HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Renee Kelly's Harvest

4.3
427 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date (11)
  • Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
  • Neighborhood Gem (9)

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Renee Kelly's Harvest is an approachable upscale farm-to-table dining experience, all wrapped up in a castle. Our food style is a few simple twists on your favorites.

"The earth provides us with anything we need at any given part of time for optimum health, nutrition and flavor." Each ingredient is purchased from our local growers, farmers and artisans for immediate use.

Renee Kelly's Harvest at Caenen Castle is the only real, restored castle, right here in Kansas City, where you can enjoy fresh cuisine. Not only does Harvest specialize in local, farm to table dining, we also work with corporate retreats, weddings, rehearsal dinners, cooking classes and more special occasions.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Organic, Farm-to-table
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner Wednesday- Saturday 4:00pm-10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(913) 631-4100
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 427 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3
  based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.2
service
4.8
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Quiet
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
4.0
Dined on October 15, 2017

One of the best brunch experiences I've ever had. The food was excellent and the staff was wonderful. Best wished to Chef Kelly on her endeavors and we look forward to her show in Sundays.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
4.0
Dined on October 15, 2017

We went on one of the final nights when this wonderful restaurant was open, because this place has been a part of many of our special celebrations for a few years now. It was busy -- no doubt about it, and a full house plus downpours slowed the process of getting to a table. But the staff was great, accommodating, funny, and helpful; plus the people-watching top-notch. We were seating in under 30 from the time of our reservation, had outstanding service (although there was little time to chat with the servers!), and food that made the night just the kind of farewell memory it should have been. Scrumptious, perfectly cooked. I was particularly impressed that every plate that came by our table on its way to being served was BEAUTIFUL. The kitchen was slammed, and the food was still a feast for the mouth and for the eyes. Thank you all.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
4.0
Dined on October 14, 2017

Our dining experience at Harvest was very enjoyable! The food was good but a bit pricey, especially the desserts. The overall ambiance was lovely and the restaurant is beautiful inside and out! The hostess was especially accommodating towards my 81 year old mother and we really appreciated that extra attention! Thank you for a great evening!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0
Dined on October 13, 2017

Attended dinner on Friday of the last weekend. Arrived a bit early for our reservation, no issue. Allowed to choose what we felt was the best table.

Everything was WONDERFUL. The cheese board, our cocktails, the bass and the pumpkin ravioli were superb......very nice presentation and flavor superb.

We're sorry to see the restaurant closing, but will be on the lookout for special events.

Thank YOU Renee Kelly!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0
Dined on October 12, 2017

The food was really amazing. It took me about 20 minutes to decide between pork chop and the ribs. The server told me that they were closing. I'm glad that I had the chance to eat at such a quaint and inviting place before it did. The fact that it was in a castle was a bonus. You should get here to try it before the chance is gone for good.

Report
Helpful
Fletch 
4.0
Dined on October 11, 2017

We heard that they were closing up shop, so we wanted to make it a point to get there before that happened. Too bad they're closing, everything about the restaurant was great! We'd love to go again if they reopen at some point in the future.
If you've never been there, do yourself a favor and go before they close! Hurry!

Report
Helpful
jl00 (Kansas City)
5.0
Dined on October 8, 2017

what a wonderful place! I'm so sorry they are closing, and even sorrier I didn't find it sooner! I hope Renee opens another restaurant in the future.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
4.0
Dined on October 8, 2017

Bummer it's closing. Wanted to try brunch here for a long time. The chocolate ganache with bacon did not disappoint. We took our 18-month old son and it was actually great for kids. I think they like to keep the kids upstairs away from everyone else, but it was nice not to worry about it. The atmosphere couldn't be better - the castle is beautiful.

Report
Helpful
vipusafun (Kansas City)
1.0
Dined on October 6, 2017

I was expecting a lovely, elegant, cozy dinner in a historic castle setting. Upon arriving for 6:30 res, the hostess blurts out, "Do you have a reservation?", followed by, " We have you on the patio, follow me". Caught a brief glimpse of the inside and their were plenty of empty tables. That set the tone for the evening. After rattling heavy wrought iron tables/chairs on the patio, we were seated outside in the chilling air. More of the rattling followed for a group of 8 people and we couldn't even hear ourselves talk, along with the clanking of the nearby "wind chime". There are no complimentary starters, i.e. bread etc, as far as I could tell. Husband started off with an ordered of the Smoke Fish Croquettes w/duck fat aioli, they didn't hold together well, but were good. He ordered a glass of wine and we also placed our entrees at the same time. I had the house-made pumpkin ravioli in sage cream sauce topped w/prosciutto. I don't recall seeing or tasting the prosciutto. Picture will show there were 5 large raviolis displayed on half of the plate. Husband ordered the Bass with black rice. Nice presentation, filled the plate! He was over 1/2 way done with it before his glass of wine arrived, as noted in the before & after pictures. I purposely passed on an 2nd app, cocktail/wine and dessert. Service through out the evening was hit and miss. Food overall was average. As we left the patio through the restaurant, we again noted plenty of available tables inside and I got another small glimpse into what could have been a lovely, elegant, cozy dinner in a historic castle setting. Unable to upload photos, you can see them on my Google review if interested.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
3.0
Dined on October 6, 2017

Wait staff was very slow. Not very attentive. Not kid friendly at all. Should have been told that refills iced tea and regular drinks like that are NOT free. Food was pretty good but very expensive. I wouldn't go back so I guess it's a good thing this place is closing.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
43

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Organic, Farm-to-table
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner Wednesday- Saturday 4:00pm-10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Caenen
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(913) 631-4100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We cater farm fresh food on site and off site, corporate lunches, fully catered dinners and private chef occasions. Just ask and we will tailor your event for you
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available in front of the building, on the west side and in the back. Overflow parking available on Caenen street. Please be mindful of traffic.
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Renee Kelly
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Wine Dinners and other special events like Breakfast with Santa arrive every quarter. Watch Facebook or sign up for our e-mail list for the details.