About Reserve Wine & Food

Known for their seasonal cuisine and exceptional wine program, Reserve Wine & Food emphasizes quality and consistency across the board – in product, service and the overall experience. With a menu rooted in classics yet updated to today’s style of eating, look for dishes made from locally sourced ingredients at their peak. House made charcuterie, local cheeses, handmade pastas and more make up the approachable menu and complementing the food is the drink – and choices abound at Reserve. The impressive cruvinet system offers over 100 wines by the glass in addition to an extensive bottle list; Reserve’s list is one of the best in the state, and was recognized by USA Today as one of the top ten places in the country offering wine flights. The drink philosophy at Reserve matches that of the food – simply put, to offer the best dining & drinking experience in the region.

201 NW Monroe
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 2:00pm - 11:00pm

Happy Hour daily from 3pm to 6pm

Cross Street:
Monroe & Lyon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 855-9463

Website:
http://www.reservegr.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is available for $12

Executive Chef:
Luke VerHulst

Private Party Facilities:
A professional staff of friendly and knowledgeable servers are proud to present our seasonal and locally driven menu to guests of 12 - 200. For parties, celebrations and wine tastings from private intimate dinners to extravagant affairs. Casual or formal Reserve will make it memorable.

Private Events: Tailored to meet & exceed your expectations, every event we do is custom. With that said, the options for your private event at Reserve Wine & Food are nearly endless. From casual wine receptions to formal five-course meals, we design evenings to remember.

Whether you have corporate clients to entertain or close family and friends to celebrate with, Reserve has a space that is ideal for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Breymeyer: (616) 855-9463 ext. 104

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Wine Tastings led by our in house sommelier, Peter Marantette the 3rd Thursday of every month at 6pm, the cost is $25 to experience 4 to 5 wines.

Reserve Wine & Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (23)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (4)
Romantic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fun (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Cozy (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Authentic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
622 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We ate dinner at Reserve during GR restaurant week and decided to come back often. The meals were well crafted and delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Had fish of the day, salad, appetizer, two desserts, and two cocktails. Food seemed very salty. Unusual and very mild flavor combinations, stronger flavors would have been better, as would more acidic balance. Wine was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

The service was great, very friendly and attentive staff. Food and wine were delicious and unique. It was more than I'd typically spend going out to eat, but I can see it being a fun place to go for a special occasion or date night. Nothing wrong with splurging on good food and drinks every now and then!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Fantastic wine, food and service. Ambience was awesome sitting outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 27, 2017

I love Reserve it's one of my favorite places to go but unfortunately did not have the best initial experience. We had a reservation and were sat on time and it almost 15 minutes till a waiter came over to get us even waters. A table that was right next to us was seated after us and had a waiter sooner then we did. We had to ask there waiter if he was ours and he said he would go find out. Once we got our waiter. She was lovely and service was great after that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Wish our waiter was more personable. He barely spoke 2 words to us and he was NOT busy. We were there celebrating our anniversary and he never ask anything about us. When we asked for suggestions, be it on wine or food, he seemed less than thrilled. And they ran out of one of the drinks on happy hour menu, so my husband ordered a different one. Would have been nice to have gotten happy hour price. Customer service is everything. Wont go out our way to go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The service was outstanding. Tyler was our server and he did an amazing job. The food, was beyond great and the experience was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was fantastic. The wine was good, if maybe a little fussy. Service was slower than expected, despite having a less than half-full house.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Simply delicious food, artfully prepared. Enthusiastic and well Informed waitstaff

Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I think the menu changed for the summer recently. My staple favorites were still there and good.
One persons main dish of Lamb was overcooked (I think) and tough to chew. Other than that was all good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent wine selection which allows you to taste a variety of rare hard to find wines. Food is very good for the price

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I made this reservation because my daughter came to Grand Rapids on business and I wanted someplace she could walk to from her hotel. We were greeted and seated promptly. Our waiter arrived and after getting drink orders came back and began to tell us about all the fine wines they had. I interrupted him and said "we don't drink wine". He said, "If you don't drink wine, why are you here at the 3rd. largest wine cellar in the country"? From there on the experience
went down hill. Obviously, the waiter decided we weren't sophisticated enough to dine, especially without wine. He did, however, continue to pepper us with descriptions of wines... and when my wife wanted to modify a salad, he essentially said it wasn't possible. So far, not a stellar experience!

Then the food. I would expect a place this upscale and 'esoteric' would have food that reflected that. Not so. Once you got beyond the fancy descriptions and the presentation, the taste was unimpressive. It was more about presentation than flavor. Maybe if we drank enough wine with it, it would improve its quality and taste...

We did not finish any of the food. In deference to the alcohol based menu, I did order a beer.

