About Red Ox Inn

9420 91 Street
Edmonton, AB T6C 3P4
View Larger Map

This tiny gem of a restaurant is nestled in one of Edmonton's oldest neighborhoods. The focus is on creative and eclectic cuisine, serving serious food in a casual atmosphere. The Red Ox Inn, a collaborative effort led by Andrea and Frank Olson, is proud of its relationship with loyal patrons, staff, and local producers. The wine list continues to grow in order to keep up with daily specials and a finely tuned menu. The Red Ox Inn is the perfect choice for a quiet dinner, a small gathering of friends, or even a private party.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
95 Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 465-5727

Website:
http://theredoxinn.com/

Parking Details:
There is plenty of free parking on the street in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Frank Olson

Private Party Facilities:
Red Ox Inn offers a complete buyout for your next staff party, medical presentation or small intimate wedding. We are centrally located and offer interesting, fresh food and a carefully chosen wine list. Our friendly, professional staff will take care of all your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Frank Olson: 8445888732

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grilled Shrimp With Puff Pastry - Red Ox Inn, Edmonton, AB
Grilled Shrimp With Puff Pastry - Red Ox Inn, Edmonton, AB

Red Ox Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Romantic
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
7 More
Special Occasion
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Global, International
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Food
Edmonton
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton
Romantic
Edmonton
Special Occasion
Edmonton
Global, International
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Special Occasion (62)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Fit for Foodies (43)
See All
Romantic (41)
Good for a Date (37)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Cozy (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Authentic (11)
Business Meals (8)
Casual (8)
Seasonal (6)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Historic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (2)
Organic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
1487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent and really good s ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was excellent and really good service good variety of wine

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a very nice date for us. We live ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

It was a very nice date for us. We live within walking distance, so no worries to drive home after. It's a nice mix of upscale but not too upscale. Appetizers were better than the entrees. Entrees could have been served warmer (steak), but were very tasty. I have spent more for less, so I feel the value is pretty good. Decor is sparse, but somehow the vibe is nice. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Four of us dined at Red Ox Inn December ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 4 days ago

Four of us dined at Red Ox Inn December 1st and we thoroughly enjoyed everything about our evening. It was quiet enough that we could converse without shouting. We enjoyed cocktails and wine, perfectly paired to the food. Giant ice cubes mean that you can linger over your drink without it getting watered down. The food was delicious and portion sizes were designed so you can enjoy a starter, entrée and dessert without being overly full. Would go back anytime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We moved into the area a year ago, and l ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

We moved into the area a year ago, and live a block away from the restaurant. We were so thrilled to have this well established and well known restaurant so close by. This was our second time to the restaurant. I am so disappointed with both our experiences. The first was with friends who also live in Strathearn about six months ago. Two of our party who ordered the duck sent the meal back. This last experience with another couple was again, not great. We were treating them to a wonderful night as a thank you. My sister asked for a substitution on the pork chop menu item (it was to substitute the risotto with a vegetable they were serving that evening, and the chef refused). I was speechless and could not apologize enough to our guests. My husband and I will not be back. And, my husband and brother in law had the steak that night and were disappointed. My fish entree was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was fabulous! Five us all ordered d ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Food was fabulous! Five us all ordered different things off the appetizer, entree and dessert menu and offered tastes -- hard to pick favorites because it was all so delicious

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceeded our expectations! A wonderful g ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Exceeded our expectations! A wonderful gem, what an experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, and well worth the visit ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic food, and well worth the visit. Service was outstanding and friendly....keep up the great work. Your establishment adds another great choice in Edmonton's eating scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Unbelievable food quality. We go once ev ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Unbelievable food quality. We go once every couple months and it is always great. Steak dishes are always amazing and the soup is next level. Highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Meat prepared very well, however sides w ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Meat prepared very well, however sides were a disappointment, bordering on inedible. Dessert menu is very limited. We used to visit this restaurant a number of years ago when the food was excellent and it was difficult to get a table. That doesn't appear to be the case anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

A simply dressed decor but for me I like ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 21, 2016

A simply dressed decor but for me I like to dine somewhere that the flavours of the food outshine anything else . Service was nice and informative . Fresh, clean flavours and seasoned perfectly. It was nice to not have anything bad to say about dining out !

