Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 9 times today

Reserve Wine & Food

4.6
716 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Notable Wine List
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Known for their seasonal cuisine and exceptional wine program, Reserve Wine & Food emphasizes quality and consistency across the board – in product, service and the overall experience. With a menu rooted in classics yet updated to today’s style of eating, look for dishes made from locally sourced ingredients at their peak. House made charcuterie, local cheeses, handmade pastas and more make up the approachable menu and complementing the food is the drink – and choices abound at Reserve. The impressive cruvinet system offers over 100 wines by the glass in addition to an extensive bottle list; Reserve’s list is one of the best in the state, and was recognized by USA Today as one of the top ten places in the country offering wine flights. The drink philosophy at Reserve matches that of the food – simply put, to offer the best dining & drinking experience in the region.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Fri 11:30 am–11:00 pm
Sat 2:00 pm–11:00 pm
Happy Hour
Mon–Fri 4:00 pm–6:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(616) 855-9463
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Luke VerHulst
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
A professional staff of friendly and knowledgeable servers are proud to present our seasonal and locally driven menu to guests of 12 - 200. For parties, celebrations and wine tastings from private intimate dinners to extravagant affairs. Casual or formal Reserve will make it memorable.

Private Events: Tailored to meet & exceed your expectations, every event we do is custom. With that said, the options for your private event at Reserve Wine & Food are nearly endless. From casual wine receptions to formal five-course meals, we design evenings to remember.

Whether you have corporate clients to entertain or close family and friends to celebrate with, Reserve has a space that is ideal for your event.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Mark Breymeyer: (616) 855-9463 ext. 104
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Monroe & Lyon
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet is available for $12
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Monthly Wine Tastings led by our in house sommelier, Peter Marantette the 3rd Thursday of every month at 6pm, the cost is $25 to experience 4 to 5 wines.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 716 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

I would recommend Reserve as a good dining experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Food extremely over priced nothing special loud hard to hear each other talk across the table

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Mothers day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

A bite to eat before the opera. Service and food were spectacular

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Better get together than date night. The seating is very close and less intimate for a date night. Have had several “girls night” here and it’s wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

It was a wonderful experience, excellent wine choices, friendly atmosphere a good date location

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Food was incredible. I am a picky eater so when I eat at nicer restaurants I get a little nervous because sometimes things are so over the top it’s not enjoyable. This was fancier fare but still recognizable. The pork and ribeye were extraordinary!!! Perfectly prepared, loved the desserts.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Beautiful presentation of plates. Serving size good, not gigantic. Wine a bit over-priced but great selection. Service was great, prompt, and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The kitchen staff, wait staff, and bar folks are creative, knowledgeable and friendly. The charcuterie boards are a great way to start. Rob, Jason and Alex are great at the bar. I have never had disappointing food or service when seated in the table section, either.

Kudos to Rob for his wine knowledge; there is a very, very deep wine inventory here!

Locally sourced produce, cheeses, and meats fill out the menu. Fresh fish are outsourced.
The menu is arranged in "Small" "Medium" and "Dinner" sized servings. Soups and breads are house-made. Desserts are a dream!

Ideal for pre- and post- events at De Vos Performace Hall, or De Vos Convention Center. Valet parking makes for an effortless outing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

We had a good time at the Reserve last Thursday night! The reservation time we wanted was not available, but we were able to get a reservation for 15 minutes before. It ended up not being busy at all, and we probably didn't need the reservation.

Overall the food was great! We started with the cheese and meat plate, which I think is a little too expensive but very good. We then had the duck, gnocchi pasta, and the special stew of the day. All were very delicious!

The wines were good, most of the glasses were between $7 - $15. Of course the waiter "recommended" the most expensive option every time. I was surprised that a nicer wine restaurant would pour the end of the bottle, providing us with sediment in the bottle of one of our glasses of wine.

Overall, the food was fantastic! The service was a little slow, so don't go if you're in a rush or make sure to let you server know you have somewhere to be. I would recommend the Reserve as long as you are okay with paying more than what you might get at other restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Excellent food quality and waitstaff who knows the menu and the extensive wine list well.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Server was very short with me, when I asked questions. Gnocci was good but dry, only had two bits of sausage that I could find, and little flavor. Mussels were excellent. Overpriced for portions served.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Our waiter, Josh, was very knowledgeable and picked the perfect wines to accompany our dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We have started a family tradition of going to The Reserve to celebrate our children's good grades several years ago. We love trying new cheeses & charcuterie along with sharing plates from the ever evolving menu. We usually ask the wait staff for their recommendations & have not been disappointed. Come with an open mind & you will definitely enjoy your visit!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Service (Tyler) was AMAZING, 10-stars! Just not blown away by the food....we went for our anniversary and were recommended the Chicken for two...its was a bit dry and lacking in flavor! VERY disappointed in the Chicken! Although the Beef Bolongese was great! Not sure we will be back....

