About Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland

417 Prospect Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

For patrons who value a premium culinary experience, RED The Steakhouse offers the best in high quality food by using the finest and freshest ingredients and creating an undeniably superb culinary experience. By transcending our guest’s expectations for superior service and food, Red The Steakhouse creates a consistent, exceptional and non-traditional dining experience. Enjoy the Wine Spectator award winning wine list as well as the Captain's List of specially featured wines. Reservations strongly recommended. Please be advised that reservations booked through OpenTable may be for the lounge area or the main dining room, if you have a preference please note that in your reservation or call us at (216) 664-0941. We will do our best to accommodate your request.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 6:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
East 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 664-0941

Website:
http://www.redthesteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Bennett

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Red, The Steakhouse offers unique and versatile spaces able to accommodate various group sizes and setups. From formal business meetings to cocktail parties and rehearsal dinners, the chic, atypical steakhouse décor and savory fare provide the ultimate venue for private events.

Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Food
Cleveland
Steakhouse
Cleveland
1 More
Most Booked
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Downtown Cleveland ›

special occasion (82)
fit for foodies (42)
notable wine list (37)
See All
romantic (34)
hot spot (33)
good for groups (21)
vibrant bar scene (17)
neighborhood gem (14)
great for lunch (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (4)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
588 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good place, ok food, too expensive for w ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good place, ok food, too expensive for what you get. Service does not help the cause either, slow and not energetic. I have no plans to try this place again, not impressed, especially for the cost.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent place to host a business lunch ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent place to host a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been here before but this time the servi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Been here before but this time the service was sub par for a restaurant of this caliber. Soup, and appetizers were all brought out at the same time, when we brought this up to server she replied with "well you ordered it all at the same time". Bread was brought out one-minute prior so we could not enjoy it. Once we finished with these items the dirty dishes were left on our table for over 30 minutes making our table very cluttered and unpleasant. Food was great but server belongs in a breakfast diner environment not a fine dining place like this.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

LOVE RED EVERY TIME. BEST STEAK ANYWHER ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

LOVE RED EVERY TIME. BEST STEAK ANYWHERE!!! Always accommodate requests of seating and this is one of Cleveland's true gems!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic. However I got the s ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was fantastic. However I got the special of a filet and crab legs and I didn't know the price and it was too much for the meal.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We love steakhouses and went following a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We love steakhouses and went following a family wedding while downtown. I ordered a rare steak and it came out well done. While I waited for them to make me a new steak they brought me a glass of wine. Unfortunately, the rest of my party was finished with their entrees by the time I got mine so I felt I was eating alone. The service recovery was quick but it still put a damper on my dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Best Food in Cleveland. Best service in ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Best Food in Cleveland. Best service in Cleveland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service pleasant but a bit slow.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Service pleasant but a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Me and my wife dined there for our 15 yr ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Me and my wife dined there for our 15 yr anniversary . The ambiance was nice and the 1st course crab cake was delicious ,however we both order filet mignon and they both were not cooked correctly . I ordered mine med rare and it came out extra rare and she order med well and it came out charred and dry. The seasoning was good but to supposedly be known for high end steaks the cooking was subpar. The potatoes gratin were ok and the asparagus was good . Our server was professional and nice and very apologetic but we stressed that we were happy with the service and she did not cook the steak.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

VERY expensive and a bit loud however th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

VERY expensive and a bit loud however the service and the food were some of the best I have experienced in Cleveland. The expense vs. the ambiance don't seem like a match to me however the food and service make up for it.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The best place in town for a downtown pr ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The best place in town for a downtown pre-game dinner. Top flight dining options whether it's steak, lamb or tuna. Fantastic wine selection. Great knowledgeable staff. Prompt service. What's not to like? Thanks to all at Red for a great basketball season

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always good here. I enjoyed ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food is always good here. I enjoyed everything order and my guest enjoyed the same.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter was amazing!!!! Food was delisci ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Waiter was amazing!!!! Food was deliscious!! We got a surprise at the end when the waiter brought a desert to recognize our 10 year anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food amazing oysters and the baked ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Good food amazing oysters and the baked cauliflower was something special!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Best

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Business meal with executives that I've dealt with for years. Everything was on point. Easily one of the top five dinners I've ever had on the road. Waiter recommendations were spot on, portions are ample to say least, dessert a must have. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Finals Pre-game Experience

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

No better place to catch a top flight meal before a huge sporting event. Perfect steak and fabulous wine selection...AGAIN! The servers are consistently friendly and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Steakhouse

