About Red Gravy

125 Camp Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Red Gravy is a cozy bistro where everything is made with love and dedicated to tradition. We source all of our ingredients locally, offering grass fed beef, pastured pork and chicken, yard eggs, non-farmed seafood, and all our pasta is handmade. We proudly serve family recipes, prepared the old way.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Breakfast, Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Weekday brunch 8am - 2pm
Weekend brunch 8am - 2pm
Closed Tuesday

Cross Street:
Canal

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 561-8844

Website:
http://www.redgravycafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Saturday and Sunday brunch

Catering:
Anything from the regular menu is available. Custom menus available.

Parking Details:
Meters in surrounding area. Some lots within 2 blocks.

Public Transit:
St. Charles Streetcar 2 blocks. Canal St Streetcar on Corner. Riverfront Streetcar 3 blocks

Executive Chef:
Roseann Melisi Rostoker

Private Party Facilities:
Red Gravy is the result of my lifelong passion. All my recipes are handed down from my parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, in-laws and some newer family members! Please come see me in New Orleans and I will help to make your private event one to remember!

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 5045618844

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Feast of the Seven Fishes - December 17 and December 18, 2015. Special menu featuring 7 fishes. No other menu will be served these nights.

Restaurant Photos

Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Si SI Toscana - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Nancy- Eggs, Meatballs, Mozzarella Sandwich - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Polpetta - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Waffle e Frutta - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Belgian Waffle With Spiced Apples - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
King's Cake Bread Pudding - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Chicken and Waffles - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Shrimp & Grits - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Roe's Breakfast - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
The Uptown - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Pan Seared Scallops With Wilted Spinach - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Warm Goat Cheese Salad  - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Pancetta Porcini Za/ (no sauce) mozzarella/ wild mushrooms/ porcini/ imported pancetta/ truffle oil/ smoked scarmorza/ fresh thyme - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Meatball With Red Gravy - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Godfather - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Polpetta Omelet - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Lasagne - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Cannolli Cheesecake - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Praline Bread Pudding - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Shrimp and Grits - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Cape May Blueberry Cake With Lemon Vodka Sauce - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Clam Sauce - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Tiramisu Cheesecake - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
strawberry shortcake - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Lou Parm Sandwich - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Homemade Cannoli - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Osso Bucco - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Mussels Fra Diavolo - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Banana Foster Waffles - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Market Salad - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Banana Walnut Cake , Peanut Semifredo , Vanilla Rum Sauce, Chocolate Drizzle - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Nutella Ravioli With Strawberry Cream - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA
Pear & Ricotta Crostini - Red Gravy, New Orleans, LA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Red Gravy will be open limited hours on Christmas Eve, serving our regular menu and many seasonal and local specials. 8am - noon, only.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

We will be open normal hours on New Year's Eve 8-2pm and reduced hours New Year's Day 9-2pm. We'll be serving our regular menu plus many seasonal and local specials.
$50 late cancellation/no show fee applies to both days.

Red Gravy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
See All
Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Live Music (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good time, good food. We will return.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Good time, good food. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We attended brunch at red sauce and ever ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

We attended brunch at red sauce and everything was delicious. The meatballs were amazing and the biscuits were great. Many unique food choices. Relaxed pace for dining and excellent staff. Wish it was in my home town!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent all around

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I only dined here once before. I loved i ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I only dined here once before. I loved it the first time and yesterday was even better. The server (Natalie) was great. She was knowledgeable of the menu and had great suggestions. This is small place with tables situated close to each other. However, the intimate setting was great for me to get caught up with a friend.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The first thing I experienced was a very ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The first thing I experienced was a very rude person. Waitress was fine, but they were understaffed. Eggs florentine was terrible. Prosciutto di Parma and fruit plate was a waste of money. Their idea of fruit was to cut up an orange. The only positive was the pumpkin waffles, which were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Outstanding brunch menu with very unique ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Outstanding brunch menu with very unique selections, just around the corner from Canal Street near the JW Marriott. Small seating area, so make reservations for weekend brunch. Very fruendly service with great suggestions. You have not lived until you have their homemade meatballs. We liked it so much, we came back the next day, ordering completely different dishes. Quite a broad selection and everything looked fantastic from the Pevan waffle to the skillet cakes along with Mark's breakfast and every egg dish imaginable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maybe I got the wrong plate. It was dece ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Maybe I got the wrong plate. It was decent food but sorry to say nothing to write home about. Try it out for yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I made a reservation for 10am and when w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I made a reservation for 10am and when we arrived we were told oops sorry a table was not saved for us but we would be seated at next available table. We were then asked to sit outside. Two guys walked in while we were outside and they got seated immediately. Prices were way expensive for what was served. Really small bloody Marie's with a pepper and an olive (really no celery, green beans, etc?) for 11-12 dollars each. Hostess even pointed out that we had arrived a bit early (5minutes) for our reservation which should not have mattered since they had not reserved a table for us anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Creative, delicious food, and cocktails, ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Creative, delicious food, and cocktails, with friendly and efficient staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have had breakfast here several times, a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Have had breakfast here several times, always consistently excellent. Meatballs are reknowned, but everything is delicious, including the best omelette ever.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress was excellent, the interior ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The waitress was excellent, the interior welcoming. My dining partner had asked to have the shrimp on gluten free pasta rather than grits and was willing to pay the difference but she was told it was not possible unless she paid for two full meals. Having been in the business before, there is really no reason that request could not be accommodated; if it had, she would have been a much, much happier customer. Otherwise, we are not disappointed with our experience.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was yummy, a little expensive but f ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was yummy, a little expensive but for the first time the service was really slow. Maybe just an off day - will give it another try before writing it off . It was a Saints home game and we went at 930am for that reason but found the food arrival took an unusually long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The meal was fantastic, very inventive m ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The meal was fantastic, very inventive menu, the drinks were great, and our service was on spot. this was a brunch meal , but I am sure we will be back to try out some of the other more savory menu items also. I would not hesitate to bring friends , dates, or fellow employees.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot for delectable dishes, fine s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great spot for delectable dishes, fine service and delightful atmosphere. Can't wait to go back to New Orleans for "Red Gravy!" True, there are wonderful Italian items on the menu (make sure you try Nanni), but the creativity of the menu offers yummy items that will satisfy the southern cuisine craving as well. This place was a highlight of our visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu is interesting, but food was nothin ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Menu is interesting, but food was nothing to rave about. Simply, it's overpriced for what it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The Red Gravy was absolutely delicious. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The Red Gravy was absolutely delicious. The owner was very appreciative and attentive. Their dishes were creative.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service, food was delicious.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Awesome service, food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ask for one item waitress assumed anothe ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Ask for one item waitress assumed another. Ended up over paying for item. When we showed her the mistake she didn't even offered to fix it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Chose Red Gravy based on reviews and was ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Chose Red Gravy based on reviews and was not disappointed. Food was very good, but kind of pricey for breakfast. Service was great...we brought our 3 children and the staff went out of their way to interact with them and make us feel welcome.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We arrived early but they seated us imme ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We arrived early but they seated us immediately. The food and service was excellent. The waffles were light as air! My new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Gravy brunch was great.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Red Gravy brunch was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

