Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville

Complimentary valet parking! Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility. After dinner, sip a signature martini or cocktail in the Red Stag Grill lounge and bar area and be entertained by local musicians.

11 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-5600

Website:
http://www.bohemianhotelasheville.com/dining/dining.asp

Entertainment:
Wednesday through Saturday nights, 8 PM till 10 PM

Catering:
At the Grand Bohemian Hotel, exceptional events are our passion. We specialize in hosting inspiring business functions and social occasions for those who expect the absolute best in service, detail, and atmosphere. Through meticulous planning and flawless execution, we weave distinctive character and impeccable style into every event to ensure it is as memorable as it is successful. By harnessing your vision, we define an artistic direction for your gathering and deliver a professional, sophisticated affair that accomplishes all of your objectives.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking with Restaurant Validation

Executive Chef:
Scott Ostrander

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Mom with an inspired menu crafted by our executive chef especially for this special day.

Private Dining

Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility.

Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (103)
Good for a Date (83)
Romantic (76)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Cozy (48)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Notable Wine List (40)
Fireplace (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Bar Seating (33)
Business Meals (32)
Local Ingredients (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Historic (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Authentic (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Tasting Menu (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Good for Groups (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Modern Decor (11)
Fun (10)
Seasonal (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Casual (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Live Music (8)
Private Room (8)
Healthy (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Organic (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1981 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

On the recommendation of friends, we tried the Red Stag Grill for our 38th anniversary. They did not let us down. Everyone was very friendly (not always true at high end restaurants). A novel feature I had not seen before was that the menus were back-lit, which was perfect for a dark room. Since we were on the road and had no way to deal with leftovers, we split a salad and the meal. There were no complaints and no split fee. They have a good wine list with some very good wines available by the glass. We had the Nautilus Sauvignon Blanc, which went very well with our scallops. The food was well prepared and presented. Saving the best for last, they comp'd our dessert in honor of our anniversary. The carrot cake was excellent! We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the Red Stag Grill, and may dine there again when we return to Asheville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I took my sitser in law and her husband to Easter Brunch. Brian was our waiter and he was very attentive and friendly. The Bluepoint oysters appetizer were to die for, however our entree the "ultimate eggs benedict was very rare for the tenderloin cut and both my sister in law and I sent it back to be cooked more, (we both ordered medium for the meat) The dessert was again a smash hit with generous portions! The dining room was superb! Regards, BRS

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Service & atmosphere was good but over all food was lacking flavor

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

One of the best meals we've had since moving to the Asheville area some 4 years ago!
From the moment we walked into the Bar/Restaurant we were not disappointed. The way we were treated at the bar to the gastronomic delight at dinner it was a sublime experience. Our cocktails were perfect, the roasted pear salad's flavor was a delightful mix of buttered pecans, raspberries, corn bread croutons, blue cheese crumbles and a sherry fig vinaigrette dressing was just about perfect! Our entrees of the mountain trout and the elk loin were expertly prepared, presented and enjoyed to the very last bite. If you've never experienced elk loin, this is the place to do it! Our complements to Chef Scott and his wonderful staff! Well done guys!! Looking forward to dining with you again, soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food was outstanding. The ambience was spectacular. The service was great. Server was extremely helpful and accommodating to whatever we requested. We never felt rushed even when we were the last people in the restaurant. We also met the Chef who was very personable and experienced. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I was very disappointed with this restaurant. It was more like a men's club than fine dining. Our waiter did not pay any attention to us. He got our order wrong and was very arrogant when we told him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We visited the restaurant for an anniversary dinner. Our experience was mixed. The diners beside us were speaking normally, but we could clearly hear their conversation. Some of the tables were very close together. Our waiter was attentive, so the service was good. My husband and I both had the she-crab soup, which was delicious. My husband's elk was prepared perfectly. I can not say the same for my scallops, however. They were not seared well and had a "fishy" taste. There were three medium scallops on the plate surrounded by a lot of vegetables. I do not mind spending money on excellent food, and we have dined in more expensive restaurants, but this dish did not seem worth the price of the entree.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Bad fish odor from kitchen
Waiter didn't get my drink right the way I explained it to him didn't even bother fixing it
Waiter just assumed the rest of the money was his for a tip didn't get any change back
Steak I had was burnet tasted like it was made in the back yard on a bbq
Waiter didn't listened to what we asked of him
It was our fist time we ever eaten there and we always dine at Ruth Chris
Music on the sound system was clashing with the music played by the live band at the bar and then the music in the toilets sounded like Mexican music (wow)
All and all experience was 2 out of a 10
Will not likely refer people I know to go eat there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I'm hoping this was a bad night. I very bad night. We sat at the bar and had great conversation with the bartender Brad. Very sociable and knowledgeable about the area and the restaurant scene. All was well 'til we sat. Suffice to say the food was awful. From the fried calamari to the trout and flourless chocolate cake which I'm certain it was not made on premises. We were staying at the hotel so went back the next morning for breakfast. Overpriced & barely adequate. The grits were inedible. We had 2 free breakfasts BC we are Marriott Gold Members but didn't return the next morning. Hopefully just a bad weekend. (Side note: If you can get reservations for Rhubard, go!!! Best dining experience ever from service to food!)

