About Reds Midtown Tavern

The new REDS WINE TAVERN redefines social dining with culinary confidence and an engaging décor. Uncompromised values, timeless spirit and sociability prevail in a relaxed atmosphere. Our welcoming staff exude a warm personality and a true passion for food and wine.



Converse with our executive chef and sommelier at our unique communal tasting table while enjoying one of our hand-crafted sharing plates. Enjoy a REDS classic cocktail or choose from our hand selected wine list.

388 Yonge Street
Unit #6
Toronto, ON M5B0A4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Yonge and Gerrard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 598-3535

Website:
http://www.redswinetavern.com/

Parking Details:
Public Parking is available in various lots near the building.

Public Transit:
Conviently located a minutes walk north of the Dundas Subway Station.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Robertson

Private Party Facilities:
Reds Midtown Tavern is the premiere downtown social destination in downtown Toronto. The stylish bi-level hot spot includes a lively wine bar, which offers more than 40 wines by the glass. A celebrated bar menu showcases housemade charcuterie and a varity of cheeses. The raised dining room is refined, lauded for its upscale, memorable cuisine featuring seasonally changing and outstanding dishes that are inspired by the world’s best wine regions, top quality ingredients and local produce. reds offers warm hospitality in a casual, sophisticated and stylish environment. The wine bar is a more relaxed backdrop

Private Party Contact:
Ayla Neilly: (416) 862-7337

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Reds Midtown Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (26)
Good for a Date (20)
Bar Seating (19)
See All
Good for Groups (18)
Business Meals (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Fun (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
People Watching (8)
Cozy (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Romantic (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great Beer (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Live Sports (5)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Private Room (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Authentic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Although the wait staff was outstanding, in particular Hannah, the steaks that were ordered caused quite a problem.

Since they were substantially under cooked, we had to send them back not once but twice to the kitchen before everything was rectified.

Sadly, after sending the steaks back a second time we actually had a manager of sorts pay us a visit at the table wherein she told us that the steaks were cooked as ordered. ( One was

medium-well and the other well done.) Both were oozing blood on the plates and by no means were cooked as requested. Although she was very indignant and indicated that the steaks were cooked to their thermometers reading, she finally did concede that the well done one was in fact under cooked.

Needless to say, the rest of our party had completed their food whilst we were still waiting for ours. Once received however, I can honestly say that they were delicious as well as the other goodies on our plate.

We were offered a 15% discount on our bill by the way which we declined. Our meal ran over an hour and a half late due to the problems with the cooking of the two steak entrees. We asked for both meals to be removed entirely. Happily they were!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We booked this reservation last minute and we were very surprised at how good the food was. Our server was very attentive and the food and drinks came out fast! The tenderloin is amazing!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome food options, really reasonably priced for downtown! Fantastic service on a Saturday night!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We tried out Reds Wednesday night before heading to the Mirvish Theatre for show. We really enjoyed our meals - fish and chips and cobb salad with chicken. The wait staff was very attentive, friendly and helpful.

It was a great start to a great night.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall good experience. It was a party of four, and one of the dinner orders was wrong causing a wait. We've been there before so we will be back, just an unfortunate mix up.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Had the Cobb Salad, which was very good, if surprisingly spicy. Drinks were a little pricey. Staff were terrific, from the host to the server.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on February 6, 2017

Our server and the kitchen staff were accommodating of dietary requests

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My first time at Reds Midtown Tavern. Great Winterlicious price. Friendly and attentive staff. Best steak I've ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We went because of the winterlicious, a friend and I.

For our starters ...she had Winter Kale Salad and I had Tuna Tostada .

Both were very tasty.

For our mains, we had the Madras Chicken Sandwich and the Shrimp Ravioli. The sauce they used on the sandwich was good, not as spicy as the waiter stressed it would be. And for the ravioli..not very impressed. It seemed pretty bland. I actually asked for salt which I never have never done before.

Loved the desserts, toffee cake and salted caramel dark chocolate mousse. Too full to eat the cake so gave it away to my boss when I got back to the office. The mousse was amazing.

Would definitely come back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Went with my parents before leaving town and it was

Lovely. The waiter did an excellent job dealing with picky eaters. Beer menu was pretty decent!!! Would go back again! Will recommend to friends :)

Tags: Great Beer, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very good food, a bit pricey for some items but overall quality of food is fresh and tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a wonderful night over some food and a few glasses of wine. Really loved Reds however it was a little too noisy to really catch up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great service with an extensive and creative menu. Lots of choices for a variety of tastes. Quick friendly service. Very good wine selection wide range of prices. Very noisy but vibrant. You can ask for a table away from speakers blaring good selection of music

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I had the hamburger this time and it was outstanding. My friend had the chicken carbonara and again it was so good. Certainly enjoy this place. It could use more patrons at lunch time on a Saturday. Maybe some half-price specials

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great Beer, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My new favourite neighbourhood restaurant. ALWAYS great service, good food, friendliest staff around, daily drink specials, great sharing menu and mains. Lively and large bar area or for a quieter option, the dining room area is also great. LOVE IT.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We were looking for a Sunday night bite to eat. My wife and I both ordered Surf & Turf, expecting a small lobster tail and a filet. The steak was good, not great, but good. The Surf portion of the meal was small bits of dried up lobster (I am assuming it was lobster). Had I known I would have just ordered the filet.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wouldn't go back for the food; all 3 courses of my meal were disappointing. Soup was cold, chicken overcooked, and the apple pie was COLD!

