About Republic of Texas Bar & Grill

900 N Shoreline Blvd
Corpus Christi, TX 78401
View Larger Map

The AAA Four-Diamond Republic of Texas Bar & Grill is one of Corpus Christi's top dining destinations. Located on the 20th floor of the Bayfront Tower, this multi-level restaurant offers diners beautiful panoramic views of the Corpus Christi bay. Featuring USDA prime beef cuts, a wide variety of wild game and seafood selections. Recently acquired the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world. Stop by and experience our lounge, it is open daily at 5 PM.. Voted "Best of the Best" by local Corpus Christi Caller Times newspaper readers for Fine Dining in 2002 - 2004.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wild Game, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:30pm-10:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Twigg Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(361) 886-3515

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/republic

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Daniel Rosa

Private Party Facilities:
Can accommodate private dinners, retirement parties, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, and business dinners and graduations.

Private Party Contact:
Etta Butts: 3618863515x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wine

Republic of Texas Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Most Booked
Corpus Christi
Best Restaurants in Corpus Christi ›

scenic view (68)
special occasion (61)
romantic (56)
See All
notable wine list (30)
fit for foodies (19)
good for groups (14)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (9)
hot spot (6)
neighborhood gem (4)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
860 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic Anniversary

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great job for our 40th. Nice food, service from Tommy and good wine. Huge rainstorm made it interesting!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to relax with friends or family!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Loved it! The food was delicious. The service was great and the view was spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited for our 10 year anniversary a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We visited for our 10 year anniversary and couldn't have picked a better place!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service was even more t ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food and the service was even more that we expected.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent, all advanced requests were me ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent, all advanced requests were met.. And then some.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for Mother's Day weekend ( ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We were there for Mother's Day weekend (Friday) and the atmosphere was amazing. We enjoyed the dishes which were seasoned to perfection! We especially loved the deserts and the serving size of each desert ordered. Having the live music in the background really set the fun were having. We were seated by the window with the bay view and easy access to walk out on to the balcony to view even better. Totally loved it!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely Fantastic

Dined on May 5, 2016

The atmosphere was fantastic with a view to kill for. The steaks just melted in our mouths and the service was impeccable. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone that wants great food and a great view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

The service was AWESOME! The food was gr ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was AWESOME! The food was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

1st Wedding Anniversary

Dined on May 1, 2016

Republic of Texas is always a top notch place to go. Great atmosphere, great staff, and the food is always perfectly prepared. We came to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and everything was amazing. The waiter asked what our occasion was for visiting and we told him. He had the chef prepare a special dessert for us at no charge and it was amazing. My wife and I love this place. It's pricey but well worth the splurge in my opinion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The hype led to disappointment

Dined on April 30, 2016

I was looking forward to an amazing dining experience at this establishment but unfortunately it was a let down. For the few patrons that were on site the service was excruciatingly slow. I expected for the bill to be substantial for what we ordered but I have had far better dining experiences at 1/2 the price so we most likely will not return.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic evening together. She really enjoyed the view of Lady Lex while I enjoyed the water view. She was really excited and thought the food and service was fantastic. Thank you for helping me make my wife's birthday so special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3

Beautiful view!

Dined on April 26, 2016

Beautiful view!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Special Place

Dined on April 25, 2016

I am so glad that Corpus Christi has a place where it is appropriate to dress up (not a requirement however) and you get treated like you are really someone special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was truly fantastic and delicious. Our waitress, Angela, was very accommodating and made inquiry with the chef regarding additional unlisted entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed his ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed his birthday celebration at the Republic of Texas. The fish and steak were some of the best we've eaten. Our waiter was very attentive and even offered suggestions of things to do in the city. The piano player offered the perfect ambience to our evening. We will definitely return!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunny & Scenic

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Best view of the bay in Corpus. We really like this place. We ordered Wellington and venison. The beef Wellington was uncharacteristacaly poor but the venison was great. When we brought this to the waiters attention he and the manager did everything to make it right. I cannot remember the servers name but he was Originally from Poland and absolutely outstanding. His care and attention more than made up for the hiccup with the entre. We will go back next time in Corpus.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

View of the water was wonderful. Food wa ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

View of the water was wonderful. Food was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Things have changed but not for the better

Dined on April 8, 2016

I started visiting the Republic of Texas Bar and Grill about 8 or 9 years ago. The service over the years was good. Servers were responsive. Attentive. Food was served in a timely manner. The best thing about the place was the steaks. Whether it was the strip or rib-eye, it always was served hot and sizzling. The steak had a nice little crust on it and was very flavorful. Over the past 3 years the quality of the service and of the food has deteriorated. Servers aren't as attentive. I wait longer to be greeted and my drink order taken once I've been seated. When my meal is served, a server rarely returns to check on the quality of the meal or it's accuracy. Even with service deteriorating, it would be okay if the steak was still good. Without exaggeration, on my last 3-4 visits, I have had issue with my steak. Too cold. Over cooked. This past weekend it seemed as if it was cooked on a flat griddle. And it too, was cold. I hate to complain, but I do, because the steaks are $40! When I complain, management wants to comp something. I don't want free, I want good service. I want good food. I want hot food. Period.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the Rib-eye for 2. It was not as ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

We had the Rib-eye for 2. It was not as tender as it should have been for the price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The view was great! Over looked the Gulf ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

The view was great! Over looked the Gulf and the weather was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance was excellent. The view wa ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

The ambiance was excellent. The view was amazing. Great service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

THE PLACE FOR GREAT FOOD AND A GREAT VIEW !

