About Red Hook Grill

1223 Goodale Blvd
Grandview Heights, OH 43212
View Larger Map

The Red Hook name comes from our favorite marina in St. Thomas. Red Hook is where you can catch the ferry to St. John, charter a day sail or fishing trip. It also houses several restaurants and our favorite bar, Island Time Pub. We found ourselves hanging out there most nights on our recent trips to St. Thomas. Only fitting that we name our restaurant after our favorite place on the island. Our goal was to bring the island vibe and some of the food to Columbus. Most of the food in St Thomas is Americanized so Red Hook Grill’s menu is our interpretation. We hope you enjoy.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Caribbean, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Tuesday: 5:00pm-8:30pm, Wednesday-Thursday: 5:00pm--9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 223-1288

Website:
http://redhookgrill.com/

Catering:
Red Hook Grill can cater small and large parties. Let us prepare for your next party or office event!

Parking Details:
Off street parking available

Executive Chef:
Don Miller

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Red Hook Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Columbus
Best Value
Columbus
Neighborhood Gem
Columbus
5 More
American
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
Best Value
Columbus
Neighborhood Gem
Columbus
American
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Grandview Heights ›

neighborhood gem (21)
fit for foodies (16)
great for lunch (13)
See All
good for groups (10)
romantic (7)
special occasion (6)
kid-friendly (3)
notable wine list (2)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Fantastic hidden gem with wonderfully de ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic hidden gem with wonderfully delicious food, gracious hosts / wait staff, and strong drinks. What more could you ask for?

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was wonderful, great flavors, servi ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was wonderful, great flavors, service was friendly and helpful, with some excellent drinks options.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good drinks, good food! Great service! ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Good drinks, good food! Great service! A bit off the beaten path.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, a little pricey but glad to s ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Good food, a little pricey but glad to support a local business. TV above the bar detracts from ambiance.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Others Were Right!

Dined on June 9, 2016

Selected the Red Hook bases solely on the consistently positive reviews of others appearing on Open Table. Our experience justified that reliance! Food, service, ambiance, value and noise level were outstanding, although the latter might be due to the fact that there were only two other parties dining at the time of our visit (early Thursday evening). Street appearance is deceptive; this is a very good restaurant for a casual evening out; you won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

We've been to the Red Hook Grill multipl ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

We've been to the Red Hook Grill multiple times and have enjoyed our meals every time. The food always satisfies - great flavor at a good price.

food5
ambience3
service5

I had a burger and it was excellent!

Dined on May 21, 2016

I had a burger and it was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wasn't sure what to expect, considerin ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I wasn't sure what to expect, considering the specific location. But once we opened the door, it was exactly what we were looking for when celebrating a family member's 21st birthday! Food was EXCELLENT! Service was EXCELLENT! You can really tell the Owners have a hands-on approach, which always makes a huge difference in the success (or failure!) of a restaurant. The wine list was, in my opinion, the perfect variety -- not over-crowded or verbose, and the selections were just the kind I like to see in a local gem (ie. not typical chain brands or too esoteric). Of important note is that it's difficult to find a perfect place to satisfy many different "diets," when dining out, and this place literally had something for everyone in party of 7: Vegan, no-carb, low-fat, FULL fat, Vegetarian, meat-a-holic and Miss Picky pants! WE all LOVED IT!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A Solid Neighborhood Selection

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

You can tell the owner is fully invested in this restaurant, from the decor to the menu selections to the service, everything is a labor of love. The menu is quite diverse, providing options even for picky eaters. Yes, it can get a little loud when the restaurant is full, but that's a minor irritant. All told, it makes for a solid addition to your restaurant repertoire.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

A hidden gem. The food is interesting an ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

A hidden gem. The food is interesting and delicious. The staff and ownership are very nice and eager to please guests.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Hook Grill is a Grandview diamond

Dined on May 4, 2016

Love the food, service & vibe at Red Hook Grill. There is something for everyone - meat-eaters, vegetarians and vegans. Whether you want a sandwich, salad or full meal -- you will find it here, and oh year....the Texas sheet cake is awesome!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Best Plantains Ever! Rice and Beans with Shrimp was Great!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2

While I want to live this place (good pr ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

While I want to live this place (good prices, nice wine selection, unique menu) I just can't. My shrimp was overcooked and rubbery and steamed broccoli served cold. Flavor was good though and the citrus vinaigrette on my salad wonderful. The service was slow, and inattentive. It has the feel of a new restaurant that needs to work out the kinks to be great.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Attentive, friendly service, great tasting food!

