Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Renee Kelly's Harvest

Renee Kelly's Harvest is an approachable upscale farm-to-table dining experience, all wrapped up in a castle. Our food style is a few simple twists on your favorites.

"The earth provides us with anything we need at any given part of time for optimum health, nutrition and flavor." Each ingredient is purchased from our local growers, farmers and artisans for immediate use.

Renee Kelly's Harvest at Caenen Castle is the only real, restored castle, right here in Kansas City, where you can enjoy fresh cuisine. Not only does Harvest specialize in local, farm to table dining, we also work with corporate retreats, weddings, rehearsal dinners, cooking classes and more special occasions.

12401 Johnson Drive
Shawnee, KS 66216
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Wednesday- Saturday 4:00pm-10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Caenen

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(913) 631-4100

Website:
http://reneekellysharvest.com/

Catering:
We cater farm fresh food on site and off site, corporate lunches, fully catered dinners and private chef occasions. Just ask and we will tailor your event for you

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the building, on the west side and in the back. Overflow parking available on Caenen street. Please be mindful of traffic.

Executive Chef:
Renee Kelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners and other special events like Breakfast with Santa arrive every quarter. Watch Facebook or sign up for our e-mail list for the details.

Renee Kelly's Harvest Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Quiet

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Romantic (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Organic (7)
Seasonal (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Healthy (4)
Vegan (4)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
414 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

We loved the cute castle! We were a little disappointed as we tried to order a dish & the waitress came back to tell us that they were out but then the table next to us ordered TWO of those entrees with no issues... just a little odd! We loved the sangria & the cheese plate. We will be back for the cocktails and the apps but not for the main meals most likely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Everything was perfect f

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We came here for our anniversary just to try out something different. We wouldn't even know this castle existed if we didn't live in the area and we wouldn't know they were open for dinner if we hadn't looked it up.
This was one of the best meals we have ever had and the service was great. We seriously cannot wait to go back again to try out some more of her food. I've been telling everyone about it because it was that amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I had dined at RKH once before and loved it. Wanted to take some friends there as they had not been. Made the reservations 2 wks in advance for Friday @ 6p. The weekend before I received a voicemail saying the restaurant was having a special event there for $20 or we could be served in the Wine Tasting room. $20 sounds like nibblies but we wanted a full menu so we opted for eating in the Wine Tasting room. I confirmed this on the Wednesday before with the restaurant staff. On the day of our reservation @ 430p received a phone call from the restaurant saying they would not be able to serve us but could still opt for the special event.

I thought this was handled very poorly. They obviously knew about this special event weeks in advance but waited until 1.5hrs before our reservation to tell us they couldn't serve us. No offer to book another night, just "sorry". Happy ending: we called Cafe Provence and even though they were booked solid (remember this is 5p on a Friday), they squeezed us in at 6p and we had a lovely dinner and were treated very well.

This really saddens me as I liked the menu and food at RKH and was hoping to make it a regular stop but, sadly, I have crossed them off my list. I will stick with Cafe Provence if I want a nice night out. Vive la France!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had an excellent experience. The device was outstanding, pacing our appetizer, meal and dessert perfectly. The summer salad was incredible so many flavors, it got better with every bite. A unique venue, we will be back often.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 7, 2017

A perfect restaurant choice for a 26th birthday celebration. Atmosphere for a great conversation - quiet enough for a first meeting or exuberant for after a marathon run. And Renee Kelly's Harvest serves local ingredients to satisfy any food enthusiast. Try a Swiss Chard toastie.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Romantic, Healthy, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We came in for brunch over Labor Day weekend and was pretty disappointed. I ordered the Pretty Darn Good Breakfast and it was so incredibly salty that I couldn't eat hardly any of it. I realize pork belly is salty, but this was awful. We never leave food behind! The potatoes were cold too. We waited for a long time, but did receive complimentary beignets for the wait, which was nice. My husband's burger was good. We will try again as I was really hoping to find a nice brunch in Shawnee. We should have said something when we were in. I thought the waiter would notice when I left basically everything on my plate and said I definitely didn't want a box. We will try again sometime but won't be in any hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Once the waitress was aware of the occasion food was brought out to celebrate a chocolate sauce not loaded with sugar. The hamburger was good and monumental in size I almost did not finish

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I've been to Renee Kelly's a few times, and I have always had a fantastic experience. I invited a friend to brunch over the Labor Day weekend and was excited to have her try this restaurant. The food was amazing, as always, but the service today was really bad. They were understaffed, and I understand things get hairy when you're in the weeds, but it was pretty bad. We had mad reservations, and were seated promptly, and then we waited...and waited...and waited...and finally the hostess brought us water. We asked for a drink menu, and then waited again. Our server was very sweet, but left something off our order, never brought items we requested, and we definitely felt forgotten. The food saved the experience, and we both would go back, hopefully when we do they are staffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

They were understaffed, though not overly busy either. The food was great but 2 out of 3 orders were messed up. I will go back, but I was definitely underwhelmed for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 30, 2017

FANTASTIC food prepared for us by Ms. Kelly herself! She even took time to accommodate a special request and prepare something not on the menu. Beautiful setting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had a party of 4 with a reservation and there were 8 tables of people in the whole restaurant, so not super busy. We ordered a drink and waited an hour to get the first one, later ordered another and waited another hour to get it. The food also took a long time to get. Service was incredibly slow and food was mediocre for the price. We won't be returning or recommending Renee Kelly's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent food and service! All in our party of six we're very pleased with this dining experience! Would highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday. Enjoyed the farm to table foods and ambiance.

