About Regi's American Bistro

1002 Light Street
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

We feature roof-top & farm to fork. Our multiple award winning Crab Cakes & Brunch are the best in town. Enjoy our cuisine by the fireplace in our cozy dining room in the winter, or on our patio terrace in the warmer months. Join us for Brunch on both Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast/Brunch: 9:30am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
E. Hamburg

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 539-7344

Website:
http://www.regisamericanbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Friday & Saturday Evenings

Private Party Facilities:
For no fee we offer a 25 seat dining area for private parties and events. If requested we can provide a set menu which will sample some of our best dishes from the menu.

Private Party Contact:
Alan Morstein: 4105397344x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open Every Day For You Dining Needs.

Restaurant Photos

A.J.'s Tater Tots
Bloody Mary
Softshell Crab
Tomato Basil Blue Cheese Salad
Pork Belly
Chocolate Cake
Roasted Lobster, Purple Potatoes, Citrus Pico De Gallo, Jicama, Cilantro
Crab Cake Platter
Thanksgiving Sandwich
Grilled Grapefruit
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Sandwich
Crab Bisque

Regi's American Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Value
Baltimore
Great for Brunch
Baltimore
2 More
Great for Lunch
Baltimore
Contemporary American
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Federal Hill ›

Neighborhood Gem (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Great for Lunch (31)
See All
Great for Brunch (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Groups (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Casual (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Authentic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Romantic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great Beer (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Live Sports (2)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
745 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I were in town for business ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I were in town for business and some R/R. Regi's was a gem and overall the best ambience, food and service we found. The menu selection was excellent but we decided on the nightly specials and were not disappointed by the Chilean seabass and Asian spare ribs. We discussed on our flight home that this would be a must stop on our next visit. All around well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After Ravens game, the service was poor ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

After Ravens game, the service was poor and some of the food was undercooked. We were told there were two new cooks in the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Pre Ravens Game Day Brunch with another ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Pre Ravens Game Day Brunch with another couple...crazy busy but it all worked out! We luckily got to be seated outside where it was quiet enough to visit with our friends. The food was very good and the bloody mary carafe delicious as well. It was clear that the kitchen and wait staff were challenged with the onslaught of pre game business, but eventually we got to eat and got to the game. The owners are always welcoming and wonderful!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

In Baltimore for the first time for a w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

In Baltimore for the first time for a weekend event. Regi's was recommended by the waitress in the lounge at the hotel where we had just checked in. Regi's was in walking distance, only three blocks away, from the Baltimore Inner-Harbor. We were not disappointed! I had the crab cakes..delicious. Regi's had that local "Cheers-everybody knows your name " atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Like every time I have been there great ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Like every time I have been there great food,great service,and fair prices. Thank you AL

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I first enjoyed Regi's in 20 ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

My wife and I first enjoyed Regi's in 2010 and decided to go again during our recent visit to Baltimore. We were again very pleased. Food, service, and value are excellent. We'd eat there frequently if we lived in the area.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Danny, our server, was very attentive in ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Danny, our server, was very attentive in the beginning. However, she had so many tables to cover that we were left to fend for ourselves. The blackened mahi mahi was very good but the sides were room temperature. Salmon was rated very good. The seafood salad was very large and plentiful. Bread was not served.

we wuill return.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This is our "go to" restaurant in Federa ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is our "go to" restaurant in Federal Hill! Always great food and drinks. Dinner specials change depending on the time of year and everything is so fresh!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for dinner with parents and a frien ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Went for dinner with parents and a friend to celebrate a new job. Short walk off the Baltimore Inner Harbor away from all the tourists. We were seated outside on a beautiful day, so ambience was great. Plates were a good size. Everyone's meal was flavorful. Crabcake and shrimp dishes were well seasoned. 4 entrees, 2 automatically-refilled (non-alcoholic) beverages an appetizer for $140. I'd say that's a pretty good value. Would definitely go again when I'm visiting the Baltimore inner harbor area.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Spicy, Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We were recommended this restaurant by f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We were recommended this restaurant by friends from Baltimore, while we were in town visiting. After a 30 minute walk, we were hot and hungry. THE CRAB DIP IS SO GOOD! Go for that! The kids grilled cheese had two cheeses, a good surprise. the hamburger was pretty standard, and both my husband and I got the crab cake sandwich. Kind of like a burger, but with a crab cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

