About Reserve Wine & Food

Known for their seasonal cuisine and exceptional wine program, Reserve Wine & Food emphasizes quality and consistency across the board – in product, service and the overall experience. With a menu rooted in classics yet updated to today’s style of eating, look for dishes made from locally sourced ingredients at their peak. House made charcuterie, local cheeses, handmade pastas and more make up the approachable menu and complementing the food is the drink – and choices abound at Reserve. The impressive cruvinet system offers over 100 wines by the glass in addition to an extensive bottle list; Reserve’s list is one of the best in the state, and was recognized by USA Today as one of the top ten places in the country offering wine flights. The drink philosophy at Reserve matches that of the food – simply put, to offer the best dining & drinking experience in the region.

201 NW Monroe
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 2:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour daily from 3pm to 6pm

Cross Street:
Monroe & Lyon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 855-9463

Website:
http://www.reservegr.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available for $12

Executive Chef:
Luke VerHulst

Private Party Facilities:
A professional staff of friendly and knowledgeable servers are proud to present our seasonal and locally driven menu to guests of 12 - 200. For parties, celebrations and wine tastings from private intimate dinners to extravagant affairs. Casual or formal Reserve will make it memorable.

Private Events: Tailored to meet & exceed your expectations, every event we do is custom. With that said, the options for your private event at Reserve Wine & Food are nearly endless. From casual wine receptions to formal five-course meals, we design evenings to remember.

Whether you have corporate clients to entertain or close family and friends to celebrate with, Reserve has a space that is ideal for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Breymeyer: (616) 855-9463 ext. 104

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Wine Tastings led by our in house sommelier, Peter Marantette the 3rd Thursday of every month at 6pm, the cost is $25 to experience 4 to 5 wines.

Reserve Wine & Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (22)
Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Business Meals (10)
Fun (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Romantic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Healthy (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Cozy (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
648 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Really enjoyed dinner at Reserve. Have a great time every time I go. Our waiter picked up on our vibes and had fun with us. Very knowledgeable about the wine and the food. Would definitely go back.

Can get a little pricey, so more of a special occasion place for me. However, can certainly be less pricey depending on how you order.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Superb dining in the heart of the city. Convenient to DeVos Centre and the Amway Grand. Upscale yet comfortable. Cruvinet bar with a wine selection second to none. Friendly atmosphere and outstanding service. Valet parking available.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Authentic, Romantic, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

A downtown Grand Rapids restaurant with an excellent and fully deserved reputation. Reserve has an inviting dining area decorated with interesting art, including the 2009 ArtPrize winning painting; an attentive and knowledgeable staff; a noteworthy wine and beverage list; and a menu full of surprises and pleasures. We were a party of four, one of whom had mobility issues, that needed to be done at a certain time so we could go to the opera, and they accommodated us well. Highly recommend

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Cold soup, undercooked risotto. Very small portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

My friend and I had a great time at Reserve. The service was perfect, the wine amazing and the food delicious. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to all.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Awesome service on a secluded covered upper level patio. Fantastic wine list and delicious small plates.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great food and service. Highly recommend the cheese plate. Portions are not big and wine pours are light, especially the flights. A little pricey, but if they were a little more generous on the pours I would give a higher rating in value.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Girls night with my daughter started out a little slow on the service, but ended with fabulous food and extra special attention from the manager and our server! We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Always a great place for wine, food and great service! Perfect before a show.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We had friends in for ArtPrize and thought the Reserve would be the best choice in town. It is still a fine restaurant but for some reason, our food came out with much too long a wait and not all of it hot. All in all, we were not totally disappointed and will certainly go back but hopefully to more prompt execution on the entres.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 25, 2017

We had a wonderful experience and thoroughly enjoyed the great food, paired with perfect wine.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

The service is always attentive, but not intrusive. It's a delight to dine somewhere where you don't have to shout to be heard. And, of course, the food is creatively presented and wonderfully tasty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We were disappointed in the ambiance upstairs. It feels like you are in a diner. The food was OK, not great. I would return for wine and a charcuterie board but not dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 22, 2017

The trout was good, but the portion was tiny. Husband ordered the burger, but only had 2 bites. He said it tasted like fish. We probabaly wont be back unless it's just for appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

For a birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The restaurant has a beautiful ambience. Food quality has Ben improved since I was last there. Service was a bit slow at the beginning but was made up at the end.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a great time dining at The Reserve. Found it to be a very special place and hope to return in the future.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always a great meal with lots of variety in selections and sides. Charcuterie plates are superb with the wines. Knowledgeable wait staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Gin & Tonic Tonic was flat. Came with lemon. Should be lime.

