About Restaurant at the Getty Center

1200 Getty Center Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Featuring one of the best views in Los Angeles, The Restaurant at the Getty Center offers a fine dining menu in a simple and elegant setting. The Restaurant's Chef focuses on using the freshest local and regional ingredients and presenting them beautifully and tastefully. The Mediterranean-California inspired menu utilizes global influences to create an experience that is delicious, ambitious and creative. A distinctive wine list and full bar are also available.

The menu is market driven, using produce from local growers and the Santa Monica farmer's market. The Chefs have worked closely with local farmers to ensure the best possible product. Careful attention is given to sustainability with regards to seafood. The menu changes weekly to keep up with market changes as well as seasonal changes. Food service at the Getty Center is managed by the Bon Appétit Management Company.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Sepulveda Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 440-6810

Website:
http://www.getty.edu/visit/see_do/eat_shop.html

Parking Details:
There is a $15 parking charge per car in the Getty Center lot, $10.00 after 5:00pm. Guests must take a 5 minute tram ride from the lot to the Museum and the Restaurant. Please allow 30 minutes prior to your reservation to accommodate for parking and tram ride.

Public Transit:
Public Transit Stops - Getty Center Drive

Executive Chef:
Mayet Cristobal

Private Party Facilities:
As part of the regular extended Restaurant service, The Private Dining Room can be used by groups up to a maximum of 54 people. Extended Restaurant service is defined as taking place during the following Restaurant hours with choices made from the Restaurant pre-set menu.

LUNCH - Tuesday - Sunday - 11:00am - 3:00pm

BRUNCH – Sunday only - 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER – Friday (through 9/21/12) and Saturday - 5:00pm - 9:00pm


All requests must be approved prior to booking and are subject to room availability.


THE PRIVATE DINING ROOM CAN BE BOOKED UP TO A MAXIMUM OF 8 WEEKS IN ADVANCE OF YOUR DESIRED DATE.

Private Party Contact:
Ms. Erica Block Bon Appetit@getty.edu: (310)440-6213

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

Restaurant at the Getty Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Los Angeles
Great for Brunch
Westside
Great for Lunch
Westside
2 More
Scenic View
Westside
Californian
Westside
Best Restaurants in West Los Angeles ›

scenic view (198)
great for lunch (166)
fit for foodies (130)
See All
special occasion (129)
great for brunch (79)
romantic (64)
great for outdoor dining (51)
good for groups (44)
neighborhood gem (31)
notable wine list (22)
hot spot (12)
kid-friendly (8)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2817 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Lovely food but poor service

Dined on May 18, 2016

We had a 12:30 lunch reservation. We were seated promptly but then had to wait 20 minutes before a waiter even asked if we wanted water. We ordered wine which the waiter completely forgot about. It took me another 10 minutes after we were served our soup (which we had to wait 15 minutes for) to flag the waiter down. It is such a shame as the food was very good and the setting very special.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were on vacation, spending the full d ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We were on vacation, spending the full day touring the Getty Museum in Los Angeles. We booked tours and made lunch reservations in advance. Food and service far surpassed our expectations! The presentation of the meal was a colorful and creative dining event we enjoyed and will fondly remember. We ordered and enjoyed the Sea Scallops and Short Ribs. The white plate for the delicious sea scallops entree was artistically transformed, like a colorful painting on canvas... only edible, one delicious bite after another. The tender tasty short ribs lived up to the waiters knowledgable recommendation. View from top of the hill was beautiful. We saved room for the chocolate cake dessert (we split) with a hidden scoop of ice cream that becomes visible after the thin dome above is magically melted away by the waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The service is beyond terrible. If you ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The service is beyond terrible. If you go to the Getty, you have to eat here. The views are spectacular and the food is very good, but they need to hire more and better staff. We showed up at 1:25 for a 1:30 reservation and were told we were the 4th 1:30 reservation to check in--the hostess said the exact same thing to the next 10 parties who showed up with 1:30 reservations. We were seated at 1:50. Our waitress showed up at 2:15--the food and drinks dribbled out. Happily we were in no hurry. No explanation or apologies were offered for the lack of service. Are they simply overwhelmed or do they simply not care? Hard to tell. So it is tradeoff: spectacular views, good food, but probably the worst service I have had in quite a while.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Left hungry after a $40 lunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

I had the curried seafood. They were very good, but even with a salad and glass of wine, I left very hungry. There were few vegetables, no rice. I have celiac, so I can't have bread, but even if I could, it would be disappointing to have to fill up on bread because a $40 meal came with such small portions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful birthday gathering. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a wonderful birthday gathering. We definitely will come back again. Highly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a treat

