About Reposado Restaurant

236 Hamilton Avenue
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Reposado represents the latest addition to our family of restaurants. This unique experience offers exceptional Mexican cuisine which will challenge the imagination and seduce the palate.



Born from a rich tradition of regional Mexican specialties and contemporary culinary influences, it promises to be not only memorable but also enjoyable.



Please come enjoy a richly satisfying and fun Mexican dining experience.



Eat. Drink. Relax

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
Emerson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 833-3151

Website:
http://www.reposadorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, there is ample parking in the Palo Alto Civic Center underground parking garage a half block East of the restaurant. The entrance to the garage is a half block South of the intersection of Hamilton and Ramona.

Executive Chef:
Arnulfo Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Reposado offers Private Dining (with bar) in our beautiful Mezzanine Dining Room overlooking our main bar and dining room.

The Mezzanine Dining Room will accommodate up to 45 comfortably for dining and 75 for cocktails.

Private Party Contact:
Mitalee Nangrani: 6508333151x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Reposado Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Palo Alto ›

fit for foodies (62)
good for groups (61)
hot spot (49)
See All
vibrant bar scene (43)
great for lunch (34)
special occasion (32)
neighborhood gem (26)
romantic (16)
great for brunch (12)
kid-friendly (8)
late-night find (7)
notable wine list (5)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1523 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved the food and drink. Appetizers we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Loved the food and drink. Appetizers were awesome but the main entree (pork) was lacking and have to say I wouldn't order it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It's been awhile since I've been to Repo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

It's been awhile since I've been to Reposado. Prices have increased dramatically. I would now put it in the $$$$ range. We had 2 appetizers and 2 salads + 1 lemonade, and the food was excellet. However, at the cost of $65, we can't afford to go back there again anytime soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Have eaten here several times. Each entr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Have eaten here several times. Each entree has been great. It is a special occasion place for us. When we need a lift or to celebrate something this is one of our choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is good but not great. For the cos ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food is good but not great. For the cost of the entree you get very little so that is disappointing. Now I am not a lover of HUGE portions but I expect more than four pieces of shrimp, a scoop of rice and three pieces of asparagus in my entree that was $32. Plus their margaritas glasses are filled with ice so you get about 3-4 sips and you're done. There are so many other options available in downtown Palo Alto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Came for a business lunch with 5 people. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Came for a business lunch with 5 people. Sat at a round table that made the discussion easy. Food was excellent and then menu has something for everyone - including vegetarian and vegan!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent.The noise ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food and service was excellent.The noise level a

Was a little loud,but it was very busy

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good food and service, but the tabl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very good food and service, but the table looked directly into the setting sun and the windows had no shades.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

it was fine. It just wasn't great. The ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

it was fine. It just wasn't great. The menus wording made the food sound so much better than it was. We had the lamb, skirt steak, tacos, guacamole, corn and fondue chefs appetizer. The house margarita was terrific as was the chips and salsa varieties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was not good - constantly had to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Service was not good - constantly had to flag down the wait staff, waited at least 30 minutes before order was taken and had to ask another staff member to find him so that our order could be put in

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Highly recommend this place!!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Highly recommend this place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had high hopes considering some of the ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I had high hopes considering some of the more recent positive reviews and, quite frankly, the menu prices. We were greeted very warmly and taken to our table immediately. However, that's the only positive thing in our Reposado experience. The waitress approached our table (just 2 of us) to take out drink order. I asked if the sangria contained any strawberries (the description on the menu read "fresh fruit"). She was a bit annoyed and proceeded to tell me what is in a sangria ("red wine and champagne"). When I explained I have a strawberry allergy she pursed he lips and noted in my order "no strawberries." Our drinks arrived and we went ahead and ordered our apps, the queso fundido (vegetarian)and the tamalitos. The tamalitos arrived first via the runner and then the queso fundido. No waitress in sight. The tamalitos were nothing special...I have definitely had better from food trunks in San Francisco (maybe even from the freezer at Whole Foods!). And the queso fundido was not hot and looked more like coagulated processed cheese floating in a puddle of grease. It was extremely salty and the chiles in it were bland. The waitress finally appeared to take our dinner order (we had finished our apps and no one had checked on us once). We politely asked for our check. By the way, the sangria did not contain wine nor champagne and was more like a sugary fruit punch which I did not finish. Sadly, this has been my worst experience in my years of booking through Open Tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Good food but expensive for what you get ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good food but expensive for what you get, especially the small plates.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

At a Mexican restaurant, I typically lik ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

At a Mexican restaurant, I typically like to indulge in a margarita. They offer 2 sizes: regular and grande, which really should be relabelled as small and regular. My grande skinny margarita was $20! Other than that, the food was good and service excellent. Sadly, next time, I might forego the margarita since it is such a poor value.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Way too noisy. Food pretty good but spar ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Way too noisy. Food pretty good but sparse for the price. Average Cal-Mex food for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

the food was varied and good -- not outs ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

the food was varied and good -- not outstanding but the bill was outstanding

$150 for lunch w no liquor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Awesome guacamole and shrimp and scallo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Awesome guacamole and shrimp and scallop small plates. The restaurant space is cool industrial. Service was great too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining was great - it is a drive for us ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Dining was great - it is a drive for us - so we make a special trip when we want the great food. Street tacos are a standby favorite. We also love to guacamole. This time we added a few other Apps to round it out and make a meal of it.

