About Red O - Newport Beach

143 Newport Center Drive
Fashion Island
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining at Red O is an experience like no other - offering a unique combination of Prime Steak & Seafood with Rick Bayless’ signature Mexican inspired influences. By sourcing local and sustainable ingredients Red O creates flavorful dishes with a mindset on quality while still being true to the flavors of Mexico. Red O’s team of friendly employees create a welcoming atmosphere that parallels the luxury resort interiors of the restaurant. Red O also features an impressive bar and lounge, where you’ll find their specialty cocktails, an extensive tequila list and award winning wine list. The bar also offers Happy Hour from 3pm to 7pm daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am -3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Thursday-Saturday:5:00pm -11:00pm
Happy Hour: 3:00pm - 7:00pm Everyday

Cross Street:
San Miguel Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 718-0300

Website:
http://redorestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment 7 Nights Week.

Public Transit:
Valet Parking available.

Executive Chef:
Keith Stich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Red O Restaurant combines atmosphere, comfort & Mexican inspired prime steak and seafood for an exceptional dining experience. From 2 to 300 guests, Red O’s courteous and professional staff will provide an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Red O - Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (68)
Special Occasion (65)
Fit for Foodies (50)
See All
Creative Cuisine (48)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Vibrant Bar Scene (41)
Hot Spot (41)
Bar Seating (41)
Romantic (39)
Fun (35)
Live Music (35)
Great for Lunch (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Modern Decor (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
People Watching (30)
Good for Groups (30)
Happy Hour (27)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Authentic (18)
Business Meals (18)
Open Kitchen (18)
Casual (16)
Spicy (14)
Cozy (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Private Room (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Fireplace (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Family Style (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Scenic View (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Great Beer (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Very average food. Very poor service. Wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great. Only issue was Curtis offered for dessert were rock hard, inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

i was not at all impressed with my dining experience at red o last night. the food was not much more than the average, and yet very overpriced . my rice was dry and clearly had been over microwaved, as were the beans on my combination plate, although my entire portion was nearly cold by the time it was served. we were seated on the patio, without asking us if we were amenable to that, which was incredibly uncomfortable and noisy., replete with a screaming child. i had requested no booth on my open table reservation, but there were tables clearly available in the interior which we were not offered. i essentially sat in a pass way, where the heat from the heat lamps was uneven and often too warm for some of the people in our party. the food itself is horribly overpriced and my lauded "short rib crispy taco" was dry and nearly tasteless. we were all incredibly polite and respectful to the service staff, nonetheless, our service was poor, and not at all attentive, with the waiter making more than several "fat shaming" sort of comments to us, (yes...all those in our party were of a bit more ample figured than "average"...but still this was unacceptable and highly unnecessary) for nearly $200 with tip...i could have treated my guests to a far superior dinner in a far more enjoyable setting, elsewhere in newport beach. i did not wish to make a public display about my dissatisfaction, so i called and spoke to the manager when i arrived home, and he was incredibly kind. he did offer recompense, due to our experience with the service, but i wished to maintain the altruistic tone to my "complaint" and declined his offer. and even regardless of the unhappy service experience, the food was still terribly average at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

We had an awesome experience! Upon entering we were greeted with a smile and courteously. We were seated exactly at 5pm which was the time of our reservation. Our table was near a beautiful planter the accentuated the warm feeling atmosphere. Our waiter was very attentive and provided immaculate customer service. The food was delicious! The duck taquitos were delightful. The guacamole was fresh and tasty. I had the Chilean sea bass that was seared to perfection! My fiancé had shrimp enchiladas with lobster. It was delicious. Desert was phenomenal! Butter cake! Everything that touched my pallet was excellent. Thank you Red O!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent meal. May be a bit pricy but really worth it.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

It was a very nice ambience and everyone so happy. Waiter was nice but kind of pushy towards the end to order dessert. Other than that, it was a great experience.

