Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Restaurant at the Getty Center

Featuring one of the best views in Los Angeles, The Restaurant at the Getty Center offers a fine dining menu in a simple and elegant setting. The Restaurant's Chef focuses on using the freshest local and regional ingredients and presenting them beautifully and tastefully. The Mediterranean-California inspired menu utilizes global influences to create an experience that is delicious, ambitious and creative. A distinctive wine list and full bar are also available.

The menu is market driven, using produce from local growers and the Santa Monica farmer's market. The Chefs have worked closely with local farmers to ensure the best possible product. Careful attention is given to sustainability with regards to seafood. The menu changes weekly to keep up with market changes as well as seasonal changes. Food service at the Getty Center is managed by the Bon Appétit Management Company.

1200 Getty Center Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Fridays: 2017 5:30pm - 9:00pm (May 25, 2017 through September 1, 2017)

Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Sepulveda Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 440-6810

Website:
http://www.getty.edu/visit/see_do/eat_shop.html

Parking Details:
There is a $15 parking charge per car in the Getty Center lot, $10.00 after 5:00pm. Guests must take a 5 minute tram ride from the lot to the Museum and the Restaurant. Please allow 30 minutes prior to your reservation to accommodate for parking and tram ride.

Public Transit:
Public Transit Stops - Getty Center Drive

Executive Chef:
Mayet Cristobal

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant at the Getty Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

Noise

Quiet

87% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (76)
Great for Lunch (56)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Good for a Date (43)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Worth the Drive (36)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Romantic (22)
Casual (18)
Healthy (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Business Meals (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Authentic (12)
Seasonal (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
People Watching (8)
Cozy (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Fun (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Organic (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vegan (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
3542 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Everything here is spectacular: the view, the refined ambiance with white tablecloths and well-dressed servers, the food and a chance to have a quiet conversation. My soup and seafood were perfect and my friend's entre was beautifully prepared and cooked.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 10, 2017

The food and service were quite good. And, of course the views are outstanding!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Fabulous food in unbeatable setting...what more do you need?

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 6, 2017

I went with 3 friends and we had a wonderful lunch. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. I hope to be able to return soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

the restaurant was convenience since we were already there at the Getty Center we were celebrating a 45 year wedding anniversary with two people in our party that were from Hawaii. The food was okay the portions were extremely small. The staff was very friendly. But overall I was just satisfied with the whole experience it was $144 for 4 people. We should have went elsewhere for that kind of money and the value that we received

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2017

As always, a truly amazing dining experience.

For special occasions, my wife and I frequently choose the Getty for dinner.

We had a set menu with wine pairings.  The food was as good as anywhere in the City, and the ambiance is better than anywhere in the City.  (Dine at sunset if you can.)

The wine pairings were surprising and each complemented the food served.

We started with a peruvian crudo. This crudo had a slight kick from jlapeno which made it unique.

Second course was a Ate con Queso Salad.  It had a touch of quince and spanish chorizo that made this special.  It was paired with a Complicated Pinot Noir which was very tasty.

Third course were short ribs that literally melted in your mouth.

The desert was a coconut tres leche with guava sorbet was one of the best deserts I have ever had anywhere.  A masterpiece.  The pairing with the Riesling was perfect.

Service was attentive.

If you paid for the courses and wine at a similar restaraunt, You could spend $150.

Treat yourself.  Life is short.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I ordered a green salad with chicken, little cubes of squash, walnuts, either apple or pear (couldn't really tell), feta cheese and about 3 oz. of chicken. There were several pieces of spoiled lettuce--and this cost $25.00. Our waiter was polite but very inattentive. My husband ordered a grilled cheese sandwich with special bacon--$27.00. He said it was good. When our waiter brought the bill I began reading it, thinking, "What the heck?" He was so inattentive he gave us the bill for a table of 6 who had ordered appetizers, champagne, entrees, drinks and desserts. I had to get the attention of the young man who poured our water to get the correct bill. One of the delights of going to this restaurant is the view of the ocean and the mountains but even that was a disappointment because it was a hazy day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Lovely birthday luncheon spot, and yummy dessert with birthday wish, BUT the dessert was NOT complimentary. Oh well, all else good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2017

