About Renata

626 SE Main Street
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Renata is located in the heart of the burgeoning Central Southeast Industrial district of Portland, Oregon teaming with local artisans, hip eateries, trendy shops and readily accessible from every area in the city. Quickly becoming recognized as one of Portland’s top dining destinations, Renata remains true to its welcoming family-centric roots and neighborhood ethos. Every dish retains the authenticity of its Italian origin, layered with thoughtful and playful interaction from Sigler’s deft hand.
Fire and wood are transformative elements in the cooking process and in the atmosphere of the restaurant. Renata’s open kitchen with its stunning hearth and Italian pizza oven anchor the expansive dining room creating a warm and welcoming focal point for diners. The west side of the restaurant is flooded with
natural light from striking wood cladded accordion doors that in warmer weather, open up onto a large patio, where diners can enjoy alfresco dining inside and out.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner:
Sunday-Wednesday 5-9pm
Thursday-Saturday 5-10pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Friday 4-6pm

Cross Street:
6th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-2708

Website:
http://www.renatapdx.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Sigler

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Renata Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (173)
Special Occasion (111)
Great for Outdoor Dining (81)
See All
Hot Spot (65)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
Notable Wine List (57)
Good for Groups (54)
Romantic (45)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Kid-friendly (15)
Great for Lunch (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I live out of state and look forward to ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 5 days ago

I live out of state and look forward to Renata every time I travel to Portland - it is just that good. My friends and I love the delicious food, warm ambiance, lovely outdoor seating, friendly folks, great service, delicious and innovative cocktails.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and wonderful service!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food and wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice! We had a sampling of several ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice! We had a sampling of several items, the tuna salad, pizza, salmon and pasta. All were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I took a friend to Renata's for a birthd ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I took a friend to Renata's for a birthday dinner, which we both enjoyed very much. The food was excellent but both of us were particularly impressed with the service as we were, during the course of the evening, attended by several different people. This spoke of a staff which works together extremely well. We also found the staff to be very knowledgeable re the menu, for both food and drink. The noise level was a bit higher than we might have liked. Probably not bad enough to deter us from another visit. Were it not for the noise level I would have given a 5 star across the board.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Too expensive a place to allow infants, ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Too expensive a place to allow infants, who can inadvertently, but nevertheless predictably ruin what is supposed to be a sophisticated dinner out. We love babies, but not in an expensive, upscale restaurant like Renata's. It's not right to charge premium prices for pizza, salad and wine, only to leave patrons feeling they're at a modestly priced family oriented restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was pretty good but small and o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was pretty good but small and overpriced, 6 ravioli should not be 20 dollars, even if they're good. The fried squid looked less fried and more poached, which tasted fine but it wasn't what I expected. The area is "up and coming" with all that implies but the decor is nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Loved it. It was great. Great food, gr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Loved it. It was great. Great food, great scene, great drinks. Very relaxing fun and pleasurable experience.

Thanks!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my third visit to Renata, and th ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This is my third visit to Renata, and the overall quality of the food continues to be excellent. My quibble with this Renata has never been about the food, but rather the often disjointed service. Fortunately, this visit the service was very good, matching the cuisine for attention to detail. We shared a salad, pasta, a meat dish and split dessert. Everything was fantastic and our servers were attentive and the meal was well paced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

This was a really fun place with creativ ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This was a really fun place with creative and well-prepared Italian dishes. The food was really good--very authentic and wholesome food. They make their own cheese and bread and it is amazing...However, the waitress was really, really clueless. We had to wait a very long time for everything, and had to "flag her down" for each time we wanted to order. We asked other wait staff to help several times because she never came to our table. Very irritating. I would sit at the bar next time, because the food is worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

We had a delightful afternoon celebratin ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a delightful afternoon celebrating my friend's birthday. The Ricotta Triangoli was delicious. We also enjoyed the bee local honey budino, a dark chocolate mousse, butterscotch peanut butter crumb, and bee pollen. The service was very friendly and the parking very convenient. I will certainly go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you're into cheese and pasta and grea ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

If you're into cheese and pasta and grease and spice, then this is the place for you. They do pizza, pasta, and house made sausages with invention and flair. But besides a green salad, which was terrific, there's nothing even remotely healthy on the menu.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Very much enjoyed our dinner from to sta ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very much enjoyed our dinner from to start to finish. We have bee a here a few times and we are never disappointed. Aside from the delicious food the cocktails are amazing. Best Old Fashion in town!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. Patio was excel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great service and food. Patio was excellent and quieter than being inside.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Will definitely be back!!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptionally friendly staff, attentive ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Exceptionally friendly staff, attentive service but not intrusive, excellent food. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for large afternoon / early even ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Perfect for large afternoon / early evening conversation and light dinner, with friendly service (young but knowledgeable staff); soft atmosphere, good space between tables, tasty well prepared food of high quality. I will return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Creative and extraordinarily tasty food. ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Creative and extraordinarily tasty food. Loved the cocktails and wine list, especially by the glass.

