About Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland

417 Prospect Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

For patrons who value a premium culinary experience, RED The Steakhouse offers the best in high quality food by using the finest and freshest ingredients and creating an undeniably superb culinary experience. By transcending our guest’s expectations for superior service and food, Red The Steakhouse creates a consistent, exceptional and non-traditional dining experience. Enjoy the Wine Spectator award winning wine list as well as the Captain's List of specially featured wines. Reservations strongly recommended. Please be advised that reservations booked through OpenTable may be for the lounge area or the main dining room, if you have a preference please note that in your reservation or call us at (216) 664-0941. We will do our best to accommodate your request.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 6:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
East 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 664-0941

Website:
http://www.redthesteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Bennett

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Red, The Steakhouse offers unique and versatile spaces able to accommodate various group sizes and setups. From formal business meetings to cocktail parties and rehearsal dinners, the chic, atypical steakhouse décor and savory fare provide the ultimate venue for private events.

Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Most Booked
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Steakhouse
Cleveland
1 More
Most Booked
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Downtown Cleveland ›

Special Occasion (87)
Notable Wine List (56)
Romantic (45)
See All
Fit for Foodies (43)
Hot Spot (40)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Business Meals (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (3)
Scenic View (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Casual (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Private Room (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
632 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding food. Could both ask for bet ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Outstanding food. Could both ask for better

Very nice feel to resturant

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely wonderful!!! Waiter was aweso ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Absolutely wonderful!!! Waiter was awesome, food incredible, wine was the best ever!! Don't leave without a night cap on their roof top bar! Beautiful view and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was excellent. Prime NY strip s ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our food was excellent. Prime NY strip steaks cooked to order. Sides were impressive. Service by Judith was exceptional. Do not miss the beignets with three dipping sauces! Overall a perfect evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful dinner here late after t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner here late after the Indians and Tigers game last Friday. The entire team was incredibly friendly and accommodating. Had a tiny problem with one of ours sides and it was dealt with immediately and professionally. Apart from that, we had a great meal and wonderful service. Would definitely return.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The wine was outstanding, and our server ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The wine was outstanding, and our server (Alison) was very attentive. Staff was helpful with menu recommendations and we were not rushed through our meal. Rub eye was perfectly cooked.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for a nice anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great place for a nice anniversary dinner. The complementary fresh doughnuts were a nice surprise as well!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Dinner befor show at the Q....the ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great Dinner befor show at the Q....the bone in Rib Eye was perfect and our service was exceptional.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect steakhouse menu. Great selectio ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Perfect steakhouse menu. Great selection of distilled spirits and wine! Freshest ingredients... Best f'n steak ever!!! + fantastic expresso to finish things off.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Reliable, perfectly prepared, high quali ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Reliable, perfectly prepared, high quality food. Knowledgeable server recommended excellent food-wine pairings, which only added to the experience. Red is the best place in Cleveland to enjoy steak, hands-down (I've been to the others and have been burned too many times).

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While the food and atmosphere were absol ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

While the food and atmosphere were absolutely amazing, the service at Red was terrible. Our server - Judith - couldn't be bothered with us. While other tables were getting attentive service, we were ignored. Mind you, this was a at 5:00pm. At the time, we were her only table. She didn't even know that we were there; after being seated, we nearly walked out after waiting for 10 minutes for service. We had to ask for bread. I had to obnoxiously wave at her when I wanted something, and even then, I didn't get her attention. We overheard other servers describing the menu to their patrons, describing different cuts of meat, etc. Judith only asked if we were ready to order. It was supposed to be a special dinner for my husband and me, and Judith's poor service - for which there was no excuse - was beyond disappointing, and detracted from what should have been a perfect dining experience. At Red's prices, one would expect professional servers. Judith didn't get the memo.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Red is good but bit expensive. We, europ ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Red is good but bit expensive.

