Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Reposado Restaurant

Reposado represents the latest addition to our family of restaurants. This unique experience offers exceptional Mexican cuisine which will challenge the imagination and seduce the palate.



Born from a rich tradition of regional Mexican specialties and contemporary culinary influences, it promises to be not only memorable but also enjoyable.



Please come enjoy a richly satisfying and fun Mexican dining experience.



Eat. Drink. Relax

236 Hamilton Avenue
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
Emerson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 833-3151

Website:
http://www.reposadorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, there is ample parking in the Palo Alto Civic Center underground parking garage a half block East of the restaurant. The entrance to the garage is a half block South of the intersection of Hamilton and Ramona.

Executive Chef:
Arnulfo Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Reposado offers Private Dining (with bar) in our beautiful Mezzanine Dining Room overlooking our main bar and dining room.

The Mezzanine Dining Room will accommodate up to 45 comfortably for dining and 75 for cocktails.

Private Party Contact:
Mitalee Nangrani: (650) 833-3151

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Reposado Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (26)
Good for Groups (23)
Bar Seating (22)
See All
Casual (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Tapas (11)
Business Meals (10)
People Watching (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Authentic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Romantic (7)
Spicy (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1864 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This is my second meal here where the entrees have been average. The appetizers were great (stuffed dates and ceviche) but not great enough to justify returning.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great booth tables, prompt, friendly service, delicious food.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Excellent food and service in a great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2017

I'm always happy to go to Reposado.

I'd describe it as a middle-to-high-end bistro that delivers elevated mexican dishes at a reasonable price. Nothing is cheap in Palo Alto, so take that with a grain of salt :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2017

This restaurant should be in the top 100 restaurants on the peninsula. An energetic, casual, delicious, interesting ambiance with top-notch service.

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We have dined here many many times over past several years and have appreciated the quality of ingredients they use. Last night was a disappointment. As always, we ordered tre ceviche and seafood crepe. Both our orders last night were served with stale seafood. We expressed our concern to the manager who unfortunately did not seem to care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We have been here many many times. One of our favorite places in Palo Alto. Unfortunately they changed the menu and must have changed chefs.. worst meal we’ve every had. There were 4 of us, no ones meal was edible. Steak was tough and hard to chew, vegetarian bowl was so spicy it could not be eaten, chicken mole was dry and bland, Red snapper/shrimp blue corn tortillas were disgusting. Sorry to say this place went from a favorite to a probably never go back again. I hate it when places change menus and think it’s better.. or chefs..:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This is definitely a great restaurant. It’s just that it is combo Mexican and fine dining and for me, I prefer either or. Some of the flavor combos just didn’t work for me but all very high quality. Skinny margarita is excellent as is the guacamole

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Extraordinary plantain dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Reposado is one of my absolute favorite restaurants, but tonight I have to say I was pretty disappointed. I ordered a salad and it came with three measly croutons and the rest was just lettuce. I didn't say anything to the food server because I didn't want to cause a problem, but I was really dissatisfied with the amount of food for what I paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Unfortunately our experience was pretty much ruined by a child about three years old screaming at the top of her lungs for the entire two hours we were there. We asked our waiter if he could speak to the manager about it and all he said was "I'm sorry about this". I didn't want to further reduce our experience by speaking to the manager myself. Had we been alone I would've told him to either speak to the parents or we are leaving. This is not Chucky cheese and it wasn't just a couple of little outbursts. For management to let this continue is very revealing.

The restaurant was not crowded and we have not seen his friends in sometime - we wanted to spend considerable time catching up. We left because of that screaming kid. My husband and I who patronize this restaurant often we're left with without much desire for wanting to

Then to top it off I get a notice from OpenTable NOT happy with us for NOT honoring our reservation when we actually DID honor our reservation. We DID check in with the very indifferent young woman at the front desk

Terry Wyrsch

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The interior is very nice, open and airy like a loft, with subdued lighting. However, service was slow and spotty. Chips were finally served with 3 types of salsa, which all tasted good, however they filled us up too much.

In appetizers, guacamole was average. Hamachi ceviche looked nice, but portion was too small to make much of it. They had no beers on tap. We ordered glasses of margarita, sangria and pisco sour. They were just ok, served in small portions again, so given their price ($12-15), not too satisfying.

