Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.67mi
  2. Distance: 7.81mi
  3. Distance: 11.27mi
  4. Distance: 11.27mi
  1. Distance: 3.67mi
  2. Distance: 7.81mi
  3. Distance: 11.27mi
  4. Distance: 11.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.67mi
  2. Distance: 7.81mi
  3. Distance: 11.27mi
  4. Distance: 11.27mi
  1. Distance: 3.67mi
  2. Distance: 7.81mi
  3. Distance: 11.27mi
  4. Distance: 11.27mi

About Restaurant 17

Hotel Domestique's Restaurant 17 serves innovative cuisine sourced from local and regional producers. Executive Chef Nick Graves' overall style focuses on heirloom ingredients and classic preservation techniques in a comfortable setting.

10 Road of the Vines
Travelers Rest, SC 29690
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Cafe Hours Saturday & Sunday 7:30am-3pm
Dinner Tuesday-Thursday 5-9pm
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5-9:30pm
Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
Chinquapin Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(864) 516-1254

Website:
http://www.restaurant17.com/

Executive Chef:
Nick Graves

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant 17 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (33)
Local Ingredients (29)
Romantic (26)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Business Meals (9)
Casual (9)
Cozy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Organic (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

I was very disappointed. Had a good reputation & we were celebrating my husbands birthday. Too casual, very noisy, and too expensive for the setting.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

This is a fab location. the sunset out on the terrace was amazing and service all round was very good. I found the food was ok, but not earth shattering. It was nicely presented tho.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Exceptional food in a gorgeous setting. I'd highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great views on the upstairs outside balcony, awesome appetizers and steaks. We were not disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Visited Restaurant 17 for our anniversary, and it did not disappoint. The food was delicious, thoughtfully prepared, and beautifully presented. The cocktails were creative, and the view could not be beat! We will definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Overall very nice restaurant and staff. However the halibut made me sick within 15 min of leaving the restaurant.
My boyfriend's meal was great.
Not saying I won't return as I know seafood can be risky..had to be the halibut though!!
It was the only item we did not share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 22, 2017

This is such a beautiful place and some of the best food in the upstate. This should be a must on your list of restaurants to visit, it is worth the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great variety of food. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

What a wonderful experience! The food was amazing and the service attentive, which made the drive more than worth it. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 18, 2017

1st time to eat here and will definitely be back. We went during restaurant week and the offerings were outstanding. We also opted for the wine pairings which made it a very enjoyable experience. Excellent service and wonderful views.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Excellent as always! The octopus pappardelle was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 16, 2017

See my Yelp review. Don't want to relive it here xxxxx

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

So excited to have found this gem of a restaurant! We happened to go for our first visit during Greenville's Restaurant Week. So glad it was on that list because this place wasn't on our radar. My husband and I did a four course dinner with a wine flight pairing. WOW! Our favorites were the Octopus Pappardelle with Citrus and the Wild Boar Ragout. But everything was outstanding. They use locally sourced ingredients that are top notch. Menu changes frequently with the seasons. It's well worth the drive--but make sure you make reservations. The view of the mountains was lovely and as a bonus, when we left and looked up, the stars were amazing. Far enough out of the city so there's no light pollution. Superb dining experience! Look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Had a wonderful meal. Big rain storm..power went out...champagne to tide us over until the last course. Service was outstanding throughout.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Even though the power went out in the area just as we were finishing our dinner it was still a great time...even in emergency lighting. Great menu for Restaurant Week and an opportunity to try some new dishes and of course, the deserts were awesome as well!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We always love going to Restaurant 17. The creative cuisine never disappoints. It also has the best scenery in Greenville County to have a relaxing dining experience. Glad the restaurant week menu included all small plates.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Delightful evening. View of mountains is gorgeous from patio. Some adventurous starters, entrees, sides. May be tough for those who like strictly meat and potatoes fare --- can have a burger in a pinch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fantastic meal in an unbelievable setting. They source almost everything locally and it shows in the quality of the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I was very disappointed in my dinner there and in the atmosphere. This was a special occasion for our family and nothing about the interior dining area said upscale. We were seated right outside the swinging doors of the kitchen and in the path of the setting sun (no window treatments to mitigate this), so several of us had to keep moving around the (round) table to get out of the blinding sunlight. The menu was extremely pricey, but food did not warrant the cost. When I called earlier to ask for a nice table location (quiet, specifically) for the evening, I got a very unprofessional and lackluster response. The grounds outside are lovely, but the interior was unappealing. I wish I could give a better report, but it was an unfortunate choice and I will not return. I'm giving a Fair rather than Poor rating because three people in our party had the ribeye and enjoyed it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Seated outdoors by the pool, under the ceiling fans with the off in the distant mountains as my view, I enjoyed a lovely meal. I chose the Nashville Chicken with the potatoes as my side. My server did warn me it was quite spicy, but I was glad I went for it. Delicious! The special butter served with the bread service was yummy! My glass of Bordeaux, suggested by the server, was very smooth and enjoyable. I finished off with the peach ice cream dessert and it was delicious as well. All in all, a lovely experience. I will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

