About J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa

913 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
West Cypress

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 354-9006

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Mayolo Bautista

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for Birthdays (30)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Casual (27)
Business Meals (24)
Open Kitchen (24)
Romantic (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Worth the Drive (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Wood Oven (13)
Cozy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Authentic (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Fun (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Family Style (6)
Late-night Find (5)
People Watching (5)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
549 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

For the first time, we were disappointed ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

For the first time, we were disappointed. We always get the prime rib because it's been the best in the city. Tonight it was tough and below previous standard....and after it was served no one came to the table to see if the meal was acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a very poor experience. We had t ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a very poor experience. We had two couples together. One couple ( prime rib ) received their meal in a normal amount of time. We were told that our food was delayed because my wife redrew a filet. My wife's filet arrived and I was still awaiting my prime rib. After awaiting about 1hr my prime rib arrived after our other guests got their food. The "manager" said he would do what he could do. Which was evident he didn't have authority or desire to do more. They gave us a free drink which ok. Not happy with food and service! I have heard from several people they were great. But the people that invited us was embarrassed. Everything was bad and handled poorly by management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This was a special occasion for my daugh ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

This was a special occasion for my daughter and a first time experience at the theatre and dinner. Our server was very attentive and conscience of the fact that we were on a schedule. The refreshment servers were always aware of refilling drinks and our food came to us quickly. Flavors were superb! J. Alexander never fails when it comes to quality and quantity of their entrees. Top notch wait staff! The only downside to this establishment is that it is always loud. Not sure if it's the acoustics, but it is difficult to carry on a normal conversation here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our Valentine dinner. What gr ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our Valentine dinner. What great experience from the generous pour drinks to the excellent food. Our server Josh was outstanding and even though it was a busy night with people waiting for a table we never felt rushed.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I loved our experience at ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

My family and I loved our experience at J Alexander's...took my wife and daughter there for Valentine's Day. Food and service were both outstanding...the desserts were wonderful too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was very good. Surprised salad did not c ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Was very good. Surprised salad did not come with dinner and had to pay extra for it.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service and excellent food. On ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and excellent food. Only complaint really was the fact that the music was turned on way too loud after a certain time and I could not hear my date from across the small table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall nice restaurant but a little too ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall nice restaurant but a little too expensive for the average consumer..

awesome service though!

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had an amazing experience. We definit ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had an amazing experience. We definitely recommend going there and we will definitely be going back. We had an awesome server who was very friendly got to the point he was fast. Definitely love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We go here for any family birthday. It w ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We go here for any family birthday. It was my 10 year olds and she loved everything she ate. The appetizers are excellent. The artichokes, deviled eggs and the calamari are our favorites. Great steaks, salads, fish and hamburgers as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, , Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband's favorite restaurant in Tamp ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My husband's favorite restaurant in Tampa. Highly recommend the salmon with orzo and the Maui steak. But you can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was awesome, great atmosphere ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our server was awesome, great atmosphere although a bit loud on this particular evening. Definitely not a kid friendly restaurant although many families had children dining with them my kid was looking for the crayons and coloring page which they do not offer. There's not a children's menu listed. I ordered the grouper which was a bit pricey and very over seasoned with spices that it took away the flavor of the fish but since I was starving I ate it and didn't complain. My daughter had the appetizer of chicken tenders and fries and the chicken was heavily seasoned with black pepper so she only ate the fries.

Not on the top of my list for another visit.

However, the orzo and wild rice was the best thing!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Anniversary

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our party enjoyed our entrees and sides. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our party enjoyed our entrees and sides. I have special dietary restrictions and they were met with an eagerness to please. Enjoyed a fillet steak cooked perfectly. The seasonal acorn squash without brown sugar topping was yummy.

The only downside to the evening was it was a very loud evening at J Alexander's. I would go back again.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely superb food and service and ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Absolutely superb food and service and always very consistent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The new lighting at Redlands grill is so ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The new lighting at Redlands grill is so bright it used to be a night private setting and now it just seems so open. Not a fan of the new lighting been going for 10 years and always felt maybe it was a bit to dark but would rather have it dark then bright

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Had a WAY too eager and talkative server ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Had a WAY too eager and talkative server who needs to be retrofitted for comfortable dining. In fact, since we come to this restaurant a lot, I will request not to have this guy again. He needs to work in fast food. Not a higher order restaurant.

When you're having dinner with friends and much to catch up on, you don't want a server who leaps into the mix, interrupts, is far too interested in what he has to say than honoring your space.

