About Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville

11 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility. After dinner, sip a signature martini or cocktail in the Red Stag Grill lounge and bar area and be entertained by local musicians.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-5600

Website:
http://www.bohemianhotelasheville.com/dining/dining.asp

Entertainment:
Wednesday through Saturday nights, 8 PM till 10 PM

Catering:
At the Grand Bohemian Hotel, exceptional events are our passion. We specialize in hosting inspiring business functions and social occasions for those who expect the absolute best in service, detail, and atmosphere. Through meticulous planning and flawless execution, we weave distinctive character and impeccable style into every event to ensure it is as memorable as it is successful. By harnessing your vision, we define an artistic direction for your gathering and deliver a professional, sophisticated affair that accomplishes all of your objectives.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking with Restaurant Validation

Executive Chef:
Scott Ostrander

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Venison Tenderloin
French Broad Martini
Strawberries
Goat Sausage
Pickled Rhubarb
Blue Cheese Grits
Goat Cheese and Leek Crostini
Braised Bison Short Ribs
Black Russian Cocktail With Espresso Kahlua
Fried Calamari
Spicy Tomato Soup
Bone-in Ribeye W/ Braised Cabbage & Twice Baked Potato
Apple & Cranberry Crumble

Private Dining

Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility.

Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Asheville
Romantic
Asheville
2 More
Special Occasion
Asheville
American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

special occasion (91)
romantic (73)
fit for foodies (61)
See All
notable wine list (49)
good for groups (29)
great for lunch (23)
neighborhood gem (21)
great for brunch (20)
vibrant bar scene (18)
late-night find (13)
hot spot (11)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I ordered the special- a black angus rib ...

Dined 4 days ago

I ordered the special- a black angus ribeye steak for $50. It had so many tendons in it that I couldn't eat half of it. I didn't complain or send it back but I'm wondering if this supplier's product was checked before serving it. We're hoping to go back on a second chance the next time we are in Asheville. Other than my steak, everything else was suppurb! I'm hoping it was a fluke. Unfortunately, a pricey fluke for us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always, great place to tak ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent as always, great place to take visitors.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, ambiance, and service. Wond ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great food, ambiance, and service. Wonderful hidden spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first, and certainly not la ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was our first, and certainly not last, visit to the restaurant. We used the hotel valet parking for which there was no charge (get your stub stamped). The dining room was elegant and spacious and the table seating was very comfortable. My wife and I both ordered the Chef's 4-Course Tasting Dinner with the wine pairings. The food was excellent across all four courses. What we thought was truly outstanding was the TIMING of our various courses. From our initial cocktail to our ending coffee, we were afforded just the perfect amount of time in between to savor and enjoy each item. We may have had on a few occasions equally good service elsewhere, but never better in our 50+ years of dining out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and the staff did a very goo ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

The service and the staff did a very good job. They all remembered our anniversary they took special time to congratulate us and wish us well. The menu had many choices that we would order on a repeat visit. The decor was very unique with many great carvings and wild game mountings

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I met friends at Red Stag ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I met friends at Red Stag for Father's Day brunch. We got there at 11:30, and the restaurant was not too busy. The menu was varied enough to appeal to everyone. We had Bananas Foster French Toast, soup and salad, hamburger and Chef's Benedict. Brad was our server, and he was terrific. He heard me say my iced tea was not outstanding, and he went to great pains to make fresh tea for me, and remembered I liked extra ice. He said his mom is very particular about her tea, too, so he understood it needed to be just right. I brought half my Benedict home, and it still tasted fresh the next day. Our friends were happy we chose Red Stag, and we were too.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Breakfast options outstanding including ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Breakfast options outstanding including absolutely the best grits!! Fresh, creamy smooth, with just the right seasoning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. It was ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. It was my Birthday, and we were celebrating a late Anniversary. The waiter made our experience special. The food was amazing, and the wine was delicious. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chophouse vibe, somewhat dark. Great for ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Chophouse vibe, somewhat dark. Great for a special occasion or small group. Sides were really tasty. The pot de crime was so refreshing after a heavy meal. Not for vegetarians.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I had the river elk lion. It was absolut ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I had the river elk lion. It was absolutely amazing. Our waiter was great. We will be going back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a nice dinner. Food and ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Great place for a nice dinner. Food and service was great

