About Red Ox Inn

9420 91 Street
Edmonton, AB T6C 3P4
View Larger Map

This tiny gem of a restaurant is nestled in one of Edmonton's oldest neighborhoods. The focus is on creative and eclectic cuisine, serving serious food in a casual atmosphere. The Red Ox Inn, a collaborative effort led by Andrea and Frank Olson, is proud of its relationship with loyal patrons, staff, and local producers. The wine list continues to grow in order to keep up with daily specials and a finely tuned menu. The Red Ox Inn is the perfect choice for a quiet dinner, a small gathering of friends, or even a private party.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
95 Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 465-5727

Website:
http://theredoxinn.com/

Parking Details:
There is plenty of free parking on the street in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Frank Olson

Private Party Facilities:
Red Ox Inn offers a complete buyout for your next staff party, medical presentation or small intimate wedding. We are centrally located and offer interesting, fresh food and a carefully chosen wine list. Our friendly, professional staff will take care of all your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Frank Olson: (844) 588-8732

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grilled Shrimp With Puff Pastry - Red Ox Inn, Edmonton, AB

Report a photo problem

Grilled Shrimp With Puff Pastry - Red Ox Inn, Edmonton, AB

Red Ox Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (36)
Romantic (36)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Cozy (26)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Authentic (15)
Comfort Food (11)
Healthy (10)
Seasonal (8)
Business Meals (8)
Casual (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Historic (4)
Fun (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1599 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Meal was exceptional. Many surprises. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

Meal was exceptional. Many surprises. Service was quick but we didn't feel rushed. We look forward to visiting again soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

There is just to much competition out th ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

There is just to much competition out there and for there to be no gluten free options ( taking something off the plate does not count) is not acceptable in my opinion. I also found the duck to be tasteless and very little sauce was given to help with that. It was my sisters bday so did not want to say anything and Denise was fabulous! I personally have too many options in edmonton to come back or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

The pork belly was done more in a crispy ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined 7 days ago

The pork belly was done more in a crispy style and was excellent. It paired well with the Oregon Pinot Noir. The lamb was tasty. It had a little too much bone but it was well prepared. The server quickly found out that there was a missing ingredient of nuts and went back to get them, so kudos. The lime posset was delicious. It was tart but it didn't burn your tongue.

Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner and service, limited menu ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great dinner and service, limited menu means attention to detail. Staff were fun and attentive!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional food, service and ambience. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Exceptional food, service and ambience. The food is always tasty, with the plates looking lovely and good portioning of veg and meat (veg options too). They are always very accommodating and are knowledgable about the food and wine they have available. When it is a full house it can get very loud. Love this place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Healthy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We adore this neighbourhood gem! Extensi ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We adore this neighbourhood gem! Extensive wine list, amazing desserts,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I have been frequenting this ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My wife and I have been frequenting this cozy, intimate and off the beaten path gem for many years. The owners have managed to keep consistently fabulous staffing, menu items and wines to build a history of truly memorable experiences. Each visit brings something entirely fresh, whether a bold entrée introduction or a subtle plating accoutrement. My favourite place to explore new adventures in fine dining!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, , Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly, professional, well presented, ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Friendly, professional, well presented, no one standing over you, casual atmosphere, and we enjoyed our little corner experience, thank you.

We will and would recommend the Red Ox to others.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

I love this place, the food, the music ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love this place, the food, the music, the staff, everything is magnificent. Thank you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High quality, creative, delicious, a "re ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2016

High quality, creative, delicious, a "real" restaurant with a comfortable non-stuffy environment and service. A MUST if you love dining out AND if you only go out once in a while....worth it!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Any place that creatively incorporate po ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Any place that creatively incorporate popcorn and peanut butter into a dessert and make it amazing is top shelf and worthy of multiple is visits.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is very small and too loud. there is ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It is very small and too loud. there is not enough space between the tables. You feel like you have no privacy talking at all.

the appetizer was great. the main course was not that good though. We ordered 2 dishes. But none of them were really very tasty. I make much better than that at home. The waiter and waitress were great though. they were very friendly.

