Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Renata

Renata is located in the heart of the burgeoning Central Southeast Industrial district of Portland, Oregon teaming with local artisans, hip eateries, trendy shops and readily accessible from every area in the city. Quickly becoming recognized as one of Portland’s top dining destinations, Renata remains true to its welcoming family-centric roots and neighborhood ethos. Every dish retains the authenticity of its Italian origin, layered with thoughtful and playful interaction from Sigler’s deft hand.
Fire and wood are transformative elements in the cooking process and in the atmosphere of the restaurant. Renata’s open kitchen with its stunning hearth and Italian pizza oven anchor the expansive dining room creating a warm and welcoming focal point for diners. The west side of the restaurant is flooded with
natural light from striking wood cladded accordion doors that in warmer weather, open up onto a large patio, where diners can enjoy alfresco dining inside and out.

626 SE Main Street
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner:
Sunday-Wednesday 5-9pm
Thursday-Saturday 5-10pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 5-6pm
Thursday - Saturday 9-10pm
Sunday 5-9pm

Cross Street:
6th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-2708

Website:
http://www.renatapdx.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Sigler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Renata has two private dining spaces and a patio conducive to cocktail receptions or seated meals. The striking space also lends itself to full-scale weddings and corporate buyouts.

Renata Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (45)
Good for a Date (43)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Authentic (25)
Romantic (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Wood Oven (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Open Kitchen (16)
Business Meals (16)
Fun (15)
Casual (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Seasonal (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Family Style (9)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Tapas (4)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
689 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Sat on the patio and it was too hot until the sun went down. The food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Lovely pasta. The wine list was good, and the dessert amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I love this place. The service is the best in the City. The wine list is superb! The food is inventive and delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We would not recommend this restaurant. We spent over $200 on wine and another $200 on food. We waited at our table after being seated for 15 minutes before any one said a word to us. I had to ask for water. The servers were dressed like they just walked off the street and didn't even have their shirts tucked in. That is fine for tacos on Tuesday but if I am going to drop nearly 500$ on an evening for three people I expect much more.

Would never recommend this place. They have a lot of work to do

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 11, 2017

every time. the best food. every time. and it's why we go back time and time again!! we love renata.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Beautifully prepared fettuccini and pizza crust was excellent. They create a warm and welcoming ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This was our fourth visit to Renata. The menu is always changing. After you ordered several plates the Chef decides the order you will be enjoying them. Delicious but very rich food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 16, 2017

There were 6 of us going out for a family dinner. We were seated in the middle of the restaurant at a nice table and the noise level was moderate. Our food server was excellent at suggesting which plates to share, the number of servings adequate for our table and the amounts were perfect.
The wine list compliments the food very well.
Overall it was a nice evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We love Renata. The food is really great, usually. However for the second time that we've been there the waiter has either talked us out of what we'd like to order, and then what he suggested was really not great... and we ended up ordering what we wanted anyway. This past trip 3 of the 4 of us wanted the Burrata appetizer, and we were strongly discouraged from ordering 3, and he suggested 2 stating "thats an awful lot of cheese for 4 people to share". OK. So we ordered 2... the dishes came and were such incredibly small portions on giant plates that we all started laughing when they were set down on the table. And we ordered a third. So: food = great. Service = over the top Portlandia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Renata is our standby. Food and service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

One of the most amazing meals I've had in a long time! Wow!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food was amazing! Beautiful space design, table setting and plating. Ambiance and noise level was a bit too loud to recommend for a romantic/good date spot (difficult to even hear each other or have a conversation), otherwise this is a great spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

From dinner with friends, to date nights, to a family supper... this place always succeeds.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Love Renata! The food and staff never disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Double birthdays plus out of town guest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 2, 2017

So, so...being vegetarian, Italian food is usually a winner. While good, nostrana and Ava genes seems more mature and has more variety (for vegetarians)...

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Grabbed a quick meal with my 13 year old son. While he was initially unsure of the menu I picked for him and we loved the food! Great night out.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 2, 2017

While I generally liked the food at Renata, I was not bowled over by it. The cost of the food items was high and the taste was good, but not great. Overall, it was a good - but not terrific - experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Wow! What a special find. Delicious food, amazing happy hour deals, a wonderful outdoor patio, and excellent service. We will absolutely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We had an excellent dinner with you Monday night. All of our guests very much enjoyed their dinner. the only complaint was that service was very slow considering we got there fairly early and there were very few guests at tables. We will definitely return

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent, creative, Italian cuisine, outdoor patio is lovely.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Second time at this restaurant found the risotto with braised short ribs way too salty

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Simply the best italian food in Portland. They make their own cheeses, cure their own meats, hand make all pastas, have the best wood fired oven. The staff is helpful, attentive, and polite.
The one downside--- you will not be able to stay on your 1000 calorie a day diet.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Overall Renata was a little bit disappointing. The space is great — a cavernous former industrial building with exposed roof trusses. Unfortunately, they have done nothing to deal with the noise, which bounces around the room as if it were an aircraft hanger. They do have a nice-looking patio, but although we had a reservation, we had not specified "patio", and there was no room for us there. The maîte d' couldn't hear what we were saying, so it was quite a challenge to find an inside table.

