About Red O - Newport Beach

Dining at Red O is an experience like no other - offering a unique combination of Prime Steak & Seafood with Rick Bayless’ signature Mexican inspired influences. By sourcing local and sustainable ingredients Red O creates flavorful dishes with a mindset on quality while still being true to the flavors of Mexico. Red O’s team of friendly employees create a welcoming atmosphere that parallels the luxury resort interiors of the restaurant. Red O also features an impressive bar and lounge, where you’ll find their specialty cocktails, an extensive tequila list and award winning wine list. The bar also offers Happy Hour from 3pm to 7pm daily.

143 Newport Center Drive
Fashion Island
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am -3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Thursday-Saturday:5:00pm -11:00pm
Happy Hour: 3:00pm - 7:00pm Everyday

Cross Street:
San Miguel Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 718-0300

Website:
http://redorestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment 7 Nights Week.

Public Transit:
Valet Parking available.

Executive Chef:
Keith Stich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Red O Restaurant combines atmosphere, comfort & Mexican inspired prime steak and seafood for an exceptional dining experience. From 2 to 300 guests, Red O’s courteous and professional staff will provide an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Red O - Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (57)
Good for a Date (51)
Creative Cuisine (42)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (41)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Hot Spot (37)
Romantic (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Fun (30)
Live Music (30)
Bar Seating (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Good for Groups (27)
Modern Decor (23)
People Watching (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Happy Hour (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Business Meals (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Authentic (14)
Casual (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Open Kitchen (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Private Room (9)
Spicy (9)
Fireplace (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Cozy (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Family Style (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Scenic View (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tapas (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Visit Newport Beach once a year and we j ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Visit Newport Beach once a year and we just stumbled across this find! Happy hour was fantastic....great food, drinks, and the prices were extremely reasonable. I felt like we were a little under-dressed but we couldn't find a dress code on their site so we were in jeans. Lots of after business hour guests in suits. Definitely a place we will want to return over and over. ++++Cheers!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the most exquisite Mexican restaurant re ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

the most exquisite Mexican restaurant reminds me of the southern part of Spain with the Moorish influence. Service was excellent. Looking at the menu, in appears not to change often making it a place to go to couple times a year. However the food was well prepared. Would say I prefer the duck tamales ( ala a rick Bayless recipe for masa) that I make to duck tacos. The Carnitas did not disappoint. Would take someone here if we are at the mall. Fortunately when you are in the restaurant you feel miles away from the mall experience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always great. Loved the new lun ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is always great. Loved the new lunch price-fix 3 course menu. It was delicious!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommended. It never disappoints ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Highly recommended. It never disappoints.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went this time to support Newport Dining ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Went this time to support Newport Dining weeks. What a wonderful menu for the

occasion. Great food, good value. Sat in the atrium by the fireplace, music a bit

softer there and easier for conversation. Another delightful evening at Red O.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for Newport Beach restaurant w ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Went here for Newport Beach restaurant week ... three courses for $20. Beautiful restaurant; not too loud at 1:00 PM on a weekday. Service excellent plus. Green chile tamales delicious as were the suiza enchiladas. The chocolate tart left a lot to be desired although the presentation was lovely. Ample quantities, did not skimp on anything. Very pleased with our seating as we had requested a bit more room for mobility issues. Would definitely recommend and would go again. Only disappointment was the dessert. Oh, and the House Margarita unparalleled!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great appetizers and drinks. Lively bar ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Great appetizers and drinks. Lively bar. Beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We were in Newport Beach for a special o ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We were in Newport Beach for a special occasion and were eager to try this restaurant. We can't say enough about the food and the service. Cant wait for the opening of the Red O in La Jolla in a few weeks!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The people we me at the door were the be ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The people we me at the door were the best they were Curtis well respected personal had an unforgettable diner . And Dorothy was the best she was very informative was a pleasure doing bussiness with her on recommending me to the red O hope to be able to make this my for everything destination can not thank you enough who ever has not tryed it please is well worth the drive . For this king of Servise I would return any day of the week thank you so much hope to see you soon thank you

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a nice meal. Like the new menu, ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always a nice meal. Like the new menu, more fish options. Appreciate the attention to food allergies. Daniel was out waiter, he was great. Restaurant is very lively (read noisy) making table conversation a challenge at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great ambiance but the food is less inte ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great ambiance but the food is less interesting .