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal with a great red ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a wonderful meal with a great red wine to accompany it. The service was outstanding and she made us all feel comfortable. Highly recommended.

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is super cozy (which makes fo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place is super cozy (which makes for a high noise level) and welcoming. The waitress knew her stuff but it's not hard to know the menu when there's only 10 things on it with only one vegetarian entree option. For the price, there wasn't nearly enough food. There's lots of other high end restaurants that charge the same amount and provide more food. I suggest saving your money and going there.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

This was my second time here. The menu ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This was my second time here. The menu is limited but it is still difficult to make a decision because everything is so good.

What the ambience is lacking is made up in the food.

They have great wine and INCREDIBLE food and their peanut butter chocolate mousse is unbelievable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

This was our 3rd time to the Red Ox Inn ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This was our 3rd time to the Red Ox Inn and it still manages to hit all the right spots every time. The food was hot and inventive. My pork loin was excellent as was my guests' duck. The tomato soup that started with a small dollop of goat cheese was incredibly tasty. I finished with the pumpkin cake with cafe latte ice cream - excellent; I wish had more room to eat more. The house red was excellent. This is a small intimate place with only 8-10 tables so reservations are a must. Our server was excellent: helpful but not intrusive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an incredible evening and the foo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We had an incredible evening and the food was exceptional. The best I have experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience at the Red Ox Inn was won ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our experience at the Red Ox Inn was wonderful. The food was delicious and the service was great. We had the lamb carpaccio to start, the ribeye for the main and the pumpkin coffee cake for dessert. All of the food was amazing and cooked perfectly. My only complaint is that we were at the seat by the door and we were both cold throughout dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went there for an anniversary dinner. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We went there for an anniversary dinner. The food and service was exceptional but the decor felt stark and sterile. We were hoping for an intimate dinner experience but felt we were nearly sitting with the tables on either side of us. A bit too crowded and noisy for us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Another amazing meal. The tomato soup wa ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Another amazing meal. The tomato soup was fragrant and paired well with the Sancerre that was pleasantly dry and grassy. The duck was the right texture without being too soft or stiff, and it was seasoned all the way through, I'm told. Best duck I've had so far. The dessert was the excellent cheese and condiments.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I haven't been to the Red Ox Inn for yea ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I haven't been to the Red Ox Inn for years and was pleased to revisit it. The decor has changed but I thought it was a little cold feeling. Otherwise it was everything I had hoped. Nice wine list (as per my wife's liking) and great food!

The service was attentive and knowledgeable without being too friendly. I don't want to make a new friend I just want efficient, professional, but friendly service. We got all of that.

We will go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our first visit to the restaura ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was our first visit to the restaurant. The food , service and environment was excellent . The only negative was when the restaurant was full, the noise level increased a lot.

I have recommended the restaurant to friends and family since our visit.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We went there for my husband's birthday ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We went there for my husband's birthday with his parents. Perfect for 2 or 4 guests. We have had the rib eye and duck. The food was outstanding! Service is great as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It was our first Red Ox Inn visit and it ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 24, 2016

It was our first Red Ox Inn visit and it left very pleasant memories. The food was pretty good: we shared pork belly buns - very delicate dough, explosion of flavor feeling. I've tried duck breast and my husband - the lamb. We enjoyed both a lot, highly recommended. We choose Sottano Cabernet, and, again, - it worked well with what we ordered. The place was nice, not loud, service great - attentive and timely. Will definitely come back. Turned out they had six courses + wine pairing fundraiser for Edmonton Humane Society next evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to the Red Ox I ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was our first visit to the Red Ox Inn and it was fabulous. It is a small neighborhood place and well worth the visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ribeye was abasing, but the duck was ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The ribeye was abasing, but the duck was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Haven't been for years. We were not disa ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Haven't been for years. We were not disappointed upon our return. We were greeted with a smile and pleasant conversation. The service was attentive but not intrusive.

The food was delicious and presented with a flair.