Tags: Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was great. Ambiance was not. Service just ok. Felt rushed. If service and ambiance would have been good, then the experience would have been worth the $$$. Sad to say this but won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Why am I just finding out about this place. This should be in everyone's top 5 list for Kansas City. The facility is one of the best in the city, and the food is amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Just about every brunch entree served with cottage fries, even pancakes. And I thought the wine was overpriced. Not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We found it to be a fairly nice dining experience the food was good the portions were good but the price was a little over the top we are used to Johnson County restaurants and prices but the two of us by the time we left with tip was about 170 that's quite a bit for two people out dining but overall a good experience not a place we would frequent though

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Amazing food, a must try! Not only was the food amazing but the presentation of it was beautiful!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This place is great for its ambiance. The food was very well prepared. I think what was missing was the restaurant craft. Service was slow. I think no one had ever ordered the tasting menu before, so they were not ready for it when we did. The tasting menu was just what could have been ordered off the menu, and I think it would have been less expensive to just order the individual items. I was still hungry at the end of the meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was good along with the presentation. Was a great place for quiet conversation at the time frame we were there. The staff was very helpful and attentive to us. I got say the S'mores dessert was probably my favorite!!! Overall a great experience. Thanks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Always impressed with the seasonal and varied menu. The castle is a unique setting and when the weather is nice the patio is a good option.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was my first experience at Harvest. We started with orders on the half shell, which were served with a vinaigrette. Then I ordered the beet salad with sheep's cheese and microgreens. It was very small yet delightful. I ordered the trout served with a millet, sauteed chard and sorrel. My husband ordered the chicken entree which had a delicious side of summer veggies. Everything was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Fantastic food, beautiful ambience, and very friendly, helpful staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was a phenomenal restaurant and wonderful food and drinks. Cant wait to go back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 20, 2017

From the moment we entered, it was an great evening. They accommodated my wheelchair better than most. The craft cocktails were refreshing on a very hot night. Everything we had was fresh, done perfectly. Clearly made with love. My only question is why is this place a secret. I will be recommending Renee Kelly's Harvest to everyone. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our first time of dining at Harvest and it was an enjoyable experience. Food was creative and delicious. The summer salad was particularly tasty. Charming dining room and the patio looks inviting. We will return and will bring friends on our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The waitress seemed to spend much less time at our table than others, not sure if it was because my date and I were younger than the average patron and ordered relativity inexpensive meals. The food was good, but did not stand out from less expensive restaurants. Would likely not go back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Amazing, the food was flawless. The atmosphere was cozi. The grounds are beautiful. Double date with best of friends and it was great. I look forward to going back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Cozy, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Delicious food in a lovely setting. Generous portions that we split to keep our costs down. Summer Blossom cocktail before dinner was refreshing! We had a delightful dinner! Definitely a spot to come back to for another special time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vegan, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Service was extremely slow. We waited over an hour for our appetizers/salads and then received out entrees 5 minutes later. I could understand if the restaurant was overly busy but that was not the case in fact the restaurant was relatively empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Enjoyed our experience here tremendously. We were there for our anniversary. Perfect location.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere. Loved reading the history of the castle. Chef Renee came out to our table and chatted with us. She is really friendly and fun. Our server was both capable and pleasant. It is a wonderful "special event" restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was my first visit to Rene Kelley's Harvest. I took my best friend to dinner there for her Birthday. We dined outside because the weather was perfect. The food was delicious...we did not try the desserts because we filled up on appetizers! The decor is stunning and the stone fireplace is beautiful...Can't wait to go back when Fall is in the air.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The food was excellent. The server was very attentive but as usual we waited for our food. I was pleased with my simple salad.The dressing was great . The trout was tasty. This is our special occasion restaurant of choice. I look forward to the chicken pot pie being on the menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We came here for Father's Day Brunch. I was a little surprised with how the waitress greeted us, no "hello" or "have you been here before" she just asked what we wanted to drink. They were out of the special that had pork belly so the wife had the standard breakfast and I had the biscuits and gravy. Both were very good, the portions were a little off on my meal, it was 2 biscuits and the whole plate was covered in gravy and a very small portion of breakfast potatoes that was on the verge of being too salty. Our child had the french toast and it was also very good. We had to wait quite a while to have a our coffee refilled but overall it was a good experience. I would go there again but probably not my first choice.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were there to celebrate Fathers Day and had brunch. It was a beautiful morning and we ate on the patio. Service and food were excellent. Portions were quite large and when we return we will split whatever we order.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were there for brunch and everything was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our first time in and it was for Father's Day brunch. Excellent brunch, food, and we will definitely be coming back for dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This place is a quiet gem. The food is incredible, not surprising given Renee Kelly is a world renowned chef. And the ambiance is really cool, residing as it does in a hundred year old castle that has been completely modernized. Do yourself a favor and schedule a meal here. It is going to the top of our list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.