Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 1.26mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 1.26mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 1.26mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.68mi
  2. Distance: 1.26mi
  3. Distance: 1.66mi
  4. Distance: 1.70mi

About Red Ox Inn

This tiny gem of a restaurant is nestled in one of Edmonton's oldest neighborhoods. The focus is on creative and eclectic cuisine, serving serious food in a casual atmosphere. The Red Ox Inn, a collaborative effort led by Andrea and Frank Olson, is proud of its relationship with loyal patrons, staff, and local producers. The wine list continues to grow in order to keep up with daily specials and a finely tuned menu. The Red Ox Inn is the perfect choice for a quiet dinner, a small gathering of friends, or even a private party.

9420 91 Street
Edmonton, AB T6C 3P4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
95 Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 465-5727

Website:
http://theredoxinn.com/

Parking Details:
There is plenty of free parking on the street in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Frank Olson

Private Party Facilities:
Red Ox Inn offers a complete buyout for your next staff party, medical presentation or small intimate wedding. We are centrally located and offer interesting, fresh food and a carefully chosen wine list. Our friendly, professional staff will take care of all your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Frank Olson: (844) 588-8732

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Red Ox Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Special Occasion (41)
Fit for Foodies (39)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Romantic (31)
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Cozy (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Authentic (15)
Business Meals (9)
Casual (9)
Healthy (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Seasonal (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1639 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been to the Red Ox in a few times and have had wonderful meals each time. Plan to keep going to enjoy this excellent restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of the best restaurant meals I've ever eaten. Outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I looked the menu on line and was excited to get the ny strip loin or sirloin steak. When the menu came all they offered was a skirt steak, I was very disappointed to say the least! Especially at 38$ I asked the server about the ny strip and sirloin, and she said that the menu changes daily, which I do understand. She made the skirt steak sound like a million bucks which is a server’s job. So I decided to give it a try, she said the chef cooks it to med rare unless you want it a different way. So I asked here for my skirt steak to be done medium. When it came out to the table the presentation was very nice! When I started to cut into it I noticed a lot of red blood. I moved the cut up fanned pieces of beef and realized the steak literally just had grill marks on it and it was cooked Chicago blue (blood red rare) gelatinous red meat. They have very sharp serrated steak knives there and I had to saw back and forth 10-15 times to cut pieces off.. We sat there for 45 minutes’ before she came with the desert menu and then asked, oh! Were you not happy with your steak? I said no, it is very under cooked and very tough (as I should really have known for a skirt steak! (3 dressed up as a 9) there was awkward silence moment until I said can you cook it some more. She said yes we can. I did come back out and it was cooked to rare this time, my original request was medium. I was still very disappointed. I asked if they use local ingredients, and she said yes. I asked where the beef comes from. She could answer, the pork Irving’s farms. As for the beef, she asked around and nobody knew. She said that the chef has gone home (8pm) so she couldn’t ask him. Maybe the dishwasher cooked my steak? Anyways we will not come back or recommend to our friends. 38$ for skirt steak! I was taken to the cleaners!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food, good service. Always a great night out when you come to the Red Ox Inn

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Easy, enjoyable, tasty. Great place for all occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Came highly recommended. Overall was excellent. The tomato soup and beef carpaccio was excellent. The salad was fine but on the plain side. Most of our party was very impressed with their meals. Two of us had the duck. The breast was disappointing. It was dry and flavorless. Perhaps they didn't let it rest before slicing it. Fortunately, the leg it came with was delicious and moist. We all had the pear pastry for desert which was one of the best deserts I've ever had.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Dined here with my wife who had not been here before. She started with the Tomato Soup which was so simple yet so amazingly tasty. I started with the Smoked Salmon and it was the best I've ever had. It was obvious that this was extremely fresh. For mains we had the Flat Iron Steak and Lamb - both were cooked to perfection with flavors that amazed. Server was fantastic, attentive but not overly so and very fun personality. All in all one of the top 3 restaurants in Edmonton (and I've been to many).

