Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Restaurant at the Getty Center

Featuring one of the best views in Los Angeles, The Restaurant at the Getty Center offers a fine dining menu in a simple and elegant setting. The Restaurant's Chef focuses on using the freshest local and regional ingredients and presenting them beautifully and tastefully. The Mediterranean-California inspired menu utilizes global influences to create an experience that is delicious, ambitious and creative. A distinctive wine list and full bar are also available.

The menu is market driven, using produce from local growers and the Santa Monica farmer's market. The Chefs have worked closely with local farmers to ensure the best possible product. Careful attention is given to sustainability with regards to seafood. The menu changes weekly to keep up with market changes as well as seasonal changes. Food service at the Getty Center is managed by the Bon Appétit Management Company.

1200 Getty Center Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Fridays: 2017 5:30pm - 9:00pm (May 25, 2017 through September 1, 2017)

Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Sepulveda Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 440-6810

Website:
http://www.getty.edu/visit/see_do/eat_shop.html

Parking Details:
There is a $15 parking charge per car in the Getty Center lot, $10.00 after 5:00pm. Guests must take a 5 minute tram ride from the lot to the Museum and the Restaurant. Please allow 30 minutes prior to your reservation to accommodate for parking and tram ride.

Public Transit:
Public Transit Stops - Getty Center Drive

Executive Chef:
Mayet Cristobal

Private Party Facilities:
As part of the regular extended Restaurant service, The Private Dining Room can be used by groups up to a maximum of 54 people. Extended Restaurant service is defined as taking place during the following Restaurant hours with choices made from the Restaurant pre-set menu.

LUNCH - Tuesday - Sunday - 11:00am - 3:00pm

BRUNCH – Sunday only - 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER – Friday (through 9/21/12) and Saturday - 5:00pm - 9:00pm


All requests must be approved prior to booking and are subject to room availability.


THE PRIVATE DINING ROOM CAN BE BOOKED UP TO A MAXIMUM OF 8 WEEKS IN ADVANCE OF YOUR DESIRED DATE.

Private Party Contact:
Ms. Erica Block Bon Appetit@getty.edu: (310) 440-6213

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant at the Getty Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (97)
Great for Lunch (67)
Special Occasion (59)
See All
Worth the Drive (47)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Sunday Lunch (40)
Good for a Date (39)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Romantic (29)
Modern Decor (29)
Great for Brunch (27)
Local Ingredients (23)
Healthy (22)
Seasonal (22)
Business Meals (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Casual (19)
Fun (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
People Watching (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Authentic (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Historic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Cozy (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Organic (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Visit to museum

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

A wonderful place that Angelenos should take advantage of at least a few times a year. We're lucky to have this treasure on a hill with spectacular food, wine and service to match the view.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised at having a two star Micheline style one course at a very reasonable price. Atmosphere was rather a surprise, with a large open room . No cozy seating.
Waiters were in abundance, and service was excellent. My scallops were good and the sauce fantastic. Would do it again if I felt like fighting the traffic.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Absolutely lovely. The food selection, breathtaking views were magnificent. All it missed was some classical music.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Have had the opportunity to dine at the Getty many times over the past years.
The food is excellent and inventive. Service attentive without being overwhelming.
We look forward to dining at the Getty the next time we visit LA.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Lunch at the Getty Center restaurant was a lovely addition to a fabulous day day at the Center. Nice wine by the glass selection, interesting menu, well prepared 'new American/California cuisine with local ingredients, professional service and of course the stunning view made for a memorable occasion.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Beautiful setting at the Getty. Lovely restaurant space, great service, fabulous food!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The Risotto was delicious, but it very cheesy and creamy so might not work for those on a diet. The fish was nicely done and very tasty. Great views from every table. The service was friendly and efficient.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I thought food was presented beautifully and the view great. A little pricey and tables previously a little close.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was good, the setting and ambiance great, especially if you are lucky enough to be seated by a window. Service was "fragmented," we were finally served bread half way through our lunch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Love Getty and this restaurant. That airy space! Food is excellent and enhanced by the ambiance!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I wish the outdoor seating area was open, but the food was definitely worth splurging for. Lots of interesting lunch options with generous servings .

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Attached to the amazing Getty Museum, this is one of three eateries on the hill overlooking Santa Monica and smoggy Los Angeles. This beats the downstairs Garden Restaurant by a wide margin. The food and service is top class and makes the museum visit even more memorable. A must see, and a must eat !

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Always lovely to be at the Getty -
Great place to have lunch and digest the ART you have just experienced !

