Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 1.26mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 1.26mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 1.26mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 1.26mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi

About Red Ox Inn

This tiny gem of a restaurant is nestled in one of Edmonton's oldest neighborhoods. The focus is on creative and eclectic cuisine, serving serious food in a casual atmosphere. The Red Ox Inn, a collaborative effort led by Andrea and Frank Olson, is proud of its relationship with loyal patrons, staff, and local producers. The wine list continues to grow in order to keep up with daily specials and a finely tuned menu. The Red Ox Inn is the perfect choice for a quiet dinner, a small gathering of friends, or even a private party.

9420 91 Street
Edmonton, AB T6C 3P4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
95 Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 465-5727

Website:
http://theredoxinn.com/

Parking Details:
There is plenty of free parking on the street in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Frank Olson

Private Party Facilities:
Red Ox Inn offers a complete buyout for your next staff party, medical presentation or small intimate wedding. We are centrally located and offer interesting, fresh food and a carefully chosen wine list. Our friendly, professional staff will take care of all your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Frank Olson: (844) 588-8732

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Red Ox Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (41)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for a Date (31)
Romantic (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Cozy (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Worth the Drive (15)
Authentic (12)
Seasonal (12)
Casual (11)
Good for Groups (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1719 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Obvious care and attention to detail in the kitchen. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal all of which were cooked to perfection and presentation was excellent. Service was very good as well, just enough attention to make it a memorable evening. We'll be back...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

I came to celebrate my birthday, and was very impressed with my main course.

The appetizers were nice, however the portions were relatively small. I ordered the pork belly, and as tasty as it was I didn't think the portion was worth the pricing. I had recently ordered a pork belly appetizer from a restaurant in New York, and although the restaurant had a Michelin star and was twice the price, I had to compare and wasn't as impressed. The beet salad was also very tasty, but all in all next time I would order different appetizers or none at all.

The main courses on the other hand were amazing. At our table we ordered the beef, duck, halibut and gnocchi and were not disappointed. The portions excellent and flavour profiles amazing. I would definitely recommend all dishes again to anyone. I also would like to go back and try the lamb. I ordered the beef entre and every aspect was perfectly flavoured. The gnocchi was also very well prepared.

Lastly my mother was diabetic and ordered the halibut, and the chef and server were nice enough to modify the dish to include roasted cauliflower instead of polenta, which we greatly appreciated.

Overall the atmosphere is nice, however it is quite a small establishment, and a relatively intimate setting. Not recommended for groups larger than 4, but I thoroughly enjoyed my dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We came to celebrate a birthday. I like being able to experience fine dining without having to get all dolled up! The place is quiet and cozy, and the food and service is wonderful, as always. Thanks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

The entrees were delicious,as were the appetizers. I really enjoyed the desert that I chose. All all, it was a very enjoyable evening,

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

It was our first time at Red Ox Inn, the food and service was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was our first time at the Rex Ox Inn and we'll definitely be going back. Service was great and the food was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent. Booked in for a table of 4, suprised by the simple non pretentious decor of bench and booth diner style seating. The old hotel diner kind of mish mash look worked, in a refreshing way, after all, not all places that make great food at the 4+ $ symbol price level need to be white table cloth fancy.
Service was excellent. Our server was very knowledgeable about the dishes, the extensive wine list and the beers they served, including where the brewery was located.
Food was excellent, delicious, lovely presentation, perfectly cooked, perfectly seasoned.
What we had off the menu I don't think matters, we had 4 of the 6 starters and 4 of the 6 mains and 3 of the 5 desserts between us, we all sampled and loved each others dishes...Im sure it's safe to say the ones we didn't have were marvelous.
Any negatives? If im being picky, the beer selection could improve by having more local product and the salted caramel popcorn took away from the flavours of the incredible torte dessert it was on top of.
As we left, 1 person in our party said, "I think that's my new favorite Edmonton restaurant", ....and one other agreed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Took my wife for our anniversary and it was good food not to crowded prefect night

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 11, 2017

This restaurant remains my favorite in Edmonton for fine dining. Shawn's dishes and flavor profiles are nothing short of genius! Elegant. Earthy. Balanced. Amazing. Delicious. I could go on forever describing his dishes! Red Ox is consistent amazing and should be on Edmonton's Top 10 list for best restaurants!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Once again, Red Ox supasses expectations. Food was superb and authentuc and service impecccable.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Superb food and great service. It would be nice to perhaps have one more vegetarian/vegan option on the menu. That being said, the gnocchi and the duck were absolutely delicious and we will definitely return to enjoy both dishes again.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Unexpected location. quiet, cozy, excellent food, fantastic service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was excellent and service very good but the 2 people serving were very busy.
Seating was all right but very close to surrounding tables.
Very nice evening - we will go back on special occasions. (Cost was $185.00 for appies, entre, a litre of wine and one port).

