About Republic of Texas Bar & Grill

900 N Shoreline Blvd
Corpus Christi, TX 78401
View Larger Map

The AAA Four-Diamond Republic of Texas Bar & Grill is one of Corpus Christi's top dining destinations. Located on the 20th floor of the Bayfront Tower, this multi-level restaurant offers diners beautiful panoramic views of the Corpus Christi bay. Featuring USDA prime beef cuts, a wide variety of wild game and seafood selections. Recently acquired the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world. Stop by and experience our lounge, it is open daily at 5 PM.. Voted "Best of the Best" by local Corpus Christi Caller Times newspaper readers for Fine Dining in 2002 - 2004.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wild Game, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:30pm-10:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Twigg Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(361) 886-3515

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/republic

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Daniel Rosa

Private Party Facilities:
Can accommodate private dinners, retirement parties, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, and business dinners and graduations.

Private Party Contact:
Etta Butts: 3618863515x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Wine

Republic of Texas Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Scenic View (25)
See All
Waterfront (23)
Romantic (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Business Meals (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Authentic (4)
Live Music (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Historic (2)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
992 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was a bit disappointed. The steaks, al ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I was a bit disappointed. The steaks, although good meat, were too charred! The potato au gratin were not good, but the staff was solid and the wine was great! I wouldn't recommend this place though, not worth the $$$$

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

The New Year's Eve menu had a wide varie ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The New Year's Eve menu had a wide variety of selections. The filet and lobster were spectacular! Would recommend Republic of Texas for dates, friends and/or family!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The menu for New Years was horrible and ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The menu for New Years was horrible and the fact that I had to pay a 20% tip ($35.80) on sub par service for two people was terrible. I had reserved and asked for a ocean view , well I ocean view with a huge column in front of the view, nice job guys.

A few years back, this use to be a nice place but gets worst with the years so instead of spending $300 here, I will go elsewhere when I visit Corpus again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

It was truly a dining experience. The a ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was truly a dining experience. The atmosphere as soon as you walk in has you enthralled. Our server was wonderful. She was beyond gracious and efficient. The food was out of this world. I would recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Family Style, , Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a belated Christmas dinner with f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a belated Christmas dinner with family. Service from Angela was outstanding and food even better. Too foggy to get the full experience of the view but that happens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience...would love to ret ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Wonderful experience...would love to return for another special occasion or for happy hour and appetizers!

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

There is a different reservation process ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 19, 2016

There is a different reservation process for the "intimate dining menu" process. Please call ahead for this request as the online reservation process is different and also has a different menu from the "intimate dining menu"

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Great service, scenery and food! Enjoye ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great service, scenery and food! Enjoyed the atmosphere overlooking the water.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very slow and because of ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The service was very slow and because of the reservation being at 930 the waiter seemed to want to get rid of us.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

Took our meat-loving son out for dinner ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Took our meat-loving son out for dinner to celebrate his graduation. This was our second visit- we enjoyed the steaks so much the first time we went back. The restaurant overlooks the water with diners seated near large windows. It was dark and overcast this time so no view, but on a good day could be beautiful. The service was great - timely and courteous and the food outstanding. With the food prices, definitely more of a special occasion place for us!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my wife there for our anniversary. ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Took my wife there for our anniversary. Lived here 30 years and never visited the Republic of Texas before. The Hostess greeted us by name, mentioned our anniversary, and took us to a nice table right by the window overlooking the bay. My wife LOVED her margarita on the rocks and the waiter gave us some great recommendations on what to order and how to have it cooked. The steaks were excellent; she had the peppercorn tenderloin, and I had the peppercorn venison. The service was good without being intrusive, and they brought us a little complimentary chocolate mousse for an anniversary treat dessert, which was really all we could eat.

It is not cheap, but if you go there planning on spending at least $60-75 per person you will enjoy an excellent meal with great service in memorable surroundings. My wife was very happy with her anniversary surprise.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, great view, they were out ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great service, great view, they were out of shrimp, and fresh fish at the beginning of the dinner service at 5:30pm. Red meat was great.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a very enjoyable dinner , if ther ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a very enjoyable dinner , if there is one thing that could of made it perfect, it would a better wine selection, the wine on the menu had much to be desired.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Went to the Republic of Texas for annive ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Went to the Republic of Texas for anniversary . Wife visited the restroom , someone thru-up in a stall , told them about it. Sat down to eat ,I ordered Prime rib , wife ordered Lobster , asparagus on the side . Steak was good asparagus to hard not good , wifes Lobster came out and they had put cayenne powder on it instead of paprika . Wife burnt her mouth dinner was ruined , manager apologized , mix up in kitchen . still cost 130$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

My wife and I loved the menu. We would ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My wife and I loved the menu.

We would have loved the Diver Scallops, and the Republic Oysters were my personal favorite.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Private Room, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a marvelous time an ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My husband and I had a marvelous time and enjoyed the hot meal. The view is stupendous and the service was great. I highly recommend this place!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our wedding annivers ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. It is pricey, but worth it for a special occasion. The chef even gave us a complimentary dessert to help celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We took friends who were visiting from P ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We took friends who were visiting from Pennsylvania, they were very impressed with the ambiance, view and excellent food - just as we knew they would be.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really wanted this to be a perfect pla ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I really wanted this to be a perfect place for my special date. I took my elderly mother for dinner. After seeing her difficulty walking, we were still seated down both flights of stairs (and had to get her back up the same flights). The filet mignon was overcooked and very dry. I was hugely disappointed because $46 for the steak alone should mean PERFECTION, but I had to remind myself that Corpus Christi isn't the fine dining capitol of Texas. Being from Austin, I know what true fine dining is. I also know filet mignon and what medium rare is! The Cobb salad was good and as expected. The crawfish mac n cheese was okay. Mom loved the tiramisu, so the date ended well. The tiramisu was complimentary because of my dissatisfaction with the steak. FYI-grey, dry, and tasteless. Unfortunately, I wanted mom to have a top-notch experience but we will go elsewhere next trip to the coast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Right from the moment you step off the e ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Right from the moment you step off the elevator you are treated like you're special. The staff is absolutely phenomenal. I took my crew of 5 there from Chicago and each said it was the best meal they'd had in years. I let them sit facing the windows so they could enjoy the beautiful view of the bay and marina.

