About Red O - Newport Beach

143 Newport Center Drive
Fashion Island
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining at Red O is an experience like no other - offering a unique combination of Prime Steak & Seafood with Rick Bayless’ signature Mexican inspired influences. By sourcing local and sustainable ingredients Red O creates flavorful dishes with a mindset on quality while still being true to the flavors of Mexico. Red O’s team of friendly employees create a welcoming atmosphere that parallels the luxury resort interiors of the restaurant. Red O also features an impressive bar and lounge, where you’ll find their specialty cocktails, an extensive tequila list and award winning wine list. The bar also offers Happy Hour from 3pm to 7pm daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am -3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Thursday-Saturday:5:00pm -11:00pm
Happy Hour: 3:00pm - 7:00pm Everyday

Cross Street:
San Miguel Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 718-0300

Website:
http://redorestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment 7 Nights Week.

Public Transit:
Valet Parking available.

Executive Chef:
Keith Stich

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Private Dining

Red O Restaurant combines atmosphere, comfort & Mexican inspired prime steak and seafood for an exceptional dining experience. From 2 to 300 guests, Red O’s courteous and professional staff will provide an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Red O - Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
South Orange County
Most Booked
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Newport Beach ›

special occasion (117)
fit for foodies (116)
good for groups (92)
See All
vibrant bar scene (91)
hot spot (84)
great for lunch (65)
romantic (60)
great for outdoor dining (56)
great for brunch (37)
notable wine list (31)
neighborhood gem (28)
late-night find (16)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1162 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love coming here with friends. ...

Dined a day ago

We always love coming here with friends. The staff is so sweet and they know their stuff. Thank you, as always.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everyone was attentive and cheerful. Foo ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Everyone was attentive and cheerful. Food was Awesome, never disappoints...

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We went with 5 couples for Sunday Brunc ...

Dined 4 days ago

We went with 5 couples for Sunday Brunch to kick off the summer. The atmosphere is awesome but the food was not up to par that day. Great service though!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and drinks

Dined 5 days ago

Great food and drinks

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I expected the food to be better. Servic ...

Dined 5 days ago

I expected the food to be better. Service was excellent and the place was beautiful. Food needs improvement.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic dining experience. The flavor ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Fantastic dining experience. The flavors of every item and beverage were unique and spectacular. This is not just fancy mexican food - Red O is a high quality dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What an awesome decor ! Just loved looki ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

What an awesome decor ! Just loved looking at the lights and walls not to mention the tequila collection. Great music in the bar. Four different entrees chosen by our group and every one was delicious and very fresh. Scallops and halibut were winners.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great service and delicious food! Lovely ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Great service and delicious food! Lovely way to spend a special occasion!

Tags: special occasions, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

The only objection is overprice - no val ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The only objection is overprice - no value for the money.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is delicious and different than ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The food is delicious and different than what you expect at other restaurants. The service is fantastic. I like that they make sure your drinks are refilled often and that they check to make sure you are happy with everything.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We went there with my family to celebrat ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We went there with my family to celebrate Father's Day on Sunday. We were escorted all the way to the back of the restaurant in the outdoor dining area. We were a party of 15. It was extremely hot on the patio. Fortunately, we asked to be moved and we got somewhat better seating on the covered part of the Patio, next to the Omelette Station. Although, it was not as hot as our previous table it still remained uncomfortable. If I return to RED O, I will have to specifically request that I want indoor seating. RED O should invest in providing more air conditioning in their patio if they are to take reservations for that part of the restaurant. Otherwise it makes the dining experience terrible and does not make me want to return for a day celebration.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Asia (Aja?) was our waitress on Father's ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Asia (Aja?) was our waitress on Father's Day and she was SO friendly and attentive, even though the restaurant was busy and she was probably doing so much at once. She never left us hanging!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my 4th visit at Red O and its ne ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This is my 4th visit at Red O and its never disappointing. Great food and love the ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Overall it was a good, but not exception ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Overall it was a good, but not exceptional, experience. Made a reservation with the note that we are celebrating a birthday, but that was not acknowledged at any point of the night. Also checked in for our 830pm reservation at 815pm, but didn't get seated until 840pm. The ambiance is upscale, trendy, and good for date nights or small groups for special occasions. The big bar seating area was quite lively, with a live band, which is fun but it was so loud you would have to shout to hear each other across the table. Its a good stop to get a few bites and drinks in before heading out on the town for the night - and patrons are dressed accordingly. Inside the main restaurant the ambiance is good, and servers are friendly and attentive. I was surprised at the surprisingly few "Mexican" dishes on the menu, as much of it is traditional steakhouse menu as well. Was hoping for more authentic Mexican dishes given that this is Rick Bayless' forte. $11 for a few tablespoons of guacamole seemed ridiculous. The plates themselves (Carnitas, Enchiladas) were more satisfying.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was good, but I've had better for t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was good, but I've had better for the same price. Service is excellent and so is the ambiance. I would definitely come back just for that.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Best Mexican Restaurant in Southern ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The Best Mexican Restaurant in Southern California

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here many, many times and t ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We have been here many, many times and they always make us feel special. The drinks are great & the food is superb. Love the Red O & their staff.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service4

I found the food was very average and no ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I found the food was very average and not fitting the price.

food4
ambience5
service4

Had a proposal and came here right after ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Had a proposal and came here right after. The ladies at the front were very accommodating though I was a bit offset by our seating arrangement and there were 10 of us and we sat on a circular table which felt cramped. I had requested a good open spot for us to celebrate but i guess the other room was already booked??? In either case, the food was great as always and had a wonderful time. The servers did mess up food orders but they fixed it immediately.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Freakin' amazing. Our new favorite place ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Freakin' amazing. Our new favorite place! Do you need secret shoppers?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

