About Restaurant & Bar KO

3196 Waialae Ave
Honolulu, HI 96816
View Larger Map

Restaurant and Bar KO is a new restaurant that opened in February, 2013. Our speciality is modern Japanese food which you can feel Japanese season by tasting in the Chef's dishes. Please enjoy our Kaiseki and a la carte menu in our bright and comfortable atmosphere restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday, Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am; Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
4th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 888-5975

Executive Chef:
Noriaki Nakano

Additional:
Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant & Bar KO Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (5)
fit for foodies (3)
special occasion (3)
See All
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
good for groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
42 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! Team KO, They are Professiona ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Excellent! Team KO, They are Professional. Can't wait for next reservations.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Little slow coming out

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was a little slow coming out, but it was fine since we were chatting. Great place to drink and sample all the delicious dishes. Quality of food is great- fresh and flavorful! Will definitely come back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Made a reservation through Open Table bu ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Made a reservation through Open Table but Restaurant did not have it even though they confirmed the day before.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

KO more than OK. Thursdays with discount ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

KO more than OK. Thursdays with discounted dinners is a find. Early bird, 5 to 6, also good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious & fresh been there a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was delicious & fresh been there a few times...I always leave happy & looking forward to my next dinner at Ko!😊😊😊

food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful neo Japanese Izakaya experienc ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful neo Japanese Izakaya experience

food3
ambience3
service1

Foods were good. Staff were not attentiv ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

Foods were good. Staff were not attentive and difficult to communicate.

food5
ambience4
service3

Fish is delicious!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Fish is delicious!

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I like the Tree.

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

They have some new dishes, we ordered Tenshinhan(our kids' favorite), Furofuki Daikon(THE BEST) etc. We still need regular izakaya menu like yakitori, sashimi, tofu and Healthy dishes. But They're doing good. Thanks KO!

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Special sashimi dishes, Hamachi and abal ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Special sashimi dishes, Hamachi and abalone were great. All dishes were tasty, timely and valued pricing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Early Bird specials

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Ko offers great Early Bird specials at a great price. Our waiter Ian gave us outstanding service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Arriving at this restaurant it was very ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

Arriving at this restaurant it was very modern and open, we sat in a private booth inside. Their was no sashimi on the menu but when we asked the accommodated and the chef made a amazing sashimi tray of toro and salmon the fish was fresh and so Ono. The mochi agadashi was great but I wish they cut the mochi into smaller pieces. The butter fish was nothing but perfection the flavors danced with array of citrus, ginger and a savory on my tongue.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best kept Secret

Dined on December 26, 2015

Best kept secret in Honolulu. One of the finest authentic Japanese cuisines at very reasonable prices. The Manager, Saori Ohki, is excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant Ko

Dined on November 26, 2015

This is a great find in Kaimuki/Palolo area. It was totally unexpected. The quality of food is top class and the price is very reasonable. Recommend this place highly . Parking is a challenge but you can always park at Times Supermarket which is across the street. Just buy something at Times and you'll be OK.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

I really love this spot. It's been two ...

vip
Dined on November 24, 2015

I really love this spot. It's been two months since my visit here and my family and I still talk about it. The server was extremely Great . Kume san ! What a manager ! (I'm guessing..) & and other staff. A warm place We have find finally. The cheese Tofu and a Maguro Fish (Tuna) Carpaccio. was the Five star dishes, but so many dishes You should try... The prices are affordable( accutually They should make it higher....don't do it..). Hopefully, we could make this fine restaurant secret. ONE OF THE BEST IN Paradise ! At least much better than famous restaurants in Waikiki & Ala Moana. Don't try this restaurant! It's mine.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Good, not great

vip
Dined on November 8, 2015

Good neighborhood restaurant. Great, quick service and really nice decor inside the restaurant. Food is just average. A lot of the appetizers lacked great flavor but a couple of the rice and noodle dishes were good. They discontinued their kaiseki menu last month. Great casual night out but not a special occasion place.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is excellent and good value for quality.

Dined on October 25, 2015

Sho is the manager. Very good and friendly. Makes you want ton return. Ko has right ambience for Kaimuki. Good service makes it more enjoyable. I miss their set menu which was very good and great value. Hope they bring it back.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The dishes that we ordered were all very ...

Dined on October 6, 2015

The dishes that we ordered were all very good, but I do miss some of the items from the previous menu.

food4
ambience4
service4

New menu!! I expected to enjoy their Kai ...

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

New menu!! I expected to enjoy their Kaiseki but it was out from menu. But they accommodated our wish,made it happened. Thank you!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice modern Japanese fair

Dined on September 14, 2015

Love coming here with my adult kids! It presents with some nice Japanese flavors made in trendy presentation. Keeps everyone happy. Pretty wide menu to choose from! Delicious sushi!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Ko Experience

Dined on August 30, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed our second time at Ko and enjoyed the special set Ko menu. Best deal in town. The service is excellent, and the food was perfect. The Ko set menu doesn't appear to be enough but it is after dessert. You have a good sense of the commitment and quality of what chef prepares. Everything is prepared to perfection. Seafood, meats, sashimi, sushi, prepared dishes are all of high quality You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service4

Food was delicious ♪

Dined on August 23, 2015

The food was good for the most part, but the sushi rice was too wet and soft. It was also too hot inside because the AC wasn't working, which made the dining experience unpleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4

Much Improved

vip
Dined on August 18, 2015

Pros. Food was much improved than last time. Oyster kamameshi, Chicken was above average. Cons. There's a difference between Good foods and not ... We had to wait longer than before. We'll go there more .

