Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville

Complimentary valet parking! Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility. After dinner, sip a signature martini or cocktail in the Red Stag Grill lounge and bar area and be entertained by local musicians.

11 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-5600

Website:
http://www.bohemianhotelasheville.com/dining/dining.asp

Entertainment:
Wednesday through Saturday nights, 8 PM till 10 PM

Catering:
At the Grand Bohemian Hotel, exceptional events are our passion. We specialize in hosting inspiring business functions and social occasions for those who expect the absolute best in service, detail, and atmosphere. Through meticulous planning and flawless execution, we weave distinctive character and impeccable style into every event to ensure it is as memorable as it is successful. By harnessing your vision, we define an artistic direction for your gathering and deliver a professional, sophisticated affair that accomplishes all of your objectives.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking with Restaurant Validation

Executive Chef:
Scott Ostrander

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility.

Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (87)
Good for a Date (64)
Romantic (64)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Cozy (47)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Worth the Drive (36)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Notable Wine List (32)
Fireplace (30)
Local Ingredients (29)
Bar Seating (28)
Business Meals (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Tasting Menu (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Historic (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Authentic (17)
Good for Groups (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Healthy (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Live Music (7)
Casual (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Fun (7)
Seasonal (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Private Room (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Organic (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
2015 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was excellent but our experience was less than savory due to a very non-attentive server. We had gotten engaged hours before or dinner and were very much looking forward to celebrating and left upset after the experience. From what we gathered, this was not true to the majority of the establishment as other wait staff seemed to be very friendly and engaging. It's a shame we got unlucky on our special night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We enjoy the Red Stag every time we are in town. Consistently good and one of the best restaurant/bar ambiances in town. Our bartender went out of his way to make our pre-dining experience a pleasure even setting up our table in advance for us with having our decanted wine prepared and ready when we sat down to eat. Our server was not as attentive and knowing it was our anniversary it disappointed us a little that we received not the standard quality service we have come to expect from this wonderful restaurant. All told, the food was great (except the asparagus resotto) and the carrot cake was one of the best we've had.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We enjoyed ever minute. I enjoy this place every time I come and will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Waiter was friendly and knowledgeable Food was really good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was wonderful. The food in particular was fabulous: presentation, tastes, the whole experience. With such fine food, I expected a more extensive wine list. What we found was very, very fine. We simply had a limited range. The experience was bordering on A+.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was supposed to be our anniversary dinner, but was a significantly frustrating experience. Drink I ordered was very odd tasting and being a bartender in the past I don't think it was measured correctly as it lacked the proper amount of whiskey. I instead sent back the drink nearly full and asked for a glass of wine (which the server couldn't describe other than everyone likes it). Also when we placed our order for an appetizer, our waiter returned about 7 minutes later and asked if we wanted to order an appetizer even though we had just told him. Our waiter was odd and described the items in a very confusing way. He mentioned he was new at it, but did not know the menu well enough. I ordered the elk medium rare and wife ordered the trout. Waiter also mentioned multiple times he would return with bread but never did. Steak came out sliced in 3 pieces for presentation and was obviously well done. Asked it to be remade and had to wait for over 10 minutes while my wife ate dinner. During the time of our experience here I saw the food and beverage manager horsing around with staff in plain view of all the customers loud enough for me to hear across the restaurant. She finally brought the elk out and I asked why she had sent the well done one originally and she just brushed off the question and told me to try the elk and she would come right back; she never returned. No manager ever came to our table. Food was bland at best. It should have been a sign that the restaurant was dead for Mother's Day. Wife wasn't happy with her fish since it was described oddly and wasn't what she wanted as well as tasting off. Was surprised to notice they went ahead and charged me for my drink I sent back. All in all one of the worst dining experiences I've had. Andrea the food and beverage manager should not be in her position if she is going to mess around with staff making inappropriate noises and not paying attention to the food being prepared. We will Never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sumptuous environment. Restaurant manager graciously accommodated our request to reduce the totally unpleasant "happening" music that was reverberating throughout the dining room and competing, as well, with the live musician in the bar area (who was using far too much electronic amplification). We were there, after all, to enjoy our repast as we conversed with each other; one should not have to speak in an overly loud voice for the person across the table to hear you. If I wanted to go to a nightclub, I would have done that, but I wanted a meal. The server's wine r commendation was good. My quail appetizer was awesome. The elk loin might have awesome as well had it, the vegetables, and the potatoes even approached room temperature. The server was not to be found at this point. The reduction served with the elk was exquisitely done, albeit somewhat tepid. I suspect that my plate sat around for a while while waiting for my guest's meal to be plated. There's a great deal of potential at this restaurant, but it just was not realized that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Atmosphere was a bit dark and heavy. If you like castles or dungeons, it will please you. Food was OK. Again fairly traditional and lots of meat and potatoes. Better than most Marriott Hotels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Located in Biltmore Village which is nice. Hotel is funky decor like a hunting mansion with antlier everything, stuffed animals, fun decor and nice staff. Bar and restaurant the same with antlier chandeliers. Fun place to go and good food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Over the years, we've loved the Red Stag here in Asheville, but our last visit was not up to par. Food and food prep were not great. We'll likely give it another chance, but we left a little disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We were staying at the hotel for two nights and had reservations the second night for a restaurant in the village. We had been in town five weeks earlier and had stayed at the Omni and loved the restaurants there but not the room. We decided to eat at the Red Stag to compare. The Red Stag was a nice restaurant. The antlers everywhere were fun. Service was fine. We were seated back in a corner but that wasn't a problem. I had the halibut and my husband had the whole trout. I had a salad and my husband had chowder. I had two glasses of wine and my husband had two local beers. Our bill was $174. Not out of line and very comparable to our meal at the Sunset Terrace but the view and service level were not at the same level. My husband's trout looked very interesting and he really liked his. My halibut was a bit dried out but not a problem. My salad must have been okay but I really don't remember it.