A lovely setting for upscale, white table cloth, lunch, with very professional service and creative, although a little pricey, menu. Wine selections were good and we thought those prices were more in line.
Enjoyable and relaxing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

I really love this restaurant. Delicious foods and wonderful service were great. Next time if I have a chance to have a meal with my family, friends, or important guests, I am going to visit this place again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The restaurant struggled with reservations and seating. Those with reservations still had to wait (us: 20 mins); Others were turned away. Probably short of wait staff. Many open tables though, including a window-side 2-top at sunset that I had specifically requested in my reservation - that table was left open for a full hour at prime time.

The food is always tasty and creative. Dinner at the restaurant is a great way to end a museum visit.

I'll go again. But this is the poorest review I've giving the restaurant since it opened almost 20 years ago.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The view is spectacular. Unfortunately we got a very affected server who did not understand the difference between vegan and vegetarian. After much discussion, he finally got it and I was served boiled carrots and beets for $18!! My friends both had fish and said food was acceptable. Don’t go if you have any food allergies as it isn’t worth the price...and our server was not interested in accommodating us.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Absolutely fabulous! From the view, to the service (except the front desk), to the food, everything was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2017

This was my 4th time eating there and it made me nostalgic for the other times. The service was slow and at times non-existent. It seemed as though our server had too many tables to take care of. We were never offered water. We waited a good 5 minutes for the opportunity to order something to drink and another 5 minutes for the drinks to arrive. Later we had to flag someone down to get an iced tea refill. The food was mediocre. I wanted to order dessert hoping there would be some part of the meal I would enjoy, but we waited a long time for the dessert menu & another extended period of time for the server to return for the order. By that time we just wanted to get out of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We entertained friends visiting from Houston. Our architectural tour was fantastic. We enjoyed discussing the Getty collection and architecture over a beautiful lunch. The menu was mouthwatering. Two of us had the cobb salad which had the addition of apples and lots of all the right stuff. Two of had the grilled gouda, grilled onion, apple, and bacon salad on wonderful bread. We ate every bite. The cocktails were delicious.
We had a lovely corner table with a view, but it was out of the servers' sight line. So we had to wait to signal when anything was needed and had to wait for the bill almost missing a tour. They had been told what time we needed to leave. The servers were all gracious and knowledgeable, but we seemed to be invisible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

A friend was "down in the dumps" and needed a lift. She had never been to the Getty so I surprised her. The tossed Cobb Salad was the best either of us has ever had!! The dressing was tasty with a hint of tang. We sat and talked and were never rushed. Our ice tea was refilled without our asking

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Terrific except that the Baked eggs were soupy and needed to be eaten with a spoon. Flavors were great

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Sad to say this time was disappointing in the food and the waiter! I love love going to the restaurant and have been there many times. This was the worst food-wise and service wise. The restaurant was not very busy so not sure why our waiter "forgot our drinks" and the food was only average in tast

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food is rather ordinary and menu boring! The Getty needs a top notch chef and overhaul of the restaurant to make it worthwhile as a destination.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Beautiful venue, delicious food and good service. Great selection of good and drinks on the menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We had lunch during the week, late afternoon. It was not busy. Although our waiter was very friendly, I didn't feel like they were attentive. We needed an extra minute to look over the menu as it was our first time there, but then we waited quite a while for anyone to return to take our order, refill water, or ask about dessert. Food we nice but I was not left with the desire to return. I would have liked a menu with more options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Terrible service! The waiter was totally absent. The food was good and the views breathtaking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

I read reviews and was expecting this resturant to be much better than it was. The view was blocked by the blinfo and I was seated for a romantic dinner so close to the couple next to us that I wasn't even able to hear my date talk. There were many tables open so there was no reason to seat us where they did. The food was great but not worth the money. Next time I will be eating at the cafe which had a view you could actually see. Not worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

