About Red Hook Grill

1223 Goodale Blvd
Grandview Heights, OH 43212
View Larger Map

The Red Hook name comes from our favorite marina in St. Thomas. Red Hook is where you can catch the ferry to St. John, charter a day sail or fishing trip. It also houses several restaurants and our favorite bar, Island Time Pub. We found ourselves hanging out there most nights on our recent trips to St. Thomas. Only fitting that we name our restaurant after our favorite place on the island. Our goal was to bring the island vibe and some of the food to Columbus. Most of the food in St Thomas is Americanized so Red Hook Grill’s menu is our interpretation. We hope you enjoy.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Caribbean, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Tuesday: 5:00pm-8:30pm, Wednesday-Thursday: 5:00pm--9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 223-1288

Website:
http://redhookgrill.com/

Catering:
Red Hook Grill can cater small and large parties. Let us prepare for your next party or office event!

Parking Details:
Off street parking available

Executive Chef:
Don Miller

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Red Hook Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

3.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Columbus
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Neighborhood Gem
Columbus
5 More
American
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Neighborhood Gem
Columbus
American
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Grandview Heights ›

Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Groups (9)
See All
Great for Lunch (7)
Romantic (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Spicy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
123 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Made a last-minute reservation through O ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Made a last-minute reservation through O.T. and were happy to arrive and be seated immediately. We weren't in the mood for wine, so I didn't notice/check the list. There is a full bar. We enjoyed a bowl of gumbo, and entrees of jambalaya, bacon wrapped grilled shrimp and the Red Hook shrimp salad. Each was delicious. We finished with key lime pie for dessert, which was delightfully tart. The restaurant is located in an unusual, industrial area, but there is plenty of parking. The interior is comfortable, with lots of photos showing off their inspiration in the Virgin Islands. We were glad to find Red Hook Grille and we'll likely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Ambiance, or lack there of, kills it. Fo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

Ambiance, or lack there of, kills it. Food was better than good, service was very good. Cheap wine glasses don't help. Musty building smell that assaults the senses as soon as you walk in. Would not re-visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Delicious food. Attentive staff.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Delicious food. Attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. They have unique fla ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was great. They have unique flavors, good portion sizes and the cajun pasta I had was so creamy and well seasoned. My waiter was nice as well and the drink that I had (their version of a pina colada) was great also. The jambalaya was good, but it was more brothy than I like (reminded me of a gumbo consistency). I usually like my jambalaya with rice as the base with the jambalaya on top

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the smoked fish appetizer, delicious ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had the smoked fish appetizer, delicious. One of the best we've had, would definitely recommend

My dinner was the fish tacos, the fish itself had a great flavor. With that being said, the accompaniments were just ok. Chopped tomatoes, lettuce and shredded cheese. The tacos would be better with a cabbage slaw. The rice and beans tasted like they had been sitting in a warming tray. Chewy texture.

Husband had the tofu scramble, said it was bland and could have used more sauce. His rice was also dry and chewy.

We did receive $5.00 off as the service was slow, didn't ask for, server took it upon himself to do, which was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Had Mac and Cheese....not very good. All ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Had Mac and Cheese....not very good. All cheese no Mac. Plaintains were good. I'd go one more time and try something different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Good food. This restaurant has the best ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good food. This restaurant has the best tilapia in Columbus!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Mac & Cheese, Excellent. BBQ Pork Sandwi ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Mac & Cheese, Excellent. BBQ Pork Sandwich, Excellent. Red Hook Potatoes, Excellent. We liked it, a lot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Red Hook Grill is located in an unassumi ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Red Hook Grill is located in an unassuming building, but this hidden gem of a restaurant provides the perfect setting for a nice meal. My wife loved their mixed drink called the 'Pain Killer'. We started with the Red Hook potato skins which were wonderful. The shrimp on them made for a nice, subtle change from other places. For dinner, My wife had the bbq shrimp ( which was very popular from what we saw) and I ordered one of the nightly specials, Cajun pasta. She loved the shrimp, but commented that the Red Hook potatoes were some of the best that she has ever eaten. My dish was a combination of chicken, shrimp and sausage with penne pasta covered in a creamy creole sauce. The serving size was very generous. Service was spot on, and the owner stopped by to chat with us for several minutes after we finished our meals. I would definitely return and recommend it to friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food, the potatoes are amazing ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent food, the potatoes are amazing. Will definitely go back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice and casual Caribbean food. End you ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Nice and casual Caribbean food. End your dinner with a plate of the cinnamon plaintains for the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The Red Hook Grill is a hidden gem, off ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The Red Hook Grill is a hidden gem, off the beaten path in an industrial /mixed use area of Grandview Heights. Don't let that fool you - the food is fabulous! We enjoyed the gumbo and jambalaya, but the blackened shrimp "burger" is out of this world. Served with a nicely spicy remoulade sauce, it was a terrific meal! We enjoyed the house made margaritas, too, although we thought it was a bit light on the alcohol content. We and our friends enjoyed our meals and will definitely be back again soon. Our server was knowledgeable about the menu and advised us well. He was attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was fine. Not great, not ho ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Everything was fine. Not great, not horrible. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Great food. Good service

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food. Good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This little gem is a great find! The rel ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This little gem is a great find! The relaxed feel of this place makes you feel as though you're visiting a friend' s house for dinner. It's easy to miss it though, as it's tucked in off a main road in a business commercial district. Look for the red awning! The egg sandwich is out of this world and the delicious jambalaya more than enough to share. The service is the right mix of attentive, and not overbearing. Sincere suggestions are given if asked. Every time I'm here, I realize why this is one of my Grandview favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to the Red Hoo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This was our second visit to the Red Hook. As with the first, the overall experience was excellent. Service and food were outstanding. We have recommended Red Hook to others and will continue to do so. Only concern on this visit was somewhat of a "musty" smell but that could be due HVAC issues. Otherwise, another favorable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I only thought this restaurants food was ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I only thought this restaurants food was 1000 times better than anywhere else in Columbus, and have already sent many people to try it, including my friend, Jeff Allen, who is going tonight.