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Great if you are on a gluten free diet o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great if you are on a gluten free diet or have celiac disease.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Really enjoyed our evening at Red O. Dec ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Really enjoyed our evening at Red O. Decided last minute to go on NYE. Originally no availability but someone cancelled and we grabbed the opening on Open Table. Great vibe, very busy but excellent service. Food was excellent. Would like them to broaden heir cocktail range away from tropical/Margarita. Pear dessert was perfect. Overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! Delicious Al ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food and service! Delicious Alacran Margarita and Chilean Sea Bass...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were there in New Years Eve for dinne ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there in New Years Eve for dinner, so it was quite busy and loud. The environment was festive and decorated properly for the evening. Drinks were a tad spendy for what they were, but at least they didn't taste bad. The service at the bar was way better than at the table during dinner. At times, it felt like we were forgotten. Again, the bar service was outstanding considering how busy it was! The menu was variable and two people in my party ordered the lobster. The other two ordered filets. The steaks were quite good; better than the lobsters, in my opinion... as a whole, it was a great experience and cannot wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Negative: Chilean sea bass had a nice t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Negative: Chilean sea bass had a nice texture, but it was completely overpowered by the butter, salt and various spices and left me reaching for my glass of water. I was disappointed, because I was expecting more from a Rick Bayless restaurant

Positive: the Cesar's salad was outstanding and the skinny margarita is equally tasty. The hostess and servers were friendly prompt and professional

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

This was a News Eve early dinner with a ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was a News Eve early dinner with a friend. It took 3 hours for our dinner. The service is very slow. I don't know if it is the kitchen's fault. Our server was good. It just took a long time for us to be served each part of our meal. Plus it was very loud. Could hardly carry on a conversation.

I have only eaten here one other time a couple of years ago, soon after the restaurant opened. It took a long time that night also, so I don't

know what the problem is.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

New Years Eve Dinner! Excellent as alway ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve Dinner! Excellent as always!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for a late lunch so it was quiet ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We came for a late lunch so it was quiet but our service was still excellent and the food was outstanding. Every bite was amazing perfection.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bar and the drinks are fantastic.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The bar and the drinks are fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food great music great service! Th ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food great music great service! The live bar music makes the place so much better!

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely ambiance and convenient location. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Lovely ambiance and convenient location. Menu selections very good, something for everyone. Staff was sensitive to our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

What a night! The lobster was succulent; ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 29, 2016

What a night! The lobster was succulent; the steak was delicious. The chef is definitely a perfectionist. Also, I'd like to send some good vibes to our waiter, Luke. You're awesome, my brother. Thanks Red O for a fun night!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and attentive service. The gu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food and attentive service. The guacamole was delicious.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the Red O and will keep coming ba ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I love the Red O and will keep coming back! The food is delicious and the service wonderful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super food and splendid service, with a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Super food and splendid service, with a tequila list that boggles the mind and an expert to make sense of it.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think that Rick Bayless' restaurant is ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I think that Rick Bayless' restaurant is a great mix of classic steak and seafood with Mexican. The steak we had was delicious and tender for a NY cut. I had the habanero shrimp over rice and beans. Just enough food.

The guacamole was good but cold which was an indication that they did not make it fresh and it was refrigerated...

The passion fruit butter cake was just the right amount of fruit with the perfect compliment of coconut ice cream.

