About Renee Kelly's Harvest

12401 Johnson Drive
Shawnee, KS 66216
View Larger Map

Renee Kelly's Harvest is a farm to table restaurant aiming to change the food system, one plate at a time. We use local farmers and growers whenever possible. Every dish Chef Renée creates is prepared according to strict code of culinary conduct. "I use only locally grown, farm-fresh foods, organic if possible," she says. "The earth provides us with anything we need at any given part of time for optimum health, nutrition and flavor." Each ingredient is purchased for immediate use.
Renee Kelly's Harvest at Caenen Castle is the only real, restored castle, right here in Kansas City, where you can enjoy fresh cuisine. Like most castles, this one comes complete with a classically trained chef; a wine cellar fit for a king; and a staff ready to fulfill your grandest plans. Not only does Harvest specialize in local, farm to table dining, we also work with corporate retreats, weddings, rehearsal dinners, cooking classes and more special occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch/Dinner Wednesday-Friday 11:00am-10:00pm
Dinner: Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 631-4100

Website:
http://reneekellysharvest.com/

Catering:
We cater farm fresh food on site and off site, corporate lunches, fully catered dinners and private chef occasions. Just ask and we will tailor your event for you

Executive Chef:
Renee Kelly

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners and other special events like Breakfast with Santa arrive every quarter. Watch Facebook or sign up for our e-mail list for the details.

Promotions

Happy Hour!!

Thursdays, Fridays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour!!

Thursdays, Fridays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
The Patio is hoppin' so why not hop by to join us for Happy Hour! We have select snacks and sips on special everyday! Hope to see you soon!! #harvestgoodfood. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 28, 2016 - Aug 28, 2016 on Thursdays, Fridays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Renee Kelly's Harvest Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Kansas City
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, KS
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, KS
3 More
Neighborhood Gem
Kansas City, KS
Romantic
Kansas City, KS
Special Occasion
Kansas City, KS
Best Restaurants in Shawnee ›

special occasion (33)
fit for foodies (30)
romantic (21)
See All
neighborhood gem (20)
great for brunch (19)
great for outdoor dining (19)
great for lunch (14)
good for groups (13)
scenic view (7)
notable wine list (6)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

True farm to table. Didn't expect duck ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

True farm to table. Didn't expect duck and rabbit to be the specials of the day! Husband had the duck served/prepared 3 ways. Delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Do the tasting menu. Chef is amazing at ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Do the tasting menu. Chef is amazing at producing the best, in-season foods. Order the Smores dessert if it doesn't come with your meal. You won't be disappointed. I've also heard the carrot cake is good, though I didn't have any.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate on the patio. We were very early ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We ate on the patio. We were very early so had it all too ourselves. We started with a delicious cheese tray and had a duck that was best I've had in years.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful restaurant and wond ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Absolutely wonderful restaurant and wonderful menu. Sat on the patio on a nice evening and it was perfect. Staff is attentive and food was great

food3
ambience4
service1

My husband and I were exited to celebrat ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

My husband and I were exited to celebrate our 18th anniversary. We had heard wonderful things about Harvest. I'm not sure if we just had an off night or what. Our server was very slow, did not offer us bread (I had to ask for it), and we ordered a bottle of wine based on what we were planning to order only to find out too late that they were out of 2 items in their very small menu. 2 small salads, 2 entrees and a bottle of wine for $145- I expect MUCH better service. Not sure we'll give it another go.

food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Disappointed!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Beautiful facility, excellent service, friendly staff, dinner was overpriced, limited menu selection, ran out of several items by 8pm on a Saturday night. I suggest you go for appetizers and drinks.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Interesting surroundings and food. The f ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Interesting surroundings and food. The food was fresh. The outdoor patio is very nice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went for dinner 5/20/16. The food was ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We went for dinner 5/20/16. The food was varied, not something you'd get elsewhere, and obviously time was spent on flavor and presentation. The server was a bit of a flake (chatty and too forthcoming about her own life), but friendly and did her job well. Very interested in trying brunch sometime.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and Creative Food

