Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Restaurant at the Getty Center

Featuring one of the best views in Los Angeles, The Restaurant at the Getty Center offers a fine dining menu in a simple and elegant setting. The Restaurant's Chef focuses on using the freshest local and regional ingredients and presenting them beautifully and tastefully. The Mediterranean-California inspired menu utilizes global influences to create an experience that is delicious, ambitious and creative. A distinctive wine list and full bar are also available.

The menu is market driven, using produce from local growers and the Santa Monica farmer's market. The Chefs have worked closely with local farmers to ensure the best possible product. Careful attention is given to sustainability with regards to seafood. The menu changes weekly to keep up with market changes as well as seasonal changes. Food service at the Getty Center is managed by the Bon Appétit Management Company.

1200 Getty Center Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Sepulveda Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 440-6810

Website:
http://www.getty.edu/visit/see_do/eat_shop.html

Parking Details:
There is a $15 parking charge per car in the Getty Center lot, $10.00 after 5:00pm. Guests must take a 5 minute tram ride from the lot to the Museum and the Restaurant. Please allow 30 minutes prior to your reservation to accommodate for parking and tram ride.

Public Transit:
Public Transit Stops - Getty Center Drive

Executive Chef:
Mayet Cristobal

Private Party Facilities:
As part of the regular extended Restaurant service, The Private Dining Room can be used by groups up to a maximum of 54 people. Extended Restaurant service is defined as taking place during the following Restaurant hours with choices made from the Restaurant pre-set menu.

LUNCH - Tuesday - Sunday - 11:00am - 3:00pm

BRUNCH – Sunday only - 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER – Friday (through 9/21/12) and Saturday - 5:00pm - 9:00pm


All requests must be approved prior to booking and are subject to room availability.


THE PRIVATE DINING ROOM CAN BE BOOKED UP TO A MAXIMUM OF 8 WEEKS IN ADVANCE OF YOUR DESIRED DATE.

Private Party Contact:
Ms. Erica Block Bon Appetit@getty.edu: (310) 440-6213

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant at the Getty Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (71)
Great for Lunch (51)
Worth the Drive (41)
See All
Creative Cuisine (37)
Special Occasion (37)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Good for a Date (32)
Modern Decor (28)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Romantic (23)
Local Ingredients (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Casual (17)
Healthy (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Seasonal (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Business Meals (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Historic (8)
People Watching (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fun (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vegan (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
3329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

A perfect spot for Sunday brunch. Unhurried, calm room with lovely food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Just came here to grab dinner with a friend. It's a nice place with an interesting menu

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful experience overall.
Spectacular view
Excellent food
Nice balance of casual and special

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very disappointed. The Peruvian Steak dinner was ok, not spicy or flavored like described on the menu. Scallop dinner was boring. Sauce was supposed to be curry, think they forgot that part. Was just an orange sauce, carrot maybe. We did not have dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A wonderful dining experience to add to a great day of art and architecture above the L.A. Skyline!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It was a ladies lunch and we got a nice window seat. The views are great. We both had the chicken pot pie, which was good although quite expensive. My tea came in a proper teapot and was good, but I was unable to get a refill of hot water because our waitperson was nowhere to be seen, she never came to see if we needed refills until we were ready for the check. All in all, this is a nice place for a special lunch if you are ready to spend $70 for lunch for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 15, 2017

An incredible location and good food

But dreadfully slow service with the usual generic apology but little genuine interest

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Over priced and the food was pretty ordinary. Sorry, but we were expecting more from the food. The views were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

They sat us right before closing for lunch and were very accommodating to my family. A+!!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I wrote that it was a special birthday celebration 60! But it was never acknowledged

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This was my 3rd visit. I was disappointed in the small quantity of food. I am not a big eater but my portion was tiny. Another at our table ordered a salad that was too large. Very disappointed that the melting chocolate dessert was no longer available. It was always wonderfully presented.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

An absolutely super-pleasurable dining experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Chic space with great views of the Getty Center and the Pacific. A very pleasant option when combined with a Saturday evening visit to the museum.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A good option from the cafeteria if you want a nicer dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

A great place to eat. Food and view excellent. Sometimes the food is adventurous but worth it. Makes a trip to the museum a charm. Expensive.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 7, 2017