Pierre De'Angelo Young

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined 7 days ago

We are visiting from Australia & this was our second time dining at Red O & it didn't disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

I will be back to try the restaurant again. Yet I would like to provide some input. The service feels forced, as if the employees are faking it. Being more genuine and authentic will help with the customer experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Live Music, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Outstanding! Wonderful menu selections but remember, the butternut squash soup is a must. The staff is very diligent and engaging.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 17, 2017

While fairly high priced, the food at the Red O is certainly worth it. Even the obligatory chips and salsa are a few steps above standard. I had perfectly cooked lamb chops in a tasty sauce that reminded me of chimicuri but was red and more subtle. Delicious. My guest had the vegetarian squash soup which had layers of flavor and texture. The only disappointment were the bland fresh churros with two unassuming dipping sauces.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Decor is very hip and the best part of the Red-O experience. The service was also very good.

I had the Carnitas Tacos plate. Tacos, rice, and beans were all fine but nothing special. For the price ($16), you can get much better food. Clearly you are paying for the ambiance not the food.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great ambience and the food was excellent. Highly recommend the Tortilla Soup and the Mexican Street Corn. The filet was great too. Perfect for a date night,

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was a Valentine's Day dinner for my wife and me and our first dining experience at Red O. Taking into consideration that it is the busiest dining night of the year, the overall experience was good. The only criticism is that I had booked a reservation a week and a half in advance & the time slot that I wanted was available. However, it was clear that they were overbooked for that time and we were initially seated in a remote outdoor area away from the nice ambiance. To their credit, we were reseated to a better table after we requested.

The food was good... and definitely Newport Beach priced.

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valnetines Day and had an amazing night. The food was so good i cant wait to go back. Service was a tad slow and they didn't pack my left overs i asked for. I would still go back for the ambiance and food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were celebrating Valentine's Day. They seated us on time and Holly and the team provided great service. My wife enjoyed the filet while I had the salmon. Food was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This place was amazing. My girlfriend and I went here for valentines day. We did have to wait a little bit before they actually gave us our menus after we got seated, but the staff attended to us with no problems at all afterwards. The food was really good. It was one of the, if not the best prime ribe steak I've had and my girlfriend ordered the Fillet Mignon, which she said was very good as well. Overall, this place is a nice choice for those special occassions; will definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This place was outstanding. Went her for V-Day and was very happy with the service, food, and ambiance. The live music was great heard a lot of Bob Marley. It is perfect for a date. Bar seating with the music is amazing! Loved it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was not as good as expected, however it was Valentine's Day so am that played a role in the slowness.

Food was very good

Do not dine in the main dining are just off the bar, it was way too noisy there. Ask for a table in the dining room with the fireplace , perfect for a conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Very disappointed, average food for a high end restaurant. An overpriced Mexican restaurant.

Waited 15 minutes for a drink in the bar. Very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A great place to gather for special occasion or just a night out. Food was very good and out party tried a variety of foods. Loved "The Cooler" cocktail, if you like Gin and Tonic this is a nice treat. Our waiter, Preston was excellent, attentive and knowledgeable. Would definitely come back for a night out or a group event, they have an awesome outdoor dining area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had brunch with family. Food, service and atmosphere was great!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Took my wife out for dinner. We had been there before and love the atmosphere. The band in the bar was fantastic but they are not so loud that you can't carry on a conversation. We had the short rib enchiladas and the sea bass. Both were cooked perfectly!

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The people watching was more interesting than the food on a Saturday night, when it felt like tryouts for the Real Housewives of OC. Difficult to converse with our dinner guests because of the club-like noise level. Food was good but not memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and service we're great. Our server was attentive and everything was fresh from guacamole and the fusion Spanish options for food

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Private Room, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a party of 8 for my birthday and a friends birthday in the Atrium,,,,,,

great food,,,great service,,,,nice birthday dessert,,,,,very attentive waiter and bus staff.

Thank you,,,, will be back soon !!

