Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Renata

Renata is located in the heart of the burgeoning Central Southeast Industrial district of Portland, Oregon teaming with local artisans, hip eateries, trendy shops and readily accessible from every area in the city. Quickly becoming recognized as one of Portland’s top dining destinations, Renata remains true to its welcoming family-centric roots and neighborhood ethos. Every dish retains the authenticity of its Italian origin, layered with thoughtful and playful interaction from Sigler’s deft hand.
Fire and wood are transformative elements in the cooking process and in the atmosphere of the restaurant. Renata’s open kitchen with its stunning hearth and Italian pizza oven anchor the expansive dining room creating a warm and welcoming focal point for diners. The west side of the restaurant is flooded with
natural light from striking wood cladded accordion doors that in warmer weather, open up onto a large patio, where diners can enjoy alfresco dining inside and out.

626 SE Main Street
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner:
Sunday-Wednesday 5-9pm
Thursday-Saturday 5-10pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 5-6pm
Thursday - Saturday 9-10pm
Sunday 5-9pm

Cross Street:
6th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-2708

Website:
http://www.renatapdx.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Sigler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Renata has two private dining spaces and a patio conducive to cocktail receptions or seated meals. The striking space also lends itself to full-scale weddings and corporate buyouts.

Renata Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (72)
Good for a Date (71)
Creative Cuisine (55)
See All
Wood Oven (52)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Handcrafted Cocktails (41)
Notable Wine List (37)
Open Kitchen (36)
Modern Decor (35)
Local Ingredients (35)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Romantic (34)
Authentic (33)
Bar Seating (33)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for Groups (28)
Fun (24)
Hot Spot (22)
Casual (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Family Style (19)
Business Meals (16)
Seasonal (16)
Happy Hour (14)
Cozy (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
People Watching (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Healthy (6)
Tapas (5)
Great for Lunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

We really enjoyed our dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Good overall experience. The spring salad and burata plate were very nice. Our main dishes took a little long too arrive, but not so much as to make things unpleasant. My wife had a halibut ravioli whose sauce was so strong with caper and anchovi flavors that it was hard to sense the halibut at all. My bucatini carbonara was delightful. The beef bacon lended a lovely flavor to the dish. Staff was fun and especially attentive to our water needs.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our service was incredible (especially with the food allergy requests made) and the flavors and ambiance were spectacular. Made for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

There are few things about Renata, that I just can't get past.
a. Why do the servers push sharing dishes when they are not really small plates but rather traditionally divided up like in any Italian restaurant? Leave it to the customers to share if they like.
b. The noise level particularly if you are sitting close (not next) to a large group is terrible. We were with five people and had to scream at each other. That alone wants me to never return to Renata.
c. The food was okay but not outstanding, the portion sizes were fine but the quality of the food was just okay. The mixed pork plate had maybe two different kinds of pork none of which were really great. The vegetables on that plate were close to raw and way to chewy. The quid ink past was disappointing. The cured sample plate was interesting, there was only very little salmon in a sea of pea purree (or avocado purree) which in itself was good but shouldn't have been the center of the dish.
d. My never ending complaint with Renata. Drink orders take forever to come. It feels like (and we acutually tried that before) you should order your second drink when you receive the first because this is how long it will take!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Went here with my girlfriend for anniversary dinner. Food was amazing, as was service and ambiance. Squid ink pasta and halibut were delicious. Great wine choices too.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I have only ever had good experiences dining here and this last time was no exception. The menu changes daily and they are always out-doing themselves with the dishes. The food is amazing and they have a great selection of European wines, which in Portland can be a challenge to find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was my second time to have dinner, the first time was very nice and the service was great, NOT SO MUCH THIS FRIDAY NIGHT. As we set down we were told that we had clear the table by 7 PM as another guest would be waiting. That really set the TONE for what was to be a relaxing dinner with out of town quests,it turned into the server coming over to the table to clear it off almost before we had finished our dinners. I would not recommend this to anyone that was looking for a nice place to relax over a meal ,which is what I thought was the point of going out to eat.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Waters are trained to up sell which is annoying. Otherwise very good.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food is amazing and the waiters are great. However we waited way too long to get our dinner, over an hour from when we ordered. Kind of cranky when it finally came and so hungry we devoured it. It was not slow because they were excessively busy either.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Sooooo delicious.
We had the cured salmon antipasto with perfect snap peas, the risotto, and the chicken.
Simple ingredients, magic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Service was disappointing. One hour for our entree and the waitress actually blamed us because we did not order sharing dishes. Food was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food. Creative but familiar. Each dish was special. Superb wine list. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Never disappoints. Renata is one of our favorite restaurants in the West. Exceptional food and every bite of every dish a marvel. Thanks for another awesome experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

So good. Was so excited to actually get the chance to dine there. Delicious and great service. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Renata was bustling with celebrating tables on Saturday night. Great cocktails. Small but terrific wine selection. The service was one of the best in Portland... all the waiters were attentive, knowledgeable and very friendly. The food took a long time to arrive, but it was delicious and creative. I would say it was more Northwest Cuisine than Italian, but it was terrific either way. The fresh pastas were perfect. Fantastic use of local seasonal produce. Had a great time- thanks!

