers a fine dining menu in a simple and elegant setting. The Restaurant's Chef focuses on using the freshest local and regional ingredients and presenting them beautifully and tastefully. The Mediterranean-California inspired menu utilizes global influences to create an experience that is delicious, ambitious and creative. A distinctive wine list and full bar are also available.

The menu is market driven, using produce from local growers and the Santa Monica farmer's market. The Chefs have worked closely with local farmers to ensure the best possible product. Careful attention is given to sustainability with regards to seafood. The menu changes weekly to keep up with market changes as well as seasonal changes. Food service at the Getty Center is managed by the Bon Appétit Management Company.

1200 Getty Center Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Sepulveda Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 440-6810

Website:
http://www.getty.edu/visit/see_do/eat_shop.html

Parking Details:
There is a $15 parking charge per car in the Getty Center lot, $10.00 after 5:00pm. Guests must take a 5 minute tram ride from the lot to the Museum and the Restaurant. Please allow 30 minutes prior to your reservation to accommodate for parking and tram ride.

Public Transit:
Public Transit Stops - Getty Center Drive

Executive Chef:
Mayet Cristobal

Private Party Facilities:
As part of the regular extended Restaurant service, The Private Dining Room can be used by groups up to a maximum of 54 people. Extended Restaurant service is defined as taking place during the following Restaurant hours with choices made from the Restaurant pre-set menu.

LUNCH - Tuesday - Sunday - 11:00am - 3:00pm

BRUNCH – Sunday only - 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER – Friday (through 9/21/12) and Saturday - 5:00pm - 9:00pm


All requests must be approved prior to booking and are subject to room availability.


THE PRIVATE DINING ROOM CAN BE BOOKED UP TO A MAXIMUM OF 8 WEEKS IN ADVANCE OF YOUR DESIRED DATE.

Private Party Contact:
Ms. Erica Block Bon Appetit@getty.edu: (310) 440-6213

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Albacore Tataki - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Grilled Octopus - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
shrimp salad - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Dungeness Crab Cake - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
rabbit pate - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Leticia Chardonnay - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Pumpkin Pie - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Bread Sticks And Crispy Kale - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Miso Cod - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Duck Confit Salad - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Assorted Desserts - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Short Rib With Bone Marrow - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Cauliflower And Potato Soup - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Seafood Boullaibaise - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Mushroom Truffle Risotto - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Heirloom Tomato Salad - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Chicken With Mushrooms And Spinach - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Prosecco - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Meatloaf Sandwich - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Roederer Estate Brut Champagne - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Tuna - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Green pea risotto - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Tomato Soup - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Coconut Panna Cotta - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Burrata - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Cauliflower Risotto - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Boulliabaisse - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Spotted Dick - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Bread - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Shepherd's Pie - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Banana Cream Pie - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Grilled Squid Stuffed With Chorizo - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Roasted Chicken - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Onion Soup - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Apple Pie - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Spinach Risotto - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
White Heart Pinot Noir - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Chenin Blanc - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Cabernet - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Tea Sandwiches - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Ahi Tataki - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Kale Ceasar Salad - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Dungeness Crab Cak - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
beef short ribs - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Roast Chicken - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Chicken Pot Pie - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Beet Salad - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Scallops - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Cherry Pie - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Banana Muse And Peanut Butter Cake - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Muscles - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Mushroom and Pea Risotto - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Espresso - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Cauliflower Risotto With Melted Leeks - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Iced  Tea - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Cobb Salad Wirh Chicken And Bleu Cheese - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Wild Forest Mushroom Ragu with Asparagus And Pappardelle Pasta - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Cream Of Corn Soup - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Bread Pudding With Cinnamon Ice Cream & Caramel - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Pork Shnitzel  - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Heirloom Tomato Risotto - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Scones with Clotted Cream and Strawberry Jam - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Milk And Honey - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
S'more Creme Brulee - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA

Restaurant at the Getty Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

68% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (61)
Great for Lunch (33)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Creative Cuisine (29)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for a Date (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Modern Decor (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Romantic (15)
Healthy (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Seasonal (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Historic (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Fun (8)
People Watching (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Business Meals (7)
Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Organic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Authentic (3)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Cozy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My favorite place to eat out and worth e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

My favorite place to eat out and worth every penny for the outstanding food, service, and atmosphere in the modern day castle of Los Angeles.