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 1, 2017

A fabulous experience as always. The food is outstanding and the service unobtrusive and professional!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It's too bad our service was so bad because the food is really good. We waited almost a 1/2 hour past our reservation time to get seated, then it took forever to get our drinks and food. 2 drink orders were wrong and one of our steaks wasn't cooked as my friend had asked them to. Like I said, great food but not worth the poor service. We won't be going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Ambience was nice, we were a few minutes late due to excessive traffic but was welcomed once we finally arrived, even tho it meant another guest might be delayed as well. We were not rushed to get through the meal because of the lateness, which we greatly appreciated. Overall it was a lovely experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a great evening; the food, atmosphere and service was great!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I had been to the Red Ox numerous times before and it seems to have changed. In the past it seemed more like Fine Dining, this time it was much more casual.
We had a lady serving us and she was very nice and did a fairly good job. When placing the wine bottle on the table she placed it in an awkward spot which one other guest found an inconvenience and could potentially get knocked over. The waiter in the restaurant, was dressed a bit shabbily and came to collect our money at the end of our meal. He was not very pleasant and didn't seem friendly at all.
We were told the Key Lime dessert was was delicious, it was very tart and I would not recommend it at all. The chocolate peanut butter torte was not very good either.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Our friend-get-together was wonderful in this charming, cozy place. Red Ox Inn has been a favorite of mine from years back. It had been a while since both my friend and I had each been there and I don't know why we don't go all the time. The food...OMG!!! We were each silent and enjoying the savory flavours of each of our dishes. We each loved our selection of the Artic Char, and the Steak. To die for! Service was perfect too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great welcome at the door, very friendly staff. Awesome wine list. Amazing appetizers and entrees. Outstanding food quality, great value! Would recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was our first time at the Red Ox Inn. We booked a reservation for a valentine's dinner. Service was prompt and the waitress was nice. We ordered the Pork Belley as an appetizer. It had good flavor but was a little tough. I ordered the lamb which was cooked perfectly. It was falling off the bone. My wife had the duck. Again it was cooked great and had great flavor. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Red Ox Inn was fantastic! Everything about our experience was excellent. We will be back with friends 😊

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food and great service. Will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Though my steak was a little tough the meal in it's entirety was exceptional. The Caesar salad and dessert provided delicious bookends. The waiter was curt but efficient. What is disappointing is the exorbitant mark-up of wines by restaurants like the Red Ox. In the States a mark-up of 50% is considered excessive whereas in Edmonton mark-ups of 100-200% are commonplace. What is especially egregious is that g.s.t. and a tip are added to the already ridiculous price of the wine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Really really good food. Pricey, but expected for the type of food scene. Nice restaurant space, extremely cozy but stark, bare (aka zero) decor, however, still a nice ambiance. I found the restaurant quite chilly, used my scarf as a blanket. It would be a nice touch to have cozy blankets to offer guests during the cold months.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The beef carpaccio was absolutely amazing. Wines were affordable. The dishes are chef made (therefor you cannot substitute, if you don't know how nice places work) because they are clearly put together for the purpose of being together. I would recommend to anyone wanting to put on a nice outfit and go out for a classy date.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Absolutely loved the food. Service was excellent. Never been before and loved it!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My husband and I wanted to try somewhere new (for us) and settled on the Red Ox Inn for our pre-Valentine's Day celebration. This little gem has a reputation as being one of the best in Edmonton and we were not disappointed! We started with the Beef Carpaccio which was so delicious and light, with great flavors & textures- I can't wait to have it again! I chose the Arctic Char as my main and my husband chose the steak. My fish was lovely with scallops, seared fennel, and apple slaw on a sweet potato purée but I have to admit that my husband's steak was the winning dish. The steak was beautifully medium rare, accompanied by mushroom bread pudding with the most delicious horseradish sauce, smoked beets and broccolini. The steak was perfect! Best flavor profile that we can remember having in a very long time. My husband ate every bite- including the vegetables, and that is saying a lot!! We finished our meals on a sweet note with the Pear Galette and a chocolate peanut butter concoction (can't remember the name). Both were good but we should have gone with the Key Lime Posset- next time!! It was a lovely evening and we will be back to this little gem- hopefully in the cozy corner booth again- best seat in the house! While it is somewhat lacking in decor/ambience (worn exterior sign, worn seating) the menu and attentive servers more than made up for it!!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a pleasure spending an evening at Red Ox Inn! The duck duo was incredible as was my spouse's choice, the Arctic Char. Save room for dessert!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and service were excellent. We tried the pork belly appetizer, duck breast and hanger steak. Delicious. The venue was smaller than expected but it had a cozy and casual feel which made our dinner more intimate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, wide range of choices, seem to let the food tell the story not the seasoning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 10, 2017