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Reds this past weekend. We arrived a few minutes early and were promptly seated. Our table for two was right under an air conditioning vent that was blowing on us. The table next to us opened up and we were moved without any hassle. We started with a glass of wine ($12) and Calamari ($15). The calamari was very good and a large portion. We each had a Caesar salad ($11). The salad was peppery and no visible dressing. I liked it but my husband was not impressed. Then on to steaks! I had the CAB Prime Ribeye ($50) with horseradish sauce ($3). My husband had the 8oz Prime Filet ($43). Both steaks were prepared perfectly. We shared the Truffle mashed potatoes ($14) and the sautéed mushrooms ($14). The sides were large. The steaks were good but on the pricey side and I'm not sure I would have known the difference in the three choices offered. ( CAB, USDA Prime, or CAB Prime) there is about a $10-15 difference from the lower end to the higher end. They brought us complimentary warm donuts with dipping sauce for our anniversary. That was a nice touch. The bill came to $250 with tip. I did have a second glass of wine. So a bit on the pricey side. The valet initially cost $18 but gave back $10 when you showed your receipt. So all in all it was a good experience and we were celebrating 28 years and that alone is something worth celebrating. It was pretty loud in the dining room but when a large party of 10 left, it was better. The lounge had the same menu with high top tables. I don't think we would go back but it was fun to try once. I added the $ since you cannot find any info online.

Tags: special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food and service was top notch!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food and service was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Every Time

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I love this place. It's conveniently located and the food/service are consistently great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love RED

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great steaks, good menu, excellent preparation of cocktails . Wine list was thoughtful and well priced!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Scott did a great job taking care of our table Thursday evening. Keep up the great work Scott and the steaks were over the top.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I got the dry rub ribeye special. Aged 4 ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I got the dry rub ribeye special. Aged 40 days. And medium rare. This may be one on the best steals that I ever had. And the best steak that I had in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

David H is the best server I have ever h ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

David H is the best server I have ever had in many years of traveling for business. Ability to suggest meals, preparations, and complimentary adult beverages was superb. Just the best experience we've had as a group, period

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best steaks in the world (no, seriously!)

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I have been to Red many times. I have never once had bad service or bad food. It's sometimes shocking to me how good the bone-in Ribeye is at Red! What do they do this this steak back there!? Get some crab too. Already shelled and is the perfect bite with some steak and butter. I do miss that they took risotto off the menu. Their risotto was to die for! The shareable sides are great though. Best shrimp cocktail anywhere. Last but not least, a nicely poured Jack & Coke makes it all the more enjoyable! My Wife and I come up from Canton and stay over just to eat here every few months. One last bit of advice: Don't forget your wallet. They aren't giving anything away at Red, but they don't have to!

Can't wait to go back. Thanks Red!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Out of town guest

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband's son was coming in from out of town and they were looking for a special place to have dinner. When Red came to mind, it was the perfect choice. HIs son said it is the BEST steak he has ever had and he's consumed many!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time at Red

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

First time at Red and my wife and I loved it. She got lobster and I got a ribeye and both were delicious. The sides are family style and we shared broccoli and potatoes au gratin. Both were great and complimented our main dishes very well.

The service was great and our server was more than accommodating. Red had a great wine selection and the ambiance was perfect for a romantic setting.

Definitely plan on going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at Red an ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our first time dining at Red and it was great! The food was excellent and our server was both attentive and quite knowledgeable. My only complaint was that the tables were a bit crowded and we were seated near the door. I would highly recommend Red, particularly for a special occasional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Most likely the best steak in Cleveland.

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Most likely the best steak in Cleveland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The second time in a row we've dined at ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The second time in a row we've dined at Red and the food took forever to arrive. Delish - but beyond slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Everything is always excellent...food an ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Everything is always excellent...food and service. Only issue is the noise level. Much too high for group conversation. We couldn't hear the people sitting across from us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome Experience!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Best steak I have ever had! Wonderful 15th Anniversary experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I would say it was the best steak I have ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I would say it was the best steak I have ever had. Everything we ordered was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Meal Ever

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Went here before kicking off my brother's bachelor party. Ordered the NY strip, a couple of sides, and a 15 year Red Breast Irish whiskey. By far the best food and service I've ever experienced.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

All In For the Perfect Dinner Before Bas ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

All In For the Perfect Dinner Before Basketball!

Courteous, attentive and knowledgeable staff, great wine selection and perfectly prepared meals. Nothing more you can ask. Great every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

We really loved the food, service & atmosphere. It was our 35th anniversary celebration and our servers did everything to make sure we had a wonderful time. Maybe it's the wine talking, but this is the best restaurant experience we have had in a long time. We highly recommend Red Steakhouse!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. One of the top s ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Great food and service. One of the top steak dinners I've had, a bit behind Gordon Ramsey's steak house in Vegas but best I've had in this area. Highly recommended for a nice night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food was great, but had better service a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

food was great, but had better service at many places.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The food is great!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Best steak you will ever eat

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

If you want to enjoy time with your wife and have a great meal and service stop at Reds and take your time you will not regret it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red, The Steakhouse is part of the culin ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Red, The Steakhouse is part of the culinary revolution that is putting Cleveland back on the map. I hold very high standards for a fine dining experience and I do not have a criticism. Our server was attentive but not overbearing, a fine line to tread. The cocktail and wine list are well rounded. We ordered Tuna and a filet, which were both cooked exactly to our specifications. Each cut of meat was of great quality. The vegetables were perfectly executed, crisp and not over-dressed. We will revisit Red soon and try the donuts that come highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.