About Restaurant 17

10 Road of the Vines
Travelers Rest, SC 29690
View Larger Map

Hotel Domestique's Restaurant 17 serves innovative cuisine sourced from local and regional producers. Executive Chef Greg McPhee's overall style focuses on heirloom ingredients and classic preservation techniques in a comfortable setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Cafe Hours 7am-5pm EVERYDAY
Dinner Tuesday-Thursday 5-9pm
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5-9:30pm
Closed Sundays
Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
Chinquapin Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(864) 516-1254

Website:
http://www.hoteldomestique.com/restaurant-17/

Executive Chef:
Greg McPhee

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Restaurant 17 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
South Carolina
Best Overall
Greenville
Best Ambiance
Greenville
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Greenville
Notable Wine List
Greenville
Romantic
Greenville
Special Occasion
Greenville
Best Restaurants in Travelers Rest ›

scenic view (38)
special occasion (37)
fit for foodies (35)
See All
romantic (35)
great for outdoor dining (18)
notable wine list (17)
good for groups (11)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent restaurant - highly recommend ...

Dined 3 days ago

Excellent restaurant - highly recommend it- wonderful food, location, view and great service

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service and always cherish the ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful service and always cherish the opportunity to take a picture with Big George!

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My wife and I dined here to celebrate he ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I dined here to celebrate her birthday and enjoyed it overall. We arrived early and had a drink and appetizer in the bar before heading to our table. I started with the corn risotto which was fantastic and then we ordered the trout and the ribeye. Both entrees were very tasty and we finished with the goat milk Panna cotta which was a great balanced dessert and not overly sweet. The restaurant has amazing views of the mountains and is set on beautiful vineyard hills. The chef sources local ingredients which means they are cooking what's in season, like nature intended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

View and service was great, but food lef ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

View and service was great, but food left much to be desired. Portions are small and seasoning on everything was overpowering. I don't plan to go back.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for girls' night.

Dined on May 10, 2016

Restaurant 17 is the closest restaurant to my house, and lucky me, they have a talented chef that makes incredibly beautiful food. I love meeting friends for drinks at the bar before dinner. They have a nice cocktail menu, and the view is gorgeous!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great atmosphere!

Dined on May 3, 2016

I took my husband out for his Birthday and we both loved this place. I stumbled upon it while looking for a nice place to take him that we had never been to before. I am so glad we chose this place, we will definitely be back. The server was fast and knowledgeable, the portion sizes were perfect. We sat on the patio and had a nice peaceful dinner. I have already recommended this place to several people and we ate there last night!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view of the mountains, meticul ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Beautiful view of the mountains, meticulously manicured landscaping and gorgeous patio! Our server was wonderful-he was helpful and attentive. The food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Maybe I will try it again...

Dined on April 19, 2016

On a super not busy Tuesday, we were seated inside (with many outside seats available and not offered), facing away from the view. Didn't really understand that. The charcuterie was outstanding. Service was adequate. Entree was so disappointing I didn't bother with the dessert menu. Drinks were ok. I think my expectations were too high. Maybe I will try it again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A treat in the hills

Dined on April 6, 2016

This restaurant is a gem for the local area. Fantastic food and its so pretty inside! It is modern, upscale but still has that southern comfort. The attached small hotel is also gorgeous and would be a great weekend get away!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Absolutely Great

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Second dinner at 17 and was Great. Our starter small plates and then entrees were so so delicious. The chef exudes quality control and the fresh adds to paint the plate were so well done. Our inexperienced young waiter was attentive, comfortable but could add a touch of professionalism. Our first dinner was in July so the diners sported tennis shorts and biker wear which hurt the atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

We went back to 17 on a Friday night mainly because we hadn't been in awhile and wanted to see what the chef had new on the menu. We ordered a few things to share and while everything was delicious, the pork belly with vegetable dumplings was by far our favorite. It was so good!! I love that the menu is always changing with new yummy things to try, but hopefully this one will stay on the menu awhile. Also, the lemon tart might be my new favorite dessert. I don't have much of a sweet tooth so this was a perfect end to a fantastic meal. Thank you to the whole Restaurant 17 staff for always making our experience a wonderful one.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

First experience and we will definitely ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

First experience and we will definitely be back. Loved the grilled quail and spring onion risotto. I don't usually waste calories on bread served, but theirs was so good we asked for seconds. And the sunset view was incredible.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience, both food & atmosphere!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Great atmosphere and awesome food! Seriously everything was great. Food quality is 5 star and everything was delicious. We had the combination board, flounder, quail and brussels sprouts. The sprouts were the best I've ever had! Chocolate cake was delicious too. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Special evening , terrible steak , over priced

