Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville

Complimentary valet parking! Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility. After dinner, sip a signature martini or cocktail in the Red Stag Grill lounge and bar area and be entertained by local musicians.

11 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-5600

Website:
http://www.bohemianhotelasheville.com/dining/dining.asp

Entertainment:
Wednesday through Saturday nights, 8 PM till 10 PM

Catering:
At the Grand Bohemian Hotel, exceptional events are our passion. We specialize in hosting inspiring business functions and social occasions for those who expect the absolute best in service, detail, and atmosphere. Through meticulous planning and flawless execution, we weave distinctive character and impeccable style into every event to ensure it is as memorable as it is successful. By harnessing your vision, we define an artistic direction for your gathering and deliver a professional, sophisticated affair that accomplishes all of your objectives.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking with Restaurant Validation

Executive Chef:
Scott Ostrander

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility.

Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (75)
Romantic (59)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
See All
Good for a Date (55)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Cozy (39)
Worth the Drive (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Local Ingredients (31)
Notable Wine List (28)
Bar Seating (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Business Meals (22)
Authentic (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Fireplace (13)
Historic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Live Music (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Healthy (8)
Seasonal (7)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Private Room (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Fun (4)
People Watching (3)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
2035 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 18 hours ago

Amazing, spectacular dining. David A was our waiter, very knowledgeable about the menu and the wine, but also just a super nice guy! Highly recommend, will probably return and we're only here for 3 days!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Great meal and experience!! Would definitely recommend. Cold-smoked filet was awesome!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our third visit to the Red Stag and the experience measured up to the previous two. We're particularly fond of the Chef's 4-course dinner with wine pairings. All four courses were excellent and the selected wines fit perfectly. What we appreciate even more than the excellent food is the service! On every one of our visits, the timing of the arrival of each course was simply perfect. We had sufficient time to relax and chat a bit and then just when our palate was about to say, what's next...it would arrive. The wait staff were open and friendly. We couldn't ask for anything more.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing location that took great care of us while serving great food. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing. Service was slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Another perfect meal at Red Stag with special friends. Menu always varied and tempts one to try something different.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

This is a beautiful and unique hotel and restaurant. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Angel our server was excellent. The meal was great and dessert was beautifully presented. This is truly a great memory.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Very disappointed due to we was wanting Fathers Day chefs course meal and was told all we could have was brunch😒😒😒

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Loved using open table to book my reservations for our visiting friends Red Staig was a great place for a light dinner and a glass of wine. Love this place

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Another great meal, as they've never failed to deliver on our anniversary. My steak was done perfectly, and had an interesting treatment 'cold smoked'. Harrison, our waiter was friendly, efficient and attentive and helped us pick out a great wine. Generally the ambience is great, but this night there were two large groups with loud kids that did detract from an otherwise perfect night. Still very enjoyable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Not lacking for anything! Food was amazing and prepared perfectly! Glasses never went empty!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Poor and slow service. Pretentious menu that did not deliver. Do not know what medium rare is.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Special birthday for my husband. Our server, Brian, was excellent!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Awesome experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Friends visiting from out of town and I wanted them to enjoy the unique atmosphere while we caught up. Love the easy parking for them !

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Excellent Restaurant..impeccable service.. unique choice of food on all menu's. Gluten Free options also..would recommend..

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Red Stag was a great experience. We got the four course dinner and everything on the menu was delicious! We loved the elk loin. Only down side was my husband and I were still hungry after dinner. If you don't have a big appetite like us then every dollar is worth it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary with a dinner here. The service and food were excellent. David was a very attentive server and ours entrees (lamb and halibut) were delicious. The oyster and calamari starters were also excellent. Very nice wine selection suited us nicely.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was excellent but our experience was less than savory due to a very non-attentive server. We had gotten engaged hours before or dinner and were very much looking forward to celebrating and left upset after the experience. From what we gathered, this was not true to the majority of the establishment as other wait staff seemed to be very friendly and engaging. It's a shame we got unlucky on our special night.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We enjoy the Red Stag every time we are in town. Consistently good and one of the best restaurant/bar ambiances in town. Our bartender went out of his way to make our pre-dining experience a pleasure even setting up our table in advance for us with having our decanted wine prepared and ready when we sat down to eat. Our server was not as attentive and knowing it was our anniversary it disappointed us a little that we received not the standard quality service we have come to expect from this wonderful restaurant. All told, the food was great (except the asparagus resotto) and the carrot cake was one of the best we've had.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Wonderful Anniversary dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We enjoyed ever minute. I enjoy this place every time I come and will be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Waiter was friendly and knowledgeable Food was really good

