Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Reposado Restaurant

Reposado represents the latest addition to our family of restaurants. This unique experience offers exceptional Mexican cuisine which will challenge the imagination and seduce the palate.



Born from a rich tradition of regional Mexican specialties and contemporary culinary influences, it promises to be not only memorable but also enjoyable.



Please come enjoy a richly satisfying and fun Mexican dining experience.



Eat. Drink. Relax

236 Hamilton Avenue
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
Emerson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 833-3151

Website:
http://www.reposadorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, there is ample parking in the Palo Alto Civic Center underground parking garage a half block East of the restaurant. The entrance to the garage is a half block South of the intersection of Hamilton and Ramona.

Executive Chef:
Arnulfo Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Reposado offers Private Dining (with bar) in our beautiful Mezzanine Dining Room overlooking our main bar and dining room.

The Mezzanine Dining Room will accommodate up to 45 comfortably for dining and 75 for cocktails.

Private Party Contact:
Mitalee Nangrani: (650) 833-3151

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Reposado Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Groups (41)
CreativeCuisine (31)
GoodForDates (29)
See All
Fun (28)
Casual (26)
HandcraftedCocktails (25)
VibrantBarScene (24)
Foodies (23)
Birthdays (23)
SpecialOccasions (22)
HotSpot (22)
VegetarianOptions (22)
BusinessMeals (20)
BarSeating (20)
HappyHour (18)
Authentic (17)
Tapas (16)
ModernDecor (15)
Lunch (14)
WorthTheDrive (13)
Anniversaries (13)
Spicy (12)
PeopleWatching (11)
ComfortFood (8)
ChildFriendly (8)
Healthy (7)
Romance (7)
NeighborhoodGem (7)
FamilyStyle (6)
SundayLunch (6)
LocalIngredients (6)
TastingMenu (5)
Brunch (5)
QuickBite (4)
LateNightFind (4)
PrivateRoom (3)
PrePostTheatre (3)
OpenKitchen (3)
Vegan (3)
QuietConversation (3)
GreatBeer (2)
GlutenFree (2)
DisabledAccess (2)
Seasonal (2)
Cozy (2)
NotableWineList (2)
MolecularGastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1797 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was amazing!!!! Service was amazing!!! Will return soon!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The halibut special was superb. Excellent mole with shrimp--Mexican food with real flair.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

As out-of-town visitors, Reposado was recommended by a local who said it served delicious food. We agree. It was lively and full of Stanford families (this was the Friday before graduation) but the large family groups in no way slowed down service or delayed our meal. We loved it and would go back should we find ourselves in Palo Alto again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great food and nice atmosphere. Only complaint is the noise level. It is very hard to hold a conversation with friends at a table as it is very difficult to hear one another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Very Disappointing... Food had no flavor; restaurant very loud, disorganized and service slow. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on June 11, 2017

Good margaritas and food!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 11, 2017

So we've been coming here since Reposado opened, and this time we were wholly underwhelmed by almost everything. I'll give that it may have been a flat week for the chef and for the staff, but the dinner experience for our guests (who are experienced foodies) was an embarrassment.

Service - our server couldn't smile to save their life, or even come across interested that we were at their table. The change of tableware between appetizer and dinner was clumsy and unprofessional. The bussing service was even worse, with no attempt at discretion - tableware was picked off of plates and stacked on a plate on our table - and then the "tower" of plates was cleared with a clatter. The meal could have saved the experience, but unfortunately it did not.

Menu - I'm reflecting on the early days - the menu seemed lazy and unimaginative, with a level of redundancy that I don't recall in our last visit 6 months ago, and the sides seemed to be the only items relevant to the region the menu is supposedly inspired from, with the main dishes overwhelmingly being the standard pork, skirt steak, and chicken.

Food - the appetizers of guacamole (average and bland), street tacos (actually the most flavorful of the entire meal), and caesar salad (very good) came, and we moved beyond the obvious Americanized fare to order: camarones al sarten (was very good), ribeye (while prepared correctly, strangely looked and tasted like a top sirloin), cohinita pibil (bland), and chuletas de cordero (very small order for 40+). We requested corn tortillas with dinner, purportedly hand-made - at Trader Joes? I remember the sweet-potato corn hand made tortillas, and anyone who has experienced hand-made on premise knows what they should look and taste like.

In the end, as many have noted, it is very pricey - I have no problem dropping a couple of bills on a good dining experience. This was not it. I'm sad to say I think the hype has surpassed what can be delivered here for a reasonable price.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We came here for dinner, but when we saw the exhorbitant prices, we opted to order appetizers and chips and guacamole instead. I got the albondigas, which were tasty. A little spicy - yum, yum! The guacamole was a little spicy too, which I liked. One of the other people got the Caesar salad, which looked good. I will have to try it again. The service was good too.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I always enjoy eating at Reposado. It is one of my favorites. A little too noisy .

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Went with a group of 8. Table was ample. Service great. Food terrific.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great food & sevice. The acoustics are not great so the noise level is loud which is actually tolerable BUT the music with the booming base made it a little too noisy to have a conversation and feel relaxed while eating. We were there on a busy Sat night. It's a fun atmosphere & definitely worth going but the noise level is definitely high. That being said, I would definitely still return there.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

$20 for each empty seat. If say you reserved 10 and you have 8 people in the end come, you pay $40 for the two seats.

