Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Renata

Renata is located in the heart of the burgeoning Central Southeast Industrial district of Portland, Oregon teaming with local artisans, hip eateries, trendy shops and readily accessible from every area in the city. Quickly becoming recognized as one of Portland’s top dining destinations, Renata remains true to its welcoming family-centric roots and neighborhood ethos. Every dish retains the authenticity of its Italian origin, layered with thoughtful and playful interaction from Sigler’s deft hand.
Fire and wood are transformative elements in the cooking process and in the atmosphere of the restaurant. Renata’s open kitchen with its stunning hearth and Italian pizza oven anchor the expansive dining room creating a warm and welcoming focal point for diners. The west side of the restaurant is flooded with
natural light from striking wood cladded accordion doors that in warmer weather, open up onto a large patio, where diners can enjoy alfresco dining inside and out.

626 SE Main Street
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner:
Sunday-Wednesday 5-9pm
Thursday-Saturday 5-10pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 5-6pm
Thursday - Saturday 9-10pm
Sunday 5-9pm

Cross Street:
6th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-2708

Website:
http://www.renatapdx.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Sigler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Renata has two private dining spaces and a patio conducive to cocktail receptions or seated meals. The striking space also lends itself to full-scale weddings and corporate buyouts.

Renata Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (67)
Good for a Date (67)
Creative Cuisine (51)
See All
Special Occasion (48)
Wood Oven (46)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (41)
Local Ingredients (38)
Modern Decor (38)
Open Kitchen (35)
Notable Wine List (34)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Romantic (33)
Bar Seating (27)
Good for Groups (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Authentic (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Casual (21)
Fun (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Family Style (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Seasonal (16)
Cozy (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Business Meals (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Healthy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Private Room (5)
People Watching (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Tapas (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
615 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

We have been here before and after being underwhelmed on our last visit this was about the same. We did decided to do the Portland Dining Month menu. We were immediately disappointed that besides pizza and a pasta dish the only choice was the lamb sausage. The advertised chicken dish sounded wonderful. We started with the mixed green salad and asked for very light dressing. Both salads were so drowned in an extremely tart vinaigrette I could not eat more than a few leaves. My pasta dish was tasty but definitely a small portion. My wife's lamb sausage was good but was very over-seasoned with a tough casing. For dessert my wife's gelato was good but I certainly made a bad choice ordering the sticky bun. It sounded like breakfast and I guess I should not have been surprised as that's what it was. A major error was ordering an espresso with my dessert. It came out within moments with no sugar or spoon. By the time I got the sugar and the dessert it was cold. I had high hopes but unfortunately let down again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

I have been wanting to try Renata for quite a while because I love right up the street from it. I took a date and it was perfect, delicious food, sexy lighting. I really enjoyed my smoky margarita with mezcal in it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Such a wonderful value, amazing staff, and delicious Italian food. Authentic, but with a modern cuisine take on classics. We will def be coming back!

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Romantic, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Friendly service but very noisy. Loved my food and was curious why they were unable to add to my reservations when asked. There were many empty seats the whole time I was there. Love the center tables that snake through the center.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

We visited Renata Saturday for the first time. Food, ambiance, staff were all outstanding.
We already made a Rez for next weekend.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Chicken entree was not served hot, center was room temp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Despite having a reservation we had to wait 20 minutes for a table. While that is not unusual, being told a couple of times by the hostess that our table would be ready really soon wasn't true. And, others who came after us were seated before us. Yes, they had more than two in their party, but creatively moving the tables around (something they can do) would have gotten us seated sooner.
After getting the table our server, Theo, was great and very attentive. The food was deliciously prepared.
I am sensitive to noise and this is the noisiest restaurant I've ever been in. If you go with a large party you'll have to yell at each other. If noise doesn't bother you, it's your place!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and Service were great and the layout was fun. Noise level made conversation tough, only drawback.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We came here for Portland Dinning Month and we will be back. Food was incredible, great flavor and perfect portion size. Love the ambience was great and all staff was friendly and accomodating, especially our waitress. She was attentive but not pushy.

