Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 5/20
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 17 times today

Renata

4.4
947 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for a Date
  • Creative Cuisine
Renata is located in the heart of Portland’s Central Eastside District, which is teeming with local artisans, hip eateries, and trendy shops. The location is readily accessible from every area of the city. Quickly becoming recognized as one of Portland’s top dining destinations, Renata remains true to its welcoming family-centric roots and neighborhood ethos. Every dish retains the authenticity of its Italian origin, layered with thoughtful and playful interaction using locally sourced ingredients.
Fire and wood are transformative elements in the cooking process and in the atmosphere of the restaurant. Renata’s open kitchen with its stunning hearth and Italian pizza oven anchor the expansive dining room creating a warm and welcoming focal point for diners. The west side of the restaurant is flooded with natural light from striking accordion doors that in warmer weather, open up onto a large patio, where diners can enjoy alfresco dining inside and out.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Northwest, Sicilian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner:
Sunday-Wednesday 5-9pm
Thursday-Saturday 5-10pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 5-6pm
Thursday - Saturday 9-10pm
Sunday 5-9pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(503) 954-2708
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matthew Sigler
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
6th
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Renata has two private dining spaces and a patio conducive to cocktail receptions or seated meals. The striking space also lends itself to full-scale weddings and corporate buyouts.

View Private Dining Details
What 947 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Food is good. Wine list is very expensive. Excellent service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We had eaten there once before and found it very noisy, but liked the food. This time it was a pleasant night and we ate outside. The noise level was much more acceptable, but the food was very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

The service and the food were FANTASTIC. We had never been...we will be back on the regular. I cannot say enough good things about both the food and the service; beyond excellent food and beyond excellent service by happy, competent, professional staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Great food and great atmosphere. Interesting menu. Everything we had was delicious.
Deep fried olives were very good. Two of us had steak and two had pasta. Server was very knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Only the second time that we visited Renata’s, food was better than I remember, our out of town guest was truly impressed!

Thank you!
Ann Gunnin

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Our party of six shared bucatini amatriciana, papperadelle with duck, a fabulous house-made pepperoni pizza, pork mixed grill and a rib eye, with a side of asparagus.The pastas and pizza stole the show! Pizza crust had the blisters that show a well made pizza! Pastas were truly divine.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Enjoyed the food and service was prompt and attentive. Only drawback was noise level was so high it was difficult to converse.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The server was very knowledgeable on the wines and pairing with the menu items. The food was very good and I like that it came from local farmers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Off the chart wonderful. Menu items very unique and totally yummy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Always love Renata!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Probably my favorite restaurant in PDX.
Super consistent... good cocktails, GREAT pizza and right now the proteins are really really on point and so tasty

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Loved it he food, but too loud!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Love this place! Quality on every level. Service is exceptional. The staff works as a happy team.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

It was the first time for all three of us visiting Renata and we were all impressed. The absolute standout of this meal was the amazing, professional, on-her-game server. She was just in and out the entire time, watched for subtle cues, really just read our table well. As a former server and bartender in nicer establishments, I've been a little disappointed with the casualness, lack of good form, lack of knowledge of food and beverage, and general inability to read tables of servers in higher end restaurants in Portland. That wasn't always the case. Maybe it's the sea of mediocrity these days with restaurants. Lots of higher priced, unmemorable dining experiences. I'm usually having dinner with clients or colleagues and always seem to have servers who just walk up to the table and interrupt because they want to know how everything is going or they just generally aren't in sync with the rhythm of the table. Not the case with this server. She was efficient, paid attention to detail, was easy going, knew the menu well and could describe the food. When I was unsure about another dish, she described it diplomatically, knowing I wouldn't like it. After her description, I'm sure she was right. She was there or not difficult to track down when someone needed something, and she was never obtrusive. The food was very good too. I loved the handmade pasta, but I was perhaps expecting a little more flavor in the way of the sauce with my lamb dish (casoncelli, I think), though the lamb mixture inside was lovely. One of the other people at the table had a delicious pasta dish (can't remember what it was). Would have enjoyed slightly expanded list of wine glass pours. Desert was excellent -- not too sweet, just right at the end. We just had the cheese and salami board to begin. Very good choices of meats and cheeses but nothing more than a typical quality rustic spread. Next time I'll try a prepared app. I didn't pay so I don't know about the value. Can't recall prices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great good. Great server. Great night

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We have been to this restaurant 3 times with this visit. Each time we remember how bad the wait staff is. We keep going because the pasta is great.....but this will be the last time we go . There are plenty of great restaurants in this town.

A couple examples:
We received our cocktails after 10-15 minutes - not our server's fault probably because they were flat out busy. When she delivered the drinks one creative cocktail piled 2" over the rim with ice. The waitress commented - oops you need a straw for that. 1)After 5+ minutes I went to the bar to get one and she was headed our way with one.

2)Our friend asked for pepper for their dish. We waited a good 10-15 minutes and I started to try to flag someone down. I couldn't do it! People running by and no one looking our way so after a while I spotted our waitress and raised my hand. If looks could kill? She did not want to be stopped! I asked for the pepper and she apologized. Of course our friend was nearly done with her meal by this point.

