About Renata

626 SE Main Street
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Renata is located in the heart of the burgeoning Central Southeast Industrial district of Portland, Oregon teaming with local artisans, hip eateries, trendy shops and readily accessible from every area in the city. Quickly becoming recognized as one of Portland’s top dining destinations, Renata remains true to its welcoming family-centric roots and neighborhood ethos. Every dish retains the authenticity of its Italian origin, layered with thoughtful and playful interaction from Sigler’s deft hand.
Fire and wood are transformative elements in the cooking process and in the atmosphere of the restaurant. Renata’s open kitchen with its stunning hearth and Italian pizza oven anchor the expansive dining room creating a warm and welcoming focal point for diners. The west side of the restaurant is flooded with
natural light from striking wood cladded accordion doors that in warmer weather, open up onto a large patio, where diners can enjoy alfresco dining inside and out.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner:
Sunday-Wednesday 5-9pm
Thursday-Saturday 5-10pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Friday 4-6pm

Cross Street:
6th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-2708

Website:
http://www.renatapdx.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Sigler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Renata Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (46)
Good for a Date (40)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Open Kitchen (29)
Wood Oven (29)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Local Ingredients (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Romantic (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Authentic (18)
Business Meals (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Family Style (15)
Casual (13)
Seasonal (13)
Cozy (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Fun (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Happy Hour (7)
People Watching (6)
Healthy (5)
Private Room (5)
Organic (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Waterfront (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

we really enjoyed ourselves. the food wa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

we really enjoyed ourselves. the food was wonderful. portions were ver good size to share. wait staff friendly and knowledgeable (although they took my salad to be boxed and it didnt get in my togo bag. oh well) i will definitely go back. pizzas looked amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We liked the atmosphere at the restauran ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

We liked the atmosphere at the restaurant and the staff was very nice. The meal started off well with appetizers and salad and bread. Unfortunately, two of the main dishes we ordered were so salty we could not enjoy them. Not sure if I would try it again because of that. We did provide feedback so maybe it will be taken into consideration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The pheasant tagliatelle and the hot tod ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The pheasant tagliatelle and the hot toddy were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about our dinner at Renata to ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything about our dinner at Renata tonight was on point--our good spirited server Luke (and all the other Renata FOH staff, including the crew member who helped us pick an amazing bottle of wine) provided us with killer service while remaining personable. The food was amazing per usual (we had the salami board, the polenta ravioli with oxtail ragu, the balsamic bucatini with creme fraiche, and the pepperoni pizza--the pasta was literally outstanding, making the pizza pale in comparison, but it was still exceptional). The drinks, cocktails and the bottle of wine, were prompt (I always recommend the negroni flight for any negroni lover out there), and our water glasses were always full. We only ordered dessert after we decided not to order another pasta dish off the dinner menu--the chocolate hazelnut torte and the Meyer lemon pavlova were perfectly crafted to end our meal. I couldn't have asked for a better experience overall, and we were only disappointed that the chef, Matt Sigler, wasn't around afterward so we could congratulate him in person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed one of the best meals of our ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We enjoyed one of the best meals of our lives at Renata. The food and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely ambience and lighting provides a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lovely ambience and lighting provides a sense of comfort, though it is a bit tough to see the food in low light. I think the visual aspect is important as part of the tasting process. The service was almost choreographed, waitstaff attentive and on cue. Servers provided new cutlery for each course, but I never saw a hand cross my plate. Good old fashioned courtesy and manners. Food was a stellar experience, fois gras was my favorite course, flavors so varied and complementary. I could eat here often! One of the best meals in Portland, with unrivaled service.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My eyes and taste buds are always thrill ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My eyes and taste buds are always thrilled with ever dish they present. The service is always on point!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good experience. Great food for a s ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very good experience. Great food for a small menú. The brócolini pizza esa very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The ambience is industrial Portland, the ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The ambience is industrial Portland, the servings family style, but the food is elegant and refined. One of the best meals we've ever had in PDX.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always wonderful service; always delicio ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always wonderful service; always delicious food and always new things on the menu.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Menu is unique. In the end my meal w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The Menu is unique. In the end my meal was over cooked and not a prime cut for A 30.00 Chop.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Overall a great restaurant. We have bee ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Overall a great restaurant. We have been several times and the menu has been different each time. Also, I like this place because it has a menu unlike any other in town.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

There was as an ice storm, so servers we ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

There was as an ice storm, so servers were bored. I had to clutch my last sip of wine. We swatted eager hands away from our dessert only to have another server whisk it away 20 seconds later. We we told we'd be "talked to" about Nebbiolo. That sounded ominous so we picked our own wine and the waiter warned us we might not like it (it was fine, I think he was disappointed he didn't get to give us his wine lecture). the food: 1 good salad, 1 odd. pizza: weird. Too sweet tomato sauce, odd oily coating in mouth. Cod: no flavor. Squash pasta: rookie mistake. Is gross: too sweet with butter. Pavlova was great, not relaxing to defend it from roving servers. We had very fragrant lilies displayed in eating area. I'm baffled why you'd put flowers like that in a restaurant, they were distracting.

The interior was interesting. I would try it again: maybe service is better on a normal night. Next time I would try sitting at the bar (away from the flowers).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Chefs counter was fun to sit at! Nice an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Chefs counter was fun to sit at! Nice and warm but fun to watch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great atmosphere, busy chatty vibe. Coc ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great atmosphere, busy chatty vibe. Cocktails very good, service great. Halibut ravioli delicious. Broccoli pizza just so-so. Very lemony, overpowered. Huge pizza though... I could only eat half. Would recommend and would def go back!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Much as I would like to love Renata, the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Much as I would like to love Renata, the quality of its food does not keep up its end. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, and the service has always been very good. However, the pasta dishes that we had on our last visit ranged from excellent (beet pasta with short rib ragu) to ordinary (bolognese).

