Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Red Ox Inn

4.6
1827 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Global, International
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Neighborhood Gem
This tiny gem of a restaurant is nestled in one of Edmonton's oldest neighborhoods. The focus is on creative and eclectic cuisine, serving serious food in a casual atmosphere. The Red Ox Inn, a collaborative effort led by Andrea and Frank Olson, is proud of its relationship with loyal patrons, staff, and local producers. The wine list continues to grow in order to keep up with daily specials and a finely tuned menu. The Red Ox Inn is the perfect choice for a quiet dinner, a small gathering of friends, or even a private party.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Global, International, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
Closed Mondays
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(780) 465-5727
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Frank Olson
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Red Ox Inn offers a complete buyout for your next staff party, medical presentation or small intimate wedding. We are centrally located and offer interesting, fresh food and a carefully chosen wine list. Our friendly, professional staff will take care of all your needs.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Frank Olson: (844) 588-8732
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
95 Ave.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is plenty of free parking on the street in front of the restaurant.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 10 hours ago

Excellent service and fine dining. Highly recommended

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Always fabulous!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Small, cozy. Our waitress was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. It was for Mothers Day and we had never been there before. What a delight. Fantastic appetizers and the entres were outstanding. We'll certainly be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We are foodys and i really wish the waiter at least asked how we were upon arrival. No small chat, no engagement....which was surprising. Food was good. Not overly full when leaving but it was good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

My husband and I haven't been able to get into the Red Ox in as we leave it too late and it is full so this year for his birthday I booked really early and he was excited to go again. Our meals were both excellent and our server was great with wine suggestions. It was a great place for a Birthday celebration.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The food was excellent but pricey.
Small place but very cozy. Seemed very loud, however I had no problem hearing my date.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Brought my wife here for our anniversary, because it's where I took her on our first date.
I had a special request to have them serve our wedding cake (we saved the stop tier in the freezer), for dessert. It was a wonderful surprise for her. The setting is very nice for a date, very quiet and good people around. The servers are great, and the food is very good too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Absolutely amazing!! Service was superb, as were the food & drink!! Delicious, classy, amazing service, I would highly recommend and will definitely be back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

My wife and I recently celebrated her 50th birthday dinner here. Food was amazing, service was great, excellent wine selection. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Everything was exception but the table with the screaming babgy was hard on the ears in the small space. It was not Red Ox's fault, it was situational but did diminish from the ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Early evening retirement dinner. Cozy corner seating for 3. Very welcoming. Food and wine list very good! Outstanding evening with my wife and son

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Wonderful food. I had cod which was superbly prepared and just the right amount.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I found the food absolutely delicious. The servers lacked a bit of personality/friendliness but were professional and efficient.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

A fantastic little gem, in Edmonton's culinary world. Decor is a little dated but yet provides a cozy feeling. Service was terrific and the food was amazing. Price is on the high end but isn't all fine dining? You're paying for the experience. And for the experience I've received, I'd say it was well worth it. Definitely recommend. If you do try it for yourself, the scallop appetizer is to die for. One of culinary's finest.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Service was great! Food was upscale and nicely prepared. Selection of food is limited, but a diverse selection was offered. I had the duck which was nicely prepared and a larger serving than I expected. Will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Excellent experience. Will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Red Ox Inn exceeded our expectations in every way. The setting was perfectly unpretentious and cozy, making for an intimate date night. The food was incredible, from presentation to portion to flavour. Everything was perfectly executed; we couldn't have asked for a better first impression and we will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

It was a wonderful meal. We were celebrating our 60th anniversary. We could easily hear each other even though the restaurant was full.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 26, 2018

The food was fantastic, we had soup, carrot salad, halibut, duck and key lime desert. Everything was great. Its not a criticism but my suggestion for an opportunity for improvement would be some art on the walls by local artists.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

If you’ve ever said “I don’t like ____ or ____”, hold that thought and dine here first... I am always pleasantly surprised by the subtle nuances and flavours of the dishes that are presented to me. This is one of those restaurants that will help forever change your perception and appreciation towards food and the potential possibilities of incredible flavours.

This wasn’t my first visit, nor shall it be my last.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Server was slow. Drinks took forever to come to the table. Server brought wrong drinks at times and after leaving table she brought the drinks to a different table. Restaraunt had many tables yelling and screaming.
Would not recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

HAVE ALWAYS ENJOYED THE RED OX INN. NICE ATMOSPHERE, GREAT FOOD, GOOD SERVICE

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Loved the tartare. COD was also very nice. Would have liked more variety.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Outstanding products used to prepare the dishes! The kitchen does not compromise on any detail on how the food is prepared, perfect feel for the balance between the ingredients and spices used. Outstanding and very friendly service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

It was my wife’s birthday and we love the chefs tasting and pairing menu. And as usual we were not disappointed.
Thank you Red Ox for a great evening

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

music too loud to hear the server. Will bump my return down a notch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Excellent as usual, always a reliable spot for that special someone

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Fabulous and consistent! We've introduced many friends and family to The Red Ox Inn, all who've been delighted. My 84 year old aunt was our latest inductee as we celebrated her birthday - She loved it! Flexible seating to accommodate small to moderate sized groups
and I have even booked a Staff Appreciation Dinner here. You feel comfortable while being suitable pampered by the knowledgeable table staff. An exceptional experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Have been going to this restaurant for years, always enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Great atmosphere, delicious food every single time. It does not disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Once again, a 10 out of 10! We will definitely go back !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Everything was great. I would've enjoyed a little more aioli on the tartar, but the flavors were great!
I had the duck and my friend had the beef. I'm normally a duck man, and this duck was delicious, but I actually preferred my friends flat iron.
The beef was perfectly seasoned, it's accompaniments complimented the flavour and those potatoes set up the entire dish.
All in all, an absolute treat and I will for sure be back.
Dennise was our server as well, and she's phenomenal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

The food and service as always was delicious. It was the perfect way to spend my Birthday. Thank You :).

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Had the New York strip steak was very tough, I realize this cut of meat can often be tough but would hope a restaurant of this calibre could do something a little more to make it less, better option is not to put it on menu there are many other cuts that are much more tender

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We were celebrating our six-year anniversary with an early dinner. Considering the restaurant opened at 5pm and our reservation was for the same time, we were the only table for a good while. This was nice, as it was our first time and we could gawk as much as we wanted. The interior is very small with maybe 11 tables or so (some were pushed together though), so it was quite intimate. Sevice was very professional yet friendly. Our food was delicious, we had two appetizers and two mains, two drinks and a dessert to share. Price for everything was reasonable for the quality of food and service we enjoyed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Our server Allison was excellent! She was knowledgeable about the food and wine selections. Well-paced meal and top-quality food! Can’t wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Food was amazing! We enjoyed ourselves :) it was nice to be able to make a reservation (I highly suggest you do). Next time we will try to request a cute quiet corner table.

It’s a small place but they do it well!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We have been to the Red Ox Inn a few times now. It never disappoints. The food is delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Everything was delicious. Cozy atmosphere. Personable service.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
46