Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

About J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

913 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
West Cypress

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 354-9006

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Mayolo Bautista

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (35)
Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Casual (28)
Great for Lunch (21)
Romantic (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Cozy (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Healthy (6)
Fun (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (5)
Authentic (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
783 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was good, service was good. It is my "go-to" place, especially when I want consistency.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is always excellent! Artichokes, deviled eggs and a carrot cake finish are a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and atmosphere. Highly recommend. Awesome prime rib and carrot cake.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was delicious!! Service was lacking..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent !!!!!! Prime rib is to die for. This service is impeccable

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great Food Choices- Steaks, Prime Rib, Grouper, Salmon were our selections- ALL FANTASTIC. Key Lime Pie for Dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 10, 2018

Our server, Michael, was great!! Very attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 9, 2018

J Alexander’s is one of the restaurants in town where everyone can find something on the menu to enjoy. On a recent visit , the restaurant was busy yet the service was wonderful. The newest menu offers some different side dishes, all delicious!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 9, 2018

The service, steak, tuna, club, and rispy chicken were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2018

The crab cakes recommended by our great server, Zach, were AMAZING.
The broccoli that came with them was cold so not so great.
Overall we enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 7, 2018

My steak came out cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We asked our server that we wanted our steak not to have any blood, so she said it would be “medium plus”. When the steak came out extremely rare, the server seemed to avoid us. The manager took care of the problem correctly one she got involved. Disappointed that the server wasn’t more helpful. Things happen. It’s what you do when they go wrong that counts. A disappointing fail for the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2018

New Year’s Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

New Years excellent meal and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Service was great, food was very good, nice place, no wait.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Our server John was amazing. The whole experience was best in class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Great place for a special dinner. The grilled artichokes and beefsteak tomatoes are amazing! I would come back for those alone. The filet was so tender and the pecan crusted trout was fantastic. Lots of roomy but cozy and comfortable booths, which we love.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Exceeded expectations. Good value wine list with some hidden gems. The prime rib was excellent, the calamari starter, out of this world. Best key lime pie we’ve had in Tampa. Will return

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Live Sports, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Excellent experience as always! Highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 27, 2017

We are frequent customers however this recent visit was below expectations in terms of service and atmosphere. The waiter was not very responsive and we sat next to a table that was very load and probably intoxicated.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Absolutely and wonderfully delicious food. We always go for the artichoke appetizer and the carrot cake. The prime rib sandwich is phenomenal. The shoestring fries dipped in the au jus is a treat as well. Capuchino with the carrot cake is great too. Love the ambiance and the holiday music was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Been there many times. Poor service ruined the evening. Hopefully, this was a one-time problem. We were also over charged for wine by $25. It was refunded by management the next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Usually reliable but massacred my steak. Did take it off my bill, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 10, 2017

It was Great! Thank God the huevos rolls are back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Excellent staff and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Big disappointment. Linen napkin shredded all over my clothes, $20 “millionaire steak sandwich” was nothing more than to fillet tips on a bunch of bread. Food was very tasty overall value for. Service look like the servers were lost. I never brought my wife’s espresso.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Salmon was perfect- medium rare but just the way I like it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Frequent visitors.
Food always good.
Servers always attentive
Really love their fries

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 5, 2017

Great place I enjoy it very much, Excellent queso dip

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 3, 2017

The food was excellent. Our server was top notch: polite, helpful in explaining options, patient and a real gentleman. Many thanks! The carrot cake was superb!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

It was very romantic with amazing service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Great prime rib and Bombay martinis, everything else is secondary.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 29, 2017

J Alexanders- Redlands Grill is very consistent in both the kitchen and the bar. The food is always freshly prepared and the cocktails made to order. I appreciate the servers commitment, as well. They want to make us happy!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Good food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

This was my 2nd visit and it didn't measure up to the last time. Two people had prime rib and it was very fatty. The other two of us had NY Strip and it was tough with gristle. We were looking forward to going back and we were very disappointed. Not good for $100/couple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Very consistent. Love the queso. Love the chicken salad. Love the prime rib. What's not to love? We usually eat in the bar, too. One quibble: wish they had a better selection of draft beer. I think there are only two! :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Very disappointed with the service and for the price, the food was not that great. The air was on and I froze the entire meal even with a jacket on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 18, 2017

J. Alexander’s Redlands Grill once again provided us with quality food and service in a great environment. The burgers, salads and chicken fingers were fantastic and the drinks were great. Atmosphere was very comfortable and understated. I highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 18, 2017

I used to love J-Alexanders for the consistency. It still is consistent; and overall I find the food very good.

However, it has slipped a bit (I have been going there for over ten years). Especially when it is busy. For example, you will not have someone check on you, as much as you will likely need.

Especially if you need ketchup. Which they dole out as lavishly, as if it were a rare caviar. Like one little tin. Regardless of how many you ask for. And, should you ask your server in advance, for more than one little tin, they will smile (they've been through it before) and say "of course..." then, a different server will bring you your meal with one little tin; and if you ask THAT person, they will also say "of course... but you will never see them again. But over time, YOUR actual server will return and say; "Did they bring more than one ketchup...." Nope. They will then hustle back and get you the right quantity (2-3 tins for a Steak burger and fries is mine). I don't know why they would think THIS is the place to economize.

Finally, something I think they have improved lately is the mood of the hostess. It used to seem that the hostesses were hired for their level of sullen, disinterest in the guest. Lately, you will get a smile. I wonder why most upscale restaurants feel like the hostess does not have to be welcoming, as long as they are fashionably attired.

Still a good place and a good value.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.