About Red Pump Kitchen

401 East Main Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902
View Larger Map

We use locally sourced, seasonal ingredients to create Tuscan inspired dishes. Our dishes include pizzettes, antipasti, seafood and a selection of homemade pastas. Italian and Virginia wines make up the dynamic wine list. Our craft cocktails are made-to-order and use the freshest possible ingredients.

The bistro-setting features an open kitchen with a classic wood burning oven, a full service bar, and outdoor seating. Our Chef’s Table is available for group dining for parties of 8-10 guests and features 4-course prix-fixe menu with optional wine pairings. Sunday and Tuesday are our Featured Wine Nights.

Red Pump's Tuscan cuisine is a pleasing combination of the highest-quality ingredients and the caring preparation by our chefs who take pride in the dishes they present.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday, 5:00 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Saturday, 5:00 pm - 11 pm
Sunday, 5:00 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
4th and Main Street on the Downtown Mall

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(434) 202-6040

Website:
http://redpumpkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Validation for Market St Garage

Executive Chef:
Lee Hendrickson

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact hannah@redpumpkitchen.com

Restaurant Photos

Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen
Red Pump Kitchen

Red Pump Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Charlottesville
Fit for Foodies
Charlottesville
Most Booked
Charlottesville
Best Restaurants in Charlottesville ›

Fit for Foodies (34)
Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (19)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful spot with great atmosphere. Se ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful spot with great atmosphere. Service was great. Scampi was good but overpriced. Pizza Margherita was disappointing (better than most around but still), which was a surprise with that big, fancy pizza oven. My mother's comment: "The sauce is everything and that tasted like Chef Boyardee."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Always a memorable experience. Red Pump ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always a memorable experience. Red Pump routinely exceeds our expectations.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very interesting menu - limited, but wit ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very interesting menu - limited, but with something for everybody. Each dish has something unique about it - not the same old same old. The wine list has reasonably priced wines, also on the unique side. The setting and ambiance are really cool. We love eating at the high tops so we can watch the people on the Downtown Mall. We are repeat customers and will keep coming back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious gnocchi and tasty firegrilled ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Delicious gnocchi and tasty firegrilled pizza. Definitely would goback

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must-go. Everything was fresh & delici ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

A must-go. Everything was fresh & delicious! Don't miss the homemade pastas, everything we ate was terrific. Plus great vibe. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely well-trained and educated staf ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Extremely well-trained and educated staff...always a delight...always a pleasure! Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the perfect date location, we had ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was the perfect date location, we had a wonderful time and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made a reservation, and when we arriv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We made a reservation, and when we arrived were brought to a miniscule table - so small our party of 3 couldn't fit plates, glasses, and menus on the table at the same time. We asked to be moved and were told there was nothing available. Multiple parties of two were seated at larger, four-person tables after us. Those people must have been more important than us, I guess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

The noise level is our only complaint. I ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The noise level is our only complaint. I think the tables for two would not b desirable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was really good and we had a gr ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was really good and we had a great time. Nice, open air environment, good wine list, accomodating staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The decor is attractive, the service was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The decor is attractive, the service was very attentive, and the wine list was impressive. The food was enjoyable but not distinctive. Red Pump Kitchen seems undecided as to whether it wants to attract diners who would like a relaxed meal, or a young, bar-scene crowd. The menu and wine list leans toward the former but the energetic music and general noise level leaned toward the latter. (Note: Open Table requires a value rating but this is difficult to judge as we went during Restaurant Week, when there was a prix fixe menu.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great lamb chops! Service was a bit slo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great lamb chops! Service was a bit slow, but it was very crowded. Overall we enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We came for restaurant week, my friends ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We came for restaurant week, my friends and I take advantage of this week twice a year. Red Pump will be on our favorites list. We will be back to try the regular menu and the outdoor seating when cooler. Everything was wonderful, food, wine, service. We all commented that we weren't rushed either.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week menu was incredible! The ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Restaurant Week menu was incredible! The food is top notch but the service was not the best - not very engaging or enthusiastic. Unfortunately we were made to feel like we were almost a burden.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

It was Restaurant Week in Charlottesvill ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It was Restaurant Week in Charlottesville, so the place was very busy. But even taking this into account, we got lousy service that took twice a long as usual, and our meat was really undercook even though we didn't request rare. Even our drinks were not refilled regularly. All in all, I will not be going back there due to the bad experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

The gnocchi was amazing! I would defini ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The gnocchi was amazing! I would definitely return if only for this dish. Every other item we ordered was of quality ingredients, but not overly impressive in composition or flavor. You could tell by cooking technique, there is a skilled staff in the kitchen. They simply need inspiration to compete in a town such as this.

