About J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa

913 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
West Cypress

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 354-9006

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Mayolo Bautista

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Special Occasion (31)
Business Meals (25)
See All
Good for Birthdays (25)
Romantic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Casual (22)
Open Kitchen (22)
Worth the Drive (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Cozy (15)
Fun (12)
Authentic (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Wood Oven (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
513 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good look - reservation available even t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Good look - reservation available even though we arrived early. Relaxed atmosphere, efficient service, great food and a decent wine selection at a fair price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Scott was spot on with servic ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our server Scott was spot on with service and recommendations. The fire roasted artichoke was the best I've had in a restaurant. Will return next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was really hard to hear your tables c ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 13, 2017

It was really hard to hear your tables conversation as it was so noisy maybe because it was right at lunchtime. The waiter was very accommodating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

All food was well prepared and tasted gr ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

All food was well prepared and tasted great. We even took some home. Wait staff was very accommodating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent service, alcoholi ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food, excellent service, alcoholic beverages mixed was great.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server John P. was excellent and att ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our server John P. was excellent and attentive. He was very accommodating at finding out what was gluten free for me since I have celiac. The deviled eggs, caesar salad, prime rib and loaded baked potato was on point. I liked the horse radish sauce but prefer it spicier. But all in all it was a lovely meal and he didn't make my friend and I feel rushed even though we lingered for a while catching up. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for the great food and service ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Thank you for the great food and service. We had special friends in town and tonight's dinner was perfect!! We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was impeccable. They didn't ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The service was impeccable. They didn't have the bottle of our champagne we wanted chillled so they offered us an upgraded bottle at the same price. The manager was lovely and even came back to check on us and make sure we liked it! We will definitely be back:)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food is always consistent. M ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Service and food is always consistent. My go to restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff made an effort at trying to be ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The staff made an effort at trying to be attentive and courteous. I will definitely recommend this place and look forward to my next opportunity to visit when I am in Tampa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

J. Alexander's has been a family favorit ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

J. Alexander's has been a family favorite for many years. Our go-to-place when celebrating special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fantastic! we had the F ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was fantastic! we had the Filet with NYO mac and cHeese as the main course and both were very good. We had the queso dip appetizer and that was also very good. Had a glass of Roth Cab/sav wine and it was very good! All in a very good dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always chosen J Alexanders - now ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I have always chosen J Alexanders - now Redlands - for special occasions. It is a bit too pricey for everyday eating. Too bad they do not have a luncheon menu. The menu is fairly diverse. A burger is $15 and very good, even though expensive compared to other comparable restaurants. I had the special of the day which was grouper at $23. A little under-seasoned, and a little tough, but it was tasty. I ordered with zucchini since I want a low-carb option. This is one area they could work on a little more. So many rich, high carb side options. Other than salads, very few fresh veggies. Broccoli and a vegetable of the day is typically all they have. Nice and cozy with lots of booths. They do not have seating for more than 5 people unless they move tables together. No big booths for more than 5 people. Service is always superb!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall the restaurant and customer serv ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Overall the restaurant and customer service was wonderful but my chicken was a little salty and the server didn't seem as if he wanted to really be there to serve us, but I still delt with it and enjoy my daughter birthday.

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

We loved our first time visit to J Alexa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We loved our first time visit to J Alexanders. However, I had the ribeye special, and it was a bit tough. Also, I asked for medium-rare, and it was definitely "rare". The potato was excellent. We were surprised that there was no bread brought to the table. I would not order the steak again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The overall experience was outstanding! ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The overall experience was outstanding! I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always professional and court ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Service is always professional and courteous. Food is consistently delicious, with minimal issues, if any!

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, portions have decreased, ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was good, portions have decreased, mix up in kitchen resulted in our food taking an hour to get to our table. Wait staff apolgized and offered two couples one dessert to share.

We have been going to this restaurant on and off for close to 12 years, service keeps getting worse.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

John at the bar made us feel very welcom ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

John at the bar made us feel very welcome!!

