About Red Ox Inn

9420 91 Street
Edmonton, AB T6C 3P4
View Larger Map

This tiny gem of a restaurant is nestled in one of Edmonton's oldest neighborhoods. The focus is on creative and eclectic cuisine, serving serious food in a casual atmosphere. The Red Ox Inn, a collaborative effort led by Andrea and Frank Olson, is proud of its relationship with loyal patrons, staff, and local producers. The wine list continues to grow in order to keep up with daily specials and a finely tuned menu. The Red Ox Inn is the perfect choice for a quiet dinner, a small gathering of friends, or even a private party.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
95 Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 465-5727

Website:
http://theredoxinn.com/

Parking Details:
There is plenty of free parking on the street in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Frank Olson

Private Party Facilities:
Red Ox Inn offers a complete buyout for your next staff party, medical presentation or small intimate wedding. We are centrally located and offer interesting, fresh food and a carefully chosen wine list. Our friendly, professional staff will take care of all your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Frank Olson: 8445888732

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Red Ox Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Food
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Service
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
13 More
Best Value
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Special Occasion
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Overall
Edmonton
Best Food
Edmonton
Best Service
Edmonton
Best Value
Edmonton
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton
Notable Wine List
Edmonton
Special Occasion
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

special occasion (101)
fit for foodies (98)
neighborhood gem (94)
See All
romantic (73)
notable wine list (56)
good for groups (15)
hot spot (14)
late-night find (10)
 (4)
 (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (2)
 (2)
 (2)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Great Food

Dined 4 days ago

Had an anniversary dinner at Red Ox the food and service were excellent, the location is quaint and interesting. The room can be extremely noisy however, but that's because people are having a good time and good meal in a small space.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Perfect meal. What can I say? __________ ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Perfect meal. What can I say? __________________LOL!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favourite restaurant in the city!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Worth booking in advance, the somewhat casual, comfortable atmosphere manages to feel right at home with the exquisite food and outstanding service! The staff are knowledgeable in every aspect of the menu and make you feel like family from the beginning. The menu, which changes to incorporate delicious seasonal foods, has a small but surprisingly diverse variety of options, excellent for both those who want something familiar and who want to try something new! And don't worry: unless you're allergic to it, you WILL like what you get! They are also wonderfully accommodating when it comes to dietary restrictions, substituting rather than just removing, so you can still fully enjoy your dining experience. The portion sizes are brilliantly set so that an appetizer, an entree, and a dessert will leave you with that perfect, pleasantly-full feeling. The price might be a little high for everyday dining, but you get more than your money's worth, so it's a great for for any and all occasions!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always superb food and excellent service ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Always superb food and excellent service! A small restaurant, victim of its own popularity - it is difficult to get a reservation :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

WE'LL BE BACK!

Dined on May 21, 2016

We've heard about the Red Ox Inn as one of the top 10 places in Edmonton to dine. We decided to check it out for ourselves and our family reserved for my husband's birthday! We were very happy to have the nook in the corner of the restaurant out of the mainstream. On our server's recommendation, we tried the Pork Belly appetizer. It was wonderful! The whole meal was very appealing to the tastebuds! You will have to try the Peanut Butter Chocolate Torte for dessert! So light and delicious, I didn't want to share! If you can believe, it was topped with Popcorn; novel idea! The server was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. It was a perfect evening for celebration!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The lamb was perfectly cooked

Dined on May 20, 2016

The lamb was perfectly cooked

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Red Ox Inn rocks

Dined on May 16, 2016

Loved everything! The food was exquisite, the service attentive but not overpowering. The atmosphere great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was amazing! Beautifully presen ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was amazing! Beautifully presented, fresh ingredients, cooked just right and flavourful. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Although the place was not busy when we first arrived, there was one loud group celebrating a birthday so it was hard to hear our own conversation at times. Otherwise, an all around great experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

one of the best restaurants in the city, ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

one of the best restaurants in the city, food-wise! always excellent service

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food but slow service

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for the first time this Saturday, before mother's day. The food itself was delicious and cooked very well, however it took over 1 hour before any food touched our lips and over 3 hours to complete the meal. we ordered 3 appetizers, 2 entrees and 2 deserts + 1 bottle of wine. I'm all for atmosphere but I think the food should have come out sooner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Edmonton's best!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Another wonderful experience at the Red Ox Inn. Karen is an outstanding service professional who made our experience fantastic, and the food was particularly strong on this occasion. We found both the albacore tuna tartare as well as the featured tomato salad to be amazingly fresh in terms of the herbs used in the dish, and the duck and lamb entrees were out of this world.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mouthwatering

