About Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland

417 Prospect Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

For patrons who value a premium culinary experience, RED The Steakhouse offers the best in high quality food by using the finest and freshest ingredients and creating an undeniably superb culinary experience. By transcending our guest’s expectations for superior service and food, Red The Steakhouse creates a consistent, exceptional and non-traditional dining experience. Enjoy the Wine Spectator award winning wine list as well as the Captain's List of specially featured wines. Reservations strongly recommended. Please be advised that reservations booked through OpenTable may be for the lounge area or the main dining room, if you have a preference please note that in your reservation or call us at (216) 664-0941. We will do our best to accommodate your request.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 6:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
East 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 664-0941

Website:
http://www.redthesteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Bennett

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Red, The Steakhouse offers unique and versatile spaces able to accommodate various group sizes and setups. From formal business meetings to cocktail parties and rehearsal dinners, the chic, atypical steakhouse décor and savory fare provide the ultimate venue for private events.

Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (45)
Business Meals (38)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Romantic (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Modern Decor (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Authentic (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Fun (11)
Cozy (10)
People Watching (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (3)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
727 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service was great. We had ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

The food and service was great. We had a reservation ahead of time for 4 of us and the hostess sat us in the bar area which got progressively more crowded and louder. There was live sports playing on the tvs and that frankly was not the atmosphere we were looking for. That was the one big flaw of the night. Our prior experience with Red was the location in Beachwood, which was amazing. Had we been seated elsewhere, it might have been better as we could have heard each other and not had people standing around us while we were trying to enjoy our dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best dinners my husband and I ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

One of the best dinners my husband and I have ever had. Everything we had was fabulous and we can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Didn't like where we sat this time but f ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Didn't like where we sat this time but food is definitely great. I think the food is a bit over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Over priced food with average quality. T ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Over priced food with average quality. The atmosphere seemed too dark and stuffy

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I usually have a great Experience at Red ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I usually have a great Experience at Red however one of the host or manager was very rude to my partner and myself because my rib eye and his fillet mignon was burnt no charred...He then tried to convince me there's no happy medium between beef bleeding on your plate or charred.. Basically I could go on and on with my disappointment about his lack of service but just know I was highly upset.The GM did her best to salvage our meals and experience but it was ruined.. By time we received the food we were ready to leave..also while waiting we noticed the same man(host/manager) creating a negative experience with some other guest..So celebrating new year with great steak was ruined ..so thanks for the poor service on new years eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was great! Our waitress Judith w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was great! Our waitress Judith was well informed and efficient. The atmosphere was perfect on NYE! Food was excellent, our request for an item that was not currently on the menu was easily made available! A very pleasant experience!

Tags: , Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Food prepared as ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was excellent. Food prepared as requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red the steakhouse...review...the servic ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Red the steakhouse...review...the service was amazing....A+...restaurant was very nicely appointed...nothing spectacular..understated..B+...booked thru open table.....best amaretto sour I've ever had..it was whipped..no ice. A+.....beer menu was very limited...a few craft beers..nothing special..C..no onion soup...F...so we got calamari w roasted red peppers...A+ and garlic parmesian french fries also A+.....dinner bread was hard crusty Italian twist with a plate of olive oil and parmigiano cheese mixture for dipping B-.....I got Florida red fish...bland...skin on top didn't care for.C+..sweet potatoes casserole with marshmallow A+++....prime rib eye for Gary Hackle...A-....a little too salty of a rub....cooked perfectly though.....everything alacarte...and the best part is..our waiter made his own version of raspberry ice tea.. A++++.not on menu...it was divine.....and so thoughtful....finished up with two pumpkin petifours A+...as a bonus freebie....overall a B...very pricey...small aside...wish they would have said that the fries and calamari and sw pot were big enough for two people...I didn't read that...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Picked Red at the last minute the day be ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Picked Red at the last minute the day before New Year's Eve for a reservation that evening . The food, service and experience was outstanding . My wife and I had a filet and strip steak and they were cooked to perfection. The only negative was the proximity of the other tables which was not conducive to having intimate conversation at all and the distance from her and I at a two person table was fairly far apart. Highly recommend this place but if you are looking for intimacy in sharing conversation this is not the place for that

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner tradition. Always gre ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Anniversary dinner tradition. Always great, always on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food, a bit on the pricey side, bu ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

great food, a bit on the pricey side, but never had a bad meal. service is great. the restaurant is located in a thriving area near East Forth Street Downtown. the steaks are the best in town. I had the lobster tail to try something different. we also had the cauliflower au gratin. really good. great service staff. I would go more often if I made more money, but the atmosphere is not at all stuffy. it is always crowed, so that should tell you what you need to know.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I have dreams about the steak at Red. O ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I have dreams about the steak at Red. Our server was wonderful. An absolute angel with my 8 year old niece. I can't wait to find an excuse to go back.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prolly the best steak I've had. Absolute ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Prolly the best steak I've had. Absolutely incredible food. Friendly as can be as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing stood out except that the steaks ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Nothing stood out except that the steaks are overpriced. This wasn't my first time there so I knew going in that it would be expensive but the atmosphere and food don't warrant the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Three of us ate here on Christmas day (n ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Three of us ate here on Christmas day (note: turned out there was a CAVs game also, made valet parking and retrieval a little tiresome as they share a general use valet - and you pay for it too). We all ordered 3 C.A.B. Prime rib-eyes. Two were perfection, diners claimed the best they had ever had - just the right amount of fat. Mine was tasty for sure but had way too much fat to "navigate around". I know a Ribeye is supposed to be fatty but I pretty much gave up trying to surgically extract the meat. Was a little surprised that the waiter didnt notice the large blob on my plate and ask if everything was OK, or not - it was christmas and I wasnt about to make a thing about it. Oh well, based on the others experience, I'd go back, but might choose the lesser grade as not to be disappointed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Had Christmas Brunch with my daughter an ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had Christmas Brunch with my daughter and husband. Our waitress was so attentative and

