About Red O - Newport Beach

143 Newport Center Drive
Fashion Island
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining at Red O is an experience like no other - offering a unique combination of Prime Steak & Seafood with Rick Bayless’ signature Mexican inspired influences. By sourcing local and sustainable ingredients Red O creates flavorful dishes with a mindset on quality while still being true to the flavors of Mexico. Red O’s team of friendly employees create a welcoming atmosphere that parallels the luxury resort interiors of the restaurant. Red O also features an impressive bar and lounge, where you’ll find their specialty cocktails, an extensive tequila list and award winning wine list. The bar also offers Happy Hour from 3pm to 7pm daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am -3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Thursday-Saturday:5:00pm -11:00pm
Happy Hour: 3:00pm - 7:00pm Everyday

Cross Street:
San Miguel Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 718-0300

Website:
http://redorestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment 7 Nights Week.

Public Transit:
Valet Parking available.

Executive Chef:
Keith Stich

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Private Dining

Red O Restaurant combines atmosphere, comfort & Mexican inspired prime steak and seafood for an exceptional dining experience. From 2 to 300 guests, Red O’s courteous and professional staff will provide an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Red O - Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
South Orange County
Most Booked
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Newport Beach ›

special occasion (121)
fit for foodies (112)
good for groups (86)
See All
vibrant bar scene (84)
hot spot (76)
romantic (60)
great for lunch (56)
great for outdoor dining (47)
notable wine list (34)
great for brunch (32)
neighborhood gem (26)
late-night find (12)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1190 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice food & service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

Nice food & service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding and the decor w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was outstanding and the decor was beautiful. Our server Dominic was excellent - knowledgable, helpful, but not overbearing. We will definitely return. My only criticism would be the noise level.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The server was awesome but the food didn ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

The server was awesome but the food didn't wow me. For $197 we had a ribeye that was way over cooked. (Med it came out well done.) we got the fish of the day and it was topped with the seasoning but the rest of the fish wasn't seasoned. The yellowtail aguachile was really good. Overall that's why I gave it 3 stars. Mostly for the service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Friendly staff

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 5 days ago

Friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

enjoyed the selections. my friends love ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

enjoyed the selections. my friends loved the drinks.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed because l made my reservati ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Disappointed because l made my reservation much in advance and I got a small little table at the end of patio ...not a nice view pretty small table...hostesses were not very friendly

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Everything was excellent. We were there ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everything was excellent. We were there around 5:45 pm and so parking was very easy. The food options were all interesting. The staff was friendly, professional, and attentive. Our meals were outstanding. Good portions and prepared perfectly. The price was very good for what we got. We will return.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, good service. Keep in mind n ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good food, good service. Keep in mind noise level is VERY HIGH on a Fri night. Definitely not a good quiet date place, but good for a get together of friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Exceptional meal with incredibly attenti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Exceptional meal with incredibly attentive wait staff. Food was beautifully presented. Wait staff knowledgeable about chef, future plans, food and recipes.

Felt well taken care of and pampered :) A++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wine prices were totally obsurd. Ab ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The wine prices were totally obsurd. About 350% above retail and other restaurants. The food is very good but very small portions, alacarte. Average main is about $50. Dinner for two with 1 cheapest bottle of wine was $380 including tip. I will never go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Very enjoyable. Manager, Nate and serve ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very enjoyable. Manager, Nate and server Kaathleen were very friendly and helpful.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

We each ordered a separate dish and ever ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We each ordered a separate dish and every dish was amazing! I had the halibut special and it was the best I've ever tasted.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was fantastic! Came here for ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our waiter was fantastic! Came here for a work dinner knowing I'd be back in town the following week having dinner with my husband on vacation. Already know what I'll be ordering. Great food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

terrible service by the host when assign ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

terrible service by the host when assigned to the table. we were 4 people but assigned to a small round table for 4 people. i said that table is suitable for 1 or max 2 people. so, i asked for a bigger table to accommodate four of us. service by the waitress was excellent, she was very tall and used to play volleyball. the food was very average quality. people go there because for the ambient and crowd.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We came for my birthday dinner with my w ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We came for my birthday dinner with my wife, daughter, and her boyfriend. We had a table

reserved, but we were having such a good time in the bar area, we decided to stay and have

dinner in there. Our waitress was very friendly, and we had an amazing time!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food took 90mon to be served and it was ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food took 90mon to be served and it was Cold. Server never checked on us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

So it was Girls weekend in Newport and w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

So it was Girls weekend in Newport and we were looking for a nice dinner spot. This one looked intriguing and boy was it ever! Incredible wine list, fantastic cocktails (their signature margarita was the best we've ever had), and the food. I had the scallops which were beautifully seared and served over a slightly spicy tomato-chipotle (?) angel hair and topped with avocado/mango salsa. The flavors melded beautifully. My friend had enchiladas and they were also delicious. It's about time someone took Mexican food to the foodie level. This place has done it, and quite well. The only thing I didn't love was the salsa that came with the chips. Nothing special, but we had the guacamole, which was good.

