Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville

Complimentary valet parking! Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility. After dinner, sip a signature martini or cocktail in the Red Stag Grill lounge and bar area and be entertained by local musicians.

11 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-5600

Website:
http://www.bohemianhotelasheville.com/dining/dining.asp

Entertainment:
Wednesday through Saturday nights, 8 PM till 10 PM

Catering:
At the Grand Bohemian Hotel, exceptional events are our passion. We specialize in hosting inspiring business functions and social occasions for those who expect the absolute best in service, detail, and atmosphere. Through meticulous planning and flawless execution, we weave distinctive character and impeccable style into every event to ensure it is as memorable as it is successful. By harnessing your vision, we define an artistic direction for your gathering and deliver a professional, sophisticated affair that accomplishes all of your objectives.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking with Restaurant Validation

Executive Chef:
Scott Ostrander

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

There are many things to be grateful for on Thanksgiving...like not having to prepare dinner. Join us for our Thanksgiving Feast at the Red Stag Grill, offering our signature 4-Course Holiday Menu. Spend time with the family and leave the hard work to us! 11:30am-9pm; Adults: $75, Kids: $25 (6-12)

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Join Red Stag Grill for Christmas Eve dinner from 5pm-10pm. The restaurant is offering a 4 course dinner priced at $85/person.
Our regular dinner menu is not available this evening.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

For Christmas Brunch (11am-3pm), Red Stag Grill is serving our 4 course prix fixe Christmas Day brunch menu priced at $70/person. For Christmas Dinner (5pm-10pm) we are serving our 4 course prix fixe Christmas dinner menu priced at $85/person. Our regular menu is not available this evening.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

For dinner this evening, Red Stag Grill is serving our 5-course prix fixe New Year's Eve dinner menu priced at $120/person. Our regular menu is not available this evening.

Private Dining

Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility.

Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (63)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Good for a Date (61)
See All
Romantic (56)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Cozy (39)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Notable Wine List (32)
Business Meals (27)
Local Ingredients (24)
Worth the Drive (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Great for Brunch (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Authentic (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Casual (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Live Music (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
2180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Was a cool vibe and wonderfully prepared food on top of their service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Hubbys birthday, food was terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was great but a little pricey. The dining area needs a little more light and more lively music.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Was not a 5 because my husband's order was incorrect halibut instead of bison, but waitress was very apologetic and corrected very quickly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 13, 2017

My husband and I are newlyweds and went to Asheville for our honeymoon. We saved our last night in Asheville to have a special dinner together so we could dress up for each other and enjoy some good local food in an upscale unique atmosphere. There's SO many worthwhile notable places to eat in Asheville but after seeing the menu and pictures of the interior of Red Stag it fit the bill for what we were looking for. We are both SO happy we chose this restaurant for our last honeymoon "date". We went Sunday evening and it was very quiet and relaxed with only a few other couples dining. The interior is stunning. A little dark but we felt that made it cozy and romantic. A cross between being a little gothic feeling and a little rustic lodge; it was a truly beautiful dining experience. Our server was very personable and accommodating as well. We chose the calamari and oysters for our starters which were excellent choices. I went with the elk loin and my husband went with the bison hanger steak and we were both VERY happy with our selections. The meat stole the show but both our sides were just as delicious and were the perfect compliments. My husband had the whipped sweet potatoes with his steak which were impossibly smooth and went well with his blue cheese spread. My mashed potatoes and roasted broccolini were seasoned perfectly as well. I ordered the apple cinnamon sangria and as a sangria snob I will say I was not disappointed! Once our server heard we were on our honeymoon he gave us our dessert on the house. We split the flourless black forest cake which was rich although not too sweet, a little tart and just decadent and delicious all around. Everything beginning to end was just about perfect. If there's a special occasion to be celebrated or if you just want a funky atmosphere and a delicious dining experience do not hesitate visiting Red Stag Grill! We look forward to returning in the future!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Way to go Ryan r server. The hand crafted drinks were great with nice seasonal selections. Try thier manhattan, old fashioned, or the pumpkin spice martinis. Bar was intimate with stag decorum.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We always return to Red Stag as their service, ambiance and food are the best in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The atmosphere is amazing, beautiful furniture and fixtures set the mood for a nice romantic dinner. However I have three criticisms. First, i ordered my filet med well and it came out rare. On their second chance to recook it came out med rare/med. That’s disappointing they couldn’t get my steak temperature correct. And their food “runner” was obviously their manager and he had to ask which person ordered which meal... at this nice of a restaurant they should know that without having to ask. There were only two of us and how the server enters the order typically dictates that. And finally, we were celebrating a big birthday and there was not even so much as a mention of happy birthday. The night before we went to Zambre’s (which I HIGHLY recommend by the way) and they saw where I noted it in my open table reservation, the hostess wished us a happy birthday and the server brought us a complementary dessert. I wasn’t looking for free food, but a simple acknowledgement would have been appreciated.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Tried the Bison and the Elk tenderloin. They were so tender, you barely had to chew! Very attentive staff. Enjoyed the dinner experience and would definitely go again.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great atmosphere with good food. Nothing was "wow," outside of a normal steakhouse experience. The menu is a little pricey for the portion size. The ambience was amazing - definitely date night worthy. Be sure to make your reservation ahead of time, as the wait was steep for those without one. The wait staff was very attentive and knowledgeable of the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We were in Asheville to celebrate my husbands birthday. This restaurant was a great find. We asked for a quiet table and got exactly what we wanted. The food was delicious and the service was perfect. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 10, 2017

