About Reds Midtown Tavern

388 Yonge Street
Unit #6
Toronto, ON M5B0A4
View Larger Map

The new REDS WINE TAVERN redefines social dining with culinary confidence and an engaging décor. Uncompromised values, timeless spirit and sociability prevail in a relaxed atmosphere. Our welcoming staff exude a warm personality and a true passion for food and wine.



Converse with our executive chef and sommelier at our unique communal tasting table while enjoying one of our hand-crafted sharing plates. Enjoy a REDS classic cocktail or choose from our hand selected wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Yonge and Gerrard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 598-3535

Website:
http://www.redswinetavern.com/

Parking Details:
Public Parking is available in various lots near the building.

Public Transit:
Conviently located a minutes walk north of the Dundas Subway Station.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Robertson

Private Party Facilities:
Reds Midtown Tavern is the premiere downtown social destination in downtown Toronto. The stylish bi-level hot spot includes a lively wine bar, which offers more than 40 wines by the glass. A celebrated bar menu showcases housemade charcuterie and a varity of cheeses. The raised dining room is refined, lauded for its upscale, memorable cuisine featuring seasonally changing and outstanding dishes that are inspired by the world’s best wine regions, top quality ingredients and local produce. reds offers warm hospitality in a casual, sophisticated and stylish environment. The wine bar is a more relaxed backdrop

Private Party Contact:
Ayla Neilly: 4168627337x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Reds Midtown Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

International
Toronto / Ontario

Good for Groups (22)
Great for Lunch (17)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Special Occasion (6)
Romantic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Business Meals (1)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Reds was really nice place, food was del ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

Reds was really nice place, food was delicious but the service was a bit slow. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

It was an early Sunday afternoon, so whi ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was an early Sunday afternoon, so while the restaurant felt pretty empty inside, it was a still a beautiful and comfortable set up. However, maybe because it was so quiet, we felt from a service stand point that we might have been forgotten. Minimal checkins. The food was quite good though, fairly priced for the quality, and we were happy we got to take advantage of a surprise $10 off each entree promo given at the door that day. Will try back again at another time when the 'scene' may have more energy and the service should too then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We chose Reds Midtown for convenience. ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We chose Reds Midtown for convenience. It was a rainy day so not able to use the patio which would have been nice. It's quite a dark restaurant so we sat in the windowed lounge instead. Good burger. Nice selection of wines by the glass. Half litres would be appreciated in addition to 2 sizes of glass.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We enjoyed Reds Midtown for a pre-movie ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We enjoyed Reds Midtown for a pre-movie lunch. My tandoori chicken salad was a great combo of different tastes and textures. I would definitely have it again. The service was good but not great given the relatively small number of tables in our area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Ordered the pulled chicken tacos and rec ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Ordered the pulled chicken tacos and received 3 of the smallest tacos I've ever seen with nothing on them except a little mound of pulled chicken. Although it came with a side salad of choice, for $15.95 this is pretty disappointing value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The food was mediocore. The wait time f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was mediocore. The wait time for a hamburger and salad was over 40 minutes from the time the order was placed. It was a Wednesday night and not very crowded.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Restaurant has many long tables to accom ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Restaurant has many long tables to accommodate large groups. Lamb salad, calamari appetizer, burgers and fries were good. Waitstaff was great. Gin drinks are a specialty.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Reds had a record of my reservation when ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Reds had a record of my reservation when I arrived, but when my four friends arrived after me, it had somehow disappeared and they couldn't find me. Need more attention to detail in terms of the reservations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bachelorette dinner, they gave us a free ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Bachelorette dinner, they gave us a free shooter. Servers were great. Very good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and the food was delicious ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great service and the food was delicious! The server really went the extra mile!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food, let down a little but the les ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Good food, let down a little but the less than attentive service. Our glasses often empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food and service. Definatly worth ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food and service. Definatly worth to go back if I have another friends'Get-together.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Summerlicious 2016 lunch menu! My ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great Summerlicious 2016 lunch menu! My party ordered the crunchy Asian slaw, beet salad, manitoulin trout, chicken sandwich and the strawberry cheesecake and we all thought the food was FANTASTIC! Everything was made really well, seasoned well, plated well ... definitely recommend!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was really good. Drink select ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was really good. Drink selection was average to above average. Service was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The musci got too loud for a special nig ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The musci got too loud for a special night, we couldnt hear each other speak.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Should have vegetarian main meal options ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Should have vegetarian main meal options. Outside patio was a nice option but didn't quite pull it off in feeling pleasantly outdoors - for example, server could not nudge the umbrella a bit to provide more shade . Perhaps because of the outdoor seating service was very slow for a business lunch spot.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

The staff from the floor manager to our ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The staff from the floor manager to our server were nothing less than fantastic to our group. We were at Red's for my sister's bachelorette dinner and the staff made her feel incredibly special and absolutely celebrated from the second we walked into the restaurant. We were given a fantastic table and the service was incredibly attentive. It all made for a fantastic start to her bachelorette festivities. My sister is still raving about how great the experience was at Red's.

Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Location is ideal for a quick lunch with ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Location is ideal for a quick lunch with colleagues. Drinks were slow to be delivered, but food was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great tasting but needed more. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Food was great tasting but needed more. I had the chicken tacos but asked for seafood and got two small corn tortillas with barely any stuff on them, they were more like apps. Not impressed with size of portion. Left hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The fancy gin and tonics and food were g ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The fancy gin and tonics and food were great. Our server Aaron was particularly awesome and helped us navigate the extensive gin and wine list. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food could be better seasoned

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food could be better seasoned

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

It has good ambience for a business meet ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

It has good ambience for a business meeting or date. Not the best value for food (small portions) or drinks (a bit expensive for simple cocktails like gin and tonic).

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Dissatisfied

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I ordered the crispy roasted chicken entree for $22.95. It wasn't crispy and when I cut the chicken, it was pink. I sent it back and eventually got a replacement (which was cooked) but I honestly didn't feel like eating it at that point. I did not receive any discount for my meal. My companion enjoyed their meal but I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

small portions but fun atmosphere

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I wish that they would up their food game! The calamari portion is so small, and the mushroom side was barely a handful for $5.00. The buffalo nachos are the best things on the menu, in my opinion, and the drink list is strong. I hate those big glasses they serve the cocktails in, so awkward and clunky.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Interesting and delicious

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Our server, Michael, was VERY friendly, warm, knowledgeable and attentive. He was happy to modify one of the guest's order and didn't have to ask the kitchen first.

I love this place for lunch. The food is always special and delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

great burger

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

had the burger and it was much better than I expected. the toffee dessert was also outstanding.

my only isuue was that it took a bit long to serve us after we were seated. this prevented us from ording our drinks right away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

A consistently good time. Wine was good, ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

A consistently good time. Wine was good, apps were good, service was good. No complaints and happy to have come!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time in a couple of weeks. Food i ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Second time in a couple of weeks. Food is great, service is great. Lots of tv screens and sports playing. Food is tasty and fresh.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Butter chicken was surprisingly good, be ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Butter chicken was surprisingly good, better than I was really expecting. Tap beer selection was good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Father's Day at Reds.............Awesome ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Father's Day at Reds.............Awesome.

Our Group of Six kept our Waitress busy and she had no problem keeping all, satisfied.

Great Food, coupled with Great Service will keep us ALL coming back and often.

The Bar area is interesting and can tend to be busy; especially during a Jays Game.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the seafood linguine, was projec ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Ordered the seafood linguine, was projectile vomiting all night, would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great place to relax

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Reds continues to impress with excellent food and accommodating service. The seating is comfortable and the menu has enough variety to suit anyone's tastes.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Environment was nice, food was OK at best

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Ordered the butter chicken bowl and it had the right amount of spice, but the chicken felt well done and the rice was hard (almost as if it was just reheated from the night before in the microwave).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Great place for a social.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Overall very good atmosphere, service and great quality food. Music could be toned out a little.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For a team of eight, our service and sup ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

For a team of eight, our service and support was minimal. With spending over $800 we expected more. The food was good and accommodations were made for those who were vegetarian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food/Disinterested service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Had an enjoyable lunch. Food was quite tasty and presented well. All though the restaurant was not busy (we were the sole diners in our section for much of the time we were there), we had limited interaction with our server. Server seemed preoccupied and was not particularly friendly or welcoming. It was slightly off-putting, taking away from the food and ambiance.

Would go again in hopes it was a one-off.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was not bad but too salty and overa ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Food was not bad but too salty and overall overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

The food was very tasty and the service ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

The food was very tasty and the service was friendly but everything took a very long time from my guest getting her beverage to our food being delivered to the server returning to take payment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Not the best welcome, resistant to our r ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Not the best welcome, resistant to our request for a different table and generally not attentive during the meal. Food was tasty but lukewarm at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Loved it!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Went there for winterlicious and was amazed at how tasty everything was! Thank you so much!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.