About Red O - Newport Beach

143 Newport Center Drive
Fashion Island
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining at Red O is an experience like no other - offering a unique combination of Prime Steak & Seafood with Rick Bayless’ signature Mexican inspired influences. By sourcing local and sustainable ingredients Red O creates flavorful dishes with a mindset on quality while still being true to the flavors of Mexico. Red O’s team of friendly employees create a welcoming atmosphere that parallels the luxury resort interiors of the restaurant. Red O also features an impressive bar and lounge, where you’ll find their specialty cocktails, an extensive tequila list and award winning wine list. The bar also offers Happy Hour from 3pm to 7pm daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am -3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Thursday-Saturday:5:00pm -11:00pm
Happy Hour: 3:00pm - 7:00pm Everyday

Cross Street:
San Miguel Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 718-0300

Website:
http://redorestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment 7 Nights Week.

Public Transit:
Valet Parking available.

Executive Chef:
Keith Stich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Red O Restaurant combines atmosphere, comfort & Mexican inspired prime steak and seafood for an exceptional dining experience. From 2 to 300 guests, Red O’s courteous and professional staff will provide an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Red O - Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
South Orange County
Most Booked
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Newport Beach ›

Special Occasion (59)
Good for a Date (47)
Romantic (40)
See All
Hot Spot (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Live Music (30)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for Groups (28)
Bar Seating (26)
Fun (23)
People Watching (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Happy Hour (14)
Authentic (13)
Business Meals (13)
Casual (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Private Room (8)
Spicy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Cozy (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Fireplace (5)
Healthy (5)
Family Style (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Scenic View (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

In one word superb. Everything about the ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

In one word superb. Everything about the experience met or exceeded our expectations. Will be back.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and drinks were good, a bit pri ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and drinks were good, a bit pricy for some things. The atmosphere is great for a casual but classy lunch or dinner. More upscale than the average Mexican restaurant in food and service. Even great for just a small bite and drinks because the atmosphere is nice.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Surprise birthday party for my wife with ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

Surprise birthday party for my wife with family from out-of-town. Hard to keep the venue a surprise...it's her favorite restaurant!...food, energy, ambiance...we love it all!

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great food and presentation. Awesome ma ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food and presentation. Awesome margaritas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The best Mexican themed meal I can remem ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The best Mexican themed meal I can remember. Great attentive service. The lamb mole was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service. Our son was on c ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food and service. Our son was on crutches and the restaurant was very accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The place is beautiful the service is aw ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The place is beautiful the service is awesome but the food seems to be losing its flair of authenticity. Our favorite guacamole is now just so-so.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Beautiful venue, fabulous meal and cockt ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Beautiful venue, fabulous meal and cocktails, and a very good value!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For some reason, they sat us between two ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 21, 2016

For some reason, they sat us between two other couples whose tables were just a foot away rather than give us some space. We ordered a side that was never delivered, but I don't think we were charged, so no big deal there.

Food was delicious as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Outstanding! The focus is on the flavor ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Outstanding! The focus is on the flavors and they hit them on all cylinders. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Spicy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was amazing from the start, h ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Everything was amazing from the start, hostess was very attentive and smiled the whole time, our server Luis was excellent he went through all specials and described menu items that's we inquired about, his suggestions were excellent over all one of the best servers I've had and I work in the industry.. thank you Luis and staff at Red O

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Noticed that the prices are going up. Es ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Noticed that the prices are going up. Especially the wine list. Used to love coming here but it seems to be getting too expensive for what it actually is… Great Mexican food in a fun location. The ambience is always fabulous. Wish it was better value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food and service was excellent. We were ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food and service was excellent. We were not rushed and a lovely evening was had by all. The enclosed patio is better if noise is a problem.

Interesting presentations ..

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal! Try the shrimp diablo!

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent meal! Try the shrimp diablo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always make a reservation just in case a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always make a reservation just in case and that was a good idea! Packed and went into the bar for a couple and while we were there a ride lady walked over and told us she had been there for an hour waiting for a chair at the bar and the next one was hers... uh no. But then the bartender decided to intervene and we said we had been waiting for over twenty minutes. We took the seats and the bartender backed down. I had never heard of a bar where first ones there get to pick any seat anywhere in the bar and demand it. That was our only laughable moment. We live this place! The cocktails and ambiance along with the yellowtail appetizer was the best! The steak was so good we asked for the mole sauce in the side! Glad we did! Savory and flavorful. Waitress Laura was a doll! She was attentive and sweet! Definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Red O is an absolutely beautiful restaur ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Red O is an absolutely beautiful restaurant and really impressed the friend I took there for lunch. Service was exceptional. I had mentioned it was a birthday in my Open Table reservation & they made my guest feel very special without having to remind them. The menu is extensive and it was hard to choose. The goat cheese tamales & short rib enchiladas were delicious! A little pricy but worth it for a special occasion. I will return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a Birthday dinner for my husband ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had a Birthday dinner for my husband at Red O in Newport last week. It was wonderful!... Beautiful restaurant and food and service was excellent!... We will definitely come back!... Thank you Red O for the wonderful evening!... 👍😀

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to sit and enjoy some great ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great place to sit and enjoy some great food. It's not a place for those looking to get in and out quickly. This is the kind of place where you take your time to enjoy the amazing food, drink and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great meal and experience!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great meal and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great bar scene, best wine list, impecca ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great bar scene, best wine list, impeccable service but the food is over the top. Steak seafood or traditional Mexican, nothing comes close to Red O.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful decor and ambiance. However, W ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Beautiful decor and ambiance. However, We had to return the mojito drinks several times and when we got the bill the server charged us for them when he said he wouldn't. We asked and he took one off. All drinks were super watery and with no flavor. The fillet mignon was hard and over cooked. We returned it. Can you please call me so you can adjust drinks off bill. Thank you.

Catalina

949-212-4104

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

It just keeps getting better and better. ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It just keeps getting better and better. First of all, my hat is off to Red O for supporting our veterans. Our party of four had two of the tomahawk steak & lobster for two dishes and it was "THE" best lobster I have ever tasted. The steak was out of this world as well. The noise level is a bit over the top, but the food, drinks & service are SECOND TO NONE! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My friends and I really enjoyed the whol ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

My friends and I really enjoyed the whole experience. We all loved our food.; street tacos, short ribs, and the enchiladas suizas were the best I've ever had. Service was good. Noise level was totally fine; probably because it was lunch. We all would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was my second visit to the Red O - ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 8, 2016

This was my second visit to the Red O - I enjoyed it just as much this time as last. The restaurant has such a relaxed feel with beautiful decor and a sense you are in another country e.g. Mexico or Spain. I loved it and so did my friends. Our server was very good and very attentive.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Go for the skinny margaritas and chips / ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Go for the skinny margaritas and chips / salsa / gauc. The food is below average. The service and ambiance are great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

one of my favorite Sunday Brunch spots. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

one of my favorite Sunday Brunch spots. Spilled a drink, was given a new one with out charge and my entire half eaten place was replace. Great service, attentive to guests but no hovering. A+ recommendation!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Healthy, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I went to Red O with my friends. Food wa ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I went to Red O with my friends. Food was amazing, music was energetic and ambience was really great. Live environment. We really enjoyed ourselves. Definitely going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waited half an hour for our table, even ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Waited half an hour for our table, even though I had reservations. I also ordered a filet but I was informed they were out for the evening, even though it wasn't even 8pm. Won't be coming back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Went for my birthday. Service was slow a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Went for my birthday. Service was slow and inattentive, except for the man who was in charge of our water refills- he was on point. Our server was gone for long periods of time, another server delivered our food but seemed confused. Food was just okay, did not meet expectations based on what we've heard of Rick Bayless. It was my birthday and we did not receive any mention of that. Was a big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We had an amazing experience at Red O... ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had an amazing experience at Red O... the food was incredible, the service was impeccable and the setting was romantic... we will be back for sure!

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I just love this place...always a wonder ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I just love this place...always a wonderful time!

Love the duo that was playing... can't wait to come back.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Live Music, Spicy, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service and food was great. Size ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Awesome service and food was great. Sizes are large and I would love to return when I am in the area.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had lunch and the food was just fair. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had lunch and the food was just fair. I know they make good food as I ate at the LA location for dinner a month ago. They did get two thumbs up on their Red-O Margarita. Service was great and Ambiance is comfortable and makes you feel as though you got away to Spain or Morocco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

It is a very good restaurant, great sals ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It is a very good restaurant, great salsa and chips. Food is very good but a little pricey. Drinks and service were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Portions small unique preparation that s ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Portions small unique preparation that should have been explained by server.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food, good service, and all provide ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good food, good service, and all provided in and upbeat and very nice ambience

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Red O is consistently excellent. Well p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Red O is consistently excellent. Well prepared food and outstanding service. Tiny disappointment that their taco combination was reduced from three to two choices, because all of the choices are so good, it's now a bit more difficult to choose.

Definitely recommend for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food came out cold and average. For the ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food came out cold and average. For the hype and price I was expecting better. The service was so slow and the waiter was very indifferent. We will not be going back

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Great food! Great atmosphere. We will de ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great food! Great atmosphere. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Casual, Live Sports, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.