Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Restaurant at the Getty Center

Featuring one of the best views in Los Angeles, The Restaurant at the Getty Center offers a fine dining menu in a simple and elegant setting. The Restaurant's Chef focuses on using the freshest local and regional ingredients and presenting them beautifully and tastefully. The Mediterranean-California inspired menu utilizes global influences to create an experience that is delicious, ambitious and creative. A distinctive wine list and full bar are also available.

The menu is market driven, using produce from local growers and the Santa Monica farmer's market. The Chefs have worked closely with local farmers to ensure the best possible product. Careful attention is given to sustainability with regards to seafood. The menu changes weekly to keep up with market changes as well as seasonal changes. Food service at the Getty Center is managed by the Bon Appétit Management Company.

1200 Getty Center Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Fridays: 2017 5:30pm - 9:00pm (May 25, 2017 through September 1, 2017)

Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Sepulveda Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 440-6810

Website:
http://www.getty.edu/visit/see_do/eat_shop.html

Parking Details:
There is a $15 parking charge per car in the Getty Center lot, $10.00 after 5:00pm. Guests must take a 5 minute tram ride from the lot to the Museum and the Restaurant. Please allow 30 minutes prior to your reservation to accommodate for parking and tram ride.

Public Transit:
Public Transit Stops - Getty Center Drive

Executive Chef:
Mayet Cristobal

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant at the Getty Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

Noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (57)
Great for Lunch (44)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Good for a Date (33)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Romantic (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Great for Brunch (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Healthy (12)
Casual (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Business Meals (9)
Authentic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
People Watching (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Fun (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Cozy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Organic (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
3577 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Beautiful view of LA and wonderful food. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Have been at this restaurant several times--always a delight! But the food was not as special this time as on previous visits--not as tasty, not as well-seasoned--but still good.
New chef, new kitchen staff in the last 6 months?

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Fantastic. Enjoyed the prix fix menu and wine pairings with tamale, pork belly, and coconut cake, as well a delicious salad. Absolutely perfect service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 29, 2017

It could be and would be wonderful if it wasn't so overpriced.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2017

It was all good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Went to the Getty last night. Had a friend from out of town. The food and drinks were excellent once we got them. Ordered a bottle of wine and cocktail, it took 15 minutes to arrive at the table the restaurant was not busy. Finally our waitress decides it is ok to take our dinner order. It seemed like we were doing her a favor by ordering. For what we spent there, the attitude and service we got sucked. I realize everyone has bad and long days, but this was bad. Hopefully we will go back there since it is one of favorite places and get a little better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2017

We had a birthday celebration there and it was very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Love this location! Lunch menu is interesting and we shared almost all the appetizers except the salumi & cheese platter as having that later in the evening. Everything was delicious! Enjoyed excellent Irish coffee and Cafe American but skipped dessert due to it being the holidays:) The wait staff her is the best in town - their professional training really stands above most all other nice LA venues, in my opinion.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

Use to be fantastic. Must have been chef’s day off....sad.
Why would the Getty ever allow this? What has happened?

David Woerner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Very satisfied. Already made reservation for return visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

The setting was amazing, but unfortunately our reservation had been lost and there was confusion upon our arrival. In that instance offering a free beer to my husband would have been a welcome gesture. Also, after receiving our food, I wanted salt for my soup, but we were not checked in with until the others in our party were almost finished with their food, so I went up to someone and asked for salt. Also, our water glasses were not filled until the end of our meal. These are simple ways to achieve satisfaction for restaurant customers. But the food was wonderful and the architecture and setting were stunning!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Healthy, Great Beer, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Lovely setting and creative, always changing menu. Wait staff was very attentive and accommodating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Nice menu & service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We were disappointed. My food was fairly good but not wonderful. Despite telling our server that she wanted her salmon cooked rare, my friend's salmon was overcooked and dry. Our server did take it off the bill but the restaurant did not meet our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

I was awesome. The only improvement I suggest is changing the two top tables. I was there on a date and the tables are so long that it’s hard to have an intimate discussion. Also, with the way the tables are situated, only one person gets to look out at the view. Other than that, the food and service was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Beautiful place atop the hill at The Getty. I made a lunch reservation, was promptly seated on arrival. The server recommended a light, dry, lunch wine. I had the Burrata appetizer (served with basil, poached pears, walnuts, crostini. Main course was Seared Scallops, atop sweet potato puree with Brussels sprouts and kale chips. The presentation was artistic, and flavor combinations perfect. Price was same as any other high end restaurant, but this came with amazing views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The view is breath taking, the food is excellent and our server Tim was excellent.
Not the type of fine dining restaurant you expect to find at a museum.
Definitely need to make a reservation but worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Always a good place to go to get great food and an amazing view!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Considering the high price, the service was sub par. No beverage menu except alcoholic drinks. Asked waiter, who said Coke Sprite. Etc. I had to ask if they had juice. He said Oh yeah. It was more like being in a hamburger joint even though the bill was $150 for lunch for 2. Food was just OK for the price. Getty is on its own hilltop so you are a prisoner. The cafe is even worse.

