About Red Ox Inn

This tiny gem of a restaurant is nestled in one of Edmonton's oldest neighborhoods. The focus is on creative and eclectic cuisine, serving serious food in a casual atmosphere. The Red Ox Inn, a collaborative effort led by Andrea and Frank Olson, is proud of its relationship with loyal patrons, staff, and local producers. The wine list continues to grow in order to keep up with daily specials and a finely tuned menu. The Red Ox Inn is the perfect choice for a quiet dinner, a small gathering of friends, or even a private party.

9420 91 Street
Edmonton, AB T6C 3P4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
95 Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 465-5727

Website:
http://theredoxinn.com/

Parking Details:
There is plenty of free parking on the street in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Frank Olson

Private Party Facilities:
Red Ox Inn offers a complete buyout for your next staff party, medical presentation or small intimate wedding. We are centrally located and offer interesting, fresh food and a carefully chosen wine list. Our friendly, professional staff will take care of all your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Frank Olson: (844) 588-8732

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Red Ox Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (50)
Good for a Date (49)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
See All
Fit for Foodies (39)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Romantic (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Notable Wine List (30)
Cozy (29)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Local Ingredients (18)
Authentic (16)
Business Meals (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Healthy (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Seasonal (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Historic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1622 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was our first time at the Red Ox Inn. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 2 days ago

It was our first time at the Red Ox Inn. We booked a reservation for a valentine's dinner. Service was prompt and the waitress was nice. We ordered the Pork Belley as an appetizer. It had good flavor but was a little tough. I ordered the lamb which was cooked perfectly. It was falling off the bone. My wife had the duck. Again it was cooked great and had great flavor. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and great service. Will defin ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and great service. Will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Though my steak was a little tough the m ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Though my steak was a little tough the meal in it's entirety was exceptional. The Caesar salad and dessert provided delicious bookends. The waiter was curt but efficient. What is disappointing is the exorbitant mark-up of wines by restaurants like the Red Ox. In the States a mark-up of 50% is considered excessive whereas in Edmonton mark-ups of 100-200% are commonplace. What is especially egregious is that g.s.t. and a tip are added to the already ridiculous price of the wine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The beef carpaccio was absolutely amazin ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The beef carpaccio was absolutely amazing. Wines were affordable. The dishes are chef made (therefor you cannot substitute, if you don't know how nice places work) because they are clearly put together for the purpose of being together. I would recommend to anyone wanting to put on a nice outfit and go out for a classy date.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I wanted to try somewhere ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My husband and I wanted to try somewhere new (for us) and settled on the Red Ox Inn for our pre-Valentine's Day celebration. This little gem has a reputation as being one of the best in Edmonton and we were not disappointed! We started with the Beef Carpaccio which was so delicious and light, with great flavors & textures- I can't wait to have it again! I chose the Arctic Char as my main and my husband chose the steak. My fish was lovely with scallops, seared fennel, and apple slaw on a sweet potato purée but I have to admit that my husband's steak was the winning dish. The steak was beautifully medium rare, accompanied by mushroom bread pudding with the most delicious horseradish sauce, smoked beets and broccolini. The steak was perfect! Best flavor profile that we can remember having in a very long time. My husband ate every bite- including the vegetables, and that is saying a lot!! We finished our meals on a sweet note with the Pear Galette and a chocolate peanut butter concoction (can't remember the name). Both were good but we should have gone with the Key Lime Posset- next time!! It was a lovely evening and we will be back to this little gem- hopefully in the cozy corner booth again- best seat in the house! While it is somewhat lacking in decor/ambience (worn exterior sign, worn seating) the menu and attentive servers more than made up for it!!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always a pleasure spending an evening at ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a pleasure spending an evening at Red Ox Inn! The duck duo was incredible as was my spouse's choice, the Arctic Char. Save room for dessert!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. We tri ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and service were excellent. We tried the pork belly appetizer, duck breast and hanger steak. Delicious. The venue was smaller than expected but it had a cozy and casual feel which made our dinner more intimate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, wide range of choices, seem ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, wide range of choices, seem to let the food tell the story not the seasoning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best restaurant in Edmonton. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 10, 2017

One of the best restaurant in Edmonton.