He was just not on the right wave length!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

This is one of my fave restaurants but I ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is one of my fave restaurants but I noticed they changed the lighting. The lighting makes it less intimate. I feel I am at a regular restaurant with the new lighting.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Dinner was great and the service was imp ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Dinner was great and the service was impeccable. I must say that carrot cake is the best thing I've ever ingested.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Family Birthday.

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Family Birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite local restaurants. T ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 2, 2017

One of our favorite local restaurants. The varied menu satisfies all food preferences from fish, beef, chicken and huge salads Reservations are honored and the staff is friendly My husband thought the ribs were outstanding

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been here many times. The food i ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I have been here many times. The food is delicious and the service is excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place to have a business lunch nea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great place to have a business lunch near Tampa. Service is always top notch, great specials and always enjoy the southern fried chicken salad.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's lost its luster since being taken o ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It's lost its luster since being taken over and the atmosphere that night was lacking but it was a Sunday to be fair.

The chicken sandwich was so so and they brought out my soup at the same time as my entre which I find terribly annoying so I sent it back!

The waitress was pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We had a delicious meal. Everything we ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a delicious meal. Everything we ordered came out to perfection. We would go back again

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BEST Prime Rib in Florida! Looks lik ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The BEST Prime Rib in Florida!

Looks like prices have gone up a little (which is surprising and disappointing), but still a good value.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disapointed, our first experience w ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very disapointed, our first experience was wonderfull so we decided to invite our daughter and grand-daughter to the restaurant (even if she wanted to go to Ruth Chris) we barely saw our waitress (Rebekah) all night, our daughter order the prime rib with shrimp, she received her meal without the shrimp and the meat and potatoes was cold, a second plate was brought to her but the shrimp was still missing, my husband ordered the filet with sauteed mushrooms and got the mushrooms once the steak was done. We got the check without being ask if we wanted a dessert, actually we got asked at the same time as we got the check on the table, so it didn't encourage us to ask for one. We paid by credit card and when the waitress got back with the copy to sign she threw it on the table my husband caught it just before it would have fell on is laps.

So all in all very disapointed and unfortunately we won't be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We love this restaurant and try to eat h ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We love this restaurant and try to eat here when attending an event in Tampa.

Very glad reservations are taken. Food is always very good !

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend was disappointed with her sala ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 25, 2017

My friend was disappointed with her salad. Seemed to be a lunch portion, to which she had salmon added. Bill came and he charged $19. At this point, with the salad eaten, difficult to complain. We paid and moved on. I know she won't want to return. She commented that Ruth Chris' prices and portions are this bad.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

This restaurant efficiently provided goo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This restaurant efficiently provided good food with good service . The prime rib was really good and the sides had varied options. The wine prices were quite high, especially for this market.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Amazingly good food, but interesting tac ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Amazingly good food, but interesting tactics to maximize charges for meal. Changed drink order from coffee to tea upfront (before receiving drink), and waitress said, "I'll just bring both." This resulted in a charge for both coffee and tea, when I unwittingly failed to decline the offer. Have also been charged for full salad, when ordering a side salad to-go, along with an entrée. When I questioned the bill, was informed that it is not customary to charge the side salad price, if the side item is not consumed at the restaurant (even when ordered with an entrée).

Tags: Organic, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

After multiple visits, I have always had ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

After multiple visits, I have always had good experiences at this restaurant. The menu is not large, but every choice is well prepared and tasty. The management runs a very well oiled machine, from the incredible efficiency of the kitchen to the polite and attentive wait staff. If going on a weekend night, reservations are strongly recommended. Will return!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Meals were delicious! Service fast and ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Meals were delicious! Service fast and friendly and knowledgable about ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pricey! I paid $25 for steak and sh ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very pricey! I paid $25 for steak and shoe string fries. The salad was not included, another $6 and paid $10 for a glass of white sangria. The steak was fatty, but tasted okay. Fries were...well, shoe string fries, and the salad was just a house salad. My friend and I had to nearly scream at each other for normal conversation. Very disappointed and will. It be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, excellent service! Highly re ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food, excellent service! Highly recommend for business meals.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have recently revamped their menu. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

They have recently revamped their menu. My son and I meet here for lunch regularly. The service is outstanding. I love that they accept reservations for lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good look - reservation available even t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good look - reservation available even though we arrived early. Relaxed atmosphere, efficient service, great food and a decent wine selection at a fair price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Scott was spot on with servic ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our server Scott was spot on with service and recommendations. The fire roasted artichoke was the best I've had in a restaurant. Will return next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was really hard to hear your tables c ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 13, 2017

It was really hard to hear your tables conversation as it was so noisy maybe because it was right at lunchtime. The waiter was very accommodating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

All food was well prepared and tasted gr ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

All food was well prepared and tasted great. We even took some home. Wait staff was very accommodating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.