Tags: Scenic View, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

This is the second time that we have dined at the restaurant all the way from Australia and everything about the restaurant is first class. Of course looking at the view while enjoying the meal is a real bonus!
We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The Restaurant at the Getty is an exceptional dining experience with a wonderful seasonal menu of choices. The dining room is bright and minimally elegant, the service first rate. For a wonderful day-outing... enjoy the various galleries at the museum, and then book a luncheon reservation... a perfectly delightful way to spend a Saturday in LA!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

There a lot of great restaurants in Los Angeles. The Getty Restaurant is right up there with the best.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2017

I love to eat at the Getty restaurant. The view is great and the food is even better.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Everything was fabulous except for the meat of the main entrée. It was overcooked and mushy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 28, 2017

My wife and I were at the Getty to see a couple of exhibits and stopped in for lunch. My first time at the restaurant, my wife's second. It was outstanding! I had a prix fixe menu with paired wines all with a South American theme to accompany the exhibits. Excellent food, service, ambience and view. It wasn't super cheap but I felt worth every penny. Highly recommended whether you're attending an exhibit of not.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Good food, professional and personable staff, great views.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 24, 2017

The restaurant at the Getty is always a treat. I often tell friends that I am going to the Getty for lunch first and world class art second. The setting is the best around and if you are trying to give a friend a great dining experience you have to go the Getty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Wonderful way to add to a day at the Getty. Be sure to make a reservation!

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 21, 2017

A one-of-a-kind location with very good food and excellent service. A really nice way to break up the day at the museum.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 21, 2017

After a wonderful morning walking around the museum, the restaurant was a peaceful oasis. The menu was highly seasonal with delicious autumn flavours - you know you're in a good restaurant when you want to eat what everybody else is having as it comes out of the kitchen! Great views through the large windows and an airy, open, feel due to the high ceiling and the fact that the tables were not pushed too close together. Our appetizers, a fresh, soft, Burrata with sliced apples and toasted country bread and especially the Chilean Sea Bass ceviche were delicious. Main courses were Salmon with yellow beet risotto (fantastic) and a vegetarian spiraled squash dish. We shared a kind of deconstructed apple crumble for dessert, again wonderful. Service was just the right blend of attention and discretion and were not hurried at all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Had the best empanadas ever!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Our midday meal was very good, with great service and a well lit and comfortable dining room. The toasted cheese sandwich was the best ever, and check out the other ingredients! Service was great.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Unfortunately this restaurant is not as good as it used to be. Both the quality of the service and the quality of the food have gone downhill. Our server was almost unpleasant at times, and we even had trouble getting the cheque. It is a shame as the location, setting and view are so special.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 14, 2017

My friends and I have been going to the Getty Restaurant for years! It's a beautiful view and delicious food! Always a wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Everything here is spectacular: the view, the refined ambiance with white tablecloths and well-dressed servers, the food and a chance to have a quiet conversation. My soup and seafood were perfect and my friend's entre was beautifully prepared and cooked.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 10, 2017

The food and service were quite good. And, of course the views are outstanding!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Fabulous food in unbeatable setting...what more do you need?

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 6, 2017

I went with 3 friends and we had a wonderful lunch. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. I hope to be able to return soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

the restaurant was convenience since we were already there at the Getty Center we were celebrating a 45 year wedding anniversary with two people in our party that were from Hawaii. The food was okay the portions were extremely small. The staff was very friendly. But overall I was just satisfied with the whole experience it was $144 for 4 people. We should have went elsewhere for that kind of money and the value that we received

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2017

As always, a truly amazing dining experience.

For special occasions, my wife and I frequently choose the Getty for dinner.

We had a set menu with wine pairings.  The food was as good as anywhere in the City, and the ambiance is better than anywhere in the City.  (Dine at sunset if you can.)

The wine pairings were surprising and each complemented the food served.

We started with a peruvian crudo. This crudo had a slight kick from jlapeno which made it unique.

Second course was a Ate con Queso Salad.  It had a touch of quince and spanish chorizo that made this special.  It was paired with a Complicated Pinot Noir which was very tasty.

Third course were short ribs that literally melted in your mouth.

The desert was a coconut tres leche with guava sorbet was one of the best deserts I have ever had anywhere.  A masterpiece.  The pairing with the Riesling was perfect.

Service was attentive.

If you paid for the courses and wine at a similar restaraunt, You could spend $150.

Treat yourself.  Life is short.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.