Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.28mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Restaurant at the Getty Center

Featuring one of the best views in Los Angeles, The Restaurant at the Getty Center offers a fine dining menu in a simple and elegant setting. The Restaurant's Chef focuses on using the freshest local and regional ingredients and presenting them beautifully and tastefully. The Mediterranean-California inspired menu utilizes global influences to create an experience that is delicious, ambitious and creative. A distinctive wine list and full bar are also available.

The menu is market driven, using produce from local growers and the Santa Monica farmer's market. The Chefs have worked closely with local farmers to ensure the best possible product. Careful attention is given to sustainability with regards to seafood. The menu changes weekly to keep up with market changes as well as seasonal changes. Food service at the Getty Center is managed by the Bon Appétit Management Company.

1200 Getty Center Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Sepulveda Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 440-6810

Website:
http://www.getty.edu/visit/see_do/eat_shop.html

Parking Details:
There is a $15 parking charge per car in the Getty Center lot, $10.00 after 5:00pm. Guests must take a 5 minute tram ride from the lot to the Museum and the Restaurant. Please allow 30 minutes prior to your reservation to accommodate for parking and tram ride.

Public Transit:
Public Transit Stops - Getty Center Drive

Executive Chef:
Mayet Cristobal

Private Party Facilities:
As part of the regular extended Restaurant service, The Private Dining Room can be used by groups up to a maximum of 54 people. Extended Restaurant service is defined as taking place during the following Restaurant hours with choices made from the Restaurant pre-set menu.

LUNCH - Tuesday - Sunday - 11:00am - 3:00pm

BRUNCH – Sunday only - 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER – Friday (through 9/21/12) and Saturday - 5:00pm - 9:00pm


All requests must be approved prior to booking and are subject to room availability.


THE PRIVATE DINING ROOM CAN BE BOOKED UP TO A MAXIMUM OF 8 WEEKS IN ADVANCE OF YOUR DESIRED DATE.

Private Party Contact:
Ms. Erica Block Bon Appetit@getty.edu: (310) 440-6213

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant at the Getty Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (89)
Great for Lunch (62)
Worth the Drive (53)
See All
Special Occasion (51)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Sunday Lunch (40)
Good for a Date (38)
Modern Decor (37)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Great for Brunch (21)
Healthy (21)
Seasonal (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Casual (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Historic (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
People Watching (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Fun (8)
Organic (7)
Authentic (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Cozy (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vegan (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
3359 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great place to relax and enjoy the view. Had a great time with a friend. And was offered a blanket when the weather got cooler! I'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Awful service, slow and many mix ups and totally overpriced for the basic level of food they call "fine dining"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Hard to get better ambiance in LA. The food and service are consistently excellent. You get what you pay for so expect to pay more than other place to eat on the museum property. Excellent place to take gets from out of town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I loved this restaurant! The food, ambiance, and service were wonderful! Our server Cesar was attentive and they even brought us a complimentary dessert for my girlfriend's birthday, in spite of the fact that we are not regular customers nor were we spending a lot of money. A very classy restaurant with great food and a billion dollar view. Highly recommended!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We have been regular guests for 2 decades now. The place has never disappointed us, lunch or dinners for various events.
Question: is there a way to have a dinner for 30 guests? there is a place upstairs but we never went dined there

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was just average, went on Sunday, brunch menu offered. Service was slow and not attentive. Love the Getty, great views from the restaurant make it worth going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great service, excellent menu and nothing lacking in the views department. Complete class act for a Saturday night.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service was too uneven. By end we seemed forgotten.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The scallops were divine. The view and service were superb.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I dined at this restaurant the closing day of the Mapplethorpe exhibit. And my experience was gasoline: poor food badly presented, wretched service, noisy , not the quiet elegant good food I remember. I am happy - extremely happy to report that my guest and I had a fabulous experience and the restaurant has improved to it's wonderful self.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 6, 2017

My friend and I visited the Getty for the first time and your restaurant was highly recommended. We really enjoyed the Cobb salad, it was so good! Our cocktails were very good as well. We will definitely come back as soon as possible.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The view and the ambiance is first class. We missed having salmon or halibut as they went off season the week before. Nevertheless the black cod dish was excellent, the mashed green peas paste was a visual and culinary delight. Cobb salad was unusually tasty and drew good reviews!