the restaurant was very good and we have ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

the restaurant was very good and we have the luck of being seaed outside

we had excellent fish of many kind from crabcakes salmon ahi tuna

the wines and cocktails were excellent and the service was competent and kind

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The tater tots were awesome and so was t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The tater tots were awesome and so was there iced coffee. Do not get the avocado egg toast. It is not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Took forever for entrees to come out(nea ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Took forever for entrees to come out(nearly 1 hour). Restaurant was not that busy. Blamed on the BigAss pork chop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food & service! Lunch special me ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food & service! Lunch special menu is $8, a fabulous deal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alan runs a fabulous neighborhood gem. i ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Alan runs a fabulous neighborhood gem. it's consistent locally sourced products are always something special. the soft shell crabs are remarkable but so is pretty much everything on the menu. do not miss Monday's special, the chicken parm.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have been at Regi's regularly for lunc ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I have been at Regi's regularly for lunch lately from Monday to Thursday and possibly Friday if their bartender Becca works on that day. She has made the difference in experiencing coziness & friendly atmosphere besides their great food! She's a super down to earth bartender without attitude and she also works on Sunday evening, wish she also works more evening shifts.

Regi's like Cheers in Federal Hill, everyone knows each other and we always try to get to know new comers! The owner Alan is great to chat with and super relaxing just to get away from the busy office hours for a moment. I can talk more about this place but just stop by for yourself, especially just hang out at the bar area to enjoy good food & drinks. They have three large TVs to watch for your favorite sports & news. It's a pet friendly restaurant with an outdoor seating area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, great food and even better se ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

As always, great food and even better service. Regi's never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an awesome brunch here. The food ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had an awesome brunch here. The food was amazing, we had an omelet and crab Benedict. Service also was great. We will be back soon!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose Reggis as it was within walking ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We chose Reggis as it was within walking distance to a friend's home. We went into the city for Restaurant week. I chose one of the restaurant week choices do rock fish. I had a watermelon, mint and feta salad to start and my meal came with a dessert choice. The salad was ok, not special. The rockfish was wonderful. I took half home, along with my dessert of peach cobbler. My husband said it was good. The restaurant is a great location, the seating was comfortable. The noise level was a bit loud.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The dining room got so LOUD that our par ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The dining room got so LOUD that our party felt like we had to shout to each other. This became so annoying after awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Regi's is my lifeline when I need comfor ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Regi's is my lifeline when I need comfort food in a warm atmosphere. I live 20 minutes uptown from Regi's but crave it at least once a week. Fresh, fun, festive. There is a reason that they have been successful for so many years. Cannot say enough good things about Regi's. My favorite place in Baltimore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Regi's many times. The ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have eaten at Regi's many times. The food is always consistent, always good. We have never had a bad meal there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were delighted with our evening at Re ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were delighted with our evening at Regi's. The seafood was delicious. This is a great place to get soft shells, a crabcake, and other local specialities. Great beer on tap. The staff is so friendly and kind. Don't miss this neighborhood gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Regi's is a really fun and delicious res ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Regi's is a really fun and delicious restaurant on Light Street in Federal Hill, Baltimore. We especially like it because it has a front patio where dogs are welcome, and our miniature schnauzer is treated as well as we are! We went for Father's Day brunch. The Bloody Marys were just the right blend of spicy and tomato. My wife and I both had salmon creations -- one salmon taco order and one Asian salad with salmon. Both were plentiful and scrumptious. Service was perfect. This is our second trip to Regi's and we will be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Love Regi's! All of the food here is gre ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Love Regi's! All of the food here is great and I would recommend it to all of my friends and family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally excellent to outstanding, this ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Normally excellent to outstanding, this was an off night for Regi's. Server forgot about us. Mac & cheese was very disappointing a. Avocado flatbread had very little avocado. Soft shells were only adequate. Regi's I better than this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We love Regi's before a game.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Regi's is a great stop before an O's game. We had the avocado flatbread and the soft shell crabs. Both were very good. The owner is very personable and all the staff is very friendly and ready to make your visit a great experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cozy Restaurant with Baltimore feel

