About Reposado Restaurant

236 Hamilton Avenue
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Reposado represents the latest addition to our family of restaurants. This unique experience offers exceptional Mexican cuisine which will challenge the imagination and seduce the palate.



Born from a rich tradition of regional Mexican specialties and contemporary culinary influences, it promises to be not only memorable but also enjoyable.



Please come enjoy a richly satisfying and fun Mexican dining experience.



Eat. Drink. Relax

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
Emerson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 833-3151

Website:
http://www.reposadorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, there is ample parking in the Palo Alto Civic Center underground parking garage a half block East of the restaurant. The entrance to the garage is a half block South of the intersection of Hamilton and Ramona.

Executive Chef:
Arnulfo Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Reposado offers Private Dining (with bar) in our beautiful Mezzanine Dining Room overlooking our main bar and dining room.

The Mezzanine Dining Room will accommodate up to 45 comfortably for dining and 75 for cocktails.

Private Party Contact:
Mitalee Nangrani: 6508333151x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Reposado Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Palo Alto ›

Good for Groups (45)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
See All
Special Occasion (30)
Hot Spot (30)
Great for Lunch (28)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Romantic (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Business Meals (8)
Authentic (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Casual (6)
Healthy (6)
Fun (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tapas (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1562 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great for a birthday party! A little pri ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great for a birthday party! A little pricey, but not too bad for Palo Alto.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in Palo Alto, and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Palo Alto, and the best upscale Mexican Food in the Bay Area! Great food and good atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not been there for some time; my din ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Had not been there for some time; my dinner partner (business) liked it very much! Great to be there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

The appetizers were good. Our main cour ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The appetizers were good. Our main courses were excellent and deserts superb . The server had a great personality and was was very knowledgable and made great reccomebdations. The margaritas and pisco sours were to die for.

It's a very warm environment with one exception - the noise level was too high. Even though the ceiling is high there's no carpet or anything to absorb the sound. For a group it's okay NOT for a romantic evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Come late because after work and up unti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Come late because after work and up until 7:30 it is packed and LOUD! Excellent food though. Make reservations!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Love the food, the atmosphere and servic ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Love the food, the atmosphere and service. Especially like ceviche , guacamole, shrimp dish, quest mole,Yucatan salmon & desserts

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We dined fairly early for a party of 6 a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We dined fairly early for a party of 6 and were given a choice of tables.

After being seated, service of drinks was prompt. The wine and drinks list has an interesting list of unusual wines, by the glass and by the bottle. We tried a couple by the glass that went very well with the spicy food--not every wine does, but these two were a great match. There is also an extensive list of signature drinks based on mezcal and tequila.

We ordered five different appetizers which came each one about 5 to 10 minutes after the other, which was great...as it gave us time to really appreciate each one! They were all good, but particularly outstanding were the Shrimp Empanadas, the Pork Belly, and the Street Tacos (that came with four fillings.)

The main courses were equally outstanding with everyone around the table arguing about who had the best. I had a seared rare tuna, but as good as it was, the my friend across the table shared a taste of his Chicken in Mole and I thought it was one of the best mole sauces I had ever tasted. It made me wish I had ordered it, even though I was really enjoying the tuna. One vegetarian friend had the whole roasted corn with Cotija cheese and a side of roasted vegetables. The corn tasted fantastic, although she wasn't quite as enthusiastic about the roasted vegetables.

We split three desserts for the table: The very dark, moist chocolate cake was hard think of any way to improve on--everything an intense chocolate dessert should be. There was a really great selection of Mexican-flavored helados (ice creams.) Things like Dulce de Leche, Coconut, Mexican Chocolate, etc. They came with Mexican cookies and my only complaint is that two little cookies is too few! The bread pudding, though, is the one everyone gave six thumbs up to ...moist and a great caramel flavor.

We really enjoyed our server. Prompt, friendly, and a sweet sense of humor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

$18 margarita and $14 sangria was expens ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

$18 margarita and $14 sangria was expensive and weak. Chicken mole has hardly any meat and no flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

I am new to the area and this restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I am new to the area and this restaurant is my new go to place -for date night or fun group dinner! Absolutely love it!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and service were excellent. Just di ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Just did not particularly care about the $20 cocktails! ( the menu did not list this price) . Our tab was much higher that we expected which reduced our enjoyement of the evening.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

I had received a gift card for my birthd ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I had received a gift card for my birthday, so my husband and I decided to use it.

The restaurant was spacious, and at the same time, cozy looking.

The food was delicious and the service was good.

We had merlot which was also very good.

We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous place! Food is delicious and cr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fabulous place! Food is delicious and creative. I'd go back over and over again in a heartbeat!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent mexican food, and a number of ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent mexican food, and a number of great margaritas.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Real Mexican; not Tex-Mex. Quite excell ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Real Mexican; not Tex-Mex. Quite excellent. Hard to find a healthy and delicious Mexican restaurant. This place succeeds. However, $21 for a margarita???? That was not a fun surprise.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

terrific seafood appetizers/ make a goo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

terrific seafood appetizers/ make a good lunch with just the appetizers alone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

even at a very early hour, the noise lev ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

even at a very early hour, the noise level is horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The service was good and timely. Our lun ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The service was good and timely.

Our lunches were both tasty. We asked for a booth and were accommodated with that request.