Haven't seen this in any other Palo Alto downtown restaurant.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The guac! The empanadas! The short ribs! The dates stuff with chorizo! What is happening? Goodness!!! Grab a 16 oz. margarita or 2 and that makes for a great evening with friends. This place is a staple. That being said, don't recommend going here with anyone who is hard of hearing! Great energetic atmosphere, but it is not quiet!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

High end Mexican restaurant. Great food but expensive at $70 per person for drinks, entree and shared dessert. Busy and popular, but with good service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The chicken molé was delicious! Loved it. Cool place too. My brother loved his pulled pork too. A little pricey though. But for being out of town it was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Very loud for a date , had a hard time talking with my girlfriend over dinner, stayed loud through our meal (2.5hrs). Good food, expect to spend about $200 with wine and tip for two. Great ambiance and selection of food and beverages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day brunch. The waiter was very nice and helpful. The food was excellent. Given that it was a busy day, the service was understandably slow. We definitely will return when they are not so busy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Just simply a fine dining experience. Food is always imaginative and tasty. Service is excellent as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lively, loud atmosphere. Prices have gone up considerably since our last visit, with most entrees >$30! Chips and guac were addicting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing. Tasty. Lovely. Dinner for two that was absolutely perfect from start to finish. We're from LA and wondered out loud why there aren't any places like Reposado in West Los Angeles!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is well prepared and delicious here, but RIDICULOUSLY overpriced! It's an upscale Mexican restaurant, noisy, basic service and their entrees were in the $30s-$40s. Lamb chop was $45! They have regular and large margaritas. We ordered the larges, and seriously, they are normal size anywhere else and were $19!! A few sips, and they were gone. The service continual asked us to order more drinks, as well. We would have loved more-but not at almost $20 a drink! Our bill for 4 people with no dessert, guacamole starter, 4 entrees and 4 drinks was $320!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Disappointed in the night - while service was good, food was average and seemed very expensive for type of food and overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

It is a nice spot to meet for lunch. The food is good. The services is good. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Excellent authentic Mexican food in a vibrant atmosphere.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Love the food here and the fact that they have a separate vegetarian menu with vegan options. Food was great. The only complaint I have is the noise level. The room was full and the noise level was so bad that I couldn't have a conversation with my friend across the table. This was a real disappointment and one of the reasons we ate and left so quickly rather than stay for desert or another drink. Too bad, because the ambiance and layout was quite nice.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This is our third time at Reposado, and it didn't disappoint. The cocktails were fantastic, the food, especially the tofu steak, was incredible. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service, excellent ambience. We had a wonderful time celebrating cinco de mayo.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We live nearby so Reposada is one of our regular stops. The food never ceases to amaze us. Very creative Mexican/Latin menu. Great for spotting Millenial techies. We are in our 70's but love the dynamic atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I really liked the location and the bar is vibrant and energetic. Bartenders friendly and attentive. The food and service were excellent. It's pricey, but in my opinion definitely worth it. I would go back for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 2, 2017

What a lovely experience! From the service, to the great cocktails and delicious food, I highly recommend Reposado for an evening out. I had the daily special - it was a ceviche dish which was divine. My husband had the lamb and said it was the best he'd ever had. Really happy with everything!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We have been to Reposado many times. This is the first time we have encountered mediocre food. Perhaps the Sunday chef/cooks aren't as diligent in their prep but we were sorely disappointed. While we had an excellent server, it didn't make up for the food. We won't return on a Sunday for sure, and not at all for a while.

Tags: Family Style, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Loved this restaurant! everything was so fresh and tasty and a true gastronomical delight. The guacamole was perfect, the chips hot and plentiful, the salsas simply fresh and delicious. We took a Texan couple here so they got to experience Californian Mexican and they seemed to love it. I would love to come back to try the drinks. Absolutely yummy!!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Fun, Tapas, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food at Reposado was outstanding! I had the salmon which was cooked to perfection. Most restaurants overcook salmon and make it dry. Their salmon was incredibly moist and had a nice sear on it. Everything on the plate was delectable. My husband had the Argentinian shrimp which was also delicious and my son had the beef short ribs which in his words was "the best beef I've ever had". It was the quietest my son has ever been at the dinner table. He was to busy enjoying every morsel. There wasn't even sauce left on the dish by the time he was done. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Everyone here at work love to go to Reposado. I being at reposado about 5 times and I enjoy it every time and the people at work really enjoy meeting there too.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

What a friend describes as "refined" Mexican food with excellent and authentic ingredients. Delicious. Beautiful presentations. The service is great. I always like their "tacos de la calle." My husband was happy (very important), and he loved his 16 oz margarita!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fun, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I took my wife to Reposado for dinner the other night, and it was a very enjoyable experience. My wife had the lamb chops and I had the pork, and both were fantastic. As was the beet salad we shared, as well as the sangria and wine.

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for great food, ambulance and good service. Really enjoy Reposado!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service seemed rushed. Plates and drinks were whisked away before we were done.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Reposado presents a nice package. The location, decor, and service were great. The cocktails hit the spot and, in hindsight, I'm sad I wasn't more adventurous in my tequila choices. The quality to price ratio on the food is the sticking point. Our meal was well conceived and tasty, but not memorable in a way that justifies paying 30-49 dollars per entree.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food and service. The waitstaff knows the menu and makes excellent recommendations. The atmosphere is supercharged, so the noise level is 'vibrant'.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.