About Renaissance Cafe

210 North Center Street
Assaria, KS 67416
View Larger Map

Authentic Northern Italian Cuisine. Including in house made breads, pastas and desserts. Exciting menu of steaks, chops, seafood and other surprises.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
2nd St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(785) 822-6750

Website:
http://www.renaissancecafeassaria.com/

Executive Chef:
Shana Everhart

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Renaissance Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Kansas City
Romantic
Kansas City
Special Occasion
Kansas City
1 More
Most Booked
Salina
Best Restaurants in Salina ›

special occasion (70)
fit for foodies (52)
romantic (51)
See All
neighborhood gem (36)
good for groups (24)
notable wine list (12)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for brunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Worth the drive from Wichita to celebrat ...

Dined 4 days ago

Worth the drive from Wichita to celebrate family birthdays. Food was not the standard Italian fare you find in many Italian restaurants and was very good. We were not rushed and enjoyed a slow paced, delicious meal.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We have eaten here before , however it's ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We have eaten here before , however it's been awhile and there have been some changes. It turned out to be a very enjoyable dinner. The service was extremely good and the food presentation was nice. One of us had the grilled ribeye and was nice. The rest of us had a variety of the pasta dishes and they were well prepared and nice as well. The prices were a little more than we are used to paying, however overall for a special get-together, it was acceptable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2pan steak meal

Dined on May 19, 2016

One of the best steaks I have ever had. Perfectly cooked and extremely flavorful. Green beans were done just right and the fingerling potatoes were excellent. Also a perfect size portion – two pieces of 3 ounce steak.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The porterhouse was cooked well, but ser ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The porterhouse was cooked well, but served a little too cold. The bowls the vegetables were served in caused them to accumulate oil - they were cooked fine but a bit wet. The potatoes were pretty bland. Overall, the food was good - not fantastic but good.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What an innovative way to recapture the ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

What an innovative way to recapture the charm of the "old school" gym for the benefit of Assaria, Kansas. This is truly a gem in the middle of nowhere and every bit worth the trip. Simple but elegant menu: everything that should be on it and no experiments. Presentation marvelously caps the dining experience. The wine list is similarly simple yet representative of the best brands and varietals: no mistakes, pairings options are precise. Reservations recommended...well in advance. The Renaissance Café absolutely lives up to it's reputation!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Renaiassance

Dined on April 29, 2016

Nice atmosphere, great food, great service, nice clean place

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome find - good if first taste is excellent

Dined on April 28, 2016

lOur GPS had a hard time finding the café but worth the adventure . our server Shannon was very knowledgeable Food was totally outstanding Ambience was unique How many stars can I give to the Renaissance Café? All in!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat

Dined on April 28, 2016

One of the best non-chain, upscale restaurants in the Salina area. Nice menu. Hard to pick just one entree. All enjoyed their choices.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Renaissance Restaurant is a Jewel

Dined on April 24, 2016

The Renaissance Restaurant, located in the little burg of Assaria in middle Kansas, is an unexpected delight. The food is gourmet, the wine very good, the dessert is amazing and the service is gracious. We have dined there a number of times when staying in the area and very much recommend it.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful

Dined on April 23, 2016

The Renaissance Café was delightful. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was wonderful. I would definitely recommend and we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Getting better every day

Dined on April 22, 2016

Two people ordered the special and loved it. I tried the Duck Ravioli on the recommendation of our waitress. I will DEFINITELY order it again. It was a delightful taste treat. Thank goodness, the special was my husband's favorite fish--halibut--because he is afraid to order the steak again. After years of excellence, he was disappointed last time when the steak was very tough. He will try it again though just to make sure it was not a fluke. Saw a couple eating the steak for two. Looked like a taste treat, that's for sure. I personally love the menu and look forward already for our next visit.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Out-of-the -way, but worth it!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food and service. Good menu options. All food fresh and made in house. Server did a great job with food and wine recommendations. Would definitely return and recommend to others. Something different for the Salina area!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Know there is a new chef

Dined on April 16, 2016

Not as big a variety for entrees on the menu Pasta overcooked fatty steaks

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful evening in the Smoky Valley

Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a lovely dinner here with our two young daughters last night. It was a treat for us all! The bread with dipping oil was delicious as was the blood orange sorbet before the entrees. I had been a big fan of the gorgonzala salad under the previous chef, but the new hearts of romaine salad is a fun new take on things. My husband and I shared the Grilled Steak Fiorentina for two. Loved the rosemary lemon butter on it and the tasty potatoes and snap peas. Having been here many times before, it continues to be one of my favorite places! Now that we have young children it's a little harder to manage. I'd recommend going early, like 5 or 5:30. Our waitress was incredibly helpful. Enjoyed the music playing in the background. All around a delightful evening here in central Kansas. Thank you!!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Hidden gem near Salina

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The new chef is extremely talented. Although it was a nice place to have dinner before, she has really raised the bar. The food here is better than any restaurant in the area, including Manhattan, as good as restaurants in KC. A tasty amuse- bouche was served and a refreshing sorbet served before the entree. Pasta and bread are made from scratch, salads and vegetables are fresh and crisp, all the dishes we tried were prepared with interesting flavors. The porcini dusted filet was melt in your mouth delicious, fresh grilled halibut was outstanding and the Italian prawn appetizer was amazing. Service was friendly and helpful. Can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Renaissance cafe was great! I took my wife there for our 8th anniversary. Would and will going back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Continues to be outstanding

Dined on March 26, 2016

This was our first visit since the new chef started and we weren't disappointed. Every entree was fabulous. Love the quaint ambiance as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Never judge a book by its cover

Dined on March 26, 2016

At first glance, driving to this restaurant, I begun to question where I was actually suppose to go. It housed in an old school and within a residential area. The exterior is also a questionable however it's not until you get inside that you start to feel the environment. You are greeted by a shallow waiting area that is designed with an old honey feel to it. As you're seated the tables are nicely spaced from each other allowing you to enjoy your evening with your significant other without feeling like you're crowded. The lighting has a nice mellow alluminance and background noise is also enjoyable. Dinner (my experience) was top notch which was served in a three course setting, bread and a tiny nibble to excite the taste buds, a house salad or soup followed by a pallet cleansing treat and of course your entree. Everything I tasted was amazingly delicious and had you wanting just a bit more. On to the downside, our waitstaff was a bit unexperience that the style of restaurant implys yet we're still always around when we needed something or our glasses refilled. Our service was on a Friday night and while I would highly recommend this location the actually number or customers was rather low given the paticular evening. Pricing was slightly overpriced given the portion size however if you're coming to get stuffed you're in for a rude awakening. That doesn't mean I wasn't satisfied with the portion. It was just enough to settle me but it all tasted so good that I just wanted one more bite :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Chef Shines

Dined on March 18, 2016

We have been loyal customers here for 10 years. This was our first time back since the new chef, Shana Everhart, began duties. We had eaten at the Swedish Crown in Lindsborg, where she is also chef, and were always delighted. I can say without a doubt that Shana has brought her culinary skills to an even higher level at the Renaissance. Everything we ordered was perfection and we can't wait to go back. We were also tickled to find that she had purchased more suitable dinnerware, silver and wine glasses than what had been used in the past. This really stepped it up a notch - a big one that was needed! The Renaissance Cafe will continue to be one of my top five favorite restaurants in Kansas.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Not your everyday restaurant. Enjoyed the menu.

Dined on March 11, 2016

The scallop special was extraordinary and I would order it again if offered. There's not much of a man's menu although there was a special steak offering which my husband tried. Although the flavor and presentation were excellent, the steak was tough. I would recommend finding another distributor. Talk to the former chef. His steaks were always exemplary. The restaurant is close to home so I wish we could visit more often. Upscale has been taken to a new level, however, and the cost of almost all dinner items makes it nearly impossible to visit as often as I would like.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Great ambiance, misleading online menu

Dined on March 4, 2016

Our exprience was very good, but we had looked up the menu online on opentable.com and it turned out to be the old menu. The new one was much pricier and had less options. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and is nice for special occassions. My only other complaint was the server seemed annoyed with us and didn't have much patience in the begginng. She became nicer as the evening went on, but it was never completely genuine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Worth the drive.