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This was our 6th visit and each time the food has been outstanding. There are some unique entrees that will be a new treat for many. Service is solid. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Way overpriced! It cost almost $40 for 3 scallops, cold purée and burnt Brussels sprouts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was delish. Our server, Ryan, was knowledgeable, personable & fun. He helped to make this a wonderful experience. Portions were more than ample.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Awesome restaurant, and the service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This is the best restaurant in Asheville if you love good creative food served in a cozy,elegant lodge like room with chandeliers made of tree branches and leather chairs that envelope. I love the Red Stag Grill for it's wonderful inexpensive lunch specials as well as an upscale innovative dinner menu.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Service staff was friendly, attentive and helpful. Server Corinne made excellent lunch recommendation of trout. It was seasoned well and cooked perfectly. The other components were complementary and satisfying. I would definitely order it again and recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Wonderful Business Meal here! The menu was grey and I got the Elk since I have never had it. It was not gamey at all and a little undercooked for me but they highly recommend med rare. I'm better with med and should have stuck with that. Our waiter was good and did his best to stay on top of everything considerinf we were such a large group. I highly recommend The Red Stag and would return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Wedding Anniversary. Food was delicious. Service exceptional. My husband and sat near the window but if I have a choice I'd rather sit further in near the elk head on the wall. We will return. Impressive dining for bringing guests. Our waiter, Brian, was very attentive and most pleasant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely dinner to celebrate our 40 th anniversary.

Our dinner from appetizers to dessert was superb.

We were spoiled by chapagne and dessert by the waiter.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The hotel is an architectual beauty and the restaurant is warm and a thing of beauty also but the food and service were mediocore. Loved the ambiance of the restaurant but disappointed in the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We had breakfast one day, lunch another and then dinner. Enjoyed the food and service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We were spending our 55th anniversary in Asheville and wanted a special place to go for dinner. The Red Stag was recommended. It was a great place to dine. The service was out standing. The ambiance was fabulous. The food was very worth our visit. Champagne A+. Glad we went!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The Elk was delicious!

Tags: Live Music, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Very quiet. Very good food. The wait staff could have been more present.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary. I had the chef tasting menu with the wine pairings and my husband had the she crab soup with the elk. David was a wonderful server and asset to the restaurant. Will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We could not have been more disappointed in our experience. Despite having an Open Table reservation, the front office staff was disorganized and confused. We waited 10 minutes to be seated and another 15 to even have a waitress. Then another 10 for water and another 10 for coffee which was lukewarm and had to sent back. No refills on coffee or water unless prompted. Our bloody Mary's would have come at the END of our meal, had the meal arrived within 30 mins (which it didn't). The food was ok but not great. We were there for a happy reunion-type occasion so really wanted to enjoy it. Such a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great ambiance and exceptional food! I would dine here again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Red Stag Grill never disappoints. With family in Tennessee and NC, this has earned its spot as our fave spot to meet halfway. They have perhaps the most gracious staff east of the Mississippi. The local trout entree was superb. The chef cheerfully accommodated dietary restrictions, and the server never batted an eye. Desserts were creative and delicious. Can't wait till it's time to meet here again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Organic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We keep returning to the Red Stag because....the ambiance is perfection....the waitstaff is outstanding....the menu has choices to please everyone's pallet....the food is delicious....we have always had a wonderful, relaxing meal! Special requests....just ASK....chef could not be more accommodating. The Grand Bohemian Hotel is a gem - guaranteed to please even the pickiest perfectionist!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is a fun place to dine. The design is fun and interesting, the staff really attentive and the food was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food: Hunt Board, Lamb & Trout.
Lamb chop was fantastic and overshadowed the lamb shank. The Trout was good as was the hunt board. Mushroom & farro was superb.

