Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 1.26mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 1.26mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 1.26mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 1.26mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi

About Red Ox Inn

This tiny gem of a restaurant is nestled in one of Edmonton's oldest neighborhoods. The focus is on creative and eclectic cuisine, serving serious food in a casual atmosphere. The Red Ox Inn, a collaborative effort led by Andrea and Frank Olson, is proud of its relationship with loyal patrons, staff, and local producers. The wine list continues to grow in order to keep up with daily specials and a finely tuned menu. The Red Ox Inn is the perfect choice for a quiet dinner, a small gathering of friends, or even a private party.

9420 91 Street
Edmonton, AB T6C 3P4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
95 Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 465-5727

Website:
http://theredoxinn.com/

Parking Details:
There is plenty of free parking on the street in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Frank Olson

Private Party Facilities:
Red Ox Inn offers a complete buyout for your next staff party, medical presentation or small intimate wedding. We are centrally located and offer interesting, fresh food and a carefully chosen wine list. Our friendly, professional staff will take care of all your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Frank Olson: (844) 588-8732

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Red Ox Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Special Occasion (33)
Fit for Foodies (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Cozy (25)
Romantic (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (12)
Good for Groups (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Seasonal (6)
Business Meals (6)
Casual (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1657 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our third time there and the experience has always exceeded our expectations. Incredible service, great atmosphere and, of course, very delicious food. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The ambiance is very tired and furniture appears to be decades old. Our server was extremely inattentive. At one point we went over 30 minutes without any interaction. This was when we were waiting to pay and leave. Further, I had a hair in my dessert which was very off putting. Slight apology but was sort of treated like it was no big deal. Meal was over $100/person and didn't live up to price or expectations.Overall a poor experience and we won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We were there for our anniversary and loved the menu and the ambiance. Our server was attentive and aware. the food was excellent and I would recommend the Red Ox to anyone who wants a quiet dinner with anyone.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Amazing as always! Red Ox never disappoints and continues to be our favourite restaurant in the city.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was superb and the staff were so nice helpful and knowledgeable in n many levels. We tried the restaurant because of the book Edmonton Cooks and we would highly recommend you try it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The entire meal was amazing ! The salads had the perfect combo of flavour, color, and texture. The entrée was cooked to perfection and very juicy, and the dessert (peanut torte) tasted good enough to another piece home. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service as usual but the food wasn't quite to the level expected from a fine dining establishment. Had the pork belly to start and the flavours were delicious, however, the belly wasn't cooked enough and the fat hadn't rendered out. Had the lamb for dinner and was hoping it would be a bit more tender. I shouldn't have had to saw through with vigor to cut a piece. The dessert was incredible though... get the key lime if you go!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful first experience at the red ox inn! We had the pork belly appetizer, which was possibly the best thing I've ever tasted. The wine was also great and fairly priced. My boyfriend had the wagyu beef which was absolutely amazing and cooked perfectly. I had the duck confit, my first time having duck and I was slightly underwhelmed. I chose the restaurant based on friends' reviews of the duck being fantastic and I didn't really enjoy it. This being said I am more of a steak girl. Overall I would highly recommend the red ox and will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Highly recommend the Red Ox Inn for an experience of unique dinners, with burst of amazing flavor!! Bravo

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 6, 2017

What a GREAT experience. Our server was exceptional and the food was amazing...our group agreed it was one of the better meals we had ever eaten...well done Red Ox Inn, we will return for sure!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Very nice meal again at the Red Ox. Corner booth seating is nicer than the close-together tables up front.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Was very smokey when we arrived

