Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.09mi
  2. Distance: 11.32mi
  3. Distance: 11.42mi
  4. Distance: 11.48mi
  1. Distance: 11.09mi
  2. Distance: 11.32mi
  3. Distance: 11.42mi
  4. Distance: 11.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.09mi
  2. Distance: 11.32mi
  3. Distance: 11.42mi
  4. Distance: 11.48mi
  1. Distance: 11.09mi
  2. Distance: 11.32mi
  3. Distance: 11.42mi
  4. Distance: 11.48mi

About Renaissance Cafe

Authentic Northern Italian Cuisine. Including in house made breads, pastas and desserts. Exciting menu of steaks, chops, seafood and other surprises.

210 North Center Street
Assaria, KS 67416
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
2nd St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(785) 822-6750

Website:
http://www.renaissancecafeassaria.com/

Executive Chef:
Shana Everhart

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine

Renaissance Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (24)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Cozy (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Authentic (6)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
515 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Went for our anniversary and was not disappointed. Atmosphere was warm and relaxing, food was amazing, wine choice was decent, and service was well done. Bit pricey but worth it due to the occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

This is our favorite restaurant within 50 miles of where we live. We really enjoy a relaxed fresh cooked meal with friends here. The chef and staff are professional and make it a great experience. This is our go-to spot for most of our special occasions. I usually go with a salad, but decided to try the soup last weekend. It was creamy, and I'll have hard time going back to the salad next time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, great atmosphere, overall great place to eat.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

The evening started out very well. The ambiance (music, lighting, seating) was excellent and set the mood for an enjoyable dining experience. The service also was "just right". The complimentary nibbles were gourmet-ish, the drinks were good quality and the salads were excellent. It was the main courses that were very disappointing. In retrospect, I'm not at all sure my rib eye steak was even a rib eye (very thin, tough and no taste) and my partners pasta was overly oily. I really regret not saying something to the waiter, but I didn't! I do think I might have been offered another option, as the wait staff was so good.
So, I'm not crossing them off of my list, but I will either stick with salads and appetizers, of be more on guard with an entree the next time.
I hope this review is helpful to them, because I would like for them to be successful, as they offer a valuable service to the Salina area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Always a special treat to have a evening out at the Renaissance. Makes you feel special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Service was not up to the usual standards, probably due to inadequate number of servers this night. The scallops were overcooked and the rest of that meal was not hot enough. The baked egg plant was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Had a wonderful experience at this gem of a restaurant a short drive from Salina. My friend, who is GF, had several options to choose from and ended up with a custom Chicken Madeira that she loved. I ordered the Beef Tenderloin Duo and was not disappointed. Perfectly cooked with two different sauces, both of which were delicious. Salads and veggie dishes were good as was the focaccia bread. Everything was seasoned well and our server was so helpful!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2017

This might be the best dining experience in the state of Kansas. Ate their on a Thursday evening on the way to a concert in Salina. We have nothing in Wichita that compares to it. To find a truly exceptional meal in a town of about 400 people is unbelievable. Only about 3 miles off of I-135 about 10 minutes south of Salina. Whether you are passing thru or looking for a destination meal, don't pass this one up on Thursday, Friday or Saturday night (with a reservation!)

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 31, 2017

What a little gem. The restaurant was quaint and clean. Everything was so delicious and the waitress was especially nice. Will go back every time I'm close .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

My second time here. Just as wonderful as the first time. Can't wait for the next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

a great meal, as always! our favorite place for date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent food in a quaint atmosphere. This was our second visit. The steaks and pasta we had each time were fantastic. The amuse and sorbet were nice touches and were delicious. Definitely worth the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

2nd time we've been there, was excellent both times. Would recommend to friends and will come back again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

This was my first time dining here and I was not disappointed. Not a large menu selection but still plenty options to choose from. Staff was wonderful and food was delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

