Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Red O - Newport Beach

Dining at Red O is an experience like no other - offering a unique combination of Prime Steak & Seafood with Rick Bayless’ signature Mexican inspired influences. By sourcing local and sustainable ingredients Red O creates flavorful dishes with a mindset on quality while still being true to the flavors of Mexico. Red O’s team of friendly employees create a welcoming atmosphere that parallels the luxury resort interiors of the restaurant. Red O also features an impressive bar and lounge, where you’ll find their specialty cocktails, an extensive tequila list and award winning wine list. The bar also offers Happy Hour from 3pm to 7pm daily.

143 Newport Center Drive
Fashion Island
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am -3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Thursday-Saturday:5:00pm -11:00pm
Happy Hour: 3:00pm - 7:00pm Everyday

Cross Street:
San Miguel Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 718-0300

Website:
http://redorestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment 7 Nights Week.

Public Transit:
Valet Parking available.

Executive Chef:
Keith Stich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Red O Restaurant combines atmosphere, comfort & Mexican inspired prime steak and seafood for an exceptional dining experience. From 2 to 300 guests, Red O’s courteous and professional staff will provide an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Red O - Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (79)
Special Occasion (75)
Creative Cuisine (57)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Bar Seating (51)
Hot Spot (51)
Fun (50)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Live Music (48)
Vibrant Bar Scene (48)
People Watching (47)
Worth the Drive (47)
Good for Groups (43)
Modern Decor (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Happy Hour (38)
Great for Lunch (37)
Romantic (37)
Business Meals (33)
Authentic (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Comfort Food (24)
Casual (24)
Spicy (23)
Great for Brunch (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Tasting Menu (19)
Cozy (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Private Room (14)
Tapas (14)
Fireplace (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Family Style (10)
Healthy (9)
Seasonal (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great Beer (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (3)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
1579 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

First time at a Rick Bayless restaurant and Red O did not disappoint. Very good food! Service was good, too. The bar area, which had a live band playing for happy hour, and the restaurant area were kind of close to each other so the music filtered in to the restaurant. It wasn't too bad, though. But you have to raise your voice in order to be heard. Other than that, our experience at Red O was great. Definitely recommending this to friends.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Has informed them it was for a birthday celebration but they mentioned and did nothing.
Orders were wrong and we were informed that in fact we were wrong and that was what we ordered. Funny I know the difference a fish taco and a beef taco, I also know the difference between beef enchilada and a chicken one.... But no, I was the one who was wrong.
Will pass on RedO next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

I love Red O! And go there often! It's a great date night spot or fun for a night out with friends.
I have never had anything less then an amazing time there ❤️

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Best meal I have had in a long time. Flavorful and fresh. Worth every penny. Service was great too. Definitely will be back, probably my new favorite place to have dinner. That good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Disappointed, just ok. I love Rick Bayless cooking but food at O needs attention to detail.
Everything was salty.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 20, 2017

What was disappointing was it was a birthday dinner. I had told them at the front reception area and nothing special was done for the birthday lady. She is over visiting from Wales and I wanted it to be special. Also, it is very noisy, which is probably a good thing but it's very difficult to have a conversation. Also, the sea bass portion was very small for $42.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It's always a great time here at the "O"
Our best dish is the Tomahawk with Maine Lobster

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun, Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Chicken enchilada suizas were nothing special. I've had better meals here and will return as it's a cool place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Absolutely love the cuisines and Fernando is always an amazing waiter.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Food was outstanding however the service was slow - especially given the relative emptiness of the restaurant. Drinks were very good, food was perfectly seasoned, and the passion fruit crème butter cake was to die for!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Casual, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Red O offered an amazing buffet selection for Mother's day. Wish that they would do this buffet option more often or on more special occasions since it allows you to try a variety of food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place. Wish you can pick from the menu during Sunday brunch ( Mothers Day).