Unfortunately, the wait staff was less than great. We had to ask for water several times and the follow-up service after our food arrived was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The atmosphere is wonderful, the food an ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The atmosphere is wonderful, the food and service is excellent. A must if you are in Newport Beach, California.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu and wine list Service level i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great menu and wine list

Service level is superb for a large crowded restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My mother loves Rick Bayless. I brought ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

My mother loves Rick Bayless. I brought her here as a surprise to celebrate her birthday. She absolutely loved everything! From the decor, to the ambiance, to the food, especially her tres leches cake. She said it was the best birthday ever. It was such a great experience. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red O is really special -- outstanding d ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Red O is really special -- outstanding décor, great food, wonderful service. I have only been there for lunch, which works out fine. I understand that the place goes wild in the evening.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. service was. Ok. We ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food was good. service was. Ok. We have had better experience s. Here before.

Service wasn't good. After our dinner was brought to us. It took the waiter over ten minutes to come and see if we needed anything. That's way to long of a wait.

For the price we pay I also expect better portions as in the past. Not this time. Don't think we will be going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food and lots of good selections. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great food and lots of good selections. Never felt rushed good, wine list and friendly staff. Would recommend!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was delicious!! My shrimp enchi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was delicious!! My shrimp enchiladas to die for!! Our waiter was so pushy on trying to get us to order drinks, appetizers, desserts and reading us everything on the menu even after we said we had been there many times! So annoying!! Otherwise the food was great!! Worth going again even to deal with the same pushy waiter.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Service impeccable. Jalepeno Margarita t ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service impeccable. Jalepeno Margarita to die for. Chilean Sea Bass off the charts!

My go to restaurant when I know I will have a great dining experience and good service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic restaurant, the food, t ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 16, 2016

What a fantastic restaurant, the food, the ambiance and the service.

Fine dining as its VERY BEST. The décor is amazing, and very comfortable.

I ordered tortilla soup as an appetizer and was marvelously surprised when

my bowl arrived with NO SOUP, just cheese, avocado and shredded chicken

in a artistic pattern with long thin tortilla sticks crossing the bowl. Along comes

another waiter with a silver container and pours the soup in the bowl.

WOW! WHAT A DRAMATIC START TO AN ELEGANT LUNCH. EXCELLENT, tomato

based tortilla soup.

The duck taquitos were beautifully presented and tasted wonderful.

Can hardly wait to return. This is my go to restaurant now for visiting

family and friends. Easy entrance off Newport Center Drive to this stand alone

restaurant for valet or self parking adjacent to Fashion island.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very noisy. Our check was brought to us ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Very noisy. Our check was brought to us prior to the waitress asking if we wanted desert, which we did.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Always enjoy a meal at Red O and the cha ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Always enjoy a meal at Red O and the changes they have made to their menu are positive. Second time we have been lucky enough to have Holly as our server- knowledgeable and efficient in addition to being just plain nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've had Red O on my list for months now ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I've had Red O on my list for months now and finally made it there. The menu was familiar enough for anyone who has been to other Mexican restaurants but the taste was definitely a few notches up in taste and presentation. Overall, the food was outstanding. My margarita (the Red-O) was probably the best I've had. Our service, however, was not outstanding - and for a restaurant this pricey (yes, it's quite expensive) I expect excellent and attentive service. Our waiter was late getting to us, late delivering items, and very absent checking in during the meal. We got a lot more service by asking the bus-boys and other staff for help. I would say his crappy service added about 20 minutes to the length of our meal. It really put a damper on what would have been a great meal. We were done with dinner before he ever came back to see if we wanted another round of drinks. We skipped dessert to avoid yet another chunk of time waiting. Food is excellent but the service leaves a LOT to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

I had to make changes to my reservation ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I had to make changes to my reservation from 3 people to 5 people. I called the restaurant and spoke to someone to make the change. When I arrived, I was told that they had no record of the change and that we would have to make 45 minutes before being seated. I was very disappointed about the inefficiency of the hostesses.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.