About Restaurant at the Getty Center

1200 Getty Center Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Featuring one of the best views in Los Angeles, The Restaurant at the Getty Center offers a fine dining menu in a simple and elegant setting. The Restaurant's Chef focuses on using the freshest local and regional ingredients and presenting them beautifully and tastefully. The Mediterranean-California inspired menu utilizes global influences to create an experience that is delicious, ambitious and creative. A distinctive wine list and full bar are also available.

The menu is market driven, using produce from local growers and the Santa Monica farmer's market. The Chefs have worked closely with local farmers to ensure the best possible product. Careful attention is given to sustainability with regards to seafood. The menu changes weekly to keep up with market changes as well as seasonal changes. Food service at the Getty Center is managed by the Bon Appétit Management Company.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Sepulveda Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 440-6810

Website:
http://www.getty.edu/visit/see_do/eat_shop.html

Parking Details:
There is a $15 parking charge per car in the Getty Center lot, $10.00 after 5:00pm. Guests must take a 5 minute tram ride from the lot to the Museum and the Restaurant. Please allow 30 minutes prior to your reservation to accommodate for parking and tram ride.

Public Transit:
Public Transit Stops - Getty Center Drive

Executive Chef:
Mayet Cristobal

Private Party Facilities:
As part of the regular extended Restaurant service, The Private Dining Room can be used by groups up to a maximum of 54 people. Extended Restaurant service is defined as taking place during the following Restaurant hours with choices made from the Restaurant pre-set menu.

LUNCH - Tuesday - Sunday - 11:00am - 3:00pm

BRUNCH – Sunday only - 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER – Friday (through 9/21/12) and Saturday - 5:00pm - 9:00pm


All requests must be approved prior to booking and are subject to room availability.


THE PRIVATE DINING ROOM CAN BE BOOKED UP TO A MAXIMUM OF 8 WEEKS IN ADVANCE OF YOUR DESIRED DATE.

Private Party Contact:
Ms. Erica Block Bon Appetit@getty.edu: (310)440-6213

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

Bread
Grilled Octopus
Tomato Soup
Chicken With Mushrooms And Spinach
Coconut Panna Cotta
Tuna
shrimp salad
Albacore Tataki
Dungeness Crab Cake
rabbit pate
Leticia Chardonnay
Pumpkin Pie
Bread Sticks And Crispy Kale
Duck Confit Salad
Miso Cod
Assorted Desserts
Short Rib With Bone Marrow
Cauliflower And Potato Soup
Seafood Boullaibaise
Mushroom Truffle Risotto
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Prosecco
Meatloaf Sandwich
Roederer Estate Brut Champagne
Green pea risotto
Burrata
Boulliabaisse
Cauliflower Risotto
Spotted Dick
Banana Cream Pie
Grilled Squid Stuffed With Chorizo
Shepherd's Pie
Onion Soup
Roasted Chicken
Apple Pie
Spinach Risotto
White Heart Pinot Noir
Chenin Blanc
Cabernet
Ahi Tataki
Tea Sandwiches
Kale Ceasar Salad
beef short ribs
Dungeness Crab Cak
Beet Salad
Chicken Pot Pie
Roast Chicken
Cherry Pie
Scallops
Mushroom and Pea Risotto
Banana Muse And Peanut Butter Cake
Muscles
Espresso
Cauliflower Risotto With Melted Leeks
Iced  Tea
Cobb Salad Wirh Chicken And Bleu Cheese
Wild Forest Mushroom Ragu with Asparagus And Pappardelle Pasta
Cream Of Corn Soup
Bread Pudding With Cinnamon Ice Cream & Caramel
Pork Shnitzel
Heirloom Tomato Risotto
S'more Creme Brulee
Milk And Honey
Scones with Clotted Cream and Strawberry Jam

