About Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville

11 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility. After dinner, sip a signature martini or cocktail in the Red Stag Grill lounge and bar area and be entertained by local musicians.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-5600

Website:
http://www.bohemianhotelasheville.com/dining/dining.asp

Entertainment:
Wednesday through Saturday nights, 8 PM till 10 PM

Catering:
At the Grand Bohemian Hotel, exceptional events are our passion. We specialize in hosting inspiring business functions and social occasions for those who expect the absolute best in service, detail, and atmosphere. Through meticulous planning and flawless execution, we weave distinctive character and impeccable style into every event to ensure it is as memorable as it is successful. By harnessing your vision, we define an artistic direction for your gathering and deliver a professional, sophisticated affair that accomplishes all of your objectives.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking with Restaurant Validation

Executive Chef:
Scott Ostrander

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility.

Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / W. North Carolina
5 More
American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Asheville
Romantic
Asheville
Special Occasion
Asheville
American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

special occasion (104)
romantic (85)
fit for foodies (66)
See All
notable wine list (49)
great for lunch (23)
good for groups (23)
vibrant bar scene (21)
neighborhood gem (20)
great for brunch (18)
late-night find (12)
hot spot (12)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1567 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4

Very good food, nice ambience. Would rec ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Very good food, nice ambience. Would recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful brunch on Sunday with family. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Wonderful brunch on Sunday with family. Service was outstanding as was the food. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and his recommendations were perfect. We loved the steak poutine and the benedict.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Red Stag was "thee" find for us while i ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Red Stag was "thee" find for us while in Asheville. Had an interesting menu, beautiful presentation and great wines to accompany. My husband had the tasting menu but said the Elk was so good, he wished he'd ordered the full entree, as the tastings are somewhat smaller. We've been to Asheville several times and happy to have found this spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a special evening and the service ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

It was a special evening and the service, food and atmosphere fit the event. Thanks to our server for the champagne to cap the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Stag Grill

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food, ambiance, and service. It's a bit pricey but well-worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner was spectacular. The avocado lob ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Dinner was spectacular. The avocado lobster appetizer was a hit as was the Frank family chardonnay that we had with it. The elk loin was likewise fantastic and the glass of Silverado Cab was the perfect accompaniment.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3

Average food and service for a premium p ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Average food and service for a premium price. We both had the filet and is was perfectly fine...nothing special. Service was adequate...friendly and knowledgeable but again nothing special. Based on recent reviews, the restaurant seems to be relying on its reputation rather than it's culinary presentation today. There are better choices and values around Asheville.

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Food quality

Dined on May 11, 2016

Wife and I anticipated our dining experiences, which were two during our visit. Breakfast: Quality average. Presentation superb. Service average. Dinner: Halibut entree was inedible. Returned. Shrimp bisque substitute was good. Presentations were nice, but food quality did not meet pricing and expectations, especially for the published 4Start status. Would not recommend.

food4
ambience5
service5

They changed/shrunk their brunch menu fo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

They changed/shrunk their brunch menu for Mothers Day. They offered nothing for a vegetarian or vegan. We had a vegetarian in our party and there was nothing for him to choose. In a town like Asheville, that is seriously short-sighted!

food5
ambience5
service5

OMG the food here was the best we have e ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

OMG the food here was the best we have experienced in NC so far. The elk and the filet were the best cuts of meat that were cooked to perfection. I highly recommend this place.

food4
ambience5
service5

The restaurant reminds me of a hunting l ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The restaurant reminds me of a hunting lodge but very upscale. The food was very good and the ambience was nice. The biggest drawback was the blinding menus. Not a bad idea in a dimly lit room, but difficult to use once your eyes adjust to the light. Turn down the light!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Jim

Dined on April 28, 2016

Everything was top shelf. My only suggestion is to cut back on the salt in the soup.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

great anniversary dinner

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner. The service and dinner were fantastic! I had the duck that was cooked to perfection and the tasty artichoke green onion soup. The portions were perfect and it was an all around wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Winner!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Food delicious with a nice selection of quality fresh selections. Atmosphere and service outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal

Dined on April 15, 2016

Was very pleased with everything about our meal at the Red Stage. Great service, food was delicious, and the restaurant works very hard to make sure you are happy with your food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Regretably, underwhelming.

