About Reserve Wine & Food

Known for their seasonal cuisine and exceptional wine program, Reserve Wine & Food emphasizes quality and consistency across the board – in product, service and the overall experience. With a menu rooted in classics yet updated to today’s style of eating, look for dishes made from locally sourced ingredients at their peak. House made charcuterie, local cheeses, handmade pastas and more make up the approachable menu and complementing the food is the drink – and choices abound at Reserve. The impressive cruvinet system offers over 100 wines by the glass in addition to an extensive bottle list; Reserve’s list is one of the best in the state, and was recognized by USA Today as one of the top ten places in the country offering wine flights. The drink philosophy at Reserve matches that of the food – simply put, to offer the best dining & drinking experience in the region.

201 NW Monroe
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 2:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour daily from 3pm to 6pm

Cross Street:
Monroe & Lyon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 855-9463

Website:
http://www.reservegr.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available for $12

Executive Chef:
Lucas VerHulst & Zach Pisciotta

Private Party Facilities:
A professional staff of friendly and knowledgeable servers are proud to present our seasonal and locally driven menu to guests of 12 - 200. For parties, celebrations and wine tastings from private intimate dinners to extravagant affairs. Casual or formal Reserve will make it memorable.

Private Events: Tailored to meet & exceed your expectations, every event we do is custom. With that said, the options for your private event at Reserve Wine & Food are nearly endless. From casual wine receptions to formal five-course meals, we design evenings to remember.

Whether you have corporate clients to entertain or close family and friends to celebrate with, Reserve has a space that is ideal for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Breymeyer: (616) 855-9463 ext. 104

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Wine Tastings led by our in house sommelier, Peter Marantette the 3rd Thursday of every month at 6pm, the cost is $25 to experience 4 to 5 wines.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:45AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Reserve Wine & Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Notable Wine List (26)
Creative Cuisine (23)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Romantic (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
People Watching (6)
Fun (6)
Tapas (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Worth the Drive (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Authentic (3)
Casual (3)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Cozy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Josh was an awesome server- knew what to food to recommend for a dairy allergy, brought our bill to us in time for us to make it to the symphony. The lamb ragout was too salty for me but otherwise very tasty duck and flank steak according to my guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Hair in food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great wine selection and centrally located. Would definitely recommend for a nice dinner spot in downtown Grand Rapids.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food was mediocre, at best. Spouse had the fish of the day. It defined minimalist. Mine was lamb ruga, which was fair.
The plates were served while we were having cocktails, which was a bit jarring and cost them a wine order. Also, 3-4 people were constantly hanging around the front desk, which gave the always exciting impression of an inside joke of which you are not a part.
The room itself is fine. It just needs food and service to match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Nick our surver was very informative and helpful. He knew the menu and had great recommendations. If you are in Grand Rapids there is no better meeting place. We make it a point to eat there whenever we are on the West side of the state. Well done as always!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I was proposing to my girl friend and requested a private room for dining. It was my sister my girlfriend and kids, the vault was a fantastic quiet space to talk and enjoy the time together. The best part is she said yes

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Everything is beautiful....the food and it's presentation, the ambiance, the whole experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 27, 2017

This is utterly fabulous place ...
Decor , service & food and people who know food!!

Truly Grand Rapids best !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The waitstaff was very knowledgeable and helped me pair wine to food. Also good answers for any menu items I was curious about. They were also attentive but gave me space to enjoy my meal without any sense of being rushed.

High quality food, good portions for the type of cuisine.

Would recommend, will come back again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our dinner experience was fantastic with our loft seating, incredible wine list and wine, awesome entrees, and a wonderful final touch with a creative and delicious desert!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

everything was good , with the exception of our server, who had a habit of schooling us and telling us that we didn't know what we were talking with it came to the food, and that the caesar that we sent back, always came that way. rather uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I brought my wife of 8 years for our anniversary dinner. I requested a table upstairs, however there was a large group in need of the space and they (the Reserve) offered the table under stairs. It was perfect! Allie was our waitress and she could not have been more wonderful. Her knowledge base of the wines to pair with our meal was spot on. She made our evening even more enjoyable than thought possible.
The chef's choice for our large board was amazing. A diverse yet complimenting selection. I don't give five stars lightly, they earned it!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Just A relaxing evening, great service, great atmosphere and great food - can't wait to return!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We have been to the Reserve before but never sat downstairs. What a great time we had, and being downstairs was perfect for our group. Everyone from the staff who greeted us at the door, wait staff and even the chefs made this a memorable evening. Thank you for a beautiful spot to meet with friends and for a staff that made you feel so welcome.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Much improved since our last visit. Each person in our party enjoyed their selections and the wine list was very diverse. Service was good and noise level was moderate.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Jill is great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The server was able to help out group of four turn three "small plates" and two "entrees" into a 2-course tasting menu for us all. Add the charcuterie board and the drinks and we had the perfect meal. Last, we shared two desserts and had coffee. Perfect ending.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We had a great experience at Reserve. The wine and service were wonderful!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent dinner, josh our waiter was very good. The wine list was very good and dining menu offered many options. All very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Group of 7 celebrating new job! It was an excellent dinner, they did celebration toasts of champagne for table. Second time and we will be back often! Love it!! It is the best in GR!'