Our server was extremely sweet, but service overall was slow. The bar needed at least two staff members, and the manner in which management divided server sections was detrimental to expedient service. Our server was handling tables at the far end of the patio, all the way to the back corner of the dining room.

The decor is beautiful, warm, and inviting. However, the tables were uncomfortable and crowded. The din in the room hindered conversation. The front wall which opens onto the street is a visual delight, but creates an uncomfortable, humid, and buggy environment on a hot summer day.

Overall, Red Pump has potential to provide a lovely experience. They only have a few simple items to address in order to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I liked the atmosphere when we walked in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I liked the atmosphere when we walked in but it is very noisy. The service was exceedingly slow. 30 minutes between each course. The appetizer was delicious but the meal went downhill from there. Vegetables with the main course were undercooked. Meat was too rare. My mistake that I did not request it medium rare but, then again, I was not asked. Ordinarily I would have had it cooked a bit more but the wait had been so long, I did not bother. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

I go to Red Pump quite often and sit at ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I go to Red Pump quite often and sit at the bar, but this time I took friends who were visiting from out of town for restaurant week. I was excited to have them eat there, but a few of the dishes let us down. The salmon was quite overcooked and the tres leches dessert left much to be desired, namely the unripe pears that were on the plate. But the other dishes were quite fantastic - I could eat the lamb and the chocolate dessert every single day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We walked in unknowing of really what we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We walked in unknowing of really what we were going to experience, and we were blown away by the quality of the food and ambiance. We happened to go during restaurant week so we got a three course meal, and everything was cooked to perfection. The spaghetti sauce was one of the best I've ever had. The lamb was perfectly seasoned and very tender. The dessert was tres leeches and the cake just melted in your mouth. A+ to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was the second time we ate at Red P ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was the second time we ate at Red Pump. It was Restaurant Week which meant a limited menu at prix fixe. Between the four of us we had both main courses which were delicious (salmon and lamb). They have interesting cocktails and a good wine list. Atmosphere is great and the service was excellent. Would highly recommend giving it a try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful date night at Red Pump Kitchen ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful date night at Red Pump Kitchen! Our food was delicious and arrived in a timely manner. Our waiter was friendly, but not overly involved in our dining experience. My only complaint was our table. It was set in the back corner- near the bathrooms and kitchen line. It was just my husband and myself- we ended up sitting more side by side in this booth because had he sat across from me he would have been right in the middle of wait staff traffic. But dinner and drinks were wonderful- we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This recent addition to Charlottesville' ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This recent addition to Charlottesville's downtown pedestrian mall is a real gem. Delicious food, great atmosphere, nice wine list, pretty decor. Highly recommend. We have been 3 times and each time was great. Be sure and make reservations as it is popular.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red pump has amazingly consistent and ou ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Red pump has amazingly consistent and outstanding menu and wonderful service. There gelato section is the best I have ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful everything! Service, food, at ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful everything! Service, food, atmosphere, location. Perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location& delicious Italian food. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great location& delicious Italian food. Love the fact that they take reservations

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Lobster tortellini i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was excellent. Lobster tortellini is to die for. Interesting appetizers that could be a meal for a smaller appetite. Atmosphere is very nice and has a good energy. Our server was very attentive and got us in and out in one hour so we could get to a show at the Paramount. Would love to return to sample the interesting cocktail menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Red Pump

