About Red O - Newport Beach

143 Newport Center Drive
Fashion Island
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining at Red O is an experience like no other - offering a unique combination of Prime Steak & Seafood with Rick Bayless’ signature Mexican inspired influences. By sourcing local and sustainable ingredients Red O creates flavorful dishes with a mindset on quality while still being true to the flavors of Mexico. Red O’s team of friendly employees create a welcoming atmosphere that parallels the luxury resort interiors of the restaurant. Red O also features an impressive bar and lounge, where you’ll find their specialty cocktails, an extensive tequila list and award winning wine list. The bar also offers Happy Hour from 3pm to 7pm daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am -3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Thursday-Saturday:5:00pm -11:00pm
Happy Hour: 3:00pm - 7:00pm Everyday

Cross Street:
San Miguel Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 718-0300

Website:
http://redorestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment 7 Nights Week.

Public Transit:
Valet Parking available.

Executive Chef:
Keith Stich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Red O Restaurant combines atmosphere, comfort & Mexican inspired prime steak and seafood for an exceptional dining experience. From 2 to 300 guests, Red O’s courteous and professional staff will provide an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Red O - Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Newport Beach ›

Special Occasion (118)
Fit for Foodies (103)
Vibrant Bar Scene (89)
See All
Good for Groups (80)
Hot Spot (71)
Romantic (58)
Great for Lunch (57)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Notable Wine List (31)
Great for Brunch (28)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Late-night Find (12)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1211 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service. Very loud live ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service. Very loud live entertainment noise from bar spoiled the dining room ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

I made a reservation, when I arrived the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

I made a reservation, when I arrived they were quick to seat us. The food was amazing we had the ceviche, that was served with plantains, and my date and I shared the lobster and steak platter it was delicious. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great from the moment I walked in to the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great from the moment I walked in to the second I stepped out...Bravo Red O...Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was my third time coming to Red-O a ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was my third time coming to Red-O and honestly all three times service and food have been amazing!! This time around I visited for my significant others birthday and it was just perfect. He loved his food along with the watermelon agua Fresca (it has been his favorite so far) and loved the birthday churros that were brought to the table. We will definitely keep coming back!!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The ambience was awesome !! But the food ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

The ambience was awesome !! But the food and the drinks were okay nothing great .. I was kind of disappointed. For the price I expected something exceptional! I loved the decor ambience and service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The experience was a perfect experience.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 7 days ago

The experience was a perfect experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unprofessional service. Food was greasy ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Unprofessional service. Food was greasy and disappointing. Drinks were filled with too much ice. Dispite having reservations we waited for 25 minutes to be seated(empty tables). Will not be returning there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Food and service were amazing! My husban ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food and service were amazing! My husband and I were here celebrating our 4th anniversary. We were well taken care of by all staff members. We agreed it was one of the best meals we've had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Almost always, the weakest link in any r ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Almost always, the weakest link in any restaurant is the hostess. Not so here. The three hostesses were EXTREMELY accommodating. I told them I was picky about where I sit so they gave me two excellent choices. Very nice. Before we were seated though, we sat at the bar for a drink. Our bartender, Stephanie, was fun and very friendly.

Finally, our shrimp enchilada was good but nothing special; however, our Fillet Mignon was beyond good. I, typically, get their NY cut which is great but I can't wait to go back and order the fillet. It was truly chop house quality perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience at Red O. It h ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a great experience at Red O. It had been on our list of restaurants to get to and we are glad we did. The bar scene is eclectic with a mixture of young and older (like us) customers. The guitar music was exceptional. Some wore business suits all the way down to T-shirts and stylish work-out clothes. The service was exceptional. The menu was much like Mastro's , but with a Mexican flare to each dish. I had the scallops and my girlfriend had the shrimp and lobster enchiladas. Both excellent. I also had the tortilla soup. I will not have it again. It was more like French onion than traditional tortilla. As I said, overall great experience. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Red O is a fun place for a date or just ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Red O is a fun place for a date or just about any occasion. The service and front host staff is great-- friendly and not at all stuffy like many places in Newport. The live music is very good and not too loud. Go and have fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Red O is ALWAYS on point with food and s ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Red O is ALWAYS on point with food and service. Stopped by for lunch on a Sunday and noticed that they didn't list the plantains which are offered on their dinner menu. When we asked our server about this, he told us "no problem" and had the dish prepared for us.....AWESOME! Such a great vibe and a good way to wrap up a weekend in OC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the place Food, service and the bar ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Love the place

Food, service and the bar is amazing

Highly recommend

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely loved everything about Red ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We absolutely loved everything about Red O The food and drinks were so good I ordered the Halibut and to be honest with you it was the best I ever had