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic food, great service, nice déco ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fantastic food, great service, nice décor, a little loud for conversation with table of 4 (but it was a busy Saturday night). Will definitely go back and would highly recommend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Sat 30 minutes after reservation. Food ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Sat 30 minutes after reservation. Food was delicious, but small portions left me hungry after spending $100 and $20 tip for two people for appetizer, two main courses and two beverages each

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Always delicious! We are fans and enjoy ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always delicious! We are fans and enjoy the whole experience each time we visit. Summers here are great as they have a large covered patio and open the entire side of the restaurant that it attached. wonderful atmosphere and creative menu!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been to Renata several times and ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We have been to Renata several times and it is never a disappointment! The food, service and atmosphere are awesome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful evening at Renata's to celebra ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Beautiful evening at Renata's to celebrate our son's engagement.

We shared smoked sturgeon as an appetizer to start our mouths watering. A beautiful beet and pomegranate salad with feta and charred greens followed.

Roasted chicken, beef brisket ravioli, pizza, octopus cavatelli,

Every plate was perfection all presented by a wonderfully professional server.

Thank you again for a memorable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All the food is on point and the service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

All the food is on point and the service is impeccable as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Could have larger portions for the price ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Could have larger portions for the price of the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We've eaten here several times , mostly ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We've eaten here several times , mostly soon after they opened. Went back hoping normal opening kinks had been worked out, but were disappointed. It was excessively noisy, remarkably slow service, , and food disappointing (we had the Burrasca, a pizza, a pasta dish and desert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Beautiful space. Love that there's parki ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Beautiful space. Love that there's parking. Id like to see more vegetarian options on the menu. And the food took over an hour from the time our party of 6 ordered & it wasn't that busy. And they forgot an entree. That said, what we did order was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Inventive menu, delicious food using loc ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Inventive menu, delicious food using locally sourced ingredients--absolutely amazing (and unique) cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the more unique places I have be ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 29, 2016

One of the more unique places I have been. The spoke-like arrangement of the tables is imaginative, and suggests family style while affording privacy as well. Large vases of fresh flowers are placed about. Menu items are unusual, creative, and tasty. Everything we had was good. The high wood ceilings kept the noise at a comfortable, conversational level.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful space, wonderful food, but ver ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Beautiful space, wonderful food, but very dark. Would like to have been able to read the menu and see the creative servings. A little dreary on a dark rainy night.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a birthday dinner and the food wa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We had a birthday dinner and the food was amazing. We also enjoyed the handcrafted cocktails, they were so good!! We definitely will return.

The staff was also so friendly and helpful in explaining the different options on the menu.

I highly recommend Renata for a unique and delicious dining experience.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Organic, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The most accommodating, friendly, knowle ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The most accommodating, friendly, knowledgeable and engaging staff. The food was incredible, inventive and delicious. Easily the best dining experience I have had in Portland this year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disappointed in our meal. T ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We were very disappointed in our meal. The pizza was the best part. There were four of us and none of us like the appetizer or the salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Wonderful experience in every way . Can ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful experience in every way .

Can't wait to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All three times we've been to Renata, we ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

All three times we've been to Renata, we've experienced nothing but delicious and unique dishes, and amazing services at the bar and at our table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Renata is one of our favorites in Portla ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Renata is one of our favorites in Portland. Always great service and a fantastic menu that changes every day. Great drinks and wine selection. By far and away one of the best values as most plates are under $35.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, not great especially ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food was good, not great especially when considering how pricey it was.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Casual, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was incredible -- highly recomm ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was incredible -- highly recommend the Salumi Agnolotti. The server recommended we have our meal family style rather than ordering individual plates and having those come out in courses. This was a great idea and added to fostering a more intimate experience in a busy restaurant. The wine list was great, although we didn't check this before arriving and were a bit surprised to find only 1 bottle under $40 on the menu, most averaging around $75. That said, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal, it reminded me of Parisian neighborhood restaurants!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my niece to Renata for birthday din ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Took my niece to Renata for birthday dinner. Beautiful space, great food and just right service. The server met every need but didn't intrude. Yes, it was more speedy than I normally like, but it was, indeed, special. The tortellini past dish was amazing. The flavors were layered and distinct throughout the dish.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First couple of times we dined here the ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

First couple of times we dined here the food was great, but the service was a bit slow or inconsistent. That seems to have been completely addressed, service was impeccable this visit. Could not find a single thing to complain about if we tried. Well done.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Renata is one of my favorite portland ea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Renata is one of my favorite portland eateries. The food is spectacular. They have a great wine selection and cocktail menu, and it has a cool atmosphere. I would highly recommend it to anyone who lives in Portland or is visiting.

Tags: Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Family Style, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food! was worried about service as ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 13, 2016

great food! was worried about service as a friend related a poor experience, but had a wonderful meal and experience. i still think the noise level at the vast majority of restaurants is too loud. if u want to meet friends to talk and carry on in a large group, go to a bar, better yet, go to someone's house and avoid the crazy liquor mark up.

but going out for good food and being able to talk to your friend without yelling, priceless now! Vibe don't count when so many choices in Portland.

back to the food, unique, inventive, xcellent.

recommend highly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.