Restaurant at the Getty Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Los Angeles
Scenic View
Los Angeles
Great for Brunch
Westside
4 More
Great for Lunch
Westside
Scenic View
Westside
Californian
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in West Los Angeles ›

scenic view (226)
great for lunch (176)
special occasion (135)
See All
fit for foodies (123)
great for brunch (89)
romantic (67)
good for groups (43)
great for outdoor dining (34)
neighborhood gem (31)
notable wine list (21)
hot spot (11)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2892 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The waiter(Louis) was great! We like t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The waiter(Louis) was great! We like to see him next anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I found the food here to be good. I had ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I found the food here to be good. I had the "Cobb" salad, which was delicious. My bf had the Eggs Benedict with crab, mushrooms, and bacon. I think it was good, but it had too many similar types of savory flavors, if that makes any sense, and overall, it was a little too rich for me. And the bf did not like the bacon, which was a weird consistency. He found it be just okay, but the man at a neighboring table said that they were the best EB he has ever had. So, I don't know what to tell you.

That gets to my next point, the tables by the window are not too far apart. If someone next to you is speaking in a normal voice, you will feel like you are in their conversation. I don't think I can fault them for putting the tables so close together; it maximizes the amount of people that can sit near the window and fully enjoy the view on a sunny day. But don't be surprised.

The service was ... slow, and that was at least in my area. I slowly started fuming, as I saw people who were seated 10 to 35 minutes after me get their food before I even got my iced tea. This was made worse because these patrons were sat in my direct line of sight. It was hard to enjoy the meal after that, and the service in that area was almost unbelievable to me. It just didn't make sense.

Overall, yes, I would recommend it. The prices are slightly above what you would normally pay for what you're getting, but you're paying for the view. So, it would be well worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Table by the window. Had a teen who spl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Table by the window. Had a teen who splashed her soup and our server was very kind and quickly spread a napkin over the tablecloth unobtrusively We had a wonderful lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious but our waiter wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was delicious but our waiter was not very attentive. After cocktyails, we had to call him over to take our wine order, and then the wine did not come until half way through our entree.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

I have always enjoyed this restaurant, b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have always enjoyed this restaurant, but this time the service was incredibly slow, we did not get a window table though one was requested. But worst of all an obstreperous child at the next table was noisy and disruptive. He even hit one of my guests twice. Next time I go to the Getty I shall eat in the cafeteria because it is too expensive to put up with these annoyances.

The wait staff seemed nice enough but the were ubderstaffed.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Loved lunch at the Getty for my husband' ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Loved lunch at the Getty for my husband's birthday! The plating of the food was a art masterpiece. The room and view was beautiful. We spend two hours on lunch and that wasn't planned because we are from Phoenix. Highly recommend it

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant experience in the US so ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Best restaurant experience in the US so far, food, presentation, service and ambiance - it ticked all the boxes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food and great service and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always great food and great service and a great view......

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a very cool oasis when attending ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is a very cool oasis when attending the museum. It has great views, nice decor and yummy food. We especially liked the artwork by Alexis Smith. The fish was good. The chicken was also strong. And desert sorbet was a good low calorie option. Service with a smile. Worth checking out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food here is perfectly acceptable bu ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food here is perfectly acceptable but obviously not the main reason to be at the Getty. Sunset is the time to sit down to eat after a day visiting the astonishing exhibits. For free!

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

kitchen was a bit slow, but then again i ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

kitchen was a bit slow, but then again it was busy Saturday early evening, however, it was a lovely evening dinner, service was great, food delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, well presented. The locatio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Good food, well presented. The location and view are unique. Evening is a great time to be at the Getty as the crowds diminish.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a fantastic spot. Affordable, good ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

