About Renata

626 SE Main Street
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Renata is located in the heart of the burgeoning Central Southeast Industrial district of Portland, Oregon teaming with local artisans, hip eateries, trendy shops and readily accessible from every area in the city. Quickly becoming recognized as one of Portland’s top dining destinations, Renata remains true to its welcoming family-centric roots and neighborhood ethos. Every dish retains the authenticity of its Italian origin, layered with thoughtful and playful interaction from Sigler’s deft hand.
Fire and wood are transformative elements in the cooking process and in the atmosphere of the restaurant. Renata’s open kitchen with its stunning hearth and Italian pizza oven anchor the expansive dining room creating a warm and welcoming focal point for diners. The west side of the restaurant is flooded with
natural light from striking wood cladded accordion doors that in warmer weather, open up onto a large patio, where diners can enjoy alfresco dining inside and out.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner:
Sunday-Wednesday 5-9pm
Thursday-Saturday 5-10pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 5-6pm
Thursday - Saturday 9-10pm
Sunday 5-9pm

Cross Street:
6th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-2708

Website:
http://www.renatapdx.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Sigler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Renata Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (40)
Good for a Date (36)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Wood Oven (25)
Open Kitchen (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Romantic (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Modern Decor (20)
Authentic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Business Meals (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Casual (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Family Style (11)
Seasonal (11)
Cozy (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Fun (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Healthy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Private Room (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Organic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
554 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic pork shoulder & margherita piz ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic pork shoulder & margherita pizzas. Chicory salad outstanding! Great selections of wine.

Tags: Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Valentine's Day special menu was out ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

The Valentine's Day special menu was outstanding. The imaginative dishes were subtly flavored. My wife and I had seven of the eight available courses. The service for the four course meal was nicely paced. A wonderful evening.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I both enjoyed (and shared) ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I both enjoyed (and shared) wonderful meals in a perfect atmosphere with attentive, gracious service. We loved every minute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it. We had great service and an ex ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Loved it. We had great service and an excellent meal. Would definitely recommend for a date night. Good prices for large portions specifically with pastas.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a resident of Portland for 20 years, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

As a resident of Portland for 20 years, Renata is rapidly becoming my favorite restaurant in Portland. I've been 4 times now and I am always impressed by the quality of the cuisine, service, and atmosphere.

Tags: , Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding dinner. The food was excell ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Outstanding dinner. The food was excellent, hot, presented well and arrived quite quickly. I would certainly recommend it and return for another excellent dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time visit and absolutely fantasti ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

First time visit and absolutely fantastic experience!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing dinner. We love famil ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We had an amazing dinner. We love family style dining, because you want to be able to taste it all! Everything was so fresh and delicious. The space is lovely for a intimate dinner and also works great with kids. Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Besides waiting 30 minutes to be seated ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Besides waiting 30 minutes to be seated and a totally indifferent hostess ... the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The waiter continued to interrupt until ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The waiter continued to interrupt until we ordered appetizers. Clearly, we were not ready. Also, the food was not the standard we have found at Portland's top restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A very unique place. The dining room al ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

A very unique place. The dining room alone suggested that this was a different place. I tried some foods that I wouldn't normally eat that were excellent. Well prepared and presentation was great. Our waiter had excellent tips/suggestion about some of the offerings such as some of the prepared foods could be shared (which is what my wife and I like to do) and others maybe not so much. We were very satisfied with the entire package: dining room, service, food and waiters.

Tags: , Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated immediately in a choice p ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We were seated immediately in a choice private spot for two. Wonderful cocktails. The chicory salad with pine nuts was fabulous - more than we could eat for a first course. Pizza and chicken had everything going for them. The service was attentive and gracious. We are going there again at the first opportunity.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was nice. Food was good but a little ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

It was nice. Food was good but a little salty. The pasta had good flavor but a little thick so the sauce couldn't stick to it. Over all, it was good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed a lovely dinner at Renata on m ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I enjoyed a lovely dinner at Renata on my first visit to Portland. I was fortunate enough to be seated at the Chef's counter over-looking the kitchen. The view of the open fire oven was really delightful. Not only were my dining companion and I toasty warm the whole time, but also the view of the dishes being prepared over open flame was interesting and fun. The dishes are diverse and delicious, and I would recommend this to anyone looking for an excellent dining option in Portland.

The hostess was very polite, and the service was attentive but not smothering.

The ambience is rather dark - you'll need your iPhone flashlight to read the menu.

Noise level is moderate and very accommodating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A way too noisy italian restaurant servi ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A way too noisy italian restaurant serving average food in a casual setting. If you expect fine dining go elsewhere. Good wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service and food!

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

How is it you can get it all right? Well ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

How is it you can get it all right? Well after experiencing Renata I know it can be done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Third time at Renata so I guess we are r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Third time at Renata so I guess we are regulars now. Introduced Renata to my son and his girlfriend and they were blown away.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Renata is our favorite restaurant in Por ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Renata is our favorite restaurant in Portland! We ordered a couple of things to share. The plates that we loved the most were: Chicory salad, quatro formaggio pizza,.

