About Renata

626 SE Main Street
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Renata is located in the heart of the burgeoning Central Southeast Industrial district of Portland, Oregon teaming with local artisans, hip eateries, trendy shops and readily accessible from every area in the city. Quickly becoming recognized as one of Portland’s top dining destinations, Renata remains true to its welcoming family-centric roots and neighborhood ethos. Every dish retains the authenticity of its Italian origin, layered with thoughtful and playful interaction from Sigler’s deft hand.
Fire and wood are transformative elements in the cooking process and in the atmosphere of the restaurant. Renata’s open kitchen with its stunning hearth and Italian pizza oven anchor the expansive dining room creating a warm and welcoming focal point for diners. The west side of the restaurant is flooded with
natural light from striking wood cladded accordion doors that in warmer weather, open up onto a large patio, where diners can enjoy alfresco dining inside and out.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner:
Sunday-Wednesday 5-9pm
Thursday-Saturday 5-10pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Friday 4-6pm

Cross Street:
6th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-2708

Website:
http://www.renatapdx.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Sigler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Renata Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

Fit for Foodies (173)
Special Occasion (108)
Great for Outdoor Dining (82)
See All
Hot Spot (65)
Neighborhood Gem (62)
Notable Wine List (61)
Good for Groups (61)
Romantic (44)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Wood Oven (21)
Good for a Date (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Kid-friendly (13)
Casual (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Business Meals (11)
Fun (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Family Style (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Seasonal (9)
People Watching (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Authentic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Cozy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Healthy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
446 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was quite terrible. Our pasta co ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was quite terrible. Our pasta course was served late and cold. Our waiter was not attentive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

So good we're already planning to return ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

So good we're already planning to return this weekend! Unforgettable stuffed fried olives are a "must have"! (September 21, 2016)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Have been several times and it's always ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Have been several times and it's always a pleasure. The hiccup this time was the server who relentlessly tried to upsell to the point that it was laughable it was so obvious. He did recommend an excellent bottle of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and wine

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food and wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My partner and I have dined at Renata tw ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My partner and I have dined at Renata twice. Both times we left feeling somewhat disappointed by the experience. The food is fair -- not great, not bad. It's just nothing to write home about. The service is where Renata is truly lacking. On both occasions the staff that we interacted with were somewhat condescending and rude, which took away from the experience. We were there to spend a fair amount on a nice meal and we expected to be treated with more hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

First of all the food was amazing! I wou ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

First of all the food was amazing! I would honestly return for the food alone, however I found the wait staff to be pretentious and over bearing. We had 3-4 waiters at one point. They where very attentive until dinner came. It took over an hour after we where done eating to get a coffee menu let alone to be acknowledged by anyone.

The tables feel like they where on top of each other. I could clearly hear the conversations on both sides of us and felt like I had to more or less yell at my date. Frankly I would not return due to this alone.

Overall I would say it's an acceptable dinner location of your into this form of atmosphere. I found the place by looking for a top restaurant list in Portland. I am not to sure who rated this place as 3rd best in PDX because that's a crock. I would much rather go to nonna emilia any day of the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Outstanding food, service, and a great a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Outstanding food, service, and a great atmosphere! We will be back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was not that special. Our waiter had ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was not that special. Our waiter had zero personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We dined outside. It was a beautiful ni ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We dined outside. It was a beautiful night and very enjoyable. Our waiter was very attentive and had many great recommendations from cocktails to wine to how and what we should order for food. The food was fabulous and the service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, wine, and service! I wou ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wonderful food, wine, and service! I would highly recommend Renata to anyone. Loved every aspect of our dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose Renata because it was listed as ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We chose Renata because it was listed as the top Italian restaurant for 2016 in Portland. While we did enjoy our evening overall, we were not as thrilled with the food as we had hoped to be. First, the positive: the cocktails were interesting and very well made, and the wine list was extensive, offering good choices by the glass as well as by the bottle, though fairly marked up in terms of price. The trout salad and the crostini appetizers were delicious. The service was excellent - the waiter took extra time to explain the small plate concept and offer suggestions. However, the main courses we chose were a little disappointing. The pasta dish - a large, single "raviolo" had too many different flavors going on at the same time, and the pasta itself seemed underdone and doughy. The roasted chicken was much better, both moist and flavorful, though trying to carve it into shared portions was a little messy. Finally, we ordered a grilled peach dessert and a sorbet. The peaches were not great - again too many flavors and textures at once and not even attractive to look at. The sorbet was a ginger-blueberry, but you could only taste the ginger.

Overall, I think they are in that mode of trying to be as unique and experimental as possible, but sometimes simple is better. I'd like to give it another try, possibly just having a drink and appetizer at the bar.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Renata is a beautiful restaurant with gr ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Renata is a beautiful restaurant with great atmosphere and delicious, creative food. Fabulous patio dinning when weather is favorable. good size bar if that is what you want to do. Always an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, People Watching, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Casual elegant dining. Menu is small, b ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Casual elegant dining. Menu is small, but turns over frequently. The staff is helpful and very about both the food and wine selections. The meal is usually served family style at your table, which is a nice change from the norm, though they will happily bring you individual plates if you wish. The food is simply outstanding in both ingredients and execution, and the service is phenomenal. The one drawback is the noise level can make conversation at the table harder than you might want. It isn't cheap, so make your peace with what the bill may be before you go. We had a wonderful meal for 4, including a great bottle of wine, and dessert with coffee, and the bill was about $250...and we're already making plans to return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Business Meals, People Watching, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Family Style, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Renata is exceptional...from the first g ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Renata is exceptional...from the first greeting at the door, through fabulously creative food in a memorable space, to the last goodby as we left..

