Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Renata

Renata is located in the heart of Portland’s Central Eastside District, which is teeming with local artisans, hip eateries, and trendy shops. The location is readily accessible from every area of the city. Quickly becoming recognized as one of Portland’s top dining destinations, Renata remains true to its welcoming family-centric roots and neighborhood ethos. Every dish retains the authenticity of its Italian origin, layered with thoughtful and playful interaction from Chef Sigler’s deft hand.
Fire and wood are transformative elements in the cooking process and in the atmosphere of the restaurant. Renata’s open kitchen with its stunning hearth and Italian pizza oven anchor the expansive dining room creating a warm and welcoming focal point for diners. The west side of the restaurant is flooded with natural light from striking accordion doors that in warmer weather, open up onto a large patio, where diners can enjoy alfresco dining inside and out.

626 SE Main Street
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner:
Sunday-Wednesday 5-9pm
Thursday-Saturday 5-10pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 5-6pm
Thursday - Saturday 9-10pm
Sunday 5-9pm

Cross Street:
6th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-2708

Website:
http://www.renatapdx.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Sigler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Renata has two private dining spaces and a patio conducive to cocktail receptions or seated meals. The striking space also lends itself to full-scale weddings and corporate buyouts.

Renata Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (43)
Good for a Date (38)
Creative Cuisine (36)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Local Ingredients (28)
Special Occasion (25)
Bar Seating (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Casual (20)
Authentic (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Romantic (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Fun (12)
Business Meals (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Seasonal (10)
People Watching (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Tapas (5)
Cozy (4)
Organic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
745 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was outstanding ! Everything we ordered was delicious and creatively presented.
Our waitress was superb!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

The cocktails were good and the wine list is impressive. We had the salumi, fried olives and heirloom tomatoes to start. For entrees, we ordered the spaghetti, the squid ink cavatelli and margherita pizza and finished with olive oil cake and some gelato. Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Great meal! The portions are not as big as you think, even though the staff says they are larger sharable sizes. The Risotto- AH-MAZ-ING! I thought what a bore to order however we all loved it. We tried 9nine different menu items between the four of us. Hands -down Risotto!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Makes high end dining easy and affordable for all occasion's.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Exceeded our expectations and the highlight of our trip to pdx!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Wonderful dining experience! Excellent service, great recommendations from the staff. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

We had a lovely anniversary celebration here. Excellent service and delicious food, we were well taken care of.

Tags: Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Lovely meal with 2 excellent salads, 3 delicious pasta dishes, drinks and dessert. Tasty!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Place was recommended to us by a friend and we're from out of town. Loved the people, the atmosphere and the food was amazing! Great, fancy place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I would caution people about the noise level.Very difficult to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We shared the charcuterie board, flavorful side veggies and pastas. Everything was fresh, colorful, and delicious. The barbera we ordered by the glass was heavenly. We will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Quality of food was good. Great atmosphere and everything but the taste of the food, I would describe as just "okay".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Reservation was for 7pm, we arrived at 645 and were told to wait at the bar. There were at least 5 tables open at this time. At 715, I finally went to the hostess (the 5 tables were still pen) and she begrudgingly seated us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 8, 2017

For the foodie at heart and farm to table cuisine, this is truly an outstanding restaurant. Try the mushroom risotto, braised beef pappardelle and butterscotch boudin. Don't miss the craft cocktails!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

It was lit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food, ambience, and service was great. My pasta portion was a little on the small side, but was delicious

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Gracias Renata! For taking such special care of my family while they visited portland. The food and ambiance were extraordinary.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We have been going to Renata for the last year and LOVE it! It is our go to restaurant for delicious and locally sourced authentic Italian food. The wood fired pizzas are AMAZING. The cocktails are well balanced and interesting! We recommend it to all our friends. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Seasonal, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Food was excellent. We wanted to take advantage of Happy Hour but after we were seated then we asked they said we would have to move to the bar or outside. It was a little akward so we stayed at out table.

Perhaps just have the person seating people mention that if you would like to take advantage of Happy Hour the areas you would have to sit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great food and great service!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Very good food in a very noisy atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Why fry olives? Why did I order them?
Lackluster pizza. Nice folks. Too pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Solid good food. Service was slow for a salad, pizza, pasta, & dessert.
Course pacing could have been quicker. Great staff.
I think the value could have been better but overall really good food & wine.
Only quip, $30 for a bar steak, no thanks.
Heads up please give your patrons some value.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food here is always great. Fresh pastas and entrees. We had an especially nice service experience. We were initially seated right near a family with a very noisy child that was out of control. We thought this was going to be a very unpleasant dinner. Instead, our server came over after seeing the situation (without us even saying a thing) and asked us if we would like to be moved. We were promptly moved to the other side of the restaurant where it was quiet and had a lovely meal. Thank you!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