Tags: , Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Organic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is a new chef and the food is once ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

There is a new chef and the food is once again very good. We always lunch here when we visit the Getty. I had the ratatouille and my spouse had the chicken pot pie. Both dishes were delicious and innovative. Also shared a yummy chocolate dessert. Great service, too. The view was especially good as the day was clear and dry. Love this place!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Brunch w-a view! A spectacular setting t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Brunch w-a view! A spectacular setting to share with out-if-towners. Our server & all her assistants were exceptionally professional. Food was delicious but be careful the menu descriptions. The onion tart was simply sautéed onions piled on top of a piece of bread. Not what we were expecting as tart implies pastry - a dissapointment but still delicious. Chopped salad was big enough for 4 of us to share. We all had mains plus 2 desserts to share then walked it off in the gardens.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has changed, it was once ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This restaurant has changed, it was once very good. It is now "Hit and Miss" some items are very good and some are bad. It is inside the Getty Center Museum and that is the only reason to go.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Wonderful setting for lunch - the views ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Wonderful setting for lunch - the views are spectacular. The food was very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My two friends and I have lunch at the r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

My two friends and I have lunch at the restaurant frequently, and usually have a good experience. But the French Toast on the menu came out ice cold, and we sent it back, only to have it returned merely luke warm. The server seemed mildly annoyed with us. Perhaps you were on a skeleton staff as it was a holiday, but the prices were not skeleton and so we expected the same food and service that we have come to expect at the Getty Restaurant. The very least the server could have done is deduct the cost of the inedible French Toast.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Quality of the food has improved. Your h ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Quality of the food has improved. Your hostess and the support staff were excellent, very lovely and helpful. However the waiters, or at least the one we had, was lackadaisical and uninterested in us or his work. We noticed he had the same attitude with other clients he was serving.

For such a special place and environment, where excellence is what you work to, this staff member made us feel uncomfortable.

Thanks for letting us share this.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

It was my first time at the Getty restau ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was my first time at the Getty restaurant and I was very impressed. The staff was wonderful and attentive. The food was great. I'm A vegetarian and the ratatouille was superb. Great place to just hang with a friend over wine and lunch. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food we ordered was well prepared an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food we ordered was well prepared and cooked; tasted very good. A bit of a bummer though- at lunch we wanted the Cobb Salad which is listed under appetizers. And if you want a lunch salad, it really isn't going to work. Tasted great but very slim on the chicken, etc. we solved our desire to have relatively light, yet high protein lunch by also ordering the Hamachi appetizer which had a nice amount of fish and lovely dressing. Efficient staff, almost too efficient. They took away the very tasty artisan bread the minute we said we were done with our appetizers! Ugh. I wanted another piece. 😋

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was great. Perfect lunch for ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The service was great. Perfect lunch for 4 while at the Getty. We made reservations and this definetly sped up our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was at least the sixth time I've ea ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was at least the sixth time I've eaten there over the past few years and this meal was definitely not up to standard. In the past I've raved about this restaurant and always try to eat there when I go to the Getty Center. This time we were a group of six who ordered many different appetizers and entrees. One friend sent his dish back and at least he wasn't charged for it. Another friend is in the restaurant biz and his facial expression as he ate and sampled another's dish spoke volumes. Another friend who is a fantastic cook had nothing to say. My husband ordered the onion tart, which he'd had before, and didn't like it. It was different but not better. My sea bass was uninspired. They still make a great Kir Royale, but my husband summed it up when he said, "Not worth $130 [for lunch for two with two appetizers, two entrees and two drinks.] I'm inclined to give them one more chance because I've had so many great meals there but I'll have a hard time talking my husband into it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The museum collection itself is fascinat ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The museum collection itself is fascinating; but the setting is stunning. The restaurant overlooks the gardens out to the ocean beyond. The food and friendly service is the icing on the cake. Local fresh produce and a choice of fish, meat or pasta dishes for lunch rounded out our fun excursion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming to the Getty Restaur ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We have been coming to the Getty Restaurant for the last 8 years to celebrate our anniversary.

