About Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville

11 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Complimentary valet parking! Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility. After dinner, sip a signature martini or cocktail in the Red Stag Grill lounge and bar area and be entertained by local musicians.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-5600

Website:
http://www.bohemianhotelasheville.com/dining/dining.asp

Entertainment:
Wednesday through Saturday nights, 8 PM till 10 PM

Catering:
At the Grand Bohemian Hotel, exceptional events are our passion. We specialize in hosting inspiring business functions and social occasions for those who expect the absolute best in service, detail, and atmosphere. Through meticulous planning and flawless execution, we weave distinctive character and impeccable style into every event to ensure it is as memorable as it is successful. By harnessing your vision, we define an artistic direction for your gathering and deliver a professional, sophisticated affair that accomplishes all of your objectives.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking with Restaurant Validation

Executive Chef:
Scott Ostrander

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Heirloom tomatoes, arugula, burrata
Lobster and avocado cocktail – Sweet Maine lobster, fresh avocado, poached jumbo shrimp, lemon aioli, watercress
Mountain River elk loin, crused potato-leek confit, broccolini, grilled spring onions, huckleberry vincotto
Marinated green and white asparagus, fried hearts of palm, arugula, hazelnuts, grana padano, tarragon, white balsamic
Venison Tenderloin
French Broad Martini
Pickled Rhubarb
Strawberries
Goat Sausage
Blue Cheese Grits
Braised Bison Short Ribs
Goat Cheese and Leek Crostini
Black Russian Cocktail With Espresso Kahlua
Fried Calamari
Bone-in Ribeye W/ Braised Cabbage & Twice Baked Potato
Apple & Cranberry Crumble
Spicy Tomato Soup

Promotions

Granting Wishes with Three Dishes

Special valid Jul 7, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Promotions

Granting Wishes with Three Dishes

Special valid Jul 7, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Join Red Stag Grill for a special three-course menu supporting Make-A-Wish® Central and Western North Carolina · Menu available through August 31 from 5:00pm - 6:30pm · $38 per person ($3 donated). Excludes Tax and Tip. Also, ask about our 4-Course Beer Dinner with Hi-Wire Brewing on August 31. Special valid Jul 7, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Private Dining

Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility.

Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Asheville
2 More
Romantic
Asheville
American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Special Occasion (92)
Romantic (75)
Fit for Foodies (62)
See All
Notable Wine List (47)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Great for Brunch (16)
Hot Spot (12)
Late-night Find (9)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1624 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delightful food. Beautiful ambiance. Hig ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Delightful food. Beautiful ambiance. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pork tenderloin was incredible, service ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Pork tenderloin was incredible, service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner. We had the elk dish and ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing dinner. We had the elk dish and was by far one of the best meals I have had!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent night at Biltmore Inn but wanted t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Spent night at Biltmore Inn but wanted to try Red Stag. It was great! A beautiful facility with great food and service. Well done!! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great waiter made superb suggestions. R ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great waiter made superb suggestions. Rib eye and NY Strip were best ever. Decent super wine. Everyone attentive. Lots of character as there are staghorns all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We wanted to treat our out of town guest ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 7 days ago

We wanted to treat our out of town guests to great dining!! The entire experience was above and beyond our expectations!!!

We will return for an encore!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was cooked and tasted superbl ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything was cooked and tasted superbly. Order the rack of lamb nice and moist with green beans, Husband order the filet minion with broccoli and mashed potato with leaks. Also had dinner bread which was fantastic. Its the kind of meal you talk about for years to come and try to come back and have it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at the restaurant for a birth ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First time at the restaurant for a birthday weekend based on a friend's recommendation. We had the chef's tasting menu and while everything was quite good, the elk was absolutely outstanding. The restaurant is quiet and service was attentive. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very enjoyable experience on all level ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A very enjoyable experience on all levels and we look forward to returning soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time we have eaten he ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is the second time we have eaten here. We like it because it is quiet and you don't feel rushed. Ambience is dark and romantic. The food was outstanding. I had the duck, which, if not cooked properly tends to be fatty. This was not the case. For dessert, I had the banana pudding cheesecake. I am not a fan of cheesecake, but this was something I would order again.

