About Reserve Wine & Food

201 NW Monroe
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Known for their seasonal cuisine and exceptional wine program, Reserve Wine & Food emphasizes quality and consistency across the board – in product, service and the overall experience. With a menu rooted in classics yet updated to today’s style of eating, look for dishes made from locally sourced ingredients at their peak. House made charcuterie, local cheeses, handmade pastas and more make up the approachable menu and complementing the food is the drink – and choices abound at Reserve. The impressive cruvinet system offers over 100 wines by the glass in addition to an extensive bottle list; Reserve’s list is one of the best in the state, and was recognized by USA Today as one of the top ten places in the country offering wine flights. The drink philosophy at Reserve matches that of the food – simply put, to offer the best dining & drinking experience in the region.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm, Saturday: 2:00pm - 12:00am
Kitchen closes: 10:00pm Monday - Thursday, 11:00pm Friday & Saturday
Charcuterie Bar open all night!
Happy Hour daily from 3pm to 6pm

Cross Street:
Monroe & Lyon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 855-9463

Website:
http://www.reservegr.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available for $12

Executive Chef:
Lucas VerHulst & Zach Pisciotta

Private Party Facilities:
A professional staff of friendly and knowledgeable servers are proud to present our seasonal and locally driven menu to guests of 12 - 200. For parties, celebrations and wine tastings from private intimate dinners to extravagant affairs. Casual or formal Reserve will make it memorable.

Private Events: Tailored to meet & exceed your expectations, every event we do is custom. With that said, the options for your private event at Reserve Wine & Food are nearly endless. From casual wine receptions to formal five-course meals, we design evenings to remember.

Whether you have corporate clients to entertain or close family and friends to celebrate with, Reserve has a space that is ideal for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Breymeyer: 6168559463x104

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Wine Tastings led by our in house sommelier, Peter Marantette the 3rd Thursday of every month at 6pm, the cost is $20 to experience 4 to 5 wines.

Restaurant Photos

Reserve Wine & Food
Cheese Plate - Reserve Wine & Food
Charcu - Reserve Wine & Food
charcuterie - Reserve Wine & Food
Chardonnay - Reserve Wine & Food
St. Julian Riesling - Reserve Wine & Food
Scallops - Reserve Wine & Food
Dry-Aged Ribeye - Reserve Wine & Food
Sweet Gnocci With Rock N Rye Apples And Formage Blanc - Reserve Wine & Food
Chocolate Terrine - Reserve Wine & Food
Purple Hands Merlot/Syrah/Pinot Noir/Cab Sauv, Oregon 2009 - Reserve Wine & Food
Strauss Veal Chop - Reserve Wine & Food
Pain Perdu - Reserve Wine & Food
Chicken and dumplings - Reserve Wine & Food
Oysters - Reserve Wine & Food
Chateau Trimoulet Saint-Emilion Grand Cru Bordeaux 2008 - Reserve Wine & Food
Marcel Lapierre Morgan Beaujolais 2010 - Reserve Wine & Food
Domaine Mathieu Chateauneuf Du Pape Rhone 2007 - Reserve Wine & Food
Vanilla Bean Bacon - Reserve Wine & Food
Hirsch Bohan-Dillon Sonoma County, Ca 2009 - Reserve Wine & Food
Bibb Lettuce Salad - Reserve Wine & Food
Amity Willamette Valley, Oregon 2008 - Reserve Wine & Food
Russel's Reserve Rye - Reserve Wine & Food
Wine Flight - Italy South To North - Reserve Wine & Food
Pork B And J - Reserve Wine & Food
Chilled Cucumber Soup - Reserve Wine & Food
Fromage Blanc Ravioli - Reserve Wine & Food
Burger with Humboldt Fog - Reserve Wine & Food
Mushroom Ragout - Reserve Wine & Food
Heirloom Lettuce Salad - Reserve Wine & Food
Adriano Adami, Garbel Prosecco Brut - Reserve Wine & Food

