About Renaissance Cafe

210 North Center Street
Assaria, KS 67416
View Larger Map

Authentic Northern Italian Cuisine. Including in house made breads, pastas and desserts. Exciting menu of steaks, chops, seafood and other surprises.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
2nd St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(785) 822-6750

Website:
http://www.renaissancecafeassaria.com/

Executive Chef:
Shana Everhart

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Penne With Voka Sauce And Steak Tips
  • Grilled Trout With Cucumber Avocado Reliah
  • Liver And Onions
  • Green Eggs and Ham
Penne With Voka Sauce And Steak Tips
Grilled Trout With Cucumber Avocado Reliah
Liver And Onions
Green Eggs and Ham

Renaissance Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Kansas City
Romantic
Kansas City
Special Occasion
Kansas City
2 More
Italian
Kansas City
Most Booked
Salina
Best Restaurants in Salina ›

Special Occasion (40)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Romantic (23)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Groups (17)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Historic (4)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
409 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had the best dining experience of our ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had the best dining experience of our lives. We were treated so wonderfully by our waitress. My daughters Birthday was made very special by the whole experience. The food was amazingly delicious. It was served beautifully. The one thing we were especially pleased about was the portion sizes,the amount of food was great. We were all so full!

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Romantic, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find; a real gem on the plains. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

What a find; a real gem on the plains. Innovative cuisine is a lovely atmosphere and with first rate service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good place to take relatives from out of ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Good place to take relatives from out of state for an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a remarkable restaurant in an unex ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

It is a remarkable restaurant in an unexpected place. Very inviting entry garden and foyer. Innovative menu, wide variety and excellently prepared and served. Local sourcing. Moderate pricing. Save room for awesome desserts.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very relaxing, and excellent di ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a very relaxing, and excellent dining experience. Everything we ate was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding dining experience. Drovefro ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Outstanding dining experience. DrovefromTopeka and it was well worth the trip. Highly recommend.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Casual, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salmon was awesome. New palate cleanser ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Salmon was awesome. New palate cleanser was terrible. Previous one was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Love the feeling that diners are not rus ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Love the feeling that diners are not rushed. Good for conversation and pleasurable dining.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went early- service good. As more custom ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Went early- service good. As more customers came, spotty service. Good food. Varied menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The appetizer, salad and soup were excel ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The appetizer, salad and soup were excellent. I did not feel the main course meals were all that good. I had the herb crusted tuna and about all you could taste was oregano. I also tasted the duck ravioli, it was very sweet, not my taste. Also sampled the chicken ravioli and it was very good but was very rich, not sure I could of eatten half the serving. The steak was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Date night for us Great place for ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Date night for us Great place for a weekly date. Married forty eight years Renee was super!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A jewel truly in the middle of nowhere. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A jewel truly in the middle of nowhere. We went for our second time, and were concerned about the loss of Chef Kevin. While I was disappointed to not have the delicious sausage/mushroom polenta from our first visit, the chicken carbonara was very good. Each of the four of us had a different entry and no one was disappointed. Very unique experience, we'll be back again.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was exceptional my glass was nev ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service was exceptional my glass was never empty. Great recommendation on wine pairing with meal. Loved the seasonal salad made with heirloom tomatoes. The ambience was exceptional. The food selection had fare for all taste buds. We had the steak each piece was tender melting in you mouth like butter. We were on a low sodium diet so the crab bisque was a little salty for our liking. Very smooth texture. The cucumber sorbet cleansed the palette between our salad and entree. The cheesecake was not overly sweet and a great conclusion to a great night. Thank you nice to have a place of this caliber in centtal ks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We made our reservation and when we got ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We made our reservation and when we got to there before our scheduled time, we were told the chef left for the day. We had to drive over 30 min to get there. Very disappointed. Why have reservations if you don't honor them?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The Renaissance Cafe is a real jewel. T ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Renaissance Cafe is a real jewel. The food is top notch and the setting is like no other restaurant I've ever been to. We started with the antipasto platter; I had the chicken carbonara; and then dessert was the most unique: upside down rhubarb with a pistachio brittle. It was all excellent.

It's a great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My partner and I were pleased to finally ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My partner and I were pleased to finally find in our home county food that could be called outstanding. It is expensive , with most of the pasta dishes costing near $20, about three times what an equal amount of food would run at the mediocre (but very popular) Italian restaurant in the the county's largest city, Salina. (The Renaissance is in a small town about 10 miles away.) But we will come at least on special occasions, and maybe more often. We greatly enjoyed everything that we were served: the appetizer, the main dishes, and the dessert.

I have two minor and constructive criticisms. We could hear, coming from the side and not "piped in" and ambient, music at a volume that was loud enough to be annoying, but not loud enough to enjoy hearing. I think that contrary to what most restaurants seem to believe, people don't eat out for the music. Look at them: do any appear to be listening? Why don't you turn it off, and let them fully enjoy the two things that they obviously come for, good food and good conversation.

The other problem I had was with our waitress behaving much like the wait staff at that mediocre restaurant: returning to the table far too often, aiming to give good service, but, for people wanting to relax and take time enjoying an evening, making herself a nuisance. I barely had the first fork of the main dish in my mouth when she approached and asked, "How was it?" -- yes, in the past tense. This was so bad that we laughed. She also pressed us to order, asked about dessert before we finished the main dishes, and tried to take my plate while it was still half full and I still had fork in hand. This was all while around us stood empty tables. A waiter or waitress should be a good observer, come to the table when the diners appear to be ready for or need something, or at least give them time, and once the food is served, leave them alone.