Very popular and crowded. Service during our visit was friendly and almost too efficient. Several times waitstaff tried to clear plates before we were ready! Small matter!

Overall, we won't hesitate to return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Excellent Italian county-style food wit ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Excellent Italian county-style food with true homemade character. Would not hesitate to recommend or return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the cocktails and family style mea ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Loved the cocktails and family style meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a reservation but arrived quite e ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a reservation but arrived quite early. We assumed we would have to wait, but we were immediately offered seats at the bar or outside. It was a beautiful evening, so outside was perfect. Renata's menu is a great mix of small plates, pizza, pasta dishes and protein centered main dishes. We shared an appetizer, salad, pizza, main dish and desert (we needed a couple of "to go" boxes). Everything was perfectly prepared with an unusual mix of components that nonetheless went together perfectly. This is our second time there, and if we lived closer (we live in Salem) we would be at Renata regularly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food! Great service and wine ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Outstanding food! Great service and wine selection. Will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was so delicious, special sho ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was so delicious, special shout out to the beef ravioli and the salmon with fennel sauce!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fungi pizza was delicious & crispy. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The fungi pizza was delicious & crispy. The tender pasta with geoduck & octopus had a wonderful taste of the sea. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall the food is excellent. We love ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Overall the food is excellent. We love the beef ravioli and the pork tagliatelle. We found the burrata salad bland, but will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Here for a birthday celebration with fri ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Here for a birthday celebration with friends. The food was fabulous! Drinks were wonderful and dessert was delicious! Second here in 2 months.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been wanting to try Renata for qu ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We had been wanting to try Renata for quite some time and we're excited to try it for our anniversary! The service was great, and I really enjoyed the wine pairings that our server selected for us, but the food was not as spectacular as I hoped and it was pretty expensive. We had the rib eye steak which was tasty, but the garbanzo beans they served it with weren't tender and I didn't care for the sauce. The lobster pasta was good, but not amazing, and the tuna starter was tasty, but the nectarines served with it were flavorless. We did enjoy the polenta cake. I think the food highlight for us, which we talked about the next day, were the olives. They were served warm and they were super delicious. I wish I could have said that about the rest of our meal. Maybe we just ordered poorly, but the servers had highly recommended most of what we ordered. Another highlight was the cocktail with the snap pea purée - delicious and refreshing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding all the way around! Service ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Outstanding all the way around! Service was impeccable; food was great; wonderful wine! Sat on the patio - perfect evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. I actually loved eve ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was good. I actually loved everything we tried, although I think I was a little more impressed than the other 3 in our party. Everything seemed fresh!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The experience my partner and I had at R ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The experience my partner and I had at Renata was one of the best EVER! From the moment we walked in the door we were pleasantly greeted and seated in a cozy spot in the main room. The restaurant staff was busy and attentive paying great detail to everything from our comfort level at the table, pouring water, suggesting foods & wine to taste and all with an efficient, friendly and professional attitude. The food was fresh, flavorful and prepared uniquely. We ended the evening with complete satisfaction and cannot wait to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Renata and we ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was our first time at Renata and we will definitely be back. The space is beautiful, light and airy. The service was excellent and the food was so delicious! We ordered your pasta dishes which were so good. We also ordered the beet salad which had lots of flavor. The wine list is extensive and lots to choose from. Your steaks are a bit steep in price at $50.00 but I am sure they are good as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful dining room, excellently and e ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Beautiful dining room, excellently and expertly crafted small menu (handmade pasta is a highlight), professional service, and great experience each time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Renata is fun, lively with good food and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Renata is fun, lively with good food and service. Casual, without table cloths but nice for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had high expectations which were surpass ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Had high expectations which were surpassed!

Ordered 7 items, each one was extraordinary.

The pastas make your eyes roll back in your head.

Service was a delight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner at ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner at Renata to celebrate our anniversary and we had a wonderful experience. Food was delicious and the service was prompt, friendly and courteous. We will definitely come back for another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Due to a "glitch," one of our entrées ca ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Due to a "glitch," one of our entrées came out way early. The staff was super apologetic and gave us dessert on the house. The food was nicely executed and delicious. We'd definitely do it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

After reading many of the reviews, I was ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

After reading many of the reviews, I was very interested, but now I see the average Portlander obviously cares more about style than substance, because this was an enormous disappointment. Food quality was average at best. Two very uninspired pasta entrees as well as overcooked, - bordering on burnt bread

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

I have never ever been disappointed with ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I have never ever been disappointed with a meal here. The staff is delightful and makes you feel like you are not only welcome but they are delighted to serve you. This is my go to spot for a romantic dinner, and out-of-town guest, or when I just want something incredibly delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Renata was the perfect spot for our anni ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Renata was the perfect spot for our anniversary - romantic, good service, and outstanding food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as usual. Friendlier staff w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food as usual. Friendlier staff with a smile would be appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great service and food!!! Highly recomme ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great service and food!!! Highly recommend the pastas. We had two and they were both amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.