Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville

Complimentary valet parking! Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility. After dinner, sip a signature martini or cocktail in the Red Stag Grill lounge and bar area and be entertained by local musicians.

11 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-5600

Website:
http://www.bohemianhotelasheville.com/dining/dining.asp

Entertainment:
Wednesday through Saturday nights, 8 PM till 10 PM

Catering:
At the Grand Bohemian Hotel, exceptional events are our passion. We specialize in hosting inspiring business functions and social occasions for those who expect the absolute best in service, detail, and atmosphere. Through meticulous planning and flawless execution, we weave distinctive character and impeccable style into every event to ensure it is as memorable as it is successful. By harnessing your vision, we define an artistic direction for your gathering and deliver a professional, sophisticated affair that accomplishes all of your objectives.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking with Restaurant Validation

Executive Chef:
Scott Ostrander

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Join Red Stag Grill for Christmas Eve dinner from 5pm-10pm. The restaurant is offering a 4 course dinner priced at $85/person. Our regular dinner menu is not available this evening.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

For Christmas Brunch (11am-3pm), Red Stag Grill is serving our 4 course prix fixe Christmas Day brunch menu priced at $70/person. For Christmas Dinner (5pm-10pm) we are serving our 4 course prix fixe Christmas dinner menu priced at $85/person. Our regular menu is not available this evening.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

For dinner this evening, Red Stag Grill is serving our 4-course prix fixe New Year's Eve dinner menu priced at $120/person. Our regular menu is not available this evening.

Private Dining

Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility.

Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Good for a Date (65)
See All
Romantic (58)
Cozy (41)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Business Meals (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Bar Seating (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Authentic (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Casual (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Live Music (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Fun (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great Beer (4)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2149 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 2 days ago

We LOVED Red Stag Grille's brunch! The Beignets are to die for! I almost got the Chicken & Waffles, but the scrumptious Bananas Foster French Toast was calling me! I saw the Chicken and Waffles and it looked divine too! A carafe of Mimosas helped make the brunch even more fun! We can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service were amazing. Valet parking was available and complimentary. We have a great date night!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Seated quickly by the hostess.

David, our waiter, appeared irritated that my husband ordered a Pernod neat, as it had to be retrieved from the back by the chef. (They use it in the cream sauce for the oysters - it's on the menu.)

Came back 10 minutes later. No pernod in the kitchen. Apologized. Offered Sambucca?!?Then offered my husband a probiotic given it's a form of digestive?!? (Poor attempt at humor.)

Poured wine efficiently.

Other servers delivered the elk and filet, which were excellent. The accompanying bernaise sauce was perfect. Puréed sweet potatoes were excellent as well.

We had the Seven Falls merlot ('12 on the wine list, '13 delivered). It was good, but a bit pricey for a retail ($14) bottle.

Didn't do dessert as David placed dessert menus a little too "efficiently" in front of us.

Davis WAS very pleasant when he dropped the check off. That says it all.

Overall great food and atmosphere. Need to work a little on staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was the best we have ever had! My wife had Diver Scallops and I had filet and lobster tail, excellent. Too full for desert! Would do it again and again.

Only negative was the seating. We felt that we didn't have enough privacy with other guests seated very close to us. Also tables were wide which made it difficult to have a quiet conversation. Still, we would go back many times.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Steak was too rare when I ordered a thin line of pink. They took it back to the kitchen, charred the outside but it was still rare on the inside. Does not even compare to Ruth Chris steakhouse. Overpriced for the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Your facility is beautiful, clean and attractive. The young woman who served us was excellent.
I opted for the special which was trout(?)taco with salad. The pieces of fish were overcooked, there was very little sauce for the taco, and the fish was covered with a few limp pieces of onion and sweet pepper. The supposed taco shells were served flat . They could barely be rolled and were so tough that they were inedible. I finally brushed the taco contents onto the lettuce only small salad and ate it. It was hardly sufficient lunch even for a small woman. The bar cookie was nice but hardly remarkable. I will not be returning or recommending your restaurant to anyone. BTW,I am a resident of Asheville and enjoy frequent lunches out with friends - but not there.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Food was great and the ambiance was cozy and wonderful. The only issue we had was that we had to ask our server for table bread and we noticed that none was brought to any of the tables near us until they asked either. Once we got it the bread was homemade and delicious. That was the only negative to an otherwise very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The atmosphere was amazing, the food was outstanding and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Live Music, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

The food was delicious, hostess was very friendly, our waitress not so much. She was rather snippy and rarely came to check on us.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Loved our meal. Food was very good,service was great. The Restaurant was warm and friendly and decorated as a European hunting lodge. Not recommended for people who don’t like mounted Animals.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 9, 2017