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined at Red O several times and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We have dined at Red O several times and always enjoy the food, ambiance and service! Definitely recommend! They are now adding a late night bar scene from 10 p.m. - 2 a.m.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a fantastic meal and our server c ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We had a fantastic meal and our server could not have been better. Made for a great evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great ambiance and decor, and the food w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great ambiance and decor, and the food was pretty good, but we felt rushed the entire meal. We went there for date night, had three courses (chips/salsa/guacamole & goat cheese tamales to start, the tablita for two (their version of "surf & turf"), and the passion fruit butter cake), and were in and out within 1.5 hours. Way too rushed, in my opinion! They tried to clear our plates before we were finished. I'd probably come back just because the food was really good, but I wish they would step up their service. Very attentive and polite but the pacing of the food was poor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My wife's meal did not taste very good. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My wife's meal did not taste very good. It was too salty, and had a sour taste to it. They were great in taking it back, and giving her something QUICKLY, but not a great experience. The servers were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent wine & seafood specials

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent wine & seafood specials

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice food & service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Nice food & service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding and the decor w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was outstanding and the decor was beautiful. Our server Dominic was excellent - knowledgable, helpful, but not overbearing. We will definitely return. My only criticism would be the noise level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The server was awesome but the food didn ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The server was awesome but the food didn't wow me. For $197 we had a ribeye that was way over cooked. (Med it came out well done.) we got the fish of the day and it was topped with the seasoning but the rest of the fish wasn't seasoned. The yellowtail aguachile was really good. Overall that's why I gave it 3 stars. Mostly for the service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Friendly staff

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

enjoyed the selections. my friends love ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

enjoyed the selections. my friends loved the drinks.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed because l made my reservati ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Disappointed because l made my reservation much in advance and I got a small little table at the end of patio ...not a nice view pretty small table...hostesses were not very friendly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Everything was excellent. We were there ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everything was excellent. We were there around 5:45 pm and so parking was very easy. The food options were all interesting. The staff was friendly, professional, and attentive. Our meals were outstanding. Good portions and prepared perfectly. The price was very good for what we got. We will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, good service. Keep in mind n ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good food, good service. Keep in mind noise level is VERY HIGH on a Fri night. Definitely not a good quiet date place, but good for a get together of friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Exceptional meal with incredibly attenti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Exceptional meal with incredibly attentive wait staff. Food was beautifully presented. Wait staff knowledgeable about chef, future plans, food and recipes.

Felt well taken care of and pampered :) A++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wine prices were totally obsurd. Ab ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The wine prices were totally obsurd. About 350% above retail and other restaurants. The food is very good but very small portions, alacarte. Average main is about $50. Dinner for two with 1 cheapest bottle of wine was $380 including tip. I will never go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Very enjoyable. Manager, Nate and serve ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very enjoyable. Manager, Nate and server Kaathleen were very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

We each ordered a separate dish and ever ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We each ordered a separate dish and every dish was amazing! I had the halibut special and it was the best I've ever tasted.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was fantastic! Came here for ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our waiter was fantastic! Came here for a work dinner knowing I'd be back in town the following week having dinner with my husband on vacation. Already know what I'll be ordering. Great food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

terrible service by the host when assign ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

terrible service by the host when assigned to the table. we were 4 people but assigned to a small round table for 4 people. i said that table is suitable for 1 or max 2 people. so, i asked for a bigger table to accommodate four of us. service by the waitress was excellent, she was very tall and used to play volleyball. the food was very average quality. people go there because for the ambient and crowd.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We came for my birthday dinner with my w ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We came for my birthday dinner with my wife, daughter, and her boyfriend. We had a table

reserved, but we were having such a good time in the bar area, we decided to stay and have

dinner in there. Our waitress was very friendly, and we had an amazing time!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food took 90mon to be served and it was ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food took 90mon to be served and it was Cold. Server never checked on us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

So it was Girls weekend in Newport and w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

So it was Girls weekend in Newport and we were looking for a nice dinner spot. This one looked intriguing and boy was it ever! Incredible wine list, fantastic cocktails (their signature margarita was the best we've ever had), and the food. I had the scallops which were beautifully seared and served over a slightly spicy tomato-chipotle (?) angel hair and topped with avocado/mango salsa. The flavors melded beautifully. My friend had enchiladas and they were also delicious. It's about time someone took Mexican food to the foodie level. This place has done it, and quite well. The only thing I didn't love was the salsa that came with the chips. Nothing special, but we had the guacamole, which was good.

The ambiance is very cool, and the bar looked like a fun place to hang out, though we headed straight for dinner. We were there on a Wednesday evening and the place was pretty full. We still managed to get a last minute reservation, lucky us! You won't regret dining at Red O!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy Red O and keep coming back. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always enjoy Red O and keep coming back... Our meal was delicious ! Make sure you leave room

for the yummy Butter Cake ! Also the Brussel Sprouts and Kale Saute was wonderful !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted a pretty and interesting venue fo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wanted a pretty and interesting venue for a meeting spot with old college roommates. So glad I found this place. Conveniently located, ample parking, beautiful interiors. Started out for happy hour and then moved into the dining room. The food is Mexican with a twist but also offers salads and soups, and a range of prices,

from about 17 to 45 per entree. After appetizers in the bar, I only ordered the kale salad with steak in the dining room. The steak was a little chewy and fatty but well

seasoned and the salad was interesting and flavorful. Everyone liked their entrees. And did I mention the place has an interesting, open, Spanish-Moroccan theme? I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The food and service were fantastic, mad ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food and service were fantastic, made the special occasion extra special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.