Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.67mi
  2. Distance: 7.81mi
  3. Distance: 11.27mi
  4. Distance: 11.27mi
  1. Distance: 3.67mi
  2. Distance: 7.81mi
  3. Distance: 11.27mi
  4. Distance: 11.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.67mi
  2. Distance: 7.81mi
  3. Distance: 11.27mi
  4. Distance: 11.27mi
  1. Distance: 3.67mi
  2. Distance: 7.81mi
  3. Distance: 11.27mi
  4. Distance: 11.27mi

About Restaurant 17

Hotel Domestique's Restaurant 17 serves innovative cuisine sourced from local and regional producers. Executive Chef Nick Graves' overall style focuses on heirloom ingredients and classic preservation techniques in a comfortable setting.

10 Road of the Vines
Travelers Rest, SC 29690
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Cafe Hours Saturday & Sunday 7:30am-3pm
Dinner Tuesday-Thursday 5-9pm
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5-9:30pm
Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
Chinquapin Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(864) 516-1254

Website:
http://www.restaurant17.com/

Executive Chef:
Nick Graves

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant 17 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Scenic View (17)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Healthy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Business Meals (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Organic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Casual (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vegan (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The menu is broad,from land to sea. Both the fish and the appetizer tasted great. The atmosphere was good with a mix of couples and groups. You can't go wrong with this place.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service and it was great meeting the Chef!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Organic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Inside a/c setting way too cold! Food cooled off before it was half done. Small plates better than large plates. Waffle in chicken and waffle too dry, and not enough syrup. Creative menu. Clean nice restrooms. Ambiance a little stark, but nice mountain view...covered outdoor seating option nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

17 is a place we frequent quite often (I'm a bit biased as the pastry chef is my step daughter) and are never disappointed. They use local ingredients and always have a very creative and delicious menu and of course the desserts are outstanding as well. If the Peach Cheesecake is on the menu, get it! Best cheesecake I've ever had! Nick Graves, the head chef, is extremely talented and has the skills to blend food combinations that you'll be impressed with. The scenic views and outdoor dining along with a very friendly and knowledgeable staff are just a bonus while enjoying a great dinner. Go, try, enjoy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The waiter was not knowledgeable of the menu. Instead, he had to refer to notes.
The menu is limited.
The food was acceptable, but not remarkably tasty.
We waited 25 minutes after we finished the meal for the waiter to appear, and we had to ask for the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Restaurant 17 never disappoints! We went for their summer feature: Tuesday paella in the courtyard. It was fabulous with two freshly made paellas offered: traditional seafood and a southern themed paella with fried chicken. The night was perfect for al fresco dining in the gorgeous courtyard. We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Took guests from out of town. Very disappointing. The server was not attentive. Cocktails sat on the bar for a while before being served to the table. The ladies ordered the short rib lasagna after hearing the description of having a layer of short rib on top as well as in the lasagna. We were hard pressed to find ANY beef, more of just a vegetable lasagna with a hefty price. My husband ordered the chicken and waffles. The waffle was so hard, even a knife couldn't cut it. When our server finally returned, we told her and she said she would let someone know and try to compensate. That never happened. As we were leaving, the host asked if we enjoyed dinner, so I told him the issues we had. He did go and get the owner, who approached us with apologies and took our information in order to compensate by removing a couple of entrees from our bill. We have not heard anything from him. Will not return and spreading the word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Everything was excellent as always... Love this place, chef, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Excellent experience and Eric our server was perfect! We'll return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Could not be more pleased with the food and the service. We love the idea of locally sourced foods prepared by truly talented kitchen personnel. Friendly front staff made the experience wonderful. Great views of the mountains only added to the enjoyment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant to go to when in need of a relaxing evening and excellent food. The food and View are So worth the drive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 31, 2017

My wife and I and occasionally with some friends, eat there regularly and it never disappoints. The menu is creatively constructed to appeal to a wide variety of tastes with local ingredients to enjoy in an atmosphere that is pleasant with mountain views to enjoy while dining. Outdoor dining is also available and there is a great patio with a calming water feature to relax on and partake in some of the best desserts around. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Food and service was great; however, the decor is cold...all grey...makes you feel sad and want to leave....if decor was changed to something soft and made you want to come back, the experience would be wonderful....we have tried it 5 times now and even tho the food and service are excellent, we won't be coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We got several things while there -- all of the cocktails we tried were amazing. Singapore Sling was absolutely fantastic. Another one had mezcal in it & that was also great. The two small plates we had were beautifully plated - scallops were very delicious and plated amazingly. Allan Denton's ham being served there was an amazing surprise -- didn't realize they served it, but we were definitely thrilled -- definitely a must get! My husband got the steak and he thought it was perfectly cooked and tasted delicious along with his potatoes that had a beautiful smoky flavor. I order a lasagna that was a bit unusual for me. I didn't expect beets & celery to be part of the sauce. Took me a little bit to get used to the thought of that combination & I probably wouldn't order that specific dish again. Everything else was so amazingly delicious though -- I would definitely recommend. Tiramisu was also great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We have dined at Restaurant 17 numerous times over the past few years. The past year or so, it seemed that the food was not quite as exceptional as earlier times. This visit was a pleasant return to the high quality we recalled in both food and presentation and we enjoyed it very much. The wait staff was attentive and knowledgeable. Our special request for gluten free bread was taken care of with no difficulty and it was quite good...not always a term associated with gluten free. Compliments to your pastry chef. Thank you and we plan to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Excellent! Receptionist was very outgoing and attended me when the bar and restaurant where busy at the beginning of my visit.
I sat in the bar area with a incredible view of the blue ridge mountains.
My bartender was also very attentive and service was great!

