Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville

Complimentary valet parking! Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility. After dinner, sip a signature martini or cocktail in the Red Stag Grill lounge and bar area and be entertained by local musicians.

11 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-5600

Website:
http://www.bohemianhotelasheville.com/dining/dining.asp

Entertainment:
Wednesday through Saturday nights, 8 PM till 10 PM

Catering:
At the Grand Bohemian Hotel, exceptional events are our passion. We specialize in hosting inspiring business functions and social occasions for those who expect the absolute best in service, detail, and atmosphere. Through meticulous planning and flawless execution, we weave distinctive character and impeccable style into every event to ensure it is as memorable as it is successful. By harnessing your vision, we define an artistic direction for your gathering and deliver a professional, sophisticated affair that accomplishes all of your objectives.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking with Restaurant Validation

Executive Chef:
Scott Ostrander

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility.

Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (70)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Romantic (61)
See All
Good for a Date (49)
Notable Wine List (37)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Cozy (35)
Local Ingredients (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Business Meals (25)
Authentic (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for Groups (17)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Great for Brunch (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Live Music (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Casual (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Seasonal (6)
People Watching (5)
Fireplace (5)
Fun (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (2)
Historic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2089 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

The whole evening at the Red Stag was amazing! Our food was absolutely delicious. The ambiance was unique and wonderful for a quiet date night out. Would highly recommend it!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great place to eat in Biltmore Village. Free valet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Outstanding dining experience! The tasting menu was delicious, and the wine pairings were a perfect compliment to the food. The service was also exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I live in Asheville and have tried all the "hot" restaurants. I keep returning to the Red Stag. Valet parking eliminates the angst of having to find a parking spot downtown. The restaurant is beautiful. The wait staff could not be more professional - attentive w/out being intrusive. The menu is wonderful and everything is prepared and presented to perfection. We went for a birthday and were treated to a delicious slice of to-die-for carrot cake. The bar area is very inviting and comfy.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Incredible value in their daily 3 course lunch special. It is amazing! A must try! A beautiful restaurant with excellent service and truly fine dining. Perfect venue to show out of town guests that there is more to Asheville than beer and food trucks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Very nice food presentation with elegant ambience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Really great experience from the time we dropped the car until we left. Food was excellent, service could not have been better from Angel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Lovely dinner, ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Everything was outstanding! We were celebrating our anniversary. They brought desserts to help us celebrate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 3, 2017

EXCELLENT MEAL & SERVICE AND EQUALLY AS IMPORTANT IT IS VERY QUITE. WE ARE LOCAL AND FREQUENTLY USE THIS RESTAURANT.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary with dear friends. We had an excellent meal and the menu provided many options. A first class restaurant in Asheville.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Red Stag is a great restaurant located in the Grand Bohemian Hotel in Biltmore Village. Best steaks in Asheville, and yes, better steaks than the well known chain across the road from Red Stage. We've always enjoyed the food, the service, the ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Fabulous, great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We enjoyed our anniversary dinner with friends. It was cozy, unrushed and special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner there. Staff was very good and food was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The Elk is to die for. Absolutely amazing food experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 25, 2017

A very good meal. I had the tasting menu. While it was very good, it truly was that - a taste. Certainly wasn't filled by the meal. Had to send the scallop back as it was undercooked, but the replacement was delicious. The Elk loin entree (taste) was also very good.

What a great and convenient location, if you can get parking.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Enjoyed the decor of lobby area & restaurant, seated reasonably on time for reservation, had attentive service, both duck & trout entrees were good, definitely worth a visit!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Very loud- made it hard to hear at our 4 top table. There were 2 large parties of 12-14 on both sides of us. The first party was there before us & second large party came about 20 minutes after us. Our server was taking on the second party and thus was inattentive to us the rest of our 2 hour dinner. We were glad the other staff started helping clear and serve food. Oysters were small & gritty, no lemon and bland. Wedge salad was the best thing besides the s'mores pie at dessert. The halibut was done well along with the veggies. This was Monday night at 7:15 - hate to see it on a weekend! Once was enough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Good ambiance (upscale urban bar) and food. Creative cocktail (barkeep's craft Manhattan) Very good service, as always.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The Red Stag is always a great spot for Sunday Brunch! When the rest of Asheville seemed packed this past weekend, we were able to get a 1:00 Sunday brunch reservation for 6 with a days notice. The food is great and service superb! We love the décor, too. Valet parking is validated when you dine there - - which is great considering its location in historic Biltmore Village.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was exceptional, my. Wife had scallops and I had duck. Best ever.

