About Red Hook Grill

1223 Goodale Blvd
Grandview Heights, OH 43212
View Larger Map

The Red Hook name comes from our favorite marina in St. Thomas. Red Hook is where you can catch the ferry to St. John, charter a day sail or fishing trip. It also houses several restaurants and our favorite bar, Island Time Pub. We found ourselves hanging out there most nights on our recent trips to St. Thomas. Only fitting that we name our restaurant after our favorite place on the island. Our goal was to bring the island vibe and some of the food to Columbus. Most of the food in St Thomas is Americanized so Red Hook Grill’s menu is our interpretation. We hope you enjoy.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Caribbean, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Tuesday: 5:00pm-8:30pm, Wednesday-Thursday: 5:00pm--9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 223-1288

Website:
http://redhookgrill.com/

Catering:
Red Hook Grill can cater small and large parties. Let us prepare for your next party or office event!

Parking Details:
Off street parking available

Executive Chef:
Don Miller

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Red Hook Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
See All
Casual (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Healthy (6)
Quick Bite (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Romantic (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Vegan (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Business Meals (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The special occasional was valentines day. I had never been to the Red Hook Grill before so I was sort of nervous taking my significant other there. Once we entered the restaurant we were very impressed with the atmosphere and decor.

The menu had a wide range of wonderful selections and our food was delivered fast and was very tasty. We will be telling our friends about this wonderful please and return in the future.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We didn't know about this place until we were given a gift card by a friend who highly recommended the Redhook Grill. Now we know why. This dinner was one of the nicest my wife and I have had a long time. The atmosphere was classy and sophisticated, but casual and comfortable at the same time. Seating was immediate for reservation time. Server was prompt, personable and made excellent recommendations. So many options on the menu looked good, we had a tough time choosing. Food and drinks again came promptly. We highly recommend the Redhook salad. All of the food was fresh, hot and tasty. We will gladly come back and have already recommended it to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Super service. Great value. You need to try the house favorite Mac&Cheese

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My wife and I were very pleased. Not too crazy with the Caribbean influence and still a solid change of pace. Quick, friendly and great quality at a great price.

Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a fantastic experience. Our cocktails were delicious, our server was friendly and helpful and the food was fantastic and authentic (we got Cajun style food). A great value, we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Amazing food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A hidden treasure in Columbus! Location is close to many places of entertainment. My husband and I went here to celebrate his birthday and we will definitely be back! We were greeted as we came in, our table was set, and they knew exactly who we were. We ordered the grilled chicken and the red hook burger. Both of us had the hand cut fries. All food was outstanding; chicken was juicy, burger was perfectly done, and the fries were excellent. We also ordered beer, in which we were pleasantly surprised by selection! The assumed owners would walk around periodically and ask about food and service. Additionally, they were clearing and prepping tables, which was admirable. The music was faint and conversations were quiet. It was the perfect place. We HIGHLY recommend!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Hidden treasure!! Excellent food, drinks and service. We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This is a small quiet place. The food was wonderful. The service was friendly and helpful.

We will definitely go back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful food, and wonderful service. Hidden gem in grandview, family owned and very nice people.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great service and our server was knowledgeable about the menu. Jambalaya was fabulous! Limited menu but that was fine as far as I was concerned.

One complaint though. The martini I ordered arrived with the glass being only about half full. The price was good but I'd much rather have a full-glass martini and pay more for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent food and service- large group on short notice!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My family and I had a great experience dining at Red Hook Grill. This was our first time at the restaurant and while the menu is nothing revolutionary, the quality of the food in relation to the price was very good (the cocktails are a steal!). The Red Hook Grill is a great value and a cozy environment. The wait staff was exceptional, especially our server who was helpful and attentive.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The gumbo was a joy, correct temperature with just enough "heat," absolutely delicious. The lime chicken on mixed rice was tasty and pineapple salsa a perfect finish. Key lime pie and strong, smooth coffee capped the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food and good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My BBQ shrimp was delicious. I enjoyed the portion & the sides of potatoes & broccoli was good. My husband got the taco salad. Good flavor, but too much cheese & the tried bowl was not cooked in good grease. It was not good, but who needs the calories anyway??

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Try the "Painkiller" cocktail, tastes just like a Pina Colada. Menu has a Key West feel to it. Nice and relaxing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food is awesome! Our server was fantastic as well!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Recommended dishes were fabulous. Loved the flavors and for such a reasonable price.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Red Hook has wonderful vegan options AND food for meat eaters like myself! The bacon wrapped BBQ shrimp was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Always enjoy dining at the Red Hook Grill. Food is always hot and delicious and the owner and staff are always very inviting. Don't pass up their Red Hook Potatoes as a side dish, or their egg sandwich. Also very accommodating to special dietary needs when cooking your food. Love it there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Nice little low key spot. The food was GREAT!! I had the grilled Chicken Pita. My date had the Gumbo & the Jambalaya. Delicious!!! Will definitely come back to try other things on the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Wonderful vegan options mixed in with traditional cooking. It makes going out with non-vegans easier and vice versa !! The black bean burger is the best around!! Service is top notch!! Great date night atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very comfortable and affordable

