About Restaurant at the Getty Center

1200 Getty Center Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90049
View Larger Map

Featuring one of the best views in Los Angeles, The Restaurant at the Getty Center offers a fine dining menu in a simple and elegant setting. The Restaurant's Chef focuses on using the freshest local and regional ingredients and presenting them beautifully and tastefully. The Mediterranean-California inspired menu utilizes global influences to create an experience that is delicious, ambitious and creative. A distinctive wine list and full bar are also available.

The menu is market driven, using produce from local growers and the Santa Monica farmer's market. The Chefs have worked closely with local farmers to ensure the best possible product. Careful attention is given to sustainability with regards to seafood. The menu changes weekly to keep up with market changes as well as seasonal changes. Food service at the Getty Center is managed by the Bon Appétit Management Company.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30 - 2:30pm

Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Sepulveda Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 440-6810

Website:
http://www.getty.edu/visit/see_do/eat_shop.html

Parking Details:
There is a $15 parking charge per car in the Getty Center lot, $10.00 after 5:00pm. Guests must take a 5 minute tram ride from the lot to the Museum and the Restaurant. Please allow 30 minutes prior to your reservation to accommodate for parking and tram ride.

Public Transit:
Public Transit Stops - Getty Center Drive

Executive Chef:
Mayet Cristobal

Private Party Facilities:
As part of the regular extended Restaurant service, The Private Dining Room can be used by groups up to a maximum of 54 people. Extended Restaurant service is defined as taking place during the following Restaurant hours with choices made from the Restaurant pre-set menu.

LUNCH - Tuesday - Sunday - 11:00am - 3:00pm

BRUNCH – Sunday only - 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER – Friday (through 9/21/12) and Saturday - 5:00pm - 9:00pm


All requests must be approved prior to booking and are subject to room availability.


THE PRIVATE DINING ROOM CAN BE BOOKED UP TO A MAXIMUM OF 8 WEEKS IN ADVANCE OF YOUR DESIRED DATE.

Private Party Contact:
Ms. Erica Block Bon Appetit@getty.edu: (310)440-6213

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

Albacore Tataki - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Grilled Octopus - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
shrimp salad - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Dungeness Crab Cake - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
rabbit pate - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Leticia Chardonnay - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Pumpkin Pie - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Bread Sticks And Crispy Kale - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Miso Cod - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Duck Confit Salad - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Assorted Desserts - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Short Rib With Bone Marrow - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Cauliflower And Potato Soup - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Seafood Boullaibaise - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Mushroom Truffle Risotto - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Heirloom Tomato Salad - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Chicken With Mushrooms And Spinach - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Prosecco - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Meatloaf Sandwich - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Roederer Estate Brut Champagne - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Tuna - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Green pea risotto - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Tomato Soup - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Coconut Panna Cotta - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Burrata - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Cauliflower Risotto - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Boulliabaisse - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Spotted Dick - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Bread - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Shepherd's Pie - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Banana Cream Pie - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Grilled Squid Stuffed With Chorizo - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Roasted Chicken - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Onion Soup - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Apple Pie - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Spinach Risotto - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
White Heart Pinot Noir - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Chenin Blanc - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Cabernet - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Tea Sandwiches - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Ahi Tataki - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Kale Ceasar Salad - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Dungeness Crab Cak - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
beef short ribs - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Roast Chicken - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Chicken Pot Pie - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Beet Salad - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Scallops - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Cherry Pie - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Banana Muse And Peanut Butter Cake - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Muscles - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Mushroom and Pea Risotto - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Espresso - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Cauliflower Risotto With Melted Leeks - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Iced  Tea - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Cobb Salad Wirh Chicken And Bleu Cheese - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Wild Forest Mushroom Ragu with Asparagus And Pappardelle Pasta - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Cream Of Corn Soup - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Bread Pudding With Cinnamon Ice Cream & Caramel - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Pork Shnitzel  - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Heirloom Tomato Risotto - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Scones with Clotted Cream and Strawberry Jam - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Milk And Honey - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
S'more Creme Brulee - Restaurant at the Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA

Restaurant at the Getty Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Los Angeles
Scenic View
Westside
Best Restaurants in West Los Angeles ›

Scenic View (93)
Special Occasion (51)
Creative Cuisine (42)
See All
Great for Lunch (41)
Good for a Date (40)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Worth the Drive (36)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Modern Decor (34)
Romantic (26)
Healthy (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fun (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
People Watching (13)
Business Meals (12)
Historic (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Seasonal (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Casual (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Authentic (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Organic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Cozy (4)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
3076 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Go. (This has to be fifty characters, so ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

Go. (This has to be fifty characters, so.... Order whatever. Just go.)