I was unhappy with the red wine I ordered by the glass, a Burgundy Andre Bichot. It's featured in the prix fixe menu with wine. I ordered a glass, and it was really bad. Not old, and not corked, but just bad. I wouldn't have it in my cellar.

Service was fine, noise level acceptable. White wines by the glass were very good. And again, kudos to the Chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had the make a wish chef menu. Ever course was amazing and the wine pairing was too. The live piano and cello made it very romantic. Or server was prompt and always kept a watchful eye to make sure we had what we need. He was very professional. We wanted somewhere romantic to celebrate our anneversary and it was perfect.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We always make it a point to eat at the Red Stag and as usual the filet was very special--unfortunately the dessert wasn't to die for like last year, but we'll be back next summer for a great steak and hopefully new dessert menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Wonderful ambiance and very pleasant staff. The menu selections were varied and appealing. Enjoyed our meals and would return when in the area again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 17, 2017

I was pleasantly suprised dining here ! The service was top notch the food was amazingly delicious! The atmosphere was so nice ! I can't wait to
Return !

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Red Stag was wonderful on every level. The steaks were well seasoned and cooked perfectly medium rare. The flavor of the steak was incredible. Wine list is well chosen, with prices up and down the spectrum. Stopped for a nightcap at the bar and stayed for 1 1/2 hours!
Going back next week with two other couples. Can't wait.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

While staying Asheville to explore the area for possible retirement, we came to the Red Stag to celebrate our Anniversary . Everything was excellent and went beyond our expectations. Ambience was romantic, service impeccable and the food was amazing! I had the chefs selection with the wine pairing featuring the elk. Each of the 4 courses were paired perfectly with a wine. Waitstaff was friendly and knowledgable. I can't say enough good things about this place. Even the valets were super friendly and nice! Thanks for allowing us to share our special night at your great restaurant! We hope to come back again in the near future!
Note that you definitely need a reservation

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Perfect spot for a special occasion. Menu offers wonderful choice - delicious soups, salads and elk, beef, fish . Service is wonderful . Great decor.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent restaurant! Service was superb. Incredible vodka martini with blue cheese stuffed olives. Steak was great but elk was out of this world! Great ambiance & artwork. I'd go back in a minute.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Wonderful meal in a peaceful, elegant setting. The 4-course elk dinner is delicious and well worth the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great spot, had wine for $63, found it next day @ grocery for $16
Called back a couple of times, spoke w Peter
About outrageous 4x cost
Basically tough, that's the way w restaurants
Will NOT be back
NO try to make it Right
D D
C 615 390 6055

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Delicious food, great wine selections, fresh ingredients and excellent service. This is an upscale place we try to return to at least once a year for a special occasion as a treat for ourselves.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent dinner and service...best ribeye and the quail appetizer is not to be missed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Very impressed with this experience! I absolutely love the ambiance and environment of Red Stag. We will definitely be back again very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent food and service not the typical bland hotel food, setting or service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our meal and entire dining experience were outstanding! The piano player did a wonderful job adding to the overall ambiance. My friends and I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Red Stag is in my neighborhood, so I go frequently with friends and sit at the bar. The bar is super cozy and often has live music, but not intrusive. Piano or solo guitar. It feels quite communal and fun. Recently, I decided my friend and I should sit at a table as we needed a bit of privacy. It was a different experience for sure. I wasn't happy with where we were first seated (across from a large bridal party) and they happily changed our table. The trout was some of the best I've had and the presentation was beautiful and unique. I wish I had taken a photo.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We were really hoping for a special dinner at this restaurant. We had a reservation at a different restaurant, which we cancelled on advice of another couple to eat here. We were underwhelmed. The salad was the only dish we liked and the Filet was tasteless and dry. Extremely expensive too. I do not understand the hype -- and the deer antlers covering the walls was not my thing either. It really gets an "eh" rating.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Sat at the bar prior to dining. Nice wine list to accompany a great meal.
We had a filet and scallops. Both dishes were prepared perfectly. Very nice dining room with a very cool vibe going on.
Loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.