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

This is a cozy Baltimore restaurant and definitely has that Baltimore vibe going for it. It looks like the bar would be a fun place to hang out for happy hour but we were there for lunch. I had the shrimp salad sandwich which was really good, large shrimp lightly mayo'd and seasoned nicely. The French fries remind me of Thrashers on the Boardwalk in OC. YUM! It was a little pricy for lunch but there were less expensive options. I just wanted to treat myself that day. Go you won't be disappointed. Server was a little less friendly than I would've liked but he was efficient and quick so, I can live with that.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Dog friendly

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Great, dog friendly restaurant. We really enjoyed the food. Service was very slow- it seemed that just our table was impacted. But all staff were friendly and it's wonderful to be able to enjoy the patio with our furry friend.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Always good!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Table for 8 was ready when we walked in. Friendly host and servers. Food and service was very good. Pork chop was big hit. Bar is tiny, we drank elsewhere before and after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant was very cute. Unfortuna ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The restaurant was very cute. Unfortunately, what I ordered was pretty bad. I was there for brunch and order the burger medium rare. It came to me as well done as a burger could be and the bun was so hard I could not eat it. It was probably not a good day to order a burger. My husband said the fish tacos needed some help.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

I could not believe the size of the shri ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I could not believe the size of the shrimp on the garbage salad!!! There was enough salad for three days and there were about 6-7 huge shrimp on top wonderful!!! The Maryland Crab soup is always outstanding especially the huge amount of jumbo lump crab on top

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was horrible and drinks were way ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was horrible and drinks were way over priced. Wouldn't go back anytime soon. Food was good though when they brought the right dishes---burger was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

We have visited Regi's often and never b ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We have visited Regi's often and never been disappointed. Alan, the owner, is always present making sure that his customers are well pleased upon leaving. We recommend it highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday Brunch with the Pup.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a group of four and a dog for a brunch. They offer heated, dog friendly outdoor seating and we were seated immediately. The waiter was courteous and attentive. The food came out quickly and everyone enjoyed their meals.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

As always Regis never disappoints

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

As always Regis never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Best Cuban sandwich in Baltimore!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Best Cuban sandwich in Baltimore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small cute place in fed hill. Food is in ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Small cute place in fed hill. Food is in point. Can get loud in the back room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Birthday celebrations and out of town guests

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Dinner out with friends (party of 6) who were in town for a wedding was very nice; but, it would have been a lot better if it weren't so noisy! There were times when we were yelling at each other and still could not hear. There was a large party next to us and the room was smaller than expected with little acoustical padding. At other times it may have been only moderately noisy.

The food was quite good and well prepared. The crab cakes were a bit strong (blue crabs are not in season yet). They were meaty with no filler though. The steaks were tasty but a little chewy. The berry salad was delicious as was the cream of crab soup.

We may try Regi's again on a weeknight when it might be less busy. Our Server was so fantastic! (I am sorry I don't remember her name.) She gave us a warning when the party table would be ordering and recommended to order as soon as possible if we were hungry...and we were. It would have taken some time to prepare all of the other meals ordered before us otherwise. Much appreciated! In spite of being busy, she was always there for us with a friendly smile. Every one who was working there seemed to be very helpful and friendly. Thank you!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Nice visit for a Sunday early dinner

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

After a great classical concert, three of us went to Regi's for an early dinner on a Sunday. My friends loved the Blueberry Lemonade, an alcoholic drink. I had the Blackened fish and it was delicious. Good experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.