Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.67mi
  2. Distance: 7.81mi
  3. Distance: 11.27mi
  4. Distance: 11.27mi
  1. Distance: 3.67mi
  2. Distance: 7.81mi
  3. Distance: 11.27mi
  4. Distance: 11.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.67mi
  2. Distance: 7.81mi
  3. Distance: 11.27mi
  4. Distance: 11.27mi
  1. Distance: 3.67mi
  2. Distance: 7.81mi
  3. Distance: 11.27mi
  4. Distance: 11.27mi

About Restaurant 17

Hotel Domestique's Restaurant 17 serves innovative cuisine sourced from local and regional producers. Executive Chef Nick Graves' overall style focuses on heirloom ingredients and classic preservation techniques in a comfortable setting.

10 Road of the Vines
Travelers Rest, SC 29690
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Cafe Hours Saturday & Sunday 7:30am-3pm
Dinner Tuesday-Thursday 5-9pm
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5-9:30pm
Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
Chinquapin Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(864) 516-1254

Website:
http://www.hoteldomestique.com/restaurant-17/

Executive Chef:
Nick Graves

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant 17 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Local Ingredients (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Scenic View (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Cozy (6)
Organic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Private Room (4)
Fireplace (4)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
370 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent! Receptionist was very outgoing and attended me when the bar and restaurant where busy at the beginning of my visit.
I sat in the bar area with a incredible view of the blue ridge mountains.
My bartender was also very attentive and service was great!

The food at restaurant 17, captures innovative, from
The chef and his staff, there cooking comes from the heart enhancing the use of buying local!

Small plate offerings are awesome for those looking
For more of a culinary vibe and capturing a symphony of
Flavors from local and seasonal flavors, well done, the chefs sand box, it show cased the creativity ,of the day!

Dinner also was local dry aged rib eye, complimented with smoked baby potatoes and herbed cheese, and
A cool sauce reduction to finish.
Plating is genius!

Thank you all ...of restaurant 17, can't wait to return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great craft cocktails, fresh food, attentive staff and responsive kitchen - recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very good food, changing menu, good choices for cocktail and wine. Six of us went, we shared the cheese plate, then two had scallops for appetizers, all of which was enjoyable. For entrees, one had catfish, three had prawns, very tasty and enjoyed by all. Two had had beef short ribs and faro, a small plate/appetizer option, but the dishes were enough for them. All really enjoyed the food, the service and the setting and would easily go back again. A little pricier than some other restaurants nearby, but very good food and a nice change of pace.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Amazing dishes, presented beautifully. Very clean, great atmosphere. Unforgettable flavors. The strawberry spring salad was fantastic and the duck was prepared perfectly.

Tags: Waterfront, Healthy, Romantic, Scenic View, Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent. Chef talked with us and answered questions about food and prep. Enjoyed the experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The location is beautiful albeit very remote, and the food was truly delicious. Unfortunately, our experience was marred by our server, "Haley" (as in the comet). Rarely to be seen, never to refill a wine glass, bread that shows up with the main course instead of the salad course, and completely unfamiliar with the menu (which resulted in a vegetarian getting pasta with sausage...also never noticed by Haley even though there was an obvious pile of it off to the side). Such a shame that we left with a bad taste...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our second visit to R17 didn't live up to our first. The cuisine, and staff (attention/attitude) seemed a level below our previous visit.

We ordered "fresh" decaf coffee for after dinner and were served coffee that was tepid and week.

Not a "bad" experience, by any means, and we will return. Just wish there was more consistency here at R17

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wow, our server Jason, nailed all his recommendations. From drinks, to appetizers and main courses. He knew the menu by heart and took the time to explain each dish. I really hope we get him for all our future reservations.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Restaurant was completely packed, so it was louder than usual. Food and service were exceptional as always. First time I have seen sheepshead from Florida on a seafood menu anywhere in our area, it was a nice surprise. Also had mussels, both selections were prepared well.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Truly exceptional, creative, craft food. Warm, personable and excellent service. Unique in every good way

Tags: Notable Wine List, Organic, Modern Decor, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

GREAT RESTAURANT! The view was amazing and the staff was awesome. The people around us were very, let's just say complicated and they still handled situations very well! 10/10 would eat there again! The food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fabulous Valentines menu made for a special evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was awesome. Price was a little high but you get what you pay for. Would definitely reccomend this dining experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We have eaten at Restaurant 17 several times with several different Chefs heading the kitchen and we've enjoyed it each time. Prices are reasonable for the quality of meal and the location is just beautiful. Reservations are easy on the week days but not so much on the weekends. Menu changes often but we've never been disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Absolutely great creative food at a very attractive location