Dined on April 14, 2016

My wife has been wanting to go up the Asheville to the Grand Bohemian since we moved here two years ago. It being her Birthday, I thought it a proper time for our first visit. We arrived for our reservation at 8:30 on a Wednesday, Valet parking was prompt, polite, and validated, all good! Restaurant not readily visible upon entry, but we found it and were seated immediately. We were greeted by a pleasant floor captain who told us our waitress would be by shortly. Five minutes later she presented us with water, and took our drink order. 15 minutes passed before I caught the floor captain, requesting he track down our drinks and waitress. Another 3-4 minutes and both appeared, with the bartender is very busy excuse. She also spilled 1/4 of my Martini, rushing the drinks to us. There were maybe 12 at the bar and another 20 including ourselves, so far from overwhelmed, was he. Though on leaving I requested change of a $20., was asked to wait why he laboriously cashed out two drink checks. Problem was part system, part individual. But I digress, we ordered a wedge salad for my wife and she crab soup for me, both were excellent but when mine arrived I was tempted to say "if I like this will you bring the rest", very tiny. My wife ordered the scallops and I, the Grass Fed Filet. The scallops were extremely over seasoned and the Filet bland, but cooked perfectly. The worst part was again while we were enjoying ourselves, the food took forever to arrive and no one stopped by to ask if we wished another drink to fill our wait. But alas, the best was yet to come, we ordered the cheese platter, filled with copious amounts of local cheese, accompanied with a torched top, soggy bottom baguette. But the cheese was delectable, and we only used the top of the baguette, a truly wonderful end to a less than memorable event. Since this was a late dinner, we will certainly try the establishment again at a more reasonable time in hope that this was an anomaly.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful Dining

Dined on April 10, 2016

We were staying at The Grand Bohemian, celebrating our anniversary, and our experience was one to remember for all the right reasons. Service was great, and the meal was a culinary delight. We had the tasting menu which included a lovely salad, scallops, grilled elk, and carrot cake...all of which were marvelous. We had never had elk before, and this was a wonderful introduction. Kudos to the chef and the entire staff there...Thanks for doing what you do so well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Would have never thought of going here for lunch, it always seemed more of a dinner place. Boy was I surprised! Their lunch was fantastic! I had the salmon sandwich ($13) with avocado and my husband had the trout ($16)...both were EXCELLENT! We had the most attentive and friendly waiter, always ready with a suggestion on what to order, what to do, what was going on in town. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Favorite

Dined on April 2, 2016

Outstanding restaurant! This was our first visit for a birthday and the food was superb, excellent selection of items, great service, and marvelous ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place. Always chic and cozy ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

I love this place. Always chic and cozy in equal measure.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service

Dined on March 27, 2016

We dined here on Easter Sunday. There was a special menu (three courses) and the choices were excellent. The best thing about the entire event was the service. Our waiter was outstanding and attended to our every need. . I had an average strawberry salad, overcooked fish with sweet potatoes for my entree, and a gooey strawberry shortcake for dessert. I had a Bloody Mary that had way too much salt. It was a nice place to go for Easter Sunday with our family. The food was just OK.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We absolutely loved our waiter!! And the ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We absolutely loved our waiter!! And the food was amazing as well!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had our anniversary dinner here- Very Happy!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Had a great experience here- the ambiance is amazing, the service and food was top notch. Spent some time in the bar as well, had a great pianist setting the mood. It was a very romantic and special night. Highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chic and unique

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a romantic dinner in this chic Bavarian themed restaurant. A great place for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Elk was amazing and the ambience was ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

The Elk was amazing and the ambience was perfect with rustic decor and great service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

grand!

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

excellent service, really may be the best service in town, once you drive into the portico you are in their very capable hands and they take good care of you. Great for anyone handicapped. It is easily accessible, short walk to restaurant.....200feet? food was incredible, beautiful wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful Foodie Find!

