About J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa

913 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
West Cypress

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 354-9006

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Mayolo Bautista

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Tampa / Central Florida West
Great for Lunch
Tampa
Contemporary American
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

Special Occasion (50)
Great for Lunch (43)
Fit for Foodies (31)
See All
Good for Groups (31)
Romantic (27)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Casual (7)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fun (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (3)
Cozy (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Authentic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We always enjoy it here and service is c ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

We always enjoy it here and service is consistently good and friendly. The food is also always good. This time the only issue had was that despite assurances that our main course order would not be placed until we had received our appetizers, we were barely half way through the appetizer when the main course came and there was zero acknowledgement that this was not the greatest scenario. It was basically take it or take it. Meant racing through the appetizer to get to the main course. Otherwise everything else was fine.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is consistently good but we alw ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food is consistently good but we always come for the carrot cake which is exceptional.

We also like the fact that the cocktails are made with fresh squeezed juice and the wine prices are reasonable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We always have amazing food at J. Alexan ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We always have amazing food at J. Alexander's. Jon makes an amazing Martini. We love the restaurant, the food, and the ambiance!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great for foodies!! Fresh, seasonal foo ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great for foodies!! Fresh, seasonal foods, good wine list, great service.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, cozy atmosphere

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great ambiance, cozy atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for lunch. Very good location with ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great for lunch. Very good location with ample parking. Good menu with many choices . Great service

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good food and excellent service. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Always good food and excellent service. I dine here mostly with customers because they request it and it's always on my list as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Took my two sons there for their birthda ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Took my two sons there for their birthdays at the end of August. Made a reservation on the website, which was very convenient. Confirmed with a text. Did not wait at all. The service was superb. The premium drinks were very good. The appetizers were exceptional.....wood roasted artichokes and the calamari. The main course meals were just the right temperature, cooked the perfect amount & delicious....I had salmon and my sons both had steaks....lots of leftovers to take home due to the large portions. Will definitely be back. Will make certain my brother and his family from Michigan visits when he is in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten here regularly -- love the ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We've eaten here regularly -- love the grilled artichokes, the generous martinis and steaks and burgers are great quality, and good value. The wait staff is very attentive but not bothersome. This recent dinner -- the kitchen had a glitch and overcooked the filet mignon. The waiter promptly sent it back and when the replacement came out too rare -- they comped the entrée AND offered an extra dessert. The manager a spoke to us and we felt very cared for. We eat out a lot -- from high end foody places to food trucks. Service is A+ and food is A+ for the value.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall very good and our server (Matia) ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Overall very good and our server (Matia) was outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We found the restaurant to be the perfec ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We found the restaurant to be the perfect venue for a relaxing dinner. The service was prompt and professional. The menu was mostly traditional American cuisine with a couple of creative features like their grilled Artichoke. Good wine list and a solid value.

We will definitely return.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always enjoy J's -- know food will be go ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Always enjoy J's -- know food will be good and service excellent.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great....thought the musi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Everything was great....thought the music was way too loud.

Tags: Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service. Don't skip the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great food and service. Don't skip the grilled artichokes. Servers very helpful but formal and seems everything they say comes out of the corporate manual but as nice as can be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed our dinner very much. The res ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner very much. The restaurant was not crowded as it was a Sunday evening. Our waitress was excellent. she was very proactive and you did not have to ask her for refills or condiments or napkins.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Consistently excellent. Great staff and ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Consistently excellent. Great staff and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

very good service the food is very goo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

very good service the food is very good the size of plates are nice size meals

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

this place was nice n gude yea this plac ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

this place was nice n gude yea

this place was nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Steaks were prepared/cooked exactly how ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Steaks were prepared/cooked exactly how requested. We were somewhat upset with our server. We were responsible for filling up our own wine glasses, had to ask another server for steak knives. We were celebrating my girlfriends birthday which waitress never asked about even after seeing gifts/birthday accessories. Overall great food but service could have been much better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great waitress! We loved her!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great waitress! We loved her!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

the prime rib dinner and salads were exc ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

the prime rib dinner and salads were excellent. However, the bar bill of $24.00 for 2 drinks was excessive. This was our 40th anniversary and were disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything about it was fantastic . I lo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything about it was fantastic . I love the place it is now my new favorite restaurant . I will be back in the very near future

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic BBQ chicken flatbread, fish ta ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fantastic BBQ chicken flatbread, fish tacos & cheeseburger!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't remember amount of bill; maybe $13 ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Can't remember amount of bill; maybe $130 with bottle of wine

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, had a great price.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great service, had a great price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional meal as always. Great food. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Exceptional meal as always. Great food. Highly attentive servers. Overall wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. I had 16oz prime r ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent as always. I had 16oz prime rib & my friend had the best fried shrimp in town. We made up our own surf & turf - it was FANTASTIC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience as usual! From the ho ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Awesome experience as usual! From the hostess to the waitress, great service and of course the food was AMAZING!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After reading the reviews, I was afraid ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

After reading the reviews, I was afraid it might be overhyped...

Gladly wrong, hands down the best place I have eaten at in Tampa. 5 stars all around, however the service was even better than 5. Our server was always there at the exact time we needed him, the other wait staff kept our table perfectly clean, drinks came out in what seemed like less than a minute. My grandmother and I started to laugh on how well the service was. That is not to take away anything from the food, it was wonderful. The service was exceptional. Look forward to visiting again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great! Had a steak come out ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was great! Had a steak come out overdone but it was immediately rectified ! They went above and beyond . Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great as always but felt rushed ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food was great as always but felt rushed to leave. The servers are too quick trying to remove my plate and almost aggressive at bringing the check.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We love J Alexander's. It is consistent; ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We love J Alexander's. It is consistent;y delicious and the service was impeccable! John makes a dynamite martini!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again another fantastic meal and gr ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Once again another fantastic meal and great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice decor and love the all both seating ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Nice decor and love the all both seating. The 6oz fillet caesar special was 'ok'. The fillet seemed to be cut into 4 pieces and places around the rather small salad portion (size of a side salad). The pieces were cooked perfectly, but the presentation was uninspired. The ribeye special was a tad over the requested medium-rare request and more than half the steak was a lot tougher than expected. The service was on point with one exception - a rather large one. Nobody checked on us after our meals came out until half way through. We probably would have sent the steak back, but didn't have the chance. :(

Overall, we felt that with so many similar restaurants in the area, Redlands didn't really stand out and failed to really lived up to the price point. Maybe it was an off night? But who has $35 to blow on a steak (that was the ribeye price) with crosses fingers hoping it's a good night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I love J Alexanders, but am so sad they ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I love J Alexanders, but am so sad they no longer have the champagne vinaigrette dressing!! :-(

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The menu choices are always great, the f ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The menu choices are always great, the food is always consistent and the service is always spot on. I would recommend this restaurant over and over again for everyday dining. It is definitely a staple for my husband and I.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food; steaks are he Best. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Always great food; steaks are he Best. Hostesses make good first impression; wait staff always friendly and helpful -- keep watch to be sure everything is good but do not "bug" guests with frequent stops. J. Alexander's has a nice menu; everything good -- appetizers, salads, burgers, steaks, shrimp -- and cocktails and wine. Good value, good food, great employees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't say it enough, I love this place ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I can't say it enough, I love this place!! I have never had a bad experience here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I utilize J Alexander's quite often for ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I utilize J Alexander's quite often for business lunches and I am never disappointed in the food nor service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently a very good meal.

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Consistently a very good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.