About Red Pump Kitchen

401 East Main Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902
View Larger Map

We use locally sourced, seasonal ingredients to create Tuscan inspired dishes. Our dishes include pizzettes, antipasti, seafood and a selection of homemade pastas. Italian and Virginia wines make up the dynamic wine list. Our craft cocktails are made-to-order and use the freshest possible ingredients.

The bistro-setting features an open kitchen with a classic wood burning oven, a full service bar, and outdoor seating. Our Chef’s Table is available for group dining for parties of 8-10 guests and features 4-course prix-fixe menu with optional wine pairings. Sunday and Tuesday are our Featured Wine Nights.

Red Pump's Tuscan cuisine is a pleasing combination of the highest-quality ingredients and the caring preparation by our chefs who take pride in the dishes they present.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday, 5:00 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Saturday, 5:00 pm - 11 pm
Sunday, 5:00 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
4th and Main Street on the Downtown Mall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 202-6040

Website:
http://redpumpkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Validation for Market St Garage

Executive Chef:
Lee Hendrickson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact hannah@redpumpkitchen.com

Restaurant Photos

Red Pump Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Charlottesville
Most Booked
Charlottesville
Best Restaurants in Charlottesville ›

fit for foodies (38)
special occasion (28)
romantic (23)
See All
neighborhood gem (19)
notable wine list (18)
hot spot (17)
good for groups (15)
vibrant bar scene (11)
scenic view (9)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There was a fixed price menu for graduat ...

Dined 6 days ago

There was a fixed price menu for graduation weekend and the food was excellent (and generous). Dessert options were experimental and interesting. Service was impeccable! A standout on the Downtown Mall.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My go-to place for out-of-town guests. G ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My go-to place for out-of-town guests. Great appetizers, amazing drinks. Atmosphere is lively and modern.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

best in C'ville

Dined on May 20, 2016

We were thrilled to get a reservation at Red Pump over UVA graduation weekend. Many weeks after I made the reservation, I was told it would be prix fixe, but to our surprise, we liked choosing between two selections for each course. With the limited menu, everything was bound to be delicious, and indeed it was. Our waiter was outstanding. Not only did he make excellent wine suggestions, he understood our needs, mood, and sense of humor. It was one of the most enjoyable meals I've had, certainly the best in Charlottesville.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Noisy, bustling and friendly with mainly ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Noisy, bustling and friendly with mainly young clientele (but some oldies too!). Small menu but beautifully cooked in a kitchen which is open to the restaurant itself. Ice cream dessert is to die for! Excellent service - friendly, attentive but not overbearing. Definitely a keeper.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The wine and beer selection was pretty s ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The wine and beer selection was pretty small, and the choices were't good..kinda like you let a non-drinker pick the list. My biggest complaint was that I made a reservation for 4 and was still seated at a high top table when many regular tables were empty. The portions looked small, but in reality they filled me up nicely. The staff was a little too eager and didn't have a good sense of what a business meeting was and that when we are engrossed in talking business we shouldn't be bothered.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Solid choice on the downtown mall

Dined on April 29, 2016

Red Pump Kitchen consistently offers well conceived and executed food in a lively atmosphere. The Pizza Funghi is a standout and the eggplant fritti is a tasty treat. The wine and beer list is reliable if a little on the pricey side. At $40/person for dinner with one drink and no dessert, I wouldn't give the place high marks for value. But it's reliably tasty and well located at the heart of the downtown mall. We'll probably be back again in the not too distant future.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food is good but a bit pricey. Noise lev ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food is good but a bit pricey. Noise level can be high at times making it difficult for conversation

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Quite the disappointment

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our group of 6 overall was unimpressed with the experience at Red Pump Kitchen. Our waitress was new and had not been properly trained to know what the menu descriptions meant, such as "scorched pearls." And she did not go to seek the answers to the 3 questions she didn't know, despite having said she would check. We enjoyed the CAuliflower appetizer with tahini nd the Gnocchi with Guanciale. The Lobster Tortellini (which was really tortelloni) was deliciously rich. The quantity of lobster, however, was not impressive, especially considering the price in the high $20's for 6 tortelloni. The grilled branzino was perfectly cooked. The Kale Caesar salad was declared inedible by 5 different lovers of kale, having little of the traditional Caesar dressing flavors except some lemon and the flavor of the kale itself being very strong (despite the fact that it appeared to be either black Tuscan kale or dinosaur kale, both usually soft, mild, and scrumptious.) The pizza was quite flabby; the coffee-roasted beets included golden beets that were hardly cooked and red beets that were perfectly cooked as well as delicious dressing; the spaghetti was fine. The time lag between appetizers and entrees was inexcusably long. We were disappointed that the menu selections available that night did not live up to the level of the menu on the website, their website disclaimer notwithstanding. Most of the 6 of us, despite having a wide variety of food interests, experienced that disappointment, since we had all been excited by the sample choices on the website.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Menu wrong

Dined on April 8, 2016

ordered a cale salad that was supposed to have balsamic dressing. dressing had a hint of anchovies. i hate anchovies. if you want to put something as strong as anchovies in a salad, disclose it it in the menu. what if i had been allergic

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Pumped Up

Dined on March 25, 2016

Great upscale restaurant with modern flair. Good menu, nice presentation, but pricey wines.