Food was fantastic!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food. The Macaroni and Cheese ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent Food. The Macaroni and Cheese is to die for and the NY Strip is outstanding! Cooked to perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to eat . Food and service we ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great place to eat . Food and service were tremendous. Highly recommend

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've dined at J. Alexander's dozens of t ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I've dined at J. Alexander's dozens of times over the years and the food, service, and ambience have consistently met or exceeded my highest expectations. This visit was extraordinary yet again! Bravo!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Never disappoints-- this is one of my fa ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Never disappoints-- this is one of my favorites in Tampa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Haley was our server this evening and sh ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Haley was our server this evening and she made our regular dining spot awesome. Next time you go to J Alexander's ask to be sat in her section. She is very fast and efficient with any requests. Always available, but never intrusive in your dining experience. Two Thumbs up for Haley!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

J. Alexander's had wonderful food! Prime ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 3, 2016

J. Alexander's had wonderful food! Prime rib and filet was delicious. The taste is different than typical due to the wood fire but it was perfect! Service was excellent as well. I would highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

J Alexanders has become a neighborhood f ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 3, 2016

J Alexanders has become a neighborhood favorite. The extensive menu offers something for every taste, so it is easy for picky eaters have choices, too! The happy hour is in need of improvement, though-- too short with too few offerings.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a nice meal with friends. The ambia ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had a nice meal with friends. The ambiance was great. Nice spacing of booths....you do not feel that you are sitting on top of your fellow diners. Our waiter was great. Will definitely

go there again. Loved the Redlands salad.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent quality prime rib, very good s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Excellent quality prime rib, very good salad, tasty and interesting mashed potatoes. Only gripe would be that our table was under an a/c vent and it blew cold air on us most of the time. Otherwise it's a nice comfy place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love their plum ribs! This is a great s ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Love their plum ribs! This is a great spot to go before big events downtown! Easy parking, great food...the grilled articoke is perfect.

Upscale positive place to enjoy friends

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I eat here often. I had the pork loin. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I eat here often. I had the pork loin. Very tender! Service was great. I would recommend to others.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think J Alexander's has the best Mac a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I think J Alexander's has the best Mac and Cheese I have ever had. My kids love it!! Great burgers and good beer and wine selection

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

always great food. Never been dispointed ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

always great food. Never been dispointed. Great service

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a birthday dinner here recently. Fo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Had a birthday dinner here recently. Food was excellent. The ambience was perfect. They had candles lit, not the flameless kind. Our server was Shannon. She was AMAZING! Our experience was beyond expectation. Definitely will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Place was pretty. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was very good. Place was pretty. Not at all crowded for being during a local football game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We always love Alexander's. Go once a we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We always love Alexander's. Go once a week! The food and service never let us down.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the Roasted Chicken and the to ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I ordered the Roasted Chicken and the top looked cooked but as I cut into it the chicken was not cooked through. My husband ordered the shrimp platter and they tasted like iodine and too much fried coating. The waiter came by quickly initially as the food was served but never saw him after that to let him know about the under cooked chicken, etc. I think on a Saturday evening when they are busy they were banging out food regardless of the outcome. Very disappointed and over priced for what we got and were not able to eat.

i did contact them, but as of yet have not heard anything.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Great Food and Atmosphere! Service was ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great Food and Atmosphere! Service was very good, staff is always attentative.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Open kitchen, excellent prime rib, clubb ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Open kitchen, excellent prime rib, clubby atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am always surprised how a chain restau ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I am always surprised how a chain restaurant can be so good. The food is great, and the portions are perfect. Usually very thoughtful service and not obtrusive. A little louder and darker than wanted, but it all creates this cozy ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, , Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Family Style, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

the service was great. the food was very ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 17, 2016

the service was great. the food was very good, some of the best I have had. the portions were large and most very one I saw took home a bag. the prices were a little high but I don't mind paying that when I get a great meal and service in return.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.