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was wonderful. The food in particular was fabulous: presentation, tastes, the whole experience. With such fine food, I expected a more extensive wine list. What we found was very, very fine. We simply had a limited range. The experience was bordering on A+.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was supposed to be our anniversary dinner, but was a significantly frustrating experience. Drink I ordered was very odd tasting and being a bartender in the past I don't think it was measured correctly as it lacked the proper amount of whiskey. I instead sent back the drink nearly full and asked for a glass of wine (which the server couldn't describe other than everyone likes it). Also when we placed our order for an appetizer, our waiter returned about 7 minutes later and asked if we wanted to order an appetizer even though we had just told him. Our waiter was odd and described the items in a very confusing way. He mentioned he was new at it, but did not know the menu well enough. I ordered the elk medium rare and wife ordered the trout. Waiter also mentioned multiple times he would return with bread but never did. Steak came out sliced in 3 pieces for presentation and was obviously well done. Asked it to be remade and had to wait for over 10 minutes while my wife ate dinner. During the time of our experience here I saw the food and beverage manager horsing around with staff in plain view of all the customers loud enough for me to hear across the restaurant. She finally brought the elk out and I asked why she had sent the well done one originally and she just brushed off the question and told me to try the elk and she would come right back; she never returned. No manager ever came to our table. Food was bland at best. It should have been a sign that the restaurant was dead for Mother's Day. Wife wasn't happy with her fish since it was described oddly and wasn't what she wanted as well as tasting off. Was surprised to notice they went ahead and charged me for my drink I sent back. All in all one of the worst dining experiences I've had. Andrea the food and beverage manager should not be in her position if she is going to mess around with staff making inappropriate noises and not paying attention to the food being prepared. We will Never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sumptuous environment. Restaurant manager graciously accommodated our request to reduce the totally unpleasant "happening" music that was reverberating throughout the dining room and competing, as well, with the live musician in the bar area (who was using far too much electronic amplification). We were there, after all, to enjoy our repast as we conversed with each other; one should not have to speak in an overly loud voice for the person across the table to hear you. If I wanted to go to a nightclub, I would have done that, but I wanted a meal. The server's wine r commendation was good. My quail appetizer was awesome. The elk loin might have awesome as well had it, the vegetables, and the potatoes even approached room temperature. The server was not to be found at this point. The reduction served with the elk was exquisitely done, albeit somewhat tepid. I suspect that my plate sat around for a while while waiting for my guest's meal to be plated. There's a great deal of potential at this restaurant, but it just was not realized that night.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Atmosphere was a bit dark and heavy. If you like castles or dungeons, it will please you. Food was OK. Again fairly traditional and lots of meat and potatoes. Better than most Marriott Hotels.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Located in Biltmore Village which is nice. Hotel is funky decor like a hunting mansion with antlier everything, stuffed animals, fun decor and nice staff. Bar and restaurant the same with antlier chandeliers. Fun place to go and good food.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Over the years, we've loved the Red Stag here in Asheville, but our last visit was not up to par. Food and food prep were not great. We'll likely give it another chance, but we left a little disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We were staying at the hotel for two nights and had reservations the second night for a restaurant in the village. We had been in town five weeks earlier and had stayed at the Omni and loved the restaurants there but not the room. We decided to eat at the Red Stag to compare. The Red Stag was a nice restaurant. The antlers everywhere were fun. Service was fine. We were seated back in a corner but that wasn't a problem. I had the halibut and my husband had the whole trout. I had a salad and my husband had chowder. I had two glasses of wine and my husband had two local beers. Our bill was $174. Not out of line and very comparable to our meal at the Sunset Terrace but the view and service level were not at the same level. My husband's trout looked very interesting and he really liked his. My halibut was a bit dried out but not a problem. My salad must have been okay but I really don't remember it.

We ate breakfast in the Red Stag both mornings as part of a package I bought. $41 would have been excessive if not part of the package. Again...service was adequate but not great. We were stuck in the far back corner the second day again! She would have moved us but just seemed weird since it wasn't busy at all in the mornings.
The rest of the services at the hotel were OUTSTANDING.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food and service. Expensive. On a par price-wise to other top restaurants in Asheville. Ours was a special-occasion dinner so our experience was worth it. The lunch menu has more options than the dinner menu.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food Great service

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We enjoyed our meal as always, especially the location of our table. Service and food exceeded our expectations.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Enjoyable dinner - food exceptional especially the hunt platter appetizer. Steaks were also great. The lighted menu's were surprising but needed since the room is quite dark.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great meal, great service, wonderful ambiance

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was amazing. From the time we arrived until we left.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great service by talented and attentive staff. The food was cooked perfectly, all around a great night out!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This is the third time I have eaten at the Red Stag Grill. The food is always outstanding, the presentation beautiful, and the service was efficient, but not noticeable. The restaurant itself is quite beautiful and I love the lighted menus!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We were celebrating my retirement and my spouse's birthday; and spent several days in Asheville. This restaurant was superb; the service, food and atmosphere were wonderful. We will definitely return next time we are in the area. Highly recommend!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent ambiance... the music is there in the background, but table conversation is easy. The scallops were prepared perfectly and were served in a beautiful presentation You won't want to miss it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.