About Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland

417 Prospect Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

For patrons who value a premium culinary experience, RED The Steakhouse offers the best in high quality food by using the finest and freshest ingredients and creating an undeniably superb culinary experience. By transcending our guest’s expectations for superior service and food, Red The Steakhouse creates a consistent, exceptional and non-traditional dining experience. Enjoy the Wine Spectator award winning wine list as well as the Captain's List of specially featured wines. Reservations strongly recommended. Please be advised that reservations booked through OpenTable may be for the lounge area or the main dining room, if you have a preference please note that in your reservation or call us at (216) 664-0941. We will do our best to accommodate your request.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 6:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
East 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 664-0941

Website:
http://www.redthesteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Bennett

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Red, The Steakhouse offers unique and versatile spaces able to accommodate various group sizes and setups. From formal business meetings to cocktail parties and rehearsal dinners, the chic, atypical steakhouse décor and savory fare provide the ultimate venue for private events.

Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Notable Wine List
Cleveland
Steakhouse
Cleveland
1 More
Most Booked
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Downtown Cleveland ›

special occasion (116)
notable wine list (57)
fit for foodies (53)
See All
romantic (53)
hot spot (44)
good for groups (36)
vibrant bar scene (21)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for lunch (6)
scenic view (6)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All In For the Perfect Dinner Before Bas ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

All In For the Perfect Dinner Before Basketball! Courteous, attentive and knowledgeable staff, great wine selection and perfectly prepared meals. Nothing more you can ask. Great every time!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on May 16, 2016

We really loved the food, service & atmosphere. It was our 35th anniversary celebration and our servers did everything to make sure we had a wonderful time. Maybe it's the wine talking, but this is the best restaurant experience we have had in a long time. We highly recommend Red Steakhouse!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. One of the top s ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great food and service. One of the top steak dinners I've had, a bit behind Gordon Ramsey's steak house in Vegas but best I've had in this area. Highly recommended for a nice night out.

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

food was great, but had better service a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

food was great, but had better service at many places.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak you will ever eat

Dined on May 14, 2016

If you want to enjoy time with your wife and have a great meal and service stop at Reds and take your time you will not regret it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Red, The Steakhouse is part of the culin ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Red, The Steakhouse is part of the culinary revolution that is putting Cleveland back on the map. I hold very high standards for a fine dining experience and I do not have a criticism. Our server was attentive but not overbearing, a fine line to tread. The cocktail and wine list are well rounded. We ordered Tuna and a filet, which were both cooked exactly to our specifications. Each cut of meat was of great quality. The vegetables were perfectly executed, crisp and not over-dressed. We will revisit Red soon and try the donuts that come highly recommended.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Went for a last minute birthday dinner f ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Went for a last minute birthday dinner for my husband, waiter was very knowledgeable and pleasant , food was good, a bit pricey though.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5

Good steaks service great but very noisy ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Good steaks service great but very noisy you can get a good meal but can't talk to you table mates.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food great service! I had the veal ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food great service! I had the veal & my husband had rib eye. Both we prepared perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5

An amazing dinner from start to finish! ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

An amazing dinner from start to finish! The donuts were incredible.

food3
ambience4
service5

The service was great but the food was j ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was great but the food was just average, especially for the price. The bread was boring and chewy although the dipping oil was tasty. The sides were lackluster - Mac and cheese had very little flavor and was awkward to serve because of the length of the pasta. The French fries at McDonald's are better than the bowl of room temperature pieces of mixed crispy and soggy fries I experienced. The steak was good, but not fantastic as it should be for prime at this level of restaurant. The signature doughnuts were fun but a bit tough. The service was prompt, attentive and professional. There are much better high end steakhouses out there.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good & Service great. A bit pricey.

Dined on April 22, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner immensely. Service was perfect and everything we ate was delicious. Tuna tartare, lamb chops, New York strip. All very good. Dessert excellent. Prices were expensive so we won't come often but we did like Red.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Group of 6, everyone satisfied

Dined on April 16, 2016

Went with a group of 6 to celebrate a special birthday. Appetizers were amazing: lemon shrimp, calamari, and crab cakes. Three different steaks were had by the group, and all were perfectly done, flavorful, and tender. Side dishes were very good. To a person, everyone stated its was one of the best meals they ever had. I felt the food was better than XO, but the ambiance was not as good as Morton's. All tables were full and it was quite loud in the dining room. Overall, I would definitely go back and also recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4

Food is amazing. Service was a bit slowe ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Food is amazing. Service was a bit slower than usual. We were there for a very long time and our group chatted for about 30min even before ordering a bottle of wine but the server took forever to ask for our order, collect our dishes, bring the check, etc. I'm bot sure if our delay in ordering drinks threw off the timing for the duration of the meal or what. Other than that everything was amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Steak in Cleveland

Dined on April 8, 2016

I have been to every steakhouse in NE Ohio. Red is the best. HANDS DOWN. The prime dry aged Ribeye is a phenomenal cut. This is a great place for business dinners, birthdays, special occasions, etc. Wine & drinks list is top notch as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on April 8, 2016

We arrived 10 minutes early for our reservation and were seated immediately. The server promptly greeted us. He was well versed with the menu and offered several suggestions. When we ordered several sides he warned us that we may be over ordering . He was correct. He was attentive to our needs promptly filing our wine glasses, water glasses and bread basket. The timing of the various courses was impeccable. We were never rushed nor did we have to wait. The food was hot and wonderfully flavored. The temperature of the steaks was perfect. The sides, especially the Mac and cheese and green beans, were outstanding. The leftovers were packaged nicely. Finally the donuts were a great finish. Outstanding!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Greatest Steak I've Ever Had!

