About Regency Dining Room - The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center

110 Shenandoah Ave NE
Roanoke, VA 24016
View Larger Map

This Fall, The Regency Room is rich with bountiful colors and fresh ingredients as Executive Chef Stephen DeMarco introduces his new winter dinner menu. Make a statement in The Regency Room each and every time you dine! "The menu features indulgent items that showcase summer's flavors," said Executive Chef DeMarco. "From Lobster Bienville and Heirloom Tomato and Crab Tower to fresh-new drinks, the new menu offers our classics while also highlighting small and large plate offerings in The Regency Room."

Opening in 1938, The Regency Room has remained at the heart of the Roanoke social and cultural experience. The restaurant, under the direction of Executive Chef DeMarco, features French-inspired Southern cuisine and is open year-round, including holidays. The Regency Room is extensively involved in a shop local, buy local mentality.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday & Sunday: 7:00am - 10:30am

Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Closed on Sunday for dinner.
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Williamson Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 985-5900

Website:
http://www.hotelroanoke.com/

Entertainment:
Featuring live classical/jazz music and dancing experience each Friday and Saturday evenings, the very best entertainment in the Roanoke Valley. Our Grand Sunday Brunch Buffet also features live entertainment weekly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available for dinner with validation, discounted valet parking is available with validation throughout the week for breakfast, lunch and Sunday brunch.

Discounted self parking is also available to Regency Room Diners with validation.

Please inquire in The Regency Room for valet parking validation.

Public Transit:
Smart Way Bus has two stops along Wells Avenue.



Star Trolley stops at the Market Building, with a short walk across the Market Square Walkway to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef Stephen DeMarco

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Chef's Table, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
When it comes to your special day, The Regency Room is committed to making every moment unforgettable statement.

Celebrate life's milestones and accomplisments- from bar and bat mitzvahs, anniversaries and showers to product launches, awards ceremonies and celebration dinners - in a variety of settings. Whatever your occasion, let us design and create imaginative, tastefully appointed and graciously served special events.

The new group dining area, The Regency Overlook, will be reserved for functions, such as wedding receptions and corporate lunches or dinners.

Promotions

Enjoy Dining on the Patios!

Special valid Feb 29, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 6:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Summer Tea Dance - June 19, 2016

Special valid May 5, 2016 - Jun 19, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Become A Dogwood Club Member

Special valid May 5, 2016 - Sep 5, 2016 all week from 6:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Dine with Us and All You'll Gain is Points

Special valid May 5, 2016 - Sep 1, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Sunday Grand Buffet Brunch

Special valid May 5, 2016 - Sep 5, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Promotions

Enjoy Dining on the Patios!

Special valid Feb 29, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 6:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Details
Spring is just around the corner in the Roanoke Valley and its a great time to savor the outdoors on the patios at The Regency Room. Come enjoy dining al fresco for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 29, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 6:30 AM - 11:00 PM.
Summer Tea Dance - June 19, 2016

Special valid May 5, 2016 - Jun 19, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Come enjoy an afternoon and evening of entertainment, dancing, dining, camaraderie, and celebrate the holidays while learning other steps in ballroom dancing at the Summer Tea Dance. Includes Tax and Tip. $30 per person. Price includes an elegant dinner buffet. Special valid May 5, 2016 - Jun 19, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
Become A Dogwood Club Member

Special valid May 5, 2016 - Sep 5, 2016 all week from 6:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details
Make a statement in The Regency Room and enjoy discounts off your food bill for breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner! With seasonal offerings, live entertainment on the weekends, and an opportunity to sample what SWVA has to offer, every night is spec. Excludes Tax and Tip. Membership in the Dogwood Club is free. Visit hotelroanoke.com or call 853.8280. Special valid May 5, 2016 - Sep 5, 2016 all week from 6:00 AM - 11:00 PM.
Dine with Us and All You'll Gain is Points

Special valid May 5, 2016 - Sep 1, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
When you dine at The Regency Room, you can earn up to 1000 HHonors Bonus Points when you spend more than $50. Ask the front desk for more details. Prior to dining, please be sure to pick up your Dining Bonus Certificate at the front desk. Excludes Tax and Tip. Not yet an HHonors member? Join now to start earning points!. Special valid May 5, 2016 - Sep 1, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Sunday Grand Buffet Brunch