A beautiful location and tasty options on the menu. Restaurant 17 is too pricey and far out of Greenville for frequent visits but worth a trip for a special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Lovely ambiance. Creative menu with a fantastic blend of local flavors. Service was great and the view from the terrace is divine!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Beautiful setting
Food okay not great and over priced
I'd recommend for the ambience

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Quiet, well presented, very good food, good rhythm, right sized portions ... Will return soonest.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2017

As always, 17 is great! The menu was new this week with some fantastic new choices.
This was the first time I had trouble deciding what to order as there was several I really wanted to try including a couple fish dishes that sounded awesome. I settled on the Venison and it was outstanding....I'm glad I make good decisions! :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Amazing, went first during restaurant week and it is one of (if not my first) favorite restaurants around. And it didn't disappoint this time either!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The service was fantastic and the view and atmosphere cannot be beat! We felt like we escaped away to Europe for the evening! It continues to be my husband's and my favorite date place in SC!

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Waitstaff is great, food is delicious. Served elegantly and at perfect temperature. But a little pricy for everyday dining. We are locals and would eat there more often if it weren't so expensive. Great for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The menu is broad,from land to sea. Both the fish and the appetizer tasted great. The atmosphere was good with a mix of couples and groups. You can't go wrong with this place.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service and it was great meeting the Chef!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Organic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Inside a/c setting way too cold! Food cooled off before it was half done. Small plates better than large plates. Waffle in chicken and waffle too dry, and not enough syrup. Creative menu. Clean nice restrooms. Ambiance a little stark, but nice mountain view...covered outdoor seating option nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

17 is a place we frequent quite often (I'm a bit biased as the pastry chef is my step daughter) and are never disappointed. They use local ingredients and always have a very creative and delicious menu and of course the desserts are outstanding as well. If the Peach Cheesecake is on the menu, get it! Best cheesecake I've ever had! Nick Graves, the head chef, is extremely talented and has the skills to blend food combinations that you'll be impressed with. The scenic views and outdoor dining along with a very friendly and knowledgeable staff are just a bonus while enjoying a great dinner. Go, try, enjoy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The waiter was not knowledgeable of the menu. Instead, he had to refer to notes.
The menu is limited.
The food was acceptable, but not remarkably tasty.
We waited 25 minutes after we finished the meal for the waiter to appear, and we had to ask for the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Restaurant 17 never disappoints! We went for their summer feature: Tuesday paella in the courtyard. It was fabulous with two freshly made paellas offered: traditional seafood and a southern themed paella with fried chicken. The night was perfect for al fresco dining in the gorgeous courtyard. We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Took guests from out of town. Very disappointing. The server was not attentive. Cocktails sat on the bar for a while before being served to the table. The ladies ordered the short rib lasagna after hearing the description of having a layer of short rib on top as well as in the lasagna. We were hard pressed to find ANY beef, more of just a vegetable lasagna with a hefty price. My husband ordered the chicken and waffles. The waffle was so hard, even a knife couldn't cut it. When our server finally returned, we told her and she said she would let someone know and try to compensate. That never happened. As we were leaving, the host asked if we enjoyed dinner, so I told him the issues we had. He did go and get the owner, who approached us with apologies and took our information in order to compensate by removing a couple of entrees from our bill. We have not heard anything from him. Will not return and spreading the word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Everything was excellent as always... Love this place, chef, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Excellent experience and Eric our server was perfect! We'll return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Could not be more pleased with the food and the service. We love the idea of locally sourced foods prepared by truly talented kitchen personnel. Friendly front staff made the experience wonderful. Great views of the mountains only added to the enjoyment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant to go to when in need of a relaxing evening and excellent food. The food and View are So worth the drive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 31, 2017

My wife and I and occasionally with some friends, eat there regularly and it never disappoints. The menu is creatively constructed to appeal to a wide variety of tastes with local ingredients to enjoy in an atmosphere that is pleasant with mountain views to enjoy while dining. Outdoor dining is also available and there is a great patio with a calming water feature to relax on and partake in some of the best desserts around. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.