About Red O - Newport Beach

Dining at Red O is an experience like no other - offering a unique combination of Prime Steak & Seafood with Rick Bayless’ signature Mexican inspired influences. By sourcing local and sustainable ingredients Red O creates flavorful dishes with a mindset on quality while still being true to the flavors of Mexico. Red O’s team of friendly employees create a welcoming atmosphere that parallels the luxury resort interiors of the restaurant. Red O also features an impressive bar and lounge, where you’ll find their specialty cocktails, an extensive tequila list and award winning wine list. The bar also offers Happy Hour from 3pm to 7pm daily.

143 Newport Center Drive
Fashion Island
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am -3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Thursday-Saturday:5:00pm -11:00pm
Happy Hour: 3:00pm - 7:00pm Everyday

Cross Street:
San Miguel Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 718-0300

Website:
http://redorestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment 7 Nights Week.

Public Transit:
Valet Parking available.

Executive Chef:
Keith Stich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Red O Restaurant combines atmosphere, comfort & Mexican inspired prime steak and seafood for an exceptional dining experience. From 2 to 300 guests, Red O’s courteous and professional staff will provide an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Red O - Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (49)
Special Occasion (49)
Vibrant Bar Scene (45)
See All
Good for Birthdays (44)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Bar Seating (36)
Authentic (35)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Fun (34)
Happy Hour (34)
Good for Groups (32)
Worth the Drive (31)
Hot Spot (30)
Romantic (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Live Music (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Business Meals (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Casual (20)
People Watching (19)
Spicy (18)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Cozy (8)
Healthy (8)
Tapas (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (4)
Live Sports (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Scenic View (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort by
S
1784 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Was the worst experience and it was our 6 year wedding anniversary

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Favorite Orange County Restaurant. Love sharing it with others who haven’t discovered it. The upscale excellent Mexican food, Mediterranean ambiance. and exceptional service make this restaurant stand out above the rest.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Meal was very good and creative. I was a little disappointed in the chips as they were too thick for my taste. Salsa could use improvement as well. Other than that the meal was wonderful!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Excellent brunch options and bottomless "evrything" is great
Kitchen seemed disorganized and slow while Asia the waitress held it together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

The service and food was over the top, pretty loud in the bar area though but liked the guitar players our dinner table was broken when we sat down so our waiter had his crew bring another table(smaller) right away

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Just too loud. We had drinks and left to have dinner elsewhere where we could hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Unfortunately our experience was unpleasant. Our table was crowded and by the kitchen. The noise, length of table and closeness to others made conversation impossible. Had to ASK for cocktails ( isnt this how they make their money?)more than once and the waiter was very inattentive and when he was at the table he did not (perhaps could not) listen. Shrimp on Caesar were inedible, hard as rocks and could not even cut with a knife! The queso was the highlight but the only attentive person was the bus boy who kept trying to wisk away the best thing on the table. Had to find the waiter to aka for the bill! Way too expensive and crowded not to up the game, fix the food quality and hire better wait staff! Won't go back unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Clearly one of the most memorable upscale mexican restaurants I've been to. I look forward to any excuse to head over to Red O.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2017

As a restaurant the ambiance was poor. Felt more like a bar than a restaurant. We were seated in the main dining room that was crowded, very noisy and felt like a large extension of the bar. food value was not good for a "bar like feel".

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 11, 2017

My husband and I went there to celebrate our anniversary. The service was great and they gave us 2 glasses of champagnes for our anniversary. However, the noise level was really high. We were sat near the entrance/exit route and the bar, so many people were constantly walking around us. There is a group of people were out of there seats standing around holding their drinks in the dinning area. Food was good but we wouldn't go back for special occasions. We were there literally for 40 min max. They should have given us more considering knowing we were there to celebrate our 21 years anniversary.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Unfortunately, this was not our best experience. While some of the food was pretty good, the veggie black beans severely lacked in flavor and the rice was like mush. Servers were attentive but meals did not all come together. It was a Friday night and the restaurant was packed so I'm hoping this was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 8, 2017

The seating is just okay. I was seated in the open area facing the live music, which is poorly placed. It's like they want a loud/active bar scene while also having a nice dining area, but the sound drowns out the entire main seating area. There were three booths available (the patio area was closed due to a private party), but I could not have one because it was somehow reserved 30 minutes in advance and the other two booths sat 10 people and we were a party of two. I sat next to my date and still had to talk loud. The server and we had trouble hearing each other without talking loudly.

