About Reds Midtown Tavern

388 Yonge Street
Unit #6
Toronto, ON M5B0A4
View Larger Map

The new REDS WINE TAVERN redefines social dining with culinary confidence and an engaging décor. Uncompromised values, timeless spirit and sociability prevail in a relaxed atmosphere. Our welcoming staff exude a warm personality and a true passion for food and wine.



Converse with our executive chef and sommelier at our unique communal tasting table while enjoying one of our hand-crafted sharing plates. Enjoy a REDS classic cocktail or choose from our hand selected wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Yonge and Gerrard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 598-3535

Website:
http://www.redswinetavern.com/

Parking Details:
Public Parking is available in various lots near the building.

Public Transit:
Conviently located a minutes walk north of the Dundas Subway Station.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Robertson

Private Party Facilities:
Reds Midtown Tavern is the premiere downtown social destination in downtown Toronto. The stylish bi-level hot spot includes a lively wine bar, which offers more than 40 wines by the glass. A celebrated bar menu showcases housemade charcuterie and a varity of cheeses. The raised dining room is refined, lauded for its upscale, memorable cuisine featuring seasonally changing and outstanding dishes that are inspired by the world’s best wine regions, top quality ingredients and local produce. reds offers warm hospitality in a casual, sophisticated and stylish environment. The wine bar is a more relaxed backdrop

Private Party Contact:
Ayla Neilly: 4168627337x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Reds Midtown Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (28)
great for lunch (15)
vibrant bar scene (14)
See All
neighborhood gem (14)
fit for foodies (12)
special occasion (12)
notable wine list (10)
hot spot (10)
romantic (7)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
237 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Location is ideal for a quick lunch with ...

Dined 5 days ago

Location is ideal for a quick lunch with colleagues. Drinks were slow to be delivered, but food was great.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was great tasting but needed more. ...

Dined 7 days ago

Food was great tasting but needed more. I had the chicken tacos but asked for seafood and got two small corn tortillas with barely any stuff on them, they were more like apps. Not impressed with size of portion. Left hungry.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The fancy gin and tonics and food were g ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

The fancy gin and tonics and food were great. Our server Aaron was particularly awesome and helped us navigate the extensive gin and wine list. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food could be better seasoned

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food could be better seasoned

food2
ambience4
service2
value1

It has good ambience for a business meet ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

It has good ambience for a business meeting or date. Not the best value for food (small portions) or drinks (a bit expensive for simple cocktails like gin and tonic).

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Dissatisfied

Dined on June 9, 2016

I ordered the crispy roasted chicken entree for $22.95. It wasn't crispy and when I cut the chicken, it was pink. I sent it back and eventually got a replacement (which was cooked) but I honestly didn't feel like eating it at that point. I did not receive any discount for my meal. My companion enjoyed their meal but I won't be going back.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

small portions but fun atmosphere

Dined on June 6, 2016

I wish that they would up their food game! The calamari portion is so small, and the mushroom side was barely a handful for $5.00. The buffalo nachos are the best things on the menu, in my opinion, and the drink list is strong. I hate those big glasses they serve the cocktails in, so awkward and clunky.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting and delicious

Dined on June 1, 2016

Our server, Michael, was VERY friendly, warm, knowledgeable and attentive. He was happy to modify one of the guest's order and didn't have to ask the kitchen first. I love this place for lunch. The food is always special and delicious.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

great burger

Dined on May 27, 2016

had the burger and it was much better than I expected. the toffee dessert was also outstanding. my only isuue was that it took a bit long to serve us after we were seated. this prevented us from ording our drinks right away.

food5
ambience5
service5

A consistently good time. Wine was good, ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

A consistently good time. Wine was good, apps were good, service was good. No complaints and happy to have come!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time in a couple of weeks. Food i ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Second time in a couple of weeks. Food is great, service is great. Lots of tv screens and sports playing. Food is tasty and fresh.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Butter chicken was surprisingly good, be ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Butter chicken was surprisingly good, better than I was really expecting. Tap beer selection was good as well.

