About Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville

11 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Complimentary valet parking! Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility. After dinner, sip a signature martini or cocktail in the Red Stag Grill lounge and bar area and be entertained by local musicians.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-5600

Website:
http://www.bohemianhotelasheville.com/dining/dining.asp

Entertainment:
Wednesday through Saturday nights, 8 PM till 10 PM

Catering:
At the Grand Bohemian Hotel, exceptional events are our passion. We specialize in hosting inspiring business functions and social occasions for those who expect the absolute best in service, detail, and atmosphere. Through meticulous planning and flawless execution, we weave distinctive character and impeccable style into every event to ensure it is as memorable as it is successful. By harnessing your vision, we define an artistic direction for your gathering and deliver a professional, sophisticated affair that accomplishes all of your objectives.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking with Restaurant Validation

Executive Chef:
Scott Ostrander

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Venison Tenderloin
French Broad Martini
Strawberries
Goat Sausage
Pickled Rhubarb
Blue Cheese Grits
Goat Cheese and Leek Crostini
Braised Bison Short Ribs
Black Russian Cocktail With Espresso Kahlua
Fried Calamari
Spicy Tomato Soup
Bone-in Ribeye W/ Braised Cabbage & Twice Baked Potato
Apple & Cranberry Crumble

Promotions

Granting Wishes with Three Dishes

Special valid Jul 7, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Promotions

Granting Wishes with Three Dishes

Special valid Jul 7, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Private Dining

Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility.

Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Asheville / W. North Carolina
American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
4 More
Best Ambiance
Asheville
Romantic
Asheville
Special Occasion
Asheville
American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

special occasion (85)
romantic (66)
fit for foodies (55)
See All
notable wine list (44)
good for groups (26)
great for lunch (22)
neighborhood gem (20)
vibrant bar scene (18)
great for brunch (18)
late-night find (12)
hot spot (10)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1598 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Upscale dining, on-site complimentary va ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Upscale dining, on-site complimentary valet parking beneath the hotel; remember to have your server stamp your ticket. Excellent service, limited but eclectic menu w/ pleasant ambiance. Not cheap but competitive for the quality. No obvious bias toward those more casually dressed but jeans and a sport coat worked for me. I loved the marinated asparagus w/panko crusted fresh hearts of palm salad and can vouch for the beef tenderloin, perfectly prepared medium rare as requested. Staff was cordial and professional. Recommend making reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was okay, but not worth the pri ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was okay, but not worth the price for "okay". Will be markingthis off the list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

wonderful time. Jamar Woods was playing ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

wonderful time. Jamar Woods was playing piano at the bar after and he is fantastic - really set a good mood after dinner. Our server, David, was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The food was great, especially the elk, and the wine pairings went very well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was awful, were ignored most of ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was awful, were ignored most of the night & they were not busy. We are pretty low maintenance so it wouldn't have been a huge deal except we made sure he knew that we were in a bit of a hurry (we were still sitting down to enjoy our meal but want to be able to get our check and go once we were all finished).

Once we received the food we weren't checked on at all after, not to see if we enjoyed the meal, if everything came out okay, and no refills. We actually had to go find him to get out checks.

Food was amazing, wine list-spectacular, abidance-beautiful, and complimentary valet! We will go back and give it another try soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

This is truly one of the best dining exp ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is truly one of the best dining experiences we have had. We loved the food so much we ate in this restaurant three nights in a row. The preparation of ALL the dishes we tried was amazing. Everything is prepared to order with only the freshest ingredients. A plus was that the chef came to our table and explained the dishes to us. This place has an open kitchen and the dining room is extremely comfortable would recommend this to anyone visiting Ashville NC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely exceptional service from the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Absolutely exceptional service from the valet to the desk and the server.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Feels like a trendy upscale European lod ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Feels like a trendy upscale European lodge with all the convenience of being centrally located in beautiful Asheville. Wonderful presentation, supurb service, food, and wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The sea scollop were incredible.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The sea scollop were incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A disappointment because Red Stag has b ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

A disappointment because Red Stag has been one of our favorite restaurants. We took friends who just returned from a long time living in Europe. Our food was just so so and some items were completely missing (e.g green beans ordered as a side never came / unfortunately we didn't notice it until the end of the meal. We did get the type of seating we requested - that was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding food and exceptional service ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Outstanding food and exceptional service. The tasting menu with wine pairing is simply wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was outstanding. He was quite ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our server was outstanding. He was quite nice without being overly friendly. We ordered the 4 course tasting menu, with wine pairing. The pairings went fantastically well with our plates, and the tasting menu was quite fairly priced. The only negative was that the live piano music (which we enjoyed) clashed with the canned music (which we could have done without) that was simultaneously being played.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the special- a black angus rib ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I ordered the special- a black angus ribeye steak for $50. It had so many tendons in it that I couldn't eat half of it. I didn't complain or send it back but I'm wondering if this supplier's product was checked before serving it.