Dined on April 30, 2016

My husband, friends, and friends' boyfriends went for dinner at the red ox inn, and we all enjoyed ourselves. Our one friend thought it was overpriced, but I feel it was on par with the quality. The salad was delicious and the pork belly was sinful. The duck was cooked perfectly and the accompanied sides were very tasty. The only negative is that the wait was a bit long, but it was friday so it was understandable. I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hidden Gem

Dined on April 29, 2016

Amazing food! We showed up a bit late, but they kept the kitchen open for us, very thankful they did as the food was outstanding. Service was good very attentive. Small restaurant but liked the intimacy of it. Would defiantly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Coming from Chicago Illinois where some ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Coming from Chicago Illinois where some of the best restaurants in the world hail from, the red ox inn is right up there with the best I've had in the city. Great atmosphere, small and quaint, with almost an exclusive vibe to it. Each course was beautifully plated, and cooked perfectly. Great job chef! The service was awesome, the wine list didn't disappoint, and it is a true neighbourhood gem. Will definitely be back on a more regular basis!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent food and service will come back again and again. Appreciate the fact that food was not salty,just seasoned perfectly! Thankyou

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything about our dinner was top notch. Recommended wine was great, appetizers were very tasty and the main was delish. Finished off with cappuccino's and shared the chocolate/peanut butter torte. Fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Champagne

Dined on April 23, 2016

I was celebrating a career change and this was a great place to celebrate. The Piper Heidsieck Brut Champagne was a perfect choice (celebration or no). It was like lemon without being too tart. The salad was like a Caesar salad but the best Caesar salad. The croutons were delicious! I got a complementary pork belly which was decadent in a good way. Pork belly at Red Ox Inn was what got me to be a foodie in the first place. It's all full circle. :) The lamb had a nice herbal quality and perfectly cooked medium rare. The Indian spice and Creme Fraiche added a nice touch. Lots of detail. The peanut butter chocolate torte was luxurious and I was quite full by the end. Another great meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding

Dined on April 20, 2016

Food was delectable and the service was outstanding. Excellent and a lovely neighborhood gem.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great restaurant over all except

Dined on April 17, 2016

Every thing is great about this restaurant, they were friendly, kind and the food was great Only thing I could say is the portions were a little small for the price

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and menu

Dined on April 16, 2016

What a great experience . Super service and staff with super

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Top 10 Edmonton dinner ever!

Dined on April 11, 2016

we have been to Red Ox Inn several times over the year and it's always been good. but it's not a place we drive by so "out of sight, out of mind". Sunday night llast, we went there for my birthday dinner. Best meal we've ever had there and one of 10 best ever, anywhere in Edmonton. shared appetizer and both entrees and shared dessert were all excellent. Wine bu the glass was good and the service was better than good--personable, knowledgeable and professional. All in all, an outstanding evening. We intend to visit much more frequently, now. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the wait

Dined on April 9, 2016

We have been trying to get to the Red Ox Inn for a long time but were never able to reserve. It was definitely worth the wait. We enjoyed the atmosphere, the food and the service was excellent! We will definitely go back- very enjoyable dinner out

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Great location! Great servic ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Great food! Great location! Great service!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent with one exception

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our reservation was a Sunday evening early. Restaurant only half full while we were there which helped the only waitress to wait tables in a timely manner (probably would have been otherwise if the dining room had more diners). The food was very good except for too much salt in the chicken entree.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Cozy restaurant, nice people

Dined on April 2, 2016

Nice restaurant with a French flavour. Servers are kind and respectful. Food is good and well elaborated though servings are a bit small for what you pay

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant!

Dined on March 20, 2016

I've come to the Red Ox a couple of times with my boyfriend and we both just love it. Service is perfect, food is great, atmosphere is comfortable, and they are very accommodating to allergies and dietary needs. We are never disappointed here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

There's a reason why this place is recommend

Dined on March 19, 2016

Highly recommended; friendly and attentive service, food was perfect, was reminiscing about it the following day.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a wonderful time at the Red Ox with ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Had a wonderful time at the Red Ox with my wife. Service was excellent , thank you Alison Food was superb. Had the lamb appetizer and the steak for the main. My wife really enjoyed her salad but the big winner was her rack of lamb. Some of the best ever. We'll be returning for sure.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Reservations Recommended!

