About Restaurant 17

10 Road of the Vines
Travelers Rest, SC 29690
View Larger Map

Hotel Domestique's Restaurant 17 serves innovative cuisine sourced from local and regional producers. Executive Chef Greg McPhee's overall style focuses on heirloom ingredients and classic preservation techniques in a comfortable setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Cafe Hours 7am-5pm EVERYDAY
Dinner Tuesday-Thursday 5-9pm
Dinner Friday & Saturday 5-9:30pm
Closed Sundays
Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
Chinquapin Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(864) 516-1254

Website:
http://www.hoteldomestique.com/restaurant-17/

Executive Chef:
Greg McPhee

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Restaurant 17
Restaurant 17

Restaurant 17 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
South Carolina
Scenic View
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
Greenville
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Greenville
Notable Wine List
Greenville
Romantic
Greenville
Best Restaurants in Travelers Rest ›

scenic view (37)
fit for foodies (33)
special occasion (31)
See All
romantic (28)
great for outdoor dining (26)
notable wine list (15)
good for groups (13)
neighborhood gem (11)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (1)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

great restaurant, tucked away in the mou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

great restaurant, tucked away in the mountains...love the location and the beautiful surroundings. The restaurant has the right vibe and the menu certainly looks interesting and a "foodies' menu. However, we went on a night which was executive chef's 2nd night on the role so I think the menu has still to be worked out. I ordered oysters BLT for appetizer and although the presentation was very cool the oysters themselves were not fresh and completely missing the BLT part. The main entre was ok and dessert selection was so limited (only ice cream and pie). Service was unfortunately terrible. the wait was long, although restaurant was not full and our server really didn't know what he was doing. I will give it another chance to see if they have settled down and figure things out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Fantastic food from your new chef. Loved ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Fantastic food from your new chef. Loved the bread and the kale salad

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed our meal at Restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal at Restaurant 17. It was the first night with a new chef and new menu. We sat outside on the patio and the view is spectacular. We started off with a couple appetizers, the lump crab, kale salad and roasted corn. The presentation looked as good as it tasted. For our main courses we ordered the short ribs and shrimp and left very little on our plate. The short ribs were so tender we could cut them with a fork and they would fall apart. I will definitely be back soon. Thanks

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a gem with scenic vie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant is a gem with scenic views of the Blue Ridge, cyprus trees, vineyards, aromatic meals that are tasteful to the palet and visually pleasing. We ate the perfectly prepared ribeye with wild mushrooms and the Charleston wreckfish. Absolutely will return to eat here again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a gem, not to be expected in the ru ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

What a gem, not to be expected in the rural setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came up Saturday night as we wanted t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We came up Saturday night as we wanted to eat there one more time while the current chef is still there. As always, everything was great! We had the tuna poke, the pork belly lettuce wraps, a pasta dish with sausage and kale, and the shrimp entree. Every meal I've ever had at 17 is so fresh and delicious. Sad to hear that Chef Greg is leaving but can't wait to try his new restaurant downtown!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was entirely too noisy due to a weddi ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

it was entirely too noisy due to a wedding. The wedding also caused a slow down in our drink orders. I also mentioned in my reservation it was our guests 70th birthday & it was not recognized.

With all said, it remains my favorite resaturant in Greenville.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

We eat here every month or two and the f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We eat here every month or two and the food is always amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two things I noticed our server was grea ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Two things I noticed our server was great till after dessert and then seem to vanish for a while. And the other thing was - a wedding on the premises had a band and their music and the piped in music on the outdoor patio were at conflict! So you had two songs in your ears! Bit disruptive and a place of that caliber should pay attention to that kind of stuff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful setting and excellent farm to ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Beautiful setting and excellent farm to table fresh choices. It's a long eY out from Greenville but a great experience when you get there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

A lovely place for really good food and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

A lovely place for really good food and a beautiful view. Service was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The pork chop with bone in turned out to ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The pork chop with bone in turned out to be chunks of pork with a thick layer of skin. I could not get the steak knife thru it. The noise was terrible. There were bathers in their swim suits and children walking back and forth passed diners chairs. The dessert which was chocolate cake with a beet and orange flavor was a disaster. The whole experience was not pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Amazing. Great service. Unique fresh fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Amazing. Great service. Unique fresh food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent restaurant - highly recommend ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Excellent restaurant - highly recommend it- wonderful food, location, view and great service