Reserve Wine & Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

Notable Wine List (23)
Special Occasion (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Romantic (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Cozy (2)
Casual (2)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were very disappointed. We have alway ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were very disappointed. We have always loved Reserve until this last visit. The menu was limited and over priced. We used to love the charcuterie and cheese and now there are not the choices like before. It was freezing cold in there and I was uncomfortable the entire meal. Probably won't be back:(

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We were surprised that nothing was offer ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We were surprised that nothing was offered to celebrate a birthday. Only after asking the server and after my husband had dessert was a glass of champagne offered. Several downtown GR restaurants offer B1G1 on dinners for two on birthdays, or at least an appetizer. The food was good, but not outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very good and we enjoyed ou ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The food was very good and we enjoyed our meal. It was a little loud outside, but the weather was to nice to stay in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We made a reservation because this resta ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We made a reservation because this restaurant was recommended. The restaurant was only half way full and we were seated at the worst table in the restaurant, directly by the kitchen door- a four top for two. Our server was very good- but that is about I can say was good about our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

The Reserve used to be our favorite rest ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The Reserve used to be our favorite restaurant, we would drive an hour to eat there. But not anymore! Do not like the menu! Wine has not changed. Service slow !! I would not recommend it ever again! We were so disappointed!! Sorry it hurts me to say that too!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value5

Our party made a reservation and when we ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our party made a reservation and when we arrived early the hostess was very nice and indicated the table would be ready in a few minutes. When the group at the table we were supposed to have decided to extend their stay the staff had to juggle arrangements. The hostess and management staff graciously directed us to The Vault downstairs. What a great private room that we were not anticipating getting to use. Nice ambiance and a fun space. Our waiter was very good and offered amazing suggestions given people's preferences (dry, sweet...). Overall our time was great. We are definitely going back for our Christmas party! Thanks The Reserve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Almost every time we come to Grand Rapid ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Almost every time we come to Grand Rapids we visit the Reserve and are never disappointed with their unique fresh dishes. I had their special, blackened cod with a raspberry sauce. Beyond amazing! Staff is always knowledgeable on food and wine pairings. Easy walking distance from hotels. Cheese and charcuterie also superior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been there before, thought we would try ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Been there before, thought we would try it again.

Pros: friendly , knowledgeable and attentive staff.

Good wine selection.

Cons: not a great food /appetizer menu.

Pricey for what you get.

Food not great.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Only suggestions would be to upgrade the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Only suggestions would be to upgrade the dessert menu.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Lunch was quiet. Service was friendly an ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Lunch was quiet. Service was friendly and attentive (server's name Jason?) Menu excellent, interesting choices. Quality of food excellent. Tasty. Excellent service. Price is fair.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I spent way too much money when we came ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I spent way too much money when we came here because I was like a kid in a candy store. I was meeting my best friend to catch up and drink some wine. The food was fabulous. I'm upset I can't give this place more stars. It's slightly fancier than I am used to, but I didn't feel out of place. It was inviting and warm. It was quiet and calm enough on a Friday night that we could sit and talk for hours and not feel like we were annoying the waitress by being there longer. Food is farm to table, and all ingredients are local, which I absolutely love. Will definitely be coming here again.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jason is a wonderful server, engaging, k ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Jason is a wonderful server, engaging, knowledgeable and efficient. The food was great - excellent tasting menu for restaurant week and a very good value. Wine was superb - as always.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my first time at the Reserve. It ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

It was my first time at the Reserve. It was recommended by a GR friend. We were very pleased with the food and the service. We would go there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was excellent. We enjoyed the resta ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was excellent. We enjoyed the restaurant week specials. Wait Staff Justin (maybe Jason?) and Jose were fabulous. Very knowledgable, personable and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We had reservations for a party of six o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had reservations for a party of six on a weeknight. After we asked to be moved upstairs, (they had wanted us to be seated right behind the hostess stand), we had a lovely experience. Wait staff very attentive and noise level greatly reduced for this group of six to catch up and renew old friendships. And the food was absolutely excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great wine and cheese list.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great wine and cheese list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu and food preparation inventive, int ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Menu and food preparation inventive, interesting, and includes use of fresh ingredients. Service was exceptional--friendly, knowledgeable, intuitive, and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For entrees, we ordered a duck breast, p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