Dined on May 14, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. The biggest challenge is weighing and balancing time spent there with the wonderful offerings of the museum. We almost have to kick ourselves out to go back to the exhibits. This is an at-least annual pilgrimage with an out-of-town friend that we both look forward to with delight. The food is inventive, fresh and always beautifully presented. The menu is designed to accommodate a wide variety of eaters. Delicious, beautiful venue, thoughtful and non-intrusive service. A winner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Getty is a great place to take out o ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The Getty is a great place to take out of towner guests. The vista is stunning and the location on the west side is wonderful. See the shows at the Getty afterwards. Food is the best! Love the cioppino! Bread sticks too!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the food was great and I always ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

As usual the food was great and I always enjoy the presentation. The service was excellent and my company from the East Coast enjoyed the entire day as we started the "Getty Experience" with a special lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with the best view

Dined on May 8, 2016

I love to go for lunch in places with view. Getty Restaurant offers some of the most beautiful views we can dream of. They have the best clams and mussels, and are artist in pairing wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch at the Restaurant at the Getty

Dined on May 8, 2016

My sister, her husband and I enjoyed Mother's Day Brunch at the Restaurant at the Getty. It was wonderful! We are vegetarians and there were several options for us on the menu. Great ambiance, incredible views...I would recommend it highly. One hint, make your reservations early or you may not have a table! It makes me smile to think of the experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The service and food quality have fallen ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service and food quality have fallen. Had been a frequent patron of the restaurant at the getty for many years but the recent experince prompts me not to return. Service was way too slow and the food quality was mediocre. They are definitely under staffed, inside the kitchen as well as outside. Would not spend my money here if it weren't for the view.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is not top, but OK. Vibrant atmosphere.

Dined on May 8, 2016

On a cool May Saturday evening the dining room was full. The airco made us put our coats on. The baby slept well with the vibrant noise of guests chatting. The service was excellent. The quality of the ingredients was fine but not excellent; Overall I missed the hand of a real good chef suiting special environment.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! Server treated us like royalt ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful! Server treated us like royalty. We had our water glasses full at all times. (and we were thirsty...!) Great wine selection and menu variety. Plate presentation was wonderful and made our anniversary a very special one! Magnifique! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine Dining with a Fantastic View

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a very early reservation - 5:15 pm on a Saturday evening the day before Mother's Day. Since there were few reservations available left, we had thought the restaurant would be fully booked. It was actually fairly empty, except for the tables lining the perimeter which was fine because the restaurant was quiet. The food was very good. Our son gobbled up his tomato and burrata cheese appetizer and loved his lamb sirloin dinner. My husband and I shared the Caesar salad without the anchovies but it was tasty and enough for the two of us. The mussels and clams enjoyed by my husband was in a curry soup base and he loved his meal. I had the short ribs but while tender and savory, the corn polenta that accompanied it with was too thick for my taste rendering the short ribs drier than I like. The broccoli rabe was more decorative than edible as it had been quickly deep fried (stalk and leaves included) and thus too tough to easily chew. The service provided by Ben was excellent - attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch Completed the Day

Dined on May 7, 2016

As a birthday gift, I flew a friend and myself from Las Vegas just to see the Getty museum, we thought. I'd read some reviews about the restaurant and the menu looked great. Well, it could not have been better. From the service to the views and the presentation of the food. Just wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

The food and service here are amazing! We had brunch; you have a choice of prefix 3 course or a la carte. Fritto misto calamari/scallops were tender and delicious, the steak and eggs were done to perfection, and the dessert divine. I have not had a bad meal here in the 12 + years we have been going there, brunch, lunch or dinner. Our server was attentive, but not hovering, super friendly and accommodating, she even asked about how we preferred the timing of our meal. Always a steady A+.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Scenic view and awesome food

Dined on May 4, 2016

The Getty is fantastic. Enjoying the museum and the restaurant is a perfect program for a day in Los Angeles. The restaurant has a great menu, a good service and an awesome view to L.A.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

The Cobb salad was as satisfying as any ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

The Cobb salad was as satisfying as any I've had elsewhere. My wife ordered the shellfish "medley," which she enjoyed immensely. The ambiance was particularly peaceful and removed from the calm but more crowded areas found in the galleries and gardens. I would highly recommend as the value is very good as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Modern Hilltop Elegance

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Beautiful room with stunning views AND the food is delicious. Nice wine list and good selection by the glass. Service is excellent. They offer a pre fixe lunch that is interesting and good value. Everything was first rate.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food average at best

Dined on May 1, 2016

Had to wait 10 minutes, even though tables were open?

food4
ambience5
service5

It's a beautiful restaurant with spectac ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

It's a beautiful restaurant with spectacular views, great service and a nice, diversified menu. Something for everyone, all well-prepared.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect lunch

Dined on April 29, 2016

Stunning view + amazing food + great service + affordable prices = the perfect restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Lunch Experience

Dined on April 29, 2016

This is the 4th time we have eaten lunch at the Getty Center Restaurant. It is one of our favorite places for a visual and a foodie experience. The Caesar salad with delicate anchovies, the rhubarb dessert! Thank you for not ever disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a beautiful day at The Getty and ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