One of the best restaurant in Edmonton.
Restaurant was a bit loud due to a large office party.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and service were exceptional. This is a real hidden gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent meal in a small, cozy setting. Menu options were creative. Wine list is extensive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We visited for the first time for our anniversary, service was prompt and courteous. Food was incredible and the atmosphere was simple and comfortable. Worth every penny and we'll put this high on our list of the best Edmonton has to offer.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Dined here twice in the past two months. Ordered the same thing both times. The consistency is lacking, however, both times the food was very good to excellent. The first time, the Niocci was spectacular and are prepared unique and untraditional. Prepared with kale, kale was slightly crispy. By far the best niocci dish I have ever tasted. The second time, there was a substitute of leaf of brussel sprout which just didn't make the cut. The first time tomato soup was simply remarkable. It was so good I wanted to lick the bowl. It was not available the second time. I had a squash soup instead which was very good. For my first time dining I would rate this restaurant five out of five. For the second time I would rate it four out of five. Service was good both times. Food delivered promptly both times. Would have liked a better Amarone on the wine menu. The Barolo was a good substitute. I am intrigued by this restaurant. It is definitely upscale. I encourage it to continue to live up to that standard. I have dined at many upscale restaurants. I get bored, disappointed, and move on. I plan to continue to experience the change in menus.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our third trip to Red Ox and our first in a few years (we would have been back sooner had home renovations and a new baby not intervened!). The food was fresh, delicious, beautifully presented and lived up to our best recollections. The service was the best I've ever had. My only disappointment was that for the second time in a row, I found the restaurant a bit cold and drafty. We have only been there in the winter and this time we were seated very close to the door, but they could stand to improve the entrance to make it more weather proof. We can't wait to go back for our next special occasion (and I will bring a warmer sweater next time!).

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Small and simple interior, spectacular Food and wine. Pricey but worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Red Ox delivered a superior meal with excellent service. The curried squash soup was silky perfection, the confit duck fantastic and the hanger steak delicious and well prepared. The wine list is thoughtful and well chosen. Service was good on very busy night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was amazing food and the service was excellent!!! We will go back for sure

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Came for my birthday dinner with another couple who had never been before. I always find red ox delightful and this visit was no different.
My only criticism is that the website needs an update. Their menu is seasonal so change was assumed but the menu posted is from 2015 I think. A better Web presence would help!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Enjoyed our meal at the Red Ox again. I had the salad to start - it was a Caesar salad, nice to see anchovies in it, bit salty but tasty. For my main I had the fish course - they substituted the sablefish for Arctic char. Nice crispy skin and delicious fish done right, with two scallops, and an apple slaw and pancetta. Very nice!!! My partner had the pork belly appetizer and also had the fish. For dessert we had the cheese plate - nice for sharing. All in all another awesome meal at the Red Ox Inn.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I always take my business clients to the Red OX in and it never disappoints. Food is amazing, service is great and the kind of ambience that makes for a perfect business outing.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We consider ourselves lucky to live walking distance from this gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Consistently outstanding! Perfect ambiance and quality of food and service

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Meal was exceptional. Many surprises. Service was quick but we didn't feel rushed. We look forward to visiting again soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.