Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

About Red Hook Grill

The Red Hook name comes from our favorite marina in St. Thomas. Red Hook is where you can catch the ferry to St. John, charter a day sail or fishing trip. It also houses several restaurants and our favorite bar, Island Time Pub. We found ourselves hanging out there most nights on our recent trips to St. Thomas. Only fitting that we name our restaurant after our favorite place on the island. Our goal was to bring the island vibe and some of the food to Columbus. Most of the food in St Thomas is Americanized so Red Hook Grill’s menu is our interpretation. We hope you enjoy.

1223 Goodale Blvd
Grandview Heights, OH 43212
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Caribbean, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Tuesday: 5:00pm-8:30pm, Wednesday-Thursday: 5:00pm--9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 223-1288

Website:
http://redhookgrill.com/

Catering:
Red Hook Grill can cater small and large parties. Let us prepare for your next party or office event!

Parking Details:
Off street parking available

Executive Chef:
Don Miller

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Red Hook Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.0

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Vegan (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Cozy (3)
Business Meals (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Spicy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Organic (1)
Authentic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Wonderful place. Good food. We went before the theater. Fast service. We will return

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Small place - reservations are a good idea. The owner used to live on St. Thomas in the US Virgin Islands, and Red Hook is a community on St. Thomas. The restaurant has food that reminds you of what you might have enjoyed in the Virgin Islands, and pictures on the wall to help. Good variety on a fairly small menu. My wife and I had a hard time choosing among the offerings. I had crab stuffed fish. Small kitchen, cooked to order. Enjoyed it and the sides. Ample servings so we had to settle with splitting desert. Definitely plan to visit again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This was our second try and again it was not good! For us it is two strikes and your out!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Always fantastic when we go to red hook grill, from service to the food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 12, 2017

First time visitors & we both left commenting on what a pleasant surprise it was. Will definitely return!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was amazing!!! We got the vegan potato skins !!! They were so delicious!!! The outside was crispy and crunchy and perfect!!! The inside was soft and so yummy!!! So fantastic!!! Service was absolutely incredible. They were so friendly and very attentive. They boxed up all our extras and even gave us to go cups for our water!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Kathy could not have been any friendlier. We will be going back

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Service was excellent, good food and good value, we will be back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We both enjoyed our meals and everything was prepared to our liking. The Chicken was tender and hot. The veggies were done and not over cooked. A Comfortable and easy place to enjoy a meal. The dining room is very comfortable but needs more lighting. Too dark.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Ended up with an unexpected "stay-cation" so wanted to try a new place with different food. Well we found it and LOVED IT!! Superb smoked white fish (like you find in South Florida), amazing potato skins (tried the veggie ones -super!). Great hand made Margaritas!! Owner helped us along with a waiter. Both stood out with friendliness and positive attitude. So excited we took some food to go for a friend we were visiting later that night. Oh and the PLANTAINS are OUTSTANDING (and trust me I know plantains). Give it a shot. Go in a good mood. You'll leave in a better mood.
DON'T WORRY....BE HAPPY ....and eat at the place;)

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 24, 2017

From the other reviews I was expecting better food. The food was average, except for the Key Lime Pie...fabulous ! Service was good, all stAff very friendly.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The food was good, they need to add more seafood options to the menu. The vegan options were great. I met the owner, very personable and David , our waiter, was awesome.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were concerned when we first pulled up to Red Hook because it looked like a small "strip mall" kind of place. Inside is relatively small, but the experience was wonderful. We had a party of 10 for appetizers, drinks, meals and desserts and all 10 came out happy. Enjoyed the potato skins and separately an order of plantains for appetizers. Nice beer selection. A lot of seafood type options that appealed to a broad array of tastes. Cheesecake and key lime pies were very rich and tasty. Wonderful service. Overall very happy and will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Really great! Very small and the food took a bit long to come out but VERY much worth it. The sweet Potato Fries were AMAZING with their maple dip!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Really good fresh food and a terrific wines. The owners are on site and are really invested in your enjoyment of the meal.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Overall we were pleased with our evening at Red Hook. We were a large party and they were able to accommodate us without difficulty. This is rare on a Friday evening. We were looking for fish options since this is the Lenten season. This was a good place to come with lots of options. Everyone seemed to enjoy their meal. Heard the Jambalaya was spicy. The only negative thing I heard was the hummus needed some flavor. Very bland. Drinks and meals were an excellent value. I would definitely return for more good food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Went on a Friday night a did not have to wait to be seated. Food was very good and service was well paced. Great spot for dinner before an 8:00 event downtown.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 8, 2017

This was our first time to the Red Hook Grill. It was great!! I had the Jambalaya which was delicious. It was well seasoned, but not "spicy hot", which is the way I enjoy it. My other half had the Key Lime chicken with a Caribbean Vegetable Rice blend. This dish was excellent. Again, tastefully seasoned.
Our server was very attentive. Atmosphere is casual, relaxed, and quiet which allows you to hear each other's conversation.
We will definitely be back and bring some friends along with us!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

this is my third time at the Redhook grill and I've got three different things each time love them all! I brought three new people last Saturday night and they all loved their entrées !