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We have not been back to Red Ox Inn in a few years. The new chef (name) has definitely learned, is more experienced/ seasoned and mature. This is displayed by his dishes being presented appropriately, the quantities are larger (not small like some Edmonton restaurants), and I an Hally to say that the good taste of the Red Ox Inn has returned. The waitress has been there for awhile, building that consistent level one expects when dinning at the red Ox. Still unusual how the restaurant does not serve bread as most of the restaurants too. Dessert is now displayed in an appropriate way -rather than one small piece of chocolate in a very large plain plate that I remember from last dinning experiences. It was very quiet but we were dining on a Tuesday. Can't wait to dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My husband and I and our 2 adult children celebrated our son's birthday at the Red Ox Inn. We had been several times before and enjoyed the food immensely. On this night, however, everything seemed particularly wonderful and the service was perfect! The portions are just right, the flavours and textures a work of art. I highly recommend this restaurant!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The server was confident and knowledgeable with the wine list and menu. She assisted with choices. She also provided excellent information to help determine what to eat when stuck between two great choices.
Food was prepared with care and creativity. Absolutely gourmet and prepared by a culinary professional chef. If not, you'd never know.
I was there with my wife for our fifth wedding anniversary. We enjoyed the corner booth and were able to have a great conversation. I recommend taking an Uber so you can get a bottle of wine and stay for a great port and dessert after. Very nice establishment, we're so happy to see it is still thriving.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was delicious and atmosphere was enjoyable. Its one of the best in Edmonton!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We went for our 11 year anniversary and enjoyed the food and ambiance. It is smaller and cosy so if in a hurry and want something more lively probably wouldn't recommend. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We have been to the Red Ox in a few times and have had wonderful meals each time. Plan to keep going to enjoy this excellent restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of the best restaurant meals I've ever eaten. Outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I looked the menu on line and was excited to get the ny strip loin or sirloin steak. When the menu came all they offered was a skirt steak, I was very disappointed to say the least! Especially at 38$ I asked the server about the ny strip and sirloin, and she said that the menu changes daily, which I do understand. She made the skirt steak sound like a million bucks which is a server’s job. So I decided to give it a try, she said the chef cooks it to med rare unless you want it a different way. So I asked here for my skirt steak to be done medium. When it came out to the table the presentation was very nice! When I started to cut into it I noticed a lot of red blood. I moved the cut up fanned pieces of beef and realized the steak literally just had grill marks on it and it was cooked Chicago blue (blood red rare) gelatinous red meat. They have very sharp serrated steak knives there and I had to saw back and forth 10-15 times to cut pieces off.. We sat there for 45 minutes’ before she came with the desert menu and then asked, oh! Were you not happy with your steak? I said no, it is very under cooked and very tough (as I should really have known for a skirt steak! (3 dressed up as a 9) there was awkward silence moment until I said can you cook it some more. She said yes we can. I did come back out and it was cooked to rare this time, my original request was medium. I was still very disappointed. I asked if they use local ingredients, and she said yes. I asked where the beef comes from. She could answer, the pork Irving’s farms. As for the beef, she asked around and nobody knew. She said that the chef has gone home (8pm) so she couldn’t ask him. Maybe the dishwasher cooked my steak? Anyways we will not come back or recommend to our friends. 38$ for skirt steak! I was taken to the cleaners!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food, good service. Always a great night out when you come to the Red Ox Inn

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Easy, enjoyable, tasty. Great place for all occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Came highly recommended. Overall was excellent. The tomato soup and beef carpaccio was excellent. The salad was fine but on the plain side. Most of our party was very impressed with their meals. Two of us had the duck. The breast was disappointing. It was dry and flavorless. Perhaps they didn't let it rest before slicing it. Fortunately, the leg it came with was delicious and moist. We all had the pear pastry for desert which was one of the best deserts I've ever had.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Dined here with my wife who had not been here before. She started with the Tomato Soup which was so simple yet so amazingly tasty. I started with the Smoked Salmon and it was the best I've ever had. It was obvious that this was extremely fresh. For mains we had the Flat Iron Steak and Lamb - both were cooked to perfection with flavors that amazed. Server was fantastic, attentive but not overly so and very fun personality. All in all one of the top 3 restaurants in Edmonton (and I've been to many).

