About Reposado Restaurant

236 Hamilton Avenue
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Reposado represents the latest addition to our family of restaurants. This unique experience offers exceptional Mexican cuisine which will challenge the imagination and seduce the palate.



Born from a rich tradition of regional Mexican specialties and contemporary culinary influences, it promises to be not only memorable but also enjoyable.



Please come enjoy a richly satisfying and fun Mexican dining experience.



Eat. Drink. Relax

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
Emerson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 833-3151

Website:
http://www.reposadorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, there is ample parking in the Palo Alto Civic Center underground parking garage a half block East of the restaurant. The entrance to the garage is a half block South of the intersection of Hamilton and Ramona.

Executive Chef:
Arnulfo Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Reposado offers Private Dining (with bar) in our beautiful Mezzanine Dining Room overlooking our main bar and dining room.

The Mezzanine Dining Room will accommodate up to 45 comfortably for dining and 75 for cocktails.

Private Party Contact:
Mitalee Nangrani: 6508333151x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Reposado Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Palo Alto ›

fit for foodies (72)
good for groups (69)
hot spot (52)
See All
vibrant bar scene (50)
great for lunch (42)
special occasion (36)
neighborhood gem (30)
romantic (17)
great for brunch (12)
late-night find (9)
kid-friendly (8)
notable wine list (5)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1509 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

the food was varied and good -- not outs ...

Dined 3 days ago

the food was varied and good -- not outstanding but the bill was outstanding $150 for lunch w no liquor

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome guacamole and shrimp and scallo ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Awesome guacamole and shrimp and scallop small plates. The restaurant space is cool industrial. Service was great too

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dining was great - it is a drive for us ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Dining was great - it is a drive for us - so we make a special trip when we want the great food. Street tacos are a standby favorite. We also love to guacamole. This time we added a few other Apps to round it out and make a meal of it. The only issue - the last 2 times I've made a reservation on Open Table - they process it as if I didn't show up. That is getting frustrating - having to file a response & justify why I spent good money there.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Been here few times and always Luv it - ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Been here few times and always Luv it - margaritas are great - my fav Cadillac and guava - great service a bit pricy but worth it

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite haunts in Pa ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This is one of our favorite haunts in Palo Alto. The Bar staff are wonderful and the chef is a gem.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Good for a group of 14. A real mix up wi ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Good for a group of 14. A real mix up with the bill added a half hour wait. Good service and excellent but pricey margaritas.

food5
ambience5
service5

Queso was good, all our entrees were exc ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Queso was good, all our entrees were excellent and the atmosphere was great for a celebration.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Plantain chips and guacamole are a must ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Plantain chips and guacamole are a must try! Crowded even on weekdays, definitely recommend making a reservation.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great new menu

Dined on June 7, 2016

Will be returning to try more items off the refreshed menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, so-so service

Dined on June 4, 2016

First server spilled water all over table, then just swabbed it around with a wet towel. Order taker was pleasant and competent. Second server brought soup but no spoon. Soup sat and cooled while we tried to get someone's attention about the spoon. Very loud, trendy ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Could be better

Dined on June 4, 2016

My biggest complain are two things: 1. too much ice in their cocktails, and at the price point one is paying for a cocktail, don't cheat people..not nice. 2. We ordered the cheese fundido for an appetizer, and again, at that price-point, it better be delicious and melted just like a fundido is supposed to be. The dish missed both marks. I asked the waitress if they could heat it up again, she said there is no microwave to do so, and had the chef remake it. Unfortunately, it missed the mark again, so we didn't even bother with it.

food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Food is a bad combination of uninspired and bad

Dined on May 30, 2016

How difficult is to make Mexican food well? I have been to Reposado before and the food was excellent. I don't know what happened to the kitchen staff but this time around most dishes were terrible. The prices are too high and do not reflect the value anymore. In addition, the top floor is way too noisy The only highlight were the desserts, other than the terrible Aztec chocolate cake, all the others were excellent. Sadly, will not be coming back, too bad because the lower floor has a nice and lively ambiance

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

We requested a booth & we got one. The ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We requested a booth & we got one. The food is very good. Super selection of tequila's and Mescal. Very good drinks. It can get loud.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Back Again

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Back in for a lunch. we really do like the Tora de Puerco al Pastor...this is a very good sandwich. For the first time, we enjoyed the empanadas de camaron and crepas con mariscos . Very good, with or without the sauce. Wine: Carpe Diem Cabernet...fruit forward, very nice finish. Try it. Our waiter, Luis, and with help of a service staff cornucopia, delivered flawlessly attentive service. We very much appreciated it.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food! Top notch in every way. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fantastic food! Top notch in every way. Would definitely go again. Server was terrific too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Reposado prices just keep going up, up, up.

