Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Renee Kelly's Harvest

Renee Kelly's Harvest is an approachable upscale farm-to-table dining experience, all wrapped up in a castle. Our food style is a few simple twists on your favorites.

"The earth provides us with anything we need at any given part of time for optimum health, nutrition and flavor." Each ingredient is purchased from our local growers, farmers and artisans for immediate use.

Renee Kelly's Harvest at Caenen Castle is the only real, restored castle, right here in Kansas City, where you can enjoy fresh cuisine. Not only does Harvest specialize in local, farm to table dining, we also work with corporate retreats, weddings, rehearsal dinners, cooking classes and more special occasions.

12401 Johnson Drive
Shawnee, KS 66216
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Lunch/Dinner Wednesday-Friday 11:00am-10:00pm
Dinner: Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Caenen

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 631-4100

Website:
http://reneekellysharvest.com/

Catering:
We cater farm fresh food on site and off site, corporate lunches, fully catered dinners and private chef occasions. Just ask and we will tailor your event for you

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the building, on the west side and in the back. Overflow parking available on Caenen street. Please be mindful of traffic.

Executive Chef:
Renee Kelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners and other special events like Breakfast with Santa arrive every quarter. Watch Facebook or sign up for our e-mail list for the details.

Renee Kelly's Harvest Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (23)
Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Romantic (17)
Historic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Cozy (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Healthy (10)
Authentic (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Organic (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Fireplace (6)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fun (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
376 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was excellent. The server was very attentive but as usual we waited for our food. I was pleased with my simple salad.The dressing was great . The trout was tasty. This is our special occasion restaurant of choice. I look forward to the chicken pot pie being on the menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We came here for Father's Day Brunch. I was a little surprised with how the waitress greeted us, no "hello" or "have you been here before" she just asked what we wanted to drink. They were out of the special that had pork belly so the wife had the standard breakfast and I had the biscuits and gravy. Both were very good, the portions were a little off on my meal, it was 2 biscuits and the whole plate was covered in gravy and a very small portion of breakfast potatoes that was on the verge of being too salty. Our child had the french toast and it was also very good. We had to wait quite a while to have a our coffee refilled but overall it was a good experience. I would go there again but probably not my first choice.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We were there to celebrate Fathers Day and had brunch. It was a beautiful morning and we ate on the patio. Service and food were excellent. Portions were quite large and when we return we will split whatever we order.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We were there for brunch and everything was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Our first time in and it was for Father's Day brunch. Excellent brunch, food, and we will definitely be coming back for dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

This place is a quiet gem. The food is incredible, not surprising given Renee Kelly is a world renowned chef. And the ambiance is really cool, residing as it does in a hundred year old castle that has been completely modernized. Do yourself a favor and schedule a meal here. It is going to the top of our list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food...service was on the very slow side. Wonderful ambiance!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We spent 3 hours dining. One hour before any food was served which was really good when starters finally arrived. Then waited for the mains which again were good when they arrived. We waited several minutes for desserts which were ok. The servers were attentive. Really expect some under staffing somewhere. Appeared that one server was tending the entire room.

The food was good but lost its luster when the dining experience became so protracted. Probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Menu seems to of shrunk.... not many choices for appetizers to share. We ordered 2 cauliflower apps to share. Not enough aioli on the plate and overall bland. Our reservation was for 7pm on a Friday night . We were the only table inside!!!! Frankly that was a little creepy. Service was just ok.. there were 6 of us . 2 people ordered the scotch filet but only 1 was available????? Trout was terrific and a lovely presentation.
Not sure if we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This place has very good food, but a limited menu and pretty high prices. Two drinks at the bar were almost $20.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Went with my family for Sunday brunch. The RK bites were fabulous, as was the rest of the food. My kids shared the amores pancakes and thought they were heaven. Was not busy at all. Outside area was lovely. Bring coloring books or something for the kids to do - have a kids menu, but wouldn't describe this place as exactly "kid friendly."

