Red O - Newport Beach

4.5
2060 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Creative Cuisine
Dining at Red O is an experience like no other - offering a unique combination of Prime Steak & Seafood with Rick Bayless’ signature Mexican inspired influences. By sourcing local and sustainable ingredients Red O creates flavorful dishes with a mindset on quality while still being true to the flavors of Mexico. Red O’s team of friendly employees create a welcoming atmosphere that parallels the luxury resort interiors of the restaurant. Red O also features an impressive bar and lounge, where you’ll find their specialty cocktails, an extensive tequila list and award winning wine list. The bar also offers Happy Hour from 3pm to 7pm daily.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am -3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Thursday-Saturday:5:00pm -11:00pm
Happy Hour: 3:00pm - 7:00pm Everyday
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(949) 718-0300
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Keith Stich
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
San Miguel Drive
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Valet Parking available.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Entertainment 7 Nights Week.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Red O Restaurant combines atmosphere, comfort & Mexican inspired prime steak and seafood for an exceptional dining experience. From 2 to 300 guests, Red O’s courteous and professional staff will provide an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

View Private Dining Details
What 2060 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

The food is unique and tasty, well prepared and beautiful in presentation.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Service at the bar was beyond horrible. Food was okay but not good enough to return after paying $300 for 4 people for Mexican food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Father ‘s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Best brunch

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2018

When visiting Newport Beach we make it a point to have dinner at the Red O. The service and food is outstanding. The outdoor space is recommended to those who want a more quiet environment.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Great service, very good food. The bottomless drinks were great. Our server was great and we were not rushed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

As usual, the ambiance of the restaurant and live music really made our experience. I thoroughly enjoyed the halibut tacos and skinny margaritas. We have been here a few times even just for appetizers, drinks, and live music because enjoy the beverages and liveliness of the restaurant. Sultry :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Best high end Mexican in orange county

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Fantastic service, knowledgeable staff and great tasting food. Halibut tacos were incredible and don't skip the passion fruit butter cake for dessert!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Anniversary and they gave us celebratory champagne!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Love Red O!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 15, 2018

I added one person and tried to change my reservation on line but they said it was fully booked. When we got there the place was 80% empty. The meal was good but the place was 90% empty by the time we finished our meal. What happened to this normally crowded place?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Lunch and happy hour. Fajitas are not memorable and should be skipped. The enchiladas are quite good but not Javier’s level. The kale salad is my favorite salad ever. Salsas and guacamole are súper on point.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Slooow service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Eric, our server, was very funny, prompt and attentive.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Everything was fine, but just not great. Although we had a reservation, we were seated in a weird off-shoot room that didn't have the character that the main restaurant had. The food was good, and had the meal been $100 for two people (with cocktails and tip), I would have given a better rating. But the meal was $180 with cocktails and tip, and it just wasn't special in any way. Best thing we had was the Mexican Street Corn.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Wait staff were very friendly and attentive. Food was creative and yummy. Great ambiance but a bit loud for talking in the main dining room.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Amazing night! Food was perfect, atmosphere was perfect. Head Chef Anthony was perfect greeting us at our table. Best restaurant in Newport!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

It was good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Really nice dining experience, excellent service really great food we were very pleased

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Always a good time at Red O, vibrant crowd and Good Live music.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Don't go to Red O based on the menu options listed on Open Table. Red O has failed to make the necessary updates, which leaves guests to asking their waiter a couple questions about food options causing them to feel annoyed. My apologizes for thinking there was a plate available when it is listed on the online menu. It was disappointing as I used to like going with friends and family. Well the great thing about Open Table is they have so many ml or options to choose from that I'll find my new destination restaurant soon enough.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The restaurant is great . I loved the decore and the live music, the food is average, I expected more delicious dishes

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Red O was very disappointing. The ambiance was extremely unpleasant with loud music throughout the restaurant. We arrived early in the evening and the dining area was sparsely occupied. The host was seating us next to the bar area where the music was very, very loud. I asked the host if we could be seated away fro the bar and he was annoyed and told us to stand at the table by the bar while he went back to the entrance to "check the seating map". He was gone for several minutes and we awkwardly stood at the table. There were 15 plus empty tables. We were then seated on the patio where the music was as loud as at the bar.

All our dishes were bland and mediocre.

Overall rating is unsatisfactory.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Taco salad was long on lettuce and a little short on "rewards." Chicken enchiladas were magnificent. Allie was a spectacular server. First time dining there, won't be the last!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Food was uneventful, disappointed in the service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Great Saturday brunch with girls!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Great food with perfect portions & presentation. Love decor & energy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

We had a lovely birthday lunch celebration with friends. The ambiance was lovely and the service was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Excellent food and service for lunch meeting.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Quite loud (not energetic). Even loader in bar area.
What happened to the live music? A disk Jockey on this night.
Expensive for Mexican food but the food is good.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 20, 2018

The bartender was great and ended up taking care of us. She was good and the food was good. The only thing that was bad is that I had to wait about 10 mins for the host to get to the front, there was another party also waiting. I’m sure the host was busy that wasn’t the problem. What was upsetting is that they didn’t hold a table for us and gave us the worst table in the restaurant right in the middle of everything even though we had a reservation. So we ended up having to sit in the bar. There was no point in having a reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Amazing anniversary dinner!!
We definitely coming back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Food and service have gone downhill from what it used to be.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Service and food spot on!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Only two issues we Had to keep asking for water. We asked for ketchup for the fries and we never received it. Food, drink was great. The waiter was good and brought churros for the bday girl.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Great as always.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 15, 2018

First visit - nice decor - food was very good (a bit too much cheese on the enchilada) but the service was very, very slow, kind of disoriented and disinterested. Perhaps I hit them on a day when they were short staffed. It was not busy that day. I am betting that eating at the bar would be an option for more attentive service. I would return. Maybe it's just me, but having valet parking when your restuarant sits in the midst of the shopping center parking just seems like an overkill, but I suppose if I had a Maybach I might think differently.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Amazing service as always. Drinks, dinner, dessert... can never go wrong.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
52

Tweets by Red O - Newport Beach