About Renata

626 SE Main Street
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Renata is located in the heart of the burgeoning Central Southeast Industrial district of Portland, Oregon teaming with local artisans, hip eateries, trendy shops and readily accessible from every area in the city. Quickly becoming recognized as one of Portland’s top dining destinations, Renata remains true to its welcoming family-centric roots and neighborhood ethos. Every dish retains the authenticity of its Italian origin, layered with thoughtful and playful interaction from Sigler’s deft hand.
Fire and wood are transformative elements in the cooking process and in the atmosphere of the restaurant. Renata’s open kitchen with its stunning hearth and Italian pizza oven anchor the expansive dining room creating a warm and welcoming focal point for diners. The west side of the restaurant is flooded with
natural light from striking wood cladded accordion doors that in warmer weather, open up onto a large patio, where diners can enjoy alfresco dining inside and out.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Northwest, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner:
Sunday-Wednesday 5-9pm
Thursday-Saturday 5-10pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Friday 4-6pm

Cross Street:
6th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 954-2708

Website:
http://www.renatapdx.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Sigler

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Renata Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (161)
special occasion (99)
great for outdoor dining (72)
See All
notable wine list (61)
hot spot (58)
good for groups (57)
neighborhood gem (50)
romantic (39)
vibrant bar scene (21)
kid-friendly (17)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (4)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
374 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner at ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner at Renata to celebrate our anniversary and we had a wonderful experience. Food was delicious and the service was prompt, friendly and courteous. We will definitely come back for another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Due to a "glitch," one of our entrées ca ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Due to a "glitch," one of our entrées came out way early. The staff was super apologetic and gave us dessert on the house. The food was nicely executed and delicious. We'd definitely do it again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

After reading many of the reviews, I was ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 7 days ago

After reading many of the reviews, I was very interested, but now I see the average Portlander obviously cares more about style than substance, because this was an enormous disappointment. Food quality was average at best. Two very uninspired pasta entrees as well as overcooked, - bordering on burnt bread

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

I have never ever been disappointed with ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I have never ever been disappointed with a meal here. The staff is delightful and makes you feel like you are not only welcome but they are delighted to serve you. This is my go to spot for a romantic dinner, and out-of-town guest, or when I just want something incredibly delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Renata was the perfect spot for our anni ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Renata was the perfect spot for our anniversary - romantic, good service, and outstanding food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as usual. Friendlier staff w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food as usual. Friendlier staff with a smile would be appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great service and food!!! Highly recomme ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great service and food!!! Highly recommend the pastas. We had two and they were both amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cocktails were great. Appetizers were g ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Cocktails were great. Appetizers were great. Salads were great. Pastas were great.

Service was perfect. Space if very comfortable to enjoy our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

After the glowing reviews we expected so ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

After the glowing reviews we expected something special. What we got was asked to move from our reserved table in order to seat a larger party, slow and indifferent rolling servers, a server who did not know wine at all, mediocre food but the drinks were decent. The lasagnetta was all cheese and little meet and of indifferent flavor. The seafood risotto was way too salty and short on the seafood. I think you get the picture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

I think this place is overrated. The spa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I think this place is overrated. The space is beautiful, and the service is cheerful and pleasant, if somewhat spotty (our waitperson forgot to bring us a couple of things that we ordered. No big deal - we weren't charged for them, but still . . ) So ambience and service - good.

But the food is not what I'd been led to expect. I thought it would be fabulous. But it's not. We had pizza, and it didn't hold up, IMO, to Ken's Artisan Pizza, Cibo, Lucca, or Apizza Scholls, all less expensive and less pretentious than this restaurant. Maybe the pasta is worth coming for - I don't know, since we didn't have it. But if it's great wood-fired oven pizza you're looking for, go someplace else.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Some of the most professional and attent ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Some of the most professional and attentive, without being overbearing, service I've experienced in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This was the 6 or 7th time my wife and I ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was the 6 or 7th time my wife and I have dined at Renata. Love everything about the restaurant except their push to make it a family style ordering venue. Our main waiter emphasized and encouraged us to order family style multiple times. It made it awkward for us and the waiter as we were not interested in ordering in that fashion. Otherwise Renata did not disappoint, excellent service and delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Tucked away in an industrial area of Por ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Tucked away in an industrial area of Portland across the river, Renata is worth the trip. An airy space with interestingly designed seating and a nice deck. Welcoming hostess and staff. Delicious house pastas. Reasonable prices. Three of us sampled wine, olive medley, cheese plate, and three pasta dishes and all were excellent. Our servers were attentive but allowed us an extended time to visit with each other before and after ordering. A highlight of my trip to Portland.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time dining here. It was a bir ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Our first time dining here. It was a birthday celebration and we not disappointed!

Good, service & ambiance couldn't have been better. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely superb. We orde ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was absolutely superb. We ordered something from every part of the menu and shared it. All was delicious and beautifully presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

See Yelp! reviews.. but exceptional.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

See Yelp! reviews.. but exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We were disappointed that at least three ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were disappointed that at least three of the menu items were no longer available when we arrived.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My dinner at Renata was amazing. The wai ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My dinner at Renata was amazing. The wait staff was exemplary and very attentive throughout. I thought the wine list was bold and the food was really extraordinary. I thoroughly enjoyed the mixed lettuces, saffron tortellini, and the chocolate yeast cake for dessert. I can see why it was in the top 10 of the best Portland restaurants list for 2016. A must!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service is stealth like -unobtrusive & y ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Service is stealth like -unobtrusive & yet attentive.