Special valid May 5, 2016 - Sep 5, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details
Join us for the Roanoke Valley's most elegant and award-winning Sunday Brunch featuring all of your favorite breakfast and lunch specials including an action carving station. Adult: $24, Children 12 & Under: $14, Children 5 & under: Complimentary. Excludes Tax and Tip. Tax and tip not included. Special valid May 5, 2016 - Sep 5, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Private Dining

Steeped in elegance and tradition, The Virginia Room welcomes guests into the luxury of private dining and personal service. Surrounded by rich mahogany and graced with white tablecloth, the Virginia Room offers a dining experience unsurpassed in the Roanoke Valley.

Regency Dining Room - The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Virginia
Best Service
Virginia
Best Ambiance
Virginia
9 More
Best Value
Virginia
Great for Brunch
Virginia
Best Overall
Greater Roanoke
Best Food
Greater Roanoke
Best Service
Greater Roanoke
Best Ambiance
Greater Roanoke
Best Value
Greater Roanoke
Romantic
Greater Roanoke
Special Occasion
Greater Roanoke
Best Restaurants in Roanoke ›

special occasion (31)
great for brunch (20)
good for groups (16)
See All
romantic (16)
fit for foodies (16)
great for lunch (12)
neighborhood gem (11)
scenic view (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
kid-friendly (3)
notable wine list (2)
hot spot (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
257 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

WE have dined here many times and each t ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

WE have dined here many times and each time love it! When you are trying to impress anyone this is the location to do so. Server was amazing with his service and suggestions to our guest. You cannot go wrong coming here! A Roanoke favorite.....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

I always celebrate my husbands birthday ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I always celebrate my husbands birthday there in January and they always make him feel very special and the level of service is excellent . So I asked to celebrate mine there this year . Such a dissappoitment I felt anything but special on this visit. The host was wonderful as usual he told our server we were celebrating my birthday and that we were dogwood members . That was the last time I felt special we ordered a bottle of wine after a long while I finally asked some other wait person if we could please have our wine . it then was brought out. The menu was smaller than usual it did not have my favorite Seafood Chesapeake , wait person informed us it was a condensed menu because of VT graduation (very disappointed and feel we should have been informed when reservations were made , I reluctantly choose shrimp n grits . Absolutely nothing special in fact dry and over cooked . For desert of course that menu did not include the usual bananas foster. I chose chocolate turtle cake was good however usually they write happy birthday on plate and has a candle . none of the usual special treats were present just desert as usual server NEVER once acknowledged that it was my special day . I feel we were just another number I will never celebrate my Birthday there again and will reconsider if we will ever celebrate my husbands in January again , if this is how it is done now there , we can go anywhere and be treated like another customer but the reason we always went to the a Regency Room is because we were treated special on Special Occssions .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant in Roanoke

Dined on May 13, 2016

The Regency Room is the best restaurant in Roanoke! The ambience was great, food was cooked to perfection, some of the best food I ever had. The servers and wait staff were great and personable. We celebrated graduation and it was a very fitting dining experience. Also, the piano man playing live ambient piano music was also enjoyable! Overall 5/5, the Regency Room is a must go to restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service. Wonderful food. Highl ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Wonderful service. Wonderful food. Highly recommended.

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The food was average but expensive.

Dined on May 6, 2016

The dinning room wasn't crowed but it took too long for our dinner to be served.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been dining at the Regency Room ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We have been dining at the Regency Room for several decades. Of all the restaurants we have dined at in the past, it is our all-time favorite. Folks who do not appreciate fine dining are missing something! The staff is friendly and competent. The food is world-class and the ambiance is relaxing and classy. We are never rushed. The "frosting on the cake" is the acoustical jazz music on Friday nights!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful historic hotel and great restaurant

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderful buffet brunch with a myriad of choices in a beautiful atmosphere in a historic hotel. A wonderful gift for my mother.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice for special occasion

