About Reserve Wine & Food

201 NW Monroe
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Known for their seasonal cuisine and exceptional wine program, Reserve Wine & Food emphasizes quality and consistency across the board – in product, service and the overall experience. With a menu rooted in classics yet updated to today’s style of eating, look for dishes made from locally sourced ingredients at their peak. House made charcuterie, local cheeses, handmade pastas and more make up the approachable menu and complementing the food is the drink – and choices abound at Reserve. The impressive cruvinet system offers over 100 wines by the glass in addition to an extensive bottle list; Reserve’s list is one of the best in the state, and was recognized by USA Today as one of the top ten places in the country offering wine flights. The drink philosophy at Reserve matches that of the food – simply put, to offer the best dining & drinking experience in the region.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm, Saturday: 2:00pm - 12:00am
Kitchen closes: 10:00pm Monday - Thursday, 11:00pm Friday & Saturday
Charcuterie Bar open all night!
Happy Hour daily from 3pm to 6pm

Cross Street:
Monroe & Lyon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 855-9463

Website:
http://www.reservegr.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available for $10

Executive Chef:
Lucas VerHulst & Zach Pisciotta

Private Party Facilities:
A professional staff of friendly and knowledgeable servers are proud to present our seasonal and locally driven menu to guests of 12 - 200. For parties, celebrations and wine tastings from private intimate dinners to extravagant affairs. Casual or formal Reserve will make it memorable.

Private Events: Tailored to meet & exceed your expectations, every event we do is custom. With that said, the options for your private event at Reserve Wine & Food are nearly endless. From casual wine receptions to formal five-course meals, we design evenings to remember.

Whether you have corporate clients to entertain or close family and friends to celebrate with, Reserve has a space that is ideal for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Breymeyer: 6168559463x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Wine Tastings led by our in house sommelier, Peter Marantette the 3rd Thursday of every month at 6pm, the cost is $20 to experience 4 to 5 wines.

Restaurant Photos

Reserve Wine & Food
Cheese Plate
Charcu
charcuterie
Chardonnay
St. Julian Riesling
Chocolate Terrine
Scallops
Dry-Aged Ribeye
Sweet Gnocci With Rock N Rye Apples And Formage Blanc
Strauss Veal Chop
Pain Perdu
Purple Hands Merlot/Syrah/Pinot Noir/Cab Sauv, Oregon 2009
Chicken and dumplings
Oysters
Marcel Lapierre Morgan Beaujolais 2010
Vanilla Bean Bacon
Chateau Trimoulet Saint-Emilion Grand Cru Bordeaux 2008
Hirsch Bohan-Dillon Sonoma County, Ca 2009
Domaine Mathieu Chateauneuf Du Pape Rhone 2007
Bibb Lettuce Salad
Amity Willamette Valley, Oregon 2008
Russel's Reserve Rye
Pork B And J
Wine Flight - Italy South To North
Burger with Humboldt Fog
Fromage Blanc Ravioli
Chilled Cucumber Soup
Mushroom Ragout
Heirloom Lettuce Salad
Adriano Adami, Garbel Prosecco Brut

Reserve Wine & Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

notable wine list (31)
fit for foodies (27)
special occasion (27)
See All
romantic (18)
hot spot (14)
vibrant bar scene (10)
good for groups (9)
great for lunch (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Menu and food preparation inventive, int ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Menu and food preparation inventive, interesting, and includes use of fresh ingredients. Service was exceptional--friendly, knowledgeable, intuitive, and efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For entrees, we ordered a duck breast, p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

For entrees, we ordered a duck breast, pork loin and three rib eyes. I had the pork loin and it was very good; cooked properly and seasoned well. I know my guests were not impressed with the rib eyes. We also ordered a meat and cheese plate and it was very good. The wait for the entrees was totally unacceptable; asked waitress multiple times and kept being told it is about to hit the window but still no food. When we received it, at least one of the ribeyes was cold

Manager bought one of our rounds of drinks and gave the table a drink special and was very apologetic, as was our waitress.

I've heard good things about the restaurant so obviously was very disappointed to have this exprience.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Reserve is our favorite dining spot in G ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Reserve is our favorite dining spot in Grand Rapids. We initially found it using the Open Table app, and we now try to make a stop every time we're in town. The food is outstandingly fresh, creative and palate-enticing, and the wine list will blow you away. The service is not only friendly, but knowledgeable and also patient with you if you're interested in trying new things. They almost seem as giddy as you are when experimenting with the charcuterie plates and wine pairings. My only wish is that they were closer so I could frequent there more often. Bravo Reserve!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food, well prepared and present ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Terrific food, well prepared and presented, very contemporary, in edgy American urban setting. The opposite of clubby. On my "must" list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, the presentation of ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was great, the presentation of duck breast was really nicely done, our server recommended a wine for my date and she loved it, if I hadn't opted for a glass of bourbon (great selection by the way) I would have complete faith the server will make a terrific recommendation to pair with the meal as well as based off personal preference.