Overall a good lunch spot. The only issue is that parking is tricky around lunch-time, so you should plan accordingly.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service were great. Their mole ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Food and service were great. Their mole sauce is one of the best I've tasted. Good wine list and outstanding choice of tequilas.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The manager was terrific - reseated us w ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The manager was terrific - reseated us when a large party arrived next to us to a quieter table and gave us amazing courtesy appetizers as a "thank you." We were blown away by this gesture and the delicious food - will definitely make this our special occasion place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing Margaritas and appetizers (tapa ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing Margaritas and appetizers (tapas). Main plates I liked the pork

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

We ordered a couple of plates of Chorizo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We ordered a couple of plates of Chorizo Stuffed Dates [2 per plate], and we were 5 in the group, the host was kind enough to bring another date to even it out. Great service, and excellent drinks and food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was breathtaking. So were the p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was breathtaking. So were the prices. We spent $120 on cocktails and left the place sober.....The handmade corn tortillas are exquisite, especially with the cheese and mushroom topping. And the lamb appetiser was one of the best things I've ever been served in a restaurant. But seriously, we spent over $200 and didn't even order any main courses!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

Have loved this place in the past but m ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Have loved this place in the past but my latest meal there was just OK. Guacamole was very good but the Caesar Salad was a bit bland and uninspired. The space remains quite nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Lunch at Reposado is always delicious! T ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Lunch at Reposado is always delicious! Thank you for the booth. Our server was efficient and hospitable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been here a lot, but I suspect we' ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We've been here a lot, but I suspect we'll cut back because it has gotten too expensive. I midrange dinner shouldn't cost that much. Even in Palo Alto.

My daughter and I lived the Enchiladas Mariscos. My wife and son liked their Caesar Salads.

Obviously the best margaritas in town, though the choices can be a bit intimidating. (As well as the prices).

Bustling vibe, especially around the bar.

I like it when the windows are open.

The place makes an appearance on the HBO show Silicon Valley

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

Classy, upscale ambiance in an informal ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Classy, upscale ambiance in an informal environment. Beautiful white star lanterns up above with a high ceiling. Vibrant bar is lit at night! Anna Marenco was our main server and she is fantastic! Wonderful with a consistently warm smile and so accomodating. I recommend the crepas con mariscos. Make sure to finish them there though because leftovers tend to smell like the ocean. Albondigas app will make you wish for spaghetti. Tortillas upon request.

Loved the chef's high top table in front of the clear glass divided kitchen, available for use with greater than a 12 person party, great for birthdays! Make a reservation and call for more details.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Each of us ordered the snapper with bean ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Each of us ordered the snapper with bean salad + cucumber salad. We all wanted something light and everyone was happy with the dish. The fish was high quality and cooked well. The food colors were beautiful and it was presented very nicely. Server and staff were really nice. The restaurant was a little slow during this time so was quiet and so we could linger and have conversations with no difficulty. Booth seating was very comfortable. The entree portions were a little small, perhaps that's a lunch-sized portion. We ordered cake and shared -- it was delicious and the restaurant comped us for it because it was a birthday gathering. Nice touch!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant and excellent experienc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great restaurant and excellent experience dining out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although the service at the table was fr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Although the service at the table was friendly and competent, we were not greeted when we arrived, only stared at until I explained what we were there for. Awkward already.

The space is nice, very open, carefully decorated. But at a restaurant, the food is the important thing. We started with Tres Ceviches. Flavor was very one dimensional and there were some slight off flavors. I would stay away from the ceviches. We also had the tamalitos (ok), the guacamole (quite good, the high point of the meal), the queso fundido (also good, but served to close to the main), and the pollo con mole (we didn't eat this).

Things were just ok, but I don't consider this a good value for the cost. Perhaps it was a bad night for them, as they seem to have overall good reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

This restaurant is pricey but nicely app ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This restaurant is pricey but nicely appointed. The decor is great, the tables are not too close to each other, so intimate conversation is possible. The food itself was great, and so were the drinks and appetizers.

Service was superb, I had no empty glass at any point throughout the night.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Super expensive!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Super expensive!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was generally interesting and d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was generally interesting and delicious. Guacamole and chips were outstanding. Didn't quite meet my expectations for an outstanding meal given the prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good consistent food. Atmosphere a plus. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Good consistent food. Atmosphere a plus. Our server was good at getting up new items and allowing changes to the menu. We appreciated it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The high table used for party of 12 or m ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The high table used for party of 12 or more is not always the best due to the high level of noise. My manager has asked to relocate two future group lunch to another location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Good overall, but service and food are n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good overall, but service and food are not what they were a couple of years ago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Such a fun place. Server was very perso ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Such a fun place. Server was very personable and friendly without intruding on conversations. I had the street tacos - just the right amount for light lunch. Good margarita. Place was surprisingly quiet at noon on a Saturday. A gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance when you walk in and I wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great ambiance when you walk in and I wanted to like this place, but I just wasn't impressed with the food. The fish ceviche just wasn't great - no real flavor, the seafood crepes were overpowered by the sauce smothering it and the salsa wasn't anything special. The best part was the guac. Dissappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Loved the food and drink. Appetizers we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Loved the food and drink. Appetizers were awesome but the main entree (pork) was lacking and have to say I wouldn't order it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It's been awhile since I've been to Repo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

It's been awhile since I've been to Reposado. Prices have increased dramatically. I would now put it in the $$$$ range. We had 2 appetizers and 2 salads + 1 lemonade, and the food was excellet. However, at the cost of $65, we can't afford to go back there again anytime soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Have eaten here several times. Each entr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Have eaten here several times. Each entree has been great. It is a special occasion place for us. When we need a lift or to celebrate something this is one of our choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.