Was a good choice.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Made a last-minute reservation through O.T. and were happy to arrive and be seated immediately. We weren't in the mood for wine, so I didn't notice/check the list. There is a full bar. We enjoyed a bowl of gumbo, and entrees of jambalaya, bacon wrapped grilled shrimp and the Red Hook shrimp salad. Each was delicious. We finished with key lime pie for dessert, which was delightfully tart. The restaurant is located in an unusual, industrial area, but there is plenty of parking. The interior is comfortable, with lots of photos showing off their inspiration in the Virgin Islands. We were glad to find Red Hook Grille and we'll likely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Ambiance, or lack there of, kills it. Food was better than good, service was very good. Cheap wine glasses don't help. Musty building smell that assaults the senses as soon as you walk in. Would not re-visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Delicious food. Attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was great. They have unique flavors, good portion sizes and the cajun pasta I had was so creamy and well seasoned. My waiter was nice as well and the drink that I had (their version of a pina colada) was great also. The jambalaya was good, but it was more brothy than I like (reminded me of a gumbo consistency). I usually like my jambalaya with rice as the base with the jambalaya on top

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had the smoked fish appetizer, delicious. One of the best we've had, would definitely recommend

My dinner was the fish tacos, the fish itself had a great flavor. With that being said, the accompaniments were just ok. Chopped tomatoes, lettuce and shredded cheese. The tacos would be better with a cabbage slaw. The rice and beans tasted like they had been sitting in a warming tray. Chewy texture.

Husband had the tofu scramble, said it was bland and could have used more sauce. His rice was also dry and chewy.

We did receive $5.00 off as the service was slow, didn't ask for, server took it upon himself to do, which was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Had Mac and Cheese....not very good. All cheese no Mac. Plaintains were good. I'd go one more time and try something different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good food. This restaurant has the best tilapia in Columbus!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Mac & Cheese, Excellent. BBQ Pork Sandwich, Excellent. Red Hook Potatoes, Excellent. We liked it, a lot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Red Hook Grill is located in an unassuming building, but this hidden gem of a restaurant provides the perfect setting for a nice meal. My wife loved their mixed drink called the 'Pain Killer'. We started with the Red Hook potato skins which were wonderful. The shrimp on them made for a nice, subtle change from other places. For dinner, My wife had the bbq shrimp ( which was very popular from what we saw) and I ordered one of the nightly specials, Cajun pasta. She loved the shrimp, but commented that the Red Hook potatoes were some of the best that she has ever eaten. My dish was a combination of chicken, shrimp and sausage with penne pasta covered in a creamy creole sauce. The serving size was very generous. Service was spot on, and the owner stopped by to chat with us for several minutes after we finished our meals. I would definitely return and recommend it to friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent food, the potatoes are amazing. Will definitely go back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Nice and casual Caribbean food. End your dinner with a plate of the cinnamon plaintains for the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The Red Hook Grill is a hidden gem, off the beaten path in an industrial /mixed use area of Grandview Heights. Don't let that fool you - the food is fabulous! We enjoyed the gumbo and jambalaya, but the blackened shrimp "burger" is out of this world. Served with a nicely spicy remoulade sauce, it was a terrific meal! We enjoyed the house made margaritas, too, although we thought it was a bit light on the alcohol content. We and our friends enjoyed our meals and will definitely be back again soon. Our server was knowledgeable about the menu and advised us well. He was attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Everything was fine. Not great, not horrible. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food. Good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2016

This little gem is a great find! The relaxed feel of this place makes you feel as though you're visiting a friend' s house for dinner. It's easy to miss it though, as it's tucked in off a main road in a business commercial district. Look for the red awning! The egg sandwich is out of this world and the delicious jambalaya more than enough to share. The service is the right mix of attentive, and not overbearing. Sincere suggestions are given if asked. Every time I'm here, I realize why this is one of my Grandview favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 11, 2016

This was our second visit to the Red Hook. As with the first, the overall experience was excellent. Service and food were outstanding. We have recommended Red Hook to others and will continue to do so. Only concern on this visit was somewhat of a "musty" smell but that could be due HVAC issues. Otherwise, another favorable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 10, 2016

I only thought this restaurants food was 1000 times better than anywhere else in Columbus, and have already sent many people to try it, including my friend, Jeff Allen, who is going tonight.

Keep making that Carribean bean soup, and the seared tuna, both out-of -this world, and I am also one of Columbus' pickiest eaters!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had a couple of friends visiting from Colorado - one of them was blind. I immediately thought of Red Hook Grill for dinner because of the menu and the quiet intimate atmosphere. We all had a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised at this neighborhood gem. I had read about it, and love Grandview, so we took my 97 father, and all of us loved it. We'll be back. I loved the fact that I could have a breakfast sandwich at night, and they ordered the special - ribs, which were delicious. I saw some other things I'd like to try, so we will be back for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic hidden gem with wonderfully delicious food, gracious hosts / wait staff, and strong drinks. What more could you ask for?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was wonderful, great flavors, service was friendly and helpful, with some excellent drinks options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Good drinks, good food! Great service! A bit off the beaten path.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Good food, a little pricey but glad to support a local business.

TV above the bar detracts from ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Selected the Red Hook bases solely on the consistently positive reviews of others appearing on Open Table. Our experience justified that reliance! Food, service, ambiance, value and noise level were outstanding, although the latter might be due to the fact that there were only two other parties dining at the time of our visit (early Thursday evening). Street appearance is deceptive; this is a very good restaurant for a casual evening out; you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 28, 2016

We've been to the Red Hook Grill multiple times and have enjoyed our meals every time. The food always satisfies - great flavor at a good price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 21, 2016

I had a burger and it was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.