Cheese platter. Poor. Everything was white. White cheese. White bread. More white cheese. 3 migit pickles. Ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Wine selection is good. The appetizers were on point but my steak was a big hunk of fat with some meat so.. that was disappointing.

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Loved our experience! Went for our anniversary. Great waitstaff!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

WE loved it overall, but several dished were too salty.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Been there over 10 times. Inventive menu and creative recipes, but.... execution not as good, recently. Portions have gotten too small for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Another outstanding dinner at Reserve. We love the professional wait staff, all of whom are well-versed in the available wines and recommend great wine pairings with the food. The way to eat here is to start with the Charcuterie course and a glass (or flight) of wines, and then proceed course by course. Excellent creativity from the kitchen. The pasta we ordered was small enough for an appetizer, especially if shared by two people.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Tried it as part of restaurant week and will be back! Wine was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

We ate dinner at Reserve during GR restaurant week and decided to come back often. The meals were well crafted and delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Had fish of the day, salad, appetizer, two desserts, and two cocktails. Food seemed very salty. Unusual and very mild flavor combinations, stronger flavors would have been better, as would more acidic balance. Wine was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

The service was great, very friendly and attentive staff. Food and wine were delicious and unique. It was more than I'd typically spend going out to eat, but I can see it being a fun place to go for a special occasion or date night. Nothing wrong with splurging on good food and drinks every now and then!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Fantastic wine, food and service. Ambience was awesome sitting outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 27, 2017

I love Reserve it's one of my favorite places to go but unfortunately did not have the best initial experience. We had a reservation and were sat on time and it almost 15 minutes till a waiter came over to get us even waters. A table that was right next to us was seated after us and had a waiter sooner then we did. We had to ask there waiter if he was ours and he said he would go find out. Once we got our waiter. She was lovely and service was great after that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Wish our waiter was more personable. He barely spoke 2 words to us and he was NOT busy. We were there celebrating our anniversary and he never ask anything about us. When we asked for suggestions, be it on wine or food, he seemed less than thrilled. And they ran out of one of the drinks on happy hour menu, so my husband ordered a different one. Would have been nice to have gotten happy hour price. Customer service is everything. Wont go out our way to go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The service was outstanding. Tyler was our server and he did an amazing job. The food, was beyond great and the experience was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was fantastic. The wine was good, if maybe a little fussy. Service was slower than expected, despite having a less than half-full house.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Simply delicious food, artfully prepared. Enthusiastic and well Informed waitstaff

Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I think the menu changed for the summer recently. My staple favorites were still there and good.
One persons main dish of Lamb was overcooked (I think) and tough to chew. Other than that was all good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent wine selection which allows you to taste a variety of rare hard to find wines. Food is very good for the price

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I made this reservation because my daughter came to Grand Rapids on business and I wanted someplace she could walk to from her hotel. We were greeted and seated promptly. Our waiter arrived and after getting drink orders came back and began to tell us about all the fine wines they had. I interrupted him and said "we don't drink wine". He said, "If you don't drink wine, why are you here at the 3rd. largest wine cellar in the country"? From there on the experience
went down hill. Obviously, the waiter decided we weren't sophisticated enough to dine, especially without wine. He did, however, continue to pepper us with descriptions of wines... and when my wife wanted to modify a salad, he essentially said it wasn't possible. So far, not a stellar experience!

Then the food. I would expect a place this upscale and 'esoteric' would have food that reflected that. Not so. Once you got beyond the fancy descriptions and the presentation, the taste was unimpressive. It was more about presentation than flavor. Maybe if we drank enough wine with it, it would improve its quality and taste...

We did not finish any of the food. In deference to the alcohol based menu, I did order a beer.

I have had dinner at a number of places through the Midwest. I will have to say, this was one of the most, if not the most disappointing dining experience I have had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We wanted to check out a place to eat in downtown Grand Rapids, and this was recommended to us by a microbrewery person. The food was good, but not great. The lamb ragu could have used more actual tomato sauce to coat the pasta. The monkfish was very good, but the beans were a bit salty. But the two desserts were excellent! Save room for that last course!
The prices were okay, but not a great deal. Valet parking was twelve dollars.
However, if we do go back there it will be because of our main server, Alex. He was very knowledgable of the menu and so gracious and fun; he redeemed the evening for us! The other servers were also very nice and on the ball.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great wine selection available by glass or taste. Knowledgeable and friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The meals we ordered were amazing. Great food pairings. Great pace. We were not hurried and that felt good. We did three courses in about 85 minutes, perfect for catching a production at the Civic afterward. Wait staff was quietly concientious of our needs and readiness. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.