Dined on April 29, 2016

We enjoyed our trip to the Regency Room. We did not know a small jazz group was playing that evening, so it was a little loud when we first sat down, but we became accustomed to the music and it was very nice. The maître d was great and very accommodating. Service and food were good and servings were generous. This is the finest place in Roanoke for ambiance and history.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The staff were very friendly and the foo ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The staff were very friendly and the food was great! We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Lunch

Dined on April 21, 2016

Meeting friends for lunch this restaurant is the perfect choice. There is a fabulous buffet and also an a la carte menu. Always professional service and always have the reservation I make through Open Table. If you are visiting Roanoke please take some time to visit The Regency Room and The Hitel Roanoke.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Friend

Dined on April 17, 2016

A friend's mother had promised to take her to the Hotel Roanoke but unfortunately her mother passed away before this could happen. I heard about this at church so I decided that she should have the pleasure of dining at the Regency Room and I took her on a short tour of the hotel. I think she enjoyed herself very much and I did promise her we would do it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Service!

Dined on March 30, 2016

The best experience of the evening was our waiter, I cannot say enough about. Professional, almost to a fault, yet friendly, pleasant, funny and personable. Wish I got his name. The food was very good, but not excellent, but I can only speak for my dish, which was the Pork Tenderloin. It was a bit too dry and on the tough side (I ordered medium, but it was well done). Had I complained, I'm sure they would have fixed it but I didn't want to ruin the nice atmosphere we already had. Food looked wonderful on everyone's plate (the presentation is gorgeous on every plate) and I heard only good things about the rest of the group (4, other than myself), so I'm sure my experience was isolated. The peanut soup was a completely new experience for me. A 90-year recipe it is! Not a "to die for" for me, but I'm glad I tried it and will definitely recommend to others for the experience itself. Heard great things about the brunch so I'm going to get that in one of these days (I'm not from Roanoke so I'll have to be on a biz trip). Wish the wine list had more of the local wines, especially the Viogniers that the area is known for. Definitely will recommend to others and will go back and try something else next time.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive and caring service, excellent Maitre'd

Dined on March 26, 2016

Food, service, music and atmosphere all combine for an excellent evening of wining, dining, romancing and dancing

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My experience at the Hotel Roanoke is al ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

My experience at the Hotel Roanoke is always pleasant. I am typically greeted by name, and the hostess and servers are exceptional. There was one mixup with the parking team as parking is complementary for al la cart diners, and the valet mistakenly charged one of the guests 80%.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casey did a lovely job serving our elde ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Casey did a lovely job serving our elderly parents and making a challenging event memorable. It was an 83rd birthday celebration that left the birthday boy very happy! Thanks, NK

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What more could you ask?

Dined on March 17, 2016

I took my 76 yr old mother and her 82 yr old cousin. The staff was friendly from the front door till we left. The manager was super and made sure everything was great, the waiter was very friendly and did not miss a beat. The cooks at the buffet line were great and very friendly. The food was A 1 without question. My only regret was it was not more of a St Patricks Day focus of the menu. We had enjoyed it in years past. I feel it was a very good value and both of my guests are already planning to do breakfast and bring other family members in the near future. Thank you again for such a wonderful day in Roanoke. AP

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dad's Birthday

Dined on February 28, 2016

We took my father to the Regency Room for his 94th Birthday and had a fabulous time. Our reservations were at 1:00 pm so the crowd was starting to thin out. We had a delicious meal and at the end, the restaurant gave my father a piece of cheese cake with Happy Birthday written in chocolate on the plate. A special ending for a special Birthday!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

SUNDAY BEST

Dined on February 21, 2016

What a perfect place to celebrate a birthday, anniversary or just a Sunday. Food was high quality with something for everyone. Don't miss a chance to experience Hotel Roanoke at its finest.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Spectacular

Dined on February 20, 2016

One felet was just slightly more than medium rare, but it was still delicious. Everything else was perfect

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breakfast buffet was excellent.

