About Red Ox Inn

9420 91 Street
Edmonton, AB T6C 3P4
View Larger Map

This tiny gem of a restaurant is nestled in one of Edmonton's oldest neighborhoods. The focus is on creative and eclectic cuisine, serving serious food in a casual atmosphere. The Red Ox Inn, a collaborative effort led by Andrea and Frank Olson, is proud of its relationship with loyal patrons, staff, and local producers. The wine list continues to grow in order to keep up with daily specials and a finely tuned menu. The Red Ox Inn is the perfect choice for a quiet dinner, a small gathering of friends, or even a private party.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
95 Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 465-5727

Website:
http://theredoxinn.com/

Parking Details:
There is plenty of free parking on the street in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Frank Olson

Private Party Facilities:
Red Ox Inn offers a complete buyout for your next staff party, medical presentation or small intimate wedding. We are centrally located and offer interesting, fresh food and a carefully chosen wine list. Our friendly, professional staff will take care of all your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Frank Olson: 8445888732

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grilled Shrimp With Puff Pastry
Grilled Shrimp With Puff Pastry

Red Ox Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Food
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Service
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
11 More
Best Value
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Overall
Edmonton
Best Food
Edmonton
Best Service
Edmonton
Best Value
Edmonton
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton
Notable Wine List
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Special Occasion (80)
Neighborhood Gem (72)
Fit for Foodies (71)
See All
Romantic (51)
Notable Wine List (41)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Cozy (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (2)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1448 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious and great service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious and great service. The portion great for the price and really able to enjoy your food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food service and quality were excellent. ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

food service and quality were excellent. One of the best dining experiences I had in Edmonton

would go gain.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was excellant, appetizers, entree a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

food was excellant, appetizers, entree and dessert. We had the duck and the lamb for entree. Very good!

Too find a Chef that can prepare these two entrees well can be difficult to find but the Chef did an exceptional job.

Our waiter was good, we thought we had ordered a red wine but turned out white. We hesitated to refuse the wine and he noticed it was not what we thought. He reassured us not to feel obligated to drink the wine, he suggested a nice red and exchange the bottle for us.

We frequent the restaurant when it first opened, famous for their clam chowder, red gingham curtains and table clothes. Different owners now but lovely to know they have remained open for almost 40 years. Quite an accomplishment.

The only concern was that it was cold in the building, may suggest closing both doors.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have never been disappointed with the ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I have never been disappointed with the quality of food. Service is with class and a great environment setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a reservation for 5:30 as that wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a reservation for 5:30 as that was the only time available, so we thought that the kitchen would not be behind. However, our soup came out cold, so that was sent back and then that must have put our ticket behind as we did not receive our entrée 's until well after 7 pm. So after it was all said and done we finished our meal at 8:30 pm, rather slow. Very noisy in the restaurant as well, and we were tucked into the corner just behind the front door. I will add that the sable fish and scallops was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Wonderful! Best meal I've had in a very ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Wonderful! Best meal I've had in a very long time.

Service was great - attentive without hovering.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite spots to din ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

This is one of our favorite spots to dine whenever we visit Edmonton. The food never fails to impress. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Haven't been for a couple years but it i ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Haven't been for a couple years but it is just as good, if not better, than previous times! We will certainly come more often as it's quiet location makes it nearly forgotten - except for the beautiful memory of their delicious duck breast!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately this is the third time (in ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Unfortunately this is the third time (in a row) that we have dined at this establishment to find the food portions significantly smaller - and the taste quite dulled in the recipes.

Disappointing to say the least.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 33r ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 33rd wedding anniversary at the Red Ox Inn. We definitely will not wait 33 more years to return. :)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for dinner on Sept. 9 for our anniv ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Went for dinner on Sept. 9 for our anniversary. What a fantastic night! The service was incredible, the food tasted as wonderful as it was presented. Fantastic wine selection. A true neighbourhood gem!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sent my parents to enjoy their 52nd Anni ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Sent my parents to enjoy their 52nd Anniversary dinner. Our family has visited multiple times for special occasions, and have always rated the restaurant very highly. This occasion was not as memorable. My Mom found the duck, although flavourful, quite chewy. My father chose the sable fish, and was disappointed with the portion size. They were there for an early seating and had hoped for a quiet night, unfortunately they were sat next to a family with 2 young children that had trouble staying still. We will certainly be back, but we hope a return visit will be met with the usual impeccable food and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food and atmosphere was great howeve ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food and atmosphere was great however we were not impressed with the service. With a slogan of serious food in a casual room we dressed in our everyday wear. Not sure if that was the reason our waitress seemed to dislike the fact that she seated and served us but little information was given on menu items, and getting more of a breakdown even when asking was difficult, however the other waitress was forth coming and more welcoming than the one we had to her costumers. I believe our experience would have been better if the other waitress was serving us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The Red Ox Inn continues to impress us w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The Red Ox Inn continues to impress us with their menu choices, we have been going there for special occasions for almost 20 years and have never been disappointed! A wonderful little 'hole in the wall'!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love to go to the Red Ox Inn for most ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We love to go to the Red Ox Inn for mostly special occasions; though the menu is small, every option we have tried over the last few years has been delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately the kitchen was closed whe ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Unfortunately the kitchen was closed when I got there at 9:00pm, so I couldn't get a main course. Fortunately the pork belly with fresh peas was absolutely perfect and the chocolate torte filled me out a bit along with the Chimay.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This dining spot has changed significant ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This dining spot has changed significantly since our last experience. There are fewer diners and the place has lost its unique atmosphere. Although there were few people dining the noise level was significant and the atmosphere was very casual. One of the dishes that has been on the menu for a long time (duck) was not as good as we expected and our dessert items seemed rather commercial.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