Dined on April 7, 2016

I was nervous when I first looked at the daunting wine list (book!) and the prices on the menu. But this place really delivers food and service that fits the dollar signs. The service was outstanding and the waiter offered fantastic recommendations for pairing steaks and sauces. He even gave us a Creme Brulee on the house to celebrate my husband's birthday. The steaks were cooked and seasoned masterfully and the quality of meat was out of this world. My husband ordered the Parmesan Tater Tots and they were spicy and sophisticated! 5 Stars!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Dinner

Dined on April 4, 2016

Our experience was incredible, the service was great, the drinks great, food incredible! Everything we could of hoped for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Enjoyable Evening

Dined on April 2, 2016

As usual, the food was execellent and cooked to perfection. The wide selection of sides was a hard decision. The overall dining experience was wonderful as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Have always had an all around awesome di ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Have always had an all around awesome dining experience at RED. This time however, we were seated in the lounge and told we would have two servers. This just did not work as the timing and service were off throughout out the entire meal. Both there one after the other or nobody at all for an extended period of time. Not a good idea! Food good as always...The lounge is great...Just weak on service this time guys.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Staff

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

The kind of place that remembers you and makes excellent wine suggestions based upon your last visit. Nice!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always amazing. Our server Adam ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Food is always amazing. Our server Adam was hilarious in a very professional manner. Some of your other servers are good but stuffy. We had such a great time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very good! I recommend getting the whipp ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Very good! I recommend getting the whipped mashed potatoes

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Would go again

Dined on March 26, 2016

Lovely meal. Great service. They even brought a complimentary dessert for my sister's birthday that was so elegant. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Melt in your mouth steak

Dined on March 26, 2016

My husband and I shared the 24oz porterhouse, it was the best steak I've ever had and Cauliflower special side. Yummy yummy yummy. Scott our waiter was also fabulous. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent fillets. Good choice of wines ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Excellent fillets. Good choice of wines by the glass.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoyable

Dined on March 16, 2016

We always walk away from Red satisfied, this visit was no different.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must dine here!

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Excellent overall experience. Mark R. was our server and he went above and beyond to make it a great evening. Food delicious, atmosphere was vibrant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant pick for 16 year Anniversary!!!!!!

Dined on March 13, 2016

My husband and I picked to celebrate our 16th wedding anniversary at RED and it was the best place we have chosen to dine out at for this very special occasion. The atmosphere was great, low lighting with great table settings. The food was delicious and large proportions. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive!! Loved the wet warm napkin at the end of our meal to clean our hands.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place!

Dined on March 13, 2016

My brother,his girlfriend and I took my boyfriend there for his birthday and it was very nice ,delicious food and excellent service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Continually outstanding

Dined on March 13, 2016

From the attentive service right through to dessert, Red's is the best Steakhouse in Downtown Cleveland.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

I took my sons for a birthday celebratio ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

I took my sons for a birthday celebration. 2 of our steaks were perfection. The 3rd steak (filet) was over cooked. Of course the server , who was great, made sure that my son got a new steak. Our sides, the green beans, baked potato, and mac n cheese were very good. Our server, as I mentioned was great. We did not want for anything. She foresaw our needs and was very informative about the different types of steak. Our complimentary dessert (fried donuts) with 3 different dipping sauces was out of this world good! We will definitely be back.

food4
ambience3
service2

Food was good, waitress was disintereste ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was good, waitress was disinterested

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Party in March

Dined on March 11, 2016

The holidays flew by and our office didn't get a chance to go out for Christmas until March. The consensus was Red for the second year in a row! What a surprise to have the same waiter, Adam, and he was in a picture again! The lobster, steak and Caprese Salad, shrimp cocktail and donuts were all fabulous. I'm sure we'll be back !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good! No one in our gr ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

The food was very good! No one in our group had any problems with their meals. Prices are a little steep, but worth it

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Every Time!

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

From getting "my table" to the wonderful wine list, to a perfect steak, to a knowledgeable and attentive staff, there's no place I've ever been that provides a more consistent and enjoyable pre-game dining experience. Always the best way to start off a great night!

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Pre game meal and celebration

Dined on March 4, 2016

Our party of four enjoyed a wonderful meal. We ordered two appetizers that were a tasty start to the meal and gone within minutes (because they were so good and we were hungry). Everyone ordered steak (go figure) and were all quite happy with how they were cooked and seasoned....once we all got the correct cut (there was a mix up with one order). Sides are "family style" which we loved...get to try more things. The waiter was very nice, but maybe new or maybe had too many tables, because there was not only the mix up with the one meal, but with some drink orders. In true professional and high quality fashion, we were comped for two drinks and served a very tasty complimentary dessert. While very pricey, we would go back.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Red gets it done

Dined on March 4, 2016

Excellent food and let's face it, that's the most important thing. Service was good but not necessarily memorable. Toward the upper end of the scale on price comparable to Morton's or Hyde Park.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

favorite fining dining!

Dined on February 28, 2016

We are returning customers because the food is ridiculously good! Our server was Adam P. And was very attentive and offered great suggestions. The steaks were prepared to perfection and the donut holes for dessert were unanimously enjoyed...we will be sure to make this a stop again when we return to Cleveland😋

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My boyfriend and I went to Red for the C ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to Red for the Cleveland restaurant week and it was a wonderful experience. Delicious food and great staff. We will definitely be going back soon.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.