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Staff was the best part besides the food. Very friendly and helpful with recommendations. Food was incredible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The lettuce wraps were good. The Cheese board was good. The steak was very tough. The lamb ribs were very fatty & the flavor not really good.
The wine was good but pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Best food in a 25 mile radius! Finally a restaurant which emphasizes quality over quantity (small portions - great fancy gourmet food)!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We love Restaurant 17. It's not only the closest restaurant to my house, it is one of the best fine dining restaurants in #yeahTHATgreenville. Chef Nick Graves has transformed the menu into a wonderfully accessible, farm to table experience. You are not only dazzled by the food, you leave full. Great for special occasions, but also reasonable enough for everyday dining.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

They were part of restaurant week in Greenville. The menu was very unique. Always a treat.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had a great overall experience for our anniversary dinner. Attentive service, creative menu and presentation, excellent salads and entrees, generous portions. The new chef has made a big difference.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our New Year's Celebration at R17 was very memorable with a Southern Savory Styled 4 course meal with flair . Our dessert included white chocolate "caviar" bubbles which were sweet with edible wild flowers. We loved it and done at R17 each visit in Greenville/Travelers Rest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was excellent, the service perfect, and the servings were plentiful! The restaurant is beautiful! The only negative is that they need to fix their chandelier so it changes color light it used to!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great place to celebrate my husbands birthday! Would recommend to anyone wanting a special date night! It was on a short distance from Greenville and made us want to go back and stay a night in the hotel!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Well worth the drive up to Traveler's Rest.
Servings are abundant, especially the salad.
Smoked salmon plate was excellent.
Lamb pappardelle was quite fine even though the lamb was meatballed.
Intriguing wine list, stellar left overs from the previous Somm.
In all, a splendid meal. As good as any upscale restaurant on Main Street Greenville.
I will definitely return. Menu is seasonal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

