Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville

Complimentary valet parking! Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility. After dinner, sip a signature martini or cocktail in the Red Stag Grill lounge and bar area and be entertained by local musicians.

11 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-5600

Website:
http://www.bohemianhotelasheville.com/dining/dining.asp

Entertainment:
Wednesday through Saturday nights, 8 PM till 10 PM

Catering:
At the Grand Bohemian Hotel, exceptional events are our passion. We specialize in hosting inspiring business functions and social occasions for those who expect the absolute best in service, detail, and atmosphere. Through meticulous planning and flawless execution, we weave distinctive character and impeccable style into every event to ensure it is as memorable as it is successful. By harnessing your vision, we define an artistic direction for your gathering and deliver a professional, sophisticated affair that accomplishes all of your objectives.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking with Restaurant Validation

Executive Chef:
Scott Ostrander

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility.

Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (65)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
Romantic (56)
See All
Good for a Date (55)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Notable Wine List (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Cozy (30)
Local Ingredients (28)
Worth the Drive (25)
Business Meals (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Authentic (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Casual (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Live Music (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Healthy (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Happy Hour (4)
People Watching (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

We went for our anniversary date night. It was ok. Ambiance was great. Service was good. Server apologized for slow service. He said the salad/dessert guy was backed up but he brought a glass of champagne.

I had the four course tasting menu with the wine pairing. Timing was just off. I would either get my wine and wait ten minutes for the course or practically be done with the course before getting the wine. It was a tad disappointing.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

the food was amazing as was the service. The Red Stag Grille is a must if you are in Asheville, NC. Highly recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 4 days ago

We checked into the hotel for a long weekend and decided to try the hotel restaurant. All I can say is wow! The elk loin was simply amazing and tender. All the food including the apple crisp was top notch. Not the cheapest place but that's not the point. Loved the game meat selection for sure. Very different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Unique and cozy atmosphere. The food was mostly delicious. The duck breast and crab cakes with fried green tomatoes were highlights. The service was excellent .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Our experience could not have been better as we were there to share fond memories!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had a fabulous lunch at the Red Stag! The atmosphere is outstanding! It is made to look like an Austrian Hunting Lodge. We spent our first hour having Martini's at the bar and talking to an outstanding bartender Brad! The lunch was delicious and we throughly enjoyed our dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The ambiance was excellent. I was a bit nervous with the darkness but the menus lit up and I could easily see the items. New technology was awesome! The service was superb and the elk dish was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Restaurant manager was outstanding. Food did not get 5 stars because restaurant did not have Pellegrino water and the elk loin, although correctly cooked to rare plus was not allowed to rest adequately before cutting and being served, resulting in a drier and consequently less flavourful entree.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our occasion was dinner celebrating our fiftieth wedding anniversary. We so enjoyed our meal at Red Stag Grill!! The service was flawless, our server was personable and very informative regarding the menu. Our dinner was outstanding! My husband's steak prepared to his liking and my halibut fish (with pea purée and fresh vegetables) excellent! My husband ordered (ahead of time) a cake, which was delicious!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was very good. The one thing that was wrong is that the servers that placed your food on the table were very unprofessional. I really feel that they should tell us what our dish is and offer fresh pepper especially with salads and soups!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had a wonderful experience and Harrison, our server, was very thorough and pleasant. Attentive but not over bearing. Love the décor and the food as well as presentation was outstanding. Not a complaint but our table was right outside the kitchen, great table and intimate spot. Next time I will ask for a table for 2 by a window. Again, not a criticism.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Took out of state friends and they were charmed by the ambience and wowed by the food and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Outstanding service and great food. Pricy but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had a mix of lunch and breakfast selections. The Wild
Boat hash is to be recommended, as is the Shrimp
& Grits. Burger was very tasty and well prepared.

