Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Red Gravy

Red Gravy is a cozy bistro where everything is made with love and dedicated to tradition. We source all of our ingredients locally, offering grass fed beef, pastured pork and chicken, yard eggs, non-farmed seafood, and all our pasta is handmade. We proudly serve family recipes, prepared the old way.

125 Camp Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Breakfast, Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Weekday brunch 8am - 2pm
Weekend brunch 8am - 2pm
Closed Tuesday

Cross Street:
Canal

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 561-8844

Website:
http://www.redgravycafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Saturday and Sunday brunch

Catering:
Anything from the regular menu is available. Custom menus available.

Parking Details:
Meters in surrounding area. Some lots within 2 blocks.

Public Transit:
St. Charles Streetcar 2 blocks. Canal St Streetcar on Corner. Riverfront Streetcar 3 blocks

Executive Chef:
Roseann Melisi Rostoker

Private Party Facilities:
Red Gravy is the result of my lifelong passion. All my recipes are handed down from my parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, in-laws and some newer family members! Please come see me in New Orleans and I will help to make your private event one to remember!

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: (504) 561-8844

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Feast of the Seven Fishes - December 17 and December 18, 2015. Special menu featuring 7 fishes. No other menu will be served these nights.

Red Gravy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fun (4)
See All
Casual (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Authentic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Went to Red Gravy for Easter Brunch and was very pleased with the quality of food. The skillet with bacon, crunchy peanut butter and Jelly was outstanding and something I would highly recommend if you are looking "something completely different".

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great service and interesting menu. Very accommodating when we had a change of plans at last minute.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We went here for breakfast while visiting New Orleans. There weren't many options for a person not a fan of most breakfast foods. I opted for the baguette with goat cheese, mushrooms and spinach which I enjoyed. Just wish there were a few more egg-less options since I wasn't in the mood for meatballs for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was pretty good, but disappointed with overall service. Waitress was lovely, but host and chef not so much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Enjoyed our lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Always a wonderful experience. If you love Italian red gravy, you won't be disappointed. Even if you order one of the other creative and tasty dishes, treat yourself to a side order meatball with red gravy. A small, cozy setting with energetic and fun-loving wait staff. The Executive Chef/Owner will often spend time in the dining room visiting with you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great restaurant with a wonderful atmosphere. The decor has so much character and the menu is unique and each of the items I have tried were wonderful. The staff goes out of their way to insure an enjoyable experience! We will eat here every time we visit New Orleans.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A really great little restaurant for breakfast. Start with an appetizer of their meatballs and red gravy as a testament to their name sake. The omelet with Italian sausage and peppers was sublime. Service was polite and efficient. Make reservation in advance because they fill up fast on high demand days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great breakfast. Meatballs are everything Red Gravy claims them to be. Amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great breakfast with special fun drink menu. Atmosphere is fun, energetic and a bit loud.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

If you are visiting or live in NOLA, Red Gravy is a must for your restaurant list. Order the meatballs no matter what else you are getting...THE BEST. The Chef is always inventive with seasonal/local ingredients. Everything is delicious. The wait staff is so friendly and take great care of you. I highly recommend Red Gravy.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best brunch in New Orleans!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Amazing how good the breakfast was! Service was just a good as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I found the food very good, but somewhat overpriced, and $9.75 for a mimosa. Perhaps this is the going rate, not sure.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I had the pancakes and my husband had the meatball sandwich....both were delicious! I would recommend making a reservation as its a smaller but very quaint place to visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The service was phenomenal, as was the food. I asked for recommendations, and my server was spot on. She said she'd been working breakfast places 30 years, and the brown butter pancakes were like none other. She was right! "Lou's Breakfast" hit the spot.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I had the meatball sandwich. It was great. Will be back to try other selections. It was everything that I hoped it would be.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Good time, good food. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We attended brunch at red sauce and everything was delicious. The meatballs were amazing and the biscuits were great. Many unique food choices. Relaxed pace for dining and excellent staff. Wish it was in my home town!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I only dined here once before. I loved it the first time and yesterday was even better. The server (Natalie) was great. She was knowledgeable of the menu and had great suggestions. This is small place with tables situated close to each other. However, the intimate setting was great for me to get caught up with a friend.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The first thing I experienced was a very rude person. Waitress was fine, but they were understaffed. Eggs florentine was terrible. Prosciutto di Parma and fruit plate was a waste of money. Their idea of fruit was to cut up an orange. The only positive was the pumpkin waffles, which were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Outstanding brunch menu with very unique selections, just around the corner from Canal Street near the JW Marriott. Small seating area, so make reservations for weekend brunch. Very fruendly service with great suggestions. You have not lived until you have their homemade meatballs. We liked it so much, we came back the next day, ordering completely different dishes. Quite a broad selection and everything looked fantastic from the Pevan waffle to the skillet cakes along with Mark's breakfast and every egg dish imaginable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Maybe I got the wrong plate. It was decent food but sorry to say nothing to write home about. Try it out for yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I made a reservation for 10am and when we arrived we were told oops sorry a table was not saved for us but we would be seated at next available table. We were then asked to sit outside. Two guys walked in while we were outside and they got seated immediately. Prices were way expensive for what was served. Really small bloody Marie's with a pepper and an olive (really no celery, green beans, etc?) for 11-12 dollars each. Hostess even pointed out that we had arrived a bit early (5minutes) for our reservation which should not have mattered since they had not reserved a table for us anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Creative, delicious food, and cocktails, with friendly and efficient staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Have had breakfast here several times, always consistently excellent. Meatballs are reknowned, but everything is delicious, including the best omelette ever.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The waitress was excellent, the interior welcoming. My dining partner had asked to have the shrimp on gluten free pasta rather than grits and was willing to pay the difference but she was told it was not possible unless she paid for two full meals. Having been in the business before, there is really no reason that request could not be accommodated; if it had, she would have been a much, much happier customer. Otherwise, we are not disappointed with our experience.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was yummy, a little expensive but for the first time the service was really slow. Maybe just an off day - will give it another try before writing it off . It was a Saints home game and we went at 930am for that reason but found the food arrival took an unusually long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The meal was fantastic, very inventive menu, the drinks were great, and our service was on spot. this was a brunch meal , but I am sure we will be back to try out some of the other more savory menu items also. I would not hesitate to bring friends , dates, or fellow employees.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great spot for delectable dishes, fine service and delightful atmosphere. Can't wait to go back to New Orleans for "Red Gravy!" True, there are wonderful Italian items on the menu (make sure you try Nanni), but the creativity of the menu offers yummy items that will satisfy the southern cuisine craving as well. This place was a highlight of our visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Menu is interesting, but food was nothing to rave about. Simply, it's overpriced for what it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The Red Gravy was absolutely delicious. The owner was very appreciative and attentive. Their dishes were creative.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Awesome service, food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Ask for one item waitress assumed another. Ended up over paying for item. When we showed her the mistake she didn't even offered to fix it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Chose Red Gravy based on reviews and was not disappointed. Food was very good, but kind of pricey for breakfast. Service was great...we brought our 3 children and the staff went out of their way to interact with them and make us feel welcome.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We arrived early but they seated us immediately. The food and service was excellent. The waffles were light as air! My new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Red Gravy brunch was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of the best breakfast brunch in the city. We love the owner she was very personable/

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2016

I love this place. The food is always amazing!! Everything is fresh and of the highest quality. I could eat here every day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.