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Food was excellent. Service was a bit disorganized, one of those night were things just didn’t go quite right; but our server was very responsive and accommodating, so all in all we had a good experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

As always, a wonderful evening with unique, well-thought small plates, entrees and desserts. Seasonal, fresh, and hand-prepared.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Never disappointed here. Service, food, ambiance, great bar & deep wine selections.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Kris was the best! He was extremely knowledgeable about the wine menu and the food menu. He was super friendly, witty and we enjoyed his sense of humor. All our food and wine flights were amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We had a lovely dinner before heading to the symphony. My wine was perfect, our server was knowledgeable, and we loved the beet salad and the potato leek soup.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Extensive wine list and tasty food creatively displayed. Leek-potato soup was the best I've ever had. Server was personable and knowledgeable. Would definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Excellent. Ever since they got the new chef, the food has been steadily improving.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Always a favorite! The duck breast was hands down the best meal I have ever had!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Great atmosphere....fantastic wine list with many reasonably priced wines by the glass. For starters, shared the duck fat fries with our group of five...very tasty. Nice selection of pastas cooked just right.
Nice crowd ... dressed from casual to dressy. Good place to go for special occasions. Hadn't been there for a while, will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 21, 2018

The happy hour here is great, especially if you are just looking for drinks and appetizers! Very nice atmosphere as well!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Great entrees, great wines

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

At the end of this meal, my friend and I both agreed it was one of the best experiences we have ever had. From drinks all the way to dessert, it was spectacular. The food was incredible...perfect portions, amazing flavor combinations, and brilliant finishes. Our server, Rachel, was very knowledgable about the menu, and she had fantastic recommendations when we were feeling indecisive. 100% will make this my new go-to spot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

We went after a show at DeVos and had a wonderful meal. I chose Reserve because of their innovative menu and the terrific wine selection. The fois gras torchon and the squid starters were excellent. The fish was excellent as was the mushroom pasta. I had the steak tartare as my meal as the starters were generous. Our server was attentive. We were there for an early dinner and it was busy downstairs but the noise level was very good upstairs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The atmosphere is great - upscale feel while still relaxed. The use of space is excellent for controlling noise level and allowing for different seating options. Everyone loved their food. The wine flights were fun and the servers were very knowledgeable about the wine selection. Service level was attentive but not intrusive. My friends and I will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 17, 2018

There is about two things on the menu that is edible, which is the crostinis and pizza. Mediocre but with a glass of wine it is decent.

The spaghetti is equivalent to Chef Boyardee and the ragu is worse than a poorly made Hamburger Helper.

They need help.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Not many vegan or vegetarian options. Me and my wife had a couple of glasses of wine and left. Ended up going to San Chez which is extremely vegan and vegetarian friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

My wife and i stopped here for dinner on Friday night. Really glad we chose this restaurant. The wine menu was extensive, the restaurant was nicely appointed and comfortable, and the service was outstanding. Tyler was our server and he was friendly and familiar with the menu. We sampled several flights of wine and filled up on small plates, as they were too delicious too skip! We never even ordered an entree.

Yes it's a bit pricey, but worth the money. We would definitely come here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Great food, wine, and service, as always. They have the best charcuterie board around, hands down, and the wine selection by the glass or bottle is impressive. Unfortunately, when it’s busy, it’s quite loud and you sit right next to people, which is my only dislike of the place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Noteable wine selections with a great menu for pairing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Our server, Christopher, was phenomenal! He made outstanding recommendations and we really had one of the best meals!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Food and service is awesome, ask for Josh, he did a great job.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

The quality of the food has been steadily improving, and the service is excellent as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Delightful! We shared several small plates before our main course. The beet salad was outstanding...as was the pasta dish. The wine pairings were perfect. All of the food was creative, surprising and delicious. The service was perfect...enthusiastic and professional. There was one thing that wasn't quite as good as the rest and the waiter noticed I hadn't eaten much of it. After dinner the manager came to the table to apologize for it. I told him it was good, just not as good as everything else. He adjusted our bill accordingly without our asking. They really care about the food being the best it can be. I highly recommend this place. It is definately fit for a foodie. Oh.....and the chocolate dessert was unusual and wonderful! Try it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Its a bit overpriced. The food was good but some of it was just regular something with a fancy name and a high price. Was a bit noisy and the people next to us REEKED of smoke the entire time, not the restaurants fault but you do sit close enough to people to notice this.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Reserve is a regular favorite. Food preparation is imaginative and well constructed, with excellent product. Waitstaff is knowledgeable and helpful -- sometimes a bit more than needed but it's nice to know they know what they are serving. Excellent wine list and bar service.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18