Restaurant was a bit loud due to a large office party.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food and service were exceptional. T ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and service were exceptional. This is a real hidden gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal in a small, cozy setting. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent meal in a small, cozy setting. Menu options were creative. Wine list is extensive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We visited for the first time for our an ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We visited for the first time for our anniversary, service was prompt and courteous. Food was incredible and the atmosphere was simple and comfortable. Worth every penny and we'll put this high on our list of the best Edmonton has to offer.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined here twice in the past two months. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Dined here twice in the past two months. Ordered the same thing both times. The consistency is lacking, however, both times the food was very good to excellent. The first time, the Niocci was spectacular and are prepared unique and untraditional. Prepared with kale, kale was slightly crispy. By far the best niocci dish I have ever tasted. The second time, there was a substitute of leaf of brussel sprout which just didn't make the cut. The first time tomato soup was simply remarkable. It was so good I wanted to lick the bowl. It was not available the second time. I had a squash soup instead which was very good. For my first time dining I would rate this restaurant five out of five. For the second time I would rate it four out of five. Service was good both times. Food delivered promptly both times. Would have liked a better Amarone on the wine menu. The Barolo was a good substitute. I am intrigued by this restaurant. It is definitely upscale. I encourage it to continue to live up to that standard. I have dined at many upscale restaurants. I get bored, disappointed, and move on. I plan to continue to experience the change in menus.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This was our third trip to Red Ox and ou ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our third trip to Red Ox and our first in a few years (we would have been back sooner had home renovations and a new baby not intervened!). The food was fresh, delicious, beautifully presented and lived up to our best recollections. The service was the best I've ever had. My only disappointment was that for the second time in a row, I found the restaurant a bit cold and drafty. We have only been there in the winter and this time we were seated very close to the door, but they could stand to improve the entrance to make it more weather proof. We can't wait to go back for our next special occasion (and I will bring a warmer sweater next time!).

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Small and simple interior, spectacular F ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Small and simple interior, spectacular Food and wine. Pricey but worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Red Ox delivered a superior meal wit ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Red Ox delivered a superior meal with excellent service. The curried squash soup was silky perfection, the confit duck fantastic and the hanger steak delicious and well prepared. The wine list is thoughtful and well chosen. Service was good on very busy night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

It was amazing food and the service was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was amazing food and the service was excellent!!! We will go back for sure

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for my birthday dinner with another ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Came for my birthday dinner with another couple who had never been before. I always find red ox delightful and this visit was no different.

My only criticism is that the website needs an update. Their menu is seasonal so change was assumed but the menu posted is from 2015 I think. A better Web presence would help!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our meal at the Red Ox again. I ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Enjoyed our meal at the Red Ox again. I had the salad to start - it was a Caesar salad, nice to see anchovies in it, bit salty but tasty. For my main I had the fish course - they substituted the sablefish for Arctic char. Nice crispy skin and delicious fish done right, with two scallops, and an apple slaw and pancetta. Very nice!!! My partner had the pork belly appetizer and also had the fish. For dessert we had the cheese plate - nice for sharing. All in all another awesome meal at the Red Ox Inn.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I always take my business clients to the ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I always take my business clients to the Red OX in and it never disappoints. Food is amazing, service is great and the kind of ambience that makes for a perfect business outing.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We consider ourselves lucky to live walk ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We consider ourselves lucky to live walking distance from this gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently outstanding! Perfect ambian ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Consistently outstanding! Perfect ambiance and quality of food and service

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was exceptional. Many surprises. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Meal was exceptional. Many surprises. Service was quick but we didn't feel rushed. We look forward to visiting again soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

There is just to much competition out th ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 15, 2017