Chef Matthew presides over a remarkably well trained and friendly staff who cheerfully describe and serve his astonishingly fresh local dishes. Each plate offers a unique assemblage of ingredients that surprise and delight!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Healthy, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal. Love how the food blend ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent meal. Love how the food blends so many flavors & textures. Portions just the right size--you leave pleasantly full but not over-filled. Wait staff was very attentive & knowledgeable about the food menu & the wine menu. Only issue was the noise level; there weren't that many people (early reservation time), but everything seemed to echo & bounce around.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing pastas, great wine selections, a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Amazing pastas, great wine selections, attentive and knowledgable service, Beautiful space to dine in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food. The pastas are heavenly. T ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Awesome food. The pastas are heavenly. The room is very loud when full at dinner time. It was difficult to hear the waiter explaining the options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service, great drinks, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food, great service, great drinks, wine and beer!

We will be back!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff is very attentive and the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The wait staff is very attentive and the food is excellent

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was better than ordinary but lacked ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was better than ordinary but lacked finesse and sometimes too salty

The music played was not appropriate for dinner conversation - who wants rock, pop or alternative while fine dining? - also, the acoustics are terrible ....too much clattering noise

The service was OK - fairly knowledgeable but not much of a professional presence - we never were completely sure who our server was.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Renata is always a great experience. Ser ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Renata is always a great experience. Service is perfect and the food is interesting and well prepared. Presentation is superb. While it leans a little toward the precious, we have never thought they crossed the line and the overall experience is exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was fortunate to get a same day reserv ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I was fortunate to get a same day reservation for my friend and I. We were warmly greeted by Sandra, and were accomodated at a requested window table. Our server was very pleasant and helpful in making recommendations on the menu. The cocktails were a perfect beginning. My Italian style Manhattan was perfect! EVERY item on the food menu we ordered, was delicious and well timed. We would highly recommend Renata to all, and will definitely return for another wonderful dinner night.

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Healthy, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for a gathering. We had 1 ex ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great place for a gathering. We had 1 extra person and they were gracious and very accommodating. We tend to stick to the pastas because they are unique, fresh and delicious. We haven't enjoyed the main courses as much. Cocktails are original and always good. Having the warm kitchen in view adds to the warmth and atmosphere , especially on rainy cold evenings.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food and excellent service. Th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. The food was prepared with care and attention to detail. One of the dishes was their margherita pizza. I have had this style at many Portland landmark restaurants, and this one was the best by far.

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The great food and good staff are oversh ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The great food and good staff are overshadowed by the noise level, which is deafening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual another perfect total experienc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

As usual another perfect total experience. Food exquisite and service to match. Love sitting at bar watching food prep and pizza oven.

Thanks!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent food well prepared excellent s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

excellent food well prepared excellent service with knowledgeable waiters

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food definitely lived up to the hype ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food definitely lived up to the hype. Every dish we had was excellent and enjoyed by all. We took the waiters advise and ordered several dishes and shared them family style. The most unique dish was the deep fried olives that were an excellent appetizer. The salumi board was very good but one of the meats had only 3 pieces so tough to share with four people. Guessing someone mis-counted. The funghi pizza was unusual with the drizzled honey but subtle sweetness worked well with excellent crust. Although the pork chop was flavorful between the bone and more than expected fat, the portion was much less than what was presented. That is probably the American in me that is used to large portions. We were all plenty full and finishing the night with their in-house made limoncello was perfect. My only real complaint would be their wine pricing is definitely too high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

In my top 5 restaurants in Portland! The ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

In my top 5 restaurants in Portland! The pork chop was perfect!

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, but the service ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was very good, but the service was slow and inattentive even for typical Portland service. We had great cocktails and received a nice wine recommendation. The pork sampler was delicious. It just took way too long.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great as always. Pasta is always and imp ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great as always. Pasta is always and impossibly perfectly cooked. Same for risotto. Main courses are always solid. Flavors are creative and keeps the palate wanting more. Bar program is one of the best in Pacific Northwest. Service is alway great, sets the bar high in Portland. This level of service is quite refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only issue is that the menu has prima ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My only issue is that the menu has primarily meat options. It is too limited for a vegetarian or pescetarian. But the salads were very large and delicious.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful ambience. Great food with one ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Wonderful ambience. Great food with one exception: oversalted for my taste (consistently in

three visits; however I returned despite this).

Yes, I will return, but will ask for minimal salt.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Good service, food, modern atmosphere, n ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Good service, food, modern atmosphere, nice interpretation of reliable standards

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Renata quickly turned into our favorite ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Renata quickly turned into our favorite Portland restaurant. Everything that comes out of the kitchen is ridiculous. All of the servers we've had are uniformly professional, friendly, knowledgeable, and detail oriented - without ever being intrusive. Love the atmosphere.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu didn't look like much on line, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The menu didn't look like much on line, but every dish was interesting and delicious. I ordered bread to sop up every last bit of sauce. Though I don't generally get dessert, the budino looked compelling and tasted even better. Go for Renata. You'll be glad you did.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly, efficient service - a cut abov ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Friendly, efficient service - a cut above most Portland restaurants! Excellent food, wonderful ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I live out of state and look forward to ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I live out of state and look forward to Renata every time I travel to Portland - it is just that good. My friends and I love the delicious food, warm ambiance, lovely outdoor seating, friendly folks, great service, delicious and innovative cocktails.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and wonderful service!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing food and wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice! We had a sampling of several ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very nice! We had a sampling of several items, the tuna salad, pizza, salmon and pasta. All were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.