We, european, are use to eat slowly, but even in this restaurant youre done within 1 hour

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was very good, although pricey. Fo ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Food was very good, although pricey. For the prices being charged, I would expect better. Service was very good and accomodating. We were there for anniversary dinner, 6 of us, and we all enjoyed our meals, which included appetizers, main coarse, several sides, dessert. One troublesome thing: paid for valet parking and at around 10 p.m., saw the valet packing up to leave. When we went to the receptionist, she just said "oh you can go down there to get your car". Not very customer focused for being a high-end restaurant and for the money we just spent. Also, expect a 20% tip to be included in your bill.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Service was very poor - was checked on 3 ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Service was very poor - was checked on 3 times during my meal (I was only offered a refill on my water 2x in 2 hours; I had to ask for another drink from our waiter).

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

This was our first time at Red and we ca ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was our first time at Red and we came for my birthday, specifically because I love steak. My husband and I have eaten at a lot of steakhouses and thought we'd give Red a try. We both got the 8 oz CAB Prime filets and they were AMAZING! Cooked perfectly, so tender and the outer seasonings were just enough. Best steak I've had in a long time. Our server was fantastic. She was always checking in to make sure everything was perfect. When our side (parmesan tater tots) were a bit too bland for our liking she brought out a couple of unique dips to go with. We also had the doughnut holes for dessert, which were very tasty and just enough of something sweet after dinner. Although I felt like their side dishes could be a little more interesting, everything else was well done. Would recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our server was Judith (Judy as I would c ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our server was Judith (Judy as I would call her-since that's my mom's name) and she rocked! so nice and pleasant and helpful - we exchanged dog stories (I hope your dog did not get into the garbage Friday night). It was my boyfriend's birthday and the donut holes were the bomb! will definitely be back again and will NOT ask for Judith - HAHA - just kidding Judy :) will definitely be back and will request Judith - thank you for a great night of food and fun!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All of the staff were very professional ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

All of the staff were very professional and friendly. The hostess was very accommodating when we asked to have a table away from the door. We ordered cocktails and a salad to start and both came quickly and were well prepared. For dinner, we ordered the NY strip and Ribeye, along with several sides. We asked the waiter for a wine recommendation, and he did not disappoint. The entire meal was excellent and we walked away with delicious leftovers for lunch the next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The service was awesome and the food was ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The service was awesome and the food was delicious what else could you ask for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Three of us were looking for a mid-week, ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Three of us were looking for a mid-week, late night restaurant after an Indians game. Having dined at Red many times, we were pleased that Red offered a late night reservation on a busy night that had Cleveland's baseball and football teams playing along with Paul McCartney at the Q. We arrived at the restaurant which was certainly winding down for the evening, but still had a few diners ending their meals, and a well patronized bar. Our server, James S., couldn't have been more accommodating. He offered us several specials and pleasant Cleveland sport team conversation. We settled on salads, sides, and a ribeye and filet for our meals. My wife and I requested we split one ribeye, which our server and the kitchen gladly served, slicing the ribeye to share. The steaks were prepared superbly. The wine selections were plentiful and generously poured. This Cleveland gem is a definite repeat anytime of the day, but I have to say, a slower pace and eventful late night, made this restaurant dining experience very special.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was a awesome

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was a awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was amazing and truly made o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our service was amazing and truly made our night. The potatoes were being remade when we arrived so we chose the green beans (which we were more than ok with!). However, our server brought us out a large sample to try at the end of our meal once it was all remade to make sure we had a chance to try our first choice. So appreciated. It was our 11th Anniversary and we were brought out a complementary desert that said Happy Anniversary in chocolate on the sauce plate. Every touch was perfect and so very thoughtful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

When we arrived 10 min earlier than our ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

When we arrived 10 min earlier than our reservation, they were eager to sit us which was slightly unexpected, but very much appreciated. Unfortunately, we were sat in a corner, upon which the single spot light "was having difficulties." So our night varied from a well lit experience to a dimly one, neither which were bad per se, i would just prefer it to be consistent. We got ny strip steaks with one side of green beans which were both quite good. Although I'm not sure that the price associated with the food was appropriate given our experience at Red.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great preparation of steaks. Excellent a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great preparation of steaks. Excellent apps, sides and service. Had great experience both times been to CLE location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have heard about Red for a while. I a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I have heard about Red for a while. I am glad that we could get a table last minute. Best steakhouse in N E Ohio Has Mortons and Hyde Park beat hand over fist

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Cleveland for the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My wife and I went to Cleveland for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. Booked the Red on recommendation of my sister who lives in Cleveland. Great place, in the up and coming Gateway district just a few short blocks from our hotel and the very cool 4th street area.

