About Red Pump Kitchen

We use locally sourced, seasonal ingredients to create Tuscan inspired dishes. Our dishes include pizzettes, antipasti, seafood and a selection of homemade pastas. Italian and Virginia wines make up the dynamic wine list. Our craft cocktails are made-to-order and use the freshest possible ingredients.

The bistro-setting features an open kitchen with a classic wood burning oven, a full service bar, and outdoor seating. Our Chef’s Table is available for group dining for parties of 8-10 guests and features 4-course prix-fixe menu with optional wine pairings. Sunday and Tuesday are our Featured Wine Nights.

Red Pump's Tuscan cuisine is a pleasing combination of the highest-quality ingredients and the caring preparation by our chefs who take pride in the dishes they present.

401 East Main Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday, 5:00 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Saturday, 5:00 pm - 11 pm
Sunday, 5:00 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
4th and Main Street on the Downtown Mall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 202-6040

Website:
http://redpumpkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Validation for Market St Garage

Executive Chef:
Lee Hendrickson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact laurie@redpumpkitchen.com

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.00

Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.00

Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 20, 2017 - Jan 29, 2017 on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Red Pump Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (14)
See All
Good for Birthdays (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Wood Oven (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Fun (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (8)
People Watching (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (7)
Cozy (7)
Romantic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Organic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
284 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Both my dinner and my husband's were del ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Both my dinner and my husband's were delicious--so was the dessert and the wine! Great vibe, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came in for our anniversary dinner, a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We came in for our anniversary dinner, and left happy and full! The wait staff were professional and friendly. The food was great. Very romantic spot!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I absolutely love the pear and Brussel s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I absolutely love the pear and Brussel sprout pizza. Pairs deliciously with the Pippin Hill zero white. It was a birthday dinner for me and as usual I had an amazing meal. Definitely my go to place!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner on a busy New Years Eve ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent dinner on a busy New Years Eve. A few bumps on service, but the food was delicious, and we felt like it was a special evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

While visiting Charlottesville, had New ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

While visiting Charlottesville, had New Year's Eve dinner with my wife and daughter at Red Pump Kitchen and we were not disappointed. Red Pump had a set menu that still offered plenty of choices. Great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

New Years Eve

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was outstanding on New Year's ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was outstanding on New Year's Eve - great service, food, ambiance, wine list. Definitely a real treat - 10!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef's table is the way to go. Great tim ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Chef's table is the way to go. Great time and fantastic value. Thanks Lee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time at Red Pump. Waiter fabu ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our first time at Red Pump. Waiter fabulous. Food delicious. Wine delicious. Lovely decor. Noisy. Expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great pizza options! Love the atmosphere ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great pizza options! Love the atmosphere. The high top tables near the windows are great seats to have the view of the outside mall although the chairs aren't the most comfortable, felt like I was sliding off the seat. Wine from local wineries are available which I thought was a plus, a little pricey though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my second visit to RP and we enj ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is my second visit to RP and we enjoyed another great dining experience. Blake our server was very attentive. This visit was with friends for my birthday. Love the atmosphere and delicious wood fired pizza. The four of us split a pizza for an appetizer. In this day of fake candles everywhere, the real candles on the tables and bar area, and the real oil lamps on the walls lend an authentic ambience to the room. Good job RP!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We drove from Richmond and ate at Red Pu ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We drove from Richmond and ate at Red Pump Kitchen after a Pippin Hill Winery stop. Not our first vist and we always enjoy our meal there. We loved that ELizabeth Spencer wine is the house wine !! We loved how all the waitstaff work as a team.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Red Pump Kitchen on sever ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I have been to Red Pump Kitchen on several occasions in the past and typically have enjoyed the experience and had good service. On Sunday night (12/18) I had a reservation for a party of three. While we were seated immediately, we did not see our server for almost six minutes. It was unclear who our server was throughout the meal, as it seemed people were rotating. The restaurant was busy but not full to capacity. Our appetizers (Brussels sprouts and beets) were good, but our entrée portions were smaller than I have previously received. Additionally, the entrees were lukewarm. By this time, we did not have time to return the dishes as we were in a time crunch due to delays. My entrée, the carbonara, had fewer tomatoes and almost no pancetta in it as compared to previous times I've dined. I am disappointed in our experience and would like to return, but it seemed like an off night for the kitchen and service staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

