Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Red O - Newport Beach

Dining at Red O is an experience like no other - offering a unique combination of Prime Steak & Seafood with Rick Bayless’ signature Mexican inspired influences. By sourcing local and sustainable ingredients Red O creates flavorful dishes with a mindset on quality while still being true to the flavors of Mexico. Red O’s team of friendly employees create a welcoming atmosphere that parallels the luxury resort interiors of the restaurant. Red O also features an impressive bar and lounge, where you’ll find their specialty cocktails, an extensive tequila list and award winning wine list. The bar also offers Happy Hour from 3pm to 7pm daily.

143 Newport Center Drive
Fashion Island
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am -3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Thursday-Saturday:5:00pm -11:00pm
Happy Hour: 3:00pm - 7:00pm Everyday

Cross Street:
San Miguel Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 718-0300

Website:
http://redorestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment 7 Nights Week.

Public Transit:
Valet Parking available.

Executive Chef:
Keith Stich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Red O Restaurant combines atmosphere, comfort & Mexican inspired prime steak and seafood for an exceptional dining experience. From 2 to 300 guests, Red O’s courteous and professional staff will provide an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Red O - Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (72)
Special Occasion (66)
Fit for Foodies (54)
See All
Creative Cuisine (54)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Bar Seating (51)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Hot Spot (47)
People Watching (45)
Worth the Drive (44)
Modern Decor (43)
Great for Lunch (42)
Fun (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
Live Music (40)
Happy Hour (38)
Good for Groups (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Romantic (32)
Business Meals (32)
Authentic (29)
Spicy (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Casual (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Open Kitchen (18)
Tasting Menu (15)
Cozy (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Private Room (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Tapas (13)
Fireplace (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Healthy (8)
Seasonal (8)
Great Beer (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Family Style (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Had the yellowtail aguachile as an appetizer and tablita for two as the main course. Food was amazing and so fresh. Even the salsa and chips seemed extremely fresh. The entire meal was amazing. Oh and their signature margarita was pretty tasty too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome food and service! Dominic guided my 80+ mother through the menu and her taste choices like a pro. Absolutely the best at matching the taste buds to the menu and offering customization when needed. The staff was highly attentive, yet unobtrusive- first class all the way! We are everything in our party from the ribeye steak to the chili rellano. Everyone had an great meal, which is rarely the case with our group of 8-10. We're looking forward to going back! The management must be first rate to have assembled such a quality staff.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Another delightful lunch at one of my favorite restaurants.
High end, creative and delicious Mexican food. Truly a
surprise for those expecting traditional Mexican food.
Always busy, but service, food and staff always awesome.
You are always made to feel you are the only patron they
are serving. Luis, the waiter was superb.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

The server just could not seem to bring anything on time. Drinks ran out twice, long time between even seeing her, and the restaurant was very slow this night. Food was fine, but not worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a wonderful meal at Red O. The service and food was exceptional. The lamb and mole sauce was divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 17, 2017

What a blast! I love the food and I love the service! Thank you for making my birthday so special!

Tags: Healthy, Quick Bite, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Family Style, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

RedO has a very nice vibe, the ambiance is spot on. The cocktails are awesome, so congrats to the bartenders. This restaurant needs to step up its game as it relates to the food quality. The menu is kinda un-inspiring/boring.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Fun, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Not for Easter Brunch.
Granted, Easter brunch is never going to be a high quality event. I guess what was most disappointing wa the "endless cocktails". It was presented as if it was part of the meal, there was no indication it was an additional $20. It was a shock when the bill came, particularly since no one in our party had more than one mimosa.