Tags: Vegan, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place although loud as it is a open space restaurant with open kitchen and small bar area. We came for Portland Dining Month special. We will come back again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

A fine addition to Portland's suite of Italian-inspired restaurants. We enjoyed the creative cuisine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Portland dining month brought me to this great restaurant. Where me and my girlfriend really enjoyed the many unique, delicious and fresh options, sooo good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Our home away from home, this place has become dear to our hearts. The food is always thoughtfully created and presented—every meal has been outstanding! The service is great: waitstaff are friendly and knowledgeable, as are the kitchen staff. This is a special place, perfect for celebrating or just hanging out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Wanted to grab dinner with coworkers. Started with unique cocktails that were amazing(including old fashion flight). Server made great recommendations. Everyone loved their meal and had a great time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 21, 2017

My friends and I tried Renata during Portland Dining Month for our monthly happy hour meet-up, and we were disappointed with both the food and the service. I started with the mixed greens salad with cipollini onions, which did not in fact come with the onions, rather with fried shallots. The greens were overdressed with a too tart dressing. My friend and I both ordered the pork (three ways--loin, sausage, and a fattier cut) with cranberry beans and arugula. The pork overall was well-cooked but the dish was lukewarm when it reached me and we both thought it was too salty. The beans were a tad overcooked. No one checked on us while we were eating our main dishes. Our dessert options were presented as: Meyer lemon panna cotta, gelato, and some sort of sticky bun. My friend and I chose the panna cotta. We were surprised when we were presented with a dark looking pudding. I asked for clarification, at which point our server came back to us and informed us that in fact the dessert choice was a butterscotch budino. Hmm, quite a bit different from a lemon panna cotta, and I didn't hear any sort of apology for promising one item and completely changing it without checking with us first. It would have been truly good customer service to provide us with the dessert menu to pick anything on it as a replacement. Instead we were assured that the budino was the best choice. Actually it was quite bad, with a grainy, lumpy texture and an unpleasant bitter aftertaste (they should check with Nostrana on how to make a truly delicious butterscotch budino). I can't decide if I was more disappointed with the lackluster food or the indifferent service. Clearly our server hadn't been updated about menu options, or they gave us the wrong menu, or??? They were also out of two wines that we tried to order. Renata just failed on too many points for me to consider returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The entire experience was wonderful from the moment we walked in the door. I loved the decor and the atmosphere! While we had several people helping us throughout the night - the team did not skip a beat and everything was delivered promptly with a smile. I will definitely recommend Renata and we will definitely come back again soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went to Renata because a co-worker recommended for our anniversary. When I made the reservation I informed that this dinner was for our anniversary. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised that the entire service staff knew and celebrated with us. We loved the service of Renata!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

A friend and I decided to try the Renata for Portland Dining Month. The menu had limited options but the options were outstanding. The salad offered was large enough for two and the crostini was amazing. The pasta course was excellent and the roast chicken along with its accompaniments was delightful. The chocolate ice cream dessert hit the spot for two chocolate lovers. We each ordered a glass of wine and were somewhat disappointed with the size of the pour for the cost of the wine. The service, as always, is excellent.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Trendy new Italian spot. The menu is kind of short, but the choices are popular and tasty. My foursome arrived for an early dinner...by the time the restaurant filled up the noise level was very high. Maybe our ears are too old for this venue.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Went with another couple and we ALL enjoyed cocktails and a delicious dinner. The wait staff was super friendly and caring. Added much to the enjoyment of the evening. The portions were perfect. Thanks for a great evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was outstanding, but service was spotty and occasionally annoying. It's a lively place, but sometimes too noisy for a foursome to talk comfortably.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Use to be excellent food for high price. Now it's not very good food for a high price. Food was most disappointing. Service was excellent. You are a neighborhood place for me-I'm bummed that the food was so poor--won't be back unless I hear that major changes have been made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Horrid service. Literally the waitress turned her back to us at every pass. Pasta for the main dish was so salty! It's a shame, cool atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Service, food, everything was great. Sat at the chef's table. It was fabulous.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Our visit coincided with Portland Dining Month. 2 of us ordered the DM menu, 1 ordered Sturgeon. Food arrived timely and was exceedingly tasty. A member of our party commented afterwards she usually eats about 1/2 the food she orders so she doesn't overeat. "Tonight, I ate everything and would have licked the plate, if I weren't so well-mannered." High praise indeed. Every dish from the chicken (tender and moist!) to the seafood spaghetti (clams were amazing!) was simply delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Went to Renata for Portland Dining Month and it was fantastic. Our server to wonderful care of our table of five and the whole meal was fabulous.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Comfort Food, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Last minute reservation. Some wait. Be seen (meaning leave the work clothes at home unless they are the industrial Thoth style). Nice bar. Lively all around. Some loud. Limited menus though change daily. Moderately expensive. But even the milk poached chicken breast and pasta Bolognese were creative and tasty. Good beer and wine selection though not comprehensive.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