Sundays are perfect for quiet, refined excellence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food & total experience was good. Nothin ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food & total experience was good. Nothing special, just good. The Mgr came by the table & I told her it was good . She looked offended because she didn't hear me say it was excellent.

Good is ok. If it was excellent, I would have told her that. Nothing was wrong, it was just good.

The waiter earned a $20. tip. Yes,,,,,,,,,,, we would go back again, just not real soon. Pieces are a bit heavy but then the location dictates a lot of the price..

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful restaurant and great location. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful restaurant and great location. Bid disappointed with service quality and knowledge of staff for a 4 star establishment. Food was good but again, for the price, was somewhat disappointed. Establishment has so much to offer but felt rushed. Did not seem too busy for a Saturday night. So many options not presented to us from staff. Too bad.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our waitress Angela was outstanding. We ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our waitress Angela was outstanding. We love the republic along with the amazing views each seating area has to offer. The food was absolutely delicious. Our favorite restaurant to go to in corpus for any occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place love the food

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Awesome place love the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicioso todo! Ideal para compartir una ...

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Delicioso todo!

Ideal para compartir una noche con los amigos!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, good view of the bay. ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great atmosphere, good view of the bay. Food was very good. Service was very good. Complimentary valet parking. What's not to like?

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The food and service was outstanding. Ni ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. Nice to see this quality of restaurant in Corpus for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing night, great food and drinks, go ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Amazing night, great food and drinks, good service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful ambiance, view, and excellent ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, view, and excellent service. Not cheap, but worth the price for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoyed the dining experience. It was ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I enjoyed the dining experience. It was my first time ever. I enjoyed the view of the bay and the balcony. The sun set was a great site and to see all the night lights. I would bring a light coat next visit, the dining area had a chill to it. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Julie

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WE TOOK MY GRANDDAUGHTER THERE FOR HER B ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 15, 2016

WE TOOK MY GRANDDAUGHTER THERE FOR HER BIRTHDAY, THE AMBIENCE WAS GREAT, MY STEAK WAS WONDERFUL, WE ORDERED THE SCALLOPED POTATOES THE PAN WAS HOT BUT THE POTATOES WERE ICE COLD. ALTHOUGH OUR WAITRESS WAS NICE SHE WAS NOT ATTENTIVE AT ALL. WE HAD TO GET OTHER WAITERS TO GET STUFF FOR US AND WAITED TO LONG TO GET THE BILL. WHICH IS ASHAME BECAUSE MY HUSBAND AND I ATE THERE IN MARCH FOR OUR ANNIVERSARY AND IT COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE PERFECT

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Excellent experience. Be Aware it is a ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent experience. Be Aware it is a little pricey, but menu prices are available online to give you an idea of what you might spend. I would highly recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is very nice and one of o ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The restaurant is very nice and one of our favorites. My wife ordered a salad and it was never brought out to her. The online menu stated that they sold Robert Mondavi Cabernet by the glass but when we tried to order a glass the waitress told us we had to buy the bottle. The steaks were good as were the vegetables. Not a great experience but not too bad either. I'm sure we will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

We were celebrating my daughters 21st an ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We were celebrating my daughters 21st and requested a table with view, ended up with a table that was not in a nice section, we were moved and it was a lot better. The waitress was very rude and the two of the four main courses came out not cooked after a long wait in the first place. We returned the dishes and they said they would get two more out soon, soon being another 25 minute wait, at this point we declined and left. A very disappointing service all around, will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

the meal and service was outstanding , ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 9, 2016

the meal and service was outstanding , the view as well. Great place to take your date for an anniversary celebration.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated our 25th Anniversary there ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We celebrated our 25th Anniversary there, and we were greeted with an anniversary wish, our server as well as the manager wished us a wonderful anniversary, which it was. The meal was very good and the view is amazing.

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner with the wife after visiting my o ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Dinner with the wife after visiting my old hometown for a high school reunion. The dinner was fabulous, as was the service. The only element I didn't appreciate was having to make reservations for 6 pm instead of my desired 7pm time, as I noticed several empty tables at 7pm. I don't know why we could not have been accommodated for 7pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It must have been an off night, because ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 2, 2016

It must have been an off night, because service was way below par. We brought a special bottle of wine and were informed the restaurant will not uncork or pour outside wine. We've been regular customers for years and have purchased many expensive bottles from the ROT wine list over that time. We were happy to pay enough of a corking fee to more than replace the profit from a bottle of house wine, but to no avail. After declining our request, the wait staff virtually ignored us, and we even had to refill our own glasses after we bought a bottle of wine from the wine list. We are normally 20% tippers there, but this was a 10% night. The bar was used to seat overflow diners, and it was near impossible to get a drink-- we waited 30 minutes to get our first drink after dinner, so I assume the ROT was either understaffed or simply unprepared for a busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great atmosphere and overall experience! ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great atmosphere and overall experience! The view was outstanding as well as our food.

Tags: Waterfront,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING views - a must to go to eat at i ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 16, 2016

AMAZING views - a must to go to eat at if in Corpus Christi area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.