Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.09mi
  2. Distance: 11.32mi
  3. Distance: 11.42mi
  4. Distance: 11.48mi
  1. Distance: 11.09mi
  2. Distance: 11.32mi
  3. Distance: 11.42mi
  4. Distance: 11.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.09mi
  2. Distance: 11.32mi
  3. Distance: 11.42mi
  4. Distance: 11.48mi
  1. Distance: 11.09mi
  2. Distance: 11.32mi
  3. Distance: 11.42mi
  4. Distance: 11.48mi

About Renaissance Cafe

Authentic Northern Italian Cuisine. Including in house made breads, pastas and desserts. Exciting menu of steaks, chops, seafood and other surprises.

210 North Center Street
Assaria, KS 67416
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
2nd St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(785) 822-6750

Website:
http://www.renaissancecafeassaria.com/

Executive Chef:
Shana Everhart

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine

Renaissance Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Romantic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Historic (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Authentic (2)
Tapas (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Appreciate the effort and the fact that they bring in fresh seafood to land locked Kansas but it was lack luster..sauce was cold, fish was dry...if you're going to serve spaetzel then coach the wait staff how to pronounce it properly when presenting the special. Acoustics are terrible...upside the sorbet was delightful...perhaps we caught them on an off day. But probably won't give it a second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Excellent food! We look forward to visiting again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Having moved down from the Twin Cities a few years back I never expected to find anything to this level of fine dining literally in the countryside, right off I-135, worth a stop whether heading to or from Wichita. Gourmet dining that could rival any big city restaurant. They make their own pasta, sauces and desserts so enchanting you almost want to order all of them. Menu items are unique and intriguing, staff who are very knowledgable and willing to share the original of ingredients (local farmers) along with their knowledge of how the food is prepared only adds to the fun of a well spent evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Superb food & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Fine dining in a unique location. From the seasonal salad to the lemon dessert, every course was a sensation of taste.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Think was a nice place to take the family there food was good and the place looked amazing

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Love love love our server, renee she makes the experience 1000% better!
The food, seriously other than renee we keep coming back for their always changing menu, the menu changes for what they can get locally or what the chef decides on for their menu. Definitely on the more expensive side for us and we only go once or twice a year but we were celebrating our 3rd yr anniversary! If you are contemplating trying it, just try it! You won't regret it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

hands down the best place we've ever ate at!! can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Service was very good, friendly, attentive.

I had printed off menu at my office, shared w/ attendees prior to dinner, however when we arrived it was a completely different menu. Everyone was really looking forward to the crab cakes!

Lobster corn fritters would have been good but they did not have any that night:-(

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

was disappointed. my entree seemed to be a bunch of left over fish in rice. Fish was dry. My boyfriend's risotto had no flavor...and his crustada had no sign of strawberries. I have bragged about thus place but afraid I wont do it anymore. That was $100 wasted.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food and our waitress was excellent. However the seating and table management was poor. It was our first time eating there and we were excited to eat and observe the art and culture of the building. We were sat next to a pillar and also right next to a table where they refilled the drink pitchers and held silverware. We politely asked to move to a different table as there were numerous tables open however we were not allowed to move. Also, they ran out of bread and rolls so we did not get that. While we were dining about 3-4 tables in a 2 hour time frame were never occupied that we could have sat at to better enjoy our experience. I hope this was a one time mistake as the atmosphere is unique and the food is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Outstanding prep, nice presentation, very pleasant atmosphere. Given the quality of the meals, it is very economical.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was great. One of our favorite places to go for our anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Amazing food as always. Never been disappointed. My wife and I's favorite place to eat

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Over priced for the setting and quality. Looks supposedly to be quaint, or possibly romantic? No clue what the theme is suppose to be. Random art everywhere. Waitress seemed scatter brained and running all over the place. The service provided did not match the pricey food one bit. It would be best just to go there for one of their cheap nightly specials.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My Father and I enjoyed our evening of dining at the Renaissance Cafe last week. Our server was wonderful and very customer focused. We've been eating at the Renaissance Cafe for several years now, but this was my first time with the new Chef, et al.

We started with the Antipasto Platter, followed by Hearts of Romain Salad(s). We found the Antipasto Platter perfect to split, and very tasty. As for the Salads, we enjoyed them and felt the Polenta Croutons were a nice touch. However, we did find the rectangular plate too small for the Romain leaves, and as a result we both ended up with salad bits on the table. Our server then brought out a palate cleansing sorbet that was very well done.

As for our Entrees, we both ordered the Black Pepper-Crusted Ribeye (me-rare, and my Dad-medium rare). He thought his steak was nicely marbled, properly cooked to temperature, and very tasty. My steak was not so, and I probably should have said something at the time to our lovely server, but in my mind it was not a "showstopper" as my Father and I rarely see each other (he is local and I'm in CA). Simply put, my steak was too well marbled for my liking. It was borderline humorous to us as I "searched" for the ribeye meat. We both were surprised with the amount of fat that I cut out and left on my plate (the dishwasher probably was as well). Dad said a buddy of his had the same experience at Renaissance Cafe several weeks back. I would have preferred a thicker ribeye given my temperature ask of rare, and much less marbling (more of a typical ribeye cut). The good news is that the Mascarpone Whipped Potatoes were out of this World.