I like the fact you can choose between medium and large entrees so you get just the right amount to satisfy.

The atmosphere is great, music selection, decor, everything. There wasn't anything that would keep me from wanting to come back again, great place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time for dinner. Our wait person B ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

First time for dinner. Our wait person Brendan was so knowledgeable. He suggested the Fish of the day Lionfish. Was spectacular ...just wish portion was larger! Ribeye good but needed different veggie accompaniment. Overall great place will go back when in GR. Very cool outside upstairs eating area too!!

Of course the fries were amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Nice!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great place for a special occasion. Food was fabulous, but portions are not huge. The wine list, however is huge. Kind of pricey. Wait staff was helpful and attentive. Enjoyed our meal very much.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great drink and food-pricey

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Three drinks and an app was $50 which was exposed. The morel app is amazing. Was disappointed to see the bacon app was removed from the menu.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great staff at Reserve - knowledgeable a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great staff at Reserve - knowledgeable and helpful. We were disappointed that the kitchen closed at 10:00 and we didn't know that. Had a vegetarian with us and the food choices were meat and cheese with bread - not what we really thought we would order. Wine selections were very nice, several of our group enjoyed flights which was fun.

I love Reserve but would have chosen a different venue had I known we couldn't order from the menu after 10. That really limits going there after an event. But it is still a favorite place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jason was a really good server. Even cam ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Jason was a really good server. Even came back for lunch the next day with a different group of business associates and Jason was our server again.

Mark and Peter, the managers, make guests feel at home and special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were unable to get our main coarse un ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We were unable to get our main coarse until 5 minutes before we had to leave to see a play at devos hall and they brought us are bill way before we even got our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The service at the Reserve is very poor. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The service at the Reserve is very poor. After we had a cocktail we ordered our evening dinner and it literally took over one hour from the time of ordering to the time of receiving the food after asking the waiter several time and his comment was that our food was in the order to be cooked and served. As if that was not a problem, upon receiving the food the fish I ordered had no taste and turned out to be a very bland plate of food. The restaurant did not appear to overly busy and had very small wait staff. I assume for the long time it took to receive our food the kitchen staff must be extremely small. So I would not recommend this restaurant unless you have all night to sit and wait for your food that in the end does not have any taste and is overly priced for the service and quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

A busy night - Phantom had a 7:30 curtain.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The place was slammed, but the kitchen came through with a few minutes to spare. Our server, Megan, a Reserve vet, was on top of it throughout the early evening rush. Great food, as always. Do ask for prices on cocktails as some of the high-end brands can run $19+.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to try out wine.

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great place to try out wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

loved the agnolotti!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

everything was very good. helpful info from the waitress who knew a great deal about the food. the Agnolotti (with beef sugo, english peas, asparagus) was amazing -- i'm still thinking about it and want more. It was a smaller dish but I savored EVERY bite. my drink was very unique and tasty, plus refreshing - had a cardomon liquor that was savory yet fresh. will most certainly look forward to going back -- if i lived closer, i'd be going back this week to get the agnolotti again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Having just arrived by air, I checked fo ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Having just arrived by air, I checked for good lunch spots and selected Reserve. Beautiful restaurant downtown, easy parking close by and welcoming staff. Both my coworker and I ordered the burger made with ground beef and pork belly. Definitely delicious! I had the pork fat fires which were also tasty. My only regret was not being able to try wines on the extensive wine list due to having to drive to Battle Creek after lunch.

Definitely a place I would frequent if I lived in the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Wine Menu in GR

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

While I can't call myself a regular - we have visited Reserve several times and have always been very pleased with our choice. Hands down - the best wine menu in all of GR. And the food options are exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner before Pops

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food quality was very good, though the menu was limited (we were there at dinner) and the portions were not consistent with the prices. Service was excellent, our waiter was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

We go here somewhat frequently, but this ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We go here somewhat frequently, but this time the service was really lacking. We waited a long time to place our order and by the time we did we decided to skip the cheese course because we didn't have enough time before the show we were supposed to be in. Kind of disappointing because I look forward to that every time I come to reserve because that's one of the things that's known for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Reserve is a gem

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Reserve is a lovely treat that I am so happy is available in Grand Rapids. Its ever changing menu will delight the tastebuds. Do not be afraid to ask questions and try something new. The servers are menu savvy and know their food and wines well. When selecting the meats and cheeses they always steer us in the right direction. The only negative I can think of is when I fall in love with an entree I know it won't be on the menu forever. I still think about meals that I have had a reserve that are no longer on their menu. And am continuing to find new ones to fall in love with. Thank you chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great cheese and charcuterie board. The ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Great cheese and charcuterie board. The Loup de Mer was also delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Lunch

