About Red Gravy

125 Camp Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Red Gravy is a cozy bistro where everything is made with love and dedicated to tradition. We source all of our ingredients locally, offering grass fed beef, pastured pork and chicken, yard eggs, non-farmed seafood, and all our pasta is handmade. We proudly serve family recipes, prepared the old way.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Breakfast, Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Weekday brunch 8am - 2pm
Weekend brunch 8am - 2pm
Closed Tuesday

Cross Street:
Canal

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 561-8844

Website:
http://www.redgravycafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Saturday and Sunday brunch

Catering:
Anything from the regular menu is available. Custom menus available.

Parking Details:
Meters in surrounding area. Some lots within 2 blocks.

Public Transit:
St. Charles Streetcar 2 blocks. Canal St Streetcar on Corner. Riverfront Streetcar 3 blocks

Executive Chef:
Roseann Melisi Rostoker

Private Party Facilities:
Red Gravy is the result of my lifelong passion. All my recipes are handed down from my parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, in-laws and some newer family members! Please come see me in New Orleans and I will help to make your private event one to remember!

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 5045618844

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Feast of the Seven Fishes - December 17 and December 18, 2015. Special menu featuring 7 fishes. No other menu will be served these nights.

Restaurant Photos

Red Gravy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
New Orleans / Louisiana
Great for Brunch
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

great for brunch (22)
fit for foodies (13)
great for lunch (12)
See All
neighborhood gem (12)
special occasion (6)
romantic (4)
notable wine list (1)
good for groups (1)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Tables a bit close so no pri ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food. Tables a bit close so no privacy. But I'll be going back😊

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Like eating at my Italian Grandma's House :)

Dined on May 6, 2016

I have now dined at this great little Italian joint three times, in the last year, and I've only been to NOLA twice! It is that good, we went back two days in a row once for lunch and then breakfast the following day. The cooking and offerings reminded my family and I of our grandmother and our Italian roots and you would be hard-pressed to find better italian food in the city :) Beyond the food, which I can't say enough good things about, plus they have tremendous gluten free offerings (YAY!) the ambiance is adorable and the servers are all fantastic. In addition, most weekends and during Mardi Gras, they have live music which certainly fits right into the NOLA scene. Over our various meals, we sampled the "down the shore" omelette, the crab beignet hoagie, the GF pasta bolognese, eggs florentine (with side of GF toast and ricotta cheese), the cannoli pancakes (my mom thought she'd died and gone to cannoli heaven, it was her same cannoli filling recipe), mussels and frites, and their shrimp po' boy. We even had a few of the boozey coffees and cocktails and those were great as well. I can't say enough good things about this spot, yes it is on the pricier side for breakfast/lunch, but the quality and flavors of the food are without a doubt, worth it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Pancakes! Amazing pancakes.

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Pancakes! Amazing pancakes.

food4
ambience3
service3

Although food was tasty, the portions ar ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Although food was tasty, the portions are small for the money. Had brunch. Ate out again an hour later. Live music was a nice touch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not to be missed!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We visit every time we are in New Orleans. In a town with great food, this place stands out!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch

Dined on March 13, 2016

My wife and I completely enjoyed our meal there. Service was very good. We look forward to going eat there one night

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Italian Gem !!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Fabulous Food!! Great Unique Menu Selections!! Fun Decor! Looking forward to returning!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breakfast Out of this World

Dined on March 7, 2016

Best breakfast I have had in a long time. Wonderful shirred eggs, cheese in a light fluffy pastry. Great menu, hard to choose.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome! Food, service, ambiance! My wif ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Awesome! Food, service, ambiance! My wife and I go every time we visit New Orleans! The biscuit bread pudding is so incredible!!! Amazing!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Waffles and Wings to Mimosas and Meatballs Yum

Dined on January 4, 2016

Waffles and wings with Cranberry habanero sauce was a huge hit, Roe's Breakfast was perfection. Late Morning Meatballs under eggs are a new favorite. Shrimp and Grits were the best ever. The bottle of champagne with 3 juices for Mimosas was a wise choice. Not crazy about pulp in the OJ.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service3

Came in for brunch. It's a very small d ...

vip
Dined on November 11, 2015

Came in for brunch. It's a very small dining area that is overly decorated in several different themes. Ok food with a large price tag. So many other great brunch options in NOLA that do not require you to reserve with a credit card.

food4
ambience4
service4

Chicken and waffle were good although wi ...