The wine is good, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service! Amazing three course menu for New Years Eve. The Chipotle Sirloin is absolutely delicious and the private room they gave us for our reservation was fit to our needs as a group with children and very nicely decorated!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Authentic, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Fun, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Had a great time here even though I was solo! The waiter was awesome. It's my first time in Toronto and he gave me some tips on where to go after. Food was delish, would definitely go back if I had the chance!

Tags: Romantic, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The wait staff were at the top of their game; the food was quite good, with only slight problem with pan-roasted salmon being a bit too salty. The ambiance was nice and the energy was appropriate for the occasion. Four stars.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It have been there twice and was very happy with the food, service and ambience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We made our reservation for Christmas Eve and since I had my elderly grandmother joining us, I specifically put in the notes not to be seated at a bar height table (too difficult for her to get seated and down again).

When we arrived we were shown to our table which was a bar height table, when I politely said that it wouldn't work for our party, the hostess copped attitude with me and said that's all we've got and that next time I should let them know of any special preferences.

I asked to see a manager and told to "hang on" and she stormed away.

In the end we were seated at a proper table.

Food was average in taste and quality I found. When dessert arrived, the one selection order by two of ours guests was so cold you'd need a chain saw to cut through it. Again, more apologies.

Overall I'd rate this as a B- option for dining. I'm not likely to be back in the near future.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

NIce, cozy place. A bit noisy due to two large parties. Attentive service

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great ambiance but a bit noisy. Servers are a bit too eager to push you out. Otherwise a wide selective menu and price is moderate.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

the appetizers were great! Good place to meet for drinks. The service was excellent!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Everything was excellent! I had the pork tenderloin and my bf had the shrimp ravioli. Our only complaint would be that our reservation was for 9:30 on a weekday, and once we arrived we were told the kitchen was closing at 9:45. Other then that the dinner was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I've been to lunch at Reds Midtown Tavern 3 times and have enjoyed it each time. I've been told their lunch specials are the same as their regular entrees so they are good value. The food is well-prepared and tasty; the wait staff are friendly and helpful. It can be a tad noisy there, as there doesn't seem to be a lot of soft materials to absorb the sound. Still, you can enjoy a conversation with friends. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Comment - the restaurant did not have our reservation when we arrived. Despite having it on a mobile phone. ????? Not convenient and disappointing but seems to be a shared Open Table and restaurant error :(

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fairly good food and nice service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great central spot to have a casual (but tasty) dinner. They accommodated my reservation request beautifully, and even surprised my table with a complimentary dessert for the two birthdays, and one pregnancy we were celebrating. Attentive service, accommodating to dietary needs, and friendly service staff.

Definitely created a repeat customer out of me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Miss the Aegean lamb entree, it was unique and delicious. Hoping you bring it back. You'll need more bottles of Planeta e Societa (Sicilian Red) Nero D'Avola soon. The sound level of the music is too high. Why do we have to shout?

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Ordered three of the same drink but felt like I was drinking three different drinks. Service was a little slow too unfortunately.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I am a fan of Reds on Adelaide, which has consistently met expectations on business lunch food and service for years. The mid-town location loses none of that, but is housed in a hip, but relaxed venue which, despite its large size still maintains a cozy feel. Well done!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great food, and excellent service. They handled my peanut allergy with a high level of care!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great for pre theatre dining.Super great service. Servers everywhere! Will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good food. Steak was heavily salty though. Service was really good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Me and my wife had dinner. I had the special with mushroom soup and steak + desert. Wife had Marakesh chicken. It was all very good. Good size portions and fair prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Our server was very nice but the rest of our experience was mediocre. Food was either bland or very spicy. The spice/herbs used in the guacamole overwhelmed the lobster. The kale and quinoa salad had a sprinkling of quinoa. The steak and lobster included a rather small piece of lobster. Very underwhelming experience. There are too many good restaurants elsewhere in Toronto for us to return to Reds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

What can be better than duck grilled cheese? Done so perfectly - crunchy bread and amazingly flavourful duck. The side of fries was very good. Supreme value for lunch.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always a great time. Phil the bartender is incredible.

Another great night out!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great ambience. Comfy wing back chairs. Delicious food. Nice wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Excellent food, and timely service. Have been to Red's a few times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Went to celebrate birthday and watch Playoff baseball game, though had a table reserved sat at bar which is quite large with lots of seating. Our service (Phil) was outstanding and the food was fresh, hot and yummy. Definitely try the home made apple pie. Sister property of Reds on Adelaide St. Highly recommend!

Tags: Modern Decor, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Reds was really nice place, food was delicious but the service was a bit slow. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was an early Sunday afternoon, so while the restaurant felt pretty empty inside, it was a still a beautiful and comfortable set up. However, maybe because it was so quiet, we felt from a service stand point that we might have been forgotten. Minimal checkins. The food was quite good though, fairly priced for the quality, and we were happy we got to take advantage of a surprise $10 off each entree promo given at the door that day. Will try back again at another time when the 'scene' may have more energy and the service should too then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We chose Reds Midtown for convenience. It was a rainy day so not able to use the patio which would have been nice. It's quite a dark restaurant so we sat in the windowed lounge instead. Good burger. Nice selection of wines by the glass. Half litres would be appreciated in addition to 2 sizes of glass.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We enjoyed Reds Midtown for a pre-movie lunch. My tandoori chicken salad was a great combo of different tastes and textures. I would definitely have it again. The service was good but not great given the relatively small number of tables in our area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Ordered the pulled chicken tacos and received 3 of the smallest tacos I've ever seen with nothing on them except a little mound of pulled chicken. Although it came with a side salad of choice, for $15.95 this is pretty disappointing value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was mediocore. The wait time for a hamburger and salad was over 40 minutes from the time the order was placed. It was a Wednesday night and not very crowded.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.