About Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland

417 Prospect Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

For patrons who value a premium culinary experience, RED The Steakhouse offers the best in high quality food by using the finest and freshest ingredients and creating an undeniably superb culinary experience. By transcending our guest’s expectations for superior service and food, Red The Steakhouse creates a consistent, exceptional and non-traditional dining experience. Enjoy the Wine Spectator award winning wine list as well as the Captain's List of specially featured wines. Reservations strongly recommended. Please be advised that reservations booked through OpenTable may be for the lounge area or the main dining room, if you have a preference please note that in your reservation or call us at (216) 664-0941. We will do our best to accommodate your request.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 6:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
East 4th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 664-0941

Website:
http://www.redthesteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Bennett

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Red, The Steakhouse offers unique and versatile spaces able to accommodate various group sizes and setups. From formal business meetings to cocktail parties and rehearsal dinners, the chic, atypical steakhouse décor and savory fare provide the ultimate venue for private events.

Red, the Steakhouse Cleveland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Most Booked
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Steakhouse
Cleveland
1 More
Most Booked
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Downtown Cleveland ›

Special Occasion (60)
Good for a Date (44)
Notable Wine List (39)
See All
Romantic (36)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Business Meals (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Modern Decor (23)
Hot Spot (21)
Worth the Drive (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Fun (10)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
People Watching (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Scenic View (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (3)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
676 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful service and delicious meal. W ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful service and delicious meal. We started with the stuffed peppers appetizer and caprese salad, then each had the USDA Prime Filets along with truffle mashed potatoes and sautéed spinach. Steaks literally melted in our mouths. We finished off the meal with the motion lava cake and Red Coffee. There is also an impressive wine list to choose from and the service was excellent.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You can't go wrong with the steaks at Re ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

You can't go wrong with the steaks at Red. We took our daughter for her 21st birthday celebration dinner. The meal, service and evening couldn't have been better. She has some dietary restrictions which we informed the restaurant about and they handled it flawlessly including a special birthday dessert. We over indulged on their wonderful donut holes and dipping sauces. We will definitely return to Red.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've tried several local favorites for s ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I've tried several local favorites for steak, but this topped them all. Four separate diners, each with a different steak order and specified level of "rare, medium rare, medium". Each steak was done perfectly to requested finish, a rare occurrence! Loved all the food. Dessert choice was limited, but after a delicious steak this was not a flaw, rather a relief.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Courses wer ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent food and service. Courses were well paced. A pleasant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They may include a side with the Diner. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

They may include a side with the Diner. A steak is 50 dlls.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great steakhouse in Cleveland. Just w ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

A great steakhouse in Cleveland. Just what you would expect out of a high end steakhouse. The steaks were great and prepared to our liking, the sides (a la carte) were also very good. Extensive wine list. The service was great. The atmosphere in the dining room was very nice, although a littler louder than one might expect from a restaurant of this type. Meal was not cheap, but prices on par with other high end steakhouses.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Manager, Jeff, made us feel like VIP ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Manager, Jeff, made us feel like VIP's. Great time!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This is my very first review I've ever w ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

This is my very first review I've ever written on anything. I often look to reviews when making purchasing decisions so maybe this will help someone else. My husband and I have never felt more uncomfortable as we did during our date night at Red last night. Our hostess was extremely rude and literally looked disgusted to service us. We arrived on time for our reservations and stood by while she carried on a conversation with another patron after we gave her our name. This conversation went on for about 10 minutes (it was a very social/personal conversation). When SHE finished her conversation she very rudely snapped at us "are you ready" as if we were the hold up. At this time we were already confused because no one had directly greeted us (we greeted a male staff first who was standing next her and then walked away), it was very busy and we were unsure who would be helping us. As we were being seated my husband accidently knocked over a small plate that was on our table. The hostess looked visibly agitated, sighed loudly, picked it up and walked immediately away. No questions, no greetings, nothing. My husband and I just stared at each other and I immediately felt sad that I chose the restaurant that was slowly ruining our night. The rest of the service was mediocre. Our waitress was prompt, but also short and moved quickly, very impersonal. Overall the vibe was really a downer. I can honestly say I've never experience whatever this was and I was uncomfortable and couldn't wait to leave.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Very knowledgeable server, amazing food ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Very knowledgeable server, amazing food . Extensive wine list. Most important showing the Cavs game on all t v ' s ! One of the best steakhouses in US!!

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was very slow. Waiter was inatt ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Service was very slow. Waiter was inattentive to our table of 7. It was disappointing as we were celebrating our sons birthday and have always had a very positive experience at Red.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

My wife and I always enjoy Red. This exp ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My wife and I always enjoy Red. This experience was one of our best yet. The food was unbelievable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After many evenings dinning at this loca ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

After many evenings dinning at this location with average results, my last experience couldn't of been better. Best server, steak and apps!

Great job guys!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is without a doubt best steak and s ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is without a doubt best steak and steakhouse in Cleveland! Fabulous service as well. Always honor reservation requests for table or area of restaurant. No comparison to other steak houses in Cleveland all of which have less value and quality. We love RED!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth it! Best steaks in town.