Keep making that Carribean bean soup, and the seared tuna, both out-of -this world, and I am also one of Columbus' pickiest eaters!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a couple of friends visiting from ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had a couple of friends visiting from Colorado - one of them was blind. I immediately thought of Red Hook Grill for dinner because of the menu and the quiet intimate atmosphere. We all had a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were pleasantly surprised at this nei ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised at this neighborhood gem. I had read about it, and love Grandview, so we took my 97 father, and all of us loved it. We'll be back. I loved the fact that I could have a breakfast sandwich at night, and they ordered the special - ribs, which were delicious. I saw some other things I'd like to try, so we will be back for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic hidden gem with wonderfully de ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic hidden gem with wonderfully delicious food, gracious hosts / wait staff, and strong drinks. What more could you ask for?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Food was wonderful, great flavors, servi ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was wonderful, great flavors, service was friendly and helpful, with some excellent drinks options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good drinks, good food! Great service! ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Good drinks, good food! Great service! A bit off the beaten path.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, a little pricey but glad to s ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Good food, a little pricey but glad to support a local business.

TV above the bar detracts from ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Others Were Right!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Selected the Red Hook bases solely on the consistently positive reviews of others appearing on Open Table. Our experience justified that reliance! Food, service, ambiance, value and noise level were outstanding, although the latter might be due to the fact that there were only two other parties dining at the time of our visit (early Thursday evening). Street appearance is deceptive; this is a very good restaurant for a casual evening out; you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We've been to the Red Hook Grill multipl ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We've been to the Red Hook Grill multiple times and have enjoyed our meals every time. The food always satisfies - great flavor at a good price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I had a burger and it was excellent!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I had a burger and it was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I wasn't sure what to expect, considerin ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I wasn't sure what to expect, considering the specific location. But once we opened the door, it was exactly what we were looking for when celebrating a family member's 21st birthday! Food was EXCELLENT! Service was EXCELLENT! You can really tell the Owners have a hands-on approach, which always makes a huge difference in the success (or failure!) of a restaurant. The wine list was, in my opinion, the perfect variety -- not over-crowded or verbose, and the selections were just the kind I like to see in a local gem (ie. not typical chain brands or too esoteric).

Of important note is that it's difficult to find a perfect place to satisfy many different "diets," when dining out, and this place literally had something for everyone in party of 7: Vegan, no-carb, low-fat, FULL fat, Vegetarian, meat-a-holic and Miss Picky pants!

WE all LOVED IT!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Solid Neighborhood Selection

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

You can tell the owner is fully invested in this restaurant, from the decor to the menu selections to the service, everything is a labor of love. The menu is quite diverse, providing options even for picky eaters. Yes, it can get a little loud when the restaurant is full, but that's a minor irritant. All told, it makes for a solid addition to your restaurant repertoire.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A hidden gem. The food is interesting an ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

A hidden gem. The food is interesting and delicious. The staff and ownership are very nice and eager to please guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Red Hook Grill is a Grandview diamond

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Love the food, service & vibe at Red Hook Grill. There is something for everyone - meat-eaters, vegetarians and vegans. Whether you want a sandwich, salad or full meal -- you will find it here, and oh year....the Texas sheet cake is awesome!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Best Plantains Ever! Rice and Beans with Shrimp was Great!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While I want to live this place (good pr ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

While I want to live this place (good prices, nice wine selection, unique menu) I just can't. My shrimp was overcooked and rubbery and steamed broccoli served cold. Flavor was good though and the citrus vinaigrette on my salad wonderful. The service was slow, and inattentive. It has the feel of a new restaurant that needs to work out the kinks to be great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Attentive, friendly service, great tasting food!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The ding for ambiance--it was just a bit chilly, but otherwise everything was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was excellent! And the food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The service was excellent! And the food was great. I'll definitely dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

My husband and I stopped by Red Hook Grill for a meal after work on a Thursday night. We were greeted immediately and seated. He ordered a beer and I ordered a Margarita. Quite yummy! We both ordered meals that included red hook potatoes (Fried to a crispy bite - quite yummy!) I got the tilapia with crab stuffing - he the the steak. Both were cooked perfectly - and my husband is particular. Our server was amazing. She was there when we needed her, checked to be sure everything was just as we liked it, made excellent recommendations, and made us feel very well taken care of. We took a slice of the Key Lime pie to go - and when we got home wished we didn't have to share, it was so good! Reasonably priced. We will be going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the crab stuff tilapia and NY str ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had the crab stuff tilapia and NY strip steak. Both were so excellent and we highly recommend this restaurant. The owners take so much pride in their craft and it shows. Thanks again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

beans and rice needed something more.. P ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

beans and rice needed something more.. Potato skin appetizer was very good with the shrimp in it. Waiter chose Cajun pasta, which was good. Had some good spice to it but not overpowering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Cute place

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was great had a wonderful menu and was quiet and peaceful. We went for Valentine's day it was a nice restaurant i will definitely go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Smaller than anticipated. Ver ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Good food. Smaller than anticipated. Very accommodating staff. Their potato chunks are awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.