About Reds Midtown Tavern

388 Yonge Street
Unit #6
Toronto, ON M5B0A4
View Larger Map

The new REDS WINE TAVERN redefines social dining with culinary confidence and an engaging décor. Uncompromised values, timeless spirit and sociability prevail in a relaxed atmosphere. Our welcoming staff exude a warm personality and a true passion for food and wine.



Converse with our executive chef and sommelier at our unique communal tasting table while enjoying one of our hand-crafted sharing plates. Enjoy a REDS classic cocktail or choose from our hand selected wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Dinner: Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Yonge and Gerrard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 598-3535

Website:
http://www.redswinetavern.com/

Parking Details:
Public Parking is available in various lots near the building.

Public Transit:
Conviently located a minutes walk north of the Dundas Subway Station.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Robertson

Private Party Facilities:
Reds Midtown Tavern is the premiere downtown social destination in downtown Toronto. The stylish bi-level hot spot includes a lively wine bar, which offers more than 40 wines by the glass. A celebrated bar menu showcases housemade charcuterie and a varity of cheeses. The raised dining room is refined, lauded for its upscale, memorable cuisine featuring seasonally changing and outstanding dishes that are inspired by the world’s best wine regions, top quality ingredients and local produce. reds offers warm hospitality in a casual, sophisticated and stylish environment. The wine bar is a more relaxed backdrop

Private Party Contact:
Ayla Neilly: (416) 862-7337

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Reds Midtown Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Casual (18)
Bar Seating (15)
See All
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Business Meals (10)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Live Sports (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Romantic (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Private Room (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My new favourite neighbourhood restauran ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My new favourite neighbourhood restaurant. ALWAYS great service, good food, friendliest staff around, daily drink specials, great sharing menu and mains. Lively and large bar area or for a quieter option, the dining room area is also great. LOVE IT.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for a Sunday night bite ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We were looking for a Sunday night bite to eat. My wife and I both ordered Surf & Turf, expecting a small lobster tail and a filet. The steak was good, not great, but good. The Surf portion of the meal was small bits of dried up lobster (I am assuming it was lobster). Had I known I would have just ordered the filet.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Wouldn't go back for the food; all 3 cou ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wouldn't go back for the food; all 3 courses of my meal were disappointing. Soup was cold, chicken overcooked, and the apple pie was COLD!

The wine is good, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great service! Amazing three course menu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service! Amazing three course menu for New Years Eve. The Chipotle Sirloin is absolutely delicious and the private room they gave us for our reservation was fit to our needs as a group with children and very nicely decorated!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Authentic, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Fun, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time here even though I was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Had a great time here even though I was solo! The waiter was awesome. It's my first time in Toronto and he gave me some tips on where to go after. Food was delish, would definitely go back if I had the chance!

Tags: Romantic, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff were at the top of their ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The wait staff were at the top of their game; the food was quite good, with only slight problem with pan-roasted salmon being a bit too salty. The ambiance was nice and the energy was appropriate for the occasion. Four stars.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It have been there twice and was very ha ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It have been there twice and was very happy with the food, service and ambience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made our reservation for Christmas Ev ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We made our reservation for Christmas Eve and since I had my elderly grandmother joining us, I specifically put in the notes not to be seated at a bar height table (too difficult for her to get seated and down again).

When we arrived we were shown to our table which was a bar height table, when I politely said that it wouldn't work for our party, the hostess copped attitude with me and said that's all we've got and that next time I should let them know of any special preferences.

I asked to see a manager and told to "hang on" and she stormed away.

In the end we were seated at a proper table.

Food was average in taste and quality I found. When dessert arrived, the one selection order by two of ours guests was so cold you'd need a chain saw to cut through it. Again, more apologies.

Overall I'd rate this as a B- option for dining. I'm not likely to be back in the near future.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

NIce, cozy place. A bit noisy due to two ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

NIce, cozy place. A bit noisy due to two large parties. Attentive service

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great ambiance but a bit noisy. Servers ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great ambiance but a bit noisy. Servers are a bit too eager to push you out. Otherwise a wide selective menu and price is moderate.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

the appetizers were great! Good place to ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

the appetizers were great! Good place to meet for drinks. The service was excellent!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was excellent! I had the pork ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Everything was excellent! I had the pork tenderloin and my bf had the shrimp ravioli. Our only complaint would be that our reservation was for 9:30 on a weekday, and once we arrived we were told the kitchen was closing at 9:45. Other then that amazing dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I've been to lunch at Reds Midtown Taver ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I've been to lunch at Reds Midtown Tavern 3 times and have enjoyed it each time. I've been told their lunch specials are the same as their regular entrees so they are good value. The food is well-prepared and tasty; the wait staff are friendly and helpful. It can be a tad noisy there, as there doesn't seem to be a lot of soft materials to absorb the sound. Still, you can enjoy a conversation with friends. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Comment - the restaurant did not have ou ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Comment - the restaurant did not have our reservation when we arrived. Despite having it on a mobile phone. ????? Not convenient and disappointing but seems to be a shared Open Table and restaurant error :(

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Fairly good food and nice service!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fairly good food and nice service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great central spot to have a casual (but ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great central spot to have a casual (but tasty) dinner. They accommodated my reservation request beautifully, and even surprised my table with a complimentary dessert for the two birthdays, and one pregnancy we were celebrating. Attentive service, accommodating to dietary needs, and friendly service staff.

