About Reposado Restaurant

236 Hamilton Avenue
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Reposado represents the latest addition to our family of restaurants. This unique experience offers exceptional Mexican cuisine which will challenge the imagination and seduce the palate.



Born from a rich tradition of regional Mexican specialties and contemporary culinary influences, it promises to be not only memorable but also enjoyable.



Please come enjoy a richly satisfying and fun Mexican dining experience.



Eat. Drink. Relax

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
Emerson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 833-3151

Website:
http://www.reposadorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, there is ample parking in the Palo Alto Civic Center underground parking garage a half block East of the restaurant. The entrance to the garage is a half block South of the intersection of Hamilton and Ramona.

Executive Chef:
Arnulfo Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Reposado offers Private Dining (with bar) in our beautiful Mezzanine Dining Room overlooking our main bar and dining room.

The Mezzanine Dining Room will accommodate up to 45 comfortably for dining and 75 for cocktails.

Private Party Contact:
Mitalee Nangrani: 6508333151x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Reposado Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Palo Alto ›

Fit for Foodies (52)
Good for Groups (48)
Hot Spot (40)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (38)
Great for Lunch (30)
Special Occasion (29)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Romantic (14)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Notable Wine List (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

even at a very early hour, the noise lev ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

even at a very early hour, the noise level is horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The service was good and timely. Our lun ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The service was good and timely.

Our lunches were both tasty. We asked for a booth and were accommodated with that request.

Overall a good lunch spot. The only issue is that parking is tricky around lunch-time, so you should plan accordingly.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service were great. Their mole ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Food and service were great. Their mole sauce is one of the best I've tasted. Good wine list and outstanding choice of tequilas.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The manager was terrific - reseated us w ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The manager was terrific - reseated us when a large party arrived next to us to a quieter table and gave us amazing courtesy appetizers as a "thank you." We were blown away by this gesture and the delicious food - will definitely make this our special occasion place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing Margaritas and appetizers (tapa ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing Margaritas and appetizers (tapas). Main plates I liked the pork

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

We ordered a couple of plates of Chorizo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We ordered a couple of plates of Chorizo Stuffed Dates [2 per plate], and we were 5 in the group, the host was kind enough to bring another date to even it out. Great service, and excellent drinks and food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was breathtaking. So were the p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was breathtaking. So were the prices. We spent $120 on cocktails and left the place sober.....The handmade corn tortillas are exquisite, especially with the cheese and mushroom topping. And the lamb appetiser was one of the best things I've ever been served in a restaurant. But seriously, we spent over $200 and didn't even order any main courses!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

Have loved this place in the past but m ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Have loved this place in the past but my latest meal there was just OK. Guacamole was very good but the Caesar Salad was a bit bland and uninspired. The space remains quite nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Lunch at Reposado is always delicious! T ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Lunch at Reposado is always delicious! Thank you for the booth. Our server was efficient and hospitable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been here a lot, but I suspect we' ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We've been here a lot, but I suspect we'll cut back because it has gotten too expensive. I midrange dinner shouldn't cost that much. Even in Palo Alto.

My daughter and I lived the Enchiladas Mariscos. My wife and son liked their Caesar Salads.

Obviously the best margaritas in town, though the choices can be a bit intimidating. (As well as the prices).

Bustling vibe, especially around the bar.

I like it when the windows are open.

The place makes an appearance on the HBO show Silicon Valley

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

Classy, upscale ambiance in an informal ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Classy, upscale ambiance in an informal environment. Beautiful white star lanterns up above with a high ceiling. Vibrant bar is lit at night! Anna Marenco was our main server and she is fantastic! Wonderful with a consistently warm smile and so accomodating. I recommend the crepas con mariscos. Make sure to finish them there though because leftovers tend to smell like the ocean. Albondigas app will make you wish for spaghetti. Tortillas upon request.

Loved the chef's high top table in front of the clear glass divided kitchen, available for use with greater than a 12 person party, great for birthdays! Make a reservation and call for more details.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Each of us ordered the snapper with bean ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Each of us ordered the snapper with bean salad + cucumber salad. We all wanted something light and everyone was happy with the dish. The fish was high quality and cooked well. The food colors were beautiful and it was presented very nicely. Server and staff were really nice. The restaurant was a little slow during this time so was quiet and so we could linger and have conversations with no difficulty. Booth seating was very comfortable. The entree portions were a little small, perhaps that's a lunch-sized portion. We ordered cake and shared -- it was delicious and the restaurant comped us for it because it was a birthday gathering. Nice touch!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant and excellent experienc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great restaurant and excellent experience dining out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although the service at the table was fr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Although the service at the table was friendly and competent, we were not greeted when we arrived, only stared at until I explained what we were there for. Awkward already.

The space is nice, very open, carefully decorated. But at a restaurant, the food is the important thing. We started with Tres Ceviches. Flavor was very one dimensional and there were some slight off flavors. I would stay away from the ceviches. We also had the tamalitos (ok), the guacamole (quite good, the high point of the meal), the queso fundido (also good, but served to close to the main), and the pollo con mole (we didn't eat this).

Things were just ok, but I don't consider this a good value for the cost. Perhaps it was a bad night for them, as they seem to have overall good reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

This restaurant is pricey but nicely app ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This restaurant is pricey but nicely appointed. The decor is great, the tables are not too close to each other, so intimate conversation is possible. The food itself was great, and so were the drinks and appetizers.

