About The Regency Room - The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center

110 Shenandoah Ave NE
Roanoke, VA 24016
View Larger Map

This Fall, The Regency Room is rich with bountiful colors and fresh ingredients as Executive Chef Stephen DeMarco introduces his new winter dinner menu. Make a statement in The Regency Room each and every time you dine! "The menu features indulgent items that showcase summer's flavors," said Executive Chef DeMarco. "From Lobster Bienville and Heirloom Tomato and Crab Tower to fresh-new drinks, the new menu offers our classics while also highlighting small and large plate offerings in The Regency Room."

Opening in 1938, The Regency Room has remained at the heart of the Roanoke social and cultural experience. The restaurant, under the direction of Executive Chef DeMarco, features French-inspired Southern cuisine and is open year-round, including holidays. The Regency Room is extensively involved in a shop local, buy local mentality.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday & Sunday: 7:00am - 10:30am

Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Closed on Sunday for dinner.
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Williamson Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 985-5900

Website:
http://www.hotelroanoke.com/

Entertainment:
Featuring live classical/jazz music and dancing experience each Friday and Saturday evenings, the very best entertainment in the Roanoke Valley. Our Grand Sunday Brunch Buffet also features live entertainment weekly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available for dinner with validation, discounted valet parking is available with validation throughout the week for breakfast, lunch and Sunday brunch.

Discounted self parking is also available to Regency Room Diners with validation.

Please inquire in The Regency Room for valet parking validation.

Public Transit:
Smart Way Bus has two stops along Wells Avenue.



Star Trolley stops at the Market Building, with a short walk across the Market Square Walkway to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef Stephen DeMarco

Additional:
Banquet, Chef's Table, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When it comes to your special day, The Regency Room is committed to making every moment unforgettable statement.

Celebrate life's milestones and accomplisments- from bar and bat mitzvahs, anniversaries and showers to product launches, awards ceremonies and celebration dinners - in a variety of settings. Whatever your occasion, let us design and create imaginative, tastefully appointed and graciously served special events.

The new group dining area, The Regency Overlook, will be reserved for functions, such as wedding receptions and corporate lunches or dinners.

Private Dining

Steeped in elegance and tradition, The Virginia Room welcomes guests into the luxury of private dining and personal service. Surrounded by rich mahogany and graced with white tablecloth, the Virginia Room offers a dining experience unsurpassed in the Roanoke Valley.

The Regency Room - The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Romantic (32)
Historic (27)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Business Meals (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Live Music (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Seasonal (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Authentic (12)
Scenic View (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Casual (5)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (5)
Fun (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Cozy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Dancing (3)
Fireplace (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
368 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent brunch, great service, and gre ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent brunch, great service, and great atmosphere at the Regency Room at the Hotel Roanoke.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. We had high expectations a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food. We had high expectations and they were surpassed. This brunch was a delicious way to sample all the wonderful food and the gracious atmosphere that the Regency Room has to offer.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Historic, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, , Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch buffet spread will leave even ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The brunch buffet spread will leave even the wettest of appetites fully satisfied 😋 Please show up hungry 😉

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great date with my wife. This pla ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had a great date with my wife. This place was very romantic with live drums, sax, and piano. Small dance floor was perfect. Every bite was delicious. Older classical atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Historic, Business Meals, Live Music, Dancing, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service and Food

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great Service and Food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is predictable and not really' ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food is predictable and not really' Southern' fare as advertised. Go for the impeccable service and great people watching. The desserts were especially disappointing,tasting like things one buy from a big box food club store. Entrees choices were fine,but again predictable. I went for the New Year day brunch, to start the year with a bang. Didn't happen, it was more of a quite 'Harrumph '.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We may have gone in expecting to much, t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We may have gone in expecting to much, the hotel is beautiful, the Christmas decorations were gorgeous, the food was generic. The She Crap soup was very good!, my Bloody Mary was terrible...for the prices they charge it would have been nice to say "wow" at least once....