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Ordered the seafood linguine, was projec ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Ordered the seafood linguine, was projectile vomiting all night, would not recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to relax

Dined on April 26, 2016

Reds continues to impress with excellent food and accommodating service. The seating is comfortable and the menu has enough variety to suit anyone's tastes.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Environment was nice, food was OK at best

Dined on April 25, 2016

Ordered the butter chicken bowl and it had the right amount of spice, but the chicken felt well done and the rice was hard (almost as if it was just reheated from the night before in the microwave).

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for a social.

Dined on April 15, 2016

Overall very good atmosphere, service and great quality food. Music could be toned out a little.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food/Disinterested service

Dined on March 24, 2016

Had an enjoyable lunch. Food was quite tasty and presented well. All though the restaurant was not busy (we were the sole diners in our section for much of the time we were there), we had limited interaction with our server. Server seemed preoccupied and was not particularly friendly or welcoming. It was slightly off-putting, taking away from the food and ambiance. Would go again in hopes it was a one-off.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience5
service4

Food was not bad but too salty and overa ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Food was not bad but too salty and overall overpriced

food4
ambience4
service2

The food was very tasty and the service ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

The food was very tasty and the service was friendly but everything took a very long time from my guest getting her beverage to our food being delivered to the server returning to take payment.

food1
ambience3
service1

Not the best welcome, resistant to our r ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Not the best welcome, resistant to our request for a different table and generally not attentive during the meal. Food was tasty but lukewarm at best.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

Dined on February 11, 2016

Went there for winterlicious and was amazed at how tasty everything was! Thank you so much!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

REDs Winterlicious 2016

Dined on February 11, 2016

My girlfriend and I visited for Winterlicious 2016 for her birthday, after having eaten at Red's before. Previously, our food was excellent, with good portions and tasty dishes and great service. We were very surprised to see how disappointing their Winterlicious menu turned out... My girlfriend got the chicken. It was literally a small chicken breast sliced in half, overcooked, and served on a "bed of potatoes" which turned out to be one half of a single small potato. That was it. I got the fish, it was quite literally 5 bites of fish. The salad was very uninspired (just romaine lettuce and a few added ingredients), as was the mushroom soup (also was cold), and for dessert both the apple tart and brownies were so hard we could barely eat them with a fork. It was extremely disappointing to say the least. We were still very hungry after and went elsewhere to get a second meal. Surprising, as the food from the normal menu was delicious in our previous encounter, we figured they would put some effort into the Winterlicious event, but sadly was not the case. Would absolutely not recommend attending Winterlicious at REDs.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Winterlicious - yum!

Dined on February 9, 2016

I went to Reds Midtown 2x for Winterlicious, and both meals were amazing

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Winterlicious Lunch

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

I had never been to this restaurant; however their winterlicious lunch menu was very interesting at a very good price. It was excellent in both food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4

The nicest thing I can say was that the ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

The nicest thing I can say was that the dessert was AMAZING.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Food came too quickly

Dined on February 6, 2016

Appetizers and mains came within 2 minutes of each other. Didn't have a chance to enjoy our appetizers and then our mains got cold. Was tempted to send back but thought we'd manage. Our table was full of plates, that did not fit. not very enjoyable. Portion size was good.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First timers

Dined on February 6, 2016

First time visiting Reds Midtown and right away we could see and feel a great vibe coming from the team of staff members. Manager dropped by to welcome us and again during the meal to make sure everything was great which it was. Service was fast and the food was very delicious. I stayed with some local beers while my wife immersed herself with their extensive Gin selection. We will definitely be going back to try their brunch at a later date. Great, fun place !

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Decent place

Dined on February 5, 2016

I certainly appreciate a place like this on such a tough corner in the city. I applaud the owners on that. My one complaint, and it was as soon as I sat down, was a product knowledge one. I asked the waitress (who was lovely) if the beer was "a pint", she told me it was and returned with a 14oz glass - which is not a pint (20oz.) I felt a little ripped off as the prices are those of a pint. Otherwise decent food and experience. Not over the top amazing.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

food excellent!