Dined on February 27, 2016

I must say the food was good, our server Laurie was great and accommodating, and the atmosphere was fun and comfortable. HOWEVER, the prices for that part of the country were too high for pastas! I had the cannelloni and my husband had the pappardelle, and both were very good. The seasonal salad with fennel was unique and delicious. It was worth a drive and glad we found a place to eat around Salina other than chain restaurants. But not sure we would make a second trip unless it was for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A quiet getaway

Dined on February 27, 2016

We so enjoy the Rennisance. The food is perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. The specials are always wonderful. You need to make your reservation early if you want the feature of the evening because it is often sold out later in the evening. We have never been disappointed at Rennisance whether it is a quiet evening for the two of us or a time to entertain guests or a gathering of f friends, we have always enjoyed our evening and meal.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Disappointing

Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our first visit since Kevin left. It was disappointing. The menu selection is much smaller and there is no option for half portions of the pasta dishes. The prices have increased. The food was nothing special. The waitress was distracted and our service was really slow.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

New chef, new menu,

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

With a new chef and a new menu Renaissance Cafe still lives up to its reputation for the best food in the area with a unique venue. We've been here twice since the change in chef and haven't been disappointed. Soups are still amazing and all entrees we've tried have been terrific. The staff is down to earth and professional and it's a great place to meet friends for dinner or go for a night out with your sweetie.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Valentine's Day at the Renaissance Cafe

Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our dining experience at the Renaissance Café, the wait staff were all friendly and efficient and the food was excellent. The presentation of all courses was very good, although we did feel a bit rushed by how quickly our food was brought to the table for each course. A trivial complaint at best and certainly not enough to detract from our experience. Fine dining in the quirky atmosphere of a school gymnasium, certainly an unexpected pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Disapointed on Valentines Day

Dined on February 13, 2016

We've enjoyed the Renaissance Café very much in the past but this last time was a big disappointment. We went over Valentines weekend and it wasn't up to par. The appetizer was a lobster frittata but it was small and dominated by asparagus. Couldn't taste the lobster at all. The homemade bread was not the same as in the past either. Very bland. The salad consisted of greens and walnuts. I thought based on the description that it would be accented with walnuts, but it was absolutely loaded with very finely chopped walnuts and tasteless greens. For our main course we chose the beef tenderloin, fingerling potatoes and green beans. It was fine although my wife's tenderloin was tough. The dessert was a very small, thin slice of raspberry ice cream with a cream topping. Now we knew going in it was $55 per person, but we both felt like it was extremely overpriced considering the quality of the food and the quantity as well. Worth maybe half what we paid. My wife commented the next morning that we paid $55 a head and "they served us ice cream?" We also felt that at that price it should have included a glass or two of wine. Again we have eaten here before and have been very happy, but what a let down this past time. We will go back and give it another try, but if we have another experience like this we wont go back again. What a shame, have loved this place before. One more note. Before we were served our appetizer, the couple next to us sent their main course back. Not sure what the problem was but we heard the waitress say "its on the house" and she was very sorry. Not a good omen.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Usually we love this restaurant however ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Usually we love this restaurant however they have hired a new chef and the food was not good at all. The food was cold, small portions, and lacking flavor. We paid 143.00 for two people which the food was not worth. Normally we leave very satisfied and impressed. With the new chef and her menu we will most likely not return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Valentine's Special menu

Dined on February 13, 2016

We visited this restaurant for our anniversary dinner. While it was a four course meal, some of the courses were less than stellar. The lobster frittata was a bit dry and lacking in flavor, however the wild salmon roe was a nice touch. The salad was delicious. Our main entree of choice was the beef tenderloin which was rather chewy but quite flavorful with the black truffle filling and rosemary pan sauce. Otherwise the roasted fingerling potatoes and green beans were okay. The dessert was delicious and I am not a fan of frozen/semi frozen desserts usually. I am not sure this meal lived up to the $55 price tag.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

anniversary/Valentines celebration

Dined on February 13, 2016

Lovely way to celebrate our 45th anniversary. Delightful menu. Good atmosphere. We enjoyed being there from the time we entered to when we were leaving. My husband even had fun finding a puzzle piece for the "community" puzzle while waiting!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great venue, not so small prices.