The only issue - the last 2 times I've made a reservation on Open Table - they process it as if I didn't show up. That is getting frustrating - having to file a response & justify why I spent good money there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Been here few times and always Luv it - ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Been here few times and always Luv it - margaritas are great - my fav Cadillac and guava - great service a bit pricy but worth it

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is one of our favorite haunts in Pa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is one of our favorite haunts in Palo Alto. The Bar staff are wonderful and the chef is a gem.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good for a group of 14. A real mix up wi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Good for a group of 14. A real mix up with the bill added a half hour wait. Good service and excellent but pricey margaritas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Queso was good, all our entrees were exc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Queso was good, all our entrees were excellent and the atmosphere was great for a celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Plantain chips and guacamole are a must ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Plantain chips and guacamole are a must try! Crowded even on weekdays, definitely recommend making a reservation.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great new menu

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Will be returning to try more items off the refreshed menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, so-so service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

First server spilled water all over table, then just swabbed it around with a wet towel. Order taker was pleasant and competent. Second server brought soup but no spoon. Soup sat and cooled while we tried to get someone's attention about the spoon. Very loud, trendy ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Could be better

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My biggest complain are two things: 1. too much ice in their cocktails, and at the price point one is paying for a cocktail, don't cheat people..not nice. 2. We ordered the cheese fundido for an appetizer, and again, at that price-point, it better be delicious and melted just like a fundido is supposed to be. The dish missed both marks. I asked the waitress if they could heat it up again, she said there is no microwave to do so, and had the chef remake it. Unfortunately, it missed the mark again, so we didn't even bother with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Food is a bad combination of uninspired and bad

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

How difficult is to make Mexican food well? I have been to Reposado before and the food was excellent. I don't know what happened to the kitchen staff but this time around most dishes were terrible. The prices are too high and do not reflect the value anymore.

In addition, the top floor is way too noisy

The only highlight were the desserts, other than the terrible Aztec chocolate cake, all the others were excellent.

Sadly, will not be coming back, too bad because the lower floor has a nice and lively ambiance

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We requested a booth & we got one. The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We requested a booth & we got one. The food is very good. Super selection of tequila's and Mescal. Very good drinks.

It can get loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Back Again

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Back in for a lunch. we really do like the Tora de Puerco al Pastor...this is a very good sandwich.

For the first time, we enjoyed the empanadas de camaron and crepas con mariscos . Very good, with or without the sauce.

Wine: Carpe Diem Cabernet...fruit forward, very nice finish. Try it.

Our waiter, Luis, and with help of a service staff cornucopia, delivered flawlessly attentive service. We very much appreciated it.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food! Top notch in every way. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Fantastic food! Top notch in every way. Would definitely go again. Server was terrific too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Reposado prices just keep going up, up, up.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food is consistently good. Drinks, esp. wine, get more pricey all the time.

The place obviously feels they can get away with it.

Used to go monthly, now maybe 2-3 times a year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Food ruined by noise

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Reposada serves fines California/Mexican food in a large dinning room. The service is super fast, the prices reasonable, certainly not cheap. Everything is spoiled by the incredible noise level. This has always been a problem at this restaurant with stone floors and walls and much could be done to dampen the noise - but it appears that the restaurants wants it this way. So it is great for large groups celebrating, but pointless, even unpleasant, if your interest is having a conversation with another person.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Love the restaurant But a bit loud we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Love the restaurant

But a bit loud

we loved it , will keep going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pureed green sauce

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We started with drinks and the Margarita seemed thin. Guacamole was excellent on the multi veggie (and multi-color) tortilla chips with three salsas. The seafood tacos in blue corn tortillas with a pureed green sauce were delicious and unusual. They were served with a rice pilaf that included matchstick radishes, again delicious, light, unique. We shared one dessert, the upside down banana cake that was simply superb. Prices are a bit high for this cuisine but it's Palo Alto.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent Mexican, but very pricey

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Overall food quality is great, and place is fun and hip. Definitely high-end Mexican fare, but prices are steep. Tab for two of us, with tip, was over $100, and we stuck to small plates (granted, a couple drinks each pushed the tab up a lot). Chips, salsas, guac, Caesar salads were all outstanding; the "street" tacos were, in contrast, good but not great.

A fun place to try for a special occasion, but be prepared to fork over some serious dough.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Above and beyond service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

My young son was not feeling well, and our server went out of his way to make sure he could have his favourite dish, even though it was not on the menu (or even something a Mexican restaurant would normally have).

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, but come for the famous passi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Good food, but come for the famous passionfruit margaritas. They make these cocktails better than anywhere on the peninsula, including SF. Passionfruit is tart, fresh, not overly sweet. On a hot day, nothing is better. Kudos to the Reposado bartenders!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Chilean seafood. Get Hamachi. Gre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Best Chilean seafood. Get Hamachi. Great vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

It is too expensive for what it offers. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It is too expensive for what it offers. Food is good but underwhelming. Great service but i seriously doubt I will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Amazing food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Took parents (visiting from out of town) ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took parents (visiting from out of town) for Mothers Day brunch. Food was amazing and service was excellent! We are a family that loves to eat "family style," and our server accommodated w/ no issue. Although all of our meals were very good, I had to force myself to stop eating the Crepas con Mariscos so that everyone else could have some. No words just mmm, mmm, mmm. The Huevos Oaxaquenos and Datiles Rellenos were also 2 table favs. Go to Reposado...you won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.