Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Republic of Texas Bar & Grill

The AAA Four-Diamond Republic of Texas Bar & Grill is one of Corpus Christi's top dining destinations. Located on the 20th floor of the Bayfront Tower, this multi-level restaurant offers diners beautiful panoramic views of the Corpus Christi bay. Featuring USDA prime beef cuts, a wide variety of wild game and seafood selections. We acquired the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world in the past four years. We obtained the 2014 Diners' Choice Award for the Top 100 Most Romantic Restaurants in America. Also, won February Diners' Choice Award! Stop by and experience our lounge, it is open daily at 5 PM.

900 N Shoreline Blvd
Corpus Christi, TX 78401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wild Game, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:30pm-10:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Twigg Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(361) 886-3515

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/republic

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Daniel Rosa

Private Party Facilities:
Can accommodate private dinners, retirement parties, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, and business dinners and graduations.

Private Party Contact:
Etta Butts: (361) 886-3515

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Wine

Republic of Texas Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (37)
Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (29)
See All
Waterfront (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Business Meals (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Groups (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Authentic (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (3)
Live Music (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Historic (3)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Casual (2)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Dancing (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1037 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

The food is outstanding and the view and ambiance fantastic !!! Have been there many times and I have always enjoyed the experience. I would highly recommend this restaurant for special occasions or a romantic dinner with someone special!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

this place was amazing. server was great, the food was outstanding, and you just feel like a million bucks when you dine here. it is expensive, and not something I can afford all the time, but it is a real treat when I do make it out for dinner. p.s. I called to ask for a scenic view, and they were very accommodating. thanks Republic for making my night special!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I don't usually care for sweets, but don't leave without tasting the chocolate cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Appetizer and desert was great. My wife's chicken was cooked properly.

I had the double cut pork. Even though it was temped proper, it was very tough and lacked flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 6, 2017

And what is our anniversary we had a great time service was excellent we will be back very soon no complaints about this restaurant we loved it

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was very good, view is amazing, everything was great, until I checked by credit card account and found restaurant had overcharged me $30 over actual bill!! Unfortunately, I didn't keep my receipt, so I can't prove it. I would suggest anybody going there to keep their receipt in case this happens to them. Other than that, it was a great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The best steak in town, and stellar service. Highly recommended for special occasions. Great view of beach. You get what you pay for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The view makes this place. Food was good but the service was unexpectedly poor.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Took my wife for our twentieth anniversary and my two teenage girls. The amotospher was so nice and relaxing, great not having all the chatter you experience at most restaurant's. The food was excellent , our steaks , the roasted chicken and dessert was prepared just right. And the service from the hostess and our waiter were top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of the finest dining experiences in Corpus Christi. Gorgeous view of the bay accompanied by an excellent menu of steak, seafood, and game, along with a superior wine selection (a bit pricey though) and outstanding service. Recommend for a special romantic
evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was superb!

Service left a bit to be desired....food was slow coming out and server was a bit pretentious.

Overall didn't rain on our anniversary celebration!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food and atmosphere was good. The service was also good.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The service was outstanding. Even the manager pitched in to make sure we were served on time. Our main server was very knowledgable about all the dishes. We enjoyed our dinner very much

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This restaurant is a great place to go for any occasion! We were celebrating my promotion at work on this particular outing. We go there for our anniversaries as well. We have been there several times and have never had a a bad meal or bad service EVER. I highly recommend this place. Our waiter was very attentive and the bartender was great too.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary.
It was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Top of the line will always stop in when in town, great food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Customer Services was wonderful - prices were very high - but I expected that for a steakhouse, it was freezing - very uncomfortable - view was the main reason I went - windows were so foggy due to the weather -- so no view - which was no ones fault - just disappointing! Food was good - but not exceptional. Manager Joe was very nice and helped return our left behind cell phone, thank you Joe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This restaurant helped make our anniversary special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very disappointed in our experience. Our meal was not cooked properly and the service wasn't good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was delicious, service was outstanding and the atmosphere was perfect. A bit pricey but great for special occasions.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great experience would go there much more if I could afford it.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Vegan, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Dancing, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Tapas, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great for special occasions the staff is always prepared and on top of things . Romantic setting

