About Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland

417 Prospect Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

For patrons who value a premium culinary experience, RED The Steakhouse offers the best in high quality food by using the finest and freshest ingredients and creating an undeniably superb culinary experience. By transcending our guest’s expectations for superior service and food, Red The Steakhouse creates a consistent, exceptional and non-traditional dining experience. Enjoy the Wine Spectator award winning wine list as well as the Captain's List of specially featured wines. Reservations strongly recommended. Please be advised that reservations booked through OpenTable may be for the lounge area or the main dining room, if you have a preference please note that in your reservation or call us at (216) 664-0941. We will do our best to accommodate your request.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 6:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
East 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 664-0941

Website:
http://www.redthesteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Bennett

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Red, The Steakhouse offers unique and versatile spaces able to accommodate various group sizes and setups. From formal business meetings to cocktail parties and rehearsal dinners, the chic, atypical steakhouse décor and savory fare provide the ultimate venue for private events.

Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Steakhouse
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Downtown Cleveland ›

Special Occasion (87)
Notable Wine List (47)
Romantic (41)
See All
Hot Spot (40)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Good for Groups (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
615 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Three of us were looking for a mid-week, ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Three of us were looking for a mid-week, late night restaurant after an Indians game. Having dined at Red many times, we were pleased that Red offered a late night reservation on a busy night that had Cleveland's baseball and football teams playing along with Paul McCartney at the Q. We arrived at the restaurant which was certainly winding down for the evening, but still had a few diners ending their meals, and a well patronized bar. Our server, James S., couldn't have been more accommodating. He offered us several specials and pleasant Cleveland sport team conversation. We settled on salads, sides, and a ribeye and filet for our meals. My wife and I requested we split one ribeye, which our server and the kitchen gladly served, slicing the ribeye to share. The steaks were prepared superbly. The wine selections were plentiful and generously poured. This Cleveland gem is a definite repeat anytime of the day, but I have to say, a slower pace and eventful late night, made this restaurant dining experience very special.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was a awesome

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was a awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was amazing and truly made o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our service was amazing and truly made our night. The potatoes were being remade when we arrived so we chose the green beans (which we were more than ok with!). However, our server brought us out a large sample to try at the end of our meal once it was all remade to make sure we had a chance to try our first choice. So appreciated. It was our 11th Anniversary and we were brought out a complementary desert that said Happy Anniversary in chocolate on the sauce plate. Every touch was perfect and so very thoughtful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

When we arrived 10 min earlier than our ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

When we arrived 10 min earlier than our reservation, they were eager to sit us which was slightly unexpected, but very much appreciated. Unfortunately, we were sat in a corner, upon which the single spot light "was having difficulties." So our night varied from a well lit experience to a dimly one, neither which were bad per se, i would just prefer it to be consistent. We got ny strip steaks with one side of green beans which were both quite good. Although I'm not sure that the price associated with the food was appropriate given our experience at Red.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great preparation of steaks. Excellent a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great preparation of steaks. Excellent apps, sides and service. Had great experience both times been to CLE location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have heard about Red for a while. I a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I have heard about Red for a while. I am glad that we could get a table last minute. Best steakhouse in N E Ohio Has Mortons and Hyde Park beat hand over fist

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Cleveland for the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My wife and I went to Cleveland for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. Booked the Red on recommendation of my sister who lives in Cleveland. Great place, in the up and coming Gateway district just a few short blocks from our hotel and the very cool 4th street area.

Rooftop bar is a nice feature particularly while waiting for your table though it doesn't have the character of the restaurant.

While we had booked a table, we ultimately decided to eat at the bar; it looked lively and we often prefer eating at the bar.

Everything we ate was fantastic and our martinis were just the right size (note to bars in nice restaurants everywhere....It doesn't matter if you buy bigger martini glasses, or what you charge, if you only fill the glass it two-thirds of the way up, we're going to feel like your short-changing us.

Nice size shrimp in the shrimp cocktail and we split the Certified Angus Beef Prime NY Strip Medium Rare. Absolutely perfectly cooked and the seasoning was unique and perfectly suited to the steak. The steak was so tender, it was if we had the best of both worlds; the flavor of a strip and the tenderness of a filet mignon.

Service was first class and always there before we needed anything. Had the cheesecake for dessert, also delicious.

1st Class restaurant in a great location.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food, great waiter. A little p ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very good food, great waiter. A little pricey. Wouldn't go all the time because of the price but nice for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our dining experience at Red is always a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our dining experience at Red is always awesome. The food, service and staff make the experience memorable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was highly recommended t ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This restaurant was highly recommended to me and it didn't disappoint. Great food great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Red's to celebrate our 20th wedd ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Went to Red's to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Perfect dinner from the food to the server to the staff in general. A fabulous experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An incredible dinner experience and one ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

An incredible dinner experience and one that is certainly worth repeating. The meal was excellent and we both loved the dessert of the doughnut holes!! Waitress was exceptional - Judith.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time at red...the food w ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was my first time at red...the food was exceptionally good,their bar is right inside the dining area, making it a very noisy place to enjoy a quiet date or even talk for that matter.service and ambience was good