It is pricey for very moderate food. Th ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

It is pricey for very moderate food. The noise level is bad. You have to shout to speak to your guest or the waiter.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our waiter surprised us with a wedding a ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our waiter surprised us with a wedding a annversary treat of delicious curios on a white plate with Happy Wedding Anniversay written in cholate. Very nice

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

The best place to hang out ! Great drink ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

The best place to hang out ! Great drinks! Beautiful restaurant ! Great ambiance and service very attentive !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

We came with a party of 8. All of our food was great (personal fave- the lamb chops with mole- truly perfect mole), the waitstaff tended to our every need- chips brought, drinks refreshed, used plates taken away, dessert customized for us... service was impeccable, with a friendly demeanor. Like i said, food wonderful. Also recommend the spicy margharita.. Come. Enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, world class dining experience

Dined on June 5, 2016

Have been to Red O on a few business luncheons and group events, and always had a sublime dining experience. Really great food, fresh and a world of flavors hit your pallet at first bite. Came here for my MIL's 76 birthday, she is a huge fan of Rick Bayless and his TV shows but has never been to Chicago to visit his restaurants. Made note of her birthday and newbie status on my Open Table reservation, and everyone treated her like she was their special guest. Hostesses, waiters and floor managers all gave her birthday wishes and plenty of warm smiles. Food did not disappoint, she was so happy and satisfied with her first experience with a Rick Bayless menu. On a selfish note though, I really miss the guacamole "flight" that had 3 or 4 different guacamoles with plantain chips. Really good and sorely missed! The presentation was a huge platter though and the tables are intimate, so I can understand if that might have been the reason for taking it off the menu, but if you can find a way to bring it back, please do!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Upscale Mexican with no traditional comb ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Upscale Mexican with no traditional combo dishes associated w ordinary Mexican food places. No tacos, rellenos, etc. food was ok but not matching the value of others in the local area

food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Good food and one of my favorite restaur ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Good food and one of my favorite restaurants. However, service fell way short on this visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food & Service

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

If you want to hear the person you are dining with, I suggest sitting on the patio. The ONLY disappointing thing was to learn they don't have blue cheese stuffed olives for their martinis... Service and food were excellent! I'll be back. Can recommend beef short rib sopes, duck taquitos and ceviche.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorial Day at the RED O

Dined on May 31, 2016

Every element of the dining experience was outstanding. From the reception, the service, the drinks, food, dessert and even the valet. We at in the patio area and it was very pleasant...much easier to have a conversation than the main dining room. Food was very good and the service was top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

A bit pricey - but good

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Red O is a fun restaurant with good food. However, it always seems a bit chaotic and the service is rather slow. The food is also expensive - especially for Mexican food. $17 tacos? Seriously? You can blow through a couple hundred on a group dinner. For that kind of money, you might want to go somewhere nicer. If you don't care about value, it is a fun place to eat.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Red O is one of the best restaurants in OC

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

My wife & I love the Red O. The food, service and setting are all outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

As with most of Rick Bayless's restauran ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

As with most of Rick Bayless's restaurants, the food can be hit or miss...fortunately, this time it was mostly a hit! Unfortunately, the noise level was deafening making any conversation impossible! This will probably prevent us from visiting this location again...perhaps the smaller Melrose or Santa Monica location will be quieter. On a very positive note, our server was attentive (but not too attentive) responsive and provided outstanding service to our group of 10. His recommendations were on the money and his estimation for the appetizers for the table were spot on. Great job!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

Been here three times already and the fo ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Been here three times already and the food tastes bad. The service is mediocre. The bar used to be nice but not anymore.

food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Too loud to carry on a conversation. Ser ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Too loud to carry on a conversation. Service a little slow nod over priced

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This as a really nice restaurant. Overa ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This as a really nice restaurant. Overall, the food and service was very good. The one issue I had with the entire evening was it felt like we were being rushed off the table. I even asked the server to slow down a little as appetizers came right after our first drink and we were barely done with the appetizers when the entrees came. It wasn't a bad experience, but we did feel slightly rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

This was my first time at Red O and I'm ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was my first time at Red O and I'm glad I went. Everything was great from my wife's delicious lamb, to my exquisite camarones al mojo de ajo, and what can I say about dessert?? I had the tres leches cake and it was just perfect, I loved every single bite of it. Service was very very good I can't complaint about it. Our server did an awesome job from start to finish , definitely looking forward to come back soon.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

great food, some shaky service issues

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was great. Service was sometimes erratic. Our app arrived way before our drink order. A couple long gaps in service.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful setting with excellent servi ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

A beautiful setting with excellent service. Delicious margaritas with the best chips. Highly recommend the yellowtail aquachiles. We also split beef short rib sopes and carnitas with red chile. The food is all great, you can't really go wrong. This is a very special experience, perfect for any occasion.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I have been to this restaurant numerous ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I have been to this restaurant numerous times and have always had a very good time. My husband took me there to celebrate my birthday. While the food and cocktails were great the service was disappointing. When we arrived the place was not busy so really no excuse for the poor service. Food did not disappoint.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant!

Dined on May 14, 2016

The aqua frescas, tortillas, & apps (chips, salsa, guac, queso, fundido) were great! The entrees were good but could been hotter instead of just warm. Ambience and service were great!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.