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I go to the Republic of Texas a couple times a year. The view is great! The service is OK. On 02/13/17, we were sat right by the window with a great view however we were also by the kitchen doors. The doors were left open most of the time so it was very bright and very loud. The food was good but not great. There are better places to get steak in Corpus however I do not think you can beat the view.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our steaks we chewy and over cooked, something you wouldn't expect for a 50$ steak! Our waiter was horrible and very unproffesional. He came to check on us a total of 2 times throughout our entire meal. Or meals took over 45 minutes to come out and tasted horrible. We have no plans on returning or recommending this restaurant to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As usual, a wonderful dining experience. Great menu and service with a wonderful view. Ask for Angela's section if you can. The best.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My steak was over done! The service could of been a bit better- for the amount that we paid - I could have gone anywhere else for way lesser so when I picked this place I expected to be wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food and experience were very good. We were celebrating our daughter's 19th birthday but no one asked if we were there for a special occasion. We were a party of 5. When I went to pay the bill I noticed the gratuity of 18% had already been added (menu noted parties of 6 more would include gratuity). It was a little insulting to have the gratuity included. Implies I come across as someone who doesn't tip. I waited tables through college and am actually a very good tipper (even for mediocre service) so the waiter cheated himself.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great place!! For a romantic dinner date. My wife loved it and so did I.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary, and loved it!!!! Food, staff and most of all the Old Fashions. It so hard to find a well crafted old fashion.

Tags: Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The medium rare Allen Brother's Filet Mignon with the house made Béarnaise was perfect. Au Gratin potatoes made a complete meal. Wes is a superb server.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Excellent food and service. The best in Corpus Christi.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have been going here for ten years. This was my wife's birthday & her daughter flew in to surprise her, meeting us at the restaurant unannounced. The waiter was great, the manager went out of his way to actually film our daughter meeting her mother by surprise on her phone. Very nice atmosphere with high caliber employees. The piano bar and accompanying musician truly make it a place to want to return to over the years.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our server was a friendly gentleman, but it took an hour and a half to get our food, during which time he disappeared completely. The fish dishes were over done and over salted. When our dessert menus were delivered, the waiter immediately came over and literally collected all the dessert menus from our hands, saying "no, I'm taking care of this!" We all assumed he was trying to make up for the slow service. Then, he brought ONE VERY TINY cup of mousse for all four of us to share. What?? We all got a good laugh out of that, but it was pretty pathetic. The view is certainly great, but food and service were sub-par. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Since we were staying at the Omni, and after some restaurant research, we decided to eat here as we were on a getaway for my husband’s birthday. What a fantastic surprise. Even after reading the reviews, we were not prepared for the atmosphere of this restaurant! The dining area is surrounded by 2 story windows on the 19-20th floors. The view is magnificent. There is even a viewing balcony to get a better look at the bay and boats.
The service & steak were what we had expected in a FINE dining restaurant. Fantastic! Martinis were awesome and the wine list was extensive. Our server Wes was friendly and helpful when asked about some area details. Definitely 5*!

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We went to the Republic of Texas on the recommendation of several locals. While the view was marvelous, the service was accommodating, the food simply disappointed. We started off with a bland fondue that was served with crostinis that were just on this side of stale, two of us ordered ribeyes that were tough and chewy. The asparagus was large, sinewy and bland while the Au gratin potatoes were bland as well.

All in al it was a very disappointing meal worthy of a Sirloin Stockade rather than an upmarket hotspot.

Tags: People Watching, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our waiter (Tommy) was excellent in his service, his food and restaurant knowledge and his dinner sense of humor. A rare combination. Food was absolutely delicious and prepared to a T. Prices were a bit high, but to be expected for the environment and restaurant quality/reputation. All in all we will go back again and again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Cruz, our server was excellent! We had the Chateaubriand and it did not disappoint. Cooked to perfection We finished with a Creme Brûlée that was done perfectly. They have an extensive wine list with something for everyone. The view is spectacular. Make a reservation it's a busy place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The dining room is beautiful. Large glass windows look out onto the bay, so for a fantastic view, go during sunlight hours.
Complimentary valet parking is very helpful.
A supposed four star steak house in Texas should have great steaks, and this place does not. I have had great steaks in Chicago (many), Indianapolis, Philadelphia, Tortola (BVI)!, and even Wilmington, Delaware, but not here.
Thankfully, the wine list is good, and the carrot cake, which can feed two to three, was outstanding.
Lastly, who charges $10 for a loaded baked potato, on top of $40 bucks for a tough steak?

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was not cooked properly.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We took my mother to celebrate her 78th birthday. This was my first visit to the restaurant, we've been to the hotel several times for weddings. The view of Corpus Christi bay was amazing! Food, service, cocktails, wine and after dinner coffee were spot on. Definitely the absolute best place I've been in Corpus Christi and the surrounding area.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.