Tags: late-night find
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I've been to Red Pump several times for ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

I've been to Red Pump several times for dinner but have never experienced the noise level and the sense of being crowded that I did last weekend. The noise was uncomfortably loud and I felt closed in with so many tables. The food is good but the portions so small (they seem smaller than in past visits?) and so pricey I don't think I will come again. I really like the décor and the feel but did not enjoy it this time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great downtown experience

Dined on March 17, 2016

Every seat is a good one. The food is simple and delicious. One of the best downtown experiences, particularly for ambience and service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Dinner done right

Dined on March 11, 2016

We had exactly one hour before the show at the Paramount, just steps away. Our table was ready when we arrived, the service was prompt, entrees were served in a reasonable time. Whole Bronzino and scallops, both excellent. Check was paid and out the door in 60 minutes. We could have lingered for a long while had time permitted. Definitely we'll be coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent wine suggestions and samples. ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Excellent wine suggestions and samples. Perfect portions. A bit chilly where we sat when the door opened. Will request a booth next time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best pizza I've had since I was in Naples!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Also one of my cocktails came with a slice of bacon in it. I don't know what's not to like about this place?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, phenomenal service

Dined on February 15, 2016

My boyfriend and I made reservations at Red Pump for Valentine's Day dinner at the recommendation of a friend. At first, we were a little surprised to see that they were only offering a set Valentine's Day menu, but up looking at the options were more than happy. Each course was appropriately portioned and all of the food was amazing. The service was out of this world, and not just our server. Almost everyone on staff stopped by our table to make sure that we were enjoying our dinner and made sure we felt welcome. I would highly recommend Red Pump for any couple looking for a nice date spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Valentine's dinner just not worth it

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I had a Valentine's Day dinner reservation on the early side (615pm.) Fixed price menu was expensive and focused too heavily on quantity of food (three courses plus dessert) and not enough on quality. Only one of the three courses was very good, the other two were mediocre. The bar took entirely too long to prepare and deliver our one cocktail. The front door is not screened at all from the dining room, so every diner is blasted with cold air every time the door is opened. Underwhelming all around. Did not leave enough of a positive impression for us to give it a second try on our next visit to town.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Delicious food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal

Dined on February 13, 2016

Dinner and drinks were outstanding. Serve was fast without feeling rushed. Will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service4

We didn't realize it was restaurant week ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

We didn't realize it was restaurant week when we went, and at first were taken aback by the limited menu. We shouldn't have been; we had the oysters and soup for appetizers, and the lamb and mussels for entrees. Everything was fantastic; the oysters in particular had a terrific topping of cheese, pickled duck fat,and mustard greens and were perfectly seasoned. Service was great and the place was pretty quiet.

food4
ambience4
service4

Didn't know it was still restaurant week ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Didn't know it was still restaurant week. Wasn't thrilled with the menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you!

Dined on January 31, 2016

Food, service and ambiance all first rate. Made for a most enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Dinner with a DIN -- good for some, not for us.

Dined on January 30, 2016

It is a happening place -- but you must have to be into loud, brash, overpriced restaurants to fully appreciate. Our consensus was the food was of fair quality -- disappointing for restaurant week -- and the noise level was unacceptable. In terms of a return trip -- no thanks -- we would give it the "nobody goes there anymore -- it's too crowded" award this time. For the record, the wait staff, including bartender, all were excellent.

Tags: hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Our second try

Dined on January 30, 2016

This was our second visit; the first being shortly after the restaurant opened. We used Restaurant Week as our excuse to return. Although their RW menu was not particularly Tuscan, the food was good, to very good, and tastefully presented. Short of Palladio, service was the best we have experienced in Cville. Well groomed, attractive staff, devote the right amount attention without being intrusive. Team serving makes for good efficiency even in busy periods and our meal was perfectly paced. Red Pump is lively and they have taken steps since opening to mitigate the noise level. But, it's still loud which may taper off a bit as the evening progresses. Interior design is very sophisticated with pleasing lighting . We plan to return shortly to sample a wider range of Tuscan options.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

We have eaten at Red Pump on more than one occasion and it is CONSISTENTLY great when it comes to both food and service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

restaurant week: Just OK and overpriced.