Quiet, not a lot of people eating when we were there! Easy and relaxed... we will go hear again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I have frequented this restaurant since it first opened. I love the ambience and the Decor. However, if the recent visit show that things have slipped they are a bit one of our entrées was served at cold temperature . I will later offered lackluster performance as a server and honestly the state portion from my entrée it was quite small . It's a wonderful romantic spot for a date, but don't expect a good value

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Fantastic dinner! Awesome service. Steak was perfect. Made our anniversary special. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Wonderful menu. Great steak, lobster and bison. Nice wine choices. Service very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Enjoyed a nice lunch with my daughter. Service was excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 29, 2017

A wonderful place to eat in Asheville. Valet parking is very convenient and the atmosphere is just lovely. The food is good and very innovative.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Healthy, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Fantastic. Great food. Great service. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We had a great dinner to celebrate our anniversary. The decor and ambience was amazing, but we wished there had been a little more light; it was kind of dark at our table. The food was wonderful and we recieved excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great atmosphere, food, service, and cocktails! A truly bohemian décor adds to the ambiance that creates a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Elk was great and one of the reasons I chose the restaurant. Illuminated menus were very helpful. Service attentive but did not interrupt conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We chose this place to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary and we couldn't have been more pleased and impressed. From the moment we arrived the greeting was warm and welcoming. The ambiance in the bar and the main restaurant was incredible. The hostess honored our request to find seating where we could sit side-by-side. Our waiter Bradley, and his alter-ego Paul, made our celebration most excellent. He was a great ambassador for the restaurant, the hotel and the city. He adeptly answered all our questions about the menu in detail. Being a craft beer aficionado his recommendations were on point. I opted to follow his suggestion of the local amber ale. He was such a big advocate of the local scene that he provided a couple of samples of his other favorites on tap. Both meals were exquisite. The presentation, the taste and creativity was outstanding. Overall, a most memorable experience. When we return to the Asheville area you can bet this place will be at the top of our list for another visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

WE arrived at the under cover parking and were greeted by friendly and efficient car valets. When checking in at the dining room the hostess was professional and welcoming. The waiter, Harrison, was knowledgeable, prompt and attentive. We ordered the Alaskan Halibut and the Beast of Duck, both cooked to perfection. Appetizers were wonderful... oysters on the half shell and Maryland crab cakes. The peach cobbler with ice cream was very good . A perfect evening to celebrate our 35th Anniversary. The food and service was excellent, but we felt the pricing was somewhat excessive. We would still recommend this restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great as always...Been here many times over the past 5 yrs. All get the Duck when it is available!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Very nice restaurant and food was exquisite, ambiance was devine. Hotel decorated tastefully and staff was very accommodating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The Red Stag has a VERY nice environment, particularly if you on the older side of 30. Staid, attractive, and traditional. The menu has some notes of creativity (ie. a "rack of pork) and a bend toward game. Our elk was good and I particularly like the Bison hanger steak (albeit a bit overdone in some parts - like a butterflied leg of lamb it has more and less done parts). All-in-all a very pleasnt experience & complimentary valet parking was a nice touch.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Costa Rica)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We stayed at the Grand Bohemian and had read great things about the Red Stag Grill. Dinner did not disappoint. We had a lovely table in a corner and enjoyed very creative, delicious items. The elk was especially yummy! We have found that the specialty restaurants in the Grand Bohemian line of hotels are always a great choice when visiting. Breakfast service, however, was very slow and needs some additional work. Food was not hot when served and one poor server seemed to be all over the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The whole evening at the Red Stag was amazing! Our food was absolutely delicious. The ambiance was unique and wonderful for a quiet date night out. Would highly recommend it!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Divine as usual. Food perfect. Server very attentive. Valet parking attendants attentive & friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great place to eat in Biltmore Village. Free valet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Outstanding dining experience! The tasting menu was delicious, and the wine pairings were a perfect compliment to the food. The service was also exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I live in Asheville and have tried all the "hot" restaurants. I keep returning to the Red Stag. Valet parking eliminates the angst of having to find a parking spot downtown. The restaurant is beautiful. The wait staff could not be more professional - attentive w/out being intrusive. The menu is wonderful and everything is prepared and presented to perfection. We went for a birthday and were treated to a delicious slice of to-die-for carrot cake. The bar area is very inviting and comfy.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Incredible value in their daily 3 course lunch special. It is amazing! A must try! A beautiful restaurant with excellent service and truly fine dining. Perfect venue to show out of town guests that there is more to Asheville than beer and food trucks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Very nice food presentation with elegant ambience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Really great experience from the time we dropped the car until we left. Food was excellent, service could not have been better from Angel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Lovely dinner, ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Everything was outstanding! We were celebrating our anniversary. They brought desserts to help us celebrate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.