About Renaissance Cafe

210 North Center Street
Assaria, KS 67416
View Larger Map

Authentic Northern Italian Cuisine. Including in house made breads, pastas and desserts. Exciting menu of steaks, chops, seafood and other surprises.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
2nd St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(785) 822-6750

Website:
http://www.renaissancecafeassaria.com/

Executive Chef:
Shana Everhart

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Penne With Voka Sauce And Steak Tips - Renaissance Cafe, Assaria, KS
  • Grilled Trout With Cucumber Avocado Reliah - Renaissance Cafe, Assaria, KS
  • Liver And Onions - Renaissance Cafe, Assaria, KS
  • Green Eggs and Ham - Renaissance Cafe, Assaria, KS
Penne With Voka Sauce And Steak Tips - Renaissance Cafe, Assaria, KS
Grilled Trout With Cucumber Avocado Reliah - Renaissance Cafe, Assaria, KS
Liver And Onions - Renaissance Cafe, Assaria, KS
Green Eggs and Ham - Renaissance Cafe, Assaria, KS

Renaissance Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Kansas City / Kansas
Special Occasion
Kansas City / Kansas
Italian
Kansas City / Kansas
Best Restaurants in Salina ›

Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
See All
Romantic (24)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Historic (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Cozy (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Authentic (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Casual (10)
Fun (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Seasonal (6)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our third time there and and has been al ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our third time there and and has been always awesome and delicious! The beef tenderloin duo is transcendent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine tasting dinner was very good, t ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

The wine tasting dinner was very good, the service was family with an edge, and the wines fit their courses superbly. In all, it was s very good night!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We had dinner at the Renaissance Cafe du ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had dinner at the Renaissance Cafe during the 4 course dinner and wining pairing event. Each course was paired with wine and we enjoyed the experience tremendously.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are always excellen ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food and service are always excellent . This special event was even better than our normal visits and we look forward to doing it again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we had tasted wonderful. Grea ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Everything we had tasted wonderful. Great for a special evening! Fantastic waitress!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rene, our server, was personable and kno ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Rene, our server, was personable and knowledgeable--very pleasant.

My wife and I are part-time residents of Lindsborg and visit the Renaissance for dinner at least four times each year.

The menu, while limited, with small portions, is excellent.

We, oftentimes, bring friends and/or relatives with us to celebrate a special occasion.

We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This is a cute cafe outside of Salina Ka ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is a cute cafe outside of Salina Kansas. We have been there before and liked it enough to go back. This time the service was terribly slow. The mouse that ran across the dining room and stopped next to our table before someone kicked it into the servers area was not acceptable. The servers nor management mentioned it our apologized. I will not be going back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Arrived early, we worked on a puzzle and ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Arrived early, we worked on a puzzle and had our drinks while we waited. Menu is always changing and the selection is wonderful. Meal was great, and the atmosphere was amazing. Our wait staff was very friendly and very helpful. This was our 4 visit to the restaurant in the last 2 years. We will be back. This is the place to have a special meal for any reason!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a quaint location and beautiful woo ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

Such a quaint location and beautiful wood work! Excellent service! Great creative menu choices! Dinner was excellent! Will drive the hour again for sure!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Historic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Our waitress was ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful experience. Our waitress was excellent and very informed on the menu. The meal was delicious. We ordered the porterhouse for 2 and the meat was a little grisly but overall very good. The dessert was scrumptious. Coffee cups were refilled endlessly! Loved that!

Very nice place and quaint!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time there and the me ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our first time there and the menu was exquisite. The special of the evening was the orange and rosemary marinated rack of lamb in an espresso bourbon cream sauce served with mascarpone whipped potatoes and roasted seasonal vegetables. The lamb was so tender you could cut it with a fork and cooked to the perfect medium rare. Renee was always attentive and energetic about the food, chefs, and foodie environment. The small bite appetizer of crab mousse on a herbed shortbread wafer was the teaser of the whole meal and the earl grey/meyer lemon sorbert as the pallet cleanser could have been served anytime on a hot summer day.

We have eaten many places around the world, but this was by far one of the best meals we have had in a while. To think this little gem is in a small town in Kansas which has converted an old school house into a five star restaurant. We will definitely be coming back over and over again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a quite evening of fine dining no ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had a quite evening of fine dining not rushed great food outstanding service with interaction of other staff and a good wine form chile

Thanks

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Casual, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always go to the Renaissance when we ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

We always go to the Renaissance when we want to enjoy a great meal, friendly and professional service and good conversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service were great! Our friend ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food and service were great! Our friend from Florida loved it!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to eat at the Re ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

This was our first time to eat at the Renaissance Cafe and it won't be our last time. The stars we gave it says it all. Thanks to the staff for an enjoyable meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We drove more than 75 miles to get there ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

We drove more than 75 miles to get there and it was worth it. We had a very pleasant evening. Pleasant ambiance, good pacing to the courses and great food. It appeared that the staff who prepared the food paid attention to detail as every aspect of the meal - appetizers, salads, main courses and side dishes were all very well presented and prepared.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was jsut ok, not great. The ser ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was jsut ok, not great. The service staff were off, people left waiting to be seated even with reservations, they all were rushing around and gave the impression they were unsure of what they should be doing. My wife still enjoyed our night out, but the restaurant and food did not contribute to that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This is one of our favorite special plac ...

