Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

About J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

913 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
West Cypress

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 354-9006

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Mayolo Bautista

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill – Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (38)
Casual (37)
See All
Good for Birthdays (32)
Open Kitchen (28)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Romantic (27)
Business Meals (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Great for Lunch (24)
Comfort Food (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Cozy (18)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Authentic (11)
Fun (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Family Style (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Healthy (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
577 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service. Seems a little on the pricey side, but the meals are always great and consistent.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Have experienced J. Alexander's in Cool Springs, Franklin TN. over several years. Visiting relatives in Tampa, they had never been to the local restuarant. Told them how good J. Alexander's was. The food and service was excellent as I had hoped it would be. Relatives were pleasantly surprised and said they would definitely be returning in the future. Great time had by all. Thanks for the consistent food and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

I have been eating at this restaurant for nearly two decades and have yet to be dissatisfied in the food or the fantastic service. This restaurant has a super good management staff and they do a great job hiring and training the staff in all aspects of food service from back of the house to front. I live in Valrico Florida which is at least a 35 to 40 minute drive to get there and it is almost always my first choice because it is consistent and I know what to expect when I go there, so I'm never afraid to take a guest to lunch or dinner and be embarrassed because of bad service or food. I just had dinner there for my 41'st wedding anniversary and it was one of the best meals I have ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

My birthday was not acknowledged even though the information was given at the time of online booking. Also the waiter was very attentive, but he stunk of cigarettes so it was quite off putting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Went at noon time. The food was fresh, nice presentation and lots of flavor. Enjoyed a seared tuna salad - the plate was icy cold! Nice touch!
Would certainly go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Good selection of menu options, service was good. A little loud at lunch. Good was very good

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner. We ordered salmon, ribeye special and fried shrimp. the presentation was nice and the food was good. The server was very attentive and refills on drinks came without asking. Overall it was a very nice atmosphere and the service was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

J Alexander in Jacksonville, FL is one of my favorite restaurants. So, when I found out there was one in Tampa, I thought I can't go wrong. Boy! was I wrong! My salmon that I get a lot was very dry, my friend's ribs were burned on one side, & the "Not Your Ordinary Mac & Cheese that is usually creamy was dry! We were so disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Have four in our party and each of us had well prepared food exactly as ordered. Excellent service, took care of us without interrupting our conversation. Great surprise!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Loved the grilled artichoke! Nice prime rib and baked potato (with the salt on the outside -yum!).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We had an unusually bad experience with the food on this visit. The prime rib was Fatty and did not taste like it usually does. The mashed potatoes was not hot and had to be sent back. Not a good night for the kitchen and our opinion ! The service was superb!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 14, 2017

J Alexander's is one of the most consistently good restaurants in town. The menu is varied, offering something for every taste and dietary requirement : the kitchen staff is flexible and tries to make everyone happy. If you are in the mood for a burger and fries, J Alex has one of the very best around!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very good food, good service, but just a tad noisy.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Took our 10 year old granddaughter for her birthday lunch and it was a great success for all of us.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Never disappoints, one of my favorite places to eat in Tampa-- good food, great service. I'm a regular.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I had the grilled chicken salad. I miss the delicious high quality greens that they used to use. Today was "iceberg from the bag" greens. I losing interest!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The food was excellent. I got prime rib, which was perfectly cooked. Hubby got tuna steak which he said was delicious and smashed potatoes (similar to loaded without cheese). The waitress was very attentive and friendly. We closed out restaurant and they were still saying we should try the carrot cake. I'm sure it would be yummy like everything else. Very classy Decor and overall nice place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Delightful evening hosted by J. Alexander's. Our waiter, Austin, was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My husband and I decided to go here on a whim. The portions are incredible for the price, but the service was just so so. The calamari is a must! The calamari acts as a vessel for the most flavorful, robust marinara sauce I've ever had. It was amazing. The steak was good, but nothing praiseworthy. We'll likely return just for the calamari.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Delicious drinks! Great artichoke, spinach queso and chopped Thai salad!!! 👍🏼👍🏼.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was extremely good. Food was very good but pricey. Menu has been the same for some time. Could use some updating. Still I would recommend highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had reservations at 8:30 and did not get seated until 9

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was AMAZING! I got the steak and fries and the steak was so juicy and topped off with the garlic butter was the perfect touch. Their fries are shoestring fries and they are so good! My boyfriend got the NY Strip and he loved it so much and the price was extremely reasonable for how good the food was

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Always reliable--good menu and service--friendly and accommodating staff--

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great place, just needs a little more space between tables. Awesome service and eats!! Great wine list, about triple key though.

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This place was amazing the food was sooo good especially the Fried shrimp and their coleslaw god i wish i live in Tampa i would eat here everyday. And the service was awesome.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Romantic, Casual, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food we ordered tasted very good. Maui steak and rattlesnake pasta both were very flavorful. However there was absolutely no nice presentation of this food. For the price we paid it seem very little effort went into the presentation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

For the first time, we were disappointed. We always get the prime rib because it's been the best in the city. Tonight it was tough and below previous standard....and after it was served no one came to the table to see if the meal was acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a very poor experience. We had two couples together. One couple ( prime rib ) received their meal in a normal amount of time. We were told that our food was delayed because my wife redrew a filet. My wife's filet arrived and I was still awaiting my prime rib. After awaiting about 1hr my prime rib arrived after our other guests got their food. The "manager" said he would do what he could do. Which was evident he didn't have authority or desire to do more. They gave us a free drink which ok. Not happy with food and service! I have heard from several people they were great. But the people that invited us was embarrassed. Everything was bad and handled poorly by management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was a special occasion for my daughter and a first time experience at the theatre and dinner. Our server was very attentive and conscience of the fact that we were on a schedule. The refreshment servers were always aware of refilling drinks and our food came to us quickly. Flavors were superb! J. Alexander never fails when it comes to quality and quantity of their entrees. Top notch wait staff! The only downside to this establishment is that it is always loud. Not sure if it's the acoustics, but it is difficult to carry on a normal conversation here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our Valentine dinner. What great experience from the generous pour drinks to the excellent food. Our server Josh was outstanding and even though it was a busy night with people waiting for a table we never felt rushed.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My family and I loved our experience at J Alexander's...took my wife and daughter there for Valentine's Day. Food and service were both outstanding...the desserts were wonderful too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Was very good. Surprised salad did not come with dinner and had to pay extra for it.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent service and excellent food. Only complaint really was the fact that the music was turned on way too loud after a certain time and I could not hear my date from across the small table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Overall nice restaurant but a little too expensive for the average consumer..
awesome service though!

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had an amazing experience. We definitely recommend going there and we will definitely be going back. We had an awesome server who was very friendly got to the point he was fast. Definitely love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We go here for any family birthday. It was my 10 year olds and she loved everything she ate. The appetizers are excellent. The artichokes, deviled eggs and the calamari are our favorites. Great steaks, salads, fish and hamburgers as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My husband's favorite restaurant in Tampa. Highly recommend the salmon with orzo and the Maui steak. But you can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our server was awesome, great atmosphere although a bit loud on this particular evening. Definitely not a kid friendly restaurant although many families had children dining with them my kid was looking for the crayons and coloring page which they do not offer. There's not a children's menu listed. I ordered the grouper which was a bit pricey and very over seasoned with spices that it took away the flavor of the fish but since I was starving I ate it and didn't complain. My daughter had the appetizer of chicken tenders and fries and the chicken was heavily seasoned with black pepper so she only ate the fries.
Not on the top of my list for another visit.
However, the orzo and wild rice was the best thing!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.