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't one just relax and unwind at a res ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Can't one just relax and unwind at a restaurant anymore. The scenery and decor are so lovely here but it seems as if the server couldn't wait for us to get out of there.It was NOT crowded. Must one always put the bill on the table while one is still enjoying and relaxing and then check the folder to see if a credit card has been put into it. What's the rush. Can't they learn from the European waitstaff (professionals) that one doesn't present the bill until it is asked for? It ruins the ambience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

This used to be my FAVORITE restaurant i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 30, 2016

This used to be my FAVORITE restaurant in LA - which says a lot. We arrived there for a special birthday celebration to find a new chef and a new menu. The waitress was absolutely apologetic at the choices as we combed the menu and tried to get clarification of all the oddities. The menu was sparse yet items overlapped onto multiple dishes (an egg on top for example). Three of the four entrees we ordered came in small bowls with miniature servings. There wasn't one "go to" item on the menu to save the day. Not a soup, not a sandwich, not a salad. It was the most disappointing lunch I have ever looked forward to.

Even the drink menu changed. There used to be a signature "Getty Old Fashioned" which I deemed the best in LA. Nope, couldn't even keep that. The Old Fashioned they now serve is the same as any other restaurant around. We should have stayed in Pasadena. So sad. I have no plans to go to the Getty Restaurant again. It's just not worth the risk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Great venue. Interesting lunch menu not ...

 
 (Bath)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great venue. Interesting lunch menu not actually the same as shown on line but some items are included. Suckling Pig was delicious but my starter was a big disappointment as the artichoke was incorrectly trimmed and tough leaves were included. Surprised me but didn't seem to bother the waitress when I pointed this out.

Never mind venue wins out every time so we will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The menu was not the one on the webpage, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The menu was not the one on the webpage, there were no complete entrees, you choose either fish or meat and then add a side, which makes it just too expensive for lunch.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely spot for out of town visitors as ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Lovely spot for out of town visitors as well as locals. The food is very good but very expensive for the amount on your plate. OK for special occasions. The service is correct but could be better to match the prices

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Lunch at the Gettysburg has always been ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Lunch at the Gettysburg has always been a highlight of our trips to Los Angeles to visit our daughter's family. The meal, while pricey, was always worth it. We looked forward to the fixed price luncheon special based on one of the travelling exhibits. That has all changed. The lunch menu has radically changed. It is very limited, and very costly. The quality of the food and service was excellent, but we left hungry and a lot poorer! Note: Open Table does not show the correct menus on their website.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Everything we ordered cocktails to food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Everything we ordered cocktails to food was absolute perfection! Gazpacho delish. Crab and avocado amazing. Pork belly to die for and sea bass also delish. Oh and the onion a'grautin delish! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful lunch at the Restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch at the Restaurant. Although we thought the menu was hard to read or navigate through, we loved every item we chose. The food was outstanding and we hope to return soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We have often gone to the Getty Center f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have often gone to the Getty Center for special occasions, or something tied to the exhibitions at the Museum, and have rarely been disappointed. The views are fabulous and the location unique - the new chef is doing a splendid job of creating menus that are tasty, thoughtful and flat out fabulous. Bravo! Wait staff was helpful, encouraging and engaging - we would go back in a heartbeat and look forward to doing so again soon

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal, Organic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Reservation was accepted on Open Table, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Reservation was accepted on Open Table, but when we arrived at the Getty, the restaurant was closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was expensive for what you ordered. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food was expensive for what you ordered. Too artistic food....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Serene, delicious experience with very a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Serene, delicious experience with very attentive, but professional service from everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed our meal and the ambiance is ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We enjoyed our meal and the ambiance is lovely. My companion loved her omelet with caviar. It was her birthday, and she was pleased.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Did not care for new chef. Bring back ol ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Did not care for new chef. Bring back old menu and bread. Expensive entrees do not have sides.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Very disappointment in the direction the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very disappointment in the direction the new chef is taking it. The new menu is confusing, the waiter said they need to explain it to everyone. Food was minimal and lukewarm, service was indifferent. We had to take supplies from other tables. The manager did listen to us, and comped the meal, but we not be returning as long as the current chef is there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

This has always been a go-to restaurant ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This has always been a go-to restaurant while visiting the Getty Center Museum. After this meal we are changing our venues for lunch. There is a new chef who is creative and uses apparently quality ingredients and the prices reflect this. The standard Cobb salad that was very popular is no longer on the menu. The appetizers are very expensive. The entrees come with no accompaniments. We had fish that was tasty and pricey with nothing on the side but some sauce.

