About Republic of Texas Bar & Grill

900 N Shoreline Blvd
Corpus Christi, TX 78401
View Larger Map

The AAA Four-Diamond Republic of Texas Bar & Grill is one of Corpus Christi's top dining destinations. Located on the 20th floor of the Bayfront Tower, this multi-level restaurant offers diners beautiful panoramic views of the Corpus Christi bay. Featuring USDA prime beef cuts, a wide variety of wild game and seafood selections. Recently acquired the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world. Stop by and experience our lounge, it is open daily at 5 PM.. Voted "Best of the Best" by local Corpus Christi Caller Times newspaper readers for Fine Dining in 2002 - 2004.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wild Game, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:30pm-10:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Twigg Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(361) 886-3515

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/republic

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Daniel Rosa

Private Party Facilities:
Can accommodate private dinners, retirement parties, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, and business dinners and graduations.

Private Party Contact:
Etta Butts: 3618863515x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Wine

Republic of Texas Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Most Booked
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Most Booked
Corpus Christi
Best Restaurants in Corpus Christi ›

Scenic View (69)
Special Occasion (65)
Romantic (60)
See All
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for Groups (15)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Hot Spot (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
900 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was outstanding. Service was jus ok ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was outstanding. Service was jus ok. Spouse uses a transporter(wheelchair) Had to use a service elevator to access our table. Personal were very nice but somewhat dangerous walking in slippery kitchen prep areas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

very pricey. prices detract from overall ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

very pricey. prices detract from overall experience. a medium baked potato should not cost $10.00.. I would choose another place fordinner next timefor that reason

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

It took an hour and ten minutes from the ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It took an hour and ten minutes from the time that we sat down to the time that we received our main entrée which is unacceptable. Had we not ordered an appetizer and a soup, we would have become extremely impatient. We didn't complain because we didn't want our food to be tampered with. After the meal, the server did apologize for the excessive wait and offered us a complementary dessert in an attempt to make up for the inconvenience. Had it not been for the long wait for our food, we would have had an excellent experience.

My husband and I ordered the ribeye for two. The steak had great flavor and was cooked as ordered. We found the portion size to be slightly underwhelming. Had we not ordered the crab fondue and the clam chowder (both were fantastic), we would have left with something to be desired.

We had high expectations for this place. Unfortunately, our experience wasn't up to par. We most likely won't be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Host staff did well. Sat at dirty cockta ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Host staff did well. Sat at dirty cocktail table to wait for table, no cocktail service, and got table begore cocktail service. We saw her several times but, she never acknowledged us. Sat at table, silverware needed to be cleaned. Ordered drink. Ordered food. Soup came but, margarita showed up 5 minutes after soup. Chowder salty but, okay. Food came and was not good. Fish was mediocre. Rack of lamb was terrible. Way to salty and they tried to cover it with what tasted like bbq sauce. Lamb + bbq sauce = horrible. Lamb was chewy and not cooked properly. Waitress never checked on us when food was served. Came later, did not ask us how the food was but, informed us we were eating great food and asked what delicious desserts we were getting. Bad service. We asked for an extra plate and never got one. View nice. Recommend going in, go outside, look at and enjoy the view, and go eat somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Ordered the prime rib special, one end c ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Ordered the prime rib special, one end cut/well done and one medium rare. Both were served cooked at the same doneness. Clients ate them and commented they were tasty but could have been better is cooked properly. The bountiful portion of Au gratin potatoes were the best we have ever eaten.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

great place for special occasions, expe ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

great place for special occasions, expect to pay for the view and the service accordingly.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was billed on Trip Advis ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This restaurant was billed on Trip Advisor as the best in Corpus Christi and you'll get no argument from me. The view of the harbor and the bay is spectacular, the service attentive, and the food was excellent. My wife and I had the chateaubriand for two ($95 - yes, really) but it was absolutely delicious, tender but with a crunchy, salty bark that lent wonderful flavor and texture. Carved at your table and served with a choice of Béarnaise and Hollandaise sauce plus perfectly cooked vegetables, I highly recommend it as a dinner choice for a pair of romantic carnivores.