For entrees, we ordered a duck breast, pork loin and three rib eyes. I had the pork loin and it was very good; cooked properly and seasoned well. I know my guests were not impressed with the rib eyes. We also ordered a meat and cheese plate and it was very good. The wait for the entrees was totally unacceptable; asked waitress multiple times and kept being told it is about to hit the window but still no food. When we received it, at least one of the ribeyes was cold

Manager bought one of our rounds of drinks and gave the table a drink special and was very apologetic, as was our waitress.

I've heard good things about the restaurant so obviously was very disappointed to have this exprience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Reserve is our favorite dining spot in G ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Reserve is our favorite dining spot in Grand Rapids. We initially found it using the Open Table app, and we now try to make a stop every time we're in town. The food is outstandingly fresh, creative and palate-enticing, and the wine list will blow you away. The service is not only friendly, but knowledgeable and also patient with you if you're interested in trying new things. They almost seem as giddy as you are when experimenting with the charcuterie plates and wine pairings. My only wish is that they were closer so I could frequent there more often. Bravo Reserve!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food, well prepared and present ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Terrific food, well prepared and presented, very contemporary, in edgy American urban setting. The opposite of clubby. On my "must" list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, the presentation of ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was great, the presentation of duck breast was really nicely done, our server recommended a wine for my date and she loved it, if I hadn't opted for a glass of bourbon (great selection by the way) I would have complete faith the server will make a terrific recommendation to pair with the meal as well as based off personal preference.

I like the fact you can choose between medium and large entrees so you get just the right amount to satisfy.

The atmosphere is great, music selection, decor, everything. There wasn't anything that would keep me from wanting to come back again, great place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time for dinner. Our wait person B ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

First time for dinner. Our wait person Brendan was so knowledgeable. He suggested the Fish of the day Lionfish. Was spectacular ...just wish portion was larger! Ribeye good but needed different veggie accompaniment. Overall great place will go back when in GR. Very cool outside upstairs eating area too!!

Of course the fries were amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Nice!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great place for a special occasion. Food was fabulous, but portions are not huge. The wine list, however is huge. Kind of pricey. Wait staff was helpful and attentive. Enjoyed our meal very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great drink and food-pricey

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Three drinks and an app was $50 which was exposed. The morel app is amazing. Was disappointed to see the bacon app was removed from the menu.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great staff at Reserve - knowledgeable a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great staff at Reserve - knowledgeable and helpful. We were disappointed that the kitchen closed at 10:00 and we didn't know that. Had a vegetarian with us and the food choices were meat and cheese with bread - not what we really thought we would order. Wine selections were very nice, several of our group enjoyed flights which was fun.

I love Reserve but would have chosen a different venue had I known we couldn't order from the menu after 10. That really limits going there after an event. But it is still a favorite place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jason was a really good server. Even cam ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Jason was a really good server. Even came back for lunch the next day with a different group of business associates and Jason was our server again.

Mark and Peter, the managers, make guests feel at home and special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were unable to get our main coarse un ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We were unable to get our main coarse until 5 minutes before we had to leave to see a play at devos hall and they brought us are bill way before we even got our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The service at the Reserve is very poor. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The service at the Reserve is very poor. After we had a cocktail we ordered our evening dinner and it literally took over one hour from the time of ordering to the time of receiving the food after asking the waiter several time and his comment was that our food was in the order to be cooked and served. As if that was not a problem, upon receiving the food the fish I ordered had no taste and turned out to be a very bland plate of food. The restaurant did not appear to overly busy and had very small wait staff. I assume for the long time it took to receive our food the kitchen staff must be extremely small. So I would not recommend this restaurant unless you have all night to sit and wait for your food that in the end does not have any taste and is overly priced for the service and quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

A busy night - Phantom had a 7:30 curtain.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The place was slammed, but the kitchen came through with a few minutes to spare. Our server, Megan, a Reserve vet, was on top of it throughout the early evening rush. Great food, as always. Do ask for prices on cocktails as some of the high-end brands can run $19+.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to try out wine.