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great evening at Red Hook Grill. Service was wonderful and the food was excellent. Red Hook will continue to be one of our favorites!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance. Perfect restaurant for a date or intimate gathering with friends.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 24, 2017

David, our server was from start to finish a gem. His suggestions were right on. We stared off with their handmade Margarita & Rum Punch...felt like you were on the beach.
My lime chicken & rice with veggies was scrumptious. Great flavors blended together. My husband got their Ribs & being a smoker of meats, he is critical & was OH so pleased with these fabulous, flavorful ribs! The homemade KEY lime pie melted in your mouth...so Yummy. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The special occasional was valentines day. I had never been to the Red Hook Grill before so I was sort of nervous taking my significant other there. Once we entered the restaurant we were very impressed with the atmosphere and decor.

The menu had a wide range of wonderful selections and our food was delivered fast and was very tasty. We will be telling our friends about this wonderful please and return in the future.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We didn't know about this place until we were given a gift card by a friend who highly recommended the Redhook Grill. Now we know why. This dinner was one of the nicest my wife and I have had a long time. The atmosphere was classy and sophisticated, but casual and comfortable at the same time. Seating was immediate for reservation time. Server was prompt, personable and made excellent recommendations. So many options on the menu looked good, we had a tough time choosing. Food and drinks again came promptly. We highly recommend the Redhook salad. All of the food was fresh, hot and tasty. We will gladly come back and have already recommended it to others.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Super service. Great value. You need to try the house favorite Mac&Cheese

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My wife and I were very pleased. Not too crazy with the Caribbean influence and still a solid change of pace. Quick, friendly and great quality at a great price.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a fantastic experience. Our cocktails were delicious, our server was friendly and helpful and the food was fantastic and authentic (we got Cajun style food). A great value, we'll definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Amazing food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A hidden treasure in Columbus! Location is close to many places of entertainment. My husband and I went here to celebrate his birthday and we will definitely be back! We were greeted as we came in, our table was set, and they knew exactly who we were. We ordered the grilled chicken and the red hook burger. Both of us had the hand cut fries. All food was outstanding; chicken was juicy, burger was perfectly done, and the fries were excellent. We also ordered beer, in which we were pleasantly surprised by selection! The assumed owners would walk around periodically and ask about food and service. Additionally, they were clearing and prepping tables, which was admirable. The music was faint and conversations were quiet. It was the perfect place. We HIGHLY recommend!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Hidden treasure!! Excellent food, drinks and service. We will be back!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Lovely small cozy place

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This is a small quiet place. The food was wonderful. The service was friendly and helpful.
We will definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quick Bite, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful food, and wonderful service. Hidden gem in grandview, family owned and very nice people.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great service and our server was knowledgeable about the menu. Jambalaya was fabulous! Limited menu but that was fine as far as I was concerned.

One complaint though. The martini I ordered arrived with the glass being only about half full. The price was good but I'd much rather have a full-glass martini and pay more for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent food and service- large group on short notice!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Cozy, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My family and I had a great experience dining at Red Hook Grill. This was our first time at the restaurant and while the menu is nothing revolutionary, the quality of the food in relation to the price was very good (the cocktails are a steal!). The Red Hook Grill is a great value and a cozy environment. The wait staff was exceptional, especially our server who was helpful and attentive.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The gumbo was a joy, correct temperature with just enough "heat," absolutely delicious. The lime chicken on mixed rice was tasty and pineapple salsa a perfect finish. Key lime pie and strong, smooth coffee capped the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food and good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My BBQ shrimp was delicious. I enjoyed the portion & the sides of potatoes & broccoli was good. My husband got the taco salad. Good flavor, but too much cheese & the tried bowl was not cooked in good grease. It was not good, but who needs the calories anyway??

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Try the "Painkiller" cocktail, tastes just like a Pina Colada. Menu has a Key West feel to it. Nice and relaxing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.