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered the 22 ounce bone in ribeye st ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I ordered the 22 ounce bone in ribeye steak. I had it cooked medium rare and this was probably the best steak I've ever had. Great steak restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Red steakhouse disappoint we were treate ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Red steakhouse disappoint we were treated well and taken care of by Alyson and she was knowledgeable about the menu as well as the food.We started out with a beet and a calamari appetizer which was very good. The main course we both enjoyed was there CAB prime strip which was cooked perfect and seasoned just right. They a good selection of sides to accompany the steak and we opted for the lobster which was delicious, for dessert the us house made donuts with 3 dipping sauces they were very good and on the house we would highly recommend the food and service there as top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steak I've had in a long time, cook ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Best steak I've had in a long time, cooked perfectly.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous food. Great steaks, salads and ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Fabulous food. Great steaks, salads and sides. Service was outstanding. Waiter Mark was tremendous---exactly right level of attentiveness. Proactive in recognizing our needs. Balance of supporting staff was great in keeping water glasses full and food delivered hot. Slightly loud when we arrived--it was a Monday evening and room was full with larger business groups. But we could talk just fine. Great overall.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Easily one of the very best steakhouses ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Easily one of the very best steakhouses in America!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was absolutely fabulous . ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The restaurant was absolutely fabulous . Some of the best food in Cleveland. Despite being very crowded we did not have any wait at all for our table and were seated immediately. Our server was very knowledgeable and also made some great suggestions including wine. An outstanding evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food, great restaurant!!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing food, great restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable dinner, pricey but one of ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Very enjoyable dinner, pricey but one of the best meals my wife and I ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent restaurant. Food was superb ...

 
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Food was superb.

A little noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Took a client to Red (Downtown Cleveland ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Took a client to Red (Downtown Cleveland location) for a business lunch meeting. Was very disappointed by the amount of flies and gnats flying around the entire lunch. We mentioned this to our server, but she said that they needed to keep the front doors open which was allowing all of the flies to come in. Very unappetizing.

Ordered 3 salads with proteins = $75. Very expensive lunch to have to be distracted by flies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

It was my birthday gift from my wife. L ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

It was my birthday gift from my wife. Loved the dinner! Loved the service! The Certified Angus Beef dry aged ribeye was to die for! The Grgich Hills Estate Cabernet ($120) was decanted for us at the beginning of our dining experience to be ready for the main course and was wonderful. Dinner consisted of:

"Sushi grade" tuna appetizer with two glasses of Ruinart Rose Champagne ($20 per glass)

Two House Salads with two glasses of a sparkling wine from the Loire valley ($12 per glass)

My wife had Salmon with a Snow Peas as a side

I had the aforementioned ribeye ($60)

Everything was absolutely wonderful and horribly expensive. The alcohol bill was over $200 (not including tip) and the food bill was in the $140-$160 range (exclusive of tip).

Will we go back...maybe, but only because of the cost or if it's another special occasion

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Great food - never inexpensive but the b ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food - never inexpensive but the best steak I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good place, ok food, too expensive for w ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good place, ok food, too expensive for what you get. Service does not help the cause either, slow and not energetic. I have no plans to try this place again, not impressed, especially for the cost.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent place to host a business lunch ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent place to host a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been here before but this time the servi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Been here before but this time the service was sub par for a restaurant of this caliber. Soup, and appetizers were all brought out at the same time, when we brought this up to server she replied with "well you ordered it all at the same time". Bread was brought out one-minute prior so we could not enjoy it. Once we finished with these items the dirty dishes were left on our table for over 30 minutes making our table very cluttered and unpleasant. Food was great but server belongs in a breakfast diner environment not a fine dining place like this.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

LOVE RED EVERY TIME. BEST STEAK ANYWHER ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

LOVE RED EVERY TIME. BEST STEAK ANYWHERE!!! Always accommodate requests of seating and this is one of Cleveland's true gems!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic. However I got the s ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was fantastic. However I got the special of a filet and crab legs and I didn't know the price and it was too much for the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We love steakhouses and went following a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We love steakhouses and went following a family wedding while downtown. I ordered a rare steak and it came out well done. While I waited for them to make me a new steak they brought me a glass of wine. Unfortunately, the rest of my party was finished with their entrees by the time I got mine so I felt I was eating alone. The service recovery was quick but it still put a damper on my dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Best Food in Cleveland. Best service in ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Best Food in Cleveland. Best service in Cleveland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service pleasant but a bit slow.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Service pleasant but a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Me and my wife dined there for our 15 yr ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Me and my wife dined there for our 15 yr anniversary . The ambiance was nice and the 1st course crab cake was delicious ,however we both order filet mignon and they both were not cooked correctly . I ordered mine med rare and it came out extra rare and she order med well and it came out charred and dry. The seasoning was good but to supposedly be known for high end steaks the cooking was subpar. The potatoes gratin were ok and the asparagus was good . Our server was professional and nice and very apologetic but we stressed that we were happy with the service and she did not cook the steak.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

VERY expensive and a bit loud however th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

VERY expensive and a bit loud however the service and the food were some of the best I have experienced in Cleveland. The expense vs. the ambiance don't seem like a match to me however the food and service make up for it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The best place in town for a downtown pr ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The best place in town for a downtown pre-game dinner. Top flight dining options whether it's steak, lamb or tuna. Fantastic wine selection. Great knowledgeable staff. Prompt service. What's not to like? Thanks to all at Red for a great basketball season

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always good here. I enjoyed ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food is always good here. I enjoyed everything order and my guest enjoyed the same.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter was amazing!!!! Food was delisci ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Waiter was amazing!!!! Food was deliscious!! We got a surprise at the end when the waiter brought a desert to recognize our 10 year anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food amazing oysters and the baked ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Good food amazing oysters and the baked cauliflower was something special!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Best

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Business meal with executives that I've dealt with for years. Everything was on point. Easily one of the top five dinners I've ever had on the road. Waiter recommendations were spot on, portions are ample to say least, dessert a must have. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.