The wine list was decent and the bar was well-stocked (it passed my personal test of quality by serving Laphroaig Scotch) though their bar soda machine may have needed adjustment as the cola in my wife's Cuba Libre was overly sweet.

Overall, this was a bit of a splurge, but well worth the price for a truly special meal and occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was outstanding! The waitress c ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was outstanding! The waitress could have been more attentive but service was good. Beautiful view.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful food, beautiful view!! / orde ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful food, beautiful view!! / ordered chocolate birthday cake earlier in the week; was superb, but pricey, $70. Third visit to this restaurant and we were not disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was fantastic, the service, exc ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was fantastic, the service, excellent and the restaurant had beautiful views of the water. Be prepared to spend though. Bread, which was excellent, too, was the only extra that came with the meal. Everything else was a la carte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was great. We had been th ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The atmosphere was great. We had been there a couple of times. this time was different because i made reservations and we got to sit at a great table with a wonderful view. the service was great and the wait staff was great. the manager came out and offered his assistance in anything we may have needed. the welcomed us in and wished us a Happy Anniversary. Wonderful. What really impressed me was how they responded to my sons nose bleed in the restroom. the hostess came running to our table with a look of great concern and took my wife to tend to my son. the manager came back and gave us some club soda and a cloth to wipe blood from my sons shirt. It was nice to have people genuinely concerned for your childs well being. Thank you to the staff.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice restaurant, food was excellent ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very nice restaurant, food was excellent and the wait staff attentive. Pricey but not outrageous. Wine and margarita were both excellent. Overall a very nice birthday celebration for my wife. When I made the reservation I stated it was for my wife's birthday and the waiter was sure to mention it was a special day for her. I think our waiter Cruz went out of his way to make it special for my wife, thank you very much.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was disappointing. Waiter was very ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was disappointing. Waiter was very strange acted as if he hated to be there and or serve us? There was a light crowd and we were sat next to a large table of very loud men talking shop all evening. The hostess should always ask before sitting patrons if the seating is suitable. Commons sense should come into pay here as well. Don't parade the patron to the table only to have the patron have to ask to be seated in a more quite and personal area then next to loud table. The view was nice.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Fantastic view. Excellent wine list. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fantastic view. Excellent wine list. Steaks were good, but some were a bit overcooked.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A little trouble getting the requested t ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A little trouble getting the requested table at first but manager stepped in and made sure we were seated where we had requested.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place. From the time you enter to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great place. From the time you enter to the time you leave. Great service, atmosphere, and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I put in comments section when I reserve ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I put in comments section when I reserved table that we were celebrating an anniversary and birthday and nothing was ever said about it. Very disappointed. We will go back to Landry's for our anniversary next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The Service was Excellent! Great attenti ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Service was Excellent! Great attention to detail. Food was prepared properly and tasted exquisite. I'm so glad we went to dinner there for our anniversary. My compliments to the entire staff.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The best place to eat! Plates are large ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The best place to eat! Plates are large enough to share with your love

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fresh fish prep (drum) was excellent ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The fresh fish prep (drum) was excellent. So was the Tuna Tare Tare. Very good wine selections too. First time with my wife for a business meal with customer and his wife. I really like this place and the scenary/view is terrific.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Steak was dry and portion not worth the ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Steak was dry and portion not worth the money!! Waiter not very friendly and late on refills!! Veggies were excellent and view awesome!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Best place to celebrate a special occasi ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best place to celebrate a special occasion! I had a Anniversary celebration with my wife and she loved it.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful scenery, beautiful tasting foo ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Beautiful scenery, beautiful tasting food, excellent service, wasn't too pricy, but the stairs were a small problem but I learned of an elevator. Complementary valet parking was a little slow but it was busy, so overall it was the best restaurant I have been to so far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Over many dining occasions at ROT, I hav ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Over many dining occasions at ROT, I have been consistently reminded that it is ALL SHOW &NO GO. It has remained in business because it is the only restaurant in Corpus Christi with a bird';s eye view of the bay, but the menu tries too hard to be gourmet, the selection is unappealing, and the preparation is shoddy, On our recent "special occasion" with out-of-town guests, the ribeye of one guest was horribly overcooked the first time, then horribly undercooked the next. This was not only embarrassing to us as the hosts, but it was absolutely unacceptable when the fixeprix was $75 per plate and ROT bills itself as a steak house! I have consistently been overcharged and under-satisfied with my dining experience at ROT.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