The food and wine are amazing and the service is great. ( Kudos to the chef)

Tags: Romantic, Casual, , Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food and service are very good. We ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food and service are very good. We had the chicken pot pie which was amazing. Loved the service which was top notch. I would go again. A very enjoyable lunch place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great restaurant, but not so great for y ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great restaurant, but not so great for young ones. Brought my grandchildren. The service was wonderful and friendly, the view was nice, but the menu was not that kid friendly. I did not know that ahead of time, but I could see this as a great place for adults. I have been to better restaurants for the cost. I think perhaps next time we will just go to the cafe, sit outside and enjoy a fantastic view. Our table was not one of the ones that was next to the window with a view. The best thing about this restaurant -- very friendly and courteous service. The food was good. For the price, i would have expected better.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a pleasure to dine at the Getty R ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at the Getty Restaurant. I particularly enjoy the restaurant's creative menu, it's view, and high standard of service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A superb way to accentuate one's visit t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

A superb way to accentuate one's visit to the Getty Museum. Two in my party are vegetarians, so restaurant choices can be like a game of chance...not at the Getty. The selections of both food and wine are extensive and populated with a strong dose of local choices to suit every palate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great meal and service. Requested table ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great meal and service. Requested table by window and they gave us corner with 2!! Food was exceptional. Attentive waitress and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was creative and excellent. Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was creative and excellent. The ambiance was relaxing and refined.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The new management has destroyed the Get ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The new management has destroyed the Getty restaurant!!! I would never go there

again!! I am complaining to the Director, James Cuno.

Service was a joke and the food ditto. We ordered onion tart as starter @$19. It was not

a tart at all but a mushy mess in a bowl--rather like poached eggs. The lobster bisque came in a bowl without a plate underneath--very low class. They had no decaffinated tea of any sort, no decent bread. The meal cost a fortune and was a disaster!!

The old restaurant was fine: what happened??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Unfortinately this was not our best expe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Unfortinately this was not our best experience at this restaurant. We have had excellent meals there in the past, but this time it was subpar. Very disappointing. Hopefully they will get their act together because it is a lovely place wirh great views.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Loved the view and think the venue fabul ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Loved the view and think the venue fabulous.

However:

  1. Chairs look bit worn and the place could use an update.

  2. Our waiter said I'll take great care of you--then disappeared and we never saw him again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

beautiful view. lite menu. modern, spa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

beautiful view. lite menu. modern, spacious and bright natural lights during day & expansive views at night.

Tags: Disabled Access, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Service was good. Took a while to return ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service was good. Took a while to return to my table in the beginning. But once the restaurant started getting a little busy, they checked in regularly. One thing that stood out, there was no direct line to the host. It goes straight to an automated message. They should pick up directly. Just my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Not as it used to be. Disappointed in t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Not as it used to be. Disappointed in the food preparation and plating.

Bread was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Go. (This has to be fifty characters, so ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Go. (This has to be fifty characters, so.... Order whatever. Just go.)

