Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Red O - Newport Beach

Dining at Red O is an experience like no other - offering a unique combination of Prime Steak & Seafood with Rick Bayless’ signature Mexican inspired influences. By sourcing local and sustainable ingredients Red O creates flavorful dishes with a mindset on quality while still being true to the flavors of Mexico. Red O’s team of friendly employees create a welcoming atmosphere that parallels the luxury resort interiors of the restaurant. Red O also features an impressive bar and lounge, where you’ll find their specialty cocktails, an extensive tequila list and award winning wine list. The bar also offers Happy Hour from 3pm to 7pm daily.

143 Newport Center Drive
Fashion Island
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am -3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Thursday-Saturday:5:00pm -11:00pm
Happy Hour: 3:00pm - 7:00pm Everyday

Cross Street:
San Miguel Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 718-0300

Website:
http://redorestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment 7 Nights Week.

Public Transit:
Valet Parking available.

Executive Chef:
Keith Stich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Red O Restaurant combines atmosphere, comfort & Mexican inspired prime steak and seafood for an exceptional dining experience. From 2 to 300 guests, Red O’s courteous and professional staff will provide an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Red O - Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (68)
Special Occasion (62)
Fit for Foodies (59)
See All
Creative Cuisine (50)
Hot Spot (45)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Bar Seating (43)
Vibrant Bar Scene (42)
People Watching (39)
Great for Lunch (39)
Fun (38)
Live Music (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Modern Decor (35)
Romantic (34)
Good for Groups (34)
Happy Hour (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Business Meals (22)
Authentic (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Spicy (18)
Open Kitchen (18)
Casual (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Cozy (13)
Private Room (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Fireplace (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Family Style (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tapas (5)
Seasonal (4)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Healthy (3)
Scenic View (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1489 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Really great :)

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We were in town for my daughters birthday. We arrived early for our reservation and they got us in right a way. The food and atmosphere was great. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service. No pressure to depart. Very attentive without being annoying.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Was my first time but it will not be my last! Been wanting to go there for quite awhile and am sure glad I did.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent overall experience at Red O! The ambiance, food and service were all terrific. Our server, Aaron was outstanding and kept the bottomless mimosas flowing all afternoon!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was our second visit to Red O. We we under impressed during our first visit in 2016. We recently decided to try again. Unfortunately, we didn't experience an improvement. The food is average at best and overpriced for what you get. The wait time for food to arrive is waaay to long and the service is slow. We are guessing that people dine at Red O for the ambiance and possibly the cocktails. On a good note the location is nice, the decor is beautiful and management is friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The restaurant was fabulously decorated. You are instantly transported to a foreign land. The food choices on the menu look familiar, like other upscale Mexican restaurants, but the food was really good with real and fresh ingredients. Each dish has its own special levels of tastes; the more you eat, the more you discover different flavors. Our wait staff was really attentive, removing empty dishes promptly. It was a very nice and yummy dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

beautiful restaurant..excellent food...more noisy than a "hot" Manhattan restaurant..there was a party in the restaurant with a DJ (hard to believe)...very little attention or caring by the staff to try and minimize the noise..asked to speak with the manager..told that he would come soon..never came..very rude..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have dined here before and really love everything about the Red O! We received exceptional service, with great recommendations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had booked for 6:30 but had to wait 20 minutes to get seated and many available tables. Food and service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The restaurant itself is beautiful. We were there at 5 with reservations and seated right away. The noise level was more than energetic. Loud. When the music played it was impossible to talk. We were sitting at the bar on the right side as you enter the restaurant and they seated a big party next to us were there was no room for them. They had to find chairs and squeeze in and asked us if they could have our table when we leave. Not good!
The food was average and very expensive for what you got. Been to better places for half the cost. Disappointed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food was excellent but the service should have been better. We had to wait quite a bit for the drinks and food. Waiter came to the table twice to ask if we needed something. They could improve here. First time the service is not on point. This is my fifth time going to the Red O.

Tags: Late-night Find, Spicy, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Early dinner on enclosed patio. We were the only ones there from approximately 5 - 6 pm. Joined by another quiet party. Great for intimacy and conversation.

Mentioned special birthday in Open Table reservation and there was no acknowledgement. Not a criticism, just information for future diners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Ambiance - Was fantastic, live music was clashing with the loud DJ from their other party going on. Imagine it would be ok without that.

Food - Decent expensive for what you do get nothing memorable.

Drinks - Group ordered 4 of their top margaritas/cocktails. Reviews across the board were light on liquor for the price being paid, the drinks were nothing special.

Service - Fair, it was so loud you could not hear anything they say you just nod. That being said everything was accurate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We showed up early in the hopes of getting an earlier seating and the staff was able to accommodate us 1 hour earlier than our reservation. Very attentive and great ambience!