As usual Restaurant 17 was another great and enjoyable experience both for the ambiance of what 17 has to offer and especially for the food that ended up in my belly! The wife and I usually go there once a season as they are always changing their menu and I'll be honest, this Winter menu has got to be the top on my list. We ordered the Persimmon & Apple Salad and Duckfat Brussel Sprouts as starters, what a wonderful experience for the taste buds, then my wife ordered the Sweet Potato Gnocchi as her small plate and of course me wanting meat, I ordered the Dry Aged Pork Chop, what a fantastic blend of flavors just exploding in your mouth during each bite! Like I said we love to go here and our winter trip this past weekend did not disappoint!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food was delicious! The plating of my beet and salmon salad was awkward though. About 85% of my large dinner plate was bare because the salad was presented in a half moon shape along one side. It made my meal appear to be a comically small portion. Another issue was that I ordered a side dish of plain fries for my child, but paid for a $10 plate of truffle fries. A $10 side order of fries is a bit overpriced to say the least. I wish I had been forewarned. Otherwise, my food was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My hubs & I visited Greenville for a overnight getaway. Hotel Domestique was our pick for our stay, it was booked I decided to eat at their highly reviewed restaurant in Travelers Rest. The drive is over 30 mins w/ pretty views of the mtns. The property is stunning! Walking in however, is very different.
The entrance is underwhelming reminding you of a deli; due to a deli style counter to the right and a podium to the left. A guy in just jeans and a random t-shirt a few feet away to an empty dining room. After several minutes our server approached sweet & nervous, probably new? She could not recommend or answer questions on the menu. I ordered a cheese board. The cheese board -a wooden plank w/ dried cranberries & golden raisins scattered w/ 3 small mounds cheese, a blob of jam & a smear of something not described to us-No cheese knife My husband ordered osso bucco and responded saying it was, 'just ok'. I ordered a kale and mushroom dish. It arrived as a pasta bowl w/ the kale being unrecognizable in a heavy meaty tasting cream sauce. The pasta was less than al dante. and smelled strange, like smoked meat. I am a vegetarian so adventurous foods are good with me. I have never had to send food back. Maybe my taste buds but it was edible. I gladly paid for another dish the sweet potato gnocchi. It was also strange- seemed to be sweet potato mixed with a cheddar cheesy sauce at the bottom of an oval dish w/ mounds of marshmallow, sprinkled w/ spicy pecans. Effort at creative but flavors did not mesh, making it an awkward bite to swallow. I picked around to eat each part individually to avoid the combo of cheese & marshmallow.
In all the restaurant is making effort at modern/eclectic, it is just not molding together from the entrance to the new server to the broken flavors. I think this place has potential, a bit more culinary skill and finesse is needed to bring this place up from its confusing status. My favor part was the music - great taste!!!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very good Thanksgiving. Had options for everyone and very careful and preemptive precautions were made for one of our parties food allergies. Would be glad to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This was our first visit to Restaurant 17. They had a very good opening cocktail called Sorry Mr. Jackson that was a nice start to the evening. We had the lamb and smoked faro, muscadine grapes and kale. The lamb was excellent. The faro, grapes and kale were quite smoky, a nice taste but perhaps a little too heavy on the smoke, which masked the grapes for me. The other dish we had was the catfish with crayfish etouffe; both were excellent, but I found it best to eat them separately, because the awesome and spicy etouffe overpowered the catfish when I ate them in the same bite. I love catfish and wanted to taste it as much as possible. The desserts we had were great. I had the peanut butter mousse, which was great, but different than what I was expecting. The peanut butter mousse was inside chocolate pillows and the pillows were served with brittle and a peanut butter powder. As I said, different than what I was expecting, but really good. I would order it again. My wife had flourless chocolate s'mores, which again had a unique presentation and was very good. The flourless cake was VERY rich. The decor was okay, nothing special and the prices were a little higher than I thought they should have been, but it was a really good meal. Because of the price, I will probably not go back as frequently as I would if they were somewhat lower, but it will definitely warrant a return trip in the future.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Wil was very pleasant and help !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Thank you restaurant 17, my second visit everything was wonderful. Can't wait to get back again. Best food and atmosphere in all of travelers rest.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have been to Restaurant 17 many times and have never been disappointed. The beautiful scenery, the amazing service, and always delicious food make it a must in Greenville. The restaurant is attached to a gorgeous boutique hotel in the mountains and has great views from its large windows. After dark, the restaurant is more dimly lit and provides a nice quiet atmosphere to enjoy dinner and company. On this trip, we had the sweet potato gnocchi which was possibly one of our favorite appetizers that we have ever had here. It was sweet, buttery, and a little different than one would expect since the gnocchi itself was pan fried and a bit crunchy. We shared the beef and lamb entrees. Both tasted delicious, but the beef was the winner of the two with a root vegetable side that had a definite smokey flavor. The dessert, which is always changing it seems, was decadent as well. The service is always excellent with the waiters and waitresses who are always prepared to help and elaborate on menu items as well as cocktails and wine pairings. Looking forward to being back in the area and back at Restaurant 17.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was a beautiful fall evening. We were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves dining outside looking at the colors on display on the mountainside in front of us. My husband and I shared a salad and a small plate with a wonderful glass of wine prior to our entree of swordfish and locally raised beef topping it off with a gorgeous and tasty dessert.

All the dishes were visually appealing and full of flavor. We then took a stroll over to the Hotel Domestique. What a stunning property!

You feel as if you have truly "gotten away....."

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The burger was the best burger I have ever had. It was divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We got a table outside and the view and atmosphere was amazing. Our waiter suggested sharing a salad and sharing the artisan cheese board which both were very good. I had the beef entree with the bread pudding which was delicious . My wife had the rock shrimp risotto which she said was very good. We shared the carrot cake which was so good.We are originally from Pa.and so are the husband and wife team who manage the Hotel so it was great to meet and talk with them.The service was excellent and we would definitely return and maybe have a glass of wine and try a small plate.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Have to say this restaurant was highly overrated . Ordered a arugula salad which had no arugula in it. Wine was 14.00 a glass . Service was just ok. Food was not worth the price. Would not recommend it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fantastic experience - will go back as soon as we can!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 31, 2016

This is not an easy place to find if coming from US 25 North. The GSP gave very confusing directions, and it was necessary to make a U-turn on US 25, then come in from the south. The view from the dining area was spectacular, the server very pleasant, and the food very good. It was a very slow Wednesday evening per number of people there, so was easy for conversation. I am not sure what it would be at a busy time. It is the type place that you would want to save for a special occasion, as my wife and I shared an entrée, desert and salad, plus she had one glass of wine. The bill, including tip was 76 dollars, so if you have big eaters or those interested in drinks as a part of the scenario, you had better come prepared for a hefty expense.

For us, it was an enjoyable evening, and we will consider going again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I loved this place the new Chef and his staff have done an excellent job. Everything was great from the appetizer to the dessert. The view outside was beautiful, you must seat outside after dinner just to look at the stars.. oh so many stars.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.