Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

About J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

913 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
West Cypress

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 354-9006

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Mayolo Bautista

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (57)
Special Occasion (53)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Business Meals (40)
Romantic (40)
Casual (40)
Open Kitchen (39)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Worth the Drive (35)
Great for Lunch (35)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Modern Decor (23)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Cozy (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Family Style (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Wood Oven (11)
Fun (10)
Healthy (8)
People Watching (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Authentic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Seasonal (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
630 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our meal was delicious! The service was fantastic. Ask for Malachi who made excellent suggestions and exceeded our expectations. MUST have the carrot cake! Looking forward to our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Overall good experience, had to call to make reservation for 6 people. Originally made reservation through open table but was limited to 4 people. Good atmosphere, waiter was a little too busy, had to wait for drink refills several times. Have visited 2 years ago with a great experience which let us to go again. Really disappointed as the menu was rather limited.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Need to turn the air conditioning where it's not freezing in here! Every time we eat here I need a parka to make it through the meal! Food is good but very cold in dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was amazing along with the service. We had not only our waiter taking care of us but when we looked up to find him to ask for another glass of wine, he was helping another table and the bartender came from behind the bar to our table to see what we needed. Hostess was very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took my parents here for Mother's Day and we were very happy with the whole experience. The food was delicious and everyone on staff was extremely friendly and attentive. I had the house-made veggie burger and it was perhaps the best veggie burger I've ever had.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great restaurant with wonderful wait staff and even better food!! The fish and meat dishes are excellently prepared.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Staff was very friendly, food was excellent and we were served promptly even though
it was Mothers Day and the restaurant was quite busy.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

we've been here before and always have a great time. it's our go-to place when doing things toward the south tampa area. service staff are friendly and knowledgeable and ambiance is great.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was good, nothing special. Service was great.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great meal as always. I had grouper topped with crab. The carrot cake is the best I've had anywhere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have dined at JAlexanders many times over the years and the food and service have always been outstanding ! Would recommend this restaraunt to anyone looking for great atmosphere and dining ! One of our favorites in the Tampa area

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went for mother's day. Great service. Great food. Made my mom feel special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was a great dinner all around. Every plate of top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

In a world of either reliably mediocre chain food and generally unreliable chef owned restaurants that is Tampa Bay, J Alexander's is reliably good food in comfortable surroundings with a reasonable selection of beverages. Fish is always very fresh, my wife had a snapper special on last visit, I always order the swordfish, which loves the wood grill treatment, when it's on the specials menu. Enjoyed the crab cakes this last visit, which were full of jumbo lump like the ones I make at home. When she joins us, my daughter almost alway goes for the Steak Maui, a teriyaki flavored rib eye. Then there are the fries, worth the trip!
Yes, it is more expensive than some other nearby corporate restaurants, but in this case, you get what you pay for: nice and comfortable surroundings, pleasantly efficient service, well-prepared and constantly tasty food and a decent, reasonable selection of wines.
I'd rather support local, chef-owned places, but many are great one day and disappointing on next visit...or get A for effort and B- for execution. J A's is not attempting to be cutting edge in any way, but it always delivers a tasty meal.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The dinner was exceptional ! I enjoyed the Veggie burger and asparagus. Our waiter was very attentive. I definitely would recommend visiting J. Alexander's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The service was great. The good was as well. I miss some of the dishes previously offered when it was simply J Alexanders. They were more unusual. Also I miss a vegetable or salad being served with the starch on the plate for most of the offerings. Much too much orzo and potatoes. I'd opt for half the amount and the addition of a green or red vegetable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We eat here often with friends. The meals, no mater what we order, are good. I would recommend the wood grilled salmon! SO yummy!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The food was great!! I say waiting at least 10 minutes before my server acknowledged me. That's just unacceptable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Everything was great

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Food was impeccable, as usual. For the first time, in a VERY long time, the service was good, but not its usual "great." The ambiance and food, however was its usual wonderful and the whole experience was very pleasurable. Will always go back to this consistent establishment.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 24, 2017

As always great. The carrot cake is a winner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Food and Service was excellent. Could not ask for more.