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

The restaurant is really small, so be sure to make a reservation. Food is excellent and among the best in Edmonton. Menu is limited, but every dish I've tried is delicious. It's a very nice and intimate setting. I enjoyed it so much I came here 2 times in a week. Would recommend this place for a special occasion or just a quiet dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful time at the Red Ox Inn!

Dined on March 15, 2016

My husband and I had a really memorable evening recently at the Red Ox Inn. We hadn't been there in years but our experience in mid-March 2016 definitely puts this restaurant back on our radar. It really wasn't one particular thing, but rather the complete package. We were warmly greeted, seated well and served with genuine interest. The food (lamb & strip loin) was well-prepared, all sides and sauces nicely balanced and beautifully plated. The wine list is extensive and our knowledgeable server Karen, was helpful in narrowing our selection for a great choice. The music was soft, interesting and engaging. While this is a rather expensive outing, we came away feeling relaxed, happy and appreciative of the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Food is always excellent and consistent. ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Food is always excellent and consistent. If not, they will make sure it will be. Service is also excellent with experienced staff. Totally recommend to one of the best restaurants in the city!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, wonderful service, wonderful!

Dined on March 13, 2016

My husband and I went for our Anniversary and the atmosphere is perfect for a quiet, romantic evening out. The food was delicious and the service was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Another excellent meal

Dined on March 12, 2016

The pork belly had perfect texture to the fat and was blissful. The duck had a smoky quality to it but very light as the server mentioned. I really found nothing wrong with this meal. The cheese and buttermilk crackers, cheese, jelly, and candied walnuts are incredible and underrated as a dessert. I used my dining cheque on the Spanish wine Opta which was dry and old enough so that much of the tannins burnt off.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was excellent right from when we ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Service was excellent right from when we walked in. The restaurant is small and intimate. We had the soup and pork belly for appetizer both were delicious. For entries we both had the duck. The sides of risiotto and smoked beets made the dish. The duck itself was rubbery, might of been over cooked or perhaps not enough fat was on breast. Regardless overall the dinner was a great experience and we will go back again in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Quiet, amazing food and service tucked away

Dined on March 4, 2016

The Red Ox is a smaller quiet place tucked away off the main path. The food was original and incredibly tasty. There was a good wine list that complemented our meal well. Prices were appropriate for the quality of food. The best part was the smaller size giving it a quieter atmosphere where you weren't yelling across the table for conversation. The services was friendly, timely and educated on the menu. We will be back! I would suggest making reservations well in advance as there is very limited seating, but that is part of the appeal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food

Dined on March 4, 2016

Red Ox Inn came highly recommended to us by my daughter and I can now see why. For a little place, it sure speaks volumes with the service and the food is something else. Starting from the appetizers right through to the main course, there wasn't to say but enjoy every bit of goodness. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a pleasant surprise. Will definitely be back

Dined on March 4, 2016

First time dining at this restaurant and we were so impressed! Great friendly service, food very well prepared and presented. Everyone ordered something else. The pork belly starter should be a main. Awesome!! So was the steak! We are going back!! A gem!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

one-off

Dined on February 29, 2016

While the service on our most recent visit was poor, it has been much better in the past. the order was messed up and and instead of them getting us a drink and waiting for both dishes, they made a decision to give my wifes food first (to share) and then 15-20m later I got my food. I think she was a bit flustered and skipped explaining our foods so we resorted to asking the hostess. they compd the entrees but I wish they would have handed this differently, either offering me the beef that was made (when I ordered the lamb) or made us wait, bought us a drink so we could eat together. we will still give this place another shot b/c I think this was a one-off experience

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fine dining worth the price

Dined on February 29, 2016

A fine dining restaurant that actually deserves the title. So many overpriced restaurants in Edmonton that offer mediocre food & terrible service; Red Ox Inn isn't one of them. Excellent food, attentive but not intrusive service, diverse wine selection & nice ambience. Restaurant is small so it can get a little crowded wouldn't recommend for larger groups.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Still one of the best in Edmonton

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food at Red Ox is always exceptional. The overall atmosphere is very romantic, but I wish the server would be a little more welcoming and for it to really compete with all the new great restaurants it needs an original drink list. Still, I will keep going back for food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.