About Reposado Restaurant

236 Hamilton Avenue
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Reposado represents the latest addition to our family of restaurants. This unique experience offers exceptional Mexican cuisine which will challenge the imagination and seduce the palate.



Born from a rich tradition of regional Mexican specialties and contemporary culinary influences, it promises to be not only memorable but also enjoyable.



Please come enjoy a richly satisfying and fun Mexican dining experience.



Eat. Drink. Relax

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
Emerson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 833-3151

Website:
http://www.reposadorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, there is ample parking in the Palo Alto Civic Center underground parking garage a half block East of the restaurant. The entrance to the garage is a half block South of the intersection of Hamilton and Ramona.

Executive Chef:
Arnulfo Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Reposado offers Private Dining (with bar) in our beautiful Mezzanine Dining Room overlooking our main bar and dining room.

The Mezzanine Dining Room will accommodate up to 45 comfortably for dining and 75 for cocktails.

Private Party Contact:
Mitalee Nangrani: 6508333151x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Celebrate the holidays with our restaurant family. Enjoy our chef's special prix fixed dinner menu at Reposado and Scratch, open noon to 9pm, Gravity, open 2pm to 11pm. Or take a break at our bar with a glass of wine and a lite bite from our bar menu.

Reposado Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Palo Alto ›

Good for Groups (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (23)
Modern Decor (23)
Business Meals (22)
Fun (22)
Hot Spot (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Casual (15)
Authentic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Tapas (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Healthy (10)
Romantic (8)
Family Style (8)
People Watching (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Spicy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Cozy (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1601 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant has nice interior but was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The restaurant has nice interior but was extremely loud. The food is overpriced for the quality. Salmon was cooked nice but nothing extraordinary. The guacamole was terrible. Don't listen to OpenTable categorization of this restaurant as Mexican. It's not. Our server was very helpful and it was good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

This restaurant is a repeat, but it is r ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

This restaurant is a repeat, but it is really noisy with concrete floors and open ceiling. Great for large groups (as there were many at the restaurant the night we were there). Food was good, cocktails were good, not great. I reserve a great rating of cocktails when the cocktails offered are creative, different and original. Service was good, but a packed dinner hour had the service busy. Public parking is nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We have found that having a selection of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We have found that having a selection of appetizers at a booth in the bar area is a delightful experience. The bartender, who doubles as a waiter in this area, is very professional .

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a cocktail...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for a cocktail...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Always delicious!!! Friendly staff!! Can ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always delicious!!! Friendly staff!! Can't wait to go back!! GREAT MARGARITAS!!!!

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had first gone to a different restaur ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had first gone to a different restaurant earlier in the afternoon for our Thanksgiving meal. But it was so bad that we ended up being hungry later that night because of the disappointing meal so we looked on OpenTable to see who was still serving and lucky for us Reposado was still accepting reservations. We all ordered different meals and each meal was absolutely perfect in taste, temperature and presentation. Our servers were gracious despite that we were the last customers that night and they must have been eager to get to their families. What a relief that I was able to offer our guests a great meal as opposed to the mediocre one from the other restaurant. I will definitely return to Reposado!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with 2 friends for Thanksgiving - T ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went with 2 friends for Thanksgiving - This was our 4th Thanksgiving here - it's now a tradition.

The food is outstanding and the staff is as well - I had a classic turkey special and my friend had the salmon - the small bite at the beginning was amazing and so was everything that followed.

We will return next year and probably a few times during the year!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here at least once during/befo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Have been here at least once during/before Thanksgiving for the past four years and notice that the food quality has been going down. Latest visit we had a nice waitress, who took care of our family and made recommendations. The house Margarita with a shot of grand marnier was really good. Appetizers: sautéed shrimp and scallops was over cooked and bland. The triple ceviche was bland and small portions. The guacamole and chips were good as always. The main course: marinated grilled hangersteak was very good. The Salmon was okay. The recommended fish stew in octopus broth sounded great, but was over cooked and way way too spicy, probably to make up for the bland taste. Don't get me wrong, I like a bit of a kick, but this was practically unedible. I still like the place, though with each year I experience decreased value, especially for a family of 5. I think for a couple who want a few cocktails and some bites to eat, it's a great place to visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great food. Would like to have more choi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food. Would like to have more choices in menu, but whatever is in there is cooked great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was a perfect environment for our fam ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

It was a perfect environment for our family get together. We were able to assemble in the bar, have a drink before we sat for dinner. We were sat on time and the service was good. Our waiter was pleasant and took care of us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed a ladies night out, and they LOV ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Enjoyed a ladies night out, and they LOVED it! The food hit the spot, and the ladies raved about the service, the table, and the ambiance. It was loud, so be prepared for that.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful modern space for excellent, up ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Beautiful modern space for excellent, upscale Mexican food. The service is also friendly and excellent. Star plates: the spicy and perfectly cooked Chicken mole, and the pork pibil. Fresh, imaginative versions of classics with subtle spice combinations. Margaritas and other cocktails are superb.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent margaritas, delicious guacamo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent margaritas, delicious guacamole, modern atmosphere, great experience