5 good friends dining together totally enjoying the evening, ambience, service and the great food!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The waitress was friendly, prompt , and attentive. Her support staff stood and talked with other busboys while coffee cups and water glasses stood empty. They no longer serve the outstanding bread basket. And the food was neither presented artistically nor particularly well prepared. Both I and my friend were extremely disappointed when compared to previous dining experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent service, great views, delicious food. Highly recommended.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

It was an awesome experience and we enjoyed it very much. We look forward to returning in the future. The food and wait service was exceptional. The atmosphere was exceptional. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very accommodating. Very good service.

One main dish was fabulous....scallops
One was mediocre... chicken (Bland and dry)

Salad and dessert we very good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We took a friend who had just flown in from Australia - it was stinking hot outside and walking in to The Getty restaurant was a treat for all our senses! We had a gorgeous view from our table, excellent service and delicious meal (and a/c!!). It's a treat to dine there, but for a special occasion it's perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

I had the flat iron steak and ordered it medium rare. It came out burnt. Also got the pork melt, the sauce was so liquid it made the bread soggy. Very overpriced, don't go here!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We spent our anniversary at the Getty Center and capped it off with dinner at The Restaurant. The setting is quite beautiful with the mountains and some very nice homes in the background, and the sunset was gorgeous, although largely covered by clouds.
We were promptly greeted and seated. Our server was just a little bit delayed, as she was apparently responsible for serving the wine tastings being held on the patio. It appeared they were sampling roses and the pours seemed to be quite generous. Nevertheless, she seemed to have that as her primary responsibility for the evening. Our assistant waiter was quite good and attentive.
We started with a shared appetizer of burrata, which was very tasty. My wife had a "Ginger Bee" cocktail, made with vodka, honey, ginger beer and a cinnamon stick, which she quite enjoyed, and I had a glass of Pinot Gris, which was good. For main dishes, she had a Brazilian seafood stew, which was "okay," and I had scallops, which were beautifully prepared and served over a yam puree. There were, however, only three scallops in the order, which seemed a little skimpy for $33. The rustic whole wheat bread was excellent.s
We didn't order dessert, but I had a cup of coffee, which ended up being comped for our anniversary. I guess if we had dessert they might get have comped that, but no offer to do so was made.
On the whole, very nice, but just a bit pricey for what we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The restaurant was convenient for lunch during a trip to the gorgeous Getty Center. However the menu was very limited and expensive which would have been ok except that the service was awful. The waiter was unattentive and had an attitude. Considering the price of a meal here, it would be good for the restaurant manager to train their waitstaff and replace anyone who is not professional. The food was ok, portions were very small but the ambiance and views were nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The restaurant at the Getty never fails to produce: food, service, & views. IT IS SO CIVILIZED & SUCH A PLEASURE TO BE THERE WITH SUCH AMAZING ARCHITECTURE! Be it lunch or dinner, it is always special.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Great Beer, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Scenic View, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Our waiter was awesome - great recommendations, very knowledgable. Gave us a rec on a wine that paired beautifully with our meals. Food was delicious, expecially the chocolate dessert.
Elegant presentation and YUM. View from the Getty can't be beat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

If I could give 10 stars for the service, I would. The service was marvelous and made the birthday really special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food was totally forgettable. I'd had lunch there before, which was good, but this dinner was definitely not worth the price tag.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Lovely add on to an evening trip to the Getty Museum

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Fantastic meal and great location. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with great service. Nice for a birthday lunch - pricey but a great view!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 24, 2017

So disappointed in the new chef. I figured he or she needed a while to get their bearings, but the food continues to disappoint. Last week, I took a friend and we both had the halibut. It was good, but extremely overpriced for such a small piece. Then we took a chance on the chestnut puree mousse for dessert. it was truly forgettable! Regrettably, I'm going to think twice about join back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.