Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.09mi
  2. Distance: 11.32mi
  3. Distance: 11.42mi
  4. Distance: 11.48mi
  1. Distance: 11.09mi
  2. Distance: 11.32mi
  3. Distance: 11.42mi
  4. Distance: 11.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.09mi
  2. Distance: 11.32mi
  3. Distance: 11.42mi
  4. Distance: 11.48mi
  1. Distance: 11.09mi
  2. Distance: 11.32mi
  3. Distance: 11.42mi
  4. Distance: 11.48mi

About Renaissance Cafe

Authentic Northern Italian Cuisine. Including in house made breads, pastas and desserts. Exciting menu of steaks, chops, seafood and other surprises.

210 North Center Street
Assaria, KS 67416
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
2nd St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(785) 822-6750

Website:
http://www.renaissancecafeassaria.com/

Executive Chef:
Shana Everhart

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine

Renaissance Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Worth the Drive (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Romantic (10)
Historic (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Cozy (5)
Fun (4)
Casual (4)
Seasonal (4)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

One of the few places in the Salina area where a person can go and feel like they are not at a restaurant in the rural Midwest. Wonderful combinations of flavors--prosciutto-wrapped asparagus to start, and dayboat scallops with a lump crab risotto and some romaine in a very light citrus dressing with a few grapefruit segments for dinner. So good! And there is no restaurant within many miles that serves a palate cleanser--watermelon sorbet--between courses. Service is the place where one is reminded they are at a restaurant in the rural Midwest. It's not bad, but always just a little clunky. Definitely not as elegant as the food. That being said, I would definitely recommend this place for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

A wonderful special dinner with daughters and granddaughter. Shana, the Chef , is fantastic. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This restaurant is a gem on the plains of Kansas. Off the beaten path but worth the little bit of extra effort to get there. The food stars here. A small amuse bouche greets you at the table - on this night a savory bite of roasted garlic mousse on tender house made cracker. The seasonal salad choice is always good and the soup of the day very solid. The menu has enough depth for everyone from steaks to fish to house-made pasta. The twin filets are always fantastic and as good as you will find anywhere. All well presented with a wonderful mix of flavors. To finish -
when in doubt order all of the desserts to share at the table. Our table of 7 could not reach consensus - each one had a fan or two and one person refused to name a favorite! The setting is a little quirky with the tables surrounding the old school basketball court. That lends to the charm of the place, but is a lot of hard surface so the noise level is a little high if the seating is full - but not as loud as an actual basketball game!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have been to this restaurant many times and have always been happy with the food, the service and the dining experience. However this time was different. Our waitress was abrasive, and the meals were not up to par. We were served bottles of beer without glasses, this is not in keeping with the atmosphere of this establishment. My husband and son had the Ahi Tuna which was the special for the evening. We have had this dish before, but the portion of tuna shrank and the vegetables did not increase. I had the pork tenderloin skewers and the meat was quite dry, and there was no sauce served with this dish to offset the dry meat. Everyone has an off night, this was one of them. We will likely go back, but it will not be soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food and service was great. Our server was very friendly, fun, and professional. The only thing I would add is more fruity alcohol drink options:-) My husband I will definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

consistently fabulous!! we have been back 5 times even though it is over an hours drive!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Organic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It was well worth the drive, what a great little place. The food was fabulous and it was priced with in reason. I will go back

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

First time going to the Renaissance Cafe after hearing about it from a few friends and it was and absolute delight. Great food, friendly service, and overall a wonderful place, great changeup from the norm.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Wonderful supper out! Food was very good! Our waitress was really friendly and attentive. We had a great experience. The only slightly negative was that the accoustics are not the best. Table next to us got a little loud and that was amplified. But would definately go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was our first time and we absolutely loved it. Renae was an excellent waitress! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was an amazing experience! My wife and I enjoyed everything about The Renaissance Cafe. Great atmosphere and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our first visit. We loved everything. Unique menu items, great atmosphere, our server Adrian was fantastic. The food was amazing! We will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Amazing food and a great place to have a nice date night!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