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Food is consistently good. Drinks, esp. wine, get more pricey all the time. The place obviously feels they can get away with it. Used to go monthly, now maybe 2-3 times a year.

food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Food ruined by noise

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Reposada serves fines California/Mexican food in a large dinning room. The service is super fast, the prices reasonable, certainly not cheap. Everything is spoiled by the incredible noise level. This has always been a problem at this restaurant with stone floors and walls and much could be done to dampen the noise - but it appears that the restaurants wants it this way. So it is great for large groups celebrating, but pointless, even unpleasant, if your interest is having a conversation with another person.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the restaurant But a bit loud we ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Love the restaurant But a bit loud we loved it , will keep going back!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Pureed green sauce

Dined on May 18, 2016

We started with drinks and the Margarita seemed thin. Guacamole was excellent on the multi veggie (and multi-color) tortilla chips with three salsas. The seafood tacos in blue corn tortillas with a pureed green sauce were delicious and unusual. They were served with a rice pilaf that included matchstick radishes, again delicious, light, unique. We shared one dessert, the upside down banana cake that was simply superb. Prices are a bit high for this cuisine but it's Palo Alto.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent Mexican, but very pricey

Dined on May 15, 2016

Overall food quality is great, and place is fun and hip. Definitely high-end Mexican fare, but prices are steep. Tab for two of us, with tip, was over $100, and we stuck to small plates (granted, a couple drinks each pushed the tab up a lot). Chips, salsas, guac, Caesar salads were all outstanding; the "street" tacos were, in contrast, good but not great. A fun place to try for a special occasion, but be prepared to fork over some serious dough.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Above and beyond service

Dined on May 13, 2016

My young son was not feeling well, and our server went out of his way to make sure he could have his favourite dish, even though it was not on the menu (or even something a Mexican restaurant would normally have).

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, but come for the famous passi ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Good food, but come for the famous passionfruit margaritas. They make these cocktails better than anywhere on the peninsula, including SF. Passionfruit is tart, fresh, not overly sweet. On a hot day, nothing is better. Kudos to the Reposado bartenders!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service3

Best Chilean seafood. Get Hamachi. Gre ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Best Chilean seafood. Get Hamachi. Great vibe.

food3
ambience5
service4

It is too expensive for what it offers. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It is too expensive for what it offers. Food is good but underwhelming. Great service but i seriously doubt I will come back.

food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing food

food5
ambience5
service5

Took parents (visiting from out of town) ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took parents (visiting from out of town) for Mothers Day brunch. Food was amazing and service was excellent! We are a family that loves to eat "family style," and our server accommodated w/ no issue. Although all of our meals were very good, I had to force myself to stop eating the Crepas con Mariscos so that everyone else could have some. No words just mmm, mmm, mmm. The Huevos Oaxaquenos and Datiles Rellenos were also 2 table favs. Go to Reposado...you won't be disappointed!

food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Too noisy and too long for our table

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We waited 25 minutes for a table and we had reservations. AND, It is always so noisy that will not be going back for a long time. I even requested to be upstairs where it is a little quieter and when I spoke to the manager the night before, he said he would try. There was a private event that night!!! Don't you think he should have known that the night before when we talked? Very disappointed with the evening!

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Decent food, noisy, extremely overpriced

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I'd been to Reposado before for lunch and enjoyed it, but went with my husband for dinner on one of our rare nights out. We spent over $100 for 4 tapas and some lemonade, which was absurd. The waiters were pushing street tacos and guacamole, and we should have known better than to bite on the specials, but we certainly didn't expect 4 tiny appetizer tacos to run $17 and about 6 ounces of guacamole at $11. Even for Palo Alto this was exorbitant. The restaurant is very noisy, which is fine -- a place that boasts 500 tequilas is probably going to be loud. But the food quality was only average and the service a combination of negligent and overt with pushing mediocre high margin items. Spending this much on a meal is fine if the quality is high - for that experience, cross University and go to Joya. Burma Ruby, around the corner, has better food and lower prices. We definitely will not be back.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Friday Night Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

I had gone with my mom on a Friday night. It was great that I made reservations as the place was definitely packed. Ordered the enchiladas for appetizer which were really nice. Ordered the Tacos for Main Course as my mom wanted them but my rule of thumb - don't order Tacos at a nice restaurant proved right again. They were not bad but not something worth ordering at such a nice place. Service was excellent and being a server myself during my student days, I am pretty critical of service quality. The ambiance was good and the mood was pretty vibrant. Overall a really good experience and definitely helped me earn some brownie points with my mom :)

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

A bit bummed about the experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

Started off badly as our 8:15pm reservation came/went with my group of 8 having to wait 40 minutes to be seated. Really?! So we, of course, got drinks at the bar. When our table was ready, the unapologetic hostess asked if we could closed out our bar tab. OK. That took another 5 minutes..not that long, but when we had been waiting for our table for 40 minutes, you'd think they would just transfer the tab or offer to close out after we were seated. Note: there was not enough room at the bar for the 8 of us to hang out so we were loitering in the entryway for the 40 minutes. Ugh! When a restaurant takes your CC# to make a reservation and will charge you $20pp if you are a no-show, maybe they ought to credit the customer $20pp if they can't seat you in a timely fashion! Just a thought. The rest of the evening was fine. Waiter was attentive and food came promptly. The bacon wrapped dates and shrimp/scallop apps were delicious. My beet salad w/salmon also quite tasty. My last comment (and this is something I knew already) is that the acoustics of the restaurant make it really loud. You almost have to scream to talk the person next to you. I'm sure my 'old'lady ears don't help.... Generally, I enjoy Reposados but this time, it bummed me out.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I had visited Reposado before and took a ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

