About Regi's American Bistro

1002 Light Street
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

We feature roof-top & farm to fork. Our multiple award winning Crab Cakes & Brunch are the best in town. Enjoy our cuisine by the fireplace in our cozy dining room in the winter, or on our patio terrace in the warmer months. Join us for Brunch on both Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast/Brunch: 9:30am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
E. Hamburg

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 539-7344

Website:
http://www.regisamericanbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Friday & Saturday Evenings

Private Party Facilities:
For no fee we offer a 25 seat dining area for private parties and events. If requested we can provide a set menu which will sample some of our best dishes from the menu.

Private Party Contact:
Alan Morstein: (410) 539-7344

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open Every Day For You Dining Needs.

Regi's American Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (16)
Casual (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Cozy (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Romantic (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Authentic (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Historic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
829 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Great local place with a nice menu. Nice bar setting on one side and small dinning room on the other. Great outdoor seating too.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Delicious! We truly enjoyed our dinner at Regis. The parking in Federal Hill is always terrible and confusing, but there is a garage about 2 blocks away. We were warmly greeted when we came in and were seated immediately. Our waiter, Phil (amazing!), was so great! He gave his recommendations and was very prompt and helpful. I got the fried oysters with blue cheese slaw.. Just perfect. And my husband got a mixture of crab soup with cream of crab soup and he devoured it! For dinner I had the skirt steak with broccoli and sweet potato and my husband had the sea bass. My steak and broccoli were cooked perfectly and my husband almost licked his plate, his was so good.. Lol. I highly recommend Regis, we really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was eh, ambiance was poor. We won't be going back

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at Regi's, as usual. We went for the restaurant week specials, but unfortunately they were out of the top two desserts we were hoping for. They let me substitute my glass of wine for dessert. Great service.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I went to Regi's with my friend after the Women's March in Washington. The food was great - don't miss the crab cakes - the service was amiable, helpful and friendly (the waiter gave us a free dessert to thank us for marching!). Regi's is not cheap, but not outrageous either. Great food, fun vibe, lovely staff.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Regi's is a unique local establishment. They have a good variety of menu choices, something for everyone. The crab cake sandwich was amazing though, the best I've had in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We ate at Regi's for the first time during 2017 winter restaurant week. The place was full and noisy. It was difficult to have a conversation due to the noise level. Our server made the experience better, as he was excellent, offering suggestions, and upgrading our wine selection gratis due to our selection being sold out. The appetizer of meatballs was great and filling, enough for two (or extra for take home). The sea bass entrée was excellent, but the chicken Chesapeake was overcooked, dry, and very salty. The bread pudding dessert was good, except for slightly overpowering banana. Overall, a good choice, if you can tolerate a boisterous environment.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 9, 2017

one of fed hill's longstanding gems. the waiters are friendly and go out of their way to accommodate special requests. the kitchen can and does everything well. alan is the ultimate host. this is a wonderful neighborhood club.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always good food and great service. A go to often

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent food. Great having local foods and farm to table. Service was great. Not rushed at all. Having been coming for years and will definitely return!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was outstanding tonight and the music fun! We all ordered the brisket dinner ate all of it! The peas were so fresh! We try to get to Regi's every Chaunaka . IT's the place to be. We saw friends and neighbors. A good evening was had by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 26, 2016

While the food was well prepared, my friend's salmon was so small, a bird may not have been satisfied. My food was substituted twice with the waiter not informing me. Coffee was served without cream, and it took waiter 20 minutes to provide it. Table next to ours , sat at the same time had bread and meals 30 minutes before out waiter even provided bread. Service, although with a smile was quite lacks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was bad, prices were exorbitant (was a holiday), food was so so at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had little options for Christmas Day brunch/breakfast. Regi's is the quintessential neighborhood spot with no frills, pretty basic grub. Our waitress was good and really engaged, which made the experience not so bad. Forgot her name, but can't forget her big beautiful grey eyes her. Thanks for great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was my first time eating here. The place is pretty small, so there is not a lot of leg room. It was really busy on Christmas, which made our wait to order anything very long. The server messed up our order twice and we were not offered any apologies, instead he seemed very annoyed. I brushed it off because he is working on a major holiday. Although I do not recall him checking on us to see if we were satisfied while eating, the food was pretty good. They burned my french toast, but it still was edible. My fiance ordered the waffle and he could not finish it. I would say to try this place once, but you can get better quality, service and price elsewhere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas brunch. Our first time here. Table along the window facing Light Street in Federal Hill. Very friendly owner and staff. Menu with lots of choices. MD crab soup was outstanding. Will definitely go back to try more menu items.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I had the Bangkok noodle bowl with chicken and egg and it was delicious!!! The service is always top notch. The wine is excellent also!! My husband had the special salmon and he really enjoyed that as well. The perfect atmosphere to get in the Christmas spirit

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Everything is good on the menu. Start with the tator tots. Friendly service, locals all around. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 14, 2016

good place for friendly lunch; made it for our annual Christmas get away

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 9, 2016

second time at Regis, still very good food and outstanding service.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We were a group of 14 without a reservation for lunch. Regi's made it happen. Food was great and service awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We are a group of 6 women who attend the Hippodrome and have season tickets. We make "Regi's" one of our restaurant evenings as the food is always delicious, nice staff and convenient to theater! It never disappoints!!

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The service and food here are always good. My friends and I like to eat here prior to a Ravens game because of its location (a short walk to the stadium).

