About Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville

11 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Complimentary valet parking! Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility. After dinner, sip a signature martini or cocktail in the Red Stag Grill lounge and bar area and be entertained by local musicians.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-5600

Website:
http://www.bohemianhotelasheville.com/dining/dining.asp

Entertainment:
Wednesday through Saturday nights, 8 PM till 10 PM

Catering:
At the Grand Bohemian Hotel, exceptional events are our passion. We specialize in hosting inspiring business functions and social occasions for those who expect the absolute best in service, detail, and atmosphere. Through meticulous planning and flawless execution, we weave distinctive character and impeccable style into every event to ensure it is as memorable as it is successful. By harnessing your vision, we define an artistic direction for your gathering and deliver a professional, sophisticated affair that accomplishes all of your objectives.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking with Restaurant Validation

Executive Chef:
Scott Ostrander

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility.

Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (93)
Good for Anniversaries (78)
Good for a Date (77)
See All
Romantic (64)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Cozy (46)
Fireplace (40)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Notable Wine List (38)
Business Meals (33)
Local Ingredients (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Bar Seating (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Great for Lunch (20)
Historic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Authentic (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Modern Decor (13)
Happy Hour (10)
Fun (10)
Seasonal (10)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Live Music (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Private Room (7)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1926 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

40th birthday celebration

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I had a wonderful lunch there with my girlfriends. The food was excellent and the service superb!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We went with a friend who has enjoyed the Red Stag very much for weekday lunch several times, so he had assumed that brunch on Sunday, which was the only menu available although we had a reservation for 2:15, would be very good, too. It wasn't. We all ordered what was billed as a roasted duck and wild boar hash with caremlized onions. The onions were not carmelized; they were merely sautéed and limp. The dish comprised a little bit of duck; somewhat more boar in the form of a mild, tough sausage with little flavor; and copious amounts of the cheap ingredient, roasted potatoes. For $18 we all thought it was a total rip-off.

The wait staff seemed poorly trained. Our waiter, a young man, started by saying his name and telling us he would "be taking care of" us, and he called me (aged 67) "My dear." That's not the sort of behavior we expected in a restaurant in a hotel of its purported calibre. My husband had to flag him down later to get more water; the first glass itself was cracked so he had to send it back. We were one of three tables in the place so the staff could not have been busy.

We were near a sideboard where there were pitchers of water, napkins, silverware, and so on. One waitress pouring water into glasses spilled a puddle of it on the floor, just to the right of our friend, who is in his 80s, and who might have slipped and fell had we not seen the spill. She just looked at it and left it on the floor until another patron, who passed by our table on his way out, said something to my husband about the water. Then the man said to waitress, "That's $500 million waiting to happen." At that point she got rag and wiped it up.

Most disappointing. Our friend says the Thursday lunch menu is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We often meet at Red Stag for Sunday Brunch. The wait staff is personable and professional. The chef is top notch and all of the food is fabulous. The atmosphere is relaxing and elegant. It is one of our favorite spots in Asheville. And...if you HATE trying to find a parking spot downtown, there is complimentary valet parking for dining guests.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had reservations for brunch Sunday 2-19 and arrived about 5 minutes early. We were told by the hostess that she “had been told not to seat anyone for a while because the kitchen was backed up”. It was suggested that we wait at the bar so we did even though we could see that there were lots of empty tables and would have preferred to be seated in the dining room to sip our wine and mimosas while we waited for our food.

The bartender told us that they were busier than they had expected to be. We ordered drinks and sat at bar for 15 minutes. Then someone came and told us he could seat us after we “closed out” at the bar. In my experience, most upscale restaurants will transfer your bar tab to your dining check so that you only have one receipt to deal with. So, the service person waited while we settled up at the bar. He did not offer to transport our carafe of mimosas or wine glasses to the dining room, again something that usually happens at an upscale place.

After we were seated in the dining room (still lots of empty tables), we waited another 15 minutes before anyone took our order and were told that there was some confusion about who was supposed to wait on us.

