Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Renee Kelly's Harvest

4.3
427 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Romantic

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Renee Kelly's Harvest is an approachable upscale farm-to-table dining experience, all wrapped up in a castle. Our food style is a few simple twists on your favorites.

"The earth provides us with anything we need at any given part of time for optimum health, nutrition and flavor." Each ingredient is purchased from our local growers, farmers and artisans for immediate use.

Renee Kelly's Harvest at Caenen Castle is the only real, restored castle, right here in Kansas City, where you can enjoy fresh cuisine. Not only does Harvest specialize in local, farm to table dining, we also work with corporate retreats, weddings, rehearsal dinners, cooking classes and more special occasions.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Organic, Farm-to-table
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner Wednesday- Saturday 4:00pm-10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(913) 631-4100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Renee Kelly
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We cater farm fresh food on site and off site, corporate lunches, fully catered dinners and private chef occasions. Just ask and we will tailor your event for you
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Caenen
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available in front of the building, on the west side and in the back. Overflow parking available on Caenen street. Please be mindful of traffic.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Wine Dinners and other special events like Breakfast with Santa arrive every quarter. Watch Facebook or sign up for our e-mail list for the details.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 427 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.6
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on October 15, 2017

One of the best brunch experiences I've ever had. The food was excellent and the staff was wonderful. Best wished to Chef Kelly on her endeavors and we look forward to her show in Sundays.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 14, 2017

We went on one of the final nights when this wonderful restaurant was open, because this place has been a part of many of our special celebrations for a few years now. It was busy -- no doubt about it, and a full house plus downpours slowed the process of getting to a table. But the staff was great, accommodating, funny, and helpful; plus the people-watching top-notch. We were seating in under 30 from the time of our reservation, had outstanding service (although there was little time to chat with the servers!), and food that made the night just the kind of farewell memory it should have been. Scrumptious, perfectly cooked. I was particularly impressed that every plate that came by our table on its way to being served was BEAUTIFUL. The kitchen was slammed, and the food was still a feast for the mouth and for the eyes. Thank you all.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 13, 2017

Our dining experience at Harvest was very enjoyable! The food was good but a bit pricey, especially the desserts. The overall ambiance was lovely and the restaurant is beautiful inside and out! The hostess was especially accommodating towards my 81 year old mother and we really appreciated that extra attention! Thank you for a great evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 13, 2017

Attended dinner on Friday of the last weekend. Arrived a bit early for our reservation, no issue. Allowed to choose what we felt was the best table.

Everything was WONDERFUL. The cheese board, our cocktails, the bass and the pumpkin ravioli were superb......very nice presentation and flavor superb.

We're sorry to see the restaurant closing, but will be on the lookout for special events.

Thank YOU Renee Kelly!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 11, 2017

The food was really amazing. It took me about 20 minutes to decide between pork chop and the ribs. The server told me that they were closing. I'm glad that I had the chance to eat at such a quaint and inviting place before it did. The fact that it was in a castle was a bonus. You should get here to try it before the chance is gone for good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 11, 2017

We heard that they were closing up shop, so we wanted to make it a point to get there before that happened. Too bad they're closing, everything about the restaurant was great! We'd love to go again if they reopen at some point in the future.
If you've never been there, do yourself a favor and go before they close! Hurry!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2017

what a wonderful place! I'm so sorry they are closing, and even sorrier I didn't find it sooner! I hope Renee opens another restaurant in the future.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 8, 2017

Bummer it's closing. Wanted to try brunch here for a long time. The chocolate ganache with bacon did not disappoint. We took our 18-month old son and it was actually great for kids. I think they like to keep the kids upstairs away from everyone else, but it was nice not to worry about it. The atmosphere couldn't be better - the castle is beautiful.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 6, 2017