Once we were seated, it was about 10 minutes before anyone appeared to take a drinks order. We started with a delicious clear, fresh-tasting Prosecco. The salad was great, the pastas so-so. My partner's beef tortellini was bland; my pesto and morel spaghetti stuck together in clumps and had to be cut up with a knife. I also don't think that this is a great combination — the morels were overwhelmed by the pesto. Neither was terrible, but if we had made them at home we would try to improve them next time. For dessert we had the olive oil cake, which had a great flavour, but was served in small chunks in a bowl as if they had trouble getting it out of the tin.

On the plus side, the waiter was very helpful, and they were able to provide nut-free versions of most of their dishes that came with nuts.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Nice place but quite loud and difficult to carry a conversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Good overall experience. The spring salad and burata plate were very nice. Our main dishes took a little long too arrive, but not so much as to make things unpleasant. My wife had a halibut ravioli whose sauce was so strong with caper and anchovi flavors that it was hard to sense the halibut at all. My bucatini carbonara was delightful. The beef bacon lended a lovely flavor to the dish. Staff was fun and especially attentive to our water needs.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

After drooling over their Instagram account, I finally made it - and it was all I dreamed and more. The location is beautiful, and the food is even better. We had an amazing time, and am already looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our service was incredible (especially with the food allergy requests made) and the flavors and ambiance were spectacular. Made for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

There are few things about Renata, that I just can't get past.
a. Why do the servers push sharing dishes when they are not really small plates but rather traditionally divided up like in any Italian restaurant? Leave it to the customers to share if they like.
b. The noise level particularly if you are sitting close (not next) to a large group is terrible. We were with five people and had to scream at each other. That alone wants me to never return to Renata.
c. The food was okay but not outstanding, the portion sizes were fine but the quality of the food was just okay. The mixed pork plate had maybe two different kinds of pork none of which were really great. The vegetables on that plate were close to raw and way to chewy. The quid ink past was disappointing. The cured sample plate was interesting, there was only very little salmon in a sea of pea purree (or avocado purree) which in itself was good but shouldn't have been the center of the dish.
d. My never ending complaint with Renata. Drink orders take forever to come. It feels like (and we acutually tried that before) you should order your second drink when you receive the first because this is how long it will take!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went here with my girlfriend for anniversary dinner. Food was amazing, as was service and ambiance. Squid ink pasta and halibut were delicious. Great wine choices too.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have only ever had good experiences dining here and this last time was no exception. The menu changes daily and they are always out-doing themselves with the dishes. The food is amazing and they have a great selection of European wines, which in Portland can be a challenge to find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This was my second time to have dinner, the first time was very nice and the service was great, NOT SO MUCH THIS FRIDAY NIGHT. As we set down we were told that we had clear the table by 7 PM as another guest would be waiting. That really set the TONE for what was to be a relaxing dinner with out of town quests,it turned into the server coming over to the table to clear it off almost before we had finished our dinners. I would not recommend this to anyone that was looking for a nice place to relax over a meal ,which is what I thought was the point of going out to eat.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Waters are trained to up sell which is annoying. Otherwise very good.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food is amazing and the waiters are great. However we waited way too long to get our dinner, over an hour from when we ordered. Kind of cranky when it finally came and so hungry we devoured it. It was not slow because they were excessively busy either.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Sooooo delicious.
We had the cured salmon antipasto with perfect snap peas, the risotto, and the chicken.
Simple ingredients, magic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Service was disappointing. One hour for our entree and the waitress actually blamed us because we did not order sharing dishes. Food was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food. Creative but familiar. Each dish was special. Superb wine list. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Never disappoints. Renata is one of our favorite restaurants in the West. Exceptional food and every bite of every dish a marvel. Thanks for another awesome experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was amazing, do not skip the cured salmon on the appetizer menu, all of us loved it. Going as a group and getting to taste most things on the menu was wonderful, and highly recommend it for others. Helps overcome the inability to choose what to eat from a wonderful menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.