Good news is, my entrée – salmon tartine- was very good (my husband was less enthused about his). Bad news is, we probably won’t be back. Too many other choices in Asheville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The steaks were horrible. A very inferior cut of beef. The elk was ice cold. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great experience at the red stag. Food was on point. Service to match. Look and feel of the dining room was awesome. We sat across from the kitchen, was an amazing experience to watch the crew at work. My only complaint was the table. This place was packed when we visited, for our anniversary. Our table for 2,could have been for 4. With the busy chatter, it made it hard to converse with my wife. But that is nit picking. We will be back. A lot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Room temperature calamari and firm fried green tomatoes left much to be desired. Truffle fries were good as was the mimosa. The ambiance is not worth the price you pay for mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food. Wonderful wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We had Amazing food and great service. The ambiance was so relaxing and unique. It was a very special way to spend out 10th wedding anniversary and we would love to go back. We even received our deserts complimentary- totally unexpected. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Just was...... everything was setting up to deliver an amazing meal but then fell short. Food wasn't near the expectations. Service and ambiance was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Ambiance is initial attraction as you walk in the Grand Bohemian lobby, and especially so on a very cold, windy evening and pull up a chair beside a roaring fire. This was a day after Valentine's dinner date with our four year old granddaughter. My reservation request for a booth was honored, they were prepared with child's menu, crayons, and chocolate milk. Our server was very friendly and attentive. Chicken tenders met with granddaughter's approval as did the halibut and short rib for my husband and me. Lovely experience and would definitely recommend for special occasions or just when you feel like a cozy spot to dine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great hotel and Red Stag did not disappoint. We were there for breakfast, cocktails, and Valentine's Day dinner. Staff and service was impeccable. We loved the interior design and the ambiance. A must visit while in Asheville NC.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a romantic Valentine's day dinner at the Red Stag. The ambiance was lovely, the service was impeccable, and the menu, ah the menu. We had elk. It was cooked to perfection. The meal was well timed, the pairing of vegetable, sauce and meat was perfect. The red velvet cake was sublime. We were guests at the hotel and enjoyed several really good breakfasts there as well, but that Valentine's Day meal was "the bomb".

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time and wonderful meal! David A. was our waiter and did a commendable PLUS job. He was knowledgable of all menu choices, made suggestions, and made sure all food came out right on time. The valentines dinner was great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

They were so kind and called when we left our Valentines Day cards. It was a wonderful dinner with great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the Sunday brunch. The red stag potatoes that are offered with most of the entrees are really exceptional. I particularly enjoyed the sausage omelette with cheese grits.

Those who had the bloody marys were especially impressed. Very tasty.

The service was prompt and efficient. Very professional staff and a unique atmosphere. One- of- a- kind place.

All in all a very pleasant experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

David A was our server and he was amazing. The food was great, and the atmosphere was fantastic.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great atmosphere and some of the coolest/unique decor I've seen. Great for date, business meeting or just a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was a Valentines dinner for my husband and I without kids!

Food was great as well as the service. Atmosphere was good but just a bit noisy.

Overall good experience!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The decor, the Romantic atmosphere, and a great meal. I had the short ribs and my wife had the scallops. Both were delicious. The wine list is very extensive. The service was out standing. I look forward to going there again

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was wonderful! Recommend the trout and duck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I decided to have a rare date night out without our daughter to The Red Stag. It was our first time there and it truly impressed us. From the valet to the entire dining experience, the night was amazing! The food was absolutely outstanding! Our Server, Paul was the best in that he was extremely attentive and so respectful of our conversation and time together. The restaurant is beautiful and the décor is just stunning. Super romantic restaurant that knows how to give people the best dining experience possible!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great spot for anniversary or Birthday!!

Great food- steaks

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My first time in Asheville, and I must say I was impressed. Especially with Red Stag. This place was beautiful and the service was impeccable. Our server Jeanie (sp?) was tentative, but gave us enough space to enjoy our date. We were celebrating my birthday, and I have to say this place is perfect for a special occasion. The front desk, the bartender, and all of the servers were amazing. We ordered the crab cake, filet, and bison hanger steak. All were delicious. We would have ordered dessert as well but a lovely couple offered us a piece of their anniversary cake as a tradition, so we couldn't turn down free cake! It was made by the pastry chef there, so complements to them. We will be back!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were here for a romantic weekend and staying in the hotel for dinner was well worth it. We also had two breakfasts here. The service and ambiance were fabulous. The food was very good, but not outstanding. The combinations were terrific, but the duck breast was not very tender and was very salty. The drinks were great and had a great variety, including new twists on old favorites. The flourless chocolate black forest cake was to die for! The breakfasts were very tasty, esp the housemade sauasge omelette with carmelized onions!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good food, good service, could be a little quieter for a romantic date, overall pleased but be prepared for an expensive meal. Dinner for 2 over $200 with wine parings. Elk was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

