Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

About J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

913 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
West Cypress

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 354-9006

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Mayolo Bautista

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (42)
Great for Lunch (41)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Good for a Date (36)
Casual (33)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Comfort Food (24)
Romantic (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Worth the Drive (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Fun (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Authentic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Hot Spot (6)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
707 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Would highly recommend this restaurant. Overall an amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2017

As always the J Alexander restaurant does not disappoint.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We are regulars at J. Alexander's. Artichoke was exceptional as usual, definite recommend. Had the ribeye special, not as tender as normal. Ahi salad was very good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Consistently good food and service. A great place for a lunch meeting because it has something for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Fabulous food,. The char grilled artichokes were fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Nice atmosphere however it can get somewhat loud. Food was delicious; service was quick and attentive.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 24, 2017

J Alexanders has become one of our "go to" places for great food and service. It never disappoints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We have dinner at Redlands at least twice a week and have had excellent food and service most of the time, which is why we keep going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Very fast friendly service-the food was plentiful and tasty.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food was terrific! Service was great. Such a nice place for a really nice meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Excellent good and service, like always. I have many client/business lunches and dinners as well as social meals.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The fried chicken salad had croutons in it but very hard to find the chicken in it. Just no taste. The other grilled chicken salad is much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food and service were good but prices are a bit steep for what you get.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Delish, great service. The days specials were a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2017

J Alexanders never disappoints. Orzo and Beefstake tomatoes are fantastic. Will be back soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Love the restaurant....our waitress, wish I could remember her name, was AWESOME! FOOD, OC COURSE, WONDERFUL, AS USUAL!

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our server was fantastic, so don't read this as an issue with her. However, the kitchen was a problem. Two of the four people in our group got their meals about 5-8 minutes before the other two got their meals. Then, the appetizer came out AFTER we were served our meals. I asked for "soda water" and was served club soda. Those are different items. Club soda has sodium in it.

I really like this place, but it gets a C grade this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

I have been to J. Alexander's many times and have always received great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 11, 2017

One of my hometown favorites-- place NEVER disappoints. Actually, the service is really amazing (so is the food)! It's like an orchestra of service where many persons service each table; they come and go, do their thing and you don't even notice when it happens. I travel a lot and eat out all the time, never came across a place that can beat J. Alexander's service, not even 5-star restaurants.

I visited before a show at the Straz; this combo is always a great time!

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I love the Chicken Fingers. They are the best I've ever had! Sometimes I have the Carrot Cake for dessert. Also one of the best I've ever had! I love it served warm!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. This restaurant provides a feeling of fine dining at a world class restaurant in the middle of Tampa. They treat guests special - like they appreciate your business no matter who you are. This is a rare occurrence these days. He food is always delicious with good proportions. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Awesome service. Food was delicious. Restaurant is noisy so perfect if you have to take your young child. :)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Food was served hot , fresh. Fish tacos were delish, good quality fish was fried crispy but not greasy at all. Best carrot cake I've ever had. Save room for it. This is also one of my favorite restaurants where service/wait staff is concerned. Always great service and last night with Leah was no different. Very attentive, warm , friendly and knowledgeable about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2017

It's changed. Went there for a late lunch. Service was slow & forgetful. Food was NOT good. Hadn't been there since the merger w/Redlands... was disappointed.

Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Loved it! Great food and service. I enjoyed my birthday dinner and will definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 1, 2017

As usual a great dining experience all around.
Thank you for a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Good food and service. Consistent quality and very enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Very delicious food and excellent service. The deviled eggs were to die for and the ribs the best we ever ate. It's a little on the pricey side but the service was terrific and the martini hit the spot! Ask for Gina, great server!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food and service were awesome, a tad pricey but overall worth it. Key lime pie was made from scratch in house, to die for.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Best steak in town. And there are lots of steak houses...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Redlands Grill consistently has good food! One of our favorite places go go for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Our waitress was amazing. Good always consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Paid $9.00 for house wine and it looked like a "shot" of wine versus a $9.00 glass of wine. That was a rip off.

Had on a black shirt and white lint covered my shirt. Asked for a lint remover before meal served, but none could be located.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We love j Alexander's in Houston so we were excited to find the Redlands. It met all of our expectations. We will be returning with friends. The filet was mouthwatering. BOY Mac and cheese is still my favorite. Topped it off with carrot cake!
Thank you

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Gina and Vince, awesome service! Good amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Yet another home run meal! Wine was amazing, filet was spot-on. I was actually too full to order my favorite carrot cake this time!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Was greeted politely. Got seated immediately upon arrival. Server came. Took order. We were never offered bread. Salad delivered with dressing already applied. Food was decent. Overall it was okay. Not the experience expected. Server was nice. Just did not receive the attention we would've wanted.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 18, 2017

This was our first time at J Alexanders, But it definitely won't be our last. The food was outstanding and the service was even better. Our meals were delicious. My husband had the horseradish fillet, and my son had the marinated ribeye. Both were delicious and cooked perfectly. I had the grilled artichoke and the fish tacos. If I'd known how large the fish tacos were I wouldn't of even ordered the grilled artichoke, but it was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 14, 2017

You can count on Redlands Grill- J Alexander's to deliver very good food in a really nice and comfortable setting for a price that is consistent with the quality and setting. Great steaks, seafood and salads, sandwiches, drinks and wine. Just try it. Reliable, delicious, convenient and reasonable.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great service! Food was good but not wow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.