Dined on May 18, 2016

Most excellent dining in an historic, stone farm house. Creative menu. The Chef's Tasting was incredible. Solid service. Nice and uncomplicated wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

Great waiter but rude, unprofessional ho ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great waiter but rude, unprofessional hostess. Half our party didn't like their entrees at all, the other half thought they were fine. Would not recommend it to others.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very cool environment, great food. Best ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Very cool environment, great food. Best hollendaise sauce my wife ever had!

food5
ambience5
service4

The only restaurant I go to in the west ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

The only restaurant I go to in the west of KC/Shawnee area. great work with local seasonal ingredients. Every time I bring new colleagues here they are blown away. The food is always well prepared and the dishes are creative but accessible. Renee just keeps doing top shelf work and I just keep enjoying eating it. It doesn't hurt that the bar is putting out righteous cocktails.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Overall it was a good dining experience. ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall it was a good dining experience. The cocktails and wine were very enjoyable. The food was mixed. The chicken dish was dry and the pork belly was "interesting" while the other dishes were very good to excellent.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value1

great food not so great price

Dined on May 7, 2016

We really enjoyed the farm to table concept and the creative way the food was presented, but I really expected more than 7 finger sized carrots for $12. We ordered as a group several items so we could try a variety. the cheese board had the best selection of savory and sweet choices and was our favorite of the bunch. Someone didn't share with the chef what we were doing and a couple of plates came out with the salad on one side of the plate and an empty spot on the other. Beautiful design, growth needed in the dining selections.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Fri Eve visit

Dined on May 7, 2016

We came with another couple to have dinner. The weather was great for the patio so we could have a quiet time. Sevice seemd quite slow. It appeared that there may not have been enough staff for the fairly busy evening. The food was very good and we had an enjoyable time.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Farm to table - GREAT FOOD in a castle!!

Dined on May 6, 2016

My son and I met for an early Mother's Day Lunch. We sat outside on the beautiful patio. Farm to table food was VERY GOOD. Service staff was very helpful and accommodating. I would highly recommend the steak and the meatloaf!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Neat concept in a cozy, unique setting

Dined on May 5, 2016

As the title says, the building is beautiful inside and out. The farm to table concept makes for some interesting and ever changing menu choices. Our service was great and the ambiance fitting for the night. The menu is small including appetizers, salads, and entrées even though it's not visually divided up on the paper. The waiter, Juan, provided some other dishes that weren't on the menu that sounded interesting but they were complex dishes. We unfortunately had to ask several questions about those dishes because those dishes weren't printed. The same was true of the desserts. Our server listed them off and each sounded delightful but he was left to answer more of our questions. Expect to spend some time there as the food is prepared fresh and takes a little extra time to put together. The quality of the food seemed average for the price and presentation. Renee Kelly's was worth a try for us as we love trying different restaurants. I think we might reserve a return for out-of-town guests as it is a pretty unique experience but we will probably not return just on our own as the experience (not the food) was the characteristic that we most liked. I want to state there was nothing wrong with the food or our experience, we felt we paid more for the experience since the food was only average and there are lots of places in KC that provide both an experience and great food at a similar cost.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

KCKLWD

Dined on April 17, 2016

A very romantic atmosphere, both inside and outside. The food is good, and service staff was also good. We did have reservations and were seated in a timely manner. However, it took a very long time from when we first placed our order to having our main course served. This may be normal when the house is crowded, but it wasn't overly crowded when we ate there. If you want to impress your friends from out of town, this is the place!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing Ambiance

Dined on April 9, 2016

It's beautiful outside and inside. We found our server to be very attentive and helpful. I loved all the food I had. Unfortunately, my wife felt hers was a little under seasoned, but, that's really the only remote complaint we had. It was a great experience, and will likely keep it on the list for a great place to go for any special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak sandwich was delicious and so was ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Steak sandwich was delicious and so was the pot pie.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

A chimp could prepare a better meal

Dined on April 2, 2016

I wish I had two more hands because Poor Service + 1 hr wait after order+cold food+poor execution = 4 thumbs down. Ignoring the cost of the meal it was amateur hour at this establishment across the board. This is the first review I've written for any good or service. It was that bad. It is the epitome of bad taste and mediocrity so common to Kansas City. That being said, if your a local give it a try. You'll love it.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Over all a wonderful experience.