While I was pleased with the ambiance and service, the entrees were average. The chicory salad though I must say was stellar, before I go on to explain the entrees. I had the bolognese, which was sausage and penne with a light sauce if any at all. Very atypical for a bolognese, not much flavor and very dry! My husband ordered the carbonara which was also very atypical, not blended with an egg. He was highly disappointed as carbonara is one of his favorite pasta dishes when it is done well. Atypical is fine by all means, but if you're going to differ please do so atypically good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Let me start out by saying that the food at Renata is delicious and it's well worth going there once just for that. However the overall experience was less than what I hoped for for a fine dining meal. The restaurant has a bit of an identity crisis. The dim candlelit light levels suggest a romantic place to have an intimate dinner with your SO, but the loud noise level makes it nearly impossible to have a conversation. The staff are polite and friendly, but the timing is rushed. Pre-dinner cocktails did not arrive until we were half done with appetizers and wine was already served. Primi and Secondi were served at the same time. We ordered 4 courses and were in and out in 50 minutes, which is great if you've mentioned you have a show to get to, but if you are actually trying to enjoy your meal, you won't be given time to do it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overrated. First time dining here. Had read the reviews and had expectations of something grand. Did not happen. Food and service were good but wine prices too high and $14.00 for a small Grey Goose martini not a good value.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall, the food wasn't amazing. It is an average Italian restaurant. If you are looking to go out for a special occasion, there are better options in Portland. The kitchen was very slow and we waited for almost an hour to get our food despite the fact that the restaurant was not full. Additionally, the cocktail servings are very small for $12.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Tastey food, excellent service. Fun to go with friends and share different dishes.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We went here for portland dining month and it was so delicious!! It's a little more on the expensive side which is why it was the perfect place for dining month. My only complaint is that we had reservations for 9pm and we weren't seated until 930pm. I understand things happen, but good customer service would've been offering us a drink while having to wait.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

great, interesting food, happy staff, serving with a smile made the dinner light and happy

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Can't wait to go back for that DELICIOUS pizza!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Swordfish excellent .
Salads creative and tasty.
Pizza nice combination. To my taste a little burned (I was told it is supposed to be like that)
Meat too tough.
Wines overpriced.
Deserves a second chance!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Restaurant Month. I hadn't been here since it opened to breathless reviews and great expectations. The restaurant was named as "worth it" in a local Restaurant Month (RM) article.

So many reviewers have good things to say. Here are my thoughts: The RM menu had been changed and choices eliminated. The room has the feeling of an event space; the flower arrangements offer the only personality in a room that could be broken down and moved out in a couple of hours. All expense has been spared; bare tabletops get a candle and Renata-etched water bottle; not so much as a salt or peppermill.

Crostini — a crispy expectation with textured toppings—arrived as a Renata invention of the day's soggy spelt bread with a smear of apple (sauce), two dots of room temp liver mousse and limp radish slices.

Tagliatelle Bolognese had been changed to a different pasta served as a salty, crunchy crumb-topped bolognese. No grated cheese was served with the dish nor was any offered. Service—though the table was wiped between courses with great flourish—is diner-like. (The other choice on the RM menu was a margherita pizza; a pork dish mentioned in the article had disappeared.)

The sticky bun dessert was ordinary and would be a weird ending to anything on the menu.

There were no bright flavors, interesting textures or elevated kitchen technique in evidence. This may be an up-and-coming destination for renovators in the daylight—and it's easy to find parking — but it's dead at night and Portland is thick with restaurants of this caliber in more interesting locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We were not universally impressed with the food, particularly at the price point offered. Service felt like they were trying to upsell us. Multiple servers coming by made service feel fragmented and like we were being interrupted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Everything we ate was delicious! We will. Definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We ate at Renata during Portland Dining Month and had the prix fixe menu. All the food was delicious. The wines we had, a Montepulciano and a Nero Davolo, were very well selected. Both were excellent with our food. My biggest objection to the restaurant is that it is so noisy that conversation is almost impossible. Service was good but not excellent. Our server was helpful, but a number of persons came to our table. They were slow in bringing the checks (separate for alcohol and food). I would go again, but at a different time (we went at 6 PM on Sunday night).

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.