I had visited Reposado before and took a work colleague this time who wanted to try Mexican. The server Ena made various recommendations which were awesome. We tried the guacamole and queso fundido. Dinner was the prawns and grilled steak which were out of this world. The banana cake with ice cream is the best. Thanks for a wonderful dining adventure and the 2nd to none service.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

we enjoyed our meal

Dined on May 2, 2016

we would have enjoyed the getting together more if next to us was not such a loud chile in a large group we could not hear each other the food was good the the choices of the day are nice

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impressive restaurant all around!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We went to this restaurant for special occasion brunch with a party of 4 adults and 2 kids, and we ALL loved it! The menu was unique, creative, upscale Mexican fare. The drink menu was out of this world. Everyone had a different cocktail and they were all delish. Everyone enjoyed their meals. I had one of the best omelets I have ever had in my life. Seriously!! Decent serving sizes, although I did clean my plate, it was so good. They even had a nice children's menu that was not greasy and tasteless, and was not outrageously priced! My mom (a foodie and an awesome home cook) said we WILL be going back to the restaurant again next time she is in town. :) Oh, and the service was spectacular. Polite, knowledgeable, friendly waiter. Really fantastic place.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Increasingly disappointed lately

Dined on May 1, 2016

I used to LOVE Reposado! I love Mexican food and margaritas and they had a special twist on it. But lately, I find the service spotty, the noise level (and parking) a pain, and the food looks like no one in the kitchen cared. This last time I got a Caesar salad with shrimp. I got a bowl of whole (uncut) Romaine leaves with 4 shrimp on top and about a tablespoon of roasted corn and that cost $20. I would have liked a second drink but our waiter never made it back to our table after our food was served so I skipped that. Maybe they are just too busy to notice that their food quality and service is suffering. It's a shame.

food4
ambience4
service5

Our second time, again the food fabulous ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Our second time, again the food fabulous. Suggestions by our server Ashley were spot on. The date appetizers and guacamole were delish. The hamachi fabulous. Between the shrimp, pork and beef entrees were authentic. Now dessert... Banana upside down cake w salted caramel ice cream , I'll tell everyone about it. Now back to Ashley... You could only be so lucky to have her be your server. Bright, witty. One reason we went back.

food5
ambience4
service5

Incredible staff, waiter was amazing!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Incredible staff, waiter was amazing!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

If you're looking for a good place for lunch...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Lunch for 10 on a busy Thursday on Hamilton (236) in Palo Alto (really hard to park with all the parking flagged off south of Hamilton). I finally found a vacant spot, after finding none under city hall, under Saint Michael;s Alley. Events turned out that most people were 10 minutes late (yes, there was three people on time). I was a bit concerned that we might compromise our reservation. But, not to worry next time; it was not a problem. We started off with the several guacamole dishes (Avocado, cilantro, lime juice, shallots, tomato, serrano chile, queso anejo served with freshly made chips). It was well seasoned, made with ripe avocados, and the chips were crisp, fresh, and savory. I recommend it. Personally, I had the "torta de puerco al pastor" (braised pork, ham, asadero cheese, charred pieapple salsa, adobo sauce, jalapeno aioli). I really liked this sandwich (and will order it again on my next visit, if offered). The inside preparation allows for a delicious rich sauce that permeates the bread. On the whole, this is very pleasant on the palate. Mouth watering. This is a must order. I ordered a generic Cabernet, and it was full-bodied, rich, and delicious; it complemented the guacamole perfectly. Others ordered a variety of items. I heard only one complaint, so I'd say that was a win. She had the veggie tacos and found them to be lacking in flavor. For this, I was sorry. Our waiter was sincere and courteous. However, two sandwich orders were wrong (the wrong sandwich was attempted to be delivered). The waiter apologized. I didn't have a problem...mistakes happens. The other victim asked pointedly how long it would take to replace the sandwich. He looked and sounded pained. Poor guy. I will definitely be back (and soon). This is a good place. Enjoy!

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

It is a shame

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Such a beautiful restaurant...and their food is pretty good, especially their appetizers. But we showed up with our infant and they were downright unfriendly and unhelpful. They made us feel unwelcome. It was like they didn't want to be bothered accomodating us. Would never go back seeing how they treated us.

food3
ambience5
service5

Get the tamales and guacamole! Soooooo g ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Get the tamales and guacamole! Soooooo good. Also the mango margarita and red sangria are really delicious! Our service was awesome! However, skip the tres ceviche. It comes with crispy plantains to dip in the ceviche but the whole serving dish was so cold and some of our plantains seemed soggy from the moisture of the plate. I assume it was sitting in the refrigerator waiting for someone to order it. It was very bland and didn't taste fresh due to this issue. They should keep the plantains in a separate dish until they bring it out so this doesn't happen. Luckily we had chips from our guac left over so we used those up.

food5
ambience4
service5

One of our favorite places in Palo Alto ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

One of our favorite places in Palo Alto - we also bring friends and family from overseas here for dinner frequently.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.