I was expecting a lovely, elegant, cozy dinner in a historic castle setting. Upon arriving for 6:30 res, the hostess blurts out, "Do you have a reservation?", followed by, " We have you on the patio, follow me". Caught a brief glimpse of the inside and their were plenty of empty tables. That set the tone for the evening. After rattling heavy wrought iron tables/chairs on the patio, we were seated outside in the chilling air. More of the rattling followed for a group of 8 people and we couldn't even hear ourselves talk, along with the clanking of the nearby "wind chime". There are no complimentary starters, i.e. bread etc, as far as I could tell. Husband started off with an ordered of the Smoke Fish Croquettes w/duck fat aioli, they didn't hold together well, but were good. He ordered a glass of wine and we also placed our entrees at the same time. I had the house-made pumpkin ravioli in sage cream sauce topped w/prosciutto. I don't recall seeing or tasting the prosciutto. Picture will show there were 5 large raviolis displayed on half of the plate. Husband ordered the Bass with black rice. Nice presentation, filled the plate! He was over 1/2 way done with it before his glass of wine arrived, as noted in the before & after pictures. I purposely passed on an 2nd app, cocktail/wine and dessert. Service through out the evening was hit and miss. Food overall was average. As we left the patio through the restaurant, we again noted plenty of available tables inside and I got another small glimpse into what could have been a lovely, elegant, cozy dinner in a historic castle setting. Unable to upload photos, you can see them on my Google review if interested.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 6, 2017

Wait staff was very slow. Not very attentive. Not kid friendly at all. Should have been told that refills iced tea and regular drinks like that are NOT free. Food was pretty good but very expensive. I wouldn't go back so I guess it's a good thing this place is closing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 4, 2017

Sad that we did not find this place until now, where they are closing next week. We had a wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 4, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. The food was sensational and the service was spot on. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Ambiance was the only positive takeaway from this dining experience. Food did not meet my expectation of a higher end establishment and was in fact poorly done, chicken was terribly dry and pork chop was seasoned to a point of barely edible. Service was friendly but slow for what appeared to be a slow evening. Price point was ridiculous for what end result was.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 23, 2017

We loved the cute castle! We were a little disappointed as we tried to order a dish & the waitress came back to tell us that they were out but then the table next to us ordered TWO of those entrees with no issues... just a little odd! We loved the sangria & the cheese plate. We will be back for the cocktails and the apps but not for the main meals most likely!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 15, 2017

Everything was perfect f

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 13, 2017

We came here for our anniversary just to try out something different. We wouldn't even know this castle existed if we didn't live in the area and we wouldn't know they were open for dinner if we hadn't looked it up.
This was one of the best meals we have ever had and the service was great. We seriously cannot wait to go back again to try out some more of her food. I've been telling everyone about it because it was that amazing.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 8, 2017

I had dined at RKH once before and loved it. Wanted to take some friends there as they had not been. Made the reservations 2 wks in advance for Friday @ 6p. The weekend before I received a voicemail saying the restaurant was having a special event there for $20 or we could be served in the Wine Tasting room. $20 sounds like nibblies but we wanted a full menu so we opted for eating in the Wine Tasting room. I confirmed this on the Wednesday before with the restaurant staff. On the day of our reservation @ 430p received a phone call from the restaurant saying they would not be able to serve us but could still opt for the special event.

I thought this was handled very poorly. They obviously knew about this special event weeks in advance but waited until 1.5hrs before our reservation to tell us they couldn't serve us. No offer to book another night, just "sorry". Happy ending: we called Cafe Provence and even though they were booked solid (remember this is 5p on a Friday), they squeezed us in at 6p and we had a lovely dinner and were treated very well.

This really saddens me as I liked the menu and food at RKH and was hoping to make it a regular stop but, sadly, I have crossed them off my list. I will stick with Cafe Provence if I want a nice night out. Vive la France!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 7, 2017

We had an excellent experience. The device was outstanding, pacing our appetizer, meal and dessert perfectly. The summer salad was incredible so many flavors, it got better with every bite. A unique venue, we will be back often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 7, 2017

A perfect restaurant choice for a 26th birthday celebration. Atmosphere for a great conversation - quiet enough for a first meeting or exuberant for after a marathon run. And Renee Kelly's Harvest serves local ingredients to satisfy any food enthusiast. Try a Swiss Chard toastie.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 3, 2017

We came in for brunch over Labor Day weekend and was pretty disappointed. I ordered the Pretty Darn Good Breakfast and it was so incredibly salty that I couldn't eat hardly any of it. I realize pork belly is salty, but this was awful. We never leave food behind! The potatoes were cold too. We waited for a long time, but did receive complimentary beignets for the wait, which was nice. My husband's burger was good. We will try again as I was really hoping to find a nice brunch in Shawnee. We should have said something when we were in. I thought the waiter would notice when I left basically everything on my plate and said I definitely didn't want a box. We will try again sometime but won't be in any hurry.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2017