The food is also a little too rich. I've eaten here a dozen times over the years and always forget that there's something about the food that's rich/heavy. So I end up paying a premium price and finding myself forcing the second half of it down to justify the expense.

Love the bar, but they didn't have a full line of Mexican beers and then didn't even have one of the beers on their list (tap out). The bar is always a great scene from good looking people to people-watching people. But as I think about it, the live music is too effing loud every time. Nobody seems to care if it's live or just good music so why not just play recorded music at a reasonable level?

Lastly, if I order a margarita and am going to pay in the high teens for it, don't give it to me in a water glass. Give it to me in a Margarita glass or high ball. It's the little things.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 5, 2017

The restaurant was very noisy for a Sunday afternoon, service could have been better, don't think we will go back. Food good

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2017

The food was outstanding, which was the only good part of the experience.
The service was negligent - it took 10 minutes after being seated to receive menus and water, 10 more minutes to order drinks, 15 more minutes to receive drinks and order. I never was able to catch the waiter to order after-dinner coffee, so we just paid our check and left.
The noise level was untenable. There was a live band in the bar, music piped in through the dining room speakers, and a wedding reception in the private room booming bass through the walls. So not only were there 3 competing streams of sound, they combined to a volume which made normal conversation nearly impossible. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food was perfection. Service impeccable. Ambiance memorable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Great food, great service..................................................................................…………

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Hot Spot, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Great food
Great decor
Great waitress
Everything taste great and unique

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

My husband and I went for my birthday. We had great service, the food was great and the atmosphere was fun. I recommend this place for a fun date night.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Second time dining here. Still wonderful service and even better food. Get the tablita, you won't regret it

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Outstanding house manager. Monday night at the bar, live guitarist, singing enjoyable well recognized songs’70-80’s genre.
Food as good as surrounding eateries.
Next time will sit at bar area vs dining tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2017

We had a horrible experience. We waited for 10-12 minutes at our table without a menu or water before being acknowledged. The server seemed surprised to see us although she had tables less than 10 feet from us. She finally brought menus and water. We ordered margaritas w/o salt and the glasses came with salt - so needed to be returned. We had to ask for chips and salsa and again she apologized for not bringing them. We had to ask twice for additional salsa when our meal came. The server brought us dessert and when I asked if she noted on the reservation that we were celebrating my husband's birthday she seemed surprised although the hostess confirmed it when we checked in. We told her to forget doing anything because it was too late by that time.

The server ended up telling us our dinner was "comped" due to all the problems. We never expected to not pay for our dinner but was not going to leave a tip due to the poor service. We at no time asked to speak to a manager and was actually quite surprised that a manager never came to speak with us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Great atmosohere and service. Portions are a little small and it's pricey for what you get. Not a great value but fun for a special night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Very nice and friendly staff. We were late due to socal traffic no problem, we wanted to sit inside no problem, delicious meal with a few special requests and Louis nailed them all. Thank You! And see you again soon. Rico

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 21, 2017

The food was very good (we had appetizer, entrée, dessert and house cocktails) and the service was good (efficient and attentive), BUT, the noise level in the main dining room and bar was over the top. I had read a few reviews calling out the noise so I requested quiet seating and we were placed in a side dining area which was fine, we were able to enjoy our meal and have conversations, but when going to the restroom and exiting we experienced the noise of the main area and found it way too loud to be enjoyable and we were very happy we had requested 'quiet'.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Food is tasty but portions are very small. 27 bucks for a tiny stuffed poblano? Service pretentious and weak. Place to be seen rather than to enjoy a good meal. Move along if you already have self esteem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 19, 2017