We will be back for next special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food selection for all courses ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent food selection for all courses - save room for dessert, very nice atmosphere for a special occasion or small dinner party. Service is always excellent throughout the meal. Enjoy the bar and lounge area with frequent live music before or after dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Four couples with 3 birthdays! Service ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Four couples with 3 birthdays! Service was very good and helpful with knowledge of the dishes. The tasting menu was excellent and the second course of clams was outstanding. Terrific atmosphere for a small group celebration. Called ahead and asked to be seated in the rear of the restaurant and staff provided us an excellent location!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Second reunion of old classmates in two ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Second reunion of old classmates in two consecutive years at the Red Stag. Everyone had praise for menu, service and ambiance.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting in historic Biltmore V ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Beautiful setting in historic Biltmore Village - convenient complimentary valet parking - wonderful menu and delicious cuisine! We go back all the time and always enjoy their impeccable service and outstanding food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and cooked perfec ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was delicious and cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

COST OF THE MEAL WAS OVER PRICED BASED O ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

COST OF THE MEAL WAS OVER PRICED BASED ON THE QUALITY OF THE FOOD

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Badly needs a dress code befitting an up ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Badly needs a dress code befitting an upscale restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Food was excellent. The hotel and resta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was excellent. The hotel and restaurant are very Black Forest bohemian with a touch of Blair witch project with a eurotrash sound track. It see like it wants to be modern room but adding to and not dubtracting the old makes it an overwhelming mess. So dark that you need iPad menus which blind you when open. I vote that they embrace their past & continue to make the wonderful food so that can be what people discuss when they come to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food in this beautiful hotel was won ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food in this beautiful hotel was wonderful. My daughter had had the mussles for appetizer and she said that they were delicious. My wedge salad was delicious, as well. We both had steaks--she had a NY Strip and I had the filet mignon--and they were fabulous. The dessert we shared was unique and beautifully executed. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. The prices were fair and moderate.

I definitely plan to return to this hotel restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food. Our server was excellent ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Fantastic food. Our server was excellent. A touch over priced but excellent portions. Would visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We are foodies this place a winner in fo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We are foodies this place a winner in food service and ambiance

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food and beautiful restaurant ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Incredible food and beautiful restaurant. Really enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time to the Red Stag ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was our first time to the Red Stag and we will be back! I took my husband here for his birthday. While we love the restaurants of Asheville we really wanted something a bit more elegant and special. This experience was just that.

I enjoyed the Carolina Peach Salad. He had the lobster avocado appetizer. Both were excellent. We enjoyed halibut and trout as entrees. The trout wasn't anything amazing. The halibut was outstanding.

Wonderful, perfectly paced service. A perfect evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an outstanding dining experience! C ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

What an outstanding dining experience! Complimentary valet parking if you are not staying at the hotel, which is a very nice property. The decor in the restaurant was very cool. Service was outstanding start to finish. Excellent selection on the menu. I highly recommend the Lobster & Avocado Cocktail appetizer, the Elk entree and the Pecan Carrot Cake dessert! My wife and I were on a two week traveling vacation...this was the absolute best dinner we had hands down!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were exploring Asheville t ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My wife and I were exploring Asheville this past weekend and had dinner here. Ordered the Elk. It was cooked as ordered and was served with a delicious vincotto. If we didn't live 4 hours away, this spot would be in our regular rotation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited this place a year ago with my da ...

vip
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Visited this place a year ago with my daughter this year traveled to with my wife to visit my daughter I decided to treat my wife here for dinner , started with the host was very casual, took us to a booth next to a family with kids and there is nothing wrong with that its just when you are with your wife want to have a romantic dinner it's nice to get a table by your selves, I asked for a single table and I can see there were two or more available , no he told us he is not sure lets go here again an other booth, and 5 minutes later he seats an other couple just by us not even a foot a part from each other, if he does not want to give them a table like us why dint he seated them a bit a way as the said the same