What a fantastic spot. Affordable, good food, fantastic views. Nice interlude to a day at the Museum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Great food and great views! Shared a sal ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food and great views! Shared a salad, entree and dessert so the cost ended up being reasonable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a party of 5 - two couples and o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were a party of 5 - two couples and one child. The server handed the menu to our 8 year old. I had to get up and ask the hostess if there was a kid's menu and she said that they did have one but not a printed version. So we had to ask our server about that. Our water glasses weren't filled - we had to ask. We also had to ask for the bread basket which was clearly given to all the other patrons. Appetizers were very good. But the main dishes failed miserably. The flavor was good but many issues with all our dishes. We got the mussel and clam main dish which had sand in it (not cleaned well enough). The lamb wasn't cooked to my specifications (medium and I got rare) and the meat wasn't the best cut - for $36 I expected better. We were assured that the scallops were big and hearty for the main dish, and they weren't. 3 scallops, again at $36. Wine was ok and the coffee could have been better.

Not the best experience and I wouldn't go again. It was way overpriced and the service was mediocre. We all left disappointed. Too bad because the Getty is such a beautiful venue.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

While visiting Los Angeles I always pay ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

While visiting Los Angeles I always pay a visit to the Getty Centre.I love the architecture, each time I am in awe of the enormity of the Centre and for the past two years I also paid a visit to the restaurant. The service is good and the food and scenery are superb!

If you are at the Getty Centre a visit to the restaurant is highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delightful from beginning to end! Very ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Delightful from beginning to end! Very special restaurant in every way.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for a light lunch - had fabulous mu ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Came for a light lunch - had fabulous mushroom soup followed by mediocre small salad; friend had good beef main dish. Shared chocolate dessert miniscule and pretentious - decorated with marigold petals that have no taste. Breads good. Cappuccino good. Willing to try another time . . .

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Outstanding food preparation; Fabulous v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Outstanding food preparation; Fabulous view. Service was very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was aggravated by inconsistent seating ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I was aggravated by inconsistent seating policy. They wouldn't seat us at a table for 4 by the windows but we could sit at a table for 4 elsewhere.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

I always like to eat at the Restaurant w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I always like to eat at the Restaurant when I visit the Getty. The view is spectacular, the food delicious, the waitstaff friendly and knowledgeable. This restaurant never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lunch was delicious....a little pricey.. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

lunch was delicious....a little pricey...but you are getting a fabulous view,wonderful service.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The restaurant had many empty spots. I a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The restaurant had many empty spots. I asked to be seated next to the window area hillside. However the hostess said the area was not available. I had never the Getty and that was my first impression. Instead she sat me right next a couple on their first date. It was awkward i heard every part of their conversation!

The food was very mediocre and probably microwaved since it came out so fast. Next time Ill make sure to eat before at the Getty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Brunch reservations on 7/3/16- Such a di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Brunch reservations on 7/3/16-

Such a disappointment as I have been to the Getty restaurant multiple times. The staff and view continue to be exceptional; however, everything from the sparkling prosecco drink (which was flat, very syrupy) to the awful food which was cold, tasteless and definitely not up to previous standards made for an unbelievably disappointing trek up the hill. (Example: the signature bread basket was not offered. Instead we were given 3, dry, rock-hard round rolls. I ordered the scallops and received 3 small scallops on a bed of purplish "polenta" which tasted more like a cross between lumpy oatmeal and runny cream of wheat with absolutely no flavor. My friend ordered the eggs benedict –which she orders every time-and they came smothered in sauce a top a very tough muffin. ) After picking at our meals, we gave up and decided to get dessert. The granita was just weird and had a spice that did not compliment the fruit. (Tasted like Thyme or Oregano.) The fruit was marginally fresh. While waiting for our bill, we both noticed how terribly worn the sage colored upholstery had become. The seat, back rest AND back of back rest on all the chairs within our eyes view were noticeably shabby-such a shame for a restaurant that used to be so exceptional. Needless to say, I won’t be going back until I read that they’ve spiffed the place up.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Great restaurant. Excellent food, as al ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great restaurant. Excellent food, as always. Lovely view, especially at sunset. Host was rude and aloof until I ordered a $90 bottle of wine, but that clearly changed his approach. Server was very friendly, helpful and efficient. I've never had a bad meal or even a bad plate here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Set menu with wine pairing was great; no ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Set menu with wine pairing was great; not cheap but worth it for the quality of food, service and the view

