Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Renee Kelly's Harvest

Renee Kelly's Harvest is an approachable upscale farm-to-table dining experience, all wrapped up in a castle. Our food style is a few simple twists on your favorites.

"The earth provides us with anything we need at any given part of time for optimum health, nutrition and flavor." Each ingredient is purchased from our local growers, farmers and artisans for immediate use.

Renee Kelly's Harvest at Caenen Castle is the only real, restored castle, right here in Kansas City, where you can enjoy fresh cuisine. Not only does Harvest specialize in local, farm to table dining, we also work with corporate retreats, weddings, rehearsal dinners, cooking classes and more special occasions.

12401 Johnson Drive
Shawnee, KS 66216
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Lunch/Dinner Wednesday-Friday 11:00am-10:00pm
Dinner: Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Caenen

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 631-4100

Website:
http://reneekellysharvest.com/

Catering:
We cater farm fresh food on site and off site, corporate lunches, fully catered dinners and private chef occasions. Just ask and we will tailor your event for you

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the building, on the west side and in the back. Overflow parking available on Caenen street. Please be mindful of traffic.

Executive Chef:
Renee Kelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners and other special events like Breakfast with Santa arrive every quarter. Watch Facebook or sign up for our e-mail list for the details.

Renee Kelly's Harvest Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
See All
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Historic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (8)
Authentic (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Organic (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fireplace (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

From the moment we entered, it was an great evening. They accommodated my wheelchair better than most. The craft cocktails were refreshing on a very hot night. Everything we had was fresh, done perfectly. Clearly made with love. My only question is why is this place a secret. I will be recommending Renee Kelly's Harvest to everyone. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our first time of dining at Harvest and it was an enjoyable experience. Food was creative and delicious. The summer salad was particularly tasty. Charming dining room and the patio looks inviting. We will return and will bring friends on our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The waitress seemed to spend much less time at our table than others, not sure if it was because my date and I were younger than the average patron and ordered relativity inexpensive meals. The food was good, but did not stand out from less expensive restaurants. Would likely not go back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Amazing, the food was flawless. The atmosphere was cozi. The grounds are beautiful. Double date with best of friends and it was great. I look forward to going back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Cozy, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Delicious food in a lovely setting. Generous portions that we split to keep our costs down. Summer Blossom cocktail before dinner was refreshing! We had a delightful dinner! Definitely a spot to come back to for another special time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vegan, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Service was extremely slow. We waited over an hour for our appetizers/salads and then received out entrees 5 minutes later. I could understand if the restaurant was overly busy but that was not the case in fact the restaurant was relatively empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Enjoyed our experience here tremendously. We were there for our anniversary. Perfect location.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere. Loved reading the history of the castle. Chef Renee came out to our table and chatted with us. She is really friendly and fun. Our server was both capable and pleasant. It is a wonderful "special event" restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was my first visit to Rene Kelley's Harvest. I took my best friend to dinner there for her Birthday. We dined outside because the weather was perfect. The food was delicious...we did not try the desserts because we filled up on appetizers! The decor is stunning and the stone fireplace is beautiful...Can't wait to go back when Fall is in the air.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The food was excellent. The server was very attentive but as usual we waited for our food. I was pleased with my simple salad.The dressing was great . The trout was tasty. This is our special occasion restaurant of choice. I look forward to the chicken pot pie being on the menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We came here for Father's Day Brunch. I was a little surprised with how the waitress greeted us, no "hello" or "have you been here before" she just asked what we wanted to drink. They were out of the special that had pork belly so the wife had the standard breakfast and I had the biscuits and gravy. Both were very good, the portions were a little off on my meal, it was 2 biscuits and the whole plate was covered in gravy and a very small portion of breakfast potatoes that was on the verge of being too salty. Our child had the french toast and it was also very good. We had to wait quite a while to have a our coffee refilled but overall it was a good experience. I would go there again but probably not my first choice.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were there to celebrate Fathers Day and had brunch. It was a beautiful morning and we ate on the patio. Service and food were excellent. Portions were quite large and when we return we will split whatever we order.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were there for brunch and everything was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our first time in and it was for Father's Day brunch. Excellent brunch, food, and we will definitely be coming back for dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This place is a quiet gem. The food is incredible, not surprising given Renee Kelly is a world renowned chef. And the ambiance is really cool, residing as it does in a hundred year old castle that has been completely modernized. Do yourself a favor and schedule a meal here. It is going to the top of our list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great food...service was on the very slow side. Wonderful ambiance!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We spent 3 hours dining. One hour before any food was served which was really good when starters finally arrived. Then waited for the mains which again were good when they arrived. We waited several minutes for desserts which were ok. The servers were attentive. Really expect some under staffing somewhere. Appeared that one server was tending the entire room.