3) I am a bread guy and seeing generous plates going by asked about some bread and if it was complementary. They were out of bread. Nice. It would seem by 7:30 they would still have some in the house.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We had a great time. Our waiter Baxter was knowledgeable and gave great recommendations. I highly recommend the Fried Olives as an appetizer. Handcrafted drinks were fantastic. We went to the bar after dinner for some post-dinner celebration. We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Service and good excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Best food ever. Healthy options AND delicious. And I love the ambiance. Definitely top of my list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Great food and great service. Shared the pasta dishes and they were incredible. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Menu looked good; actual food seemed less than promised. Noise level rose significantly while we were there, and the acoustics of the room help that along. Service was cursory; I got the feeling that we weren't ordering enough to make them happy. Some dishes weren't quite as promised. And to add a final touch, after the meal, I got a notification that our $150+ tab didn't qualify us for Open Table points.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

reservations don't mean much here: had to wait 30 minutes passed my reservation time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We had a variety of dishes here, and everything was great. They did a half and half on the charcuterie and fromage plate (not on the menu), and it was an amazing way to start. Great bourbon flight. My wife had the black truffle pasta and it was delicious. I had the pork chop, also delicious. The service was great, even by Portland standards (which I consider high).

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Excellent, especially the pork chop but pasta portions too small for the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We came here for my mom's birthday. It had both good reviews on Yelp and was close to Helium comedy club (which was the original goal).

While the menu is small, the quality and flavors are high. The side order of cauliflower is ridiculously good and their pizza? Forget about it - my favorite part of the meal (but seriously, that cauliflower was a close 2nd). When I go again, I want to try their pasta as well.

I had the halibut which was exceptional. My sister had the lamb plate - also excellent. My mom had the pizza and my husband had the rabbit. While the rabbit was quite tasty, the mushrooms on the plate were far superior AND the rabbit portion for the amount asked was a bit small. That was the only downside.

Server was knowledgable, friendly, and prompt.

We brought our own wine - $20 corking fee (expected). My husband and mother also had some of their mixed drinks which they said were good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I love this place - took 2 of our friends for their 50th. Food is delicious! Loved the pizzas and the beet ricotta salad!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The ambiance was great - loved the two bars - and it’s spacious. The high-beamed ceilings are nice but make it very noisy. The wait staff we had were great. Food came fast and they were on the spot. I guess I’d say that even though the food was good it was spendy for the portions. I don’t need a plateful of food, but something that at least seems like a meal. The duck pasta dish I had was excellent and filling. But my husband had the halibut dish and I swear two bites and it was gone. The beet salad was very good as was the ice-cream dessert. Might like to go back to sit at the bar.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Excellent service and terrific food. The noise level is very HIGH!! I definitely recommend this restaurant. The wine was delicious and the server's suggestions re: drink and food were appreciated. A fine dining experience except for the NOISE!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Food is terrific, service good. Wine list is brief but excellent advice from server. Terrific cocktails

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Servers filled our water glasses so many times, even when we hadn't taken a sip, that it became a joke between us. Odd expediter situation where the tall man kept raising his hand, disconcertingly, for a food runner (we think). They really need a better system that is less disturbing to diners. Food was good but overpriced. We wanted to like it because it's fairly close to where we live, but we won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

My wife and I had a lovely Monday evening dining at the bar to celebrate our 14th anniversary. We met at 6 and left at 8 and thoroughly enjoyed the service, food, ambiance and setting sun. My wife had the chicken- very flavorful and nicely mostly deboned. Asparagus and Cauliflower sides were probably the best part of our meals! Complex, perfection! I had the Denver 10oz steak- it came out nearly bloody, but when it came back it was much better.

Really good drip coffee to follow it all up. We will be back (before our 15th anniversary!)

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 9, 2018

First off, the customer service was FANTASTIC. We were catered to and taken care of from when we walked in. BUT the food was horrible. The pasta dishes were of small portion but also, the taste wasn’t there at all. I would not recommend the food for this reason.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Food wonderful, service was okay. Restaurant loud difficult to have conversation

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

A little spendy, but totally worth it. Professional & friendly servers; amazing cocktails, extensive wine list (though could do with a more generous pour on the individual serving). The chicories salad is delicious. All the pastas are to die for, and the risotto was outstanding. Great ambience and vibrancy to the place. Unusual combinations of foods that all seem to work really well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great menu selection. The Braised boar dish was delicious. Cocktails were well balanced and very enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

as a restaurant that is listed as a top 10 by the Oregonian, and listed by others as the best Italian in Portland, our expectations were high. And it was good, perhaps very good but not as good as all that. Parking is surprisingly available. The restaurant is loud which lots of people like, I guess. the crostini was exceptional. Of course no other bread was offered, sigh. The chicken and pasta were good, but not out of this world good. The desserts were good too, but tiny portions. With so many great places to try it will be a while before we come around again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Evening started off well, but 20 minutes between starters being cleared and entrees hitting the tables, as well as woefully inattentive service once the dining room filled up put quite a damper on the evening. Additionally, overcooking pasta at a place that's specialty is pasta seems odd.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

I love coming to Renata, the food is always amazing and the staff is friendly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The service was knowledgeable and friendly. The food was excellent for dining month.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 30, 2018

While food was great and flavorful, the pasta portions were very small. Especially considering the $20+ price. They also don’t bring bread with oil or butter as one would expect from an Italian restaurant. You even have to purchase sides separately. That all adds up pretty quickly. I had high expectations and was a bit disappointed.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
24

Tweets by Renata