With that, I am looking forward to my next visit back home and will certainly visit the Renaissance Cafe again, as I think it was just a bad day for the Cafe's butcher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

One of the few places in the Salina area where a person can go and feel like they are not at a restaurant in the rural Midwest. Wonderful combinations of flavors--prosciutto-wrapped asparagus to start, and dayboat scallops with a lump crab risotto and some romaine in a very light citrus dressing with a few grapefruit segments for dinner. So good! And there is no restaurant within many miles that serves a palate cleanser--watermelon sorbet--between courses. Service is the place where one is reminded they are at a restaurant in the rural Midwest. It's not bad, but always just a little clunky. Definitely not as elegant as the food. That being said, I would definitely recommend this place for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

A wonderful special dinner with daughters and granddaughter. Shana, the Chef , is fantastic. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This restaurant is a gem on the plains of Kansas. Off the beaten path but worth the little bit of extra effort to get there. The food stars here. A small amuse bouche greets you at the table - on this night a savory bite of roasted garlic mousse on tender house made cracker. The seasonal salad choice is always good and the soup of the day very solid. The menu has enough depth for everyone from steaks to fish to house-made pasta. The twin filets are always fantastic and as good as you will find anywhere. All well presented with a wonderful mix of flavors. To finish -
when in doubt order all of the desserts to share at the table. Our table of 7 could not reach consensus - each one had a fan or two and one person refused to name a favorite! The setting is a little quirky with the tables surrounding the old school basketball court. That lends to the charm of the place, but is a lot of hard surface so the noise level is a little high if the seating is full - but not as loud as an actual basketball game!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have been to this restaurant many times and have always been happy with the food, the service and the dining experience. However this time was different. Our waitress was abrasive, and the meals were not up to par. We were served bottles of beer without glasses, this is not in keeping with the atmosphere of this establishment. My husband and son had the Ahi Tuna which was the special for the evening. We have had this dish before, but the portion of tuna shrank and the vegetables did not increase. I had the pork tenderloin skewers and the meat was quite dry, and there was no sauce served with this dish to offset the dry meat. Everyone has an off night, this was one of them. We will likely go back, but it will not be soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food and service was great. Our server was very friendly, fun, and professional. The only thing I would add is more fruity alcohol drink options:-) My husband I will definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

consistently fabulous!! we have been back 5 times even though it is over an hours drive!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Organic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 20, 2017

It was well worth the drive, what a great little place. The food was fabulous and it was priced with in reason. I will go back

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

First time going to the Renaissance Cafe after hearing about it from a few friends and it was and absolute delight. Great food, friendly service, and overall a wonderful place, great changeup from the norm.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was our first time and we absolutely loved it. Renae was an excellent waitress! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful supper out! Food was very good! Our waitress was really friendly and attentive. We had a great experience. The only slightly negative was that the accoustics are not the best. Table next to us got a little loud and that was amplified. But would definately go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was an amazing experience! My wife and I enjoyed everything about The Renaissance Cafe. Great atmosphere and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This was our first visit. We loved everything. Unique menu items, great atmosphere, our server Adrian was fantastic. The food was amazing! We will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Amazing food and a great place to have a nice date night!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

By far the best steak in the Salina area. You'll pay more than other restaurants but worth it in my opinion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The waitress and service was incredible. Food presentation was great. Salad was awesome, bread fresh and hot, however our entrees were barely warm and therefore not tasty at all. The plates were cool touch . Very disappointing. I would hesitate to return. In the past, we always enjoyed the meal. So disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had a group of 4 (two couples) celebrating a special occasion. The service was impeccable and the food was very good. I hadn't been there for a number of years and didn't remember it being as 'formal' as it was. However, that did not take away from the evening. You don't want to be in a hurry and fortunately we weren't. Very glad we made the trip up there again and would like to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was our first visit since Shana Everhart came on as Executive Chef. Everything was just as wonderful as it has always been. It's the classiest place in the area and there are many nice touches -- including the sorbet to cleanse the palate between courses and the olive oil and Balsamic vinegar dip for the bread. Our server was outstanding, the food choices were creative and delicious, the restaurant is charming. The dessert choices looked great, but we were just too full. Renaissance Cafe will continue to be our favorite local pick for special occasions.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The Renaissance Cafe in Assaria is a true delight not often found in the midwest. From the wine list, appetizers, to the romaine salad, pasta and dessert the cuisine is outstanding. The steaks are the best around!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The setting and the building itself are outstanding, which is why I gave the top rating for the atmosphere...This was our first visit (to celebrate wife's birthday) based on a recommendation from a colleague. We were NOT impressed with the service (had to wait to get empty water glasses refilled, even though restaurant clearly wasn't all that busy, and we were never asked if we wanted to get a second glass of wine; no big deal, but given the prices charged, we expected exceptional or at least very good service). We were also not particularly impressed with the entrees; I had the swordfish (basically tasteless), and my wife had the penne. Both of us felt sick after returning home, so doubtful we will return to try one of the other entrees! The best part was the little appetizer at the beginning!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We met my favorite cousin there and spent the entire evening reminiscing about everything..they were so gracious..we were the last to leave. Our waitress was Renee and she was stellar!!! We hadn't been there in a long time and the New chef is fabulous..loved every morsel!!!
Indeed we will return!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

As far as I can tell, the best place to eat in at least a 60 mile radius. Wonderful ambience with the opportunity to try some dishes that aren't easily found in central Kansas. Nice effort, and we would not hesitate to take any friends or family members to experience this charming eatery.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Food and service was excellent!! Be prepared to spend some money when you go. A great place for a special night out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is the to go place in Saline County. California 4-Star quality. The service is always attentive, suggestive, and pleasant. Food will always surprise you with the quality and special touches. A little expensive, but well worth it for those special occasions.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent! Shana nd her crew never disappoint. Wonderful menu, fresh food, creative and talented chef, great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.