Tags: Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always delicious at Renata. This is our go to spot for new guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was fabulous. Service great.
Would like to go once week!

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our third visit to Renata's and they are 3 for 3. Excellent pizza and a creative menu have made this one of our favorite Portland restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had been taken to dinner at Renata by friends a few days before this visit. The manager recognized us, greeted us, and remembered what kind of wine we liked. That first positive impression this visit continued as he visited our table with some wine recommendations.
Our dinner this time with a friend included great service, a very efficient wait staff, and good food. We came early, sat at the bar and found the bar guy well informed and a good conversationalist. Good experience - would go there again without a doubt.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Delicious food. We were visiting and will return to Renata whenever we are in Poertland. The high ceilings and spacious design were better for groups than couples. Noise level was high, so not so cozy or intimate. The food was wonderful and will bring us back again and again. We also admired the floral design. Apparently she is a forager which gave the centerpieces a wild springtime feel. Highly recommend !

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 27, 2017

It was a great experience! Delicious cocktails, main courses and dessert. Se mangia brnne

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The menu Saturday night did not have as much variety as usual. 3 of 6 pasta dishes were made with pork and two of the other three they were out of. Seemed odd at 7:30 on a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great service!! Obviously a well trained and friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Another wonderful meal at Ranata -- thanks! Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food and service were excellent however on the expensive side. We would return to try other menu options.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Awesome service and great food. My only complain would be that there is no baby changer on the restrooms

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Took a dear friend here for her birthday, and what a treat it was for both of us. The service was above top notch, and I look forward to another visit very soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great restaurant for sharing food & trying new dishes. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Very tasty food, great ambiance, Renata is always a go-to for special occasions

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

I have to say that the staff was excellent, attentive and friendly without being overly hovering. Food, atmosphere, overall vibe was all exceptional. Thanks for another great meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

As always Renata was outstanding. With a fantastic ever-changing food menu and delicious craft cocktails, wonderful service and a brilliant atmosphere, there is a lot to love about this restaurant. Our go to on the east side.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 4, 2017

I've always been a fan, but the menu and food were a level beyond this past week. Co-workers from NYC were super impressed and the wine recommendations were spot on.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The asparagus appetizer was just incredibly delicious. We had 2 appetizers and one entree which was a perfect amount of food to share. Everything was delicious, well composed and served timely. The wine we had was an excellent accompaniment. $120.00 for a delicious dinner for 2 was a deal!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Renata has an interesting selection of Italian influenced items. There are 4-5 pastas, 3-4 pizzas, and some roasted items. The pasta is very good, had the agnolotti in the mustard sauce- excellent and a nice sized portion. The carbonara pizza is different, but also very good, and very rich. The wine list features Italy, and has a number of interesting choices. The rest of Europe and the US are also well represented. My only quibble is the wine pricing seems a little high, but then maintaining a diverse list has its costs

Definitely recommended and we're definitely going back

Tags: Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Noise level was so high we could barely hear one another. There is so little fabric , no tablecloths , or whatever to absorb noise. The food was fine, but not for the price , service was very good. Restaurants that join PDX dining month should shine and allow folks to try new places for a set price. I won't go back, mediocre , there are too many great places in Portland that are less money, better food, with more ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Very busy place with good food. We loved the crostini with ricotta and broccolini, and the pork agnolotti. Desserts were delicious and artfully presented. Service did not match the great food. We were seated 15 minutes after our reservation time and it took another 10 minutes for someone to take our drink order. Service improved as the evening went on which is why I gave it 3 stars instead of just 2.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Sadly, this was a disappointing dining experience. We had high expectations, but the food was overpriced and not very flavorful. I love the simplicity of good Italian food, but this restaurant couldn't pull it off. I had the pappardelle, which was totally bland and the noodles were heavy. The pork agnolotti was overwhelmed by the mustard sauce, making it difficult to taste anything else. The pizza was good. And the roast chicken was a small portion but pretty tasty. The crab appetizer was tart and lacked flavor as well. The crostini apps were delicious.

The service was not very good either! We were a party of four and we were there during Portland dining month, so you would have expected them to move things along in order to get through the waiting line. We arrived at 5:30 and didn't leave until after 8pm! We had to ask for refills of bread, wine, and water multiple times. Dessert was tasty but it took forever. We left feeling sleepy and somewhat frustrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Loved everything about Renata!! Great drinks & wonderful food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Exceptional customer service!!! Thanks for being a part of Dining Month!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Food was delicious! Service was outstanding! Looking forward to dining here again soon!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.