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal on Maui!

Dined on July 11, 2015

On our last evening of a 10-day wedding and honeymoon trip to Maui, we went to KO in the Fairmont. Had a wonderful table looking at the pool...our waiter was perfect...and the food was superb..really delicious. I can't say enough about KO, it is worth the trip and worthy of all its praise.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service4

dissapointed..

vip
Dined on May 11, 2015

Our favorite restaurant has gone... That's not KO anymore.. new operation .. It's just OSAKA.... Taste was below average Japanese cuisine. New Ko is like a Greasy spoon in OSAKA, JAPAN. dissapointed.. But service was good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

good food

Dined on May 1, 2015

Great food with great price..... but this place needs to hire more people. the restaurant/bar was FULL and 2 waiters were sooooooo busy taking care of everyone, getting reservation and doing the bills. It was almost impossible to get their attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a very good family dinner. Every ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2015

We had a very good family dinner. Every plates were enjoyable as usual. Much more reasonable price. Thanks new KO Team!

food3
ambience3
service4

The service was excellent, food was okay ...

Dined on April 18, 2015

The service was excellent, food was okay, nothing to rave about. Parking is tight and limited.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Much more enjoyable.

vip
Dined on April 10, 2015

Always a enjoyable !! I think more reasonable than before by new operation?.. Price authentic Japanese dishes with a flair, Ko is a must! They have great hours and a really comfortable ambience! Highly recommend, when they have it, the Wagyu special menu section is amamzing!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1

Left hungry and needing a washer

vip
Dined on April 4, 2015

The kids meals: came out on a steaming hot skillet! My 6 year old would have loved to burn himself on it! I asked for a plate. It eventually came. Cute but not for a kids meal. My wife's butterfish: Pungent and gross. Over flavored to say the least. She did enjoy her Japanese egg omelette. My meal: Never came. It was a meal that was to take a longer time but never? We did ask for it and I was offered rice while I waited. We left without the rice and my meal. Compliments of the chef! Um ummmmm um delicious . The wait staff: Looked and acted like a bunch of clowns. Overall: Not worth the effort.

food5
ambience4
service5

More than expected

Dined on March 16, 2015

Everything is inexpensive and good. I especially like Kamameshi.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

A nice first visit!

vip
Dined on January 16, 2015

Party of 2 for an early dinner, seated in a booth - very comfortable! We both ordered the $35 bento, taking different options so we could try various dishes. Plenty of food, everything beautifully presented. The dishes were nicely flavored - not too strong, not too mild. The seafood dishes were especially delicious! Reasonably priced for the quality and quantity of food. Service was attentive and not intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Need better services

Dined on December 27, 2014

We went to eat Early Bird Dinner which is 3 course meals. But appetiezer and sashimi dish came almost same time. Within 3 min, the main meal were brought. Of course we do not want to hot meal cold. Then we did not finish the dishes like some of the vegetable were still there and the server asked we finished. Not even one time. A couple times. So of course I said no to them not to take away my dish. Food were more than my expectation for the price and I enjoyed but we came here to enjoy sit down meal not like fast food. They should have learn better service for customer.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service3

good food,sloooow service.

vip
Dined on October 11, 2014

the food is very good. the tastes are such that you want to go back again. the price isn't bad. the waiters and waitresses are pleasant helpful and friendly but the kitchen is slow. it took over an hour for us to get our total order. six dishes came out one by one. when we asked the waiter if there was shirt staff tonight she said no, one cook and two helpers but the kitchen is small. that means that it may always be that way. in all fairness there were eight tables to service but the service just needs to be faster.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Happy !

vip
Dined on September 22, 2014

After 8:00 PM. It was Happy Hour ! We had a very nice dinner. Waitress treated us nice, Food was nice & fresh. Thanks. KO Team!

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service3

Noisey, Hot and screaming

vip
Dined on August 12, 2014

First time, we took seats at a outside table. and then It's very hot, much traffic in front of us, tourists with a screaming baby by our side.. What an entourage! Foods is not much but it's OK level. Service is the only hope at that night. The waiter was under 20, then He cannot give us the suggestion about drinks but He was great and treat us nice.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Japanese Next Door

vip
Dined on July 6, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by KO. Just based on the reviews here, we decided to venture outside our comfort zone and try something new. The restaurant is nondescript from the outside, looks like a house really. The parking is in the back, not many stalls but maybe just enough. The interior feels clean, fresh, minimal and modern. We had the $28 set meals which comes with six choices. They have a $55 set with a lot more food and also serve ala cart. Many good choices here. Of course we had to have some Japanese beer and sake with our meals. Overall, very nice meal, not crowded so we felt like the staff were attentive. We'll be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on April 13, 2014

Now they serve a lacarte menu. I love their seasonal fish. Price is reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2

The food was very excellent

Dined on March 27, 2014

The food was very excellent and the staff were friendly but the pace of the servings were way off. Everybody's food was brought out at different times, throughout the meal someone ended up watching the others eating.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service4

Great Japanese in Kaimuki

Dined on March 23, 2014

Food was great--the foie gras was awesome. Loved it! The pepper pork was a bit salty and overcooked. The spinach with egg was great. The chicken salad was good too--nice portion as well. Service was good, but a bit slow. Took a bit to refill tea and water. Would definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.