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food was excellent, wine list was extensive and well priced, value was reasonable but the ambiance was sterile, loud and extremely tight. Very small restaurant, had the waiters rear end in our face when serving the table beside us and could hear every word of the conversations around us. Glad we came to try the food but definitely wouldn't recommend to others due to the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Loved the food & loved the atmosphere. Great place for a special occasion in a quiet neighbourhood

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I didn't have any wine this time, just coffee, but the meal was excellent as usual. The pork belly was very enjoyable with the watermelon. There was something about how the mild watermelon flavour mixed in well with the pork taste, which is probably the reason why sweet and savoury with pork works so well. The sockeye salmon with corn polenta and tangy cilantro sauce was outstanding. Very healthy meal. I finished it off with one of my favourite signature desserts in Edmonton dining, the gourmet cheese and crackers with jelly and walnuts.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Amazing food. Huge wine list. Great service. Great restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Dinner was great. Went for an anniversary. Service was exceptional. Very nice wine list. Food was delicious. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This was our first time to dine at Red Ox Inn and our overall experience was amazing. Quality food, beverages & service. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

3 out 5 of meals were great but the lamb was tough and although ordered more medium than medium rare in both cases it came rare anyway and tough. One was sent back for more grilling but came back browned but the same. Lamb should never be tough it's LAMB! Was still silver skin on the meat. Badly butchered. Really too bad as pretty expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

I have been meaning to get here for many years as I have heard great things about this restaurant. Red Ox Inn is amazing! Silly me for not trying this place out a long time ago. It instantly went to the top of my list of favourites in Edmonton.
The chef uses unique ingredients to create a wonderful menu with plates that so special, one wants to try everything on the menu. The freshness and varied menu will keep us coming back for years.
The service is warm, friendly, and very professional. The servers all made us feel special and important which one doesn't find much these days in Edmonton.
Definitely we will become regulars here! Plan ahead with your reservations as the wait is worth it

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Absolutely outstanding! The food was creative, visually pleasing and best of all so delicious. Do not miss dessert as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 17, 2017

This restaurant located in the heart of the francophone district of Edmonton is quite small and quaint, but packs great plates with epic flavour. Your looking at about $85 per person with a 3 course meal. Would recommend for any special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Love this place. Smaller menu is absolutely delicious.
Smaller place with quaint atmosphere.
This was a business dinner, but want to take my wife in a date here soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Amazing experience. Would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great to be back. Extremely good presentation and taste of food. Flavourful! Great service as usual and as expected for Red Ox . Love it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The service, as usual, was attentive without being intrusive.
The food was well made and well plated. I ordered the Icelandic cod which was not overdone, moist and flaking away beautifully. The lamb was perfectly medium rare.
This restaurant is a little gem of a place, quiet and a bit hidden away.
Parking is free.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Authentic, Organic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We just celebrated our 36th wedding anniversary and Red Ox Inn has been our "go to place" for special occasions for years and has never disappointed. The food is consistently first-rate with interesting offerings and perfect portion sizes. Our latest visit was no exception. Keep up the great work!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Overall loved the place.. beef carpaccio is to die for. My bf got the duck and loved it. I got the cod -I wasn't too fond of the corn purée that they put under the fish, it over powered the fish and their was a taste I didn't like , I wish they set it to the side or something. Otherwise the main was alright for myself. The panna cotta was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

We had a very good meal there. We aren't huge bread eaters but missed having a nice bread to sop up the great sauces on our meals. The service was good. It is the best meal I have had so far in terms of fine dining in Edmonton. I am moving here so hope to come again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was excellent as usual. The only reason I didn't give top marks was the type of lettuce (looked like pea greens but not sure) was too large and tough to cut even with a steak knife. The strings on the greens were hard to swallow and caused some minor choking which made me a little leery in just freely eating. The rest of the cod dish was divine.
Just wondering - quite a few years ago I had a venison dish that was the best in Edmonton. Any chance of that coming back?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Food is well-presented and tasty. Great service. Small, cozy restaurant and worth a visit for a special occasion. Expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Very good food we go to the Red Ox Inn when we go out for special occasions. It is always good and the service is the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Always wonderful. Small menu and large wine list. The cold pea soup was refreshing and the entrée especially the gnocchi. Deserts especially the cherry shortbread lovely though was more of a bumble Berry fruit desert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Lovely little gem in a quiet neighbourhood. Food was absolutely delicious and the service was unobtrusive, unrushed, and very professional. It was great to eat out without feeling like we had to rush through our courses. The staff made sure to pace the meal to our timing. Much appreciated.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Took my American guests for dinner and they were bowled over by the whole experience. Great showcase of local product, creative cooking, and Canadian hospitality. Thank you for a great evening. Would return in a heartbeat!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The Red Ox Inn continues to be one of our favourite restaurants. It has outstanding food presented in a very appealing way. The sauces and desserts are wonderful.
Service is excellent and the wine list has great choices at a variety of price points.
The best place in the city for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 20, 2017

I had the smoked salmon and caviar. It was great as usual, but one should eat it slower than I did, to get the full effect. The Icelandic Cod was perfectly cooked as well as the scallops. The strawberry shortcake was also excellent. I particularly loved the Travaglini Gattinara Rieserva Nebbiolo 2011. It had very little tannin and was one of the most smooth dry wines I've ever had.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Healthy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great as always we love the tasting menu and atmosphere

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were looking for someplace special to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed! This is a small restaurant which adds to the charm. Food was fabulous - so tasty! Service was great and overall we were very happy. I highly recommend it.

Photos are of the
Beef - Brant Lake Wagyu Strip Loin, Mushroom and Leek Bread Pudding, Smoked Beets ($42)
Duck - Duo of Roasted Breast and Confit of Le, Farro Risotto, Carrot, Stone Fruit ($36)
(we also had the asparagus appetizer which was really good)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.