Ambience and service.
For around $30 a plate, you expect a certain level of service that we didn't receive. The bar area had a great live pianist and wonderful ambience but, walking back into the main dining area it was a lot less lively and a lot more quiet.

Overall:
Based on the ratings & reviews, I was very hopeful but left underwhelmed. Maybe we caught it on an off night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was creative and plentiful and the service from entry to leaving was outstanding. Of special pleasure was our server, David A., who added to our experience and was beyond helpful with food and drink recommendations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

A lovely but expensive restaurant in the Grand Bohemian Hotel in Asheville, NC. It is very dim in the restaurant but they do have lighted menus so that was a big help. Our dinners of rib-eye steak and halibut were excellent. When we had a little mishap at our table, the immediate efficiency and concern of Andrea, the restaurant manager, was nothing short of wonderful. She took care of everything in a quick and low-key manner. We would return to any restaurant where someone of her caliber was in charge. Our waiter's service was fine; a little slow but we weren't in a hurry. We both thoroughly enjoyed the Red Stag Grill and will stay at the Grand Bohemian Hotel on our to Asheville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The Red Stag was awesome. The food was wonderful and our waiter was a gem.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

there was a grandmother playing a continuous stuffed toy birthday song at the next table
the child was not the problem as she was well behaved but the repetitive song ruined our dining experience for a quiet romantic outing. they drank and became louder with raucous laughter as the nite progressed

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

First date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Atmosphere was fabulous. Food was good but not as good as I had expected given the price. Our waiter was informative but could have been more attentive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I usually don't review restaurants but I was so upset by my experience at Red Stag Grille that I felt compelled to say something...

My husband and I made a reservation here for our first wedding anniversary. They lost our reservation and then told us that they had given our table away. They then sat us at a table with a view of McDonalds, complete with street lights blaring in our faces.

Our server was miserable--he was serving maybe 3-4 tables but it took him a VERY LONG time to assist us with simple things like refilling our water. At the end of the meal, we actually looked around for him to bring us the check because we hadn't seen him in so long.

The food was mediocre. Absolutely NOT worth the price paid. We both ordered the filet and they both came out really charred (not like a good sear charred, but like burnt charred).

In addition, the photos with the red mood lighting are a farce--while the atmosphere was nice, it was certainly not as romantic as depicted.

Overall, it was a negative experience and I definitely would not recommend it.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I took my daughter to Asheville for some 'girl' time. She had the Lamb, which was excellent. I had the duck which was good, but the skin could have been a little more crisp (the risotto was awesome!). Overall, very good for reasonable (not cheap) price.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was our 5th visit to The Red Stag and it continues to be one of the top restaurants we've ever encountered. The food is always excellent. The service is outstanding. Always just the right amount of formality mixed with Southern hospitality. The decor is comforting and very mountain lodge style with a little modern flair mixed in. We cant speak highly enough and recommend The Red Stag to everyone we know making the trip to Asheville. We will come back again and again in the years to come, I'm sure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday weekend and staying at the Grand Bohemian. It was a pleasure to be able to relax and not have to drive anywhere different for dinner. The four course, wine paired dinner was excellent from the salad to the carrot cake! The scallops were excellent and the elk never disappoints! All of the wine pairings were spot on. We'll be back!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.