About Red Ox Inn

9420 91 Street
Edmonton, AB T6C 3P4
View Larger Map

This tiny gem of a restaurant is nestled in one of Edmonton's oldest neighborhoods. The focus is on creative and eclectic cuisine, serving serious food in a casual atmosphere. The Red Ox Inn, a collaborative effort led by Andrea and Frank Olson, is proud of its relationship with loyal patrons, staff, and local producers. The wine list continues to grow in order to keep up with daily specials and a finely tuned menu. The Red Ox Inn is the perfect choice for a quiet dinner, a small gathering of friends, or even a private party.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
95 Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 465-5727

Website:
http://theredoxinn.com/

Parking Details:
There is plenty of free parking on the street in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Frank Olson

Private Party Facilities:
Red Ox Inn offers a complete buyout for your next staff party, medical presentation or small intimate wedding. We are centrally located and offer interesting, fresh food and a carefully chosen wine list. Our friendly, professional staff will take care of all your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Frank Olson: 8445888732

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grilled Shrimp With Puff Pastry
Grilled Shrimp With Puff Pastry

Red Ox Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Food
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Service
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
9 More
Best Value
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Overall
Edmonton
Best Food
Edmonton
Best Service
Edmonton
Best Value
Edmonton
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Special Occasion (88)
Neighborhood Gem (87)
Fit for Foodies (82)
See All
Romantic (56)
Notable Wine List (46)
Good for Groups (8)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unfortunately the kitchen was closed whe ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Unfortunately the kitchen was closed when I got there at 9:00pm, so I couldn't get a main course. Fortunately the pork belly with fresh peas was absolutely perfect and the chocolate torte filled me out a bit along with the Chimay.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This dining spot has changed significant ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This dining spot has changed significantly since our last experience. There are fewer diners and the place has lost its unique atmosphere. Although there were few people dining the noise level was significant and the atmosphere was very casual. One of the dishes that has been on the menu for a long time (duck) was not as good as we expected and our dessert items seemed rather commercial.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

There was a large table at the same tim ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

There was a large table at the same time as us, so the small space was a bit noisy. The food and service were both excellent. Red Ox Inn is always great food experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

As always, the food was excellent but a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

As always, the food was excellent but a potentially romantic evening to celebrate our 35th anniversary was marred by a noisy table that made conversation difficult and was certainly not expected on a Tuesday evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

I normally have a great experience, but ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I normally have a great experience, but was disappointed this time. The waitress/server seemed bored. She was just going through the motions. Not a lot of energy. The rib eye was fatty. The server never asked how we wanted it cooked. Overall, I had a very average meal which was sad because we chose your restaurant to spend our anniversary dinner experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing food.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very noisy, food was good but portions v ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very noisy, food was good but portions very small. Desert was very disappointing very small, and average in flavour. I left hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

I love the size and atmosphere of the Re ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I love the size and atmosphere of the Red Ox for work or casual dining with friends. Normally the food is amazing but this time we both ordered the sable fish and it didn't seem fresh, the meal was just ok.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food, reasonable price for the ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent food, reasonable price for the quality. I have been to the Red Ox several times before on Saturdays and found it a bit noisy (it's a small restaurant with very few dividing walls) , we went on Sunday and it was quiet and very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at the Red Ox Inn. The appetizers and mains were awesome. The desert was not mind blowing but good. Desert isn't something that we are typically impressed by at any restaurant. There was no desert with a chocolate theme. That was odd. The service was friendly but slow. We will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great the service was about ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was great the service was about average . Did not expect it to be so small with tables so close. The table beside us had 4 seniors that must have had their hearing aids out or turned down (no offense) but they were absolutely yelling at one another just to be heard. It was a well lit room . A little too well lit. Kind of defeated the purpose of the candles on the tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Outstanding food, service and wine. Foo ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Outstanding food, service and wine. Food was unique and well presented. Dessert was Devine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant itself was nice however w ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The restaurant itself was nice however we were sat a table right next to a baby when there were clearly other open tables. We were there without our kids to celebrate our Anniversary so it would have been nice to be away from that. The topper of the evening was when my husband got hit in the head with one of the trucks the baby was playing with. We assumed that it would not have kids there. We also had to wait for water and our drinks which was hard as we had something spicy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value4

Fresh local food with prompt service

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fresh local food with prompt service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Sad to report I was less than impressed ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Sad to report I was less than impressed with our old favourite.

Just didn't seem like the same love was put into the food as it was a year or two ago.

Felt I could get better locally sourced options for around the same price elsewhere.