One of my favorite restaurants in cville ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in cville! Great food, drinks, and ambiance. Perfect spot for a special and memorable date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadn't been to Red Pump before so tho ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We hadn't been to Red Pump before so thought we would give it a try...before a show at the Paramount. Not a huge place by any means. Nice décor...very warm/inviting. We were seated promptly and then they quickly accommodated our request for a better table. Attentive service. The menu had a good selection, although not a great place if you are on a gluten-free diet. The beet appetizer was really interesting (involving coffee and chocolate). I had the pork cheeks on rigatoni with lemon ricotta. I'm not a huge pasta fan, but this was well-executed. The pork was really tender. Not a huge serving, which is a good thing. The cioppino was fine...they should serve with bread and/or a spoon. The salmon was very good...cooked to order. We ordered a bottle of wine, and the server was good about pouring throughout the meal. We had to run so didn't have time for dessert. Although it was a bit pricey (but competitive with certain other spots in and around the downtown mall), we were glad to have tried this.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and had a wonderful time. The waitress we had was outstanding and very personable. The food was good and I would highly recommend this venue to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the worst meals in Charlottesvill ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 30, 2016

One of the worst meals in Charlottesville. My last time there. The service and ambiance are great but the food and wine were a shame. We interviewed a candidate and I was embarrassed. I felt bad to leave in the middle but I should have moved all of us to another place. This is such a great place with a fantastic interior and a great service... get rid of the chef and hire someone who can cook. This could be a jewel in the crown but right now it's a no-go place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Great food. Excellent service. Wonderful ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food. Excellent service. Wonderful ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was very nice and delicious. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Everything was very nice and delicious. Not sure what all the comments about the noise were. We could here everything fine. And portion size is completely normal. Those comments must be from folks who prefer Cheesecake Factory servings.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice place; food and service were good. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Nice place; food and service were good. When I made our reservations on Open Table for 3, we had our pick of times, no problem. However, when we arrived, they seated us at a small table right by the door. We asked if there was another table out of the pathway and cold draft of the door , they replied everything was reserved. Maybe they only cater to larger groups? Not sure but we weren't pleased. We moved on though and had a nice dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We were very impressed with the staff an ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were very impressed with the staff and their willingness to make our dining experience as comfortable as possible. The backless barstools were uncomfortable and hard to tolerate for some in our party, so when another table became available, we were reseated. The food was delicious; however, the entrees were not of equal proportion, i.e., pricier dishes were somewhat smaller than less expensive ones.

Overall, a warm and inviting dining experience for a special birthday occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a party of three out for a frien ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were a party of three out for a friends birthday. It was a chilly windy night and we were given a very small table near the front door. We were told that's all they had, so we couldn't move. The size of the actual table would have been better suited for a two person party. If you wanted to buy a bottle of wine, there were a lot of choices, if you wanted a glass of wine, the list was very limited. The entre was good, but on the small side. I'm not quite sure what the vegetable was that was paired with my salmon, but it looked like the ends that you cut off of a carrot and toss out.

They were nice enough to give us a free gelato for my friends birthday, but I won't be going back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Absolutely not worth the price. Food was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Absolutely not worth the price. Food was very expensive, unimpressive, and the portion sizes were ridiculously small. We got the lobster pasta dish and only got 4 noodle shells. Will not be returning.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Great food, good service. Appreciated wh ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food, good service. Appreciated when server assisted chices with special diet