First of all, our server Adrian was outstanding. The effort and care she took to make a classic martini and old fashioned was beyond belief. The setting of this restaurant inside a historic k-12 school is inspirational and nostalgic. And who would believe that you could have fresh halibut in a town of a little over 400 in the center of Kansas, and outstanding to boot. We'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The our waitress was wonderful. She was very professional and informative. The food was very good, but pricy enough we would probably only go for special occasions. The atmosphere was incredible as well. Overall I'd give it a 2 thumbs up!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Enjoyed this great find S of Salina, N or Lindsborg, in Assaria, KS which we had never heard of & we are Kansans! Unexpected gourmet food served with knowledge & efficiency. Loved it, well worth the drive, interesting atmosphere & photos.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great service. Food was excellent. Nice getaway from the usual in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Wonderful evening. We wanted to take my husband's sister and her husband from Chicago area out and were hoping they would enjoy the Renaissance Cafe. It was a hit. The food was wonderful with a great selection to choose from. The waitress was very helpful and gave us great service. Over all we are so glad we went there. Everyone had a great night and we enjoyed ourselves. They said it was even better then the place they choose for us in Wichita.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Appreciate the effort and the fact that they bring in fresh seafood to land locked Kansas but it was lack luster..sauce was cold, fish was dry...if you're going to serve spaetzel then coach the wait staff how to pronounce it properly when presenting the special. Acoustics are terrible...upside the sorbet was delightful...perhaps we caught them on an off day. But probably won't give it a second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Excellent food! We look forward to visiting again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Having moved down from the Twin Cities a few years back I never expected to find anything to this level of fine dining literally in the countryside, right off I-135, worth a stop whether heading to or from Wichita. Gourmet dining that could rival any big city restaurant. They make their own pasta, sauces and desserts so enchanting you almost want to order all of them. Menu items are unique and intriguing, staff who are very knowledgable and willing to share the original of ingredients (local farmers) along with their knowledge of how the food is prepared only adds to the fun of a well spent evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Superb food & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Fine dining in a unique location. From the seasonal salad to the lemon dessert, every course was a sensation of taste.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Think was a nice place to take the family there food was good and the place looked amazing

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Love love love our server, renee she makes the experience 1000% better!
The food, seriously other than renee we keep coming back for their always changing menu, the menu changes for what they can get locally or what the chef decides on for their menu. Definitely on the more expensive side for us and we only go once or twice a year but we were celebrating our 3rd yr anniversary! If you are contemplating trying it, just try it! You won't regret it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

hands down the best place we've ever ate at!! can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Service was very good, friendly, attentive.

I had printed off menu at my office, shared w/ attendees prior to dinner, however when we arrived it was a completely different menu. Everyone was really looking forward to the crab cakes!

Lobster corn fritters would have been good but they did not have any that night:-(

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

was disappointed. my entree seemed to be a bunch of left over fish in rice. Fish was dry. My boyfriend's risotto had no flavor...and his crustada had no sign of strawberries. I have bragged about thus place but afraid I wont do it anymore. That was $100 wasted.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food and our waitress was excellent. However the seating and table management was poor. It was our first time eating there and we were excited to eat and observe the art and culture of the building. We were sat next to a pillar and also right next to a table where they refilled the drink pitchers and held silverware. We politely asked to move to a different table as there were numerous tables open however we were not allowed to move. Also, they ran out of bread and rolls so we did not get that. While we were dining about 3-4 tables in a 2 hour time frame were never occupied that we could have sat at to better enjoy our experience. I hope this was a one time mistake as the atmosphere is unique and the food is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Outstanding prep, nice presentation, very pleasant atmosphere. Given the quality of the meals, it is very economical.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was great. One of our favorite places to go for our anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Amazing food as always. Never been disappointed. My wife and I's favorite place to eat

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Over priced for the setting and quality. Looks supposedly to be quaint, or possibly romantic? No clue what the theme is suppose to be. Random art everywhere. Waitress seemed scatter brained and running all over the place. The service provided did not match the pricey food one bit. It would be best just to go there for one of their cheap nightly specials.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My Father and I enjoyed our evening of dining at the Renaissance Cafe last week. Our server was wonderful and very customer focused. We've been eating at the Renaissance Cafe for several years now, but this was my first time with the new Chef, et al.

