Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Republic of Texas Bar & Grill

The AAA Four-Diamond Republic of Texas Bar & Grill is one of Corpus Christi's top dining destinations. Located on the 20th floor of the Bayfront Tower, this multi-level restaurant offers diners beautiful panoramic views of the Corpus Christi bay. Featuring USDA prime beef cuts, a wide variety of wild game and seafood selections. We acquired the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world in the past four years. We obtained the 2014 Diners' Choice Award for the Top 100 Most Romantic Restaurants in America. Also, won February Diners' Choice Award! Stop by and experience our lounge, it is open daily at 5 PM.

900 N Shoreline Blvd
Corpus Christi, TX 78401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wild Game, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:30pm-10:30pm, Sunday 5:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Twigg Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(361) 886-3515

Website:
http://www.omnihotels.com/republic

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Daniel Rosa

Private Party Facilities:
Can accommodate private dinners, retirement parties, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, and business dinners and graduations.

Private Party Contact:
Etta Butts: (361) 886-3515

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Wine

Republic of Texas Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Romantic (34)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Waterfront (30)
Scenic View (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Notable Wine List (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Business Meals (12)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Live Music (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Cozy (6)
Fun (5)
Casual (5)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1071 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined 5 days ago

Very expensive for a lot of salt and very little flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

I wasn't surprised by the level of service or the great tasting food. I've heard nothing but good things about this restaurant and it did not disappoint. Everything from the appetizers of shrimp cocktail and clam chowder to my steak and my wife's grilled grouper was amazing and we will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Very attentive to our needs and knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. This was our first time there and we will return.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful service and delicious food! Would highly recommend!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrating the start of my son's wedding weekend. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excelent view with great food and drinks. If you want something romantic thus is the place

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great service and food was awesome. Love this place!

Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and it was the perfect place. The staff was very friendly and accommodating . Our Waiter, Tommy, answered any questions we had about the menu and took his time. We never felt like he was rushing us. He seemed very knowledgeable about the wines that would pair with our meal which we appreciated. We would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends and family and out of town visitors. The food was excellent, service was excellent and the view of Corpus Christi Bay was beautiful.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Casual, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The wine and the appetizers were wonderful as well as the rack of lamb. However, the venison was not edible. At least the manager comped the meal, but it ruined the evening's dining occasion. The wait staff was very nice and understanding. For the amount of money spent for dinner, even with compensation, it was very expensive.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This is definitely a 5 star restaurant in my opinion!
The service was very professional, helpful and friendly. Three things that are hard to find in the same establishment. The ambience was classic steakhouse with out being pretentious.
The food was cooked to perfection, or at least the way we wanted it, and presented perfectly!
The staff was over and beyond expectations!
The views from the balcony are with a trip! Our reservation was at sunset, absolutely beautiful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 30, 2017

loved it, we are going back. we have never been at your place. it met or exceeded our expectation!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I chose Republic of Texas for my birthday dinner. My husband and daughter were driving in from out of town and didn't arrive until almost an hour after our reservation due to traffic. Our waitress Chris was very accommodating and our meal was delicious. As a vegetarian, I am not always able to find fine dining restaurants with excellent vegetarian options, but the vegetarian dish of the day (mushroom ravioli with a cream, corn and leek sauce) was amazing. The restaurant offers incredible views and has a nice wine list too.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food was awesome and our waitress Chris is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great food! Bit of a mix up when we received the bill. Itemized bill had one price but when our credit card was run it was $70 more. They, of course fixed it graciously and apologetically.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was good but for the price, I would expect more. We had the quail and the black drum, both good but not excellent, which I would expect for such prices. The entrees don't even include sides; you have to get those extra if you want any. Two of the least expensive entrees, one side and two glasses of wine ran over $100. I was expecting to pay as much for this special occasion, but I had higher expectations

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great view, fantastic meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We always have a great dining experience at Republic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Everything was awesome, I would just recommend a little more fine dining etiquette training and wine knowledge. Good job though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It's a great place to come and have great ambiance and great food. Best place to come and celebrate a special occasion here in Corpus. Oh yea, the piano playing in the background is really nice

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I'm sorry for the long review but these are points I thought you should know. This was a special occasion for my wife and I. It was a vacation trip to Texas and we looked forward all week to enjoying a steak dinner before our return to Pennsylvania. Corpus Christy was the last stop on our visit and we felt this would have been a good close to an interesting trip.
Now for the reason for the low remarks for this restaurant.
Service is one of the keys to an enjoyable experience at any restaurant and this area was the lowest. Specifically, the waiter assigned to our table was more interested in explaining his background and travel experiences at the table next us. He did take our order and delivered our first glass of wine but beyond that service he DID NOT recognize we could have drank another glass (making the bill higher & higher tip) of wine. The food was delivered by the assistants.
The food prices are on the higher side (ala cart) for a steakhouse but we anticipated paying more for good well prepared food (steaks were just warm but the plates cold).
Wine selection good but prices are higher but we anticipated paying more for a good glass of wine with dinner.
The view and restaurant setting are good for this bay.
We decided to pass on desert because of the service. Again, bad service- lower bill & lower tip.
Again the rating could have been better had it not been for the service. It's some what difficult but possible to explain to restaurant manager why you would like another servicer but for a one time experience we decided to pass and move on to other more enjoyable things to do that evening.
Some restaurant will leave a service review with the bill. Unfortunately this one did not and this would have given the restaurant manager the opportunity to have this server called to attention and to improve his service skills.
Regards, Matthew

