Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 55 times today

J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa

4.7
912 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(813) 354-9006
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Frederick Laskovics
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
West Cypress
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 912 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
98% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Visited at lunch for a business meal. We both had salads. As always, the salads were delicious, service was excellent, and the atmosphere is perfect for business meetings!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Reliable very good food with nice selection with large portions and prompt courteous service from wait staff and kitchen. My go to place in Tampa when I want a nice meal with cocktail that does nor break the bank.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Terrible service as well as it was so hot in our part of the restaurant that it was miserable. WE asked to be moved but told there were no other tables. Normally we love this place and come often but now will take a long break!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Been awhile. Still good food great service. !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

We had the prime rib and rib-eye. The rib-eye was excellent and the prime rib was the best I ever had and I have had quite a few and good restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Great overall experience & fabulous service by the ladies in the bar area!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Excellent service & cuisine as usual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Tried the grilled pork tenderloin and it was outstanding. I may have a new favorite!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Really love this place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We love this place we are avid followers of J Alexander’s. We started with the opening of I believe the first one in Memphis when we lived there. Went every weekend until moving and glad there are a few throughout Florida

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Every visit is an enjoyment. Try to come as often as we can. Service is always great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great service and a menu with a good variety of choices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Good food, great service and a classy ambiance. We were there mid-day and the Mother's Day crowd was well managed. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I’ve never had a bad meal at this place!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

As always J Alexander’s is consistently stellar. Service, food and time between courses is always on par. Our server Gina was fantastic and the manager Ian was very hospitable as well. If only they offered their white chocolate cheesecake 7 days a week.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Wanted fresh fish. We weren’t disappointed. Great server, Michael. The best key lime pie.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Good stuff service could have been a level better but overall I’d go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

It was fast and delicious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

It can‘t be any better! Well done!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

We stopped in for a quick birthday lunch of "my favorite artichokes anywhere" and a glass of wine, before a movie and the rest of the birthday food tour. The artichokes are the best anywhere and the only thing I ate. Love them!!! Others had the french dip and salad, equally enjoyed!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Delicious food for a reasonnable price! We liked it and will be back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great service and fantastic food! Love this resturant...never disappointed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Our favorite place for prime rib. There might be better prime rib establishments but not for the price. It is quiet enough to allow for normal conversation and service has always been excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We had a great experience where four of us could get together halfway. The menu is great, however we ended up splitting Prime Rib dinners and would have to say it was one of the best ever. You could litterally cut the rib with your fork with ease. Taste was outstanding.

We had excellent service from Brittany who made sure we were not rushed. A great evening all around and would definitely recommend for an every day or special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Granddaughter Birthday. This is our special day just the two us at J Alexander’s Redwood. I frequent other times with other family members

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

J Alexander’s is a great place to meet friends for lunch. The salads are yummy and the service is wonderful! I like the grilled chicken salad, as well as the ahi tuna. The half chicken ( roasted) is delicious, too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Great place to hangout with friends, a date and a day out with once love. Love the food, staff and the environment as a whole.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 2, 2018

The food was great as usual- service was so bad I am writing to the manager. We hadn’t even sat down before the waitress asked what appetizers we wanted

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Everything was perfect. We loved the grilled artichoke appetizer. Our waitress was lovely and our entrees were delicious (pecan crusted trout for my husband and filet mignon Caesar salad for myself). That was our first time there however we plan to return soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We went to J. Alexander's for lunch before going to the Straz Center for a matinee. Everything was very good from the front of the restaurant staff to the waitstaff to the food. They have a great selection of salads (that we were looking for) but everything looked good. We shared the grilled artichokes and they were delicious. We ordered two of the salads with the dressing on the side and they brought an extra cilantro dressing alongside it as well and it was awesome. The waitress anticipated any need and we thought she was excellent. Too bad we live in Sarasota and don't get up to Tampa very often or we would definitely be there often but it is a place we will come back to when we to to Tampa for any reason.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The overall atmosphere was calming. Our waitress was qyick and efficient and joined in on our group jokes. She wasn't pushy for tips.....no one likes when staff does that. When you first walk in they greet you as if they seen you before. Even other customers greet you when they leave.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Love the food and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

The carrot cake. Warm carrot cake. Nothing more to say.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Food is always great. Service is crazy, in the best way possible. Nothing could be done better! Very attentive servers and staff. Love coming here!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 25, 2018

After leaving more than 60 5-star reviews here, my last 4 visits have been 3 or 4 star. Food consistency has dropped, and the best service in town has dropped to above average. Still a good selection for business clients, Good service, and good food, but sadly not at the level it’s been.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

My boss and I come here often. The Thai salad is amazing, we both love it. The hostesses are very friendly and professional. The service is superb!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Our prime rib had been cooked previous to our coming and was tasty but hard to cut and chew. Service was pretty good even though they were busy but the atmosphere was way too noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Great food very good experience

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Very nice restaurant, a wide selection of items on the menu and all the people in our group really enjoyed their entree. I will be going back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
23

Tweets by J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa