Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Red O - Newport Beach

Dining at Red O is an experience like no other - offering a unique combination of Prime Steak & Seafood with Rick Bayless’ signature Mexican inspired influences. By sourcing local and sustainable ingredients Red O creates flavorful dishes with a mindset on quality while still being true to the flavors of Mexico. Red O’s team of friendly employees create a welcoming atmosphere that parallels the luxury resort interiors of the restaurant. Red O also features an impressive bar and lounge, where you’ll find their specialty cocktails, an extensive tequila list and award winning wine list. The bar also offers Happy Hour from 3pm to 7pm daily.

143 Newport Center Drive
Fashion Island
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am -3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Thursday-Saturday:5:00pm -11:00pm
Happy Hour: 3:00pm - 7:00pm Everyday

Cross Street:
San Miguel Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 718-0300

Website:
http://redorestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment 7 Nights Week.

Public Transit:
Valet Parking available.

Executive Chef:
Keith Stich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Red O Restaurant combines atmosphere, comfort & Mexican inspired prime steak and seafood for an exceptional dining experience. From 2 to 300 guests, Red O’s courteous and professional staff will provide an unforgettable experience for you and your guests.

Red O - Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for a Date (53)
Vibrant Bar Scene (51)
See All
Creative Cuisine (46)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Authentic (38)
Live Music (37)
Bar Seating (35)
Hot Spot (34)
Fun (33)
Romantic (33)
Good for Groups (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Happy Hour (31)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Casual (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Business Meals (19)
People Watching (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Spicy (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Cozy (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Tapas (8)
Live Sports (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great Beer (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1736 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 2 days ago

When we first arrived we were greeted by the valet, then the hostess, and promptly seated. The server 'Leslie' and the team surrounding her made the whole experience enjoyable. She was an excellent representative for the business, and worked to make our meal very pleasurable. The food was exceptional.

We had the weekend brunch special, my eggs Rancheros, and the RED O Omelette. Between these two items and the delicious salsa, nothing was lacking.

Thank you for a very nice dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was good except for being seated 1 hour after our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

The margaritas were excellent and so was the dinner. We had chicken tacos and short rib enchiladas. This place has a really good happy hour menu as well. The bar area is a good size that seats a lot of people. It has very nice ambience. The tequila selection is huge.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service. Used Thanx app rewards toward brunch. Best Happy Hour!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We had Four ladies doing a birthday brunch it was better than expected thanks Red O

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

I had an 11am reservation for a friend's birthday brunch. If it were not for the wonderful server and wait staff I would have had a not so pleasant memory of Red O.
The hostess at the front was so rude, I wanted to take my friends to Fig and Olive next door.
If the hostess wants to be nice to only Caucasians, please put a sign on the door and I will not bother to go to your restaurant.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Booked a birthday lunch.
When we checked in our waiter said congrats!
We ordered an appetizer and lunch.
We had our appetizer for maybe 5 minutes and our lunch was served.
At the end, the waiter brought a dessert menu.
We passed and he brought the check...no birthday dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 18, 2017

My sister and I tried the Red O on recommendation from a friend earlier this week. The Short Rib Enchiladas were out of this world. So on the last day of our vacation, we chose to eat here again and this time both of us ordered the same dish. While it was VERY good, it seemed to lack the seasoning from before and there didn't seem to be as much meat. That being said, we still enjoyed it and will probably come back again next year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food and amazing service and atmosphere... good restaurant for many occasions or a casual dinner

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Good food. Loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Another fantastic meal. First time I had brunch there and can hardly wait to return. Regular menu is also available and I ordered the fabulous tomato based tortilla soup along with my breakfast burrito.
Love the food, ambiance and service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was amazing as always!! Service not so much this time. Disappointed this time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our food was excellent, we had the guac, carnitas, short rib enchiladas, and butter cake. All were awesome. The margaritas were on point! Highly recommend. Service was efficient! Great date night.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food and very good ambience. We just chose this restaurant for wrong occasion. We went there for business meeting and noise (music) was too loud for us to have any kind of conversation.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Its a nice hot spot with good food. I recommend the Tabelita with tomahawk steak and lobster. Its $125 but for 2 people not too pricey for an exceptional dish. Place has very nice booths for parties of 6-8. They have really good live performers at night adding to the ambience. I like it, I like it a lot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Had a great time. The red o fashion was great and my girl enjoyed her wine. We had the tomahawk steak with lobster tail. Delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 13, 2017