The food at restaurant 17, captures innovative, from
The chef and his staff, there cooking comes from the heart enhancing the use of buying local!

Small plate offerings are awesome for those looking
For more of a culinary vibe and capturing a symphony of
Flavors from local and seasonal flavors, well done, the chefs sand box, it show cased the creativity ,of the day!

Dinner also was local dry aged rib eye, complimented with smoked baby potatoes and herbed cheese, and
A cool sauce reduction to finish.
Plating is genius!

Thank you all ...of restaurant 17, can't wait to return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

One of the four of us did not care for her entree, the short rib lazangina. Everyone else enjoyed their meals.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great craft cocktails, fresh food, attentive staff and responsive kitchen - recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very good food, changing menu, good choices for cocktail and wine. Six of us went, we shared the cheese plate, then two had scallops for appetizers, all of which was enjoyable. For entrees, one had catfish, three had prawns, very tasty and enjoyed by all. Two had had beef short ribs and faro, a small plate/appetizer option, but the dishes were enough for them. All really enjoyed the food, the service and the setting and would easily go back again. A little pricier than some other restaurants nearby, but very good food and a nice change of pace.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Amazing dishes, presented beautifully. Very clean, great atmosphere. Unforgettable flavors. The strawberry spring salad was fantastic and the duck was prepared perfectly.

Tags: Waterfront, Healthy, Romantic, Scenic View, Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

As alway a great choice, one of the best in the upstate. It's amazing! The chef knows what he's doing, dishes I normally wouldn't like are surprising delicious. If you haven't been you must give it a try and make sure you save room for dessert. It's also a great place to sit outside and relax and enjoy the view after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent. Chef talked with us and answered questions about food and prep. Enjoyed the experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The location is beautiful albeit very remote, and the food was truly delicious. Unfortunately, our experience was marred by our server, "Haley" (as in the comet). Rarely to be seen, never to refill a wine glass, bread that shows up with the main course instead of the salad course, and completely unfamiliar with the menu (which resulted in a vegetarian getting pasta with sausage...also never noticed by Haley even though there was an obvious pile of it off to the side). Such a shame that we left with a bad taste...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our second visit to R17 didn't live up to our first. The cuisine, and staff (attention/attitude) seemed a level below our previous visit.

We ordered "fresh" decaf coffee for after dinner and were served coffee that was tepid and week.

Not a "bad" experience, by any means, and we will return. Just wish there was more consistency here at R17

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wow, our server Jason, nailed all his recommendations. From drinks, to appetizers and main courses. He knew the menu by heart and took the time to explain each dish. I really hope we get him for all our future reservations.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Restaurant was completely packed, so it was louder than usual. Food and service were exceptional as always. First time I have seen sheepshead from Florida on a seafood menu anywhere in our area, it was a nice surprise. Also had mussels, both selections were prepared well.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Truly exceptional, creative, craft food. Warm, personable and excellent service. Unique in every good way

Tags: Notable Wine List, Organic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

GREAT RESTAURANT! The view was amazing and the staff was awesome. The people around us were very, let's just say complicated and they still handled situations very well! 10/10 would eat there again! The food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fabulous Valentines menu made for a special evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was awesome. Price was a little high but you get what you pay for. Would definitely reccomend this dining experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We have eaten at Restaurant 17 several times with several different Chefs heading the kitchen and we've enjoyed it each time. Prices are reasonable for the quality of meal and the location is just beautiful. Reservations are easy on the week days but not so much on the weekends. Menu changes often but we've never been disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Absolutely great creative food at a very attractive location

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Staff was the best part besides the food. Very friendly and helpful with recommendations. Food was incredible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The lettuce wraps were good. The Cheese board was good. The steak was very tough. The lamb ribs were very fatty & the flavor not really good.
The wine was good but pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best food in a 25 mile radius! Finally a restaurant which emphasizes quality over quantity (small portions - great fancy gourmet food)!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We love Restaurant 17. It's not only the closest restaurant to my house, it is one of the best fine dining restaurants in #yeahTHATgreenville. Chef Nick Graves has transformed the menu into a wonderfully accessible, farm to table experience. You are not only dazzled by the food, you leave full. Great for special occasions, but also reasonable enough for everyday dining.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

They were part of restaurant week in Greenville. The menu was very unique. Always a treat.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had a great overall experience for our anniversary dinner. Attentive service, creative menu and presentation, excellent salads and entrees, generous portions. The new chef has made a big difference.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our New Year's Celebration at R17 was very memorable with a Southern Savory Styled 4 course meal with flair . Our dessert included white chocolate "caviar" bubbles which were sweet with edible wild flowers. We loved it and done at R17 each visit in Greenville/Travelers Rest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was excellent, the service perfect, and the servings were plentiful! The restaurant is beautiful! The only negative is that they need to fix their chandelier so it changes color light it used to!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.