Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About The Regency Room - The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center

RECENTLY NAMED ONE OF THE TOP 100 BRUNCH RESTAURANTS IN AMERICA!

This summer, The Regency Room is rich with bountiful colors and fresh ingredients as Executive Chef Stephen DeMarco introduces his new Spring menus. Make a statement in The Regency Room each and every time you dine! "The menu features indulgent items that showcase spring's flavors," said Executive Chef DeMarco. "the new menu offers our classics while also highlighting small and large plate offerings in The Regency Room."

Opening in 1938, The Regency Room has remained at the heart of the Roanoke social and cultural experience. The restaurant, under the direction of Executive Chef DeMarco, features French-inspired Southern cuisine and is open year-round, including holidays. The Regency Room is extensively involved in a shop local, buy local mentality.

110 Shenandoah Ave NE
Roanoke, VA 24016
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday & Sunday: 7:00am - 10:30am

Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Sunday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm


Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Williamson Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 985-5900

Website:
http://www.hotelroanoke.com/

Entertainment:
Featuring live classical/jazz music and dancing experience each Friday and Saturday evenings, the very best entertainment in the Roanoke Valley. Our Grand Sunday Brunch Buffet also features live entertainment weekly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available for dinner with validation, discounted valet parking is available with validation throughout the week for breakfast, lunch and Sunday brunch.

Discounted self parking is also available to Regency Room Diners with validation.

Please inquire in The Regency Room for valet parking validation.

Public Transit:
Smart Way Bus has two stops along Wells Avenue.



Star Trolley stops at the Market Building, with a short walk across the Market Square Walkway to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef Stephen DeMarco

Additional:
Banquet, Chef's Table, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When it comes to your special day, The Regency Room is committed to making every moment unforgettable statement.

Celebrate life's milestones and accomplisments- from bar and bat mitzvahs, anniversaries and showers to product launches, awards ceremonies and celebration dinners - in a variety of settings. Whatever your occasion, let us design and create imaginative, tastefully appointed and graciously served special events.

The new group dining area, The Regency Overlook, will be reserved for functions, such as wedding receptions and corporate lunches or dinners.

Private Dining

Steeped in elegance and tradition, The Virginia Room welcomes guests into the luxury of private dining and personal service. Surrounded by rich mahogany and graced with white tablecloth, the Virginia Room offers a dining experience unsurpassed in the Roanoke Valley.

The Regency Room - The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Live Music (11)
Business Meals (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Cozy (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (5)
Scenic View (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at the Grand Brunch to celebrate our anniversary. The variety of food was amazing as well as the taste. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

.the food was delectable. the service was impeccable. the ambience was lovely. the music was awesome. My husband is a musician and he appreciated the talent of the three men who played. I too enjoyed them tremendously and enjoy dancing.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was amazing, well prepared. Amazing staff, will go back again and again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Loved Sunday Brunch! Great assortment of breakfast and lunch foods. Everything was delicious but especially loved the carving station, smoked salmon, bread pudding, and peanut butter pie. Our waiter was very attentive and we also enjoyed the live piano music.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

My husband and I went to the regency room for our ten year old sons first foray into fine dining. They took very good care of him and us the waitress was helpful and the staff friendly. In my sons words "It was a great fancy dinner" lol.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The Regency Room dining experience was absolutely superb! The entrees were fresh, cooked to perfection by their renowned Chef and service was top in its class. Lowell our host should be hold the title of Vice Director of Dining Events and Drew our server should be Chief of Dining Affairs. Their attention to details and dedication to hospitality and service are the example of five star plus dining. Don't mistake the Regency Room for hotel dining because its not. It sits in a class of its own and is a part of this Hilton's history dating back to 1882. The Chef entrees were amazing and having live music that plays jazzy, moody tunes makes your dining event memorable and enjoyable. Thanks to the Hilton management and staff for taking dining and hospitality to a whole new level. We see enough of the mundane service at 9 out of 10 restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Authentic, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Best Roanoke has to offer. Food could generally be slightly fresher. Omelette station good, as is roast beef. Full variety of breakfast and lunch items. Nice piano music (live) in background. Sunday brunch is special in Regency Room, and hotel is steeped in tradition. Recommended but not 5 star cuisine although good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Outstanding variety, and everything we had was excellent. Wonderful ambience; the continuous piano music was a pleasant addition. Would only suggest that, for the price, complimentary mimosas would have been a nice touch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent!
The food was delicious!
Service was great!
Would definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Our first time at The Regency Room. The service was outstanding. The staff and ambiance made us feel like royalty.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The Chefs prepared a melangé of many beautifully composed dishes rich in soulful heritage of the Roanoke Valley. The food reminded me of both Mr. John Divers and Mr.Willard Walkers (N&W Chefs and grandfather's) The many traditional and trendy dishes were also executed to perfection. Our service was exceptional and our attendant had perfect timing and anticipated the entire parties every want and desire. I am so elated to see the integrity and elegance of THR preserved.
Thank you sincerely, K.Welcher