Overall a very satisfying evening. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was very cold. Server tu ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The restaurant was very cold. Server turned up heat for short period of time but it became cold again. Very unpleasantt.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value1

My overall experience was good.It was my ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 7, 2016

My overall experience was good.It was my first time there and I was there on a date.

I do want to mention the one negative for myself and I did not mention it when I was there. I had the lamb rack. I asked if it was a full rack. I was told that it was a half of a rack.

To my surprise when the meal came there were only 2 chops. I do know that lamb racks

are 7 bone so I felt I did not get what I expected.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a fantastic experience, our serve ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We had a fantastic experience, our server Denise was amazing and the food was really good! The music selection was great and not too loud, the room was interesting and decorated in a very simple, comfortable yet trendy style.

The wine list was not huge, but offered a more than adequate variety at very fair prices.

For an appetizer we shared the smoked trout, the ingredients were very high quality, very well prepared and presented with a high level of sophistication, TRY THIS!

She tried the sablefish, which I may have also had a bite or two of... I loved it, the seared scallops were a fantastic touch!

My main was the pork chop, gotta support local and I'm a huge fan of natural free range items. The chef's techniques were top notch, the presentation creative and inviting.

For dessert, we shared the Torte and I believe the words "oh my good" were used multiple times! Definitely try this!

We were happy to see local natural products on the menu! :)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to try the Red Ox Inn for our ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We decided to try the Red Ox Inn for our third anniversary dinner and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent with very seasonal sides (fall root veggies like squash, etc.). The service was very personal as there were only 3 other parties dining at the restaurant. We did find the appetizers and drink prices quite high, but that is to be expected at a restaurant like this one.

My ONLY complaint is that it was very cold in the restaurant. This could have been because it was just starting to get cold outside and the heat hadn't kicked in fully or that it is just an older building, but we were both wearing our jackets inside by the end of the meal. We regret not mentioning this at the time, but we thought they might notice on their own without being told.

Overall I was very impressed and the restaurant has been added to our list of places to bring out of town guests when they visit us. I just hope the temperature will be a bit higher next time we stop in.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Duck was a bit uncooked for my liking bu ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Duck was a bit uncooked for my liking but flavour of dinner was fabulous. I'm sure they would have cooked the duck more if I had let them know so my own fault.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Lovely anniversary dinner. Only ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Another Lovely anniversary dinner. Only complaint would be that it was cold in there. I did not take my coat off the whole dinner. Still enjoyed ourselves and the food was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Red Ox has been on our list of places to ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Red Ox has been on our list of places to eat in Edmonton for a long time. We finally made it there, and it lived up to the hype. The food was outstanding. I would have given the service 5 stars except we waited 20 - 30 minutes after finishing dessert before we received the bill. I'm not sure what happened, since the service was excellent up to that point. I would definitely recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been to the Red Ox several times ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We have been to the Red Ox several times and it has never disappointed us. Always amazing food and great service. We will continue to visit Red Ox whenever we can!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is my wife's go to place in Edmonto ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This is my wife's go to place in Edmonton. It's small and comfortable which provides a romantic atmosphere. With the constant menu rotation the food is always original with choices that are safe for non-ambitious people. The wine selection is not overwhelming but has a wide range of different types ranging in price from 40+. I am 90% sure you will enjoy what red ox inn has to offer. Also it's the only place I've had blue cheese cheese cake. (Which was amazing)

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and servers were awesome. Decor was ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food and servers were awesome. Decor was a little bland. Great destination spot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent. Great food, service, ambiance ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Excellent. Great food, service, ambiance. Food - wonderful flavours, choices and portions. Perfect dining experience. Feels like the chef loves to present amazing dishes for the quests.

Tags: Healthy, Historic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food portions were on point. Creativity ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Food portions were on point. Creativity was appreciated. Server was fantastic. Another memorable experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husbands beef rib eye was very tough. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My husbands beef rib eye was very tough. The other guests meals were very good. First time I have ever had a 'rough cut' at the Ox.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was delicious and great service ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2016

The food was delicious and great service. The portion great for the price and really able to enjoy your food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food service and quality were excellent. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 19, 2016

food service and quality were excellent. One of the best dining experiences I had in Edmonton

would go gain.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.