Anyway, I guess the main issue was that we were there for a special occasion, but we had no privacy. We could not even talk freely without others hearing what we say. Our table was literally 1 foot away from the next tables. It was very small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Absolutely the best food I've ever had. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Absolutely the best food I've ever had. The rest of the table felt the same way.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed eating here on a Friday e ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Really enjoyed eating here on a Friday evening at 6:00. Can't believe it took us so long to visit. Excellent meal, nice atmosphere. Definitely plan to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The most amazing food I have ever eaten ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The most amazing food I have ever eaten in Edmonton. I went with a friend but it is ideal for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, excellent service! One o ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service! One of my favourite go-to spots for special occasions or dinners with friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoy going to The Red Ox Inn ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We really enjoy going to The Red Ox Inn , the food is always very good . The service is second to none . They have a good selection of wine and drinks . We like to take another couple with us when we are out for special occasions. The only thing that is a little problem is when it's very cold out out and the way the entrance is you can get very cold if sitting near the front .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent absolutely no com ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was excellent absolutely no complaints at all. We bought our friends for a birthday celebration and really enjoyed ourselves.. they raved about the meal. The only things negative I would comment on was that it was very cold outside and that cold was carried into the restaurant every time the door opened. Our feet were very chilled by the time we left. Also and this was something that the staff couldn't control there was a group of ladies across the room and one of them laughed constantly though out their meal. In such a small room it was ear piercing really really unfortunate. The whole atmosphere shifted as soon as they left. We would come again but pick a warmer night and hopefully quieter group.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was excellent and really good s ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was excellent and really good service good variety of wine

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a very nice date for us. We live ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2016

It was a very nice date for us. We live within walking distance, so no worries to drive home after. It's a nice mix of upscale but not too upscale. Appetizers were better than the entrees. Entrees could have been served warmer (steak), but were very tasty. I have spent more for less, so I feel the value is pretty good. Decor is sparse, but somehow the vibe is nice. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Four of us dined at Red Ox Inn December ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Four of us dined at Red Ox Inn December 1st and we thoroughly enjoyed everything about our evening. It was quiet enough that we could converse without shouting. We enjoyed cocktails and wine, perfectly paired to the food. Giant ice cubes mean that you can linger over your drink without it getting watered down. The food was delicious and portion sizes were designed so you can enjoy a starter, entrée and dessert without being overly full. Would go back anytime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We moved into the area a year ago, and l ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We moved into the area a year ago, and live a block away from the restaurant. We were so thrilled to have this well established and well known restaurant so close by. This was our second time to the restaurant. I am so disappointed with both our experiences. The first was with friends who also live in Strathearn about six months ago. Two of our party who ordered the duck sent the meal back. This last experience with another couple was again, not great. We were treating them to a wonderful night as a thank you. My sister asked for a substitution on the pork chop menu item (it was to substitute the risotto with a vegetable they were serving that evening, and the chef refused). I was speechless and could not apologize enough to our guests. My husband and I will not be back. And, my husband and brother in law had the steak that night and were disappointed. My fish entree was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was fabulous! Five us all ordered d ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Food was fabulous! Five us all ordered different things off the appetizer, entree and dessert menu and offered tastes -- hard to pick favorites because it was all so delicious

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceeded our expectations! A wonderful g ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Exceeded our expectations! A wonderful gem, what an experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, and well worth the visit ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic food, and well worth the visit. Service was outstanding and friendly....keep up the great work. Your establishment adds another great choice in Edmonton's eating scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Unbelievable food quality. We go once ev ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Unbelievable food quality. We go once every couple months and it is always great. Steak dishes are always amazing and the soup is next level. Highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Meat prepared very well, however sides w ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Meat prepared very well, however sides were a disappointment, bordering on inedible. Dessert menu is very limited. We used to visit this restaurant a number of years ago when the food was excellent and it was difficult to get a table. That doesn't appear to be the case anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

A simply dressed decor but for me I like ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 21, 2016

A simply dressed decor but for me I like to dine somewhere that the flavours of the food outshine anything else . Service was nice and informative . Fresh, clean flavours and seasoned perfectly. It was nice to not have anything bad to say about dining out !