Dined on February 12, 2016

The restaurant was amazing, lovely setup. The live classical guitar was amazing. I loved everything about this place except for the "surprise menu". I came expecting about $20-$25/person for a meal from what I saw on the website menu. However when we arrived they had a special Valentine's menu which was $55/person that was no expected.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Tries but fails to be fine dining

Dined on February 7, 2016

Interesting venue, which used to be a high school gymnasium. Chairs were not comfortable. It was too bright, especially a Flourescent light from a cooler kept shining in my eyes. Food was good quality and well prepared. Staff seemed inexperienced and over committed. Needed to be more attentive for the price point. Cost was on par with a much fancier restaurant in Kansas City.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

In Business Again

Dined on February 7, 2016

The R.C. was closed after Chef O'Brien moved on to another phase in his life. He had been there about 9 years I think. After some time it was announced that a local Chef, Shana Everhart from the very good Swedish Crown, was taking over the R.C. Yippee! Our recent meal was excellent. Saltimbocca by one diner was excellent and the romaine salad was very good, served on obviously new elongated plate...new wine glasses also. Two diners had pasta dishes, both were pronounced excellent with very nice presentation and ample servings as both requested boxes. The other diner had the stuffed pork tenderloin was very enamored with the marscapone mashed potatoes it was served with. He opted for the seasonal salad which was excellent. Lagniappe? You bet. Dipping oil with balsamic to use with our olive bread.....a small lettuce and tuna starter (gratis...both) and then a meyer lemon sorbet as a palate cleanser prior to the entrees. Very classy, very good. We think the R.C. has risen again and are excited to have it back in operation. Good job Chef Everhart.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well worth it!

Dined on February 6, 2016

The food, service, atmosphere was all amazing and well worth the cost!

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

We read on MSN that The Renaissance Café ...

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

We read on MSN that The Renaissance Café was one of the best places to eat in Kansas. We found that hard to believe as it is located in the absolute middle of nowhere. But we decided to make a day trip of it and ride out there for dinner. The Venue is super cool....old gym turned restaurant - very unique and interesting. The food...not so much. No dressing on the salads, soup that tasted from a can...very small filet mignon with a heavy gravy and gummy mashed potatoes.. dry chicken breast with flavorless spinach and butternut squash. We didn't bother with dessert. We found out listening to the few others that came in that the Chef is new. She did come to the table, but she didn't introduce herself and just asked if we enjoyed our dinner. We didn't want to ruin anyone else's experience, so we didn't talk with her about it. I did tell the servers that they might want to consider sending the plates back to the kitchen before dumping them so that the Chef could actually see what is being uneaten. As it is now, they scrape the plates into the trash on the outside of the kitchen , so she knows nothing about how much (or little) her customers are eating. It is a shame that they don't make more flavorful food. Kansas is pretty barren as far great food goes and we are always unhappy when a place with potential just doesn't live up to it.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Remote but worth it

Dined on February 5, 2016

I travel somewhere almost every week. My sole entertainment is eating out. Many fine dining establishment have good food. What makes it special is that the little things add up. Presentation, attentive service, food freshness, quality place settings. Other than distance I found there was value for the price. A non house wine was less than $6. I recommend the drive. Richard Oertle

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

first time----EXCELLENT food and service. awesome

Dined on February 5, 2016

i would go there again and again for special occasions. impressed with the service and the quality of the food. the atmosphere was wonderful. love the old school setting. decor was very nice. wonderful option for us for my husbands birthday!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Renaissance Cafe was better

Dined on February 5, 2016

Everything in the Renaissance Café was just fine. We had very few problems with the portions or the flavor. I believe it was a bit better last year. All in all very good restaurant for the short operating week.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience!

Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was outstanding at this unique quaint location. The food presentation was beautiful and so delicious. The waitress was very attentive and helpful with describing the menu items. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a special dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

A little disappointed in the overpriced ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

A little disappointed in the overpriced and very limited menu. With these prices, salad/soup should be included. Would like nothing more than to see the Renaissance Cafe succeed, and I will patronize if evolution takes place. Good ambiance and potential.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.