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 25, 2017

This was our first visit, all the way from Japan! We had such a great time here. Food was excellent! Wine reccomended went so well with the dishes we ordered. Very friendly, careful and thoughtful service! Enjoyed the great view also. Would love to visit again!!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent food, beautiful presentation, fabulous cocktails. Service touch and go.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Come to the Getty early on a weekend, beat the crowds in the galleries, and then enjoy a lovely lunch her. The gazpacho was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Was attracted to this restaurant because the description said "spectacular views". The views are only if houses on the backside of the restaurant and the ocean in the far distance, and only if you're sitting next to a window. No booth-seating. All tables, very close together, expensive$$$, and so-so service for the price. Would not go again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Brought friends who had never eaten at the Getty. They loved it (as my husband and I do). Will definitely be back. Great food, great views and great service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Besides the food being delicious and very fresh the view was magnificent. I'm so glad we decided to make a reservation here. The service was excellent also. An overall awesome experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food was fantastic. Waiter forgot to order my salad and when I finally could find her, my main course was finished. She just said she forgot and did not make any effort to ask if I still wanted the salad or would prefer dessert - just brought the check. Guess she wanted to get rid of me but am not sure why?

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Beautiful scenary, excellent food, and surprisingly reasonable prices! Just go!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, People Watching, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The brunch menu on that Sunday (Mother's Day) sounded good, but the execution was lacking flavor and taste for the price being paid. Service was basically attentive but the waitress confused our check with the neighbor's one. Setting of course is very nice with a beautiful view over the hills in the neighborhood.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The restaurant at The Getty has few surprises. The view is exceptional, the service and food are always good. This is a great place to relax while visiting the museum or a great destination on its own.
Everything up on the hill enhances the L.A. experience.
I invited a Northern Californian to join me for lunch. We drove directly from Burbank Airport to lunch. We had dinner plans and wanted something light... so we shared a salad and a main and finished with a latte. It was the perfect amount of food and not expensive.
Every time I eat at The Getty I wonder why I'm not there more often. It is lovely!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wonderful ambience at The Getty and beautiful views. Good salads, and very good service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Met out of town friends for lunch. Great food and service. We had the chef salad and risotto, both excellent. Love combining a day of art exhibits, friends and food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My first and never disappointing choice to share w visitors from out of town, and w friends who live nearby. Terrific wait staff pay attention, listen, withdraw, return w invisible care, flourishlessly. Skilled kitchen people prepare and present delicious food, attractively.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The service was fast and courteous. The scenery was beautiful and the food was perfectly cooked. Overall I will remember The Getty for the great lunch I had! I will come again on a clear day.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Portions were ridiculously minuscule. Strawberry spinach salad had the equivalent of two strawberries, two dates and a few leaves of spinach. Come on! Prices should have supported reasonable portions. Very dissatisfied. I'll go back to eating in the Getty cafeteria which has quality food, sizeable portions and lower prices!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Fabulous. Gastronomique experience.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Went with older teens and spouse for her birthday. Casual but elegant dining with the incredible views from the Getty Museum of downtown and the ocean. The food was excellent and interesting. Small menu that is seasonal and rotates, I'm guessing, on the chef's choice and availability. Service is outstanding and not snobby. A great location and excellent fare.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

As always, a sophisticated dining experience. The perfect take-the-time-to-dine experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was excellent, but quantity and cost was not in sync.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Combine a visit to The Getty with dinner st this restaurant. Beautiful views and lovely service. Perfect for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food and service. Fabulous view. Quiet, we could comfortably converse. Lovely evening!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a wonderful lunch and the view was spectacular.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our server was fabulouos....the Cobb salad...to die for.....thank you we very much enjoyed spending 2 hours dining.....

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent food & great views. Nice selection of drinks too. Both the ambience and decor were beautiful.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Healthy, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We were not overly impressed by the restaurant considering it was at the Getty Center. We expected better preparation and section.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Failed the third try. Went back to Getty Restaurant in hopes that the food had improved -- no such luck. Questions - should you need a knife for an omelette? - should you ever recommend white wine with asparagus? If you answered no to either of these questions, you know more that the new chef at Getty Center. We really wanted to enjoy our meal on Sunday. But it was an unhappy failure. Time to make a change. If you want to go, order the simplest thing on the menu. Make no assumptions - ask lots of questions and SEND THE FOOD BACK IF IT IS AWFUL.

I don't blame the Getty, rather the management firm overseeing the food operation. Fire them now.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.