Dined on March 5, 2016

Three people ordered the steak, all three had to send it back. When it came back to the table it was so tough we could not cut it. The entire group made up of out of town friends and friends from the Cliffs were very disappointed with the food. The last time we had been there 6 months ago, the steak was fabulous, what happened??? We don't think we will risk it again, too much money to get bad food. The waitress was a delight!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Will definitely ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Great food and service. Will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A farm-to-table gem for a special occasion

Dined on February 20, 2016

I hit a home run in taking my wife here for her birthday. We enjoyed the diverse offering of the Combination appetizer in the first course. My quail entree had a delicious woody grilled flavor. The portions matched the variety of offerings just perfectly. Well worth the drive above Travelers Rest.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

My boyfriend and I made reservations here after receiving a recommendation from friends who said that it was one of the best meals that they have ever had! The food was excellent. I had the quail (which is usually overcooked when I've ordered it at other restaurants) and it was tender and delicious. My boyfriend ordered the filet and it was wonderful. We both cleaned our plates. It took a little while for us to be greeted at our table and receive our cocktails, but after that it was a great dining expeience. The sun had already gone down, but we had a table by the large window facing the restaurant pool, grounds, and mountains in the background. We will have to come back during the day time for a better view! Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent food. excellent service.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was excellent. The only thing I wasn't crazy about was the chocolate cake for desert. The atmosphere was incredible. People also talk about the beautiful chandelier changing colors. It was beautiful. If it isn't changing colors, ask them "hot the button".

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Change in Chef

Dined on February 13, 2016

I am not sure if it was the loss of Chef Adam or we hit an off night but we did not receive the creativity that we expect when traveling 40 minutes to come to our favorite restaurant. We had the rib eye for 2 which was very good but the suggested sides were unusual but did not compliment the meal. We send friends here because we are use to the wow factor. We will have to try again to make sure we just missed a bad night.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Killer scallops and brussel sprouts

Dined on February 10, 2016

Great spot just far outside of Greenville to feel like you've gotten out of town. Beautiful view from the bar with great cocktails. If you go, you have to get the Brussel sprouts. They are similar to a momofuku dish with a sweet fish sauce. So good. Also the best scallops I've had in the Carolinas. The other dishes were good but those stood out far and away.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on February 6, 2016

Incredibly fresh food! The wait staff was very knowledgeable about all of the selections and where the various ingredients are sourced from -- all local. Prepared perfectly! Suggest trying the trout or the steak - both wonderful dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance is gorgeous--perfect settin ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

The ambiance is gorgeous--perfect setting. The food was incredible--reminded me of the creativity and innovation we would find in larger cities. Plus it was absolutely delicious. The cocktails were also more reminiscent of why you'd see in larger cities. Prices were soooo good considering how everything is local and handmade. We will be back--can't wait!

food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful meal! A small group of ...

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

What a wonderful meal! A small group of us decided to go for restaurant week and we each did 4 courses. We all ordered something different so we could try more. Every bite was delicious but our favorites were the trout spread, the boudin, the ribeye and the vegetable plate. We were fighting over the last bites of spicy sweet potato puree! One of our friends is gluten free and they had so many options and substitutions to accommodate so she was thrilled. Our server, Val, was wonderful and the cocktails we had while we were waiting for our table were delicious. We can't wait to come back!

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Avoid Restaurant Week

Dined on January 17, 2016

Perhaps it was because it was Restaurant Week, but the service was exceptionally slow taking 2 1/2 hrs for a dinner of 4 exceptionally small portion servings, even for small plates. And I would have expected a white tablecloth for this type of restaurant, not a white plastic table. And there was no bread to hold you over until your food arrived. I would not recommend it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worth the drive

Dined on January 16, 2016

We went during restaurant week which can be a difficult time for many restaurants but restaurant 17 came through with flying colors. Every dish was homemade with locally sourced ingredients and each tasted as wonderful as it looked. Additionally, the wait staff did a terrific professional job of being helpful and attentive without being intrusive. I highly recommend restaurant 17 for a special occasion our romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent wife's birthday dinner.

