About Red O - Newport Beach

143 Newport Center Drive
Fashion Island
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining at Red O is an experience like no other - offering a unique combination of Prime Steak & Seafood with Rick Bayless’ signature Mexican inspired influences. By sourcing local and sustainable ingredients Red O creates flavorful dishes with a mindset on quality while still being true to the flavors of Mexico. Red O’s team of friendly employees create a welcoming atmosphere that parallels the luxury resort interiors of the restaurant. Red O also features an impressive bar and lounge, where you’ll find their specialty cocktails, an extensive tequila list and award winning wine list. The bar also offers Happy Hour from 3pm to 7pm daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am -3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Thursday-Saturday:5:00pm -11:00pm
Happy Hour: 3:00pm - 7:00pm Everyday

Cross Street:
San Miguel Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 718-0300

Website:
http://redorestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment 7 Nights Week.

Public Transit:
Valet Parking available.

Executive Chef:
Keith Stich

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Father's Day Brunch Buffet featuring omelets, chilaquiles, pastries, fruit, seafood paella, lobster mac & cheese, and filet carving stations. Bottomless drink options.

Private Dining

Red O Restaurant combines atmosphere, comfort & Mexican inspired prime steak and seafood for an exceptional dining experience. From 2 to 300 guests, Red O’s courteous and professional staff will provide an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Red O - Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
South Orange County
Steak
South Orange County
Most Booked
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Newport Beach ›

special occasion (126)
fit for foodies (124)
good for groups (103)
See All
vibrant bar scene (101)
hot spot (98)
great for lunch (72)
romantic (66)
great for outdoor dining (58)
great for brunch (36)
neighborhood gem (35)
notable wine list (33)
late-night find (22)
kid-friendly (8)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Too loud to carry on a conversation. Ser ...

Dined 4 days ago

Too loud to carry on a conversation. Service a little slow nod over priced

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

This was my first time at Red O and I'm ...

Dined 4 days ago

This was my first time at Red O and I'm glad I went. Everything was great from my wife's delicious lamb, to my exquisite camarones al mojo de ajo, and what can I say about dessert?? I had the tres leches cake and it was just perfect, I loved every single bite of it. Service was very very good I can't complaint about it. Our server did an awesome job from start to finish , definitely looking forward to come back soon.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

great food, some shaky service issues

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Food was great. Service was sometimes erratic. Our app arrived way before our drink order. A couple long gaps in service.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful setting with excellent servi ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

A beautiful setting with excellent service. Delicious margaritas with the best chips. Highly recommend the yellowtail aquachiles. We also split beef short rib sopes and carnitas with red chile. The food is all great, you can't really go wrong. This is a very special experience, perfect for any occasion.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I have been to this restaurant numerous ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I have been to this restaurant numerous times and have always had a very good time. My husband took me there to celebrate my birthday. While the food and cocktails were great the service was disappointing. When we arrived the place was not busy so really no excuse for the poor service. Food did not disappoint.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant!

Dined on May 14, 2016

The aqua frescas, tortillas, & apps (chips, salsa, guac, queso, fundido) were great! The entrees were good but could been hotter instead of just warm. Ambience and service were great!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time there but not our ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

It was our first time there but not our last. It had an upscale LA feel and atmosphere in Orange County. Great food, service and experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great dining experience , service is s ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

A great dining experience , service is superb ! David our waiter and Franco the Manager went all the way to accommodate us and made our dining experience something to brag about ,David made sure we are enjoying our drinks and made sure it was to our expectation , he was checking every details to make sure we are taken cared off ! The food was great ! Fit for foodies ! My friends enjoyed the oysters and the scallops , the seafood menus are the best ! The halibut was cool to perfection ! The cocktails was the best !! The Cani wabo tequila margarita with tahini and jalapeño was spicy but not to burn your tongue , it was delightful !!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was excellent and the food w ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our service was excellent and the food was soooo good! The braised short rib enchiladas are the bomb. The restaurant is beautiful. My friends and I enjoyed our lunch very much. We will be back. Thank you!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious Mexican food which is more hig ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Delicious Mexican food which is more high end and unusual.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, server was very pleasant ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Great ambiance, server was very pleasant, not crowded. My friend had a Ceasars salad with steak which he liked. I had the taco trio, carnitas, fried fish and short ribs, I would try something else next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2

I have been to this Red-O several times. ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I have been to this Red-O several times. Every time I had a good experience. This time was not so great. Seated us in the room outside of main dining area. Absolutely,no atmosphere. Service was slow and my rack of lamb chops were over cooked. To the restaurants credit they had a new order out to me in a reasonable amount of time. Overall I was disappointed, because I know they have done better in the past.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, up-scale fun!

