About Red O - Newport Beach

143 Newport Center Drive
Fashion Island
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining at Red O is an experience like no other - offering a unique combination of Prime Steak & Seafood with Rick Bayless’ signature Mexican inspired influences. By sourcing local and sustainable ingredients Red O creates flavorful dishes with a mindset on quality while still being true to the flavors of Mexico. Red O’s team of friendly employees create a welcoming atmosphere that parallels the luxury resort interiors of the restaurant. Red O also features an impressive bar and lounge, where you’ll find their specialty cocktails, an extensive tequila list and award winning wine list. The bar also offers Happy Hour from 3pm to 7pm daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am -3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Thursday-Saturday:5:00pm -11:00pm
Happy Hour: 3:00pm - 7:00pm Everyday

Cross Street:
San Miguel Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 718-0300

Website:
http://redorestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment 7 Nights Week.

Public Transit:
Valet Parking available.

Executive Chef:
Keith Stich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Red O Restaurant combines atmosphere, comfort & Mexican inspired prime steak and seafood for an exceptional dining experience. From 2 to 300 guests, Red O’s courteous and professional staff will provide an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Red O - Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
South Orange County
Steak
South Orange County
Most Booked
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Newport Beach ›

Special Occasion (96)
Fit for Foodies (79)
Vibrant Bar Scene (74)
See All
Good for Groups (58)
Hot Spot (58)
Romantic (51)
Great for Lunch (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Notable Wine List (26)
Great for Brunch (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Live Music (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Happy Hour (7)
Bar Seating (6)
People Watching (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (4)
Scenic View (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Healthy (2)
Cozy (2)
Casual (2)
Spicy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Waterfront (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The tablita for two was a great choice. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 2 days ago

The tablita for two was a great choice. Well worth it. Service is a bit lacking, not horrible by any means but also not as good as comparably-priced restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The service was amazing! The ambiance wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was amazing! The ambiance was romantic and beautiful. Food selection had some great options but we had the halibut and it was a smaller portion with the olaintain rice. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Red O is a quintessential Newport Beach. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 4 days ago

Red O is a quintessential Newport Beach. The vibe is adult fun with great food. Be prepared for some amazing food and come "Dressed to the nines" because this is, well, Newport Beach. The noise level is fairly loud so if you're looking for a quiet, intimate romantic evening this is not the place. If you want a fun and energetic adult crowd where style is the norm and people watching is a non stop game, then this is your place.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice ambiance, would return soon fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

very nice ambiance, would return soon for another occasion or dinner

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food, atmosphere, live music. This ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food, atmosphere, live music. This place is a gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. We sat on the o ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was excellent. We sat on the outside patio and loved that seating area because it is quiet out there and cozy. I had the salmon and it was the best salmon I have tasted in some time because the seasoning was so wonderful.

My only complaint is that this place is pretty expensive so I cannot justify going on a regular basis.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Atmosphere is great & excellent service. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Atmosphere is great & excellent service. This was our second visit to Red O & while service was excellent, it was better the first time. Also the

Good was slightly better first time! But still an excellent restaurant'

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We were looking forward to dining here a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We were looking forward to dining here and the Red O did not disappoint on any level. The lobster and the scallops were succulent and cooked to perfection. The sauces were complex and the presentation appealing. Our waitress Katie did an outstanding job of making us feel welcome and of making the evening special. Well done!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and tasty innovative f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Wonderful service and tasty innovative food. Alcohol was overpriced but not scandalous. Classy restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

They take reservations for our large par ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

They take reservations for our large party which was nice. The steak and lobster we ordered was good but the steak was well done when we asked for medium rare. They didn't even attempt to fix it or offer anything else to compensate. Appetizers were great. Pricey but it's a special occasion kind of place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The decor was nice but the food wasn't g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The decor was nice but the food wasn't great for the price. It was ok but nothing spectacular that would make me want to come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I have been a customer since it opened. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I have been a customer since it opened. I am incredibly disappointed that the restaurant has dumbed down its menu to bland Newport Beach cuisine. Gone are the upscale menus, and in their place is a plasticized one pager. Gone are the innovative guac's. What's left is a wholly pedestrian Mexican offering with a bunch of high priced steaks that have some pseudo Mexican feature. I hope that Rick Bayless reconsiders having his name associated with the current Red O. Chef Bayless is associated with some of the most innovative Mexican food in the world - and he should run from selling his name to this establishment. Bayless's O'Hare Torta shop has more Mexican flavor than anything on the Red O menu now. A sad loss.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great location and vibe. The service is ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great location and vibe. The service is always great along with the food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They allow dogs to dine in the restauran ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

They allow dogs to dine in the restaurant- we were seated by a large dog that barked all night. Given the prices and atmosphere, we were surprised and would not return due to allergies.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