I can't complete your review because the restaurant wasn't open. This is the second time I have made reservations and have shown up to the restaurant only to have it closed. No reasons were given. I would suggest going later in the week since both times were on a Tuesday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Five star experience! World class view and service plus lots to see before and after. Try to go on a beautiful day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very limited menu. Appetizer best part of meal. Entrees were only fair tasting.
Desserts were fair.
Would not return here, disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It all started when the host confused our reservation then seated our party at 2 separate tables so we wasted 20 minutes waiting for each other. Food was just okay, my salad was so small. Pork dish was awful. We liked the bread, though. Convenient at the museum, but next time we'll go to the other restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We never went to the restaurant. I had to cancel the reservation for family reasons. I repeatedly tried to cancel it. I did so through OpenTable. Wouldn't work. I tried different browser. Same problem. I called the Getty restaurant at their phone number listed on their website and after spending five minutes (I'm not kidding) listening to all the wonderful options on their phone tree, I finally was able to leave a recorded message canceling the reservation. Then, after that, a day or two later, I got an email from you, OpenTable, reminding me of my reservation. I then tried AGAIN to cancel the reservation through your service and that failed too. I like to be respectful to restaurants and to cancel well in advance if I have to. That just failed every way possible in this experience. Thank you for listening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Love the restaurant Great value
Wish you offered non fruit flavored icedtea

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great Sunday brunch at a beautiful location. Well-prepared brunch items and a lovely dining room. A very nice meal before tackling the museum galleries!

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The Getty Restaurant is an outatanding addition to the Getty Museum!! We go there even when we are not touring the Galleries. It is a Gallery unto itself! Ask for a Window Table! :-)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A dining experience with my seven year old granddaughter. The white linens gives a formal feel to the room. For her, it was a very special experience. There is a nice children's menu which included a very generous portion of mac and cheese!
She will never forget her first "fine dining" experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great place to have lunch while visiting the Getty Center. Great views, seating and food. The staff was attentive and professional. The food was well-prepared and presented. While not inexpensive, it is nevertheless a good value considering the overall quality of the experience.
It would be a lovely place from which to watch the sunset over dinner.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

They were closed due to vermin infestation so we were unable to dine after going way out of our way to get there. Nobody notified us of canceled reservation. Rude man at door turned us away telling us we had been notified. Nowhere else to eat in area besides cafeteria which grossed me out due to rodents in other restaurant on the property. Could not enjoy day at museum after rushing to make our reservation time and then being turned away. Was really looking forward to our day at The Getty Center during our vacation to Los Angeles and it was ruined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I would like write a review but can't because I made the reservation through open table but when we arrived there it seemed that the restaurant was closed for the day because they were cleaning. Not so very happy about that. Weird that you can make a reservation even when they are not open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Good service and good food. All tables full for lunch but not uncomfortable to be a woman dining alone.
Cool and bright day with sunlit dining room dominated by whites (as are all the museum buildings)followed by a stroll in the gardens as well as different sections of the galleries to see.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Dining at the Getty is always delightful. After lovely lunch, we visit new exhibitions or the beautiful grounds.
s

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The views are fabulous from every direction. The menu had a variety of items to suit everyone, great menu for both food and wine

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Celebrating a birthday. Excellent food and beverages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Best salmon I have ever eaten. Cooked perfectly, with a crisp outside and tender inside.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My favorite L.A. restaurant-- great view, beautiful design, lovely waiters, good menu and excellent bloody mary.

Tags: Family Style, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

View is beautiful, but the menu has changed and is too narrow. The food was barely warm and the price is too high for the quality and quantity of food. We go for the setting, but it is becoming less worth it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Disappointed
Food was bland, presentation was lacking, portions were sub-par. Just to give you an example, one of our party ordered French toast. French toast was dry, a few berries I mean a very few berries, had to request additional syrup. All 4 at table were disappointed with the experience with one exception.
THE BREAD WAS GREAT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Friend was in town from Montreal escaping the snow and wanted to see the Getty. In my opinion, the restaurant is as much of the Getty experience as the art and the gardens so I reserved a table and took her to lunch. She enjoyed it all!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great, fun foods. Creative, beautiful, unusual desserts. Lovely location.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Beatiful restaurant with a great view. Food and service was very good. A wonderful place to enjoy a nice meal while you visit the Getty.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great day at the museum and had dinner afterwards, great food and views.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful way to take a break from viewing all the art and artifacts: food was excellent, service was very good and the location/setting could not be better.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.