Rooftop bar is a nice feature particularly while waiting for your table though it doesn't have the character of the restaurant.

While we had booked a table, we ultimately decided to eat at the bar; it looked lively and we often prefer eating at the bar.

Everything we ate was fantastic and our martinis were just the right size (note to bars in nice restaurants everywhere....It doesn't matter if you buy bigger martini glasses, or what you charge, if you only fill the glass it two-thirds of the way up, we're going to feel like your short-changing us.

Nice size shrimp in the shrimp cocktail and we split the Certified Angus Beef Prime NY Strip Medium Rare. Absolutely perfectly cooked and the seasoning was unique and perfectly suited to the steak. The steak was so tender, it was if we had the best of both worlds; the flavor of a strip and the tenderness of a filet mignon.

Service was first class and always there before we needed anything. Had the cheesecake for dessert, also delicious.

1st Class restaurant in a great location.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food, great waiter. A little p ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very good food, great waiter. A little pricey. Wouldn't go all the time because of the price but nice for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our dining experience at Red is always a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our dining experience at Red is always awesome. The food, service and staff make the experience memorable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was highly recommended t ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This restaurant was highly recommended to me and it didn't disappoint. Great food great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Red's to celebrate our 20th wedd ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Went to Red's to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Perfect dinner from the food to the server to the staff in general. A fabulous experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An incredible dinner experience and one ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

An incredible dinner experience and one that is certainly worth repeating. The meal was excellent and we both loved the dessert of the doughnut holes!! Waitress was exceptional - Judith.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time at red...the food w ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was my first time at red...the food was exceptionally good,their bar is right inside the dining area, making it a very noisy place to enjoy a quiet date or even talk for that matter.service and ambience was good

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered the 22 ounce bone in ribeye st ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I ordered the 22 ounce bone in ribeye steak. I had it cooked medium rare and this was probably the best steak I've ever had. Great steak restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Red steakhouse disappoint we were treate ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Red steakhouse disappoint we were treated well and taken care of by Alyson and she was knowledgeable about the menu as well as the food.We started out with a beet and a calamari appetizer which was very good. The main course we both enjoyed was there CAB prime strip which was cooked perfect and seasoned just right. They a good selection of sides to accompany the steak and we opted for the lobster which was delicious, for dessert the us house made donuts with 3 dipping sauces they were very good and on the house we would highly recommend the food and service there as top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steak I've had in a long time, cook ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Best steak I've had in a long time, cooked perfectly.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous food. Great steaks, salads and ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Fabulous food. Great steaks, salads and sides. Service was outstanding. Waiter Mark was tremendous---exactly right level of attentiveness. Proactive in recognizing our needs. Balance of supporting staff was great in keeping water glasses full and food delivered hot. Slightly loud when we arrived--it was a Monday evening and room was full with larger business groups. But we could talk just fine. Great overall.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Easily one of the very best steakhouses ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Easily one of the very best steakhouses in America!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was absolutely fabulous . ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The restaurant was absolutely fabulous . Some of the best food in Cleveland. Despite being very crowded we did not have any wait at all for our table and were seated immediately. Our server was very knowledgeable and also made some great suggestions including wine. An outstanding evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food, great restaurant!!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing food, great restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable dinner, pricey but one of ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Very enjoyable dinner, pricey but one of the best meals my wife and I ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent restaurant. Food was superb ...

 
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Food was superb.

A little noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Took a client to Red (Downtown Cleveland ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Took a client to Red (Downtown Cleveland location) for a business lunch meeting. Was very disappointed by the amount of flies and gnats flying around the entire lunch. We mentioned this to our server, but she said that they needed to keep the front doors open which was allowing all of the flies to come in. Very unappetizing.

Ordered 3 salads with proteins = $75. Very expensive lunch to have to be distracted by flies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.