Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Red O - Newport Beach

Dining at Red O is an experience like no other - offering a unique combination of Prime Steak & Seafood with Rick Bayless’ signature Mexican inspired influences. By sourcing local and sustainable ingredients Red O creates flavorful dishes with a mindset on quality while still being true to the flavors of Mexico. Red O’s team of friendly employees create a welcoming atmosphere that parallels the luxury resort interiors of the restaurant. Red O also features an impressive bar and lounge, where you’ll find their specialty cocktails, an extensive tequila list and award winning wine list. The bar also offers Happy Hour from 3pm to 7pm daily.

143 Newport Center Drive
Fashion Island
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am -3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Thursday-Saturday:5:00pm -11:00pm
Happy Hour: 3:00pm - 7:00pm Everyday

Cross Street:
San Miguel Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 718-0300

Website:
http://redorestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment 7 Nights Week.

Public Transit:
Valet Parking available.

Executive Chef:
Keith Stich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Red O Restaurant combines atmosphere, comfort & Mexican inspired prime steak and seafood for an exceptional dining experience. From 2 to 300 guests, Red O’s courteous and professional staff will provide an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Red O - Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Good for a Date (67)
Creative Cuisine (49)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Vibrant Bar Scene (48)
Live Music (47)
Fun (44)
Worth the Drive (43)
Hot Spot (42)
Good for Groups (36)
Bar Seating (36)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Happy Hour (33)
Authentic (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Romantic (32)
People Watching (30)
Business Meals (29)
Great for Lunch (26)
Casual (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Great for Brunch (24)
Modern Decor (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Spicy (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Tapas (14)
Cozy (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Seasonal (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Great Beer (6)
Fireplace (6)
Healthy (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Live Sports (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Family Style (4)
Scenic View (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Private Room (4)
Open Kitchen (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
1657 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Too noisy. Was here for a family get together with my sister in town. Music would have been ok if it was couples night, but had kids. Also my Chilean sea bass may have had an issue as I ended up getting sick later that evening

We like the food here and ambiance. Just wrong circumstances and Day to visit.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food and drinks, but they took forever to bring anything out. Slightly overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We were very impressed with our dining experience; ate on the patio, not so noisy...our server, Lupe, was outstanding and we enjoyed drink and food....would definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Upscale Mexican dining in a wonderful location.
Ambiance is wonderful.
Ate on the patio, it is quiet and has a feeling of
dining in a foreign country. The wait staff is attentive
to your every need. It is wonderful to be truly
"waited on." The food is unique and delicious, not
your typical Mexican cuisine. I highly recommend
this lovely restaurant, which fast has become my
favorite in Newport Beach.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed a delicious lunch in the beautiful restaurant. A little too much pressure to buy alcohol.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Meals were very tasty and filling. Definitely returning. Many options to try on the menu. The short rib enchiladas were excellent

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Live Music, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2017

They didn't tell me the metal dish with the chips was very hot and I burn my right index finger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The scallops were exceptional. Amazing but true, the scallops at Red O (a Mexican restaurant) were the best I have ever had.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Restaurant was nice but food was a bit disappointing service was average. Hopefully we just ordered wrong things

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food and very friendly staff. Been to their their restaurant in LA, but this has a more extensive menu.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

What a disappointment! Stick to the grilled items, so you know it's made to order and have a better chance of coming to your table at a decent temperature. The kitchen needs to work on their quality control. Mexican dishes tasted like leftovers that weren't reheated enough. At least heat the plate, so the food has a chance to stay warm when it gets to the table. Sopes were cold and way too hard to be served on a plate. The short rib filling on the sopes and in my enchiladas was cold and just tasted like a salty, fatty mush. Love the LA location. The decor and vibe is great in Newport, but the quality of the Mexican dishes needs to improve.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Beautiful authentic resturant with excellent food and great service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Another, night out with the wife, great food, and the band was awesome tonight. Thanks Red O

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Make sure their AC is working before you go. I think we all lost 20 lbs last night due to restaurant temp of 88