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

My husband and I celebrated his birthday at Renee Kelly's and were very happy with the experience. All the wait staff were friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this restaurant and will go back again to enjoy the wonderful food. Thanks for a beautiful evening.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Organic, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Harvest was the perfect choice for our group to meet. Its beautiful, cozy atmosphere is welcoming. I asked for a table in a more separate space for quiet conversation and they delivered. I asked for a cake and the cake was sitting in the middle of the table when we arrived, along with a special message for each member of our group that couldn't fit on the cake. It was a very special touch that made all my friends feel special. The dinner menu was more pricey than we thought, so I wasn't sure choosing this restaurant was a good idea, but the delicious food that everyone ordered seemed to make up for any concerns about the prices. Everyone raved about their ravioli, salmon, and clams and mussels! Harvest was a good choice for our special friends' dinner get-together.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. We had a party of seven and sampled a good cross-section of the menu. Everything was outstanding. The service, on the other hand, was very poor. Our server was much more interested in chatting with a couple at a 2-top than he was in bringing food from the kitchen. I'll try Renee Kelly's again for the food and ambiance, but won't utilize that server again - ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Good food - you don't get much of it and have to spent some extra $$$ to get a full belly. Adding a salad for $13 isn't a great deal for me. The entrees were great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This was our first visit to this restaurant. We had a very nice lunch, in general, but I was somewhat disappointed for having spent $100 there.
It took over 1/2 hour for our lunch to arrive, and not once during that time were we offered any bread or an apology for the wait so I would suppose that's normal. We didn't order anything super complicated, or off menu. It was good, but not great - as I had expected. We may return but would go for dinner not lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We took my Mom there for dinner to celebrate Mother's Day and it did not disappoint. From our server to the menu choices - everything was absolutely spectacular. I love that the menu changes and that it's a farm to table menu.
It is a little pricey but the overall experience is SO worth it. I would highly recommend this to our "city folk" who want to take a walk on the wild side in the burbs.
Truly amazing cuisine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Did not meet expectations. Was really disappointed with the service and the food did not make up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Everything was wonderful. The short ribs and mushroom risotto were delicious. I definitely suggest the Incredible Huck as a cocktail.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Soup was very good. Four pies of each kind of French Fried potatoes was all that was served. The steak sandwiches; very very little meat, could not taste it and the bread was so hard it couldn't be cut. THIS WAS $15??? Very disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Incredible service- wonderful find! Food was amazing as was the dessert!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

beet salad was not lettuce, it was small like clovers.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Tasty, rustic, food - well cooked, but nothing special. With this in mind, the price is very high for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Renee Kelly's Harvest is a great venue for brunch, lunch or dinner. We sat outside and enjoyed their lovely patio.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Really great local place. I do not like chain restaurants with sterile decor. This place is the opposite as it occupies an old, but beautifully restored mansion. The food is also really great. We will come back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A delightful restaurant for special occasions. The menu is seasonal and fresh and gourmet. The cocktails were an unexpected delight as well.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a wonderful time, our party was slow to gather and the staff was so patient - we ordered cocktails and the formage board while we waited which were all fabulous. Dinner was delicious and dessert was amazing! Service was great the whole night.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Loved, loved, loved the ambiance ... what a beautiful, historic building. The patio is also expansive and nice. Lilac bushes in full bloom greeted us in the parking area. Wine options were good and cheese plate was fantastic. The pork chop was out of this world ... ended up we all shared it, it was so good. The pasta option was good, but perhaps a touch salty. Overall, we had an amazing evening!

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 12, 2017

What a pleasant surprise. The food was amazing and the service was very knowledgeable and attentive. It was our first but only the first of many to come. One of the top restaurants in the Metro.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The only negative is the salad. Very very small.....I understand it comes with the daily special but why bother. It was two bites and it only contained a few pieces of spring mix.The soup on the other hand was a great value.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It's really impossible to overstate how terrific a job Renee Kelly and her team do. After numerous visits I've gotten used to being continually delighted and amazed by their consistency and dedication to their craft. I've never had a bad experience and the staff makes every visit a real treat -- always providing excellent food and wine recommendations (as both are constantly changing).