Dined on October 19, 2015

Chicken and waffle were good although wing slightly overlooked. Good service and quaint ambiance

food1
ambience1
service1

I NEVER wrote reviews. But this warrante ...

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

I NEVER wrote reviews. But this warranted one. Made you choose 2 or more things off the menu. Can't buy a la carte. When other customers were told this they left. We should have followed them out. Had to pay for bread. In an Italian joint! Meals were very underwhelming.

food3
ambience2
service1

Extremely Poor Service

Dined on September 13, 2015

I booked this restaurant for a Sunday Brunch after reading many positive reviews. However when I arrived, the server immediately told my party that we would have to be quick because the restaurant had decided to close early for the day. She proceeded to act rude and rush the entire experience because they wanted to close. Although the food was pretty good, the experience was ruined because we felt we were not wanted there. I would not go back because of this experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and staff were exceptional!

Dined on August 29, 2015

Food and staff were exceptional!

food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal

Dined on August 26, 2015

Food and service was outstanding. The servings were plentiful. All left full and happy!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

the food was excellent;

Dined on June 28, 2015

parking is a problem, but look forward to regular visits

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite places

Dined on June 27, 2015

Reservations recommended because it is very cozy. Red Gravy has become one of our favorite brunch places. This is not a quick run in and grab food restaurant. You must wait for your food to be prepared to perfection. We have not tasted anything here that isn't wonderful. My favorite is the Lombardo because the sugo is so flavorful. We had a meatball omelette this last time and it was fantastic. Even the bread and gravy appetizer hits the spot. I highly recommend trying this gem of a restaurant as soon as possible.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great brunch!

Dined on June 26, 2015

Second time in for brunch- the gravy is amazing! One recommendation for the restaurant would be to add melon instead of preaches to the Prosciutto & Fruit. Otherwise, always a pleasant experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2

Not impressed. Service was mediocre and ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2015

Not impressed. Service was mediocre and for the price definitely not worth it. Oven roasted potatoes weren't hot and the latte was lame. Wouldn't go back as there are much better breakfast places to go to in the city.

food5
ambience5
service5

What a great, unique, creative break fro ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2015

What a great, unique, creative break from the Cajun, Creole offerings in New Orleans. Superior breakfast offerings.

food5
ambience3
service4

We have had a wonderful meal at Red Grav ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2015

We have had a wonderful meal at Red Gravy and I was disappointed to find out dinner will be ending in May. All the pastas are homemade and delicious and the daily specials are also amazing - the chicken and the ragu ones were top notch. The meatball is large and moist - without the red gravy and if they have the prosciutto bread - you must indulge!

food5
ambience3
service5

Great food, too small for live music

Dined on May 10, 2015

The food was delicious and the service was great. My only complaint was the banjo player. I assume they were trying to create a nice environment by having live music, but the restaurant is so small that the noise level was too loud. Unfortunately, my table was right next to the banjo player so it was miserable because I couldn't hear anything or hold conversations with the people at my table. I would love to go back if I can confirm there won't be a banjo player.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience3
service4

This was our second visit. We really enj ...

Dined on May 3, 2015

This was our second visit. We really enjoy the Sunday brunch. I had Florentine eggs and hubby had Sicilian egg pie. Both were good, but the Florentine eggs were the bomb. The restaurant was busy, but service was adequate for a lazy Sunday morning.

food3
ambience2
service4

Food good but not worth the cost

Dined on May 1, 2015

The food was good but thought it was pricey for what you got. Paid $7.00 for a meatball and was charge extra for sauce. $30 for chicken parm and we couldn't substitute the penne pasta for spaghetti. I had the pork for $28 and it was dry. The waitress was very nice and helpful. Would not go back due to cost of food. At that cost I expect great and only got good.

food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful Italian gem in NOLA

Dined on April 24, 2015

Excellent handmade pastas and very flavorful sauces. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Cozy environment and very welcoming. Requiring a credit card to hold a reservation was off-putting to me. nevertheless I recommend this restaurant wholeheartedly.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2

Gluten free pasta dishes are amazing.

vip
Dined on April 24, 2015

Gluten free pasta dishes are amazing.

food2
ambience3
service1

Red gravy experience

Dined on April 18, 2015

I was excited to find a farm to table style restaurant downtown, however I was wrong. After patently waiting over an hour and a half for our meals to arrive, one dish in particular left our table exactly as it came. A simple pasta entre with clams should not be as salty as it was at this restaurant. After one bite it was deemed inedible by everyone at our table. With the terribly long wait we endured for three simple pasta dishes and one being nothing but salt, I would not recommend this establishment to a friend. I was truly disappointed, as I had high expectations after seeing such good ratings on yelp. It was a waste of food, money, and time.

food4
ambience3
service4

very good food, interesting take on brea ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2015

very good food, interesting take on breakfast with meat balls and gravy. The service was very good as well

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2

Our experience at Red Gravy.

