Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

About J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

913 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
West Cypress

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 354-9006

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Mayolo Bautista

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (31)
Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Great for Lunch (25)
Casual (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Romantic (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Cozy (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fun (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
743 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

My favorite place. The wait staff is always friendly and kind. Food is awesome.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Use to be a great chain for consistent food. Those days are gone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 8, 2017

GREAT food!!! Lot of different options. Salads are the BEST in town.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2017

The prime rib has something to be desired

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2017

J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill maintains a consistent level of food quality and service. The menu choices offer something for every taste, and the kitchen is very happy to make adjustments as needed. The service is incredibly good . Try the ahi tuna and the shrimp appetizer-- fantastic!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Made a reservation and was promptly taken to our table. Our server, Matia, made wonderful recommendations and was very attentive to our needs. Highly recommend JAlexanders/Redlands Grill!

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience. The roasted artichokes were absolutely delicious. The drinks were very good, service was great. Highly recommend!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Celebrated my husband's birthday with family. Excellent dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 3, 2017

This is our go-to spot for reliably great food and service

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

I dropped $95 including tip, my wife got a filet steak that was under cooked and not as good as what you can get at Longhorn for half the price. My prime rib was ok, however the horseradish was not real just the cream sauce and neither meal came with a vegetable or a salad. Way overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Had reservations for 10 (in Halloween costumes) and sat on time, as anticipated. From the hostess, to the bar staff, all the way to the servers, we were all impressed with a true sense of appreciation for having us all there. The food came out without any issues and the everyone of us loved our appetizers and entrées. My fiancé and I live in S Tampa and find J Alexander’s to be the absolute go to place when wanting a nice pleasant dining atmosphere, a broad selection of food at a very modest price. And after bringing 8 more of our friends there, I know they too will be back again soon.
Thank you to Katelyn, our hostess, “hey you” at the bar (I think Melissa) and Tim, our server. Super job! You represented J A perfect.
Definitely one of our top choices to dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

The restaurant itself is nice and the food was pretty good, however the service that we received was horrible the waitress stopped by twice maybe and we were there for 2 hrs.. We had to hunt her down for refills. Not sure if I'll be back anytime soon for that reason.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Always as advertised...Good Food, Good Service, Good Atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Very nice restaurant. I had made the reservation on my Open Table app but was with my 85 year old mother who wanted to eat earlier. I called the restaurant and explained the situation and they said "no problem". We rescheduled the reservation. Not realizing the type of traffic we would encounter at 5:30 p.m. in Tampa, we arrived 30 minutes late and they seated up immediately. The host staff was lovely, as was the wait staff and the food was delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 24, 2017

We've never had anything but great food and service here. Once again, we were not disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2017

J. Alexander’s never fails to deliver. Excellent food. Excellent service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2017

As always, J's/Red's NEVER disappoints!!! The surprise of the evening was stone crabs on the menu. They were AWESOME!!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Another great date night at J Alexanders! Food is terrific, service is always top notch. Our server was Johnny and he did a fantastic job. We will be back again

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Love this place for over 20 years. Key lime pie made in house, best ever!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

While the waitress' service was outstanding, the food quality left a lot to be desired. The food quality has diminished ever since "Redlands" management took over. It is now overpriced and you do not get value for the bucks. I'm not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

The service was over the top, always checking on us to see if everything was going good or if we needed anything. I had the crab cakes and my husband had the Cajun rib eye. Both were extremely good and cooked just perfect. Finished with carrot cake that was very moist and perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Good food although I thought it was a bit pricey for food that you can find at every other chain restaurant. Wait staff were above average

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Food and service were great. We were there for a birthday, disappointed that even though our reservation stated as much it was not acknowledged by the staff in any way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Great service and food. Always look forward to dining at J Alexanders

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Good place for a business lunch - just enough ambience, but quiet enough that you can hear each other talk

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 5, 2017

great food and caring service . Had the Salmon and it was just right. The waitress was very attentive and the staff thanked us profusely when we left.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The Prime Rib was perfect. The cocktails were excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Service was great. We were never left needing anything. The food goes without saying.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Steak was a little tough, usually it is tastier. Noise level a bit high.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The Redlands Grille/ J. Alexanders group out of Nashville is one of the finest corporate dining experiences available. Always perfect, always there to please, and desperately consistent on execution. We routinely visit this brand whenever a special occasion merits.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food was awesome and staff was very friendly and professional

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Spicy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Our waitress Matia was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Delicious ribs and steaks. Extensive drink selection. Great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 28, 2017

As usual a flawless meal and service by the staff! Wish I could eat here everyday! Thanks for being one of the best places to dine in South Tampa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We go to J. Alexander's often and have always enjoyed their food, from lunch to dinner items on the menu. Usually I would give the food a 5 star rating except for last Saturday night. The food was very good, tasted great, perfect temperature and generous portions. However, my husband bit into a piece of heavy plastic that was in the Thai Chicken Salad. It was sharp and cut the inside of his mouth. There were two plastic pieces in the salad. The waiter was very apologetic as was the manager and didn't charge us for the salad. We will go there again, just might look a little closer at the salad before eating it - lol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Amazing. We love going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Would highly recommend this restaurant. Overall an amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2017

As always the J Alexander restaurant does not disappoint.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We are regulars at J. Alexander's. Artichoke was exceptional as usual, definite recommend. Had the ribeye special, not as tender as normal. Ahi salad was very good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Consistently good food and service. A great place for a lunch meeting because it has something for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.