Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.09mi
  2. Distance: 11.32mi
  3. Distance: 11.42mi
  4. Distance: 11.48mi
  1. Distance: 11.09mi
  2. Distance: 11.32mi
  3. Distance: 11.42mi
  4. Distance: 11.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 11.09mi
  2. Distance: 11.32mi
  3. Distance: 11.42mi
  4. Distance: 11.48mi
  1. Distance: 11.09mi
  2. Distance: 11.32mi
  3. Distance: 11.42mi
  4. Distance: 11.48mi

About Renaissance Cafe

Authentic Northern Italian Cuisine. Including in house made breads, pastas and desserts. Exciting menu of steaks, chops, seafood and other surprises.

210 North Center Street
Assaria, KS 67416
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
2nd St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(785) 822-6750

Website:
http://www.renaissancecafeassaria.com/

Executive Chef:
Shana Everhart

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine

Renaissance Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (14)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Cozy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Authentic (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (2)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort by
S
552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

This was our second time visiting. This was also an evening with a special menu. We were blown away with the starters and the main course. Every bite was full of amazing flavor and plated beautifully. Our waiter also recommended great drinks that we may not have otherwise thought of to go along with our meal. Everything paired nicely and was a great evening.

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Always a hit with us. Food was delicious and were so happy we chose to take our friends to celebrate NYE. Our cocktails were delicious. The steak was perfectly prepared and the pear tart with eggnog gelato was delightful. It’s always easy to relax and be spoiled by a top tier dinner at the Renaissance Cafe.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2017

The Renaissance Cafe is always a favorite place for us to go. The food and service are top notch every time we eat there. Great for special occasions or just an evening out. We really enjoy the different wine pairings meals they put on every year.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2017

We discovered the Renaissance a few years ago and are still astounded that a small town in Kansas has such an outstanding restaurant. The setting, in an old school, is unique, the food is very good and the staff is friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Fabulous food and server Renee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

We love this place! It never disappoints! There is always a delicious special, great wine...truly a hidden gem.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

A unique dining experience. Somewhat pricey compared to what we're used to but worth doing every once in a while for a change of menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

Amazing food and We loved the environment! Very, very friendly staff! We will be going back! Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Love the ambiance and the food. Sorbet is a nice touch. Great chef. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 8, 2017

Delicious food, wonderful and intimate atmosphere. Have already recommended to friends and family.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 7, 2017

Our first time to the Renaissance Cafe. My wife and I had a date night actually it was her Christmas present. What a great place to eat and the drinks were awesome. The waitress was above and beyond. I would highly recomend for all special events.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2017

A very nice dining oasis in the Salina area. Wouldn't hesitate to bring my wife and family or conduct business. Good service is their forté.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

This is our favorite for out-of-town guests, who are always surprised at such a place. It is one of a kind, with a lot to look at, well-presented delicious food, and friendly people.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

We had a great visit! We really enjoyed the environment - what a neat setting! The food was good considering it’s in the middle of Kansas!! We had the tuna crudo and the fish was AMAZING. I encourage the chef to look at the balance of flavors as the fish was so beautiful but the micro greens and harissa overpowered the delicate flavors of the tuna. I ordered the bison and butternut squash ravioli. The pasta was cooked so well, perfectly al dente. The bison was rich while the butternut squash was hardly detectable. The sauce was a bit greasy- but I’m nick picking because we truly had a WONDERFUL experience. Service was friendly and lovely.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Best restaurant for miles around!! Renaissance Cafe is well worth the drive!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

Food presentation and quality was fantastic. Atmosphere was very nice and service was excellent. Wish they were open every night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 10, 2017

I have been a big fan of this place but after my last two experiences I'm re-thinking my opinion! When I find something I like in a restaurant and they take it off the menu it's a deal changer for me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

This place was great! Definitely would recommend for a nice, romantic dinner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We've never had a bad experience here, for special occasions or just a night out. Service is good, and the food is creative, delicious, and well-prepared. The wine was excellent as well. It's a little ways out of town, but it's worth the drive every time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Adrianne, our waitress, was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine. Food You won’t find anywhere else in Kansas. Worth the drive!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

You cannot find a better restaurant in the State of Kansas. Amazing ambiance. If you are in the area make plans to eat here