But for those things, I would rate the Renaissance Cafe at 4-5 stars across the board.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent food, friendly service. Great ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food, friendly service. Great selection from steak, seafood and pasta dishes.

Nice extras touches- stands above other Salina dining options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Renaissance Cafe. Worth the drive. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The Renaissance Cafe. Worth the drive.

I am realizing with each positive review i(darn) it might be that much harder to get a table. Yeah.

It's THAT good.

The seafood bisque (soup of the day) was outrageously good- I wanted to take a quart home! The Yellow fin was done perfectly. Should mention- the place is charming! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a nice little out of the way pla ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is a nice little out of the way place for some elegant dining, although no need to dress up.

We ordered the Yellowfin Tuna and Pork Chop. The chop was somewhat dry but the Tuna was perfect.

The prices are a little high but they do serve some surprises with the meal that are included.

We are planning on going back and getting the home made pasta

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was top notch from the servic ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Everything was top notch from the service, to the menu choices, to the excellent food preparation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food! Homemade pasta! My duc ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Delicious food! Homemade pasta! My duck ravioli was AMAZING!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef cheerfully accommodated our veg ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The chef cheerfully accommodated our vegan request and it was delicious! The item wasn't on the menu and she just made it up on the spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our visit was awesome. The food was incr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our visit was awesome. The food was incredible and the service was top notch. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I didn't comment about kid-friendly beca ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I didn't comment about kid-friendly because we didn't have children with us.

Atmosphere was quiet enough for conversation at our table, which is important.

Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined there several times before,th ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Have dined there several times before,this time was very disappointing both the food was not of good quality and dishes were ill prepared and the service was terribly slow. We had reservations for 7 and our food arrived at 9. The food quality and selections have certainly declined with loss of their past chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was wonderful! And our waitress ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was wonderful! And our waitress was an absolute delight. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a wonderful evening/experience. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a wonderful evening/experience.

The food, service and ambiance were to perfection. Our server, Adrian had a complete knowledge of every food and drink on the menu.

We often dine at outstanding restaurants NYC. I would place The Renaissance Cafe on the same level.

We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First visit with new chef

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We've gone to cafe many times, it's our go to for birthdays, anniversaries, etc. I have to say this time was the first we left a little deflated. We all loved the cranberry salad that they've taken off menu. The strawberry salad was not good, very little dressing, bland. We all ordered something different pasta, steak, salmon and everyone was pleased with meal but not overjoyed as in the past. I hope menus continue to be tweaked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Awesome from start to finish

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

wonderful experience from a great staff and Chef Shana

This area is so fortunate to have a chef of your class.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best around

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Chef Shana and her crew do a fantastic job of providing an excellent food experience. It is the is the best food in the area for those who really appreciate good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

This restaurant is on par with some of the more upscale places we have eaten in Washington DC, Chicago and New York City. The chef has done some amazing things with the food parings and offerings. They are only open Thursday, Friday and Saturday and reservations are a must. Will be making reservations again and definitely try the specials if you can tear yourself away from the regular menu items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

IT's Back on Top

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

New Menu. Great meal. Awesome service. If you are a foody, take full advantage of this hidden gem. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Worth the drive from Wichita to celebrat ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Worth the drive from Wichita to celebrate family birthdays. Food was not the standard Italian fare you find in many Italian restaurants and was very good. We were not rushed and enjoyed a slow paced, delicious meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have eaten here before , however it's ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We have eaten here before , however it's been awhile and there have been some changes. It turned out to be a very enjoyable dinner. The service was extremely good and the food presentation was nice. One of us had the grilled ribeye and was nice. The rest of us had a variety of the pasta dishes and they were well prepared and nice as well. The prices were a little more than we are used to paying, however overall for a special get-together, it was acceptable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

2pan steak meal

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

One of the best steaks I have ever had. Perfectly cooked and extremely flavorful. Green beans were done just right and the fingerling potatoes were excellent. Also a perfect size portion – two pieces of 3 ounce steak.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The porterhouse was cooked well, but ser ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The porterhouse was cooked well, but served a little too cold. The bowls the vegetables were served in caused them to accumulate oil - they were cooked fine but a bit wet. The potatoes were pretty bland. Overall, the food was good - not fantastic but good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

What an innovative way to recapture the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

What an innovative way to recapture the charm of the "old school" gym for the benefit of Assaria, Kansas. This is truly a gem in the middle of nowhere and every bit worth the trip. Simple but elegant menu: everything that should be on it and no experiments. Presentation marvelously caps the dining experience. The wine list is similarly simple yet representative of the best brands and varietals: no mistakes, pairings options are precise. Reservations recommended...well in advance. The Renaissance Café absolutely lives up to it's reputation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Renaiassance

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Nice atmosphere, great food, great service, nice clean place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome find - good if first taste is excellent

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

lOur GPS had a hard time finding the café but worth the adventure . our server Shannon was very knowledgeable Food was totally outstanding Ambience was unique How many stars can I give to the Renaissance Café? All in!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

One of the best non-chain, upscale restaurants in the Salina area. Nice menu. Hard to pick just one entree. All enjoyed their

choices.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.