Other than that, the food was good and the service friendly. I enjoyed the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter buffet was amazing! The variety of foods were delicious! Paella and Lobster Mac n Cheese were outstanding! The shredded beef and chicken along with the taco fixings were excellent. The carving station meat was cooked to perfection! The staff seemed a bit overwhelmed and they ran out of dishes during the brunch. Overall it was a success!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed a varied choice of items on Red O's Easter brunch. The omelette station offered a nice variety of ingredients. The chips and guacamole were fresh and excellent. The watermelon agua fresca was so delicious and refreshing. The dessert table was a little lacking. We missed the Mexican wedding cookies we have had in buffet brunches here in the past. Overall a great value and excellent food. Service was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter brunch. Food and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Absolutely delicious! Loved the enchiladas and goat cheese tamale. The mashed potatoes were creamy and delicious. Cocktails were nice and strong. Caesar salad was a bit salty though.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Romantic, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant is nice. I order the maine lobster which came out over cooked abd bland. Also ordered the lamb plate which was tender and great! The ambiance is nice but the noise level makes it hard to converse with another person. Good alcohol selection.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food! Fun environment!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This was my 1st time here and my husband and I had a great experience. We sat in the pretty dining room with all the red lighting and lanterns. Nice ambiance! Service was lacking in the beginning while we were looking over menu but they were having a big party in the back, so they were off a bit I think. I let them know we'd been waiting to place an order for an appetizer and had been waiting about 20 min to place order for drinks & appetizers and manager came over and apologized and rest of our dining experience we had GREAT service. Happy hour drinks were good price-can't beat it $7 house margarita and it was really good. Cheap beers too until 7pm. We ordered the yellowtail ceviche and taco salad has appetizers and they were both outstanding! The ceviche had the best lime sauce and was to die for. The taco salad best of my life. Super healthy and not too heavy. Delicious dressing! It was missing guacamole, sour cream & beans and that's why I loved it so much. Usually a taco salad has all that which makes it super heavy and sometimes wilted and mushy. This was not the case at all! Super fresh, crispy, & tasty. I loved the rice at the bottom and the thin red onion throughout. Delicious dressing as I stated before. I also had the shrimp & lobster enchiladas-loved. My husband had the chili relleno-it was spicy and rich but very good. I can't wait to go back!!! As I write this review, I'm craving everything we had. Yum! Go...you won't be disappointed! We went on a Wednesday night at 6:30 and it wasn't too crowded. I could see how the dining room we were in may get loud if it was a Fri or Sat night and all tables were filled.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Amazing food and service. This restaurant is one of my wife's favorites and this happened to be where she wanted to go this year for her birthday dinner. It was wonderful as always.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Terrific restaurant from food to decor.
We will be returning soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The dirty looks the blonde hostess gave us as we were leaving the restaurant Saturday night ruined an otherwise perfect birthday dinner. The food was delicious however some of the appetizer portions felt too small. You can't go wrong with anything you order off of the menu. Our waiter was outstanding and the restaurant is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The best Mexican food in Southern Cal. Rick Baylee's is a master at doing it right. The service, ambience and the food was above and beyond excellence. There was not one item that the four of us ordered that was not excellent. I highly recommend this establishment for whatever the occasion is. We can't wait to return and do it again. Go and enjoy a dinning experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent ambience, service and delicious food which is served with an array of flavors and quite frankly the best Mexican food we've had the pleasure of eating.

A wonderful evening as always and I've just booked to return four days later!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Nice food however noisy
Bad smells from exterior drains on the terrace

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was wonderful. I have been there before, but my boyfriend had not. He was impressed by everything. The service was great, let alone with the food & drinks. Made for a great date night. Will be back very soon

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was good but cavernous noisy space with piped-in music made conversation difficult. Also ladies' bathroom was filthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 8, 2017