We ate breakfast in the Red Stag both mornings as part of a package I bought. $41 would have been excessive if not part of the package. Again...service was adequate but not great. We were stuck in the far back corner the second day again! She would have moved us but just seemed weird since it wasn't busy at all in the mornings.
The rest of the services at the hotel were OUTSTANDING.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food and service. Expensive. On a par price-wise to other top restaurants in Asheville. Ours was a special-occasion dinner so our experience was worth it. The lunch menu has more options than the dinner menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We enjoyed our meal as always, especially the location of our table. Service and food exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Enjoyable dinner - food exceptional especially the hunt platter appetizer. Steaks were also great. The lighted menu's were surprising but needed since the room is quite dark.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great meal, great service, wonderful ambiance

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was amazing. From the time we arrived until we left.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great service by talented and attentive staff. The food was cooked perfectly, all around a great night out!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This is the third time I have eaten at the Red Stag Grill. The food is always outstanding, the presentation beautiful, and the service was efficient, but not noticeable. The restaurant itself is quite beautiful and I love the lighted menus!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We were celebrating my retirement and my spouse's birthday; and spent several days in Asheville. This restaurant was superb; the service, food and atmosphere were wonderful. We will definitely return next time we are in the area. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent ambiance... the music is there in the background, but table conversation is easy. The scallops were prepared perfectly and were served in a beautiful presentation You won't want to miss it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Outstanding food and service. A very nice, quiet atmosphere perfect for dining and conversation. A true Asheville gem that hasn't really been discovered yet. We have had lunch, brunch, and dinner here and all have been wonderful experiences. And extra benefits are being able to stroll through the art gallery before or after your meal and then cross the street and be in Biltnore village.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I was very disappointed in this fancy expensive restaurant. If you like stuffed animal heads EVERYWHERE this place is for you.
But more importantly, the food was pedestrian. I had a Caesar salad that bore no resemblance to any Caesar I've had before. Romaine with an unremarkable vinaigrette. Not worth finishing. I had a $34 ribeye steak that was served warm. It was nothing more than a common supermarket steak. My wife's Elk loin was better but also served warm. The vegetables were fine.
Overall, simply nothing special; fancy place with mediocre food; good service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Overall service was very good. A bit dark and closed off. Food was not bad but a bit overpriced for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were in Asheville to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the Red Stag had been recommended to us from a friend at home. It is a very cozy restaurant. We each had a Caeser salad that was very good. My husband ordered the bison, which he found to be acceptable. I ordered the filet, medium rare and was terribly disappointed. The filet was quite tough...we are accustomed to steak that literally melts in your mouth. For the amount that we paid for this meal, I was quite displeased, and would not visit this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We celebrated a 24th wedding anniversary there, no comparison to other establishments that in the past would provide a card or complimentary desert, nothing and nothing special. Not likely to go back for a special occasion, but if staying at the hotel again and didn't feel like going out, may go back for that reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My date and I were very impressed. I don't think I could find a complaint if I wanted to. From the time we walked in until the time we left it was a great experience. The meals and desert were perfect. You just wanted to savor every bite.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We took our children, they're spouses, and our grandchild for my husband's 50th birthday celebration. Food and service were excellent but the prices were way too high for the amount of food servered. Very decorative plates with very little food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 25, 2017

