About Regi's American Bistro

1002 Light Street
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

We feature roof-top & farm to fork. Our multiple award winning Crab Cakes & Brunch are the best in town. Enjoy our cuisine by the fireplace in our cozy dining room in the winter, or on our patio terrace in the warmer months. Join us for Brunch on both Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast/Brunch: 9:30am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
E. Hamburg

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 539-7344

Website:
http://www.regisamericanbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking Friday & Saturday Evenings

Private Party Facilities:
For no fee we offer a 25 seat dining area for private parties and events. If requested we can provide a set menu which will sample some of our best dishes from the menu.

Private Party Contact:
Alan Morstein: 4105397344x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open Every Day For You Dining Needs.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Multiple Award Winning Brunch
Omelets/ Wraps/ Sandwiches/Salads/ Soft Shell Crabs & More
We Are Pet Friendly On Our Outdoor Patio

Regi's American Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Baltimore / Maryland
Great for Brunch
Baltimore
Great for Lunch
Baltimore
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Baltimore
Contemporary American
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Federal Hill ›

neighborhood gem (40)
fit for foodies (28)
great for outdoor dining (27)
See All
great for brunch (24)
great for lunch (21)
good for groups (14)
special occasion (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
romantic (9)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (6)
notable wine list (6)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
716 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good!

Dined on May 20, 2016

Table for 8 was ready when we walked in. Friendly host and servers. Food and service was very good. Pork chop was big hit. Bar is tiny, we drank elsewhere before and after.

food1
ambience3
service3
value3

The restaurant was very cute. Unfortuna ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The restaurant was very cute. Unfortunately, what I ordered was pretty bad. I was there for brunch and order the burger medium rare. It came to me as well done as a burger could be and the bun was so hard I could not eat it. It was probably not a good day to order a burger. My husband said the fish tacos needed some help.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I could not believe the size of the shri ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I could not believe the size of the shrimp on the garbage salad!!! There was enough salad for three days and there were about 6-7 huge shrimp on top wonderful!!! The Maryland Crab soup is always outstanding especially the huge amount of jumbo lump crab on top

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1

Service was horrible and drinks were way ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was horrible and drinks were way over priced. Wouldn't go back anytime soon. Food was good though when they brought the right dishes---burger was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have visited Regi's often and never b ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We have visited Regi's often and never been disappointed. Alan, the owner, is always present making sure that his customers are well pleased upon leaving. We recommend it highly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Saturday Brunch with the Pup.

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a group of four and a dog for a brunch. They offer heated, dog friendly outdoor seating and we were seated immediately. The waiter was courteous and attentive. The food came out quickly and everyone enjoyed their meals.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience3
service5

As always Regis never disappoints

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

As always Regis never disappoints

food5
ambience5
service5

Best Cuban sandwich in Baltimore!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Best Cuban sandwich in Baltimore!

food5
ambience4
service5

Small cute place in fed hill. Food is in ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Small cute place in fed hill. Food is in point. Can get loud in the back room.

food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Birthday celebrations and out of town guests

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Dinner out with friends (party of 6) who were in town for a wedding was very nice; but, it would have been a lot better if it weren't so noisy! There were times when we were yelling at each other and still could not hear. There was a large party next to us and the room was smaller than expected with little acoustical padding. At other times it may have been only moderately noisy. The food was quite good and well prepared. The crab cakes were a bit strong (blue crabs are not in season yet). They were meaty with no filler though. The steaks were tasty but a little chewy. The berry salad was delicious as was the cream of crab soup. We may try Regi's again on a weeknight when it might be less busy. Our Server was so fantastic! (I am sorry I don't remember her name.) She gave us a warning when the party table would be ordering and recommended to order as soon as possible if we were hungry...and we were. It would have taken some time to prepare all of the other meals ordered before us otherwise. Much appreciated! In spite of being busy, she was always there for us with a friendly smile. Every one who was working there seemed to be very helpful and friendly. Thank you!

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice visit for a Sunday early dinner

Dined on April 10, 2016

After a great classical concert, three of us went to Regi's for an early dinner on a Sunday. My friends loved the Blueberry Lemonade, an alcoholic drink. I had the Blackened fish and it was delicious. Good experience!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service1

Waiter took a long time to attend to us ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Waiter took a long time to attend to us Seemed as if we were bothering him!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Take me Out to the Regi's!

Dined on April 4, 2016

Great place to watch the O's and eat and drink and eat and drink!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Food is consistently great in a nice nei ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Food is consistently great in a nice neighborhood atmosphere

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a gem in Federal Hill!

Dined on April 2, 2016

What a fun evening out at Regi's!! We were welcomed by all the staff. Our waiter was attentive and helpful with wine selection. (He also gave us tips about where to catch the water taxi!) The menu had a nice variety of specials: shrimp risotto, fish tacos, filet encrusted with blue cheese and a great smashed avocado appetizer. Also, great crab soup, sandwiches/burgers. All of our dishes were delicious, perfectly cooked, beautifully presented and reasonably priced (no leftovers here). Happily surprised to find Regi's in Federal Hill/Cross Street Market before a trip to the Baltimore Lights. Can't wait to go back! !