Of course, the view is great!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Food, service and setting very good. Ex ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Food, service and setting very good. Excellent break from perusing the museum exhibits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been up to the Getty many, many ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We have been up to the Getty many, many times and we were shocked to see the limited menu and limited food. In addition, the menu did not separate courses. There were very few choices and the choices offered had to be explained by the waiter. In the past, there was a variety of bread and entree choices. Now, not at all. We were very disappointed and don't plan to come back unless there is a change in the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

We were at The Restaurant for lunch, as ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We were at The Restaurant for lunch, as we wanted to see a couple of the new exhibits at The Getty. We had been to this restaurant a few times over the years for lunch or dinner. Our memories were of very good food with great views but very expensive. This time the food was not good and I would have sent it back and ordered something else, but we were with another couple and did not want to make a fuss. However, at that price I should have. My wife and I both ordered the lamb. The portion was not very large and about 1/3 of it was fat! Our knives would not cut through the meat and so we requested steak knives. Those knives were little better. In the future, we will eat at the Cafe or, even better, before we go to the museum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Tremendous views. Excellent service. Div ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Tremendous views. Excellent service. Diverse menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We left without eating. They had run ou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We left without eating. They had run our of seafood (the dinner menu is primarily seafood) and lamb by 7:00, just before we arrived. The only remaining choices were salads and roast suckling pig. They were apologetic, but offered no alternatives. We used the restrooms, which were clean. Won't go back. It not being possible to award "no star" on the Open Table rating system, I cannot give that as the appropriate "no stars" rating for our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

The service was great and the ambience w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The service was great and the ambience was very nice. The waiter told us all about the food options and there was even a prix fixe option with wine pairings. The scenery was amazing, the blinds were drawn up when the sun was just setting and you really had a beautiful view of the mountains. I think it's a great place for a special occasion or a nice date (or really any event). Nice place to stop after enjoying the museums and the garden. Will definitely be going again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant at the Getty Art Museum ( ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The restaurant at the Getty Art Museum (not the Getty Villa) has a wonderful view on three sides to the mountains and the ocean. The staff was very accommodating when my party was late for our reservation time. I appreciated that. I found the lunch menu to be very limited. I like vegetarian meals, but also eat fish. I don't eat dairy. There was only one dish on the menu that met my vegetarian needs, a melange of green vegetables and fruit ($16). It was very tasty. I also tried a bit of the fish that was on the menu. It was very good (over $20). One member of our party ordered the lamb dish and asked to have it cooked well done. The waiter said that wasn't possible, because the lamb would get tough if it was cooked well done. My friend should have ordered something else in that case, because the lamb came out bloody. I would have sent it back, but he went ahead and ate it. I'm not sure how much he enjoyed it.

This was a special occasion, getting together with friends on a visit to the Getty. Normally, when I go to the Getty, I eat in the cafeteria-style restaurant downstairs from the more formal dining room. However, that wouldn't have worked out with my friends -- one member of our party has limited mobility and wouldn't have been able to stand in line, waiting to order and for the food to be prepared, let alone trying to find a vacant table. So the formal dining room was the best choice in this case. And we did enjoy the setting, the scenery and the ambiance. As described above, the food was expensive and left something to be desired.

I would have given the service a higher rating than "good," except that I think the waiter should have been more accommodating when asked to have the lamb cooked well done. At least it should not have come out bloody. That was just rude or very careless.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Having read a number of reviewers' disap ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Having read a number of reviewers' disappointment with the cuisine since the change of chef, I was careful to inquire about the preparations and presentations of each of the dishes of our interest. Not only were none disappointing in the slightest; all were pleasing in the extreme.

Those critical reviews are unmerited.

This is a wonderful restaurant in a one-of-a-kind building on a one-of-a-kind setting with a one-of-a-kind view.

The food is excellent. Everything we ordered excelled in flavors and presentation. Each dish was a work of art.

The wines available by the glass married beautifully---including with what was perhaps the best cheese plate we've had anywhere in the world.

The service was good, very good, not excellent, but the suggested wine marriages proved excellent.