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my friend for her birthday lunch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I took my friend for her birthday lunch after seeing a great photography exhibit on a Sunday. We split and appetizer and an entrée and were very happy with the delicious results. The food was beautifully presented, plentiful and excellent and the service was attentive. I would most certainly recommend the restaurant to everyone for a special occasion lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A view to kill for and--unbelievably--yo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A view to kill for and--unbelievably--you can actually talk to each other!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

A great stop and time out while visiting ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

A great stop and time out while visiting the Getty Museum. A plus to the

museum experience.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had lunch after visiting an exhibit. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We had lunch after visiting an exhibit. We shared dishes and they split the entry for us beautifully.

We started with the peach flatbread. OMG! It was fabulous. Fresh peaches, cheese wonderful crust and some arugula salad. Next we shared the short rib plate. This is the dish they split for us. The beef was served over mashed potatoes with the wonderful sauce and vegetables. And since we are little piglets, and we could not make up our minds, we shared two desserts. They both had berries in them. The first was a screen was fresh berries and the second was a berry pastry with ice cream.

The food could not have been better. The service was both professional and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

If you are at the museum...it is the way ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

If you are at the museum...it is the way to go! We had a relaxing lunch after a fun morning of seeing exhibits.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered a vegan plate that was not on ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I ordered a vegan plate that was not on the menu. It was excellent. Tried the cilantro hummus appetizer. Excellent too.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The waiters and waitresses don't seem ge ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The waiters and waitresses don't seem genuine in providing service and were not very friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Very scenic and a pleasant experience. W ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very scenic and a pleasant experience. Was hoping for more vegan options as this near LA area, but overall the food was wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I went there with my family. We love th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I went there with my family. We love the position of the restaurant. The food was plated like a piece of beautiful art work. The taste was alright. We all appreciate the servers. They are helpful, yet leave us pressure free. We have been to other places that the server asked us every 5-10 minutes how we are doing, the Getty Restaurant offers elegant services. It is definitely worth the trip.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

every time I go to the Getty...this is o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

every time I go to the Getty...this is one of my stops

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Good food though the risotto was too hea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Good food though the risotto was too heavily buttered. Service was excellent and the view was outstanding but tables were so close together that even soft conversations were easily overheard. Does not make for business friendly or date friendly dining

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

What a great way to start a day at the m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

What a great way to start a day at the museum. There isn't a bad seat in the restaurant thanks to the floor to ceiling windows surrounding the restaurant. The staff was very attentive and service was well paced. I got the flat iron steak. It was medallions arranged on my plate that equalled 6 ounces, all surrounding a large chunk of purple cabbage which was set on top of some mashed potatoes. The presentation was stunning with people from other tables ogling it and then ordering the same. It tasted just as delicious as it looked. My cousin, after stating that she "never takes pictures of her food", proceeded to take one of her risotto. She took a picture of it because it was truly art on a plate. She said she liked it. Wine list was impressive as well. Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a terrific restaurant. My teena ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

This is a terrific restaurant. My teenagers found something they liked on the menu. The dining area is bright and welcoming. It was a tad pricey but the food was outstanding and the service perfect! I will definitely eat there the next time I'm at the Getty.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Getty has a wonderful menu of fresh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Getty has a wonderful menu of fresh fare that is creatively executed and attentively served. The view from the 360 degree floor to ceiling windows never disappoints, no matter how many times you've seen it before. The cocktails are well executed and they will serve off-menu cocktail requests. This is a great venue for brunch/lunch while touring the Getty , a special occasion, or a family gathering. This is on my list of ten best restaurants.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.