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our second time visiting Red Pump. and it was fabulous (both times!). Service is impeccable and the food is incredible! Our Server, Kimberly, was very friendly and she suggested the perfect wine for our dinner. We also had a chance to talk to Chef Lee for a few minutes, what a nice guy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for one evening and I ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We were in town for one evening and I happened upon the restaurant via Open Table. Creative menu and wonderful service. We enjoyed our meal and would definitely recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorites in Cvlle. W ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This is one of our favorites in Cvlle. We like the high top table by the window and enjoy watching the activity on the Mall. Food is good but pricy....a bit garlicky. As with many Cvlle restaurants the glass of wine was stingy and expensive. The waiter claimed it was 8oz. Our test at home suggests it couldn't have been even 4. He did pour an additional amount when quizzed, but having to quiz the waiter ruins the moment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was absolutely dynamite!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were starved after a day of hiking and visiting wineries with no food. We chose to do both small plates/appetizers and entrees. The appetizers were inventive and extremely flavorful without being too large. I recall a grilled mushroom dish with a chevre fondue that was clearly the best. There was also a shrimp and beets dish that was delicious. For entrees, we got lamb chops and the ribeye. I was pleasantly surprised by the ribeye when it came out sliced and pre-sauced. While I'm typically a beef purist, I was delighted by this treatment of the meat. We also tried some cocktails when we first arrived. Their take on an old fashioned was fun and yummy, but I didn't care for the sweet bourbon drink.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

There was a fixed price menu for graduat ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

There was a fixed price menu for graduation weekend and the food was excellent (and generous). Dessert options were experimental and interesting. Service was impeccable! A standout on the Downtown Mall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My go-to place for out-of-town guests. G ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My go-to place for out-of-town guests. Great appetizers, amazing drinks. Atmosphere is lively and modern.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best in C'ville

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We were thrilled to get a reservation at Red Pump over UVA graduation weekend.

Many weeks after I made the reservation, I was told it would be prix fixe, but to our surprise, we liked choosing between two selections for each course. With the limited menu, everything was bound to be delicious, and indeed it was. Our waiter was outstanding. Not only did he make excellent wine suggestions, he understood our needs, mood, and sense of humor.

It was one of the most enjoyable meals I've had, certainly the best in Charlottesville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Noisy, bustling and friendly with mainly ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Noisy, bustling and friendly with mainly young clientele (but some oldies too!). Small menu but beautifully cooked in a kitchen which is open to the restaurant itself. Ice cream dessert is to die for! Excellent service - friendly, attentive but not overbearing.

Definitely a keeper.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The wine and beer selection was pretty s ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The wine and beer selection was pretty small, and the choices were't good..kinda like you let a non-drinker pick the list. My biggest complaint was that I made a reservation for 4 and was still seated at a high top table when many regular tables were empty. The portions looked small, but in reality they filled me up nicely. The staff was a little too eager and didn't have a good sense of what a business meeting was and that when we are engrossed in talking business we shouldn't be bothered.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Solid choice on the downtown mall

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Red Pump Kitchen consistently offers well conceived and executed food in a lively atmosphere. The Pizza Funghi is a standout and the eggplant fritti is a tasty treat. The wine and beer list is reliable if a little on the pricey side. At $40/person for dinner with one drink and no dessert, I wouldn't give the place high marks for value. But it's reliably tasty and well located at the heart of the downtown mall. We'll probably be back again in the not too distant future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food is good but a bit pricey. Noise lev ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Food is good but a bit pricey. Noise level can be high at times making it difficult for conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Quite the disappointment

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Our group of 6 overall was unimpressed with the experience at Red Pump Kitchen. Our waitress was new and had not been properly trained to know what the menu descriptions meant, such as "scorched pearls." And she did not go to seek the answers to the 3 questions she didn't know, despite having said she would check.

We enjoyed the CAuliflower appetizer with tahini nd the Gnocchi with Guanciale. The Lobster Tortellini (which was really tortelloni) was deliciously rich. The quantity of lobster, however, was not impressive, especially considering the price in the high $20's for 6 tortelloni. The grilled branzino was perfectly cooked. The Kale Caesar salad was declared inedible by 5 different lovers of kale, having little of the traditional Caesar dressing flavors except some lemon and the flavor of the kale itself being very strong (despite the fact that it appeared to be either black Tuscan kale or dinosaur kale, both usually soft, mild, and scrumptious.)

The pizza was quite flabby; the coffee-roasted beets included golden beets that were hardly cooked and red beets that were perfectly cooked as well as delicious dressing; the spaghetti was fine.

The time lag between appetizers and entrees was inexcusably long.

We were disappointed that the menu selections available that night did not live up to the level of the menu on the website, their website disclaimer notwithstanding. Most of the 6 of us, despite having a wide variety of food interests, experienced that disappointment, since we had all been excited by the sample choices on the website.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Menu wrong

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

ordered a cale salad that was supposed to have balsamic dressing. dressing had a hint of anchovies. i hate anchovies. if you want to put something as strong as anchovies in a salad,

disclose it it in the menu. what if i had been allergic

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.