Dined on March 26, 2016

Highly recommended due to outstanding food, service, and view!!! This is the best that Corpus Christi has to offer! I enjoyed the venison special...the best I've EVER HAD! Bring your friends and family!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food, Stake and Lobster perfec ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Very good food, Stake and Lobster perfect , Wait staff very professional. Would recommend to any body. That is the best restaurant that I have been to since I've been in Corpus

food4
ambience4
service4

Quail legs were fantastic, perfect amoun ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Quail legs were fantastic, perfect amount of spice, crunchy without breading. Yum. Giant lump crab cake was OK, we enjoyed the version served downstairs at the glass pavilion better. Same crab cake, dressed differently. Bone in rib eye for 2 was superb. Cooked PERFECTLY. Tons of veggies. Great value. Drinks were strong. Skip dessert. Service was present without being overbearing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic menu great orderve's salads n ...

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Fantastic menu great orderve's salads n steaks with terffic views

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Birthday celebration

Dined on February 28, 2016

We had the carnitas as an appetizer and it was excellent. My steak was very good even though I ordered it medium and it came well done. They forgot my wife's order, but they quickly rectified it. Our drinks were constantly refilled and the service was very good although the waiter would get lost several times for extended periods. I have dined at there several times before and the food and service have been excellent. I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service and a fantastic view!

Dined on February 24, 2016

We were seated for our 8:00pm reservation right on time. The ocean view couldn't have been any better. Steaks were cooked perfectly and very tender. Will definitely make a return visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Food was great.....Service not so much

Dined on February 23, 2016

Restaurant was beautiful. Food was great. Service was not as expected. Our waitress must have had to take several smoke breaks because the bus boy took care of us most of the night. We were there for an hour and a half and barely saw our waitress. If you are basing the meal on service it was very overpriced.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I've ever had and the bread w ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Best steak I've ever had and the bread was amazing

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Pricey, but nice atmosphere, great food, ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

Pricey, but nice atmosphere, great food, excellent service. Perfect for a special occasion!

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

poor customer service

Dined on February 16, 2016

Upon arriving, there was no one at the checkin stand for at least a few minutes. My guest and I were waiting along with another couple. Then we were told we had to wait approximately 5-10 minutes even though I had a reservation. While waiting, my guests tried to get drinks at the bar but waited a very long time and didn't even get served! After we were seated, our server left us unattended for extended periods throughout our meal. Overall, I would not recommend this establishment nor will I be dining here again due to the poor customer service. Very disappointed especially considering this was my guests first time dining at the restaurant!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Evening!

Dined on February 14, 2016

For my wife and I this was our first experience dining with you guys and what a treat it was! The entire experience from the views to the food was really great. I can definitely say that we will be back through again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was great, the Crab Fondue was out of this world. I had the rib eye was cooked to perfection and melted in your mouth.........however they forgot to bring me a steak knife so I had to whip out the trusty pocket knife! LOL. All in All I cant wait for the next special date night with my wife.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful view. Wonderful service. Won ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Wonderful view. Wonderful service. Wonderful food!

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Anniversary trip

Dined on February 13, 2016

Stayed at the omni bayside and made reservations 2 weeks in advance for The Republic of Texas. My wife ordered shrimp and I ordered the Pork chop. Food was ok good portion but so not worth the $140 bucks we spent for a night out. At least I can say I've done it. Save your money and go to Docs.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Not returning

Dined on February 11, 2016

Food was not that good. I have had a better meal for half the price.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Republic Of Texas

Dined on February 11, 2016

I have never been disappointed with Republic of Texas. It is definitely a Gem on our Beautiful Coastal Bend...from the Food, Drinks, Atmosphere and View. We will continue to take our Friends and Relatives to see this special place among all others!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't beat the food, drinks, or the view ...

Dined on February 10, 2016

Can't beat the food, drinks, or the view/ambiance. Still the best place to dine in all of Corpus Christi.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Republic

Dined on February 7, 2016

We were seated by the window with a beautiful view of the bay. We ordered the tuna tartare for appetizer and prime rib for two for our entree. The tuna melts in your mouth with a rich flavor. The prime rib was one of the best we've eaten across the country and highly recommended it to any steak lovers. Service at the restaurant is top notch. The Service was friendly, inviting, and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

Dined on February 6, 2016

This place was excellent! I would recommend highly

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.