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great place to try out wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

loved the agnolotti!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

everything was very good. helpful info from the waitress who knew a great deal about the food. the Agnolotti (with beef sugo, english peas, asparagus) was amazing -- i'm still thinking about it and want more. It was a smaller dish but I savored EVERY bite. my drink was very unique and tasty, plus refreshing - had a cardomon liquor that was savory yet fresh. will most certainly look forward to going back -- if i lived closer, i'd be going back this week to get the agnolotti again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Having just arrived by air, I checked fo ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Having just arrived by air, I checked for good lunch spots and selected Reserve. Beautiful restaurant downtown, easy parking close by and welcoming staff. Both my coworker and I ordered the burger made with ground beef and pork belly. Definitely delicious! I had the pork fat fires which were also tasty. My only regret was not being able to try wines on the extensive wine list due to having to drive to Battle Creek after lunch.

Definitely a place I would frequent if I lived in the area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Wine Menu in GR

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

While I can't call myself a regular - we have visited Reserve several times and have always been very pleased with our choice. Hands down - the best wine menu in all of GR. And the food options are exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner before Pops

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food quality was very good, though the menu was limited (we were there at dinner) and the portions were not consistent with the prices. Service was excellent, our waiter was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

We go here somewhat frequently, but this ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We go here somewhat frequently, but this time the service was really lacking. We waited a long time to place our order and by the time we did we decided to skip the cheese course because we didn't have enough time before the show we were supposed to be in. Kind of disappointing because I look forward to that every time I come to reserve because that's one of the things that's known for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Reserve is a gem

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Reserve is a lovely treat that I am so happy is available in Grand Rapids. Its ever changing menu will delight the tastebuds. Do not be afraid to ask questions and try something new. The servers are menu savvy and know their food and wines well. When selecting the meats and cheeses they always steer us in the right direction. The only negative I can think of is when I fall in love with an entree I know it won't be on the menu forever. I still think about meals that I have had a reserve that are no longer on their menu. And am continuing to find new ones to fall in love with. Thank you chef!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great cheese and charcuterie board. The ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Great cheese and charcuterie board. The Loup de Mer was also delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Lunch

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Needed a good place to take an out of state business group for lunch... something local to GR, where the service would be good, comfortable, casual atmosphere and where we could get in and out in a little over an hour or so... Reserve was the perfect choice. Everyone enjoyed their meal and all were complementary on the food and location... the Reserve hit the mark for this business group.... Thanks!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great. We had the charcuter ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Service was great. We had the charcuterie platter with 3 cheese selections and 3 meat selections, the ham terrine was very good. We also had the Vegetable hash with pork belly and over easy egg, the flavors were spot on, the pork belly was not what I had expected more like lardons of bacon for the additional price. The lamb entrée was not worth 30.00 dollars plus, it was overcooked, was not actually even lamb loin, but some amalgamated form of lamb shoulder, portion was small, again, we enjoyed the flavor profiles of the dish everything worked but if your going to charge that much for lamb serve the friggin lamb loin or lamb chop. The chocolate tart was good, presented nicely. They also gave us complimentary dessert which was very thoughtful, it was the grape panna cotta which had to much gelatin, but the thought was nice. Panna Cotta should melt in your mouth chefs. Our server was outstanding, she was very professional and non obtrusive. Cannot recall her name but she was from Texas. Sorry to be so critical about the food, but you asked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Upstairs dining us the only way to go at ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Upstairs dining us the only way to go at this place. Quiet, relaxing and much more elbow room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.