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful service and always cherish the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Wonderful service and always cherish the opportunity to take a picture with Big George!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quiet and Romantic Evening

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Our fifth time at Restaurant 17 - the ambience is exceptional, both quiet, candlelit and romantic. However, the waitress did decide to sit us between two other tables rather than more privately on one of the two or three tables further away. The steak is cooked very well and is perfect with the peppercorn sauce but has certainly decreased in size over time. Also, we mourn the loss of the Tuesday steak and wine deal, which made coming regularly to Restaurant 17 a realistic choice on a student budget. We also no longer order the brownie for dessert because its size has drastically decreased.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I dined here to celebrate he ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I dined here to celebrate her birthday and enjoyed it overall. We arrived early and had a drink and appetizer in the bar before heading to our table. I started with the corn risotto which was fantastic and then we ordered the trout and the ribeye. Both entrees were very tasty and we finished with the goat milk Panna cotta which was a great balanced dessert and not overly sweet. The restaurant has amazing views of the mountains and is set on beautiful vineyard hills. The chef sources local ingredients which means they are cooking what's in season, like nature intended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

View and service was great, but food lef ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

View and service was great, but food left much to be desired. Portions are small and seasoning on everything was overpowering. I don't plan to go back.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Great for girls' night.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Restaurant 17 is the closest restaurant to my house, and lucky me, they have a talented chef that makes incredibly beautiful food. I love meeting friends for drinks at the bar before dinner. They have a nice cocktail menu, and the view is gorgeous!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great atmosphere!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

I took my husband out for his Birthday and we both loved this place. I stumbled upon it while looking for a nice place to take him that we had never been to before. I am so glad we chose this place, we will definitely be back. The server was fast and knowledgeable, the portion sizes were perfect. We sat on the patio and had a nice peaceful dinner. I have already recommended this place to several people and we ate there last night!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view of the mountains, meticul ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Beautiful view of the mountains, meticulously manicured landscaping and gorgeous patio! Our server was wonderful-he was helpful and attentive. The food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maybe I will try it again...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

On a super not busy Tuesday, we were seated inside (with many outside seats available and not offered), facing away from the view. Didn't really understand that. The charcuterie was outstanding. Service was adequate. Entree was so disappointing I didn't bother with the dessert menu. Drinks were ok. I think my expectations were too high. Maybe I will try it again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

A treat in the hills

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

This restaurant is a gem for the local area. Fantastic food and its so pretty inside! It is modern, upscale but still has that southern comfort. The attached small hotel is also gorgeous and would be a great weekend get away!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Great

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Second dinner at 17 and was Great. Our starter small plates and then entrees were so so delicious. The chef exudes quality control and the fresh adds to paint the plate were so well done. Our inexperienced young waiter was attentive, comfortable but could add a touch of professionalism. Our first dinner was in July so the diners sported tennis shorts and biker wear which hurt the atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Wonderful evening

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We went back to 17 on a Friday night mainly because we hadn't been in awhile and wanted to see what the chef had new on the menu. We ordered a few things to share and while everything was delicious, the pork belly with vegetable dumplings was by far our favorite. It was so good!! I love that the menu is always changing with new yummy things to try, but hopefully this one will stay on the menu awhile. Also, the lemon tart might be my new favorite dessert. I don't have much of a sweet tooth so this was a perfect end to a fantastic meal.

