Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Renee Kelly's Harvest

Renee Kelly's Harvest is an approachable upscale farm-to-table dining experience, all wrapped up in a castle. Our food style is a few simple twists on your favorites.

"The earth provides us with anything we need at any given part of time for optimum health, nutrition and flavor." Each ingredient is purchased from our local growers, farmers and artisans for immediate use.

Renee Kelly's Harvest at Caenen Castle is the only real, restored castle, right here in Kansas City, where you can enjoy fresh cuisine. Not only does Harvest specialize in local, farm to table dining, we also work with corporate retreats, weddings, rehearsal dinners, cooking classes and more special occasions.

12401 Johnson Drive
Shawnee, KS 66216
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Lunch/Dinner Wednesday-Friday 11:00am-10:00pm
Dinner: Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Caenen

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 631-4100

Website:
http://reneekellysharvest.com/

Catering:
We cater farm fresh food on site and off site, corporate lunches, fully catered dinners and private chef occasions. Just ask and we will tailor your event for you

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the building, on the west side and in the back. Overflow parking available on Caenen street. Please be mindful of traffic.

Executive Chef:
Renee Kelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners and other special events like Breakfast with Santa arrive every quarter. Watch Facebook or sign up for our e-mail list for the details.

Renee Kelly's Harvest Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (23)
Historic (22)
Romantic (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (11)
Healthy (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Seasonal (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Fireplace (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Casual (5)
Organic (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. We had a party of seven and sampled a good cross-section of the menu. Everything was outstanding. The service, on the other hand, was very poor. Our server was much more interested in chatting with a couple at a 2-top than he was in bringing food from the kitchen. I'll try Renee Kelly's again for the food and ambiance, but won't utilize that server again - ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Good food - you don't get much of it and have to spent some extra $$$ to get a full belly. Adding a salad for $13 isn't a great deal for me. The entrees were great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This was our first visit to this restaurant. We had a very nice lunch, in general, but I was somewhat disappointed for having spent $100 there.
It took over 1/2 hour for our lunch to arrive, and not once during that time were we offered any bread or an apology for the wait so I would suppose that's normal. We didn't order anything super complicated, or off menu. It was good, but not great - as I had expected. We may return but would go for dinner not lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We took my Mom there for dinner to celebrate Mother's Day and it did not disappoint. From our server to the menu choices - everything was absolutely spectacular. I love that the menu changes and that it's a farm to table menu.
It is a little pricey but the overall experience is SO worth it. I would highly recommend this to our "city folk" who want to take a walk on the wild side in the burbs.
Truly amazing cuisine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Did not meet expectations. Was really disappointed with the service and the food did not make up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Everything was wonderful. The short ribs and mushroom risotto were delicious. I definitely suggest the Incredible Huck as a cocktail.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Soup was very good. Four pies of each kind of French Fried potatoes was all that was served. The steak sandwiches; very very little meat, could not taste it and the bread was so hard it couldn't be cut. THIS WAS $15??? Very disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Incredible service- wonderful find! Food was amazing as was the dessert!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

beet salad was not lettuce, it was small like clovers.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Tasty, rustic, food - well cooked, but nothing special. With this in mind, the price is very high for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Renee Kelly's Harvest is a great venue for brunch, lunch or dinner. We sat outside and enjoyed their lovely patio.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Really great local place. I do not like chain restaurants with sterile decor. This place is the opposite as it occupies an old, but beautifully restored mansion. The food is also really great. We will come back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A delightful restaurant for special occasions. The menu is seasonal and fresh and gourmet. The cocktails were an unexpected delight as well.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a wonderful time, our party was slow to gather and the staff was so patient - we ordered cocktails and the formage board while we waited which were all fabulous. Dinner was delicious and dessert was amazing! Service was great the whole night.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Loved, loved, loved the ambiance ... what a beautiful, historic building. The patio is also expansive and nice. Lilac bushes in full bloom greeted us in the parking area. Wine options were good and cheese plate was fantastic. The pork chop was out of this world ... ended up we all shared it, it was so good. The pasta option was good, but perhaps a touch salty. Overall, we had an amazing evening!