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Worth it! Best steaks in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food nice vibe...service got bette ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food nice vibe...service got better with time. No suggestions from David the server he just kind of seemed checked out. But still a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Heard all about Red's and was told it wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Heard all about Red's and was told it was the best place for a Steak and they were not wrong! The steak was seasoned and cooked perfectly and I can't wait to go back to Cleveland just to eat a Red's again!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My steak was good. My calamari was okay. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My steak was good. My calamari was okay. My ceasar was bad. For 80.00 I would expect more. Won't return

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Food was perfect as always and our serve ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Food was perfect as always and our server was expedient and particularly sensitive we were trying to get to the game on time. Can't rave enough about this consistently reliably great restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. It is pricey ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food and service. It is pricey with seafood/steak selection but my wife and I felt like the food was worth the cost. We both had 8oz filets and I went with their priciest option while she went with the middle tier. We both sampled each other's and agreed the extra cost for mine was well worth it. Appetizer was great and the wine we chose was a nice selection even though we were going as cheap as we could. My wife also had a martini which she typically doesn't drink and the servers recommendation to her, getting her away from a sweeter martini, ended up being spot on.

The server was knowledgeable, entertaining and engaged but also gave us plenty of space. He knew it was our anniversary and included a free donut desert as a gift to us which was very thoughtful and unexpected. While this is out of our normal date night price range we will definitely consider coming back to it on future trips.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Red never disappoints. My wife and I to ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Red never disappoints. My wife and I took our girls to Red on Prospect prior to a show at the Playhouse and everyone loved it. The steaks are the best we've ever had. The creamed spinach was absolutely delicious and you MUST have the donuts for dessert. We told our server what time the show was and he did a great job of spacing out our meal so we didn't feel rushed and got out of there in plenty of time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fun, Kid-friendly, Romantic, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Red never disappoints. Best steak I've ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Red never disappoints. Best steak I've ever had, hands down. The martinis are stiff but delicious. The digestifs are incredible - do not pass up on one of those!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING FOOD, great atmos ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING FOOD, great atmosphere, fabulous service and the wine was outstanding!!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Fun, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a small space, the noise level was p ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

For a small space, the noise level was perfect! Food is outstanding albeit on the higher side for steaks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

On a chamber of commerce evening for the ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 25, 2016

On a chamber of commerce evening for the city, we had the best meal in Cleveland in the best seats in the house. Thank you again! Great high end uncomplicated sophistication before the Cavaliers raised their championship banner and the Indians opened the World Series. Wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although pricey, I have never had a tast ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Although pricey, I have never had a tastier steak, nor a more succulent lobster tail. The wine list was wide ranging. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the location (proximity to E.4th Street and Jack Casino). Fabulous experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent and Scott our ser ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was excellent and Scott our server was fantastic, he made our experience even better. When we go back we will request him to handle our table. Thank you.

Roberto Leoni

rjleoni@att.net

216 401 7769

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the CAB NY Strip, cooked medium. Ab ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Had the CAB NY Strip, cooked medium. Absolutely delicious. Enjoyed a glass of wine, also perfect. Finished with black coffe and cheese cake

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent steaks but be prepared to spen ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Excellent steaks but be prepared to spend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful dining experience. The service ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. The service, meal and staff were totally on top of every course and we were never in need of a single thing. We would recommend Red to anyone for any occassion. The wine selection was excellent and the meal presentation was top notch. It made our evening one that we will remember for a very long time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was excellent!!

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Steak was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our server, Mark, was outstanding. The ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Our server, Mark, was outstanding. The restaurant week menu, week 2, was well worth the $39/plate price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took our daughter there for her 25th bir ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Took our daughter there for her 25th birthday. Everything about the evening was delightful!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Has been my favorite steakhouse in Cleve ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Has been my favorite steakhouse in Cleveland area for the last decade. Unfortunately the quality of the food continues to go down. The food was so salty it was non-edible. Our waitress was also missing in action all night long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

When we arrived we greeted by friendly s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2016

When we arrived we greeted by friendly staff and seated promptly. Waiter Jim very good. We had a nice dinner meeting. We were put in the bar side so a little loud, but we made reservations very late in the day.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They are a top notch restaurant. All sev ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 4, 2016

They are a top notch restaurant. All seven in our party enjoyed everything. We will be

planning more dinners there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to send my filet steak back TWICE be ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Had to send my filet steak back TWICE because it was undercooked. Ordered it medium well. First time came out medium rare, sent it back. Came back Medium. Very disappointing. I will not be returning to this location .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

steaks worth the price. fantastic! Every ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 1, 2016

steaks worth the price. fantastic! Everything was presented well, wine was delicious, explanation of the menu very good. Perfect for very special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for. Medical conference ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We were in town for. Medical conference and it was my birthday. Loved the donut holes and sauces with Happy Birthday on the plate. Great steak, wine and appetizers. Would recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Camille served us with panache. She made ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Camille served us with panache. She made our evening wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Probably the best filet mignon my husban ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Probably the best filet mignon my husband and I have ever had. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.