My family went for dinner, one of my 3 ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My family went for dinner, one of my 3 children their that evening is autistic.. He wanted pancakes.. And they accommodated without blinking an eye.. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My sons and I had always wanted to spoil ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My sons and I had always wanted to spoil ourselves on a once in a while expensive, yet special meal together. We had ordered the scallops as appetizers, rack of lamb ribs, filet mignon, and the red snapper. The food was presented beautifully, right as the sunset was occurring the whole meal. We had a great time, and will be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I left my tip in cash however, although ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I left my tip in cash however, although my party was only of four people the placed an automatic tip of 20%. They made the correction after two business days. I don't see at any other resturant chain. The food was good as well as the service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great wine, great steak, great view! Enj ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great wine, great steak, great view! Enjoyed our anniversary dinner to the fullest!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd time at the Republic of ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was our 3rd time at the Republic of Texas. Every single time we had horrible service. For it to be one of the "Best" restaurants in Corpus Christi, the service is awful. This last time, our server came to our table twice the entire evening. Once to take our order and once to bring the check. No personality, no hustle, no concern for our needs. We ordered the crab fondue, which was cold and no flavor at all. It was watery. The wedge salad was half of a quarter of a wedge, not even a full "wedge". We ordered the chateaubriand for two and ordered it MEDIUM. It arrived at the table medium RARE - BRIGHT RED RAW in the center. I said something to the person cutting it (not our server, mind you) and said it was too rare, only to get a lecture on what light pink and dark pink mean. I said we wanted it light pink in the center, which is medium everywhere else in the world! Our server never bothered to come check on us. When he brought the check, he asked if we wanted to put the meal on our room, I guess he assumed we were from out of town and would never be back. He was wrong. I will not recommend the TR to anyone ever again. We still tipped 20% against my better judgment. When we were waiting for our table at the bar, we never had a waitress come over to us to take our order for a glass of wine.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

The view of Corpus Christi bay is the pe ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The view of Corpus Christi bay is the perfect setting for a special meal. The steaks were done to perfection and the sides were delicious. Tommy, our waiter, took very good care of all of our needs without being at the table too often.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had to send back venison it was so tough ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Had to send back venison it was so tough. Side of asparagus was lack luster.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

From the minute we arrived and until ou ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

From the minute we arrived and until our departure everyone was very friendly. Every one called us by name and wished us a happy anniversary. A very enjoyable evening with fantastic food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our Special occasion would have been bet ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Our Special occasion would have been better if I had chosen a different restaurant. I have read and heard of mixed reviews. I have dined a lot better for a lot less elsewhere. Do not recommend.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Our waitress was excellant and to get 50 ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our waitress was excellant and to get 50 characters is unreasonble

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant. The food and atmos ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Excellent restaurant. The food and atmosphere were wonderful, but the service was over the top. Simon, our waiter, was very attentive, and when he learned that we are moving to the area, spent extra time giving us tips about where to live and things to do. To top it off, he comped our dessert as a welcome to Corpus gift! We will be back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, exceptional service. The ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Delicious food, exceptional service. The crew went above and beyond to make our anniversary dinner personal and amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was absolutely perfect! A ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The restaurant was absolutely perfect! Arriving at 7pm allowed for us to view the water during the day and also watch the sunset and the lights on the water for the evening. Perfect anniversary location! Will recommend to everyone!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The best steakhouse in town for sure. A little pricey for every day, but perfect for a special occasion. With free valet parking, you don't even have to worry about the weather. Definitely will be going back a few times a year.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic Anniversary

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Great job for our 40th. Nice food, service from Tommy and good wine. Huge rainstorm made it interesting!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to relax with friends or family!

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Loved it! The food was delicious. The service was great and the view was spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.