There is just to much competition out there and for there to be no gluten free options ( taking something off the plate does not count) is not acceptable in my opinion. I also found the duck to be tasteless and very little sauce was given to help with that. It was my sisters bday so did not want to say anything and Denise was fabulous! I personally have too many options in edmonton to come back or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

The pork belly was done more in a crispy ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The pork belly was done more in a crispy style and was excellent. It paired well with the Oregon Pinot Noir. The lamb was tasty. It had a little too much bone but it was well prepared. The server quickly found out that there was a missing ingredient of nuts and went back to get them, so kudos. The lime posset was delicious. It was tart but it didn't burn your tongue.

Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner and service, limited menu ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great dinner and service, limited menu means attention to detail. Staff were fun and attentive!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional food, service and ambience. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Exceptional food, service and ambience. The food is always tasty, with the plates looking lovely and good portioning of veg and meat (veg options too). They are always very accommodating and are knowledgable about the food and wine they have available. When it is a full house it can get very loud. Love this place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Healthy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We adore this neighbourhood gem! Extensi ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We adore this neighbourhood gem! Extensive wine list, amazing desserts,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I have been frequenting this ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My wife and I have been frequenting this cozy, intimate and off the beaten path gem for many years. The owners have managed to keep consistently fabulous staffing, menu items and wines to build a history of truly memorable experiences. Each visit brings something entirely fresh, whether a bold entrée introduction or a subtle plating accoutrement. My favourite place to explore new adventures in fine dining!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, , Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly, professional, well presented, ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Friendly, professional, well presented, no one standing over you, casual atmosphere, and we enjoyed our little corner experience, thank you.

We will and would recommend the Red Ox to others.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

I love this place, the food, the music ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love this place, the food, the music, the staff, everything is magnificent. Thank you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High quality, creative, delicious, a "re ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2016

High quality, creative, delicious, a "real" restaurant with a comfortable non-stuffy environment and service. A MUST if you love dining out AND if you only go out once in a while....worth it!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Any place that creatively incorporate po ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Any place that creatively incorporate popcorn and peanut butter into a dessert and make it amazing is top shelf and worthy of multiple is visits.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is very small and too loud. there is ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It is very small and too loud. there is not enough space between the tables. You feel like you have no privacy talking at all.

the appetizer was great. the main course was not that good though. We ordered 2 dishes. But none of them were really very tasty. I make much better than that at home. The waiter and waitress were great though. they were very friendly.

Anyway, I guess the main issue was that we were there for a special occasion, but we had no privacy. We could not even talk freely without others hearing what we say. Our table was literally 1 foot away from the next tables. It was very small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Absolutely the best food I've ever had. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Absolutely the best food I've ever had. The rest of the table felt the same way.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed eating here on a Friday e ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Really enjoyed eating here on a Friday evening at 6:00. Can't believe it took us so long to visit. Excellent meal, nice atmosphere. Definitely plan to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The most amazing food I have ever eaten ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The most amazing food I have ever eaten in Edmonton. I went with a friend but it is ideal for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, excellent service! One o ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service! One of my favourite go-to spots for special occasions or dinners with friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoy going to The Red Ox Inn ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We really enjoy going to The Red Ox Inn , the food is always very good . The service is second to none . They have a good selection of wine and drinks . We like to take another couple with us when we are out for special occasions. The only thing that is a little problem is when it's very cold out out and the way the entrance is you can get very cold if sitting near the front .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent absolutely no com ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was excellent absolutely no complaints at all. We bought our friends for a birthday celebration and really enjoyed ourselves.. they raved about the meal. The only things negative I would comment on was that it was very cold outside and that cold was carried into the restaurant every time the door opened. Our feet were very chilled by the time we left. Also and this was something that the staff couldn't control there was a group of ladies across the room and one of them laughed constantly though out their meal. In such a small room it was ear piercing really really unfortunate. The whole atmosphere shifted as soon as they left. We would come again but pick a warmer night and hopefully quieter group.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.