All in all a really great restaurant. Great service. Solid choice though a bit expensive but you,' d pay more for less elsewhere. Worth it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I took my wife here while on our honeymoon. The restaurant itself was beautiful and very romantic. The staff was incredibly nice and attentive. We both ordered the 4 course tasting menu and everything was phenomenal! Easily one of the best meals I've ever had. Perfect for a special occasion or date night!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Unusual decor. Delicious food. Lots of good sounding items on the menu. The carpaccio and the lamb entree were wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 7, 2017

As always the Red Stag Grill didn't disappoint. Excellent meal with excellent attentive service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I took my parents to the Red Stag for their anniversary and called ahead to see if they could make the experience extra special for us. The staff was very kind in accommodating me. They seated us in a private area, they had a bottle of Prosecco waiting for us at the table when we arrived, and treated us to dessert. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was very unique. The waiter was kind and sociable. My parents enjoyed the dinner immensely and I will definitely come back to this restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

this is where we go for our special occasions. Was our 6th wedding anniversary. Terrific service and wonderful meals. The only thing that bothers me there are the deer heads on the wall. I know that is the theme, but it makes me so sad.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent ambiance great service proper for any occasion great to come with friends family alone or worth a group. Food is wonderful and great selection

Tags: Historic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Healthy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Gourment cuisine with great atmosphere. Eating at Red Stag Grill is an experience. The menu provide lots of amazing choices, the wine list is extensive and the service and feel is five star but cozy not stuffy. We had the tasting menu and were please with the choices and tastes. The wine pairings complimented the food and were plentiful. The server was happy to make small modifications to accommodate preferences and the kitchen delivered exceptionally. Highly recommend for special occasion or 5 star experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Service and food are outstanding. Being local and able to go in the "off season" makes it even better.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Beautiful ambiance and creative decor. We enjoyed an excellent lunchwith superb service, then visited the adjoining gallery for a glimpse of some stunning local art. A lovely experience!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Loved the individual attention and the level of detail. Would entertain here again...food was excellent. Service was impeccable...thank you for a memorable evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great seasonal and regional cuisine. Wonderful, bar and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Lovely dinner here for my husband's birthday. Cocktails were well crafted, so we'd go back even for a drink at the bar.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Lovely atmosphere, you know you are in the mountains. Service was spot. The food was delicious, I had the Elk and it was tender, rich and melted in your mouth. We ended the meal with the best carrot cake I have ever had. Portions very generous. I recommend sharing. Wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The waiter was OK. He just wasn't over friendly.

I thought the food was just OK. Very pricey for the plate. The side orders that came with the steaks were very small and pricey on top of the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Asked for a booth with the reservation, got a table in the far back. Waiter was so-so.. Seemed uninterested and seems we always needed a refill. Duck was perfect.. My cowboy ribeye was overly spicy, but was peppercorn. However had specifically asked when ordering about the taste and uninterested waiter assured that it was very light.. Not really. Ordered medium rare.. Was more medium to mid-well but wasn't worth sending back. Waiter wasn't attentative enough to have been practical. Half way through our meal a table was sat next to ours and he was far more alternative.. Noticeably so! Overall, was a pleasant experience if a bit loud and if you discount the waiter. Duck was perfect, should have gone next door to Ruth Chris for the steak. I'd say in the future we will choose elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Took advantage of Restaurant Week to enjoy a fabulous meal of duck confit (oops, ate it all) with my husband ordering and loving the trout. Every meal we've had here has a great blend of tastes, service is always good and the physical menus are always a delight.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

food and service was outstanding! Espically our server Jenni

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 23, 2017

After visiting several restaurants this week I've come to the conclusion that the restaurant Week menus are definitely not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our party of 4 dined at the Red Stag on Sunday evening to celebrate a birthday. None of us had ever been but had high hopes for a fun dining experience. Absolutely lovely! The decor is dark and Bohemian with much attention to detail. Embracing the history of the time it was built but with a nod to current lighting, etc. We all loved the LED back-lit menus! Why don't all restaurants do this? We really liked everything we ordered -fresh green salad, pumpkin soup, shrimp and grits got raves from both guys, for entrees we had trout, pork tenderloin and duck confit. All prepared with excellent sides and an eye for presentation. The carrot cake was enough all by itself to recommend this place. Try it- you will like it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Historic, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I really enjoyed my experience at Red Stag during restaurant week. Normally, I would eat at a place with this price point once/twice a year. But for restaurant week this is a great value. The shrimp and grits were really good, the Duck Confit was amazing, all topped with the Smores Pot de Creme. I will go to this place for special occasions, and every year for restaurant week.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.