On this particular outing I enjoyed what might be the best pork chop I've ever had (succulent and juicy, expertly prepared and cooked) but let's face it -- Renee does everything well and whatever you order you'll be in heaven.

Renee Kelly's Harvest is a true gem and easily one of the best restaurants in Kansas City -- or anywhere else.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Danielle, our server, was outstanding!! We went here because I love farm to table and who doesn’t want to eat inside a "castle." But, everything needed salt!! And, I do mean everything. The woman next to us was extremely displeased with her "simple salad" and just lifted the pile of greens off her plate to show there was minimal dressing. I felt bad for her as she clearly was disappointed and no item is cheap at this establishment. I have zero complaints about the front of the house or the ambiance. I considered the food and wine to be overpriced. Maybe it was the menu for this month as I understand it is ever changing. But, for a $200 dinner for just 2 people there needs to be something memorable. Unfortunately, the only thing I will remember is to pass the salt. So disappointed. 🙁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We went to Renee Kelly's Harvest for a dinner date night with another couple as we get together at least once a month and try somewhere new. Certainly not disappointed here. Wonderful remodeled castle and excellent food. Sat at the bar first for a drink before our table was ready and enjoyed a conversation with the bartender. Seating in the big room near the fireplace was delightful and the ambiance was spectacular. What a lovely place. Food was delicious, as was the dessert! Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Fireplace, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This place was delicious. We went for my Birthday, so we did it up right with drinks, entrees and desserts. It's a little pricy, but totally worth the cost. We were well attended to but not hovered over. Overall, we will definitely be back and have been telling people about our amazing dinner ever since.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We love, love, love going to Renee Kelly's. You won't find an atmosphere as unique as Renee Kelly's anywhere in Kansas City. The menu is so creative we have never ordered the same thing twice and all of our dishes have been fantastic. We especially love the service and warmth that Katie and Jim provide. Renee Kelly's is lucky to have these two working for them. We can't wait for our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was well prepared and flavorful, but the menu seemed to be designed for the adventurous eater. I would go back again as the ambiance was wonderful and service very good.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I always enjoy eating at Harvest because the food is delicious and it's a gorgeous, one-of-a-kind historic property--one of the few of its kind in Johnson County. I like to think of Harvest as the Webster House of Johnson County, minus the antique shopping but far more interesting. The service at Harvest isn't the fastest, but that's just fine with me. It gave our party lots more time to take in all the details of the property and get (re)acquainted with the place. Our waiter was outstanding and very attentive. I also appreciate that Harvest's dining room is fairly quiet. As for the cuisine, Harvest does a great job of working with local producers and our food reflected it--very fresh and satisfying.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Love the ambiance and the staff is incredibly friendly! I had the pork belly - first time I have tried it anywhere and it was FANTASTIC! My husband enjoyed his gargantuan pork chop too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

First let me start by the beginning, my wife and I had made a reservation on St Patrick's day evening (which was extremely slow!). The hostess seemed to be confused as she looked very surprised !
Then we choose to sit on the empty patio ( maybe another table), after few minutes we got a huge sewer smells brought by the wind...
The waiter brought us the menu and I will say by reading the menu the chef is all over the place no actual consistency on any style of cooking. Disappointing, definitely.
We did order a cheese plate, which arrived with maybe 5 little bite of different cheeses with a brioche which they called bread!!!!( REALLY!) and charged 18$ ! Whoa Nuts!! Then my wife choose the short ribs and i did take the quail which were very tasty.👍🏻👍🏻. We preferred stop on a good note so we skipped dessert and went to get somewhere else. Just wanted to vent this special day which was our first date for over two months!!
Later!!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was the first time that my wife and I have dined at the Renee Kelly Harvest. It was one of the best overall experiences we have had. The service ( Danielle) was great. The food was superb. My wife had the bass and I had the fettuccini with pulled rabbit. The atmosphere was wonderful.

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.