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous!! Great nite out for dinner wit ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fabulous!! Great nite out for dinner with my hubby!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Visited our grandson at Stanford. Was a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Visited our grandson at Stanford. Was a great dinner for all of us. Noise level was good for conversation and fog outstanding.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food and service. Love the atmosphe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food and service. Love the atmosphere, it's just expensive!

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great vibe. Delicious food. Wonderful me ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great vibe. Delicious food. Wonderful memories.

Family style is the way to go to enjoy all the incredible dishes.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the food and drinks! We had an e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We love the food and drinks! We had an excellent server: Shiloh. We don't like the noise level but otherwise it is a great restaurant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Loud and no one really loved their meal. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Loud and no one really loved their meal. The appetizers were unimpressive. Guacamole was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Reposado is our favorite hangout. We lov ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Reposado is our favorite hangout. We love the variety of foods available especially for vegetarian crowd.

Tags: Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food and the service was excellent! ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food and the service was excellent! They exceeded my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible service-flexible amd accommod ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Incredible service-flexible amd accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First off the food was great! Nothing go ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2016

First off the food was great! Nothing good enough to leave me craving for it next time, but tasty. Ambiance was typical for its target market. Noise level was loud. Wait time even with a reservation was about 15 min past my reservation time which was a bad way to start things. Drink menu is outdated, everything comes with either agave or simple syrup which fell out of fashion in mid 2000. Wait staff was a bit underwhelming, a bit too pushy on the up-sale and bit too nonchalant making slight comments about the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Yummy Yummy is all you need to know! Go ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Yummy Yummy is all you need to know! Go Go is all you need to do.

Elegant flavors where a real surprise.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is fresh but more traditional o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food is fresh but more traditional options would be good to see rather than everything being some version of what a supposed fancy Mexican restaurant would serve? Water glasses smelled odd. Otherwise, nice staff and decent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Took a while to get service but otherwis ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Took a while to get service but otherwise it was delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Solid B. Would like more variety on menu ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Solid B. Would like more variety on menu. Tacos a little bland. Good bar.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our server was excellent. The food was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our server was excellent. The food was hit and miss - scallops were a bit bland, date with chorizo was enjoyable, the chile appetizer (?) was too spicy for many at the table, tuna was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great upscale Mexican restaurant - my fa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great upscale Mexican restaurant - my favorite in Palo Alto.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice food, good selection of alcohols. L ...

 
 (東京)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Nice food, good selection of alcohols. Lots of guests and it's noisy inside, so not a place to have a quiet conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and excellent Margaritas! Ni ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great food and excellent Margaritas! Nice ambience for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I had heard so much about the food, and ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I had heard so much about the food, and it was good. But didn't blow my mind.

The noise level was extremely high and not pleasant. i wouldn't recommend this for a business dinner or even a large group if you want to have conversation. If conversation is not an issue, then its ok for large groups.

The service was amazing. I had made a reservation for another night by mistake and took a group of 10, but they so elegantly accommodated us, that no one realized my mistake. The space was full, so I am impressed that they could seat us.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

this place is so noisy that you can not ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

this place is so noisy that you can not carry any conversation across the table without shouting.

the food is good but the choices for vegeterian or vegan are limited. Also no bread or chips and salsa unless you order and pay for.

dessert choices are limited and there were no berries or fruit choices.

the waiters are stressed and its over crowded even in mid week nights.

parking in this area is impossible and they do not have valet.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Drinks were great, seafood crepes were a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Drinks were great, seafood crepes were a bit fishy. Disappointing.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Last minute reservation for a party of 7 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Last minute reservation for a party of 7. Great service. As usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good food, great service, hip crowd but ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Good food, great service, hip crowd but restrooms are way too distant, I had to walk all across the lower level, take the elevator and go to second level for the restrooms.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Family Style, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I love it here but Friday nights are qui ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I love it here but Friday nights are quite noisy. Overall, good drinks, good food , great fun!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service! The best thing about this ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great service! The best thing about this place is the excellent service. The ambiance is very cool. The food was tasty, well presented, but not authentic. The fact it wasn't authentic isn't a problem for me, as I still believed the food was very good. I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Spicy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a birthday party! A little pri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great for a birthday party! A little pricey, but not too bad for Palo Alto.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in Palo Alto, and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Palo Alto, and the best upscale Mexican Food in the Bay Area! Great food and good atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.