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Live Music, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Vegan, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Just the best buffet anywhere. If you are in Roanoke, or driving down I-81 or somewhere near there, take a trip to Hotel Roanoke and the Regency Room. Sunday brunch is the best, but the regular menu is very nice as well. Husband loves the peanut soup - I love the variety of veggie entrees and sides (incredible white beans, spinach, and sun-dried tomato casserole thing yesterday - YUM!), creative salads, and the great desserts, including wonderful bread pudding, but not, this time, anything chocolate. Only thing missing. Service at the table is delightful and the rooms are large enough and carpeted so that the sound level is relatively low. You gotta try it! It is such a wonderful meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Went for Saturday breakfast buffet, was great. Sunday Brunch was absolutely not worth the Money. We Went years ago and it was great. It's really cheapie now . Selections were few, breads not fresh, 1 carved beef, 3 Salmon dishes, and chicken breast. A few salads, cold waffles, and dried out desserts. This was very disappointing and will not do the Sunday Brunch ever again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Just another date night for a couple locals. We enjoy the Regency Room for the elegance, level of service, and quality of food. This time we enjoyed Chef Lloyd's special dinner and, as always, Earl treats us like royalty. Dogwood Club membership is worth having. We've already made our next reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This is a classic grand Roanoke restaurant that still has the great ambience it always did but with an updated and fresh menu. The service was absolutely fantastic. Ask for Drew. He will take care of you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Watching a couple complain and sending their food back twice because it wasn't prepared correctly left me feeling underwhelmed to complain myself. The service took FOREVER -- more focus on 2 larger parties in the room and not on couples or single patrons at tables. When our food did finally arrive it was not cooked to the correct temperature - and wasn't even hot -- like it had been sitting for 20 minutes (which seemed about right). Won't be back.

The address listed on Open Table -- 110 Shenandoah Ave NE -- does not get you where you need to go either.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I typically shy away from big hotel dining rooms because the food is more often "institutional" in preparation and flavor, so I wasn't expecting great things from our visit. The location is so tranquil, the decor so quietly tasteful and the staff, Theresa, so pleasant, that if the food had been as expected, I'd have been ok. It was Sunday evening. Just wanted something without drama.

Then the food began to arrive, timely. A marvelous Caesar salad, followed by a petit filet with a magnificent mushroom sauce that was so flavorful I was astonished. Note: they let me swap the setup for the larger filet to the smaller one. And, although I made the reservation at the last minute, when they learned we had been celebrating my mother's 91st birthday all weekend, Theresa quickly crafted a special dessert tribute to the occasion. It was all grand. And, so lovely, thoughtful, unexpected and memorable. Thank you, Theresa and Hotel Roanoke.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Teresa took utmost care of us and was top notch professional!!! Recommend her to everyone!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This restaurant never fails to provide a fantastic culinary experience. The service is top notch. The mango martini is a pleasant way to start the meal with an aroma that speaks to the truly refreshing taste. The filet mignon is melt-in-your -mouth delicious. The peanut and she-crab soup are both must haves. The live light jazz is always tasteful, and the host makes sure each guest has everything they need.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I love the coziness of the Virginia Room. It offered privacy without isolation. The overall experience was great! Excellent hostess, wait staff and food. My favorite part of the lunch buffet was the cheesecake. It is by far the best cheesecake I've ever tasted.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The only disappointment was the lack of customers. The food was delicious, the service excellent. The shrimp and scallop mix was superb. The filet was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Sunday Brunch--no one at Regency Room front desk to greet us.
Waitress never gave us an overview of the selections and the outdoor grill which was duck we were not told about. When silverware taken away with plates no more silverware was given to us for further courses.
Overall OK food and very poor service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The staff welcomed us like old friends, and in fact, we are (or at least I am; it was my husband's first visit). They asked and I told them my first visit was 70 years ago, when I was 6. I have been back several times since, including a two-night stay when the VA state Beta Club (high school honor society) had a conference there in the 1950s. I also came for a ladies' lunch in the 1990s when the dining room was part of the VA Tech catering training. So the Regency Room was my first experience in fine dining and continues to be a favorite. Saturday night it exceeded expectations. Delightful waiter, excellent wine, and lovely classic renditions by a jazz trio. I ordered fish when I was 6, and again, seafood was my choice and trout my husband's -- all good. The dessert (off menu--suggested by our waiter) was exceptional. I wish I could remember the name-- an amazing pastry with poached pear, ice cream, and champagne sauce. Perfect combination. Our compliments to the chefs and entire staff.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. A trio provides great music on Friday and Saturday evenings. This was out first visit to the Hotel Roanoke and The Regency Room. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Another wonderful dinner at the Regency Room -- never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Elegance abounds in the surroundings and ambiance of this restaurant. Staff were pleasant and kindly considerate of all of our needs. Food was fine southern fare!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our first time there; delightful experience!
Delicious buffet and so very much variety, pleasant wait staff, lovely setting!!
A bit pricey but would go again; perfect for special occasions!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Exceptional brunch. Bloody Mary's delicious. A pleasant interlude to a lovely Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great service and great food, highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Live Music, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This establishment has set the gold standard for taking care of the customer in every way. It is very rare that a place hits on all cylinders for two hours solid. No detail was left undone. Well done Regency Room.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Nice experience. Great food, good variety and friendly staff in very nice surroundings.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Southern hospitality at its finest....as it ALWAYS has been. Hotel Roanoke treats its guests like royalty every time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Very disappointed- I called regency room and was told fathers day buffet went to 3pm. I booked 145pm on open table. When we arrived on Sunday I was told buffet ended at 2. At 2 the piano music stopped.By 215 they were taking food away. Deserts were gone by 225 and we had to ask for bread pudding.