Dined on January 29, 2016

Although he kale salad was excellent, we were disappointed in some of the dishes for restaurant week. The bowl of mussels was mostly red pasta with not many mussels on top. The salmon dish was very small and nothing special. For 39 dollars we expected more creative dishes.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Restaurant Week spot

Dined on January 26, 2016

Great food, good wine, good atmosphere = excellent time

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good

Dined on January 16, 2016

Atmosphere is great. The portions were larger than I recall from my last visit, so I was full quickly and able to take food home. Everything was fresh, but my gnocchi dish was over-salted. My guests ordered carbonara and scallops, both of which were excellent. Reservations were easy to make, and the service was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Yum

Dined on January 3, 2016

Everything was delicious and unique. They also make their own pasta in house.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

New Year's Eve dinner was awesome. Fanta ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

New Year's Eve dinner was awesome. Fantastic food and drinks all around!

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

slipping? just an off night?

Dined on December 16, 2015

We have loved Red Pump in the past and found the food to be exceptional. This visit, however, was a disappointment. The food was just "OK” and not the quality we have come to expect from Red Pump. My salad was a messy bowl of shredded kale with very few of the extras hiding underneath. The Arrabbiata with mussels was pretty much the same--basic quality, no presentation points. My husband 's lamb dish, small and lackluster. The one exception to the disappointing meal was the dessert--especially the mint gelato which was fabulous. Hopefully it was just a bad night for the chef, but we won't be in a hurry to go back which is unfortunate as we have enjoyed it so much in the past.

food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting variation of the 'carbonara' ...

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

Interesting variation of the 'carbonara', which although made with parmigiano and not pecorino cheese, was still tasty. Staff was great: helpful and friendly suggested good wine combinations.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great food

Dined on December 5, 2015

Went here for the first time on a date with my husband. We love Italian food (who doesn't?) but we're picky. This place satisfied. I had the eggplant appetizer which was delicious followed by pasta. My husband had the pizza which was cooked to perfection in a wood burning oven.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

5 of us had a delicious dinner and a won ...

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

5 of us had a delicious dinner and a wonderful time on Saturday nite Nov. 28th. Brian, the bar tender, was very friendly and the drink recommendations were spot on. For dinner, we sampled a number of dishes including lamb, steak, pizza, pasta carbonara, etc. They were well prepared and very tasty. The wine list included one of our favorite Italian wines. We're looking forward to returning frequently.

food5
ambience3
service4

Pricey but worth it.

Dined on November 21, 2015

We walked away from dinner for two about $100 poorer, but with full stomachs and thoroughly pleased palates. Red Pump's food is outstanding -- perfectly prepared with style, imagination, and a careful attention to the right mix of flavors. From the carbonara with an egg yolk that, when punctured, magically vanishes into the creamy sauce, to the sublime parmesan-basil gelato -- perfectly balanced in its sweet, savory, and vegetal notes -- that finished off our meal, Red Pump bowled us over food-wise. Service was also excellent; our server was kind, attentive, and pleasant, even on a busy evening. The restaurant is beautifully decorated, if a bit on the tiny and noisy side. Neither my wallet nor my general health could afford regular trips to Red Pump, but as an occasional splurge, I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4

Tasty

Dined on November 14, 2015

Food was very tasty, but the atmosphere was noisy.

food2
ambience5
service4

First time at Red Pump; maybe not again

Dined on November 12, 2015

We joined friends who had dined here almost a year ago, and they had had an excellent dinner. I have to say that our server was very good at describing the new menu. For appetizers, we had fried eggplant, carrot ginger soup, and beet salad. The beet salad was the best of the group, followed by the eggplant, and then the soup. However, all were OK, and the soup was lukewarm. End of Round One. Round Two: The entrees were, shall I say, nothing exceptional. All four of us had separate pasta dishes: the Carbonara could have been prepared in any household, the orrechetto has a basic, yet bland, pesto, the bucatini with mussels was pretty neutral with 8 mussels, two of which had not opened, and the gnocchi had been over-cooked while its pork jowl ingredient was quite bitter. All of the entrees did not impress anyone. End of Round Two. Round Three: Dessert. All of us had the home made gelato, which was excellent. Finally, the wine and the specialty drinks were good, which may be the reason that the bar scene was popular by others. Food-wise, the appetizers nor entrees didn't knock any socks off. However, our waitstaff was wonderful. Sad that our friends felt Red Pump had made a 180 degree turn since they were here in January.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, excellent service, del ...

Dined on November 6, 2015

Great atmosphere, excellent service, delicious food!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always. Christopher and th ...

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

Excellent as always. Christopher and the staff are professional. Great Chef.

food2
ambience3
service1

We had to wait a great deal of time for ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

We had to wait a great deal of time for our food and then a couple of the pasta dishes were a bit bland. The management was very apologetic about the wait and gave us a pizza while we waited and then a free dessert. Not the best dining experience I have had in Charlottesville but the management tried to make it better.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.