We started with the Antipasto Platter, followed by Hearts of Romain Salad(s). We found the Antipasto Platter perfect to split, and very tasty. As for the Salads, we enjoyed them and felt the Polenta Croutons were a nice touch. However, we did find the rectangular plate too small for the Romain leaves, and as a result we both ended up with salad bits on the table. Our server then brought out a palate cleansing sorbet that was very well done.

As for our Entrees, we both ordered the Black Pepper-Crusted Ribeye (me-rare, and my Dad-medium rare). He thought his steak was nicely marbled, properly cooked to temperature, and very tasty. My steak was not so, and I probably should have said something at the time to our lovely server, but in my mind it was not a "showstopper" as my Father and I rarely see each other (he is local and I'm in CA). Simply put, my steak was too well marbled for my liking. It was borderline humorous to us as I "searched" for the ribeye meat. We both were surprised with the amount of fat that I cut out and left on my plate (the dishwasher probably was as well). Dad said a buddy of his had the same experience at Renaissance Cafe several weeks back. I would have preferred a thicker ribeye given my temperature ask of rare, and much less marbling (more of a typical ribeye cut). The good news is that the Mascarpone Whipped Potatoes were out of this World.

With that, I am looking forward to my next visit back home and will certainly visit the Renaissance Cafe again, as I think it was just a bad day for the Cafe's butcher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

One of the few places in the Salina area where a person can go and feel like they are not at a restaurant in the rural Midwest. Wonderful combinations of flavors--prosciutto-wrapped asparagus to start, and dayboat scallops with a lump crab risotto and some romaine in a very light citrus dressing with a few grapefruit segments for dinner. So good! And there is no restaurant within many miles that serves a palate cleanser--watermelon sorbet--between courses. Service is the place where one is reminded they are at a restaurant in the rural Midwest. It's not bad, but always just a little clunky. Definitely not as elegant as the food. That being said, I would definitely recommend this place for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

A wonderful special dinner with daughters and granddaughter. Shana, the Chef , is fantastic. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This restaurant is a gem on the plains of Kansas. Off the beaten path but worth the little bit of extra effort to get there. The food stars here. A small amuse bouche greets you at the table - on this night a savory bite of roasted garlic mousse on tender house made cracker. The seasonal salad choice is always good and the soup of the day very solid. The menu has enough depth for everyone from steaks to fish to house-made pasta. The twin filets are always fantastic and as good as you will find anywhere. All well presented with a wonderful mix of flavors. To finish -
when in doubt order all of the desserts to share at the table. Our table of 7 could not reach consensus - each one had a fan or two and one person refused to name a favorite! The setting is a little quirky with the tables surrounding the old school basketball court. That lends to the charm of the place, but is a lot of hard surface so the noise level is a little high if the seating is full - but not as loud as an actual basketball game!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have been to this restaurant many times and have always been happy with the food, the service and the dining experience. However this time was different. Our waitress was abrasive, and the meals were not up to par. We were served bottles of beer without glasses, this is not in keeping with the atmosphere of this establishment. My husband and son had the Ahi Tuna which was the special for the evening. We have had this dish before, but the portion of tuna shrank and the vegetables did not increase. I had the pork tenderloin skewers and the meat was quite dry, and there was no sauce served with this dish to offset the dry meat. Everyone has an off night, this was one of them. We will likely go back, but it will not be soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food and service was great. Our server was very friendly, fun, and professional. The only thing I would add is more fruity alcohol drink options:-) My husband I will definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.