By far the best steak in the Salina area. You'll pay more than other restaurants but worth it in my opinion.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The waitress and service was incredible. Food presentation was great. Salad was awesome, bread fresh and hot, however our entrees were barely warm and therefore not tasty at all. The plates were cool touch . Very disappointing. I would hesitate to return. In the past, we always enjoyed the meal. So disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a group of 4 (two couples) celebrating a special occasion. The service was impeccable and the food was very good. I hadn't been there for a number of years and didn't remember it being as 'formal' as it was. However, that did not take away from the evening. You don't want to be in a hurry and fortunately we weren't. Very glad we made the trip up there again and would like to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was our first visit since Shana Everhart came on as Executive Chef. Everything was just as wonderful as it has always been. It's the classiest place in the area and there are many nice touches -- including the sorbet to cleanse the palate between courses and the olive oil and Balsamic vinegar dip for the bread. Our server was outstanding, the food choices were creative and delicious, the restaurant is charming. The dessert choices looked great, but we were just too full. Renaissance Cafe will continue to be our favorite local pick for special occasions.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The Renaissance Cafe in Assaria is a true delight not often found in the midwest. From the wine list, appetizers, to the romaine salad, pasta and dessert the cuisine is outstanding. The steaks are the best around!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The setting and the building itself are outstanding, which is why I gave the top rating for the atmosphere...This was our first visit (to celebrate wife's birthday) based on a recommendation from a colleague. We were NOT impressed with the service (had to wait to get empty water glasses refilled, even though restaurant clearly wasn't all that busy, and we were never asked if we wanted to get a second glass of wine; no big deal, but given the prices charged, we expected exceptional or at least very good service). We were also not particularly impressed with the entrees; I had the swordfish (basically tasteless), and my wife had the penne. Both of us felt sick after returning home, so doubtful we will return to try one of the other entrees! The best part was the little appetizer at the beginning!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We met my favorite cousin there and spent the entire evening reminiscing about everything..they were so gracious..we were the last to leave. Our waitress was Renee and she was stellar!!! We hadn't been there in a long time and the New chef is fabulous..loved every morsel!!!
Indeed we will return!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

As far as I can tell, the best place to eat in at least a 60 mile radius. Wonderful ambience with the opportunity to try some dishes that aren't easily found in central Kansas. Nice effort, and we would not hesitate to take any friends or family members to experience this charming eatery.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food and service was excellent!! Be prepared to spend some money when you go. A great place for a special night out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is the to go place in Saline County. California 4-Star quality. The service is always attentive, suggestive, and pleasant. Food will always surprise you with the quality and special touches. A little expensive, but well worth it for those special occasions.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent! Shana nd her crew never disappoint. Wonderful menu, fresh food, creative and talented chef, great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One word... Amazing. The space is so unique and beautiful. The entire staff was friendly and you can tell that they genuinely LOVE what they do. The food is unforgettable. ALL four courses with perfect wine pairings! Please treat yourself with a visit. You won't forget your time spent there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Looking for ambiance AND great food? This is the place!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We love to eat here. Excellent service and atmosphere. Never disappoints.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our third time there and and has been always awesome and delicious! The beef tenderloin duo is transcendent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Everything was excellent,food was the best. Server was on top of her game had a memorable evening. Thank you we will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The wine tasting dinner was very good, the service was family with an edge, and the wines fit their courses superbly. In all, it was s very good night!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had dinner at the Renaissance Cafe during the 4 course dinner and wining pairing event. Each course was paired with wine and we enjoyed the experience tremendously.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food and service are always excellent . This special event was even better than our normal visits and we look forward to doing it again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Everything we had tasted wonderful. Great for a special evening! Fantastic waitress!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Rene, our server, was personable and knowledgeable--very pleasant.
My wife and I are part-time residents of Lindsborg and visit the Renaissance for dinner at least four times each year.
The menu, while limited, with small portions, is excellent.
We, oftentimes, bring friends and/or relatives with us to celebrate a special occasion.

We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is a cute cafe outside of Salina Kansas. We have been there before and liked it enough to go back. This time the service was terribly slow. The mouse that ran across the dining room and stopped next to our table before someone kicked it into the servers area was not acceptable. The servers nor management mentioned it our apologized. I will not be going back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Arrived early, we worked on a puzzle and had our drinks while we waited. Menu is always changing and the selection is wonderful. Meal was great, and the atmosphere was amazing. Our wait staff was very friendly and very helpful. This was our 4 visit to the restaurant in the last 2 years. We will be back. This is the place to have a special meal for any reason!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Such a quaint location and beautiful wood work! Excellent service! Great creative menu choices! Dinner was excellent! Will drive the hour again for sure!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Historic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful experience. Our waitress was excellent and very informed on the menu. The meal was delicious. We ordered the porterhouse for 2 and the meat was a little grisly but overall very good. The dessert was scrumptious. Coffee cups were refilled endlessly! Loved that!
Very nice place and quaint!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our first time there and the menu was exquisite. The special of the evening was the orange and rosemary marinated rack of lamb in an espresso bourbon cream sauce served with mascarpone whipped potatoes and roasted seasonal vegetables. The lamb was so tender you could cut it with a fork and cooked to the perfect medium rare. Renee was always attentive and energetic about the food, chefs, and foodie environment. The small bite appetizer of crab mousse on a herbed shortbread wafer was the teaser of the whole meal and the earl grey/meyer lemon sorbert as the pallet cleanser could have been served anytime on a hot summer day.

We have eaten many places around the world, but this was by far one of the best meals we have had in a while. To think this little gem is in a small town in Kansas which has converted an old school house into a five star restaurant. We will definitely be coming back over and over again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had a quite evening of fine dining not rushed great food outstanding service with interaction of other staff and a good wine form chile
Thanks

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Casual, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.