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Loved the Thanksgiving pre fix dinner - partner had salmon. Excellent cocktails. Always great food & ambiance - any time of the year.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Casual, Historic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoyed Thanksgiving dinner at Regi's. The only issue I have is that the meal and price of the meal was different than what was described on their website.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We are new to the area and made Thanksgiving reservations. We sat outside on a beautiful day with the outside tent down it was the perfect temperature. Our waiter, Sam was amazing. He recommended a drink and seemed to be there when we needed him otherwise we were left alone. Perfect experience. We will definitely be back to try different items on the menu!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Regi's food, service and warm welcome great, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2016

First time and decided to enjoy the outside seating on a beautiful Sunday afternoon. Excellent brunch choices and the eggs Chesapeake was a nice way to start the day. Crushes were a perfect drink for the morning. The whole family enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

My wife and I took our sons, one of them just moved to federal hill 2 weeks ago, to the restaurant. Friendly staff. Great food.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Regi's Ultimate Crab Cake is out of this world and the Bloody Mary that washed it down was fantastic as well. Choice of indoor and outdoor dining, with heaters outside. This was a great find.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We enjoyed brunch at Regis on a Sunday. Everyone enjoyed their dishes. The crab dip was the real standout. Delicious! Also enjoyed the orange crushes.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We have been opting for Regi's for pre-Ravens game brunch for the last couple of seasons. Federal Hill is full of venues for before and after festivities such as Mother's or the Cross Street Market, but if you're looking for a civilized, quaint, authentic Baltimore experience, this is the place. There's a mix of Baltimore and visiting team patrons, and everyone seems to be in a good spirit, including the staff. Full carafes of Blody Marys or Mamosas are available for a very reasonable sum, and there is a great variety of brunch lunch items available on this Baltimore centric menu... although I love the San Francisco Joe egg dish which includes Italian sausage, spinach, shrooms, and cheddar, and all the breakfast dishes come with amazing home fries. Be forewarned, give yourself adequate time before kickoff if your going to the game, because this is a very popular spot. Or wait until kickoff, eat at the bar, and watch football... it's not a sports bar, just a local spot with great food, atmosphere, and authenticity.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Always welcoming. Food is great. Service is friendly and attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My wife and I were in town for business and some R/R. Regi's was a gem and overall the best ambience, food and service we found. The menu selection was excellent but we decided on the nightly specials and were not disappointed by the Chilean seabass and Asian spare ribs. We discussed on our flight home that this would be a must stop on our next visit. All around well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Loved the food, but noise level is loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

After Ravens game, the service was poor and some of the food was undercooked. We were told there were two new cooks in the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Pre Ravens Game Day Brunch with another couple...crazy busy but it all worked out! We luckily got to be seated outside where it was quiet enough to visit with our friends. The food was very good and the bloody mary carafe delicious as well. It was clear that the kitchen and wait staff were challenged with the onslaught of pre game business, but eventually we got to eat and got to the game. The owners are always welcoming and wonderful!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 8, 2016

In Baltimore for the first time for a weekend event. Regi's was recommended by the waitress in the lounge at the hotel where we had just checked in. Regi's was in walking distance, only three blocks away, from the Baltimore Inner-Harbor. We were not disappointed! I had the crab cakes..delicious. Regi's had that local "Cheers-everybody knows your name " atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Like every time I have been there great food,great service,and fair prices. Thank you AL

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 2, 2016

My wife and I first enjoyed Regi's in 2010 and decided to go again during our recent visit to Baltimore. We were again very pleased. Food, service, and value are excellent. We'd eat there frequently if we lived in the area.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Danny, our server, was very attentive in the beginning. However, she had so many tables to cover that we were left to fend for ourselves. The blackened mahi mahi was very good but the sides were room temperature. Salmon was rated very good. The seafood salad was very large and plentiful. Bread was not served.

we wuill return.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is our "go to" restaurant in Federal Hill! Always great food and drinks. Dinner specials change depending on the time of year and everything is so fresh!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Went for dinner with parents and a friend to celebrate a new job. Short walk off the Baltimore Inner Harbor away from all the tourists. We were seated outside on a beautiful day, so ambience was great. Plates were a good size. Everyone's meal was flavorful. Crabcake and shrimp dishes were well seasoned. 4 entrees, 2 automatically-refilled (non-alcoholic) beverages an appetizer for $140. I'd say that's a pretty good value. Would definitely go again when I'm visiting the Baltimore inner harbor area.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Spicy, Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We were recommended this restaurant by friends from Baltimore, while we were in town visiting. After a 30 minute walk, we were hot and hungry. THE CRAB DIP IS SO GOOD! Go for that! The kids grilled cheese had two cheeses, a good surprise. the hamburger was pretty standard, and both my husband and I got the crab cake sandwich. Kind of like a burger, but with a crab cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

the restaurant was very good and we have the luck of being seaed outside

we had excellent fish of many kind from crabcakes salmon ahi tuna

the wines and cocktails were excellent and the service was competent and kind

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The tater tots were awesome and so was there iced coffee. Do not get the avocado egg toast. It is not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Took forever for entrees to come out(nearly 1 hour). Restaurant was not that busy. Blamed on the BigAss pork chop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food & service! Lunch special menu is $8, a fabulous deal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Alan runs a fabulous neighborhood gem. it's consistent locally sourced products are always something special. the soft shell crabs are remarkable but so is pretty much everything on the menu. do not miss Monday's special, the chicken parm.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.