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time as great as the first

Dined on June 10, 2016

This was the second time we've eaten here, both times for our anniversary. A special place. I had the ribeye, perfectly grilled, great flavor and surprising little fat (for a ribeye). My wife had duck in a sauce she absolutely loved. We thought we had one of the best waiters ever, last year, but the young waitress we had this time was just as friendly, courteous , and attentive. She recommended a wine which we both loved. Not a place you go to weekly on a budget. But for a special occasion, well worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant -- outstanding service.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent service, all the staff made it a very comfortable and pleasant evening. We always feel that at The Red Stag they consistently exceed our expectations. Will certainly be there soon again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was phenomenal made with local ingr ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Food was phenomenal made with local ingredients. Loved the atmosphere - romantic ambience created a special evening. Wine paring with dinner was excellent and greatly appreciated.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One Year Anniversary

Dined on June 1, 2016

We were in Asheville on business+pleasure looking for a place to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary and came across Red Stag on one of the Iphone aps....highly recommended!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Very good food, nice ambience. Would rec ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Very good food, nice ambience. Would recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful brunch on Sunday with family. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Wonderful brunch on Sunday with family. Service was outstanding as was the food. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and his recommendations were perfect. We loved the steak poutine and the benedict.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Red Stag was "thee" find for us while i ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Red Stag was "thee" find for us while in Asheville. Had an interesting menu, beautiful presentation and great wines to accompany. My husband had the tasting menu but said the Elk was so good, he wished he'd ordered the full entree, as the tastings are somewhat smaller. We've been to Asheville several times and happy to have found this spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a special evening and the service ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

It was a special evening and the service, food and atmosphere fit the event. Thanks to our server for the champagne to cap the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Stag Grill

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food, ambiance, and service. It's a bit pricey but well-worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner was spectacular. The avocado lob ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Dinner was spectacular. The avocado lobster appetizer was a hit as was the Frank family chardonnay that we had with it. The elk loin was likewise fantastic and the glass of Silverado Cab was the perfect accompaniment.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3

Average food and service for a premium p ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Average food and service for a premium price. We both had the filet and is was perfectly fine...nothing special. Service was adequate...friendly and knowledgeable but again nothing special. Based on recent reviews, the restaurant seems to be relying on its reputation rather than it's culinary presentation today. There are better choices and values around Asheville.

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Food quality

Dined on May 11, 2016

Wife and I anticipated our dining experiences, which were two during our visit. Breakfast: Quality average. Presentation superb. Service average. Dinner: Halibut entree was inedible. Returned. Shrimp bisque substitute was good. Presentations were nice, but food quality did not meet pricing and expectations, especially for the published 4Start status. Would not recommend.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, nice ambiance, great service. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Good food, nice ambiance, great service. ALWAYS enjoy Red Stag.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

They changed/shrunk their brunch menu fo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

They changed/shrunk their brunch menu for Mothers Day. They offered nothing for a vegetarian or vegan. We had a vegetarian in our party and there was nothing for him to choose. In a town like Asheville, that is seriously short-sighted!

food5
ambience5
service5

OMG the food here was the best we have e ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

OMG the food here was the best we have experienced in NC so far. The elk and the filet were the best cuts of meat that were cooked to perfection. I highly recommend this place.

food4
ambience5
service5

The restaurant reminds me of a hunting l ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The restaurant reminds me of a hunting lodge but very upscale. The food was very good and the ambience was nice. The biggest drawback was the blinding menus. Not a bad idea in a dimly lit room, but difficult to use once your eyes adjust to the light. Turn down the light!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Jim