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Way too dark inside. Customers were using flashlights to see the menu, and waiters were using uplights in the potted plants to see the order slips. They ran out of diet soda--how does that happen? Live music in the bar spilled over into the restaurant, which was playing (different) recorded music. Short rib enchiladas and tacos were good, as were the black beans and rice. Broccolini was too spicy, but did not indicate that it was spicy on the menu. Not a fan of $16 margaritas, so I didn't order any tequila drinks. Overall, not a bad experience but not a really good one, either.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had a great time, the Signature Red O Margarita is excellent, food was tasty, Lobster was a little chewy, and Just-Made Churros were hard.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentine's Day Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

wonderful food, service and ambience. Highly recommeded.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Terrible experience

Louzy food

Ill prepared

And the service was even worse

Don't waste your money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great restaurant and we go when in the area. Bar is packed for happy hour but the dining room is conducive to conversation.

Great chili powder rimmed margarita with jalapeños .... I always request it!

We love our Chicago Rick Bayless restaurants and glad he has opened the three in LA; now only wish Pasadena would get one! Sweet corn tamales are worth the drive. Could use just a little more light in dining area...it's pretty dark!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food was good and fresh, but the flavors were a little muddled. Maybe I expected more uniqueness to the dishes and the quality.

The restaurant was a bit noisy albeit, the staff was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Our table was nice for 7 of us to be able to talk. The fish tacos were not good! The service was about a 6 out of 10.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 6, 2017

My husband & I celebrated our 58th Wedding Anniversary with lunch at the Red O. I indicated our special occasion on my reservation and the staff made it a point to congratulate us. Our server, Holly, greeted us with "Happy Anniversary" which was a great way to begin our meal. We had looked at a menu online and already had our entrees selected. Holly pointed out the Prix Fixe Lunch menu and we found both our entrees on that menu that also included appetizers and desserts at the value price of $20 per person! On top of that, the food was delicious and the service exemplary. We started by sharing appetizers of taquitos and caesar salad. The salad was served in bite size pieces of lettuce with pine nuts and a delicious dressing. My entree was chicken enchiladas with cheese and beans while my husband enjoyed Mahi-Mahi and white rice. Both entrees were exactly what we wanted and were very tasty. Our berry tarts, with a chocolate base, were creamy and smooth with just a touch of fruit favors. An extra dessert was the beautiful plate filled with freshly fried churros with two dipping sauces and around the plate's edge was written Happy Anniversary in chocolate cursive. As this was a rainy day we enjoyed hot tea with our dessert and vowed to come again for this special treat. A final nice touch was the hostess who wished us a "Happy Anniversary" as we left the Red O.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Red O never disappoints. The service is excellent and the food is top notch. I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The waiters were very attentive and helpful. They knew their stuff. Great service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We went during the day for brunch and our service was terrible. Took forever but everyone was nice when they actually came to check in with us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Twice our main came out cold. Inexcusable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was amazing. I ordered the Carne Asada and it was better than anything I have ever tasted from local Mexican food places in Los Angeles I go to. Staff was super friendly and very attentive. I went with a party of four and everyone raved about their plates. We are already planning an outing for Brunch! This is my new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had a great time, had an awesome Cadillac Margarita with Grand Marnier rim.

Tags: Open Kitchen, People Watching, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Live Music, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Nice decor, great drinks and food. Perfect for friends or family gathering. Will defefinitely go back for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was very warm in the restaurant when we got there. We had to ask several people to turn the air on. After a half hour someone listened. We waited 45 minutes for our drinks to arrive. We almost got up and left.

We were a party of 9 and everyone that arrived after us were served before us.

Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very nice restaurant, great service. The food was OK, nothing spectacular, the fish in my seafood enchiladas was overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 31, 2017

One of our favorite spots. Great menu with a variety of flavors.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had a really great time :)

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was very good and fresh. Definitely contemporary Mexican food, menu is very extensive. I recommend eating here, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Made reservation for 7pm, and was seated at 7:45pm, very disappointing from a place we like to go to and recommend to others. I understand it gets busy, but I can't make a reservation to take my wife out at 7 and be seated nearly an hour later. I will choose another venue (Fig and Olive/Javiers/The Winery) if the slow seating continues as this has happened the last two times I dined at Red O

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a great time and loved everything we ordered. The goat cheese tamales were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.