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 1, 2017

A fabulous experience as always. The food is outstanding and the service unobtrusive and professional!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It's too bad our service was so bad because the food is really good. We waited almost a 1/2 hour past our reservation time to get seated, then it took forever to get our drinks and food. 2 drink orders were wrong and one of our steaks wasn't cooked as my friend had asked them to. Like I said, great food but not worth the poor service. We won't be going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Ambience was nice, we were a few minutes late due to excessive traffic but was welcomed once we finally arrived, even tho it meant another guest might be delayed as well. We were not rushed to get through the meal because of the lateness, which we greatly appreciated. Overall it was a lovely experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a great evening; the food, atmosphere and service was great!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I had been to the Red Ox numerous times before and it seems to have changed. In the past it seemed more like Fine Dining, this time it was much more casual.
We had a lady serving us and she was very nice and did a fairly good job. When placing the wine bottle on the table she placed it in an awkward spot which one other guest found an inconvenience and could potentially get knocked over. The waiter in the restaurant, was dressed a bit shabbily and came to collect our money at the end of our meal. He was not very pleasant and didn't seem friendly at all.
We were told the Key Lime dessert was was delicious, it was very tart and I would not recommend it at all. The chocolate peanut butter torte was not very good either.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Our friend-get-together was wonderful in this charming, cozy place. Red Ox Inn has been a favorite of mine from years back. It had been a while since both my friend and I had each been there and I don't know why we don't go all the time. The food...OMG!!! We were each silent and enjoying the savory flavours of each of our dishes. We each loved our selection of the Artic Char, and the Steak. To die for! Service was perfect too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great welcome at the door, very friendly staff. Awesome wine list. Amazing appetizers and entrees. Outstanding food quality, great value! Would recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was our first time at the Red Ox Inn. We booked a reservation for a valentine's dinner. Service was prompt and the waitress was nice. We ordered the Pork Belley as an appetizer. It had good flavor but was a little tough. I ordered the lamb which was cooked perfectly. It was falling off the bone. My wife had the duck. Again it was cooked great and had great flavor. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Red Ox Inn was fantastic! Everything about our experience was excellent. We will be back with friends 😊

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food and great service. Will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Though my steak was a little tough the meal in it's entirety was exceptional. The Caesar salad and dessert provided delicious bookends. The waiter was curt but efficient. What is disappointing is the exorbitant mark-up of wines by restaurants like the Red Ox. In the States a mark-up of 50% is considered excessive whereas in Edmonton mark-ups of 100-200% are commonplace. What is especially egregious is that g.s.t. and a tip are added to the already ridiculous price of the wine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Really really good food. Pricey, but expected for the type of food scene. Nice restaurant space, extremely cozy but stark, bare (aka zero) decor, however, still a nice ambiance. I found the restaurant quite chilly, used my scarf as a blanket. It would be a nice touch to have cozy blankets to offer guests during the cold months.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The beef carpaccio was absolutely amazing. Wines were affordable. The dishes are chef made (therefor you cannot substitute, if you don't know how nice places work) because they are clearly put together for the purpose of being together. I would recommend to anyone wanting to put on a nice outfit and go out for a classy date.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Absolutely loved the food. Service was excellent. Never been before and loved it!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My husband and I wanted to try somewhere new (for us) and settled on the Red Ox Inn for our pre-Valentine's Day celebration. This little gem has a reputation as being one of the best in Edmonton and we were not disappointed! We started with the Beef Carpaccio which was so delicious and light, with great flavors & textures- I can't wait to have it again! I chose the Arctic Char as my main and my husband chose the steak. My fish was lovely with scallops, seared fennel, and apple slaw on a sweet potato purée but I have to admit that my husband's steak was the winning dish. The steak was beautifully medium rare, accompanied by mushroom bread pudding with the most delicious horseradish sauce, smoked beets and broccolini. The steak was perfect! Best flavor profile that we can remember having in a very long time. My husband ate every bite- including the vegetables, and that is saying a lot!! We finished our meals on a sweet note with the Pear Galette and a chocolate peanut butter concoction (can't remember the name). Both were good but we should have gone with the Key Lime Posset- next time!! It was a lovely evening and we will be back to this little gem- hopefully in the cozy corner booth again- best seat in the house! While it is somewhat lacking in decor/ambience (worn exterior sign, worn seating) the menu and attentive servers more than made up for it!!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a pleasure spending an evening at Red Ox Inn! The duck duo was incredible as was my spouse's choice, the Arctic Char. Save room for dessert!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.