Service was superb, I had no empty glass at any point throughout the night.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Super expensive!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Super expensive!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was generally interesting and d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was generally interesting and delicious. Guacamole and chips were outstanding. Didn't quite meet my expectations for an outstanding meal given the prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good consistent food. Atmosphere a plus. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Good consistent food. Atmosphere a plus. Our server was good at getting up new items and allowing changes to the menu. We appreciated it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The high table used for party of 12 or m ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The high table used for party of 12 or more is not always the best due to the high level of noise. My manager has asked to relocate two future group lunch to another location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Good overall, but service and food are n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good overall, but service and food are not what they were a couple of years ago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Such a fun place. Server was very perso ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Such a fun place. Server was very personable and friendly without intruding on conversations. I had the street tacos - just the right amount for light lunch. Good margarita. Place was surprisingly quiet at noon on a Saturday. A gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance when you walk in and I wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great ambiance when you walk in and I wanted to like this place, but I just wasn't impressed with the food. The fish ceviche just wasn't great - no real flavor, the seafood crepes were overpowered by the sauce smothering it and the salsa wasn't anything special. The best part was the guac. Dissappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Loved the food and drink. Appetizers we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Loved the food and drink. Appetizers were awesome but the main entree (pork) was lacking and have to say I wouldn't order it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It's been awhile since I've been to Repo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

It's been awhile since I've been to Reposado. Prices have increased dramatically. I would now put it in the $$$$ range. We had 2 appetizers and 2 salads + 1 lemonade, and the food was excellet. However, at the cost of $65, we can't afford to go back there again anytime soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Have eaten here several times. Each entr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Have eaten here several times. Each entree has been great. It is a special occasion place for us. When we need a lift or to celebrate something this is one of our choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is good but not great. For the cos ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food is good but not great. For the cost of the entree you get very little so that is disappointing. Now I am not a lover of HUGE portions but I expect more than four pieces of shrimp, a scoop of rice and three pieces of asparagus in my entree that was $32. Plus their margaritas glasses are filled with ice so you get about 3-4 sips and you're done. There are so many other options available in downtown Palo Alto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Came for a business lunch with 5 people. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Came for a business lunch with 5 people. Sat at a round table that made the discussion easy. Food was excellent and then menu has something for everyone - including vegetarian and vegan!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent.The noise ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food and service was excellent.The noise level a

Was a little loud,but it was very busy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good food and service, but the tabl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very good food and service, but the table looked directly into the setting sun and the windows had no shades.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

it was fine. It just wasn't great. The ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

it was fine. It just wasn't great. The menus wording made the food sound so much better than it was. We had the lamb, skirt steak, tacos, guacamole, corn and fondue chefs appetizer. The house margarita was terrific as was the chips and salsa varieties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was not good - constantly had to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Service was not good - constantly had to flag down the wait staff, waited at least 30 minutes before order was taken and had to ask another staff member to find him so that our order could be put in

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Highly recommend this place!!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Highly recommend this place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had high hopes considering some of the ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I had high hopes considering some of the more recent positive reviews and, quite frankly, the menu prices. We were greeted very warmly and taken to our table immediately. However, that's the only positive thing in our Reposado experience. The waitress approached our table (just 2 of us) to take out drink order. I asked if the sangria contained any strawberries (the description on the menu read "fresh fruit"). She was a bit annoyed and proceeded to tell me what is in a sangria ("red wine and champagne"). When I explained I have a strawberry allergy she pursed he lips and noted in my order "no strawberries." Our drinks arrived and we went ahead and ordered our apps, the queso fundido (vegetarian)and the tamalitos. The tamalitos arrived first via the runner and then the queso fundido. No waitress in sight. The tamalitos were nothing special...I have definitely had better from food trunks in San Francisco (maybe even from the freezer at Whole Foods!). And the queso fundido was not hot and looked more like coagulated processed cheese floating in a puddle of grease. It was extremely salty and the chiles in it were bland. The waitress finally appeared to take our dinner order (we had finished our apps and no one had checked on us once). We politely asked for our check. By the way, the sangria did not contain wine nor champagne and was more like a sugary fruit punch which I did not finish. Sadly, this has been my worst experience in my years of booking through Open Tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Good food but expensive for what you get ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good food but expensive for what you get, especially the small plates.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

At a Mexican restaurant, I typically lik ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

At a Mexican restaurant, I typically like to indulge in a margarita. They offer 2 sizes: regular and grande, which really should be relabelled as small and regular. My grande skinny margarita was $20! Other than that, the food was good and service excellent. Sadly, next time, I might forego the margarita since it is such a poor value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Way too noisy. Food pretty good but spar ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Way too noisy. Food pretty good but sparse for the price. Average Cal-Mex food for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

the food was varied and good -- not outs ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

the food was varied and good -- not outstanding but the bill was outstanding

$150 for lunch w no liquor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Awesome guacamole and shrimp and scallo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Awesome guacamole and shrimp and scallop small plates. The restaurant space is cool industrial. Service was great too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining was great - it is a drive for us ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Dining was great - it is a drive for us - so we make a special trip when we want the great food. Street tacos are a standby favorite. We also love to guacamole. This time we added a few other Apps to round it out and make a meal of it.

The only issue - the last 2 times I've made a reservation on Open Table - they process it as if I didn't show up. That is getting frustrating - having to file a response & justify why I spent good money there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Been here few times and always Luv it - ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Been here few times and always Luv it - margaritas are great - my fav Cadillac and guava - great service a bit pricy but worth it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.