Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

About J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

913 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
West Cypress

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 354-9006

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Mayolo Bautista

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (57)
Good for a Date (54)
Special Occasion (52)
See All
Great for Lunch (44)
Casual (43)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Romantic (34)
Worth the Drive (27)
Bar Seating (25)
Comfort Food (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Open Kitchen (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Fun (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Healthy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Hot Spot (9)
People Watching (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Family Style (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Seasonal (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
676 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Our waitress was amazing. Good always consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Paid $9.00 for house wine and it looked like a "shot" of wine versus a $9.00 glass of wine. That was a rip off.

Had on a black shirt and white lint covered my shirt. Asked for a lint remover before meal served, but none could be located.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We love j Alexander's in Houston so we were excited to find the Redlands. It met all of our expectations. We will be returning with friends. The filet was mouthwatering. BOY Mac and cheese is still my favorite. Topped it off with carrot cake!
Thank you

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Gina and Vince, awesome service! Good amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Yet another home run meal! Wine was amazing, filet was spot-on. I was actually too full to order my favorite carrot cake this time!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Was greeted politely. Got seated immediately upon arrival. Server came. Took order. We were never offered bread. Salad delivered with dressing already applied. Food was decent. Overall it was okay. Not the experience expected. Server was nice. Just did not receive the attention we would've wanted.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 18, 2017

This was our first time at J Alexanders, But it definitely won't be our last. The food was outstanding and the service was even better. Our meals were delicious. My husband had the horseradish fillet, and my son had the marinated ribeye. Both were delicious and cooked perfectly. I had the grilled artichoke and the fish tacos. If I'd known how large the fish tacos were I wouldn't of even ordered the grilled artichoke, but it was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 14, 2017

You can count on Redlands Grill- J Alexander's to deliver very good food in a really nice and comfortable setting for a price that is consistent with the quality and setting. Great steaks, seafood and salads, sandwiches, drinks and wine. Just try it. Reliable, delicious, convenient and reasonable.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great service! Food was good but not wow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Delicious food and great service. J. Alexander's - Redlands provides solid and dependable food and service. I enjoy it for meetings as I know that you will always have great service and they will help you manage your time if there are time constraints.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great selection and quality. Great for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Enjoyable evening with friends on the way to the theater

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The evening started off with me sitting in the lobby because when I checked in they said I was the only one there, that was not the case. After waiting about 20 mins another girl asked me for my name and said that my party had been seated -

I was so looking forward to the Artichokes because I have had them for lunch and they are great. I was truly disappointed, I guess the evening chef has not mastered how to make them....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Steak tacos were fantastic!! Although I have never had a bad meal here - that's why I eat here so frequently!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Best burgers & carrot cake in Tampa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Took the family here for Sunday brunch and as always, the food was great and service was impeccable. Servers are very attentive and work together as a team (we asked a different server for another drink and they brought it out immediately without blinking or saying that they would tell our server which is not the case at most establishments nowadays). Salads are fresh but I recommend asking for dressings on the side as they can be a little overdressed in my opinion (but I only like a small amount of dressing so that may just be my personal taste). Seafood was good quality and seasonal veggies were well seasoned and tasty. Also their craft draft beer list is a bit small but they have amazing wine and liquor selections. (Their price points are very reasonable for the quality of wine and the pours are generous:) The restaurant isn't too loud either so you can have a conversation without yelling across the table. Great place for brunch, business dinners or even a date night. Will definitely return!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Cozy, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food is always on point. Service is always great and quick.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We had the jumbo lump crab cakes ehich were delicious! We topped it off with carrot cake which was absolutely decadent. I will definitely be back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Went to dinner to celebrate friends recent nuptials. Great food and the service was over the top. Never overbearing but never an empty glass or need. Do yourself a favor and save room for the carrot cake. Enough to share for a party of four.......

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Best carrot cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Been coming to J. Alexanders for years. Since the transition to Redlands Grill we've noticed some changes but nothing quite prepared us for this. Reservations for 8pm on a Friday night and the place was a ghost-town. Our server did the bare minimum. He didn't deliver anything we ordered. Not even our drinks! Only checked on us once. And that was during the appetizer to get our dinner order. My steak had no flavor and neither did the mac & cheese. I'm very disappointed. Eating less than half of my meal went unnoticed. He said nothing about it at all. That's a HUGE pet peeve of mine. I paid for a $26 steak and a side only to leave most of it behind. And what, he expected a 20% tip!? Not a chance.

Needless to say, I won't be coming back here. It's pretty clear the standards went down. Food and service aren't worth the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The food and service was excellent. The only negative was the noise level, which was, and usually is, a bit high. I overlook that because of the quality of the food and the excellent service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We always have a great meal and a great experience at J. Alexander's. The food is very good and the price is very good for the quality.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My husband and I spur of the moment decided to try this restaurant out on Father's Day and they delivered. Food was better than my expectations and the waiter was very helpful. Will definitely go there again. The slow roasted ribeye was amazing and the chocolate cake with fudge ice cream topped it off.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My wife loves the Veggie burger and always orders it. I like everything I have tried.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Although everything was excellent we did feel it was a little pricy but for a once in a while dinner, it was worth it. We did receive excellent service from being welcomed as we entered to our waitress, Hayley. She knew answers every question we asked, made suggestions, was fun to deal with and her over all service was superb. We would request her again if at all possible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

As always, a wonderful meal and terrific, professional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Food is amazingly and consistently good. I'll definitely recommend J Alexander's/Redlands Grill.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Perfect date night! Service and food were outstanding! The food is always consistently prepared and the service is always fast and friendly. We're from Orlando and wish often that we still had J. Alexander's in town (the one location in Dr. Phillips closed years ago sadly).

Luckily, we now know this location is nearby the stadium and will be frequenting it more often pre and post shows!

Thanks for the perfect date night!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Good stand-by restaurant. Servers are well-trained and very attentive. They tend to work as a team and several staff members are always on top of your needs. Food was excellent but my "beef" (pun intended) is that J. Alexander's (don't know where the Redland's Grill came from) is a bit overpriced. It's OK for a business lunch, but not an overly romantic or "special" place. It's also extremely noisy, making it difficult to have a conversation among more than 4 people.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Fantastic food and carrot cake is always the best. The steak was wonderful and perfectly cooked.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

J Alexander ( now Redlands) has been able to maintain a level of consistency unlike many other chain restaurants. The varied menu contains something for everyone, and the kitchen is very accommodating to special requests. The small filet mignon is quite good, as is the ahi tuna. Also, the cocktails are very nice!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food is very consistent & very good. Most of the time our servers have been great but this last visit he was ok.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The noise level was just painful. Conversation was impossible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Absolutely wonderful meal and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Always a great choice for a business lunch. Always run into someone I know.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great dining...always a pleasant experience. It is one of our favorite restaurants. Always enjoy Mr. Jack's Crispy Chicken Fingers and the NY Strip Steak.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Enrique is an excellent waiter. The food was fantastic!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Once upon a time, really enjoyed this well run, excellent lunch/dinner destination with great food& portions - running into friends & biz associates... our recent visit after a long hiatus was a big disappointment. Although service very attentive, food much less than desirable. My baked potato so cold the butter didn't melt. Ribeye was large and cooked as requested but not served sizzling as it should be, lacking grilled flavor. Restaurant half empty for Friday night, given the meal, not surprised.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.