Dined on January 16, 2016

Service was great. Very helpful waitress. Food was exceptional. Made my wife's birthday very enjoyable. We both had 3 course meal with the best Merlot wine and carrot cake we ever had. Wish I could go there more often. A little pricey but, very good for special occasions. The view of the mountains from our upstairs table was beautiful. Definitely going back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden gem

Dined on January 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to restaurant 17 during restaurant week. It was a great experience from the moment I walked in the door. The service is very attentive and friendly. The ambiance is lovely. The food was absolutely delicious! It is well worth the price. You have to try the butter and bread they bring out! I could eat the butter with a spoon!!! I will definitely be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Treat!!!!

vip
Dined on January 14, 2016

Always a treat! 17's approach to Restaurant Week was fun. Instead of the traditional 3 course it was pick 3, 4, or 5 at reasonable prices. Fun selection of beautifully prepared selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week @ Restaurant 17

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

This is the 2nd year we've dined at Restaurant 17 during SC Restaurant week. It is definitely worth the trek to TR for this gem. Kendra, our server two years running, had great suggestions. The menu is amazing from start to finish. We had the cheese and charcuterie plates to start. I haven't had cheese or meat that good since I lived in France. The cheeses were from area dairies. Chef's vegetables were original in composition and flavor pallet, mixed with a great grain. The Crispy Tete de Presse was a new treat for us. The local trout and wagyu beef entrees were top notch. We will make the drive back to TR before 2017's Restaurant Week.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful food and service. server, bart ...

Dined on January 9, 2016

wonderful food and service. server, bartender and staff was a lot friendlier and welcoming than expected

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service!

Dined on January 9, 2016

We had 6 in our party and I called the week of "restaurant week". They were able to accommodate our reservation at a normal time for dinner (not just after 8pm). I requested privacy as this was a sensitive business meeting. I never expected to have a private room, but that is exactly what they provided for us. Our service was above and beyond excellent. The food was incredible! We had a lot of choices on our special "restaurant week" menu. We never once felt rushed even though we were the last to leave the restaurant. I would highly recommend Restaurant 17!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

50-50

Dined on January 8, 2016

I picked this place to celebrate my birthday and it was our first time dining here. It happened to be restaurant week and they had a great selection of items to choose from. The trout spread was great! I ordered the veal for my main dish and the veal was the only edible thing on the plate. Although I liked the carrots and brussels sprouts, the pecan germolata that came over the vegetables and the pumpernickel puree were NOT appetizing. I couldn't eat those items. The custard soaked carrot cake was amazing and hands-down the best thing I ate all night. We went when it was colder, but I hear they have a nice outdoor dining area. We may be back for appetizers and dessert, but the entrees were a miss for us.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Different experience

Dined on January 1, 2016

We decided to go here for New Years Eve. Open Table did not mention that it was Prix Fixe. We took my 12 yo daughter and her friend. We made it a nice evening and they were able to wear their cotillion dresses. The food was excellent as always. We really wanted to stay around for the midnight festivities but being relatively responsible parents, we went home early.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a perfect way to spend New Years Ev ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

What a perfect way to spend New Years Eve. Restaurany 17 is a our favorite in Greenville so when we saw the the new years event it was a no-brainer. Every bite was delicious as usual. Thank you to the staff for yet another incredible evening!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Food

Dined on January 1, 2016

The New Years Eve menu had excellent choices. First time dining at the restaurant. All of us were surprised by the quality of food and the presentation. Would strongly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food off the beaten path

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

We had dinner at 17 on Christmas Eve - our first visit to this establishment. While it is a short drive from Greenille, I found it well worth it. The service - both in the bar and the restaurant was excellent. Sarah was our server and she was knowledgable on the foods and very attentive to my wife's food allergies. I had the Pork Crepinette and it was very good. My wife had the mixed vegetables - all from local farm - and these were also very good. I actually enjoyed the Brussel Sprouts! I am sure we will be back sometime soon to 17!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3

Good. Small wine pours for the price!

Dined on December 11, 2015

Good food, maybe trying to be a little pretentious. A like that much is sourced locally. Pretty stark ambience. Small by-the-glass wine list, with equally small pours for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden Gem in South Carolina!

vip
Dined on November 28, 2015

Hidden Gem in South Carolina!

food5
ambience4
service4

Thanksgiving 17

Dined on November 26, 2015

We may make a few more of our holiday dinners special at Restaurant 17. Every morsel was delicious. We opted for the turkey to stay traditional for the Thanksgiving evening, and there was not a bite that did not satisfy. From the turkey & dressing, to the brussel sprouts, and on to dessert. Our eyes rolled back in our heads with every bite. We arrived early enough to get a peak at the scenery, and the pink sky over the hills of northern Greenville County did not disappoint. It was a light crowd being the holiday, and we appreciate the staff's efforts for working on this evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

A rare find

Dined on November 26, 2015

My wife and I live in the Upstate region for more than a year and only now found this gem. Food, wine list and ambience of a very high standard and you will leave the place with a smile on your face. Kudos to the management and the chef.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.