Dined on February 5, 2016

The restaurant was very busy at lunch, and it was Winterlicious. I found that the menu items selected for Winterlicious were very well chosen and provided a variety of fare for lunch time. The service was friendly and we seemed to get our lunch very quickly - it was serviced hot, and quick. Except when it came to the dessert. We waited for about 20 minutes to get someone's attention and then another 10 before we got our dessert (it was pre-ordered). We received an apology, and an explanation that they were really busy with Winterlicious orders, and somehow our order info did not print in the back (? not sure if I believe that...). But where was our waitress? She was missing for most of our wait time. Not really a big deal, except that it's lunch and we had to get back to work - and we were late....The manager provided us with the explanation, and I felt that perhaps they should have done something (like 20% off the bill) to compesentate for our inconvenience. It was the first time I was there and I recommeded the place to my friends....but we took it good-naturedly. Still tipped nicely, even though alot of people would not, due to the haphazzard service. Food was great though, and would give the restaurant another chance to redeem the uneven service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Only thing that I didn't particularly li ...

Dined on February 3, 2016

Only thing that I didn't particularly like was the abundance of "high" chairs. Prefer to dine at a place with regular size chairs and tables. Quiet enough for a conversation.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Food was tired

Dined on January 31, 2016

Popped in for a Winterlicious lunch and left disappointed. The Fatoush salad was soggy with tiny portions of each ingredient, the main of Portuguese chicken was overcooked and on a bed of leftover potatoes which were soggy. Even the dessert which would typically be the best part had flaws. The apple tart had a very runny apple topping however the crust was nice and crisp. Overall not worth the price :(

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great to dine with a girlfriend!

Dined on January 30, 2016

I dined here for Winterlicious and the server was very friendly and attentive. The value was great and the food was so tasty. Especially like the snapper main course. Crunch outside and soft and tender inside! :)

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!

Dined on January 30, 2016

Every aspect of our meal there was fantastic! Great attentive, friendly service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Theatre Lunch

Dined on January 30, 2016

We all enjoyed our dishes from the Winterlicious menu. Good variety for people with different tastes. My only comment would be that bread should come with the soup. I had to ask for it and we were charged......

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and ambience

Dined on January 29, 2016

I really enjoy our dinner here. We tried winterlicious menu for $25. Food was alright, appetizer so so, chips were oily, but they gave us another batch on the side, love the short ribs for entree. And strawberry parfait was superb! Cool place to hang out.. Excellent customer service;)

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Changed the menu :(

Dined on January 22, 2016

One thing i LOVED about Reds was the incredible food. Since they've changed the menu it is just another average place to go. And now the prices aren't justified when compared with the food quality. Very disappointed :(

food5
ambience4
service5

My friend and I went directly after work ...

Dined on January 15, 2016

My friend and I went directly after work before she left for vacation. Our server was delightful. We split the lobster guacamole which I always love. My favourite cocktail is now the maple bacon bourbon manhattan. When my office moves, I'm going to miss having Reds right next door.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great venue for NYE! They gave us free g ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Great venue for NYE! They gave us free glass of champagne and some finger food just before the countdown. Friendly staff and great service!

food5
ambience5
service4

Great decor! Food was spiced to perfecti ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Great decor! Food was spiced to perfection!

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Dining for nye

Dined on January 1, 2016

First-off, Red's has a beautiful interior, decorated very nice with an attractive bar. The service is excellent as well. However, I really feel their menu needs to be spruced up. My friend who is vegetarian, had no real options, so she had to settle for various sides, much of which were deep fried. I ordered the chicken dinner, which was literally half a chicken, a few asparagus stalks, lots of potatoes and some cooked onion; no salad was served as a side for this pretty dry meal. If you're going for drinks and appetizers only, then Red's is an excellent choice to come to!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.