Will definitely return soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Limited menu and overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

One of the best views in Los Angeles housed in a world class museum. Simply a must.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Skip brunch here. Terrible menu and worse food. Dinner is great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

more variety on the menu re-food,faster service,and more friendly ,pleasant maitre D .he was very busy.We did enjoy the food and the ambiance

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We were sitting near the corner of restaurant, next to us was an old lady in a wheelchair along with a younger lady, they left so that the old lady could use the restroom, when they returned, The staff had taken away their utensils and they waited a long time for staff's attention and finally decided to leave. Also the waiter took my credit card and instead of putting the bill, the pen and the credit card inside the envelope, he left the credit card inside and the bill and the pen outside on the top causing us to have to return to retrieve the credit card and wasted an hour of our time; to be fair, they called us immediately after we left the restaurant to inform us but we did not see the message until we were on our way back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Lovely place to meet old friends. Great views inside or on the terrance.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I'm on vacation. All meals should be that good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We went for my girlfriends birthday. The food was good? If somewhat pricey. They managed a sweet touch on our dessert, writing happy Birthday in Dark Chocolate and then freezing the plate. It's the Getty. Entry is free, everything inside is marked up.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Upscale dining at The Getter Center, relaxed atmosphere, limited menu. A fine alternative to the "snack bar", although, a picnic lunch is an appealing option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

EXCELLENT! GREAT FOR A MEETING PLACE WITH OR WITHOUT A VISIT TO THE GETTY CENTER MUSEUM AND GARDENS. IT IS A GREAT VENUE WITH GREAT VIEWS AND WONDERFUL SETTING BESIDES THE FOOD. IT IS DEFINITELY WORTH THE TRIP! ENJOY!

Tags: Organic, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Authentic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The restaurant was excellent due to having a excellent scenic view. Food(scallop, steak, and etc) and desert was more than satisfying. If I have opportunity again, I would come here again.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

If you are visiting the Getty Center art museum, don't miss the Restaurant. Full service, nice wines, great view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 24, 2017

In the past, the food has been outstanding. We went to the Getty specifically to have lunch at their lovely restaurant. This time I am sad to say was such a disappointment ... I ordered the Cioppino ... the broth was nothing more than tomato juice .. the fish a few clams tiny and tasteless, four cherry tomatoes that were supposedly grilled, a small piece of white fish, one scallop , and several microscopic calamari... my daughter ordered a Cobb Salad ... the salad bore no resemblance whatsoever to a Cobb Salad. Lunch was a gastronomic disaster. I don't mind paying $15 for the parking and $28 for the cioppino or even 20 plus dollars for a Cobb Salad ..if that was what you really were served. Had happy plans to go there for my birthday for their mussels but I won't be returning anytime soon. I was told they have a new chef.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Waiter was slow but server was very timely, I hope the tip was shared

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Organic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

A visit the the Getty Center is a special occasion, so my daughter and I decided to make an afternoon of it, and planned to dine there too. The view from Bel Air is beyond compare in Los Angeles, so we were very pleased with our seating right in front of the large plate glass windows.
We were ravenous after a morning without food, so we decided on the Burata starter recommended by our server and it was incredible. The blood orange syrup and slices were a great combination and the candied lavender elevated the little starter to a delightful and unforgettable dish.
For our meals, my daughter had he lemon risotto and I had the duck confit melt. Both choices were excellent and a bit different than the other items on the menu. I was unable to finish my sandwich, but I truly enjoyed it.
When I return to the Getty, I would definitely not hesitate to just plan on having lunch on the property. The food was great, the view was perfect and of course- the collections are grand. What a national treasure we have in this wonderful cultural center.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Don't come for a special occasion like a 75th birthday. Seated us behind the only pillar that blocks a view. Rushed us through lunch and were rude when I told them they could have at least said happy birthday. Total disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Beautiful view and wonderful service but the food has a lot to be desired. The cafe downstairs has better food than this restaurant and it's a lot less expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Overall excellent --- food, wine, ambiance, and accommodation. I AM DISABLED. Waiter could have been a bit more attentive, but it was very busy and understandable. The food was marvelous. The busboy was a bit sloppy refilling glasses.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

A perfect spot for Sunday brunch. Unhurried, calm room with lovely food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Just came here to grab dinner with a friend. It's a nice place with an interesting menu

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful experience overall.
Spectacular view
Excellent food
Nice balance of casual and special

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very disappointed. The Peruvian Steak dinner was ok, not spicy or flavored like described on the menu. Scallop dinner was boring. Sauce was supposed to be curry, think they forgot that part. Was just an orange sauce, carrot maybe. We did not have dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A wonderful dining experience to add to a great day of art and architecture above the L.A. Skyline!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It was a ladies lunch and we got a nice window seat. The views are great. We both had the chicken pot pie, which was good although quite expensive. My tea came in a proper teapot and was good, but I was unable to get a refill of hot water because our waitperson was nowhere to be seen, she never came to see if we needed refills until we were ready for the check. All in all, this is a nice place for a special lunch if you are ready to spend $70 for lunch for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 15, 2017

An incredible location and good food

But dreadfully slow service with the usual generic apology but little genuine interest

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Over priced and the food was pretty ordinary. Sorry, but we were expecting more from the food. The views were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

They sat us right before closing for lunch and were very accommodating to my family. A+!!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I wrote that it was a special birthday celebration 60! But it was never acknowledged

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.