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Needed a good place to take an out of state business group for lunch... something local to GR, where the service would be good, comfortable, casual atmosphere and where we could get in and out in a little over an hour or so... Reserve was the perfect choice. Everyone enjoyed their meal and all were complementary on the food and location... the Reserve hit the mark for this business group.... Thanks!!!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great. We had the charcuter ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Service was great. We had the charcuterie platter with 3 cheese selections and 3 meat selections, the ham terrine was very good. We also had the Vegetable hash with pork belly and over easy egg, the flavors were spot on, the pork belly was not what I had expected more like lardons of bacon for the additional price. The lamb entrée was not worth 30.00 dollars plus, it was overcooked, was not actually even lamb loin, but some amalgamated form of lamb shoulder, portion was small, again, we enjoyed the flavor profiles of the dish everything worked but if your going to charge that much for lamb serve the friggin lamb loin or lamb chop. The chocolate tart was good, presented nicely. They also gave us complimentary dessert which was very thoughtful, it was the grape panna cotta which had to much gelatin, but the thought was nice. Panna Cotta should melt in your mouth chefs. Our server was outstanding, she was very professional and non obtrusive. Cannot recall her name but she was from Texas. Sorry to be so critical about the food, but you asked.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Upstairs dining us the only way to go at ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Upstairs dining us the only way to go at this place. Quiet, relaxing and much more elbow room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Perfect place for dinner after the symphony. Good food, great wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I ate hear in hopes of some good food pa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I ate hear in hopes of some good food paired with wine. The wine was amazing but the food we received was horrible. I ordered chicken and dumplings. The chicken was horrible, it was rubbery and lacked any flavor. It tasted as if it was over boiled. I would have hoped for a nice grilled chicken with a bit more spices to have been added

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Meh. Way overpriced.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Meh. Way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Very nice Wine, Cheese and Charcuterie board

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Enjoyed a very good meal with the wife prior to the symphony here. Nice drink selection, cheese and meats are cut on site. Large and small plates available.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

D.C. guests were not reserved about experience

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

I brought two guests from D.C. who loved the whole experience! They were even talking it the next day.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent Food in GR

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

It is so nice to find a genuine gourmet restaurant in Grand Rapids. The service was excellent from the hostess to the wait staff. We had a cheese and charcuterie tray as an appetizer and it was so good we had another for dessert. The fish is amazing and we had so much fun with the wine flights. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Come with an appetite as you will want t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Come with an appetite as you will want to try everything!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine, great atmosphere, decent food.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We went to Reserve for a date night, and overall it was a great place. The vibe is energetic, but not loud. The service was prompt and friendly. The wine list was great - I am not a big wine drinker, so the flights they offered were perfect for me. I had the prime ribeye and my wife the loup de mer. Both of us were content with our food, but not blown away. We had the chocolate tart for dessert, which similarly was just good. Overall, I'd still highly recommend as a place to go.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great charcuterie and cheese! Wine list is great

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

A little intimidated by the menu items, but it all tasted great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good, but could be bettter

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

Our out of town guests greatly appreciated the décor and atmosphere --it's wonderfully upscale but still Grand Rapids. However, even with a light crowd, service was somewhat inattentive and slow. And make sure that your coffee matches the quality and experience of the wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was excellent, but they were out of ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Food was excellent, but they were out of three of their top offerings. Wine list was good but pricey. Overall a great time -- I definitely plan to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sampling and wine

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

I scheduled this for a date night and it worked perfectly. The sampling menu was a good idea as it allowed up to eat a little without feeling like a meal was between us. The choices were very tasty and a decent value. The server was very helpful in choosing wine and giving us time to decide. We even ordered dessert based on her recommendation. Overall, a very good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wine flight of small tastings were off/f ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Wine flight of small tastings were off/flat and temperature too warm. Separate glass of one of the wines in flight, Conti Costanti Brunello, was perfect. Loves Ice Cream was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was good. Service less than good.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

We were pleased with the food's taste & presentation. However, the service wasn't worth the money in my opinion. We had a cheese plate starter and while the amount of cheese was plentiful it came with 6 small pieces of bread, we asked for more bread after the 6 slices were gone and there was A LOT of cheese left. The server brought 6 more small slices. We asked for more bread and received 3 slices. At that point we just loaded up the bread with cheese since it was clear they didn't want to give us an appropriate amount of bread to eat with the cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Delicious

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We were impressed with our trip to Reserve. Having lived in DC and Nashville our expectations were high. My husband's Prime Rib was perfectly cooked. My seabass was delicious down to the last bite (I wish there had been a little more). Wonderful service. We were fortunate to sit on the second floor in a quieter area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was pretty darn tasty, but I le ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

The food was pretty darn tasty, but I left a little hungry. My friend and I tried the burger (quite good!) and a winter vegetable hash. Next time I'd add a small plate or two as an appetizer, since portion sizes are small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.