About Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville

11 Boston Way
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Complimentary valet parking! Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility. After dinner, sip a signature martini or cocktail in the Red Stag Grill lounge and bar area and be entertained by local musicians.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Biltmore Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-5600

Website:
http://www.bohemianhotelasheville.com/dining/dining.asp

Entertainment:
Wednesday through Saturday nights, 8 PM till 10 PM

Catering:
At the Grand Bohemian Hotel, exceptional events are our passion. We specialize in hosting inspiring business functions and social occasions for those who expect the absolute best in service, detail, and atmosphere. Through meticulous planning and flawless execution, we weave distinctive character and impeccable style into every event to ensure it is as memorable as it is successful. By harnessing your vision, we define an artistic direction for your gathering and deliver a professional, sophisticated affair that accomplishes all of your objectives.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking with Restaurant Validation

Executive Chef:
Scott Ostrander

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Heirloom tomatoes, arugula, burrata
Lobster and avocado cocktail – Sweet Maine lobster, fresh avocado, poached jumbo shrimp, lemon aioli, watercress
Mountain River elk loin, crused potato-leek confit, broccolini, grilled spring onions, huckleberry vincotto
Marinated green and white asparagus, fried hearts of palm, arugula, hazelnuts, grana padano, tarragon, white balsamic
Venison Tenderloin
French Broad Martini
Pickled Rhubarb
Strawberries
Goat Sausage
Blue Cheese Grits
Braised Bison Short Ribs
Goat Cheese and Leek Crostini
Black Russian Cocktail With Espresso Kahlua
Fried Calamari
Bone-in Ribeye W/ Braised Cabbage & Twice Baked Potato
Apple & Cranberry Crumble
Spicy Tomato Soup

Private Dining

Red Stag Grill offers Asheville’s finest dining with the freshest local ingredients, personally selected at nearby farms by our chef. Featuring contemporary European comfort food, Red Stag Grill is sumptuous, rustic hunting lodge meets modern-chic sensibility.

Red Stag Grill-Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Asheville / W. North Carolina
American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
7 More
Best Overall
Asheville
Best Food
Asheville
Best Service
Asheville
Best Ambiance
Asheville
Romantic
Asheville
Special Occasion
Asheville
American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Special Occasion (83)
Romantic (66)
Fit for Foodies (50)
See All
Notable Wine List (42)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Great for Brunch (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Business Meals (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Historic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Fun (3)
Fireplace (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Scenic View (2)
Authentic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Casual (1)
Live Music (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great but very heavy. Best of y ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was great but very heavy. Best of you spent all day hiking and are starving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

amazing meal as usual- great service- lo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 3 days ago

amazing meal as usual- great service- loved it- will always return- loved the elk- and the bar area is so great too-

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Red Stag was amazing! ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our experience at Red Stag was amazing! Our server, spectacular! Food, drinks, dessert all just too good to describe. My husband and I needed a nice adult night out, and we got what we paid for at Red Stag. I look forward to another visit!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived at Noon and were seated promp ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 3 days ago

We arrived at Noon and were seated promptly. There were few people in the restaurant so that made sense. The maitre de and the bartender were the first people that you see. The bartender was very helpful. The maitre de could be a little more welcoming. Maybe a smile?

Once seated, our waiter was there and easy to speak with about the selections. The meal was really perfect. I asked for low salt and it came that was. The fish flaked perfectly and the roasted veggies were so good, that I kept eating them after I was sated. Good thing it was vegetables! We were so full, in fact, there was no room for dessert. Imagine that. Oh, the chocolate selection for dessert was lacking. Just saying. Anyway, we had fun and enjoyed a delicious meal. Yay!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten here several times. It's ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

We have eaten here several times. It's always fantastic!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The kitchen of the Red Stag Grill prepar ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

The kitchen of the Red Stag Grill prepared what was possibly the best steak I've eaten in 2016. The 12oz ribeye was perfectly seasoned and grilled, and well paired with the potato-leek confit (which was seemingly just a nice way of saying mashed potatoes).