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We've eaten here several times. Great fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We've eaten here several times. Great food, wine and fabulous service. Could not have had a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been twice now. Food consistently ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We've been twice now. Food consistently very good. One omission: no bread! Even if requested, they just don't have.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I brought my parents here and had a wond ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I brought my parents here and had a wonderful dining experience. We ordered a few things to share: the cheese board, the margherita pizza, the eggplant fritti, and the brussel sprouts. Everything was exquisite- delicious, perfectly seasoned, prepared with care. The brussel sprouts, however, were absolutely outstanding. I could have eaten a giant pile of them all by myself. The wine selection by the glass was concise yet had a great variety choices: Spanish, French and Italian. The ambience was lovely and the service was friendly, helpful and informative. I will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal here with husband and s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had a great meal here with husband and son. We all really enjoyed the octopus and kale salad appetizers. My son loved the lobster ravioli and I had a beef pasta dish that was great with an amazing mushroom ragu. It's a little loud and the tables are close together, but it's fun to watch kitchen prepare the food, if you get a chance to sit at that end of the dining room.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Took our son out for dinner here on a bu ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Took our son out for dinner here on a busy Friday night. Enjoyed superb lobster tortellini, excellent thin crust pear and. Russel sprout pizzete, and Carbonara. Not crazy about the mussels on a slice of toast. Server was superb.

Fun location on the downtown mall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent as always. Lobster Tortellini ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent as always. Lobster Tortellini a winner! Great servers, especially Farrell. Has become our favorite spot.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Open Kitchen
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance but so so food and servic ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great ambiance but so so food and service. We had hoped for better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Beautiful and cozy atmosphere, warm and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Beautiful and cozy atmosphere, warm and inviting lighting, excellent service, wholesome and fresh ingredients, best in ambience, wonderful wines

Tags: Fun, Organic, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing experience for dinner bef ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Had an amazing experience for dinner before a show at The Jefferson. Definitely try the chefs tasting menu and wine pairings. The chef and staff couldn't have been nicer and the food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at the Red Pump on 10/22/16 was ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Dinner at the Red Pump on 10/22/16 was fantastic. We had the Lobster Tortellini and sides of beets and Brussels sprouts. All were very good! The atmosphere was energetic without being deafening and the service was outstanding. Our server's name was Lori (not sure of the way she spells her name) and she helped make the overall experience that much better. She was very knowledgeable and attentive while also being personable and a joy to interact with. I hope to return soon. Joe R.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The Lobster Tortellini is outstanding an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Lobster Tortellini is outstanding and should never be removed from the menu :) It is one of the reasons I keep coming back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Casual, People Watching, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, pleasant service, but boy was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Good food, pleasant service, but boy was it loud! Two friends and I had an 8:15 reservation on a Saturday night --the restaurant was full (we had to wait a few minutes past our reservation time for the table) and very noisy. We had to shout across the table to hear each other. The waitperson told us it was better in warm weather, when the French doors stay open and the noise doesn't bounce off the walls.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and the service were excellent! ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food and the service were excellent! A bit pricey for the amount of food provided, and I wish there were more choices on the menu, especially salads. Loud enough to have to strain your voice to talk to table-mates.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We were visiting Charlottesville for the ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We were visiting Charlottesville for the weekend and someone recommended Red Pump to us for dinner. We loved it!! Everyone was so nice and the food was fantastic! We went with our older teens and had an amazing meal. The brick oven pizza was a big hit and the whole Bronzino was cooked to perfection! We would also recommend the brussel sprouts - yum! The open kitchen made the place lively and fun. We will be back!!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Red Pump several times. As ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We've been to Red Pump several times. As always, the food was terrific, the hostess was very nice and professional, but the waitstaff, all very pleasant, were a mess. We had four different people bringing different items out, the service was slow and haphazard and there was not really a concept of working as a team. So I'm torn, as this has not been our experience, and again, the food was terrific. It will probably be a while before we go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Red Pump had some great flavors going on ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Red Pump had some great flavors going on. Small menu but good variety. The pasta's were very good and pizza came out hot and fresh. Waitress needed to smile more, was a little uncomfortable. It seemed slow for a Sunday night but we walked out happy and content.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.