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall good place to eat, I got the $85 ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Overall good place to eat, I got the $85.00 meal that comes with a few items , sadly the only thing did not like was fish bass. It was very salty , I was not able to eat it. Hope next time will be better

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't one just relax and unwind at a res ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Can't one just relax and unwind at a restaurant anymore. The scenery and decor are so lovely here but it seems as if the server couldn't wait for us to get out of there.It was NOT crowded. Must one always put the bill on the table while one is still enjoying and relaxing and then check the folder to see if a credit card has been put into it. What's the rush. Can't they learn from the European waitstaff (professionals) that one doesn't present the bill until it is asked for? It ruins the ambience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

This used to be my FAVORITE restaurant i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 30, 2016

This used to be my FAVORITE restaurant in LA - which says a lot. We arrived there for a special birthday celebration to find a new chef and a new menu. The waitress was absolutely apologetic at the choices as we combed the menu and tried to get clarification of all the oddities. The menu was sparse yet items overlapped onto multiple dishes (an egg on top for example). Three of the four entrees we ordered came in small bowls with miniature servings. There wasn't one "go to" item on the menu to save the day. Not a soup, not a sandwich, not a salad. It was the most disappointing lunch I have ever looked forward to.

Even the drink menu changed. There used to be a signature "Getty Old Fashioned" which I deemed the best in LA. Nope, couldn't even keep that. The Old Fashioned they now serve is the same as any other restaurant around. We should have stayed in Pasadena. So sad. I have no plans to go to the Getty Restaurant again. It's just not worth the risk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Great venue. Interesting lunch menu not ...

 
 (Bath)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great venue. Interesting lunch menu not actually the same as shown on line but some items are included. Suckling Pig was delicious but my starter was a big disappointment as the artichoke was incorrectly trimmed and tough leaves were included. Surprised me but didn't seem to bother the waitress when I pointed this out.

Never mind venue wins out every time so we will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

If you are spending a day at the Getty C ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 26, 2016

If you are spending a day at the Getty Cnter, you must have lunch or dinner at the Restaurant at the Getty Center. Situated on the northwest side of the complex, the restaurant affords beautiful views of the surrounding hills and Pacific Ocean. We were fortunate to be there as weather changed from partly sunny to pouring rain and the change was spectacular. The menu is comprised of locally sourced ingredients and even dishes I'd had in many restaurants, like gazpacho, had local surprises which made it memorable! One person in our party had the remarkable parmesan risotto, I enjoyed the halibut with turmeric sauce, and two others loved the pork. Service was a tad slow but did allow us to enjoy the amazing change in weather. However, if we were in a rush to get back to the exhibits, we would have been less patient.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The menu was not the one on the webpage, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The menu was not the one on the webpage, there were no complete entrees, you choose either fish or meat and then add a side, which makes it just too expensive for lunch.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely spot for out of town visitors as ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Lovely spot for out of town visitors as well as locals. The food is very good but very expensive for the amount on your plate. OK for special occasions. The service is correct but could be better to match the prices

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Lunch at the Gettysburg has always been ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Lunch at the Gettysburg has always been a highlight of our trips to Los Angeles to visit our daughter's family. The meal, while pricey, was always worth it. We looked forward to the fixed price luncheon special based on one of the travelling exhibits. That has all changed. The lunch menu has radically changed. It is very limited, and very costly. The quality of the food and service was excellent, but we left hungry and a lot poorer! Note: Open Table does not show the correct menus on their website.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Everything we ordered cocktails to food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Everything we ordered cocktails to food was absolute perfection! Gazpacho delish. Crab and avocado amazing. Pork belly to die for and sea bass also delish. Oh and the onion a'grautin delish! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful lunch at the Restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch at the Restaurant. Although we thought the menu was hard to read or navigate through, we loved every item we chose. The food was outstanding and we hope to return soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We have often gone to the Getty Center f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have often gone to the Getty Center for special occasions, or something tied to the exhibitions at the Museum, and have rarely been disappointed. The views are fabulous and the location unique - the new chef is doing a splendid job of creating menus that are tasty, thoughtful and flat out fabulous. Bravo! Wait staff was helpful, encouraging and engaging - we would go back in a heartbeat and look forward to doing so again soon

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal, Organic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Reservation was accepted on Open Table, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Reservation was accepted on Open Table, but when we arrived at the Getty, the restaurant was closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was expensive for what you ordered. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food was expensive for what you ordered. Too artistic food....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Serene, delicious experience with very a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Serene, delicious experience with very attentive, but professional service from everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.