Dined on March 21, 2016

We were wowed by the decor and ambiance and after we were seated and served our chosen wine we agreed on an appetizer that was tasteless and unimpressive (Lobster and Avocado bite). Instead of meeting an offended server with our snobish complaint, Sarah was delightful and gracious, replacing the item with another chosen soup which she highly recommended. She was well-trained and accomodating! The entire evening was lovely, thanks to Sarah! The food was delicious (even though the first impression was ruined by a bite or boredom). The dishes were well proportioned and plated beautifully. The wine list was healthy and diverse. We will definitely return! Ivy I

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Red Stag Disappointment

Dined on March 20, 2016

The service seemed disinterested. The salad was poor. We have had much better at other locations. The main course was good, but very pricey for what was served. We think we paid for the atmosphere and not the food.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The blue grits were outstanding.

Dined on March 20, 2016

The bue cheese grits were outstanding. The bacon was way to salty. All else great, and I highly recommend it

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Wonderful Evening

Dined on March 19, 2016

We had a birthday celebration with another couple. The food, service, and ambiance was outstanding. We enjoyed the elk and bison. Presentation was very appealing. We look forward to returning for another wonderful meal.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3

This particular visit was not as enjoyab ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

This particular visit was not as enjoyable as all the past visits. Mgr dealt with a customer complaint for nearly 35 minutes beside us...listening to them discuss, apologize, discuss, apologize, etc, etc...we were just going to ask if we could move tables for dessert, and luckily they left. Waitress was preoccupied with two larger tables as well. Once our food was delivered, there was no follow up whatsoever to see if everything was ok. Will definitely go back because we've always loved the ambiance, had good food and good service-this was an exception on couple of those points...

food4
ambience4
service3

Went late on a very slow night and ultim ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Went late on a very slow night and ultimately the only table there. Treated us well and the food was great. It has a bit of a touristy, chain feel but like to try it again on a more lively night.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great steak house..a little disappointed this time

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

We love The Red Stag and are regulars on our trips to Asheville whether we stay at the Boehemian or not. However, we were a little disappointed on our last visit. First off, our server was not as attentive as in the past. It took a long time to put in our drink and appetizer order. The restaruant was almost empty, so not sure what the hold up was. Our service just wasn't up to the standards we have come to expect from this restaurant or its price tag. Second, while most of the dishes were as delicious as ever, the Pot de creme was more like a rice pudding. The texture was not smooth at all. Overall, we still love the place and will return to give it another chance. However, this time, it did not live up to the price tag.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best!

Dined on March 12, 2016

I am a new resident of Asheville and wanted to entertain eight family members for my birthday. I couldn't have been more pleased! Everyone from the parking valets to David, our server, were helpful, gracious and very professional. The menu was varied to suit a variety of tastes. Several of us had steaks which were perfectly cooked. The food was outstanding and service timely and not intrusive. A bit pricey, but worth every penny. I highly recommend this restaurant to locals and guests of the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner at the Bohemian

Dined on March 12, 2016

Hotel and restaurant was fantastic, Usually we dine at the Biltmore, but will be visiting the Bohemian on our next visit to Ashville. All staff were very helpful and accommodating.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on March 5, 2016

This is my second time to the Red Stag Inn and it didn't disappoint. The filet with the pink peppercorn sauce was divine. A wonderful atmosphere and very attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Still very good

Dined on March 1, 2016

It's been a while since we've been here. The ambiance is still amazing. The menu is changed. Great menu to a meat lover, but they can accommodate vegetarians. The service was exemplary. Very friendly staff without getting in your way. They make it a most enjoyable dining experience for 2.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed very much. All was very good bu ...

Dined on March 1, 2016

Enjoyed very much. All was very good but not much for appetizers to share with a group.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing Experience from Start to Finish!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Wonderful birthday dinner for my husband. I am super picky, but everything was so good, I was even willing to try the elk, and have to admit, I liked it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!

Dined on February 27, 2016

The waiter was absolutely the best!! The atmosphere was breathtaking. The food was wonderful!! I highly recommend this restaurant. We will return for sure!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.