Thank you to the whole Restaurant 17 staff for always making our experience a wonderful one.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First experience and we will definitely ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

First experience and we will definitely be back. Loved the grilled quail and spring onion risotto. I don't usually waste calories on bread served, but theirs was so good we asked for seconds. And the sunset view was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent experience, both food & atmosphere!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Great atmosphere and awesome food! Seriously everything was great. Food quality is 5 star and everything was delicious. We had the combination board, flounder, quail and brussels sprouts. The sprouts were the best I've ever had! Chocolate cake was delicious too. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special evening , terrible steak , over priced

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Three people ordered the steak, all three had to send it back. When it came back to the table it was so tough we could not cut it. The entire group made up of out of town friends and friends from the Cliffs were very disappointed with the food. The last time we had been there 6 months ago, the steak was fabulous, what happened??? We don't think we will risk it again, too much money to get bad food. The waitress was a delight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Great food and service. Will definitely ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Great food and service. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A farm-to-table gem for a special occasion

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

I hit a home run in taking my wife here for her birthday. We enjoyed the diverse offering of the Combination appetizer in the first course. My quail entree had a delicious woody grilled flavor. The portions matched the variety of offerings just perfectly. Well worth the drive above Travelers Rest.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Valentine's Day Dinner

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

My boyfriend and I made reservations here after receiving a recommendation from friends who said that it was one of the best meals that they have ever had! The food was excellent. I had the quail (which is usually overcooked when I've ordered it at other restaurants) and it was tender and delicious. My boyfriend ordered the filet and it was wonderful. We both cleaned our plates. It took a little while for us to be greeted at our table and receive our cocktails, but after that it was a great dining expeience. The sun had already gone down, but we had a table by the large window facing the restaurant pool, grounds, and mountains in the background. We will have to come back during the day time for a better view! Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food. excellent service.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was excellent. The only thing I wasn't crazy about was the chocolate cake for desert. The atmosphere was incredible. People also talk about the beautiful chandelier changing colors. It was beautiful. If it isn't changing colors, ask them "hot the button".

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Change in Chef

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I am not sure if it was the loss of Chef Adam or we hit an off night but we did not receive the creativity that we expect when traveling 40 minutes to come to our favorite restaurant. We had the rib eye for 2 which was very good but the suggested sides were unusual but did not compliment the meal. We send friends here because we are use to the wow factor. We will have to try again to make sure we just missed a bad night.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Killer scallops and brussel sprouts

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Great spot just far outside of Greenville to feel like you've gotten out of town.

Beautiful view from the bar with great cocktails.

If you go, you have to get the Brussel sprouts. They are similar to a momofuku dish with a sweet fish sauce. So good.

Also the best scallops I've had in the Carolinas.

The other dishes were good but those stood out far and away.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Incredibly fresh food! The wait staff was very knowledgeable about all of the selections and where the various ingredients are sourced from -- all local. Prepared perfectly! Suggest trying the trout or the steak - both wonderful dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambiance is gorgeous--perfect settin ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The ambiance is gorgeous--perfect setting. The food was incredible--reminded me of the creativity and innovation we would find in larger cities. Plus it was absolutely delicious. The cocktails were also more reminiscent of why you'd see in larger cities. Prices were soooo good considering how everything is local and handmade. We will be back--can't wait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful meal! A small group of ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

What a wonderful meal! A small group of us decided to go for restaurant week and we each did 4 courses. We all ordered something different so we could try more. Every bite was delicious but our favorites were the trout spread, the boudin, the ribeye and the vegetable plate. We were fighting over the last bites of spicy sweet potato puree!

One of our friends is gluten free and they had so many options and substitutions to accommodate so she was thrilled.

Our server, Val, was wonderful and the cocktails we had while we were waiting for our table were delicious. We can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Avoid Restaurant Week

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Perhaps it was because it was Restaurant Week, but the service was exceptionally slow taking 2 1/2 hrs for a dinner of 4 exceptionally small portion servings, even for small plates. And I would have expected a white tablecloth for this type of restaurant, not a white plastic table. And there was no bread to hold you over until your food arrived. I would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Worth the drive

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We went during restaurant week which can be a difficult time for many restaurants but restaurant 17 came through with flying colors. Every dish was homemade with locally sourced ingredients and each tasted as wonderful as it looked. Additionally, the wait staff did a terrific professional job of being helpful and attentive without being intrusive. I highly recommend restaurant 17 for a special occasion our romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent wife's birthday dinner.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Service was great. Very helpful waitress. Food was exceptional. Made my wife's birthday very enjoyable. We both had 3 course meal with the best Merlot wine and carrot cake we ever had. Wish I could go there more often. A little pricey but, very good for special occasions. The view of the mountains from our upstairs table was beautiful. Definitely going back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.