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

J.Alexanders is not quite as good as other's in the chain. Most notably since the buy out to Redlands. Not enough true steak choices. Service was inconsistent, need to remind him several times of drinks bread etc. seems as if menu items have been reduced. Pretty good Prime Rib but I wish they had other cuts that were not covered in sauce or some specialty preparation.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We've been here before and had good meals. Would make a special trip for the prime rib. This time it was terrible.
The service was extremely slow. It took a ridiculous amount of time just to get a club soda and there were missing items when the meals arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food an service were fantastic. Really enjoyed the meal and will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The dessert was amazing, forgot the name. It it had oreos, snickers, Heath bar, ice cream and caramel..

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 21, 2017

First time going and definitely will not be my last. The food was so flavored and delicious. The service was top notch and the food came out incredibly fast. So fast, our waiter thought something was wron. My facial expression must have gave off that vibe when reality was I was so surprised at how fast and smooth the food came out. Will definitely come back again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Family Style, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I'm rarely impressed by fish tacos but the fish tacos at J Alexander were incredible. And then my husband and I share the Powerful Stuff dessert which was out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The food wasn't everything I had hoped for but the service was excellent and the carrot cake is to die for. I could see just going for drinks and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love going here.
Staff was wonderful
Food outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was quick decision on our part to have Easter dinner there instead of pulling something out of the freezer and cooking..We had not been there since New Year's Day and decided to try it again as a lot of places dont impress you as much the 2nd time as they do the first time. The food, service, ambiance was just as great as it was New Years Eve. Definitely work the trip from Riverview to Tampa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Lunch/dinner was absolutely delicious and worth every penny! I had prime rib with smashed potatoes and my hubby had grilled grouper with broccoli. We shared an appetizer of smoked salmon and couldn't finish the dessert of carrot cake which we took home. We have always had a good meal whenever we come, which isn't very often as it's all the way across town. Highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

John at the bar makes us special drinks everytime we visit. The food is consistently good and the service impeccable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My wife and I are very impressed with this restaurant. We consistently receive an outstanding dining experience. The atmosphere is great for an anniversary or simply a romantic date. The food is amazing as well as the professional service. We both enjoy the salmon for our entrees with either the orzo rice or smashed potatoes, with the Redland's salad; and be sure to try the carrot cake for dessert. Clearly a well-managed operation.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Been here multiple times. Always excellent food and service. Never have had to wait when reserving with Opentable. Reliable and delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 13, 2017

J ALEXANDER'S HAS BEEN ONE OF MY FAVORITE RESTAURANTS FOR A VERY LONG TIME. THE MENU IS VARIED ENOUGH FOR EVERY TASTE AND DIETARY REQUIREMENT. I HAVE FOUND, THOUGH, THAT THIS VERY CONSISTENT RESTAURANT HAS UNDERGONE SOME CHANGES THAT NOW MAKE IT LESS SO. I AM DISAPPOINTED THAT SOME OF MY FAVORITE DISHES MAY BE PREPARED DIFFERENTLY ON ANY GIVEN NIGHT. I DID MENTION THIS TO THE MANAGER, AND HE WAS INCREDIBLY UNDERSTANDING. HE AGREED THAT CONSISTENCY IS MOST IMPORTANT AND PLEDGED TO PAY CLOSER ATTENTION TO THE KITCHEN. HAVING SAID THIS, I WOULD CERTAINLY RETURN.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Went there to try it out i was amazed by the place's lay out very nice place. My order was a new youk strip which it was delicious
Meghan Was very helpful!!!
I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Very good lunch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Never a disappointment! Food, service all ways on top of their game. Love the fried Shrimp and fried chicken, as well as the prime rib, key lime pie - EVERYTHING!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Outstanding service. Our waiter was very helpful and comical. Made us laugh every time he came to the table. Thanks Jerry B.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.