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food selections were displayed and broad in appeal. The omlet station was well staffed and the results were very satisfying. There was a variety of other hot offerins as well as cold selections and fruit. The service staff was very attentive.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding

Dined on February 6, 2016

Our special occasion dinner was fantastic! The service here is impeccable. The maître de begins your impression of the evening with his elegant presence. Every detail is 5 star. The service is attentive but never obsequious. The food is to die for.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restaurant Week meal

Dined on January 18, 2016

Even though we've had a couple lovely meals at the Regency Room lately, including a spectacular New Years Eve dinner, we still wanted to see what they would do for Restaurant Week. A three-course prix-fixe meal taken from the standard menu and delivered with the regular level of elegance. For me, the ham in the risotto that came with the chicken raised the dish to the standard I expect from the Regency Room. I enjoy every change that Executive Chef Stephen DeMarco has brought to the Regency Room, while also appreciating the long-time level of service that servers like Earl Smith bring to my table. And the Old Fashioned from the bar is definitely worth a try.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

SPLENDOR & CHARM. A GREAT PLACE TO ENTERTAIN

Dined on December 27, 2015

A WONDERFUL AND CHARMING HISTORICAL DESTINATION. THE REGENCY ROOM AT HOTEL ROANOKE IS A MUST FOR CONNOISSEURS OF GOOD FOOD.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve lunch 2015

Dined on December 24, 2015

Wonderful lunch bar Christmas Eve, and the dining room and hotel were beautifully decorated for the holidays. A great spot to take the family for festive dining.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyed ourselves but wish you offered s ...

Dined on December 23, 2015

Enjoyed ourselves but wish you offered some ordinary food on the bar. Children and older adults would like this and come more often.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Okay experience

Dined on December 23, 2015

Granted it was the week before Christmas but the dining room was sorely understaffed. We waited a very long time for service, and had to wait long periods for water refills. The hostess was running food, I only saw two servers working all the tables. After our meal we waited about 30 minutes before our dishes were even cleared. We have had dinner in December at the Regency Room before, about 2 years ago, and had a wonderful experience. They really missed the mark this year. It was especially disappointing because we took our college-aged kids hoping for a similar experience as we had before. I don't know if I would choose to spend the money to dine there again at Christmas time. I may if it was during an off season time.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent food/mood - poor service & communication

Dined on December 21, 2015

We spent an evening at this restaurant with friends for the holidays. We were a large party of 9, so automatic gratuity was charged, which must have been the signal that poor service would be okay. It took an hour between the time we completed our salads and when we were served dinner. Thank goodness our young children are well-behaved at the table -- their meals came with ours, nearly 90 minutes from when we sat down. All in all it was a three hour dinner. We had ample time to catch up with old friends, but it would have been nice to do so relaxing elsewhere in the hotel rather than sitting at a dining table so long. The slow service would have been acceptable given some explanation, an additional basket of bread, heck, even some refills on our water glasses. What pushed us to consider this service so poor was that the waiter was seen on the other side of the restaurant rolling silverware into napkins while we sat with empty water glasses waiting on the main course. The restaurant was about half full, so it's not as if it was an issue of keeping pace with demand. The food was very good, but alone it could not overcome the overall experience we had.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

A Historic and Iconic Dining Place

Dined on December 19, 2015

We have enjoyed a number of lovely meals at the Regency Dining Room of the Hotel Roanoke. Service is always impeccable and the place is just a class above. While our dinner was delicious, the service was much slower than usual on this busy holiday weekend. The dining room was crowded but not full, however. I do wish that they would feature more of the smaller portions with some of their entrees and feel that the appetizer menu needs a bit of updating. All that said, we had a thoroughly delightful time at Hotel Roanoke and a very nice meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

LoveFood

Dined on December 19, 2015

Everything was perfect...until a large group came in so our waitress who was fabulous was delayed for quite some time. Apology accepted.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Breakfast at Hotel Roanoke

Dined on December 19, 2015

We gathered the family (10) for a nice breakfast at the Hotel Roanoke. As always, the food was very good. My only complaint would be how they set up the breakfast buffet. They have it located in a small room and the food is set up in a "u" shape. The omelet station is at the very end of the line which caused a huge backlog. It took around 20 minutes to make it through the line...not very acceptable for a buffet.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Top Notch Experience

Dined on December 18, 2015

My fiance and I had dinner at the Regency Room for his 30th birthday and everything about our dining experience exceeded my expectations. We were seated at a lovely table for two that was quiet and romantic. Our waiter, Drew, offered us outstanding recommendations for dining choices (which we followed as we were first-time guests). I could not have been more pleased with our experience and I hope to return again someday!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Hotel Roanoke for a special occasion