Food reasonably priced & tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried to push all the most expensive win ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Tried to push all the most expensive wines. Didn't have any bread but charged us for some very marginal olives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

nice restaurant. modern decor. open ki ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

nice restaurant. modern decor. open kitchen. Pizzas were excellent. Pasta was house made. A little pricey but good service. Dessert was too salty. overall a good meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Freakish strange waiter explained oddbal ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Freakish strange waiter explained oddball family style concept- still not sure what he said because the place has terrible acoustics, could barely hear anything anyone said during the entire meal.

Food was very good- family style... NOT so much. Plates are normal sizes but your order comes out randomly one at a time so your forced to share

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

6 of us was perfect. able to try many d ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

6 of us was perfect. able to try many different taste treats. a bit noisy...so with a bigger group I think it would be hard to hear. service very good and food excellent. reasonable price. we will go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a pretty quiet table in a lovely ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a pretty quiet table in a lovely space. Everything was very good to excellent. Highly recommend. Our server was very helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, interesting combinations for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Good food, interesting combinations for the pasta. Portions are a decent size. Drinks are delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I enjoyed my first experience at Renata. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I enjoyed my first experience at Renata. The ambiance is beautiful, the cocktail and wine lists were well-matched to the food menu, and the food itself was very good and served in larger-than-expected (but still reasonable) portions. Overall a very positive experience, and I will definitely return to try out their happy hour and their patio on a warmer night.

Two downsides to my experience: 1. The food took too long to come out -- I drank an entire cocktail (at a moderate pace, not like a crazy person) before our appetizer of caprese salad arrived, which seemed quite slow to me. 2. I had a chili and sausage spaghetti dish, which didn't seem all that spicy to me at the time, but it gave me indigestion. TMI, I know, but it affected my opinion of the food.

In any case, I'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent food, excellent drinks, excell ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent food, excellent drinks, excellent service. The bartenders took the time to describe cocktails in more detail, and then allowed us to transfer the bar tab to the table. Waiter had great suggestions that allowed a group of 4 to share several items and still left room for dessert. My only complaint is that I don't live in Portland so can't visit again the the foreseeable future.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the Negroni and Old Fashi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Really enjoyed the Negroni and Old Fashioned flights. Nice to taste variations withou committing to a whole cocktail. Food and service was fantastic as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Renata's changing menu is always a treat ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Renata's changing menu is always a treat. Starters, fresh pasta, pizza, and grilled items are consistently fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very enjoyable experience. The ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a very enjoyable experience. The waiter was very knowledgable in describing not only the food menu but the wine list also. Have my wife a few samples of wine to try before scoring on something.

The food was great. We ended up getting three courses to share which turned out ok but had a bunch of leftovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Renata is always a big hit with everyone ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Renata is always a big hit with everyone! Affordable, incredibly tasty food (pizza) and always pleasant and attentive service. Unsure how you can have $30 main courses alongside of $15 pizzas in Portland but it works and is so delicious. Thank you again for a nice 40th birthday meal for 6 of us with varied tastes and budgets :)

Tags: child friendly, fit for foodies, group bookings, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent presentation, innovative sauce ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Excellent presentation, innovative sauces and pairings, everything delicious.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastic--one of the best ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food was fantastic--one of the best meals I've had in Portland. We had the beet salad, which was unlike any other; it's a must. The pasta was fabulous as well. Even the bread was great! I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The dining area is too LOUD! Music too ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The dining area is too LOUD! Music too LOUD. Really difficult to have a conversation. Otherwise, I love Renata.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Renata makes yummy chicken and risotto. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Renata makes yummy chicken and risotto. Portions are large. We loved the mixed green salad.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

This was my second visit to Renata. It ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was my second visit to Renata. It was as good or better than my first visit 8/15. Seating was immediate, wait staff appeared immediately to offer water and take drink order. My guests (two from Malibu the other from Vancouver BC) were simply charmed by the setting, interior design and menu. We ordered both the salumi and cheese boards, but worried it was too much food. When it all disappeared before our entries arrived we were amused. They were simply delicious. We ordered the chicken, a pizza and squid ink/shrimp pasta and shared them around. Marvelous!! We had a simple French Rose...two bottles! Highly recommended...you have to go there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took way too long to be served but once ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Took way too long to be served but once waited on the waiter was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I've now had three of the best meals I'v ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I've now had three of the best meals I've eaten at Renata. Creative cocktails, brilliant uses of layered flavors and textures in their food, and fantastic service -- what more could you want? I've not had anything there that hit a wrong note and they certainly do some adventurous things with salads, pasta, and cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is consistently phenomenal

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food is consistently phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Renata has fast become my new favorite d ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Renata has fast become my new favorite destination dining place in Portland. I'm pretty hard-headed when it comes to jumping on restaurant band wagons and have eaten at many "highly recommended" places that I think are over-hyped. Renata, however, lives up to the hype and delivers beyond expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.