The food was good but lost its luster when the dining experience became so protracted. Probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Menu seems to of shrunk.... not many choices for appetizers to share. We ordered 2 cauliflower apps to share. Not enough aioli on the plate and overall bland. Our reservation was for 7pm on a Friday night . We were the only table inside!!!! Frankly that was a little creepy. Service was just ok.. there were 6 of us . 2 people ordered the scotch filet but only 1 was available????? Trout was terrific and a lovely presentation.
Not sure if we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Our group absolutely loved our experience at Renee's! We wanted to try a lot of things, so we were able to ask for a tasting menu option. The service and attention to detail was impeccable. From the variety of flavors, colorful dishes and delicious cocktails and accommodating a celiac/gluten-free option, we would highly recommend this for a fun, group dinner experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This place has very good food, but a limited menu and pretty high prices. Two drinks at the bar were almost $20.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Went with my family for Sunday brunch. The RK bites were fabulous, as was the rest of the food. My kids shared the amores pancakes and thought they were heaven. Was not busy at all. Outside area was lovely. Bring coloring books or something for the kids to do - have a kids menu, but wouldn't describe this place as exactly "kid friendly."

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My husband and I celebrated his birthday at Renee Kelly's and were very happy with the experience. All the wait staff were friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this restaurant and will go back again to enjoy the wonderful food. Thanks for a beautiful evening.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Organic, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Harvest was the perfect choice for our group to meet. Its beautiful, cozy atmosphere is welcoming. I asked for a table in a more separate space for quiet conversation and they delivered. I asked for a cake and the cake was sitting in the middle of the table when we arrived, along with a special message for each member of our group that couldn't fit on the cake. It was a very special touch that made all my friends feel special. The dinner menu was more pricey than we thought, so I wasn't sure choosing this restaurant was a good idea, but the delicious food that everyone ordered seemed to make up for any concerns about the prices. Everyone raved about their ravioli, salmon, and clams and mussels! Harvest was a good choice for our special friends' dinner get-together.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. We had a party of seven and sampled a good cross-section of the menu. Everything was outstanding. The service, on the other hand, was very poor. Our server was much more interested in chatting with a couple at a 2-top than he was in bringing food from the kitchen. I'll try Renee Kelly's again for the food and ambiance, but won't utilize that server again - ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Good food - you don't get much of it and have to spent some extra $$$ to get a full belly. Adding a salad for $13 isn't a great deal for me. The entrees were great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This was our first visit to this restaurant. We had a very nice lunch, in general, but I was somewhat disappointed for having spent $100 there.
It took over 1/2 hour for our lunch to arrive, and not once during that time were we offered any bread or an apology for the wait so I would suppose that's normal. We didn't order anything super complicated, or off menu. It was good, but not great - as I had expected. We may return but would go for dinner not lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We took my Mom there for dinner to celebrate Mother's Day and it did not disappoint. From our server to the menu choices - everything was absolutely spectacular. I love that the menu changes and that it's a farm to table menu.
It is a little pricey but the overall experience is SO worth it. I would highly recommend this to our "city folk" who want to take a walk on the wild side in the burbs.
Truly amazing cuisine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

What a stunning dinner. Everything was just perfect. I ordered the pork cheeks and my GF ordered the short ribs. Both were delicious. We split a great salad before. Very simple but tasty dishes without the fussiness of dishes at places like Novel.

Atmosphere was really cool in the old castle. Service was great with a very knowledgeable staff with suggestions on food and wine. Our server gave us plenty of time between courses to enjoy the wine--it is really surprising to me how few restaurants do that, even the high end ones.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Did not meet expectations. Was really disappointed with the service and the food did not make up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything was wonderful. The short ribs and mushroom risotto were delicious. I definitely suggest the Incredible Huck as a cocktail.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Soup was very good. Four pies of each kind of French Fried potatoes was all that was served. The steak sandwiches; very very little meat, could not taste it and the bread was so hard it couldn't be cut. THIS WAS $15??? Very disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Incredible service- wonderful find! Food was amazing as was the dessert!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

beet salad was not lettuce, it was small like clovers.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Tasty, rustic, food - well cooked, but nothing special. With this in mind, the price is very high for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Renee Kelly's Harvest is a great venue for brunch, lunch or dinner. We sat outside and enjoyed their lovely patio.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Really great local place. I do not like chain restaurants with sterile decor. This place is the opposite as it occupies an old, but beautifully restored mansion. The food is also really great. We will come back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A delightful restaurant for special occasions. The menu is seasonal and fresh and gourmet. The cocktails were an unexpected delight as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Loved, loved, loved the ambiance ... what a beautiful, historic building. The patio is also expansive and nice. Lilac bushes in full bloom greeted us in the parking area. Wine options were good and cheese plate was fantastic. The pork chop was out of this world ... ended up we all shared it, it was so good. The pasta option was good, but perhaps a touch salty. Overall, we had an amazing evening!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a wonderful time, our party was slow to gather and the staff was so patient - we ordered cocktails and the formage board while we waited which were all fabulous. Dinner was delicious and dessert was amazing! Service was great the whole night.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 12, 2017

What a pleasant surprise. The food was amazing and the service was very knowledgeable and attentive. It was our first but only the first of many to come. One of the top restaurants in the Metro.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.