For the main course, we got the chicken mole, but it was quite dry, with very little sauce and the chicken came with skin and bones, so not quite enjoyable. The lamb chops were cooked extremely rare (they never asked) which we did not like. The accompanying vegetable mash and salad was good, though. Sesame-crusted tofu was better, but overall dinner impression was not favorable -- made worse by the fact that entrees were priced at $30-40+.

So while we enjoyed the ambience, we would not return due to underwhelming food & drinks, priced steeply and served lazily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent service for our large group of 13. Diverse authentic menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Everything was excellent! From the service to the foods and the margaritas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

we had a delicious meal at Reposado. I ordered the Cochinita Pipil and it was fabulous. the serving was so generous that I took half of it home and they included extra tortillas in my bag. the other 3 members of my party were also happy with they dinners. The space is beautiful and open, but it was very noisy. One of our party is hard of hearing and it was difficult to hold a conversation.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Margaritas were way overpriced and weak. Actually all the food was way overpriced for what we were server. $12 salad was tiny. Eggplant was $21 for three slices of breaded eggplant, which was a bit salty too. Chorizo vegan appetizer was a good try but lacked much taste.

Unlikely to return unless we get another gift card. 🙄

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

The restaurant has good ambiance and lively atmosphere. Had excellent vegetarian options. Enjoyed drink and food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Good food and the service was great. Street tacos are simple bites & go well with an order of guacamole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great selection. The boneless short ribs were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Reposado is delicious and the service is always great. The food is fresh, flavorful, and healthy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Awesome...will go back many times! Food was great and so was the service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our server, James, was beyond amazing. He recommended the exact drinks and food that we were interested in, was the perfect balance of present and receptive to when we would need something. Food was amazing. Will definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food was great, but the noise wasn't. This is about the noisiest restaurant I've ever been in. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We have been going to Reposado for the past few years and the food never disappointed us. The only issue we had during the past dining experience is that for some reason they decided to take one of our favorite item off the menu, the "Queso Fundido". Please bring that back!
Otherwise, the place is fun with good food and cocktails.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Very good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

they did not have our reservation however they accommodate us.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Just not as good as we remembered it this last time. Service was incredibly indifferent which was in stark contrast to the last time we dined here. Enough so to make a return visit questionable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Good food and a knowledgeable waitress. Our waitress was extremely friendly and the food was delivered promptly. Great drinks too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Service was very poor. Waited to order drinks, waited for drinks, waited to order, waited for food, waited for the check, waited to pay. I think you get it, we waited all night for everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I love Reposado. I always order the same things -- Traditional Margarita, guacamole with chips, and plantains. I could drink the delicious dipping sauce served with the plantains it's so good. Last visit I took a friend who had never been and she is now a fan. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Spicy, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Had a lovely meal. Thanks to an excellent service, who helped us a lot in finding the right combinations we experienced mexican food on a high quality level with a wide variety of spicing. And the ambiente is exciting and well balanced.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The service is excellent, the staff is wonderful and the food is clearly carefully planned.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Tapas, Good for a Date, Organic, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Michelle was fabulous, food delicious, and fellowship fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

++ Reliably good food. --Excessively noisy, unfortunately the acoustics and layout of the cavernous dining room has everyone shouting louder than the next table in order to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

A favorite restaurant in Palo Alto. The mole chicken is excellent and the margaritas are as good as you will find with fresh ingredients.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

What a great place! Everything we ordered was exceptionally good. Steak, citrus pork and shrimp dishes, all exceptional. Good appetizers as well and good drinks. Slightly pricey but unique dishes. Plantain cake was unusual and really good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was our second time here and it did not disappoint. They have lots of vegetation options, in fact they have a whole separate menu. The restaurant is very lively. Get a margarita and join the fun.

I ordered the lamb chops. I was a little worried I wouldn't get the authentic Mexican flavors, but this dish did not disappoint. The lamb chops were grilled perfectly. They had a great char on them. It left the outside crispy, but the meat tender. I'd order it again in a heartbeat.

My husband and one friend ordered the special, which was halibut with olive tapenade and Mexican spices. It was really good. Another friend ordered the vegetarian stuffed pepper. The waitress said it was one of her favorite dishes on the menu. Everyone cleaned up their plates.

For dessert we got the banana cake. Oh, it was so good! It came with a scoop of ice cream. It was just enough for all four of us to share.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food, drinks and service was excellent. I can't wait to go back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Food was okay but expensive for what it was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Thank you for having two vegan options. I had the eggplant dish and it was wonderful.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.