I highly recommend going on a Thursday. My birthday happened to be on a Thursday and this is the day where they serve risotto that has been tossed in a parmesan cheese wheel which they do in the middle of the restaurant. It was amazing. Skip the fried olives, they taste good, but are not something I would crave again. I would save that space for something more exciting on the menu. Do order the burrata, it was delicious and the tomatoes were fresh and flavorful, but be aware that the burrata does not come with any kind of bread or crostini (not a problem, I just assumed it would).
The ambiance was good, but I felt over-dressed wearing a dress and heels. I also didn't mind being seated right next to the kitchen as it was interesting to watch the food being prepared before going out to the tables. Our table was a little too close to the table next to ours and there seemed to be a lot of open space in the restaurant, so not really sure why the tables were so close together.
Our servers were amazing. We had one main server who knew all kinds of information about the wine list which was very helpful as it is mostly Italian wines which I am not familiar with. We also had many other people passing by asking if we needed anything, they could have been bussers, managers, other servers, etc. but they were all very helpful and nice.
I will be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We discovered this place by accident. We are visiting Portland for the summer and we wanted Italian food but the two other restaurants we had been to several times in the past were unavailable.

Long story short, we arrived early, were seated in the main room and were treated to some of the best Italian food I have ever eaten. The service was outstanding, the wait staff knowledgeable and helpful.

The dishes were served family style and shared among the four of us, but the portions were more like tapas. Consequently, we enjoyed an amazing variety of choices from the menu, with each dish being better than the last. Our choices ranged from fried olives as an appetizer, to a nectarine and albacore ante-pasta dish, to a delectable house made margherita pizza, to the most delicious Spaghetti i've ever enjoyed, finishing with an amazing pork entre and a wild salmon entre, both delectable. We passed on desert because we couldn't eat another bite.

I highly recommend this restaurant and plan to return frequently. You should try it, I don't think you will be disappointed!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 24, 2017

As always, the food was quite good and inventive. At first the service seemed a bit disheveled, because we had three different servers. One greeted us and took our wine bottle to decant. Two others come by to talk about the menu, but it seemed to take a while to get our order in. After that it was fine.
I have always felt that the wine list is very interesting with not well known Italian wines, but quite overpriced. We always bring a vg bottle and pay the reasonable $20 corkage. I would like to try some of their wines, but not at those price

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Our food was extremely good and well-prepared. The wait person was cordial and knowledgeable. The ambience was very comfortable, and the vibes was welcoming. The second beer I ordered was forgotten about and came about 15 later after the server remembered. I had a lovely well-prepared pork chop, but my knife was too dull to cut it. The server brought another knife in an effort to be helpful, but it was only marginally sharper. The main dining room was extremely loud unfortunately. We will probably sit at the bar next time, but we will be back. A great find close to home.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Pork dinner was not fully cooked and was quite gamey. My wife's food came 10 minutes after myself and our friend was served. My friend's food was cold. The place is happily noisy and our server did a good job. But I'm not coming back even though my dinner was free.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food and wine were delicious and service was great. This was our second visit to Renata and we have really enjoyed both meals there. We shared several dishes on this visit and they were all excellent - the tuna crudo, crostini with nectarines and some of the best ricotta cheese I've ever had, and mixed pork (with wonderful black quinoa). We would highly recommend Renata to others for a special occasion or just a fun night out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our first visit to Renata and never know what to expect from a restaurant we haven't been to even if it has good reviews. We were not let down! The service and food was fabulous, the servers always checked back to make sure we were doing ok (not hovering)and explained the food and wine clearly and assisted us when we needed help with choosing the perfect wine with consideration of our price point, (one of the dishes we had was roasted corn and peach pizza!!) We will be returning and to be sure we will be letting our friends know of our experience. Cheers!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Never a disappointment, the food was incredibly tasty and atmosphere was lovely.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Very nice ambience on Portland's east side. We shared the Eggplant dish and a pizza. Both were delicious. The service was unobtrusive and courteous. Our best dinner in Portland!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was fantastic as always. My date is on a low sodium diet due to a medical condition. We knew in advance that Renata was not a particularly good choice for low sodium, however the server went out of his way to ask the chef about the best choices for low salt and made sure that the meal was prepared with no additional salt.

Everything was delicious and the extra effort from the server really made the meal so much more relaxed and enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent service and excellent food. Originally they brought the wrong menu item to one of us, but gave us the wrong one for free anyways and the correct order came literally one minute later. Good layout, good food, right amount of music volume, patio seating would have been great too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything was great except the ambiance. Food was amazing, service was amazing, however it was listed as a romantic restaurant and it definitely was not. It is a fun place, great energy, and I would go back with a friend or maybe a group but never a date. Honestly probably would have given this place five stars but it bugs me that places put out a few candles and some mood lighting and call it romantic. However, besides that it is a great place and I recommend it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Greetings,
This was my first experience at this restaurant. The location was very easy to find and so was parking. The feel of the restaurant was friendly & cheerful. While the place was surprisingly quite busy the service was sufficiently expedient. One feedback to improve on is to never question customers' orders by "are you sure you want to do that?" Attentive is fine but overly concerned is to be avoided. Other than that we loved everything we ordered especially the chicken liver appetizer and the olive oil cake dessert!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great food and amazing people. Very large wine selection

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great as always. Would have given 5 stars but air conditioning wasn't working well so it was a bit uncomfortable

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food was all incredible, but the burrata with sweet corn and nectarines was especially amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.