friendly. Brunch was great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service, Amazing food, Great A ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent Service, Amazing food, Great Atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family dinner on Christmas Eve and every ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Family dinner on Christmas Eve and everything was exceptional. Thanks to the staff who gave up their Xmas Eve to allow us to have a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The C.A.B. Prime Filet Mignon was one of ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The C.A.B. Prime Filet Mignon was one of the best steaks I've had. I arrived in town a few hours early. I checked to see if they could move my reservation up...even though they were very busy I was seated within 5 minutes. A big thank you to the staff.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always dependable; great service; excell ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always dependable; great service; excellent food; always great!

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a younger couple (25 years old) we we ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

As a younger couple (25 years old) we were sat at a table for 2 right next to another couple when there were clearly other couples tables available away from them. My wife and I could tell that this couple (appeared to be a first or second date) were a little frustrated by this. I wish that more restaurants would not stereotype younger couples. Other than that everything was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A great night to start the holiday weeke ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A great night to start the holiday weekend. Steaks were exceptional. Wine was perfect. Service was flawless (as usual). Fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I got the French Dip sandwich. I only at ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I got the French Dip sandwich. I only ate half of it. I asked if I could pack up the leftovers. Our server said no problem, I'll wrap it for you. When I got home and went to eat my leftover sandwich, I opened the container and realized the server did not pack up the aus jous. That is the whole point of the sandwich. How can I eat my French dip sandwich with nothing to dip it in? Extremely disappointed as I was very looking forward to eating my leftover Sammy. Word to the wise, if you let your server pack up your food, open the containers before you leave to make sure you got all of your food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

AmazeballsAmazeballsAmazeballsAmazeballs ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

AmazeballsAmazeballsAmazeballsAmazeballsAmazeballsAmazeballs

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a steakhouse junkie, I was VERY impre ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

As a steakhouse junkie, I was VERY impressed with Red and would count it as one of my regional favorites now. The service was outstanding and the steak, superb.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food great service nice ambiance. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Good food great service nice ambiance. Red is always a great choice for a really nice dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service and great food!!!

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great service and great food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, service, and decor. I w ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent food, service, and decor. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for special occasions, or just a nice evening out!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner, excellent service and ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Excellent dinner, excellent service and would definitely recommend to anyone celebrating an occasion! This is my third visit and can't wait for the fourth.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent strip steak. Didn't have the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Excellent strip steak. Didn't have the wine I ordered and were very apologetic and helpful selecting an alternate.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

outstanding, great steaks and wine list. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2016

outstanding, great steaks and wine list. best in city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Everything timed and prepared to perfect ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Everything timed and prepared to perfection. Can't think of a better place to unwind after work with a great wine and a wonderful dinner. Staff is on top of EVERYTHING. That's always nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went to this place while i ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My wife and I went to this place while in town for a Cleveland clinic specialist appointment. We thought we would go somewhere special trying to shed a good light on a bad day...

So we showed up early and decided to be a cocktail. Mind you, this place charges out the A** for everything. So my wife asked for an infused (on the menu) Tito's and cranberry. The bartender, who was taking our order from 12' away because he decided polishing glasses was more important than coming to us says, " I can't make that because I don't know how I would be able to ring it up. That booze is only for a dedicated cocktail." NOW THATS SERVICE!!!

So we requested our table that we had reserved. And, were seated promptly. We were created by a nice server named Matt who introduced himself and went over the specials. Professionally I might add.

We were enthused about the Big Eye tuna and ordered it for an app. In the mean time, I tried to order a couple different Cabs off the wine list, which weren't available. Finding out later that they had been sold out some 5 (July) months ago. Some wine list....

Well the tuna showed up and it was on a warm plate and soft and mushy and warm. NOT ANY WAY TO EAT RAW TUNA. We decided that this was not a place we wanted to spend any more money at. To me, the menu looked good but this place was poorly managed. Never go back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

The food and drinks were outstanding. B ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The food and drinks were outstanding. Best Steakhouse in Cleveland for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent!! Our server Al ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Everything was excellent!! Our server Alyson was outstanding!!! Will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was excellent, overall a fant ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Our waiter was excellent, overall a fantastic experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

WE HAD A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE, OUR WAITE ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 5, 2016

WE HAD A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE, OUR WAITER DAVE WAS VERY INFORMATIVE AND GRACIOUS SINCE IT WAS OUR FIRST TIME DINING AT RED...THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS, COOKED TO PERFECTION, I THINK I WILL HAVE TAKE MY HUSBAND HERE FOR HIS BIRTHDAY

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went here for my boyfriends birthday. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We went here for my boyfriends birthday. The service was phenomenal! There was absolutely nothing to complain about with this experience.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious!

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and delicious meal. W ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Wonderful service and delicious meal. We started with the stuffed peppers appetizer and caprese salad, then each had the USDA Prime Filets along with truffle mashed potatoes and sautéed spinach. Steaks literally melted in our mouths. We finished off the meal with the motion lava cake and Red Coffee. There is also an impressive wine list to choose from and the service was excellent.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.