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 12, 2017

What a pleasant surprise. The food was amazing and the service was very knowledgeable and attentive. It was our first but only the first of many to come. One of the top restaurants in the Metro.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The only negative is the salad. Very very small.....I understand it comes with the daily special but why bother. It was two bites and it only contained a few pieces of spring mix.The soup on the other hand was a great value.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It's really impossible to overstate how terrific a job Renee Kelly and her team do. After numerous visits I've gotten used to being continually delighted and amazed by their consistency and dedication to their craft. I've never had a bad experience and the staff makes every visit a real treat -- always providing excellent food and wine recommendations (as both are constantly changing).

On this particular outing I enjoyed what might be the best pork chop I've ever had (succulent and juicy, expertly prepared and cooked) but let's face it -- Renee does everything well and whatever you order you'll be in heaven.

Renee Kelly's Harvest is a true gem and easily one of the best restaurants in Kansas City -- or anywhere else.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Danielle, our server, was outstanding!! We went here because I love farm to table and who doesn’t want to eat inside a "castle." But, everything needed salt!! And, I do mean everything. The woman next to us was extremely displeased with her "simple salad" and just lifted the pile of greens off her plate to show there was minimal dressing. I felt bad for her as she clearly was disappointed and no item is cheap at this establishment. I have zero complaints about the front of the house or the ambiance. I considered the food and wine to be overpriced. Maybe it was the menu for this month as I understand it is ever changing. But, for a $200 dinner for just 2 people there needs to be something memorable. Unfortunately, the only thing I will remember is to pass the salt. So disappointed. 🙁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We went to Renee Kelly's Harvest for a dinner date night with another couple as we get together at least once a month and try somewhere new. Certainly not disappointed here. Wonderful remodeled castle and excellent food. Sat at the bar first for a drink before our table was ready and enjoyed a conversation with the bartender. Seating in the big room near the fireplace was delightful and the ambiance was spectacular. What a lovely place. Food was delicious, as was the dessert! Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Fireplace, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This place was delicious. We went for my Birthday, so we did it up right with drinks, entrees and desserts. It's a little pricy, but totally worth the cost. We were well attended to but not hovered over. Overall, we will definitely be back and have been telling people about our amazing dinner ever since.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We love, love, love going to Renee Kelly's. You won't find an atmosphere as unique as Renee Kelly's anywhere in Kansas City. The menu is so creative we have never ordered the same thing twice and all of our dishes have been fantastic. We especially love the service and warmth that Katie and Jim provide. Renee Kelly's is lucky to have these two working for them. We can't wait for our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was well prepared and flavorful, but the menu seemed to be designed for the adventurous eater. I would go back again as the ambiance was wonderful and service very good.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I always enjoy eating at Harvest because the food is delicious and it's a gorgeous, one-of-a-kind historic property--one of the few of its kind in Johnson County. I like to think of Harvest as the Webster House of Johnson County, minus the antique shopping but far more interesting. The service at Harvest isn't the fastest, but that's just fine with me. It gave our party lots more time to take in all the details of the property and get (re)acquainted with the place. Our waiter was outstanding and very attentive. I also appreciate that Harvest's dining room is fairly quiet. As for the cuisine, Harvest does a great job of working with local producers and our food reflected it--very fresh and satisfying.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Love the ambiance and the staff is incredibly friendly! I had the pork belly - first time I have tried it anywhere and it was FANTASTIC! My husband enjoyed his gargantuan pork chop too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

First let me start by the beginning, my wife and I had made a reservation on St Patrick's day evening (which was extremely slow!). The hostess seemed to be confused as she looked very surprised !
Then we choose to sit on the empty patio ( maybe another table), after few minutes we got a huge sewer smells brought by the wind...
The waiter brought us the menu and I will say by reading the menu the chef is all over the place no actual consistency on any style of cooking. Disappointing, definitely.
We did order a cheese plate, which arrived with maybe 5 little bite of different cheeses with a brioche which they called bread!!!!( REALLY!) and charged 18$ ! Whoa Nuts!! Then my wife choose the short ribs and i did take the quail which were very tasty.👍🏻👍🏻. We preferred stop on a good note so we skipped dessert and went to get somewhere else. Just wanted to vent this special day which was our first date for over two months!!
Later!!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was the first time that my wife and I have dined at the Renee Kelly Harvest. It was one of the best overall experiences we have had. The service ( Danielle) was great. The food was superb. My wife had the bass and I had the fettuccini with pulled rabbit. The atmosphere was wonderful.

