About Reposado Restaurant

236 Hamilton Avenue
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Reposado represents the latest addition to our family of restaurants. This unique experience offers exceptional Mexican cuisine which will challenge the imagination and seduce the palate.



Born from a rich tradition of regional Mexican specialties and contemporary culinary influences, it promises to be not only memorable but also enjoyable.



Please come enjoy a richly satisfying and fun Mexican dining experience.



Eat. Drink. Relax

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
Emerson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 833-3151

Website:
http://www.reposadorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, there is ample parking in the Palo Alto Civic Center underground parking garage a half block East of the restaurant. The entrance to the garage is a half block South of the intersection of Hamilton and Ramona.

Executive Chef:
Arnulfo Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Reposado offers Private Dining (with bar) in our beautiful Mezzanine Dining Room overlooking our main bar and dining room.

The Mezzanine Dining Room will accommodate up to 45 comfortably for dining and 75 for cocktails.

Private Party Contact:
Mitalee Nangrani: (650) 833-3151

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Reposado Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (29)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Modern Decor (21)
Fun (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Business Meals (20)
Casual (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Authentic (11)
Tapas (11)
Family Style (11)
People Watching (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Spicy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Cozy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vegan (3)
Romantic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1701 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food, drinks and desserts!

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food, drinks and desserts!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive drinks and expensive food ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Very expensive drinks and expensive food with small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

I used to enjoy the food at Reposado. Ho ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

I used to enjoy the food at Reposado. However, this latest visit, we had multiple issues:

  1. The food arrived less than 5 minutes after ordering. We hadn't even received our margaritas.

  2. The very quickly delivered food was warm, but not hot. It felt like they had multiple of each entree pre-plated and just sitting out waiting for people to order.

  3. The food was nearly flavorless. Very little herbs and spices. Even under-salted (a rarity at restaurants). They cut back on the sides compared to previous visits. The sauces left much to be desired.

  4. The salsas are so boring and in tiny, tiny bowls that make it difficult to eat them with chips. That has been their serving style in the past, but when the salsas were better it was easier to overlook the faulty form.

Overall, a big disappointment. This place is overpriced and underwhelming.

We do not plan on returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The guacamole was just AMAZING! I recomm ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The guacamole was just AMAZING! I recommend also the tamarind Margarita.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food looks delicious and they use wo ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

The food looks delicious and they use wonderful ingredients…but it does not taste as good as it looks. The flavors are not complex or exciting.....average and expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I've been to Reposado many times and rea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

I've been to Reposado many times and really enjoy their style of Mexican cooking. I love the salmon and the other seafood entrees.

It was a cold evening so this time I ordered a pork dish for something warm and comforting. It was not reheated fully and had a chilly temperature near the bone. ugh.

The noise level is getting unbearable - we were only three people and we had to lean in to the middle of the table to talk.

It can be a fun place - just wasn't this time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

$7 for chips and salsa is ridiculous. Es ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

$7 for chips and salsa is ridiculous. Especially when your salsas are not impressive. On top of that, a large house margarita is $19, and it's not even big. What a joke. I'm a fan of high-end restaurants, and am willing to pay a premium for special experiences, but nothing here was special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

I really enjoy the food and atmosphere a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I really enjoy the food and atmosphere at Reposada. Some of the margaritas are outstanding. It can get noisy.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant NEVER Disappoints! We c ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This restaurant NEVER Disappoints! We come for a mid afternoon lunch and like to sit in a booth in the bar. The bar tender is always the same - tells us he has been there for 6 years which speaks well for hid employers. Must be pleasant to work for.

Have heard it is very crowded at night with a crowd much younger who enjoy that. We love it whenever we come at a quieter time. Excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Spicy, People Watching, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Reposado never disappoints. The menu is ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Reposado never disappoints. The menu is interesting and delicious, and the service is always terrific.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful interior and a great name. I w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Beautiful interior and a great name. I was really looking forward to a great culinary experience.