One hour goes by no one is on those tables. I asked our server to move us and she did, she was very slow in her services, we poured our own wine, food was very nice, we wanted to buy a whole carrot cake we were told NO,

I was not sure if the staff in the business to make guest happy, accommodated and make money for the hotel.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Upscale dining, on-site complimentary va ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Upscale dining, on-site complimentary valet parking beneath the hotel; remember to have your server stamp your ticket. Excellent service, limited but eclectic menu w/ pleasant ambiance. Not cheap but competitive for the quality. No obvious bias toward those more casually dressed but jeans and a sport coat worked for me. I loved the marinated asparagus w/panko crusted fresh hearts of palm salad and can vouch for the beef tenderloin, perfectly prepared medium rare as requested. Staff was cordial and professional. Recommend making reservations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was okay, but not worth the pri ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was okay, but not worth the price for "okay". Will be markingthis off the list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

wonderful time. Jamar Woods was playing ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

wonderful time. Jamar Woods was playing piano at the bar after and he is fantastic - really set a good mood after dinner. Our server, David, was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The food was great, especially the elk, and the wine pairings went very well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was awful, were ignored most of ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was awful, were ignored most of the night & they were not busy. We are pretty low maintenance so it wouldn't have been a huge deal except we made sure he knew that we were in a bit of a hurry (we were still sitting down to enjoy our meal but want to be able to get our check and go once we were all finished).

Once we received the food we weren't checked on at all after, not to see if we enjoyed the meal, if everything came out okay, and no refills. We actually had to go find him to get out checks.

Food was amazing, wine list-spectacular, abidance-beautiful, and complimentary valet! We will go back and give it another try soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

This is truly one of the best dining exp ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is truly one of the best dining experiences we have had. We loved the food so much we ate in this restaurant three nights in a row. The preparation of ALL the dishes we tried was amazing. Everything is prepared to order with only the freshest ingredients. A plus was that the chef came to our table and explained the dishes to us. This place has an open kitchen and the dining room is extremely comfortable would recommend this to anyone visiting Ashville NC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely exceptional service from the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Absolutely exceptional service from the valet to the desk and the server.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Feels like a trendy upscale European lod ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Feels like a trendy upscale European lodge with all the convenience of being centrally located in beautiful Asheville. Wonderful presentation, supurb service, food, and wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The sea scollop were incredible.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The sea scollop were incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A disappointment because Red Stag has b ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

A disappointment because Red Stag has been one of our favorite restaurants. We took friends who just returned from a long time living in Europe. Our food was just so so and some items were completely missing (e.g green beans ordered as a side never came / unfortunately we didn't notice it until the end of the meal. We did get the type of seating we requested - that was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding food and exceptional service ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Outstanding food and exceptional service. The tasting menu with wine pairing is simply wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was outstanding. He was quite ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our server was outstanding. He was quite nice without being overly friendly. We ordered the 4 course tasting menu, with wine pairing. The pairings went fantastically well with our plates, and the tasting menu was quite fairly priced. The only negative was that the live piano music (which we enjoyed) clashed with the canned music (which we could have done without) that was simultaneously being played.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the special- a black angus rib ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I ordered the special- a black angus ribeye steak for $50. It had so many tendons in it that I couldn't eat half of it. I didn't complain or send it back but I'm wondering if this supplier's product was checked before serving it.

We're hoping to go back on a second chance the next time we are in Asheville. Other than my steak, everything else was suppurb! I'm hoping it was a fluke. Unfortunately, a pricey fluke for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent as always, great place to tak ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent as always, great place to take visitors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, ambiance, and service. Wond ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food, ambiance, and service. Wonderful hidden spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.