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food and service were outstanding. Enjoyed the ambiance and the vibe at this place. We will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food, enjoyed the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Once you get beyond the way over the top Corona Del Mar crowd bar scene (way too many people trying to be seen scene) you enter a wonderful restaurant that serves great food. However, for value don't order the main entrees. They're over priced and not as tasty as the small plates. The guacamole is wonderful- ask for it with sliced cucumbers as a healthy alternative to tortilla chips. The aguachile is fantastic as is the tamale. Good wine list. We have eaten here about 10 times in last 18 months.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I liked everything there is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The portions are large. Everything is finished and presented perfectly. The carnitas are awesome. Don't order too many appetizers, you won't be able to eat it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and over the top service. Preston our waiter was great!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with well-crafted food. Hostess had a little attitude but server was friendly and very efficient. Don't miss the aooetizers- the guacamole, duck taquitos, and goat cheese tamales were all first-rate. Dining room is large and bustling. We ate in the patio which was more relaxed and quiet.

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Awesome service ! Great drinks! Delicious food! Loud, though.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A great experience and wonderful food and service at Red O. Margaritas we're delicious. Service was friendly and attentive. One of the best Caesar salads ever. Recommend the shirt rib tacos and the chicken enchiladas suiza. We'll be back!!!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food here is outstanding. We thoroughly enjoyed the OC Restaurant Week carnitas lunch. It was a disappointment, however, that although there were many vacant tables, the hostess chose to seat us right next to the patio wait station, which provided a noisy distraction.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Server was very unprofessional and was rarely around. Food was ok but the horrible service means we will not be likely to return here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Fantastic steak! Great customer service and cleanliness:)

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Fernando needs a raise- gives great recommendations & perfect combo of funny and polite.
Great food as always. Favorite spot for date night !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The atmosphere of Red O is what makes it such a top spot. Our food was great and the service was even better. Our server was RICO and he did a fantastic job!! I definitely plan on returning.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Service was great and the tastiest food around. Will be coming back again soon and highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Took my 'Special Lady' for her birthday. It was a surprise as she loves the cuisine and thought we were going to Javier's . (Not sure if it's appropriate to mention other places, but oh well). She'd never been to Red O before so I didn't know what her reaction would be.

Well as I expected, they knocked it out of the park. Table was ready when we arrived although the place was rocking and folks were waiting for seating. Dominic our server was funny, knowledgeable and aware enough to be close by but far enough away to not be intrusive. Ceviche was awesome and so were the Empanadas. That's how I gauge the experience, of they kill the appetizers then you can expect a great meal. She got the shrimp enchiladas and I got the tortilla soup which was rich and filling that I was surprised.

Drinks were great, the Moscato was delish and I had Dominic select a couple for me. The Rosarita may not be a Dude's drink by appearance, but was very nice and potent. Maybe next time I'll get it in a dirty glass. 😏

Great experience, she enjoyed it and wants to make it out new favorite.

Almost forgot, always nice when they come around and check to see if you're enjoying yourself and if they can do anything to increase the experience. She loved that, made her feel extra special even if it's their standard approach. Still classy and that's what people remember.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food at this restaurant is always fantastic! There is not one dish that we have tried here that has failed to impress!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Creative Mexican- fusion cuisine. Lobster tail was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 2, 2017

It was way too loud the live music was nice but I couldn't hold a conversation with my friend over dinner in the dining area and it was my birthday dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Service was fair. Noise level was not entergetic, it was extremely loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very disappointed that some items were not on the menu that we wanted including dessert. Restaurant of this caliber should not run out especially at 9pm! This would not happen at mastroes or Flemings. Disappointed but we will come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was my second visit to Red O, and I will say that it's good, but I just expected more from a Rick Bayless restaurant. The Chilean Sea Bass is the best thing we have had on the menu so far. The scallops on the bed of angel hair was a close second. We haven't tried any of their steaks, which our waiter did recommend, so maybe next time. We were seated right next to the bar on our recent visit, which had live music, so it was very loud and difficult to have a conversation. We were seated towards the back on our first visit, and that was a little better. Nothing on the the dessert menu tempted us, so we went next door to Fig and Olive for some pots de creme, which I highly recommend. Overall, pretty good food and drinks, a bit over priced, but a good night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Red O was very busy Saturday night yet the service was timely, efficient and attentive. We were lucky in being seated by the fireplace and it was delightful! The menu is varied with traditional and creative Mexican style dishes. Our choices were delicious. We will return again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We have eaten at Red O several times before and always been pleased with the food and the service. But now, the restaurant appears to have added so many tables that you could hardly walk through the tables. And my chair was back-to-back with the gentleman behind me and everytime he moved, I was bumped and spilled food etc. It was very uncomfortable. And the noise level from the live music was so loud that we just finally gave up trying to talk to each other. Also the dessert churros were awful--not cooked thoroughly. They tasted doughy. Unfortunately, we will not be coming back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food is consistently good and the service on point. Try the short rib enchiladas, they are the best!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.