About Reds Midtown Tavern

The new REDS WINE TAVERN redefines social dining with culinary confidence and an engaging décor. Uncompromised values, timeless spirit and sociability prevail in a relaxed atmosphere. Our welcoming staff exude a warm personality and a true passion for food and wine.



Converse with our executive chef and sommelier at our unique communal tasting table while enjoying one of our hand-crafted sharing plates. Enjoy a REDS classic cocktail or choose from our hand selected wine list.

388 Yonge Street
Unit #6
Toronto, ON M5B0A4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Yonge and Gerrard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 598-3535

Website:
http://www.redswinetavern.com/

Parking Details:
Public Parking is available in various lots near the building.

Public Transit:
Conviently located a minutes walk north of the Dundas Subway Station.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Robertson

Private Party Facilities:
Reds Midtown Tavern is the premiere downtown social destination in downtown Toronto. The stylish bi-level hot spot includes a lively wine bar, which offers more than 40 wines by the glass. A celebrated bar menu showcases housemade charcuterie and a varity of cheeses. The raised dining room is refined, lauded for its upscale, memorable cuisine featuring seasonally changing and outstanding dishes that are inspired by the world’s best wine regions, top quality ingredients and local produce. reds offers warm hospitality in a casual, sophisticated and stylish environment. The wine bar is a more relaxed backdrop

Private Party Contact:
Ayla Neilly: (416) 862-7337

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Reds Midtown Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (18)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Good for Groups (15)
Modern Decor (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Business Meals (12)
Fun (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
People Watching (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Cozy (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Great Beer (4)
Romantic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Private Room (3)
Healthy (3)
Live Sports (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Authentic (2)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
321 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, great service, they never disappoint. There is something for all palates.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Well, the food option is very limited. Music too loud. Our waitress didn't even check on us to see how we're doing , brought the bill to me without even asking ; but instead she wanted to know what was my plan for rest of the nite( that cliché question ) and if I need anything ( water) when I was about to leave.😉

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Server was lacking..... Very awkward and not very personable. Presentation of food was great. Minimal wine list for a wine tavern and only serve half litres.... Nothing by the bottle which was odd. I order a bottle of wine for the wine service not a carafe that was poured behind the bar. Kind of tacky for a downtown 'wine tavern'. Overall it was okay but wouldn't rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Very loud and difficult to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I had the kale and quinoa salad. Very disappointing. Quite a few yellow leaves, very stemmy, apple and sweet potato were almost non- existent. Supposedly there was manchego in it - can't recall seeing any. Definitely not worth the money. Will not be going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The staff was very welcoming and the food really good and tasty. They have good wines to offer though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great place for dinner with friends. I had the Bacon Cheeseburger and it was AMAZING!! Our server, Michael Pez, was hilarious and very entertaining! I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our waiter Kevin was amazing. Great recommendations and fun attitude.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Back with a client for my sixth visit in recent months, and as usual was very well looked after.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 4, 2017

my wife and I are from out of town and the Reds Midtown Tavern was a great find for our dinner date! throughly enjoyed the experience there, and would definitely go back. great selection of beers!

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Nice place - friendly / helpful servers. Good drinks.

But - the music was so loud I could barely hear my date. It sounded like a club - I went to bar so I could actually talk to my date.

When we told one of the servers they just said it was the current DJ and that it was just as loud everywhere. And there was nothing they could do. Then I went upstairs to the bathroom at the end of my date to find numerous empty tables and a few guests - where it was much quieter. That was frustrating after spending 2 hours struggling to to hear my date and yelling over a table. For these reasons I'll never go back despite the rest of the elements being quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Very good food, but a bit noisy. Friendly accommodating wait staff and quck service

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Bibimbap needs more veg and more sauce. Wouldn't order it again.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This was one of the best meals of my life. If you are looking for an amazing meal come here for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great Food and Service

I love the food at Reds Midtown Tavern. We were a party of 4 and everyone enjoyed what they had ordered. Three of us ordered burgers with fries and they were delicious and another of our party ordered the fish and chips and he also enjoyed his choice. Sara, our server, was professional and pleasant and helped with our choice of wines. Reds is also a good place to go for lunch as they have a great lunch menu too. You won't be disappointed with the food and service at Reds Midtown.

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun, Cozy, Healthy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Good food and service. Nice atmosphere. Nothing particularly outstanding but still a reliable option for a nice evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Awesome food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Although the wait staff was outstanding, in particular Hannah, the steaks that were ordered caused quite a problem.

Since they were substantially under cooked, we had to send them back not once but twice to the kitchen before everything was rectified.

Sadly, after sending the steaks back a second time we actually had a manager of sorts pay us a visit at the table wherein she told us that the steaks were cooked as ordered. ( One was
medium-well and the other well done.) Both were oozing blood on the plates and by no means were cooked as requested. Although she was very indignant and indicated that the steaks were cooked to their thermometers reading, she finally did concede that the well done one was in fact under cooked.