There isn't much about this place that's not extravagant...but still worth the price. Amazing food and decor.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Private Room, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The service was excellent! The food was really delicious and seasonal. We really enjoyed spending our anniversary there! The decor is really unique and it made our special occasion seem extra special!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our first time, but not our last! Everything we had was delicious, as promised by our server. It was hard to choose, so many selections were right up our alley. We had a lovely table and felt quite comfortable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fantastic meal , beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

My hotel guest recommended the restaurant. The décor was a bit heavy and dark and I would recommend changing the window dressings and the napkin color. If you like a sporting lodge look use white or a plaid with red and gray.The bar area was more upbeat and the bar menu was very good, particularly the salads and the fried green tomatoes. Cocktails were generous, visually appealing and well-made. The home-made vermouth needs more zing. Breakfasts in the main restaurant were especially well presented and tasty, particularly the Eggs Benedict, which we ordered two days in a row and which came each day on different plates, which we thought was a nice touch. An all-around winner, a real "10" was the grits - perfectly seasoned and textured. For our main dinner I ordered the duck which was a large portion configured with equally generous amounts of vegetables. While cooked perfectly, I recommend you use a breast with more fat. Our server suggested I pair with a zinfandel and it was a good match. Also the choice of blueberry port as a dessert drink complemented the dinner. Overall very good dining experiences at this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

On the recommendation of friends, we tried the Red Stag Grill for our 38th anniversary. They did not let us down. Everyone was very friendly (not always true at high end restaurants). A novel feature I had not seen before was that the menus were back-lit, which was perfect for a dark room. Since we were on the road and had no way to deal with leftovers, we split a salad and the meal. There were no complaints and no split fee. They have a good wine list with some very good wines available by the glass. We had the Nautilus Sauvignon Blanc, which went very well with our scallops. The food was well prepared and presented. Saving the best for last, they comp'd our dessert in honor of our anniversary. The carrot cake was excellent! We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the Red Stag Grill, and may dine there again when we return to Asheville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I took my sitser in law and her husband to Easter Brunch. Brian was our waiter and he was very attentive and friendly. The Bluepoint oysters appetizer were to die for, however our entree the "ultimate eggs benedict was very rare for the tenderloin cut and both my sister in law and I sent it back to be cooked more, (we both ordered medium for the meat) The dessert was again a smash hit with generous portions! The dining room was superb! Regards, BRS

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Service & atmosphere was good but over all food was lacking flavor

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

One of the best meals we've had since moving to the Asheville area some 4 years ago!
From the moment we walked into the Bar/Restaurant we were not disappointed. The way we were treated at the bar to the gastronomic delight at dinner it was a sublime experience. Our cocktails were perfect, the roasted pear salad's flavor was a delightful mix of buttered pecans, raspberries, corn bread croutons, blue cheese crumbles and a sherry fig vinaigrette dressing was just about perfect! Our entrees of the mountain trout and the elk loin were expertly prepared, presented and enjoyed to the very last bite. If you've never experienced elk loin, this is the place to do it! Our complements to Chef Scott and his wonderful staff! Well done guys!! Looking forward to dining with you again, soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food was outstanding. The ambience was spectacular. The service was great. Server was extremely helpful and accommodating to whatever we requested. We never felt rushed even when we were the last people in the restaurant. We also met the Chef who was very personable and experienced. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I was very disappointed with this restaurant. It was more like a men's club than fine dining. Our waiter did not pay any attention to us. He got our order wrong and was very arrogant when we told him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We visited the restaurant for an anniversary dinner. Our experience was mixed. The diners beside us were speaking normally, but we could clearly hear their conversation. Some of the tables were very close together. Our waiter was attentive, so the service was good. My husband and I both had the she-crab soup, which was delicious. My husband's elk was prepared perfectly. I can not say the same for my scallops, however. They were not seared well and had a "fishy" taste. There were three medium scallops on the plate surrounded by a lot of vegetables. I do not mind spending money on excellent food, and we have dined in more expensive restaurants, but this dish did not seem worth the price of the entree.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.