Dined on April 7, 2016

The ding for ambiance--it was just a bit chilly, but otherwise everything was great!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent! And the food ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The service was excellent! And the food was great. I'll definitely dine here again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out!

Dined on March 3, 2016

My husband and I stopped by Red Hook Grill for a meal after work on a Thursday night. We were greeted immediately and seated. He ordered a beer and I ordered a Margarita. Quite yummy! We both ordered meals that included red hook potatoes (Fried to a crispy bite - quite yummy!) I got the tilapia with crab stuffing - he the the steak. Both were cooked perfectly - and my husband is particular. Our server was amazing. She was there when we needed her, checked to be sure everything was just as we liked it, made excellent recommendations, and made us feel very well taken care of. We took a slice of the Key Lime pie to go - and when we got home wished we didn't have to share, it was so good! Reasonably priced. We will be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the crab stuff tilapia and NY str ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had the crab stuff tilapia and NY strip steak. Both were so excellent and we highly recommend this restaurant. The owners take so much pride in their craft and it shows. Thanks again.

food3
ambience3
service5

beans and rice needed something more.. P ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

beans and rice needed something more.. Potato skin appetizer was very good with the shrimp in it. Waiter chose Cajun pasta, which was good. Had some good spice to it but not overpowering.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cute place

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was great had a wonderful menu and was quiet and peaceful. We went for Valentine's day it was a nice restaurant i will definitely go back

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Good food. Smaller than anticipated. Ver ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Good food. Smaller than anticipated. Very accommodating staff. Their potato chunks are awesome!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

Dined on January 29, 2016

It was our first time there and we were celebrating a friend's birthday. We had a lot of fun, the food was delicious and the wait staff was attentive. I have already recommended this to others.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Okay place

Dined on January 16, 2016

Our food was good. It was not spectacular. The service was fine. We were seated promptly. The best item for the four of us was the pita pizza appetizer. Everything else was just okay (beans and rice, jambalaya, crab-stuffed tilapia, bean burger). Clean restaurant. Friendly staff. This restaurant needs to add some WOW dishes to its menu. Due to the competition in our city, I doubt if we will return.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

First time dining here and didn't know w ...

Dined on January 15, 2016

First time dining here and didn't know what to expect except that we heard good things. Pasta special was excellent as was red beans and rice. Service was prompt and attentive. Will definitely visit again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the comfortable atmosphere and vegan choices

Dined on January 5, 2016

Loved the comfortable atmosphere and vegan choices. We'll be back for sure!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Hooked by the Hook!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Our New Years Eve dinner was incredible. All 6 of us enjoyed the food that we ordered. I have never had such a tremendous feast with the Barbeque Shrimp. The drink I had "Double ???" was also incomparable. Only major complaint - at 7 p.m. it was so very dark that I had to call my granddaughter to bring a flashlight. You should have flashlights available if you are going to have the room so dark. In addition, it was very cold. My brother joked that we were eating in a cave - cold and dark. Please remedy.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Splendid Seafood Selection

Dined on December 31, 2015

Very accommodating staff and energetic staff. Their menu has a nice selection ranging from hummus & veggies to cajun chicken, perfectly cooked steaks and of course as their name implies a variety of fishy finds. We had the smoked fish spread with vegetables & pita along with a steak dinner and crab stuffed tilapia. Our order came out in a timely fashion and each course tasted incredible. Service was superb and the ambiance was fun and warm with Island music softly accompanying the food helped to beat the chilliness of the outdoors. We will definitely be dining here again soon!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were in Columbus for a show and found this gem!

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

I was in town for a show with my daughter and grandchildren. We were looking for a place that was vegan friendly and this place hit the spot. Service was quick and professional. Food for the adults and grandchildren was very good. You have to try it !

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

Great place if you like A Caribbean flai ...

vip
Dined on December 1, 2015

Great place if you like A Caribbean flair. Wings were good but tiny... Not much meat. This place was packed at lunch time. It's definitely not a secret. Would go back!!

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food

Dined on November 14, 2015

Nice to find a restaurant that delivers such a nice meal for such a reasonable price. by 7:30 the place was packed - I recommend a reservation just to be safe. Will definitely go back for seconds and thirds and fourths........

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food. This is my third time there.