There was a large table at the same tim ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

There was a large table at the same time as us, so the small space was a bit noisy. The food and service were both excellent. Red Ox Inn is always great food experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

As always, the food was excellent but a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

As always, the food was excellent but a potentially romantic evening to celebrate our 35th anniversary was marred by a noisy table that made conversation difficult and was certainly not expected on a Tuesday evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

I normally have a great experience, but ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I normally have a great experience, but was disappointed this time. The waitress/server seemed bored. She was just going through the motions. Not a lot of energy. The rib eye was fatty. The server never asked how we wanted it cooked. Overall, I had a very average meal which was sad because we chose your restaurant to spend our anniversary dinner experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing food.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very noisy, food was good but portions v ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very noisy, food was good but portions very small. Desert was very disappointing very small, and average in flavour. I left hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

I love the size and atmosphere of the Re ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I love the size and atmosphere of the Red Ox for work or casual dining with friends. Normally the food is amazing but this time we both ordered the sable fish and it didn't seem fresh, the meal was just ok.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food, reasonable price for the ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent food, reasonable price for the quality. I have been to the Red Ox several times before on Saturdays and found it a bit noisy (it's a small restaurant with very few dividing walls) , we went on Sunday and it was quiet and very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at the Red Ox Inn. The appetizers and mains were awesome. The desert was not mind blowing but good. Desert isn't something that we are typically impressed by at any restaurant. There was no desert with a chocolate theme. That was odd. The service was friendly but slow. We will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great the service was about ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was great the service was about average . Did not expect it to be so small with tables so close. The table beside us had 4 seniors that must have had their hearing aids out or turned down (no offense) but they were absolutely yelling at one another just to be heard. It was a well lit room . A little too well lit. Kind of defeated the purpose of the candles on the tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Outstanding food, service and wine. Foo ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Outstanding food, service and wine. Food was unique and well presented. Dessert was Devine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant itself was nice however w ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The restaurant itself was nice however we were sat a table right next to a baby when there were clearly other open tables. We were there without our kids to celebrate our Anniversary so it would have been nice to be away from that. The topper of the evening was when my husband got hit in the head with one of the trucks the baby was playing with. We assumed that it would not have kids there. We also had to wait for water and our drinks which was hard as we had something spicy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value4

Fresh local food with prompt service

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fresh local food with prompt service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Sad to report I was less than impressed ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Sad to report I was less than impressed with our old favourite.

Just didn't seem like the same love was put into the food as it was a year or two ago.

Felt I could get better locally sourced options for around the same price elsewhere.

Quite sad as it has previously only been amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Our party of 4 had trouble deciding what ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our party of 4 had trouble deciding what to order, only because all the menu items sounded so delicious. When the food arrived, the dishes were just as wonderful as their descriptions. Our server was patient, and handled us with just the right amount of humour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic! My Manhattan was perfect. The ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fantastic! My Manhattan was perfect. The service was lovely, professional and unpretentious. The gnocchi made me thankful for all my life choices, as they led me to that plate. A bit pricey to be sure, but I regret nothing. Best meal I've had in Edmonton!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic food and service. Comfortable ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Comfortable atmosphere. Would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant as a special occasion venue to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Red Ox Inn continued yo deserve its ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Red Ox Inn continued yo deserve its reputation for excellent food and service. With space for only 30 diners be sure to book ahead for a week-end time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our evening very much, a spec ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We enjoyed our evening very much, a special occasion for us, the staff were great as usual, food was great, good wine selection and fairly quiet atmosphere. The corner booth came available just as we were sitting down and we were asked if we would prefer it to our table (more room). They didn't have to suggest it but it is the little things like that that make a difference and keep us coming back. Cheers!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A neighborhood gem. Quality food that is ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A neighborhood gem. Quality food that is expertly cooked. The wait staff are attentive and unpretentious, allowing you to enjoy the food and people you're with. I had the sablefish that melted in my mouth, so good. The chocolate torte reminded me of the Corso 32 version and was equally tasty. I've been to this restaurant every couple years for the past 10 years and each time it is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The wine selection of the Cordero Arneis ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The wine selection of the Cordero Arneis was a good choice. It was a delicious dry Piedmont white wine. I paired it with the smoked fish and caviar. I ate this quickly because it tasted so good. Next I tried the chicken. I had chicken once before at Red Ox but it was a last minute meal idea of the chef's so it was a little dry and not perfected. This time it was perfectly cooked and not too dry. The banana dessert was not too sweet and just right. Another great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We've visited once before and remember r ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We've visited once before and remember really loving the food. The food was just as good as last time. Well seasoned, well presented, came timely after we ordered, and reasonable portions for price. What really killed the mood was the male server we had. The restaurant wasn't full and there was another female waitress serving other tables. She seemed knowledgeable about the food and made small conversations with the other diners she was serving. Our male server, spoke less than 5 words to us the whole 60 minutes we were there. He came off as really stand-offish, as though we were a nuisance to him. When we told him we had reservations, he sat us at a table and took over 5 minutes to bring us menus and drinks. He never came to check on how our dinner was (Food was good!) and after clearing the dinner plates, just plopped down the dessert menus and walked away. Needless to say, we decided against sticking around for desserts. We were there on a date and he totally ruined the vibe. We've been treated better than that dining in much more casual restaurants for less money. I don't mind paying good money for good food. I just mind paying to be treated like a underclass citizen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

It is always a pleasure to eat there at ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

It is always a pleasure to eat there at Red Ox Inn. Food is always superior, staff is helpful and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant never fails to impress. T ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The restaurant never fails to impress. The service is impecable, the servers and polite and knowledgeable. A great place for a romantic meal. we go every year for our wedding anniversary. tge foid is always delicious and prepared to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.