All around wonderful experience. Our server was attentive, but gave us plenty of space. The live music in the bar made for an upbeat backdrop to the meal. Everything we ordered was delicious, with a special standout being the short rib taco. Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As always, the good and service were impeccable. They go above and beyond to ensure a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Unfortunately we will not be returning here. The service felt like we were at Coco's. The server was rushing us through the courses like a fire drill. I actually asked him twice to slow down with the dish removal process and he simply ignored me. He actually dropped a knife on the floor barely missing my fiancés foot. After dinner I spoke to the manager. She seemed to protect her server instead of fully acknowledging our feedback. On top of all that, the food was below average and when questioned, the server who did not know the menu at all replied "That is the way they prepare it here." Well. Things have changed at what use to be our favorite Mexican cuisine. Caveat Emptor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I always love this restaurant to bring a group of friends it's lively the music is constantly flowing the musicians are usually very good the service is excellent the food is great you just cannot go wrong, we usually start in the bar as a group have a cocktail and then go to a table make a reservation because the place gets booked up and a lot of people show up hoping to get in last minute, and I don't know why these people don't make reservations so there's usually a crowd as you walk into the entrance. Get there a little early to get to the bar as seating is limited. I really wouldn't recommend this place for a quiet romantic intimate dinner it's just too much going on and very lively. But Love it !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Amazing meal with a lot of gluten free options and incredible service

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Cool trendy restaurant in Newport beach. Great bar good food. A little pricey if you are looking for just Mexican food but good. You pay for the atmosphere which can be worth it if that is what you are seeking

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 3, 2017

My sister went about a year ago for her birthday, and had a horrible experience. The food was delicious, but the service and mgmt left something to be desired. Things have definitely changed! I had a manager come by three times, the waiter, Sergio, was attentive without being pushy. The other wait staff made small talk with me, as I was by myself.
Chef Bayless is my favorite! Red O had amazing food, great service and a nice patio. I had duck taquitos, the combination plate with a goat cheese tamale and short rib enchilada. Dessert (passion fruit butter cake) was heavenly!
This was a wonderful experience, and one I wish my sister could have enjoyed for her birthday. I'll definitely go next time I'm in Newport Beach.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I am a huge Rick Bayless fan! I was overjoyed when Red O opened in my area as a transplant from Chicago. Topolobampo, Frontera, Xoco were staples in my foodie world while in Chicago, so to have the art that is Rick Bayless cuisine here in the OC is an epic WIN! Rick Bayless exemplifies elegance in the form of food and atmosphere. I was disappointed this last visit though. The food was superb as always but the service was absolutely horrific! There was no attention to detail in the service. We received the wrong cocktails not once but twice. The waiter was uninformed about the menu which is uncharacteristic of a Rick Bayless experience when we asked basic questions about ingredients. When our dessert was delivered we had to ask the manager to bring us silverware. The waiter did not check to make sure we were doing well throughout the meal. Again, it pains me to write this as I have only witnessed the very best from Rick Bayless establishments but in order to maintain the integrity as the business/brand expands, I felt the obligation as a fan to share our experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Cozy, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 2, 2017

It was my birthday gathering of us 14 girls. We had a blast, food were delicious with great service and restaurant were beautiful. Will definitely go back soon. Great place for girls night gathering.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food but slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This used to be a special place with an interesting menu and impeccable service. Not anymore. The emphasis seems to be on the bar scene and large corporate dinners. The music was so loud we could barely hear each other. The fish -Chilean sea bass and Scottish salmon- was very good, but presented without imagination. Both dishes came with the same sauce and boring rice. Service was okay, but not nearly as good as in when the place first opened. If you come with a company group on the firm's dime, this is a good place. For a couple looking for a romantic evening or for foodies looking for a special meal, look elsewhere.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 30, 2017

While the food was good, not nearly as good as Bayless' Frontera in Chicago which is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Nice lunch with co-workers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Food and service were terrific. Music was perfect for the evening. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves as we were a sizable group. The table worked well, the server and her help were right on of things. All in all we had a good experiance and will go back.

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I would definitely recommend Red O. The servers were on top of things and made great suggestions. Best ever Scallops and Scotsman Salmon!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Spicy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Live music on Monday night. Great performer. Still an excellent choice for foodies and friends. Great House margaritas too!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Tapas, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was amazing and our service was great Can't wait until I can return again to try more amazing food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.