About Regi's American Bistro

1002 Light Street
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

We feature roof-top & farm to fork. Our multiple award winning Crab Cakes & Brunch are the best in town. Enjoy our cuisine by the fireplace in our cozy dining room in the winter, or on our patio terrace in the warmer months. Join us for Brunch on both Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast/Brunch: 9:30am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
E. Hamburg

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 539-7344

Website:
http://www.regisamericanbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Friday & Saturday Evenings

Private Party Facilities:
For no fee we offer a 25 seat dining area for private parties and events. If requested we can provide a set menu which will sample some of our best dishes from the menu.

Private Party Contact:
Alan Morstein: 4105397344x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open Every Day For You Dining Needs.

Restaurant Photos

A.J.'s Tater Tots
Crab Cake Platter
Bloody Mary
Softshell Crab
Tomato Basil Blue Cheese Salad
Pork Belly
Chocolate Cake
Roasted Lobster, Purple Potatoes, Citrus Pico De Gallo, Jicama, Cilantro
Thanksgiving Sandwich
Grilled Grapefruit
Crab Bisque
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Sandwich

Regi's American Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Baltimore
Contemporary American
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Federal Hill ›

neighborhood gem (36)
great for outdoor dining (21)
fit for foodies (20)
See All
great for brunch (19)
great for lunch (17)
good for groups (11)
special occasion (9)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
notable wine list (5)
romantic (5)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
725 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The dining room got so LOUD that our par ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The dining room got so LOUD that our party felt like we had to shout to each other. This became so annoying after awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We have eaten at Regi's many times. The ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have eaten at Regi's many times. The food is always consistent, always good. We have never had a bad meal there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were delighted with our evening at Re ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were delighted with our evening at Regi's. The seafood was delicious. This is a great place to get soft shells, a crabcake, and other local specialities. Great beer on tap. The staff is so friendly and kind. Don't miss this neighborhood gem.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Regi's is a really fun and delicious res ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Regi's is a really fun and delicious restaurant on Light Street in Federal Hill, Baltimore. We especially like it because it has a front patio where dogs are welcome, and our miniature schnauzer is treated as well as we are! We went for Father's Day brunch. The Bloody Marys were just the right blend of spicy and tomato. My wife and I both had salmon creations -- one salmon taco order and one Asian salad with salmon. Both were plentiful and scrumptious. Service was perfect. This is our second trip to Regi's and we will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Love Regi's! All of the food here is gre ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Love Regi's! All of the food here is great and I would recommend it to all of my friends and family.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally excellent to outstanding, this ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Normally excellent to outstanding, this was an off night for Regi's. Server forgot about us. Mac & cheese was very disappointing a. Avocado flatbread had very little avocado. Soft shells were only adequate. Regi's I better than this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We love Regi's before a game.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Regi's is a great stop before an O's game. We had the avocado flatbread and the soft shell crabs. Both were very good. The owner is very personable and all the staff is very friendly and ready to make your visit a great experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cozy Restaurant with Baltimore feel

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

This is a cozy Baltimore restaurant and definitely has that Baltimore vibe going for it. It looks like the bar would be a fun place to hang out for happy hour but we were there for lunch. I had the shrimp salad sandwich which was really good, large shrimp lightly mayo'd and seasoned nicely. The French fries remind me of Thrashers on the Boardwalk in OC. YUM! It was a little pricy for lunch but there were less expensive options. I just wanted to treat myself that day. Go you won't be disappointed. Server was a little less friendly than I would've liked but he was efficient and quick so, I can live with that.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Dog friendly

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Great, dog friendly restaurant. We really enjoyed the food. Service was very slow- it seemed that just our table was impacted. But all staff were friendly and it's wonderful to be able to enjoy the patio with our furry friend.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Always good!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Table for 8 was ready when we walked in. Friendly host and servers. Food and service was very good. Pork chop was big hit. Bar is tiny, we drank elsewhere before and after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant was very cute. Unfortuna ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The restaurant was very cute. Unfortunately, what I ordered was pretty bad. I was there for brunch and order the burger medium rare. It came to me as well done as a burger could be and the bun was so hard I could not eat it. It was probably not a good day to order a burger. My husband said the fish tacos needed some help.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

I could not believe the size of the shri ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I could not believe the size of the shrimp on the garbage salad!!! There was enough salad for three days and there were about 6-7 huge shrimp on top wonderful!!! The Maryland Crab soup is always outstanding especially the huge amount of jumbo lump crab on top

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was horrible and drinks were way ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was horrible and drinks were way over priced. Wouldn't go back anytime soon. Food was good though when they brought the right dishes---burger was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

We have visited Regi's often and never b ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We have visited Regi's often and never been disappointed. Alan, the owner, is always present making sure that his customers are well pleased upon leaving. We recommend it highly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday Brunch with the Pup.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a group of four and a dog for a brunch. They offer heated, dog friendly outdoor seating and we were seated immediately. The waiter was courteous and attentive. The food came out quickly and everyone enjoyed their meals.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

As always Regis never disappoints

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

As always Regis never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Best Cuban sandwich in Baltimore!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Best Cuban sandwich in Baltimore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small cute place in fed hill. Food is in ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Small cute place in fed hill. Food is in point. Can get loud in the back room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Birthday celebrations and out of town guests

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Dinner out with friends (party of 6) who were in town for a wedding was very nice; but, it would have been a lot better if it weren't so noisy! There were times when we were yelling at each other and still could not hear. There was a large party next to us and the room was smaller than expected with little acoustical padding. At other times it may have been only moderately noisy.