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal with a great red ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a wonderful meal with a great red wine to accompany it. The service was outstanding and she made us all feel comfortable. Highly recommended.

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is super cozy (which makes fo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place is super cozy (which makes for a high noise level) and welcoming. The waitress knew her stuff but it's not hard to know the menu when there's only 10 things on it with only one vegetarian entree option. For the price, there wasn't nearly enough food. There's lots of other high end restaurants that charge the same amount and provide more food. I suggest saving your money and going there.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

This was my second time here. The menu ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This was my second time here. The menu is limited but it is still difficult to make a decision because everything is so good.

What the ambience is lacking is made up in the food.

They have great wine and INCREDIBLE food and their peanut butter chocolate mousse is unbelievable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

This was our 3rd time to the Red Ox Inn ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This was our 3rd time to the Red Ox Inn and it still manages to hit all the right spots every time. The food was hot and inventive. My pork loin was excellent as was my guests' duck. The tomato soup that started with a small dollop of goat cheese was incredibly tasty. I finished with the pumpkin cake with cafe latte ice cream - excellent; I wish had more room to eat more. The house red was excellent. This is a small intimate place with only 8-10 tables so reservations are a must. Our server was excellent: helpful but not intrusive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an incredible evening and the foo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We had an incredible evening and the food was exceptional. The best I have experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience at the Red Ox Inn was won ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our experience at the Red Ox Inn was wonderful. The food was delicious and the service was great. We had the lamb carpaccio to start, the ribeye for the main and the pumpkin coffee cake for dessert. All of the food was amazing and cooked perfectly. My only complaint is that we were at the seat by the door and we were both cold throughout dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went there for an anniversary dinner. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We went there for an anniversary dinner. The food and service was exceptional but the decor felt stark and sterile. We were hoping for an intimate dinner experience but felt we were nearly sitting with the tables on either side of us. A bit too crowded and noisy for us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Another amazing meal. The tomato soup wa ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Another amazing meal. The tomato soup was fragrant and paired well with the Sancerre that was pleasantly dry and grassy. The duck was the right texture without being too soft or stiff, and it was seasoned all the way through, I'm told. Best duck I've had so far. The dessert was the excellent cheese and condiments.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I haven't been to the Red Ox Inn for yea ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I haven't been to the Red Ox Inn for years and was pleased to revisit it. The decor has changed but I thought it was a little cold feeling. Otherwise it was everything I had hoped. Nice wine list (as per my wife's liking) and great food!

The service was attentive and knowledgeable without being too friendly. I don't want to make a new friend I just want efficient, professional, but friendly service. We got all of that.

We will go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our first visit to the restaura ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was our first visit to the restaurant. The food , service and environment was excellent . The only negative was when the restaurant was full, the noise level increased a lot.

I have recommended the restaurant to friends and family since our visit.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We went there for my husband's birthday ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We went there for my husband's birthday with his parents. Perfect for 2 or 4 guests. We have had the rib eye and duck. The food was outstanding! Service is great as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It was our first Red Ox Inn visit and it ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 24, 2016

It was our first Red Ox Inn visit and it left very pleasant memories. The food was pretty good: we shared pork belly buns - very delicate dough, explosion of flavor feeling. I've tried duck breast and my husband - the lamb. We enjoyed both a lot, highly recommended. We choose Sottano Cabernet, and, again, - it worked well with what we ordered. The place was nice, not loud, service great - attentive and timely. Will definitely come back. Turned out they had six courses + wine pairing fundraiser for Edmonton Humane Society next evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.