Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Republic of Texas Bar & Grill

The AAA Four-Diamond Republic of Texas Bar & Grill is one of Corpus Christi's top dining destinations. Located on the 20th floor of the Bayfront Tower, this multi-level restaurant offers diners beautiful panoramic views of the Corpus Christi bay. Featuring USDA prime beef cuts, a wide variety of wild game and seafood selections. We acquired the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world in the past four years. We obtained the 2014 Diners' Choice Award for the Top 100 Most Romantic Restaurants in America. Also, won February Diners' Choice Award! Stop by and experience our lounge, it is open daily at 5 PM.

900 N Shoreline Blvd
Corpus Christi, TX 78401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wild Game, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:30pm-10:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Twigg Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(361) 886-3515

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/republic

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Daniel Rosa

Private Party Facilities:
Can accommodate private dinners, retirement parties, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, and business dinners and graduations.

Private Party Contact:
Etta Butts: (361) 886-3515

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Wine

Republic of Texas Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Romantic (31)
Scenic View (30)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Waterfront (28)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Bar Seating (10)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Live Music (5)
Authentic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Cozy (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1053 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everything was awesome, I would just recommend a little more fine dining etiquette training and wine knowledge. Good job though.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 4, 2017

It's a great place to come and have great ambiance and great food. Best place to come and celebrate a special occasion here in Corpus. Oh yea, the piano playing in the background is really nice

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I'm sorry for the long review but these are points I thought you should know. This was a special occasion for my wife and I. It was a vacation trip to Texas and we looked forward all week to enjoying a steak dinner before our return to Pennsylvania. Corpus Christy was the last stop on our visit and we felt this would have been a good close to an interesting trip.
Now for the reason for the low remarks for this restaurant.
Service is one of the keys to an enjoyable experience at any restaurant and this area was the lowest. Specifically, the waiter assigned to our table was more interested in explaining his background and travel experiences at the table next us. He did take our order and delivered our first glass of wine but beyond that service he DID NOT recognize we could have drank another glass (making the bill higher & higher tip) of wine. The food was delivered by the assistants.
The food prices are on the higher side (ala cart) for a steakhouse but we anticipated paying more for good well prepared food (steaks were just warm but the plates cold).
Wine selection good but prices are higher but we anticipated paying more for a good glass of wine with dinner.
The view and restaurant setting are good for this bay.
We decided to pass on desert because of the service. Again, bad service- lower bill & lower tip.
Again the rating could have been better had it not been for the service. It's some what difficult but possible to explain to restaurant manager why you would like another servicer but for a one time experience we decided to pass and move on to other more enjoyable things to do that evening.
Some restaurant will leave a service review with the bill. Unfortunately this one did not and this would have given the restaurant manager the opportunity to have this server called to attention and to improve his service skills.
Regards, Matthew

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We went with our friends for our 31st wedding anniversary and tommy was awesome all the staff where very nice and helpful. My wife fell slightly down the last step down to our table and at least 3 different people came over to make sure she was allright offering free things to which we thanked them and said it was ok she was fine. They just went above and beyond with service oh and the food was amazing also.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Went here for a date recently. Food was amazing, wait staff both knowledgeable and energetic. View of bay makes quite a sight, especially at sunset.
Highly recommended from me.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was excellent. Service, ambiance, food. Could not have made a better choice in dining

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner. The view is unbeatable. The food is really good. The service is good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food is always so delicious and the service is amazing. We would like to thank Wes for his excellent service for the last two times that we've eaten there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food is fantastic paired with great atmosphere and a sweeping view. We'll definitely be returning again the next time we're in Corpus Christi.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The special market fish was Tile which I truly love . I was able to enjoy it fully as the Tile was atop the stewed eggplant, tomatoes and peppers (which were delicious). I am not a person who likes my entree smothered so I was very thankful for this presentation. My husband had the filet mignon which was very tender and flavorful. I would have liked fresh raw Gulf oysters however the Oysters Republic proved to be very good as well as the Crab Fondue. Service was excellent. I enjoyed the layout of the restaurant as I believe having the different levels gave each dining area a more cozy and private feeling and most likely is why I found it quiet and relaxing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I WAS LOOKING FORWARD TO THIS BUSINESS MEETING I WAS HOSTING. GREETING BY HOSTESS WAS VERY GOOD. WINE SELECTION WAS ALSO EXCEPTIONAL.

HOWEVER, THE SOUP WAS LUKE WARM WHEN IT ARRIVED AND TWO OF THE STEAKS, ORDERED RARE (AND RE-EMPHASIZED) TO THE WAITRESS, CAME OUT WELL DONE. VERY EMBARESSING TO MY CLIENTS TO HAVE TO SEND THEM BACK; AS WELL AS THEIR HAVING TO WAIT WHILE THE OTHER CLIENTS ATE THEIR MEALS.