I have had dinner at a number of places through the Midwest. I will have to say, this was one of the most, if not the most disappointing dining experience I have had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We wanted to check out a place to eat in downtown Grand Rapids, and this was recommended to us by a microbrewery person. The food was good, but not great. The lamb ragu could have used more actual tomato sauce to coat the pasta. The monkfish was very good, but the beans were a bit salty. But the two desserts were excellent! Save room for that last course!
The prices were okay, but not a great deal. Valet parking was twelve dollars.
However, if we do go back there it will be because of our main server, Alex. He was very knowledgable of the menu and so gracious and fun; he redeemed the evening for us! The other servers were also very nice and on the ball.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great wine selection available by glass or taste. Knowledgeable and friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The meals we ordered were amazing. Great food pairings. Great pace. We were not hurried and that felt good. We did three courses in about 85 minutes, perfect for catching a production at the Civic afterward. Wait staff was quietly concientious of our needs and readiness. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

An exceptional atmosphere and wonderful menu! The location is so convenient and the service is amazing. Wine, cocktails, appetizers, and entrees are amazing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food, especially the cheese, charcuterie tray, the duck breast , and the brook trout salad were excellent. But it was a bit pricy, especially the wine selections, most were over 12 dollars a glass, should have more inexpensive options.

Tags: Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I've dined here on several occasions but this time the service was less than stellar. For the prices, I'd expect better service. The food and wine were excellent, as always.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Our server Josh was FANTASTIC!!!! We will be back to see him. He knows the wines well and made some great recommendations.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great food. Nice ambiance. Hidden gem. Easy to get in. Menu now has nice entrées for dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 25, 2017

disappointed. I have wanted to try this restaurant for years. I ordered the Vintage flight and my friend ordered the Pino Noir flight. We both that they were just OK and very expensive for what we got. We started with the charcuterie tray and then couldn't really find anything to have for dinner :( Price is very expensive for what you get. Will not come back here.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We love going to the Reserve. The attraction is the wine list. It varies, but our most recent experience was a super WOW!. What a variety of unusual European and domestic wines that were fantastic, all by the glass. What a value in itself. Food is always good, and the table service is excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Everything was excellent. Friendly, helpful staff, very courteous.
Great welcome at the entrance. Food was unique and delicious.
Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We four had an excellent lunch. Interesting presentations and choices. A couple of choices were too salty perhaps because of a line chef in training. The manager was receptive to critique. Great wine list by the glass or bottle. We have dined and enjoyed wine many times. We introduced relatives to Reserve and GRap successfully!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The weather was perfect so we sat on the patio. Everything was perfect! Service was fast and food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We enjoyed an early dinner before a concert at Van Angel Arena. Sat in the open air patio. Very nice.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great birthday location. Excellent service. Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 11, 2017

What a find!!!! This is an absolute gem. The food was great, fresh and so interesting. The wine list is extensive and pretty great. The staff are engaged and fun and educated. I just love this place and wish I had found it earlier. I'm heading back very soon

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good vibe; wine flights are fun; grilled ceaser salad is very tasty; chicken and dumplings is still my favorite entree'!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great ambience awesome food. Great place to go if you haven't been to Grand Rapids close to major hotels.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We had a great server and excellent food. He surprised us with champagne for our friend's 70th birthday! We all had a memorable evening!

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent find in downtown a Grand Rapids. Superb fresh ingredient locally sourced menu. Eclectic atmosphere and decor in a beautifully restored historic building.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Perfect stop before a play at DeVos - walkable, cool ambiance plus they were very accommodating for our group of 6. Wine selection is top notch and liked portion size of the food - not too big.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent service and wine list. Food is among the best in GR. Creative menu but they don't go crazy. Love the decor and modern feel. Grove gets all the press in GR but I'd take Reserve.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was horrible. The Johnny cakes were burned, the rib eye was the thinnest one I've ever seen and it was $46, the duck breast was way too salty and the lamb ragu was gristly and oversalted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Superb dining experience. Excellent service. Staff is knowledgeable but not pretensions.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Josh was an awesome server- knew what to food to recommend for a dairy allergy, brought our bill to us in time for us to make it to the symphony. The lamb ragout was too salty for me but otherwise very tasty duck and flank steak according to my guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Hair in food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great wine selection and centrally located. Would definitely recommend for a nice dinner spot in downtown Grand Rapids.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food was mediocre, at best. Spouse had the fish of the day. It defined minimalist. Mine was lamb ruga, which was fair.
The plates were served while we were having cocktails, which was a bit jarring and cost them a wine order. Also, 3-4 people were constantly hanging around the front desk, which gave the always exciting impression of an inside joke of which you are not a part.
The room itself is fine. It just needs food and service to match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.