Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Cafe MiroCafe Miro
(447)
$$$$
French | Honolulu, Oahu
Booked 6 times today
TownTown
(1685)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Honolulu, Oahu
Booked 19 times today
12th Ave. Grill12th Ave. Grill
(1030)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Honolulu, Oahu
Booked 22 times today
Side Street Inn KapahuluSide Street Inn Kapahulu
(586)
$$$$
Comfort Food | Honolulu, Oahu
Booked 26 times today
Kona Kai SushiKona Kai Sushi
(146)
$$$$
Sushi | Honolulu, Oahu
Booked 4 times today
Angelo Pietro HonoluluAngelo Pietro Honolulu
(40)
$$$$
Italian | Honolulu, Oahu
Booked 5 times today
Hy's Steak House - WaikikiHy's Steak House - Waikiki
(2361)
$$$$
Steak | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 63 times today
DK Steak HouseDK Steak House
(684)
$$$$
American | Honolulu, Oahu
Booked 14 times today
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - WAIKIKI, OahuSansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - WAIKIKI, Oahu
(497)
$$$$
Contemporary Asian | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 23 times today
Wolfgang's Steak House - Waikiki BeachWolfgang's Steak House - Waikiki Beach
(1371)
$$$$
American | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 85 times today
Hula Grill - WaikikiHula Grill - Waikiki
(1190)
$$$$
Hawaiian | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 47 times today
Roy's WaikikiRoy's Waikiki
(1433)
$$$$
Hawaii Regional Cuisine | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 57 times today
Alan Wong's RestaurantAlan Wong's Restaurant
(1604)
$$$$
Hawaii Regional Cuisine | Honolulu, Oahu
Booked 32 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Waikiki Beach WalkRuth's Chris Steak House - Waikiki Beach Walk
(1039)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 63 times today
BLT Steak - WaikikiBLT Steak - Waikiki
(1253)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 25 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Restaurant & Bar KO

Izakaya Restaurant & Bar Ko is a modern Japanese Kaiseki restaurant that has been serving the area since 2013. Chef Noriaki from Osaka, Japan is the owner and manager of Izakaya Restaurant & Bar Ko. The restaurant's interior is homey and casual with white décor and accents. It features a large tree growing up through the center of the dining area and an upstairs bar where guests can enjoy drinks.

The menu at Izakaya Restaurant & Bar Ko offers a six-course menu, set menus for dinner or a la carte options. Begin the meal with a sashimi or salad, lotus root Manju or sushi. Main dish options include beef tenderloin steak with wasabi sauce, grilled Kona abalone, grilled butterfish with Saikyo miso and foie gras sautee with simmered daikon. End the meal on a sweet note with the restaurant's monthly special ice cream.

3196 Waialae Ave
Honolulu, Hawaii 96816
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am; Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
4th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 888-5975

Executive Chef:
Noriaki Nakano

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Sort By:
S
51 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Restaurant offers great value. Too bad they will be closing four nights a week.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Very good value and excellent neighbor hood izakaya. Great taste and service.

Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Restaurant and Bar Ko provides a nice atmosphere for good food and conversation.
The service is excellent . Not only is the food presentation beautiful..it is delicious too.
This is my second visit with new sets of friends and both groups had a nice evening and enjoyed the food. Drinks were also very good!
Thank you for providing a restaurant we want to keep returning to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 25, 2016

We came on one of the hottest (humid) days and the open atmosphere made it quite uncomfortable at the inside table we sat at. Otherwise, it has been consistently delicious! My favorite is the snow crab kamameshi and the Foie gras risotto. Go on a Thursday night- 25% everything all night!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 22, 2016

お店の雰囲気もよく、対応も良かったです。ガイドブックでクチコチも良かったのですが、個人的にはメニューは豊富なのだか、これと言ったものがなく、期待していただけに残念。
釜飯が人気のようだが、食事がメインでビールや焼酎に合わせたおつまみ系の注文するものが少なかった。

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The restaurant was very warm and uncomfortable. The air conditioner may not have been working. Our waiter was very friendly, however just like the last time several dishes were VERY slow to arrive to the table. Ordered Teishoku, tempura arrived 15 minutes after the rest of the Teishoku. Another dish ordered as an appetizer was brought out after everyone had finished their meal. We had thought they forgot about our order. When we questioned the order and told them to cancel it since everyone was done with their meal. We were told it's already being made and should be out shortly. They did not cancel the order we had it wrapped to go. In this instance I feel the restaurant should have cancelled the order. This is not the first time this has happen.
On a positive note, their food is really good,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 29, 2016

All 5 Stars as usual. Great Service, too. Thanks for Sayuri-san, Ian and Niana.
See you soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Outside area was way too hot. Was dripping sweat 10 minutes into the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 3, 2016

The restaurant changed their menu again which was very good. They can cater to both Izakaya as well as family dining restaurant. Good value for the quality of food. They could do better on their wine selections as well as carry on stock what they print in their menu and not run out so often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent! Team KO, They are Professional. Can't wait for next reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was a little slow coming out, but it was fine since we were chatting. Great place to drink and sample all the delicious dishes. Quality of food is great- fresh and flavorful! Will definitely come back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Made a reservation through Open Table but Restaurant did not have it even though they confirmed the day before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2016

KO more than OK. Thursdays with discounted dinners is a find. Early bird, 5 to 6, also good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was delicious & fresh been there a few times...I always leave happy & looking forward to my next dinner at Ko!😊😊😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful neo Japanese Izakaya experience