This used to be one of my fave spots in OC, albeit a bit overpriced, but good food and close to our office. For my friend’s birthday, I wanted to take him out for a nice dinner. The service was horrible. I’ve never been treated so rudely - and I was embarrassed because I really didn’t want to cause a fuss on his birthday dinner out! The hostesses were sweet and attentive, however after being seated it took at least 5 minutes to get water or any service, which wasn’t a big deal. I asked for plantain chips (due to a food allergy) and we ordered our drinks. 15 minutes later, no plantains or drinks, at which point I flagged a manager down. He brought us the chips and I mentioned our drinks, and rather than apologizing, his response was less than what you’d expect from a place where 1 drink is $15. 20 minutes after ordering them, she finally brings our drinks. My friend ordered a straight tequila, no lime/salt - a $40 double shot of a very nice tequila, which she delivers in a martini glass, shaken with ice. 😳 My friend explained that’s not how he ordered it - and her reponse was defensive and rude. I was livid - this is his birthday! We got up and left - 30min later we had the free chips and salsa (no plantains), water, and no drinks. Luckily we had an amazing dinner at Cucina Enoteca - complete with amazing food, service...and tequila! Accidents happen, but service and kindness make all the difference in business. I suggest Red O evaluate their customer service approach - especially in what’s supposed to be a high-end dining experience. It’s unfortunate - it used to be one of my favorite spots where I’ve had numerous company happy hours! But there are plenty of places in OC that will provide good food AND service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2017

We were seated immediately. Service was great. Food was delicious! Mexican food with flare. Bartender nailed my special recipe drink request. Perfect. Also, traded out beans and corn for fresh veggies, no problem. So it was super healthy as well. All of it... Yum! Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 15, 2017

So amazed by the flavors the music background the people this is a repeat

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

My family and I love the Red O. I was a Little disappointed this time because we didn’t get to sit in the patio. Also it was a Birthday and we did get their Churro dessert they didn’t ask us if we wanted any other dessert and we felt a little rushed. I will keep coming back!!!

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Very nice restaurant for our anniversary dinner. The food was outstanding and the service was top notch. The servers and bussers were very attentive repeatedly refilling water, checking to ensure everything was okay, packing leftovers, and processing the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Service was not good. The hostess was unfriendly and did not smile. She did not say a word to us while she walked us to our table. Our server was more friendly, but inattentive. We finished our food and had to wait 20 mins before she returned. I asked her for the check and it was another 5 minutes before she returned with the check.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Although we had a 7pm reservation I had to request when our table was free a few times before we were seated 45min later. Then when seated it took 30min to get our drink order completed. I think I'll stick with Mastros for my steak and Javier's for Mexican.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 14, 2017

I actually enjoyed my first visit to Red O much more than this last time. The first time wasn't near as busy and I believe we were there on the same night of the week and same approximate time. Also, we never got our second basket of chips that we asked for and had asked 2 people. When mentioning this to the waiter he got our chips when we were almost finished eating. Also, our friend, who was dining there for the first time, had ordered a strawberry daiquiri and apparently they ran out of strawberries to put on as a garnish so the waiter put on a watermelon. Well, this friend is allergic to watermelon and although he was fine, he did notice an itching in his throat. The waiter did offer to make another but he refused it. It just wasn't up to par like it was the first time we went so although it was pretty good it wasn't great. So, go check it out but make sure your server knows you want that basket of chips, although we asked ours, we were hungry and wanted them before our meal came. Also, it's noisy and high energy so if you're looking for quiet then go early. I love the patio but there seemed to be some sort of party going on and we couldn't sit there and maybe that's the reason for the super crowded night.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 11, 2017

I have been to Red O on several times and each time the food quality has been going down hill. I really like the ambience, but the food is not as good as the first few times I went there two years ago. The tacos, which originally were unique and flavorful, were mushy, bland and nothing special , except for the corn taco. The guacamole portion was minuscule and tasted like it came from a package at Gelsons- ok, but nothing special. They used to give you you a delicious green salsa with your chips that was smoky and unique, but not any more. The restaurant was hopping and the decor is beautiful, but when it is so loud you can only converse with the person next to you, it takes away from the enjoyment of the evening . The wait staff is very nice, but our waiter seemed overworked for a weeknight so the service was a little slow.
Overall, I was very disappointed and would hesitate to recommend Red O again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food is absolutely delicious! Excellent service. A wonderful place to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Love the food and the service.
Great birthday treat of fresh baked
churros with chocolate AND caramel dipping sauces
Music is played at a good level so you can also
have a conversation.
Can hardly wait to return.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Our waitress was charming and very informative. Interesting different dishes.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

this was our third visit and it lived up to the prior two! we love this restaurant - the food and service are both stellar and we will be back yet again!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Authentic, Hot Spot, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Good quality food overall. Tried the Mexican dishes and they were delicious. The tamale appetizer was light and tasty. The mole sauce is the star...if you like it sweeter rather than bitter. It's a hot spot with a loud ambience so don't expect a quiet evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Fun place high energy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.