Dined on April 9, 2015

We have eaten at this restaurant several times during earlier visits to New Orleans. Our first dining experience was outstanding. Each following experience has deteriorated. The owner appears to be the chef. In my opinion she needs to be on the floor. The food was good but a weak customer service atmosphere. We even noticed another couple leaving following being seated. When I received my bill for our food, the waitress already added the tip onto the bill representing the amount of gratuity she wanted to receive for serving our party of two. Too many good places to eat in New Orleans and much to choose.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite place to eat brunch in New O ...

vip
Dined on April 5, 2015

My favorite place to eat brunch in New Orleans by far. Fresh, innovative food that is always delicious in a very charming little place.

food5
ambience4
service2

Easter Brunch

Dined on April 5, 2015

Food-amazing. Our waitress was very boisterous, which can be fun. However, at times was slightly off putting. We had to remind her of our drinks, a few times. She didn't acknowledge the wait on our ordered adult beverages or seem to notice our empty coffee cups, to offer more. We ordered the starter "bakery basket", that the 3 other times I have ordered at brunch consisted of bakery rolls of all types with homemade jam. We were unaware that on Easter it would consist of 2 pink hard boiled eggs & a roll or 2. For a group of 6 that had all just ordered eggs as their main course, this wasn't going to work and we sent it back. The waitress appeared reluctant to take it back, explaining & even over explaining why it was what it was. She appeared put off by it. Setting the expectation, as we were a party of 6 would have avoided our ordering it, altogether. Music - very fun! The food and our wonderful group is what made the brunch wonderful for us.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4

First time eating here

Dined on April 3, 2015

In NOLA for the Crescent City Classic so we were looking to carb up. We found Red Gravy listed in Open Table with very good reviews and thought we would give it a try. It doesn't have a large seating area so reservations are probably a good idea. We had the meat and cheese dish to start and it was excellent. Both pasta dishes were perfectly cooked and tasty. We followed up with the "milk and cookies" for desert and loved it. Overall and excellent dinner and great service for a fair price. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

This place is a hidden gem!

vip
Dined on March 29, 2015

This place is awesome. It is a very cozy restaurant and the chef/owner is always on site. Great place for brunch! In a city filled with "brunch" choices, this one stands out. Not your typical "eggs bennie" joint. Her meatballs and red gravy are the stars here. Don't pass them up!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food!

Dined on March 28, 2015

We have been to the Red Gravy several times and it is always delicious. Be careful with the cocktails though, they're pricey

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The "Red Gravy" is to Die For

Dined on March 28, 2015

Any item served with this sauce will be excellent. Everyone at our table had a different entree and all enjoyed their meal. The service was very personable and efficient. All in all a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Red Gravy

vip
Dined on March 27, 2015

Excellent across the board! Will be back often food was amazing and the cannoli pancakes to die for

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Little Italy in CBD

vip
Dined on March 26, 2015

The restaurant is small and intimate, reminded me of restaurants I've been to in Venice. Great Italian menu with reasonable prices. I recommend the huge meatball appetizer. it was excellent. Very helpful and friendly staff. I had the shrimp scampi with pasta, it was very good. I definitely would return to try more dishes.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1

Just OK. Food Ok, service was SLOW.

vip
Dined on March 20, 2015

Went to this restaurant based on reviews and because of the proximity to our hotel. Small place - which was fine. Interesting menu - many different items. One party member ordered pecan waffle - which he said was very good. The other ordered a "Nancy" sandwich, which was just OK. The service was very slow - a good 35 minutes before ordered was delivered. Wait staff was accommodating. Have tried it once but would probably not go back. Too many great places to eat in the city.

food4
ambience3
service3

Was pleasantly surprised, dinner was ver ...

Dined on March 13, 2015

Was pleasantly surprised, dinner was very good and service attentive!

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.