About J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa

913 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
West Cypress

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 354-9006

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Mayolo Bautista

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

Special Occasion (60)
Great for Lunch (48)
Good for Groups (43)
See All
Fit for Foodies (37)
Romantic (37)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
413 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always enjoy J's -- know food will be go ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always enjoy J's -- know food will be good and service excellent.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great....thought the musi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great....thought the music was way too loud.

Tags: Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service. Don't skip the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great food and service. Don't skip the grilled artichokes. Servers very helpful but formal and seems everything they say comes out of the corporate manual but as nice as can be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed our dinner very much. The res ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner very much. The restaurant was not crowded as it was a Sunday evening. Our waitress was excellent. she was very proactive and you did not have to ask her for refills or condiments or napkins.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

very good service the food is very goo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

very good service the food is very good the size of plates are nice size meals

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

this place was nice n gude yea this plac ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

this place was nice n gude yea

this place was nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Steaks were prepared/cooked exactly how ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Steaks were prepared/cooked exactly how requested. We were somewhat upset with our server. We were responsible for filling up our own wine glasses, had to ask another server for steak knives. We were celebrating my girlfriends birthday which waitress never asked about even after seeing gifts/birthday accessories. Overall great food but service could have been much better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great waitress! We loved her!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great waitress! We loved her!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

the prime rib dinner and salads were exc ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

the prime rib dinner and salads were excellent. However, the bar bill of $24.00 for 2 drinks was excessive. This was our 40th anniversary and were disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything about it was fantastic . I lo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything about it was fantastic . I love the place it is now my new favorite restaurant . I will be back in the very near future

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic BBQ chicken flatbread, fish ta ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fantastic BBQ chicken flatbread, fish tacos & cheeseburger!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't remember amount of bill; maybe $13 ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Can't remember amount of bill; maybe $130 with bottle of wine

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, had a great price.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great service, had a great price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional meal as always. Great food. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Exceptional meal as always. Great food. Highly attentive servers. Overall wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. I had 16oz prime r ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent as always. I had 16oz prime rib & my friend had the best fried shrimp in town. We made up our own surf & turf - it was FANTASTIC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience as usual! From the ho ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Awesome experience as usual! From the hostess to the waitress, great service and of course the food was AMAZING!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After reading the reviews, I was afraid ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

After reading the reviews, I was afraid it might be overhyped...

Gladly wrong, hands down the best place I have eaten at in Tampa. 5 stars all around, however the service was even better than 5. Our server was always there at the exact time we needed him, the other wait staff kept our table perfectly clean, drinks came out in what seemed like less than a minute. My grandmother and I started to laugh on how well the service was. That is not to take away anything from the food, it was wonderful. The service was exceptional. Look forward to visiting again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great! Had a steak come out ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was great! Had a steak come out overdone but it was immediately rectified ! They went above and beyond . Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great as always but felt rushed ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food was great as always but felt rushed to leave. The servers are too quick trying to remove my plate and almost aggressive at bringing the check.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We love J Alexander's. It is consistent; ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We love J Alexander's. It is consistent;y delicious and the service was impeccable! John makes a dynamite martini!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again another fantastic meal and gr ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Once again another fantastic meal and great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice decor and love the all both seating ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Nice decor and love the all both seating. The 6oz fillet caesar special was 'ok'. The fillet seemed to be cut into 4 pieces and places around the rather small salad portion (size of a side salad). The pieces were cooked perfectly, but the presentation was uninspired. The ribeye special was a tad over the requested medium-rare request and more than half the steak was a lot tougher than expected. The service was on point with one exception - a rather large one. Nobody checked on us after our meals came out until half way through. We probably would have sent the steak back, but didn't have the chance. :(

Overall, we felt that with so many similar restaurants in the area, Redlands didn't really stand out and failed to really lived up to the price point. Maybe it was an off night? But who has $35 to blow on a steak (that was the ribeye price) with crosses fingers hoping it's a good night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I love J Alexanders, but am so sad they ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I love J Alexanders, but am so sad they no longer have the champagne vinaigrette dressing!! :-(

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The menu choices are always great, the f ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The menu choices are always great, the food is always consistent and the service is always spot on. I would recommend this restaurant over and over again for everyday dining. It is definitely a staple for my husband and I.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food; steaks are he Best. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Always great food; steaks are he Best. Hostesses make good first impression; wait staff always friendly and helpful -- keep watch to be sure everything is good but do not "bug" guests with frequent stops. J. Alexander's has a nice menu; everything good -- appetizers, salads, burgers, steaks, shrimp -- and cocktails and wine. Good value, good food, great employees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't say it enough, I love this place ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I can't say it enough, I love this place!! I have never had a bad experience here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I utilize J Alexander's quite often for ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I utilize J Alexander's quite often for business lunches and I am never disappointed in the food nor service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently a very good meal.

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Consistently a very good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Ketchup under table, we were then moved ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Ketchup under table, we were then moved to a booth near the kitchen. A hostess actually ran the vacuum past our row of tables during dinner service! How low rent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

always reliable for a really good menu a ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

always reliable for a really good menu and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A disappointing outing. I ordered a side ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A disappointing outing. I ordered a side salad which was never delivered. The waiter apologized and said he would box one to go " on him". But did not deliver. Dinner companion ordered a 14 oz steak which was a special. Was later informed they were out of 14 oz steak but could order the 16 oz cut for an additional $4. He did. This substitution should have been offered at no additional cost. Garlic bread lacked any hint of garlic. Seemed more like buttered toast. Will not be in any hurry to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We've been to this chain years ago in Ft ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We've been to this chain years ago in Ft. Lauderdale. We used to go there for lunch all the time. We decided to try dinner. If you're looking for a good meal, you'll find all the standards here, but nothing really out of the ordinary. We tried some of their specials. Southwest Eggrolls and the plank grilled grouper. Both were okay, but nothing really special.

Nothing wrong, just nothing outstanding to report. The interior is nicely done, lots of panels and dark wood. Reminds me of dining in Wayne Manor.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The service, the food, EVERYTHING about ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The service, the food, EVERYTHING about this restaurant is #1!!! One word describes it all:

AWESOME! The lovely young ladies in "little black dresses" and pearls at the front desk, Nino and his crew on the grill, Andrew expediting, Heather and Kevin making the rounds - this is a well oiled machine and I love it!

Keep up the great work! Love the new flatbreads and wine specials on Monday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice food but mediocre service

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Nice food but mediocre service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great food, great service. Best salad b ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great food, great service. Best salad bar ever. Nice wine list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the fresh grouper and the Dooplega ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Loved the fresh grouper and the Doopleganger drink!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

This restaurant sets the gold standard. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This restaurant sets the gold standard. The good food and service are as consistent as can be expected out of any restaurant. The ambiance and abundance of booth seating also make this our "go-to" place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I got filet medallions, which we super tender and my boyfriend got the ribeye. We were both very pleased and so full we didn't have room for dessert. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Not impressed.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Just have eaten at better venues for a steak. Tried the Mac n cheese and potatoes. Not impressed. Steak had a lot of flavor, but a poor cut of meat. Service was amazing and was happy with my server. Enjoyed the ability to get a reservation before getting to restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ask for Matia as your server. You won't ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Ask for Matia as your server. You won't be disappointed. Food was amazing as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.