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

This was our second visit to Red O, and it was just as amazing as the first time. All of the food is so good--guacamole, that special lobster/steak dish, the tequilas... Great atmosphere inside and out, and just a very fun night out. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

I scheduled a reservation for Mother's Day brunch about 4 weeks in advance. For an 11:45 check in time, we got there at a great time. The brunch buffet was towards the entrance and the line was long but moved fast. Food was great, very flavorful. I'd like to go back again during a non special event. Service was great, very attentive with lots of staff since they were so busy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Yummy

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was delicious and I enjoyed the buffet for Mother's Day. The best issue is the Carnitas and I wasn't even expecting that to be my favorite.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food with that said they should ba ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food with that said they should ban flash camera phones it gets annoying

food3
ambience3
service2

Food was good, service was very slow. Ma ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was good, service was very slow. Many,many many tables packed tightly together made for lots of noise and uncomfortable ambiance. Won't return - wouldn't recommend.

food3
ambience5
service5

Energy was awesome. I would recommend to ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Energy was awesome. I would recommend to order whatever you desire. I was motivated to order something "Mexican fusion" however all of the other items on the menu are pretty tasty as well. Best suited for groups. Lots of fun here.

food3
ambience5
service4

One of the front girls was very rude she ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

One of the front girls was very rude she tried to tell me to wait an hour when we had a reservation

food2
ambience5
service3

Nailed it - A great Cinco de Mayo vibe!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Nailed it - A great Cinco de Mayo vibe!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great gourmet healthy Mexican food. Noth ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Great gourmet healthy Mexican food. Nothing quite like it. Highly recommend.

food4
ambience4
service5

Loved the experience. Food was great and ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Loved the experience. Food was great and service was great. Loved the music being played live and the bar was very quick to respond. My surf and turf was cooked to perfection. Will definitely be back here.

food4
ambience3
service3

waited a very long time even thoughwe ha ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

waited a very long time even thoughwe had reservations. They offered quacamoke free as compensation. We didnt tell them we were waiting too long. When the check came they didnt take the guacamole off the bill and had to recharge it.

food3
ambience4
service3

Service average Food average Noisy and c ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Service average Food average Noisy and crowded

food5
ambience5
service5

Went in to grab a bite to eat and have a ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Went in to grab a bite to eat and have a few drinks. Great atmosphere with live music playing, ambience was really nice. The food was very good and looked very presentable. Not sure what our servers name was, but had a great attitude and was very nice. Made sure we were well taken care of and had an enjoyable experience. Would definitely come back again and recommend this place to anyone.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service! Food was great. Very e ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Amazing service! Food was great. Very enjoyable evening

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Sorry.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Sorry was really looking forward to a nice romantic dinner for 2...... it was loud /// we were seated outside ( not too romantic) and I truly felt rushed........ ugh I hate that for a $200 + meal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! not going back anytime soon...

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed finding a Rich Bayliss ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

We really enjoyed finding a Rich Bayliss restaurant in the Newport Beach area. We were celebrating 3 birthdays with relatives from Chicago and it was just totally by accident that we found the Red O. The food was outstanding and the service was attentive but not overly so. We enjoyed it very much.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A Mexican twist

Dined on April 24, 2016

This was the second time I've been to this restaurant to celebrate a special occasion and they treated us very well. The food was excellent and the ambiance is amazing. You could stay there forever to and talk with the the people who came with all night long, that's how relaxing the place was you just don't realize how long you've been there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a club lunch meeting here and it ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had a club lunch meeting here and it was great...delicious food and attentive service...we'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great meal

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Definitely a great meal. The Mexican twist on the standard steak house was marvelous. I had a great filet with lobster combo. The scallops were done perfectly. My only negative note is that they make their guacamole in advance. It was chilled and very lemony. They should step it up a notch and make it table side. This is a special occasion restaurant as it is very pricey...

food5
ambience5
service4

It was a good experience

Dined on April 17, 2016

It was a good experience

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It's Ok

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was our third visit to the restaurant. The restaurant is in a great location and it packs people in. That said the food is average. The restaurant is also very loud.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food great service

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Great food great service

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Scallops were awesome!! Dessert is a mu ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Scallops were awesome!! Dessert is a must - Passion Fruit Pound Cake!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food ever! Enjoyed the food and dri ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Best food ever! Enjoyed the food and drinks!

food4
ambience4
service4

6 pm was a good time to dine here on a S ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

6 pm was a good time to dine here on a Saturday night. Busy but not a zoo, though it definitely got more crowded as the evening wore on. Attentive service by Michael, who waited on us several months ago. The food remains excellent though pricey. Introduced friends to it this time and they seemed impressed.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service better than a ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent food and service better than any steak and seafood restaurant around. The sauces with latin influence pair delightfully with prime steak and seafood. If you want a great dining experience pair with the award winning wine list or if you're feeling casual kick back with some craft cocktails in the lounge and listen to live music either way it's fantastic!

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not as good as we remembered

Dined on March 31, 2016

From past visits we remembered the impeccable service, great ambiance and good food. Our most recent visit left us disappointed. The service was still good and our server was very friendly, but she had several large parties to attend to and we did not get the same attentive service as when the restaurant first opened. The food was fine, but honestly not worth the money. My husband's starter (duck taquitos) were excellent, but the much-hyped catch of the day was only okay. My salad was average, and the shrimp in the enchilada suiza was overcooked. The beans and rice were underwhelming. The dulce de leche cake was delicious. I don't know what happened, but this restaurant is no longer at the level it once was.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience for our family (kids ag ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Great experience for our family (kids ages 8, 6 and 6). Staff is great and super accommodating!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.