Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Restaurant at the Getty Center

Featuring one of the best views in Los Angeles, The Restaurant at the Getty Center offers a fine dining menu in a simple and elegant setting. The Restaurant's Chef focuses on using the freshest local and regional ingredients and presenting them beautifully and tastefully. The Mediterranean-California inspired menu utilizes global influences to create an experience that is delicious, ambitious and creative. A distinctive wine list and full bar are also available.

The menu is market driven, using produce from local growers and the Santa Monica farmer's market. The Chefs have worked closely with local farmers to ensure the best possible product. Careful attention is given to sustainability with regards to seafood. The menu changes weekly to keep up with market changes as well as seasonal changes. Food service at the Getty Center is managed by the Bon Appétit Management Company.

1200 Getty Center Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Sepulveda Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 440-6810

Website:
http://www.getty.edu/visit/see_do/eat_shop.html

Parking Details:
There is a $15 parking charge per car in the Getty Center lot, $10.00 after 5:00pm. Guests must take a 5 minute tram ride from the lot to the Museum and the Restaurant. Please allow 30 minutes prior to your reservation to accommodate for parking and tram ride.

Public Transit:
Public Transit Stops - Getty Center Drive

Executive Chef:
Mayet Cristobal

Private Party Facilities:
As part of the regular extended Restaurant service, The Private Dining Room can be used by groups up to a maximum of 54 people. Extended Restaurant service is defined as taking place during the following Restaurant hours with choices made from the Restaurant pre-set menu.

LUNCH - Tuesday - Sunday - 11:00am - 3:00pm

BRUNCH – Sunday only - 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER – Friday (through 9/21/12) and Saturday - 5:00pm - 9:00pm


All requests must be approved prior to booking and are subject to room availability.


THE PRIVATE DINING ROOM CAN BE BOOKED UP TO A MAXIMUM OF 8 WEEKS IN ADVANCE OF YOUR DESIRED DATE.

Private Party Contact:
Ms. Erica Block Bon Appetit@getty.edu: (310) 440-6213

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant at the Getty Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (95)
Great for Lunch (64)
Special Occasion (54)
See All
Worth the Drive (54)
Good for a Date (43)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Sunday Lunch (38)
Modern Decor (37)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Romantic (28)
Great for Brunch (27)
Casual (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Healthy (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Business Meals (18)
Seasonal (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Historic (13)
Fun (12)
People Watching (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Organic (8)
Authentic (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Cozy (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Vegan (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
3396 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The brunch menu on that Sunday (Mother's Day) sounded good, but the execution was lacking flavor and taste for the price being paid. Service was basically attentive but the waitress confused our check with the neighbor's one. Setting of course is very nice with a beautiful view over the hills in the neighborhood.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The restaurant at The Getty has few surprises. The view is exceptional, the service and food are always good. This is a great place to relax while visiting the museum or a great destination on its own.
Everything up on the hill enhances the L.A. experience.
I invited a Northern Californian to join me for lunch. We drove directly from Burbank Airport to lunch. We had dinner plans and wanted something light... so we shared a salad and a main and finished with a latte. It was the perfect amount of food and not expensive.
Every time I eat at The Getty I wonder why I'm not there more often. It is lovely!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wonderful ambience at The Getty and beautiful views. Good salads, and very good service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Met out of town friends for lunch. Great food and service. We had the chef salad and risotto, both excellent. Love combining a day of art exhibits, friends and food.

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My first and never disappointing choice to share w visitors from out of town, and w friends who live nearby. Terrific wait staff pay attention, listen, withdraw, return w invisible care, flourishlessly. Skilled kitchen people prepare and present delicious food, attractively.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The service was fast and courteous. The scenery was beautiful and the food was perfectly cooked. Overall I will remember The Getty for the great lunch I had! I will come again on a clear day.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Portions were ridiculously minuscule. Strawberry spinach salad had the equivalent of two strawberries, two dates and a few leaves of spinach. Come on! Prices should have supported reasonable portions. Very dissatisfied. I'll go back to eating in the Getty cafeteria which has quality food, sizeable portions and lower prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Fabulous. Gastronomique experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Went with older teens and spouse for her birthday. Casual but elegant dining with the incredible views from the Getty Museum of downtown and the ocean. The food was excellent and interesting. Small menu that is seasonal and rotates, I'm guessing, on the chef's choice and availability. Service is outstanding and not snobby. A great location and excellent fare.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

As always, a sophisticated dining experience. The perfect take-the-time-to-dine experience.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was excellent, but quantity and cost was not in sync.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Combine a visit to The Getty with dinner st this restaurant. Beautiful views and lovely service. Perfect for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food and service. Fabulous view. Quiet, we could comfortably converse. Lovely evening!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a wonderful lunch and the view was spectacular.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our server was fabulouos....the Cobb salad...to die for.....thank you we very much enjoyed spending 2 hours dining.....

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent food & great views. Nice selection of drinks too. Both the ambience and decor were beautiful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Healthy, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We were not overly impressed by the restaurant considering it was at the Getty Center. We expected better preparation and section.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Failed the third try. Went back to Getty Restaurant in hopes that the food had improved -- no such luck. Questions - should you need a knife for an omelette? - should you ever recommend white wine with asparagus? If you answered no to either of these questions, you know more that the new chef at Getty Center. We really wanted to enjoy our meal on Sunday. But it was an unhappy failure. Time to make a change. If you want to go, order the simplest thing on the menu. Make no assumptions - ask lots of questions and SEND THE FOOD BACK IF IT IS AWFUL.