We had a beautiful day at The Getty and our lunch was very good with friendly, knowledgeable service and nicely presented plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A Good Experience

Dined on April 26, 2016

Spent a nice relaxing time here mid way through our exploration of the Getty Center. I especially liked where we were seated (not in the main dining room as you go in---but to the end and to the right) as I am very hard of hearing and have hearing aids that are very sensitive to background noise. This area had a really tolerable noise level, and I am always grateful when this happens. The food was tasty and nicely presented, and the waitstaff were attentive. All in all, a good experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Star Dining at a Museum

Dined on April 26, 2016

Not normally words I would have put together, though the restaurant at the Getty was a great fine dining find. We were having lunch for my husband’s birthday, and were both very impressed. The attention to detail on the food’s presentation didn’t go unnoticed by us, nor the tables around us. We started with the Kale Hummus and Chicken Liver mousse, which were light and packed full of flavor. It was a very generous portion of hummus (if not a little too much for the amount of bread). We both had the Scallops which were cooked to perfection and presented in a most delightful way. We rounded off with an interesting take on Key Lime Pie – this was deconstructed on a slate, and their show stopping chocolate ball that melted when the server poured over hot caramel sauce to reveal a flourless chocolate cake and ice cream inside. Reservations are a must and the view is wonderful – all round a delicious find.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great

Dined on April 20, 2016

Splendid restaurant with very friendly servet Who even spoke Dutch!So we wereld right a home! Good Food anywanyway and thereafter a wunderful museum with magnificant vue on los angeles

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on April 17, 2016

As usual, everything at the restaurant at the Getty Museum was perfect. We had a lovely time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for lunch with great day time city view

Dined on April 17, 2016

Came on a Sunday for lunch to celebrate my husband's birthday. The floor to ceiling windows that let in a lot of natural sunlight was the highlight of the location. We were promptly seated at our reservation time at a nice window seat. The ambiance of the restaurant is still very casual with many of the patrons visitors of the Getty Center it seems. The food was fresh, well presented, and good. I would recommend coming here for the food and the dining environment. Our server was attentive without being too intrusive. It was a good balance. Would recommend coming here for dinner to experience the night time city views.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special lunch

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The restaurant is a terrific reason to visit the Getty. We were a group of two large tables and were made to feel so welcome. The food looks beautiful and tastes even better. Cobb salad made a perfect lunch entree but don't miss the yellowtail crudo appetizer or the mussels, clams and spot prawn - spectacular. Service was attentive and professional. Nice selection of wines by the glass. We took our waiters advice and after lunch walked up to the upper level for views of the city. Lovely

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect!!!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Thank you so much for maintaining your wonderful restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely lunch with the ladies.

Dined on April 14, 2016

We had planned a trip to the Getty Center and chose the Restaurant for lunch before viewing the exhibits. The view was unparalleled, the staff attentive. Our food selections were beautifully presented and delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and will return in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service1

They brought the food before appetizers ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

They brought the food before appetizers and the kids food way after adult food they finished mushrooms for short rib didn't tell us and brought it with vegetable which I didn't want !!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience!

Dined on April 10, 2016

What a delightful adventure! After exploring the Getty Center itself (museum, incredible garden) and capturing the amazing views of Brentwood Hills, the whole West Side of LA, Pales Verdes, Catalina Island, Santa Monica, Malibu, and Pacific Ocean,,, have a wonderful dinner at Getty's delightful restaurant. The filet mignon and mixed vegetables was cooked to perfection and served with awesome whole wheat biscuits by an extremely pleasant and friendly young waiter named Ben. A great way to spend a Saturday afternoon and evening. Plus I understand there is free concerts every Saturday evening during Summer months on the plaza just outside the restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Even on a rare rainy Saturday in Los Ang ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Even on a rare rainy Saturday in Los Angeles, the views were magnificent and the food delicious. Always a great place to eat!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful, relaxing environment

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Delicious food, wonderful service and amazing ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Great food, but it took too long to come out.

Dined on April 1, 2016

The food was great, the service was great, but it took over 45 minutes for the entree to come out after we finished out appetizer

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent charcuterie board

Dined on March 31, 2016

Excellent charcuterie board. Best around! I will go back just for it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Getty Restaurant

Dined on March 31, 2016

Who would have known? A restaurant could be that nice - good, service, view and ambiance in the middle of a very busy museum. Look forward to a return visit. Excellent wine by the glass choices - tasty rose from Provence. Hostess and wait staff - compliments to you all. Excellent recommendations also.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful date

Dined on March 29, 2016

I surprised my husband with a day date. He completely enjoyed the experience, our waiter was practiced, the food wonderfully plated and served. The grand finally of the flourless chocolate cake was impressive and delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.