My wife an I enjoyed a great meal at the Red Stag. I would highly recommend the elk. It was tender and lean not gamey at all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Quality and prepared perfectly. What else can I say

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 8, 2017

We had dinner for our Anniversary and the ribeye was delicious! Brussel sprouts were under cooked for my taste but dessert made up for it. Atmosphere was very nice for our special occasion. Everything is a la cart so didn’t get to try appetizers or salad as we would have spent way too much for dinner. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Had Great drinks at bar prior to dinner as this was our 39th Anniversary weekend celebration (we were here 5 years ago) and decided on our last night to come back to a very memorable experience! We were not too much disappointed other then OUR food choices. My wife chose the Rack of lamb shank/Lamb Chop and the shank was very dry and tough but the Chop was done to perfection (medium rare)! I had the Breast of Duck and was delicious as normal there!!!! Our waiter was punctual and spot on with his suggestions however wish we would have ordered the Filet and Rib eye as we know the meats are phenomenal there from prior experiences. WE Will be back though as it is a great place to dine in LUXURY! Hats off to the entire staff there as they will not disappoint your dining experience- all top hat!
GnB

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2017

lOVE the atmosphere/ambiance! Always a favorite stop when we visit Asheville!

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Very nice place. If it’s only two of you request a window tabke for 2 because other tables for 2 are positioned by big columns blocking half the restaurant’s ambiance. Food was good but our table was disappointing and we could t be moved. Chef’s tasting selection is great, food and wine. Lot of fun. Would consider sitting at bar next time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 3, 2017

First and last time here. We were not guests at the hotel, just dining here. Negatives: 1) Unclear where restaurant is - no signage or hostess. 2) Dimly lit dining areas. 3) Use of brash, backlit and enormous menus. 4) Nothing stood out with regard to Elk and, especially, Ribeye. 5) Because of the above, overpriced. Positives: 1). Quiet. 2) Timely delivered courses. 3) Friendly staff. 4) Good wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 3, 2017

difficult to rank. very nice restaurant with very good service and ambience. but I couldn't finish my meal. it just didn't appeal to me in any way. my wife enjoyed her meal but mine just didn't do it. probably just a bad choice, it happens. would give it another chance but just one more..nice place and people but in the end it's about the food.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

My fiance and I went for a date night and we both could not have asked for a better time or experience. The food was perfect and the wait staff was top notch. Will definitely go again for anniversaries and special occasions

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Atmosphere terrific, big break from norm. We were here too late to have a vibrant dining scene, at 9:00 it was a dead zone which I don't Like. The waiter ignored us for 15 minutes telling his life story to the table behind us. Almost left then. Ordered a filet and rack of lamb. The menu said I would get the slow cooked shank and separate chops that would be cooked to my desire. I asked for well done, yes, well done. They came out pink red. Salad had to be sent back also as there was black rotting scum on several leaves. When they brought the main course they didn’t bring silverware. Then we had to wait and wait to get someone’s attention. All and all twice cooked meat was great. The wait times in between all of the mistakes was uncalled for. Service and cooking direction spoiled it all. If it hadn’t been for the great chair to sink into after a long day of travel and the gorgeous decor I would have been pretty upset.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Our first time at the Red Stag was great. Skip the callamari and go for something local. The charcuterie board was fantastic tasting of local
fair. Our steaks were delicious and perfectly cooked. The sides were delicious as well. Our server was obviously covering too many tables but he was funny and helpful. The service could have been better but it was what I was expecting. We often go to restaurants known for their service, but at the Red Stag we were more interested in the food. Order a bottle of Napa wine, & enjoy the local apps & entrees.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The menu, while not exhaustive, always has delightful temptations that satisfy. We eat here frequently, and it never disappoints. Even the eggs and bacon are perfect! The staff is warm; and they always allow us to stay as long as necessary to complete our business.
May I recommend the carrot cake and anything chocolate on the dessert menu...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Our service was terrible. The server did not tell us about any specials or make any recommendations, and also never came back to check on us after we received our entrees. I had to go up to the bar to get a glass of wine to go with my meal. The food was Ok. My fish was barely warm and my husband’s filet was over cooked and very small, especially at this price point. I would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

The evening at The Red Stag Grill did not disappoint our group who was celebrating my Dad's 91st birthday. Paul Wilson our server was great as usual and handle the table of 5 as if he was a our personal waiter.