We were in on Monday night after Christmas. Party of four and the place was about 2/3 full. The service was horribly slow. Ridiculous wait just to have somebody even come by the table. We ordered two appetizers and we were brought just one. After 15 minutes I flagged down the waitress and asked what ever happened to the second appetizer? She said, I'll check on it as it should be ready by now (no kidding!) Took about another 15 minutes which means they probably just fired it. The service never improved over the rest of the evening. I was required to hopefully catch the waitress's attention if anything was needed. Having worked in the restaurant business years ago I can appreciate how hard wait staff work but she was really not that busy just disinterested.

The amount of food given for the cost is appalling. Our appetizers consisted of about two big spoonfuls of guacamole for $11, and three tiny tortillas that supposedly constitute a quesadilla. Less half the volume of a normal everyday quesadilla.

One of our party had the Cadillac Margarita at $14 in a very small Martini like glass full of ice and very little liquid.

A small side of rice or beans, not included with any entree is $6 each. Each! I had the Chile poblano which was less than flavorful.

I looked over the tequila menu which I will say was reasonably priced unlike the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

It was a lovely Xmas dinner except that ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was a lovely Xmas dinner except that they didn't expect the number of guests for the night according to the manager. They ran out of the lamb but they made it up. Great tasting food but there is a wait time for service especially if the place is packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Prix-Fixe Christmas Dinner: We tried Rep ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Prix-Fixe Christmas Dinner: We tried Reposado for Christmas dinner last year, and were happy enough with it to make going back the obvious choice. This year they had a prix-fixe menu; one small taste item, then a choice of appetizer, entree and dessert from a reasonable set of selections. I had the chicken mole tamalito (app) and salmon pipian (entree), and the banana cake. All were excellent, as were the picante margaritas. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Reposado for any special occasion, though it's a bit pricey for an everyday dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Normally 'over the top good,' great serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Normally 'over the top good,' great service, spicy, tasty and surprising dishes. This was Christmas Day, we reserved and had to wait long times for dishes to be served. Compared to last year's Christmas dinner, this year was not special.

Unfortunate... and disappointing -- we'll try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

Enjoyed unique and flavorful prix-fixe C ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Enjoyed unique and flavorful prix-fixe Christmas Dinner at Reposado --- atmosphere, food and service all top notch!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place. Good food. Good ambiance. G ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great place. Good food. Good ambiance. Good drinks

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Christmas Day prefix dinner menu had exc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Day prefix dinner menu had excellent choices. Wait staff was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was terrible! Food came out luk ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was terrible! Food came out lukewarm. Steak was very tough! Not all food came out at once. Some of us had to wait a long time before our entree came out. There was at least a 10 minutes difference between the first entree was served and the last one in our party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Nice relaxing experience

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Nice relaxing experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Tasty food, right portions. Will come ba ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Tasty food, right portions. Will come back and definitely will recommend to others.

Veggie options plenty.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was generally good as usual. The e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was generally good as usual. The exception was the guacamole was not as tasty as most visits. Might be the season, might be a new prep cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Not much value with the food; we have be ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Not much value with the food; we have been there before but finally realized we just weren't getting the amount of food we were looking for nor the portion size for the amount of $ we were spending.

Great place for people watching at the bar and I like the servers, just haven't been that impressed with the food.

Overall it's not bad

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Food is always good but it's way too noi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food is always good but it's way too noisy to enjoy it. Can't carry a decent conversation. It's a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Once again, the fresh and preparatory na ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Once again, the fresh and preparatory nature of this gem in Palo Alto never ceases to amaze us. Having literally stumbled upon this destination spot about 6 years ago, we have returned time and again (even on Thanksgiving and Christmas Day in one calendar year) to always have expectations met and often exceeded. Due to near-rock concert noise levels during peak dinner hours, we prefer off-hour choices such as late lunch or around 4:30pm in the bar area. Our server this time around was superlative and offered helpful, welcome feedback in our menu choices, maintaining a highly professional and joyful spirit throughout our dinner. If you are searching for a place where honest, interior-hued Mexican cuisine is the star of the show, put this on your list.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Organic, , Great for Brunch, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

While it has been awhile since we've bee ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