Definitely created a repeat customer out of me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Miss the Aegean lamb entree, it was uniq ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Miss the Aegean lamb entree, it was unique and delicious. Hoping you bring it back. You'll need more bottles of Planeta e Societa (Sicilian Red) Nero D'Avola soon. The sound level of the music is too high. Why do we have to shout?

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Ordered three of the same drink but felt ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Ordered three of the same drink but felt like I was drinking three different drinks. Service was a little slow too unfortunately.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I am a fan of Reds on Adelaide, which ha ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I am a fan of Reds on Adelaide, which has consistently met expectations on business lunch food and service for years. The mid-town location loses none of that, but is housed in a hip, but relaxed venue which, despite its large size still maintains a cozy feel. Well done!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, and excellent service. They ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great food, and excellent service. They handled my peanut allergy with a high level of care!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for pre theatre dining.Super great ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great for pre theatre dining.Super great service. Servers everywhere! Will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Steak was heavily salty thoug ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good food. Steak was heavily salty though. Service was really good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Me and my wife had dinner. I had the spe ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Me and my wife had dinner. I had the special with mushroom soup and steak + desert. Wife had Marakesh chicken. It was all very good. Good size portions and fair prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our server was very nice but the rest of ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Our server was very nice but the rest of our experience was mediocre. Food was either bland or very spicy. The spice/herbs used in the guacamole overwhelmed the lobster. The kale and quinoa salad had a sprinkling of quinoa. The steak and lobster included a rather small piece of lobster. Very underwhelming experience. There are too many good restaurants elsewhere in Toronto for us to return to Reds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

What can be better than duck grilled che ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

What can be better than duck grilled cheese? Done so perfectly - crunchy bread and amazingly flavourful duck. The side of fries was very good. Supreme value for lunch.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always a great time. Phil the bartender ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always a great time. Phil the bartender is incredible.

Another great night out!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience. Comfy wing back chairs. ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great ambience. Comfy wing back chairs. Delicious food. Nice wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, and timely service. Have ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Excellent food, and timely service. Have been to Red's a few times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to celebrate birthday and watch Pla ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Went to celebrate birthday and watch Playoff baseball game, though had a table reserved sat at bar which is quite large with lots of seating. Our service (Phil) was outstanding and the food was fresh, hot and yummy. Definitely try the home made apple pie. Sister property of Reds on Adelaide St. Highly recommend!

Tags: Modern Decor, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Reds was really nice place, food was del ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Reds was really nice place, food was delicious but the service was a bit slow. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

It was an early Sunday afternoon, so whi ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was an early Sunday afternoon, so while the restaurant felt pretty empty inside, it was a still a beautiful and comfortable set up. However, maybe because it was so quiet, we felt from a service stand point that we might have been forgotten. Minimal checkins. The food was quite good though, fairly priced for the quality, and we were happy we got to take advantage of a surprise $10 off each entree promo given at the door that day. Will try back again at another time when the 'scene' may have more energy and the service should too then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We chose Reds Midtown for convenience. ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We chose Reds Midtown for convenience. It was a rainy day so not able to use the patio which would have been nice. It's quite a dark restaurant so we sat in the windowed lounge instead. Good burger. Nice selection of wines by the glass. Half litres would be appreciated in addition to 2 sizes of glass.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We enjoyed Reds Midtown for a pre-movie ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We enjoyed Reds Midtown for a pre-movie lunch. My tandoori chicken salad was a great combo of different tastes and textures. I would definitely have it again. The service was good but not great given the relatively small number of tables in our area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Ordered the pulled chicken tacos and rec ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Ordered the pulled chicken tacos and received 3 of the smallest tacos I've ever seen with nothing on them except a little mound of pulled chicken. Although it came with a side salad of choice, for $15.95 this is pretty disappointing value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The food was mediocore. The wait time f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was mediocore. The wait time for a hamburger and salad was over 40 minutes from the time the order was placed. It was a Wednesday night and not very crowded.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Restaurant has many long tables to accom ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Restaurant has many long tables to accommodate large groups. Lamb salad, calamari appetizer, burgers and fries were good. Waitstaff was great. Gin drinks are a specialty.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Reds had a record of my reservation when ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Reds had a record of my reservation when I arrived, but when my four friends arrived after me, it had somehow disappeared and they couldn't find me. Need more attention to detail in terms of the reservations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bachelorette dinner, they gave us a free ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Bachelorette dinner, they gave us a free shooter. Servers were great. Very good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and the food was delicious ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great service and the food was delicious! The server really went the extra mile!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food, let down a little but the les ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Good food, let down a little but the less than attentive service. Our glasses often empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.