About Red Gravy

125 Camp Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Red Gravy is a cozy bistro where everything is made with love and dedicated to tradition. We source all of our ingredients locally, offering grass fed beef, pastured pork and chicken, yard eggs, non-farmed seafood, and all our pasta is handmade. We proudly serve family recipes, prepared the old way.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Breakfast, Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Weekday brunch 8am - 2pm
Weekend brunch 8am - 2pm
Closed Tuesday

Cross Street:
Canal

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 561-8844

Website:
http://www.redgravycafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Saturday and Sunday brunch

Catering:
Anything from the regular menu is available. Custom menus available.

Parking Details:
Meters in surrounding area. Some lots within 2 blocks.

Public Transit:
St. Charles Streetcar 2 blocks. Canal St Streetcar on Corner. Riverfront Streetcar 3 blocks

Executive Chef:
Roseann Melisi Rostoker

Private Party Facilities:
Red Gravy is the result of my lifelong passion. All my recipes are handed down from my parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, in-laws and some newer family members! Please come see me in New Orleans and I will help to make your private event one to remember!

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 5045618844

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Feast of the Seven Fishes - December 17 and December 18, 2015. Special menu featuring 7 fishes. No other menu will be served these nights.

Restaurant Photos

Red Gravy
Red Gravy
Nancy- Eggs, Meatballs, Mozzarella Sandwich
Meatball With Red Gravy
Godfather
Polpetta
Waffle e Frutta
Belgian Waffle With Spiced Apples
King's Cake Bread Pudding
Chicken and Waffles
Shrimp & Grits
Roe's Breakfast
The Uptown
Pan Seared Scallops With Wilted Spinach
Warm Goat Cheese Salad
Pancetta Porcini Za/ (no sauce) mozzarella/ wild mushrooms/ porcini/ imported pancetta/ truffle oil/ smoked scarmorza/ fresh thyme
Polpetta Omelet
Lasagne
Cannolli Cheesecake
Praline Bread Pudding
Shrimp and Grits
Cape May Blueberry Cake With Lemon Vodka Sauce
Clam Sauce
Tiramisu Cheesecake
strawberry shortcake
Lou Parm Sandwich
Homemade Cannoli
Osso Bucco
Mussels Fra Diavolo
Banana Foster Waffles
Market Salad
Banana Walnut Cake , Peanut Semifredo , Vanilla Rum Sauce, Chocolate Drizzle
Nutella Ravioli With Strawberry Cream
Pear & Ricotta Crostini

Red Gravy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
New Orleans / Louisiana
Great for Brunch
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

Great for Brunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
See All
Romantic (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
240 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great spot for delectable dishes, fine s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great spot for delectable dishes, fine service and delightful atmosphere. Can't wait to go back to New Orleans for "Red Gravy!" True, there are wonderful Italian items on the menu (make sure you try Nanni), but the creativity of the menu offers yummy items that will satisfy the southern cuisine craving as well. This place was a highlight of our visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu is interesting, but food was nothin ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Menu is interesting, but food was nothing to rave about. Simply, it's overpriced for what it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The Red Gravy was absolutely delicious. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The Red Gravy was absolutely delicious. The owner was very appreciative and attentive. Their dishes were creative.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service, food was delicious.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Awesome service, food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ask for one item waitress assumed anothe ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Ask for one item waitress assumed another. Ended up over paying for item. When we showed her the mistake she didn't even offered to fix it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Chose Red Gravy based on reviews and was ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Chose Red Gravy based on reviews and was not disappointed. Food was very good, but kind of pricey for breakfast. Service was great...we brought our 3 children and the staff went out of their way to interact with them and make us feel welcome.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We arrived early but they seated us imme ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We arrived early but they seated us immediately. The food and service was excellent. The waffles were light as air! My new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Gravy brunch was great.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Red Gravy brunch was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

One of the best breakfast brunch in the ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of the best breakfast brunch in the city. We love the owner she was very personable/

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. The food is always am ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I love this place. The food is always amazing!! Everything is fresh and of the highest quality. I could eat here every day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great breakfast. Small and cozy spot. Be ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great breakfast. Small and cozy spot. Best to make a reservation otherwise it's a wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The brunch menu was unusual, but everyth ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The brunch menu was unusual, but everything was outstanding. The best bloody Marys ever! Also, our server was quite engaging. The ambiance is informal and fun. We loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Gravy was an outstanding discovery! ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Red Gravy was an outstanding discovery! Great food, service and cool atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Would recommend this restaurant.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Celebrating our anniversary in New Orleans. Selection is a variety of fresh unique choices. Service was excellent. Our food came to our table hot and fresh. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food, even better service!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

great food, even better service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great menu Different type of Br ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

What a great menu Different type of Brunch. Meatballs not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food + Great Service/Staff

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Just back from a quick trip to New Orleans and this was our favorite meal of the weekend. Great, friendly staff serving up some outstanding Italian food!

The shared Canolli Pancakes were our favorite of this brunch...but, also had 2 other brunch entrees that were soooo good! We can't wait to head back to try the famous Red Gravy!