FOR A DESTINATION DINING ESTABLISHMENT THIS IS NOT SATISFACTORY.

JIM CLIFTON

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I love the place and the food the view was good looking over the city I will go again at anytime

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Live Music, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Private Room, Fun, Romantic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic! Will be going again! Staff and food were amazing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food is outstanding and the view and ambiance fantastic !!! Have been there many times and I have always enjoyed the experience. I would highly recommend this restaurant for special occasions or a romantic dinner with someone special!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The Texas Bar and Grill is fine dining with a splendid view of the Bay. I ordered fresh-caught ling, aka cobia, a fish I have never caught and until then never eaten. It was delicious, perfectly prepared and presented. My wife ordered red snapper and was delighted with it as well. Our waiter was professional, personable, and just fun to chat with as he waited our table. Should we return to Corpus, we will return. Do not expect cheap; do expect perfection.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 18, 2017

this place was amazing. server was great, the food was outstanding, and you just feel like a million bucks when you dine here. it is expensive, and not something I can afford all the time, but it is a real treat when I do make it out for dinner. p.s. I called to ask for a scenic view, and they were very accommodating. thanks Republic for making my night special!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I don't usually care for sweets, but don't leave without tasting the chocolate cake.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Appetizer and desert was great. My wife's chicken was cooked properly.

I had the double cut pork. Even though it was temped proper, it was very tough and lacked flavor.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 6, 2017

And what is our anniversary we had a great time service was excellent we will be back very soon no complaints about this restaurant we loved it

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was very good, view is amazing, everything was great, until I checked by credit card account and found restaurant had overcharged me $30 over actual bill!! Unfortunately, I didn't keep my receipt, so I can't prove it. I would suggest anybody going there to keep their receipt in case this happens to them. Other than that, it was a great experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The best steak in town, and stellar service. Highly recommended for special occasions. Great view of beach. You get what you pay for.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The view makes this place. Food was good but the service was unexpectedly poor.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Took my wife for our twentieth anniversary and my two teenage girls. The amotospher was so nice and relaxing, great not having all the chatter you experience at most restaurant's. The food was excellent , our steaks , the roasted chicken and dessert was prepared just right. And the service from the hostess and our waiter were top notch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of the finest dining experiences in Corpus Christi. Gorgeous view of the bay accompanied by an excellent menu of steak, seafood, and game, along with a superior wine selection (a bit pricey though) and outstanding service. Recommend for a special romantic
evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was superb!

Service left a bit to be desired....food was slow coming out and server was a bit pretentious.

Overall didn't rain on our anniversary celebration!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food and atmosphere was good. The service was also good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The service was outstanding. Even the manager pitched in to make sure we were served on time. Our main server was very knowledgable about all the dishes. We enjoyed our dinner very much

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This restaurant is a great place to go for any occasion! We were celebrating my promotion at work on this particular outing. We go there for our anniversaries as well. We have been there several times and have never had a a bad meal or bad service EVER. I highly recommend this place. Our waiter was very attentive and the bartender was great too.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary.
It was awesome!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Top of the line will always stop in when in town, great food.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Customer Services was wonderful - prices were very high - but I expected that for a steakhouse, it was freezing - very uncomfortable - view was the main reason I went - windows were so foggy due to the weather -- so no view - which was no ones fault - just disappointing! Food was good - but not exceptional. Manager Joe was very nice and helped return our left behind cell phone, thank you Joe!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This restaurant helped make our anniversary special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very disappointed in our experience. Our meal was not cooked properly and the service wasn't good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was delicious, service was outstanding and the atmosphere was perfect. A bit pricey but great for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great experience would go there much more if I could afford it.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Vegan, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Dancing, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Tapas, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great for special occasions the staff is always prepared and on top of things . Romantic setting

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I go to the Republic of Texas a couple times a year. The view is great! The service is OK. On 02/13/17, we were sat right by the window with a great view however we were also by the kitchen doors. The doors were left open most of the time so it was very bright and very loud. The food was good but not great. There are better places to get steak in Corpus however I do not think you can beat the view.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our steaks we chewy and over cooked, something you wouldn't expect for a 50$ steak! Our waiter was horrible and very unproffesional. He came to check on us a total of 2 times throughout our entire meal. Or meals took over 45 minutes to come out and tasted horrible. We have no plans on returning or recommending this restaurant to anyone!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As usual, a wonderful dining experience. Great menu and service with a wonderful view. Ask for Angela's section if you can. The best.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.