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We went with our friends for our 31st wedding anniversary and tommy was awesome all the staff where very nice and helpful. My wife fell slightly down the last step down to our table and at least 3 different people came over to make sure she was allright offering free things to which we thanked them and said it was ok she was fine. They just went above and beyond with service oh and the food was amazing also.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The view of the harbor, marina and bay is outstanding. Our waiter, Johnny and his assistant were attentive and wonderful. The menu is creative and interesting. The vension dish was terrific, and I enjoyed my filet. The desserts are all made in house, which often is not the case. It was a fabulous, leisurely dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Went here for a date recently. Food was amazing, wait staff both knowledgeable and energetic. View of bay makes quite a sight, especially at sunset.
Highly recommended from me.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was excellent. Service, ambiance, food. Could not have made a better choice in dining

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mothers day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner. The view is unbeatable. The food is really good. The service is good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food is always so delicious and the service is amazing. We would like to thank Wes for his excellent service for the last two times that we've eaten there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food is fantastic paired with great atmosphere and a sweeping view. We'll definitely be returning again the next time we're in Corpus Christi.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The special market fish was Tile which I truly love . I was able to enjoy it fully as the Tile was atop the stewed eggplant, tomatoes and peppers (which were delicious). I am not a person who likes my entree smothered so I was very thankful for this presentation. My husband had the filet mignon which was very tender and flavorful. I would have liked fresh raw Gulf oysters however the Oysters Republic proved to be very good as well as the Crab Fondue. Service was excellent. I enjoyed the layout of the restaurant as I believe having the different levels gave each dining area a more cozy and private feeling and most likely is why I found it quiet and relaxing.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I WAS LOOKING FORWARD TO THIS BUSINESS MEETING I WAS HOSTING. GREETING BY HOSTESS WAS VERY GOOD. WINE SELECTION WAS ALSO EXCEPTIONAL.

HOWEVER, THE SOUP WAS LUKE WARM WHEN IT ARRIVED AND TWO OF THE STEAKS, ORDERED RARE (AND RE-EMPHASIZED) TO THE WAITRESS, CAME OUT WELL DONE. VERY EMBARESSING TO MY CLIENTS TO HAVE TO SEND THEM BACK; AS WELL AS THEIR HAVING TO WAIT WHILE THE OTHER CLIENTS ATE THEIR MEALS.

FOR A DESTINATION DINING ESTABLISHMENT THIS IS NOT SATISFACTORY.

JIM CLIFTON

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I love the place and the food the view was good looking over the city I will go again at anytime

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Live Music, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Fun, Romantic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Fantastic! Will be going again! Staff and food were amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food is outstanding and the view and ambiance fantastic !!! Have been there many times and I have always enjoyed the experience. I would highly recommend this restaurant for special occasions or a romantic dinner with someone special!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The Texas Bar and Grill is fine dining with a splendid view of the Bay. I ordered fresh-caught ling, aka cobia, a fish I have never caught and until then never eaten. It was delicious, perfectly prepared and presented. My wife ordered red snapper and was delighted with it as well. Our waiter was professional, personable, and just fun to chat with as he waited our table. Should we return to Corpus, we will return. Do not expect cheap; do expect perfection.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 18, 2017

this place was amazing. server was great, the food was outstanding, and you just feel like a million bucks when you dine here. it is expensive, and not something I can afford all the time, but it is a real treat when I do make it out for dinner. p.s. I called to ask for a scenic view, and they were very accommodating. thanks Republic for making my night special!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I don't usually care for sweets, but don't leave without tasting the chocolate cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Appetizer and desert was great. My wife's chicken was cooked properly.

I had the double cut pork. Even though it was temped proper, it was very tough and lacked flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 5, 2017

And what is our anniversary we had a great time service was excellent we will be back very soon no complaints about this restaurant we loved it

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was very good, view is amazing, everything was great, until I checked by credit card account and found restaurant had overcharged me $30 over actual bill!! Unfortunately, I didn't keep my receipt, so I can't prove it. I would suggest anybody going there to keep their receipt in case this happens to them. Other than that, it was a great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The best steak in town, and stellar service. Highly recommended for special occasions. Great view of beach. You get what you pay for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.