I would recommend reservations, unless you like standing out in the NOLA humidity. Tables are a bit close, but we're heavier guys and were not bothered by our neighbors...nor, did they seem bothered by us!

We've definitely added Red Gravy to our list of "must-eats" for our next visit to the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service loved the live music durin ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great service loved the live music during brunch. Food was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic breakfast with live music and ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Fantastic breakfast with live music and great service. The Sicilian Egg Pie and mimosa flight were to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good when we got it. Wait was w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was good when we got it. Wait was way too long. When asked when our food would be ready server said when it's ready, not the reply I was looking for. Not the best experience in a town with a lot of great venues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

A must place to eat when in New Orleans! ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

A must place to eat when in New Orleans! We discovered it as itcwas one of the few placds open early on a Sunday mornjng. We enjoyed so much that we went back ghe next day gor brunch! Music during Sunday brunch was a great added touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Tables a bit close so no pri ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food. Tables a bit close so no privacy. But I'll be going back😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Like eating at my Italian Grandma's House :)

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I have now dined at this great little Italian joint three times, in the last year, and I've only been to NOLA twice! It is that good, we went back two days in a row once for lunch and then breakfast the following day. The cooking and offerings reminded my family and I of our grandmother and our Italian roots and you would be hard-pressed to find better italian food in the city :) Beyond the food, which I can't say enough good things about, plus they have tremendous gluten free offerings (YAY!) the ambiance is adorable and the servers are all fantastic. In addition, most weekends and during Mardi Gras, they have live music which certainly fits right into the NOLA scene. Over our various meals, we sampled the "down the shore" omelette, the crab beignet hoagie, the GF pasta bolognese, eggs florentine (with side of GF toast and ricotta cheese), the cannoli pancakes (my mom thought she'd died and gone to cannoli heaven, it was her same cannoli filling recipe), mussels and frites, and their shrimp po' boy. We even had a few of the boozey coffees and cocktails and those were great as well. I can't say enough good things about this spot, yes it is on the pricier side for breakfast/lunch, but the quality and flavors of the food are without a doubt, worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pancakes! Amazing pancakes.

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Pancakes! Amazing pancakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although food was tasty, the portions ar ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Although food was tasty, the portions are small for the money. Had brunch. Ate out again an hour later. Live music was a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Not to be missed!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We visit every time we are in New Orleans. In a town with great food, this place stands out!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, as was the servi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was excellent, as was the service. The owner could be a little more friendly, but we didn't interact with her much anyway. If you get a chance to go, you should go!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Brunch

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

My wife and I completely enjoyed our meal there. Service was very good. We look forward to going eat there one night

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Italian Gem !!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Fabulous Food!! Great Unique Menu Selections!! Fun Decor! Looking forward to returning!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Breakfast Out of this World

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

Best breakfast I have had in a long time. Wonderful shirred eggs, cheese in a light fluffy pastry. Great menu, hard to choose.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome! Food, service, ambiance! My wif ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Awesome! Food, service, ambiance! My wife and I go every time we visit New Orleans! The biscuit bread pudding is so incredible!!! Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waffles and Wings to Mimosas and Meatballs Yum

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

Waffles and wings with Cranberry habanero sauce was a huge hit, Roe's Breakfast was perfection. Late Morning Meatballs under eggs are a new favorite. Shrimp and Grits were the best ever. The bottle of champagne with 3 juices for Mimosas was a wise choice. Not crazy about pulp in the OJ.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Came in for brunch. It's a very small d ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

Came in for brunch. It's a very small dining area that is overly decorated in several different themes. Ok food with a large price tag. So many other great brunch options in NOLA that do not require you to reserve with a credit card.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Chicken and waffle were good although wi ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on October 19, 2015

Chicken and waffle were good although wing slightly overlooked. Good service and quaint ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I NEVER wrote reviews. But this warrante ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

I NEVER wrote reviews. But this warranted one. Made you choose 2 or more things off the menu. Can't buy a la carte. When other customers were told this they left. We should have followed them out. Had to pay for bread. In an Italian joint! Meals were very underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Extremely Poor Service

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

I booked this restaurant for a Sunday Brunch after reading many positive reviews. However when I arrived, the server immediately told my party that we would have to be quick because the restaurant had decided to close early for the day. She proceeded to act rude and rush the entire experience because they wanted to close. Although the food was pretty good, the experience was ruined because we felt we were not wanted there. I would not go back because of this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Food and staff were exceptional!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

Food and staff were exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 26, 2015

Food and service was outstanding. The servings were plentiful. All left full and happy!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the food was excellent;

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

parking is a problem, but look forward to regular visits

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite places

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

Reservations recommended because it is very cozy. Red Gravy has become one of our favorite brunch places. This is not a quick run in and grab food restaurant. You must wait for your food to be prepared to perfection. We have not tasted anything here that isn't wonderful. My favorite is the Lombardo because the sugo is so flavorful. We had a meatball omelette this last time and it was fantastic. Even the bread and gravy appetizer hits the spot. I highly recommend trying this gem of a restaurant as soon as possible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.