About Renata

626 SE Main Street
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Renata is located in the heart of the burgeoning Central Southeast Industrial district of Portland, Oregon teaming with local artisans, hip eateries, trendy shops and readily accessible from every area in the city. Quickly becoming recognized as one of Portland’s top dining destinations, Renata remains true to its welcoming family-centric roots and neighborhood ethos. Every dish retains the authenticity of its Italian origin, layered with thoughtful and playful interaction from Sigler’s deft hand.
Fire and wood are transformative elements in the cooking process and in the atmosphere of the restaurant. Renata’s open kitchen with its stunning hearth and Italian pizza oven anchor the expansive dining room creating a warm and welcoming focal point for diners. The west side of the restaurant is flooded with
natural light from striking wood cladded accordion doors that in warmer weather, open up onto a large patio, where diners can enjoy alfresco dining inside and out.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner:
Sunday-Wednesday 5-9pm
Thursday-Saturday 5-10pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Friday 4-6pm

Cross Street:
6th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-2708

Website:
http://www.renatapdx.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Sigler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Renata Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

Fit for Foodies (69)
Special Occasion (48)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Wood Oven (44)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Open Kitchen (39)
Handcrafted Cocktails (37)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Notable Wine List (31)
Modern Decor (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Local Ingredients (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Good for Groups (25)
Romantic (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Business Meals (23)
Authentic (22)
Family Style (22)
Casual (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Seasonal (17)
Fun (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Cozy (14)
People Watching (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Comfort Food (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Healthy (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Organic (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Fireplace (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (3)
Spicy (3)
Tapas (3)
Private Room (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been to Renata several times and ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been to Renata several times and it is never a disappointment! The food, service and atmosphere are awesome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful evening at Renata's to celebra ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful evening at Renata's to celebrate our son's engagement.

We shared smoked sturgeon as an appetizer to start our mouths watering. A beautiful beet and pomegranate salad with feta and charred greens followed.

Roasted chicken, beef brisket ravioli, pizza, octopus cavatelli,

Every plate was perfection all presented by a wonderfully professional server.

Thank you again for a memorable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All the food is on point and the service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

All the food is on point and the service is impeccable as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've eaten here several times , mostly ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We've eaten here several times , mostly soon after they opened. Went back hoping normal opening kinks had been worked out, but were disappointed. It was excessively noisy, remarkably slow service, , and food disappointing (we had the Burrasca, a pizza, a pasta dish and desert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Beautiful space. Love that there's parki ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Beautiful space. Love that there's parking. Id like to see more vegetarian options on the menu. And the food took over an hour from the time our party of 6 ordered & it wasn't that busy. And they forgot an entree. That said, what we did order was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Inventive menu, delicious food using loc ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Inventive menu, delicious food using locally sourced ingredients--absolutely amazing (and unique) cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the more unique places I have be ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 29, 2016

One of the more unique places I have been. The spoke-like arrangement of the tables is imaginative, and suggests family style while affording privacy as well. Large vases of fresh flowers are placed about. Menu items are unusual, creative, and tasty. Everything we had was good. The high wood ceilings kept the noise at a comfortable, conversational level.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful space, wonderful food, but ver ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Beautiful space, wonderful food, but very dark. Would like to have been able to read the menu and see the creative servings. A little dreary on a dark rainy night.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a birthday dinner and the food wa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We had a birthday dinner and the food was amazing. We also enjoyed the handcrafted cocktails, they were so good!! We definitely will return.

The staff was also so friendly and helpful in explaining the different options on the menu.