Dined on December 14, 2015

Hotel Roanoke is great for a special occasion. It is decorated beautifully, especially at Christmas. Reservations are probably a necessity, even at lunch, but can be made on-line very easily. It is pricey, but fun for something special.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Anniversary Dinner

Dined on December 13, 2015

My husband and I went to the Regency Dining Room to celebrate our 6yr Anniversary. We were promptly greater by a friendly staff. Everyone seemed to be genuinely happy to have us there, and were quick to anticipate what we would like. Additional staff members stopped by to wish us a Happy Anniversary as well. The band was great and there was a small dance floor.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Best omelette ever!

Dined on December 12, 2015

We dined here for my birthday breakfast. Great experience. Omelette were amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Suprisingly good seafood

Dined on November 22, 2015

We were in town for a VT football game and enjoyed a great dinner with live Jazz music, which was made it most special. Other than that, the ambience was too quiet and one family brought in their winey 2 year old at 8 pm. Most of the rest of the clientele was sophisticated middle-aged couples, but it would accommodate a larger party as well. As for the food, the crab cake was delicious, though I requested it with the corn chowder on the side and I am glad I did. My wife had the crab-stuffed trout and it was very rich and flavorful. The pear salad was a little too doused in wine, but other than that everything was perfect. Service was good but a bit southern slow for us Washingtonians...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect special occasion spot!

Dined on November 21, 2015

This is the second year in a row my husband and I have come here for our anniversary. It is not cheap but totally worth it! All of the food was delicious! The service was excellent and such a fantastic ambiance! It is perfect for a special night out and we will be back for sure!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1

Not impressed

Dined on November 17, 2015

I had hoped for a special night out for my 91 years old mother on her birthday. Sadly the evening did not turn out as hoped for. The service was excruciatingly slow! We went on a Tuesday night , one would not expect a large dining crowd and there was not. It appeared to be three servers for approximately 7-8 active tables. The hospitality manager even came over towards the end of the meal to apologize for the slow service and comped our one dessert we were sharing. While it may have been a nice gesture it was not adequate to make up for the poor service at a relatively high price. The food was not the above average fair that I expected either. The presentation reminded me of Master Chef "Junior" .

food2
ambience5
service5

Excellent service but Food Disappointing

Dined on November 14, 2015

The ambiance in the Regency Dining Room is lovely. There was a trio playing music which was also quite nice. The service was impeccable, even the trainee who accompanied our main server was excellent. The food, however, was not as impressive. Appetizers of the chef's plate and the regency's twist on the classic ceasar salad were just okay. New York Strip steak was slightly overcooked and the roast chicken was extremely dry and the butternut squash risotto just did not have an appealing texture (gummy) and the spices used were not complimentary. Only one in our party had dessert and unfortunately, the chocolate cake seemed like it had been frozen. The hotel itself is wonderful and the entire staff at the hotel was very pleasant, polite and accommodating. We would definitely stay there again but will probably venture into the city of Roanoke for dinner. We may have hit an off night at the Regency Room as far as the food goes but again, the staff should be applauded as our service in the restaurant was spot on.

food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Bliss

Dined on November 7, 2015

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our anniversary; however, had not made reservations due to a lot of events that occurred in October. We decided to spend the night at Hotel Roanoke and go to Regency Dining Room. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Our waiter was helpful with our questions about the menu. He checked on us frequently. My wife doesn't like asparagus and was able to substitute potatoes. The margaritas were great. I ordered shrimp and grits which was just as good as anything I had from Georgia/ South Carolina menus. My wife had the ribeye steak and she said " this is the best steak I have had in a while". The wait between salad and entrée was a normal time. There was a three man jazz band playing Friday night and they were excellent. They played songs from the 1930's through the 1970s. People seemed very appreciative and my wife and I enjoyed them. Overall, this was a very, very good experience and I would recommend to middle aged and up couples.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service2

Good for special occasion

Dined on November 1, 2015

Excellent ambiance. Great for special occasion. Awesome quiche and prime rib

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.