About Reds Midtown Tavern

The new REDS WINE TAVERN redefines social dining with culinary confidence and an engaging décor. Uncompromised values, timeless spirit and sociability prevail in a relaxed atmosphere. Our welcoming staff exude a warm personality and a true passion for food and wine.



Converse with our executive chef and sommelier at our unique communal tasting table while enjoying one of our hand-crafted sharing plates. Enjoy a REDS classic cocktail or choose from our hand selected wine list.

388 Yonge Street
Unit #6
Toronto, ON M5B0A4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Yonge and Gerrard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 598-3535

Website:
http://www.redswinetavern.com/

Parking Details:
Public Parking is available in various lots near the building.

Public Transit:
Conviently located a minutes walk north of the Dundas Subway Station.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Robertson

Private Party Facilities:
Reds Midtown Tavern is the premiere downtown social destination in downtown Toronto. The stylish bi-level hot spot includes a lively wine bar, which offers more than 40 wines by the glass. A celebrated bar menu showcases housemade charcuterie and a varity of cheeses. The raised dining room is refined, lauded for its upscale, memorable cuisine featuring seasonally changing and outstanding dishes that are inspired by the world’s best wine regions, top quality ingredients and local produce. reds offers warm hospitality in a casual, sophisticated and stylish environment. The wine bar is a more relaxed backdrop

Private Party Contact:
Ayla Neilly: (416) 862-7337

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Reds Midtown Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (15)
Good for a Date (11)
Casual (11)
See All
People Watching (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Business Meals (6)
Live Sports (5)
Cozy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Healthy (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great Beer (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Seasonal (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Romantic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Authentic (0)
Great for Brunch (0)
Sort By:
S
334 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful evening - great service, amazing food. Prix Fix menu was great value. Definitely will be going back.

Tags: Great Beer, Tapas, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great burgers and beer selection. Good apple pie-not very sweet. Would definitely return. Oh yes, the hamburger rolls are amazing as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Always a great meal. Friendly service. Had the Carbonara was really good. Would come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Food is always good, albeit slightly too expensive. Service is great - with exception of checking in at the host stand. It is ALWAYS an ordeal. Host is typically on the phone, always has to click through way too many screens on the computer and the entire check-in process (regardless of whether I have a reservation or not) always just feels to complicated. I very often end up sitting down having just rolled my eyes at how overly-complicated it is. Your job in the restaurant industry is to make everything look effortless. Your bartenders and servers seem to be able to to do that, so why is it so hard to just get seated??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Came for Summerlicious... decent value but food was just average, nothing to write home about. I had higher expectations, and was hoping for slightly better quality than Jack Astors and other chains they own. It wasn't a bad experience, I was just hoping for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Pretty common beer selection, could be better. Overpriced! Draught is small 14oz for $7.50 and up, pints weren't an option.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Love the atmosphere and close enough to walk to Mirvish theatre

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Quality food and service for a reasonable price in the center of downtown. With their great ambiance it truly is a go to place fit for a wide variety of occasions.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Exceptional food with mainstream service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Good service; chocolate martini was delightfully different!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Very nice place to eat although, sad that lobster and bread pudding are off the menu 🙁

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great food and great service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Arrived early for 1:15 lunch reservation in dining room. Seated after 1:30 and although restaurant by this time was nearly empty, service was pretty much non-existent. Plates delivered to the table and that was it. No excuse. Our tip reflected the service ... absent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food, great service, they never disappoint. There is something for all palates.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Well, the food option is very limited. Music too loud. Our waitress didn't even check on us to see how we're doing , brought the bill to me without even asking ; but instead she wanted to know what was my plan for rest of the nite( that cliché question ) and if I need anything ( water) when I was about to leave.😉

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Server was lacking..... Very awkward and not very personable. Presentation of food was great. Minimal wine list for a wine tavern and only serve half litres.... Nothing by the bottle which was odd. I order a bottle of wine for the wine service not a carafe that was poured behind the bar. Kind of tacky for a downtown 'wine tavern'. Overall it was okay but wouldn't rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Very loud and difficult to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I had the kale and quinoa salad. Very disappointing. Quite a few yellow leaves, very stemmy, apple and sweet potato were almost non- existent. Supposedly there was manchego in it - can't recall seeing any. Definitely not worth the money. Will not be going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The staff was very welcoming and the food really good and tasty. They have good wines to offer though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great place for dinner with friends. I had the Bacon Cheeseburger and it was AMAZING!! Our server, Michael Pez, was hilarious and very entertaining! I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our waiter Kevin was amazing. Great recommendations and fun attitude.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Back with a client for my sixth visit in recent months, and as usual was very well looked after.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 4, 2017

my wife and I are from out of town and the Reds Midtown Tavern was a great find for our dinner date! throughly enjoyed the experience there, and would definitely go back. great selection of beers!

