Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 1.26mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 1.26mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 1.26mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 1.26mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi

About Red Ox Inn

This tiny gem of a restaurant is nestled in one of Edmonton's oldest neighborhoods. The focus is on creative and eclectic cuisine, serving serious food in a casual atmosphere. The Red Ox Inn, a collaborative effort led by Andrea and Frank Olson, is proud of its relationship with loyal patrons, staff, and local producers. The wine list continues to grow in order to keep up with daily specials and a finely tuned menu. The Red Ox Inn is the perfect choice for a quiet dinner, a small gathering of friends, or even a private party.

9420 91 Street
Edmonton, AB T6C 3P4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
95 Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 465-5727

Website:
http://theredoxinn.com/

Parking Details:
There is plenty of free parking on the street in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Frank Olson

Private Party Facilities:
Red Ox Inn offers a complete buyout for your next staff party, medical presentation or small intimate wedding. We are centrally located and offer interesting, fresh food and a carefully chosen wine list. Our friendly, professional staff will take care of all your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Frank Olson: (844) 588-8732

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Red Ox Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (28)
Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Romantic (18)
Cozy (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Seasonal (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Authentic (7)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
1684 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined 14 hours ago

Always wonderful. Small menu and large wine list. The cold pea soup was refreshing and the entrée especially the gnocchi. Deserts especially the cherry shortbread lovely though was more of a bumble Berry fruit desert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

The Red Ox Inn continues to be one of our favourite restaurants. It has outstanding food presented in a very appealing way. The sauces and desserts are wonderful.
Service is excellent and the wine list has great choices at a variety of price points.
The best place in the city for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined 4 days ago

I had the smoked salmon and caviar. It was great as usual, but one should eat it slower than I did, to get the full effect. The Icelandic Cod was perfectly cooked as well as the scallops. The strawberry shortcake was also excellent. I particularly loved the Travaglini Gattinara Rieserva Nebbiolo 2011. It had very little tannin and was one of the most smooth dry wines I've ever had.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Healthy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

Great as always we love the tasting menu and atmosphere

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were looking for someplace special to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed! This is a small restaurant which adds to the charm. Food was fabulous - so tasty! Service was great and overall we were very happy. I highly recommend it.

Photos are of the
Beef - Brant Lake Wagyu Strip Loin, Mushroom and Leek Bread Pudding, Smoked Beets ($42)
Duck - Duo of Roasted Breast and Confit of Le, Farro Risotto, Carrot, Stone Fruit ($36)
(we also had the asparagus appetizer which was really good)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 15, 2017

All six appetizers and meals were exceptional. The service was also excellent. Several of us been there before but now there are three more converts.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Just fantastic! Food is of such an outstanding quality. Excellent wines and great desert wine pairings. Staff had really good suggestions. We keep coming back because its sooo very good!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food was great except for coffee at the end which was stale.

But I knew we had made a mistake as soon as we entered. We were met with a wall of noise from two groups who were all yelling at each other. Our guests had already arrived and had asked to be moved to try and avoid the din. In fact it was still very loud. The configuration of the room makes for awful acoustics.

In spite of our mild complaints, our server did nothing whatever to try and calm the other diners. In fact she sometimes joined the yelling in order to gain attention.

It was not possible to conduct a normal conversation. By far our worst experience of this ever. The dinner was on the expensive side but fairand, apart from the coffee, all of the food was excellent. At these prices though, we were entitled to expect a pleasant dining experience. Most disapointing.

We would not return and would warn others against it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We were shown to our table and seated and handed our menus, all without a word or introduction from our waiter. Plates were whisked away and entres brought and dessert menus without a word. He spoke minimally when taking our orders and when removing a full soupbowl, to inquire if it was not to our liking. The pea soup was not pea flavored but very heavy on the mint, unlike the time previous when we had it, which tasted like fresh shelled baby peas. No offer to replace or not charge for it. Although when bill came it was deleted. He refilled our water when we were getting ready to pay our tab. After delivering each course, we never saw him till it was time to remove plates. This has been one of my favorite restaurants for at least 35 years and that birthday dinner was not pleasant. If I do go back, my husband will not. The waiter in black sneakers with white trim around soles working Sunday July 9/17.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 9, 2017

As usual we had a great experience. We have been to the Red Ox many times and it has never disappointed. Great Food, good service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food is good but predictable for this type of restaurant. Very little selection so for the price not one of my recommendations. There was no staters I was interested in and only 5 main options. Although I would never go again I know a few people that love this place and go there for date nights.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is the second time we went to Red Ox and were thoroughly impressed the first visit. This time, not so much. The food was well prepared but pricey for what was received. The down fall was the service. The servers were efficient but totally unfriendly. They went about their business without trying to interact with the guests. We noticed this from other tables as well. We had called ahead to request a birthday candle be placed on one of the desserts we would be ordering , the person said they would mark it on our reservation. When the desserts arrived, no candle, only the server asking if it was a special occasion. Probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 6, 2017

My wife and I ate at the Red Ox several years back and were very impressed with the ambience, service and quality of the food. However this recent visit was very disappointing. We found our service to be poor when we first arrived, improving as the evening moved along and the food was okay but nothing as we remembered it, expected something better for the price being charged. Our biggest dissappointment was the noise, or should I say attempt to play music. It was a very poor music arrangement for this type of eatery, I believe the proprietors are not sure what type of establishment they are, pick a theme and stick to it! Dreadful music selection. What's worse is the sound system, it is absolutely dreadful, sounds like the backroom staff clanging pots and pans.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 6, 2017