The desert choice of a freshly made chocolate waffle with praline ice cream, candied pecans and a dark chocolate sauce was also magnificent. It's not a large dessert, but so rich you'll likely want to share. Speaking of dessert options, my wife was also very pleased by the inclusion of some ice wines on the after dinner drink lists!

To sum up, this meal was the highlight of our half-week stay in the Asheville area. It has likely cemented itself as a staple of any future visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

FIRST TIME HERE. TRIED THE RESTAURANT W ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

FIRST TIME HERE. TRIED THE RESTAURANT WEEK MENU. FOOD AND SERVICE WERE EXCELLENT. WILL RETURN.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Red Stag Grill decor is befitting th ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The Red Stag Grill decor is befitting the ambiance of the Hotel, with superb service and food. We ordered the 4 course tastings with wine pairing and the 3 course special and were not disappointed.

The Bar area was very relaxed, however I found the prices high given the location.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I have dined here on several occassions ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I have dined here on several occassions in the past, and have always ordered the Elk steak. The steak was served as a small size strip. On this visit, when the waiter brought our plates,to my dismay there were 3 small petite filets, 2 were end pieces which were on the dry side with little flavor, my wife's plate was the same, $40 per plate, I won't order that again, reason for 3 stars. Service was very good when the waiter finally came to our table, we sat awhile because I think there was some confusion on who was waiting on us, again the 3 stars. This is a great restaurant, so take it from there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Wonderfully attentive service without be ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderfully attentive service without being intrusive. 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the valet parking to the hostess, s ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

From the valet parking to the hostess, server and bartender the upbeat attitude and welcoming spirit persists. It is always a pleasure to dine here.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Service was absolutely horrible. Waitr ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service was absolutely horrible. Waitress gave us a menu and then disappeared. My wife had to go get her to put in drink order. Took a long time to get food and when you got there it was like warm. Waitress definitely have an attitude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

I had the 4-course chef's tasting meal w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I had the 4-course chef's tasting meal with the standard wine pairing. The courses were very diverse, impeccably prepared and bursting with flavor. The wine pairings were spot on and enhance the meal greatly. If in Asheville again I would absolutely eat there again and I will recommend to anyone that visits Asheville. It was a tad pricey, but worth every penny.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came highly recommended by friends. Sea ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Came highly recommended by friends. Seating excellent! We could easily "hear" everyone! Comfortable seating. All dinners excellent in taste. Healthy portions.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit. Asked for medi ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was my second visit. Asked for medium-well, NY strip was WAY undercooked for me. Chardonnay tasted oxidized. Food was significantly better last time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Late luncheon Helpful staff Fabulous q ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Late luncheon

Helpful staff

Fabulous quirky decor

Will come again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Nice atmosphere. Food was very good. Liv ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Nice atmosphere. Food was very good. Lively on weekends with live music in bar area which is audible but not overbearing in main dining area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose the four-course tasting meal ($ ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We chose the four-course tasting meal ($55) with wine pairings ($20). The wines paired beautifully with the food selections. I learned that goat cheese goes perfectly with peaches (in the salad). I also learned that North Carolina has delicious clams. The Elk entree was a bit too small for my tastes, but it was delicious. We finished with a lovely carrot cake. Service was prompt and professional.

The atmosphere in the restaurant is wonderful, the lighting superb, the music soothing, the noise level perfect. This is a romantic spot for special and every day occasions. I just love Bohemia boutique hotels - they are so unusual, upscale, and fun. I always purchase the Bohemia Hotels candle, so that my home smells as wonderful as the hotels.

We sat under a huge moose head - yes there are many game animal heads on display. But that is what makes it so much fun.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Paul was a wonderful server. Present bu ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Paul was a wonderful server. Present but not obtrusive. Elk loin was perfectly cooked, not gamey at all. Best at medium-rare. The place is a little dark which is we had back lit menus. Cool stuff. ☺

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were very good. It was ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food and service were very good. It was just a little rushed. The timing between ordering and the appetizers was too short. The same issue occurred between the apps and the entrees.