I don't blame the Getty, rather the management firm overseeing the food operation. Fire them now.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This was our first time to visit the Getty and we went to see the museum and to eat at the restaurant fir Sunday brunch. Both were fabulous. We had the deviled eggs for a starter and the chicken salad which was so large that my husband and I could have shared. It was delicious with a glass of white wine. The menu is somewhat limited at brunch, but everything that came out looked wonderful. The whole experience was delightful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with amazing views and excellent ambiance. The food was delicious and the service was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Fantastic dining if you want to do something special.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The service was excellent. The food was delicious. I liked the menu choices. The view of the ocean from the restaurant was spectacular. I would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The menu at the Getty Center restaurant is varied and interesting. The food was cRefully prepared and very good. The service was exceptional.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Touring the gardens

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The setting was lovely with some outstanding views. The food was nice but overpriced. I chalk it up to being a patron of the arts since the wonderful Getty Museum is free. Service was a little slow, but friendly and patient. (One member of our group can be less than pleasant when requesting a special diet.). Next time we will get a boxed lunch and eat at one of the outdoor seating areas.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was our third time at the Getty restaurant and probably the best so far. The service is always good, even better this time. Our server was incredible; having to put up with impossible diners at the next table. They questioned everything, knew nothing and complained about all of it. In spite of that, our server remained smiling, pleasant and happy to help us.

Our food was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. Each visit has been a different menu and the menu states everything is locally sourced and changed seasonally. We each had different things, tasting them all and had plenty. The bread and butter are scrumptious... you have to take care not to fill up on that. We shared a spectacularly presented and fabulous tasting lemon curd, ice cream, white chocolate topped concoction which was perfect.

I will go again .

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Unbelievable views
Ultra chic modernist decor
Well advised to have a reservation since this is a destination restaurant not just for museum goers

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We had a leisurely lunch after several hours touring the museum from the opening on a weekday. Started with a split of Schramsburg and tried several seafood dishes and desserts. Food: Good to very good. Service: a bit slow but good enough if one is not in a hurry. If you are making a day of it at The Getty and you want something more than the cafeteria, the food kiosk, or your own picnic, this is the place to eat. There really are not other places for lunch or dinner convenient for a visit to The Getty is you want to spend the whole day there, which I recommend if you are from out of town. Not really a place for small children although there were some there with families.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I made reservations days ahead, as we traveled up from Orange County for an enjoyable day (we were visiting CA from our home in Texas). I wanted a nice lunch during our visit to the Getty. The primary purpose was to see artwork - my friend was a docent in Dallas for 10 years. We got our appetizer OK - then we waited and waited. The waiter never checked on our entrees until AFTER I complained. It took over an hour for our entrees, and my friend never got a refill on his iced coffee. We lost valuable time to view artwork. At least the waiter comped the entrees. Next time we'll go to the café.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great experience and scenic view! Definitely recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The view was spectacular. It was a warm night and I had a delicious cocktail and a light cucumber gazpacho, and incredibly well prepared barramundi. Wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Lovely setting and creative menu. Beautiful views, in a quiet, relaxed setting. David was fun and attentive as a server, and his recommendations were spot on. The miso steak, scallops, charcuterie, lemon and chocolate desserts were excellent, as was the bread served to the table.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Food was excellent, service excellent.
One complaint:
Diner next to me was talking loudly on her phone during her entire meal. I asked to be reseated.
Perhaps you should have a phone policy.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great place to relax and enjoy the view. Had a great time with a friend. And was offered a blanket when the weather got cooler! I'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Awful service, slow and many mix ups and totally overpriced for the basic level of food they call "fine dining"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Hard to get better ambiance in LA. The food and service are consistently excellent. You get what you pay for so expect to pay more than other place to eat on the museum property. Excellent place to take gets from out of town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This restaurant makes you feel on top of the world -- indeed it is, since it's at the Getty Center on top of a hill with a one-of-a-kind stunning view over the Santa Monica mountains right out to the ocean. The ambiance is airy, spacious and elegant, the service impeccable, and the food is exceptionally good, whether you choose an original creation or a classic (our party was there for Sunday brunch, and the one who ordered the French toast said it was the best he'd ever tasted).

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Authentic, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went to The Getty for Easter Sunday brunch. Ate outside on the patios - absolutely stunning views. Service was outstanding.

Started with mimosa and craft cocktails. Had a variety of dishes which we shared - all were great.

Afterwards, toured the gardens and grounds. A fantastic Sunday experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I loved this restaurant! The food, ambiance, and service were wonderful! Our server Cesar was attentive and they even brought us a complimentary dessert for my girlfriend's birthday, in spite of the fact that we are not regular customers nor were we spending a lot of money. A very classy restaurant with great food and a billion dollar view. Highly recommended!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We have been regular guests for 2 decades now. The place has never disappointed us, lunch or dinners for various events.
Question: is there a way to have a dinner for 30 guests? there is a place upstairs but we never went dined there

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.