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We invited friends from out of town to the Red O. We were seated at a very small table for 4 so we requested a bigger table ( have sat there before and it is very uncomfortable). They accommodated us and sat us at a nice table. Our waiter didn't acknowledge us for almost 15 mins. He comes over and takes our drink order. It took 15 minutes to get our drinks. We sat there for over 20 minutes and got the busboy to fill our glasses. But the worst part was the AC was broken and we were all sweating so much. Really needed water and our drinks. If it was just my husband and I we would have walked out but we were meeting our guests there. Not a great experience especially with the AC not working. Even my cold beer got warm. Very unhappy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This is good restaurant if seated on patio but to loud for conversation in a group atmosphere. The food is a bit pricy but fits the location. The service very good. Wish more side dish options and traditional choices.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Outstanding service and food! Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner for 2. She had the mariscos paella and I had the sizzling shrimp tacos. Along with a 3 tequila taster, the evenings meal was wonderful. I was very comfortable in the seating placement and the ambience was vibrant and fun without being loud and obnoxious. Will definitely be going backs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Absolutely must have oysters. After being introduced to them by my girlfriend, we go there just for that and desert. The main menu is also very good.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Was great...no a/c! Food was great and inventive, and so were the drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food and service, I'll be back often. Nice to see a more complex menu of the regions in Mexico.
Something for everyone, and a chance to try new and interesting dishes.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Overall the food and service are always great. However, the hostess is a bit of a hard pill to swallow. She's very arrogant and not friendly at all.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Everything was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Welcoming atmosphere coupled with really incredible food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The food was fabulous. There were six of us for dinner and everyone ordered something different and everyone was very pleased with their choice.
Service was great, no rush and wonderfully attentive.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Stellar happy hour and the best mole in Orange County. Waiter could not have been more attentive. Butter cake is a must!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great spot. Different menu not the same ole Mexican menu. Try it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My Wife & I went to celebrate her Birthday! Food, Drinks & Service was amazing! Laura our Waitress was very helpful, she was very friendly and recommended us a very tasty meal! Mmmmm just by thinking about makes want to go back and back again! Awesome Red O

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun, Happy Hour, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Nice restaurant, food was good, authentic Mexican. Had live music so was very loud inside, wouldn't recommend for a date looking for quiet conversation but if you want a good time and don't mind yelling to talk to your party then it's a good choice.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Had a great experience at the restaurant. The service was great (ask for JC), and the food was exceptional. The signature drinks were very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Wonderful and tasty tacos, excellent ceviche and go for the coconut sorbet. Excellent service and very friendly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Hostess was inattentive and didn't want to be bothered even though the restaurant wasn't busy. She made people wait to take their names while she snacked and continued her conversation with her fellow hostess.
Environment was cluttered and unclean - floors hadn't been swept, tables left uncleared. Large open rooms with lots of families with small children made it very noisy. This was not what we were expecting for a restaurant in this price category.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very nice upscale Mexican with a really varied and fresh menu...terrific ambience and if you have time have a drink at the bar great for people watching.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Have eaten here for lunch and dinner and it was nice. This time we had brunch and it was wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Incredible menu! Impossible to choose because everything looks so good and creative. Went for lunch with my sister. Making another reservation now to return this weekend for dinner with the husby.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

been wanting to try Rick Bayless's food for years and this restaurant did not disappoint! everything we ate was spectacular, the drinks were stellar, our waiter, Kyle was excellent and made wonderful recommendations that we took and were grateful for. we will most definitely be back and bring friends!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great service and spot for lunch. Beautiful decor. Chips & dips were delicious. The Taco plate - chicken were so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I had been to Red-O before with my husband and loved it. This time, I recommended it to a business colleague for a meeting at brunch. The service was terrible. We had to ask for our margaritas about 20 minutes after putting in that order. They were asked to cook the eggs hard for one of the benedicts - they came out runny and had to be sent back. We ordered 3 desserts. Two of them came out - and we had to ask for the third 10 minutes later, because it had not yet come out. It took 10 minutes after that to get it - it was ice cream. Finally, someone in our party ordered a cappuccino and it came out luke warm. I'm not sure I'm going to recommend it again.

Tags: Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Loved the restaurant! !Great service and will be back real soon!

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Missed our Saturday 2:45 reservation due to traffic. Got there at 3:10. the dining room was closed, so we needed to sit at the bar and order off the bar menu. I was not looking forward to that. The bar menu was very limited but we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food we got. It was excellent. I do wish the bar menu had a bit more selection, but that is what we get when we are late. The service in the bar by the cocktail waitress was actually better than we normally receive here. And tableside service is quite good. I would highly recommend the time, staff and food if you are just looking for a quite place to grab a small, quick bite to eat late on a Saturday afternoon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Very bad service took forever for someone to take our drink order no one would check if we needed anything they brought out wrong food etc..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.