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Wonderful setting, so near Salina, great staff and kudos to the chef.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We picked this restaurant as an alternative to eating in Salina. To say we were pleasantly surprised is way understated. The entire experience was so much more than expected. This was truly a wonderful experience. First of all, the idea that a beautiful restaurant could be put together from a former high school gym was very surprising. I had the freshly prepared soup of the day which was a mushroom bisque. It was perfectly seasoned and hot. The entrée was medallions of pork tenderloin and vegetables. I thought the pork was a bit overdone, but the taste was marvelous. My spouse had the Ahi tuna, a potato puree, and veggies. Tuna can be challenging to keep from being too done, but this tuna was perfect. We also shared a chocolate dessert that was one of the best I've ever had along with very wonderfully brewed coffee. I've already asked my brother and his wife to join us next time we make the drive from Wichita.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 27, 2017

The scallops were very good but the steak was tough and lacked flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2017

The Renaissance Cafe has great dining atmosphere and the food is fantastic. Out waitress was of the highest quality. She was very knowledgeable of all items on the menu and was very congenial.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 21, 2017

The Renaissance Cafe is a jewel in the restaurant world. We are so lucky to have it near us in the middle of Kansas. The ambiance and food quality is top-notch. Delightful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Excellent meal and excellent service. This is a favorite place for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 20, 2017

The Renissance Café is on my list as a favorite place to dine. The food is always excellent; perfectly prepared and presented. It is a true "dining" experience in that you can spend the evening enjoying your meal, companions and surroundings. The staff is cordial, professional and quite well informed about the food and beverage options. It's a place that we sometimes hesitate to tell others about for fear they will be so busy that we won't be able to get in!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Best food in the state. Also, a knowledgeable and adventuresome wine list.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Simply enough one of the best restaurants I've ever been to! The food was great, the staff is phenomenal, and the atmosphere is unlike anything you'll find in small-town Kansas.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 5, 2017

A big disappointment. Highly touted restaurant which I've wanted to visit for 4 years. Required an overnight. Not very Italian. Cook is Heavy-handed. No finesse. Rib-eye steak blanketed in cracked pepper. Couldn't taste the meat. Service was good. Won't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I was not happy with this experience because the waitress seemed very rushed. Also, when asked how I wanted my steak I said not gray but not bloody. When the steak arrived it was gray...I did not send it back because it had taken so long to get our food. The couple next to us sat down after us and left long before we did. It was not a very satisfying experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The lasagne is one of the best you can find anywhere!!! The trout is fantastic grilled (you can ask if you can have it grilled instead of the breaded & fried version but sometimes they have already breaded them for the evening but it's worth asking)!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Perfect for my mom's 92nd birthday! Everyone made it so Nice! We did miss having the salmon that night. Instead, the fish offerings were swordfish and trout.
Service is always great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Very busy place this day. We weren’t in a hurry, but food wasn’t as good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Who would have guessed that such a wonderful culinary experience was to be had in a wisp of a town in Central Kansas-- Assaria, Kansas (population 400)? Prior to September 23,2017, I was to be counted among the unaware and uninitiated; those who had not an inkling of an idea of the epicurean delights that are to be found at the Renaissance Café . The food I and my party were served on this initial visit has convinced me that I need to be a regular visitor to this marvelous eatery!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Went for our anniversary and was not disappointed. Atmosphere was warm and relaxing, food was amazing, wine choice was decent, and service was well done. Bit pricey but worth it due to the occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant within 50 miles of where we live. We really enjoy a relaxed fresh cooked meal with friends here. The chef and staff are professional and make it a great experience. This is our go-to spot for most of our special occasions. I usually go with a salad, but decided to try the soup last weekend. It was creamy, and I'll have hard time going back to the salad next time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, overall great place to eat.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

The evening started out very well. The ambiance (music, lighting, seating) was excellent and set the mood for an enjoyable dining experience. The service also was "just right". The complimentary nibbles were gourmet-ish, the drinks were good quality and the salads were excellent. It was the main courses that were very disappointing. In retrospect, I'm not at all sure my rib eye steak was even a rib eye (very thin, tough and no taste) and my partners pasta was overly oily. I really regret not saying something to the waiter, but I didn't! I do think I might have been offered another option, as the wait staff was so good.
So, I'm not crossing them off of my list, but I will either stick with salads and appetizers, of be more on guard with an entree the next time.
I hope this review is helpful to them, because I would like for them to be successful, as they offer a valuable service to the Salina area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.