The group order various dishes of which all of them were wonderful. To end the evening the Red Stag Staff baked a wonderful birthday cake for my Dad which was rich but tasty.

I recommend the Red Stag Grill for any occasion for dinner or just sit at the bar and listen to the music being played for the evening. The setting of the bar / restaurant is great and simply unmatched in Asheville.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Excellent food and service! I ordered the scallops and they were cooked to perfection. My husband ordered the filet mignon and also was very pleased.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2017

The lunch was excellent. They have weekday specials too.

The waitress was just plain outstanding‼️

We had great food and a lovely experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 25, 2017

While a little on the expensive side ( I guess because it's located in Ashville, a busy tourist destination), the food and service were both first class and worth the visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 25, 2017

We both had the Halibut and found it outstanding. iur waiter,Paul,was extremely good and attentitive,his attitude added greatly to our enjoyment. Will plan on returning when inAsheville

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Still the best restaurant. Lunch specials are an amazing deal that everyone should try. Beautiful surroundings and very professional staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2017

This is a great spot. Enjoyed dinner there a number of times and have always been very happy. First time for lunch and it's just as good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 22, 2017

We LOVED Red Stag Grille's brunch! The Beignets are to die for! I almost got the Chicken & Waffles, but the scrumptious Bananas Foster French Toast was calling me! I saw the Chicken and Waffles and it looked divine too! A carafe of Mimosas helped make the brunch even more fun! We can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2017

The food and service were amazing. Valet parking was available and complimentary. We have a great date night!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Seated quickly by the hostess.

David, our waiter, appeared irritated that my husband ordered a Pernod neat, as it had to be retrieved from the back by the chef. (They use it in the cream sauce for the oysters - it's on the menu.)

Came back 10 minutes later. No pernod in the kitchen. Apologized. Offered Sambucca?!?Then offered my husband a probiotic given it's a form of digestive?!? (Poor attempt at humor.)

Poured wine efficiently.

Other servers delivered the elk and filet, which were excellent. The accompanying bernaise sauce was perfect. Puréed sweet potatoes were excellent as well.

We had the Seven Falls merlot ('12 on the wine list, '13 delivered). It was good, but a bit pricey for a retail ($14) bottle.

Didn't do dessert as David placed dessert menus a little too "efficiently" in front of us.

Davis WAS very pleasant when he dropped the check off. That says it all.

Overall great food and atmosphere. Need to work a little on staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Food was the best we have ever had! My wife had Diver Scallops and I had filet and lobster tail, excellent. Too full for desert! Would do it again and again.

Only negative was the seating. We felt that we didn't have enough privacy with other guests seated very close to us. Also tables were wide which made it difficult to have a quiet conversation. Still, we would go back many times.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

Steak was too rare when I ordered a thin line of pink. They took it back to the kitchen, charred the outside but it was still rare on the inside. Does not even compare to Ruth Chris steakhouse. Overpriced for the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on October 17, 2017

Your facility is beautiful, clean and attractive. The young woman who served us was excellent.
I opted for the special which was trout(?)taco with salad. The pieces of fish were overcooked, there was very little sauce for the taco, and the fish was covered with a few limp pieces of onion and sweet pepper. The supposed taco shells were served flat . They could barely be rolled and were so tough that they were inedible. I finally brushed the taco contents onto the lettuce only small salad and ate it. It was hardly sufficient lunch even for a small woman. The bar cookie was nice but hardly remarkable. I will not be returning or recommending your restaurant to anyone. BTW,I am a resident of Asheville and enjoy frequent lunches out with friends - but not there.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Food was great and the ambiance was cozy and wonderful. The only issue we had was that we had to ask our server for table bread and we noticed that none was brought to any of the tables near us until they asked either. Once we got it the bread was homemade and delicious. That was the only negative to an otherwise very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The atmosphere was amazing, the food was outstanding and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Live Music, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

The food was delicious, hostess was very friendly, our waitress not so much. She was rather snippy and rarely came to check on us.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.