 
·Dined on October 7, 2016

This is one of our favorite special places to eat!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding job by our server Renee. She ...

 
·Dined on October 6, 2016

Outstanding job by our server Renee. She made our celebration of my wife's birthday special! We also appreciated the expertise, care and passion that Rachel prepared our food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Organic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and our waitress was superb! We ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food and our waitress was superb! We are thinking about having our office Christmas party there.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The halibut was dry but still tasty. The ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

The halibut was dry but still tasty. The service was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We and another couple celebrated our Bir ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

We and another couple celebrated our Birthdays, as always the food was great and the service was the same!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been to the Renaissance café multi ...

 
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We've been to the Renaissance café multiple times before this chef, and loved it. And this was our first time with the new chef, and the food was better than ever! We had a wonderful server as well, and she knew and liked the food very intimately for such a large and seasonal menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic place to dine in central Kan ...

 
·Dined on September 23, 2016

A fantastic place to dine in central Kansas. Out standing food and good service.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Historic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in charge of picking the restauran ...

 
·Dined on September 23, 2016

I was in charge of picking the restaurant so I chose the Renaissance cafe to give my group a great experience from beginning to end and they did not disappoint. It was fantastic with fantastic friends. Thank you.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Romantic, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Fun, Authentic, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the best dining experience of our ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had the best dining experience of our lives. We were treated so wonderfully by our waitress. My daughters Birthday was made very special by the whole experience. The food was amazingly delicious. It was served beautifully. The one thing we were especially pleased about was the portion sizes,the amount of food was great. We were all so full!

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Romantic, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find; a real gem on the plains. ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

What a find; a real gem on the plains. Innovative cuisine is a lovely atmosphere and with first rate service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good place to take relatives from out of ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Good place to take relatives from out of state for an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a remarkable restaurant in an unex ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

It is a remarkable restaurant in an unexpected place. Very inviting entry garden and foyer. Innovative menu, wide variety and excellently prepared and served. Local sourcing. Moderate pricing. Save room for awesome desserts.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very relaxing, and excellent di ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a very relaxing, and excellent dining experience. Everything we ate was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding dining experience. Drovefro ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Outstanding dining experience. DrovefromTopeka and it was well worth the trip. Highly recommend.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Casual, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salmon was awesome. New palate cleanser ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Salmon was awesome. New palate cleanser was terrible. Previous one was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Love the feeling that diners are not rus ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Love the feeling that diners are not rushed. Good for conversation and pleasurable dining.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went early- service good. As more custom ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Went early- service good. As more customers came, spotty service. Good food. Varied menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The appetizer, salad and soup were excel ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The appetizer, salad and soup were excellent. I did not feel the main course meals were all that good. I had the herb crusted tuna and about all you could taste was oregano. I also tasted the duck ravioli, it was very sweet, not my taste. Also sampled the chicken ravioli and it was very good but was very rich, not sure I could of eatten half the serving. The steak was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Date night for us Great place for ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Date night for us Great place for a weekly date. Married forty eight years Renee was super!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A jewel truly in the middle of nowhere. ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A jewel truly in the middle of nowhere. We went for our second time, and were concerned about the loss of Chef Kevin. While I was disappointed to not have the delicious sausage/mushroom polenta from our first visit, the chicken carbonara was very good. Each of the four of us had a different entry and no one was disappointed. Very unique experience, we'll be back again.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was exceptional my glass was nev ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service was exceptional my glass was never empty. Great recommendation on wine pairing with meal. Loved the seasonal salad made with heirloom tomatoes. The ambience was exceptional. The food selection had fare for all taste buds. We had the steak each piece was tender melting in you mouth like butter. We were on a low sodium diet so the crab bisque was a little salty for our liking. Very smooth texture. The cucumber sorbet cleansed the palette between our salad and entree. The cheesecake was not overly sweet and a great conclusion to a great night. Thank you nice to have a place of this caliber in centtal ks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We made our reservation and when we got ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We made our reservation and when we got to there before our scheduled time, we were told the chef left for the day. We had to drive over 30 min to get there. Very disappointed. Why have reservations if you don't honor them?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The Renaissance Cafe is a real jewel. T ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Renaissance Cafe is a real jewel. The food is top notch and the setting is like no other restaurant I've ever been to. We started with the antipasto platter; I had the chicken carbonara; and then dessert was the most unique: upside down rhubarb with a pistachio brittle. It was all excellent.

It's a great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.