The waiters were bit slow - it took 3 re ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The waiters were bit slow - it took 3 requests to refill my water glass. Otherwise the food service was quick. The restaurant is noisy and we were seated in the side room and not the main dining room. The food - steak and scallops - was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was excellent. Bar guitarist was ex ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was excellent. Bar guitarist was excellent. Beautiful indoors. Ganache dessert was ok. Overall it was so much fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. We had reservati ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food and service. We had reservations at 7:30 but there was a delay in getting seated so we were offered a glass of champagne and a comped appetizer. The organic skinny margarita was delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for brunch, huevos rancheros fantas ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went for brunch, huevos rancheros fantastic, wife had lobster eggs Benedict. She was amazed at how tender the lobster was and cilantro hollandaise sauce was divine. Rose Provence wine was spectacular combination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you decide to sit in the bar - don't ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

If you decide to sit in the bar - don't sit too close to the live music if you expect to have a conversation without yelling. Way too loud for that atmosphere. And, I love live loud music. Ate there two nites prior and sat in the restaurant - it's the perfect atmosphere for a great dinner/lunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Waitress very nice, food mediocre , 2 ba ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Waitress very nice, food mediocre , 2 bathroom attendants got in everyone way , far too expensive for what was offered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Went to meet friends for Happy hour. Gre ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went to meet friends for Happy hour. Great food. Loved the shrimp ceviche and the braised rib tacos. Can't wait to try other items the next time I come back.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and the food is always ste ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great service and the food is always stellar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I came here for brunch for my birthday w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I came here for brunch for my birthday with a group of friends. The service was great and good came out quickly. I was a little disappointed with the food. I've been to Red O for dinner several times and been impressed with each entree I've ordered. But for brunch, my braised short rib enchiladas weren't memorable at all. The red wine sangria was delicious, though. I would still come back to Red O for dinner and for the unlimited sangria on the weekends.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable atmosphere, delicious foo ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Very enjoyable atmosphere, delicious food and desserts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dickey is the BEST server I've ever had! ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Dickey is the BEST server I've ever had! From his exceptional level of professionalism to his amazing service. Every single step of his service is perfectly done. Upholding the high standard which any manager or owner could ever ask for. Please visit Mastros & check out the butter cake. With a few tweaks yours could be just as good. Everything else food-wise was on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outside seating is more quiet. Inside i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Outside seating is more quiet. Inside is very loud and noisy with a full crowd and it is hard to hear someone from across a table if you have a party of 6 or more.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. The scallops and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great food and service. The scallops and the tamales were terrific.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Very loud live ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great food and service. Very loud live entertainment noise from bar spoiled the dining room ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

I made a reservation, when I arrived the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I made a reservation, when I arrived they were quick to seat us. The food was amazing we had the ceviche, that was served with plantains, and my date and I shared the lobster and steak platter it was delicious. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great from the moment I walked in to the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great from the moment I walked in to the second I stepped out...Bravo Red O...Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was my third time coming to Red-O a ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was my third time coming to Red-O and honestly all three times service and food have been amazing!! This time around I visited for my significant others birthday and it was just perfect. He loved his food along with the watermelon agua Fresca (it has been his favorite so far) and loved the birthday churros that were brought to the table. We will definitely keep coming back!!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The ambience was awesome !! But the food ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The ambience was awesome !! But the food and the drinks were okay nothing great .. I was kind of disappointed. For the price I expected something exceptional! I loved the decor ambience and service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The experience was a perfect experience.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The experience was a perfect experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unprofessional service. Food was greasy ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Unprofessional service. Food was greasy and disappointing. Drinks were filled with too much ice. Dispite having reservations we waited for 25 minutes to be seated(empty tables). Will not be returning there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Food and service were amazing! My husban ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food and service were amazing! My husband and I were here celebrating our 4th anniversary. We were well taken care of by all staff members. We agreed it was one of the best meals we've had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Almost always, the weakest link in any r ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Almost always, the weakest link in any restaurant is the hostess. Not so here. The three hostesses were EXTREMELY accommodating. I told them I was picky about where I sit so they gave me two excellent choices. Very nice. Before we were seated though, we sat at the bar for a drink. Our bartender, Stephanie, was fun and very friendly.

Finally, our shrimp enchilada was good but nothing special; however, our Fillet Mignon was beyond good. I, typically, get their NY cut which is great but I can't wait to go back and order the fillet. It was truly chop house quality perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience at Red O. It h ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a great experience at Red O. It had been on our list of restaurants to get to and we are glad we did. The bar scene is eclectic with a mixture of young and older (like us) customers. The guitar music was exceptional. Some wore business suits all the way down to T-shirts and stylish work-out clothes. The service was exceptional. The menu was much like Mastro's , but with a Mexican flare to each dish. I had the scallops and my girlfriend had the shrimp and lobster enchiladas. Both excellent. I also had the tortilla soup. I will not have it again. It was more like French onion than traditional tortilla. As I said, overall great experience. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Red O is a fun place for a date or just ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Red O is a fun place for a date or just about any occasion. The service and front host staff is great-- friendly and not at all stuffy like many places in Newport. The live music is very good and not too loud. Go and have fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Red O is ALWAYS on point with food and s ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Red O is ALWAYS on point with food and service. Stopped by for lunch on a Sunday and noticed that they didn't list the plantains which are offered on their dinner menu. When we asked our server about this, he told us "no problem" and had the dish prepared for us.....AWESOME! Such a great vibe and a good way to wrap up a weekend in OC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.