Needless to say, the rest of our party had completed their food whilst we were still waiting for ours. Once received however, I can honestly say that they were delicious as well as the other goodies on our plate.

We were offered a 15% discount on our bill by the way which we declined. Our meal ran over an hour and a half late due to the problems with the cooking of the two steak entrees. We asked for both meals to be removed entirely. Happily they were!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We booked this reservation last minute and we were very surprised at how good the food was. Our server was very attentive and the food and drinks came out fast! The tenderloin is amazing!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Awesome food options, really reasonably priced for downtown! Fantastic service on a Saturday night!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We tried out Reds Wednesday night before heading to the Mirvish Theatre for show. We really enjoyed our meals - fish and chips and cobb salad with chicken. The wait staff was very attentive, friendly and helpful.

It was a great start to a great night.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall good experience. It was a party of four, and one of the dinner orders was wrong causing a wait. We've been there before so we will be back, just an unfortunate mix up.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Had the Cobb Salad, which was very good, if surprisingly spicy. Drinks were a little pricey. Staff were terrific, from the host to the server.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on February 6, 2017

Our server and the kitchen staff were accommodating of dietary requests

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My first time at Reds Midtown Tavern. Great Winterlicious price. Friendly and attentive staff. Best steak I've ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We went because of the winterlicious, a friend and I.
For our starters ...she had Winter Kale Salad and I had Tuna Tostada .
Both were very tasty.
For our mains, we had the Madras Chicken Sandwich and the Shrimp Ravioli. The sauce they used on the sandwich was good, not as spicy as the waiter stressed it would be. And for the ravioli..not very impressed. It seemed pretty bland. I actually asked for salt which I never have never done before.
Loved the desserts, toffee cake and salted caramel dark chocolate mousse. Too full to eat the cake so gave it away to my boss when I got back to the office. The mousse was amazing.
Would definitely come back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Went with my parents before leaving town and it was
Lovely. The waiter did an excellent job dealing with picky eaters. Beer menu was pretty decent!!! Would go back again! Will recommend to friends :)

Tags: Great Beer, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very good food, a bit pricey for some items but overall quality of food is fresh and tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a wonderful night over some food and a few glasses of wine. Really loved Reds however it was a little too noisy to really catch up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great service with an extensive and creative menu. Lots of choices for a variety of tastes. Quick friendly service. Very good wine selection wide range of prices. Very noisy but vibrant. You can ask for a table away from speakers blaring good selection of music

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I had the hamburger this time and it was outstanding. My friend had the chicken carbonara and again it was so good. Certainly enjoy this place. It could use more patrons at lunch time on a Saturday. Maybe some half-price specials

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great Beer, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My new favourite neighbourhood restaurant. ALWAYS great service, good food, friendliest staff around, daily drink specials, great sharing menu and mains. Lively and large bar area or for a quieter option, the dining room area is also great. LOVE IT.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We were looking for a Sunday night bite to eat. My wife and I both ordered Surf & Turf, expecting a small lobster tail and a filet. The steak was good, not great, but good. The Surf portion of the meal was small bits of dried up lobster (I am assuming it was lobster). Had I known I would have just ordered the filet.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wouldn't go back for the food; all 3 courses of my meal were disappointing. Soup was cold, chicken overcooked, and the apple pie was COLD!
The wine is good, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service! Amazing three course menu for New Years Eve. The Chipotle Sirloin is absolutely delicious and the private room they gave us for our reservation was fit to our needs as a group with children and very nicely decorated!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Authentic, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Fun, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Had a great time here even though I was solo! The waiter was awesome. It's my first time in Toronto and he gave me some tips on where to go after. Food was delish, would definitely go back if I had the chance!

Tags: Romantic, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The wait staff were at the top of their game; the food was quite good, with only slight problem with pan-roasted salmon being a bit too salty. The ambiance was nice and the energy was appropriate for the occasion. Four stars.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It have been there twice and was very happy with the food, service and ambience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We made our reservation for Christmas Eve and since I had my elderly grandmother joining us, I specifically put in the notes not to be seated at a bar height table (too difficult for her to get seated and down again).

When we arrived we were shown to our table which was a bar height table, when I politely said that it wouldn't work for our party, the hostess copped attitude with me and said that's all we've got and that next time I should let them know of any special preferences.

I asked to see a manager and told to "hang on" and she stormed away.

In the end we were seated at a proper table.

Food was average in taste and quality I found. When dessert arrived, the one selection order by two of ours guests was so cold you'd need a chain saw to cut through it. Again, more apologies.

Overall I'd rate this as a B- option for dining. I'm not likely to be back in the near future.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

NIce, cozy place. A bit noisy due to two large parties. Attentive service

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.