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I have been several times, and the experience has become less satisfactory each time. Wait staff is excellent, but the food is less than average. My meal was actually refunded, not at my request, but because I did not eat it. My friend's rib eye steak cost $52.00 ( a special) and could barely be cut with a knife. He did order it medium well...which is likely asking for a decidedly "tougher" steak. He said the flavor was good, and so he did consume most of it.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great place overall and of food was great for the most part. I was way underwhelmed with the Ribeye special for $52.00!!!! Pretty sure I got a strip instead. Knives were super dull, had a tough time sawing through my "ribeye"

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I couldn't find the menu in the internet... would it be nice to have it in advance... the food is amazing, but probably difficult to appreciate it by a kid under 13... I think the quality of the food and the place is fabulous, however I don't se a place to take my kids with me... again, not that I wish it would have a family environment, however it would've be nice to know in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We go to The Harvest for many special occasions and it is always excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Overall, the atmosphere at Renee Kelly’s is nice but noisy. The main seating area is on the first floor of a stone mansion in a residential neighborhood--very pretty to look at, and plenty of free parking. However, the noise level inside is too high to be considered romantic in my opinion, and there are no booths or tucked-away tables for those who prefer a quieter experience. You will need to speak loudly to converse with your party due to the high noise level, particularly on weekend evenings. Again, the interior is visually charming, and there are equally attractive private areas and outdoor seating available in season.

The food quality, preparation, plating, and flavors are solid, but the dishes are expensive, and the portions are small. You won't be "getting full" or packing leftovers at this restaurant ("farm-to-table" doesn't mean farm-sized portions in this case). Service was calm, professional, and understated.

Be prepared to spend a minimum of $70 average per person for an entree-based (or tasting menu) dinner, after tax and tip. It goes up from there if you want more than one drink per person, or if you add appetizers or desserts.

Renee Kelly’s is your place to make an impression: An unusual and impressive venue, fancy small-portioned plates that look and taste impressive, and a check that will impress your date or party when you offer to pay.

Romantic, filling, quiet or cozy? NO.
A great value? NOPE.
Impressive? YES.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was good. Historical building was interesting. Food left much to be desired. The best part of the meal was the bread and butter. Final review: save your time and go to novel for the same price.

Tags: Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This was my second time dining at Renee Kelly's. The food & service have been excellent both times. The menu being largely gluten-free for my girlfriend is also a big plus!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I ordered the sea bass with quinoa. We went at 6pm on a Saturday and they were out of the quinoa (one of the reasons I ordered this dish). The dish was rather bland. My husband ordered the strip steak and said it was extremely salty. Beautiful building and loved the atmosphere but for those prices, we'd rather eat elsewhere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were excited to dine here but left underwhelmed. First the high notes...I had an excellent mixed drink and the waiter was good. Now to the ok to bad....The cheese platter was good though the toasted bread served with it was burnt. Table bread service was unremarkable. The warm bacon dressing on the arugula salad was just okay at best. Gnocchi was way over cooked. The risotto was over salted but delicious. The short ribs were the absolute worst we've ever had. Talk about tough. My hubby thought he had hit bone and it was the meat. Every other short rib dish we've had, the meat has fallen apart and melted in your mouth. This $38 main dish was awful. We will not be back. It's a place with promise that just falls short.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Birthday lunch with my cousin. Great food, service, and environment. Amazing dessert topped off the experience. This was my second visit and both were wonderful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went to Renee Kelly's Harvest for the first time with high expectations but we came away disappointed overall. It was Sunday brunch so mostly breakfast food but we were good with that. Everything on the menu sounded fabulous! The complimentary beignets with chocolate ganache were good but our meals left a lot to be desired. At our table, we had French toast, a frittata, and biscuits and gravy with a side of fried chicken bites. All of it seemed overcooked, but was served barely warm and everything except the French toast had an odd seasoning we didn't care for. When we asked for salt and pepper, we were given a small bowl of a seasoned pepper blend and then we knew where the odd flavor came from. Having said all that though, we will probably give it a try for dinner some evening, in hopes that it was an aberration. The atmosphere is lovely and worth experiencing at least once. If the food is better than what we had, it would be perfect for a romantic evening out.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We ate for brunch. I have a gluten allergy and they were very accommodating. The food was so delicious! It was our fist time for brunch but will be back again for dinner and brunch! The Staff was very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Just fabulous food, creative menu and a historic building.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Private Room, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.