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

WE made our reservation for a Mothers Day lunch. No where on their website was a notice that on Mothers Day they were only doing a buffet. We were quite unhappy because we wanted to order lunch from the menu that was posted on their site. At 12:15 on Mothers Day we had no choice but to eat there.
This was not the experience we wanted. Poor marketing puts a bad taste in peoples mouth. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall it was good for Mother's day brunch. Was really hoping they would have their infamous churros in the dessert, but didn't . Or at least made it ordable as I can understand wanting that fresh. Would have been great if they had other seafood. Omelette station was inefficient. They had one burner at one pt. Second guy came in a bit later. They probably need at least 4 burners to keep up with the people.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Red O for Mother's Day brunch and it was great. It was the Sunday brunch buffet. The food was great. The service was awesome. The decor of the restaurant is AMAZING! Definitely worth the price. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fun, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed Mother's Day brunch and thought the food, service, and ambience was perfect for all ages!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Melissa was a wonderful and very attentive server. Even with all of her tables she was always checking in and making sure our food and drinks were satisfying. She made my Mother's Day surprise all the more special, my Mom had a marvelous time!! Definitely returning for brunch on a regular business day. Beautiful venue and all of the staff was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my wife to RED O for mothers day. She loved it, food was great and the hard liqueur was awesome!! Will be coming back very soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fun, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The restaurant was BUSY
The service was excellent
Food was very good
We tried new items for us
The lobster tail was done to perfection and the bramzino was FANTASTIC

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food and service. Consistently a good choice for dinner. Our favorite waiter is Rigo, always provides excellent service.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing food wife sure did love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service, appetizers, main dishes, desserts were great! One of our favorite places.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Nice time. Good music. Attentive wait staff

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always enjoy dinner here when we're vacationing in Newport Beach. Energetic and grand ambience, this time with a live singer/guitar player who was excellent. Tasty house Margaritas plus an ahi tuna tartare to start. Spicy, crunchy and delicious. We could have had another round of that and called it a night, but then we would have missed out on some mouthwatering short rib tacos and enchiladas. Service was great and at our pace, not rushed. In fact, when we ordered desert, they needed some additional space for a big party coming in next to us, so they moved us over slightly and the management comped our after dinner drinks. The best! See you again next time we come to town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Beautiful place. Kitchen on display through huge panes of glass. gorgeous bar area. live music when we went. perfectly decorated. good menu with normal prices. food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Always a great place for great food. Service is phenomenal. I have never had a bad meal. Even the pickiest eater in our group lived his food. Try the habanero salsa if you want to burn your taste buds off, I always do and I never regret it ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had a great time for my daughter's birthday. Food and ambiance were excellent. I would definitely return!

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Had a great time. Food was very good, staff was very attentive but not too attentive. Pricing is quite varied so you can find for for any budget. Overall a great place to eat for virtually any occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Spicy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We love the ambiance here. And the service is always very good. But, the food quality is slipping. The chips that were brought to our table were stale. We asked them to return them and bring us fresher ones. When they came, they were just as stale. We always order the queso fundido starter. It was rather stiff in texture. We almost had to cut it with a knife to get it out and onto the tortillas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Made a reservation and was sat in a horrible small corner table for two. Waiter Laura V was extremely rude during entire dining experience with zero hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great Experience only downside was made reservation for 8:00pm and didn't get seated until 9:00pm an hour later than our reservation... so don't go there hungry expected to be seated at the time of your reservation.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Having to wait 30 minutes with a reservation was not the start to the dinner we were expecting. Once we were seated we felt a little pressured by the waiter to order more appetizers than we needed. However, the food is delicious and the ambiance of the restaurant is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Red O never disappoints! The food and service are consistently on point and we always leave looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

While it was Cinco de Mayo and we expected it to be busy, we waited 45 minutes just to get our 1st round of margaritas and guacamole we ordered....I feel like that should be been much more prepared knowing that most likely all guests would be ordering margaritas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Reservations were running 30 minutes late and the atmosphere was only ok...very noisy...but the food was absolutely amazing! We had the pork empanadas, Branzino and a three item combo plate with a chicken taco, short rib and suiza enchiladas. All excellent...and the churros for dessert...warm, crispy yet tender with two dipping sauces...delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very expensive Mexican food. Paying the premium I expected the quality but did not deliver. Got the shrimp Diablo, very salty, shrimp was not crisp a bit soggy. Rice was not fluffy, tasted dry. Server had an icy attitude not friendly. Fit the pretentious crowd and ambiance. Finished with churros which we had to send back. Who sends churros back?? They were so hard, like a stale cardboard. Not the crisp soft dough you're supposed to get from a real churro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always a treat- food is superb - go early and sit on patio if you are noise sensitive. Skinny Margaritas are among the best. Service is way above par

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Loud, slow service. Good food though. Ok if you have nothing but time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 5, 2017

very poor service, seated at a very small table while there were larger tables near.
food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Loved this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.