One of the best breakfast brunch in the ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of the best breakfast brunch in the city. We love the owner she was very personable/

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. The food is always am ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2016

I love this place. The food is always amazing!! Everything is fresh and of the highest quality. I could eat here every day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great breakfast. Small and cozy spot. Be ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great breakfast. Small and cozy spot. Best to make a reservation otherwise it's a wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The brunch menu was unusual, but everyth ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The brunch menu was unusual, but everything was outstanding. The best bloody Marys ever! Also, our server was quite engaging. The ambiance is informal and fun. We loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Gravy was an outstanding discovery! ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Red Gravy was an outstanding discovery! Great food, service and cool atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Would recommend this restaurant.

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Celebrating our anniversary in New Orleans. Selection is a variety of fresh unique choices. Service was excellent. Our food came to our table hot and fresh. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food, even better service!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2016

great food, even better service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great menu Different type of Br ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2016

What a great menu Different type of Brunch. Meatballs not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food + Great Service/Staff

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Just back from a quick trip to New Orleans and this was our favorite meal of the weekend. Great, friendly staff serving up some outstanding Italian food!

The shared Canolli Pancakes were our favorite of this brunch...but, also had 2 other brunch entrees that were soooo good! We can't wait to head back to try the famous Red Gravy!

I would recommend reservations, unless you like standing out in the NOLA humidity. Tables are a bit close, but we're heavier guys and were not bothered by our neighbors...nor, did they seem bothered by us!

We've definitely added Red Gravy to our list of "must-eats" for our next visit to the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service loved the live music durin ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great service loved the live music during brunch. Food was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic breakfast with live music and ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Fantastic breakfast with live music and great service. The Sicilian Egg Pie and mimosa flight were to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good when we got it. Wait was w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was good when we got it. Wait was way too long. When asked when our food would be ready server said when it's ready, not the reply I was looking for. Not the best experience in a town with a lot of great venues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

A must place to eat when in New Orleans! ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 23, 2016

A must place to eat when in New Orleans! We discovered it as itcwas one of the few placds open early on a Sunday mornjng. We enjoyed so much that we went back ghe next day gor brunch! Music during Sunday brunch was a great added touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Tables a bit close so no pri ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food. Tables a bit close so no privacy. But I'll be going back😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Like eating at my Italian Grandma's House :)

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on May 6, 2016

I have now dined at this great little Italian joint three times, in the last year, and I've only been to NOLA twice! It is that good, we went back two days in a row once for lunch and then breakfast the following day. The cooking and offerings reminded my family and I of our grandmother and our Italian roots and you would be hard-pressed to find better italian food in the city :) Beyond the food, which I can't say enough good things about, plus they have tremendous gluten free offerings (YAY!) the ambiance is adorable and the servers are all fantastic. In addition, most weekends and during Mardi Gras, they have live music which certainly fits right into the NOLA scene. Over our various meals, we sampled the "down the shore" omelette, the crab beignet hoagie, the GF pasta bolognese, eggs florentine (with side of GF toast and ricotta cheese), the cannoli pancakes (my mom thought she'd died and gone to cannoli heaven, it was her same cannoli filling recipe), mussels and frites, and their shrimp po' boy. We even had a few of the boozey coffees and cocktails and those were great as well. I can't say enough good things about this spot, yes it is on the pricier side for breakfast/lunch, but the quality and flavors of the food are without a doubt, worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pancakes! Amazing pancakes.

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 10, 2016

Pancakes! Amazing pancakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although food was tasty, the portions ar ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Although food was tasty, the portions are small for the money. Had brunch. Ate out again an hour later. Live music was a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Not to be missed!

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We visit every time we are in New Orleans. In a town with great food, this place stands out!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, as was the servi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was excellent, as was the service. The owner could be a little more friendly, but we didn't interact with her much anyway. If you get a chance to go, you should go!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.