Tags: Vegan, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A true favorite with us with great food, very friendly staff and a fun vibe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious we had the ribeye, lamb ragu, daily fish find, and the duck breast. Everything was cooked to perfection and tasted great! The wine list is so much bigger than what we were used to. Everything about that restaurant is great! Expensive but great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food is well prepared and presented. The accompaniments are very compatible with the principal dish -- not playing a minor roll but often a co-lead. I thought the portions were more generous than in the past. After sharing johnny cakes with a pimiento laced cheese spread for a starter, I had cacio e pepe, which seemed understated (more cheesy than peppery) but an elegant mac and cheese, and then a favorite main plate, pork belly. The pork was crisp and very well done, and the accompanying kimchi rice with brussels leaves, pear and poached egg was an equal star on this plate. Again, very generous portions in comparison to past experiences. My wife had two small plates -- a collard green salad, which she described as the best ever, and a smoked fish roulette, which was elegant and flavorful. It was a perfect prelude to our evening at the symphony. Very pleasing.

Always a good choice, this seems better.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The atmosphere was outstanding. I made a reservation for 6 the day before. We arrived to a perfect high table in the middle of the first floor. It was ready right on time.
On a less lovely note, the server seemed disinterested in us because our group was all young women getting only wine/cocktails. Understandable because he wasn't going to make as great of money without a food purchase, but it left us feeling burdensome.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fantastic wine selection, very knowledgeable wait staff, great place for before or after events at Devos.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was a get away night downtown with my wife. We hit a few spots for drinks. We then had a very nice dinner at the Reserve. My wife's steak was excellent and my Whiting was perfect. Service was prompt and on task. Gave excellent wine advice. A very nice night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Simply amazing. Great food, great service and even better wine!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Had a nice evening, but it is overpriced. would go back sometime

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We've been to Reserve many times, and will continue to return. The food and wine are excellent. He staff is engaged, knowledge and enthusiastic. It is unique in Grand Rapids. Also, quite convenient if you are attending an event at DeVos Hall. Valet parking makes it effortless, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 14, 2017

At this meal, the food was too inventive. Hot sauce and granola on a white flaky fish? None of our dishes seems to work. The cocktails and wine were good, though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fun place to get together with friends and enjoy a wine flight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have never been dissatisfied with Reserve. We typically celebrate my adult daughter's birthday there, wether it's 2 or 4 of us, and it's usually in December or January so I appreciate the valet parking. Alternative food options and the ability to chat without competing with loud noise are important to us and we love the decor of the old bank building. Our celebratory evening is pricier than our norm, but well worth it!

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

While traveling through Michigan for the holidays I chose Reserve because it seemed the closest to the NYC experience I am accustomed to for a great dining experience. I am a chef from NYC I've worked for some big name chefs. My experience was exactly what I hoped for.

With classic cocktails, a great wine selection, excellent food, and attendant service I felt very much at home. Thank you to the entire staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Underwhelmed with our dinner, slow service, overpriced - limited menu, nothing tasty about our entrees and the food wasn't served at a warm enough temperature.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great wine list and food pairings are great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Reserve is a great spot to visit for dinner before attending an event. We visited for dinner and a bottle of wine before attending the Grand Rapids Ballet performance of the Nutcracker. Service is fantastic and the food is delicious, but it is slightly pricey.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Reserve Wine & Food was a nice place to enjoy a special night out. The food wasn't the most expensive in Grand Rapids but portions were kind of small for the price. I would have to say that it was very tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Reserve continues to be my favorite spot! Thanks for another great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Very disappointed. Had heard good things about the Reserve but all three of our meals were below average for the price. Too many great restaurants in GR to eat bad food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.