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We go annually to see the show of trees. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We go annually to see the show of trees. We love the food and atmosphere; however, this time we were seated at 10:15, and the food was removed from the buffet at 10:35. If the last seating for breakfast is 10:30, the food should be available for 1/2 hour, in my opinion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Host made us uncomfortable for arriv ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The Host made us uncomfortable for arriving 30 minutes early with a comment. Many empty tables. Waitress was nice but to no fault of hers, service was slow. Food was good but flow of drinks, salad, dinner and even longer wait for dessert. Food was very good but disappointed in service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

My sisters and I went for a pre-Christma ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My sisters and I went for a pre-Christmas brunch, hoping to start a new tradition. It was magical and an event to treasure with family. Afterwards, we saw the trees. Just a beautiful and meaningful way to start the Christmas holiday weekend. There's nothing like the Grand Lady herself!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Historic, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, , Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a very lovely lunch experience with ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Had a very lovely lunch experience with three dear friends. We were not rushed, our server was very attentive. We were able to have nice conversation and not have to talk over each other. The She-crab soup was amazing!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It has been a few years since my wife an ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It has been a few years since my wife and I dined at the Regency Room. Very please with the overall experience. I had the trout and she had two small plates. Both were presented very nicely and tasted accordingly. We will certainly return.

Only thing we missed was the live band and dance floor they used to have.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went for a special Christmas luncheon. T ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Went for a special Christmas luncheon. They were obviously overbooked, because tables (ours) had been added right inside the doors to the restaurant. At first I wasn't happy about it, but soon realized that it got us away from a lot of the noise and we weren't sitting on top of people. The food was delicious, especially the peanut soup and our waitress was very attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Regency Room is a grand venue for a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The Regency Room is a grand venue for a special occasion dinner. The fried green tomato appetizer was a favorite among our group as was the she-crab soup. Favorite entrees were the trout and a truly superb crab cake. All menu items we ordered were excellent; our only complaint was the food could have been a little warmer when served. Our waiter was excellent, and the dining room was quite busy, so we assumed the kitchen could have used more staff to get the food out in a more timely manner. We will definitely be returning for dinner!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was a little too fancy for what I'm ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food was a little too fancy for what I'm use too. But the experience was fun. Visiting Hotel Roanoke & looking at all the decorated trees was so fun! Thank you,

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The buffet has a good combination of tra ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The buffet has a good combination of traditional fare and unique items. The asparagus eggrolls were a surprising hit with our group. Peanut soup always good here. Tables are arranged close together, so be aware if anyone needs room to maneuver. We enjoy holiday meals here because you can walk the lobby and conference areas to see a variety of decorated trees on display. Plan on roughly $30 per head after a reasonably good tip.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Christmas luncheun for co-workers. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great Christmas luncheun for co-workers. Everyone enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Sunday Brunch. Food was excellent ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great Sunday Brunch. Food was excellent as always. One of our favorite Christmas meal spots.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our party of six had a 10:00 reservation ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our party of six had a 10:00 reservation. We checked in with the hostess about 10 til 10:00. We were we would be called when our table was ready. After waiting until almost 10:30 we again checked in with the hostess. She said our table was ready and we were seated. This left only a half an hour to eat and talk. By 11:00, the food was being put away and the dining area was being vacated for the brunch. We were disappointed for being shorted on our time at the restaurant for eating and talking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

It was a lovely evening. The Regency Roo ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 17, 2016

It was a lovely evening. The Regency Room is a special place to go. Food is very good and service is outstanding. The Hotel is all decorated for Christmas!! Beautiful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent! Enjoyed the food, music and ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent! Enjoyed the food, music and being with friends! Definitely returning soon

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful direcorations. She crab soup ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Beautiful direcorations. She crab soup and cheesecake great. Lunch buffet was ok but not as good as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Holiday lunch with friends. Temperature ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Holiday lunch with friends. Temperature too warm. Food mediocre. Service very attentive.