Dined on March 17, 2016

The food was excellent. We all ate something we hadn't eaten before. We loved everything until the dessert. It was OK but it didn't have the wow factor that the rest of the meal had. We would definitely is worth going to. We will be back but skip the desert. The smores and The carrot cake.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Somewhat disappointed

Dined on March 17, 2016

The waiter seemed slightly irritated at the length of our stay. We were there mid-week and there were only two other occupied tables . The restaurant is very interesting. I decided to try one of their signature whiskey cocktails but was told that they were out of the whiskey. (?) I ordered a salad with roasted beets and pears. It had surprisingly little flavor but was decent. I had the gnocchi - again, very little flavor except for butter which it seemed to be drowning in. There were more mushrooms than there was pasta which seemed odd. The highlight of the meal was the blackberry crumble. Sadly others at my table thought the food was good but not particularly special. One ordered the carrot cake and it was the saddest piece of carrot cake any of us had ever seen. It was TINY and I was told by two people that it was just ok. I really wanted to like this place and hope it succeeds. Some fine tuning and remediation is needed.

food1
ambience5
service3

Shepherds pie and blackberry desert as w ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Shepherds pie and blackberry desert as well as shamrock cocktail were excellent. The rest of food items were not. Fish tasted like frozen prebattered, cabbage was too sweet, sausages tasteless. The hostess became irritated when we asked to wait for a table downstairs as my friend was on a cane.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Renee Kelly's Harvest

Dined on February 28, 2016

We went for Sunday Brunch, so nice to find a place that took reservations. We loved the food, and the wonderful atmosphere. The castle was just beautiful. My husband had the special, which was a bone in pork chop, 2 eggs, & biscuits with gravy. I had the classic, which was eggs, cottage fries, bacon & a beignet. All of their food is fresh from local farmers, & you can certainly tell. We are excited to go back the next time we are in KC. They also have a full bar. I had a fresh strawberry vodka drink, which was awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Disappointing First Visit

Dined on February 28, 2016

I absolutely hate writing this because I love Renee Kelly and what she's doing here, but I have to be honest. The atmosphere in the old castle is beautiful and our service was impeccable. After dinner Renee was working the room with that big personality and treating everyone like a close friend. So here's the bad part, and at least for now why I probably wouldn't come back. The food just wasn't very good at all. I had the duck breast and it was over cooked and tasted like it had sat for awhile. It sat on a 2" square polenta cake that had a couple of shitake mushrooms that had been over marinated and tasted like stale garlic. My companion had the pappardelle with duxelles. Honestly i thought it was not edible. The duxelles were undercooked. The pasta was so overcooked it was like trying to eat paste. laying in a sauce that tasted like water. To top it off, it had NO salt at all. Calling it under seasoned would be too generous. It probably should've been sent back, but I'm one of those people who hates to raise a fuss in a restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, service and atmosphere. ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Wonderful food, service and atmosphere. Best place in KC!

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

very impressed

Dined on February 13, 2016

After receiving good reviews from friends... and seeing Renee on Top Chef, we have been meaning to dine at Harvest for some time. My wife and I finally made reservations for last weekend, and I must say, we had an excellent meal. The castle was pretty neat and the food was excellent... really some of the best "fine dining" that we've had in the KC area... all for a little over $100 for 2 people which felt like a bargain. We will definitely be dining there again in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Surprise

Dined on February 6, 2016

Loved the creative food choices. It was a very comfortable, relaxing place. Good, friendly service in a lovely setting. I appreciate the commitment to local food sources, but it's really the how they are using them that made it an excellent meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

very good experience

Dined on February 4, 2016

I appreciated the servers, who were very friendly and well-trained. The building, being an old house from a bygone era, was attractive and interesting. The quality and presentation of the food was very good. The balsamic dressing was so good that we ate more vegetables than we usually do.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Duck Egg Creme Brulee - Oh My!

