About J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa

913 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
West Cypress

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 354-9006

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Mayolo Bautista

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Tampa / Central Florida West
Contemporary American
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

Good for a Date (38)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Romantic (24)
Open Kitchen (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Business Meals (22)
Fun (16)
Casual (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Wood Oven (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Authentic (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Healthy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Family Style (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
479 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Haley was our server this evening and sh ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Haley was our server this evening and she made our regular dining spot awesome. Next time you go to J Alexander's ask to be sat in her section. She is very fast and efficient with any requests. Always available, but never intrusive in your dining experience. Two Thumbs up for Haley!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

J. Alexander's had wonderful food! Prime ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

J. Alexander's had wonderful food! Prime rib and filet was delicious. The taste is different than typical due to the wood fire but it was perfect! Service was excellent as well. I would highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

J Alexanders has become a neighborhood f ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

J Alexanders has become a neighborhood favorite. The extensive menu offers something for every taste, so it is easy for picky eaters have choices, too! The happy hour is in need of improvement, though-- too short with too few offerings.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a nice meal with friends. The ambia ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a nice meal with friends. The ambiance was great. Nice spacing of booths....you do not feel that you are sitting on top of your fellow diners. Our waiter was great. Will definitely

go there again. Loved the Redlands salad.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent quality prime rib, very good s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Excellent quality prime rib, very good salad, tasty and interesting mashed potatoes. Only gripe would be that our table was under an a/c vent and it blew cold air on us most of the time. Otherwise it's a nice comfy place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love their plum ribs! This is a great s ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Love their plum ribs! This is a great spot to go before big events downtown! Easy parking, great food...the grilled articoke is perfect.

Upscale positive place to enjoy friends

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I eat here often. I had the pork loin. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I eat here often. I had the pork loin. Very tender! Service was great. I would recommend to others.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think J Alexander's has the best Mac a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I think J Alexander's has the best Mac and Cheese I have ever had. My kids love it!! Great burgers and good beer and wine selection

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

always great food. Never been dispointed ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

always great food. Never been dispointed. Great service

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a birthday dinner here recently. Fo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Had a birthday dinner here recently. Food was excellent. The ambience was perfect. They had candles lit, not the flameless kind. Our server was Shannon. She was AMAZING! Our experience was beyond expectation. Definitely will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love Alexander's. Go once a we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We always love Alexander's. Go once a week! The food and service never let us down.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Atmosphere! Service was ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great Food and Atmosphere! Service was very good, staff is always attentative.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered the Roasted Chicken and the to ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I ordered the Roasted Chicken and the top looked cooked but as I cut into it the chicken was not cooked through. My husband ordered the shrimp platter and they tasted like iodine and too much fried coating. The waiter came by quickly initially as the food was served but never saw him after that to let him know about the under cooked chicken, etc. I think on a Saturday evening when they are busy they were banging out food regardless of the outcome. Very disappointed and over priced for what we got and were not able to eat.

i did contact them, but as of yet have not heard anything.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Open kitchen, excellent prime rib, clubb ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Open kitchen, excellent prime rib, clubby atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am always surprised how a chain restau ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I am always surprised how a chain restaurant can be so good. The food is great, and the portions are perfect. Usually very thoughtful service and not obtrusive. A little louder and darker than wanted, but it all creates this cozy ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Family Style, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

the service was great. the food was very ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 17, 2016

the service was great. the food was very good, some of the best I have had. the portions were large and most very one I saw took home a bag. the prices were a little high but I don't mind paying that when I get a great meal and service in return.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thanks for $0 corkage fee.

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Thanks for $0 corkage fee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We are regulars at J Alexanders and the ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We are regulars at J Alexanders and the food is excellent and the service is superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were given a gift card for this resta ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We were given a gift card for this restaurant. What great place. Food is excellent. Staff is great. A little on the pricey side. You definitely get what you pay for. You will not leave hungry.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good experience, service was a ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Always a good experience, service was a bit off but not enough to change the normal good feeling leaving this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I loved the food, it was amazing and wel ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I loved the food, it was amazing and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the spinach con queso dip! Always ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love the spinach con queso dip! Always a treat. This visit, I had a gorgeous piece of ahi tuna. The meal was well prepared.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We've been stopping at J Alexanders rest ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We've been stopping at J Alexanders restaurants since the 1990s and have always found their service quality to the over the top especially for a chain. They will go above and beyond to make sure the guest has everything they need for a quality dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was terrific The best prime ri ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food was terrific The best prime rib i've had in a while. The server was spectacular. A delightful dinner spent with my wife of 30 years and an exceptional experience. We will more than likely make this a weekly time out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch was great and are server was aweso ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Lunch was great and are server was awesome. The hostess was exceptional, she came prepared with black napkins for us without being prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Met colleagues for dinner. Picked a plac ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Met colleagues for dinner. Picked a place I knew but was new for them. Great choice. Food was delicious as usual. J's is a place for anything from intimate dinners to group events. Prompt and attentive service. Does not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was excellent as always.

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Me and my wife come here for our anniver ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Me and my wife come here for our anniversary every year. The steak is my favorite. The service is awesome.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good at the start however; o ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Service was good at the start however; once our meals were served no one came back to check on us for quite a while, with that said my broccoli was room temp at best. I was asked if I wanted something else but by that time I had eaten most of my salmon. We did order desert and coffee and nothing was comped off the bill as a courtesy, didn't sit too well considering other experiences we've had at this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Fab service and food.

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fab service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love going to dinner after Friday nig ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We love going to dinner after Friday night wine tastings and bringing our bottles. Thank you for no corkage fee!

Tags: Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent customer focus staff was very ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent customer focus staff was very courteous and the food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food! Great service. Kinda pri ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Delicious food! Great service. Kinda pricy but we'll be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my wife for a birthday lunch. The f ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Took my wife for a birthday lunch. The food is awesome and our server Stetson was great. Very professional and attentive. Got the pecan crusted Trout. Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this Place, food is great and ha ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I love this Place, food is great and has a very relaxing yet energetic atmosphere. Very Clean and all the employees are very nice and on the spot when you need them.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unparalleled wait staff. Friendly and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Unparalleled wait staff. Friendly and aware of details. Food is out of this world. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to J. Alexander's on a numbe ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I have been to J. Alexander's on a number of occasions and have not been disappointed - Good food and excellent service!

Tags: Family Style, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Cozy, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was outstanding and our server was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was outstanding and our server was on point! The atmosphere was vibrant and cozy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

1st time visiting and will return. Grea ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

1st time visiting and will return. Great service & staff

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

As always, food was excellent and servic ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 12, 2016

As always, food was excellent and service the same. Servers are knowledgeable about the menu and very personable. Always enjoy J's.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.