Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Restaurant at the Getty Center

Featuring one of the best views in Los Angeles, The Restaurant at the Getty Center offers a fine dining menu in a simple and elegant setting. The Restaurant's Chef focuses on using the freshest local and regional ingredients and presenting them beautifully and tastefully. The Mediterranean-California inspired menu utilizes global influences to create an experience that is delicious, ambitious and creative. A distinctive wine list and full bar are also available.

The menu is market driven, using produce from local growers and the Santa Monica farmer's market. The Chefs have worked closely with local farmers to ensure the best possible product. Careful attention is given to sustainability with regards to seafood. The menu changes weekly to keep up with market changes as well as seasonal changes. Food service at the Getty Center is managed by the Bon Appétit Management Company.

1200 Getty Center Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Fridays: 2017 5:30pm - 9:00pm (May 25, 2017 through September 1, 2017)

Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Sepulveda Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 440-6810

Website:
http://www.getty.edu/visit/see_do/eat_shop.html

Parking Details:
There is a $15 parking charge per car in the Getty Center lot, $10.00 after 5:00pm. Guests must take a 5 minute tram ride from the lot to the Museum and the Restaurant. Please allow 30 minutes prior to your reservation to accommodate for parking and tram ride.

Public Transit:
Public Transit Stops - Getty Center Drive

Executive Chef:
Mayet Cristobal

Private Party Facilities:
As part of the regular extended Restaurant service, The Private Dining Room can be used by groups up to a maximum of 54 people. Extended Restaurant service is defined as taking place during the following Restaurant hours with choices made from the Restaurant pre-set menu.

LUNCH - Tuesday - Sunday - 11:00am - 3:00pm

BRUNCH – Sunday only - 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER – Friday (through 9/21/12) and Saturday - 5:00pm - 9:00pm


All requests must be approved prior to booking and are subject to room availability.


THE PRIVATE DINING ROOM CAN BE BOOKED UP TO A MAXIMUM OF 8 WEEKS IN ADVANCE OF YOUR DESIRED DATE.

Private Party Contact:
Ms. Erica Block Bon Appetit@getty.edu: (310) 440-6213

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant at the Getty Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (96)
Great for Lunch (73)
Special Occasion (57)
See All
Creative Cuisine (51)
Worth the Drive (45)
Good for a Date (42)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Romantic (32)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Great for Brunch (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Business Meals (21)
Casual (21)
Seasonal (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Fun (14)
Authentic (13)
Disabled Access (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
People Watching (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Cozy (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Organic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vegan (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Waterfront (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
3492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dorset)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Fabulous views - oh, and an amazing art collection too! - and a beautifully-designed dining room. Delicious menu & outstanding service. My halibut was superb but everyone's food was perfect. We will definitely come again. Make sure that you allow at least half a day to enjoy the many features of the Getty Centre. Book ahead.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

I took my dearest friend (sister) to this restaurant for a belated birthday. Arwin waited on our table and we were delighted it was her, because she is a neighbor of my girlfriend. Everything about our lunch was amazing. My girlfriend was in awe of her view and could not believe how wonderful the food was. She was in 7th heaven and she, and I, can hardly wait to come back and treat ourselves again. Looking forward to experiencing your wonder restaurant again, and soon.
Thank you to Arwin for the outstanding service!

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Wonderful as usual. Always a peaceful, spacious, quiet restaurant with excellent and creative food. The bonus is you can see art either before or after dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Beautiful!! Food great...and special (Cobb salad different and fabulous!!). Wonderful luncheon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Completes the day at the Getty. Spectacular view. Great salads. I ordered the Cobb. Must make a reservation. We took the architectural tour prior to lunch. Lots to look at and talk about at lunch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 9, 2017

There was no parking. I arrived 35 minutes early , no parking. The food was not that great . The view and the setting was fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Wonderful serice! Awesome views! Food was delicious!

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2017

All was well until I got home and was going to enjoy my remaining Cobb Salad for dinner. There was a substantial amount of blue cheese on the top of the salad, which I had pushed to one side of my plate. I was looking forward to enjoying it later. When I opened my food container, the wait staff made a decision that I didn't want the cheese. Very bad assumption on their part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 8, 2017

As always, Getty was great. Wonderful staff, service, advice and menu.
The David Hockley Birthday lunch was delicious.
Pro tip: Getty does not have any marrow spoons, so the best way to get the marrow out of the bone is to use your butter knife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Once again, The Restaurant at The Getty Center totally blew us away! Louie is the absolute best waiter you could want, and he is the person we ask for whenever we go there. Friendly, knowledgable, and very attentive to whatever you need. The food is absolutely delicious - haven't had a bad dish ever. This trip we enjoyed a charcuterie plate with some wonderful tastes on it (including a bit of honey in comb) and then Laura had the Cobb Salad and I had the Jidori Chicken. Wonderful. The chicken was tender, juicy with crispy skin and the cous cous was cooked like I have never had it before. All of that and some Champagne made for a lovely anniversary lunch! We can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We go to the Restaurant at the Getty Center during the summer when the days are long as it allows us to see great art, enjoy good food as we look at a beautiful view of the city and/or mountains as the sun sets.
Can't beat it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very pleasant place for a relaxed
get together with friends. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The restaurant has a beautiful view but that's about it. Menu choices were extremely limited - only one entree salad available at lunch. Portions were small. The worst part is that the restaurant is understaffed resulting in long waits for food and even coffee. It took the waiter over 15 minutes to bring my post lunch regular coffee. I would suggest skipping this over priced sub par restaurant and having your meal offsite before or after your visit to the museum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The perfect restaurant to match the art collection. Lovely!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The setting and physical environment were very nice, but the lunch menu was disappointing and sparse as well as over priced for what one received. This restaurant was much better years in the past. What happened to it?

