Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville

Complimentary valet parking! Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility. After dinner, sip a signature martini or cocktail in the Red Stag Grill lounge and bar area and be entertained by local musicians.

11 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-5600

Website:
http://www.bohemianhotelasheville.com/dining/dining.asp

Entertainment:
Wednesday through Saturday nights, 8 PM till 10 PM

Catering:
At the Grand Bohemian Hotel, exceptional events are our passion. We specialize in hosting inspiring business functions and social occasions for those who expect the absolute best in service, detail, and atmosphere. Through meticulous planning and flawless execution, we weave distinctive character and impeccable style into every event to ensure it is as memorable as it is successful. By harnessing your vision, we define an artistic direction for your gathering and deliver a professional, sophisticated affair that accomplishes all of your objectives.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking with Restaurant Validation

Executive Chef:
Scott Ostrander

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility.

Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (73)
Romantic (57)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
See All
Good for a Date (49)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Cozy (32)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Notable Wine List (29)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Local Ingredients (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Business Meals (22)
Authentic (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Good for Groups (16)
Tasting Menu (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Live Music (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Fireplace (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
People Watching (5)
Casual (5)
Fun (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Historic (4)
Private Room (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2062 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 3 days ago

I was pleasantly suprised dining here ! The service was top notch the food was amazingly delicious! The atmosphere was so nice ! I can't wait to
Return !

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

Red Stag was wonderful on every level. The steaks were well seasoned and cooked perfectly medium rare. The flavor of the steak was incredible. Wine list is well chosen, with prices up and down the spectrum. Stopped for a nightcap at the bar and stayed for 1 1/2 hours!
Going back next week with two other couples. Can't wait.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Perfect spot for a special occasion. Menu offers wonderful choice - delicious soups, salads and elk, beef, fish . Service is wonderful . Great decor.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent restaurant! Service was superb. Incredible vodka martini with blue cheese stuffed olives. Steak was great but elk was out of this world! Great ambiance & artwork. I'd go back in a minute.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Wonderful meal in a peaceful, elegant setting. The 4-course elk dinner is delicious and well worth the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great spot, had wine for $63, found it next day @ grocery for $16
Called back a couple of times, spoke w Peter
About outrageous 4x cost
Basically tough, that's the way w restaurants
Will NOT be back
NO try to make it Right
D D
C 615 390 6055

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Delicious food, great wine selections, fresh ingredients and excellent service. This is an upscale place we try to return to at least once a year for a special occasion as a treat for ourselves.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent dinner and service...best ribeye and the quail appetizer is not to be missed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Very impressed with this experience! I absolutely love the ambiance and environment of Red Stag. We will definitely be back again very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent food and service not the typical bland hotel food, setting or service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our meal and entire dining experience were outstanding! The piano player did a wonderful job adding to the overall ambiance. My friends and I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Red Stag is in my neighborhood, so I go frequently with friends and sit at the bar. The bar is super cozy and often has live music, but not intrusive. Piano or solo guitar. It feels quite communal and fun. Recently, I decided my friend and I should sit at a table as we needed a bit of privacy. It was a different experience for sure. I wasn't happy with where we were first seated (across from a large bridal party) and they happily changed our table. The trout was some of the best I've had and the presentation was beautiful and unique. I wish I had taken a photo.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We were really hoping for a special dinner at this restaurant. We had a reservation at a different restaurant, which we cancelled on advice of another couple to eat here. We were underwhelmed. The salad was the only dish we liked and the Filet was tasteless and dry. Extremely expensive too. I do not understand the hype -- and the deer antlers covering the walls was not my thing either. It really gets an "eh" rating.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Sat at the bar prior to dining. Nice wine list to accompany a great meal.
We had a filet and scallops. Both dishes were prepared perfectly. Very nice dining room with a very cool vibe going on.
Loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The service started a little slow, but picked up after the first course. The food is great, so is the presentation. The elk was excellent. We shall return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We met family members at Red Stag for breakfast during the July 4th weekend, and unfortunately were disappointed. We had heard wonderful things about dinner, but the 3 of us had the omelette, and it was dry, over-cooked and tasteless. It was almost like a pre-made , purchased product that had been heated up. The waffles were fine and the prices were okay, but we didn't expect mediocrity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