The food was quite good and well prepared. The crab cakes were a bit strong (blue crabs are not in season yet). They were meaty with no filler though. The steaks were tasty but a little chewy. The berry salad was delicious as was the cream of crab soup.

We may try Regi's again on a weeknight when it might be less busy. Our Server was so fantastic! (I am sorry I don't remember her name.) She gave us a warning when the party table would be ordering and recommended to order as soon as possible if we were hungry...and we were. It would have taken some time to prepare all of the other meals ordered before us otherwise. Much appreciated! In spite of being busy, she was always there for us with a friendly smile. Every one who was working there seemed to be very helpful and friendly. Thank you!

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Nice visit for a Sunday early dinner

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

After a great classical concert, three of us went to Regi's for an early dinner on a Sunday. My friends loved the Blueberry Lemonade, an alcoholic drink. I had the Blackened fish and it was delicious. Good experience!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter took a long time to attend to us ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Waiter took a long time to attend to us

Seemed as if we were bothering him!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

Take me Out to the Regi's!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Great place to watch the O's and eat and drink and eat and drink!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is consistently great in a nice nei ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Food is consistently great in a nice neighborhood atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a gem in Federal Hill!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

What a fun evening out at Regi's!! We were welcomed by all the staff. Our waiter was attentive and helpful with wine selection. (He also gave us tips about where to catch the water taxi!) The menu had a nice variety of specials: shrimp risotto, fish tacos, filet encrusted with blue cheese and a great smashed avocado appetizer. Also, great crab soup, sandwiches/burgers. All of our dishes were delicious, perfectly cooked, beautifully presented and reasonably priced (no leftovers here).

Happily surprised to find Regi's in Federal Hill/Cross Street Market before a trip to the Baltimore Lights. Can't wait to go back! !

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best in Federal Hill

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Love Regi's. The entire staff is incredibly friendly and the food is simply fantastic. I highly recommend getting the half & half soup, half Maryland crab and half cream of crab, awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great casual dining

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Friendly neighborhood restaurant with good food, great service, and great prices.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Only criticism...even with a reservation ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Only criticism...even with a reservation you might wait a significant amount of time. But the bar is a great place to have a drink and wait while your table clears. True gem!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Regi's is great place for small group lunch meeting. thank you for your care, food and hospitality

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Variety and Delicious!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Regi's carries a wide variety of choices, from soups, salads, sandwiches, entrees, wine and specialty cocktails. We tried the avocado toast appetizer and it was really delicious and enough for 2 to share. The prime rib special was a huge portion of meat along with 2 plentiful side dishes. We always enjoy the pasta w/ crab and shrimp tossed in a light flavorful sauce. We were not disappointed. There was an abundance of seafood and it was really delicious! Our server was attentive and personable. We will definitely return to Regi's soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent meal and service

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Everything was delicious, service was great. Ordered Calamari for an appetizer which was cooked to perfection. My friend had a prime rib that he declared was the best he ever had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Brunch Every Time

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

What a hidden gem. If you want a real brunch with great food, this is your place. There were 7 of us and no one was disappointed. The New Yorker is a fan favorite, but the garbage salad is equally great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food Amazing service !!!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Amazing food

Amazing service !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Seinfeldian Experience

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

"You see, you know how to *take* the reservation, you just don't know how to *hold* the reservation. And that's really the most important part of the reservation: the holding. Anybody can just take them." -- Jerry Seinfeld

We arrived on time at 7pm for our reservation and got in a long line to speak to the host. Waited for more than 15 minutes. The line never moved. The host never spoke to us or anyone else in the line. Tried to flag him down several times without success. We eventually gave up and went elsewhere. Disappointing experience. But I should say, we've been to Regi's many times before and have almost always enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Service issues.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Waited at hostess station for 20min before I had to ask one of the two managers that walked past us as well as other couples numerous times without even acknowledging us who I needed to see about our reservation! He said " me I'll be with you as soon as I seat these people" . Then still another 10 min went by. Biggest issue was no communication to explain that they were working on things and will seat us shortly. Just left us and 3 other couples standing there not knowing anything.

Then the waitress was rarely around and had to ask for everything like bread, water etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Alan has figured out how to have a great ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

Alan has figured out how to have a great menu with fresh ingredients that are well prepared.

The staff and chief are pleasant and willing to work out any eating issues and adjust the ingredients. That makes our garlic free eating easy at Regis and delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

No impressed with the menu.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Sever was not fully awake. Not impressed with the taste of the food. Chicken tasted spoiled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Regi's is a consistent gem, excellent fo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Regi's is a consistent gem, excellent food and service and very friendly vibe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Pleasantly surprised

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Came here due to receiving a gift card - food was great. The service was good. Would recommend their crab cake!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Still an excellent restaurant!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

It's been perhaps 10 years since I last went to Regi's and we were pleasantly surprised that it has kept it's quality high. All of our selections were rather unique and prepared nicely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Sunday Brunch

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

As a long time patron, we met out of town friends there for brunch and were not disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.