Dined on February 3, 2016

We like the preservation of the castle and the sharing of information about its history. We arrived for a very late lunch. Service was great and if our server did not have the answer to our questions, she got them. We found out about this great restaurant on the local news and they were interviewing Chef Renee Kelly about being on Top Chef. Our meals were delicious, wine service good and the Duck Egg Crème Brulee was the best! We highly recommend and will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall a great experience

Dined on January 31, 2016

I took my husband here for his birthday for our first visit and we were pleasantly surprised. We were seated immediately at a great table by the fireplace. I noticed that all the tables looked cozy and nice. Our service was just right and we enjoyed Claire, who was our server. Another server also shared some nice banter with me. We loved everything from the wine through the entrees to the dessert. I guess it has been a while since I have had a truly good dining experience in KC that is moderately priced,with such a great ambiance, that I am still pinching myself. We will definitely be back. I wish there were more vegetarian choices that are also gluten free, but I was aware of that, since the menu is published online. Keep doing what it is you do so well!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very good

Dined on January 24, 2016

Overall, the food and service was very good. The ambiance is what makes this place great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3

Burned short ribs stood out. Overall a d ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

Burned short ribs stood out. Overall a disappointing experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Neighborhood Find

Dined on January 21, 2016

Gem of history tucked away in a neighborhood. Local/Fresh food used. Very cozy atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food n service. 5 Chef hats n Stars

Dined on January 20, 2016

Went Wed. For 1st time during KCRW. Michael was new waiter but did a great job compared to other places I've been to this wk. Juan n he provided great service to compliment the great food. Kale n Leek soup was fantastic n Steak sandwich was perfectly cooked n seasoned. Great fries n ketchup too. Can't wait to try the braised short ribs. Highly recommend and will return and try pork chops.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

too salty...

Dined on January 17, 2016

good quality/fresh food but way too salty (ordered the Iron Man and Burger)...eggs was over-cooked and pork chop with a big layer of fat that should have been removed (little fat is good but not a whole chunk of it)

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very mixed experience

Dined on January 17, 2016

This was our second time at Renee Kelly's Harvest. The first time last fall was fantastic. This time, very mixed. The Simple & Sweet Salad was lovely. The Cottage Fries with duck fat aioli were pretty good, but would've been great if they'd left them in the fryer for another minute or so to get crispy. My husband loved his Crispy Skin Bass. I had the Sarsparilla Short Ribs with Barley Risotto (a Restaurant Week special). The short ribs were dry and tasteless. (Often short ribs are too fatty. In this case, every iota of fat had been trimmed off, but perhaps they'd gone overboard.) The barley risotto was inedible--my best description of the taste would be "sour cheese." The Petite S'mores desert (also part of restaurant week) was tasty. Nothing like s'mores--different pieces couldn't be cut or eaten together unless you wanted to jam your mouth full--but tasty, especially the chocolate mousse. Undecided yet as to whether we'll make a 3rd, tie-breaker visit. I might've been more inclined to had the waiter been nicer. When he asked how we were enjoying the entrees and I said "meh," he turned and walked away. Clearly he didn't want to risk being asked to bring something else.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Pleasant Surprise!

Dined on January 17, 2016

Hubby and I were excited to try Renee Kelly's during Restaurant Week and she did not disappoint. We had the Sarsaparilla braised beef short rib with barley risotto and Rabbit ravioli. Both were delicious but we agreed, the ravioli was the star of the two. For dessert we chose the cheesecake and s'mores. The cheesecake was fabulous and the s'mores were decadent. It was so nice to have a chef worthy meal in western Shawnee instead of having to drive to Kansas City Missouri.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Poor experience for dining

Dined on January 16, 2016

The food was cold, meat dry and over cooked. Had poor dining experience. Wife did not eat meal, however, no redress by restaurant. Would not return or recommend.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.