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Nice place - friendly / helpful servers. Good drinks.

But - the music was so loud I could barely hear my date. It sounded like a club - I went to bar so I could actually talk to my date.

When we told one of the servers they just said it was the current DJ and that it was just as loud everywhere. And there was nothing they could do. Then I went upstairs to the bathroom at the end of my date to find numerous empty tables and a few guests - where it was much quieter. That was frustrating after spending 2 hours struggling to to hear my date and yelling over a table. For these reasons I'll never go back despite the rest of the elements being quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Very good food, but a bit noisy. Friendly accommodating wait staff and quck service

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Bibimbap needs more veg and more sauce. Wouldn't order it again.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2017

This was one of the best meals of my life. If you are looking for an amazing meal come here for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great Food and Service

I love the food at Reds Midtown Tavern. We were a party of 4 and everyone enjoyed what they had ordered. Three of us ordered burgers with fries and they were delicious and another of our party ordered the fish and chips and he also enjoyed his choice. Sara, our server, was professional and pleasant and helped with our choice of wines. Reds is also a good place to go for lunch as they have a great lunch menu too. You won't be disappointed with the food and service at Reds Midtown.

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun, Cozy, Healthy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Good food and service. Nice atmosphere. Nothing particularly outstanding but still a reliable option for a nice evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Awesome food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Although the wait staff was outstanding, in particular Hannah, the steaks that were ordered caused quite a problem.

Since they were substantially under cooked, we had to send them back not once but twice to the kitchen before everything was rectified.

Sadly, after sending the steaks back a second time we actually had a manager of sorts pay us a visit at the table wherein she told us that the steaks were cooked as ordered. ( One was
medium-well and the other well done.) Both were oozing blood on the plates and by no means were cooked as requested. Although she was very indignant and indicated that the steaks were cooked to their thermometers reading, she finally did concede that the well done one was in fact under cooked.

Needless to say, the rest of our party had completed their food whilst we were still waiting for ours. Once received however, I can honestly say that they were delicious as well as the other goodies on our plate.

We were offered a 15% discount on our bill by the way which we declined. Our meal ran over an hour and a half late due to the problems with the cooking of the two steak entrees. We asked for both meals to be removed entirely. Happily they were!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We booked this reservation last minute and we were very surprised at how good the food was. Our server was very attentive and the food and drinks came out fast! The tenderloin is amazing!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awesome food options, really reasonably priced for downtown! Fantastic service on a Saturday night!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We tried out Reds Wednesday night before heading to the Mirvish Theatre for show. We really enjoyed our meals - fish and chips and cobb salad with chicken. The wait staff was very attentive, friendly and helpful.

It was a great start to a great night.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overall good experience. It was a party of four, and one of the dinner orders was wrong causing a wait. We've been there before so we will be back, just an unfortunate mix up.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Had the Cobb Salad, which was very good, if surprisingly spicy. Drinks were a little pricey. Staff were terrific, from the host to the server.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on February 6, 2017

Our server and the kitchen staff were accommodating of dietary requests

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My first time at Reds Midtown Tavern. Great Winterlicious price. Friendly and attentive staff. Best steak I've ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We went because of the winterlicious, a friend and I.
For our starters ...she had Winter Kale Salad and I had Tuna Tostada .
Both were very tasty.
For our mains, we had the Madras Chicken Sandwich and the Shrimp Ravioli. The sauce they used on the sandwich was good, not as spicy as the waiter stressed it would be. And for the ravioli..not very impressed. It seemed pretty bland. I actually asked for salt which I never have never done before.
Loved the desserts, toffee cake and salted caramel dark chocolate mousse. Too full to eat the cake so gave it away to my boss when I got back to the office. The mousse was amazing.
Would definitely come back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Went with my parents before leaving town and it was
Lovely. The waiter did an excellent job dealing with picky eaters. Beer menu was pretty decent!!! Would go back again! Will recommend to friends :)

Tags: Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.