Tags: Romantic, , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we really enjoyed ourselves. the food wa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

we really enjoyed ourselves. the food was wonderful. portions were ver good size to share. wait staff friendly and knowledgeable (although they took my salad to be boxed and it didnt get in my togo bag. oh well) i will definitely go back. pizzas looked amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We liked the atmosphere at the restauran ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We liked the atmosphere at the restaurant and the staff was very nice. The meal started off well with appetizers and salad and bread. Unfortunately, two of the main dishes we ordered were so salty we could not enjoy them. Not sure if I would try it again because of that. We did provide feedback so maybe it will be taken into consideration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We visited during the snow day! Great dr ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We visited during the snow day! Great drinks the food was almost too creative. But it was delicious. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The service and the food were great. The ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The service and the food were great. The interior space is wonderful.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pheasant tagliatelle and the hot tod ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The pheasant tagliatelle and the hot toddy were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about our dinner at Renata to ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything about our dinner at Renata tonight was on point--our good spirited server Luke (and all the other Renata FOH staff, including the crew member who helped us pick an amazing bottle of wine) provided us with killer service while remaining personable. The food was amazing per usual (we had the salami board, the polenta ravioli with oxtail ragu, the balsamic bucatini with creme fraiche, and the pepperoni pizza--the pasta was literally outstanding, making the pizza pale in comparison, but it was still exceptional). The drinks, cocktails and the bottle of wine, were prompt (I always recommend the negroni flight for any negroni lover out there), and our water glasses were always full. We only ordered dessert after we decided not to order another pasta dish off the dinner menu--the chocolate hazelnut torte and the Meyer lemon pavlova were perfectly crafted to end our meal. I couldn't have asked for a better experience overall, and we were only disappointed that the chef, Matt Sigler, wasn't around afterward so we could congratulate him in person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed one of the best meals of our ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We enjoyed one of the best meals of our lives at Renata. The food and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely ambience and lighting provides a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lovely ambience and lighting provides a sense of comfort, though it is a bit tough to see the food in low light. I think the visual aspect is important as part of the tasting process. The service was almost choreographed, waitstaff attentive and on cue. Servers provided new cutlery for each course, but I never saw a hand cross my plate. Good old fashioned courtesy and manners. Food was a stellar experience, fois gras was my favorite course, flavors so varied and complementary. I could eat here often! One of the best meals in Portland, with unrivaled service.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My eyes and taste buds are always thrill ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My eyes and taste buds are always thrilled with ever dish they present. The service is always on point!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good experience. Great food for a s ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very good experience. Great food for a small menú. The brócolini pizza esa very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Renata is one of our favorites. Never di ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Renata is one of our favorites. Never disappoints!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience is industrial Portland, the ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The ambience is industrial Portland, the servings family style, but the food is elegant and refined. One of the best meals we've ever had in PDX.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always wonderful service; always delicio ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always wonderful service; always delicious food and always new things on the menu.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Menu is unique. In the end my meal w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The Menu is unique. In the end my meal was over cooked and not a prime cut for A 30.00 Chop.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Overall a great restaurant. We have bee ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Overall a great restaurant. We have been several times and the menu has been different each time. Also, I like this place because it has a menu unlike any other in town.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

There was as an ice storm, so servers we ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

There was as an ice storm, so servers were bored. I had to clutch my last sip of wine. We swatted eager hands away from our dessert only to have another server whisk it away 20 seconds later. We we told we'd be "talked to" about Nebbiolo. That sounded ominous so we picked our own wine and the waiter warned us we might not like it (it was fine, I think he was disappointed he didn't get to give us his wine lecture). the food: 1 good salad, 1 odd. pizza: weird. Too sweet tomato sauce, odd oily coating in mouth. Cod: no flavor. Squash pasta: rookie mistake. Is gross: too sweet with butter. Pavlova was great, not relaxing to defend it from roving servers. We had very fragrant lilies displayed in eating area. I'm baffled why you'd put flowers like that in a restaurant, they were distracting.

The interior was interesting. I would try it again: maybe service is better on a normal night. Next time I would try sitting at the bar (away from the flowers).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Chefs counter was fun to sit at! Nice an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Chefs counter was fun to sit at! Nice and warm but fun to watch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great atmosphere, busy chatty vibe. Coc ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great atmosphere, busy chatty vibe. Cocktails very good, service great. Halibut ravioli delicious. Broccoli pizza just so-so. Very lemony, overpowered. Huge pizza though... I could only eat half. Would recommend and would def go back!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Much as I would like to love Renata, the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Much as I would like to love Renata, the quality of its food does not keep up its end. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, and the service has always been very good. However, the pasta dishes that we had on our last visit ranged from excellent (beet pasta with short rib ragu) to ordinary (bolognese).

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic food, great service, nice déco ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fantastic food, great service, nice décor, a little loud for conversation with table of 4 (but it was a busy Saturday night). Will definitely go back and would highly recommend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Sat 30 minutes after reservation. Food ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Sat 30 minutes after reservation. Food was delicious, but small portions left me hungry after spending $100 and $20 tip for two people for appetizer, two main courses and two beverages each

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.