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Federal Hill

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Love Regi's. The entire staff is incredibly friendly and the food is simply fantastic. I highly recommend getting the half & half soup, half Maryland crab and half cream of crab, awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great casual dining

Dined on March 18, 2016

Friendly neighborhood restaurant with good food, great service, and great prices.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only criticism...even with a reservation ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Only criticism...even with a reservation you might wait a significant amount of time. But the bar is a great place to have a drink and wait while your table clears. True gem!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic

Dined on March 6, 2016

Regi's is great place for small group lunch meeting. thank you for your care, food and hospitality

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Variety and Delicious!

Dined on March 5, 2016

Regi's carries a wide variety of choices, from soups, salads, sandwiches, entrees, wine and specialty cocktails. We tried the avocado toast appetizer and it was really delicious and enough for 2 to share. The prime rib special was a huge portion of meat along with 2 plentiful side dishes. We always enjoy the pasta w/ crab and shrimp tossed in a light flavorful sauce. We were not disappointed. There was an abundance of seafood and it was really delicious! Our server was attentive and personable. We will definitely return to Regi's soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal and service

Dined on March 5, 2016

Everything was delicious, service was great. Ordered Calamari for an appetizer which was cooked to perfection. My friend had a prime rib that he declared was the best he ever had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Brunch Every Time

Dined on February 28, 2016

What a hidden gem. If you want a real brunch with great food, this is your place. There were 7 of us and no one was disappointed. The New Yorker is a fan favorite, but the garbage salad is equally great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food Amazing service !!!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Amazing food Amazing service !!!

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

A Seinfeldian Experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

"You see, you know how to *take* the reservation, you just don't know how to *hold* the reservation. And that's really the most important part of the reservation: the holding. Anybody can just take them." -- Jerry Seinfeld We arrived on time at 7pm for our reservation and got in a long line to speak to the host. Waited for more than 15 minutes. The line never moved. The host never spoke to us or anyone else in the line. Tried to flag him down several times without success. We eventually gave up and went elsewhere. Disappointing experience. But I should say, we've been to Regi's many times before and have almost always enjoyed it.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Service issues.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Waited at hostess station for 20min before I had to ask one of the two managers that walked past us as well as other couples numerous times without even acknowledging us who I needed to see about our reservation! He said " me I'll be with you as soon as I seat these people" . Then still another 10 min went by. Biggest issue was no communication to explain that they were working on things and will seat us shortly. Just left us and 3 other couples standing there not knowing anything. Then the waitress was rarely around and had to ask for everything like bread, water etc.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Alan has figured out how to have a great ...

Dined on January 20, 2016

Alan has figured out how to have a great menu with fresh ingredients that are well prepared. The staff and chief are pleasant and willing to work out any eating issues and adjust the ingredients. That makes our garlic free eating easy at Regis and delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

No impressed with the menu.

Dined on January 17, 2016

Sever was not fully awake. Not impressed with the taste of the food. Chicken tasted spoiled.

food4
ambience4
service4

Regi's is a consistent gem, excellent fo ...

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Regi's is a consistent gem, excellent food and service and very friendly vibe!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasantly surprised

Dined on January 15, 2016

Came here due to receiving a gift card - food was great. The service was good. Would recommend their crab cake!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Still an excellent restaurant!

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

It's been perhaps 10 years since I last went to Regi's and we were pleasantly surprised that it has kept it's quality high. All of our selections were rather unique and prepared nicely.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday Brunch

Dined on January 10, 2016

As a long time patron, we met out of town friends there for brunch and were not disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

I enjoyed my overall experience and food ...

Dined on January 6, 2016

I enjoyed my overall experience and food at the restaurant it was very enjoyable

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always enjoy dining here and have for ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

We always enjoy dining here and have for over 20 years.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Regi's none better!

Dined on January 3, 2016

Great local owned and run restaurant, best ingredients great cooking, friendly happy atmosphere. Long time DC ( over 25 years) area resident was our guest and said "the best crab cakes she ever had."

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3

The food was excellent. Flavorful, fresh ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

The food was excellent. Flavorful, fresh and well cooked. An excellent place to ring in the New Year!

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Crying Over Spilled Soup

Dined on December 29, 2015

Food was great. Server was nice and polite. His skills were lacking for the prices on the menu. After soup was spilled down my back - food continued to come out at various times for each of the 6 guests in my party. Shots were delivered to cover for the mistake - although the table was drinking wine. A little presumptuous that we would want to drink lemon drops in the middle of our dinner. Nothing was deducted from our check. Neither a manager nor an owner checked on our table after a HOT bowl of soup was spilled on me. Two items of clothing required immediate dry cleaning (including a brand new coat). An email was sent to the restaurant via their website and still no response. I want to give them another shot, but they are making it pretty hard for me.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Regi's in Fed Hill

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

Regi's never disappoints. I had not been there for a while, but everything was great! Slight additions/changes to the menu, but all for the good! And the old favorites still there! Will definitely be back again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's A Keeper

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Great Christmas dining experience. Ordered the crab cake and the Christmas dinner special. The food was delicious and the wine recommendation by our waiter Dwayne was excellent. Friendly atmosphere and wait staff. We were greeted and seated immediately . The Apple pie dessert scrumptious. Baltimore gem. Will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1

We enjoy Regi's, however service on our ...

Dined on December 24, 2015

We enjoy Regi's, however service on our special night was total disappointment, we left after appetizers, sent email to Regi's noting our disappointment, of course no response, such a shame for one of our favorite places.

food3
ambience4
service4

I had good expectations for Regis. The f ...

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

I had good expectations for Regis. The food was good, but there are better places to grab burgers and such after the game. Our server was nice so overall a pleasant experience.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.