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 22, 2016

Foods were good.
Staff were not attentive and difficult to communicate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 17, 2016

Fish is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 6, 2016

They have some new dishes, we ordered Tenshinhan(our kids' favorite), Furofuki Daikon(THE BEST) etc. We still need regular izakaya menu like yakitori, sashimi, tofu and Healthy dishes.
But They're doing good. Thanks KO!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Special sashimi dishes, Hamachi and abalone were great. All dishes were tasty, timely and valued pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Ko offers great Early Bird specials at a great price. Our waiter Ian gave us outstanding service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 4, 2016

Arriving at this restaurant it was very modern and open, we sat in a private booth inside. Their was no sashimi on the menu but when we asked the accommodated and the chef made a amazing sashimi tray of toro and salmon the fish was fresh and so Ono. The mochi agadashi was great but I wish they cut the mochi into smaller pieces. The butter fish was nothing but perfection the flavors danced with array of citrus, ginger and a savory on my tongue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2015

Best kept secret in Honolulu. One of the finest authentic Japanese cuisines at very reasonable prices. The Manager, Saori Ohki, is excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2015

This is a great find in Kaimuki/Palolo area. It was totally unexpected. The quality of food is top class and the price is very reasonable. Recommend this place highly . Parking is a challenge but you can always park at Times Supermarket which is across the street. Just buy something at Times and you'll be OK.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 24, 2015

I really love this spot. It's been two months since my visit here and my family and I still talk about it. The server was extremely Great . Kume san ! What a manager ! (I'm guessing..) & and other staff. A warm place We have find finally. The cheese Tofu and a Maguro Fish (Tuna) Carpaccio. was the Five star dishes, but so many dishes You should try... The prices are affordable( accutually They should make it higher....don't do it..).
Hopefully, we could make this fine restaurant secret.
ONE OF THE BEST IN Paradise ! At least much better than famous restaurants in Waikiki & Ala Moana. Don't try this restaurant! It's mine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2015

Good neighborhood restaurant. Great, quick service and really nice decor inside the restaurant. Food is just average. A lot of the appetizers lacked great flavor but a couple of the rice and noodle dishes were good. They discontinued their kaiseki menu last month. Great casual night out but not a special occasion place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 25, 2015

Sho is the manager. Very good and friendly. Makes you want ton return. Ko has right ambience for Kaimuki. Good service makes it more enjoyable. I miss their set menu which was very good and great value. Hope they bring it back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 6, 2015

The dishes that we ordered were all very good, but I do miss some of the items from the previous menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 3, 2015

New menu!! I expected to enjoy their Kaiseki but it was out from menu. But they accommodated our wish,made it happened. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 14, 2015

Love coming here with my adult kids! It presents with some nice Japanese flavors made in trendy presentation. Keeps everyone happy. Pretty wide menu to choose from! Delicious sushi!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 30, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed our second time at Ko and enjoyed the special set Ko menu. Best deal in town. The service is excellent, and the food was perfect. The Ko set menu doesn't appear to be enough but it is after dessert. You have a good sense of the commitment and quality of what chef prepares. Everything is prepared to perfection. Seafood, meats, sashimi, sushi, prepared dishes are all of high quality You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 23, 2015

The food was good for the most part, but the sushi rice was too wet and soft. It was also too hot inside because the AC wasn't working, which made the dining experience unpleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 18, 2015

Pros.
Food was much improved than last time.
Oyster kamameshi, Chicken was above average.

Cons.
There's a difference between Good foods and not ...
We had to wait longer than before.


We'll go there more .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 11, 2015

On our last evening of a 10-day wedding and honeymoon trip to Maui, we went to KO in the Fairmont.
Had a wonderful table looking at the pool...our waiter was perfect...and the food was superb..really delicious. I can't say enough about KO, it is worth the trip and worthy of all its praise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 11, 2015

Our favorite restaurant has gone...
That's not KO anymore.. new operation ..
It's just OSAKA....
Taste was below average Japanese cuisine.
New Ko is like a Greasy spoon in OSAKA, JAPAN.
dissapointed..
But service was good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 1, 2015

Great food with great price..... but this place needs to hire more people. the restaurant/bar was FULL and 2 waiters were sooooooo busy taking care of everyone, getting reservation and doing the bills. It was almost impossible to get their attention.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 20, 2015

We had a very good family dinner.
Every plates were enjoyable as usual.
Much more reasonable price.
Thanks new KO Team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 18, 2015

The service was excellent, food was okay, nothing to rave about. Parking is tight and limited.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 10, 2015

Always a enjoyable !!
I think more reasonable than before by new operation?..
Price authentic Japanese dishes with a flair, Ko is a must! They have great hours and a really comfortable ambience! Highly recommend, when they have it, the Wagyu special menu section is amamzing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 4, 2015

The kids meals: came out on a steaming hot skillet! My 6 year old would have loved to burn himself on it! I asked for a plate. It eventually came. Cute but not for a kids meal.

My wife's butterfish: Pungent and gross. Over flavored to say the least. She did enjoy her Japanese egg omelette.

My meal: Never came. It was a meal that was to take a longer time but never? We did ask for it and I was offered rice while I waited. We left without the rice and my meal. Compliments of the chef! Um ummmmm um delicious .

The wait staff: Looked and acted like a bunch of clowns.

Overall: Not worth the effort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 16, 2015

Everything is inexpensive and good. I especially like Kamameshi.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.