Once the waitress was aware of the occasion food was brought out to celebrate a chocolate sauce not loaded with sugar. The hamburger was good and monumental in size I almost did not finish

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 3, 2017

I've been to Renee Kelly's a few times, and I have always had a fantastic experience. I invited a friend to brunch over the Labor Day weekend and was excited to have her try this restaurant. The food was amazing, as always, but the service today was really bad. They were understaffed, and I understand things get hairy when you're in the weeds, but it was pretty bad. We had mad reservations, and were seated promptly, and then we waited...and waited...and waited...and finally the hostess brought us water. We asked for a drink menu, and then waited again. Our server was very sweet, but left something off our order, never brought items we requested, and we definitely felt forgotten. The food saved the experience, and we both would go back, hopefully when we do they are staffed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 3, 2017

They were understaffed, though not overly busy either. The food was great but 2 out of 3 orders were messed up. I will go back, but I was definitely underwhelmed for the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 30, 2017

FANTASTIC food prepared for us by Ms. Kelly herself! She even took time to accommodate a special request and prepare something not on the menu. Beautiful setting.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 25, 2017

We had a party of 4 with a reservation and there were 8 tables of people in the whole restaurant, so not super busy. We ordered a drink and waited an hour to get the first one, later ordered another and waited another hour to get it. The food also took a long time to get. Service was incredibly slow and food was mediocre for the price. We won't be returning or recommending Renee Kelly's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent food and service! All in our party of six we're very pleased with this dining experience! Would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 20, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday. Enjoyed the farm to table foods and ambiance.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was great. Ambiance was not. Service just ok. Felt rushed. If service and ambiance would have been good, then the experience would have been worth the $$. Sad to say this but won't go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

Why am I just finding out about this place. This should be in everyone's top 5 list for Kansas City. The facility is one of the best in the city, and the food is amazing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 13, 2017

Just about every brunch entree served with cottage fries, even pancakes. And I thought the wine was overpriced. Not worth it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 12, 2017

We found it to be a fairly nice dining experience the food was good the portions were good but the price was a little over the top we are used to Johnson County restaurants and prices but the two of us by the time we left with tip was about 170 that's quite a bit for two people out dining but overall a good experience not a place we would frequent though

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 11, 2017

Amazing food, a must try! Not only was the food amazing but the presentation of it was beautiful!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 11, 2017

This place is great for its ambiance. The food was very well prepared. I think what was missing was the restaurant craft. Service was slow. I think no one had ever ordered the tasting menu before, so they were not ready for it when we did. The tasting menu was just what could have been ordered off the menu, and I think it would have been less expensive to just order the individual items. I was still hungry at the end of the meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was good along with the presentation. Was a great place for quiet conversation at the time frame we were there. The staff was very helpful and attentive to us. I got say the S'mores dessert was probably my favorite!!! Overall a great experience. Thanks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2017

Always impressed with the seasonal and varied menu. The castle is a unique setting and when the weather is nice the patio is a good option.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 29, 2017

This was my first experience at Harvest. We started with orders on the half shell, which were served with a vinaigrette. Then I ordered the beet salad with sheep's cheese and microgreens. It was very small yet delightful. I ordered the trout served with a millet, sauteed chard and sorrel. My husband ordered the chicken entree which had a delicious side of summer veggies. Everything was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 29, 2017

Fantastic food, beautiful ambience, and very friendly, helpful staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 29, 2017

This was a phenomenal restaurant and wonderful food and drinks. Cant wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 20, 2017

From the moment we entered, it was an great evening. They accommodated my wheelchair better than most. The craft cocktails were refreshing on a very hot night. Everything we had was fresh, done perfectly. Clearly made with love. My only question is why is this place a secret. I will be recommending Renee Kelly's Harvest to everyone. I can't wait to return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 8, 2017

Our first time of dining at Harvest and it was an enjoyable experience. Food was creative and delicious. The summer salad was particularly tasty. Charming dining room and the patio looks inviting. We will return and will bring friends on our next visit.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11

Tweets by Permanently Closed - Renee Kelly's Harvest