The other tables in the dining room were huge- seating 20 + people. So the three of us felt moored alongside noisy vessels - not a lot of ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our Anthem SG sales department enjoys lu ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Our Anthem SG sales department enjoys lunch at the Hotel Roanoke as a tradition for many years at Christmas and then we go and look at all the Christmas Trees. We love it? We also look forward to it every year. This year the food was not particularly as tasty as in years past. There were not as many meat options that were tasty. The salad options were limited and the desserts were not as tasty and appetizing. The she crab soup was however on point . We are hoping it was just a fluke and hope next year will be different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The service from hostess to busboy was s ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The service from hostess to busboy was superior. This time of year the restaurant primarily has a buffet for lunch but you may order off the menu. The buffet is what you would expect from a five star historic hotel. Great salad and soup bars and the real teaser is the desert buffet set up before the twenty item or so main course buffet. It is truly a event to enjoy.

But the staff is equally as enjoyable. Wait staff is very nice and the busboys surreptitiously remove your finished dishes or politely ask if you are finished.

You do want to miss eating here. The very reasonable price makes it even more appealing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, , Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was very little offered, including ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 11, 2016

There was very little offered, including nothing for desert and limited options other than eggs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

The Regency Room at the Hotel Roanoke is ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The Regency Room at the Hotel Roanoke is one of my favorite places. The food and the service are both outstanding. Try the peanut soup, you will not be disappointed. Reserve an evening when the jazz trio is playing. This place is very comfortable, but sophisticated. It's sort of like visiting a good friend who can really cook!

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very dry and not much flavor. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was very dry and not much flavor. Decorations were beautiful and Hotel is wonderful.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

We enjoyed it very much! The Shea crab ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We enjoyed it very much! The Shea crab soup is outstanding. Bread pudding and lemon cake was outstanding. Potstickers were outstanding. The receptionist was outstanding.

We are returning on Saturday December 24th at 11:30 and bringing our adult children this time.

Thank you for being there.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, , Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food and mixed drinks. Band was goo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Good food and mixed drinks. Band was good. Took awhile to get drinks but waiter was new and just learning

Tags: Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful food. My favorite place in we ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Wonderful food. My favorite place in western va. Well worth the time and money!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, , Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere, food was not fanta ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, food was not fantastic and not worth the price, never got my steak sauce and waiter didn't come back by until I was on my last bite. I would recommend my friends and relatives not dine at the regency room.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I have been here four years in a row thi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I have been here four years in a row this year was not good the food was not tasteful and not enough of a verity. Had to ask for drinks and check.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent all the way around. The entire ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Excellent all the way around. The entire Hotel is beautiful and so well presented. The service is world class.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Sunday brunch in Roanoke. Excel ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The best Sunday brunch in Roanoke. Excellent food, excellent service- I will definitely bring family and friends here when they visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We rated the Saturday buffet an A-. Sev ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We rated the Saturday buffet an A-. Several of us ate the Mahi-mahi and another had the baked potato bar. We took full advantage of the great location and walked to Mill Mountain Theater.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

food was wonderful as usual. Debbie was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

food was wonderful as usual. Debbie was a Great server, very fun.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal to end the holiday weekend- d ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great meal to end the holiday weekend- definitely will go again.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner. S ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner. Service was excellent and food done to perfection. Andrew was superb, and made sure we had a great dinner and experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The presentation, taste of the food and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The presentation, taste of the food and the dinning ambiance experience is great! I loved the live band playing soft music too. Service is very attentive as well. The ice cream dessert is too small of ice cream scoops and not worth the value.. The ice cream scoops are more of a dollop size and not a real ice cream scoop, so this was disappointing to our table. I would not recommend the ice cream for dessert. The Host of the Regency room is one of the happiest host with the most. In between servers and other servers the host checked on us many times and fills the water and attends to tables. I recommend The Regency room for special occasions. I do wish there was more of a dress code. For dinner, me and my guest all dressed in jackets and ties and or suits. The Regency room is elegant in style ,but many people just show up in jeans and casual shirts, which is not very appropriate in my taste for the Regency Room. Seems there should be a dress code that reflects the elegant of the dinning experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.