While it has been awhile since we've been to Reposado, our recent visit did not match our previous experiences. It was extremely noisy (maybe due to a private event upstairs), so it was very difficult to have conversation. The chips were good/fresh, but the guacamole was too tangy. The chicken mole was good, though a bit on the expensive side. The lamb chops were good, but WAY too expensive. The vegetarian ravioli was buried under, what I think, were pickled onions (I didn't eat them), and were flavorless. The shrimp empanadas (of which there were 2 for $12 (ridiculous)) had a weird taste. We shared 2 desserts, can't remember what they were and it is impossible to access the menu online to look back - one was good, the other was so-so. The service was ok - it seemed like they were in a hurry to get us served and out as quickly as possible. The cost of dinner for 3 of us (which included 1 margarita, 1 glass of wine) came to over $200 (with tip). Poor value for the money, hard to justify going back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

A bit too lively to be able to hear conv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

A bit too lively to be able to hear conversation at dinner.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was my first visit and I will be retu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

It was my first visit and I will be returning. Everything was great!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Acoustics horrible; couldn't even hear p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Acoustics horrible; couldn't even hear person next to you. The food was all over salted. The only thing good were the chips and salsa and the rice. They couldn't even get the drinks right. Oh well. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

First time there for a friendsgiving and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

First time there for a friendsgiving and loved everything about it! Food was super yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic and always entertaining. Wait ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fantastic and always entertaining. Wait folks are over the top.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service as usual. Gr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent food and service as usual. Great menu and very attentive staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Reposado never disappoints. Team holida ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Reposado never disappoints. Team holiday dinner and everything was fantastic. The management team went out of their way to make our experience eventful. Only issues were with the desserts. The creme brulee was so overpowered with citrus it was inedible and was so bitter. Other than that the food and beverage was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our overall experience was really good. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our overall experience was really good. This was our second time dining here, the first time we at at the tequila bar up stairs (amazing). This time we dined on the lower floor. Even though the restaurant was filled with patrons, it never felt crowded.

We started with drinks ( margaritas), smiling faces all around. We also had the chips and guacamole ( too much lime for my taste) but fine none the less.

The main dishes all had amazing flavor. I personally had the chicken mole. My wife loved the crap crape and my friend also loved his lamb ( they only give 2 chops being the only issue). His wife had the stake medium rare, 2-3 bites in the stake had become cold. They took the stake back to what we assumed reheat.. but after about 12min we asked what happen to her meal ( we had all finished ours by that time).

They apologize dor the long wait, said that they were making the dish all over again thus the extended wait. Then they comped her dish. Needless to say, they fixed the issue and she ate everything. Happy customers. Will continue to dine here in the future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The restaurant has nice interior but was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The restaurant has nice interior but was extremely loud. The food is overpriced for the quality. Salmon was cooked nice but nothing extraordinary. The guacamole was terrible. Don't listen to OpenTable categorization of this restaurant as Mexican. It's not. Our server was very helpful and it was good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

This restaurant is a repeat, but it is r ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This restaurant is a repeat, but it is really noisy with concrete floors and open ceiling. Great for large groups (as there were many at the restaurant the night we were there). Food was good, cocktails were good, not great. I reserve a great rating of cocktails when the cocktails offered are creative, different and original. Service was good, but a packed dinner hour had the service busy. Public parking is nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We have found that having a selection of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We have found that having a selection of appetizers at a booth in the bar area is a delightful experience. The bartender, who doubles as a waiter in this area, is very professional .

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a cocktail...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great place for a cocktail...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Always delicious!!! Friendly staff!! Can ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always delicious!!! Friendly staff!! Can't wait to go back!! GREAT MARGARITAS!!!!

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had first gone to a different restaur ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had first gone to a different restaurant earlier in the afternoon for our Thanksgiving meal. But it was so bad that we ended up being hungry later that night because of the disappointing meal so we looked on OpenTable to see who was still serving and lucky for us Reposado was still accepting reservations. We all ordered different meals and each meal was absolutely perfect in taste, temperature and presentation. Our servers were gracious despite that we were the last customers that night and they must have been eager to get to their families. What a relief that I was able to offer our guests a great meal as opposed to the mediocre one from the other restaurant. I will definitely return to Reposado!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.