Dined on November 14, 2015

Food is really good, and beer / wine list is reasonable. The decor is nice but basic which I like.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Good spot for casual meal

Dined on November 13, 2015

we enjoyed our dinner. My favorites: the Wing paddle appetizer and the chocolate sheet cake. Pork special was very good too.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is amazing. I ordered the black bea ...

Dined on November 11, 2015

Food is amazing. I ordered the black bean burger and my boyfriend ordered the crab stuffed tilapia and we both loved our meals. The red hook potatoes are delicious too, which come with most entrees! We will definitely be dining at red hook grill again!

food4
ambience4
service4

Vegan Friendly and Delicious!

Dined on October 31, 2015

This is a quaint little restaurant in an unsuspecting area. It has clean, modern décor and beautiful photos on the walls of the owners' travels. The menu is inspired by St. Thomas, where the owners lived for two years, and we were pleased to find there were plenty of vegan options. We tried the Veggie Skins - a vegan take on potato skins, topped with broccoli, red peppers, and Daiya cheese. It had a little cup of hummus on the side - this tasted really good and you could tell that it was homemade - it was a bit thicker than I'm used to but the taste was so good it didn't matter. My husband had the Vegan Wrap - which consisted of hummus, roasted red pepper bruschetta, spinach, avocado, cucumber and lettuce in a sundried tomato tortilla. Although this looked HUGE, it was quite light and he was able to eat the whole thing and not feel stuffed. It came with a side of Red Hook potatoes - roasted potatoes with some fantastic seasoning. The drink menu was really interesting, and I tried the Rum Punch - it took me back to a vacation my husband and I had before we were married. I was instantly drinking Rum Punch on the beach in Grenada..... Hubby had a beer, they do offer Gluten Free beer - that was a welcome surprise for him. We were too full to get dessert, and actually didn't even ask if they had vegan desserts. Next time! Also, next time I want to try their Tofu Kebobs, which are described as "skewered with mushrooms, onions & peppers. served with rosemary garlic potatoes and broccoli." Other interesting vegan dishes: Pita Pizza, house made Black Bean Burger, Sloppy Vegan, Black Bean Soup, Black Beans & Rice. All of their salads can be made vegan and have the option to add tofu. For non-vegans - they have some unique looking chicken, shrimp and fish dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

We really enjoyed our evening at red hoo ...

Dined on October 30, 2015

We really enjoyed our evening at red hook. Very much a neighborhood place. Four of us all ordered something different and all loved our meals. Two ordered off of the daily specials but all were great. We would recommend.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service!

Dined on October 24, 2015

We loved the food and the service. One of us follows a vegan diet and the other that of an omnivore and we both got something we loved. The veggie skins were enjoyed by both. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed and the service was outstanding. We'll be back for sure!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

You won't be sorry you stopped in!

Dined on October 23, 2015

I had driven past this place many times and always wanted to try it. It is truly a neighborhood gem. The menu had the basics, but also some interesting variations. I asked for just a small amount of spice on my blackened shrimp sandwich and it arrived just right. The home fried potatoes were wonderful! They also had a nice little beer selection. You can tell a lot of effort was put into making this a place you would like to return to.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Mad about the Gumbo!!!Crazy Good!!

Dined on October 14, 2015

My friend and I had no intention of ordering Gumbo. We had never had it and weren't going to start now. Waitress brings out samples of soup and we tried them, Gumbo blew our minds! Never had anything so delicious!! We will definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome Surprise

vip
Dined on October 8, 2015

First visit, may have driven past due to its industrial location, but - go in! Inviting, cozy comfortable setting, small bar, great lighting, friendly welcoming staff. Menu offers twists on familiar items, making it a rare experience for flavors. Everything we tried was the best, from Gumbo, Smoked fish, Ribs, Cajun Pasta and even their take on Slaw. Planning our next visit before we left. A true winner, a rare surprise for us who dine out frequently.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the rosemary chicken and red hook bu ...

Dined on September 18, 2015

Had the rosemary chicken and red hook burger. Absolutely delicious food, staff was attentive and friendly. Great find, definitely will bring friends next time.

food4
ambience4
service5

Growing Favorite

vip
Dined on August 29, 2015

Red Hook just keeps getting better and better. So comfortable and welcoming, right from the start. A consistently good Old Fashioned is hard to find in Cbus, but Red Hook has served me the same excellent version for 3 or 4 visits now. Pasta, ribs and even a bean-burger were all good this time. We'll be back!

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.