Quite sad as it has previously only been amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Our party of 4 had trouble deciding what ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our party of 4 had trouble deciding what to order, only because all the menu items sounded so delicious. When the food arrived, the dishes were just as wonderful as their descriptions. Our server was patient, and handled us with just the right amount of humour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic! My Manhattan was perfect. The ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fantastic! My Manhattan was perfect. The service was lovely, professional and unpretentious. The gnocchi made me thankful for all my life choices, as they led me to that plate. A bit pricey to be sure, but I regret nothing. Best meal I've had in Edmonton!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic food and service. Comfortable ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Comfortable atmosphere. Would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant as a special occasion venue to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Red Ox Inn continued yo deserve its ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Red Ox Inn continued yo deserve its reputation for excellent food and service. With space for only 30 diners be sure to book ahead for a week-end time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our evening very much, a spec ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We enjoyed our evening very much, a special occasion for us, the staff were great as usual, food was great, good wine selection and fairly quiet atmosphere. The corner booth came available just as we were sitting down and we were asked if we would prefer it to our table (more room). They didn't have to suggest it but it is the little things like that that make a difference and keep us coming back. Cheers!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A neighborhood gem. Quality food that is ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A neighborhood gem. Quality food that is expertly cooked. The wait staff are attentive and unpretentious, allowing you to enjoy the food and people you're with. I had the sablefish that melted in my mouth, so good. The chocolate torte reminded me of the Corso 32 version and was equally tasty. I've been to this restaurant every couple years for the past 10 years and each time it is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The wine selection of the Cordero Arneis ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The wine selection of the Cordero Arneis was a good choice. It was a delicious dry Piedmont white wine. I paired it with the smoked fish and caviar. I ate this quickly because it tasted so good. Next I tried the chicken. I had chicken once before at Red Ox but it was a last minute meal idea of the chef's so it was a little dry and not perfected. This time it was perfectly cooked and not too dry. The banana dessert was not too sweet and just right. Another great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We've visited once before and remember r ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We've visited once before and remember really loving the food. The food was just as good as last time. Well seasoned, well presented, came timely after we ordered, and reasonable portions for price. What really killed the mood was the male server we had. The restaurant wasn't full and there was another female waitress serving other tables. She seemed knowledgeable about the food and made small conversations with the other diners she was serving. Our male server, spoke less than 5 words to us the whole 60 minutes we were there. He came off as really stand-offish, as though we were a nuisance to him. When we told him we had reservations, he sat us at a table and took over 5 minutes to bring us menus and drinks. He never came to check on how our dinner was (Food was good!) and after clearing the dinner plates, just plopped down the dessert menus and walked away. Needless to say, we decided against sticking around for desserts. We were there on a date and he totally ruined the vibe. We've been treated better than that dining in much more casual restaurants for less money. I don't mind paying good money for good food. I just mind paying to be treated like a underclass citizen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

It is always a pleasure to eat there at ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

It is always a pleasure to eat there at Red Ox Inn. Food is always superior, staff is helpful and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant never fails to impress. T ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The restaurant never fails to impress. The service is impecable, the servers and polite and knowledgeable. A great place for a romantic meal. we go every year for our wedding anniversary. tge foid is always delicious and prepared to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a fantastic meal. Red Ox neve ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

As always, a fantastic meal. Red Ox never disappoints. Every element of every dish is perfectly executed. Wonderful service too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Red Ox Inn for our 15 yea ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We went to the Red Ox Inn for our 15 year anniversary at the recommendation of some friends. The place is small, quiet, with great service. The wine list is expansive, although a bit pricey. We enjoyed the wine we chose enough to look for it at a local liquor store where it was half the price of the bottle at the restaurant. The food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was absolutely amazing! And th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing! And the small restaurant atmosphere made it very unique. The best part they were extremely hospitable and accommodating our newborn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten at the Red Ox Inn on numero ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I have eaten at the Red Ox Inn on numerous occasions and my recommendation is based on past experiences, which were excellent, rather than my most recent one. I had the tuna tartar which seemed to be made from canned tuna and I wouldn't recommend it. I had the duck as my main course and it was very well prepared and good. My wife had the pork belly that she said was good and the chicken that was perfectly cooked but was served on soggy, greasy vegetables and which she didn't finish. The service was relatively efficient but "disinterested" and quite disappointing - a far cry from the professionalism we have come to expect from the Red Ox. All in all, not a stellar night for the Red Ox Inn but I will give them another chance based on past experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

They just get ALL the details right for ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

They just get ALL the details right for a genuine fine dining experience that you look forward to repeating in a way the chain, or its all about the profit restaurants cannot deliver on. You feel that everyone in the place gave serious thought to crafting excellent customer experiences! What the people there do is a part of them, rather then just a job they show up for.

We were amazed indeed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was, without question, my finest di ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was, without question, my finest dining experience to date in Edmonton. More words would only dull that point. A MUST for food lovers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service. Had heard th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food great service. Had heard this was a fabulous place form friends and it was correct .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best dining experience I've had in E ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The best dining experience I've had in Edmonton in a long time. The restaurant is in an old quiet neighbourhood and is small and intimate. Our server (and the rest of the staff really) we're very inviting and had a great sense of humour. The wine list has excellent variety And the food was INCREDIBLE! Will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely dinner at red ox inn.. Lamb carpa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Lovely dinner at red ox inn.. Lamb carpaccio appetizer was very good.. Duck breast and sablefish mains were also good. Flavors were interesting, and the sides combined well. Service was attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time being to Red Ox Inn and it w ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Second time being to Red Ox Inn and it was just as good the second time. Appetizers were excellent and entrees were delicious. Food portions look deceiving but trust me when I say it is very filling. I will be going again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in a cute neighbourhood! Reco ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great find in a cute neighbourhood! Recommend the tuna tartar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very nice. Food was superb and the serve ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Very nice. Food was superb and the servers very attentive. Overall a great night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful meal and very attenti ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a wonderful meal and very attentive service. The only drawback was the noise level. There was a table of 8 having a fun time but it made it difficult for us to have a conversation. I don't remember our server's name but she was very good. Pls pass on our comments to her

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food, great service....open space ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food, great service....open space so a little louder atmosphere, great for getting together with a group!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was amazing. The two waitres ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The service was amazing. The two waitresses me and my girlfriend had were very hospitable, helpful and kind. The food was delicious and good portions. Nice small peaceful dining experience. Will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.