I highly recommend Renata for a unique and delicious dining experience.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Organic, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The most accommodating, friendly, knowle ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The most accommodating, friendly, knowledgeable and engaging staff. The food was incredible, inventive and delicious. Easily the best dining experience I have had in Portland this year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disappointed in our meal. T ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We were very disappointed in our meal. The pizza was the best part. There were four of us and none of us like the appetizer or the salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Renata is one of our favorites in Portla ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Renata is one of our favorites in Portland. Always great service and a fantastic menu that changes every day. Great drinks and wine selection. By far and away one of the best values as most plates are under $35.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, not great especially ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food was good, not great especially when considering how pricey it was.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Casual, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was incredible -- highly recomm ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was incredible -- highly recommend the Salumi Agnolotti. The server recommended we have our meal family style rather than ordering individual plates and having those come out in courses. This was a great idea and added to fostering a more intimate experience in a busy restaurant. The wine list was great, although we didn't check this before arriving and were a bit surprised to find only 1 bottle under $40 on the menu, most averaging around $75. That said, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal, it reminded me of Parisian neighborhood restaurants!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my niece to Renata for birthday din ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Took my niece to Renata for birthday dinner. Beautiful space, great food and just right service. The server met every need but didn't intrude. Yes, it was more speedy than I normally like, but it was, indeed, special. The tortellini past dish was amazing. The flavors were layered and distinct throughout the dish.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First couple of times we dined here the ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

First couple of times we dined here the food was great, but the service was a bit slow or inconsistent. That seems to have been completely addressed, service was impeccable this visit. Could not find a single thing to complain about if we tried. Well done.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Renata is one of my favorite portland ea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Renata is one of my favorite portland eateries. The food is spectacular. They have a great wine selection and cocktail menu, and it has a cool atmosphere. I would highly recommend it to anyone who lives in Portland or is visiting.

Tags: Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Family Style, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food! was worried about service as ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 13, 2016

great food! was worried about service as a friend related a poor experience, but had a wonderful meal and experience. i still think the noise level at the vast majority of restaurants is too loud. if u want to meet friends to talk and carry on in a large group, go to a bar, better yet, go to someone's house and avoid the crazy liquor mark up.

but going out for good food and being able to talk to your friend without yelling, priceless now! Vibe don't count when so many choices in Portland.

back to the food, unique, inventive, xcellent.

recommend highly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sadly not up to usual standard. I've be ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Sadly not up to usual standard. I've been to Renata more than a dozen times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Not worth the hype. Slow service. Wait ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Not worth the hype. Slow service. Wait time even with a reservation. Better pastas and small bites cheaper all over Portland.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Renata nails it every time. Their handma ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Renata nails it every time. Their handmade pastas are the best in the city. We love meeting friends here, service, cocktails, everything is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second trip to Renata and i ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was our second trip to Renata and it did not disappoint. The chicken liver pate was very good, though not as good as 3 doors down. The halibut was well prepared though they left some skin on giving it too much of a fish tast. My wife's pasta dish was very good. She had some tart for dessert and since I didn't have any I can only judge by the smile on her face.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was outstanding, we love this r ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was outstanding, we love this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So we had pretty high expectations given ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

So we had pretty high expectations given that this was restaurant of the year last year. Maybe we should have adjusted. Beautiful restaurant but overall experience was "just okay". We started with bread (basically $6 for 2 pieces and butter/olive oil which was a little ridiculous). And brussel sprouts which were good but $8 for a small bowl. Our entrees were a pasta and pizza. Both very tasty but our pizza was a little burnt. I almost sent it back but couldn't be bothered. We each had a cocktail and a glass of wine, no dessert - with tip $120. Seems a bit much for what we got - Nostrana and Ava Gene's are still my top two favorites - better quality and value at both options. Sorry Renata - I want to jump on the bandwagon but can't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were given a gift certificate to Rena ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We were given a gift certificate to Renata about a year ago and never go to use it until now. We were going to a play in Portland and decided to give it a try, since we were going to be downtown anyway. We did not know what to expect, since we are not know as "foodies", but were pleasantly surprised at Renata. The service was impeccable as was the food.