Service was mediocre. We felt rushed in buffet line.
Very disappointed. We consider the regency room a treat. This was not.

We could have easily made reservations for noon had we known. Despite the above, we payed full price for buffet X4 people.

Not the usual regency room experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I treated my Dad to Brunch Father's day morning and it was our first experience eating at Hotel Roanoke. The food was excellent, the staff was friendly and helpful and it overall surpassed our expectations. The only thing I would recommend is a dress code. For the price you pay and to be in the main dining area there should definitely be a dress code.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My wife and I visited Roanoke for the first time over Fathers Day weekend 2017. After reading a number of reviews, I chose the Regency Room based on those reviews and our innkeeper's recommendation. The Hotel Roanoke has been around for a long time, but it didn't seem dated. The valet staff was helpful--interestingly, the valet who helped us was from our former hometown in California (Walnut Creek) and his brother attended the same high school that our two kids did. The restaurant staff was pleasant, engaging and courteous. Our waiter, Earle, was attentive without being overbearing and provided good service. The food was very good. I enjoyed the peanut soup, which I had never tasted before anywhere. My wife had the filet mignon, a sizable portion with two filets on a skewer. I had the hanger steak which was also a larger portion than I'd anticipated. The meat was prepared as we had requested and tasted great. I had the parsley potatoes, which were just ok. I thought they could use more herbs for more flavor. The wine selection (from CA, OR and WA) was better than I had expected, although the I thought the markup on some of the bottles was rather high. The highlight of the evening for us was the jazz trio that played for most of the time we were there. Lots of standards, but the well-done live music added a lot to the already-goo dining experience. We enjoyed our evening at the Regency Room.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The Regency Room is a pleasant venue for a quiet, enjoyable, and comfortable dining experience. The American Standards presented by a capable trio provided the perfect ambiance for a wonderful evening. She crab bisque, tenderloin, and trout topped off with a special desert were perfectly prepared and presented in a relaxed manner. We are glad to have The Hotel Roanoke and The Regency Room in our neighborhood!

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Excellent dinner. Relaxing atmosphere. Nice menu choice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our sixth time and the worst of the six. Service was good, as always (nice job, Teresa), but the food was disappointing. We tried the wine pairing dinner and the salad was nothing special. Greens and berries. The two 3 oz filets were cooked properly but quite bland as was the crab crusted turbot. These dishes should have had some zing! The coconut cake with ganache was also pretty boring. We'll have to decide if we dine here when we come back in the fall. This is the first time that I'd say I'm not sure we will....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Wow!!! Eat there every time we are in Roanoke. Lived up to our memories of it. Excellent service and food. Split shared soup and salad for us, before we had our entrees. Southern American specialities. Friday and Saturday nights they have a 3-piece instrumental band which just adds to the experience. Nice dress up place, but we were traveling and in jeans and they still made us feel at home.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.