We're hoping to go back on a second chance the next time we are in Asheville. Other than my steak, everything else was suppurb! I'm hoping it was a fluke. Unfortunately, a pricey fluke for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent as always, great place to tak ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent as always, great place to take visitors.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, ambiance, and service. Wond ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food, ambiance, and service. Wonderful hidden spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first, and certainly not la ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was our first, and certainly not last, visit to the restaurant. We used the hotel valet parking for which there was no charge (get your stub stamped). The dining room was elegant and spacious and the table seating was very comfortable. My wife and I both ordered the Chef's 4-Course Tasting Dinner with the wine pairings. The food was excellent across all four courses. What we thought was truly outstanding was the TIMING of our various courses. From our initial cocktail to our ending coffee, we were afforded just the perfect amount of time in between to savor and enjoy each item. We may have had on a few occasions equally good service elsewhere, but never better in our 50+ years of dining out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and the staff did a very goo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The service and the staff did a very good job. They all remembered our anniversary they took special time to congratulate us and wish us well. The menu had many choices that we would order on a repeat visit. The decor was very unique with many great carvings and wild game mountings

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good overall, and the wait ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Food was very good overall, and the wait staff were very attentive. A great spot for lunch or special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I met friends at Red Stag ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I met friends at Red Stag for Father's Day brunch. We got there at 11:30, and the restaurant was not too busy. The menu was varied enough to appeal to everyone. We had Bananas Foster French Toast, soup and salad, hamburger and Chef's Benedict. Brad was our server, and he was terrific. He heard me say my iced tea was not outstanding, and he went to great pains to make fresh tea for me, and remembered I liked extra ice. He said his mom is very particular about her tea, too, so he understood it needed to be just right. I brought half my Benedict home, and it still tasted fresh the next day. Our friends were happy we chose Red Stag, and we were too.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Breakfast options outstanding including ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Breakfast options outstanding including absolutely the best grits!! Fresh, creamy smooth, with just the right seasoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. It was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. It was my Birthday, and we were celebrating a late Anniversary. The waiter made our experience special. The food was amazing, and the wine was delicious. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chophouse vibe, somewhat dark. Great for ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Chophouse vibe, somewhat dark. Great for a special occasion or small group. Sides were really tasty. The pot de crime was so refreshing after a heavy meal. Not for vegetarians.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the river elk lion. It was absolut ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I had the river elk lion. It was absolutely amazing. Our waiter was great. We will be going back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place for a nice dinner. Food and ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great place for a nice dinner. Food and service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time as great as the first

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This was the second time we've eaten here, both times for our anniversary. A special place. I had the ribeye, perfectly grilled, great flavor and surprising little fat (for a ribeye). My wife had duck in a sauce she absolutely loved. We thought we had one of the best waiters ever, last year, but the young waitress we had this time was just as friendly, courteous , and attentive. She recommended a wine which we both loved. Not a place you go to weekly on a budget. But for a special occasion, well worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant -- outstanding service.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent service, all the staff made it a very comfortable and pleasant evening. We always feel that at The Red Stag they consistently exceed our expectations. Will certainly be there soon again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was phenomenal made with local ingr ...

 
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Food was phenomenal made with local ingredients.

Loved the atmosphere - romantic ambience created a special evening.

Wine paring with dinner was excellent and greatly appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

One Year Anniversary

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We were in Asheville on business+pleasure looking for a place to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary and came across Red Stag on one of the Iphone aps....highly recommended!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, nice ambience. Would rec ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Very good food, nice ambience. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful brunch on Sunday with family. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Wonderful brunch on Sunday with family. Service was outstanding as was the food. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and his recommendations were perfect. We loved the steak poutine and the benedict.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Red Stag was "thee" find for us while i ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Red Stag was "thee" find for us while in Asheville. Had an interesting menu, beautiful presentation and great wines to accompany. My husband had the tasting menu but said the Elk was so good, he wished he'd ordered the full entree, as the tastings are somewhat smaller. We've been to Asheville several times and happy to have found this spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was a special evening and the service ...

 
·Dined on May 18, 2016

It was a special evening and the service, food and atmosphere fit the event. Thanks to our server for the champagne to cap the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Red Stag Grill

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food, ambiance, and service. It's a bit pricey but well-worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was spectacular. The avocado lob ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Dinner was spectacular. The avocado lobster appetizer was a hit as was the Frank family chardonnay that we had with it. The elk loin was likewise fantastic and the glass of Silverado Cab was the perfect accompaniment.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Average food and service for a premium p ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Average food and service for a premium price. We both had the filet and is was perfectly fine...nothing special. Service was adequate...friendly and knowledgeable but again nothing special. Based on recent reviews, the restaurant seems to be relying on its reputation rather than it's culinary presentation today. There are better choices and values around Asheville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Food quality

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Wife and I anticipated our dining experiences, which were two during our visit.

Breakfast: Quality average. Presentation superb. Service average.

Dinner: Halibut entree was inedible. Returned. Shrimp bisque substitute was good.

Presentations were nice, but food quality did not meet pricing and expectations, especially for the published 4Start status.

Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Good food, nice ambiance, great service. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Good food, nice ambiance, great service. ALWAYS enjoy Red Stag.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

They changed/shrunk their brunch menu fo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

They changed/shrunk their brunch menu for Mothers Day.

They offered nothing for a vegetarian or vegan. We had a vegetarian in our party and there was nothing for him to choose.

In a town like Asheville, that is seriously short-sighted!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

OMG the food here was the best we have e ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

OMG the food here was the best we have experienced in NC so far. The elk and the filet were the best cuts of meat that were cooked to perfection. I highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant reminds me of a hunting l ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The restaurant reminds me of a hunting lodge but very upscale. The food was very good and the ambience was nice. The biggest drawback was the blinding menus. Not a bad idea in a dimly lit room, but difficult to use once your eyes adjust to the light. Turn down the light!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.