As always, food was stellar and the service was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Cozy and unique restaurant, food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We came there on our anniversary, with the hopes of being able to chat with each other all evening. Our server was excellent, our food was also excellent. However we found the noise level in the restaurant quite high, our hearing is good however we were seated beside a group of four and while they weren't necessarily speaking at an inappropriate level, we still found it very difficult to be able to have a nice conversation with each other as it was hard to hear each other. It seems the noise carries quite easily in the room. We will come back however probably not as soon as we would have otherwise

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This restaurant is worth every dime. Unbelievable food and a selection of wine that is second to none. The chef cooks everything exactly as ordered and the presentation is awesome. The waitress was also very knowledgeable on pairing wines with your meal. Two thumbs up to this place. It's unreal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Unbelievable meal. The gnocchi was the best I have ever had, as was the cod. Fresh, seasonal and absolutely delicious. This restaurant has been in Edmonton for 40 years. That is a true testament to the quality of the food and service. Thank you for a great meal!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Unique dining experience. Excellent cuisine. Small intimate room. Friendly efficient service.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 22, 2017

My husband and I dined on Thursday night in summer. The restaurant was very bright inside and noisy (only two other tables, each of two people, plus tables being moved around) so it was not romantic or particularly elegant. The food was almost perfect (smoked trout, beef carpaccio, lamb shank, and duck breast/leg). I didn't think the sweet dessert menu was that interesting so we had a cheese plate which was good. We will be returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our dinner was supposed to be an anniversary celebration, but we were hardly able to have a conversation due to the noise level in this tiny restaurant. We basically had to scream at each other, not very romantic. There was a group of 6 who had no regard for other people dining, so everybody else had to up their volume, too. I could hardly savour the food which was good. This restaurant has received so many complaints about the noise (browse the 3 star reviews) and done nothing about it. It would be fairly easy to install some features that improve the situation, but no. This was our 4th or 5th dinner with Red Ox, and the 2nd where we had this complaint. Next year I'll rather spend $120 elsewhere, too bad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent food, taste texture and perfect portion size. Great service, professional, friendly and informative.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We were late for our reservation, but they stayed open for us. Food and service was great! Nice wine list too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Awesome! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 3, 2017

From the main course and the wine, to the warm and friendly reception at the door and throughout the meal, the overall experience was delightful! Thank you for a wonderful evening!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had been to the Red Ox Inn some time ago and just hadn't gone back. We made a point of going on Saturday evening and had a fabulous meal.
We certainly will not wait as long before we go there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This was our third time there and the experience has always exceeded our expectations. Incredible service, great atmosphere and, of course, very delicious food. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The ambiance is very tired and furniture appears to be decades old. Our server was extremely inattentive. At one point we went over 30 minutes without any interaction. This was when we were waiting to pay and leave. Further, I had a hair in my dessert which was very off putting. Slight apology but was sort of treated like it was no big deal. Meal was over $100/person and didn't live up to price or expectations.Overall a poor experience and we won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We were there for our anniversary and loved the menu and the ambiance. Our server was attentive and aware. the food was excellent and I would recommend the Red Ox to anyone who wants a quiet dinner with anyone.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Amazing as always! Red Ox never disappoints and continues to be our favourite restaurant in the city.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day Lamb was painfully overdone. Average tasting with vegetables cooked to mush. I had to apologize to my mom and make it up to her elsewhere with another Mother's Day dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was superb and the staff were so nice helpful and knowledgeable in n many levels. We tried the restaurant because of the book Edmonton Cooks and we would highly recommend you try it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The entire meal was amazing ! The salads had the perfect combo of flavour, color, and texture. The entrée was cooked to perfection and very juicy, and the dessert (peanut torte) tasted good enough to another piece home. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great service as usual but the food wasn't quite to the level expected from a fine dining establishment. Had the pork belly to start and the flavours were delicious, however, the belly wasn't cooked enough and the fat hadn't rendered out. Had the lamb for dinner and was hoping it would be a bit more tender. I shouldn't have had to saw through with vigor to cut a piece. The dessert was incredible though... get the key lime if you go!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wonderful first experience at the red ox inn! We had the pork belly appetizer, which was possibly the best thing I've ever tasted. The wine was also great and fairly priced. My boyfriend had the wagyu beef which was absolutely amazing and cooked perfectly. I had the duck confit, my first time having duck and I was slightly underwhelmed. I chose the restaurant based on friends' reviews of the duck being fantastic and I didn't really enjoy it. This being said I am more of a steak girl. Overall I would highly recommend the red ox and will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Highly recommend the Red Ox Inn for an experience of unique dinners, with burst of amazing flavor!! Bravo

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 6, 2017

What a GREAT experience. Our server was exceptional and the food was amazing...our group agreed it was one of the better meals we had ever eaten...well done Red Ox Inn, we will return for sure!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Very nice meal again at the Red Ox. Corner booth seating is nicer than the close-together tables up front.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Was very smokey when we arrived

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We have not been back to Red Ox Inn in a few years. The new chef (name) has definitely learned, is more experienced/ seasoned and mature. This is displayed by his dishes being presented appropriately, the quantities are larger (not small like some Edmonton restaurants), and I an Hally to say that the good taste of the Red Ox Inn has returned. The waitress has been there for awhile, building that consistent level one expects when dinning at the red Ox. Still unusual how the restaurant does not serve bread as most of the restaurants too. Dessert is now displayed in an appropriate way -rather than one small piece of chocolate in a very large plain plate that I remember from last dinning experiences. It was very quiet but we were dining on a Tuesday. Can't wait to dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.