You walk into a beautiful lobby, then turn to the left into a red ceilinged bar with romantic lighting. Seated on time and taken to a beautiful table. The service was amazing. We ordered the halibut and the elk. Both were delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Meal was delicious and we really liked our server. The only thing is we did book for our anniversary dinner and not one person acknowledged it as each restaurant has always in the past. I booked through open table. Maybe call and make it known to the restaurant before hand.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Enjoyed the building as much as I enjoyed breakfast. Very beautiful and elegant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Seasonal, Late-night Find, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Fabulous. The Alaskan Halibut was wonderful, well prepared. Ordered a side asparagus risotto with a bit of lemon zest, which was as good as I've had anywhere in the world. My wife had the duck breast, which too was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Began the evening with a Prosecco and elderberry aperitif and I had a barrel aged manhattan. Spouse had entree of halibut and mine was elk loin. Both were excellent. Nice wine selection by the glass or bottle and we each paired up a glass with our entree. For desert we shared a grilled lemon pound cake with blueberries and ice-cream. The service was great and we had a very enjoyable evening. Kudos!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Amazing, spectacular dining. David A was our waiter, very knowledgeable about the menu and the wine, but also just a super nice guy! Highly recommend, will probably return and we're only here for 3 days!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 27, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed the Elk Loin and Halibut. The lemon pound cake with vanilla ice cream was great too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Both of us had the Chef's Four-Course Tasting Menu with premium wine pairings - perfect proportions and although I had a little trepidation about the Elk Steak, fell in love with the first bite. The staff was courteous, professional and at the top of their game - highly recommended!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great meal and experience!! Would definitely recommend. Cold-smoked filet was awesome!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was our third visit to the Red Stag and the experience measured up to the previous two. We're particularly fond of the Chef's 4-course dinner with wine pairings. All four courses were excellent and the selected wines fit perfectly. What we appreciate even more than the excellent food is the service! On every one of our visits, the timing of the arrival of each course was simply perfect. We had sufficient time to relax and chat a bit and then just when our palate was about to say, what's next...it would arrive. The wait staff were open and friendly. We couldn't ask for anything more.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Amazing location that took great care of us while serving great food. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was amazing. Service was slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The ambiance of this restaurant (and hotel/overall) is a crossover of castle/lodge. It's kind of a dark renaissance feel. Everything was first class as far as reception, service, etc. To me it was a "been there, done that" experience - not somewhere I would be dying to return to.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Another perfect meal at Red Stag with special friends. Menu always varied and tempts one to try something different.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 22, 2017

This is a beautiful and unique hotel and restaurant. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Angel our server was excellent. The meal was great and dessert was beautifully presented. This is truly a great memory.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Red Stag is a gem on the Asheville restaurant scene. It never, ever disappoints. Martinis are excellent, variety of menu choices is never routine and service is always top drawer. Besides, the menus themselves evoke a smile and a grand beginning to the meal!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Very disappointed due to we was wanting Fathers Day chefs course meal and was told all we could have was brunch😒😒😒

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Loved using open table to book my reservations for our visiting friends Red Staig was a great place for a light dinner and a glass of wine. Love this place

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Another great meal, as they've never failed to deliver on our anniversary. My steak was done perfectly, and had an interesting treatment 'cold smoked'. Harrison, our waiter was friendly, efficient and attentive and helped us pick out a great wine. Generally the ambience is great, but this night there were two large groups with loud kids that did detract from an otherwise perfect night. Still very enjoyable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Amazing food, awesome service. The quail appetizer was delicious! The Elk loin was fabulous! And a must have...the grilled lemon pound cake with honey tyme ice cream!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Not lacking for anything! Food was amazing and prepared perfectly! Glasses never went empty!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Poor and slow service. Pretentious menu that did not deliver. Do not know what medium rare is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Special birthday for my husband. Our server, Brian, was excellent!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Awesome experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.