The ambiance is very cool, and the bar looked like a fun place to hang out, though we headed straight for dinner. We were there on a Wednesday evening and the place was pretty full. We still managed to get a last minute reservation, lucky us! You won't regret dining at Red O!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy Red O and keep coming back. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always enjoy Red O and keep coming back... Our meal was delicious ! Make sure you leave room

for the yummy Butter Cake ! Also the Brussel Sprouts and Kale Saute was wonderful !!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted a pretty and interesting venue fo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wanted a pretty and interesting venue for a meeting spot with old college roommates. So glad I found this place. Conveniently located, ample parking, beautiful interiors. Started out for happy hour and then moved into the dining room. The food is Mexican with a twist but also offers salads and soups, and a range of prices,

from about 17 to 45 per entree. After appetizers in the bar, I only ordered the kale salad with steak in the dining room. The steak was a little chewy and fatty but well

seasoned and the salad was interesting and flavorful. Everyone liked their entrees. And did I mention the place has an interesting, open, Spanish-Moroccan theme? I'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The food and service were fantastic, mad ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food and service were fantastic, made the special occasion extra special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent selection of Tequila. Very goo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent selection of Tequila. Very good magaritas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We always love coming here with friends. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We always love coming here with friends. The staff is so sweet and they know their stuff. Thank you, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely but extremely pricey high end Mex ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Lovely but extremely pricey high end Mexican food. Reservations essential. Try the fish special and the plantains. Noisy, so not ideal for a quiet, romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everyone was attentive and cheerful. Foo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Everyone was attentive and cheerful. Food was Awesome, never disappoints...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food here doesn't use any of the mod ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food here doesn't use any of the modern "chefy" kind of maneuvers like foams and such. It isn't particularly stunning with presentations and the like. The presentation was fine but clearly not the focus.

The food's just really good. Forget all the fluff. When it gets down to it, the most important thing is the taste, and the food is just amazing Mexican. Everything we had was sublime.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went with 5 couples for Sunday Brunc ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We went with 5 couples for Sunday Brunch to kick off the summer. The atmosphere is awesome but the food was not up to par that day. Great service though!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and drinks

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was good

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I expected the food to be better. Servic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I expected the food to be better. Service was excellent and the place was beautiful. Food needs improvement.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Portion was too small for la talbita for ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Portion was too small for la talbita for $125... They filled me up wit chips

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Fantastic dining experience. The flavor ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Fantastic dining experience. The flavors of every item and beverage were unique and spectacular. This is not just fancy mexican food - Red O is a high quality dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What an awesome decor ! Just loved looki ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

What an awesome decor ! Just loved looking at the lights and walls not to mention the tequila collection. Great music in the bar. Four different entrees chosen by our group and every one was delicious and very fresh. Scallops and halibut were winners.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and delicious food! Lovely ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great service and delicious food! Lovely way to spend a special occasion!

Tags: special occasions, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The only objection is overprice - no val ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The only objection is overprice - no value for the money.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

The food is delicious and different than ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The food is delicious and different than what you expect at other restaurants. The service is fantastic. I like that they make sure your drinks are refilled often and that they check to make sure you are happy with everything.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went there with my family to celebrat ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went there with my family to celebrate Father's Day on Sunday. We were escorted all the way to the back of the restaurant in the outdoor dining area. We were a party of 15. It was extremely hot on the patio. Fortunately, we asked to be moved and we got somewhat better seating on the covered part of the Patio, next to the Omelette Station. Although, it was not as hot as our previous table it still remained uncomfortable. If I return to RED O, I will have to specifically request that I want indoor seating. RED O should invest in providing more air conditioning in their patio if they are to take reservations for that part of the restaurant. Otherwise it makes the dining experience terrible and does not make me want to return for a day celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Asia (Aja?) was our waitress on Father's ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Asia (Aja?) was our waitress on Father's Day and she was SO friendly and attentive, even though the restaurant was busy and she was probably doing so much at once. She never left us hanging!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my 4th visit at Red O and its ne ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is my 4th visit at Red O and its never disappointing. Great food and love the ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was a good, but not exception ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Overall it was a good, but not exceptional, experience. Made a reservation with the note that we are celebrating a birthday, but that was not acknowledged at any point of the night. Also checked in for our 830pm reservation at 815pm, but didn't get seated until 840pm. The ambiance is upscale, trendy, and good for date nights or small groups for special occasions. The big bar seating area was quite lively, with a live band, which is fun but it was so loud you would have to shout to hear each other across the table. Its a good stop to get a few bites and drinks in before heading out on the town for the night - and patrons are dressed accordingly. Inside the main restaurant the ambiance is good, and servers are friendly and attentive. I was surprised at the surprisingly few "Mexican" dishes on the menu, as much of it is traditional steakhouse menu as well. Was hoping for more authentic Mexican dishes given that this is Rick Bayless' forte. $11 for a few tablespoons of guacamole seemed ridiculous. The plates themselves (Carnitas, Enchiladas) were more satisfying.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Food was good, but I've had better for t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was good, but I've had better for the same price. Service is excellent and so is the ambiance. I would definitely come back just for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.