Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today
Special offers available. See details

Red Hook Grill

4.7
219 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Casual
  • Neighborhood Gem
The Red Hook name comes from our favorite marina in St. Thomas. Red Hook is where you can catch the ferry to St. John, charter a day sail or fishing trip. It also houses several restaurants and our favorite bar, Island Time Pub. We found ourselves hanging out there most nights on our recent trips to St. Thomas. Only fitting that we name our restaurant after our favorite place on the island. Our goal was to bring the island vibe and some of the food to Columbus. Most of the food in St Thomas is Americanized so Red Hook Grill’s menu is our interpretation. We hope you enjoy.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Caribbean, Vegetarian / Vegan
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Tuesday: 5:00pm-8:30pm, Wednesday-Thursday: 5:00pm--9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(614) 223-1288
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Don Miller
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Red Hook Grill can cater small and large parties. Let us prepare for your next party or office event!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Off street parking available
Additional
Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Since Red Hook Grill isn't open Sundays, show Dad your appreciation by bringing him to Red Hook Grill Friday or Saturday! We'll treat him like a King!

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 219 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.2
ambience
4.6
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

First time; great place! They didn’t rush us at all, food was unique and very tasty

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

1st time there. Food was good. I thought it was a great value! Service was also good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We love this restaurant. Unique dishes for vegetarians and carnivores. Seafood dishes are amazing too

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

one of our favorites...always good food, reasonable pricing and friendly service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

This was our second dinner with friends at Red Hook. Same friends. We were so impressed we all decided to go back. It's a small restaurant that fills up, so make reservations. The menu is not huge, but everything we've had in our two visits was really good. I wanted something a little lighter so I ordered the Red Hood Salad with shrimp. Big bowl of salad goodies and really good! Other table orders included stuff chicken breast, burger and Red Hook pasta. Everyone was happy. Service was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Handled a group of 8 without any problems. Really great food!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The crab stuffed tilapia was outstanding! Server was excellent, making suggestions as if he knew our tastes. Our evening was enhanced by the welcome surprise of our dinner. This was our first trip to the Red Hook Grill and we loved it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

This was our first visit and we will definitely return. The food was amazing and I love the personal attention we received.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

The Red Hook is an unimposing nook in an otherwise commercial/industrial area. We were there on a Monday (yes, it's open on Mondays) so the crowd was rather thin. The menu is varied and vegan-friendly. My wife had the Red Hook Salad and I had a stuffed chicken breast. We both enjoyed our meals and, as is our custom, swapped about half-way through. The wine prices were quite moderate in the $25-30/bottle range. Service was prompt and friendly. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We've eaten at Red Hook multiple times and have always been very satisfied with the food and the atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The staff was friendly and courteous. The food was fresh and well made. Overall, a great experience for our son and us. I will be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The potato skins with BBQ sauce were interesting... a nice variance from the norm. Had the stuffed tilapia. That was VERY good, but the potatoes that came with it were overly spiced. Overall it was a pleasant experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Always good service. Really great specials. Presentation was outstanding on the pineapple chicken and shrimp. Thank you for all the vegan options! We all loved the plantains. Yum!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Have been there 3 times now. We really enjoy the atmosphere. Have taken different people each time. One was for. birthday. Every one enjoyed. Gave gift card to a vegetarian. Goes often. now.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The food was real good. I’d definitely go again if I weee to go back down to Columbus

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

The food was great, the service was a plus also. I had the pleasure of being served by the owner (she had on red pants😊). My daughter and I enjoyed the potatoe skins for an appetizer, the pineapple bowl and jambalaya were great entrees! A must go---

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

We had a great meal. The food, deinks, and service are always great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

We have been to Red Hook Grill several times and we come back for the food and friendly staff. The cocktails are inventive and the Caribbean inspired menu is always inviting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Really enjoyed our first visit! Service was great, Red Hook Salad was excellent, Jambalaya was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Red Hook grill was a great find! We truly enjoyed our delicious food and the service was excellent even though they were busy and one person was handling a lot of the dining room. She was friendly and efficient, and gave good suggestions. Our friend had the Vegan Sloppy Joe, which he said was delicious. Hubby and I had Mango Chicken and Mac and Cheese, both of which were very tasty. And I'm picky about Mac and Cheese but that was some of the best Mac and Cheese outside of my homemade version! Portions were generous and prices extremely reasonable. We will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Service was personable, and timely.
Restaurant is cozy, but can have an energetic vibe to it.
Food is perfectly priced for its value and sooooo tasty!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

My wife and I love this place. Sean and Kathy (owners) are great people and mean to please. Always crowded - suggest reservations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

This is a nice, quiet little restaurant! They also have a nice selection of vegetarian and vegan options as well. We went to celebrate a birthday and will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 1, 2018

We went for an early dinner after arriving from the airport. I eat vegan and the Red Hook has several good selections using ingredients that are locally sourced and crafted on site. I had the bean burger and it came with avocado, salsa and lettuce on a nice bun. One of the better bean burgers I have had. It also came with home fried potatoes that also had onion, and peppers and was delicious. Service was great and prices more than reasonable. Since I had a wine on the flight we did not order a drink but it had a nice cocktail and wine list at reasonable prices too. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

First time visitors. Everything was top notch. We felt like family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Our second time there, just as good as the first. Great service, nice ambiance, owners are engaged the whole time. Can’t beat this place for the money or quality. Will be back for sure!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Always a pleasure to dine here; fantastic food and wonderful service!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Perfect Valentine’s dinner for two. Great food and service. Good drinks. Good atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Saw advertisement on the internet and wanted to try. Very pleasant setting with pictures from St. Thomas which we have visited twice. Ample portions for the money. Very good tasting food. Plan to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

This was our second Valentine's date at the restaurant. The food was just as great as we remembered we will be making the trip again next year, if not before.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

My wife Sherrie and I had a great meal at the Red Hook.The owners were fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Have been to the Red Hook Grille many times. The food and service are always excellent. Another thing I like is that it doesn't get too loud, which is unusual for some of the local, trendy restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

The food was great, the service was friendly. Great little restaurant gem

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Great Gumbo. Great value. Excellent service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

The menu has offerings for everybody. Original Marconi and Cheese to great Vegan items to some of the best Caribbean style food in Columbus. Services is first rate, prices are a great value. Try it once and you will be back for more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Fantastic food and ambiance. Parking can be a challenge, since there are only a few spots in a very small lot.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

The food is homemade and absolutely worth a visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Fantastic small cafe you might not even notice driving by, but stopping in is a great idea. Unique menu items that you don’t have to be a foodie to enjoy and that are well prepared, and excellent service by people who genuinely seem to care about their cafe and their customers. Check out the menu online and see if you don’t want to give it a try.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

The ambiance was comfortable. Wait staff was welcoming and attentive without being intrusive. The food was wonderful, except for the chicken in the mango chicken was very dry, overdone. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 6, 2018

We have eaten here before and the food is good. Was disappointed in the fact that we were celebrating our 49th anniversary and mentioned it when I made the reservation but nothing was said to us.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6