We were visiting The Biltmore last weekend and i was looking for a romantic dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I found The Red Stag Grill online and booked it immediately. Looked and sounded like just what i was looking for. The hotel lobby is stunning, cozy and you feel like you're in an upscale hunting lodge somewhere very swanky! The service, food and ambiance were just perfect! I had the trout and my husband had the Elk! Both excellent! We opted to stay and eat in the bar area as it is beautiful. LOVE the ceiling! Would definately return if we were ever in the area again! We live in Scottsdale AZ and have a zillion great restaurant options. This place on a cloudy fall day was just perfect!!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had Sunday brunch at our favorite restaurant, Red Stag, and were delighted with our beautifully presented and divinely delicious meals. The atmosphere at the Red Stag is charming; wait staff professional and very accommodating; chefs are fabulous - it is always a winner! Complimentary valet parking is a huge bonus, especially in inclement weather.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Fantastic restaurant! My wife and I went for our anniversary. They treated us great. The food was amazing. My wife had the elk loin and she let me try a bite. It was incredible! I had the trout which was also delicious (but wished I had gotten the elk too). The atmosphere and decor, although dark, was really interesting and made for a special experience. My wife kept saying it was the best restaurant she has ever been to. I highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Slow service, just ok food. Water carafe that was brought to our table was dirty, when I asked the waitress for new water she just said ok, no apologies, table also has crumbs and silverware was sitting on the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Ive ate there numerous times. The Oysters were great. The Ribeye was cooked to temperature perfectly, but was a little burnt on the outside for it to be Med Rare. I think our server might have had maybe a few to many tables. The wine took ten min to receive. We also sat for almost ten min before we were greeted. I have managed numerous service industry establishments and this is one of the most important things in that business is the official first greeting. However I will still come back. But, that's the only thing that bothered us. Thank you, it was still a great environment.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 5, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants but this particular visit was lacking. An usually dimmed lit quaint romantic atmosphere was spoiled by the lighting being much brighter than normal. So bright that the restaurant’s key features were non recognizable. The food and service was still great and I will definitely go back! Just hate that a dinner and evening with my wife was spoiled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Interesting rustic atmosphere. Elk was ... simply amazing. Paul, our waiter, was a consummate, but relaxed professional. Prices are high, but the experience was worth it. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Too many loud drunk people at the bar -otherwise food, service and ambiance is a favorite spot for me

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Ordered the elk loin and my wife ordered the scallops . We both had a peach salads. The food was excellent and cooked perfectly. The service was superb and the staff was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Our meal was delicious and the service was very good. This is a beautiful restaurant and a beautiful hotel!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great server who had lots of nice recommendations. Went with the tasting menu to try different things and it was awesome! Save room for lemon pound cake dessert. Oh and the elk is really good too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 24, 2017

A wonderful dining experience...fabulous food, excellent staff...never disappointed when we go there!

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Excellent food and service. My wife and I had the Elk loin chop perfectly prepared. Our server was very professional but fun.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Nothing but superb! From the boar sausage appetizer to the Carolina Peach Salad, Crab Cakes with Green Tomatoes to the Beef Coulotte, every thing was impeccably presented and absolutely delicious. Service was fantastic. Ambiance is terrific. Highly recommend the Red Stag Grill at the Grand Bohemian.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was delicious and beautiful. Ambiance was fun, creative and unique. Our waiter, Harrison, was kind, thoughtful and attentive. I highly recommend the Red Stag Grill for its food and unique decor.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We wanted to start our stay in Asheville at the top and the Red Stag Grill didn’t disappoint. Wonderful dining experience
Have recommended this place to friends coming to Ashville in a few weeks. Thanks to the entire sraff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Wonderful place to dine. Food was awesome and the atmosphere is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

The atmosphere was great, the service good, drinks were ok, but the food was not. I wanted to tell the chef that he should taste the food that is prepared but my husband wouldn't let me. Very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Our server was very informed about the menu and specials. He was alert to our drinks and table clutter without being intrusive. The overall ambience and noise level is very relaxing and luxurious. Our group felt well treated!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We went for our anniversary date night. It was ok. Ambiance was great. Service was good. Server apologized for slow service. He said the salad/dessert guy was backed up but he brought a glass of champagne.

I had the four course tasting menu with the wine pairing. Timing was just off. I would either get my wine and wait ten minutes for the course or practically be done with the course before getting the wine. It was a tad disappointing.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

the food was amazing as was the service. The Red Stag Grille is a must if you are in Asheville, NC. Highly recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We checked into the hotel for a long weekend and decided to try the hotel restaurant. All I can say is wow! The elk loin was simply amazing and tender. All the food including the apple crisp was top notch. Not the cheapest place but that's not the point. Loved the game meat selection for sure. Very different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Unique and cozy atmosphere. The food was mostly delicious. The duck breast and crab cakes with fried green tomatoes were highlights. The service was excellent .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Our experience could not have been better as we were there to share fond memories!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had a fabulous lunch at the Red Stag! The atmosphere is outstanding! It is made to look like an Austrian Hunting Lodge. We spent our first hour having Martini's at the bar and talking to an outstanding bartender Brad! The lunch was delicious and we throughly enjoyed our dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The ambiance was excellent. I was a bit nervous with the darkness but the menus lit up and I could easily see the items. New technology was awesome! The service was superb and the elk dish was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Restaurant manager was outstanding. Food did not get 5 stars because restaurant did not have Pellegrino water and the elk loin, although correctly cooked to rare plus was not allowed to rest adequately before cutting and being served, resulting in a drier and consequently less flavourful entree.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our occasion was dinner celebrating our fiftieth wedding anniversary. We so enjoyed our meal at Red Stag Grill!! The service was flawless, our server was personable and very informative regarding the menu. Our dinner was outstanding! My husband's steak prepared to his liking and my halibut fish (with pea purée and fresh vegetables) excellent! My husband ordered (ahead of time) a cake, which was delicious!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was very good. The one thing that was wrong is that the servers that placed your food on the table were very unprofessional. I really feel that they should tell us what our dish is and offer fresh pepper especially with salads and soups!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had a wonderful experience and Harrison, our server, was very thorough and pleasant. Attentive but not over bearing. Love the décor and the food as well as presentation was outstanding. Not a complaint but our table was right outside the kitchen, great table and intimate spot. Next time I will ask for a table for 2 by a window. Again, not a criticism.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.