The Restaurant at The Getty succeeds, beautifully, as a special occasion restaurant in one of the premier art museums of the world.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This restaurant was a wonderful addition ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

This restaurant was a wonderful addition to our museum day! The food was creative, healthy and absolutely delicious. We would return again in a heartbeat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Selection and size a disappointment--wor ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Selection and size a disappointment--worse than several years ago. It was not pointed out that there were absolutely no side part of the main dishes. We would have ordered side(s) for the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was terrible, food was expensive ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Service was terrible, food was expensive and pretentious, one of our meals came cold so was returned and after 45 minutes still not served again. The Waiter ignored us completely, we had the bus person get the Manager, to hear that "well if you send something back it takes an hour"?

Seriously.... save a lot of money $$$, enjoy the art/ the gardens, and the snack bar/cafe!

We spent a week traveling that area and it was the only bad time we had.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was hideous. The lunch menu was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was hideous. The lunch menu was so limited. Nearly everything had egg in it, so you better like egg. My dish didn't even slightly resemble the waiter's description. It showed up with 2under cooked poached eggs sitting in what appeared to be a green goo. Once stirred together, it looked and tasted disgusting. They gave me a fork to eat this mush with, which didn't work at all. On top of that our waiter had no finesse or manners and kept rudely interrupting our conversation. My date's dish was basically a drop of scrambled eggs with some vegetables on top. Final bill was $60. I have been here a few times in the past and have always enjoyed it, but I don't think I will ever go back after today. Just far too broken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Hello! Everything was okay, just not as ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Hello! Everything was okay, just not as wonderful as I had expected for the price.

Everything was good, but there just didn't seem to be a lot of choice -- and some of what was served (the dessert comprised of 2 sherbet scoops and pieces of fruit) was just not particularly special.

I know there is a new chef -- but we also could not quite tell what exactly offerings on what the menu exactly entailed.

Anyway -- we were grateful to be at such a beautiful place, but I don't think in its current offerings/menu incarnation dining at the restaurant will be something for me.

I wish you the very best and I may have just hit an off day.

Thank you!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

My wife and I come here a few times a ye ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My wife and I come here a few times a year for the restaurant and to stroll the gardens. A great place to treat yourself to an afternoon of champagne, great food, wine and a beautiful room with views of the surrounding hills and canyons and ocean. Reserve a few days early and request a window seat. Weekdays are, obviously, the best way to avoid the crowds. Do yourself a favor and make a date of it!

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Please tell your wait staff to stop apol ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Please tell your wait staff to stop apologizing for small portions.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

What an adventurous menu! We had fun sel ...

vip
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 30, 2016

What an adventurous menu! We had fun selecting our brunch choices. Everyone was amazed at the presentation and deliciousness of their food. We shared desserts as well, and they were equally delectable. The menu is unique; never saw shrimp and grits created with mushrooms, but it was fantastic!! Thank you, Restaurant at the Getty, for a memorable and delicious meal!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and spectacular view. Qui ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Wonderful food and spectacular view. Quiet enough to actually have a conversation! Service a bit off but still a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent, fresh and thoughtful dishes, ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent, fresh and thoughtful dishes, with some inspired food combinations. Perfectly cooked fish, tasty vegetables, flavorful sauces. Meanwhile the space is beautiful with a priceless scenic view.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The avocado and crab dish I had was an i ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The avocado and crab dish I had was an interesting concept. But the concept sacrificed the taste. The avocado was not ripe enough and almost tasteless and kind of tough. The crabmeat was ok but it should be lump crabmeat (large lumps). The garnishes of the dish were good, and varied, which made me look forward to what was next in every bite.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Scenic View, People Watching, Quick Bite, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

New chef , new ownership, big disappoint ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 25, 2016

New chef , new ownership, big disappointment! Food was horrible. Previously excellent. I will go back when they do a overhaul of menu and chef. Please let me know when that happens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

The room at the Getty Center Restaurants ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The room at the Getty Center Restaurants is truly lovely. If only the food and service could match the splendid setting. A Sunday brunch with friends was a disaster. The only merit that can be given is to the delicious French toast. Service was abysmal with dirty main course dishes still in our table our dessert coffe arrived as if that was business as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

It is a great restaurant located on a pr ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It is a great restaurant located on a prime place, everything is fine but they have change the menu, it is not set for the California market, I have been going there for years, and you can not have a menu so drastically different, for me it was terrible, the menu describe some ingredients and at time of service they were replaced for others because they run out of them without consulting the client, I love good dining and this time it was below my standards, change the cook or change the menu again

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Food is very expensive doe to the qualit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food is very expensive doe to the quality. They do not offer good vegan options. The Shakshuka was $18 with 1 one undercooked egg. The Getty restaurant is a profit center unconcerned about a culinary experience. It's a pity.

They should take lessons from MOMA, SFMOMA or the MET.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.