We had a very interesting salad consisting of apples, gingerbread crumbles, and balsamic vinegar, followed by a margarita pizza and a delicious halibut entree, all of which we shared. Our server, Aaron, spaced the dishes out so we could enjoy each individually. There was more than enough food for two and, in fact, we took half the pizza home.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the Sunday supper. It was delicious ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Had the Sunday supper. It was delicious and just the right amount of food. The service was attentive and friendly. I would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful high end place. A little lou ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Wonderful high end place. A little loud when full. But it's well worth the noise to get such a delicious dinner. And the service has always been stellar. Plan on spending some $$. But well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

We had way too many servers. Three sepa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had way too many servers. Three separate people asked us if we wanted dessert within a minute. Several people asked us about drinks and we didn't have a chance to finish looking at the menu. It was overkill like I've never seen at a restaurant before. That being said, the food was excellent. I recommend the pasta. The halibut fritters were good, too!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First time at Renata, celebrating a birt ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

First time at Renata, celebrating a birthday. Great ambiance, love the seating & table arrangements. MENU was innovative and food was top notch. Wait- person recommended "family style" so we could experience more dishes. We did 2 appetizers and 4 main dishes. WE brought 2 bottles of our own wine. Corking fee was $20, so worth it. Service was sensational, accommodation, not overbering. Overall, a satisfying, delicious and enjoyable time was had by all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The noise level was the biggest downfal ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The noise level was the biggest downfall of this restaurant. Would not go back because of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Had a good dinner at Renata and the serv ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Had a good dinner at Renata and the server was great but the noise level is just over the top and it wasn't even full. There were four of us and we did the family style thing - shared some starters - great fried olives, a salad , a order of brussel sprouts - yummy, two pasta dishes and a main. I think they oversalt some dishes but not to the point of being inedible...its a fine line! I wasn't crazy about Leek Ash Chitarra With Bacon, clams, black garlic, chili. In theory it sounds great but it just didn't come together and the salt was on the edge of too much. The Polenta Ravioli with sugo, cornbread crumble was great and the Duck Confit Gratinato with pork sausage, heirloom beans, grilled pugliese bread was good but more like a cassoulet with out much duck. Overall the portion sizes are on the smaller size but we did not leave hungry!

The desert we shared was good and not overly sweet - Bee Local Honey Budino, Dark chocolate mousse, butterscotch, chocolate peanut butter crumb, bee pollen.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have eaten here before and thought th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have eaten here before and thought the food was worth a second trip. This visit we were not

impressed with the service we received. They went through a rotation of 3 different wait people

during the time we were there . And right after they brought the cheese plate appetizer they also brought our salad. My husband had to tell them to slow down the courses. It seemed like they were in a hurry to get rid of us even though the restaurant wasn't full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Meal was wonderful. Service was great. L ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Meal was wonderful. Service was great. Location is great. Acoustics inside of the restaurant sucks because too much clatter and background noise. Can't have a productive conversation. Had difficulty even hearing the sever explain the menu. Noise Needs to be addressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful meal. Went with parents visiti ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Wonderful meal. Went with parents visiting from New York and 2 small children. Kids loved the oven and pizza. Adults loved the food, atmosphere. Everybody enjoyed their food and had a terrific time. Food is outstanding!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious! One of the best meals I've ha ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicious! One of the best meals I've had in Portland. Each dish was dynamically tasty, customer service was on point, and the energy of the restaurant was comfortable/not fussy yet neat and fairly refined. From ingredients to customer service all seemed intentional.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and attentive service. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great atmosphere and attentive service. Terrific pizza (perfectly baked), delicious and light escarole salad (not bitter at all!) and comforting vegetable sides. The attempts on seasonal offerings were at times too earnest this time around, BUT that's also my personal light aversion to fall flavors. Killer cocktail menu. Overall a wonderful spot for dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoyed that the menu choice are uniqu ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I enjoyed that the menu choice are unique compared to other Italian restaurant in Portland. While I thought this would be a small restaurant in an older building with street parking, Renata in a newer building and a small parking lot. I also thought the value was very good and not over priced at all.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food we just had horrible servic ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Amazing food we just had horrible service from our own waiter so other people kept asking us if we needed anything! We ended up giving our tip to someone else.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Every course was excellent!

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Every course was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely coming back. Loved the lamb r ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Definitely coming back. Loved the lamb raviolis, pizza and desserts!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Organic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.