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We've eaten here many times when we have gone to the museum. The cuisine is always interesting though a bit overpriced. My concern is the service. Each member of the wait staff is attentive, but there are just too few of them for a restaurant at this price point. It is wonderful to relax over lunch, but not if the time is taken up waiting for a course or trying to tackle a passing waiter/waitress to refill a coffee cup.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Never a disappointment. Once again our food was outstanding. I had a refreshing bowl of gazpacho and the baked eggs, which were served in a bowl of creamy lemon polenta with mushrooms--a rustic dish full of lovely, layered flavors. Our waitress was the perfect degree of helpful and unobtrusive. The view of course was spectacular. The Getty is an architectural wonder full of fine art, and The Restaurant provides the best of the culinary arts. It makes for an inspiring experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Very disappointed in the baked eggs dish we each ordered for late lunch before a lecture on Sunday. I regret that I chose not to send the food back and select another option from the menu.
The mushrooms were rubbery and the entire dish lacked flavor and complexity I would expect for the price. It was coffeeshop fare at best. In contrast, we had lunch at the cafe at the Skirball recently and found our dishes to be delightfully satisfying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

This was a disappointing meal experience. While all of our selections were edible and plated well, they lacked any "wow" factor taste-wise. Except for a starter of avocado toast, I honestly can't remember what any of us ordered--and it was only 1 week ago. I remember the toast only because it was so expensive ($19. For toast.) Many museums have incredible restaurants, but not the Getty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

A very elegant experience. Pricey, but considering the location I would expect it to be. We were late for our reservation, but shown to our table right away. The service was excellent, professional I'd say, and the food was perfectly prepared and served. The drinks were outstanding. The view is magnificent. If you're looking for an upscale place with a bit of exclusivity to it, The Getty can't be beat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

As return visitors my husband and I were a bit disappointed that our meals did not measure up to previous visits. The setting and view are always a pleasure, and our wait staff was professional. However, the hostess lacked congeniality. My husband's scallops were only fair. I appreciated my mushroom dish as a meatless option, but found the green bean accompaniment odd. I would have liked a different vegetable - maybe a braised broccolini or even tender snow peas.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Lovely setting, very good service but food was disappointing. Halibut was overcooked and rather plain at $35/ serving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Add an extra treat to an already amazing experience at the Center. Beautiful views paired with good good and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The restaurant was closed :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My husbands birthday. We did the specialty meal based upon the current exhibition. Took us out of our usual food choices. Reservations mean your seated in the quieter area close to the windows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Excellent Resturant in a beautiful art museum setting. Well worth the trip.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Service, food and atmosphere were all excellent. While the destination is obviously the museum itself, a meal at the restaurant provides a pleasant break during your visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

The lunch I had last week with a friend was very good; the service was fine. it was a pleasant afternoon. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 19, 2017

My grandson was visiting from Pennsylvania. Since he is a "Foodie" we had lunch at the Getty combining it with a visit to the Center. We enjoyed the meal and he loved the dessert "Chocolate". My visits are always special, and this one did not disappoint.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Very tasty food. Great views. Happy helpful service. Special

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I love this restaurant for the location and the view. The food is ok not great, and the service is not great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Lovely place to go on a Saturday night. Restaurant has amazing views and the food is very good. You can go see exhibits at the Getty before or after dinner. Makes for a great visit and it's a great place to take out of towners!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My husband ordered the prix fixe lunch menu with the wine pairing and I ordered the halibut.
The halibut was cooked to perfection and was heavenly. The salad that was part of my husband's meal was delicious. He felt his entree which was a pasta dish was overly seasoned. But the dessert that was part of my husband's meal was the highlight of the meal. Compliments to the pastry chef.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have our anniversary luncheon at Getty center every year and every time their food and service were met our expectation. The menu was just right for senior like us and we love ambiance. We live 28 miles away from restaurant but worth the drive to go there on anniversary , and receptionists and waiters are very much professional.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I normally don't write reviews but after having dinner at your restaurant I wanted to share my experience. Your entire staff was excellent. Our waiter had a great personality and very knowledgeable with the menu. He constantly checked on us to make sure everything was good and that we had what we needed. Your steak was THE BEST I've ever had, and I've been to great steak houses . My wife's food was just as incredible. Your bartender made incredible drinks, just to our liking. The restaurant itself was incredibly clean, quiet, wonderful decor, and with incredible views. You made my wife's birthday dinner perfect, thank you. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone for any occasion, and if I could give you 10 stars on your rating system, I would.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Healthy, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I've wanted to dine at the Getty for years and it was glorious! The food, service and ambiance were exactly what I wanted. On our next trip to Los Angeles we will return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Authentic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great museum restaurant. Great food at a hefty price. Views and ambience wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 11, 2017

This updates previous review of Restaurant at the Getty. Took out of town visitors to lunch while visiting Getty. This is a favorite for us. Wonderful view, delicious food and wine, relaxing stop during tour of the museum and gardens.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I remember this restaurant from the past as delicious, beautiful view, and good ambiance. This has remained and even more.
I will be taking out of town/country guest here in the near future.
Overall I found this restaurant great for a special occasions (it was my birthday). The view was amazing
Keep up the good work.

Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our server was great, but other things were not so great. The halibut was way over cooked to the texture of canned tuna fish. We were offered dessert on the house. My cell phone battery was almost dead and they regretfully were not permitted to allow me to plug my phone in for a few minutes to charge. I asked about corkage fees, they regretfully are not permitted to allow outside wine into the Getty or restaurant. Great views, ambiance, and server...that's about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.