Dined on April 28, 2016

Everything was top shelf. My only suggestion is to cut back on the salt in the soup.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

great anniversary dinner

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner. The service and dinner were fantastic! I had the duck that was cooked to perfection and the tasty artichoke green onion soup. The portions were perfect and it was an all around wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Winner!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Food delicious with a nice selection of quality fresh selections. Atmosphere and service outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal

Dined on April 15, 2016

Was very pleased with everything about our meal at the Red Stage. Great service, food was delicious, and the restaurant works very hard to make sure you are happy with your food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Regretably, underwhelming.

Dined on April 14, 2016

My wife has been wanting to go up the Asheville to the Grand Bohemian since we moved here two years ago. It being her Birthday, I thought it a proper time for our first visit. We arrived for our reservation at 8:30 on a Wednesday, Valet parking was prompt, polite, and validated, all good! Restaurant not readily visible upon entry, but we found it and were seated immediately. We were greeted by a pleasant floor captain who told us our waitress would be by shortly. Five minutes later she presented us with water, and took our drink order. 15 minutes passed before I caught the floor captain, requesting he track down our drinks and waitress. Another 3-4 minutes and both appeared, with the bartender is very busy excuse. She also spilled 1/4 of my Martini, rushing the drinks to us. There were maybe 12 at the bar and another 20 including ourselves, so far from overwhelmed, was he. Though on leaving I requested change of a $20., was asked to wait why he laboriously cashed out two drink checks. Problem was part system, part individual. But I digress, we ordered a wedge salad for my wife and she crab soup for me, both were excellent but when mine arrived I was tempted to say "if I like this will you bring the rest", very tiny. My wife ordered the scallops and I, the Grass Fed Filet. The scallops were extremely over seasoned and the Filet bland, but cooked perfectly. The worst part was again while we were enjoying ourselves, the food took forever to arrive and no one stopped by to ask if we wished another drink to fill our wait. But alas, the best was yet to come, we ordered the cheese platter, filled with copious amounts of local cheese, accompanied with a torched top, soggy bottom baguette. But the cheese was delectable, and we only used the top of the baguette, a truly wonderful end to a less than memorable event. Since this was a late dinner, we will certainly try the establishment again at a more reasonable time in hope that this was an anomaly.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful Dining

Dined on April 10, 2016

We were staying at The Grand Bohemian, celebrating our anniversary, and our experience was one to remember for all the right reasons. Service was great, and the meal was a culinary delight. We had the tasting menu which included a lovely salad, scallops, grilled elk, and carrot cake...all of which were marvelous. We had never had elk before, and this was a wonderful introduction. Kudos to the chef and the entire staff there...Thanks for doing what you do so well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Would have never thought of going here for lunch, it always seemed more of a dinner place. Boy was I surprised! Their lunch was fantastic! I had the salmon sandwich ($13) with avocado and my husband had the trout ($16)...both were EXCELLENT! We had the most attentive and friendly waiter, always ready with a suggestion on what to order, what to do, what was going on in town. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Favorite

Dined on April 2, 2016

Outstanding restaurant! This was our first visit for a birthday and the food was superb, excellent selection of items, great service, and marvelous ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place. Always chic and cozy ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

I love this place. Always chic and cozy in equal measure.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service

Dined on March 27, 2016

We dined here on Easter Sunday. There was a special menu (three courses) and the choices were excellent. The best thing about the entire event was the service. Our waiter was outstanding and attended to our every need. . I had an average strawberry salad, overcooked fish with sweet potatoes for my entree, and a gooey strawberry shortcake for dessert. I had a Bloody Mary that had way too much salt. It was a nice place to go for Easter Sunday with our family. The food was just OK.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and service

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Wonderful food and service

food5
ambience5
service5

We absolutely loved our waiter!! And the ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We absolutely loved our waiter!! And the food was amazing as well!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.