Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Republic of Texas Bar & Grill

The AAA Four-Diamond Republic of Texas Bar & Grill is one of Corpus Christi's top dining destinations. Located on the 20th floor of the Bayfront Tower, this multi-level restaurant offers diners beautiful panoramic views of the Corpus Christi bay. Featuring USDA prime beef cuts, a wide variety of wild game and seafood selections. We acquired the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world in the past four years. We obtained the 2014 Diners' Choice Award for the Top 100 Most Romantic Restaurants in America. Also, won February Diners' Choice Award! Stop by and experience our lounge, it is open daily at 5 PM.

900 N Shoreline Blvd
Corpus Christi, TX 78401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wild Game, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:30pm-10:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Twigg Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(361) 886-3515

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/republic

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Daniel Rosa

Private Party Facilities:
Can accommodate private dinners, retirement parties, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, and business dinners and graduations.

Private Party Contact:
Etta Butts: (361) 886-3515

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Wine

Republic of Texas Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (36)
Scenic View (31)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Waterfront (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Good for a Date (28)
Notable Wine List (22)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Business Meals (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Cozy (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Authentic (5)
Live Music (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1091 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Tommy was our ambassador of food and service which I might add, service, was impeccable! The entire dining experience exceeded our expectations to the point, my wife is actively seeking property to purchase in Corpus Christi in order to frequent the Republic of TEXAS Bar and Grill. Attending this restaurant will certainly spoil you!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Healthy, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our server Johnny as always did a fabulous job keeping the food, drink and great conversation going. Great evening considering was was going on around the area

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Perth / WA)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We were celebrating our wedding and the service was exceptional and the chateaubriand was a prime cut and great for 2.

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on August 29, 2017

As usual, a wonderful meal was had by both of us. Kris was very friendly and attentive keeping everything we wanted coming without waiting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The Republic of Texas Bar & Grill is one of the best restaurants serving the city of Corpus Christi, TX. The beautiful view of the waterfront and ambience of the restaurant truly represent the charm and beauty of this "emerald by the sea."

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Our sever was friendly, knowledgeable and over all excellent! He enjoyed what he was doing and super respectful.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Customer service was amazing. The food was fantastic. Very polite people. Really sets a standard for being an amazing place.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The view is of course spectacular. Sometimes when a restaurant has a great view the food can be sub-par but not here. Beautiful meal with perfect service. We order the Chateaubriand for two and it was absolutely perfectly prepared. We paired it with a nice wine and made a perfect anniversary celebration.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food good, service was terrible!!
Our res was for 630 and the place was empty.
Our server would leave and not come back for very long periods of time. Slow bring a bottle of wine we ordered, very slow to refil ice tea glasses, slow to do anything.
Water glasses ran out of water, he was nowhere to be found to refil.
He was just not a good waiter, period!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The experience overall was very good. Our lamb was raw. We sent it back and it was no different and was cold. The service was great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Best food I've had in Corpus Christi. Was there to celebrate my wife's birthday and you made her feel extra special.

Thank You

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

This probably is a 4 star restaurant in Corpus Christi but in any other big city if would barely make 2 stars. The wait staff was unshaven and not qualified to articulate about the menu. The service was poor even though the restaurant was empty. The NY strip was tough but I expected that when I saw it was only $36. I went to the bar after dinner and the bartender in his skinny jeans was more worried about flirting with the cocktail waitress than serving the customers. They let customers in with shorts and flip flops so you can't seriously consider the place to be 4 stars. No attention by management as I looked over and saw a couple sucking face in a corner table. Yeah, very Cosmopolitan. Save your money and go somewhere else.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent facilities
Waitress outstanding,Mona.
Needs more personnel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We were celebrating our granddaughter's successful first sell as a realator. It was a great place to encourage her and her husband to work hard and be successful so they can enjoy many more celebrations! Everything was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Absolutely fabulous!! We were on vacation and looking for a special place to enjoy a night out. Republic of Texas did not disappoint! Chef brought his A game that night and under promised and over delivered! While the menu is pricey (we spent $180 for3 courses for 2 people), it was worth it. Best ribeye steak I have ever had. My friend has a serious onion allergy and our waiter was extremely attentive to her needs, making her evening very special. Thank you for a pampering dining experience! 5 stars!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great service, great food, outstanding view. Quite and romantic. I forgot my credit card, somehow they found my cell number, called me so I could go back and get my card. Great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The food was great, but the service was lacking to say the least. It didn't seem very busy and we couldn't find our server all night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Wonderful place, great views,service, food. Definitely recommend!!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very expensive for a lot of salt and very little flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I wasn't surprised by the level of service or the great tasting food. I've heard nothing but good things about this restaurant and it did not disappoint. Everything from the appetizers of shrimp cocktail and clam chowder to my steak and my wife's grilled grouper was amazing and we will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very attentive to our needs and knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. This was our first time there and we will return.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Wonderful service and delicious food! Would highly recommend!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Celebrating the start of my son's wedding weekend. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excelent view with great food and drinks. If you want something romantic thus is the place

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great service and food was awesome. Love this place!

Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and it was the perfect place. The staff was very friendly and accommodating . Our Waiter, Tommy, answered any questions we had about the menu and took his time. We never felt like he was rushing us. He seemed very knowledgeable about the wines that would pair with our meal which we appreciated. We would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends and family and out of town visitors. The food was excellent, service was excellent and the view of Corpus Christi Bay was beautiful.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Casual, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The wine and the appetizers were wonderful as well as the rack of lamb. However, the venison was not edible. At least the manager comped the meal, but it ruined the evening's dining occasion. The wait staff was very nice and understanding. For the amount of money spent for dinner, even with compensation, it was very expensive.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This is definitely a 5 star restaurant in my opinion!
The service was very professional, helpful and friendly. Three things that are hard to find in the same establishment. The ambience was classic steakhouse with out being pretentious.
The food was cooked to perfection, or at least the way we wanted it, and presented perfectly!
The staff was over and beyond expectations!
The views from the balcony are with a trip! Our reservation was at sunset, absolutely beautiful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 30, 2017

loved it, we are going back. we have never been at your place. it met or exceeded our expectation!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I chose Republic of Texas for my birthday dinner. My husband and daughter were driving in from out of town and didn't arrive until almost an hour after our reservation due to traffic. Our waitress Chris was very accommodating and our meal was delicious. As a vegetarian, I am not always able to find fine dining restaurants with excellent vegetarian options, but the vegetarian dish of the day (mushroom ravioli with a cream, corn and leek sauce) was amazing. The restaurant offers incredible views and has a nice wine list too.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food was awesome and our waitress Chris is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great food! Bit of a mix up when we received the bill. Itemized bill had one price but when our credit card was run it was $70 more. They, of course fixed it graciously and apologetically.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was good but for the price, I would expect more. We had the quail and the black drum, both good but not excellent, which I would expect for such prices. The entrees don't even include sides; you have to get those extra if you want any. Two of the least expensive entrees, one side and two glasses of wine ran over $100. I was expecting to pay as much for this special occasion, but I had higher expectations

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great view, fantastic meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We always have a great dining experience at Republic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Everything was awesome, I would just recommend a little more fine dining etiquette training and wine knowledge. Good job though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It's a great place to come and have great ambiance and great food. Best place to come and celebrate a special occasion here in Corpus. Oh yea, the piano playing in the background is really nice

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I'm sorry for the long review but these are points I thought you should know. This was a special occasion for my wife and I. It was a vacation trip to Texas and we looked forward all week to enjoying a steak dinner before our return to Pennsylvania. Corpus Christy was the last stop on our visit and we felt this would have been a good close to an interesting trip.
Now for the reason for the low remarks for this restaurant.
Service is one of the keys to an enjoyable experience at any restaurant and this area was the lowest. Specifically, the waiter assigned to our table was more interested in explaining his background and travel experiences at the table next us. He did take our order and delivered our first glass of wine but beyond that service he DID NOT recognize we could have drank another glass (making the bill higher & higher tip) of wine. The food was delivered by the assistants.
The food prices are on the higher side (ala cart) for a steakhouse but we anticipated paying more for good well prepared food (steaks were just warm but the plates cold).
Wine selection good but prices are higher but we anticipated paying more for a good glass of wine with dinner.
The view and restaurant setting are good for this bay.
We decided to pass on desert because of the service. Again, bad service- lower bill & lower tip.
Again the rating could have been better had it not been for the service. It's some what difficult but possible to explain to restaurant manager why you would like another servicer but for a one time experience we decided to pass and move on to other more enjoyable things to do that evening.
Some restaurant will leave a service review with the bill. Unfortunately this one did not and this would have given the restaurant manager the opportunity to have this server called to attention and to improve his service skills.
Regards, Matthew

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We went with our friends for our 31st wedding anniversary and tommy was awesome all the staff where very nice and helpful. My wife fell slightly down the last step down to our table and at least 3 different people came over to make sure she was allright offering free things to which we thanked them and said it was ok she was fine. They just went above and beyond with service oh and the food was amazing also.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.