I had the Short Rib Enchiladas that were the best enchiladas I've every had. Generous portion and seasoning to die for! Definitely coming back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Red O has great service, and delicious, creative Mexican food. It's great for business lunches and I love their Caesar Salad with grilled chicken when I'm trying to be a bit healthier!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I always enjoy Red O. Love the bar seating and listening to music when available. The happy hour is great. Love the tamales and salads. Overall I have a nice time !

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Romantic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great food and ambience but seating is way to condensed. I booked my reservation for 3 on Open Table requested a booth and was sat elbow to elbow in the half booth right outside the kitchen.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Appetizers were excellent! Service was excellent! Entrees were nothing special/OK.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The restaurant and large bar area are beautiful! The margaritas are great! The food is very flavorful, and the portion sizes are very generous.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Went there for date night to celebrate my husbands birthday. Service was great! Food was AMAZING!!!! Will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 6, 2017

I have dined at this restaurant on multiple occasions and have never experienced good service. I swore last time I would not go back... we tried eating here again this week and I experienced the exact same issues as I have the previous times dining there.

The food is good, the ambiance is nice, but the service is far less than par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We drove to Newport Beach to try this restaurant before attending a college soccer game. It was a nice experience, and we would definitely revisit if we were in the area again. Great service, good food. I recommend the watermelon margarita and yellowtail sashimi.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Had a great time. Food was excellent as well as the service. Music was a little loud, otherwise everything else was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I t was the celebration of a friend's birthday who is most discerning when it comes to food. I have seen her send back food at Commander's Palace! She loved Red O! We had the lobster which was amazing. Our waiter, Sergio passionate about the menu and gave helpful advice. Butter cake for dessert was superb even though I was very full. A very special place to celebrate and to feel celebrated:

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 1, 2017

As always we an excellent evening with friends (first time diners at Red O) with the most delicious food & drinks. Laura gave us first class service & Hillari engaged us in delightful conversation. We absolutely love these 2 ladies. Our dinner guests are definitely going to be regulars here !!! Thank you to all of the Red O staff!!!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Casual, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Hostess was very professional , personable and polite. Food and service was great! A nice neighborhood gem!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

This is a beautiful restaurant. When we got there at 5:15 it was still pretty quite but later when the restaurant filled up it did get a little noisier! But it's beautiful they have a great selection of alcohol and tequilas! This would be a great place for a tequila tasting ❗️👍🏼👍🏼 Im coming back soon❗️

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Absolutely delicious! Unique menu items, funky vibe and great taste! Will definitely be back and recommend to others. Had the lobster and steak, the street corn, the cotija mashed potatoes and the empanada appetizer.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The food is always excellent at Red O. I particularly enjoy their Ahi Tuna Tartare, Duck Taquitos and Braised Short Rib enchiladas. Service is excellent. Can be a little loud but not totally overwhelming. Highly recommend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Stopped here on my way to Pageant of the Masters Art Festival with friends. Great appetizers and drink menu. Service was prompt and staff was great!

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The branzino was excellent but the guacamole had an 'off' taste. The restaurant was extremely noisy and we were sorry we did not reserve an outdoor table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Short rib tacos were so greasy that it was disgusting to look at let alone eat. Not reasonable to have a pool of grease on your plate and then you pick up the taco and watch more oil pour out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Simply Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food and the drinks were amazing! The service was overall outstanding. Definitely new favorite dinner spot.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Awesome place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This place is awesome! Food is simply amazing and the service is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.