Overall it was good and we will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

That wasn't our first visit to the resta ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

That wasn't our first visit to the restaurant, since we love rustic chic ambiance, great cuisine and friendly impacable service here. This time, though, was a bit of disappointment for me and my friend. We both ordered Boulabaise as a main course, but it came without some of the ingredients, that were definitely on the menu - no lobster, potatoes, carrots or onions -surprise! If chef didn't have those in stock that day in his kitchen, just for courtesy mention that to your clients or don't charge a full price! That was not entirely what was expected from that dish...sorry, chef. Our husbands' choices and all our desserts were delightful! So, the evening was not spoided, by all means. The ladies were slightly annoyed, however... Hope to have only pleasant surprises next time!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Delightful food. Beautiful ambiance. Hig ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Delightful food. Beautiful ambiance. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pork tenderloin was incredible, service ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Pork tenderloin was incredible, service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner. We had the elk dish and ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing dinner. We had the elk dish and was by far one of the best meals I have had!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly server. ..predictable but goo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Friendly server. ..predictable but good food. Nice wine pairings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Spent night at Biltmore Inn but wanted t ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Spent night at Biltmore Inn but wanted to try Red Stag. It was great! A beautiful facility with great food and service. Well done!! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great waiter made superb suggestions. R ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great waiter made superb suggestions. Rib eye and NY Strip were best ever. Decent super wine. Everyone attentive. Lots of character as there are staghorns all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We wanted to treat our out of town guest ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We wanted to treat our out of town guests to great dining!! The entire experience was above and beyond our expectations!!!

We will return for an encore!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was cooked and tasted superbl ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything was cooked and tasted superbly. Order the rack of lamb nice and moist with green beans, Husband order the filet minion with broccoli and mashed potato with leaks. Also had dinner bread which was fantastic. Its the kind of meal you talk about for years to come and try to come back and have it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at the restaurant for a birth ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First time at the restaurant for a birthday weekend based on a friend's recommendation. We had the chef's tasting menu and while everything was quite good, the elk was absolutely outstanding. The restaurant is quiet and service was attentive. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very enjoyable experience on all level ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A very enjoyable experience on all levels and we look forward to returning soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time we have eaten he ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is the second time we have eaten here. We like it because it is quiet and you don't feel rushed. Ambience is dark and romantic. The food was outstanding. I had the duck, which, if not cooked properly tends to be fatty. This was not the case. For dessert, I had the banana pudding cheesecake. I am not a fan of cheesecake, but this was something I would order again.

We will be back for next special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food selection for all courses ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent food selection for all courses - save room for dessert, very nice atmosphere for a special occasion or small dinner party. Service is always excellent throughout the meal. Enjoy the bar and lounge area with frequent live music before or after dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Four couples with 3 birthdays! Service ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Four couples with 3 birthdays! Service was very good and helpful with knowledge of the dishes. The tasting menu was excellent and the second course of clams was outstanding. Terrific atmosphere for a small group celebration. Called ahead and asked to be seated in the rear of the restaurant and staff provided us an excellent location!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Second reunion of old classmates in two ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Second reunion of old classmates in two consecutive years at the Red Stag. Everyone had praise for menu, service and ambiance.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting in historic Biltmore V ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Beautiful setting in historic Biltmore Village - convenient complimentary valet parking - wonderful menu and delicious cuisine! We go back all the time and always enjoy their impeccable service and outstanding food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and cooked perfec ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was delicious and cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

COST OF THE MEAL WAS OVER PRICED BASED O ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

COST OF THE MEAL WAS OVER PRICED BASED ON THE QUALITY OF THE FOOD

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Badly needs a dress code befitting an up ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Badly needs a dress code befitting an upscale restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Food was excellent. The hotel and resta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was excellent. The hotel and restaurant are very Black Forest bohemian with a touch of Blair witch project with a eurotrash sound track. It see like it wants to be modern room but adding to and not dubtracting the old makes it an overwhelming mess. So dark that you need iPad menus which blind you when open. I vote that they embrace their past & continue to make the wonderful food so that can be what people discuss when they come to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.